Showing posts with label Movie Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Movie Reviews. Show all posts

Friday, January 18, 2019

Sabrina (1995) Movie Review

Sabrina (1995) Movie Review
Sabrina is an older movie from the 50's that starred Audrey Hepburn and Humphrey Bogart that was remade in 1995.  The newer version starred Harrison Ford and Julia Ormond. Normally, I prefer the original, especially when actors like Bogart and Hepburn are in them.  However, with this particular movie, I actually prefer the '95 version.  Surprisingly, I felt Ford was more believable than Bogart in the part of Linus Larrabee. 

The plot of the two movies is similar, but has some major differences aside from the actors.  In the 50's version, distraught by David's lack of interest, Sabrina attempts suicide, but is discovered by Linus before the deed is done.  In the 90's version, Sabrina loves David, but does not even consider suicide and simply leaves for a fashion internship in Paris.  I prefer the stronger woman who doesn't define herself totally by a man's interest, or lack thereof. 

It is really hard to believe it has already been over 20 years since the Ford & Ormond version was released.  Whether you wish to go back 20 years, or 60 is up to you.  Either way, it is a great romantic movie!



Sabrina, the Movie


 Sabrina (1995)Check PriceThe Larrabees are an extremely wealthy family that consists of two sons and their widowed mother.  Linus is extremely serious and completely devoted to the success of the family business.  David is a playboy and is only interested in spending money and women.  They live in a huge house with pools, tennis courts and plenty of staff, including a chauffeur.

Sabrina Fairchild is the chauffeurs daughter who grew up "above the garage next door" to the Larrabee brothers.   Secretly, she had a huge crush on David, the younger brother all of her life.  Even as a young adult woman, Sabrina is still enamored with David in spite of his playboy, womanizing ways.  

The movie opens with Sabrina, a young woman, climbing a tree to watch David and his latest conquest from afar.  Of course, she wishes she was the one dancing and laughing with David.  He may know who she is, but he is not the least bit interested in Sabrina.

In an attempt to help Sabrina, her father sends her to Paris for a few years to study fashion, to mature and hopefully to get over David.  When Sabrina returns home with a totally new look, she is still smitten with David.  Because of her new haircut, contacts, stylish clothes, and make-up, David doesn't recognize Sabrina and is immediately interested.  He invites her to attend his mother's birthday party that night and she accepts.  Linus, on the other hand, knows Sabrina immediately and is not the least bit happy about his brother's interest in her.

David is engaged to the daughter of the owner of Tyson Electronics, which is currently considering a merger with the Larrabee company.  Linus is not about to let David mess up their business deal by betraying Elizabeth Tyson while playing around with Sabrina.  Linus intentional sets out to distract Sabrina and pursues her romantically himself.

No one expects the outcome of the games these two brothers are playing, especially Sabrina.  It is truly a very sweet love story.






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Sabrina (1995) Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, January 11, 2019

Lucky 7 Hallmark Movie Reviewed

Lucky 7 Hallmark Movie Reviewed
If you are seeking a sweet, romantic movie to watch, you need look no further!

You can probably tell by looking at the actors photos that this is an older movie.  It was actually released in 2003.  However, unless you are familiar with the real ages of the cast, you would never guess that Lucky 7 is over 15 years old by watching it.  I didn't note anything else in the movie itself that would "date" it.  Perhaps, I was enjoying watching it too much to look closely. 

This is not your typical "girl has to choose between two boyfriends" movies.   The plot is more detailed than that.  In fact, one of these men only needs a pretend girlfriend for a weekend.  And, Amy is not quite ready for the other one to call her his "girlfriend", even though she hopes to marry him.


The Plot of Lucky 7


At the age of 7, Amy's (Kimberly Williams-Paisley) ill mom is spending the last days of her life on this earth with her husband and daughter.  During a mother-daughter chat, she gives her daughter an outline of what and when she should do things in her life.  She lists things like summer camp, high school, and the age she will be when she goes on her first date.  At that point, Amy asks if she will marry him and her mother says no and places a #1 by the word "boy".  The timeline continues through grad school and #7 boyfriend, the one that Amy will marry.
 
