Showing posts with label Sam Monaco. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Sam Monaco. Show all posts

Wednesday, December 30, 2020

Charleston South Carolina Historic Vacation Reviewed

South Carolina Folley Beach Pier
South Carolina Folly Beach Pier

 If you're planning a vacation in the new year and you love history, or maybe you just like to relax on you're vacation, consider Charleston South Carolina.

We’re lucky enough to have family living in Charleston. If we didn’t have family living there I don’t know if we would have ever have considered taking a vacation there. What a mistake that would be, as we’ve traveled there many times to visit and every time there is something new to see and do.

As you know this is where the Civil War started, when confederate soldiers fired on Fort Sumter in Charleston Harbor, which was occupied by Union forces. This was known as the first shot fired in the Civil War. Okay, enough history; you can read this anywhere online. What I want to tell you are some of the fun things that we like to do when we visit Charleston.

Folley Beach

Folly Beach is on James Island, we always make it a point to visit this beach in the morning. We walked to the beach and collected some beautiful seashells. We’ll later use these seashells to do some crafts with our grandchildren.

The beach is so very peaceful in the morning, and if you can get there early enough to see the sunrise it’s a beautiful sight. Although we didn’t do this every day, come on, I’m on vacation right. If you miss the sunrise, the sunsets on Folly Beach are epic.

Charleston the downtown market

Baskets in the maket place

Take a day to visit the huge outside market in downtown Charleston, we like walking through and stopping to see the many vendors and their wares. You’ll find everything here from fine art to the smallest trinket to take home as a keepsake. There are some very talented people, who hand weave these baskets. Well, it’s hard to see the people in this photo, but I really wanted you to see the baskets.

As you walk through, you’ll see people throughout the market crafting and weaving their baskets. We have purchased several; after all, you can never have enough baskets, right? Some of them are a bit pricey, but most time the vendors a willing to make a deal.

Carriage Tours

Once you're downtown take some time to check out the carriage ride guided tours of the city. These tours have so many different routes around the city, and you can take a different one every time. It’s a beautiful ride through the streets of Old Charleston, the tour guides are well versed in the history of the city, and the horses are very friendly too. If you’re going to visit Charleston, put this on your things-to-do list, you won’t be sorry.

 This is the tour that we have taken a couple of times. The Palmetto Carriage Tour is an hour-long carriage ride through the city. I love the history on these tours, I learn something new every time.

Plantation
Walk around the city just to enjoy the beauty and architecture. Soak in the history of Old Charleston. 

Walking along the Battery off in the distance, you can see Fort Sumter. Very often you can see dolphins jumping around the shoreline.

As I walk through the streets of this historic city. I can’t help but think of all the generations that have lived in these homes. Homes that have been here for hundreds of years, the history just pours out of them. After the war, Charleston didn’t have a lot of money to rebuild so they restored and restored, keeping the old buildings for us to enjoy.

This is my favorite thing to do as I see something new every time we take a walk around the city. These are some of the things we like to do when we visit Charleston. There is so much more to enjoy here, with so many wonderful restaurants and parks to visit.

Charleston Where History Lives

Find more Travel Reviews here: ReviewThisTravel.com

Charleston! Charleston!: The History of a Southern CityCharleston! Charleston!: The History of a Southern City

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 16, 2020

Bing Crosby - Reviewed

Bing Crosby
Bing Crosby - Reviewed
Photo credit: Getty Free Images

Who doesn’t remember that one voice in a lifetime the voice of Bing Crosby? If you are too young to remember or think that you have never heard him sing, think again. If you listen to any radio station around the holidays then you have probably heard his voice.

Always around the holidays, you'll hear that famous song “White Christmas” played over and over again during the Holiday season. Written by Irving Berlin “White Christmas” was the biggest hit of Bing Crosby’s career and first introduced in 1942 in the Movie "Holiday Inn" 

Then, in 1954 the musical  White Christmas was released, featuring songs by Irving Berlin. This movie still remains a favorite today during the holiday season. We never miss watching White Christmas every year, as it became a tradition in our family while I was growing up.

