Showing posts with label The Savvy Age. Show all posts
Showing posts with label The Savvy Age. Show all posts

Monday, September 11, 2023

Addaday Travel Foam Roller Review

Soothe and relax muscles whether travelling locally or afar with this handy travel roller. Small enough to fit in a tote, large purse, workout bag or carryon bag, the Addaday is perfect for travel with its' size and light weight.

Blue foam roller sitting in a green hedge.


Addaday Features

  1. Lightweight but still effective
  2. Easy to pack in luggage or carryon or a large purse or tote
  3. Material is a mix between a pool noodle on the soft side and hard acrylic roller for the hard side comparison
  4. Measures seven inches in length
  5. Small enough to use in an airplane seat or car
  6. Large enough to use on all muscle groups
  7. Six sides
  8. Hex design with small indentations
  9. The indentions in the roller help to massage and find the pressure points
  10. Medium density

Warm Up and Recovery

The first purchase I made for a travel roller was too large for ease of travel. I felt that size was just big enough to be bulky and the intent was to find a foam roller for local and long distance travel. I was also looking for a roller that was not too firm. The first attempt was returned and the search continued.

After reading many many reviews I decided upon the Addaday. Overall it has been a positive purchase. Foam rollers of any size are not inexpensive and run the gamut of price. Add that each person is unique in their preference of size, density and design and it can be difficult to find online the first time. If searching for a travel roller I would definitely include the Addaday in your consideration.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, July 10, 2023

AirTag Reviewed

No muss no fuss tech alert! This little gem falls under the why did I wait so long to purchase. I have definitely heard the positive reviews of air tags for luggage tracking and pretty much any item!

The positive reviews are correct. Affordable, easy to install and so very easy to use! How many tech items live up to that promise! The once caveat is the Air Tag is an Apple product so the technology does require the apple products.


Apple AirTag




One Tap Setup


True! As in the setup takes a few minutes at most. Promises as delivered. The bluetooth and iPhone integrates the air tag seamlessly.

Four Pack

The air tags are also available in a pack of 4 at a reduced price vs purchasing one, two or three separately.

Battery

The price of some batteries has skyrocketed! Very economical the air tag is powered by the easily found CR2032 coin cell battery.

Accessories

The air tag comes as is so air tag accessories may be desired to make the most of the air tag and easily find the air tag. 

Splash, water and dust resistant as purchased plus a multitude of affordable accessories exist to help you make the best use of the air tag. Keys, wallet holder, luggage holders, collar holders, bike vaults are just a few! Enjoy the possibilities and I suspect you will quickly find an air tag use specifically for your household and wondered why you waited so long! I know I certainly did!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, June 26, 2023

Hallmark Christmas In July Movies 2023 Reviewed

Yes, it is the summer event all Hallmarkies are eagerly awaiting. A perfect way to escape summer heat and humidity with Hallmark's Christmas In July 2023 movies. As usual your favorite Hallmark Christmas movies from years' past will pop up along with a few new Hallmark 2023 movies.

Santa with snowglobe - christmas in july banner


Here are a few favorite Hallmark Christmas movies showing this July. 

The number one do not miss, do not pass go 2022 Christmas movie that was a huge hit and deservedly so! Three Wise Men And A Baby starring three A Team Hallmark male leads Andrew Walker, Tyler Hines and Paul Campbell. And written by Paul Campbell and Kimberely Sustad another Hallmark A team actress.

Reminiscent of Three Men And A Baby with its' chemistry, cute storyline and of course the Hallmark magic. This movie will make you smile, the actors will make you laugh and this movie is a reminder that when Hallmark is at its' best - it can be pure entertainment.

Another top must see for Hallmark Christmas In July is A Cozy Christmas Inn with David O'Donnell and Jodie Sweetin. This is a sequel to the hugely likeable Christmas Under Wraps in which O'Donnell was the lead. Many of your beloved characters return to "Garland" and if you loved Christmas Under Wraps you will at a minimum Hallmark like this sequel. Sweetin and O'Donnell make this sequel charming and worth putting on your July watch list.

All Time Favorites Coming Back For July:

Christmas Under Wraps - Candace Cameron Bure, David O'Donnell

The first Alaska movie which predates A Cozy Christmas Inn. The adorable town of Garland is introduced with its' town CEO who coincidentally looks very much like Santa, a visiting doctor stationed in rural Alaska and a handsome son whose Dad maybe the Santa CEO? Hmmm. Many Hallmark Christmas movies have arrived in the years since this debuted and this is a Hallmark classic that remains a fan favorite!

