Showing posts with label Movie Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Movie Reviews. Show all posts

Friday, January 15, 2021

Did You Hear About the Morgans? - Comedy Movie Review

Did You Hear About The Morgans?
I discovered this movie when seeking an easy movie to watch that would make me laugh. This movie definitely fit that bill! 

I've read mixed reviews on "Did You Hear About the Morgans?" which I really don't understand.  This is not meant to be an epic movie, rather it is light entertainment.  While neither of the main actors are on my list of favorites, I must say, this movie made me like both of them better.  Together, they really made me laugh.  

Admittedly, having a cameo appearance of a stunning grizzly bear, did help.  Hugh Grant's reaction and facial expressions during his bear encounter truly made me laugh out loud.

This is a movie to watch when you simply want to sit back and enjoy a show that doesn't require a great deal of emotional involvement, other than humor.  


Did You Hear About the Morgans? Movie Synopsis

"Did You Hear About the Morgans?" is a just for fun movie starring Sarah Jessica Parker (Meryl Morgan) and Hugh Grant (Paul Morgan). 

 Did You Hear About the Morgans? DVDCheck PriceThe Morgan's live in New York and are both successful in business.  Meryl owns a real estate company and Paul is an attorney.  In spite of their professional success, there are problems in their marriage.  Due to Paul's infidelity, the Morgans are separated.  Of course, adultery is not funny, but in this movie their separation does provide the set-up for some rather humorous situations.

Meryl agrees to have dinner with Paul and afterwards they decide to walk to her next appointment together.  Upon arrival, they witness the murder of her client.  They see the murderer and he sees them!

When it is clear, the murderer plans to eliminate the witnesses, Meryl & Paul are placed in the witness protection program "together" as a married couple and sent to a very remote area in Ray, Wyoming.  They are placed under the protection of two federal agents who happen to be married.  

Clay (Sam Elliott)  and Emma Wheeler (Mary Steenburgen) have provided shelter and protection for many witnesses in the past. They have a bedroom set up just for their "guests" and have restricted access to phones and computers, which keeps their guests from contacting friends or family.  Meryl still manages to make a phone call back home, which brings the killer right to their temporary door step.

I highly recommend "Did You Hear About the Morgans?" for a anyone seeking to relax, laugh and enjoy the show!







Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Did You Hear About the Morgans? - Comedy Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 1, 2021

It's 2021! Are You in The Twilight Zone?

Twilight Zone
For many years now, every New Year's Eve and New Year's Day is celebrated with the Twilight Zone marathon.  Even though we cut the cable a very long time ago, we didn't cut the Twilight Zone tradition in our home.

In reviewing how you can see the marathon, I'll tell you that CBS usually airs the Twilight Zone marathon starting on New Year's Eve and lasting until the early morning hours of Jan 2.  But, you can now set your own schedule thanks to Netflix & Hulu.

Hulu has all 5 seasons available and Netflix is currently offering seasons 1-3 & 5. 

What better way to start 2021 than with the voice of Rod Sterling!

 


January 1, 1960

 The Twilight Zone - Season 1
(The Definitive Edition)
Check Price
Do you know what happened on January 1, 1960? 

To be honest, I wasn't there, but I know what history tells us. On January 1, 1960, the 13th episode of the 1st season of the Twilight Zone aired.  That episode is entitled "The Four of Us Are Dying".

It is about a con man who can change his face to look like whomever he chooses by simply concentrating.  36 year old Arch Hammer doesn't always pick the best people to impersonate, but he always has an angle or reason for his selections.  Some schemes require a lot of money though and getting that can be very "expensive" as well as dangerous when you don't know the life story of the person you choose to impersonate.

You can watch that episode this New Year's by visiting Netflix or Hulu.  If you don't mind waiting and you would rather own the entire first season, you can do the same thing we have done in my household.  You can buy the full season, all 36 episodes, on DVD.


Favorite Twilight Zone Episode

The January 1, 1960 episode is a thought provoking episode for anyone who thinks they would rather be someone else.  However, that is not my personal favorite episode, or the one that reflects my greatest desire or fear. 

