Showing posts with label Movie Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Movie Reviews. Show all posts

Monday, September 26, 2022

5 Best Cooking Themed Hallmark Movies

 As Hallmark fans know... the answer to many problems in a Hallmark movie is... hot chocolate! Hallmark fans also love their food and cooking themed movies. So many fun and yummy Hallmark movies to view it is difficult to narrow the field to just five movies. But here it goes, my top 5 favorite Cooking Themed Hallmark movies.


1. Cooking With Love

Lights, camera and conflict; well, romantic conflict of course this is a Hallmark movie. Alie Liebert and Brett Dalton comprise the TV producer and temperamental chef turned cooking show host with an easy rom com repertoire. Enjoy the witty comments between the leads as they navigate the foodie journey.

2. Truly Madly Sweetly

This cooking rom com movie scores on every Hallmark movie scorecard! Dylan Neal and Nikki DeLoach two favorite Hallmark leads unite for witty banter, rom com fun and Hallmark chemistry as they co inherit a small town bakery and where the baking journey leads.  These Hallmark stars do not disappoint!

3. The Secret Ingredient 

What happens when you are unexpectedly competing with your ex fiancée in a baking competition? Valentine's Day theme? Brendan Penny and Erin Cahill make a very believable rom com team in this cross between Top Chef, Top Baker and Hallmark Romance movie.

4. The Sweetest Christmas

Two High School sweethearts  meet up years later - will the romance be rekindled? Lacey Chabert finds herself competing in a gingerbread house sculpture contest with a little help from her old sweetheart Lea Coco a restaurant owner. Cute chemistry, cute theme, cute Hallmark movie!

5. You're Bacon Me Crazy

Two dueling food truck chefs compete and the bacon is aflying! Michael Rady and Natalie Hall lead their food trucks through the paces in what could be a life changing competition. Foodie and food truck aficionados will appreciate the storyline.

Bonus Hallmark Foodie Movies

Vineyards across the land are an integral backdrop to quite a few Hallmark movies. And what goes well with wine... food of course! So while not necessarily cooking themed, the following movies feature wine, romance and gorgeous scenery along with more than one meal!

In The Vineyard Collection:

  • Summer In The Vineyard
  • Autumn In The  Vineyard
  • Valentine In The Vineyard

Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 22, 2022

Reacher TV Series Reviewed (Season 1 - 2022)

The Reacher Amazon Original TV series is a captivating suspense
My husband and I spent the last two nights watching the new TV series, "Reacher", based on the character in the books by Lee Child. Obviously, it was a spellbinding series since we watched all 8 episodes in 2 nights. We probably would have watched them all the first night if we had started them earlier in the evening.

I'll start this review by telling you what I liked best about this series, then I will share what I didn't like about the series. Normally, if I am recommending a movie or book, I don't talk about my personal negative opinions. However, in the case of this Amazon Original series, I do think anyone considering watching the shows should be prepared.

What I liked best: the actor that played Jack Reacher. Alan Ritchson is the perfect choice! Totally believable as a former US Army major in the military police with a history of handling difficult cases and standing in harms way.

Something else I liked: the story. It is a captivating suspense. It was not easy to guess who was a good guy and who was a bad guy. That shocking element is always appreciated in a suspense story.

What I don't like: the nudity, the gory images, and one other main character that was not believable as the character she played. I watch a variety of movies with my husband, son, father & brothers. I am hardened to a lot of scenes and images, but this series takes them to an unnecessary extreme level. 

I do recommend this series for adults only.  Just be prepared to close your eyes at times.


Reacher Series Synopsis

 Reacher – Official TrailerCheck PriceJack Reacher shows up in Margrave, Georgia at the worst possible time for himself, but at the best time for Margrave.  As the new stranger in town, he is immediately suspected as the murderer when 2 bodies are found.  

He is arrested for the murders, sent to jail, "accidentally" placed in the "lifers" section of the prison, and forced to defend himself and others. However, as soon as he is released, he starts working with the police to find the real killers because one of the victims is someone very special to him.

Current events, memories, past decisions & actions, lifestyle, friends and family are all recounted and questioned throughout the series. We learn a lot about Jack Reacher, past & present, and find he is someone we would all like to know and have around when needed.