The first week in July is ending strong with another top ten Hallmark Movie Christmas favorite - A Christmas Detour with Candace Cameron Burr and Paul Greene. The chemistry, the storyline, the actors keeps this movie on the top ten list of all Hallmark movies for Christmas. 



One to lookout for >> Crown for Christmas  - Danica McKellar and Rupert Penry-Jones

Another top ten of all time Hallmark Christmas Movie. Keep your eyes peeled and hope Crown For Christmas makes its' annual July appearance. This movie is not only a Christmas favorite but a favorite for movies with a palace theme. Hallmarkies will watch again... and again. 


New 2023 Christmas Movies

Hallmark fans will be delighted that Christmas In July this year will include  brand new Christmas movies - albeit early.

A Royal Christmas Crush premiers July 8 - original new movie

The Christmas Reboot premieres July 15 - original new movie

More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

A Cozy Christmas Inn Reviewed 2022  by The Savvy Age

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

You, Me & The Christmas Trees by The Savvy Age

A New Year's Resolution by Cynthia 

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, June 12, 2023

Grampa's Weeder Review

Weeds! Weeds! Go away! The bane of flower beds, vegetable gardens, container gardens, pathways and walkways are the weeds that multiple overnight. One day a sprout of a weed turns into a monster with tough and tangly roots with no signs of abating. Grampa's Weeder to the rescue for easy and efficient weed removal.

grampas weeder



After a very prolific spring weeding season it was apparent that the family had a distinct lack of interest in the labor involved with weed removal. It wasn't the labor or lack of interest but the labor as in who wants to constantly do toe to hand to foot battle with weeds and weeding utensils.

Grampa's Weeder is a tool that promises to be "Easy & Simple Weeding Tool That Saves Your Back & Knees With Grampa's 45" Stand Up Bamboo Long Handle. Remove Weeds Without Bending, Pulling, Or Kneeling." True? I was definitely swayed by the 4.5 / 5 stars of over 39,000 ratings prior to purchase.

Yes! True! This old school tool makes weeding so quick and easy. By simply stepping on the foot lever the claws dig into the soil and find the roots. 

How Does the Weeder Work?

Very simple. Position the claw in the middle of the weed so the claw will be grabbing the weed and the roots. If the weed is very large with strong roots (ie a very mature dandelion), you may want to use two attempts. This tool works best on size medium and up weeds, but I did try the tool on smaller weeds too and was successful.

grampas weeder in the dirt

demonstration of using grampas weeder

clump of dirt & weed pulled out by grampas weeder


Press into ground by stepping on the foot lever.

Then lean the tool forward or to the side to loosen the roots.

Simple! It really is.

Pros

  • Easy to Use
  • Four Claw Design to seek roots
  • Old school weeder design with the added foot lever
  • Remove weeds by standing
  • Foot lever very easy to use
  • The roots stay in the claw until manually released which ensures proper disposal
  • Solid construction

Cons

I didn't find any, only a note. The overall weight of the tool is not light; I'd consider it midweight in that if you desire to flip the tool upside down to remove the weed/weed roots from the claw which is totally optional.

I highly recommend this tool. While price is subjective, at this price point, I would expect the tool to deliver as promised or the tool would be returned. Happy to report Grampa's Weeder is a keeper. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, April 24, 2023

Ziploc Variety Pac Review

 Does your storage bag drawer need SOS? Drowning in quart size bags, but you need pint or sandwich size bags! May all of our kitchen issues be so easy to solve! Ziploc Variety Pac and Amazon Brand to the rescue to replenish your kitchen storage bags with ease and convenience.

ziploc variety pac


This year is the first time I have come across (and it has certainly been a kitchen want for quite awhile!) plastic storage and freezer bags in a package which includes multiple sizes of bags. Having multiple sizes on hand makes food preparation, storage and freezing so much easier.

What Bags Are Included In The Ziploc Variety Pac?

  • 54 Freezer Quart Size Bags
  • 38 Freezer Gallon Bags
  • 52 Storage Gallon Bags
  • 125 Sandwich Bags

Note: Both Freezer and Storage Gallon Size Bags are included.



Slider Storage Bags Variety

If you prefer the slider storage aka zipper storage bags, Amazon brand offers a few varieties of sizes. 

