Showing posts with label Movie Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Movie Reviews. Show all posts

Monday, January 17, 2022

Movie Review: Harriet

During certain U.S holidays, I make an effort to learn more about the people or situations behind those holidays. With Martin Luther King Jr Day approaching I decided to sit down and finally watch Harriet. When it comes to thinking of civil rights and the battle for equality, I always find myself thinking of Harriet Tubman and her epic walk to freedom. I am astounded that a woman, a slave woman, walked from the marshes of Dorchester County, Maryland to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. "I left my husband and family, there's just me and the Lord" she says to William Still up her arrival in Philadelphia. He replies, "I don't know if you know how extraordinary this is, but by some miraculous means you have made it 100 miles to freedom. All by yourself." But it doesn't seem that Harriet felt alone. She had already proclaimed that "I walk with the Lord". 



I am glad that I made the time to watch the movie Harriet and I recommend it to anyone who would like to know more about this one woman who was literally willing to go to great lengths to make sure she gained her freedom.

Harriet the Movie

Harriet was released in 2019 and stars Cynthia Erivo. Cynthia plays Araminta "Minty" Ross, a slave owned by the Brodess farm family in Dorchester County, Maryland. As a slave, she married John Tubman (a free black man). The movie begins as John presents a letter from a lawyer to Mr. Brodess, stating that legally, Minty's mother was to be released from slavery at age 45. And therefore, they are asking for Minty to be freed so that they can raise their family without fear of their children being sold. That conversation, of course, goes badly. From that point, we watch as things become increasingly difficult. Minty and the fictional Brodess son, Gideon, have a complicated relationship - having been raised together but in the role of slave owner and slave. The farm is facing financial difficulty. And Mr. Brodess dies, leaving the decisions of the farm to his wife and son.

After the death of his father, Gideon posts flyers for the sale of Minty. And she runs. Minty is given one name and location after another along the underground railroad and she flees, narrowly missing being caught. At one point, she jumps from a bridge into a river after stating that she was going to "be free or die". Everyone believes she drowned. But miraculously, she continues on. 

At one point, near the Pennsylvania border, Thomas Garrett is one of the angels along the way. "May I help thee Friend?" he asks her. Although brief, I am glad that one of the characters depicted was of Quaker background. Quakers played a very important role in the success of the underground railroad and I am not sure that is well-known information. It is astounding to me in light of the risks (physical, legal) involved when helping slaves escape during the days of the Fugitive Slave Act that such a peaceful group of people would help others. But they did. Peacefully, they helped free many enslaved people.

After Minty arrives in Philadelphia she is helped by William Still and others. She takes the free name of Harriet Tubman. Harriet obtains a paying job and is living free in Philadelphia. Her story could end there but she feels she can't live fully without her husband and family. 

Harriet returns to Dorchester County to get her husband to come with her. During that trip is when she begins helping other slaves to freedom. She becomes so good at it that advertisements are hung announcing "Moses" the slave stealer and everyone is trying to catch Moses. Some believe Moses is a man in black face. Imagine the surprise when they find that it is the drowned Minty who is stealing their slaves.

Of course, the fight for freedom and stealing slaves is not an easy thing. There is some conflict, physical or emotional, at every turn.

My Personal Thoughts of Harriet the Movie

I think part of the reason I hadn't watched this movie sooner is because I didn't want to ruin some of the images I already had of Harriet Tubman in my head. Sometimes I prefer my imaginings and Hollywood's version isn't the version I want to see. As a young girl, I was amazed that a woman would walk to freedom. As an adult, visiting Dorchester County, I was amazed that a woman would walk through that marshy area to freedom. I was once visiting the area around Fishing Bay, Maryland during a tropical storm. The rain was falling in sheets off and on the entire day. The wet marshes were even more full of water and water was across the roads. And that was the first time I realized that I was in the area where Harriet Tubman (I didn't yet know that wasn't her birth name) was born and raised. We passed a historical marker along a country road. Despite the rain we stopped to read the sign. Off across the field, barely visible through the rain, was a small cabin. The marker listed it as a Harriet Tubman home.

photo by Dawn Rae

Currently, if you travel to that general area, you'll find the Harriet Tubman Museum that was completed in 2019.  It is a small museum but worth the visit in my opinion. And you can drive the Harriet Tubman Byway - a driving tour with many sites related to Harriet Tubman's life.

