Showing posts with label The Savvy Age. Show all posts
Showing posts with label The Savvy Age. Show all posts

Monday, June 27, 2022

Favorite Utility Gloves Review: Ironclad Gloves

One of my absolute favorite finds for working around the home, lawn or garden are my Ironclad Utility Gloves. When I needed to replace my garden gloves last year I visited my local Ace Hardware store and found these fabulous gloves in the garden/utility glove section.



It is pretty rare to pair fabulous with gloves so this is probably an indication of how happy I am to have found these gloves! They have become a go to staple for work around the house, garage, lawn and garden. So versatile, so comfy, affordable and practical.

Comfort And Fit

The Ironclad Gloves are sized which I think make ALL the difference for a comfortable fit. No more swimming in garden gloves. True to fit. The gloves have velcro straps around the wrist to ensure a solid fit and keep out all those stray yard clippings and dirt from gardening.

Washable

Yes! The gloves are washable! I used these gloves for gardening with wet spring mud and the gloves washed beautifully. But the gloves must be hung dry!

Nimble

One of the best features of these gloves is the nimble feel for using with power tools, rakes and shovels. Particularly with power tools that require you to hold down a button while pressing another button to operate the tool. The gloves allow you to easily and comfortably operate small buttons or levers on power tools. 

Strength & Durability

So strong, so durable yet so lightweight. The Ironclad gloves are first and foremost  utility gloves that I happen to also use in the garden. If you have any type of plants with thorns, prickers or sharp edges these gloves work wonderfully.

Recommendation

I highly recommend the Ironclad Gloves for the home and yard. You will not be disappointed in the quality and versatility of these gloves. 

Where To Find Locally

My first stop to shop local is always my local Ace Hardware. This is where I originally found the gloves and their recommendation was spot on.

Ace Hardware Reviews

Ace Hardware Review by Wednesday Elf

My Favorite Local Ace Hardware by The Savvy Age









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, June 13, 2022

Windaze Pressure Power Washer Review

 Spring and summer in the Northern United Stated is go time for all outdoor projects! And there seems to be no end to the "To Do" list. Last year I garden sat for a neighbor and loved the hose attachment which allowed you to water a garden 100 feet away from the house without having to leave the patio.



The neighbor highly recommended the wand attachment to the garden hose which doubles as a watering tool, power washer and window washing accessory. Need to wash the wheels of your car? Wash the windows and doors of the house? Water your plants? This is a very versatile hose attachment.

Power

The Windaze is very powerful and the spray can be adapted easily to match your watering needs. Gentle spray for delicate plants or newly planted areas to stronger spray for well established areas.


If using for the home or on the home the spray can be adjusted to match the job. I have used the Windaze to clean off  decks, garage floors, power wash pavers as well as for the lawn and garden.

Reach

Very powerful and the reach of the water is incredible. I can water the far back of the yard and now be standing at the house with the water spigot. Those with older homes (some call vintage, some may call well, old) might notice the actual water spigot are few and far between and the locations are in relation to the infrastructure. This means the spigots on many homes are not located near the actual garden!

The Windaze gives you the reach without much effort to water the far reaches of the lawn or garden without having to drag hoses out or hook up connector hoses due to distance from the spigot.

Lightweight

I like the added power but without adding weight to a hose. Traditional green hoses can be very heavy especially when you need to use long hoses and have to move the hoses around the lawn. The windaze is very light and so light in fact I forgot I had attached it to the hose.

Hanging plants are no problem to water with the Windaze. So easy for summer drought watering!

Recommendation

The Windaze promises as delivers. The price point works to add this handy watering accessory to your toolbox for power washing, home cleaning and gardening.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, May 23, 2022

Back To The Roots Garden Bag Review

It is gardening season and the hunt continues for economical and easy to use garden pots, containers or bags. This year I chose to try the Back To The Roots Garden Bag and am already loving it!



Lightweight  & Flexible

Nicely constructed and oh so lightweight! Lightweight without dirt of course; however, there are two handles at either end should you need to move the bag. The bag also slides easily.



I used my garden bag or planter dirt trick and used recycled to fill the bag about three quarters and then filled the remainder with dirt. This works great if planting annuals which have short or shorter roots. It is a short growing season in the upper midwest so many container garden with annuals, but these bags are definitely deep enough to plant vegetables or robust root tomato plants.



Filling the bag with old shipping materials and newspapers is a great way to reuse and reduce. I put the materials in a plastic bag and then seal the bag so water does not enter. I have done this for years and works like a charm while also saving money on buying dirt. Even if water does enter the bag I've never had any buggy surprises, just wet packing materials.

Give Back

The Back To The Roots Bag also comes with a charity give back of Grow One, Give One. A gardening kit and STEM curriculum will be given to an elementary classroom of that you can choose! by simply posting a social media photo of your raised garden bed.