Variety One offers quite a selection including a few 2 gallon size bags:

  • 50 pint bags
  • 50 quart bags
  • 25 gallon bags
  • 25 2 gallon bags

I have found quite a few non food uses for the two gallon bags. They are indeed quite large, but nice to have a few on hand. 

Recommendation

I have ordered and used both brands. I do find the ziploc brand to be slightly stronger. It is a trade off between a higher priced brand and the online store brand. The use determines my need; I do prefer a very sturdy and strong bag if using to freeze foods.

I have tried the brands at the local dollar store and those bags  I have found over priced (over a dollar for a very small box) for a very low quality bag - disappointing because I usually love the dollar store, but as with all stores and brands there are preferences. Stocking a new kitchen is always expensive and the variety pac serves the purpose quickly and conveniently.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, April 10, 2023

Favorite Webbed Lawn Chair Reviewed

Winter weather brings summer sale prices! This is an excellent time of year to start thinking about replacing items which may have seen there last summer sunset and need attention. After holiday sales also brings attractive prices for summer and spring items for last seasons' merchandise manufacturers are looking to sell. Who is thinking lawn chairs in January - raise your hand! I am.

One of my favorite finds of 2022 were lawn chairs with the old school webbing. We actually had a few vintage chairs which the webbing was frayed beyond use; unfortunately while replacement webbing is inexpensive, the bolts are the chairs were rusted and I found the chairs needed replacement.

wooded area with bridge


Old School Webbing

I, what I now know was an error, had mistakenly purchased two lawn chairs from the local drugstore and thought I had a great deal. While the webbing looked old school, it wasn't until we started to move the chairs around was the difference quickly noticed. 

These chairs were so heavy! Heavy because the frame was steel versus aluminum and what a difference that makes when carrying lawn chairs car to car, car to picnic, car to beach, car to anywhere! 

While I have tried many a lawn chair I keep coming back to the old school webbing as a favorite. A quality webbed lawn chair I found lasts decades! The comfort is also superior to many I have tried. I found Lawn Chair USA on amazon and could not have been more pleased with the purchase. I also very much liked this is a family owned business.

Styles and Colors

What I love about this company is the huge selection of colors and styles of the old school web lawn chairs. The styles offered are: classic, magnum, high back, low back and two packs. Over 20 color combinations are offered and will certainly mix in with established chairs or start a new color combo.

These vintage lawn chairs are made to last! Enjoy.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, March 27, 2023

Mini Silicone Molds Reviewed

Fun, festive and just perfect for the holiday baking season! These silicone molds are the perfect size to make mini desserts and cakes for the season. I was searching on line for mini cake pans and came across the silicone molds which I was intrigued to try.

silicone mini molds

Size

The size was not chosen by accident! I specifically wanted mini size molds to make mini giftable version of a family recipe for a coffee cake.

The molds delivered as promised with a mini size measuring 2 3/4 inches diameter which is a perfect single size serving.Oven-Microwave-Freezer-Dishwasher Safe. 

Styles

Six different styles are included from the classic mini tube or bundt design to stars and hearts. A style for every occasion. The molds come in 4 vibrant colors.

silicone moldssilicone molds

Versatile Size

The sizing of the mini molds lends itself to any recipe that is sized to a mini: cheesecake, cake, parfait, muffins and donuts. 

silicone molds

Microwave & Dishwasher

The molds are safe for: Oven-Microwave-Freezer-Dishwasher. I cleaned the molds in the dishwasher and I also hand washed a few and both methods worked well. The directions recommend hand washing.

Baking Sheet Friendly

I do recommend putting the molds on a parchment covered baking sheet just to be safe from any spillage. As I was tweaking a full pan recipe to mini size I was not sure how much to fill each mold. I needed a little trial and error and was very happy I used a parchment covered baking sheet for one mold I definitely over filled.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, March 13, 2023

QVC Mum Garden Sphere Review

 QVC says garden sphere... I say Mum Balls! Last year I finally succumbed to the pressure (I say only in jest) of watching the garden shows on QVC and purchased the Mum Garden Sphere (aka as Mum Balls in this house).

mum garden spheres



Construction

The mums are well constructed. Each ball can either be used as is in a sphere or split apart to make two half balls. Instructions are included as to how to split the ball and once the proper opening is found, the ball splits easily. 

mum garden spheres package contents


Interior plastic hole/eye clasp are arranged around the ball and are simply unclasped to open up the ball. Easy!





frame for mum balls






Durability

So far the mum balls have lasted through summer, fall and winter with no problems except for a squirrel which seemed to find one of the mounds very interesting. 

