Showing posts with label Brite-Ideas. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Brite-Ideas. Show all posts

Sunday, January 29, 2023

15 Ways You Can Decorate Your Home for Valentine's Day

15 Fun Ideas on How to Decorate for Valentine's Day

Hey there! Are you getting excited about Valentine's Day? I don't usually go overboard, but lately, with the stress in the world, a little extra love around the house may not be a bad idea.

If you're looking for inspiration on decorating your home for the occasion, you're in the right place. There's nothing like adding a touch of love and romance to make your home feel cozy and inviting.

From candles and flowers to homemade crafts, there are many ways to make your home feel festive for Valentine's Day. So, I've got some great ideas to try out if you're planning a romantic night in with your significant other or want to add love-inspired decorations. Let's make your home the perfect place to celebrate the year's most romantic day.

Here are 15 Ideas on How to Add a Little Valentine Funk to Your Home:

  1. Romantic ambiance is always calming, so how about using candles, soft lighting, and dreamy music.
  2. Add red, pink, and white accessories throughout your home.
  3. Fill vases with red and pink flowers, such as roses or peonies.
  4. String and fairy lights look beautiful all year 'round; place them in a setting with other love-related accessories.
  5. Use heart-shaped decorations, such as garlands or balloons.
  6. Create a romantic photo wall with pictures of you and your significant other.
  7. Make or purchase a homemade Valentine's Day wreath for your front door.
  8. Set the table with a romantic tablecloth, candles, and flowers.
  9. Cook a romantic dinner for two and set a special table setting.
  10. Add romantic accessories in your bedroom in red and white.
  11. Create a spa-like atmosphere in your bathroom with candles and rose petals.
  12. Make a homemade dessert, such as chocolate-covered strawberries.
  13. Put some love notes around the house for your loved one to find.
  14. Make a romantic gift basket filled with your loved one's favorite things.
  15. Create a movie night setup with romantic films and snacks.
If I had to choose which of the 15 ideas would be my personal favorite, it would be to put up a Valentine's Day wreath on the front door. A wreath is simple and delivers a positive message about love.

After scanning the above 15 suggestions, which would be your favorite? Or add another idea in the comments!

_______________________________________________

More Valentines Day Love:






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 22, 2023

Unscramble Your Love: A Large Print Valentine's Day Word Scramble Book

A Review of Valentine's Day Word Scramble Activity Book - Be My Valentine

Looking for a unique and fun way to celebrate Valentine's Day? 

Hot Off the Press - An Introductory Review of a Fun Valentine's Day Word Scramble Book With a Twist

Look no further than this original, full-color Valentine's Day Word Scramble Book! With 500 words to unscramble and thought-provoking prompts centered around the theme "I Love You Because...", this book is the perfect activity for couples or a fun way to unwind for anyone.

Be My Valentine's Word Scramble Activity Book

Added Value With A Fun, Full-Color Interior

Unscramble your love in style with this Valentine's Day word puzzle book featuring colorful backgrounds on every page, adding a splash of brightness to your reading experience. 

Each puzzle is set against a different vibrant background, making the book more interesting and engaging.

Double the Fun: A Puzzle Book & Game

Challenge your loved one to a puzzle showdown, race against the clock, and see who can unscramble the words the quickest. 

Keep track of your progress with the designated time-tracking section on each puzzle, perfect for a fun and exciting Valentine's Day activity. There's also a place for notes to help you think it through in written form.

500 Words To Unscramble With 50 Different Love-Related Prompt Chapters

Each of the fifty puzzle pages features ten word scrambles per page. Each of the pages represents a different love-related topic.

Be My Valentine Word Scramble: For Couples, Family, and Friends

This Valentine's Day Word Scramble Book makes a perfect gift for your loved one, friends, or family. Whether you're looking for a unique gift for your significant other or a fun activity to do together, this book is sure to be a hit. It's a great way to show your love and appreciation while having fun and spending quality time.

Valentine Word Scramble Book Sample Interior

A Book That's More Than Just a Pretty Cover: A Fun Activity and a Coffee Table Must-Have


It is a great activity and makes a beautiful coffee-table book, gift book, travel activity book, and waiting room book. So, don't miss out on this Valentine's Word Scramble Book; it's something to do, and adds a lovely decor piece to any room.


There's More!
  • There is a mix of medium, challenging, and a few easy word scrambles to solve
  • Thinking of proposing? The last puzzle is "Will You Marry Me" <----Yep.
  • Large print and measures 8.5 by 11 inches, making it easy to read
  • Answers included at the back
  • Only two puzzle answers per page, making the answer pages easier to read as well
Whether we know the history of Valentine's Day or not, it is now known as the day we show our love with cards, gifts, or maybe just a hug.

Here's a gift idea; flowers, chocolates, dinner, and an activity book for the one you love.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 15, 2023

A Review of The Evolution of Valentine's Day: From Ancient Rome to Modern Times

A Review of the Evolution of Valentine's Day

As we all know, Valentine's Day is a holiday celebrated on February 14th each year. It is a day to express love and affection to those close to us.

