Showing posts sorted by relevance for query Holidays. Sort by date Show all posts
Showing posts sorted by relevance for query Holidays. Sort by date Show all posts

Saturday, November 5, 2016

Reviewing Vegan Holiday Cookbooks

Jennifer Katzinger Vegan Holiday Cookbook
As a vegan cook, the holidays are especially tricky. Most holidays including Thanksgiving, usually center around a big meat dish. Here I'll give you my reviews of the vegan cookbooks I've used throughout the holidays.

Some are better than others, of course. Some give you menus to work from while others have given me ideas to get me started on my own menus for the various holidays. Whether you want to serve a full vegan holiday dinner, or just need some good ideas for vegan dishes for your guests, you can find the recipes and ideas you need in each of these vegan holiday cookbooks.

My Favorite Vegan Holiday Cookbook

Reviewing vegan holiday cookbooks
Gluten-Free and Vegan: Celebrating the Year

My favorite, the one that I turn to most often, vegan holiday cookbook is by Jennifer Katzinger titled, Gluten-Free and Vegan: Celebrating the Year with Simple, Satisfying Recipes and Menus. I've reviewed it more extensively in an article for Cooking for the Holidays site, so I'll just summarize here.

Author Katzinger is a long experience vegan chef, but she's a baker by love. Her desserts are amazing. She shares her vegan and gluten-free versions of traditional holiday desserts. It's her Thanksgiving menu, with all of the simple recipes that I turn to most often to celebrate this holiday. Appetizers, main courses, side dishes and desserts are all combine to make a great Thanksgiving dinner.

reviewing vegan holiday cookbooks
Happy Herbivore Holidays

The Happy Herbivore Vegan Holiday Cookbook


Lindsay Nixon has made a name for herself as the Happy Herbivore. She has many cookbooks on the market, but her Happy Herbivore Holidays and Gatherings: Easy Plant-based Recipes for Your Healthiest Celebrations and Special Occasions is one of her best in my vegan opinion.

I was delighted at how easy her recipes are. Since I'm basically a lazy cook, I needed simple, yet tasty recipes. She has a wealth of them. And she doesn't require exotic ingredients in her recipes. That sure helps if ethnic markets are not close by.

Fair warning here. If you are already a Happy Herbivore fan and have others of her cookbooks, you will discover that she recycled many of her other recipes. But, these are organized for those big holiday celebrations.

The good news is that all of my non-vegan friends and relations enjoyed my vegan menus. Even my son-in-law didn't feel the need to rush to McDonald's for a McRib sandwich or two! Now that is a true compliment to the Happy Herbivore.

Planning Your Own Vegan Holiday Menus

Reviewing Vegan Holiday Cookbooks
But I Could Never Go Vegan

If you want to plan your own menus for the holidays or just looking for interesting vegan recipes, I have a favorite cookbook for you. But I Could Never Go Vegan, by Kristy Turner, is it. Forget boring standard fare, Turner gives you an amazing collection of unique and interesting recipes.

Avocado and Kale Florentine is one of those unique and interesting recipes. I've included it many brunch menus. Talk about a hit! Author Turner has plenty of these hits. Her vegan Cheesy Veggie Stromboli is usually part of my vegan Thanksgiving dinner. Savory Corn Cheesecake makes a stunning presentation of your holiday table.

Whether you want a full menu to make a vegan holiday meal, or just looking for something special to add to your table, any of these cookbooks could be your answer. Each one holds a special place in my cookbook collection.

You can always find more cookbook reviews at Review This! Books.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 7, 2014

The Thanksgiving Turkey ~ Part I of Thanksgiving Recipes on Review This!

CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 ~ Photo by Julie on Flickr.com

I absolutely love Thanksgiving and all of the Thanksgiving dinner recipes!  For as long as I can remember, Thanksgiving has been a family gathering time.  

My mother and I always prepare our traditional Thanksgiving recipes in anticipation of the family members flying, driving or riding in for the Thanksgiving holiday.  We never know exactly what to expect or what will happen when everyone is together, but we know what we will eat.


Preparing for Thanksgiving

The week before Thanksgiving, I go to the grocery store with my list.  The holidays are probably the only time of the year that I really enjoy grocery shopping.  Not because of the food I am buying, but because I know that food will be prepared for the holiday celebration and the people who make it all worthwhile.

My Grandmother & Brother ~ Holidays Past


Sometimes things get hectic and I get a little stressed, but I do try very hard to make the holidays easier by adhering to my own advice offered  in my article, Ten Ways to Make the Holiday Easier.

I want to enjoy the time I get to spend with my whole family and I want to have wonderful memories to reflect on throughout the years.  I also want them to enjoy the holidays in our home and to have fond, pleasant memories of time well spent.


