Showing posts with label The Savvy Age. Show all posts
Showing posts with label The Savvy Age. Show all posts

Monday, January 24, 2022

Cozilife Silicone Egg Poacher Reviewed

Why Are making poached eggs so tough? Well at least for some and I include myself in the group of egg challenged egg poachers. That is a mouthful! Sad, but true. I was harkening back to the days when my Grandma made the perfect poached eggs where the yolk was the perfect runny, not too runny, but toast dipping perfect runny.



Being realistic I decided to investigate if there is an easier way to poach eggs with a high degree of success and came upon the Cozilife Silicon Egg Poacher Cups. This sounded right in my lane of egg expertise and I so I embarked upon the journey to make a poached egg in about 30 seconds.

Learning Curve

There is a slight learning curve with the egg poacher as the success does depend upon the strength of the microwave. Just like stove burners and ovens each accomplishes the task, but the length of time does vary. The same holds true with the egg poacher. 

The timing for each microwave is just a little different. A few seconds does make a difference with the egg poacher as a few seconds can determine the difference between a soft runny yolk or a semi hard yolk or a hard boiled egg!

I suggest using doing an experimentation trial with a few eggs and your microwave. It will quickly be apparent if the egg is poached to your satisfaction. 

Cooking Spray Is A Necessity

The silicone poaching cups as recommended by many users should be sprayed with a very light coating of cooking spray. This ensures the egg is easily released from the cup when done. I also used a dab of butter on the bottom of the cup (as also recommended by users) and enjoyed the little extra butter added to the egg.


Also a necessity is using a toothpick to poke holes in the egg yolk prior to cooking. If the holes are not made the yolk will blow up like a balloon. Needless to say that is not the goal! Interesting to watch, but definitely not poached. 

The egg cups can also be used on the stove with a pan of water to make poached eggs. Directions are included with the egg cups on making poached eggs two ways.

Hard Boiled Eggs

Yes! The cups can poach eggs, but can also make really quick hard boiled eggs. What a time saver and no need to use a pan or deal with peeling egg shells. 

I love the versatility of the egg cups as they can double as baking molds too. I see mini cakes in the future with the baking cups. The cups are also versatile in that since the cooking time is so short the 4 cups can easily be made to order per person in the family. After all as any egg cooker knows - everyone likes their egg just a little different! Once persons over easy is another person's fried. And so it goes.

I will say noone made better poached eggs than Grandma old style, old school! But for this egg poaching hack, the silicon cups made me want to make poached eggs!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, January 10, 2022

Souper Cubes Reviewed

Comfort food equals a yummy bowl or two or three of soup in this house! Anytime of the year I love to make soup and then freeze the leftovers in individual sized containers. This is where things become a little labor intensive and the search is on for plastic containers to freeze the soup. Containers which are sturdy, freezer friendly and with a lid. Seems like a simple search except that matching lids seems to disappear like socks in the laundry. 


This is when my online search began to replenish my supply of individual sized containers for homemade soup. I found the Souper Cubes with over a cumulative 5/5 review score of over 5,000 reviews and I was not disappointed.

Souper Cubes Pros

At first glance the cost was a consideration as this was much more of an expenditure than plastic containers, but the Souper Cubes have delivered as promised. This product is a thoughtful design with the soup lover and soup freezer in mind.

  • Easy
  • Space saver in the freezer - definitely yes!
  • Convenient
  • Stackable - can stack two trays on top of each other in the freezer which is 8 cups of soup!
  • Portable - can pop a frozen soup cube in a bag or container to warm and eat away from home
  • Dishwasher Safe - a must!
  • BPA free
  • Food and Freezer Safe - of course!
  • The product literature states the product is also oven safe up to 415 degrees (excluding the lid)- I have not tried this and do not foresee trying this in the future either.
Each section has a measuring mark for 1 cup and 1/2 cup.


I did not find any cons to the product with the initial concern over the the price in comparison to plastic containers with lids. However, there is no comparison as this product is in its' own niche and with the sturdy quality construction I view this as a long term kitchen investment verses disposable plastic containers with a limited use life. 

Recommendation For Souper Cubes

I would add another 5/5 stars for the Souper Cubes. One tray is perfect to freeze 4 cups of leftover soup which is perfect. The cubes are easy to pop out of the tray for individual servings. I also envision using the trays for chili, chowder and stew. For those who love to make soup and freeze the leftovers this is a great companion or replacement to individual size containers and saves so much space in the freezer.

Souper Cubes come in various sizes. I chose the two pack which is 4 one cup servings per tray. The cubes also come in 1/2 cup trays and 2 cup trays. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, December 27, 2021

Favorite Gadgets Of 2021

What a year! 2021 has been quite the year. I always love a good gadget and the end of the year is a great time to look for sales on gadgets you have been eyeballing and bookmarking, but haven't purchased. Also a wonderful way to spend holiday gift cards!




