Showing posts with label Parties. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Parties. Show all posts

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

The Best Way to Get Ready, Party Time is Here

In a couple of days Summertime will Officially be here! 

Along with Summertime comes Party Time! It's high season for Graduations, End of School Years, and let's not forget about the Fourth of July!  For Canadians that would be the First of July!

party time, dollar tree, review this, setting a beautiful table



Everyone is looking forward to being with friends and family especially when the weather is warm and sunny!  Let's Review some of the best ways to get ready for all of those wonderful outdoor BBQ's and Holiday celebrations. Summertime is a wonderful time for us to enjoy our company, friends and the great outdoors at the same time.

Party planning can be fun, but it can also be costly.  Dollar Tree is a great place to get all those party needs at a reasonable cost. Red, White and Blue party supplies can be had for the best 4th of July party ever!  Canadians can skip the blue and stick with red and white!  Everything from glasses, plates and cutlery for your table and all of it color coordinated, can be had right here!


Setting a table for an outdoor party is easy when you can get everything you need in one place.  From the decorations to balloons, napkins and snacks.  You can even get mixes and drinks for the kids without any problem at all.  Dollar Tree is a one stop shop for all things party related.


When I have been invited to a backyard party, I like to come with something in hand to add to the table.  I will buy a nice bowl or two and then fill one of  them with my special salad and another with a dessert!  The host and hostess are always happy to see my contribution to the party and they always go over really well.

My favorite salad is easy to make, looks really good and is a healthy alternative!  This comes from a friend of mine who is a Naturopathic Doctor! Take a look and see if you don't agree that it looks delicious.
dollar tree, backyard party time, summer festivities, BBQ's, Review This


Dr. Amy Tung's Baby Arugula, Seaweed & Kale Salad with Roasted Almonds and Fresh Herbs 🌿 .

1 cup unsalted almonds
1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp kosher salt
4 cups kale
3 cups baby arugula
1/2 cup soaked and drained dried kelp
2 Tbsp each chopped fresh dill, parsley and cilantro 
1 Tbsp chopped fresh oregano
.
Dressing: 
1 Tbsp lemon juice
1 Tbsp good quality balsamic vinegar 1 clove garlic, grated or pressed
1 tsp kosher salt
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
.
Toss almonds with extra-virgin olive oil and salt. Spread on a baking sheet and bake in a preheated 350F oven for 15 minutes, turn every 5 minutes or until nicely browned. Cool.
.
In large bowl combine kale, baby arugula and herbs. Cover with damp paper towels and reserve.
.
For dressing, combine lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, garlic and salt. Whisk in olive oil.
.
Just before serving toss greens with dressing. Serves 6 - 8 people

decorations, party time, dollar tree, setting a beautiful party

The other bowl is for fruits that I love to bring along to a backyard get together.  Summer is the season to enjoy all of the abundance around us! There is no better way to enjoy fresh and good for you food than to prepare a large bowl of summer ripe and summer sweet fruits.

My favorites are strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, watermelon cubed or balled, melons (honeydew and cantaloupes) cut into strips or cubed, apples and cherries.  Add a special Citrus Honey dressing (by that is just superb!  Just one warning,  do not place this dressing on the fruits until you are ready to serve.  Some of the fruits may become soggy if mixed too early.

Citrus-Honey Dressing Ingredients:
• 2 tablespoons honey
• 1 teaspoon orange zest
• 1 teaspoon lime zest
• 2 tablespoons fresh-squeezed orange juice
• ½ tablespoon fresh lime juice


May your summer be wonderful, may you have many friends and family to share it with you and may you make memories that will keep you smiling for many years to come!  



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Wild and Funky 3D Tablecloths for Special Occasions

Lively Red Roses 3D Tablecloth Found Here
Believe it or not, tablecloths are not only practical, they can also add art to a themed party or gathering.

It's the 3D design on these tablecloths that make them outstanding ... literally, outstanding.

Although only three are featured, you can check out a wide selection of them here.

You'll find one for just about any party or occasion. Better yet, feature them all year round to add an element of funk to your space.

They're made of a high quality polyester and are water resistant. Their durability prevents pilling and fading.

Big 3D Roses Tablecloth for Valentines Day

If you're planning a special dinner for Valentines Day, decorate the table with this spectacular 3D roses tablecloth.

The visual impact is powerful and is sure to provide a little shock and awe for your guest. There are eight size options as well, so you're sure to find the right one for your table set.
Awesome 3D Soccer Tablecloth - Found here

Impressive 3D Soccer Tablecloth for Themed Parties

If you're hosting a Soccer themed party include one or more of these tablecloths to punch up the space. Use them inside or outside or hang them on the wall as art if needed.

They also make an original hostess gift. Bring one to the party and it'll surely be a hit with the guests. The unique 3D artistic design will probably become the conversation piece of the party.