The Main Course

When I was growing up, my grandmother and mother prepared the Thanksgiving meal.   Now, my mother and I cook the dinner.  Occasionally, my sister or one of my sisters-in-law will arrive in town early enough to help.  That is always guaranteed to be amusing and entertaining!

http://cookingfortheholidays.com/bake-a-turkey/

It is my job to prepare and cook the turkey.  I try to beat everyone else out of bed so I can shower and dress for the day.  By the time I am in the kitchen to start washing the turkey, Mom and Dad are usually here to chat with me while I get started.  Once the turkey is in the oven, Mom joins me and we work together for hours of cooking, laughing, cutting up and sometimes just talking.  It is a fabulous day.  I have always maintained that it is my favorite day of the year.  Sure, we get tired, but I wouldn't change a thing.

I share my recipe and tips for How to Bake a Turkey here:  Cooking for the Holidays


What's Next

Now that we have the turkey out of the way, be sure to join us here again next week.  We will be sharing the side dishes and desserts for the Thanksgiving Dinner Recipes Menu on Review This!


Be sure to check out additional Thanksgiving tips on Traveling Food - Holidays and Potlucks




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 2, 2014

Holiday Cookbooks: Perfect for Mother's Day

Mother's Day is just around the corner, so now is the perfect time to pull out your favorite cookbook and plan a special treat for mom.  

If you or your mom love cooking for the holidays, or anytime, a holiday cookbook is also the perfect gift for Mother's Day.  I know I personally have a collection of specialty and holiday cookbooks that I absolutely love and frequently grab for reference.  I enjoy "pouring over a cookbook", as my own mother would say, reading recipes, making a grocery list and planning to try a new recipe.


The Pioneer Woman Cooks A Year of Holidays


Our very own pioneer woman, RenaissanceWoman2010, reviewed a fabulous cookbook for all of us recently in her article entitled, I'm Spending the Holidays with Ree.  I was so impressed by her review, that I simply had to purchase my own copy of The Pioneer Woman Cooks A Year of Holidays.

I have my own grandmother's Pecan Pie recipe that I use, but the recipe and featured photo were all I needed to see to know I had to have the cookbook!

The Pioneer Woman's Holiday cookbook is chock full of some great recipes and while I don't know Ree personally, I do know she will now be a part of my holidays too.


May You All Have a 
Happy Mother's Day!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 7, 2014

I'm the Cooking for the Holidays Contributor on Review This!

I am pretty excited about sharing holiday recipes! 

As the Cooking for the Holidays Contributor on Review This, I will not only be seeking and sharing awesome holiday recipes, but I  also plan to share the ways we prepare to serve multiple meals during the holidays, our time saving tips, as well as the sanity saving tips, that we all need when cooking for the holidays.


Websites are brimming with fabulous holiday recipes and special treats.  Many of which, have been handed down for generations.  Other recipes are straight from the pages of our favorite cookbook and they have been tried and proven for years.  

I love new recipes and new cookbooks!  We all want to be ready for the next holiday by having the right cookbooks on hand when needed.  So, I will also be searching for great cookbooks to recommend, as well as reviews to feature.

I would also love it if you would share your holiday preparation articles, time saving ideas, or survival tips for the holidays.  If you have published an article on either of those topics, awesome!  Simply share that link in our guestbook below.



I am waiting to hear from you!


Cookbooks & Recipes Reviewed Here on Review This 






For More About Sylvestermouse, Visit:  About Me




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, December 10, 2018

Snowglobes are Great Gifts and Seasonal Decor

Holiday snowglobes on Review This!
There is something magical about snowglobes. It doesn't seem logical. After all, Snowglobes are simply water-filled globes of glass (or plastic) encasing some sort of item or scene. Shake the globe and the little flakes begin to "snow". But there is something special about that frozen moment in time surrounded by the movement of falling snow.

At this time of year, snowglobes always come to my mind. They are a wonderful part of holiday decorations. Because holiday snowglobes are offered in such a wide variety of styles they can also be very thoughtful gifts. Each one individualized to reflect special interests of the giver or the receiver. Snowglobes range from the tiny plastic trinkets that you can find at just about any souvenir gift shop to high-quality pieces of seasonal art that can be enjoyed and passed down for generations. 


Santa Claus Snowglobes



This review came to mind after recently purchasing a beautiful snowglobe depicting Santa's workshop. There was a piece of synchronicity that led me to thoughts of how special snowglobes can be. 