This movie was not filmed in Dorchester County. I was a bit disappointed about that fact. Hiking 100 miles is a huge feat but walking 100 miles through marshy areas is terrifying to me (I have a great fear of snakes). Also, the movie was an abbreviated depiction of her life. I'm sure it was not easy to pack a lifetime worth of information into a two hour and five minute movie. I would have loved this movie to have been mini-series length. Despite those two things, I enjoyed this moving very much. I loved watching Ms. Erivo as Minty. I think she was perfect for the role. The singing was touching and perfect for the setting. I enjoyed Erivo's voice immensely. 

It will never be determined whether Harriet's head injury (being hit in the head by an overseer) led to her "spells", whether she had a neurological disorder such as seizures, or whether she fell out when God gave her visions, but it is clear that she had an unshakable faith. And she saved lives through that faith. Harriet Tubman was pretty amazing and I recommend this movie to anyone who wants to get a more clear idea of who she was and what she was able to do with her life.

Finally, I rented Harriet for $1.99 on Amazon Prime and watched the movie twice (once for each day of the rental). I don't think you can beat that price for good entertainment. I highly recommend an Amazon Prime membership for good deals on movies and books among other benefits.

find your copy on Amazon





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 31, 2021

A New Year's Resolution Hallmark Movie Review

This is a delightfully uplifting movie to watch for New Years!

I have previously bypassed this movie several times because the trailers simply did not appeal to me.  This has taught me that I should never solely rely on the trailers to give me a real representation of whether I will like a movie or not.

True to Hallmark style, this romantic movie is somewhat predictable when Kelly Leone meets Tom Malone, but the story is unique.  

It is clear from the beginning that they are attracted to each other.  However, due to Kelly's New Year's resolution to say "yes" to more social event invitations, their relationship doesn't start with Tom asking her out.  He doesn't want her to feel forced to accept.  Of course, nothing says Kelly can't pursue Tom.  After all, Tom is not bound by any resolution.  Plus, they have several upcoming social events in common. 

Not only did I enjoy the romantic story, I also found myself laughing over several of the scenes.  Truly a nice break and a great way for Hallmark lovers to start the new year.

 

A New Year's Resolution Movie Synopsis

 A New Year's ResolutionCheck PriceKelly Leone is a dedicated morning show producer who has spent the last year working long hours and focusing on getting better ratings for her show.  Now that she has finally gotten the show in a safe zone, she decides it is time for her to focus on her personal life.  While her friends have been extremely understanding and patient with her busy work life, they do express how much they have missed her and want her back.  Kelly recognizes that she has really missed out on some of the changes in their lives, plus the combination of "small moments that makes up the big important stuff in life". 

Because of these revelations, Kelly decides to change her standard New Year's resolution.  She commits herself to her friends and vows that she will accept any social invitation offered to her until her birthday in February.  Her friends don't hesitate to start offering those social invitations, starting with a cold New Year's Day Polar Plunge into Lake Michigan.  Other social invitations include the Blizzard Obstacle Course, speed dating, curling, and facing her greatest fear, a magician.   

When the morning show cast hears of her resolution, they decide to make her the "star" of their new story.  They follow her through her events and film her experiences for the show.  Kelly prefers to be in the background, off camera, but she makes an adorable focus for the new series, as well as for this fun Hallmark movie.

Don't let the trailers keep your from watching this movie!  Why not join me and make it your New Year's resolution to ignore the trailers and watch the movie for yourself. 





Currently, "A New Year's Resolution" is also available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  
 


Hallmark Channel Subscription on Amazon


More Movies REVIEWED ON REVIEW THIS REVIEWS!
Available with Subscription to the Hallmark Channel






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



A New Year's Resolution Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 24, 2021

The Bishop's Wife - Classic Movie Review

There are many messages packed in this one movie.  I've watched it dozens of times over the last 40 years.  With each viewing, I step away feeling blessed and reminded of what Christmas is all about.  

I'm not speaking of the commercial Christmas we are all so familiar with, or even the holiday season of family gatherings, but the real reason for Christmas.  The celebration of the first Christmas when Jesus was born.  As a Christian, I am always grateful for the reminder that I need not stress over decorations, gifts, or even a specific date.  I need only concentrate on Christ, my savior and the gift God gave all of us by giving us His Son.