Sports team organizers could also include these tablecloths for special team events.

They also make an excellent gift idea for the coach. If you need a special gift for that dedicate teacher in your life, these tablecloths quality.
Purple Blossoms 3D Tablecloth Here

Cheerful Spring Time Garden Flowers for Garden Parties

Whether you simply want to brighten up a sunroom or plan to decorate multiple tables for your garden party, this tablecloth does both.

It's uniqueness makes it perfect for bridal showers as well. Whether your party is indoors or outdoors, this tablecloth can be included. You're in luck if the bride's colors happen to be pink or purple!

Again, put it up on the wall as art, give them as gifts or just use them for their intended purpose.

Once you visit the links under the photos it will take you to the product page and you'll be given the pricing, sizing and other details. Be sure to inspect the related products at the bottom of the product page in case you're needing an alternate design for your tablecloth. There are many to choose from ... other than these three. Look for the holiday season tablecloths, they're pretty cool as well.

Happy decorating!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Get Ready for Canada 150 Celebrations with these Fun Party Suggestions

Canada Day Party Ideas
Do You Have Your Canada 150 Flag, Decorations, T-Shirts or a even a Canada 150 Dress?

The fireworks, the food, the flags, the t-shirts, the smiles, family and Canadian pride and you're all set for the big day.

Did You Know there's an Official Flag for Canada Day?

Nineteen year old Ariana Cuvin, a student in the University of Waterloo's global business and digital arts program designed the sesquicentennial official emblem.

Cuvin's design was chosen as Canada's emblem because of it's simple reflection of the country's diversity and unity.

The emblem consists of 13 multiple colored diamonds that form a Maple Leaf. The four original provinces of Canada (Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia) are represented at the diamond's base, while the additional diamonds represent the rest of Canada's provinces and territories.

Did You Know that each Canadian Province Joined Confederation at Various Different Dates?

1867 Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia
1870 Manitoba, Northwest Territories
1871 British Columbia
1873 Prince Edward Island
1898 Yukon Territory
1905 Alberta, Saskatchewan
1949 Newfoundland and Labrador
1999 Nunavut
"Take a Peek at the Canada 150 Flag Emblem" 
If you're hosting a party, you'll want to see the T-Shirt choices along with this very creative Canada 150 Bodycon dress featured here! It doesn't end there .... check out some of the original Canada Day party suggestions - Party Ideas for the guests and decor:

1) Give your guests traditional Canadian maple syrup from Quebec, or use them as prizes for those wacky party games.

2) Feature Canada 150 Soy Candles around the Yard

3) What's a party without Canada 150 balloons

4) Put up Canada 150 Garland around the room or yard

5) Feature a handcrafted Canada 'Home' Sign

6) Greet guests with a Canada 150 Wreath on the front door

7) Have a Unique Canada 150 Felt Banner made to give out as a grand party game prize
"View the above Canada 150 Party Suggestions"
Canada, have a party, and celebrate 150 years of this great land we love and call home.

But First....

Watch 65 Hours of Footage submitted by Canadians on Why they Love Canada in a Creative 2 Minute Video:


"Happy Birthday Canada"


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, May 22, 2017

Reviewing Gift Tags by Nature Cuts


Recently, I have attended a few special occasions and have been invited to others. I am always amazed at how some people can throw a themed party with all of the trimmings. I am especially delighted with the thought that goes into those party favors and gift bags that follow the theme. Then I ran across these awesome gifts tags by Nature Cuts. Although I have not recently thrown a party or hosted any type of gathering, I had to review these themed gift cards.  


Gift Tags and Confetti by Nature Cuts


Nature Cuts offers handmade confetti and gift tags. While I've seen confetti used in very creative and beautiful ways recently, I am focused on the gift tags. 

Nature Cuts tags are handmade in Wisconsin, USA. Nearly all of the hundreds of gift tags offered have a nature theme; animals, trees, birds, fish, flowers, and more. 

They are made from 65lb cardstock. These gift tags come in two size/amount options:



25 tags (2.5" x 1.5")
12 tags (4" x 2.3")


Having lived in Maryland for the past decade, I am especially drawn to the crab design.  Gathering around a crab feast, with beer and friends is a way of life here. Special occasions here, such as graduations and goodbye parties, include crabs by default. I can imagine these crab gift tags put to good use at a good number of special occasions in this area.

I am sure that people who regularly host events can think of many ways in which these tags could be used. But these are the occasions I can think of:

showers
  • crab feasts
  • beach parties
  • destination weddings in rustic settings
  • beach weddings
  • bridal showers
  • baby showers
  • birthdays
  • graduation parties
  • camping family reunions
  • retirement parties
  • Halloween
  • and so many more holidays and special gatherings
spider/Halloween gift tags

Nature Cuts tags can be found in their Etsy store as well as on Amazon. The Etsy shop has been open since 2014 and there are hundreds of good reviews.  Or maybe Amazon is your favorite convenient mode of buying party supplies. Either way, there are many, many interesting and unique tags to choose from.