Lucky 7 Hallmark Movie Review
Amy lives her life by that timeline.  It is the thread that still binds her to her mother.  She has finished grad school and is working as a lawyer.  When she meets the man she believes is the one she should marry, she has to devise a way to postpone things somehow since he is only #6.  

Amy was recently invited to attend an out of town wedding with the man who serves her bagels every morning.  She decides that is her opportunity to sneak in a #6 boyfriend, therefore Daniel (Brad Rowe) will ultimately be her #7 boyfriend and she can marry him and remain true to the timeline.

Peter Connor (Patrick Dempsey) isn't looking for a girlfriend, but he wants his friends to stop worrying about him.  He believes if he takes a "girlfriend" to an upcoming wedding, they will think he has moved on with his life after being jilted.  Therefore, he needs someone to go to his friends' wedding with him and pretend to be his girlfriend.  He asks Amy, a nice customer in the bagel store, if she will go with him.  She commits to helping him find someone.  When she shows up the day before the wedding saying she will go with him, he is rather surprised, but happy to have a companion.

Things don't exactly turn out as planned.  I'm sure you will enjoy the movie as much as I did!


Ways You Can Watch Lucky 7 



Currently, "Lucky 7" is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  


More Romantic Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Lucky 7 - Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, December 21, 2018

Broadcasting Christmas Hallmark Movie Review

Broadcasting Christmas Hallmark Movie Review
When you mix Melissa Joan Hart, Dean Cain and Hallmark, what do you get?  An amazing romantic Christmas movie!

Broadcasting Christmas takes place at Christmastime in New York with Emily and Charley competing for the same job.   It isn't the first time they have both been considered for the same position either.  Both are television reporters who previously worked for the same station and who were previously romantically involved.  Actually, they were in a relationship until they were pitted against each other 6 years earlier for a different job.   The newscaster job that Charley subsequently landed. 

This Hallmark movie is available on DVD, or you can view it with Amazon Prime or as a subscriber to the Hallmark channel on Amazon.


Hallmarks' Broadcasting Christmas


 Broadcasting ChristmasCheck PriceWhen Emily hears that the "Rise & Shine" morning show is replacing one of their co-hosts, she is determined to get the job.  Unfortunately, when Emily contacts a friend at the network, is told that she really is not a reasonable candidate for the station since they are seeking a known "name" to fill that position.  In a rare moment of passion, fueled by years of struggling and desire to get a break, Emily makes desperate plea on the air to be considered for the co-host job.  Of course, the next day, she regrets that rash action and tries to apologize, only to find out that her plea is trending on Twitter and the stations viewers love it.  As a result, the network decides to give her a chance.

Emily will once again be competing with Charley and two other well known television faces.  It seems highly unlikely that she will be the one to get the job.  Plus, she will have to face her boyfriend from the past.  

When Charley got the newscaster job 6 years earlier, Emily ended their relationship, refusing to move to Manhattan with him so he could work at the job she wanted.  Not to mention, she would have to leave her present position and would not have a job in New York.

This movie might be somewhat predictable, but there are a few fun surprises.  It truly is a really sweet romantic movie with the perfect ending for the couple we all adore.



Currently, "Broadcasting Christmas" is also available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  
 


Hallmark Channel Subscription on Amazon


More Movies REVIEWED ON REVIEW THIS!
Available with Subscription to the Hallmark Channel






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Broadcasting Christmas Hallmark Movie Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, December 14, 2018

Finding Father Christmas Hallmark Movie Reviewed

Finding Father Christmas Hallmark Movie Reviewed
Hallmark never fails to bring us movies that are touching and wonderful!  Finding Father Christmas was no exception.

I especially love watching the Hallmark movies during the holidays.  I suspect that is simply because Christmas time tends to get hectic and we all need breaks from the work. Since Hallmark is a trusted source of great entertainment, I enjoy taking my breaks with Hallmark and watching the Hallmark Christmas movies offered online.