Solo vocalist, radio, big screen, and television Bing Crosby did it all and did it well. Bing  Crosby was voted by Yank magazine as the person who had done the most for the GI’s during World War II. I really would have thought that would have been Bob Hope.

Bing Crosby was one of my dad's favorites so growing up I became very familiar with his voice, especially around the holidays. I can still hear my dad singing White Christmas as we decorated our tree.


Bing Crosby: Some Interesting Facts


·         Born: May 3, 1903 (Harry Lillis Crosby Jr.) nicknamed Bingo by his neighbor in 1910, later the O was dropped and the nickname Bing stuck.


·         He was among one of the first singers to use the microphone.


·         Bing Crosby invested in the company called Ampex; the company built the first reel-to-reel tape recorder in North America.


·         He was the first to pre-record his own radio show.


·         In 1946 he became part owner of my favorite baseball team the Pittsburgh Pirates. He taped the famous 1960 World Series; this tape was found in his wine cellar in 2009.


·         Bing was an avid hunter and fisherman, and was known to be an expert fly fisherman.


·         He also owned a cattle ranch in Elko Nevada where he was the honorary Mayor.


·         A fan of horse racing, he owned his own stables, and his horse Ligaroti raced against Seabiscuit in 1948.

I must have been too young to have had any of this, but there was a Bing Crosby Ice Cream. Maybe I did have it when I was a little one and just don’t remember.

Every time I hear his voice now it brings back memories of my childhood. Maybe that is why I have come to appreciate his voice.

Enjoy the original version of White Christmas by Bing Crosby



                               I'm sure you can find the movie White Christmas streaming somewhere or you can own the DVD

White Christmas (Blu-ray + Digital)White Christmas (Blu-ray + Digital)

 

Find more movie Reviews here: ReviewThisMovies.com

Find more music Reviews here: ReviewThisMusic.com



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, November 4, 2020

Lawn Leaf Blowers

 

Lawn Leaf Blowers
Lawn Leaf Blowers Reviewed
Photo from Getty Free Images

We Live in a small quiet village in Western New York, surrounded by so many big trees. We have a small yard so it's not that difficult to take care of. When the fall season arrives, and the leaves turn those beautiful colors it's a breathtaking sight and so beautiful.

It's not long before the leaves fall to the ground, cover the lawn and clog the gutters. Last year my electric leaf blower burned up, I wasn't too disappointed when this happened as I've had it for many years.

Lawn Leaf Blowers Reviewed

It was time to find a new leaf blower so I began my search. I had to decide between electric, gas-powered, or Cordless. My first thought was, instead of dragging a couple of extension cords around the yard how about a new gas-powered leaf blower.

As luck would have it a friend of mine let me use his gas-powered leaf blower for a couple of days. As far as blowing leaves it worked very well. But, for me, I found it too heavy and hard to start. This was my opinion I'm sure many people love their gas-powered leaf blowers.

There are many cordless leaf blowers on the market. I wasn't thrilled with the reviews that I read on cordless. I think the cordless is great for blowing off sidewalks, patios, and decks. I just wasn't convinced that cordless would be good enough for the big job of the leaves.

I decided on a new electric Weed Eater Leaf Blower. Since my old one was the same brand and it served me well. It's lightweight, with an ergonomic handle for ease of handling, has an airspeed of 130 MPH, with low noise.

I couldn't be happier with my new leaf blower. I use it throughout the year to clean off my deck and to blow the leaves out of my rain gutters. I made my own extension attachment from some leftover downspout and an elbow. Since we live in a one-story home it's easy to clean the gutter from the ground.

I would recommend this leaf blower to anybody. There are other popular brands on the market. I find this one to be inexpensive with a five-star review.

Turbine Leaf Blower Electric Corded Powerful 7 AMP - Corded Weed Eater Leaf Blower Black Nozzle 130 MPH Max Air 2 Speed Lawn Blower for Women Garden Patio Lawn Backyard Dust SnowTurbine Leaf Blower Electric Corded Powerful 7 AMP - Corded Weed Eater Leaf Blower Black Nozzle 130 MPH Max Air 2 Speed Lawn Blower for Women Garden Patio Lawn Backyard Dust Snow

 

Find more product reviews on Review This Here: ReviewThisProductReviews.com



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, October 27, 2020

Smoking Meat for Beginners Book Review

Smoking Meat for Beginners Book Review
Everyone knows that I have a passion for preserving old family recipes. These are recipes passed down from my grandmother, mother, and aunts. You can find these old family recipes along with some new ones on my blog, Sam's Places.