Woodland or Christmas Tree gift tags

Related Link:


Several of our Review This! contributors host parties, plan gatherings, and host for the holidays on a regular basis. They share their expertise with party tips, decorating, and recipes here (click link then scroll down). If you enjoy hosting events and parties, I am sure you will find something interesting and helpful there.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, December 30, 2016

Appetizers on Ice Buffet Serving Trays Review

For many years, I have made appetizer and fruit trays for our guests during the holidays.  The smell of food cooking always makes everyone hungry long before the dinner is ready.  Fruit and vegetable appetizers are the perfect way to take the edge off hunger without completely ruining the meal.

Appetizers on Ice Buffet Serving Trays Review

The only problem with cut fruit and vegetables is the short counter life.  Both fruit and vegetables start to "age" as soon as they are removed from the refrigerator.  Once they have set out for a short while, there is absolutely nothing appetizing about looking at them, much less eating them.   This year I tried something new.  I purchased several iced buffet serving trays and they were fabulous!

I actually left the cut fruits and vegetables out for hours.  At the end of the day, they were just as ripe and delicious 10 hours after I first set them out.  I did have to change the ice several times during the day, but that was easy.  I was also able to save the leftovers to eat later.


Buffet on Ice Serving Trays with Lids


Because I wasn't sure whether I wanted the iced trays with or without lids, I purchased one of each.  After using them both, I now have a clear preference for which one works best for our family.  I actually liked the lidded appetizer on ice tray the best.  Since the appetizers were set out for all day "grazing" instead of a short duration luncheon style buffet, it was wonderful to have the food covered.  

 Prodyne AB-5-L Appetizers-On-Ice with Lids
  • Revolving Tray - Lazy Susan Style
  • Pretty Scalloped Edge
  • 3 Lidded Sections
  • Lids have Handles 
  • Removable lidded Dip Dish included
  • Clear
  • Lightweight 
  • 16 3/6" wide
  • 5" deep
Note:  Before I purchased this tray, I read the reviews.  Several people complained about the vent holes.  They were not a problem at all for the fruit, vegetables or cheese that I served.  However, if you are serving an appetizer that has sauce, then I would recommend the tray below.

As you can see in the photo, you fill the bottom tray with a layer of ice, set the tray section over the ice, then cover with the lids.  When the ice melts, you remove the lidded sections, pour off the water and add a new layer of ice.


Buffet on Ice Serving Trays without Lids


 Clear 2pc Appetizer Server with Ice TrayThis is the second iced buffet serving tray I purchased and used.  It does not have lids, it does not turn, and it does not have the vent holes like the tray above.  The sections have solid bottoms.  This is a two piece design where the entire top tray lifts away from the lower tray of ice.

However, there are no lids and no removable dip dish.  This style would be an excellent choice for a luncheon or buffet dinner where an open server would be preferred. 

This is a perfectly acceptable appetizers on ice buffet serving tray and I will certainly use it again.  But, my first choice would be the pretty scalloped tray with the lids and separate dip dish above. 

Both serving trays would need to be hand-washed.  


For More Great Product Reviews,
Visit ReviewThisProductReviews.com 


Appetizers on Ice Buffet Serving Trays  Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, December 26, 2016

Reviewing Wrapping Paper Storage Solutions

Every single year, as Christmas approaches, I pull out my random rolls of unused Christmas wrapping paper. Every year I find that it is wrinkled, ripped, and not suitable for wrapping gifts. Year after year I throw out wasted paper that could have been saved - if only I had known how. It is wasteful, expensive, and frustrating. Today, I have researched and found the perfect solution for storing my unused wrapping paper. I am implementing an easy and inexpensive solution for saving my rolls of wrapping paper for next year.


Wrapping Paper Storage Woes


Last year, I thought I was slick.  I had a box that was nearly as tall as the rolls of paper.  I stood the wrapping paper on their ends in that box and thought they were stored safely until this year.

Lo and behold, I pulled them out of the edge of the closet and discovered that I still needed to go buy new rolls of wrapping paper.  Ugh! Even in this box, that had seemed perfect a year ago, the rolls had loosened and the ends had crinkled and wrinkled.

In prior years, I had tried to re-wrap the rolls in their cellophane as well as I could and stand them up in a closet corner. That didn't work. I have just laid all of the rolls on a pile on the closet shelf.  That didn't work either. In all of those prior years the paper becomes dusty or wrinkled.


Wrapping Paper Storage Solutions 


Pinterest is a great resource. You can find photograph images of almost anything you could think of. This includes storage solutions for rolls of wrapping paper. You can choose from dowel rod racks, a large variety of re-purposed baskets, modified shoe storage bags, and so many more storage ideas. I love the dowel rod racks - what a great idea. But in my small living space, I need a storage solution that is more compact.