Oh, and in case you are wondering, yes, of course there is romance in the air too, but it is not with Father Christmas!


Hallmark Movie:  Finding Father Christmas


The movie opens with Miranda (Erin Krakow) as a child watching and listening to her mother performing in a production of "Scrooge" onstage.  Having heard her mother play the part many times, Miranda also has all of the lines memorized.  When her mother suddenly stops speaking, Miranda races to her to find that she has died.  Needless to say, having her mother die at Christmas when she was only 9 years old, leaves her avoiding Christmas celebrations in the future.  

The movie quickly transitions to Miranda as an adult at Christmas time.  She receives a call from a gentleman at the theater where her mother died.  While renovating the theater, he had found an old suitcase that belonged to Miranda's mother and wishes to give it to Miranda.  When Miranda goes through her mother's belongings, she finds a few clues about her unknown father, including an angel bracelet and a picture of Father Christmas.  She imagines these clues will at least show her where she might find him.  She immediately plans a trip to Carlton Heath, Vermont in the hopes of finding her father, but first, she must find Father Christmas to determine why his picture was among her mother's hidden treasures. 

 

The Sequel is also available!



Currently, "Finding Father Christmas" is also available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  
 


 Hallmark Channel Subscription on Amazon


More Movies REVIEWED ON REVIEW THIS!
Available with Subscription to the Hallmark Channel






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Finding Father Christmas Hallmark Movie Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, December 7, 2018

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review
Mr. Miracle is a delightful Hallmark movie about a new angel and his first assignment on earth. 

As always, Hallmark provides us with an hour (actually 86 minutes) of entertainment appropriate for all family members.  

Not only does this movie have a touch of romance and divine intervention, but it also provides a few laughs.  That bit of comedy is needed though as a relief to the intense subject matter.  Addie is facing her first Christmas after her father's death and having to come to terms with her own purpose in life.      

Also, the movie Mr. Miracle looks like the perfect setup for a series of "Mr. Miracle" angel movies.  Since I really like the actor and the character, I hope there will be more to come.


Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Movie Plot


Harry Mills (Rob Morrow) is an angel on assignment for the first time.  Part of the fun is that everything on earth is completely new to him.  This provides a touch of comedy to the movie since Harry takes everything literally.  What might be common phrases to us, mean something totally different to him.  As a cover for his angel duties, Harry is placed in the community college as a literature professor and provided a home across the street from his "assignment".

As I mentioned in the introduction, Addie (Britt Irvin) and her mother are facing their first Christmas without Addie's father.  After returning home and re-enrolling in the community college, Addie lacks the confidence to stick it out and succeed.  She feels the need to graduate only to meet her father's expectations, not because she has a direction.

Harry is quite certain he can solve all of Addie's problems quickly once he identifies her purpose in life.  He plans to set her on the right course and move on quickly.  It isn't as easy as it sounds in the beginning, and even though Harry resists help from his angelic mentor, he must also find the right course for his duties.



Debbie Macomber, the Author


Debbie Macomber has long been a recognized author that we can all depend on for a great story with clean content. Her books and movies don't require a lot of graphic images or colorful language to grab, and hold, your attention.

A few of our Contributors here on Review This, have previously reviewed some of Debbie Macomber's books.

Reviewed by BarbRad.  How does a woman move on after a painful divorce? Debbie Macomber tackles this subject in her new novel. The book follows the emotional journey of two women after they divorce their husbands.



Reviewed by Diana, Renaissance Woman. Book review of New York Times bestselling author Debbie Macomber's One Perfect Word. She shares how her chosen words have changed her life in profound ways



Reviewed by BarbRad. If you love a romance series that is true to life with characters you can relate to, you will want to read the Rose Harbor Series by Debbie Macomber. Each story builds on the last, so start at the beginning for an enjoyable journey through stories of hurt, love, and healing.