What Can I Grow?

The general guidelines which come with the garden bag are PER each square foot section:

6-8 small root veggies

3-4 herbs or leafy green plants

1 large vegetable

I plan on using the three sections for 1 tomato plant, mixed herbs and probably a container type tomato plant.

Recommendation

I already love this garden bag and the three separate sections. So much handier than when I had single garden bags. The size is perfect for a deck or patio or container garden: not too deep and not too wide. I could easily put two bags side by side which would be six sections to plant.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, May 9, 2022

Carewell: The Caregivers Shop Review

Carewell: The Caregivers Shop is an online shop I found and used when assisting a family member to recover from surgery. This shop was a wonderful resource and their ability to ship quickly in the midst of a snowstorm was impressive!



Selection

Carewell carries all the major brands you will recognize, but the difference is the wide selection per product. Whether it be flavors, sizes, the medium or products you didn't even know were offered, the choices are voluminous. This makes shopping so much easier and definitely gives the shopper so many more options which helps to provide exemplary care.

Shipping

Quick! Very very quick even when one part of the order was caught in a snowstorm mid route. The communication was on point and efficient to give notice of the package arrival. Free 1-2 shipping is available for orders beginning at $49.00. The quantity of each product offered is similar to a big box store like Costco or Sam's Club.

Bridges The Gap

The selection at Carewell's helps bridge the gap between items which are necessary, but not easily (if at all) available for in person purchase at a bricks and mortar store. I was surprised to find a product I found at the local drugstore actually came in many more sizes and flavors, but only found online at Carewell. Phone assistance is available 24/7 to help with product selection if needed.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, April 25, 2022

Dog Raincoat Reviewed

April showers is so true in this state. Every year this northern state seems to have a very rainy, very muddy spring with a few days of monsoon like rains.  The battle is real if you own a dog with the elements. Just when the coast is almost clear after battling a snowy winter in comes spring rains like the proverbial lion.

Spring is not the dog owner's best friend. After a few very soggy outings I decided to try out a dog raincoat I had seen a few dogs successfully wear. As every dog owner will attest, every dog has their own distinct personality, likes, loves and quirks. 
I'd consider the raincoat falling into that category of  I will give it a try, but will it fly with the Fluff?

Wash And Wear Dogs

The Fluff is a nickname referring to a dog that needs to be "fluffed" due to the dog having hair verse fur. The Fluff  is not a wash and wear dog. Rain makes the Fluff look pretty much like a very large rat. It is not pretty. 

However, the reality of not being a wash and wear dog is a wet Fluff must then be dried with a hair dryer (that is an event) and the hair blown out (that is an event) so the curly hair does not mat. All of the above is an EVENT and requires much labor, a few temper tantrums and lots of treats. Enter the rain coat.


Overall the rain coat delivers as promised. Very easy to put on and take off. The coat provides great coverage from the rain and keeps the entire back rain free. There is a small opening along the back to hook a leash should the dog be wearing a harness which is very convenient.  I put the rain coat on over the harness. I have also put the raincoat on over a harness and a dog sweater!  

Along with the very bright yellow the coat also has reflective stripes to ensure the dog can be seen at night or in cloudy weather. My one concern was the hood...

The Hood

The hood is flexible! It can be worn up or down just like a human's rain coat. I was a little skeptical about how the Fluff would react to the hood. The opening of the hood attaches under the dog's chin with a velcro closure. What was nice and practical is the bottom closure of the hood is not tight around the dogs' muzzle and I believe allows the dog to wear the hood without feeling constrained or like a tight hat.

The Fluff Approves

The Fluff actually likes the rain coat! Who would have known! The coat is easy to put on with a velcro strap which goes under the dogs belly. The hood has another velcro opening. Quick, easy, no muss, no fuss. The coat goes on in a flash and provides great coverage to keep the majority of the dog rain free in even the heaviest of down pours.

Is your dog hood friendly? Well, on a scale of hat friendly aka I will wear whatever my owner puts on my head the Fluff is about a 9/10 on the laid back wearing hats scale. Yes, the hood does occasionally generate a side eye look of "Oh, it's that thing... again." But ok and off he goes into the rain with hood. 

As with any dog coat, hat, sweater it is of course up to the dog if the accessory is acceptable! Because the coat is not tight or restrictive and is light weight I think there is a good chance the rain coat would be accepted by your furball.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, April 11, 2022

Orbit B-hyve Smart Hose Wifi Review

No sprinkler system? Sprinkler system envy this year? If you have to water a large area of land or just regularly water a garden bed then a wifi controlled hose timer may be for you. Newly planted landscaping definitely need attentive watering and a hose timer can be a great time saver to expedite watering.