Midwestern winters are long and I thought these mums could liven up the yard in the middle of winter which was mission accomplished. Snow in October and May is not unusual which makes for a very very short growing season and it is fun to have a bit of color throughout the year (even if the color is not natural!)

Do they Look Real?

From a distance yes. 

From across the deck yes, real enough!

Up close? No.

Of course the flowers look too perfect up close to be real. The color is on point for the the white mums, especially from a distance. I think these spheres fall into the of course they do not look like real mums, but I also don't believe that is the intent due to their sphere shape! Just something a little fun, little quirky and no maintenance.


mum garden spheres with lights
After mum season, I did a little diy with tea lights which was a festive little twist for Fall fire pit season in the back yard.


Nothing of course matches real flowers! However, trading the convenience of flowers that require no maintenance is not a bad trade off either for those who love flowers, but not the labor of growing flowers.




Colors

Throughout the year different colors are offered from the traditional mum colors to garden spheres of mixed colors. I chose white the traditional white mum color with the intent of also using the mum balls at Christmas.

mum garden spheres or balls


Which I did and added lights and a few red bows. The mum now lighted Christmas balls looked very pretty with a covering of snow for the season.

Sizes

The mum spheres and other garden balls are offered in diameters from 10 inches to 21 inches! The spheres are usually sold in sets of 2 which if split can equal 4 mounds of flowers. I ordered the 10 inch set as a try and evaluate set. 

Price Point

One of the best ways to save  money is to look for the free shipping days on QVC. Another way is to look for "AS IS" items. The package of 2 AS IS spheres are offered at a 20-25 percent savings.

I plan on adding a few mum balls/garden spheres to the collection this year when free shipping and AS IS mums are offered which makes for a much more affordable price point.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, February 28, 2023

A Review of the Foodsaver Vacuum Sealing System


Foodsaver Vacuum Sealing System

Considering the price of food today, it is ridiculous to let it spoil.  It is like throwing your money in the garbage!  If you are like me, you have a lot of good intentions when it comes to the food you buy.  

Such as:

You buy a family sized package of pork chops, thinking how many meals you are going to make with all that meat and when you get home from the store, in a rush as always, you just toss it in the freezer.  Then when you want to make porkchops for dinner, you go to the freezer, only to see six porkchops frozen together in a big lump.  Now you know if you thaw them all, the ones you don't cook will probably spoil before you decide to have them again for dinner, so you just leave them in the freezer and have spaghetti instead.

This same scenario is played again and again over the next few months until that package of porkchop is darkened and dried up with freezer burn.   With regret, you take it out of the freezer and throw it in the trash.

You know this has happened to you, it has happened to all of us!  I cannot count the number of times I have bought large portions, intending to save money by meal planning, only to end up thowing it out.  It either spoils or gets lost in the freezer.  

The day I decided to change this pattern of behavior was the day I cleaned out my chest freezer when we were preparing to move.  I just could not believe the amount of freezer burned meat and other items that were in the bottom of that freezer.  The food that I ended up throwing out could have fed us for a month!.  I said right then and there, no more!!!

After much research and talking to friends, I decided to buy a Foodsaver V4400 Vacuum Sealer.  

Foodsaver Vacuum Sealer

It is their middle of the road sealing machine, not the top end or low end.  I had recently had a dozen meat chickens butchered (we moved out to the country) and I thought this would be a great time to try out our Foodsaver.  With only two of us in the house, those 12 chickens would be in the freezer for a long time and I did not want them freezer burned.

My husband and I sat down and read the directions and found them very clear and easy to understand.  We grouped the chicken pieces how we wanted to freeze them and we were off!  We were both surprised how quick and easy it was to package all that chicken.  While we were at it, we decided to package up some green beans that I had picked and cleaned the day before.  They came out beautifully.  Even after packaging all that, we still did not use up all the bags that came with the machine when we bought it.  We were impressed!


How to Use a Foodsaver Video



In case you are thinking that you only need a vacuum sealer if you raise your own chickens and garden, nothing could be further from the truth.  We also use it for cheese, lunch meat, fruit and many other things that we buy at the grocery store.  It cuts way down on food spoilage.  A block of cheese that is vacuum sealed will not mold for weeks if stored properly.  You can also vacuum seal all kinds of leftovers, from steak to Sweet and Sour Pork.  It will lengthen the shelf life of just about anything in the refrigerator.