Valentine's day has progressed into something almost unrecognizable from the debated time it became a thing.

Roman Festivals?

The history of Valentine's Day is not well-documented, but it is believed to have originated from ancient Roman festivals. 

The Roman festival of Lupercalia, celebrated in mid-February, is thought to have played a role in the development of Valentine's Day. 

This festival honored the gods Juno and Faunus and included the exchange of love notes and the pairing of couples through a lottery.

Christianize a Pagan Festival or to Honor St. Valentine?

However, Valentine's Day as we know it today is thought to have been influenced by the Christian Church. 

One theory is that it was created to Christianize a pagan festival, while another suggests it was designed to honor Saint Valentine, a martyr who was executed on February 14th. 

Saint Valentine was a Catholic priest imprisoned and executed for secretly marrying couples during a time when marriage was banned by the Roman Empire. He was later canonized as a saint, and his feast day was set on February 14th.

Gradually Becoming a Day of Celebrating Love

During the Middle Ages, Valentine's Day was celebrated as a day for exchanging love notes and gifts, similar to how it is celebrated today. 

In the 18th and 19th centuries, Valentine's Day became more commercialized, and it was common for people to exchange gifts such as flowers, chocolates, and cards.

The Modern World Saw the Rise of Valentine's Day as a Day of Love in the Early 20th Century

Valentine's Day February 14th

Valentine's Day became popular in the United States in the early 20th century. During this time, Hallmark began mass-producing Valentine's Day cards, further popularizing the holiday. 

While the history of Valentine's Day is not well-documented and is shrouded in mystery, it is clear that it has evolved over time to become a day for expressing love and affection to those close to us. 

Whether it originated as a pagan festival, a Christian holiday, or a day to honor a martyred saint, it has become a beloved annual tradition celebrated worldwide.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 8, 2023

A Review of 20 Ways to Improve Your Life in the New Year

A Review of 20 Ways to Improve Your Life in the New Year

The start of a new year is a time for reflection and resolution. It's a chance to take stock of your life and think about how you'd like to improve. Whether you're looking to get in shape, advance your career, or simply be a better person, there are many good reasons to focus on bettering yourself in the new year. 

In this article, we'll explore 20 ways you can self-improve. 

So if you're ready to make the most of the new year and take your personal development to the next level, read on!

20 Different Ways to Improve Your Life:

  1. Set specific, achievable goals for yourself. This will give you something concrete to work towards, and the sense of accomplishment you'll feel when you reach your goals can be very motivating.

  2. Make time for self-care. This could mean setting aside time for relaxation and hobbies, exercising regularly, or getting enough sleep. Taking care of yourself will help you feel better physically and mentally and give you more energy to tackle your goals.

  3. Seek out new experiences and opportunities. Trying new things can help you learn and grow and can be a lot of fun.

  4. Focus on developing healthy habits. This could include eating a balanced diet, exercising regularly, or practicing good hygiene.

  5. Work on building solid relationships. This could mean spending quality time with loved ones, volunteering, or simply being there for others when they need support.

  6. Find ways to reduce stress and manage your time more effectively. This could involve simplifying your schedule, setting boundaries, or learning stress management techniques like meditation or deep breathing.

  7. Reflect on your values and priorities, and make sure that your actions align with them. This can help you feel more fulfilled and purposeful.

  8. Consider seeking out opportunities for personal and professional growth. This could include taking classes, getting a certification, or seeking a new job or career path.

  9. Learn a new skill or hobby. This could be something practical, like cooking or coding, or something creative, like painting or writing.

  10. Practice gratitude. Take a few minutes each day to reflect on the things you are grateful for. This can help you focus on the positive aspects of your life and cultivate a more positive outlook.

  11. Take care of your physical health. This could involve getting regular check-ups, exercising regularly, and eating a healthy diet.

  12. Practice forgiveness. Let go of grudges and try to see things from the perspective of others. This can help you move on from negative experiences and build stronger relationships.

  13. Seek out opportunities for personal growth and self-discovery. This could involve therapy, journaling, or simply reflecting on your thoughts and feelings.

  14. Volunteer your time or resources to help others. This can be a rewarding way to give back and positively impact your community.

  15. Get organized. Take the time to declutter your space and create systems for managing your time and tasks. This can help you feel more in control and reduce stress.

  16. Practice mindfulness. This could involve meditation, yoga, or simply taking a few minutes each day to focus on your breath and the present moment.

  17. Find ways to reduce your environmental impact. This could involve reducing your energy consumption, using reusable bags and containers, or reducing your use of single-use plastics.

  18. Learn a new language or take a course to improve your language skills. This can be a fun and rewarding way to challenge yourself and expand your horizons.

  19. Make an effort to be more present and attentive in your relationships. This could involve putting away your phone when you're with others, actively listening when someone is speaking, and showing appreciation for the people in your life.