After a large revamp of the garden beds this year it was clear the area needed frequent watering and it was also clear the location of the outdoor water faucets did not correspond with the area needing watering. Many hoses and hose extensions would be required along with constant monitoring and moving of the sprinklers.

I researched quite a few remote controlled or Wifi controlled hose timers in order to expedite the watering of the garden beds. Of course remote controlled hoses do not spare the gardener from moving the hoses! Pro Tip: End the watering by leaving the hose/hose timer in the area that needs the most water, then you can remotely start watering that area the next day.

  

Pros Of The B-Hyve

  • Easy to setup
  • Wifi "hub" is a plug in unit
  • Phone App
  • Easy to water manually via app
  • Available in one, two or four zones
  • Alexa compatible


Cons of The B-Hyve

  • This is not necessarily a con, but the app contains alot of bells and whistles to customize a watering schedule.
  • Wifi "hub" is a plug in unit so if you lose electricity and/Wifi the timer will not work
  • When the remaining battery life is 30% the timer cannot be engaged via app

Recommendation
The B-Hyve Smart Hose Timer has worked flawlessly for this home. The unit has 4.5/5.0  stars with over 4,000 reviews on Amazon and the reviewers were accurate. I chose the one zone unit and never had any issues with its' performance. 
This would be a great gift for the gardener! One of those I always wanted, but have never bought... purchases!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, March 28, 2022

Tiny Showcase Review

Tuesday is tiny artist day on the Tiny Showcase! The tiny showcase is a fabulous showcase for the independent artist offering small scale and affordable art for all.  



The About page eloquently and accurately captures the vibe of Tiny Showcase "We remain a quiet island" and can't we all appreciate a quiet island! What a wondrous resource the online gallery of the tiny showcase. I find it so refreshing and just darn fun to browse the current art as well as the archives from prior years.
 

Tuesday is Tiny Day!

Every Tuesday limited editions of tiny art by one artist is released. Prospective customers or browsers can sign up for the email notification as a gentle reminder. I love viewing the selections each week. Some may be my taste, some may challenge my taste or some may be a perfect gift. 

Each art piece can be customized on the order form according to your preference. The selections include unframed, framed with mat, framed in maple. Art pieces from prior years (if not sold out) are also available in the archive shop. It is always great to find a new artist then discover the artist may just be new to you and then find prior pieces you may be interested in purchasing or viewing via the archive shop.

 

Does Tiny Showcase Only Feature Art?

For years I have followed and purchased art from Tiny Showcase. The products have expanded in recent years from tiny art to also include: stationary, cards, puzzles, toys, textiles and wearable art. Diversity is wise and the theme of affordable independent art continues whether the purchase is art or art on a card!

Gift cards are also offered to help keep Tiny Showcase a tiny showcase for online curated independent art.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, March 14, 2022

Book Review: The Flavor Bible


Do you love to tweak recipes? Create recipes? Love the tried and true family recipes, but sometimes you are in the mood to modify the recipes? Maybe add a little X with a little Y and see what happens?

The Flavor Bible is for you! And I wish I had found this book earlier in my recipe tweaking career (though don't we all have recipes which need NO tweaking! and mine are usually from Grandma!)  However, The Flavor Bible by Karen Page and Andrew Dornenburg is a wonderful resource for recipe creators and tweakers of all talents and cooking levels.



Wow! Now that is a mouthful! But do not be put off by the title. Described as an "empowerment tool" in laymans' terms this book deep dives into ingredients and suggests pairings. I am a self taught cook and while certain ingredients I know from experience pair well I have found when I want to create or tweak a recipe my knowledge is lacking. 

For the I usually use X ingredient in this recipe and X ingredient is no where to be found in the kitchen and it is midnight ... now what? Before you cruise on over to google this book will have your answer! For the I love this dish, but I'd love to tweak it - but with ??? Sweet, savory, herbs or spices this book will have a wealth of ideas.

Organization Of The Book

Clean, clear, concise and to the point! The book is organized by ingredient first which makes looking for pairing so much quicker and easier. The related tips, suggestion and stories regarding that specific ingredient are then included in the same area. Very reader friendly and intuitive.

The Tips and The Stories

The book is full of gems of stories from renowned chefs as well as useful culinary tips that any chef or cook can appreciate and use. The stories bring the reader into the lives of the chefs at different phases of their career in different locales and restaurants.

The Holy Grail Of Pairings

While the book is full of possible and/or suggested pairings there are a few designated pairing denoted with caps and bold letters which are the "holy grail" to use the authors' words. These pairing have received the most votes by the panel of experts.