As many bags as they did give us with the machine, they did eventually run out.  To buy more, I took a look on Amazon, and found the Foodsaver bags to be pretty pricey. However, there are perfectly good bags of other brands that work well and are less expensive.  The kind I use and like best are Reli Vacuum Sealer Bags.  You get 4 rolls of 8" wide x 50 feet long, so they can be cut to any size.

vacuum seal rolls


While a Foodsaver is not an inexpensive purchase, if you use it, I guarantee that you will save money on food and you will recover the price you paid.  You will also find that your food tastes better when stored properly.  It is definitely worth it.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, February 27, 2023

Dog Slicker Review

Rain rain go away! It's that time of year - oh wait! That is every time of year in this area of the United States where rain seems to be a year long event. The weather has been so rainy this year I decided the Fluff, aka as the dog, needed some rain attire to brave the elements.

dog slicker


I purchased the HDE Dog Rain Slicker and have not been disappointed! Easy to wear, functional, a breeze to put on and take off plus the slicker comes in a few fun colors and patterns. The slicker comes in four sizes and I chose a medium which fit true to the size chart.

Selection of Patterns and Colors

This rain slicker comes in a large selection of colors and patterns. I chose the humorous pattern for a change of pace. And --- chances are if it is raining hard enough for a dog rain coat in the northern United States a little whimsy is a good idea to brighten the mood for all. I will say dog walkers passing by do get a good chuckle out of this coat.

Function

This dog coat is more like a slicker. The coat is very lightweight, yet has enough body so that the hood will stay on. The reflective stripes are a good safety feature and the velcro makes it easy to put the coat on and take it off. 

What Does The Fluff Think?

The fluff approves of the coat! The fluff tolerates the hood. As you can see by this slightly side eye look of OK I won't protest, I don't love the hood, but I will humor you.


dog raincoat



I like the hood because the fluff is not a wash and wear dog. The fluff has real hair verses fur which means that rain equals wet hair equals blow dryer equals now we have an issue.  As the fluff has curly hair as well the hair needs to be dried to avoid matting. I appreciate the fluff cooperates with the hood for heavy rain events. If the weather is just drippy I do not always use the hood.


Recommendation

I really like this rain coat for the price and function particularly in the warm weather months in the northern United States. I reviewed a heavier rain coat which I use for the colder heavier rains earlier this year. Both coats work well all year round and are a good addition to your pet tool belt of accessories to make your life and your pet's life just a little easier and more comfortable.

More Dog Rain Coat reviews >> Yellow Dog Rain Coat reviewed





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, February 13, 2023

Favorite Donut Dog Bed Reviewed

Plush, comfy, cuddly and pup approved! Your dog may fall in love with this donut style pet calming bed after a few seconds! The donut bed by Active Pets is a bed I purchased after scouring the online reviews and I am very pleased with the purchase.

dog banner

More importantly, the furball is very very pleased with the purchase and loves to cuddle up, burrow in and snuggle in this dog bed.

Cuddle Bed

This donut bed is definitely enjoyed by dogs that love to sleep in a ball or sleep with their head perched on a ledge! The rim of the bed allows the dog to cuddle up to the side of the bed and then use the side of the bed as a fluffy pillow. 

Lightweight And Portable

The bed is easily moved whether it be from room to room, house to car or house to vacation destination. It makes a perfect snuggle spot for your furball in the car or anywhere along the way.

Size And Color

Three sizes are offered for the round shaped donut bed: small 23 inches, medium 30 inches and large 36 inches. I believe my medium sized pet could fit in the small, but glad I went with the medium as it gives the furball room to sleep in a ball or stretch its' legs if desired also. 

Both are limited in the brand I purchased. I would have liked a wash n wear navy or black color, but this manufacturer did not offer either color.

Don't Be Deceived By The Box!

The dog bed arrives in a very small box compared to the size of the actual dog bed. The bed miraculously expands after the box is opened and unpacked. 

The bed is machine washable; however, depending upon the size of your machine it could be a tight fit. The second time I washed the bed I hopped over to the local laundry mat as it just made the washing quicker and easier.