  20. Set aside time for relaxation and enjoyment. This could involve hobbies, reading, or simply taking a few minutes each day to do something you enjoy. Taking breaks and relaxing can help you recharge and be more productive in the long run.

In conclusion, focusing on self-improvement in the new year can bring many benefits. It can help you achieve your goals, feel more fulfilled and purposeful, and build stronger relationships. It can also help you reduce stress, improve your physical and mental health, and feel more confident and capable. 

Consider setting specific, achievable goals, seeking new experiences and opportunities, and developing healthy habits. 

With a little effort and commitment, you can make the new year a time of growth and progress.

Happy New Year!

P.S. I've decided to be saucy about this year's resolution. 

My resolution: "Learn how to fold a fitted sheet." That's it. That's all. It's brief and achievable. :)



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 1, 2023

Happy New Year from The Contributors of ReviewThisReviews

Happy New Year 2023
Happy New Year - 2023!

Happy New Year to You and Yours

On behalf of ReviewThisReviews, we send you positive energy and all the ingredients needed for a balanced life in 2023. Body, mind, and spirit!

The year 2022 is officially in the books. Historians have compiled their notes for future generations; some hearts have been fulfilled, while others have been broken.

Whatever your story, we're sending you a bright light of hope for a peace-filled 2023.

A Quote for the New Year:

"For last year's words belong to last year's language, and next year's words await another voice" - T.S. Eliot, Four Quartets

 May You Tackle Life with Hope and Bravery - Here's a little musical inspiration:

"Say what you wanna say, and let the words fall out, honestly, I wanna see you be brave with what you want to say and let the words fall out..." A Song by Sara Bareilles

 


With kindness, hope, and love as your guide, let this year be a year of bravery, strength, faith, and grace ... for all of us.

Happy 2023!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 25, 2022

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays From ReviewThisReviews


happy holidays from reviewthisreviews

Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays!

On behalf of the Contributors on ReviewThisReview, we send you good wishes for a peace-filled holiday season.

It's been a challenging 2022 for many. Thus, our Christmas wish for everyone is a kinder, gentler 2023. 

A quote to be guided by for the new year:

"You never change things by fighting the existing reality. To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete" - by Buckmister Fuller (1895-1983)

Here's to a wonderful year ahead for everyone...maybe with a helping hand...

"I believe there are angels among us, sent down to us from somewhere up above; they come to you and me, in our darkest hour, to show us how to live, to teach us how to give, to guide us with the light of love."






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 18, 2022

Two Gift Ideas that Glow in the Dark - Another Way to Give the Gift of Light


In my search for practical, affordable, and creative gifts, I recently decided upon two items that I know will be enjoyed; a glow-in-the-dark blanket and a galaxy star projector.

Why Choose a Glow in the Dark Blanket

  • Most likely, the recipient doesn't have one
  • It's not too expensive
  • It's a warm and cozy way to add ambiance to a room
  • It's easy to order online and have it shipped directly to the recipient
  • It's something that can be used any time of the year
  • It makes an excellent accessory for any room in the home
  • It's a great way to add subtle nighttime light
There are various designs and styles; some have stars, words, and characters. This particular blanket offers a combination of words and stars; it's very nice, comes in multiple designs, and is available in pink and grey.

Gifting blankets is one of my favorite things; however, it becomes challenging when I've given too many to come up with something different. This year is the first year I have selected a glow-in-the-dark blanket.

What is a Galaxy Star Projector?

There are two of these in our home at the present time. My son uses his nightly, providing a lovely, other-worldly feel to his room.

Although a Star Projector is relatively inexpensive (at least not the one my son has), it provides a gorgeous ambient lit-up ceiling filled with stars.

You'll notice there are many to choose from, and they come in various price ranges. 

I recently selected this Galaxy Star Projector as a gift. The star projector my son has is very similar to this particular model.

Make this a Dual Gift for Someone Who Loves Ambient Light and a Room with a Magical Touch

These two items, in combination, make a lovely, thoughtful gift. With the blanket, you'll be gifting warmth and light, and with the projector, you'll be giving the magic of the universe in the bedroom.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 11, 2022

Why I Feel Bad Today - A Workbook for Teens and Adults

A Mood Tracking Workbook

I recently published the opposing workbook, called "Why I Feel Good Today." 

This workbook, "Why I Feel Bad Today," is designed to help teens or adults isolate their daily experiences and triggers contributing to a less-than-positive day.

Why Do We Need Workbooks

The stresses of this interconnected world can be overwhelming, and a workbook to write down and track our moods, triggers, and good and bad experiences help us to sort out life's continuing fog.

Now more than ever, people can feel submerged in an endless vortex of one problem after another.

This prompt workbook was written with love and is meant to be a fun self-care tool to aid in sorting out the good, the bad, and the ugly.

With This Workbook, You'll Track What Made You Feel Bad During a Particular Month

The workbook is not meant to be a negative book!