I've chosen my solution.  And I think it'll be perfect.  It will keep the rolls from loosening.  They will be protected from dust and wrinkling. The entire thing will be kept in an out-of-the-way place in my closet.  I  think it is a perfect solution.

I will be using a combination of toilet paper rolls and a clear garment bag for wrapping paper storage this year. The process is as easy as:

1. Save empty toilet paper (or paper towel) rolls
2. Cut the toilet paper roll cardboard from end to end
3. Slip one of these cardboard rolls over each end of the gift wrap  (The gift wrap roll is then held snug enough to prevent loosening)
4. Place the secured gift wrap rolls into a garment bag
5. Close bag and hang in the closet

Easy.  And the end result will be less expensive than replacing rolls of gift wrap each year.



I've chosen a clear garment bag because I am forgetful. If I can't see the wrap through the bag, I'm likely to forget where I've safely stored my gift wrap rolls.  I'd imagine that a darker bag would also provide the added benefit of protecting the wrapping paper from light and possible fading.


40" long, clear hanging garment bag


Hopefully, you have already found a storage solution that works for you and have eliminated the waste of ruined paper. If you haven't already, you might want to give this a try.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, September 24, 2016

Planning a Halloween Party


Halloween Witch, GraphicStock.com

Halloween Party Planning Reviewed


Any good party requires some planning and a Halloween party is no different. So it's time to review getting your plans together for a good Halloween party. There are basics that we all need to think about. When is the party? Who are we inviting? What will they eat and drink? Along with other things. That's what we'll go through here. The things to consider for Halloween party planning.

Halloween Party Preparation


As with any party, preparation is key to helping you have a great celebration and getting to enjoy it yourself. And the preparation needs some planning. Get started early so that you have plenty of time to order the fun home decorating items, buffet decor and specialty goodies.

Look at your planning list and make sure you're timing gives you enough time to get everything done.
  • Plan the date, time, location and theme if you want one, like All Spiders or Zombie Invasion..
  • Decide on the guest list.
  • Order the Halloween party invitations - remember to include special notes about theme, costumes and food where needed to prepare your guests.
  • Plan the menu, buffet or table decorations and what extras you need to make creepy or ghoulish treats (like dry ice for a punch or brain molds for food fun.).
  • Determine what home decorations you want. This may include your front porch or yard for welcoming your Halloween party guests. 
  • Make absolutely sure you plan in time for you to enjoy the party. You don't want to be cooking while everyone else is having fun. 
  • If you have kids included in your party, remember to plan Halloween games and activities for them.

Halloween Bathroom Decor for the Party


Decorating the bathroom your guests will use is a big part of the fun. It sure is for me and I've got some great ideas for you.
  • Start with a funny skeleton door cover. Let your guests know immediately where the bathroom is located with the perfect addition.
  • Add a ghoulish toilet topper. These are clings that can complement your theme, or just be another way to decorate for your Halloween party. 
  • Then finish off with a set of Halloween hand towels. Make sure your guests are fully immersed in the fun of your party. 

Halloween Party Planning Review


Get your Halloween party planning ready. This way you won't find yourself scrambling for what you need or settling for something not nearly as good. Party planning is the key to a great and fun Halloween celebration.  And be sure to check out my Halloween Haven - Website Review for more tips and suggestions for your own Halloween party.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, July 3, 2016

Celebrate July 4th with Lighted USA Wall or Window Signs

Lighted USA Sign Via Amazon
More Letters & Sign Choices Here
Whether you're Decorating for a Patriotic Party or Choose to Feature Your Pride of Country all Year Round, a Lighted USA Sign Works Perfectly

When we celebrate special occasions, we tend to think of lighting in terms of decorative strings, however there's a way to incorporate art, decor and lighting when you use marquee signs or lighted letters and symbols. Not only do they funk-up a space, they also provide ambient lighting.

In fact, make it a habit to slowly collect all the letters of the alphabet, plus a few a popular letters in duplicate, so you can spell anything you like for all special occasions. 

As an example on July 4th, spell out 'USA', and change it up for other celebrations. Here are just a few popular ways you can interchange letters for other holidays and parties:
  • Valentines Day, spell out 'LOVE'
  • How about 'EASTER'
  • For someone's birthday, spell out their name in lights
  • For Halloween, spell out 'BOO' in lights
  • Of course, there's 'Merry Christmas'
  • Use them for weddings, 'Bride & Groom' or spell out the couple's names
  • How about 'The Bride Rocks'
  • Or 'BrideZilla"
  • or just get funny, and spell out something sarcastic and feature it in your front window!
You get the lighted picture!

With all the letters of the alphabet, you're only limited by your imagination. So go ahead and start with the letters USA; use them to celebrate July 4th, or to honor a returning soldier, then continue to collect the rest of the alphabet. 