During grilling season here in Western NY I love cooking on my grill. I'm always looking for new ideas and recipes to try on the grill.

A few years ago I started to follow David Farrell's blog oldfatguy.ca. I quickly became a fan and very interested in David's recipes and methods of smoking meats.

At the time I didn't have a smoker, I had a gas grill. I really wanted to try one of David's methods. So I followed his method for his 3-2-1 Spareribs on my gas grill. I picked up some wood chips wrapped them in tinfoil then poked some holes in them. 

I followed his method for seasoning, temperature to maintain, and cooking time. They were delicious and I was hooked.

 

The Old Fat Guy's Guide To Smoking Meat For Beginners

When his book came out I couldn't wait to buy it. I knew that I wanted a smoker but had no idea what type of smoker to buy. After reading the very first section of the book where David explains the benefits and downsides of every type of smoker. I decided that I wanted an offset smoker.

Char-Griller Offset Smoker


 And, low and behold, for Father's Day my daughter bought me this Char-Griller offset smoker. Now I was all set. 
 I had the book and the smoker.

The next part of the book will explain all about accessories for your smoker. What you need from temperature control, cleaning your equipment, cooking utensils, types of wood for smoking, and much more.

Then, David tells us how to get your smoker ready no matter what smoker you have. There is a whole section dedicated to food safety. I found this to be very helpful with tips on cross-contamination, dangerous ingredients, and improper storage.

You will find classic recipes and methods along with appetizers, rubs, sauces, and marinades. Read about David's many successes and some of his failures along the way. 

This is my go-to book along with David's blog whenever I'm preparing to smoke something. You'll find this book easy to read and non-technical. This is a perfect gift idea for not only beginners, but even the most experienced smokers will find useful information in this book.

The Old Fat Guy's Guide to Smoking Meat for BeginnersThe Old Fat Guy's Guide to Smoking Meat for BeginnersThe Old Fat Guy's Guide to Smoking Meat for Beginners

 

More Book Reviews on Review This: ReviewThisBooks.com



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

Cool Camping Gift Ideas Reviewed

Some people just can't get enough of the great outdoors; they can't resist those outdoor activities. Hiking a mountain trail, riding a bike trail, fishing in a lake or stream, canoeing, and boating. 

Whatever your pleasure is, the great outdoors offers it all. Some people like to take on some of these activities while camping. Other people, like myself, just like to relax enjoy the surroundings, cook up some great food, and meet new friends. 

Cool camping gift ideas reviewed

Camping is such a wonderful family activity. When our kids were growing up our family along with friends rented cottages on a small lake just south of Lake Erie in Western Pennsylvania.

Here we made memories that we'll never forget. The Lake had a recreation area with a game room and go-carts for kids and the big kids.

After a day of relaxation, good food, and fun my favorite time of these camping trips was the nightly campfire.

Now that our kids have grown up and have their own kids we haven't been camping in a long time. Although, we still enjoy those wonderful campfires with our kids and grandchildren right in our own backyard.

Cool Camping Gift Ideas:


Landmann USA 23172 Patio Lights Firewave Firepit, BlackLandmann USA 23172 Patio Lights Firewave Firepit, Black

This Landmann Firepit was my Father's Day gift many years ago. Now in the spring, summer, and fall, we enjoy our backyard campfires.

 Although many people here in Western New York like their backyard campfires all year long, I pull the plug when it starts to snow.

Landmann fire pits are made with sturdy steel construction and come with a poker and cooking grate.

You can find out here: How to Cook Corn on a Campfire


 

Square Pie Iron - Cast IronSquare Pie Iron - Cast Iron

You can't possibly have a backyard campfire without cooking up some Mountain Pies also known as Hobo Pies.

My Rome pie irons were yet another gift from my daughter for our backyard fires.