Currently, Debbie Macomber's "Mr. Miracle" is also available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  
 


Hallmark Channel Subscription through Amazon


More Movies Reviewed that are Available with Subscription to the Hallmark Channel






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, November 23, 2018

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Movie Reviewed

Fantastic Beasts The Crimes of Grindelwald Movie Poster
Newt Scamander and his Fantastic Beasts return to discern and defend what is right in the magical realm of Harry Potter.  Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, just like Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, takes us back in time to 1927, decades before Harry Potter is born.  It gives more details about the past than we were ever given in the Harry Potter books or movies. 

For Harry Potter fans, you will be very pleased to see the background relationship and understand the bond between Grindelwald and Dumbledore.  For Fantastic Beasts fans, you will be trilled to see some of your favorite beasts again, as well as meet a few new beasts.  

Our entire group was immediately enchanted by the baby Nifflers at the beginning of the movie.  

Speaking of enchantments, as you would expect, this fantasy movie is filled with magic, spells, and special powers.  We even get to see Newt ride some of the Fantastic Beasts, which was truly fantastic!

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Movie Released In Theaters on Nov. 16, 2018


The Plot of Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald 


 FANTASTIC BEASTS: CRIMES OF GRINDELWALD (2018) Original Authentic Movie Poster 11x17 - Single - Sided - Eddie Redmayne - Johnny Depp - Ezra Miller - Kathrine WaterstonCheck PriceGellert Grindelwald (Johnny Depp), who has been imprisoned by the Magical Congress of the United States of America, is being released into the custody of representatives from the London office.  However, on their return to London, Grindelwald escapes with help from one of his followers.

Grindelwald has a cult-like following that desires to maintain the pure blood line of wizardry, as well as declare their supremacy to muggles (non-wizards).  According to Dumbledore, Grindelwald  has "a vision that he would rise to dominance over the Wizarding world".  

Because of a childhood pact, the beloved Hogwart professor, Albus Dumbledore (Jude Law), cannot move against Grindelwald, so he meets with Newt Scamander to ask him if he will take on the task.  But, Newt prefers to remain neutral.  He does not want to pick a side, even though his own brother, Theseus, works for the Ministry of Magic. 

Regardless of his wish to remain neutral, Newt is once again pulled into the feud between the Ministry of Magic and Grindelwald.  There are some interesting plot twists and family ties that keep you spellbound right up to the end.



My Recommendations and Personal Opinion


Before you see the movie, be prepared and committed to paying close attention.  Distractions could cause you to miss some very important insights, comments or even characters.  For instance, Harry Potter fans will be especially interested in the character, Nagini.  

I thoroughly enjoyed the movie and highly recommend it to Harry Potter and Fantastic Beasts fans.  Most likely, you will come away from the theater with a greater appreciation for Newt Scamander.
 




Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Movie ReviewIf you haven't already seen Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, you can read that review and rent the DVD by clicking here.
Unlike the Harry Potter movies, "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" is not based on a published book. It is a screenplay based on a text book that was written by a fictional character in the Harry Potter books.







Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Movie Reviewed Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, November 11, 2018

A Personal Review of the Movie Collateral Beauty

Several of the professional reviews of Collateral Beauty were, to put it straight, not kind. However, fortunately, I watched the movie first, and tripped on the reviews after.

Thanks to Netflix, this past Saturday Night was movie night. Here's the Warner Brothers movie summary that drew me in to give it a go:
Retreating from life after a tragedy, a man questions the universe by writing to Love, Time and Death. Receiving unexpected answers, he begins to see how these things interlock and how even loss can reveal moments of meaning and beauty... by Warner Bros
The movie is jam packed with major talent: Will Smith, Helen Mirren, Keira Knightley, Edward Norton, Kate Winslet, Jacob Latimore, Michael Pena, Naomie Harris, and Ann Dowd.

Does This Movie Have too Much Talent In It?

A few of the negative reviewers speak about their reluctance to trust the quality of a film stuffed with an endless list of high priced talent.

Sure, I get that. I can see why that thought crosses a mind. Hell, it crossed mine. But it was also what drew me into choosing the movie.

If the critics ask this nobody, I'd tell them that bad writing is made better with great acting, but good writing can be lost with bad acting.