We are most of the way through the movie when a visiting angel offers a beautiful message for all, the explanation of the symbols most often associated with Christmas.  The star in remembrance of the Star in the East; the gifts in remembrance of the gifts given by the Wise Men; and the bells that represent the cry of the new born child.

This movie was the inspiration of a family tradition I started in our home when our children were babies.  I always hung a stocking inscribed for Jesus alongside the stocking for our family members. I always wanted Jesus to be remembered.

I recently watched "The Bishop's Wife" again and I was struck by the reality of how we often want something and we ask for God's help.  He may not give us exactly what we ask for, but He always answers our prayers with what is best for us, regardless of what we think would be best.

I hope you will take the time to watch this movie and listen for the message it has for you this year.


The Bishop's Wife Movie Synopsis

 The Bishop's WifeCheck PriceCary Grant stars in this movie as Dudley, a visiting angel sent in response to the bishop's prayer.  The bishop, played by David Niven, is completely focused on raising money to build a huge cathedral.

Bishop Henry Brougham can't quite bring himself to agree to the stipulations of one of his parishioners in order to procure the hefty donation she is offering.  Throughout the movie, he continues to implore her to give the donation without unreasonable preconditions. He is so preoccupied with the cathedral fund that he forgets to be grateful for what he has already been blessed with.

It is Dudley's mission to help the bishop refocus on what is most important.  Of course, Dudley touches the heart of every member of the bishop's household with his kind words and thoughtful deeds. What is most unexpected for Dudley is that he is also affected by this mission.




 

I highly recommend watching The Bishop's Wife this Christmas season.  Even if you have watched it many times before, you too may find a new nugget of wisdom hidden within it.

Remember, "as you are walking though these streets of the city, you may suddenly look into a strange face. It may be the face of a murderer or it may be the face of an angel."  (Dudley in "The Bishop's Wife)




Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



The Bishop's Wife - Classic Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 17, 2021

Christmas Pen Pals Movie Review

Christmas Pen Pals
I am always thrilled to find a new wonderful Christmas movie!  

Most often, I default back to classics of the past during the holidays, but this year I was searching for something new.  I tried several that ended with the movie being clicked off within the first 15 minutes.  I wanted a good movie, not just a time-passer. When I discovered "Christmas Pen Pals" starring Sarah Drew & Niall Matter, I knew almost immediately that I had found the Christmas movie gem I was seeking.

This sweet, romantic movie was perhaps a bit predictable since we knew Hannah (Sarah Drew) was going to fall in love.  However, there were plenty of fun surprises along the way that kept my attention and made me hopeful that this kindhearted woman would find someone who loved her as much, or more, than she loved them.

Yes, I know.  I am an unapologetic hopeless romantic!  I love a great love story whether I am reading a book or watching a movie.  Of course, no love story is better than a real life love story, but we rarely get to see that from the very beginning and see those first sparks. 


Christmas Pen Pals Movie Synopsis

Hannah Morris has a well organized life and in isolated from people and pain by her electronics and gadgets.  As the creator of a dating website, her financial stability is also dependent on the internet via those devices.  When her company partner shares how their site is struggling because people are leaving it in droves due to the lack of the emotional element they desire, the two woman know they need a new "catch" to continue to succeed.  

 CHRISTMAS PEN PALSCheck Price Unfortunately, Hannah also lacks a romantic relationship in her own life. That makes it rather hard for her to envision how to set up a new dating app that would have the needed emotional appeal.  When searching through her phone list of men from her past, she accidentally calls her dad.  Because she doesn't want to let her father down, she ends up agreeing to come home for Christmas.

However, home is where Hannah must come face to face with pain, the past, and the reality of Christmas at home without her mother.  But, she is also greeted by family and friends who welcome her home with open arms. 

The town is celebrating Christmas this year by having secret pen pals assigned to participants who decide in advance if they are seeking love or a new friendship. Because of her current work problem, she decides to check "love" on the application, hoping she will find that needed inspiration for her dating website.

Does she find that inspiration and the "catch" she needs to be professionally successful?  I won't tell!  

You must watch the movie for yourself to find out.