Not only is this a suspenseful series, but it will tug at your heartstrings and perhaps, even pull a tear (or two) from your eyes.


More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Reacher TV Series Reviewed (Season 1 - 2022) by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, July 11, 2022

Hallmark Christmas In July Movies 2022

Ready, set and go! Hot and humid weather can only mean a little air conditioning and cueing up the Hallmark Christmas in July movies! The favorite Hallmark Christmas movies are back from all years plus a few new Hallmark surprises.


Here are a few of my favorite Hallmark Christmas movies showing this July. 


Crown for Christmas  - Danica McKellar and Rupert Penry-Jones

One of the top if not at the very top Hallmark Christmas Movies of all time ! Danica McKellar is transported from her job as a maid in a swanky hotel to a nanny for an extremely adorable prince with an equally cute and trouble making princess. Great chemistry between all three leads and the palace staff make this a modern day romcom Hallmarkies will watch again... and again.

Christmas at Graceland - Kellie Pickler and Wes Brown

Enjoy a trip to Graceland via Hallmark which provides the love, romance, and country music. You haven't seen Graceland until you have seen Graceland decked out for Christmas.

Christmas Under Wraps - Candace Cameron Bure, David O'Donnell

In the top of Hallmark Christmas movies I can and do watch multiple times in a year. There I said it!  Bure is a career only focused doctor transplanted for a residency in a small Alaska town. A little Christmas romance percolates with the local Christmas family which happens to have a Christmas themed business with its' CEO who happens to look very Santa like. Hmmm. No disappoints here  and the leads do not disappoint.


Our Christmas Love Song - Alicia Witt, Brendan Hines

Fans of both Hallmark stars are in for a treat as these actors sing, act and dance their way through a Hallmark movie country style. Country music is the backdrop along with an original song by Alicia Witt.



New 2022 Christmas Movies

Hallmark fans will be delighted that Christmas In July this year will include  brand new Christmas movies - albeit early.

My Grown Up Christmas List with Kayla Wallace and Kevin McGarry

Campfire Christmas with Tori Anderson and Corbin Bleu

Christmas In Toyland with Vanessa Lengies and Jesse Hutch

Hallmark Christmas Movie Reviews

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, June 17, 2022

It Was Always You Movie Review

It Was Always You
The only thing better than a clean, romantic movie is a romantic movie that makes us laugh. 

Erin Krakow shares her geeky side in the movie, "It Was Always You". When she hits the dance floor, she is downright funny as she demonstrates how this attractive, successful woman clearly doesn't know how to dance.  At least, that is true in the movie.  She is awkward, yet adorable because she can laugh at herself. Perhaps, all she really needs is the right partner.

Krakow is probably best known for her long lasting role as the main character in the current Hallmark series, "When Calls the Heart". However, she has proven many times that she is not just a "one hit wonder" in movies. Several movies starring Erin Krakow have already been reviewed and recommended here on Review This Reviews!  

Each time I see her in a new movie, I think "this one is my favorite". As of today, "It Was Always You" is my favorite Erin Krakow movie. I look forward to seeing how Hallmark tops this one. Frankly, I think that is a difficult challenge.


"It Was Always You" Hallmark Movie Synopsis

 It Was Always YouCheck Price & Viewing OptionsDr. Elizabeth Hall has achieved everything she set out to accomplish. She has a successful dental practice that she shares with her long time friend and fiance, George Belling.  But something is still missing. 

As a child, Elizabeth looked upon her neighbors as the perfect family and that is what she wants most. The Belling family welcomed Elizabeth into their home and she shared many happy occasions with them. Her best memories are of times spent in the Belling home and with the Belling children. Just like any close family, she shared their hurts, pains, loses, and love. It seemed only fitting that she should marry George Belling and secure her future with their family.

When Elizabeth and George joined the whole family for a weekend of celebrations, Elizabeth found herself searching for something she had not realized she was missing.  Her own real happiness.


 

More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



It Was Always You - Hallmark Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 27, 2022

Paddington (2014) Movie Review

If you are seeking a fun and entertaining movie for the whole family to watch, kids included, I recommend Paddington (2014).  The movie was inspired by the book, "A Bear Called Paddington",  written in 1958 by Michael Bond and illustrated largely by Peggy Fortnum.