So, this average-joe tends to look for films with acting talent first. That's not to say that movies free of big names aren't great movies, I'm just saying, the odds go the other away. With my Saturday nights, I play the odds.

Is Collateral Beauty Insensitive to Grief?

After withdrawing into the anguish of losing his six year old daughter, the movie centers around Will Smith's character, Howard Inlet, sending letters to Time, Love and Death.

Reviewers described this presentation of grief as an over simplification that misses the mark of the complexities entwined in loss.

What did I Personally think about this Film's Handling of Grief?
Collateral Beauty (DVD)Collateral Beauty (DVD) - Via Amazon
From an acting perspective, Will Smith's depiction of grief, to me, felt real. From the writing perspective, I also believed the pain.

The question for me was, would I write letters to Time, Love and Death?

In a way, that's how I handled my own father's passing: I was lost, I was looking for answers. I needed answers. In my search for those answers, I asked typical cliched questions, and I wrote.

So yes, although I understand the critical analysis that the movie was an over simplification of grief, I also believe in the principle of Occam's Razor; that the simplest explanation is often the best one.

Having Time, Love and Death appear as people was called corny by some critics. They continued on to say that the messages delivered were also predictable and lacking in depth. I'll agree with the later, that yes, there was depth lacking in the visits by Time, Love and Death. However, finding peace doesn't have to be a complicated process does it? So in my opinion, the clichés don't take away from enjoying the film.

There are a Few Surprises at the End

Very few movies can keep me from guessing the direction the writer is taking. Very few. In fact, it annoys some in my family that I can do this. We'll start watching a movie, and twenty minutes in, I'll hear, "don't tell us where this movie is going!". Lol. Oh well, it's a gift what can I say.

However, I must have been having a bad night, because there are two surprises at the end of the movie that I did not see coming! Two, what! I'm losing my skills or something. I'm a little miffed that I didn't anticipate them. So for that reason, I have to give this movie a good rating.

I say 3.5 stars out of 5, and a good choice for a Saturday night Netflix movie.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, November 2, 2018

Disney Zootopia Movie Review

Disney Zootopia Movie Review
Disney Zootopia is a really cute animated movie that features all animals.  As you can see in the photo on the right, the main characters are Judy Hopps, a rabbit, and Nick Wilde, a fox.  In addition to Judy and Nick, there were several other animal characters in this movie that I loved.

I really like the story line and the message that "you can be anything you wanna be".   The movie doesn't make light of the reality though that it often takes hard work and real commitment to achieve your goals.  It also touches on how preconceived opinions or past experiences can influence your thoughts when you first meet someone.  I really liked the way each character faced and dealt with their prejudices and negative attitudes to overcome them.

The characters are adorable and the animation is fantastic!  I also enjoyed the music.  Overall, it was a great way to spend 108 minutes.

The DVD cover quotes Germain Lussier, "The Best Film Disney Animation Has Made in 20 Years", and I would agree.


The Plot of Zootopia


 Zootopia (Plus Bonus Features)Check PriceJudy Hopps, the leading bunny, wants to be a police officer when she grows up.  That is not really a job most would believe is appropriate for a  bunny rabbit.  Even her parents try to dissuade Judy.  However, Judy is determined.  After she gets through the police academy, she is sent to Zootopia, which is appropriately named.  It is an animal utopia.  Predators and prey coexist without the natural desires to hunt or the natural fear of being the prey.

Judy finds herself surrounded by fabulous large beasts who are her fellow police officers.  On her first day, assignments are handed out.  There are a dozen missing animals that don't seem to have any obvious commonalities.  However, Judy is not assigned to find any of the missing animals.  She is assigned to parking duty to hand out tickets.  It seems like a safe place for a bunny officer.  Of course, that assignment does not make Judy happy at all.  However, she strives to make the best of it.