 

More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Christmas Pen Pals Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, December 13, 2021

Four Favorite Classic Christmas Movies Reviewed

So many Christmas movies, specials and songs! It can be difficult to sift through the Christmas content available to find the winners. Old school Christmas classics are the best and bring back or make the memories.



These are my four favorite classic Christmas movies that I look forward to viewing every year. The classics are available on DVD or can be streamed on Amazon Prime.

Rudolph The Red Nose Reindeer

Rudolph and Clarice are not a pair without Burl Ives! The classic 1964 Rudolph with Animagic animation and the memorable holiday songs of "A Holly Jolly Christmas" "We're A Couple Of Misfits" and "Silver and Gold".  

Fun fact: Rudolph was honored with a postage stamp in 2014 to mark the 50th Anniversary.

The Little Drummer Boy

Another stop motion classic with a very thoughtful message which resonates today. While the animation is typical of its' era and cannot compare to the animation of today; the ending is unforgettable and thought provoking.

"Do You Hear What I Hear" along with "The Little Drummer Boy" songs remain Christmas classics.

Fun fact: Based on original song title Carol Of the Drum sang by the Trapp Family Singers (Sound Of Music)

Frosty The Snowman

Jimmy Durante provided the classic narration for the original Frosty in 1969. Frosty had four sequels through the years, but who can compete with Durante!

Fun Fact: Frosty the Snowman has made the music charts over six times since 1966 with a variety of artists including Jimmy Durante, Perry Como, Nat King Cole.

The Grinch Who Stole Christmas

Who does not love the Grinch! and Dr. Seuss! The 1966 animated film is the best! Boris Karloff is the narrator not to be forgotten as the Grinch navigates Christmas.

Fun Fact: The Grinch Who Stole Christmas has been adapted over five times since the original.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 3, 2021

The Christmas Train Hallmark Movie Review

The Christmas Train
The Christmas Train is a wonderful star-studded Hallmark Hall of Fame Christmas movie.  The movie is based on the book by David Baldacci.  This movie originally aired in 2017, but I only recently discovered it on the Hallmark channel. 

During the holidays, I occasionally need a break from cooking, company, noise, and the annual chaos generated by a large family. Please understand, I wouldn't change a thing, but I do still need brief intermissions in the midst of our family multi-day holiday gatherings.  That is when I grab my iPad, seek out a quiet spot, and watch a Hallmark Christmas movie.  Works like a charm!  After the movie, I am refreshed, happy and ready to interact with real people again. 

I really needed a good movie to watch the day I happened upon The Christmas Train.  It turned out to be the perfect movie with a cast of fabulous actors who were all endearing for various reasons.  Every passenger on The Christmas Train had their own story and their own reasons for being on a train the week of Christmas.  From a film director, a writer seeking a new story, to the quirky, nosy woman who seemed to be overly interested in everyone, they all added value to the movie.  

 

The Christmas Train Synopsis

 The Christmas TrainCheck Price

Tom Langdon (Dermot Mulroney) was the last person Eleanor (Kimberly Williams-Paisley) expected to encounter on the Christmas train and she was the last person he expected to see.  It is immediately obvious to everyone that they already know each other and that there is "history", and pain, between them.  

Max Powers (Danny Glover) is the film director who believes Tom and Eleanor should set aside the past and work together to write a new film for him.  They reluctantly agree to collaborate, only because Eleanor couldn't find another form of transportation.  

As Tom and Eleanor interact with the other passengers, tidbits of their past together are shared.  But what really makes this a fun ride, is the combination of the stories of the passengers and their willingness to befriend one another. 

We have all had an "Agnes" (Joan Cusack) in our life. The nosy "neighbor" who seems to know everything about everyone.  We learn a lot about each passenger thanks to Agnes making their business, her business, and then sharing it with others.  

There is also an eloping couple who become important to the story because both Eleanor and Tom must dredge up old memories in order to offer advice to this struggling couple.  Even Max gets involved with helping them find their way to the altar.  

There are several other passengers on the train who are important to the complete story.  I'll let you discover them for yourself! 

 



If you enjoy a sweet romantic movie, then you will love The Christmas Train starring Danny Glover, Joan Cusack, Dermot Mulroney, and Kimberly Williams-Paisley. 

After seeing the movie, I definitely want to read the book now!