On the contrary, this workbook is designed to help you figure out repeating trends that make you feel bad, so you know more clearly where to make changes. 

Even making a small change daily can make a difference in our lives. 

However, how can we change toward a happier life unless we actively track our negative triggers.

What This Workbook Includes:

13 Color Coded Months with Four Monthly Prompt Pages:

  • Each month is color coded
  • Each month includes a positive quote
  • You'll have a spot to record daily quick notes
  • There's a place to track specifics about the month, with prompt questions
  • Each month has a place to expand on what has affected your life
  • The monthly summary page includes four prompt questions to help you better analyze your month
  • Included is a 365-day chart to color in your mood daily. When the year is up, look at which mood color is most prominent to determine, with just a glance, what your overall mood was for that year.
Track your months when you want; you don't have to track the months in order. If you'd rather only track the months you feel are your worst, you can also do that.

Here's the "Why I Feel Bad Today" Workbook 

Why I Feel Bad Today - A Workbook for Teens and Adults
Available on Amazon

You can preview the book's interior via StumpedRiddles here or, of course, on Amazon here.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 4, 2022

Word Scramble for Teens, Adults, and Brainiac Kids - A Fun Word Jumble for the Family

Word Scramble Book For Teens and Adults

This latest published word scramble is written explicitly for seniors, teens, and brainiac kids.

Designed with large print inside an 8.5" by 11" book, this word scramble is easy to hold and easy to read.

Nearly all of my 24 published activity books are designed with larger print and include various levels or challenges.

Why You Would Enjoy this Word Scramble:

It's not just a word scramble for self-challenge; it can also be played as a simple game. There's a place on each page to mark your start and finish times. Each person completes a puzzle page to see who can solve the puzzle the fastest.

There's also a place for working notes.

Here's a sample of each puzzle page:


What's Inside this Word Scramble Book

  • 500 jumbled words to unscramble
  • 10 words per page per topic
  • There are 50 different, broad-ranging topics
  • Each page is large and easy to read
  • The answers are included at the back, with two answer bundles per page, making the solutions easy to read as well
  • Record your start and finish times to compete with yourself or others
  • Some scrambles are easier than others making it a fun activity for the whole family
  • As you can see above, there's a place for notes in case you have to do further evaluations
This scramble book is ideal for:
  • Personal use
  • Stocking stuffers
  • An affordable hostess gift for the family
  • A significant loot-bag gift for teen parties
  • An around-the-table game for family gatherings
  • To take on trips for something to do when you're traveling
  • For seniors to encourage mind exercise challenges
  • For brainiac kids to keep their minds fresh, challenged, and growing

You Can Find This Word Scramble Book on Amazon or Via StumpedRiddles.com:

Word Scramble Book for Teens and Adults

You can find all Stumped Activity Books on Amazon here.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 27, 2022

A Christmas Activity Book for Teens and Adults

A Christmas Activity Book for Teens and Adults

Since 2019 I've been on a self-publishing journey.

It started with clearing a bucket-list item; publishing my fifty-year collection of poems.

Since then, I've published numerous activity books, riddle books, and journals. My website StumpedRiddles.com features every book, as well as fun activities to solve.

You can find my books on Amazon.

My publishing journey to date includes the following:
  • Riddle books
  • Sudoku books
  • Wordsearch books
  • Word Scramble Books
  • Journals
  • and more to come!

My Newest Book is "Christmas Word Scramble for Teens and Adults"

Why did I create a word scramble book?

The main reason for making this book was to encourage mind exercise. In fact, all of my activity books are created with this in mind.

The scrambles included can be challenging, although brainiac kids could solve them!

I'm huge on large print puzzles and only feature one per page.

Although this book has ten topic-driven words per page, the book measures 8.5 by 11 inches, so the print is large and easy to read.

Christmas Word Scramble for Teens and Adults

Word Scrambles on StumpedRiddles

Stumpedriddles originally featured personally written riddles. There are over one thousand original riddles when combined with the website and books. 

I've recently expanded the website to include onsite word scrambles and word searches. Visitors can solve these activities directly on the website. It's a work in progress, as more scrambles are being added weekly. 

Also, the word searches can be printed out as well, for free.

Visitors can subscribe for a free downloadable copy of  Self-Care Word Scrambles. It's a short full-color book that features 50 words related to self-care.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 20, 2022

Don't Buy This Fudge - It's Too Good!

 

Best fudge ever

Warning! If you're a fudge-a-holic, this fudge will be completely impossible to resist!

My Mom's Homemade Fudge Was the Best! Store Bought Fudge Couldn't Come Close to Her Fudge

Until now.

I rarely enjoy bakery fudge, or any store-bought fudge for that matter, because it doesn't taste right to me. 

After having my mother's homemade fudge for a lifetime, store fudge just lacks something.

The other day, my hubby showed up with a box of fudge. My first thought was, nope, it's going to suck. 

Well, I ate those words and the whole box of fudge too! So much for my low-carb life last week!

It was so good that I told my husband to NEVER buy it again because I could not resist it.