Petcakes



This little gadget to make bone shaped cakes was a winner! Easy to make, easy to microwave and the furballs loved this little cake. The bone mold is reusable all year long to make your furball its' own personalized birthday cake.

Solar Lights by Aootek



This solar light has been a trooper all year long in a state which struggles with alot of sun. That is the true test of solar lights. I've purchased a few in the past which did not hold up well to the test - no sun = no light. Not this solar light as it is a powerhouse and comes through with or without sun to power it.

Red Flyer Wagon by Sam Monaco

Who doesn't love a cute little red wagon! Practical, purposeful and just darn fun! Cherish old memories and make new ones with the classic Radio Red Wagon.

Mini Blender Chopper by Barbara Trembly Cipak

This handy gadget is a must have! I wholeheartedly agree that counter top space is at a premium and only gadgets that deserve a spot must be on the gadget winner list. This Black and Decker gadget has been going strong for 15 years - nuff said!

Garden Gnomes by Wednesday Elf

Do you have a soft spot for garden gnomes? I do. Quirky, fun and symbols of good luck. Find out where to find gnomes of all types with a guide by the Elf.

DIY Cat Bed by Renaissance Woman

What a great idea! Upcycle a drawer into a cat bed (fit for a queen!) Renaissance Woman can upcycle anything into a stylish addition to your household all while utilizing what was old is new again!

The 3$ Hack To Save Charging Cords by Margaret Schindel

Yes, this DIY Hack featuring Sugru, a moldable rubber glue, can preserve your charging cords. Learn how in Margaret's detailed tutorial!

Camera Lens Cap Holder by SylvesterMouse

This is a must have gadget for those using DSLR cameras! A handy gadget to keep track of your lens cap. I cannot tell you the amount of time (it adds up!) I spend searching for the lens cap I was sure I put in a safe place - or did I? Search no more with this practical and necessary gadget.

Electric Kettle Review by Dawn Rae

This review definitely put the electric kettle on my post Christmas search list. This easy to use and practically sized kettle is prefect for the office! 

Aging Gracefully Tools by Olivia Morris

A very practical guide to assist all in our lives who may need a little extra help navigating the home. Olivia guides you through a few of the most useful gadgets to make life just a little easier!

Power XL Air Fryer by Mary Beth Granger

If you've been thinking of buying an air fryer (me!), Mary Beth gives a thorough review of her new air fryer along with photos of new recipes that already look like winners. With so many different types of air fryers on the market it is so difficult to choose; the Power XL is a combo air fryer and slow cooker which sounds like a winning combo.

Fun & Fab Book Accessories by Treasures by Brenda

Fun & Fab is right! Enjoy a variety of book accessories perfect for all the readers in your life. Fun gifts and unique bookends will delight the book lovers of all ages. 

Lemon Pod Keeper by Lou 16

Fresh lemon fans take note of this Lemon Pod review to keep your fresh lemons fresh! The lemon pod adjusts to the size of lemon to increase its' flexibility.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, December 13, 2021

Four Favorite Classic Christmas Movies Reviewed

So many Christmas movies, specials and songs! It can be difficult to sift through the Christmas content available to find the winners. Old school Christmas classics are the best and bring back or make the memories.



These are my four favorite classic Christmas movies that I look forward to viewing every year. The classics are available on DVD or can be streamed on Amazon Prime.

Rudolph The Red Nose Reindeer

Rudolph and Clarice are not a pair without Burl Ives! The classic 1964 Rudolph with Animagic animation and the memorable holiday songs of "A Holly Jolly Christmas" "We're A Couple Of Misfits" and "Silver and Gold".  

Fun fact: Rudolph was honored with a postage stamp in 2014 to mark the 50th Anniversary.

The Little Drummer Boy

Another stop motion classic with a very thoughtful message which resonates today. While the animation is typical of its' era and cannot compare to the animation of today; the ending is unforgettable and thought provoking.

"Do You Hear What I Hear" along with "The Little Drummer Boy" songs remain Christmas classics.

Fun fact: Based on original song title Carol Of the Drum sang by the Trapp Family Singers (Sound Of Music)

Frosty The Snowman

Jimmy Durante provided the classic narration for the original Frosty in 1969. Frosty had four sequels through the years, but who can compete with Durante!

Fun Fact: Frosty the Snowman has made the music charts over six times since 1966 with a variety of artists including Jimmy Durante, Perry Como, Nat King Cole.

The Grinch Who Stole Christmas

Who does not love the Grinch! and Dr. Seuss! The 1966 animated film is the best! Boris Karloff is the narrator not to be forgotten as the Grinch navigates Christmas.