More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



The Christmas Train Hallmark Movie Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 8, 2021

You, Me & The Christmas Trees: Hallmark Movie Review

The Hallmark Christmas Movie season begins with an evergreen SOS in You, Me & The Christmas Trees as the lead off movie for 2021. Of course romance ensues as the evergreen mystery unfolds and a solution must be found in time for Christmas!


A Christmas tree emergency brings Tree Whisperer Danica McKellar as Olivia to the town of Avon to save a families Christmas tree farm. Benjamin Ayres plays Jack, whose tree farm is in jeopardy due to a mysterious disease which is attacking his Christmas trees. Scientist Olivia is determined to provide the answers and just might find a little romance along the way!

A light and fluffy romcom with a believable chemistry between McKellar and Ayres helps make this movie a great way to start off the Hallmark Christmas movie season. This movie stays in the Hallmark lane of family entertainment and viewers will enjoy the scenery of Avon (a real town), Christmas traditions (hot cocoa anyone?), town celebrations (tree lighting ceremony) with the charm of lead actors leading the way.

You, Me & Christmas Trees delivers for Hallmark fans, look for replays of You, Me & The Christmas Trees throughout the Hallmark Christmas movie season.

Danica Leaves Hallmark Channel for GAC

As Hallmark fans are aware, Danica McKellar is one of Hallmark's A team actors especially for the Christmas movie season. She has signed an exclusive four movie deal with GAC with her first movie to premier in January 2022.

Admittedly when I heard the news that Danica was leaving Hallmark for GAC I had to google GAC to find out what exactly GAC is? GAC is a rebranded country channel which is now offering family entertainment. GAC = Great American Channels and GAC Family will be offering holiday movies this year. You will notice a few familiar Hallmark faces in the GAC holiday movies too!

 More Hallmark Christmas Movies

Reviews:

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age


Favorite 2019 Hallmark Christmas Movies

  • Christmas In Rome with Lacey Chabert and Sam Page
  • Christmas At The Plaza with Ryan Paevey
  • Christmas Town with Candace Cameron Bure and Tim Rozon
  • Christmas at Dollywood with Danica McKellar and Niall Matter

How Can I Watch Hallmark Christmas Movies?


If you are fortunate your cable subscription includes Hallmark, Hallmark Channel is available to stream with the Hallmark Everywhere App. Log in with your cable subscription username and password.

A monthly plan is also available with the Hallmark Movies Now service for $4.99 a month. A seven day free trial is offered to enjoy the Hallmark movie catalog on demand.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 5, 2021

Before I Go to Sleep Movie Review

What do you get when you put two terrific actors together?  The easy answer is, one fantastic movie!

I recently watched Before I Go to Sleep starring Nicole Kidman & Colin Firth.  I normally wouldn't choose to watch a R-rated movie, but the combination of those two actors simply would not let me pass it by. I was completely spellbound from the first minute of the show.

The movie contains violence, but I found it easy enough to look away without losing the cohesion of the plot. This is one of the few R rated movies that I can say I would recommend it in spite of the nudity, sexual content, foul language, violence, and uneasy viewing moments.

I am, once again, quite impressed with Colin Firth's ability to play such an emotional part, as well as, Nicole Kidman's excellent acting talent. It is impossible for me to say which one should be given the highest praise.  

 

Before I Go to Sleep Synopsis

Christine, Nicole Kidman, wakes up every morning in bed with a man she doesn't know.  Every morning, Ben has to explain to his wife that she was in an terrible accident that causes her to lose all memory while she sleeps.  

 Before I Go to SleepCheck PriceDuring the day, Christine is completely capable of following everything, reading, remembering whatever she is told, and the actions she takes during the day.  But, the following day, it is all gone again.

As the story unfolds, she understand why she might prefer to stay oblivious to the past. Ben gently walks her through events of the past, and sometimes that proves to be very hard on him.  After all, it means he must relive tragedy repeatedly.

Unbeknownst to her husband, Christine has sought help from a psychiatrist, Dr. Nasch. He calls her every morning after Ben goes to work and gives her instructions on exactly how to find a video diary that she has been keeping for herself.  As she watches herself in the videos, she daily learns from herself what happened on previous days. This allows her to rebuild a short memory so she can hopefully regain all memory.