The movie follows the foundation of the book, which makes a beloved bear from our past, an adored bear in our present.

Through fabulous film animation, the developers have taken the lively bear from our minds and created a very life-like replica of the enchanting Paddington bear.  He is so sweet and respectful that you wish you could snatch him from the screen and give him a hug.

Paddington is joined by Hugh Bonneville (the father in Downton Abbey) and Nicole Kidman to recreate this children's literature masterpiece into a delightful comedy film for all.  I should warn you in advance, it might make you wish to paint trees in the entry of your home and slide down a banister.

Lesson learned: if you invite a bear to stay in your home, you will want to personally introduce him to indoor plumbing and teach him how to properly use it.  Otherwise, you might need additional home insurance.


Paddington Movie Synopsis


 PaddingtonCheck Price When Paddington's uncle is killed and his home in darkest Peru is destroyed by a storm, he and his aunt decide to move to London, which is the home of a dear explorer friend who previously delighted them with stories of his glorious homeland.  Aunt Lucy and Uncle Pastuzo never really expect to accept the explorer's open invitation to visit London, but now it seems the best option.  

When they reach the cargo ships, Aunt Lucy tells Paddington that she will be going to the Home for Retired Bears and that he will travel alone to London where she is certain he will find a new home. After all, it is not time for him to retire.  She places a tag on a string around his neck as she explains how, in the past, Londoner's took in children in railway stations during wartime and provided a safe and loving home.  After placing his uncle's red hat on Paddington's head, Aunt Lucy kisses him goodbye and leaves the little stowaway in a covered lifeboat with a suitcase full of marmalade.

In the London train station, the Brown family is returning home when they pass a bear.  Mrs. Brown turns around and goes back to check on the little bear.  After talking to him and reading the note on his tag, she decides they should help him find a safe place.  That safe place ends up being their home and that is where all the fun begins!

 


This is a movie everyone should watch!  Take the time to fall in love with the little bear in the red hat & blue coat.  You may wish to bring him home too!


 

 

More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Paddington (2014) Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 29, 2022

As Luck Would Have It - Hallmark Movie Review

As Luck Would Have It

The Hallmark channel is always a reliable source for clean, romantic movies or fun mysteries without the gory scenes.  

For those of us who love Hallmark movies, we don't mind that they are often predictable.  After all, a lot of movies are predictable, especially if you search for a movie by category. 

On Hallmark, viewers don't have to worry about uncomfortable scenes in mixed company or with children in the house.  Personally, I don't like having inappropriate or disgusting images burned into my mind.  Therefore, Hallmark is my favorite movie channel, even if the movies are often described by some as cookie-cutter.

As luck would have it, I recently happened upon this sweet romantic movie starring Joanna Garcia Swisher.  I liked it so much that I watched it twice in one week. I kept trying to place why Swisher felt so familiar to me.  Then it dawned on me: she is one of the main characters in the TV series, Sweet Magnolias.  Her character in both this movie and the TV series are very similar and easily likable. 

Allen Leech is also a familiar face thanks to his role as Tom Branson in Downton Abbey.  Fans will also note similarities between his characters, Tom and Brennan.  Again, he is likable in spite of, or perhaps because of, his Irish temperament. 

Together, they make a lovely couple!

 

As Luck Would Have It  (2021)  Hallmark Movie

Lindsey Johnson is a young, single, vivacious go-getter that works for a real estate developing company that has its eye on purchasing a specific piece of land in Kilabbey, Ireland.  However, there is one big problem in the way.  Currently, an old castle is built on the property.  The Krispen Group, Lindsey's employer, wants to buy the land, tear down the castle, and build a new resort hotel in its place.

 As Luck Would Have ItCheck PriceThe Kilabbey town inherited the castle and the property from the last original family member.  The town council's desire is to refurbish the castle and maintain the history of this gorgeous landmark.

There is a clash when the protectors of history meet with the ambitious developers who want to change everything. The Krispen Group is not the first company to want to swoop in and grab the desired property. To date, the town council has held firm on not selling to anyone who wants to replace the castle, a cherished landmark in the heart of the town.