I admit, it is hard to choose a favorite episode out of all of the Twilight Zone shows.  There is one that haunts me though, so I think it must demonstrate some fear or concern in my own "twilight zone".  It is "Time Enough At Last".  If you know the title, it must haunt you too.  If not, you will find it in season 1, episode 8.

Now tell me.  What is your favorite or most memorable Twilight Zone episode? 

 





Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



It's 2021! Are You in The Twilight Zone? Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 16, 2020

Bing Crosby - Reviewed

Bing Crosby
Bing Crosby - Reviewed
Photo credit: Getty Free Images

Who doesn’t remember that one voice in a lifetime the voice of Bing Crosby? If you are too young to remember or think that you have never heard him sing, think again. If you listen to any radio station around the holidays then you have probably heard his voice.

Always around the holidays, you'll hear that famous song “White Christmas” played over and over again during the Holiday season. Written by Irving Berlin “White Christmas” was the biggest hit of Bing Crosby’s career and first introduced in 1942 in the Movie "Holiday Inn" 

Then, in 1954 the musical  White Christmas was released, featuring songs by Irving Berlin. This movie still remains a favorite today during the holiday season. We never miss watching White Christmas every year, as it became a tradition in our family while I was growing up.

Solo vocalist, radio, big screen, and television Bing Crosby did it all and did it well. Bing  Crosby was voted by Yank magazine as the person who had done the most for the GI’s during World War II. I really would have thought that would have been Bob Hope.

Bing Crosby was one of my dad's favorites so growing up I became very familiar with his voice, especially around the holidays. I can still hear my dad singing White Christmas as we decorated our tree.


Bing Crosby: Some Interesting Facts


·         Born: May 3, 1903 (Harry Lillis Crosby Jr.) nicknamed Bingo by his neighbor in 1910, later the O was dropped and the nickname Bing stuck.


·         He was among one of the first singers to use the microphone.


·         Bing Crosby invested in the company called Ampex; the company built the first reel-to-reel tape recorder in North America.


·         He was the first to pre-record his own radio show.


·         In 1946 he became part owner of my favorite baseball team the Pittsburgh Pirates. He taped the famous 1960 World Series; this tape was found in his wine cellar in 2009.


·         Bing was an avid hunter and fisherman, and was known to be an expert fly fisherman.


·         He also owned a cattle ranch in Elko Nevada where he was the honorary Mayor.


·         A fan of horse racing, he owned his own stables, and his horse Ligaroti raced against Seabiscuit in 1948.

I must have been too young to have had any of this, but there was a Bing Crosby Ice Cream. Maybe I did have it when I was a little one and just don’t remember.

Every time I hear his voice now it brings back memories of my childhood. Maybe that is why I have come to appreciate his voice.

Enjoy the original version of White Christmas by Bing Crosby



                               I'm sure you can find the movie White Christmas streaming somewhere or you can own the DVD

White Christmas (Blu-ray + Digital)White Christmas (Blu-ray + Digital)

 

Find more movie Reviews here: ReviewThisMovies.com

Find more music Reviews here: ReviewThisMusic.com



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 26, 2020

Christmas Tree Lane: Hallmark Movie Review

Hallmark opened up the 2020 Christmas movie season with a winner! Christmas Tree Lane will not disappoint Hallmark fans and will definitely not disappoint Hallmark Christmas fans. 

A delightful romance with all the necessary Hallmark elements will delight fans and will leave you eagerly awaiting the newest Hallmark Christmas movies along with past favorites.


The Stars

Hallmark brought out the A team actors of Alicia Witt and Andrew Walker to create the chemistry for the Christmas Tree Lane story. Each actor has starred in multiple Hallmark movies and are fan favorites. Andrew plays an architect whose family business has its' eye on the infamous and beloved Christmas Tree Lane. Alicia plays the owner of her families shop threatened by the redevelopment along with all of Christmas Tree Lane.

I won't spoil the love story; however, the story line may sound familiar to Hallmark fans and that is just fine with Hallmark fans! It is the chemistry and acting which makes the story and both stars bring this romance to life.

Fun Facts

Alicia Witt not only stars in Christmas Tree Lane and executive produced the movie. But wait there is more. She also created the story, brought the story to Hallmark,  wrote the theme song, played the piano and performed the song in the movie. 