While writing parking tickets on her very first day, Judy sees a fox (Nick) and his "child" enter an ice cream shop owned by an elephant.  Nick wishes to buy a treat for his "son", but the owner refuses to serve a fox.  That is, until Judy comes to their defense.  Later that day, she finds that she was duped by the sly fox.  However, it turns out that the fox is just who she needs to help her find Mr. Otterton.  

As you have probably already guessed, Mr. Otterton is an otter that is missing, but he isn't one of the individuals the police are most worried about finding.  But, Judy willingly takes the case!  And that is when the real action begins.


My Recommendation of Zootopia


As an adult and animal enthusiasts, I really enjoyed the movie.  I especially loved the scene that included the sloths, who work for the DMV.  




The movie is rated PG and for good reason.  I do recommend that parents watch the movie first to determine if it is suitable for your own children.  Most notably, there are a few crude words that a parent may not want their very young children hearing and definitely not repeating.  Otherwise, I would say Zootopia is a fun movie to watch for both children and adults.






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Disney Zootopia Movie Review Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, October 26, 2018

Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte Movie Review

Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte Movie Review
The old classic movies starring Bette Davis still stand out in my mind as the very best suspense movies ever made.  Pure acting excellence coupled with a great plot is all too often missing in current day films.  Therefore, when I want to see a really great movie, I frequently look to the classics of the past.

I was recently reminded of Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte and simply had to watch it again.  I remembered bits and pieces of the plot, but had totally forgotten the reason John Mayhew was killed and who was responsible for his death. 

Once again, I was pulled into the story of the movie and the mystery behind the murder.  I had totally forgotten the motive and the secrets surrounding the crime.  Ironically, I didn't remember the opening scene of the movie at all, and it sets the stage for the events that follow.  Actually, I wonder now if I had ever seen the opening before since it precedes the credits and the title of the movie.

This movie makes you think.  It will remind you that betrayal often bears a hefty price.  It will make you grateful that you are not wealthy.  Sadly, wealth makes you a target, especially when you are too old to defend yourself.


The Plot of Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte


 Hush.Hush, Sweet CharlotteCheck PriceThe movie and story begin in 1927 when Charlotte Hollis (Bette Davis) was young and in love with John Mayhew, (Bruce Dern) who is already married.  When Charlotte's father (Victor Buono) is informed that his only daughter is entangled with a married man, he is determined to see the relationship end.  

The movie opens with the meeting between Mr. Hollis and John Mayhew.  Mr. Hollis is furious and disgusted with idea of his beautiful daughter being involved with a married man.  He refuses to accept that this man will have both his daughter and her inheritance, the land and property he has struggled to make prosperous.  

Mr. Hollis demands to know their plans after informing John that his wife, Jewel Mayhew, told him about their affair.  When John tells him that they had planned to run off from a dance together the following night, Mr. Hollis instructs him to break off the relationship with Charlotte instead.  In reference to his home and daughter, he lashes out at John and says, "I created both and I am going to keep 'em."


The Murder of John Mayhew


At the dance the following night, John does as he was instructed and breaks off his relationship with Charlotte.  She is devastated and runs from the room after exclaiming "I could kill you!" 

Moments later, the murderer enters the room with a meat cleaver and John is killed by an unseen assailant who cuts off his hand and head.

When Charlotte enters the dance hall with blood on her white formal dress, the music stops and everyone turns to stare at her.  This introduction section of the movie ends with her father approaching her to remove her from the room.



The Tortured Spinster in Hush Hush Sweet Charotte


The movie fast-forwards to 1964.  Charlotte's father is dead and Charlotte is basically alone with only her long-trusted housekeeper, Velma (Agnes Moorehead), to care for her.   Rumors of the crazy spinster, perhaps murderer, prompts even the children in town to taunt and tease Charlotte relentlessly.  She never leaves her own property, but they come to her home to torment her.

