Sunday, February 25, 2024

Unlocking the Secrets of 'Hypnotic': A Mind-Bending Movie with Ben Affleck

A Psychological Thriller Movie

In the realm of suspense and psychological thrillers, 'Hypnotic' is a gripping and mind-bending experience that keeps audiences on the edge of their seats. I enjoyed this movie and was quite shocked by the story's twist.

Starring the talented Ben Affleck, this film takes us on a rollercoaster ride through the mysterious world of hypnosis, leaving viewers questioning reality and second-guessing their perceptions.

Plot Overview of "Hypnotic" - A Psychological Thriller:

At first glance, 'Hypnotic' seems like a straightforward narrative following the life of a skilled hypnotist, played by Affleck. 

As the story unfolds, we are introduced to hypnosis's intricate and sometimes eerie practice, where the boundaries between dreams and reality blur. 

Affleck's character, Dr. Michael Welles, becomes entangled in a series of events that challenge his professional expertise and sanity.

Exploring Hypnosis:

The movie delves into the mesmerizing world of hypnosis, showcasing its potential to unlock hidden memories, alleviate pain, and manipulate behavior. As Dr. Welles navigates through his patients' subconscious minds, the audience is drawn into a web of uncertainty where nothing is as it seems.

A Stellar Performance:

Ben Affleck's portrayal of Dr. Michael Welles adds depth and authenticity to the film. His nuanced performance captures the complexity of a character grappling with both personal and professional challenges. Affleck keeps us invested in the story, making 'Hypnotic' compelling.

The Unveiling of a Twist:

One of the most intriguing aspects of 'Hypnotic' is the promise of a twist that adds an extra layer of complexity to the narrative. 

Without giving away any spoilers, it's safe to say that the film takes unexpected turns, leaving audiences questioning their own perceptions and assumptions. 

The twist is so brilliantly woven into the story's fabric that it elevates the viewing experience.

Mind-Bending Exploration:

As the plot unfolds, 'Hypnotic' challenges the audience to question the nature of reality and the power of the mind. The film plays with the boundaries between dreams and waking life, keeping viewers guessing until the final moments.

'Hypnotic' offers a tantalizing blend of suspense, psychological intrigue, and an unforgettable twist. 

Ben Affleck's stellar performance, combined with the exploration of hypnosis, makes this movie a must-watch for fans of mind-bending thrillers. 

Prepare yourself for a journey into the unknown, where reality is slippery, and the mind holds secrets that may reshape the entire narrative. Dive into 'Hypnotic' and experience the magic of a film that keeps you guessing until the very end.

Hypnotic is Available on Prime.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, February 24, 2024

Book Review of 'Nightmare' by Lesley Egan/Anne Blaisdell

 

A spellbinding tale originally published under the name Anne Blaisdell in 1961 and later reprinted under the pen name, Lesley Egan. 


A Welsh countryside

Lesley Egan, Anne Blaisdell, and Dell Shannon are all pseudonyms of the 'Queen of the Police Procedural', Author Elizabeth Linington. She was one of the first women authors to write in this genre; usually a male-dominated area. Prior to the beginning of her many mystery series totally over 77 books, she wrote 'Nightmare', a fascinating thriller. 


Synopsis of Nightmare


Nightmare Book Cover
A young American woman, Pat Carroll, having inherited a small legacy, takes herself on an extended tour of the British Isles. Her interest stems from the fact that she was once engaged to a man from Wales who was killed in an auto accident several years ago. When her tour takes her to Wales, she plans to make a brief duty call on her dead fiance's mother whom she had never met. 


While driving through the Welsh countryside, in a driving rain, she happens upon a stranded young man whose car had broken down. Pat rescues Alan Glentower, a writer, and they take shelter from the storm in an Inn in the next town. After spending dinner, the evening and  breakfast the next morning together, Pat and Alan are quite taken with each other and Pat agrees to let Alan show her Wales after her visit to the bereaved mother in a small Welsh village.  They plan to  meet the following week. 


Arriving at her destination, Pat discovers her hostess, Mrs. Trefoile, to be rather eccentric – Pat's private explanation for the mandatory attendance at Bible readings, the bad food, and the insistence that Pat conduct herself as a proper “widow”, giving up bright clothes, jewelry and makeup. But the truth is that Mrs. Trefoile is quite 'mad' and Pat soon discovers that she is not permitted to leave.