The bed has over 8,000 ratings with an average 4.5/5 stars and I agree!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, January 23, 2023

Spysee Shoe Sizer Review

Online shopping has its' positives and negatives. The number of consumers purchasing shoes and clothes online for the past few years has skyrocketed and through all the online shopping done in the past few years I have found shoes have been one of the toughest items to purchase successfully. And so began my search for an easy to use and affordable shoe sizer to use at home.

shoes on a shelf


Spysee Shoe Sizer (Foot Scale)

When looking for shoe sizers online I simply chose one of the most affordable with good reviews. The SPYSEE fit the requirements. It was also very convenient for storage as the Spysee came with its' own storage bag. The sizer has worked flawlessly and helped me figure out the proper sizing for online shoe purchases.  Rumor has it that shoe sizes change through the years and yes, the rumor is true!


shoe sizershoe sizer

Replacement Of The Tried And True

This is exactly where online shopping for shoes shines with the ease, convenience and ability for quick price comparisons at different stores. If the design of the shoe has not be changed then I highly prefer to shop online for its' replacement. Fortunately or unfortunately for consumers just like any fashion item shoe manufacturers change shoes quickly and often whether it be the design, color or the last of the shoe. 

And so comes in the problems of buying replacement shoes online! Especially with athletic shoes manufacturers tweak the designs of the shoes frequently and that change can cause a great deal of discussion and likes or no likes of their existing customer base. I have found the same where shoe 4.0 is a shoe I love and when it s time to order a replacement the company is now on shoe 4.8 and when ordered you find the shoe does not fit the same as the 4.0. Very frustrating for the consumer. 

 

Return Policy

This is key I have found is to only purchase shoes online with a company that offers free returns and easy free returns. Easy free returns are what I term the most user friendly where a pre paid label is provided and free pickup at your door. 

Carefully review the return policy prior to purchasing to ensure a hassle free return process. This is very important if the online company offers merchandise from a third party seller: many times the seller must be contacted for a return through the shipping/online company and then approve the return. It can be cumbersome and very unuser friendly.

 

Vintage Silver Foot Scale

Remember heading into the shoe department of a bricks and mortar store and finding the sparkling silver foot sizer? Ah the memories of shoe shopping old school with Mom at the iconic department stores in the area. It was always a special event to purchase new shoes! And always helped that shopping included a stop at the iconic ice cream shop for hot fudge sundaes...




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, January 9, 2023

Hallmark Wedding Veil Returns: Three Wedding Veil Sequels Reviewed

It is true! Hallmark Wedding Veil Trilogy fans are rejoicing and waiting in anticipation of the 2023 sequels to the very popular Hallmark Wedding Veil trilogy of 2022. The trilogy of movies were in the top of popularity for Hallmark in 2022.

wedding veil


Lacey Chabert announces the Hallmark premiere with her Hallmark fan Jimmy Fallon.



When and Who Stars in The Wedding Veil Sequels

The great news is the cast of the original Hallmark trilogy is returning for the 2023 movies aka as the sequel trilogy of the Wedding Veil. Lacey Chabert, Alison Sweeney and Autumn Reeser will all reprise their roles. Each will be the star of one movie with the support of the other two actresses.

January Debut

Get ready for a fun lineup of Wedding Veil sequels in January 2023. No worries if you have missed any of the movies at the debut date as Hallmark will rerun the movies throughout the month. 

Saturday, January 7th  begins with the first sequel as Lacey Chabert and Kevin McGarry return in The Wedding Veil Expectations. The teaser certainly hints to the key word of Expectations ...


Saturday, January 14th brings the next sequel with Autumn Reeser and Paolo Bernardini in The Wedding Veil Inspiration as they use their inspiration to 'do good'. 

Saturday, January 21st debut The Wedding Veil Journey with Alison Sweeney and Victor Webster as the journey includes retrospection and future choices while stranded on an island.

Wedding Veil Binge Opportunity

Mark your calendar for January 21st for a Wedding Veil viewathon. All six movies will be shown in succession ending with The Wedding Veil Journey. 

The Wedding Veil series with its' A team of Hallmark stars and solid writing is a 2023 fans can look forward to! And it can be Christmas anytime of the year with the replay of Hallmark Christmas movies ...

Hallmark Christmas Movie Reviews

More Hallmark Movie Reviews

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2022 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, December 19, 2022

Sunbeam Heated Throw Reviewed

Winter in the northern United States is well, just darn cold. After the favorite electric throw had met it's demise it was time to hunt for a replacement. This heated throw which can double as a blanket was highly rated and deservedly so!


kitten cuddled in blanket


Auto Off Feature

This is an essential feature! Automatic shut off after 3 hours. 

heated throwsunbeam heated throw

Three Levels Of Heat

Also essential is the ability to regulate the temperature.  Three level of warmth are available to regulate.