One Life To Live fans will recognize the actor who plays Alicia's father - guess who?

Catch a sneak peek here of Christmas Tree Lane while you are waiting for the replay!





More Hallmark Christmas Movies

I recently wrote a review for the Hallmark Christmas movies 2020 and did pick this movie out as a movie to bookmark! Christmas Tree Lane is on the Hallmark Movies & Mysteries channel.

There will be 40 new Hallmark Christmas movies for 2020 and let's hope all movies will be as good as Christmas Tree Lane! The new movies will be shown on both Hallmark channels: Hallmark and Hallmark Movies & Mysteries.

More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia

Happy Hallmark Christmas!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, October 17, 2020

Review of Lincoln Rhyme: Hunt for the Bone Collector

 I have to say that I loved the Denzel Washington & Angelina Jolie movie, The Bone Collector that was based on the book by Jeffrey Deaver so when I heard that they'd made a television series I just had to watch it!

Lincolm Rhyme: Hunt for the Bone Collector television series
Hunt for the Bone Collector Publicity Photo from NBC.com

Lincoln Rhyme was Denzel's character in the movie and in the television series he is played by Russell Hornsby.   We see in the first episode how he became a quadriplegic and we also meet Amelia, the NYPD officer who is to become his eyes and ears.   Like the character in the movie played by Angelina Jolie, Amelia (played by Arielle Kebbel) stops a train to save the evidence.

The storyline isn't exactly the same as the movie which means that both the fans of The Bone Collector and people who have never seen it before can enjoy this series.

As well as hunting for the serial killer known as The Bone Collector, the team headed by Lincoln also delves into other cases such as the kidnapping of a politician's daughter and another serial killer who has perfected the perfect murder ..... until he came into Lincoln's orbit that is.

If you love the thrill of vicariously trying to catch a serial killer while solving other crimes and being on the edge of your seat as members of 'your team' are put in danger then you will love this series.

There's only one problem with this series, they decided to cancel it after one season so my tip is to stop watching it about five minutes before the end of the final episode.   Otherwise, you'll be like me and forever be asking a question that was left as a cliffhanger.

Not only do I 100% recommend watching this series if you haven't seen the movie yet - check it out!  My husband and I are thinking of re-watching it since we've finished this series (which we did over two days - it's definitely binge-worthy!).

We watched the series on one of the free to air channels here in Australia, but I was thrilled to find that it's also available to watch on Amazon Prime.   I really do enjoy having Amazon Prime, we get to watch great shows and I also get to read some great books and that's just two of the perks!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 16, 2020

Halloween Videos for Kids

Halloween Videos
Not all Halloween videos are scary.  I have previously reviewed several Halloween videos for kids.  These movies are fun and entertaining without be too horrifying.  After all, we don't want our children frightened or having nightmares.

When my own children were young, we enjoyed watching Halloween movies together.  Actually, I still enjoy watching movies with them and sometimes we even watch the animated cartoon videos they loved during their childhood years. 

When our daughter got married, we even had a special video night with her new husband just so she could introduce him to her most beloved childhood videos.  That was a fun night for all of us!  

 

Beloved Halloween Videos for Kids

Of course, everyone loves Charlie Brown in It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown.  That would be the first video I would recommend for a Halloween family video night.  No matter how old we get, or how old the video gets, it is still entertaining.  

Because I love Winnie the Pooh, one of my favorite Halloween videos is Pooh's Heffalump Halloween.  Until this video, I had never paid much attention to Heffalump.  Now, I love that purple elephant! This is a very fun and entertaining Halloween video that the whole family can enjoy.

The Cat in the Hat by Dr. Seuss has been popular for my entire life.  Children of all ages love that cat in the red and white top hat.   However, they may not realize he knows a lot about Halloween and a lot of other things.  Not only is this video fun and entertaining, it is also educational.  The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot about Halloween is only one of the many episodes in The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That delightful series.  This episode is available separately for Halloween viewing.

Lumpkin the Pumpkin is a lesser known Halloween video.  It's a cute video about a young witch who has no desire to be scary or cruel.  She teams up with Lumpkin, a pumpkin, to help teach safety tips on Halloween.  It is a cute and entertaining way to make children more aware of the possible dangers when trick or treating. 