Fun Fact: The Grinch Who Stole Christmas has been adapted over five times since the original.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 22, 2021

Sweet Potato Souffle Reviewed

 All time favorite side dish for Thanksgiving is my families' Sweet Potato Souffle. Light, fluffy and just darn yummy! Serve it as a side dish or serve it for dessert - this recipe is just that flexible.





A very easy recipe and no worries about the "Souffle" in the title as this is a quasi souffle and is a no fail recipe. As older family recipes tend to roll, real butter and whole milk is used.

How To Make Sweet Potato Souffle

Ingredients

3 sweet potatoes

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup milk

1 beaten egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 cup melted butter

a dash of salt

Directions

350 degrees, serves 6-8

  1. Grease a two quart glass baking dish.
  2. Boil sweet potatoes until fork tender. Cool.
  3. Peel the sweet potatoes.
  4. Mash the sweet potatoes to a smooth consistency. I use a ricer to ensure the potatoes are very smooth in consistency.
  5. Add the sugar, milk, butter, egg, vanilla and salt.
  6. Mix well.
  7. Pour sweet potato mixture into the baking dish.
  8.  Bake for 40 minutes, 350 degrees.
Serve as a side dish or dessert! Sprinkle with raisins or nuts for an optional, but fun twist. This sweet potato dish pairs well with holiday ham too! Enjoy...



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 8, 2021

You, Me & The Christmas Trees: Hallmark Movie Review

The Hallmark Christmas Movie season begins with an evergreen SOS in You, Me & The Christmas Trees as the lead off movie for 2021. Of course romance ensues as the evergreen mystery unfolds and a solution must be found in time for Christmas!


A Christmas tree emergency brings Tree Whisperer Danica McKellar as Olivia to the town of Avon to save a families Christmas tree farm. Benjamin Ayres plays Jack, whose tree farm is in jeopardy due to a mysterious disease which is attacking his Christmas trees. Scientist Olivia is determined to provide the answers and just might find a little romance along the way!

A light and fluffy romcom with a believable chemistry between McKellar and Ayres helps make this movie a great way to start off the Hallmark Christmas movie season. This movie stays in the Hallmark lane of family entertainment and viewers will enjoy the scenery of Avon (a real town), Christmas traditions (hot cocoa anyone?), town celebrations (tree lighting ceremony) with the charm of lead actors leading the way.

You, Me & Christmas Trees delivers for Hallmark fans, look for replays of You, Me & The Christmas Trees throughout the Hallmark Christmas movie season.

Danica Leaves Hallmark Channel for GAC

As Hallmark fans are aware, Danica McKellar is one of Hallmark's A team actors especially for the Christmas movie season. She has signed an exclusive four movie deal with GAC with her first movie to premier in January 2022.

Admittedly when I heard the news that Danica was leaving Hallmark for GAC I had to google GAC to find out what exactly GAC is? GAC is a rebranded country channel which is now offering family entertainment. GAC = Great American Channels and GAC Family will be offering holiday movies this year. You will notice a few familiar Hallmark faces in the GAC holiday movies too!

 More Hallmark Christmas Movies

Reviews:

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age


Favorite 2019 Hallmark Christmas Movies

  • Christmas In Rome with Lacey Chabert and Sam Page
  • Christmas At The Plaza with Ryan Paevey
  • Christmas Town with Candace Cameron Bure and Tim Rozon
  • Christmas at Dollywood with Danica McKellar and Niall Matter

How Can I Watch Hallmark Christmas Movies?


If you are fortunate your cable subscription includes Hallmark, Hallmark Channel is available to stream with the Hallmark Everywhere App. Log in with your cable subscription username and password.

A monthly plan is also available with the Hallmark Movies Now service for $4.99 a month. A seven day free trial is offered to enjoy the Hallmark movie catalog on demand.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 25, 2021

3M Lens Repair Tape Reviewed

 Whoops! Crunch! Ouch! From the "that does not sound good" to the visual inspection of "No, that is not good." And so goes the tail light or a healthy part of the tail light. Which began the search for a DIY tail light fix until the professionals can attend to the injured party.


After the inevitable google and youtube search for a tail light bandaid I decided upon the 3M lens repair tape to repair the injured party. The red part of the tail light was missing about 25 percent and it is a large tail light! 




Application

The tape is very easy to apply. Simply decided upon the length and cut the tape. The tape adheres very quickly and is very sticky. If absolutely necessary (though I would not recommend) the tape can be removed after applying, but for maximum adhesion another piece of tape should be cut.

There is enough tape on the roll for a few applications which does allow room for a redo if necessary.