Machine Washable

Absolutely! Especially if you have fur babies (and the war will be on as to who scores the blanket to cuddle). Simply remove the cords and controller and the throw can be washed.  The throw also comes in a solid color vs one side solid/serpa.


Micro Fabric

I like the soft, plush and cushy micro fabric for the cold northern months. Flannel is nice and works well also, but there is something about a cuddly plush throw on a cold winter night. The throw is 50 by 60 inches.

Warranty

Five year limited warranty is included. As always, carefully read the directions when using an electric heated throw/blanket for the safety directions.

Reviews

This electric throw/blanket has over 10,000 positive reviews!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, December 12, 2022

Favorite Gadgets of 2022 Reviewed

It's end of the year gadget review time! Yes the end of the year is always a great time for the gadget fans to review the great finds of the year and also a great time to perhaps give a few of those gadget winners as Christmas gifts. I love a good gadget, but I love even more a gadget which has been tested and has made it into the winner category.

christmas gnome with gifts


Favorite Gadgets And Reviews 2022

5 cup Coffee Mini Brew by Wednesday Elf

Another perfectly sized gadget which is just my size! Actually I am not a fan of coffee, but cannot exclude the coffee drinkers in a home. This mini brew is not only mini sized per cup I love it requires a small footprint for the counter top.

Coleman Camp Oven Review by Renaissance Woman

As gadgets go this may be one of the most flexible and valuable! If you live in an area where the power grid can be sketchy, this is an item of interest. A mini oven whose first intent was a portable oven for camping by as the reviewer discovered became invaluable at home during a power outage. What a fabulous gift for a camping friend!


Portable DVD Player by Sylvestermouse

Yes! What a great idea and stocking stuffer for those with DVD's- yes, raise your hand if your house still owns DVD's but no longer has a DVD player! This portable gadget is great for travel and an easy and convenient way to watch your favorite DVD's.


Flex Seal Reviewed by Sam

Liquid rubber in a can with so many darn uses! Who knew. I used this to repair a pesky little hole in a gutter that was being a problem child. I used the spray version of the flex seal to spray the area I knew the hole existed. Voila! Problem solved. 


Badminton Set by Olivia Morris

Whoa! The fun fun memories reading this review brought back of badminton in the yard. The sets have come along way and now portable badminton sets are available. What a great holiday gift this would be (hint hint!) 

Silcone Mini Molds by the Savvy Age

silicone mini molds

Definitely a winner for in the baking category! A very good price point for a large set of molds perfect to make mini desserts, mini appetizers and even mini meatloafs. 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, November 14, 2022

A Cozy Christmas Inn: Hallmark Christmas Movie Review

Garland is back! Yes, one of our favorite Christmas Hallmark towns in Alaska has made a resurgence in a new must see Hallmark Christmas movie A Cozy Christmas Inn.

cozy christmas
If the words, "It's Garland, you know" ring familiar from your Hallmark Christmas movie past that you will undoubtedly be delighted the town and its' main characters (including Garland) have returned.

The sequel to Christmas Under Wraps

 Always a Hallmark favorite and in my top ten of Hallmark Christmas movies with Candace Cameron Bure and David O'Donnell is Christmas Under Wraps. Candace plays a city doctor transported without choice to practice in Garland - the Alaska town which is all about Christmas in true Hallmark style.

David O'Donnell returns as Andy to A Cozy Christmas Inn and fills the viewers in with referenced remarks to the first movie. But no worries for new viewers, the references are a veiled wink to the first movie and not needed for anyone to enjoy this fun Hallmark Christmas movie.

Jodie Sweetin ironically replaces Candace Cameron Bure as the love interest for Andy! Andy has traded his plane in for architecture and refurbishing a country inn. Jodie Sweetin arrives representing a possible purchaser and who knew, who could predict, but of course the two have a history.... and off we go for a traditional tried and true Hallmark Christmas movie.

Who Is Back?

Andy

Andy's dad (who just happens to heavily resemble Santa)

Hattie and the coffee shop

The theme music, one of the best for Hallmark

Garland town

The "shipping company" and the "elves"

Jeans lined with sweatpant material and the general store

Stars, pilots and airplanes - shoewear, heels, and boots

Mark your viewing calendars for Christmas Under Wraps and A Cozy Christmas Inn this holiday Hallmark season. Both Hallmark movies with A actors, A chemistry and overall grade of Hallmark A!