 

You Can Read The Full Reviews Here:

 It's The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown Movie Review Pooh's Heffalump Halloween Movie Review for Children The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review Lumpkin the Pumpkin Video Movie Review

  

This year for Halloween, why not gather your whole family around to watch a fun and entertaining Halloween video, or perhaps several! 

Here are a few more Halloween videos for kids that have not been previously reviewed, but would no doubt be quite entertaining & fun.

 



Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Halloween Videos for Kids Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 12, 2020

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed

Ready, set and Hallmark! It may be Fall, but Fall means the start of the Christmas movies on the Hallmark Channel.



Yes, unabashed Hallmark fan here and my absolute favorite Hallmark movies are the Christmas movies. I reviewed my Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies in 2018 and while those are my favorite I have added a few as new Hallmark Christmas movies which have debuted.

Christmas In Rome, Christmas Town, Christmas At The Plaza were favorites for 2019.

What's In Store For Hallmark Christmas 2020?


Hallmark Channel's Countdown to Christmas begins Friday, October 23rd. The Hallmark Channel Movies and Mysteries has also joined the Christmas fun with its' Miracles Of Christmas movies also beginning October 23, 2020.

In all there will be 40 new Christmas movies for 2020: 23 on the Hallmark Channel and 17 on the Hallmark Movies & Mysteries channel.

Hallmark Favorites Return For 2020


I'm looking forward to the return of favorite Hallmark stars for the Christmas season!


  • If I Only Had Christmas, starring Candace Cameron Bure
  • Christmas Waltz, starring Lacey Chabert
  • Chateau Christmas, starring Merritt Patterson and Luke Macfarlane
  • Cross Country Christmas, starring Rachael Leigh Cook
  • Christmas Tree Lane, starring Alicia Witt and Andrew Walker
  • Cranberry Christmas, starring Nikki DeLoach and Benjamin Ayres
Where to Find Hallmark Christmas Movies?
If your cable subscription does not include Hallmark or you have cut the cable cord, Hallmark Channel is available with the Hallmark Everywhere App

A monthly plan is also available with the Hallmark Movies Now service for $4.99 a month. A seven day free trial is available to give the channel a no obligation spin.


More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia

Pick of The Hallmark Christmas Movies

Flashback to A Christmas Detour



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, September 7, 2020

Movie Review: Painted Horses

Watching Painted Horses was just what I needed the other night. A sweet, soothing movie to end the tough day.



Ms. Hoog is a high school teacher in transition. She has left her home and her job to live with her Aunt in a very small town. She is a young, suddenly single mother who is focused on securing insurance and income so that her young son can have the surgery he needs. Ms. Hoog is a young teacher who is nearly driven to quit on her first day. Despite warnings during her interview for the position, she accepts the job.

"These particular kids have a knack for chewing teachers up and spitting them out."

Her classroom is a small group of mis-matched high school kids who do not work well together. Sorry, that was a gross understatement. They fight each other and demean each other. When they do join forces it is to join against the new teacher. The group of students includes the usual subsets of groups: the goody-two-shoes, the angry guy with the knife, the boy scout, the nerds, the rich girl, and the creepy silent kid. Immediately, some of the kids plan to have Ms. Hoog fired.

The thing is... Ms Hoog LOVES history and she has been hired to teach it. And she will do nearly anything so she can schedule her son's surgery. The question is whether or not she's be able to spark the students' imaginations and become their teacher rather than their target. Perhaps her stories of Tennessee's buried and lost treasures can engage these students. 

In addition to the students giving the new teacher a hard time, some of the town leaders are suspicious of the new resident. 

Painted Horses is Breakfast Club meets Freedom Writers and reminded me of Disney on Sunday nights. Wow!  I am giving away my age for sure! I wonder how many people will know what I am referring to. 


This movie is without nudity, profanity, blood and gore. A knife is brandished on a couple of occasions but there is no graphic fight scene. The theme is about teaching, learning, and being in control of the trajectory of your life. I chose the movie because I thought it was focused on horses however horses only made a brief appearance. But I'm still glad I chose to watch. A few negative reviews of the movie cite poor acting and small errors. I agree that this is clearly not a movie with a huge budget or the top handful of celebrities. Honestly, I found it refreshing to watch new (new-to-me) faces.