Scenes with Santa are my favorite snowglobes. And there are MANY Santa scenes to choose from:
  • Seated in his workshop with the elves, making toys. 
  • Flying in his sleigh through the snowy sky. 
  • Dressed in his suit with the huge bag of toys slung over his shoulder. 
  • Seated with a child seated on his knee
Santa's Workshop - musical snowglobe


Musical Snowglobes


Some snowglobes come with a music box option. Typically, the music box key is under the base of the snow globe. Simply turn the globe over, turn the key a few times, then place the snowglobe on the table to watch the snow and listen to the tune.

Tunes that are as familiar as Jingle Bells and as traditional as Oh Holy Night can be found with some snowglobes.


Religious Snowglobes



A variety of religious scenes are depicted in snowglobes. From angels to the nativity scenes (simple and ornate) a snowglobe reminding us of the "reason for the season" can be found.


Nativity - musical snowglobe



Snowglobes and Nature Scenes



In the areas of the world that have four seasons and the possibility of snow during the holidays, snowy naturescapes are reminiscent of Christmas. Trees drop their leaves and make unique silhouettes against the sky. Native backyard birds are easier to see against the white background of snow. Polar bears, penguins, and white hares are wildlife that are often associated with a winter wonderland. 


Penguin snowglobe - plays "Let It Snow"



Baby's First Christmas Snowglobe



Special occasions, such as baby's first Christmas, can be commemorated with an engraved snowglobe. And those globes can last a lifetime.

Baby's 1st Christmas snowglobe



Snowglobes with Favorite Movies, Places, Things



Perhaps your family has made a tradition of watching the Nutcracker during the holidays. Or watching the Wizard of Oz has become an annual event as the holidays approach. 

Maybe you've traveled during the holidays and want a reminder of those special places.


Whatever your holiday traditions include, chances are good that there is a snowglobe that gives a shout out to those special memories.

design courtesy of pixabay.com

Whether you are looking for long-lasting holiday decorations or a special gift for that special someone, snowglobes are a great choice. 

My love of snowglobes was recently renewed during an incident of coincidence. Or maybe it wasn't coincidence at all. I'm not completely sure. If you would like to read about how I came to own my most recent Santa Claus snowglobe you can read about it on my personal blog. 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Christmas Inflatables Make Decorating Easy and Fun

In a Heartbeat, Thanksgiving is over and everyone is in Full Christmas Holiday mode!

Part of the whole fun of Christmas is decorating, both indoors and out!  I know many people are just chomping at the bit to get their Christmas trees up and decorated, so that they and their families can enjoy this holiday for as long as possible.
Christmas Decorating getting to difficult for you to handle?  Don't want to be climbing on ladders and such?  There is an easy way around that!  And you will feel the spirit with just a flick of a switch......
Photo courtesy of my niece Tara Hocaliuk!  One very talented lady! (Please do not copy without permission)

Children love getting into the "spirit" of the holidays too!  Schools and Church groups are busy making Christmas decorations or preparing for those Christmas pageants that every parent and grandparent love to attend.  Videos and pictures will grace everyone's favorite social media and the joy of our children will be shared everywhere.

For years we decorated not only the inside of our homes, but we would put up Christmas lights and boughs of evergreens on our porch with the Most Beautiful Wreath on our front door!  These sights would greet all our friends and family as they came for visits over the holidays and we had lots of visitors! 

 Christmas Decorating getting to difficult for you to handle?  Don't want to be climbing on ladders and such?  There is an easy way around that!  And you will feel the spirit with just a flick of a switch......
Photo courtesy of my niece Tara Hocaliuk!  One very talented lady! (please do not copy without permission)


Today, I would not ask my other half to get up on a ladder to attach lights to our gutters, even though he did this for years.  Decorating outdoors has become much easier!  Thank goodness for the ability to share ideas on Pinterest and other social media as well.  If you have the time, these ideas are all very doable and need not cost an arm and a leg.

If you don't have the time, then there is another alternative!  And it does not require anyone getting up on a ladder either!  

Christmas inflatables have become very popular and they are so easy to install and enjoy.  If you have a power source, you are ready to decorate in minutes.  You just need to take the inflatable out of it's box, and plug it in.  Done!  It can't be any easier and there are so many different styles to choose from.

The larger the inflatable, the more expensive they become.  Don't be discouraged, these inflatables can start at very affordable prices and make a big impact!  Santas and snowmen, trains and sleighs, polar bears and penguins are all very popular motifs for the holidays.  Many of them will come in several different sizes, ready to fit your decor ideas.  

Inflatables are a lot of fun, easy to install and enjoy.  Again the choices are many and varied.  Some of these inflatables are animated as well.  That just adds another whole dimension of enjoyment. The biggest problem (I hate to admit there might be one) is that someone may be tempted to steal it from your front lawn.  This is easy to remedy with a little forethought and a handyman or woman.  All you need to do is get a few metal tent pegs and a couple of holes drilled in the base of your inflatable.  Hammer the stakes into the ground and your worries are over.