TIP! If you desire to trim the tape I highly suggest the tape is trimmed prior to attaching the tape to the tail light. The tape is very sticky and difficult to trim once the tape begins to adhere to the tail light. All trimming is easier accomplished after the tape is unrolled to the desired length.



Why I Chose The 3M Tape

After researching my options the 3M Lens Repair tape was highly rated with over a 4.5/5 online rating. One of the main factors is the design of the tail light. Is it rounded? The tape allows easy application for tail light fixtures that are rounded and this is key for a waterproof repair. I had looked at a repair tape that in a sheet and many reviewers mentioned - for obvious reasons- how difficult it was to make a sheet bend to fit a rounded corner.

Recommendation

The tape and what is left of the tail light is holding up well until its' repair appointment. I recommend the tape as an easy fix to keep the tail light working and sealed from the elements until a permanent fix can be installed. And yes as I found out ... the entire tail light fixture is one unit so no repairing just the red part - of course that would be too easy. 






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 11, 2021

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed

It's time! Hallmark Christmas 2021 Movies are ready to roll out! This unabashed Hallmark Christmas Movie fan is excited to take a break from everything pumpkin and enjoy the new, old, classic and fan favorite Hallmark Christmas movies.

Hallmark Christmas movie season includes the beloved Hallmark favorites from years past and begins October 23, 2021. Movies will air on the Hallmark Channel and Hallmark Movies and Mysteries channel.

The 2021 Hallmark Christmas Movie Schedule has been released and here are a few to look forward to!

Candace Cameron Bure


Two Sisters - Two Hallmark Christmas Movies

Kimberly Williams-Paisley and Ashley Williams, sisters in real life, are pairing up in two Hallmark Christmas Movies for 2021

Sister Swap: A Hometown Holiday

Sister Swap: Christmas in the City




Looking For More Hallmark Christmas Movies?

Reviews:

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age


Favorite Hallmark Christmas Movies 2019

  • Christmas In Rome with Lacey Chabert and Sam Page
  • Christmas At The Plaza with Ryan Paevey
  • Christmas Town with Candace Cameron Bure and Tim Rozon
  • Christmas at Dollywood with Danica McKellar and Niall Matter

Where To Find Hallmark Christmas Movies?


If your cable subscription includes Hallmark, Hallmark Channel is available with the Hallmark Everywhere App by logging in with your cable subscription username and password.

A monthly plan is also available with the Hallmark Movies Now service for $4.99 a month. A seven day free trial is available to give the channel a no obligation spin.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, September 27, 2021

Luxtronic HDTV Antenna Reviewed

If you have cut the cord for cable than you have already discovered an antennae is a prime component of successful cable cutting. Old school rabbit ears is another name. The function is the same, but the styles and choices have greatly increased these past years.



My old antenna



Anyone else remember a rabbit ear antenna with foil! Ah the memories. Recently my hdtv antenna stopped working which really emphasized how necessary an antennae is for any viewing. When I scanned the over air channels without the antennae I had 5 channels. Five channels which looked to be all the same programming resembling informercials.

I quickly started surfing for a replacement and was happy to discover the design of antennae's have vastly improved. A few years ago when I cut the cable cord I had an antenna which was not only  large, but had to be hung in the air for maximum reception. Not pretty, not practical, but still better than a cable bill.

I chose the HDTV Digital Antenna with a very small footprint and am very pleased. So pleased I have purchased a few more to upgrade from the hang from the window antenna version!

The Antenna by Luxtronic is very small and unobtrusive. It can be used indoor or outdoor with a 50 mile range. 

A simple install by connecting to the TV antenna input and then auto scan the over the air signals and the antenna works wonderfully. If you are looking to aesthetically upgrade your set of rabbit ears, I highly recommend this antenna to access all your over the air channels without the cost of cable.



Free Streaming Options For Cable Cord Cutters

Kanopy Review

Use your library card to access a huge library for free streaming. Focus on Indie films. No contracts, no subsrciptions!

Hoopla  Review

Hoopla offers free books, movies and television shows through your local library.

Freegal Review

Giant Movie Library featuring Sony's catalog. Another free service offered in combination with your library card. Weekly limit of downloads.

Amazon Prime 

 Amazon Prime is not free, but if you'd like to give the service a spin a 30 day trial subscription can be accessed. More movies, music, tv shows and Amazon Prime content than one imagine!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, September 13, 2021

Favorite Fall Hallmark Movies Reviewed

Fall is pumpkin season at the Hallmark channel! As summer wanes and the cooler air is a welcome relief this also brings my favorite Fall Movies at Hallmark.


This year three new Hallmark Harvest movies premier in September. Set your schedules now to enjoy the brilliance of Fall along with pumpkin, spices and Hallmark. No worries if you miss the premiere, the movies will repeat throughout the month.