As the Krispen Group's most experienced and successful representative, Lindsey arrives in Kilabbey right before the annual Match Making festival.  This big event brings a lot of tourists to Kilabbey in the hopes of finding true love, as well as guests who have wonderful memories of past festivals.  The final festival celebration is always held in the Ballydonal castle, which was the original festival site.

Due to the city council's refusal of the Krispen Groups proposal, Lindsey decides to stay in Kilabbey in the hopes of finding a way to get them to accept their offer.  

The week long Match Making Festival in Kilabbey provides tremendous insight into the town, the people, their love for their history, and their beloved castle.  Plus, Lindsey makes new friends from other parts of the world who treasure Kilabbey, the castle, and their festival.

 

 



"As Luck Would Have It" is a must-see movie for those who love romantic movies, as well as those who love a touch of history. The setting is gorgeous and will make you want to visit the fictional town of Kilabbey, Ireland or better yet, travel to Dublin Ireland and tour Howth Castle where the movie was actally filmed.

 

2 Ways to Watch "As Luck Would Have It"

 

 

More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



As Luck Would Have It - Hallmark Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, April 18, 2022

Movie Review: The Biggest Little Farm

I recently watched The Biggest Little Farm and loved it so much that I am going to order the DVD so that I can watch it repeatedly. The Biggest Little Farm is a film documenting a couple who jump from apartment life to farm life and their progress toward regenerative farming. It is a beautifully filmed story about chasing and obtaining dreams as well as caring deeply for the land.



"This all started with a promise we made to a dog"

 In 2010, John and Molly were living in an apartment in Santa Monica, California. She is a private chef who specialized in traditional cooking methods. She dreamt of owning a farm and growing everything she could cook. While they lived in this apartment, she grew her own tomatoes on her balcony and shopped at farmer's markets.

John is a filmmaker. While filming an animal hoard situation, with over 200 animals being removed, John met one particular dog and fell in love. They adopted the big black fluffy dog with the just-look-at-those eyes and named him Todd.

"Todd filled us with purpose."

"We made one promise to him... our home would be his last."

Except Todd was not necessarily cooperative. He. Barked. Nonstop. Large fluffy dog in an apartment barking during every moment his family is away is not a good situation. The poor neighbors complained. Molly and John tried many different things to try to solve the problem including dog trainers, calming dog vests, and taking him everywhere they went. 

Eventually, the eviction notice arrived. Molly and John had some tough choices to make.

They decided that Molly's dream of living on a farm would be the solution. Farms are perfect for dogs. And for people who eat farm to table. Except there was a problem. Molly and John did not have the funds. So they got investors for this land and this "old way of farming". And they purchased Apricot Lane Farm approximately 1 hour north of Los Angeles.

They wanted to turn this neglected piece of land into a healthy and thriving farm with traditional farming practices and they highlighted how farms have turned into singular-focused businesses. For example, each farm specializes in one item such as avocados. Or chickens. But Molly and John wanted to "emulate how natural ecosystems work. They regulate themselves through diversity".  But how to achieve that? 

A man named Alan York mentored them. He had a vision that they couldn't quite see. And he had a plan. This plan included starting the land over and removing what had been planted there. John and Molly didn't quite understand where he was going with his plan. It's hard to understand what you don't know but they followed his advice the best they could.

In order to avoid spoilers, I will stop here.

Recommending The Biggest Little Farm

I highly recommend this film. The cinematography was breath-taking at points. The film was a combination of high quality and beautifully filmed sections that were "National Geographic" in quality mixed with clips from what appeared to be home-videos shot from a handy cell phone. 

I did find myself wondering how in the world they just happened to have all of these video clips over the years that were adequate to tell the story. And the cynical side of me thought it had to be set up or staged in some way. But during an interview I have since watched, John answers that concern. Being a filmmaker, documenting their journey was a part of his everyday life (I imagine much like I find myself filming my chickens, deer, and the sunsets on my ridge each day). In addition, some of their interns had a similar interest in journalism. So they decided to video and to save those videos; the good, bad, and in between. This is how they had so many pieces of the journey on video.

At points, I also thought that they were going to go down the path of farmer-bashing which would have irritated me. But they didn't. They pointed out that farming has been moving away from farms with a variety of crops/livestock to businesses with a single crop/focus.