The children and the adults as well will enjoy the sights that you have so thoughtfully prepared for the Holidays.  I'm sure more than one person will stop to admire your handiwork!  The best part, you didn't have to get up on a ladder and worry about falling off!

Christmas home decor is one of the fun parts of getting ready for the best holiday of the year.  Take a little time and let the whole world know that you still believe in the Magic of Christmas!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, February 27, 2017

Recipes for Real People a Site Review

Recipes for Real People is a recipe and kitchen website that offers recipes and food ideas that are quick, easy, and useful for everyday meals. From Aprons to Vegetables, you will find comfort food recipes, meal ideas, and kitchen gifts for you and your family.

Why I Turn to Recipes for Real People


I can't even begin to guess the number of recipe websites on the internet. So why would I turn to Recipes for Real People?  There are several reasons I look to this site for ideas. Just this morning I woke with many things on my mind. I have household chores to do, reports to write for work, and assorted things I would like to accomplish with my own website. I have to find a way to save some time today.

After unseasonably warm days, a thunderstorm rolled through last night and brought behind it a very cold and cloudy morning. I am craving comfort food and not sure what I have in the kitchen. After having spent the past few days driving around with the Jeep top open and enjoying the warm weather, I had no reason to buy ingredients to make chili or stew. But now it is very cold outside, the furnace is on, I am under the blankets, and I am craving something warm and filling. Something like stew or chili. However, to make either of those things, I'd have to run out to the store.

Thanks to a recipe found on Recipes for Real People, I have found a meal idea and won't have to go to the grocery after all.

I should clarify that I am writing this on Sunday and it will be published on Monday. On Monday I will be back at the office, hard at work - giving my time and energy to others. So I am especially thankful for time-saving ideas that allow me to spend more time on the weekends on myself. 

Hamburger Vegetable Soup Recipe


Susan's Hamburger Vegetable Soup recipe is just the type of thing I am craving.  Her four-ingredient recipe is easy and made from ingredients that are often found in the kitchen at any given time.  I do not currently have any fresh ground beef in the fridge. But I do have ground sausage. So I will substitute the sausage for the ground beef and have a filling, warm, comfort meal and won't have to leave the apartment today!  In fact, come to think of it, I have a few different cans of soup that I could use as substitutes for the vegetable soup in Susan's recipe. Perhaps I'll add the sausage to a can of creamy chicken soup.  I don't know. I will decide later.  But I am relieved that a trip to the grocery is something I can remove from today's full to-do list.  All thanks to Recipes for Real People.


 (photo by Susan)


A few more reasons I turn to Recipes for Real People


  • Recipes for Real People is a website owned by one of our Review This! contributors - Susan Deppner
  • I trust that Susan is sharing recipes that she cooks in her own home
  • these recipes call for few ingredients that are readily available
  • quick and easy prep recipes
  • leftovers are used in the Recipes for Real People kitchen - I am a firm believer in using leftovers



  • Susan's kitchen helpers are adorable


    Related Recipe Links


    The Review This! contributors share some of their favorite recipes on this site. The variety of recipes, meals, kitchen items, and food reviews that the contributors bring is amazing. From slow cooker beans and TexMex lasagna to buttery shrimp pasta and party menus, there is something to suit everyone's tastes. To see those recipes, use the Review This! recipes tab and scroll. Our own Sylvestermouse Cynthia enjoys food, entertaining, and the holidays.  She is the owner of two food-related sites Fun Food and Cooking for the Holidays.

    Fun Food focuses on "fabulous fun food". I swear some of the ideas shown are works of art!  From bright and colorful swirls of jello to snake cakes and food castles, these recipes are as fun to look at as they are tasty to eat.




    Cooking for the Holidays is exactly as advertised - meals, desserts, and appetizers specific to holidays and entertaining. This website is elegant and offers recipes that will likely never happen in my little kitchen for one but are perfect for those who enjoy celebrations and entertaining. 









    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    FOLLOW US ON:

    Saturday, March 21, 2015

    The Crafty Month of March in Review



    March is 'National Craft Month', a month which also includes National Crochet Week

    This is the perfect time to look at some handmade crafty creations, including DIY projects and tutorials, and read some articles about the art of crafting to get you in the mood for creating.

     

     

    To Craft means to make or produce something skillfully.





    Craft in Green for St. Patrick's Day


    Crafting for holidays is quite often a popular endeavor.  Since the month of March includes the St. Patrick's Day holiday, crafters enjoy the opportunity to 'Craft in St. Patrick's Day Green'


    St. Patrick's Day Octopus

    Craft Ideas for National Craft Month



    • If you check out the Craft Section here on Review This, you will find many articles with crafts to try for all the other holidays during the year from Thanksgiving to Valentine's Day and throughout the year right back to the Fall Holidays which begin with Halloween!