What she remembers though, is not only life changing, but life threatening.

-----------

If you love a suspense movie that keeps you guessing, hoping, wondering, thinking you have it all figured out until it throws you right back into questioning, then you will love this movie!  

No doubt, you will also have a greater appreciation for excellent actors who can make you believe anything. 

 Before I Go To Sleep - Available on DVD, Blu-ray or Prime VideoCheck Price Before I Go To Sleep by S J Watson -
The BOOK if You Prefer Reading
Check Price



More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Before I Go to Sleep Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 11, 2021

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed

It's time! Hallmark Christmas 2021 Movies are ready to roll out! This unabashed Hallmark Christmas Movie fan is excited to take a break from everything pumpkin and enjoy the new, old, classic and fan favorite Hallmark Christmas movies.

Hallmark Christmas movie season includes the beloved Hallmark favorites from years past and begins October 23, 2021. Movies will air on the Hallmark Channel and Hallmark Movies and Mysteries channel.

The 2021 Hallmark Christmas Movie Schedule has been released and here are a few to look forward to!

Candace Cameron Bure


Two Sisters - Two Hallmark Christmas Movies

Kimberly Williams-Paisley and Ashley Williams, sisters in real life, are pairing up in two Hallmark Christmas Movies for 2021

Sister Swap: A Hometown Holiday

Sister Swap: Christmas in the City




Looking For More Hallmark Christmas Movies?

Reviews:

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age


Favorite Hallmark Christmas Movies 2019

  • Christmas In Rome with Lacey Chabert and Sam Page
  • Christmas At The Plaza with Ryan Paevey
  • Christmas Town with Candace Cameron Bure and Tim Rozon
  • Christmas at Dollywood with Danica McKellar and Niall Matter

Where To Find Hallmark Christmas Movies?


If your cable subscription includes Hallmark, Hallmark Channel is available with the Hallmark Everywhere App by logging in with your cable subscription username and password.

A monthly plan is also available with the Hallmark Movies Now service for $4.99 a month. A seven day free trial is available to give the channel a no obligation spin.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, September 13, 2021

Favorite Fall Hallmark Movies Reviewed

Fall is pumpkin season at the Hallmark channel! As summer wanes and the cooler air is a welcome relief this also brings my favorite Fall Movies at Hallmark.


This year three new Hallmark Harvest movies premier in September. Set your schedules now to enjoy the brilliance of Fall along with pumpkin, spices and Hallmark. No worries if you miss the premiere, the movies will repeat throughout the month.

New Fall Hallmark Movies 2021

Roadhouse Romance - September 11

A fall Rom Com featuring Tyler Hynes and Lauren Alaina. Tyler has become a Hallmark favorite lead and Alaina is a country music veteran. The Hallmark formula of returning home, high school sweetheart and a struggling family business entwine the two leads plus a special treat. Lauren Alaina will perform two songs “Run” and “What Do You Think Of"

Preview of Roadhouse Romance

 Raise A Glass To Love - September 18

It wouldn't be Fall without a trip to the vineyards for Hallmark. This guarantees gorgeous scenery to combine with wine, sommelier, family vineyard and a new handsome 'visitor' to the vineyards. Laura Osnes and Juan Pablo Di Pace star.

Taking The Reins - September 25

I am very much looking forward to Taking The Reins with Hallmark fan favorite Nikki DeLoach. Filmed on location at a horse farm, Scott Porter joins DeLoach as the male lead. Expect fall color and romance as DeLoach plays a writer returning to the family ranch and discovers the relation between marriage, ranching, writing and romance.

Favorite Fall Hallmark Films Returning



Autumn Dreams

Hallmark favorite Jill Wagner and Collin Egglesfield have a fun and flirty chemistry as they reunite 15 years after their ill fated teenage marriage. Enjoy these two in this rom com as they discover they are still married, but one is engaged, but married? The fun begins as they try to unravel this romance and perhaps begin again...

View preview and blooper reel > here 

Country At Heart

A very sweet movie with Jessy Schram and Niall Matter. Nashville, song writing, the hits and struggles of the music business and of course romance star in a movie with real chemistry and real! singing. The stars also sing in this don't miss Hallmark Fall movie.