Is their natural, regenerative ecosystem something I could replicate? Well. No. I am not up to the challenge of finding investors to buy 200 acres of land. Nor am I organized enough to bring in interns to help. I can barely manage myself most days. However, I would LOVE to have this sort of ecosystem, in miniature, on my land in some way. Much like when John and Molly listened to Alan York's directions in the beginning, I just don't quite get it. But I am trying to learn.

This is not a how-to movie. There are no step-by-step directions and I will have to do much research on my own. However, this movie does give a visual overview of how a very damaged ecosystem begins to find it's balance with some help. This movie inspires. This also is a movie about humans who loved a dog enough to give him his forever home.

Rent or Buy The Biggest Little Farm?

You can do as I did and rent this movie on Amazon Prime for just a few dollars. I realized that with Amazon Prime, I could rent movies and avoid buying the DVDs and Blu-Rays that stack up and collect dust when I don't care to view them again. When I rent a movie that I know I'll want to re-watch many times, I do end up buying the copy. This is one of those movies that I will order so that it is on my bookcase and I can watch it again and again.

 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 15, 2022

Emma (2020) Movie Review

Emma
I recently watched the 2020 version of "Emma" starring Anya Taylor-Joy and I was pleasantly surprised.  As a matter of fact, this "Emma" is my favorite version of the movie based on the book by Jane Austen. I have seen a few others in the past, but none quite hit the mark for me.

Anya Taylor-Joy is the perfect choice!  She is exactly how I envision Emma and she did an outstanding job of bringing the character to life. I also liked the actor (Johnny Flynn) that played the part of George Knightley.  As an added bonus, Emma's father was played by Bill Nighy who was superb.  He made me laugh out loud several times with his obsession with drafts and his ability to seem almost clueless, yet very caring, at times.

All three of these actors deserve awards for excellence.  Together, they made this movie exceptional and one I would highly recommend, especially if you are a Austen fan who has been previously disappointed by "Emma" film adaptations. 

The costumes and scenery are additional elements that made this movie great.  Alexandra Byrne also deserves an award for perhaps being the best Regency-era costume designer ever.  Emma's wardrobe was totally fabulous.


Emma (2020)

 Emma (2020) [DVD]Check PriceEmma Woodhouse is not immediately interested in romance and marriage for herself, but she does believe she is the perfect matchmaker due to her recent "success" of introducing her former governess to a local widower, which resulted in marriage.  This self-appointed "occupation" puts her in some rather delicate situations since others misunderstand her actions and intentions. 

The movie begins on her former governess's wedding day and we quickly meet most of the main characters.  Her neighbor and friend, Mr. Knightley, did not attend the wedding, but he does come by their home afterwards to ascertain if all went well.

Emma befriends Harriet Smith, an orphan at the local boarding school.  She is determined to help Harriet by instructing her in proper manners so she can attract a husband of a higher station.  Harriet is already infatuated with one of Mr. Knightley's tenet farmers, Mr. Martin, but he is not suitable for Harriet in Emma's opinion. 

Due to her meddling, several relationships are strained, feelings are hurt, and decisions with consequences are made, but you can't help liking Emma.  Thanks to the comic relief throughout the movie, what might normally cause stress has little effect on the viewers overall mood.

While her heart to help might be admirable, Emma's actual actions show how young, arrogant, and naive she really is.  Fortunately for her, she is surrounded by people who love her and are willing to forgive.





You May Also Enjoy

Sense and SensibilitySense and Sensibility Movie Review
Sense and Sensibility is entertaining time and time again. The actors in Sense and Sensibility are so well suited to their parts that I often forget they are actors and do appear in other movies.


See More Movie Reviews on
ReviewThisMovies.com



Emma (2020) Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, March 10, 2022

Review of Classic Movie Night


 A classic movie night is a great way to share an evening with friends, good food, and watch some great old movies.