    • Or try out one of these DIY Craft Books with projects and gift ideas for a large variety of holidays available on Amazon.

    • A fun example is the one for the next nearest holiday – Easter.  DIY Projects & Gift Ideas for Easter is filled with amazingly easy guided gift ideas for beginners to the more experienced (with pictures!) and is available in Amazon's Kindle Store. 

    Handmade gifts are such a joy to create, give and receive and this book will give you lots of crafty ideas.  There are homemade Easter crafts in the popular areas of Easter Eggs and Easter Bunnies and fun DIY Easter food, to name a few of the projects available in this book.


    More Easter Crafts


    Easter Egg Craft Tutorial
    Sometimes Easter is in March and sometimes in April, but March is never too early to start crafting an Easter project.

    For a quick Easter craft idea that combines the fun of an Easter Egg hunt with some non-candy treats that will encourage kids to enjoy crafts, check out this clever Easter Egg fillers craft tutorial by Corrinna Johnson.

    This Easter craft and many other DIY craft ideas can be found on Corrinna's delightful  blog, Glitter 'N' Spice.



    Time to Get Crafting...



    Handmade Pink Easter Bunny
    Bunny rabbit in crochet is hopping by to remind you that if you love to craft, but find life getting in the way and your crafting time getting put on a back-burner, circle the month of March on your calendar and use National Craft Month as a reminder to restore your creative self!  

    Crochet crafter Wednesday Elf uses National Crochet Week in March as her reminder.

    If you are a crafter and have a DIY tutorial to share with those of us who love hand-crafts, please feel free to share a link with us in the comments section. 
     
    Wednesday Elf on Etsy
    Follow Wednesday Elf on Twitter
    Crochet Blog by Wednesday Elf



    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    FOLLOW US ON:

    Sunday, November 30, 2014

    How to Put Fun into Your Holidays

    Wouldn't we all love to put some fun back into our holiday preparations? Here are tips to help you do just that. Remember those days as a kid when the holidays were all about excitement, anticipation and just plain fun. It's time us grown-ups got to enjoy that as well.

    Shop Online for Some Fun


    Skip the crowds, the traffic, the lines and the surly salespeople. Shop online for just about everything you need from holiday decorations to gifts. The contributing writers for Review This put together a great holiday gift guide just to help you do that very thing. 

    You can get in the mood for some fun Christmas time while still
    curled up in your pj's and fuzzy bunny slippers. Just do it online. Christmas Time Treasures has lots of those great pages to help you with holiday decorations for your home, like pre-lit Christmas trees, festive kitchen towels, even holiday cats on decorative pillows (www.web-surfing-with-susan.com/christmas-cat-throw-pillows). 

    Get your Christmas tree decorated with personalized ornaments or something even more fun like Eiffel Tower ornaments (www.web-surfing-with-susan.com/eiffel-tower-christmas-ornaments). Holidays are definitely easier and much more fun when you shop online from the comfort of your own home. 

    Take Some Time to Relax


    Since you won't need to spend many extra hours fighting the malls and the traffic, use that time to relax and do something you love. For me, it's a long hot bubble bath with festive scented soaps (www.the-bubble-bath.com/get-in-the-holiday-spirit-with-a-festive-bubble-bath) and reading a great Christmas mystery book (www.mysterybookworldlive.com/holiday-mysteries/christmas-mysteries).  Now, we're talking relaxing. 

    Whatever you like to do to relax, do it. Your own holidays will be more fun. More like those days when you were a kid and the whole month of December was all about the excitement, anticipation and fun.





    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    FOLLOW US ON:

    Sunday, May 25, 2014

    Kick off the Summer with a Party!

    Historic Falls Park, Pendleton, IN
    I do love the summer! Here in the Midwest, we might not have a gorgeous ocean and beach but we do have our own great summer sights. The flowers, the creek falls, the kelly green grass, the blue sky, the vitamin D filled sunshine and 3 fun holidays to boot wrap up our summer season!

    Memorial Day starts everything in late May, Independence Day is midway and the end of summer is signified by Labor Day every year.

    Memorial Day/Weekend Party or Get-Together

    Since we are smack in the middle of Memorial Weekend today, I thought I would take you through our celebration last year (this year's is tomorrow.)  Each year, my family gets together for and on Memorial Day. It's our "Kick Off to Summer Party" and one of my favorites.

    I know I have mentioned it before but here I go again... I am a military brat -- specifically the U.S. Navy. My dad was career Navy. My parents actually met when both were stationed at the Naval Air Station in Pensacola, Florida. Both my grandfathers were U.S. Navy veterans as is my only brother.