He Purchased This Fudge at Costco, But It's Also Available via Amazon Canada (I Can't Locate it on Amazon USA, Though)

You Can Find it Via Amazon Canada Here

This fudge is the closest to my mother's homemade fudge I've ever tasted. Being French Canadian, she called her fudge as per the box above; Sucre a la Creme; we just called it fudge. 

My mom's fudge was so good that my friends would request her to make it or ship them a box! So to my friends who loved her fudge, try this one.

This Laura Secord Fudge has a buttery, brown-sugar flavor. 

Mom would make her fudge two ways, either hard or soft. I preferred the hard fudge. 

The creamy fudge above is more on the soft side (medium texture). Each piece is individually wrapped, so you'll absolutely eat six at once (lol) ... it's that good!

If you're looking for a nice treat to bring to someone's home, I recommend this incredible Laura Secord Fudge.

On second thought, don't buy it! Resist it!

Happy Holidays :)

P.S. I haven't enclosed my mom's fudge recipe because fudge is all about boiling, stirring, timing and cooling - it's more of a technique. After making her fudge a few times, I managed to get the technique down. Not sure I could even explain it!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 13, 2022

The Best Book For Understanding Yourself and Finding Your Way

The best book for understanding yourself and finding your way

Let me start by saying that I don't think this review will do this book justice; it's that good.

The Untethered Soul: The Journey Beyond Yourself by Michael Singer is a number 1 New York Times bestseller, selling over a million copies.

Here is The Author, Michael Singer's Credentials:

"Michael Alan "Mickey" Singer (or Michael A. Singer; born 6 May 1947) is an American author, journalist, motivational speaker, and former software developer.Singer is best known for his writings on spitituality, meditation, and New Age philosophy, and two of his books on the subject, The Untethered Soul (2007) and The Surrender Experiment (2015), were New York Times bestsellers. Singer established the Temple of the Universe, a yoga and meditation center in AlachuaFlorida, in 1975." - SOURCE WIKIPEDIA-Directly Quoted.

When you read this book, you'll understand why people from many walks of life are talking about how it provided the insight and tools they needed to expand their self-knowledge.

When I first read the book about eight years ago, I couldn't believe how much more about the human condition I could grasp ... and I thought I was already pretty enlightened! Was I wrong!

How I Accidentally Found This Book in My Hour of Need

When my dad passed in 2013, I was beyond consolable. Of course, most people would never know how much I was struggling ... but I was.

Around that same time, while visiting mom, I decided to head to a bookstore to look for spiritual answers to loss. I had read, listened to, and watched numerous works on the topic, but after dad's passing, I needed all the answers to everything <---- lol, yah, I know, that bar was set a tad high.

While at the store, I asked my dad to "please direct me to the answers I need to understand that you're ok." 

It was a small bookstore, and I was checking book after book, then out of the blue, I found two books (the only two copies in the store) ... one was "Journey of Souls, by Michael Newton" and the other was "The Untethered Soul by Michael Singer." I won't talk about Journey of Souls in this article, but wowza, if you're open to life-between-lives, you'll find that book engrossing!

Of the two books, I read The Untethered Soul first.

I Was So Moved by the Book I Bought it as Gift For Many People

One person close to me, who struggles with mental health issues, said that this book helped them the most. In fact, they've re-read it many times.

I was confident they would get a lot from the book, but I never anticipated they'd place the book at the top with their other treatments. Of course, that was their personal experience; I'm not implying that would happen to others. 

You Can Watch and Follow the Author on His Podcasts on YouTube

Recently I've watched at least five of Michael Singer's videos on YouTube

Mr. Singer communicates and connects in a personal way through his books. Via video, his messages are profound, and his personality is light and comforting. However, to get the whole experience, you need to read the book.

He's in high demand to be interviewed, and I happened to trip on Danica Patrick's (yes, that Danika Patrick - the former race car driver) podcast, where she also interviewed Mr. Singer. I found it so interesting. Ms. Patrick is not just a race car driver, that's for sure! She's a deeply reflective thinker.

What I Remember Most From Michael Singer's Book

What helps me most - I'm paraphrasing in my own words:

"We are not our body, we are not our mind; we are a consciousness/soul, our own unique conciouness. When times get hard, and bad things come our way, we can learn to master the technique of becoming the observer of the body and the mind. Our wondering mind, and negative self talk and reactions to problem situations are formed from years of habit. Through practice and awareness we can learn to step back to observe our mind and allow pain and discomfort to come through us, feel it, acknowledge it, so we can set it free, and let it go." 

If you're in the mood for enlightenment, don't hesitate to read this life-changing book.

The book is spiritually neutral; it doesn't tout any particular religion; it's merely about a peaceful soul for believers and non-believers from every walk of life.

It's available on Amazon here.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 6, 2022

Extra Bed Space with an iDOO Self-Inflating Mattress - We Bought it, We Love it

self-inflating mattress review - 5 star recommendations

A self-inflating mattress is a practical, convenient item to have on hand for sleepover guests.