This is very helpful if you are not in the mood to do major recipe tweaking, are time challenged or prefer to begin recipe creating with the tried and true to build upon. I find it is easy to build flavors by beginning with pairings that will work when using ingredients for the first time.

The intent of the book is to spark your creativity and be a helpful resource; the book succeeds on both levels and I can see why this book was named on the Th Best Cookbooks in the World of the last 100 years list.

The Flavor Bible also won a James Beard award in 2009, yes that James Beard award! Not a chef, not a restaurant, a book!

Highly Recommend

I highly recommend The Flavor Bible! I consider this book a must and wish I had found it earlier in my recipe tweaking career. A great gift for anyone who likes to cook with a little creativity!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, February 28, 2022

The Wedding Veil Trilogy: Hallmark Movie Review

Who doesn't love a Hallmark movie Trilogy?! Welcome to the The Wedding Veil Trilogy a romcom which helps ease the way through a snowy February here in the midwest. Three tried and true Hallmark starts led by Lacey Chabert as the actor, developer and executive producer bring the mystery of the wedding veil to life and leaves the viewer eagerly awaiting each part of the trilogy.



The story behind the mysterious vintage wedding veil is the fourth star of the trilogy as we travel along with three long time girlfriends and how the wedding veil they discovered and purchased on their annual girls trip brings future fun, intrigue and romance.

As usual with a Hallmark movie the believability of the storyline does tend to lie with the chemistry. The three movies in the trilogy have an abundance of chemistry between each of the female co stars along with their respective love interests. Movie 2 of the trilogy was filmed in Italy and the authenticity is not only believable, but gorgeous!

Hallmark fans should keep an eye out for the movies which are currently being replayed and will continue to stream on the Hallmark channel this month (and I suspect much longer due to their popularity already!)

Movie 1 The Wedding Veil Lacey Chabert & Kevin McGarry

Movie 2 The Wedding Veil Unveiled Autumn Reeser & Paolo Bernardini

Movie 3 The Wedding Veil Legacy Allison Sweeney & Victor Webster

 

Watch The Stars Chat about the Movies 

View on Youtube here >> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jN5JDDU4uLw


Do I need to watch the Wedding Veil movies in order?

I don't believe it is necessary to watch the movies in order! A recap of the interweaving veil theme is given at the beginning of each movie and is self explanatory. While related via the veil, the characters of each movie and the storyline can easily stand alone. 

 

More Hallmark Movie Reviews

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, February 14, 2022

Hallmark Christmas In February Movies Reviewed

What's a better way to spend a cold winter night than with a little Hallmark Christmas movie magic? Grab the hot cocoa, a fuzzy wrap and snuggle in for Hallmark Christmas In February Movies. Great way to catch up on those Christmas movie gems you may have missed in prior years.



One of the advantages since Hallmark has embraced the Christmas movie is the huge selection of movies available. The themes are traditional Hallmark and that is indeed part of the charm if you are a fan. No surprises here with a usual happy ending and that indeed is also part of the charm!

 Yes, I have watched alot of Hallmark Christmas movies. There are a few favorites which always come to mind when I think of Hallmark Christmas movies. Enjoy this compilation of Hallmark Christmas movies I rate highly. Hallmark delivers as promised and that is also part of their charm!

Favorite Royal Themed Hallmark Christmas Movies

Top Three:

Tied at Number 1

1. A Crown For Christmas with Danica McKellar and Rupert Penry -Jones (2015)

1. A Royal Christmas with Lacey Chabert and Stephan Hagan (2014)

3. One Royal Holiday with Laura Osnes and Aaron Tveit (2020)

Favorite Road trip Hallmark Christmas Movies

1. A Christmas Detour with Candace Cameron Bure and Paul Greene (2015)

2. Cross Country Christmas with Rachel Leigh Cook and Greyston Holt (2021)

3. A Christmas To Remember with Mira Sorvino and Cameron Mathison (2016)

Favorite I Traveled Across The Country Hallmark Christmas Movies

A Very Merry Mix Up with Alicia Witt and Mark Wiebe (2013)

Christmas Under Wraps with Candace Cameron Bure and David O'Donnell (2014)

Christmas In Homestead with Taylor Cole and Michael Rady (2016)

Let It Snow with Candace Cameron Bure and Jesse Hutch (2013)

Favorite Christmas Party Hallmark Christmas Movies

Good Morning Christmas with Allison Sweeney and Marc Blucas (2020)

Christmas Wishes and Mistletoe Kisses with Jill Wagner and Matthew Davis (2020)

Christmas At Castle Hart (2021) with Lacey Chabert and Stewart Townsend

Favorite Hallmark Christmas Movies With Dance As A Theme

The Christmas Waltz with Lacey Chabert and Will Kemp (2020)

A Nutcracker Christmas with Amy Acker, Sascha Radetsky (2016)

Come Dance With Me with Andrew McCarthy and Michelle Nolden (2013)

Favorite Hallmark Christmas Movie Series & Sequels

Cast: Ashley Williams, Paul Greene,  Mark Deklin, Jill Wagner, Maggie Lawson,  Malcolm Stewart, Holly Robinson Peete, Marcus Rosner, Teddy Sears.