View the Country At Home Music Special

Sweet Autumn

Two Hallmark Favorites Nikki DeLoach and Andrew Walker star in a fall movie centered around the Sweet Autumn Festival. Two opposites are left a legendary sweet shop as their romance unfolds. These two actors have great chemistry and the plot is classic Hallmark. Enjoy!

More Hallmark Movie Reviews

Hallmark Sweet Carolina by The Savvy Age
Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age
Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia
Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age
Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia
Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age
Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, September 12, 2021

Looking for an Entertaining Comedy-Drama Movie to Watch? - Check This One Out

Are You Looking for a Comedy-Drama Movie to Watch


I've recently become a Netflix junkie. 

In the past thirty days, I've watched more movies than I have in one year.

After scrolling past "Where'd You Go, Bernadette" for several weeks, I decided to give it a try.

I prefer movies with skilled, famous actors or actresses. Where'd You Go, Bernadette stars Cate Blanchett, Billy Crudup, Emma Nelson, and Kristen Wiig, so it passed my initial talent hurdle. There are additional small acting appearances by other well-known artists.

Based on the 2012 Hit Novel, Where'd You Go Bernadette, by Maria Semple

As usual, according to multiple online reviews, the general consensus is that the novel was better, and the movie missed the mark.

However, I haven't read the novel, and I thoroughly enjoyed the movie.

The Movie - Released August 2019 as a Comedy-Drama

Bernadette Fox, played by Cate Blanchett, is a renowned Architect, who after experiencing a professional embarrassment on a very public project, decides to retreat into her family. Leaving her profession 'hanging' is one of the main reasons she begins to lose her grip on life. She settles into a reclusive existence with little to no patience for anyone other than her daughter and husband.

When the movie starts, you don't get the feeling Bernadette isn't "all there." That part of the movie builds in stages through a series of dramatic incidents. At first, you're thinking, "ok, she's normal; she simply lacks tolerance." However, as the movie progresses, you learn, "nope, there's more to this story than meets the eye," 

The Comedic Aspect of the Film

Although the movie highlights the seriousness of mental illness, it manages to do it with some humor. Personally speaking, I appreciated that approach. I wasn't looking for a movie about the absolute seriousness of the human condition. I was able to get more out of this film by the way they approached this topic. After all, the movie is billed as a comedy-drama, so that's what I was expecting, and that's what it delivered.

My Favorite Line - It Essentially Sums Up the Movie

Laurence Fishburne has a small but substantial role in the movie. As soon as he delivered this line to Bernadette, I immediately understood why Bernadette lost herself:

"...People like you must create. That's what you were brought into this world to do, Bernadette. If you don't, you become a menace to society."

That line made me want to go out and fix people! Lol. I know a few people this applies to! I personally understand it as well; when I'm not creating, I'm lost. I hadn't really thought of it that way, but yes, there's some truth to the menace aspect.

There's much more to this story. If you're looking for a fun, where-the-heck-is-this-movie-heading plot, you'll enjoy this one. 

Personally Speaking - Here are the Words I'd Use to Describe this Film

  • Quirky
  • Funny
  • Family
  • Artists
  • Love
  • Neglect
  • Mother Daughter
  • Distance
  • Absurd
  • Hopeful
  • Healing
  • Bizarre
  • Serious but Light
Movie Preview - If you're viewing via mobile, you can see the trailer directly on YouTube here.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 10, 2021

Disney's Cruella Movie Reviewed

Cruella Movie Review
Disney's Cruella is a pretty good movie and surprisingly one I would recommend.  However, if you try to compare the "new" Cruella with the original 101 Dalmatians Cruella De Vil character, it doesn't quite match.  

One could claim that the new Cruella ages to more closely resemble the original Cruella, but it would be hard to believe she could go from caring for the dalmatian dogs to wanting to kill 99 puppies to make a coat for herself.  Granted, this new Cruella doesn't claim to love the 3 dalmatians she has stolen, but she doesn't show any desire to kill them in order to quickly gain what she wants.  

Frankly, she would be more likely to kill 3 dogs in order to reclaim a family heirloom that one of them swallowed than she would be to kill 99 for their valueless fur.

Do I recommend Cruella?  Yes, I do.  It is a good movie for adults.  Just don't expect this Cruella to resemble (apart from looks) the Cruella De Vil of 101 Dalmatians.  After all, the original character was basically named a derivative of Cruel Devil for a reason!