When all the bedrooms are filled, and you at least need a comfy place for someone to crash for the night, a self-inflating mattress solves the problem.

Here's the iDOO Mattress Available Via Amazon (This is the Latest Model - The Newer iDOO Model):



What Are the Benefits of a Self-Inflating Mattress:

  • If storage space is tight in your home, you can easily flatten this mattress out and slide it under a bed. That's exactly where we store ours.
  • It comes with a storage bag as well.
  • The self-inflating aspect is an absolute must! We used to have mattresses that we had to inflate with a manual pump; What! No thanks. We've long switched to a self-inflating version for our guests.
  • Simply plug the mattress in, and watch it quickly inflate within two minutes! Easy, peasy.
  • This mattress deflates as quickly as it inflates.
  • It's made of non-toxic material and has a non-slip base.
  • We purchased the original model (older model iDOO) twin size from Amazon Canada, which measures 75"x 39"x 15" -  there's a link to that one below. The newer model is slightly bigger at 76" x 39" x 18". Both accommodate a weight of up to 550lbs.
  • Although it's a twin size, my very tall son had no problems sleeping on it; there's plenty of room.
  • The raised edges make for a nice, flat bed.
  • It's designed to be puncture resistant and has a waterproof layer on top.
  • Initially, I stated that twin bed sheets fit this mattress - (and they may) - however, I remembered that I used full bed sheets. I haven't personally tried twin bed sheets. I figured full bed sheets would be better, given the depth of the mattress.
5-Star Rating Recommendation From Our Family - If You're Expecting Sleepover Guests for the Holidays, Be Sure to Check This Product Out

I highly recommend this self-inflating mattress; it's affordable, practical, and easy to store away when you don't need it.

What I like about having an inflatable mattress in our home is the ease at which I can pull it out for unexpected overnight stays.

The best part about an inflatable mattress is being able to use it in any room in the home!

Set it up in the family room, a bedroom, a rec room, an office ... essentially any place you prefer to have your temporary sleeping area. I love that flexibility.

We've used our inflatable mattress for overnight guests in our bedrooms and the family room.

We purchased the older model, which is a tad smaller, measuring 75" x 39" x 15" versus  76" x 39" by 18" for the newer model. 

You can read more about the newer version here on Amazon


The equivalent of what we purchased on Amazon USA seems to only offer the 18" high model. If I was buying from Amazon USA, I'd go with the new model.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 30, 2022

A Whiskey Glass Gift Set - I Loved it So Much, I Bought it Twice

Whiskey Glasses Gift Set

With the holidays coming up, gift buying is creeping into our brains. I have to admit, I'm still trying to keep that door shut for a bit!

Times are tough at the moment, so if you're seeking a gift that's both affordable and elegant, you have to check out this Whiskey Glass Gift Set

I've purchased this gift set twice for two people. They appreciated the gift and loved the whiskey glasses as well.

What Is So Good About this Whiskey Glass Gift Set Anyway?

  • It comes in a lovely, elegant gift box
  • It includes 4 crystal whiskey glasses
  • Included is 1 tong
  • There are also 8 granite chilling whiskey rocks included
  • There's also 1 black velvet bag to safely store the whiskey rocks
  • The whiskey glasses are chip and scratch resistant
  • The glasses also have thick sides and a solid base
  • The glasses have diamond-like details, texture, and sparkle in the light
  • These glasses are ideal for Bourbon, Scotch, and Whiskey Lovers
  • The whiskey glasses are solid to hold - you feel like you're holding something of substance
What Rating Do I Give This Gift Idea

This Whiskey Glass Gift Set gets a five-star rating from me.

I purchased this first for my oldest son as a birthday gift, then, after seeing how nice it was for the price, I decided to buy one for my brother's birthday.

My brother and I don't usually exchange birthday gifts, but this birthday was a milestone birthday for him, and I knew this set would be something he would use. Plus, the price range was ideal.

When you don't normally exchange gifts with people, but decide for one reason or another that you want to get them something, this is a practical, thoughtful, classy, and affordable choice (in my humble opinion).

In summary, if you know someone who could enjoy a whiskey glasses set like this, don't hesitate; it's excellent value for the price.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 23, 2022

Have You Heard of DampRid? - I Tried It, Check Out This Personal Review

Review of DampRid - Yes or No?

We don't have a dehumidifier in our basement.

We weren't in the mood to make that purchase yet.

We knew we had to do something with that typically musty smell you get in the basement, and I had seen commercials for a product called "DampRid." 

So, of course, off I went to investigate.

What is DampRid?

Basically, DampRid is a hanging moisture absorber that helps to rid a space of humidity and, thus, odors.

You can use it just about anywhere; closets, basements, bathrooms, laundry rooms, storage, garages, boats, RVs, and more.

They're designed to last approximately 60 days. However, they lasted at least 90 days in my basement.

How Does Damp Rid Work?