I have to mention that Aunt Nora was played by Deana Carter. At times, I laughed out loud. Aunt Nora is a perfect example of a bossy, nosy, and supportive aunt. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 26, 2020

Columbo TV Series Reviewed

 

Columbo TV Series Reviewed

Who remembers Columbo? If you grew up in the '70s or even the '90s then you may know who Lt. Columbo is. The series began on NBC in 1971 and ran until 1978. I was so disappointed when NBC canceled the series.

 Then, Columbo was picked up by ABC in 1989 and ran until 2003. I don't think we ever missed an episode. In 1989 we moved to Western New York, not far from home in Pennsylvania. Moving is certainly a stressful undertaking, a new town, new schools for the kids, making new friends. This may sound crazy, but the series coming back was like having an old friend in the living room whenever it aired.

Columbo The Complete Series:

Lieutenant Columbo was played by (Peter Falk) a Los Angeles Police Dept. homicide detective. Columbo was not your typical whodunit mystery. Each episode opened with the crime being committed. So, we all knew from the beginning of the show who did it. This popularized what is called the inverted detective format.

During the rest of the show, we watch Columbo solve the crime with his relentless approach of questioning, picking apart the killers alibi, and bringing them to justice. 

To me, the show was more like a comedy, as he would arrive at the crime scene in his old beat-up car, wrinkled suit, trench coat, and smoking his cigar. The suspects become irritated with his persistence and line of questioning. His famous phrase was "Just one more thing". He came off as an incompetent, bumbling detective. It would always be at the end of the episode when they finally figured out how smart Lieutenant Columbo really was.

Some Fun Facts About Columbo:

  • The clothes he wore in the show were Peter Falk's own wrinkled suit and trench coat.
  • He frequently mentions his wife but she never appears in any of the episodes.
  • Columbo's first name is never mentioned. He is known simply as "Lieutenant Columbo".
  • Bing Crosby was originally offered the role of Columbo.
  • In season two they introduced a Basset Hound as Columbo's dog. The dog's name is never mentioned. 
  • The beat-up car Columbo drove was a 1959 Peugeot convertible, Model 403. I read somewhere that only 504 of these cars were manufactured in 1959.
This TV series is surely a classic we still watch it whenever we can find it on television. I still marvel in the endings when Columbo outwits the killer and finds that one clue the killer didn't count on.

Enjoy watching your favorite episodes with this Columbo Complete Series Edition

Columbo: The Complete SeriesColumbo: The Complete Series

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, August 24, 2020

Worst Cooks In America: TV Series Reviewed


Have you ever wondered how a meal which seems so easy to make can sometimes go oh so wrong? As in what was I thinking? Did I use sugar instead of salt? Was that a cup or cup and a half of flour?


Been there. But thankfully, only occasionally.

If you need a little laughter in the kitchen then the television show the Worst Cooks In America is for you. (Laughing with the contestants at their culinary journey.)

Worst Cooks Competition


The Worst Cooks In America is an elimination competition cooking show in which contestants are separated into two teams. The teams are captained by well known chefs Anne Burrell and Alex Guarnaschelli this season.

Each show has a culinary  theme where the captains guide their team by teaching the contestants how to make a specific meal. The captains coach their team members along the way while the team members learn the ins and outs of cooking ... hopefully.

The first episode of the season features the contestants making their go-to meal from real life. A little scary, very interesting and very creative are some of these dishes. Some dishes combine ingredients that are just. so. not. edible!

A Sense Of Humor

Laughter and humor are also a theme throughout the show as contestants are good humored and the audience is rooting for them to succeed! Contestants are eliminated at the end of each show and they try so hard! As we home cooks know, some days are better than others and cooking can be an inexact endeavor some days for us novices.

Celebrity Worst Cooks

Every so often the show runs a celebrity season and there is always plenty of mirth and mayhem. It is quite amusing to watch celebrities out of their entertainment element and enter the show as the main character.

As the celebrity contestants are already camera friendly their cooking or lack of cooking skills shine through along with their entertaining personalities.

Where To Find Worst Cooks In America?