Pat is locked up and brutalized by this madwoman and her servants. Her only salvation appears to be in getting a message out to Alan Glentower so he can search for her and free her. 


Summary


Long out-of-print, Nightmare is still available in used condition on Amazon and Ebay. I acquired my copy many years ago at a used book sale and just recently discovered that I had never read it. Having now just finished it, I found it to be a fascinating read and I highly recommend it. It is every bit as good as all the other books I own by author Elizabeth Linington.


NOTE: The original cover design of my copy of Nightmare has since undergone several different designs. Therefore, if you do a search for it on used book sites, keep in mind that the covers may be different.


One more interesting note: Nightmare, published in 1961, was made into a movie in 1965. I have not seen the movie, but the write-up on Wikipedia shows some of the storyline to be somewhat different than the book. Not an uncommon occurrence.  But for 'movie buffs', you might be interested to know that it is listed as a British horror thriller film called 'Fanatic' in England and 'Die! Die! My Darling! in the U.S. It starred Tallulah Bankhead (in her final feature film role) as Mrs. Trefoile, along with Stefanie Powers, Peter Vaughn and Donald Sutherland. 


Book Review of Nightmare written by Wednesday Elf







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, February 23, 2024

Chicken Broccoli Casserole aka Chicken Divan Recipe Review

My aunt shared her Chicken Divan recipe with our family over 40 years ago and I have been making it ever since. Every member of our family will eat it (except the vegans), which is pretty miraculous. It is very rare to find a recipe that everyone likes. 

The original recipe called for frozen broccoli, however a few years back, I started making it with fresh broccoli, which the members of my household prefer. However, that does take a little more preparation time. Both frozen or fresh broccoli need to be cooked before the casserole is assembled, but fresh broccoli has to be washed and cut up into bite-size pieces. I usually just break the florets off the stems while rinsing the broccoli instead of cutting it up. 

After I wash it and separate the florets from the stems, I pour melted butter on the broccoli, add a little salt and pepper, then steam it for 8 minutes.  If I use less than 4 bunches of broccoli, I would adjust the steam time to 5 or 6 minutes, then taste test the broccoli before adding it to the casserole dish. 

I boil the chicken breasts in a large pot (5qt dutch oven) of water for 1 hr.  After it cools, I remove/discard the bones and skin.  Then I shred the chicken into bite-size pieces. 

*If you use fresh broccoli, you need 1 stick of butter to melt & pour over the broccoli before steaming

 

Broccoli
I used 4 bunches of Broccoli Crowns in the casserole shown

Chicken Broccoli Casserole Recipe
aka Chicken Divan Recipe 


Prep Time Cook Time Ready In Yields
1 hr 30 min. 35 min. 2 hrs 6 - 8 servings

Ingredients

    chicken divan ingredients
  • 3 – 4 Chicken Breasts  (cooked – deboned -- shredded)
  • 3 or 4 Bunches of Fresh Broccoli OR 20 oz. Frozen Chopped Broccoli (2 Boxes)
  • 2 Cans Cream of Chicken Soup
  • 2 Cups Shredded Cheddar Cheese (we prefer the Sargento brand)
  • 1 teaspoon Lemon Juice
  • ½ cup Mayonnaise

  • Directions 

    • Cook Chicken Breasts  (see boiling chicken directions above)
    • Steam Broccoli  (see steaming directions and time above)
    • Line the bottom of the casserole dish with steamed broccoli 
    • Cover the broccoli with cooked & shredded chicken 
    • In a separate bowl, Mix chicken soup, mayonnaise, lemon juice & 1 ½ cups shredded cheddar cheese together 
    • Spread the soup/mayonnaise/cheese mixture over the chicken 
    • Cover with remaining ½ cup of shredded cheddar cheese 

     

    chicken divan in layers
    You won't be able to see the chicken and broccoli once the soup mixture is spread across the entire top of casserole,
    but I wanted you to see how densely packed each layer should be.