Christmas In Evergreen (2017)

Christmas In Evergreen: Letters To Santa (2018)

Christmas In Evergreen: Tidings To Joy (2019)





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, January 24, 2022

Cozilife Silicone Egg Poacher Reviewed

Why Are making poached eggs so tough? Well at least for some and I include myself in the group of egg challenged egg poachers. That is a mouthful! Sad, but true. I was harkening back to the days when my Grandma made the perfect poached eggs where the yolk was the perfect runny, not too runny, but toast dipping perfect runny.



Being realistic I decided to investigate if there is an easier way to poach eggs with a high degree of success and came upon the Cozilife Silicon Egg Poacher Cups. This sounded right in my lane of egg expertise and I so I embarked upon the journey to make a poached egg in about 30 seconds.

Learning Curve

There is a slight learning curve with the egg poacher as the success does depend upon the strength of the microwave. Just like stove burners and ovens each accomplishes the task, but the length of time does vary. The same holds true with the egg poacher. 

The timing for each microwave is just a little different. A few seconds does make a difference with the egg poacher as a few seconds can determine the difference between a soft runny yolk or a semi hard yolk or a hard boiled egg!

I suggest using doing an experimentation trial with a few eggs and your microwave. It will quickly be apparent if the egg is poached to your satisfaction. 

Cooking Spray Is A Necessity

The silicone poaching cups as recommended by many users should be sprayed with a very light coating of cooking spray. This ensures the egg is easily released from the cup when done. I also used a dab of butter on the bottom of the cup (as also recommended by users) and enjoyed the little extra butter added to the egg.


Also a necessity is using a toothpick to poke holes in the egg yolk prior to cooking. If the holes are not made the yolk will blow up like a balloon. Needless to say that is not the goal! Interesting to watch, but definitely not poached. 

The egg cups can also be used on the stove with a pan of water to make poached eggs. Directions are included with the egg cups on making poached eggs two ways.

Hard Boiled Eggs

Yes! The cups can poach eggs, but can also make really quick hard boiled eggs. What a time saver and no need to use a pan or deal with peeling egg shells. 

I love the versatility of the egg cups as they can double as baking molds too. I see mini cakes in the future with the baking cups. The cups are also versatile in that since the cooking time is so short the 4 cups can easily be made to order per person in the family. After all as any egg cooker knows - everyone likes their egg just a little different! Once persons over easy is another person's fried. And so it goes.

I will say noone made better poached eggs than Grandma old style, old school! But for this egg poaching hack, the silicon cups made me want to make poached eggs!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, January 10, 2022

Souper Cubes Reviewed

Comfort food equals a yummy bowl or two or three of soup in this house! Anytime of the year I love to make soup and then freeze the leftovers in individual sized containers. This is where things become a little labor intensive and the search is on for plastic containers to freeze the soup. Containers which are sturdy, freezer friendly and with a lid. Seems like a simple search except that matching lids seems to disappear like socks in the laundry. 


This is when my online search began to replenish my supply of individual sized containers for homemade soup. I found the Souper Cubes with over a cumulative 5/5 review score of over 5,000 reviews and I was not disappointed.

Souper Cubes Pros

At first glance the cost was a consideration as this was much more of an expenditure than plastic containers, but the Souper Cubes have delivered as promised. This product is a thoughtful design with the soup lover and soup freezer in mind.

  • Easy
  • Space saver in the freezer - definitely yes!
  • Convenient
  • Stackable - can stack two trays on top of each other in the freezer which is 8 cups of soup!
  • Portable - can pop a frozen soup cube in a bag or container to warm and eat away from home
  • Dishwasher Safe - a must!
  • BPA free
  • Food and Freezer Safe - of course!
  • The product literature states the product is also oven safe up to 415 degrees (excluding the lid)- I have not tried this and do not foresee trying this in the future either.
Each section has a measuring mark for 1 cup and 1/2 cup.


I did not find any cons to the product with the initial concern over the the price in comparison to plastic containers with lids. However, there is no comparison as this product is in its' own niche and with the sturdy quality construction I view this as a long term kitchen investment verses disposable plastic containers with a limited use life. 

Recommendation For Souper Cubes

I would add another 5/5 stars for the Souper Cubes. One tray is perfect to freeze 4 cups of leftover soup which is perfect. The cubes are easy to pop out of the tray for individual servings. I also envision using the trays for chili, chowder and stew. For those who love to make soup and freeze the leftovers this is a great companion or replacement to individual size containers and saves so much space in the freezer.