It comes with 3 hanging moisture-absorbent packets per box.

Yes, it has a hanger hook on each one, so it's easy to hang anywhere.

Essentially it's a dehumidifier that doesn't need electricity.

The top half of the bag has scented (or unscented) absorbent crystals, and the bottom has an empty bag that will slowly fill with water as the moisture is pulled from the air.

How I Used DampRid

I took the three hanging bags and put them in three different spots in our basement.

Then, I forgot about it.

After going to check it months later, I noticed that the bottom bag for each had, in fact, filled with water it drew from the air.

I figured it would work, but I was still surprised to see the water there - yep, it indeed worked.

Did It Make Our Basement Smell Better?

Yes, DampRid did, in fact, get rid of the stinky/musty smell in our basement. 

Just be aware that when you first hang the product up, the scented crystals are quite strong, but the scent does fade.

I like the strong smell, but others with sensitivities may not.

If you're sensitive to smells, they do offer a fragrance-free product.

Would I Recommend DampRid?

Heck yes!

In fact, I bought a second box of three hanging packets and put them in the basement again.

Our basement absolutely smells better, and humidity is being drawn out. 

Obviously, it's not as good as an electric dehumidifier, but I'm happy with this product.

I don't want something else to plug in to drive up our hydro bill! So, this product serves the purpose.

Granted, I have to keep replacing it every 90 days or so, but I'm willing to do that.

I'm actually considering another box for my closets.

If you're ok with scented products, go ahead and give this one a try. However, they do offer a scent-free product.

Five stars.

You can find it on Amazon here.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 16, 2022

Why I Feel Good Today - A Workbook for Teens and Adults

Why I Feel Great Today Workbook
A Monthly Workbook (in Color) - To Track Good Feelings


As some of you already know, my creative energy has been put toward self-publishing workbook journals this year.

Why Workbooks?

With so much going on in the world, I wanted to put together something that adults or teens could use as a guide to track life moments, feelings, and overall state of mind.

This prompt workbook allows us to write down the good or not-so-good moments about our life in a brief, fun, colorful book to reflect on patterns and trends.

Workbooks give us a chance to retrace our steps and do more of what makes us feel better and hopefully less of the things that don't.

Why This Workbook?

I created this workbook with one main goal: a place for people to quickly record and track their good moments.

Good moments can range from anything small to something significant. For example, a good moment could have been when you prepared a delicious meal, tackled a project, or talked to a friend.

Mark down the good things, no matter how small. 

The book will give you a thirteen-month trend of things that make you feel great.

You'll also be able to reflect on your year and examine trends and memorable moments. If there's something specific that you don't want to forget, write it down in your workbook.

Tracking The Good in Our Life

More than a diary, a specifically targeted prompt workbook brings us directly to the life areas that need noting, remembering, or correcting.

What you get with the Why I Feel Good Workbook:

13 Color Coded Months with Four Workbook Prompt Pages Per Month:
  • Daily Feel Good Quick Notes 
  • Monthly Specific Prompt Questions
  • A Page to Expand Upon Why You Feel Good in Your Own Notes
  • A Monthly Happy Summary with More Prompt Questions
  • A Motivational Quote for Each Month
There's a chart to color in your mood daily so that at the end of the year, with one quick look, you can get an idea of which color mood was most prominent in your life.

You can track any month at any time. You don't have to follow 13 months in a row; pick and choose your tracking months if that works best for you.

Why I Feel Great Today Workbook
Available on Amazon

You can preview the book's interior via StumpedRiddles here or, of course, on Amazon here.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 9, 2022

Happy Canadian Thanksgiving! Here's My Mom's Stuffing Recipe

moms stuffing recipe

For those who don't know, it's Canadian Thanksgiving this weekend.

Growing up, early October was always a time when we planned to be together as a family.

For me, heading to my mom and dad's house with the kids was a wonderful weekend: Time with my brothers and their families, as well as a great time with mom and dad.

Since mom and dad are both passed on now (I still can't believe I'm typing that!) I miss and treasure those memories to the core of my being.

I must say, I'm looking forward to dinner tomorrow with the kids. Unfortunately, it won't be with all the kids, as I have seven (4 sons, 2 stepsons, and a stepdaughter). I only use the word "Step" to respect their mom. My stepkids have been a part of my life for 40 years - I consider them my kids, but I hold back on that declaration out of respect for their mom. Being a mom myself, I understand that 'feeling.' - the feeling of being 'the mom.'

Anyway, I digress!

So in honor of Canadian Thanksgiving, I wanted to share my mother's turkey stuffing recipe. It has long since been my recipe; I just made it today for our Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow.