New Fall Hallmark Movies 2021

Roadhouse Romance - September 11

A fall Rom Com featuring Tyler Hynes and Lauren Alaina. Tyler has become a Hallmark favorite lead and Alaina is a country music veteran. The Hallmark formula of returning home, high school sweetheart and a struggling family business entwine the two leads plus a special treat. Lauren Alaina will perform two songs “Run” and “What Do You Think Of"

Preview of Roadhouse Romance

 Raise A Glass To Love - September 18

It wouldn't be Fall without a trip to the vineyards for Hallmark. This guarantees gorgeous scenery to combine with wine, sommelier, family vineyard and a new handsome 'visitor' to the vineyards. Laura Osnes and Juan Pablo Di Pace star.

Taking The Reins - September 25

I am very much looking forward to Taking The Reins with Hallmark fan favorite Nikki DeLoach. Filmed on location at a horse farm, Scott Porter joins DeLoach as the male lead. Expect fall color and romance as DeLoach plays a writer returning to the family ranch and discovers the relation between marriage, ranching, writing and romance.

Favorite Fall Hallmark Films Returning



Autumn Dreams

Hallmark favorite Jill Wagner and Collin Egglesfield have a fun and flirty chemistry as they reunite 15 years after their ill fated teenage marriage. Enjoy these two in this rom com as they discover they are still married, but one is engaged, but married? The fun begins as they try to unravel this romance and perhaps begin again...

View preview and blooper reel > here 

Country At Heart

A very sweet movie with Jessy Schram and Niall Matter. Nashville, song writing, the hits and struggles of the music business and of course romance star in a movie with real chemistry and real! singing. The stars also sing in this don't miss Hallmark Fall movie.

View the Country At Home Music Special

Sweet Autumn

Two Hallmark Favorites Nikki DeLoach and Andrew Walker star in a fall movie centered around the Sweet Autumn Festival. Two opposites are left a legendary sweet shop as their romance unfolds. These two actors have great chemistry and the plot is classic Hallmark. Enjoy!

More Hallmark Movie Reviews

Hallmark Sweet Carolina by The Savvy Age
Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age
Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia
Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age
Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia
Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age
Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, July 26, 2021

Hallmark Sweet Carolina Movie Review

 One of  my favorite Hallmark movies of 2021 is Sweet Carolina starring Lacey Chabert and Tyler Hynes. A sweet, sensitive and poignant story of a tragic loss in which Josie (Lacey Chabert) becomes guardian of her niece and nephew and their journey toward health and healing.




Tyler Hynes plays Cooper the old high school boyfriend who joins the family team on the journey. The storyline is handled delicately and with care as these actors lead the audience through their healing a family while the What*If romantic storyline lends itself to a few laughs along the way.

Accomplished actors Gregory Harrison and Teryl Rothery play the grandparents. Cassidy Nugent and Glen Gordon play the child leads who are seamless in their performances.

The Hallmark Formula

As Hallmark fans acknowledge there is a Hallmark formula which is exactly what they love about Hallmark movies. The movies have a specific niche and a devote following. In recent years some of the Hallmark movies have slightly veered off the light hearted romantic movie and enveloping more serious topics along with the romance and humor. Happy endings are a benchmark of the Hallmark movie and continue to the delight of the Hallmark fan.

View a sneak peek of the movie here ....https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WLndV-eghrQ


Sweet Carolina's executive producer is also Lacey Chabert which probably yields as to why Sweet Carolina takes on a more poignant storyline still keeping within Hallmark's formula.

I highly recommend Sweet Carolina for an enjoyable family friendly movie. Look for it on Hallmark channel on cable or through Hallmark Now streaming.

More Lacey Chabert and Tyler Hynes Movies

A Hallmark winter favorite movie also paired Lacy Chabert and Tyler Hynes was Winter in Vail. If you love winter scenery mixed with romance, kindness and chemistry this is a Hallmark movie for you.


More Hallmark Movie Reviews

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age
Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, July 12, 2021

Petcakes Birthday Kit Reviewed

 Every pup deserves a Birthday cake! This year I decided to try the Pupcakes Birthday Kit to make a dog bone shaped cake for the big day. So easy for those who don't cook, do not like to cook or are in a time crunch. A few minutes in the microwave and a fun bone shaped cake is made with no muss, no fuss.



What's In The Box?

The petcakes are so easy to prepare!  The Petcakes box contains 1 package of cake mix, 1 package of frosting mix, 1 bone shaped pan and a Birthday Candle.




All you need is water plus a small amount of greek yogurt or peanut butter to make the cake. 

The frosting requires a small amount of water and yogurt. Honey is optional. 