These pie irons are a heavy-duty cast iron design and will last forever if you take care of them. I clean and coat them on the inside and outside with vegetable oil after every use.

If you don't know how to make a mountain pie you can find out how here: Mountain Pies. 


I have two favorite mountain pies, one is pizza with cheese, sauce, and pepperoni. The second is apple and cheddar cheese. This Creative Pie Iron Cooking book is loaded with many more recipes for your enjoyment. These are perfect gift ideas whether you're camping or want to enjoy some backyard fun. 

 

Rome Industries 2011 Creative Pie Iron Cooking by Richard O'RussiaRome Industries 2011 Creative Pie Iron Cooking by Richard O'Russia

 

See more Gift Ideas on Review This Reviews Here: ReviewThisGifts.com



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, September 23, 2020

RYOBI Laser Level Review

RYOBI Laser Level Review

There are always projects to do around the house. Some are big projects, and some are small projects.

Whatever the project is in my house I like to tackle it myself. I'm not the best handyman but I can hold my own when comes to work around the house.

I've learned some tricks over the years to help me get by with most of my own projects.

One day I was in our local hardware store and noticed this laser level. My first thought was why would I ever need one of these. 

Then I thought, wait a minute, one of my problems was hanging pictures or adding a shelf on the walls and keeping them straight.

I can tell you that I've patched up many holes in the walls fixing my mistakes while hanging pictures and shelves. Well, not anymore because this little laser level makes it so easy even I can do it.

 I now have pictures and shelves that are perfectly level. Although, I do miss those words from Fran, "that's not straight". This handy little tool helped me fix all of my mistakes.


This shelf is now perfectly level, but that wasn't always the case with this shelf. This shelf requires it to be hung from two points on the backside. There are two notches that screws fit into on the back of the shelf. Trying to get the second screw level with the first screw was a nightmare for me.

The laser level made this easy, just set the first screw, then mount the laser level on the wall. Line it up to the centerline of the first screw, using the level on the tool to make sure it's level. Now, measure and mark the wall on the laser line for the second screw. Wow!! Perfect every time.

Some other projects that my laser level made easy, hanging wallpaper, and borders, pictures, and curtain rods. I had to add some new posts for our deck, I used the laser level to determine the correct height of each post. I even lined up the photo eyes on my garage door with it. So, it turns out that I really did need one of these.

RYOBI Laser Level Features:

  • Vacuum suction will seal to smooth walls
  • The laser beam will shoot around corners which makes hanging shelves or wallpaper around the room easy.
  • Tacks will hold the level in place on textured walls.
  • The laser beam will shoot a distance of 30 feet.
  • Easily mounts to a tripod. (tripod is not included)

Ryobi ELL1002 Air Grip Compact Laser Level with Tripod Mounting and Corner Rounding Capability (AAA Batteries Included)Ryobi ELL1002 Air Grip Compact Laser Level with Tripod Mounting and Corner Rounding Capability (AAA Batteries Included)

 

See more Product Reviews Here: ReviewThisProductReviews.com



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, September 9, 2020

Shish Kabob Grilling Baskets

 

Shish Kabob Grilling Baskets
Shish Kabob Grilling Baskets Reviewed

We like to take advantage of the grilling season here in Western New York because around here the snow will be flying before you know it. Fran saw an advertisement for these shish kabob grilling baskets and she knew we had to have them.

Fran bought two sets of four of the grilling baskets. We had them for about three weeks, and I just couldn't wait any longer to give them a try.

I picked up two 10oz. steaks, one Rib Eye, and one Strip steak along with three boneless chicken breasts. For the vegetables, we used one green and one red bell pepper, one large onion, and fresh mushrooms.

Kabob Grilling Baskets:


Kabob Baskets

I cut the steak and chicken breasts into cubes to fit the baskets, about 2-inch cubes. I marinated the steak and chicken overnight in Chiavetta's Barbeque Marinade. This is a perfect marinade for chicken and beef, we use this faithfully.  After marinating, I sprayed the kabob baskets with cooking spray and filled the baskets with the meat. We used six out of the eight baskets we bought.

 The cooking spray makes for easy clean up of the baskets.  Then, I seasoned them with Penzeys Chicago Steak Seasoning.  