    Chicken Divan Ready to Bake
    Ready to Bake


    Bake on 350° (325 convection oven) for 35 minutes

     

    Chicken Divan Baked & Ready to Serve
    Baked and Ready to Serve

     

     

    Check Out More Recipe Reviews at
    ReviewThisRecipes.com






    Chicken Broccoli Casserole aka Chicken Divan Recipe Review Written by:
    House of Sylvestermouse





    © 2024 Cynthia Sylvestermouse
     



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, February 22, 2024

Book Review of The Dry

AI rendering of Truck

 I love a good crime novel with a mystery that is just waiting to be solved.  I find it particularly interesting when the author keeps you guessing till near the end of the book on who the guilty party is. Jane Harper accomplishes this in her book The Dry. In The Dry there is not just the current crime (a possible murder/suicide) but also a death from twenty years ago that is still unexplained.

Setting

The story takes place in a small fictional Australian town called Kiewarra.  It is located about five hours north of Melbourne and the story takes place when the town and the area is suffering from a drought that is the worst in recent history.  The drought is so severe that it is placing a real burden on the farmers and the livelihood of the locals.  It has become so bad that suicide is on the minds of many of the residents.

The Book on Amazon

The book can be purchased on Amazon as an ebook, paperback, hardcover or audio book.  Here is a link The Dry

Summary

The book begins when Aaron Falk, a law enforcement officer in the big city of Melbourne, receives a letter from the father of his best friend from childhood.  In this letter the father requests /demands that Aaron attend his son's funeral.  The son (Luke Hadler), son's wife and young son were all found shot to death and the town consensus is that the son shot his family and then turned the gun on himself.  

Aaron Falk had left the town 20 years ago when another close friend, Ellie Deacon, drowned and again the town jumped to the conclusion that either Aaron or his Dad had something to do with Ellie's death.  They left town, never to return again, until Aaron returns for Luke's funeral.

This is a small town where everyone knows or at least thinks they know everyone else's business. It is full of secrets, gossip and people jumping to the wrong conclusions. 

Aaron Falk teams up with the local law enforcement official, Raco, and unofficial investigate the Hadler murders/suicide.  There are many unanswered questions and as they look into the current murders they find the sins of the past coming in to play.  

My Thoughts

This was one of those books where I guessed at the outcome throughout and yet was completely surprised at the ending.  I don't want to give anything away but want you to know you won't be disappointed in the endings.  The sins of the past are brought to task in the heroism of the present.  I found this to be an excellent book.  In fact, after reading it, I immediately downloaded the second book in the Aaron Falk series.  It is called Force of Nature and can be found on Amazon at this link Force of Nature



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Caring For Elders Requires Attention and Willingness ~ A Product Review

Life brings us all opportunities to learn something new everyday!  I'm learning about caring for a Senior that I happen to love dearly, but, is having difficulty with day to day activities.

Caring for Elders requires that you be willing to do things that you thought were impossible and yet you know you have to do those things anyways.  There is a willingness to go beyond what we thought we would be doing and learning to do those things that might be distasteful and generally keep us moving away from the responsibility.  

https://amzn.to/3T5F4JP


But there are things that make all the distasteful things a little easier to complete and one of these are pre-moistened and good sized  Adult Wipes.  We happen to have found the one we like called Inspire Premium Washcloths!

Back in late January, my elderly mother had taken ill.  She was in hospital for almost a whole month recuperating from pneumonia and the flu.  These illnesses can be quite debilitating for the elderly.  While in hospital, the signs of early dementia, turned into true brain fog, with doctors hoping that once she was home, that fog would clear up.

Such has not been the case.  She is now bed-ridden and the leg muscles so weak that she can no longer hold herself up.  So, we are learning to cope with our new reality.

Incontinence has become the major "problem".  While we have all had our share of diapering babies, we never think of the possibility that we will be diapering our parents.  With a little humour we can get through this stage of our lives.  

What's that old joke about diapers and the elderly?  Why don't they call diapers for adults Huggies and Pampers?  Because it Depends on who is in the will!  Just kidding of course.

Caring for adult skin in the nether regions is important especially when they are elderly, bed-ridden and have other health complications.  Bed sores are nothing to be scoffed at and can become infected causing even more problems.

With caring for the skin in those intimate areas, dependable quality wipes are a must.  Tiny wipes used for babies just don't quite cut it when it comes to adults.  You need something that will hold up and yet be soft, strong, gentle and do the job!  