Microwave is required.

Anyone Can Make This Pupcake

A few common ingredients and a microwave is all that is required to make this Pupcake in under an hour (and most of the hour is waiting for the cake to cool so it can be frosted.)

Or skip the frosting and the cake is ready to go after cooling. The directions state 15 minutes cool time after removing from microwave. I found a half hour is a better timeframe to ensure the cake is cooled.

Decorate the Pupcake

Keeping in the edible theme of cake decorations I used dog food nuggets as a cake decoration. The cake can be kept in the refrigerator up to a week after it is made. The ingredients are dog friendly: Organic oat flour, brown rice flour, flax seed powder, carob, cinnamon. 



The cake was a win for my furball. (Admittedly this furball is not a picky eater)

Reusable Cake Pan

The dog bone shaped cake pan is reusable so save it for the next healthy Pupcake for your favorite furball or pass it along to a friend for their birthday pup!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, June 28, 2021

Hallmark Christmas In July 2021 Reviewed

 Hallmark fan alert! Hallmark Christmas in July movies make a long awaited appearance this year.  The fun begins Friday, July 9, 2021 and continues through July 31st. The favorites are back along with a few Hallmark surprises.


Here are a few of my favorite Hallmark Christmas movies showing this July. 

Crown for Christmas  - Danica McKellar and Rupert Penry-Jones

One of the top Hallmark Christmas movies of all time (in my humble Hallmark opinion!)

Danica McKellar is transported from her job as a maid in a swanky hotel to a nanny to a princess and all the foibles in between. Great chemistry between the leads and the palace staff make this a modern day romantic comedy many will enjoy all year long.

Christmas at Graceland - Kellie Pickler and Wes Brown

Love, romance, country music against the backdrop of the beautiful Graceland makes you want to book a Graceland visit on your next vacation.



Christmas Under Wraps - Candace Cameron Bure, David O'Donnell

A career driven city doctor finds herself unexpectedly in Alaska to take care of the residents of this small Christmas town. Of course romance ensues with a resident who have a very Christmas family. One of the A team female leads at Hallmark, Candace does not disappoint nor does the male lead David O'Donnell to make one almost 'believe' Santa does exist...



Time for Us to Come Home for Christmas  - Lacey Chabert, Stephen Huszar

Mystery, romance and five degrees of separation? as five strangers find themselves drawn to a country inn for Christmas and find their lives intertwined as the mystery unfolds.

Our Christmas Love Song - Alicia Witt, Brendan Hines

Fans are in for a treat with these two stars who can sing and act. Country music is the backdrop along with an original song by Alicia Witt.



Soap Sunday 

New this year is an all day marathon of Hallmark Christmas movies with your favorite soap stars! 

 

New 2021 Christmas Movie

Hallmark fans will be delighted that Christmas In July this year will include a brand new Christmas movie - albeit early. Crashing Through The Snow premieres this July starring Amy Acker and Warren Christie. 

 

Hallmark Christmas Movie Reviews

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, June 14, 2021

Tourna Mini Pickleball Caddy Reviewed

New to pickleball? Thinking of learning the sport? Or have you taken a few lessons and now it is time to practice! The Tourna Mini Pickleball Caddy is here to make learning the sport of pickleball easier, quicker and just more enjoyable.


Learning a new sport can be frustrating and the old adage that practice makes perfect definitely applies. As my friends and I are learning pickleball this little caddy has become a very useful tool and worth the assembly effort (see below on assembly!) But wait, what is pickleball? 

The Popularity Of Pickleball

The sport is over 50 years old, but has taken off in growth in recent years. The Sports & Industry Fitness Association (SIFA) reports a 21.3% increase in participation for 2020.

A mix between tennis, badminton, ping pong is a general description on a court which resembles a tennis court but is much smaller. The paddle does not have strings like a tennis racquet and is closer to a ping pong paddle in size. Take a peek at the video below for a quick overview of the sport.


If pickleball has gained your attention as a sport you'd like to learn then a pickleball caddy will make your journey just a little quicker and a little easier! The Tourna pickleball caddy is a great purchase for a beginner, but does have its' assembly challenges.

Assembly Challenges

It was a challenge to assemble the Pickleball Caddy! The reviews for this product were correct so you are forewarned. I had read the customer reviews which stated:

1. The directions were very poor. Correct!

2. It was difficult and time consuming to assemble. Correct!

3. The directions stated a 10 minute assembly and the reviewers absolutely disagreed. Correct!

4. Once the caddy is assembled, the product works great. Correct!

5. Even though the product was very frustrating to assemble, no regrets on the purchase. Correct!

The caddy arrives in pieces in a flat box. Keep the box! the directions are very poor (even for the most handy), but the photos of the assembled caddy on the box are helpful to assist with visualizing your goal of a completed caddy.