New episodes of the Worst Cooks In America air at 9 p.m. Sundays on the Food Network.

If you have an Amazon Fire Stick the series is available on the Food Network Kitchen app. The app is also available on Google Play and iPhone. The apps offer some free Food Network shows; however a cable subscription will unlock all the offerings.

If you love to cook or watch cooking shows I think you will enjoy Worst Cooks In America and may even learn a few new skills for your own kitchen along the way.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 14, 2020

Sherlock Holmes Complete Series DVD Reviewed - Starring Jeremy Brett as Sherlock

In my opinion, Jeremy Brett makes the best Sherlock Holmes in any Sherlock movie or series.  This complete DVD series collection is totally awesome!  Now, we can watch, or re-watch, any individual Sherlock Holmes episode whenever we wish. 

Our son gave his father Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Granada Television Series set of DVD's for Father's Day.  He knew this would be the perfect gift for his dad, who originally had the shows on VHS.  The tapes are getting old, plus the DVD collection is much easier to store and watch on a variety of devices including his laptop. What we have discovered though, is that some of the TV series episodes were missing from the tapes, but are included in this DVD collection.  How wonderful it has been to rediscover the missing episodes.

In addition to giving his dad the DVD collection, our son has spent hours watching the shows with us. We all love Sherlock Holmes, therefore it makes the perfect TV series for us to watch together.


Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Granada Television Series

In addition to well known episodes like "The Hound of the Baskervilles" or "The Red Headed League", this 12 disc DVD set includes:
 Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Granada Television SeriesCheck Price
  • A Scandal In Bohemia
  • The Dancing Men
  • The Naval Treaty
  • The Solitary Cyclist 
  • The Crooked Man
  • The Speckled Band
  • The Blue Carbuncle
  • The Copper Beeches 
  • The Greek Interpreter
  • The Norwood Builder
  • The Resident Patient
  • The Final Problem
  • The Empty House
  • The Abbey Grange
  • The Musgrave Ritual
  • The Second Stain
  • The Priory School
  • The Devil's Foot
  • Wisteria Lodge
  • The Disappearance Of Lady Frances Carfax
  • The Boscombe Valley Mystery 
  • Shoscombe Old Place
  • The Last Vampyre
  • The Three Gables
  • The Dying Detective
  • The Red Circle
  • The Cardboard Box
  • The Man With The Twisted Lip
  • The Six Napoleons 
  • Silver Blaze
  • The Bruce-Partington Plans 
  • The Sign Of Four 
  • The Problem Of Thor Bridge
  • The Illustrious Client
  • The Master Blackmailer
  • The Eligible Bachelor 
  • The Creeping Man
  • The Golden Pince-Nez 
  • The Mazarin Stone


That is 43 hours of excellent television shows that are quite intriguing and entertaining.


Jeremy Brett as Sherlock Holmes


As I said in the introduction, Jeremy Brett is my favorite actor that ever played Sherlock Holmes.  His overall looks, facial expressions, his voice inflections, as well as his athleticism are perfect for the Sherlock character.  

In one episode, he easily jumps over and clears a couch.  In other episodes, he is seen stealthily walking up on someone.  He is also masterful in fisticuffs.  It is difficult to believe the same man who can vault over a couch, could also walk so silently, or engage in a physical fight, but Jeremy Brett pulls off each of those feats effortlessly.  He makes the fictional Sherlock Holmes character believable. 

Whilst Sherlock Holmes is also a mental genius, Jeremy Brett is an acting genius!     



Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Sherlock Holmes Complete Series DVD Reviewed - Starring Jeremy Brett as Sherlock by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 7, 2020

Secondhand Lions (2003) Movie Review

Secondhand Lions (2003) Movie Review
Secondhand Lions starring Michael Caine, Robert Duvall, and Haley Joel Osment is a fantastic movie! It was released in 2003, but is well worth watching now. 

Each week, I take a little time to visit my parents.  We select a movie to watch together, eat snacks, and enjoy our time together.  This past week, Mom selected the movie.  She wanted to watch one of her all-time favorites.  While I remembered the name of the movie, I did not remember much about the story line.  After watching it again, that is pretty surprising.  Secondhand Lions is a fabulous movie! 