We found that the Inspire brand Wet Wipes for Adults, was just what we needed.  They are large enough (8 inches x 12 inches).  they are moist without dripping all over the place. Latex and alcohol free,  they are Ph balanced and have Aloe Vera and Vitamin E for skin health included in each sheet.  The only down side is that they are NOT Flushable!  But when you are dealing with disposable diapers, that is not a game changer at all, they just go into the garbage with the diapers.  Quick and easy, clean and neat all in one package.


https://amzn.to/3UMSmMD

https://amzn.to/3UMSmMD

For anyone who has a need for a quick, easy and strong washcloth, these disposable ones are the greatest.  I love that they are not overly scented, yet they have a nice soft feel to them and one or two do the work and hold up through whatever mess you are facing.  These can be used to clean a face, hands or a butt......so many different places that you will find them useful. 

I'm signing off for now, but I'm sure I'll have more to share with caring for the Elderly in another Product Review right here on Reviewthisreviews.com.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, February 20, 2024

Reviewing How To Store Wedding Dresses And Special Clothes


 Two Wedding Dress Storage boxes

We were married many years ago and I had a truly beautiful handmade silk and lace wedding dress which I always wanted to keep.

While we were decluttering and cleaning I noticed how the box it was in was showing its age and was concerned the dress may suffer. 

For me and for many other people your wedding dress is one of the most precious and sentimental items in your wardrobe. Some people may not want to keep it and make it into something else or give it away, but for those of us who want to keep it a safe place is important. You want to preserve it for years to come, maybe even pass it on to your daughter, niece or granddaughter if you have them. So if you decide to keep it we have to store properly to prevent damage and fading.

Other special clothing items, such as christening gowns, communion dresses, graduation robes and precious baby clothes also require special consideration if we decide to keep them.

These type of clothes may hold very special, precious memories, so if we decide to keep them they need special care. They may not fare very well if we just keep them in a drawer or wardrobe. 

It is important to clean these clothes before storing them to prevent any stains from setting into the cloth or odours and mould from ruining your special clothes.

In order to preserve your wedding dress , christening gown, baby clothes or other special clothes at their best for longer it is important to choose the right storage box.

  Ideally we should not use cardboard boxes, plastic bags, or vacuum-sealed bags or even just hang up in a wardrobe. These can cause the fabric to discolour or even damage the clothes and certain containers may trap moisture and create mould. 

Wedding Dress Storage box showing place to identify contents
Wedding Dress Storage box showing place to identify contents


The best option for storing your wedding dress or other special item is one that is large enough to store your garment with minimal folding and which has acid free paper to use to protect it and to use in between any folds necessary to prevent creasing.   

So after cleaning and drying it is important to fold and wrap the item of clothing carefully. Before placing your wedding dress or other special item in the storage box, wrap it in acid-free tissue paper or unbleached muslin. This is in order to protect it from dust, light, and insects. 

It is not a great idea to use mothballs, as they may have chemicals that can harm your clothes. If we wish we can add some lavender sachets or cedar balls to repel moths and add a pleasant scent.

Once you have your storage box and have folded your special garment carefully with acid  free tissue paper, it is a good idea to label what is inside and ideal to store it in a cool, dry, and dark place. This would ideally be in a wardrobe, or an under-bed storage container that is away from direct sunlight, heat, or humidity. We do currently have ours on top of a wardrobe, but it is out of direct sunlight. 

It is vital to avoid storing your precious garment in a garage, attic loft area or basement because those places can expose your clothes to extreme temperatures, moisture which may create mould and damage, or even mice which may chew and damage your clothes.

 Once your beautiful clothes are safely stored it is important to check perhaps annually, to make sure they are still in good condition. 

Every two the three years it is a good practice to get them out and air them out for a few days and then refold to prevent any permanent creases. It is good practice to air them out once every so often to prevent musty smells.


Wedding storage box showing handle
Wedding storage box showing handle

The storage box we bought came flat packed and well protected. It was very easy to put together and appears pretty sturdy. It was really just a matter of getting it out the packaging, opening up and laying in the base insert and it was done in a couple of minutes. It is available in small, medium and large sizes and has a hinged lid. 

We bought two in the large size, one for my wedding dress, shoes and veil and one to store my bridesmaid dress I wore for my sisters wedding and some baby clothes my Mum had made and kept along with some lace we had inherited. 