    Suffice is to say, we are a patriotic bunch! So, because the Memorial, Independence and Labor Day holidays are patriotic in nature, that's the theme we use for all three. It's a lot of fun and we leave some of the decor up all summer -- red, white and blue is very appropriate for a summer season boasting 3 patriotic holidays.

    Stars & Stripes -- Red, White & Blue

    The color combination is timeless. The primary color scheme is used by Countries for their flag, sports teams and schools for their colors, in home decorating (especially in the cottage, vintage and nautical decor themes) and so much more.

    Last year, I decided to use a "vintage feel" with the patriotic theme and loved the way it turned out. I wrote about it here: My Patriotic Buffet Table for our Summer party. Burlap, baskets, bandanas and mini flags come together to create a festive, fun and whimsical buffet table for our party. What do you think?
    My Patriotic Summer Buffet Party


    Summer Parties

    The summer is filled with parties, occasions and get togethers in addition to the holidays mentioned above. Do you have a traditional get-together each summer or a special occasion you'll celebrate this year? Could be anything, like:

    • Graduation Party
    • Neighborhood Block Party
    • Birthday
    • Wedding
    • Baby or Bridal Shower
    • Class Reunion
    • Family Reunion
    • Annual Luau Party 
    • Summer Picnics

    Think about sharing your ideas and experiences with others that want to hold a successful event. Do you have a favorite pot luck dish you always make or take? Are you throwing a shindig to celebrate your daughter's graduation or your son's wedding rehearsal dinner? Are you the "Picnic King/Queen"?

    Being the Party Planning Contributor on Squidoo, I can point you to a great outlet for sharing your experiences with others here on the world wide web. Best of all -- Squidoo is FREE!!! You might even earn a little you can put towards your next big party!

    Let me know (in the comments) if you write an article about a party so I can help you promote it! Most of all, have a wonderful summertime!



    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    FOLLOW US ON:

    Saturday, May 23, 2015

    Holiday Gift Guide: Online Shopping Directory

    Shopping for just the right gift doesn't have to be difficult or chaotic. This birthday & holiday gift guide will help you find the perfect gift for every member of your family, for all of your friends as well as co-workers, truly everyone on your gift list.  
     
    We know the sites listed in this guide are trustworthy and reliable sources.  So, sit back, relax and do all of your gift shopping right from the comfort of your own home.


    These are not paid ads or solicitations. Placement in the Review This Holiday Gift Guide cannot be purchased.   

    Each of these sites has been hand-selected by our own Review This contributors team to provide you with the very best shopping experience.



      CHRISTMAS SELECTIONS

    SUGGESTIONS FROM MULTIPLE CONTRIBUTORS
     


    SEE THE SITES BELOW FOR MORE GIFT IDEAS 



     

    CHRISTMAS


    CHRISTMAS TIME TREASURES:  Bring the magic and wonder of Christmas home!  Make Christmas memorable with our Christmas decorations, recipes, holiday party invitations, and Christmas apparel.  We also feature a selection of Christmas gifts that will be treasured for years to come.

    CHRISTMAS TREE IDEAS:  Christmas Tree Ideas as the title suggests offers ideas for your Christmas tree from the tree itself to different themed ornaments, tree skirts and tree toppers. Purchase new ornaments from the comfort of your own home or just get some inspiration for your holiday décor. 

    CHRISTMAS HOLIDAYS:  Christmas Holidays is a POD store spreading the joy of Christmas with ornaments, t-shirts, cards, throw pillows, gift wrap and more! 

     

    GIFT EMPORIUMS


    TREASURES, TRAVEL, AND TALES:   A site as random and rambling as the author.  Dawn Rae firmly believes that the best gifts are those that create memories or relationships. Whether those relationships are with friends, family, and pets or with inanimate things such as the earth, books, and her beloved Jeep.  On the pages of this site you will find "treasures" which are Dawn Rae's gift recommendations, "travel" which will include great places for adventure in the mid-Atlantic region, and "tales" which will include book reviews as well as the author's journey in the writing world. To make a long story short, this sit should have been entitled, "Included, but not limited to." 

    LOU 16:  Lou16 is a website with lots of gift ideas mixed in with zombies, dolls and a few ideas on how to earn money online. The author loves to discover new cool things that will make great gift ideas so no matter who you’re shopping for Lou could have the perfect gift waiting for you. 

     

     

    JEWELRY


    VICTORIA FREDERICK'S JEWELRY BOX:  Experience the real joy of jewelry!  I invite you to look inside my jewelry box where you will discover the most divine and beautiful jewelry available today.  From silver filigree to diamond laden pendants, I endeavor to offer the perfect gifts in jewelry and accessories with something for every budget.  