What's July 4th without a Patriotic Song

Take a minute to enjoy this fantastic song by Faith Hill, called 'American Heart' - The video is as much fun as the song!


Happy 4th.... <3





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 28, 2016

How to Sweep Your Floors Without Lifting a Finger

Floor Cleaning Slippers
They Come in Other Colors & Styles
Whether it's Spring or Any Other Season, the Floors Always Need Sweeping ... Ugh!

Did you know you can sweep your floors all day long without thinking about it or using a broom?

Yes that's right .... all you have to do is walk around your home with slippers that sweep for you.

Do You Have Pets that Shed?

Are you buried in animal fur? Do you need a rescue team to come in and find you and the kids buried in a fog of dog hair? Ok, sure it's not that bad (it could be?).

Well, if you need a rescue, then get the entire family their own pair of dusting slippers. They come in sizes that fit men, women and kids.

Are You Sick of Seeing the Dust on Your Hardwood Floors?

You're not alone. Did you know that darker shiny hardwood flooring shows almost every speck of dust, especially when the sun beams down on them through windows (yah, you know that already) ... and did you know that's one of the reasons people now choose a flatter finish for their hardwood.

In fact my brother and his wife just finished building their home and they specifically choose hardwood that wasn't shiny to avoid seeing every bit of dust and dog hair they used to see in their
Another Style
An affordable choice for your cleaning party!
previous home.

Well, these slippers are also a great house warming gift for people moving into a new house.

In fact, a creative basket of cleaning goodies to make life easier, is an ideal gift!

Add these slippers to your cleaning gift basket and they'll love it! Hopefully my brother and his wife don't read this article, because guess what they're getting from me?

So How Do You Clean the Slippers that Do the Cleaning?

It's easy. Just detach the bottom velcroed micro-fiber cleaning piece and toss them in the washing machine. Depending upon the style you choose, some come as an entire piece as featured in the photo here labelled 'another style'.

Get a pair for everyone in the family and have them wear their cleaning slippers throughout the day and at least you'll stay ahead of the dust!

How About A Slipper Party?

Yah, that's weird.

But if you're into wacky-party themes, you can hold a 'Help Me Clean My House Party' and everyone gets a free gift! A pair of cleaning slippers that you provide for each person as they enter and that they have to wear at the party.

Sure, your house will be a mess of glasses, food and other party goodies, but at least your floors will look good! Best of all, no shoes on in your home, no bare-feet, and no smelly socks. All your guests will be wearing a new pair of cleaning slippers.

Would it be expensive - well, if you compare these to other items you have to acquire for a party, this is in the range .... 10 Slippers would be about $70 to $150 bucks, depending upon the style you choose.

Have Fun Cleaning!
by Barbara


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, July 26, 2015

Here's an Original Party Idea, Riddle T-Shirts!

Here's a Riddle T-Shirt!

Wear a Riddle & Stump the Crowd - Riddle T-Shirts are Great for Parties, Fun Events or Social Gatherings

If you're going to a party, put one of these on just to drive everyone nuts! More Riddle Shirts Here
With the riddle on your back, you could have a crowd of people gathering 'round competing to solve it. Although the answer is on the front of the shirt, you can cover it with the "Guess the Answer" sticker until someone figures it out!
You know how else you can drive someone around the bend?
Standing in line at the grocery store with the shirt on! The person behind you may tap you on the shoulder for the answer....I'm sure they would need the answer before they could leave, otherwise it could get stuck in their brain!
5 Ways You Could Save the World by Wearing a Riddle T-Shirt:
  1. You'll cure boredom for everyone standing in line at the DMV
  2. Line-Ups at public bathrooms will become more interesting
  3. When you get asked to step outside of your vehicle, turn around and play 'stump the officer' - he'll be busy trying to solve your riddle (just kidding!!! don't do that)
  4. For those who still end up in lines at the bank, life just got more interesting for them thanks to you
  5. People may actually look up from their Cell Phones to converse with others!!!! Oh my gawd, that's a biggy.
On the other hand....

5 Ways You Could Cause Havoc by Wearing a Riddle T-Shirt:

  1. Someone waiting in line for the bathroom passes on the next available stall to solve your riddle instead, and pees on their shoes, or worse, pees on yours
  2. Customer Service Reps at the DMV get side tracked with your Riddle T-Shirt and cause the lines to get longer, then people start to hate you
  3. The Police Officer couldn't solve your Riddle-T and gives you a bigger ticket
  4. Everyone stops using bank machines just so they can get in line to read and solve riddle T-Shirts, all Bank Machines begin to rust.
  5. Everyone starts talking to each other, eye to eye, and start falling in love, cheating on their significant others, divorce court gets over crowded...but on the upside, you could keep everyone in line at Divorce Court busy trying to guess your T-Shirt Riddle? Just don't piss off Judge Judy.
So, are you up for solving any more of my personally written riddles?? Don't do it! don't try to solve these riddles, it'll only suck precious time out of your day, RESIST!!!! Ok, fine, you're weak, go here.