There was plenty of room for all these clothes. They are quite large boxes so could easily fit all these items. I would imagine for most wedding dresses the large size would be the most practical. We stacked them on top of each other on our wardrobe and we think they look lovely.

I like that the storage box had ten acid free sheets already for me to use. This was enough for me, but if you need to you can always buy more acid free sheets.

I like that it has a handle for ease of moving around and this handle feels fairly secure for its purpose. As I have not travelled with it I cannot say how it would stand up to the rigors of travel. As it is intended just for storage in my case, I feel it meets my needs. 

It has straps as well which are fine for the purpose of securing the box. These are fitted with plastic clips which work, but time will tell if they are as strong as I would like them to be. If moving it around a lot I would handle it carefully.  

The box is study enough for most wedding dresses and light enough so that it can be carried around if need be. I also appreciate that it has a space to place a reminder of the contents of the box. 

I like the pattern which also distinguishes it from our other storage boxes, but it also comes in plain ivory and plain white. You can also find plain boxes or those with other patterns in different styles. Really you can pay any price for a storage box for your wedding dress and some are very expensive indeed. For the price I paid I am very happy with my storage boxes to keep my special clothes clean and safe. There are also many more to choose from for your precious clothing items


 

Read More Product Reviews


Read More Reviews By Raintree Annie 


Read More Wedding Reviews 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, February 19, 2024

Reviewing Burt's Bees Hand and Body Butter - Great Gift Idea

Burt's Bees makes a lip balm that is familiar and the first choice of many.  I realized they had a product line of lotions but I did not realize that they also offer a hand and body butter. Burt's Bees Shea and Mango Luxurious Hand & Body Butter is a wonderful way to care for your skin and a great gift to pamper someone you love.

photo of a jar of body butter cream
Burt's Bees Body Butter


The store I used to frequent for lotions, creams, and body butters is a long distance from here. But I had considered making the drive as I have been feeling so dry and in need of a moisturizer that is stronger than lotion. The trouble is, over the year I have become increasingly more sensitive to chemicals and strong scents. And I assumed that being inside the store would be over-powering.  But ordering an unfamiliar body butter scent by mail seemed risky.  So I delayed that drive and shopping trip.

In my local pharmacy, there is a Burt's Bees display and I stopped to browse one day. I was so excited when I realized they body butter!

As I write, I am realizing that perhaps not everyone is familiar with body butter. I generally think of body butter as a very thick and condensed lotion. It is sold in squat jars with a screw-on lid because it is far to thick to pump out of a bottle. 

In looking for a definition, I am finding that body butter is not only more concentrated but is often made of a "blend of natural butters and oils, such as cocoa butter or shea butter". And because of these factors, it is often much better for very cracked, dry, or sensitive skin. I am finding that because lotion is thinner it likely absorbs into the skin faster. And body butter is especially good to use following a bath or shower as it helps to retain that moisture.

I encourage you to do your own research as I do not know all of the technical aspects of lotions and butters. What I do know is that I love how body butter makes me feel. I feel as though I am being pampered when I use body butter.

Burt's Bees Shea & Mango Hand & Body Butter

This body butter is advertised as "luxurious" on the label. I whole-heartedly agree with that. Also on the label are statements such as:

"with responsibly sourced shea"

"supporting women-led communities for over 10 years"

This body butter does not leave a wet or greasy feeling. It immediately feels smooth and silky. I apply it before bed and wake in the morning still feeling smooth.

The scent is a soft fruity smell. I saw a review online where the person wrote that it smelled like a fresh, marshmallow fruit salad. I can't say that I disagree with that. I am sensitive to chemical smells and I can say that this scent does not bother me as so many lotion scents do. In fact, I enjoy this scent very much.

Burt's Bees is a company with a large fan base so I may be the last to know about their body butter. But I still wanted to spread the word.

I think this would make an excellent gift! I do not regularly buy body butter because I typically have thought of it as a splurge item. It is likely that others have the same thought. What a wonderful way to pamper someone who might not pamper themselves. 

Related Links:

Burt's Bees Shea & Tropical Fruit Body Butter on Amazon

Burt's Bees official website





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, February 18, 2024

The Inspiring Journey of Jose Hernandez in 'A Million Miles Away' - Five Star Movie Review

The Inspiring Journey of Jose Hernandez in 'A Million Miles Away - Five Star Movie Review

Prepare to be inspired as we delve into the extraordinary true story of NASA flight engineer Jose Hernandez, vividly portrayed in the movie "A Million Miles Away.