Patience and perseverance are handy when attempting to assemble the caddy.

Practical Pickleball Caddy

The mini caddy holds about 20 outdoor balls or 24 indoor balls. Favorite outdoor ball is the Onyx for crisp and responsive pickleball play.

Once assembled this caddy is very easy to use and very useful for a beginner player. The caddy works like a traditional tennis hopper. The balls are collected by placing the hopper over the ball (or 2 balls) and pressing down on the hopper with a slight pressure so the balls will enter the caddy.

The caddy can then be flipped to stand upright on the court for a waist high basket of pickleballs for easy practicing. Beginner pickleball players can spend a significant time gathering the practice balls and this caddy speeds up the process and saves the back from constantly bending over to pick up practice balls.

The mini caddy is slim and a space saver. It is light weight and can be easily stored in the trunk or interior of the car. 

Recommendation

Despite the challenging assembly - once the caddy is assembled- the reviews are very positive for a practical caddy and an affordable price point. If you are learning the game or just like to practice with a basket of balls the caddy is a recommended purchase.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, May 24, 2021

ReadeREST Magnetic Eyeglass Holder Review


I was going to title this review the "Where Did I Put  My Glasses Review?" Those pesky and elusive reader glasses that one seems to own many, but can never find one? Help is on the way with this simple and so practical solution to keeping those reader glasses handy and safe.


I came upon this handy gadget from the beloved handyman which keeps old houses alive. His work and eyesight required him to be constantly taking his glasses on and off. What a great! idea - no more searching for reader glasses which are never where they need to be - or so many pairs of reader glasses around the house they are becoming apart of the decor.

Kidding aside, if the readers are prescription reader glasses then the cost of replacement cannot be overlooked ...

Easy As 1-2-3


I love a gadget that is easy! And 'installing' this gadget could not be easier. Two pieces plus a few seconds and you are good to go (assuming you can actually find the glasses to add to the gadget.)




  1. Position the clear base to the location desired on the inside of the shirt/top/coat.
  2. The top base with the eyeglass holder is positioned on the outside of the shirt/top/coat on top of the clear base.
  3. The magnet will attach the two pieces making an eyeglass sandwich.
  4. Voila! The eyeglass sandwich is complete and just add the glasses.

Practical and Convenient


These eyeglass holders are one of the most practical gadgets in my collection. A top purchase! The holders can be easily stored whether on a piece of clothing, purse, wallet, briefcase, the kitchen window. Small, unobtrusive, portable and lightweight and of course extremely practical.

A great stocking stuffer for the holidays!

Shark Tank


What I did not realize until this year was the ReadeREST holders were a product from Shark Tank. I happened across an update article from Shark Tank about the evolution of the glasses from the presentation to present day sales.

The ReadeREST eyeglass holders are available at major retail stores across the country and of course online. I always love an entrepreneur who begins making a product in the garage and succeeds to bring the vision to the marketplace.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, May 10, 2021

Favorite Window Cleaner Review: Sprayway

Spring cleaning in the north usually includes the windows and it can be a chore! After having the long overdue windows professionally cleaned I asked they window cleaner which product they liked to clean glass and windows. The recommendation was Sprayway.



I was not familiar with Sprayway and was kidding the window washer about how I used to clean windows old school with a homemade liquid mix and newspapers. This method worked well until the ink was changed on newspapers...where the ink now ends upon your hands and the paper disintegrates. I then changed to the infamous blue bottle spray which I found was adequate enough, but left alotof streaks.

I searched out a bottle of Sprayway to try and am very pleased with the results. No streaks! Leaves the glass or window shiny and sparkly. Easy to use and the results are worth the labor.

Affordable Price

This is a product I suggest you comparison shop for if buying online. I found a huge price discrepancy between purchasing at the usual online and buying at brick and mortar stores in the area.  The online offerings also required a multi-pack purchase. Sprayway was easily found at the local Ace Hardware store, big box hardware stores and grocery stores. 

Curbside pickup is available for each store and while not as convenient as ordering online w mail delivery the savings were significant. 

Foam Or Spray

I have only used the spray version of the product. While intrigued with a foam option I decided to stay with the spray bottle for this round of glass cleaning.

Shout out to Ace Hardware

Once again the local Ace store comes through. Both the foam and spray versions were available.Ace offers online ordering with curbside pickup plus earning points on the Ace rewards card for monetary rewards. Always a fan of the local Ace store and much prefer to shop local if possible.