Starting Our Classic Movie Night

    In early 2006 several of our friends and us decided to get together for a night of entertainment.  There were three couples involved and we decided we would enjoy having dinner together and then watching a classic movie.  When we started we decided to take turns hosting the evening and the host would provide the meal and the movie choice. 
      Over the years the evening has evolved and  now our monthly evenings ended up being about 4-6 times a year. We also now all contribute to the meal with one person bringing the entree, one the side dish and a third the dessert.  Over the years we have had breaks due to health issues and Covid but we always get back to all wanting to have our evenings together.  Everytime we meet we have a great time and say we must do this more often.  But then, life happens and it ends up being several months before we get together again.
   Back in 2006, the first movie we saw was Casablanca with Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman.  We felt it was the perfect movie to start our "Classic Movie Nights"
 Here is a link to Casablanca on Amazon.  You might want to choose it for your first "Classic Movie Night"                 

Casablanca

The first year we got together we would sometimes see two movies when we got together. We have since decided that we would rather just watch one movie, leaving plenty of time for a discussion on the movie and other conversation.

Keeping Track of Our Movies

    One of the things I started right from the beginning is keeping a list of all the movies we watched.  My daughter gave me a great little book.  This little journal book gives you a page for each movie you see.  I list the title, director, stars and date we watched it.  There is also places for ratings and comments.  Over the years we have referred back to this book whenever we are looking for another movie to watch.  When someone says we already saw that one as a group, we just pull out the book and check.  Our memories can sure play tricks on us.  Here is a link to this movie journal on Amazon.



Choosing the Movies to Watch

    Choosing the movies to watch can be a fun part of the night too.  We all see each other at other times in the month so we will have discussions on what to watch.  We all prefer different types of movies so we try to alternate who makes the final decision and we have each been enriched by watching movies we might not of watched if we weren't in the group.
     One discussion we have had over the years is to determine what is and isn't a classic movie.  We have checked lots of lists online for ideas but basically it comes down to an old movie that we really would like to see.  Usually we try for something at least 50 years old.

One of our favorite movies we have watched is 12 Angry Men. This  movie stars Henry Fonda, Lee J Cobb, Ed Begley, EG Marshall and Jack Warden.  When we talk about good movies we have watched over the years 12 Angry Men always enters the discussion.  It was the movie we saw the second time we got together. 

Here is a list of some of our other favorites over the years.  There are many more and I would say that in the 40 plus movies we have viewed we only found a couple that none of us liked.
  • Breakfast at Tiffanys
  • Stagecoach
  • Fortune Cookie
  • Double Indemnity
  • Some Like it Hot
  • Manchurian Candidate
  • Seven Brides for Seven Brothers
  • Pride of the Yankees
  • African Queen
  • Birdcage
  • On the Waterfront
  • Citizen Kane
  • Sabrina
  • Key Largo
  • True Lies
  • The Quiet Man

Theme Nights

Sometimes we have theme nights.  Recently for a night near Valentines Day we watched a romantic comedy. When Harry Met Sally.   During the political elections we watched a comedy My Fellow  Americans with Dan Akroyd, James Garner and Jack Lemmon.
    In December we try to watch a Christmas classic.  Among others we have watched Going My way and The Bishop's Wife.  Here is a review fellow reviewer Cynthia did on The Bishop's Wife.


Future Choices

We are always looking for good movies to watch.  If you have a favorite please list it in the comment section so we can consider it for a future "Classic Movie Night".  




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 4, 2022

Appetite for Love Hallmark Movie Review

When searching for a new movie to watch, I came across "Appetite for Love".  It was released in 2016, but somehow I have missed seeing it. 

As a huge Hallmark fan, I didn't feel I needed to look further. I felt confident this would be a good movie and one I would enjoy watching. 

I had seen Andrew Walker (Clay Hart) in several Hallmark movies, but Taylor Cole (Mina Jones) was new to me even though she has starred in several Hallmark movies previously.

From the very beginning, I liked Taylor Cole.  She was easily believable as a current day business executive from a small rural town in Tennessee.  Andrew Walker seems almost born to play the part of Clay Hart, a country boy committed to seeing his home town prosper in spite of outside forces that he must take seriously.  

With the typical feel-good Hallmark theme of romance & fun, and even with the challenges of big city interference, "Appetite for Love" leaves viewers happy and with an appetite for more.     