If you're looking for a good movie, you'll want to relax and enjoy this one. This movie has earned a five-star review from me.

This cinematic journey takes us from the fields of California to the stars above, showcasing the resilience, determination, and dreams of an individual who defied the odds to reach new heights.

Jose Hernandez's Journey Depicted In A Million Miles Away: 

The movie chronicles the life of Jose Hernandez, a determined young man with a dream of reaching the stars. Born to migrant farmworker parents, Jose faced numerous challenges in pursuing his goal. The film navigates through his childhood, education, and the pivotal moments that ultimately led him to become a NASA flight engineer.

The Cast and Characters: 

The film features a stellar cast, delivering a compelling performance as Jose Hernandez. The ensemble cast brings to life the people who played significant roles in Jose's journey, providing a rich and immersive viewing experience.

NASA's Challenges and Triumphs: 

"A Million Miles Away" doesn't just focus on Jose's personal journey but also sheds light on the challenges faced by individuals pursuing careers in the aerospace industry. From educational barriers to cultural diversity, the film tackles important issues while celebrating the triumphs of those who dared to dream big.

Educational and Inspirational Themes: 

This biographical drama isn't just a tale of one man's achievements but serves as an educational tool, inspiring audiences to overcome obstacles and pursue their passions. 

The movie encourages viewers to reach for the stars, reminding us that seemingly impossible dreams can become a reality with determination and hard work. I was completely inspired after viewing this movie.

As you immerse yourself in this cinematic portrayal of real-life triumphs, be prepared to be moved, motivated, and reminded that sometimes the most extraordinary journeys begin with a dream.

★★★★★ Five Stars!

You can find this movie here on Amazon Prime.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, February 17, 2024

Reviewing National Drink Wine Day

 National Drink Wine Day is held on February 18 each year. No one knows who chose this day to specifically drink wine, but it is nice to know that there is a special day of the year set aside to enjoy it (assuming you are over 21, of course). 


A bottle and a glass of wine


The origin of Drink Wine Day is unknown, but  it was probably created by either a winemaker or a wine connoisseur.


Benefits of Drinking Wine


A selection of wines
Photo Credit: Pixabay

Drinking wine has benefits beyond the fact that it tastes good.


Wine in moderation has health benefits for your heart and in lowering the risk of certain kinds of cancers, diabetes and liver disease. 


Other benefits include enhancing the flavors of spices, fruits and sauces when paired with the right meal. 


A glass of wine helps us relax and learning about wines keeps our minds sharp.


How to Celebrate National Drink Wine Day


  • Have a memorable evening by sharing wine with friends or that someone special.


  • Attend a wine-tasting event and try out different kinds of wine.


Grapes in a vineyard at a winery
Photo Credit: Pixabay

Go on a winery tour. Two wineries reviewed here on this Review This Reviews! site include:


Related Holidays


A wine bottle and a glass of wine

Photo Credit: Pixabay

Happily, there is more than one day of the year set aside to enjoy wine. They include:


Open That Bottle Night –  Dorothy Gaither and John Becher created this day to encourage people to reconnect with each other over a good bottle of wine or champagne. It is held on the last Saturday in February each year. 


National Wine and Cheese Day -  A day to celebrate pairing wine and cheese, providing an opportunity to sample some of our favorites. This holiday is held on July 25th. 


Drink Local Wine Week - The second full week in October brings us this annual event that hopefully encourages bloggers and wine columnists to write about their local wines. 


International Merlot Day – On November 7th we can celebrate one of the world's most popular red wines. It is also a day to encourage those who have never tried Merlot to give it a try. 


Wine Tourism Day – This day, held on the second Saturday in November, features wineries and wine-related events all over the world. 


Summery


If you enjoy drinking wine, pop the cork on your favorite bottle of wine and celebrate National Drink Wine Day this February 18th.


A Wine Chuckle


“I cook with wine. Sometimes I even add it to the food" :)

~ W.C. Fields


For More Wine-Related Reviews

Check out Review This Reviews: Wine 


For More Holiday Reviews

Check out Review This Reviews: Holidays



*Holiday Review of National Drink Wine Day written by Wednesday Elf







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X