    HOME DECOR


    FUNK THIS HOUSE:  If you consider yourself an original who tends to plow their own path in life even when it comes to home decor, then you need to embrace your funky side by checking out the broad collection of colorful, unique, odd and somewhat off-the-wall ideas at Funkthishouse.com! Find ways to tap into your wacky side when you decorate! Why move from your home when you can just funk'n love it!



    BEAUTIFUL HOME & GARDEN DECOR:  Step into a dreamy world of beautiful home and garden decor where the selections are a combination of practicality and lovely appeal.   From the den to the bedroom, throughout the house and into the garden, we feature decor that enriches our everyday lives as we transform our home and gardens into our own private sanctuaries.  We can help you make your home a warm, comfortable and inviting reflection of yourself!


    EASY KIDS BEDROOM DECOR: Find fun things to decorate your child's room in the colors and themes they love. Gifts for kids don't always need to be toys and clothes. Bedding sets in your child's favorite character make a great gift. Find colorful toy storage, fun night lights even wall decals to delight your child with the bedroom of their dreams.


    HOUSE OF SYLVESTERMOUSE on Zazzle:  Many fabulous and exclusive photographs of nature scenes are featured, including mammals, flowers and insects, as well as prints of historical landmarks and art. These photos are offered on many different mediums including apparel, home & office decor, greeting cards, Christmas ornaments, and more. They are sure to add beauty and creativity to any wall or surface.



    KITCHENS

    HEART OF THE HOME KITCHENS:  Your kitchen is where you prepare meals, artistically create great food masterpieces, and share some of the greatest moments in life.  It is the heart of the home and should be filled with the tools that make cooking fun and easy, and dining a pleasure, not just a necessity. From specialty cookware to lovely serving pieces and holiday kitchen decor, we have what your "heart" desires.




    FOOD & DRINK


    COOKING FOR THE HOLIDAYS   Discover recipes, tips and suggestions for Cooking for the Holidays, or any day of the year.


    KOFFEE KINGDOM:  "Where Coffee Rules!"   Koffee Kingdom is truly the "kingdom" of coffee information & resources, coffee makers and equipment, coffee supplies, coffee recipes, coffee related gifts & decor.  For us, it is all about coffee. "I got a fever...and the only prescription is more coffee!"


    ALL ABOUT WINE:  At All About Wine, it's more than just information. It's also those great gift ideas for wine lovers. Simple to fancy accessories for wine enjoying, functional to whimsical wine glasses and decanters, even delightfully fun home decor items just for wine lovers. All About Wine has you covered.


    GARDENING


    EASY BACKYARD GARDENING: Your garden and backyard should be your own private sanctuary.  It is your place to rest, relax and simply enjoy the peace that only a garden can give. Easy Backyard Gardening offers plants, flowers and tree suggestions, gardening tool recommendations and easy care instructions to help you create your own backyard garden retreat.



    GRAMMIE KNOWS HOW TO GARDEN: Gardening has been a passion for Grammie Olivia, forever.  Not only does she know lots about gardens, tips and tricks, flowers, vegetables and weeds, but she loves to share her knowledge with novice gardeners and experts alike.  You will find all kinds of interesting things here, from Garden Decor, Gifts for Gardeners, New and Improved ways to make gardening easier.  Even help for “Older Gardeners”  who can’t give up the idea of  getting their hands in the ground.

    From the Balcony to the great Outdoors, Grammie Olivia, writes for all gardeners, bringing new tools, seeds, trends in the garden, and a love for Mother Nature and all her garden friends!  The ones with two legs, four and more legs, two wings or more.  The ones that hop, jump, scurry and fly!  They are all integral players in the Great Outdoors.  Some are Beneficial and some are not, Grammie Olivia helps you to keep the ones that are great and naturally deter the ones that are not!  

    Grammie Olivia welcomes you and your friends to ask questions, share advice, join in a group of people who love to garden.  Looking forward to hearing from all of you!

     

    CHILDREN



    COASTAL CROCHET CRAFTS: Journey with me to my 'Land of Crochet' where little plush animals romp & play. 
    Here you will find hand-crocheted 'critters' who are brightly colored soft 'stuffies' in many shapes and forms from penguins to puppies, barnyard buddies, zoo animals, seaside stuffies and more.
    Coastal Crochet and Crafts Shop also has handmade household décor in the shape of beverage coasters and tissue covers in many themes.



    TOY TIME TREASURES: The premier selection of toys available for our children today. We invite you into our world of wonderful toys that provide hours of fun and a touch of fantasy.   Dolls, Dragons, Castles, Tents, Plush Animals to Hold or Ride, Play Kitchens, Workshops and so much more. We have what you have been looking for and more!