 

Disney's Cruella Movie Synopsis

Baron von Hellman was elated to find out his wife was expecting, but Baroness von Hellman was extremely displeased and flew into a rage.  When Estella was born, the baron was out of town which allowed the baroness the opportunity to hand her child off to her valet, John, to be disposed of immediately.  She did see the baby long enough to know she was born with half black & half white hair.  

John simply could not kill a baby so he gave her to a sweet maid, Catherine Miller, who he knew would care for her.  Catherine left Hellman Hall that very night with Estella and claimed her as her own child.  

After the loss of his child, the baron grieved himself to death.  However, the tyrannical baroness lived on to thrive as a renowned haute couture designer.  

*****

 Disney's Cruella DVD or Blu-ray [2021]Check PriceEstella, nicknamed Cruella, is opinionated, rebellious and strong-willed. Most of the other kids don't like her and she doesn't hesitate to get into physical fights with them, including the boys. When Estella is expelled from school, Catherine needs money to move to a new city, a new school, in order to start over.  She turns to Baroness Von Hellman for aid, but ends up dead instead, leaving Estella orphaned and living on the streets.  

Estella is befriended by Jasper and Horace who teach her how to survive as a pickpocket.  They become the only family each one knows. 

With a keen eye for fashion and the ability to create exceptional designs, Estella desires to work in the fashion industry.  Jasper & Horace help her get her foot in the door of the fashion world.  However, when that desire is overshadowed by a need for revenge, the boys aren't quite sure how far Estella will go or if they should help her get what she wants this time.

*****

The Disney movie, Cruella, is chock full of fabulous actresses and actors.  Emma Stone is exceptional as Cruella, but she is not the only outstanding actor in this movie. 

  • Cruella (adult) - Emma Stone
  • Cruella (child) - Tipper Seifert-Cleveland 
  • Baroness von Hellman - Emma Thompson
  • Jasper - Joel Fry
  • Horace - Paul Walter Hauser
  • John, the valet - Mark Strong
  • Artie - John McCrae
  • Maya - Kirby Howell-Baptiste
  • Catherine Miller - Emily Beecham

By the way, Cruella 2 is already in the works and both Emma Stone and Emma Thompson will be among those cast for that movie.


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Disney's Cruella Movie Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, July 27, 2021

An Officer and a Gentleman - Movie Review

 

An Officer and a Gentlemen Movie Review

An Officer and a Gentleman hit the big screen in July of 1982, a time when some of you weren’t even born. Just to let you know how long ago that was, the price of a gallon of gas was $1.31, and the average cost of a movie ticket was $3.00.

This movie grossed almost $130 million and came in third in the box office. E.T.-The Extra-Terrestrial was number one and Tootsie was number two. If you are too young to remember those 2 movies, go and get them they were both excellent movies. An Officer and a Gentleman is the movie that made me a Richard Gere fan.

An Officer and a Gentlemen Movie Plot:

The movie stars, naturally, Richard Gere as Zack Mayo who joins the Navy’s Aviation Officer Candidate School to turn his life around after a troubled childhood. Zack’s sole purpose is to become a Navy Pilot.

Louis Gossett Jr. plays drill instructor, Emil Foley. As the movie goes on you will see that Foley is your typical tough drill instructor. Foley rides all of the candidates hard, and especially Zack throughout the movie.

Debra Winger, as Paula, a girl who works in a local factory, meets Zack at a Navy dance, where they strike up a relationship. One of my favorite parts of the movie is where Foley tries to break Zack. After he finds out that Zack has a little side business on the base and doesn’t approve, and believes Zack is not worthy of becoming an officer. Zack prevails with his sheer determination not to fail, and will not give up.

Notice that I said one of my favorite parts of the movie. The best part of the movie is the end, this is where the music starts to play, and as you watch your heart starts to pound, your breathing becomes a little heavier as you get all choked up inside.

I’m going to stop here because if you haven’t seen this movie I don’t want to spoil it. If you have seen it then you know what I’m talking about. I call it that Richard Gere Moment. This moment has been repeated in many of his movies after Officer and a Gentlemen.

You buy the DVD or find this entertaining movie streaming here:



Find more movie reviews on Review This Here: ReviewThisMovies.com



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X