If you haven't seen it before, or if it has been a long time since you watched Secondhand Lions, I highly recommend seeing it now.  It is totally appropriate for mixed company of all ages.  I doubt it would be entertaining for young children, but I can't think of a single thing offensive in the movie, although it is rated PG.  I'm sure it got that rating for some reason.  


Secondhand Lions Movie Synopsis


 Secondhand LionsCheck PriceThe introduction of the movie starts with two old men having a blast flying a bi-plane around the countryside, through and into places not meant for planes.  This is the first, but not the last, moment of laughter for us.  

The story begins with 14 year old Walter Caldwell (Haley Joel Osment) riding in the car with his mother, Mae (Kyra Sedgwick).  They are on their way to Mae's uncles home in Texas where she plans to leaves Walter for a few months while she attends court stenographer school.  Even at his young age, Walter is immediately skeptical of her plans.  Apparently attending court stenographer school is another questionable idea in a long line of bad ideas and decisions by Mae.   

Walter isn't very happy with this decision.  He doesn't know his great-uncles, Hub (Robert Duvall) and Garth (Michael Caine).  Until this trip, he has never even heard of them.  Mae explains that they had "disappeared" for many years, but have turned back up in Texas, believed to be quite wealthy.  Driving up to their home, the place doesn't look like it is owned by anyone wealthy, or welcoming.

Staying with his uncles, hearing their fantastical stories of adventure, bravery and extraordinary travels, plus watching the way they behave, Walter doesn't quite know what to make of Hub & Garth.  They seem to live by their own rules and don't care one bit what others think of them.  They even have a real lion brought in for a lion hunt.  Turns out the lion is not up for the chase, but that is as much about the lion as I am going to say. I wouldn't want to ruin the lion fun for you.

By the time Walter's mother returns to pick him up, Walter loves his eccentric uncles and he can clearly see the truth about many things. 


Secondhand Lions is a movie that will make you laugh often, perhaps cry a bit, and leave you feeling good.  This is a must-see movie!  Even if you have seen it before.




Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Secondhand Lions (2003) Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, August 1, 2020

Heaven is for Real - Movie Review


The other night I came across the movie Heaven is for Real (2014), which I had never seen.  The story-line synosis caught my attention, stating it was an inspirational tale of a young boy who suffers a near-death experience and claims to have visited heaven.


Heaven is for Real Movie Synosis



Available on Amazon
This movie is based on the true story of a 4-year-old boy (Colton, played by Connor Corum) who emerges from life-saving surgery with remarkable stories of his visit to heaven. The story is told by his father (often in Colton's own words). The father (played by Greg Kinnear) who is a pastor in a rural small-town Nebraska church and a volunteer firefighter, finds that Colton's experience has turned their once peaceful lives upside down. The astonished parents try to find meaning in the alleged miracle, but friends and parishioners are skeptic and dismiss his claims about what Colton experienced. 

Colton begins talking about people he has never met or heard about, such as his great grandfather who died 30 years before he was born.  Colton shares impossible-to-know details about these people he met in Heaven and about having looked down (from heaven) to see the doctor operating on him and how he saw his dad praying in the waiting room. He also talks about how Jesus takes him to meet these people, including a sister he never knew about. 

As townspeople ridicule these stories and school children tease the older sister, his parents try to find the courage and conviction to believe Colton and share his story.  


The Cast


Greg Kinnear does an excellent acting job of portraying Todd Burpo, the father in the movie.  The mom is played by Kelly Reilly and Colton by Connor Corum. The performances of this Christian film are notably thoughtful. 


Heaven is for Real – the Book



The movie is based on the best selling book of the same name. Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back (2010) is a memoir written by Todd Burpo, Colton's father, and Lynn Vincent The book was on the New York Times Bestseller list for a record setting 156 weeks. It is a Christian nonfiction story based on the true experience of the Burpo family. 







Summary


When asked what Heaven was like, Colton answers “Heaven is a lot like earth, except more colorful and more beautiful. “

This is a very sweet, well acted, movie with a Christian based theme. I enjoyed  it very much.



For more Movie Reviews, check out ReviewThisMovies.com




Written by (c) Wednesday Elf (8/1/2020)








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X