You're not home free yet! Here's another one of my Riddles ... in Video!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Top 5 Not So Scary Halloween Movies

Source: Stux on Pixabay
You are about to enter a terror-free zone. Tales that frighten and ghosts that scream are not allowed. Only friendly zombies are invited to our low-key, fun, and not so scary Halloween movie night.

Halloween isn't a holiday we celebrate in the usual way at our house. We don't go for the horror, the rattling chains, or the mares that terrorize the night. Instead, we have a celebratory party filled with fun, food, and fantastical tales of the bizarre and macabre. Why? Because that's the way, uh-huh uh-huh, we like it, uh-huh uh-huh!

After Halloween dinner is over, we grab a bowl of candy corn, top it with a few popcorn balls, and set up camp in our movie pit. Yes, our favorite way to spend the Halloween evening is curled up on the couch with a not so scary Halloween movie.

Our Top 5 Favorite Halloween Movies That Fright and Delight


There's a stack of movies that we shuffle through for our Halloween movie night entertainment. Movies range from vintage classics to modern mayhem. Here's a short 3 minute clip from our favorite movie, The Nightmare Before Christmas, with Marilyn Manson, as the backup band, singing This Is Halloween.




Here are our five favorite Halloween movies. If you see a movie you like, click on the cover image to be taken to Amazon's website. Here, you can rent the video through Amazon Instant Video. You can also purchase the movie as either a DVD , Blue-ray, or streaming online video with digital download.

The Nightmare Before Christmas

We love Tim Burton's sense of scary humor and think this is one of the best animated feature films created by a computer. The love story between Jack and Sally is so endearing. There's nothing better than a wicked happily ever after.

Purchase - Stream instantly and download to 2 locations.
Rental - 3-day viewing period.
Purchase The Nightmare Before Christmas from Amazon

The Wizard of Oz
(75th Anniversary Edition by L. Frank Baum)

This is a classic that we've watched every year since we were tiny children. There's something about following the Yellow Brick Road with Dorothy, the Cowardly Lion, the Tin Man, and the Scarecrow. There's an adventure around every corner. And, when I watch this movie, I dream of owning a pair of ruby red slippers.

Purchase - DVD, Blue-ray, or stream instantly and download to 2 locations.
Rental - 24 hour viewing period.

Buy The Wizard of Oz on Amazon

It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown
(Remastered Deluxe Edition)

Another classic from our childhood. Every year we wait for the Great Pumpkin and every year we miss him. But Linus is never discouraged and confidently waits for the return of the Great Pumpkin.

Purchase - DVD, Blue-ray, or stream instantly and download to 2 locations.
Get It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown from Amazon

Ghostbusters

Tell us you don't love singing along to the Ghostbusters song by Ray Parker, Jr. Come on, tell us and see what happens. And it's the music that makes this spooky movie so much fun. You'll be toe tapping to a ghostly beat from beginning to end.

Purchase - DVD, Blue-ray, or stream instantly and download to 2 locations.
Rental - 24 day viewing period.
Purchase Ghostbusters from Amazon

The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad

We love this movie because of The Headless Horseman song which features the voice of Bing Crosby. This song will scare every Ichabod Crane as he makes his lonely ride home on Halloween night. Being chased by the haunting Headless Horseman.

Purchase - Stream instantly and download to 2 locations.
Rental - 3 day viewing period.
Buy the Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad on Amazon

We hope you enjoyed this selection of Halloween movies that will entertain, delight, and not fright your family and friends. What's your favorite not so scary Halloween movie?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, August 30, 2014

Reviewing Halloween Party Invitations

Planning a great Halloween party means choosing great invitations, too. In fact, I start with the invitations. They can help me pick the theme, give me decor ideas, even menu options. So I'm giving you a review of some of my favorite choices for great Halloween party invitations.

Halloween Party Themes


If you think your party theme is simply Halloween, I have some news for you. There are many different themes that can all fall under this holiday heading. When planning your party this year, there are things to think about. Such as: do you want to have a costume centered party? You might even give away prizes for the best costumes. Do you want to have a family-oriented party where it's appropriate for children as well?

Planning your theme can be as important as planning your menu. Many of your guests will enjoy designing their costumes based on your theme.

Vintage Halloween Theme


I've reviewed party invitations for a vintage Halloween theme. These are great for guests who really love to dress in period costumes. Vintage parties are easy to decorate. The look of old mansions or manor homes that have gone to ruin is not only vintage, but also traditional Halloween. So decorating ideas and props are plentiful.

Cute and Fun Halloween Theme


There is certainly a cute side to Halloween. For a family-oriented party where scaring the kids is not the idea, you'll want to choose a theme around the sweet side of the holiday. Smiling pumpkins, candy corn, and butterfly costumes can be a great theme. Of course, you want your guests to know your party is designed around the sweet side so choose cute and fun Halloween party invitations.