My Mother's Turkey Stuffing Recipe:

Ingredients for My Mom's Stuffing Recipe:

  • Celery
  • Onion
  • Stuffing Bread OR
  • Regular Bread Cut-Up with Spices
  • Spices if adding on your own: Sage, Poultry Seasoning,
  • Sausage (I use breakfast sausage)
  • 3 Tablespoons of Rice (Basically a handful)
How to Prepare Mom's Stuffing:

1) In a bowl, add cut the bread up into chewable cubes (sometimes you can get stuffing bread already cut up)

2) If you don't have cut-up stuffing bread and need to make your own stuffing bread, here's what to do:
  • In a large mixing bowl, cut bread (any bread that is your favorite, although heavier bread is better) into cubes
  • Add Sage - be liberal with the Sage - I add about two or so tablespoons, depending on how big the turkey is and how much stuffing there is
  • Add Poultry Seasoning - probably about 2 tablespoons
3) Fry the sausage separately - I buy breakfast sausage - and, after cooked, cut the breakfast sausage into bite-sized pieces

4) In a Frying Pan, in Butter:
  • Fry one chopped onion
  • Add one entire stock of celery (chopped into bite-sized pieces)
5) Add the celery/onion fried mixture and the cut-up sausages to the bread/sage/poultry seasoning bread mixture

6) Add the rice to the bread mixture

Mix it all together until it sticks together nicely. 

It should look 'wet' and be compacted together.

By the way, what's the secret ingredient to stuffing that makes it stuffing - it's the Sage! But that's been a flavor I've been used to my entire life when it comes to stuffing!

If you've never added Sage, give it a try - by the way, that's ground sage! You can find it in the spice aisle of your local grocer.

NOTE:

I prepare this the night before, put it in a ziplock bag, keep it in the fridge, then stuff the turkey in the morning <---- Mom taught me that trick too.

My number three son, Joshua, loves this recipe as much as I do, and that alone makes me so happy! Thank you, Joshie, for being a kindred stuffing lover!

Happy Thanksgiving to all - These times haven't been easy, so it's essential to live in the moment and enjoy spending time with the ones you love.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 2, 2022

I Need Help Thinking Positive - Review of A New Mood Tracking Book

Are you constantly fighting your feelings to remain positive and centered?

Does life require you to continuously take stock of the good things and push away the bad?

If this sounds like you, you can benefit from the Workbook, "I Need Help Thinking Positive." 
This thirty-one-day Workbook lets you track negative energy and analyze patterns requiring attention, change, or improvement.

Even Mostly Positive Thinking People Will Benefit From This Mood Tracking Book

I consider myself a positive person. In fact, I actively work to be this way! I've been "in training" to control my thoughts since 2013. 

It sounds silly to say, "in training to control my thoughts," but yes, it's real! 

Controlling our thoughts requires mental exercise; just like our body needs physical activity, so does our mind.

Those who know me know that I make a concerted effort not to dwell on problems but rather to seek solutions.

My extensive life experience is what led me to create this Workbook.

My Solution-Oriented Nature is How This Book Came to Be

We've all faced challenging and what seems like insurmountable life issues. However, escaping our troubles and negative thoughts ultimately frees us to live a fresh, new day.

What Does The Workbook "I Need Help Thinking Positive" Provide:

There are 31 days of easy, casual, and light worksheet tracking prompt pages to help you self-analyze your tendency toward negative thinking.

The four worksheets allow you to compile your thoughts and review trends and areas of thought that need improving.
Each day's worksheets give you a chance to break down your thoughts.
Here are the Four Worksheets:

Worksheet Number 1:

Why I Had a Negative Day Worksheet
The Quick Clipboard Chart Page

This fun page features 20 typically standard daily items that can infect our mood. 

Simply check off the items that influenced your negative thoughts for that day, and give each item one point.

It's not about keeping score!

It's about discovering negative trends and repeated issues that keep throwing off your mood.

Check off your overall mood for that day.

Worksheet Number 2:

In My Own Words from the Workbook "I Need Help Thinking Positive"
In My Own Words - A Place For Personal Notes

This workbook sheet allows you to expand upon the clipboard chart items you selected above.

Write down the additional things that turned your day upside down.

Worksheet Number 3:

Briefly describe your negative issues using prompt questions.

The prompt questions are based on the basic principle of who, what, when, where, why, and how.

The page is designed to help you dig deeper into your thoughts and really give them a workout!

Worksheet Number 4

Positive Solution Analysis

What would a workbook be without a place to give serious thought on how to solve your issues and, in turn, improve your attitude?

The four questions on this page are designed to steer you toward analysis and solutions.

Track Your Mood for 31 Days, Then Take Stock of Common Trends

This Workbook is meant to help you examine trends and ultimately make changes to improve your thought process.

After a good month of analysis, look at what issues, people, and things affected you the most.

Knowing our problem is half the battle; however, if one day melts into the next without actively seeking out our conscious and often subconscious negative tendencies, nothing will change.

If you're looking for a change, this Workbook is an easy and fun place to start.

Available on Amazon


Book Tip! You don't have to track 31 days in a row - simply use the book on your negative days. If it takes several months or a year to track those negative thinking days, that's perfectly fine!

The purpose is to seek patterns and trends so you can focus on the areas that need attention or change.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X