More About Ace

Ace Hardware Reviewed by Wednesday Elf

Local Ace Hardware Reviewed by The Savvy Age






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, April 26, 2021

Mega Maxx Furniture Lifter Reviewed

Furniture moving can be an issue! If you like to change up the interior decor handling the actual moving can be a chore and even more of a chore if strong family members are not available. The Mega Maxx Furniture Lifter can be the answer to make furniture moving easy!



Designed to move furniture with one person and that includes appliances! This deceptively simple looking device is a gadget worth owning. Affordable price point, easy to use and easy to move. I had read the reviews prior to purchasing and so many lauded this device to move furniture with one person. I was intrigued and after using the Mega Maxx found the reviews to be on point.

 

How To Use

Of course read the instructions first; always so tempting to just dive into using a gadget before reading the directions. The directions are well written and easy to understand and get an overview of how the furniture lifter works.



The lifter is like a lever on a handle. The lifer is inserted under the corner of the furniture piece and a roller or slider is inserted  under each corner. The height of the lifter can be modified with the included adjustable bases capable of handling all heights of furniture and furniture legs. 

The Mega Maxx really is quick, simple and easy. It is slightly quicker to use the lifter with two people as one person can use the device to lift the corner and the second person can insert the roller or slider. But two people are absolutely not required. 

 

What's In The Box

Furniture Lifter

Rollers

Adjustable Bases

For Hardwood Floors

Leaving marks on your hardwood floors or tile floors is always a major concern when attempting to move furniture. Pairing the Mega Maxx with felt sliders is the easy answer to move furniture safely!.

Use the furniture lifter to life one corner, insert a furniture slider under each corner/leg and you are good to move!

For tiled floors the Mega Maxx kit includes rollers for each leg. Heavy appliances can be moved with ease with the rollers under each corner. The rollers are then removed once the appliance has landed in its' new location.

 

For Carpet

To move furniture on carpet I found pairing the furniture lifter with sliders made specifically for carpet made moving the heaviest of furniture so easy! The sliders are removed just like the rollers once the furniture has found its' new location.



Removing the Rollers or Sliders

Simply reverse the process by using the lifter to lift the corner, carefully remove the roller or slider and gently lower the furniture corner to the floor.

Recommendation

This will be a favorite gadget of the year! Even though I had read the very positive reviews I admit I was skeptical. This product delivers as promised and turns furniture moving into a pleasure instead of chore.

As with any product be mindful of reading the directions thoroughly as well as the safety precautions. Follow the directions to lift and glide your furniture safely and easily.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, April 12, 2021

Aootek 182 Solar Light Reviewed - A Favorite!

The Aootek 182 Solar Light is by far my favorite solar light that delivers as promised. Bright, easy to install, easy to use and an environmentally friendly solar solution.



Old housing stock can be a challenge! Are the electrical sockets ever conveniently located? Ever located in a place you actually could use a socket? Unless your home or condo or apartment has been updated at quite the expense with new wiring - outdoor lighting can be a challenge.

Installation

It is very, very easy to install the Aootek Solar light. The hardware comes with the light, but I found a reviewer had a valuable suggestion for those who do not want to wield a screwdriver. The two holes which could be used for the screws can be used with cable ties to attach the light. As we were in the middle of a polar vortex the logistics of cold, snow, ice and installation was not practical.

I simply used two cable ties and attached the light to a fence in the same area of the hard wired light which did not make it through the winter. Perfect!

Three Convenient Brightness Settings

The light has three settings:

1. Security Option: Light turns on with motion automatically and then turns off automatically.

2. All Night Option: Light turns on at night automatically and stays on until sunrise.

3. Combination Motion and Dimmer: Bright light triggered with motion and when motion ceases the light stays on but will be dimmer until sunrise.

As two lights were included with the purchase I use Option 1 for the garage area and Option 3 for the deck. Option 3 works wonderfully if you have a dog as the light will be bright when the dog is being let out and then is dim for the porch area.

The light is very bright. This is not garden decorative lighting; if bright and secure is your desire then this light is a great option.



Setting the Options

There is a toggle button on the back of the light to access the three settings. My one consideration with the light is the design of the button. The button is covered with a plastic plug which can be a challenge to remove then place back after the setting is chosen. I suggest tweezers or a comparable tool to help with this feature.

Solar

Because the light is solar, the light does need to be charged with sunlight before installation. I admit I was a bit skeptical with the lack of sunshine in the upper midwest in the winter. I have been disappointed before with solar lights as they just could not stay charged in the winter months or even become charged if installed in the "shade".

This light is a champ. On a rare(!) sunny day, I charged the light inside at a sunny window. The light was then installed in an area which receives very little sunshine anytime of the year. No problem! 

I highly recommend the Aootek Solar Lights. There is a reason this light has over 20,000 reviews and this light delivers as promised at an economical purchase price and then uses the sun to power the light flawlesly.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X