Ghoulish Themes


For many, the eerie, spooky and creepy side of the holiday is the best way to throw a party. Ghoulish Halloween Party Invitations reviews some those theme ideas. This theme opens up the costume options to many. Personally, a ghoulish touch to my costume is always fun. I've been known to add a little fake blood to a princess costume.

So start thinking early about your Halloween party. The planning takes some time and you'll want to choose invitations that not only match your theme, but also show your guests what to expect. 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, June 29, 2014

Patriotic Party Time

Happy Independence Day! 
As Independence Day approaches, I am both excited and a bit sad. It's always been sort of the halfway point for summer and I am NOT ready for Summertime to end. So, I am choosing to focus on the holiday and summer parties instead. Come along for some great ideas and suggestions from our Squidoo lensmasters.

Patriotic Parties Rock!

A patriotic theme is perfect for Memorial Day, Labor Day, and of course, Independence Day. However, it's also perfect for almost any summer celebration. You could use a patriotic theme for events like:
  • Family Reunions
  • Graduations
  • Retirement Parties
  • Picnics
  • School Reunions and so much more.
It really is a perfect theme all summer long. Let's look at some ideas for patriotic parties from lensmasters. 

What Say You, Squidoo? 

Starting with lensmaster angelastvs, we get a great overview and party suggestions. From decorations to games to food, she has included lots of ideas in her lens titled: Patriotic Party Planning

Partybuzz has some great ideas for a budget-friendly party. In her lens, How to Plan a July 4th Party on a Budget, she shares some of the ideas she uses with her own family parties. From centerpieces and decorations on through activity ideas -- all are easy on the wallet. 

Finally, Michelle_L shares ideas from her own 4th of July party. Grilling out, crafts and more food and decorations are suggested in this fun lens titled: 4th of July Party Ideas -- Recipes, Crafts and Decorations.

What About You? 

Do you have some summer fun family traditions incorporating a patriotic theme? For example, I shared my family's patriotic buffet at the beginning of summer. We'd love to hear about them! Join Squidoo and write your own suggestions and recommendations for free! As the Party Planning Contributor on Squidoo, I'll help you anyway I can as well as promote your party lens(es). 

It's all about sharing and helping. Happy Independence Day, America! 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 25, 2014

Kick off the Summer with a Party!

Historic Falls Park, Pendleton, IN
I do love the summer! Here in the Midwest, we might not have a gorgeous ocean and beach but we do have our own great summer sights. The flowers, the creek falls, the kelly green grass, the blue sky, the vitamin D filled sunshine and 3 fun holidays to boot wrap up our summer season!

Memorial Day starts everything in late May, Independence Day is midway and the end of summer is signified by Labor Day every year.

Memorial Day/Weekend Party or Get-Together

Since we are smack in the middle of Memorial Weekend today, I thought I would take you through our celebration last year (this year's is tomorrow.)  Each year, my family gets together for and on Memorial Day. It's our "Kick Off to Summer Party" and one of my favorites.

I know I have mentioned it before but here I go again... I am a military brat -- specifically the U.S. Navy. My dad was career Navy. My parents actually met when both were stationed at the Naval Air Station in Pensacola, Florida. Both my grandfathers were U.S. Navy veterans as is my only brother.

Suffice is to say, we are a patriotic bunch! So, because the Memorial, Independence and Labor Day holidays are patriotic in nature, that's the theme we use for all three. It's a lot of fun and we leave some of the decor up all summer -- red, white and blue is very appropriate for a summer season boasting 3 patriotic holidays.

Stars & Stripes -- Red, White & Blue

The color combination is timeless. The primary color scheme is used by Countries for their flag, sports teams and schools for their colors, in home decorating (especially in the cottage, vintage and nautical decor themes) and so much more.

Last year, I decided to use a "vintage feel" with the patriotic theme and loved the way it turned out. I wrote about it here: My Patriotic Buffet Table for our Summer party. Burlap, baskets, bandanas and mini flags come together to create a festive, fun and whimsical buffet table for our party. What do you think?
My Patriotic Summer Buffet Party


Summer Parties

The summer is filled with parties, occasions and get togethers in addition to the holidays mentioned above. Do you have a traditional get-together each summer or a special occasion you'll celebrate this year? Could be anything, like:

  • Graduation Party
  • Neighborhood Block Party
  • Birthday
  • Wedding
  • Baby or Bridal Shower
  • Class Reunion
  • Family Reunion
  • Annual Luau Party 
  • Summer Picnics

Think about sharing your ideas and experiences with others that want to hold a successful event. Do you have a favorite pot luck dish you always make or take? Are you throwing a shindig to celebrate your daughter's graduation or your son's wedding rehearsal dinner? Are you the "Picnic King/Queen"?