 

Appetite for Love

 Appetite for LoveCheck PriceMina loves her job, her career.  She is definitely headed in the right direction with the company. She has a great boyfriend, who happens to be a co-worker and their life together is headed in the right direction. Her life seems perfect.  It is exactly what she wanted when she left small town USA to carve out her career.  Since her parents have moved, there is really no reason for her to return to Sycamore Springs, Tennessee.  Well, that is true until her company sends her there to force their newly acquired franchised restaurant into compliance with the company rules, menus, and suppliers.  Her promotion depends on her successfully implementing the required changes at Hart's Restaurant, which happens to be owned by her high school sweetheart's family.

Since his father's recent death, Clay Hart is the operator of the towns popular Hart's Restaurant.  The chef knows what the customers want and he prepares the food accordingly.  Hart's uses locally grown products and the food is cooked fresh daily.  However, that is not in compliance with the company requirements since they are not serving food from the company menu supplied by the chosen vendors.  What's more, Clay is not interested in making those changes.  He knows what his town prefers. Unfortunately, his restaurant is no longer owned by his family.

As you can see, Mina and Clay are about to knock heads. The past has a way of interfering when old hurts become part of the present. Things get even more difficult when Mina's co-worker boyfriend shows up to "help" and report back to corporate.  After all, the people of Sycamore Springs are important to Mina too, even though she tried to forget those friends and her childhood there.

 


2 Ways to Watch "Appetite for Love"

 

 

More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com
>



Appetite for Love Hallmark Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, February 28, 2022

The Wedding Veil Trilogy: Hallmark Movie Review

Who doesn't love a Hallmark movie Trilogy?! Welcome to the The Wedding Veil Trilogy a romcom which helps ease the way through a snowy February here in the midwest. Three tried and true Hallmark starts led by Lacey Chabert as the actor, developer and executive producer bring the mystery of the wedding veil to life and leaves the viewer eagerly awaiting each part of the trilogy.



The story behind the mysterious vintage wedding veil is the fourth star of the trilogy as we travel along with three long time girlfriends and how the wedding veil they discovered and purchased on their annual girls trip brings future fun, intrigue and romance.

As usual with a Hallmark movie the believability of the storyline does tend to lie with the chemistry. The three movies in the trilogy have an abundance of chemistry between each of the female co stars along with their respective love interests. Movie 2 of the trilogy was filmed in Italy and the authenticity is not only believable, but gorgeous!

Hallmark fans should keep an eye out for the movies which are currently being replayed and will continue to stream on the Hallmark channel this month (and I suspect much longer due to their popularity already!)

Movie 1 The Wedding Veil Lacey Chabert & Kevin McGarry

Movie 2 The Wedding Veil Unveiled Autumn Reeser & Paolo Bernardini

Movie 3 The Wedding Veil Legacy Allison Sweeney & Victor Webster

 

Watch The Stars Chat about the Movies 

View on Youtube here >> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jN5JDDU4uLw


Do I need to watch the Wedding Veil movies in order?

I don't believe it is necessary to watch the movies in order! A recap of the interweaving veil theme is given at the beginning of each movie and is self explanatory. While related via the veil, the characters of each movie and the storyline can easily stand alone. 

 

More Hallmark Movie Reviews

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, February 14, 2022

Hallmark Christmas In February Movies Reviewed

What's a better way to spend a cold winter night than with a little Hallmark Christmas movie magic? Grab the hot cocoa, a fuzzy wrap and snuggle in for Hallmark Christmas In February Movies. Great way to catch up on those Christmas movie gems you may have missed in prior years.



One of the advantages since Hallmark has embraced the Christmas movie is the huge selection of movies available. The themes are traditional Hallmark and that is indeed part of the charm if you are a fan. No surprises here with a usual happy ending and that indeed is also part of the charm!

 Yes, I have watched alot of Hallmark Christmas movies. There are a few favorites which always come to mind when I think of Hallmark Christmas movies. Enjoy this compilation of Hallmark Christmas movies I rate highly. Hallmark delivers as promised and that is also part of their charm!