Close the top of the basket slide the ring up to lock in place and you're ready to grill. I choose to load the baskets with all meat. But you can alternate meat and vegetables if you like. 

Kabob Basket Grilling

 I cleaned the mushrooms and removed the stems, cut the peppers, and onion. I marinated the vegetables for about 30 minutes with an 8oz. bottle  Wegmans Basting Oil. Then, I grilled the vegetables in a separate grilling basket.  

bbq Kabob Baskets

This is the end result right out of the kabob baskets. The steak grilled to an internal temperature of 125 degrees for a perfect medium-rare, and the chicken grilled to 165 degrees internal temperature. The vegetables were grilled until they were nice and tender but still a bit crispy.

In my opinion, the Kabob Baskets are amazing, I'll never use skewers again. As long as you spray them with cooking spray before grilling clean up is fairly easy.

Tip: The kabob baskets have wooden handles which makes it difficult to close the grill lid. I used a mini bread pan to stop the grill lid from touching the handles. This kept the grill lid about 3-inches from the handles and allowed me to keep some heat as they grilled.

Find more product reviews here: ReviewThisProductReviews.com

Find more recipes here: ReviewThisRecipes.com

Set of 4 Kabob Basket, BlackSet of 4 Kabob Basket, BlackSet of 4 Kabob Basket, Black

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 26, 2020

Columbo TV Series Reviewed

 

Columbo TV Series Reviewed

Who remembers Columbo? If you grew up in the '70s or even the '90s then you may know who Lt. Columbo is. The series began on NBC in 1971 and ran until 1978. I was so disappointed when NBC canceled the series.

 Then, Columbo was picked up by ABC in 1989 and ran until 2003. I don't think we ever missed an episode. In 1989 we moved to Western New York, not far from home in Pennsylvania. Moving is certainly a stressful undertaking, a new town, new schools for the kids, making new friends. This may sound crazy, but the series coming back was like having an old friend in the living room whenever it aired.

Columbo The Complete Series:

Lieutenant Columbo was played by (Peter Falk) a Los Angeles Police Dept. homicide detective. Columbo was not your typical whodunit mystery. Each episode opened with the crime being committed. So, we all knew from the beginning of the show who did it. This popularized what is called the inverted detective format.

During the rest of the show, we watch Columbo solve the crime with his relentless approach of questioning, picking apart the killers alibi, and bringing them to justice. 

To me, the show was more like a comedy, as he would arrive at the crime scene in his old beat-up car, wrinkled suit, trench coat, and smoking his cigar. The suspects become irritated with his persistence and line of questioning. His famous phrase was "Just one more thing". He came off as an incompetent, bumbling detective. It would always be at the end of the episode when they finally figured out how smart Lieutenant Columbo really was.

Some Fun Facts About Columbo:

  • The clothes he wore in the show were Peter Falk's own wrinkled suit and trench coat.
  • He frequently mentions his wife but she never appears in any of the episodes.
  • Columbo's first name is never mentioned. He is known simply as "Lieutenant Columbo".
  • Bing Crosby was originally offered the role of Columbo.
  • In season two they introduced a Basset Hound as Columbo's dog. The dog's name is never mentioned. 
  • The beat-up car Columbo drove was a 1959 Peugeot convertible, Model 403. I read somewhere that only 504 of these cars were manufactured in 1959.
This TV series is surely a classic we still watch it whenever we can find it on television. I still marvel in the endings when Columbo outwits the killer and finds that one clue the killer didn't count on.

Enjoy watching your favorite episodes with this Columbo Complete Series Edition

Columbo: The Complete SeriesColumbo: The Complete Series

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

Handheld Steam Cleaner - Reviewed


Handheld Steam Cleaner Reviewed
My Handheld Steam Cleaner

This little handheld steam cleaner is a great way to clean around your house chemical-free. It's perfect for small jobs around the house, and you can rest assured you're cleaning and sanitizing at the same time.

I do a lot of grilling and smoking in my offset smoker during the grilling season. After a while, the inside of the smoker builds up with grease. This is the main reason that I bought this handheld steamer, but I found this little tool to have many other uses. By the way, you will find some great grilling and smoking ideas at Sam's Places my food blog.