Being the Party Planning Contributor on Squidoo, I can point you to a great outlet for sharing your experiences with others here on the world wide web. Best of all -- Squidoo is FREE!!! You might even earn a little you can put towards your next big party!

Let me know (in the comments) if you write an article about a party so I can help you promote it! Most of all, have a wonderful summertime!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 18, 2014

Graduation Party Ideas for Your Graduate

It's May and "graduation season" is just starting. If you have a graduate in the family, you may be in need of graduation party ideas. Luckily, Squidoo can help!

Whether graduating from pre-school, kindergarten, middle school, high school or college, a graduation party is in order. Graduating is a big achievement regardless of the level. Family and friends will love to celebrate with your graduate, so let's get started with some graduation party ideas.

Graduation Time!

This time of year, every time I check my mailbox I get another graduation announcement. Between friends and family, I definitely keep busy during May and June with all the graduations.

At this point, my kids have graduated from everything except college -- and that's coming soon enough. Graduation parties are one of my favorites. It's a time to let the student shine, show accomplishments and revel in the attention for their success.

A few years ago, I noticed there were hardly any lenses about hosting graduation parties. So, I wrote a lens sharing my experiences with the grad parties I have hosted and helped plan. It was and still is a popular reference for parents of graduates.

Today, I started looking around and realized there are a lot more lenses dealing with graduation parties. I decided to visit and maybe get a few new ideas I can pass along to friends and family.

Graduation Party Ideas

Here are a few lenses that should definitely be on your list if you are planning a graduation party.
My Daughter's Grad Party Memorabilia Table 

Graduation Centerpieces is an eclectic mix of ideas for table decorations for you party. Everything from very simple to ornate. Lensmaster celebrate has something for everyone.

Another great resource I found was Graduation Party Decorations. Every party needs decorations and lensmaster 3QuartersToday shares some of her ideas. Drawing from her experience hosting parties for her daughter and step-daughter, she has some great grad party decorating ideas.

Lensmaster, DinosaurEgg, has some great suggestions for a graduation cake for the party. In her lens titled, Graduation Cakes -- Hooray!, we find everything from sheet cakes to shaped cakes to candy all appropriate for graduation. 

Check out all that Squidoo has to offer on the subject of graduation parties. Your party will be a resounding success when you use Squidoo for ideas!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, April 6, 2014

Please Pass the Punch

Credit: Andrea Parrish Geyer under CC by ND-2.0 License
What's a party without liquid libation? Yes, every party also needs a variety of drinks for your guests. Luckily, Squidoo is chuck full of punch, alcoholic and non-alcoholic drink recipes as well as some great suggestions for serving your drinks.

Punch for Kids and Adults

My absolute favorite, all time punch recipe has the be the old fall back of sherbet punch. Any flavor will do (although green/lime is my favorite). I have served it at baby and bridal showers, weddings, graduations, open houses for different holidays, school parties, and almost any other party occasion that comes to mind.

Sylvestermouse shares her recipe in her article aptly titled Sherbert Punch. The recipe I use is a bit different than the one Miss Mouse uses but I can tell you from experience, both are fantastic punch offerings for any party -- kids or adult.

 BuckHawk shares, in her article titled Party Punches for Every Occasion, a lot of different punch recipes. Her's include punches made with cider, a golden wedding punch, shower punches and even a recipe that uses Jello as an ingredient. (I may have to try this one!)

Non-Alcoholic Party Drinks

Depending on the season of your party, you can serve wonderful frozen or cold refreshments or piping hot drinks to your party guests. For spring or summer, you might serve a refreshing flavored iced tea or a non-alcoholic "mocktail".

Mix them up by the glass, pitcher or gallon. Your guests can serve themselves and then dress them up with fun swizzle sticks or cute paper drink umbrellas. No alcohol required for fun here!

Alcoholic Cocktail Party Drinks

Is it 5 o'clock somewhere? If you are hosting an adult party then alcoholic offerings are another choice for your party. There are literally thousands of different drinks you can make for a party that don't require a seasoned bartender.

Consider choosing only a couple and label them as "signature drinks" for your event. Give them a name that goes along with the event in some way and make them up by the gallon or punch bowl. The best party drinks are self serve.

A good hostess/host wants her/his guests to be happy. Instead of waiting in long lines for a bartender to mix drinks one at a time (not to mention the expense of a full bar), self-serve "signature drinks" keep everyone happy. Make a drink station -- decorate it with your party motif -- and off you go!

Squidoo is Party Headquarters

Squidoo is a veritable treasure trove of punch and drink recipes. Take a look for yourself the next time you are planning a party or get-together or just want to enjoy a new, different liquid libation!

Have you got a special drink or punch recipe you always use for parties? Consider sharing it with the world by writing your own article on Squidoo. It's fast, easy and fun! 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.