Favorite Royal Themed Hallmark Christmas Movies

Top Three:

Tied at Number 1

1. A Crown For Christmas with Danica McKellar and Rupert Penry -Jones (2015)

1. A Royal Christmas with Lacey Chabert and Stephan Hagan (2014)

3. One Royal Holiday with Laura Osnes and Aaron Tveit (2020)

Favorite Road trip Hallmark Christmas Movies

1. A Christmas Detour with Candace Cameron Bure and Paul Greene (2015)

2. Cross Country Christmas with Rachel Leigh Cook and Greyston Holt (2021)

3. A Christmas To Remember with Mira Sorvino and Cameron Mathison (2016)

Favorite I Traveled Across The Country Hallmark Christmas Movies

A Very Merry Mix Up with Alicia Witt and Mark Wiebe (2013)

Christmas Under Wraps with Candace Cameron Bure and David O'Donnell (2014)

Christmas In Homestead with Taylor Cole and Michael Rady (2016)

Let It Snow with Candace Cameron Bure and Jesse Hutch (2013)

Favorite Christmas Party Hallmark Christmas Movies

Good Morning Christmas with Allison Sweeney and Marc Blucas (2020)

Christmas Wishes and Mistletoe Kisses with Jill Wagner and Matthew Davis (2020)

Christmas At Castle Hart (2021) with Lacey Chabert and Stewart Townsend

Favorite Hallmark Christmas Movies With Dance As A Theme

The Christmas Waltz with Lacey Chabert and Will Kemp (2020)

A Nutcracker Christmas with Amy Acker, Sascha Radetsky (2016)

Come Dance With Me with Andrew McCarthy and Michelle Nolden (2013)

Favorite Hallmark Christmas Movie Series & Sequels

Cast: Ashley Williams, Paul Greene,  Mark Deklin, Jill Wagner, Maggie Lawson,  Malcolm Stewart, Holly Robinson Peete, Marcus Rosner, Teddy Sears.

Christmas In Evergreen (2017)

Christmas In Evergreen: Letters To Santa (2018)

Christmas In Evergreen: Tidings To Joy (2019)





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 28, 2022

Snowkissed - Hallmark Movie Review

Snowkissed
As autumn has turned to winter in our area, the trees and grounds have already been kissed by snow several times. When I saw the movie entitled "Snowkissed", I immediately thought it was a rather romantic way to describe a light snow.  

When it is below freezing outside, I tend to stay inside with a cup of hot cocoa, a warm blanket, and a romantic Hallmark movie.  When the title caught my attention, I decided to check it out.

Setting my first thoughts aside, I read the movie description and thought it might be a nice love story, but I watched it because the title evoked lovely mental imagery.  

Because I prefer clean and wholesome movies, I most often scan Hallmark movies first for a new film to watch when I just want to relax, not have to think too deeply, and simply be entertained by beautiful settings and likable people.

When a movie makes me smile, or even laugh, I know I have discovered a  cinematic gem.  As it turned out, the love story was sweet, I laughed several times, the scenery was fabulous and was definitely snow kissed.

This movie clearly has it all and was a wonderful escape for an hour and a half.

 

"Snowkissed" Movie Synopsis 


 SnowkissedCheck Price Kate (Jen Lilley) is really excited when she is offered an interview with a popular author, but her excitement is quickly diminished when she finds out she will have to travel to conduct the interview.  She hates to travel.  She likes her well organized, clutter-free life in Manhattan and she has no desire to change anything. However, with the prospect of becoming a staff member instead of a freelance writer, and a lot of encouragement from her photographer friend who will go with her, she decides to face her travel fears and take the assignment.

They arrive at the B&B in Canada to find a struggling business run by two single men who are desperate to get the endorsement of an international travel company that will send a lot of business their way.  As the only two guests for the week, the guys ask Kelly & Jane to go through their 3 day tour and give them honest critiques and suggestions.  However, constructive criticism is not always easy to take, even when it is given by request.

While the set-up of two single men and two single women may seem like the perfect situation, it isn't always a guarantee that they will end up as friends, much less anything more to each other. After all, they live in different countries, all have jobs and responsiblities, and at least one definitely does not like change.

 



If you enjoy a romantic movie with a touch of humor and a lot of gorgeous scenery, then you will love Snowkissed

Watch on Amazon Prime or Buy a Hallmark DVD that includes Snowkissed.




More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Snowkissed - Hallmark Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X