Just like commercial steam cleaners, this handheld is perfect for removing dirt and grime while killing germs, but you are limited to smaller cleaning jobs.

How did it work on my grill? Well, it didn't completely wipe out the grease build-up, but it did loosen up the grease enough to make the job much easier. Bottom line I was happy with the results.

I also used this to clean the tire rims on my car, and it worked great. Below are the before and after photos of my car rims.

The top photo is before and the bottom is the after. I used no spray bottles of harsh chemicals or the garden hose. I just used the handheld steamer and then wiped the rims clean with a dry cloth.

I tried the steam cleaner on my glass shower doors and wasn't satisfied with the results. I think it's because the glass is beveled on my shower doors. This is not a big concern for me as it worked very well everywhere else that I used it.

Handheld Steam Cleaner: More Uses

  • Tile grout provided they are sealed and glazed
  • Glass shower doors and windows
  • Toilets
  • Ovens and stovetops
  • Microwaves
  • Pet cages
  • Small appliances
  • Kitchen and bathroom fixtures
  • Patio door tracks
This little steam cleaner has several attachments to handle just about any small cleaning job you may have. The brush is really handy for kitchen and bath fixtures and grates for your grill.

Clean and sanitize all of your kitchen cabinet door and drawer handles and all the doorknobs in your house. 






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Easy Wall Decor Ideas


Easy Wall Decor Ideas
Easy Wall Decor Ideas Reviewed

We decided to downsize a few years back. With the kids all grown up, we didn't need a large two-story house just for the two of us. So, we found a nice one-story house with two and a half baths, and as luck would have it a full finished basement.

We furnished our new finished basement with the living room furniture from our old house, So, now we had to go out and buy new furniture for the living room or live in our new basement. By the way, our finished basement is a perfect place for our grandchildren to play when they visit.

Our previous home had two built-in wall shelves between a window in the living room. This allowed us to display pictures, knick-knacks, and books.

We don't have any built-in shelves in the new house. We had to look for some inexpensive ideas to add some accents to the walls other than just picture frames.

Easy Wall Decor Ideas: 

The above picture is a simple wall shelf and candleholder we had in storage. We added this to our dining area. I looked on-line and found 48-inches as a recommended height from the floor. That seemed way too low, so, I set it at 65-inches from the top of the shelf to the floor. It is perfect to display our tea set. So far zero dollars spent.

Easy Wall Decor


This shelf is another one we had in storage. this one we added to the living room, But Fran didn't like the color of this one so I painted it to match walls. This is a perfect shelf for some candle holders and a small picture. Once again zero dollars spent.

Easy Wall Decorations


Now the wall at the end of the hallway that leads to the bedrooms was blank. This photo memory quilt filled that space quite nicely. With pockets for small photos, this is a great way to display some fun memories.

Simple wall shelves are a great and inexpensive way to add some accents to your walls and display your collectibles and photos. Some other ideas for wall decor are Pictures, wall clocks, and so many choices of Peel and Stick vinyl wall decor.


Here are some inexpensive ideas for wall shelves

Amada Floating Shelves Wall Mounted, Rustic Paulownia Wood Wall Shelves Set of 3 for Bedroom, Bathroom, Living Room, Farmhouse Kitchen, GrayAmada Floating Shelves Wall Mounted, Rustic Paulownia Wood Wall Shelves Set of 3 for Bedroom, Bathroom, Living Room, Farmhouse Kitchen, GrayCheck the PriceBAMFOX Floating Shelves,Wall Shelf Set of 3,Wall Mounted Floating Shelf with Large Storage for Bedroom Bathroom Living Room Kitchen OfficeBAMFOX Floating Shelves, Wall Shelf Set of 3, Wall Mounted Floating Shelf with Large Storage for Bedroom Bathroom Living Room Kitchen OfficeCheck the Price

 

SEe






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Mamma Mia Movie Review

I was a teenager in the '70s and of course, loved the music. In 1972 the Swedish group ABBA became popular. Their music topped the charts worldwide from 1974 to 1982. ABBA's music is so uplifting and is such feel-good music.