Souper Cubes come in various sizes. I chose the two pack which is 4 one cup servings per tray. The cubes also come in 1/2 cup trays and 2 cup trays. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, December 27, 2021

Favorite Gadgets Of 2021

What a year! 2021 has been quite the year. I always love a good gadget and the end of the year is a great time to look for sales on gadgets you have been eyeballing and bookmarking, but haven't purchased. Also a wonderful way to spend holiday gift cards!




Petcakes



This little gadget to make bone shaped cakes was a winner! Easy to make, easy to microwave and the furballs loved this little cake. The bone mold is reusable all year long to make your furball its' own personalized birthday cake.

Solar Lights by Aootek



This solar light has been a trooper all year long in a state which struggles with alot of sun. That is the true test of solar lights. I've purchased a few in the past which did not hold up well to the test - no sun = no light. Not this solar light as it is a powerhouse and comes through with or without sun to power it.

Red Flyer Wagon by Sam Monaco

Who doesn't love a cute little red wagon! Practical, purposeful and just darn fun! Cherish old memories and make new ones with the classic Radio Red Wagon.

Mini Blender Chopper by Barbara Trembly Cipak

This handy gadget is a must have! I wholeheartedly agree that counter top space is at a premium and only gadgets that deserve a spot must be on the gadget winner list. This Black and Decker gadget has been going strong for 15 years - nuff said!

Garden Gnomes by Wednesday Elf

Do you have a soft spot for garden gnomes? I do. Quirky, fun and symbols of good luck. Find out where to find gnomes of all types with a guide by the Elf.

DIY Cat Bed by Renaissance Woman

What a great idea! Upcycle a drawer into a cat bed (fit for a queen!) Renaissance Woman can upcycle anything into a stylish addition to your household all while utilizing what was old is new again!

The 3$ Hack To Save Charging Cords by Margaret Schindel

Yes, this DIY Hack featuring Sugru, a moldable rubber glue, can preserve your charging cords. Learn how in Margaret's detailed tutorial!

Camera Lens Cap Holder by SylvesterMouse

This is a must have gadget for those using DSLR cameras! A handy gadget to keep track of your lens cap. I cannot tell you the amount of time (it adds up!) I spend searching for the lens cap I was sure I put in a safe place - or did I? Search no more with this practical and necessary gadget.

Electric Kettle Review by Dawn Rae

This review definitely put the electric kettle on my post Christmas search list. This easy to use and practically sized kettle is prefect for the office! 

Aging Gracefully Tools by Olivia Morris

A very practical guide to assist all in our lives who may need a little extra help navigating the home. Olivia guides you through a few of the most useful gadgets to make life just a little easier!

Power XL Air Fryer by Mary Beth Granger

If you've been thinking of buying an air fryer (me!), Mary Beth gives a thorough review of her new air fryer along with photos of new recipes that already look like winners. With so many different types of air fryers on the market it is so difficult to choose; the Power XL is a combo air fryer and slow cooker which sounds like a winning combo.

Fun & Fab Book Accessories by Treasures by Brenda

Fun & Fab is right! Enjoy a variety of book accessories perfect for all the readers in your life. Fun gifts and unique bookends will delight the book lovers of all ages. 

Lemon Pod Keeper by Lou 16

Fresh lemon fans take note of this Lemon Pod review to keep your fresh lemons fresh! The lemon pod adjusts to the size of lemon to increase its' flexibility.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, December 13, 2021

Four Favorite Classic Christmas Movies Reviewed

So many Christmas movies, specials and songs! It can be difficult to sift through the Christmas content available to find the winners. Old school Christmas classics are the best and bring back or make the memories.



These are my four favorite classic Christmas movies that I look forward to viewing every year. The classics are available on DVD or can be streamed on Amazon Prime.

Rudolph The Red Nose Reindeer

Rudolph and Clarice are not a pair without Burl Ives! The classic 1964 Rudolph with Animagic animation and the memorable holiday songs of "A Holly Jolly Christmas" "We're A Couple Of Misfits" and "Silver and Gold".  

Fun fact: Rudolph was honored with a postage stamp in 2014 to mark the 50th Anniversary.

The Little Drummer Boy

Another stop motion classic with a very thoughtful message which resonates today. While the animation is typical of its' era and cannot compare to the animation of today; the ending is unforgettable and thought provoking.

"Do You Hear What I Hear" along with "The Little Drummer Boy" songs remain Christmas classics.

Fun fact: Based on original song title Carol Of the Drum sang by the Trapp Family Singers (Sound Of Music)

Frosty The Snowman

Jimmy Durante provided the classic narration for the original Frosty in 1969. Frosty had four sequels through the years, but who can compete with Durante!