If you enjoy a fabulous suspense movie that has a unexpected end, you will love the classic movie, Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte starring Bette Davis.
This file is in the public domain on Wikimedia
Unfortunately for Charlotte, Louisiana seizes her property to build a bridge through her land to join roads.  But, Charlotte refuses to leave the house or even acknowledge the legality of them stealing her home & property.  She grabs her rifle and shoots at the demolition team with the road construction crew, which brings the sheriff out.  Even though he doesn't want the responsibility, the sheriff informs Charlotte that she has only 10 days to vacate the premises.  Charlotte is desperate.  She has already contacted her cousin to come and help her.  After all, Miriam (Olivia De Havilland), was taken into her home as a child when her own parents were killed, and subsequently cared for by Charlotte's father.  Surely she will know what to do to save the estate and help her.

When Cousin Miriam admits there is nothing she can do to save the property, Charlotte becomes enraged and reveals that Miriam was the one who told John's wife, Jewel Mayhew, about Charlotte and John's affair.  

It becomes all to clear that poor Charlotte is only hanging on by a short thread mentally.  She frequently lapses into confusion and mourns for John all over again.  It also becomes abundantly clear that someone is torturing Charlotte by sending letters and leaving macabre reminders of the murder in her home, as if she isn't tortured enough by the memory of her lover being killed.  She even begins to believe that John is visiting her again, playing the piano, and singing to her.


Dr. Drew Bayliss (Joseph Cotton), who was once Miriam's boyfriend, is Charlotte's attending physician.  He is certain she is close to needing full commitment due to her failing mind.

Charlotte clings to her love for John and highly treasures the gift he gave to her.  It is a music box that plays the tune of the his song to her. 



Another Important Character in the Plot


Mr. Willis is an insurance investigator who was previously a news reporter.  He is investigating why no one ever claimed the life insurance after the death of John Mayhew.  He wants to interview Jewel Mayhew, as well as Charlotte, in the hopes of finding the answer.

 Both of the women seem to like him.  Jewel Mayhew invites him into her home for a chat.  She gives him a letter for safekeeping along with her permission to open it at the time of her death.  She believes he will know what to do with the information in the letter.

Even Charlotte trusts Mr. Willis and talks openly with him until someone touches her beloved music box.  Then she flies into a rage and orders everyone from the house.


The End


There is no way I will  reveal the end, or even who murdered John Mayhew.  What I will say is that if you enjoy a fabulous suspense movie that has a unexpected end, you will love Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte.






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte Movie Review Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse







 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, October 19, 2018

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review

Cat in the Hat Halloween Movie for Kids

The Cat in the Hat takes Sally and Nick on an adventure to the Oooky-ma-kooky closet to find their perfect Halloween costumes.  According to the Cat, the Oooky-ma-kooky closet has costumes "to fit one and all!"   The three friends board the Thingamajigger to find the Oooky-ma-kooky closet and costumes that aren't too spooky.

Of course, the adventure includes singing and lots of awesome animated characters.  Fish goes along for the ride and decides he wants to find ways to frighten the Cat.

There are several awesome lessons intertwined in this video that parents are sure to appreciate and the children will love.  They won't even realize they are learning anything.  They will simply think it is fun to watch. 


The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween


In addition to the Cat in the Hat, the video includes Fish (Karlos K. Krinklebein), Thing One and Thing Two from the original Cat in the Hat books.  

On their adventure to the Oookey-ma-kooky closet, the group gets lost in a corn maze, encounters a thunder storm, and the spookiest house around.  In the midst of the thunderstorm, Cat tells the children a few very interesting things about thunder.  When the Cat and the kids "take charge" in the house, they fix several of the creepy things making it less scary.  

On the way home, we find out the one thing the Cat in the Hat is afraid of and the children help him overcome his fear.




The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That Series


 The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That is a delightful series starring the fabulous Cat in the Hat originally created by Dr. Seuss.

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween is one of the video specials in The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That animated television series.  The entire series is dedicated to teaching pre-school children about science and math in a fun way.  However, younger school age children will also enjoy the shows. Actually, adults will enjoy this video too.   I know I love it!   I found myself smiling, even laughing several times during the show.

There is no reason to wait for the Halloween special to air again on television.  It is available on DVD and also through Amazon video.

DVD Prime Video The Series




More Halloween Videos for Children 



Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.