In 1999 a successful broadway musical hit the stage "Mamma Mia" the name of ABBA's 1975 top hit. The Broadway Musical became a hit that has since played in 40 countries and all 6 continents and has incorporated so many of ABBA's hit songs.

Mamma Mia came to theaters in Toronto in 2000. We live in Western New York so it was easy for us to get there in 2003. Watching this Broadway Musical live was just amazing. The music of ABBA was so fantastic and uplifting. Their music just gives me that all over good feeling.

Mamma Mia Movie Review



In 2008 the Broadway Musical was adapted into a movie. After seeing the Broadway Musical there was no way that I was going to miss this movie. 

Movie Plot:

The story is about Donna played by (Meryl Streep), and her daughter Sophie played by (Amanda Seyfried).

Donna and Sophie live on a small Greek Island. Donna owns a villa and tries to run it as a hotel, unsuccessfully. Sophie is about to be married and would love that her father is able to walk her down the aisle. The only problem is that Sophie has no idea who her father is.

Sophie sneaks a peek at Donna's old diary. She finds the names of three men that her mother was intimate with from her mother's younger days. Sophie is convinced that of these three men is her father. 

Sophie sends wedding invitations to all three men and signs her mother's name, in hopes that she will know her father once she gets to spend some time with him.

The three men arrive on the island, Sam Carmichael the architect played by (Pierce Brosnan), Harry Bright the British banker played by (Colin Firth), and Bill Anderson the Swedish sailor, traveler, and writer played by (Stellan Skarsgard).

Sophie explains to the three that she is the one who sent the invitations in hopes of finding out who her father is. I'll stop here just in case you haven't seen Mamma Mia. Trust me, this movie is full of laughs and the amazing music of ABBA.

Ten years later in 2018, a sequel was released. "Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again" Featuring most of the original cast and some surprise superstars. The sequel starts out in present-day but reflects back on Donna's life and how she ended up on the island and how she met her three lovers.

Both of these movies are worth the time. They are filled with laughter and ABBA's upbeat and feel-good music.

Just in case you don't remember, here is the original 1975 hit Mamma Mia by ABBA



I'm sure these two movies are streaming on Netflix or Amazon Prime. If not you can buy the DVD's

 C



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, June 17, 2020

Easy Bathroom Makeover

Easy Bathroom Makeover Reviewed

Do you have a small bathroom in need of a quick, easy, and inexpensive makeover?

I use the word easy, I don't want to make you think that you just wave a magic wand and puff it's all done.

There is certainly some work involved but, it is really not that difficult.

We have a half bath in our house that really needed a new floor. Since we were going to replace the floor we thought it was a good idea to paint the walls and trim work. 




The first task for our new project was to remove the toilet and get it out of the way. If you're removing a toilet you'll need to clean up the wax seal and then stuff a rag in the hole to prevent the smell of sewer gas. 

The next step was to remove the old floor, I think this was the hardest part. Next, I removed all of the baseboards.  Do this carefully so you break of damage it.

We choose a light mint green paint for the walls although when we started to paint it was a little darker than we expected. So, I used the white paint that I had for the trim work and added a teaspoon at a time to lighten up the green.

Easy Bathroom Makeover: Install the new floor

Now it was time to install the new floor. We used peel and stick flooring. You can find some very durable and inexpensive peel and stick flooring. In total, we bought 45 sqft. of tile and paid only $25.00 for the floor. Prices will vary depending on what you buy.


Before you install a new floor you have to make sure that the subfloor is clean and flat. It's a good idea to use a Shop-Vac to get all of the dust off the floor.

Tools you will need:
Measure and divide the room in half by both length and width. Intersect the lines in the center of the room using a straight edge or chalk line.

Once the center is marked, start to lay the tiles from the center of the room out to the edges. You will have an even space on length as well as the width of the room from your last tile to the wall.

At this point, you will need to measure and cut the remaining tiles around the room. They are very easily cut with a sharp razor knife.

The following short video will show just how easy it is to measure and install a new floor.



Now that the floor was in I painted and re-installed the baseboard and re-installed the toilet. Overall it was a pretty easy project. That means if I can do this anybody can.

You might also want to know How to Re-Caulk your bathtub




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X