Fun Fact: Frosty the Snowman has made the music charts over six times since 1966 with a variety of artists including Jimmy Durante, Perry Como, Nat King Cole.

The Grinch Who Stole Christmas

Who does not love the Grinch! and Dr. Seuss! The 1966 animated film is the best! Boris Karloff is the narrator not to be forgotten as the Grinch navigates Christmas.

Fun Fact: The Grinch Who Stole Christmas has been adapted over five times since the original.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 22, 2021

Sweet Potato Souffle Reviewed

 All time favorite side dish for Thanksgiving is my families' Sweet Potato Souffle. Light, fluffy and just darn yummy! Serve it as a side dish or serve it for dessert - this recipe is just that flexible.





A very easy recipe and no worries about the "Souffle" in the title as this is a quasi souffle and is a no fail recipe. As older family recipes tend to roll, real butter and whole milk is used.

How To Make Sweet Potato Souffle

Ingredients

3 sweet potatoes

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup milk

1 beaten egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 cup melted butter

a dash of salt

Directions

350 degrees, serves 6-8

  1. Grease a two quart glass baking dish.
  2. Boil sweet potatoes until fork tender. Cool.
  3. Peel the sweet potatoes.
  4. Mash the sweet potatoes to a smooth consistency. I use a ricer to ensure the potatoes are very smooth in consistency.
  5. Add the sugar, milk, butter, egg, vanilla and salt.
  6. Mix well.
  7. Pour sweet potato mixture into the baking dish.
  8.  Bake for 40 minutes, 350 degrees.
Serve as a side dish or dessert! Sprinkle with raisins or nuts for an optional, but fun twist. This sweet potato dish pairs well with holiday ham too! Enjoy...



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 8, 2021

You, Me & The Christmas Trees: Hallmark Movie Review

The Hallmark Christmas Movie season begins with an evergreen SOS in You, Me & The Christmas Trees as the lead off movie for 2021. Of course romance ensues as the evergreen mystery unfolds and a solution must be found in time for Christmas!


A Christmas tree emergency brings Tree Whisperer Danica McKellar as Olivia to the town of Avon to save a families Christmas tree farm. Benjamin Ayres plays Jack, whose tree farm is in jeopardy due to a mysterious disease which is attacking his Christmas trees. Scientist Olivia is determined to provide the answers and just might find a little romance along the way!

A light and fluffy romcom with a believable chemistry between McKellar and Ayres helps make this movie a great way to start off the Hallmark Christmas movie season. This movie stays in the Hallmark lane of family entertainment and viewers will enjoy the scenery of Avon (a real town), Christmas traditions (hot cocoa anyone?), town celebrations (tree lighting ceremony) with the charm of lead actors leading the way.

You, Me & Christmas Trees delivers for Hallmark fans, look for replays of You, Me & The Christmas Trees throughout the Hallmark Christmas movie season.

Danica Leaves Hallmark Channel for GAC

As Hallmark fans are aware, Danica McKellar is one of Hallmark's A team actors especially for the Christmas movie season. She has signed an exclusive four movie deal with GAC with her first movie to premier in January 2022.

Admittedly when I heard the news that Danica was leaving Hallmark for GAC I had to google GAC to find out what exactly GAC is? GAC is a rebranded country channel which is now offering family entertainment. GAC = Great American Channels and GAC Family will be offering holiday movies this year. You will notice a few familiar Hallmark faces in the GAC holiday movies too!

 More Hallmark Christmas Movies

Reviews:

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age


Favorite 2019 Hallmark Christmas Movies

  • Christmas In Rome with Lacey Chabert and Sam Page
  • Christmas At The Plaza with Ryan Paevey
  • Christmas Town with Candace Cameron Bure and Tim Rozon
  • Christmas at Dollywood with Danica McKellar and Niall Matter

How Can I Watch Hallmark Christmas Movies?


If you are fortunate your cable subscription includes Hallmark, Hallmark Channel is available to stream with the Hallmark Everywhere App. Log in with your cable subscription username and password.

A monthly plan is also available with the Hallmark Movies Now service for $4.99 a month. A seven day free trial is offered to enjoy the Hallmark movie catalog on demand.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 25, 2021

3M Lens Repair Tape Reviewed

 Whoops! Crunch! Ouch! From the "that does not sound good" to the visual inspection of "No, that is not good." And so goes the tail light or a healthy part of the tail light. Which began the search for a DIY tail light fix until the professionals can attend to the injured party.


After the inevitable google and youtube search for a tail light bandaid I decided upon the 3M lens repair tape to repair the injured party. The red part of the tail light was missing about 25 percent and it is a large tail light! 