More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

You, Me & The Christmas Trees by The Savvy Age

A New Year's Resolution by Cynthia 

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, October 24, 2022

Noel Next Door Review: Hallmark Christmas Movie

Hallmark begins the Christmas movie season with the premier of Noel Next Door starring Natalie Hall and Corey Sevier. Get ready for the tried and true Hallmark Christmas theme with neighbors, Grinches and the holiday season.

christmas movies review banner


Noel is the next door neighbor who is attempting to reestablish her life with her young son. Jeremy is the Grinch next door neighbor with medical challenges as he attempts to navigate the season along with his grouchy holiday attitude. 

As the two neighbors unknowingly interact outside of the neighborhood, the misunderstood neighborhood Grinch and Noel begin to establish a friendship and you know what happens in Hallmark movies!

Chemistry And Christmas Grinches

The key to any Hallmark Christmas movie or any Hallmark movie is the chemistry. Noel and Jeremy have good banter and believable chemistry. The storyline is Hallmark, nuff said which is why... Hallmarkies love Christmas Hallmark movies. 

Overall I'd rate Noel Next Door a Hallmark B. Worth watching, but probably not on the rewatch list. And if you know Hallmarkies, rewatching is also key to Hallmark Christmas movie season!

More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

You, Me & The Christmas Trees by The Savvy Age

A New Year's Resolution by Cynthia 

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, October 10, 2022

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2022 Reviewed

 It's time! Hallmark Christmas 2022 Movies have arrived! Time to move aside the pumpkins and bring on the Christmas Hallmark movies.


Hallmark Christmas movie season includes the beloved Hallmark favorites from years past and begins October 21, 2022. Movies will air on both the Hallmark Channel and Hallmark Movies and Mysteries channel.

girl with a reindeer





The 2022 Hallmark Christmas Movie Schedule has been released and here are a few to look forward to! There will be 31 new movies on Hallmark and 9 new for Hallmark Movies & Mysteries channel.

A Holiday Spectacular 

The Radio City Rockettes and Radio City Music Hall will be featured! Sounds ... spectacular. Join Ginna Clair Mason, Derek Klena, Ann Margaret and Eve Plumb on this wonderful journey through New York at Christmas with the Rockettes playing a pivotal role.

Jolly Good Christmas

London background with a Hallmark favorite lead! Will Kemp and Reshma Shetty will provide the rom com chemistry as Hallmark fans experience London, shopping, and gift choices at Christmas. Fans will remember Will Kemp from his Hallmark movie Christmas Waltz with Lacey Chabert.

Haul Out The Holly

Lacey Chabert is back for her 12th Hallmark Christmas movie. It wouldn't be with Lacey! In this movie she teams with a Hallmark favorite Wes Brown and Lacey plays abit off type as she is the reluctant Christmas fan and the campaign ensues to bring her on board for Christmas fun.

A Cozy Christmas Inn

Jodie Sweetin (Full House) and David O'Donnell brave Alaska, Bed and Breakfast's and Christmas as exes thrown together ... its' a Hallmark movie, I think we know the rest of the storyline (yeah!)! O'Donnell might also be noticed as the lead in the top ten Hallmark Christmas movie Christmas Under Wraps with Candace Cameron Bure, also in Alaska! Full circle with Hallmark, Full House and Alaska!

Full Hallmark Schedule for Christmas 2022 is >>> Here 

There will be three all new movies each weekend night on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Released for Christmas In July 2022

My Grown Up Christmas List - Kevin McGarry and Kayla Wallace navigate the military and the holidays as their connection grows.

Campfire Christmas - Tori Anderson and Corbin Bleu rekindle a romance as their families reunite for fun, romance and campfires at the families' Christmas In July annual celebration.

Christmas In Toyland -Jesse Hutch and Vanessa Lengies star in this Christmas tale revolving around a toy store and its' importance for a town.

Jesse Hutch you may recall from his pairing with Candace Cameron Bure in the classic Let It Snow Hallmark movie.

More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

You, Me & The Christmas Trees by The Savvy Age

A New Year's Resolution by Cynthia 

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia


Where To Find Hallmark Christmas Movies?


If your cable subscription includes Hallmark channels then Hallmark Channel is available with the Hallmark Everywhere App. Your cable subscription username and password will be needed to log in.

 Hallmark Movies Now  is a streaming service for a monthly fee. A seven day free trial is available to give the channel a no obligation spin.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Reviews Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWomanThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoTracey BoyerLou16BarbRadBev OwensBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsHeather426Coletta TeskeMissMerFaeryMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X