    TOY TREASURES:  "Toys that capture our attention and hold our hearts!"    At Toy Treasures, we are kindred spirits and avid collectors all.  We understand the desire to have our own menagerie of collectibles.  Today’s toys will become tomorrow's greatest keepsake in the hearts and minds of our children.  Discover today's plaything and tomorrows heirloom.




    SPECIALTY GIFTS



    LEFT HANDED WORLD Left-handed gifts for every lefty on your list. Everything from sports equipment for kids to the perfect funny t-shirt for lefties. "I'm left-handed. What's your super power?" Kitchen knives, craft supplies, even watches just for those of us who are left-handed. Brought to you by a lefty for lefties.

    LIGHT HOUSE ENTHUSIAST:  Are you looking for a gift for a lighthouse enthusiast. At this site you will find a wide variety of gifts from mugs, posters, magnets, dishes, ornaments and much more. There are over 100 different lighthouses depicted on the products in my shop. Stop by and browse the store to find the perfect gift for that lighthouse lover on your gift list.




    CRAFTS

     
    WEDNESDAY ELFS' EBAY STORECrafting visitors to my eBay site will find a wide variety of craft patterns for every season and occasion for crafters in crochet, knitting, cross stitch and sewing. Along with patterns, I have craft supplies (yarns, trimmings, accessories, etc.) available. As a crochet and needlework crafter myself, I also feature new ready-to-use-or-give handcrafted items for holiday, seasonal, birthday and 'just because' gifts.


    CHRISTMAS CRAFT KITS: Your destination for fast and easy Christmas crafts, or handmade Christmas gifts to make and give to your family & friends, we offer a variety of beautiful Christmas crafts.   Visit us today and enter the home of Christmas Craft Kits where a world of crafting fun in felt, cross stitch, plastic canvas, crochet and more, are waiting for your hands to turn the pieces into cherished keepsakes.


    HOUSE OF SYLVESTERMOUSE EBAY STORE:  Explore a crafter's paradise filled with the variety of crafts, craft kits, patterns, books and supplies.  As a fellow crafter, this is truly my own personal world of experience and creativity.  I also offer some great gift selections for just about anyone on your gift list, not just the crafters.



    GREETING CARDS


     
    THE GREEN-EYED CAT GIFT SHOP:  The Green-Eyed Cat Gift Shop's high-quality greeting cards feature our own photography and a selection of customizable birthday, Mother's Day and Father's Day, and all-occasion cards for dog lovers, people who like flowers, and even recipe cards.  Personalize a card with your own message if you like, choose a size, and rest assured that you'll love the 100% satisfaction-guaranteed results.

    THE COOL CARD SHOP:  The Cool Card Shop has a lovely selection of greeting cards for you, from birthday cards to Christmas cards, Valentine’s Day Greetings to Mother’s Day Cards. 

    HOUSE OF SYLVESTERMOUSE GREETING CARDS In the House of Sylvestermouse, I specialize in beautiful photography.  I offer greeting cards with lovely photos of animals, travel destinations, flowers, and more featured on the front.  Some of my cards have inspirational messages inside, but most are left blank for you to add your own personal greeting or note.  When you want a beautiful picture, come see me.  Also, if you see any photo in my store that you would like to have made available on a greeting card, simply let me know and I will gladly add it to the greeting card selections.




    MORE HOLIDAY WEBSITES



    VALENTINES DAY

    BE MY VALENTINE WORLD:   Explore a world of fun and romantic ideas for valentine's decorating, cards, parties, apparel and creating special memories on Valentine's Day.  We will help you plan a romantic dinner and find a gift your Valentine is sure to love and cherish.  Be My Valentine World also has a section just for children and Valentine's cards for classroom exchange.


    EASTER

    EGGSCITING EASTER:  An eggs-cellent place for all of your Easter fun!  Easter decor and decorating ideas, party planning and apparel, recipes, gifts, Easter candy and treats for an Egg-cellent and Egg-citing Easter!


    HALLOWEEN

    HALLOWEEN HAVEN:  Hauntingly memorable Halloweens start here!  Like a lot of great parties, Halloween Haven has multiple hallow-hostesses who have joined our knowledge and experiences together in order to create a frighteningly fantastic place for all of your Halloween fun.  We feature the best Halloween costumes and jewelry, Halloween indoor and outdoor decorations, Halloween party ideas and recipes, as well as Halloween collectibles. 

    EVERYTHING HALLOWEEN:  Everything Halloween is your online destination for everything Halloween as the name suggests! We do have a heavy emphasis on costumes as we love fancy dress on any day of the year, but Halloween is definitely the best time! 

     







    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    FOLLOW US ON:


    The Review This Contributors

    Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
    Woman2010
    Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
    forEvents
    Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

     

    Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
    We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

    Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

    “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

    X