Application

The tape is very easy to apply. Simply decided upon the length and cut the tape. The tape adheres very quickly and is very sticky. If absolutely necessary (though I would not recommend) the tape can be removed after applying, but for maximum adhesion another piece of tape should be cut.

There is enough tape on the roll for a few applications which does allow room for a redo if necessary.

TIP! If you desire to trim the tape I highly suggest the tape is trimmed prior to attaching the tape to the tail light. The tape is very sticky and difficult to trim once the tape begins to adhere to the tail light. All trimming is easier accomplished after the tape is unrolled to the desired length.



Why I Chose The 3M Tape

After researching my options the 3M Lens Repair tape was highly rated with over a 4.5/5 online rating. One of the main factors is the design of the tail light. Is it rounded? The tape allows easy application for tail light fixtures that are rounded and this is key for a waterproof repair. I had looked at a repair tape that in a sheet and many reviewers mentioned - for obvious reasons- how difficult it was to make a sheet bend to fit a rounded corner.

Recommendation

The tape and what is left of the tail light is holding up well until its' repair appointment. I recommend the tape as an easy fix to keep the tail light working and sealed from the elements until a permanent fix can be installed. And yes as I found out ... the entire tail light fixture is one unit so no repairing just the red part - of course that would be too easy. 






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 11, 2021

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed

It's time! Hallmark Christmas 2021 Movies are ready to roll out! This unabashed Hallmark Christmas Movie fan is excited to take a break from everything pumpkin and enjoy the new, old, classic and fan favorite Hallmark Christmas movies.

Hallmark Christmas movie season includes the beloved Hallmark favorites from years past and begins October 23, 2021. Movies will air on the Hallmark Channel and Hallmark Movies and Mysteries channel.

The 2021 Hallmark Christmas Movie Schedule has been released and here are a few to look forward to!

Candace Cameron Bure


Two Sisters - Two Hallmark Christmas Movies

Kimberly Williams-Paisley and Ashley Williams, sisters in real life, are pairing up in two Hallmark Christmas Movies for 2021

Sister Swap: A Hometown Holiday

Sister Swap: Christmas in the City




Looking For More Hallmark Christmas Movies?

Reviews:

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age


Favorite Hallmark Christmas Movies 2019

  • Christmas In Rome with Lacey Chabert and Sam Page
  • Christmas At The Plaza with Ryan Paevey
  • Christmas Town with Candace Cameron Bure and Tim Rozon
  • Christmas at Dollywood with Danica McKellar and Niall Matter

Where To Find Hallmark Christmas Movies?


If your cable subscription includes Hallmark, Hallmark Channel is available with the Hallmark Everywhere App by logging in with your cable subscription username and password.

A monthly plan is also available with the Hallmark Movies Now service for $4.99 a month. A seven day free trial is available to give the channel a no obligation spin.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, September 27, 2021

Luxtronic HDTV Antenna Reviewed

If you have cut the cord for cable than you have already discovered an antennae is a prime component of successful cable cutting. Old school rabbit ears is another name. The function is the same, but the styles and choices have greatly increased these past years.



My old antenna



Anyone else remember a rabbit ear antenna with foil! Ah the memories. Recently my hdtv antenna stopped working which really emphasized how necessary an antennae is for any viewing. When I scanned the over air channels without the antennae I had 5 channels. Five channels which looked to be all the same programming resembling informercials.

I quickly started surfing for a replacement and was happy to discover the design of antennae's have vastly improved. A few years ago when I cut the cable cord I had an antenna which was not only  large, but had to be hung in the air for maximum reception. Not pretty, not practical, but still better than a cable bill.

I chose the HDTV Digital Antenna with a very small footprint and am very pleased. So pleased I have purchased a few more to upgrade from the hang from the window antenna version!

The Antenna by Luxtronic is very small and unobtrusive. It can be used indoor or outdoor with a 50 mile range. 

A simple install by connecting to the TV antenna input and then auto scan the over the air signals and the antenna works wonderfully. If you are looking to aesthetically upgrade your set of rabbit ears, I highly recommend this antenna to access all your over the air channels without the cost of cable.



Free Streaming Options For Cable Cord Cutters

Kanopy Review

Use your library card to access a huge library for free streaming. Focus on Indie films. No contracts, no subsrciptions!

Hoopla  Review

Hoopla offers free books, movies and television shows through your local library.

Freegal Review

Giant Movie Library featuring Sony's catalog. Another free service offered in combination with your library card. Weekly limit of downloads.

Amazon Prime 

 Amazon Prime is not free, but if you'd like to give the service a spin a 30 day trial subscription can be accessed. More movies, music, tv shows and Amazon Prime content than one imagine!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X