Showing posts with label The Savvy Age. Show all posts
Showing posts with label The Savvy Age. Show all posts

Monday, November 28, 2022

Great American Family Channel Christmas Movies Reviewed

 If you are a Hallmark Christmas movie fan than the shake up at Hallmark in the last year has been on your Christmas movie radar. Enter the Great American Family Channel who entered the Christmas movie arena last year and the channel is continuing to offer more original Christmas movies in 2022. 

A few of Hallmark A list actors and A list Christmas actors have moved to the Great American Family Channel (GAF) exclusively. Hallmark, Lifetime and now GAF all produce Christmas movies and while a few actors are exclusive to a certain channel there are many that float between the channels.



Whose On Christmas First?

GAF was originally the Great American Country channel. In 2021 the former CEO of Hallmark helped launch what many call a Hallmark copycat channel which is  the Great American Family channel. Whew! 

This is good news for Hallmark Christmas movie fans as there are now three avenues for Christmas programming with Hallmark, Lifetime, GAF. There will be no problem finding Christmas movies October through November with the the slight snag - where is GAF? My cable service does not carry GAF now (why it carried the old country channel, but not the new Hallmark copycat?)

Where To Find The Great American Family Channel?

Good question and depending upon your cable set up, streaming set up or device the struggle can be real to find this channel! The channel is not offered by my cable company in a very large urban market, but I did find the Christmas movies and 2022 movies offered under the free section of Amazon Prime. 

The above also took a little detective work to find, but if you have Amazon Prime, follow the search filters and the movies available will appear.

  1. . In Amazon, navigate to search the "Movies & TV" section.
  2.  Search, "Great American Family Channel Movies.
  3. On the left hand filter bar, check Prime Video box.

I originally tried searching Great American Family Channel Christmas movies, but that returned a virtual kitchen sink of movies and was too broad. GAF is only in year two of original Christmas movies so for now, movies can also be found by using 2021 as a filter.

Streaming Options

GAF is available to stream on  Frndly TV, Fubo TV, Philo, Hulu and Sling TV.  The Christmas movie line up on GAF begins in late October. The Christmas movie schedule can be found here. You will probably recognize a few Hallmark stars in the mix for 2022. 

Each of the below movies has two actors you will definitely recognize from the Hallmark channel.

October 29 - Catering Christmas - Merritt Patterson & Daniel Lissing

November 25 - Christmas At The Drive In - Danica McKellar & Neil Bledsoe

December 4 - B & B Merry - Jen Lilley & Jesse Hutch

Christmas movie fans will have more options than ever this year!

Hallmark Christmas Movie Reviews

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2022 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

You, Me & The Christmas Trees by The Savvy Age

A New Year's Resolution by Cynthia 

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 14, 2022

A Cozy Christmas Inn: Hallmark Christmas Movie Review

Garland is back! Yes, one of our favorite Christmas Hallmark towns in Alaska has made a resurgence in a new must see Hallmark Christmas movie A Cozy Christmas Inn.

If the words, "It's Garland, you know" ring familiar from your Hallmark Christmas movie past that you will undoubtedly be delighted the town and its' main characters (including Garland) have returned.

The sequel to Christmas Under Wraps

 Always a Hallmark favorite and in my top ten of Hallmark Christmas movies with Candace Cameron Bure and David O'Donnell is Christmas Under Wraps. Candace plays a city doctor transported without choice to practice in Garland - the Alaska town which is all about Christmas in true Hallmark style.

David O'Donnell returns as Andy to A Cozy Christmas Inn and fills the viewers in with referenced remarks to the first movie. But no worries for new viewers, the references are a veiled wink to the first movie and not needed for anyone to enjoy this fun Hallmark Christmas movie.

Jodie Sweetin ironically replaces Candace Cameron Bure as the love interest for Andy! Andy has traded his plane in for architecture and refurbishing a country inn. Jodie Sweetin arrives representing a possible purchaser and who knew, who could predict, but of course the two have a history.... and off we go for a traditional tried and true Hallmark Christmas movie.

Who Is Back?

Andy

Andy's dad (who just happens to heavily resemble Santa)

Hattie and the coffee shop

The theme music, one of the best for Hallmark

Garland town

The "shipping company" and the "elves"

Jeans lined with sweatpant material and the general store

Stars, pilots and airplanes - shoewear, heels, and boots

Mark your viewing calendars for Christmas Under Wraps and A Cozy Christmas Inn this holiday Hallmark season. Both Hallmark movies with A actors, A chemistry and overall grade of Hallmark A!

More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

You, Me & The Christmas Trees by The Savvy Age

A New Year's Resolution by Cynthia 

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 24, 2022

Noel Next Door Review: Hallmark Christmas Movie

Hallmark begins the Christmas movie season with the premier of Noel Next Door starring Natalie Hall and Corey Sevier. Get ready for the tried and true Hallmark Christmas theme with neighbors, Grinches and the holiday season.



Noel is the next door neighbor who is attempting to reestablish her life with her young son. Jeremy is the Grinch next door neighbor with medical challenges as he attempts to navigate the season along with his grouchy holiday attitude. 

As the two neighbors unknowingly interact outside of the neighborhood, the misunderstood neighborhood Grinch and Noel begin to establish a friendship and you know what happens in Hallmark movies!

Chemistry And Christmas Grinches

The key to any Hallmark Christmas movie or any Hallmark movie is the chemistry. Noel and Jeremy have good banter and believable chemistry. The storyline is Hallmark, nuff said which is why... Hallmarkies love Christmas Hallmark movies. 

Overall I'd rate Noel Next Door a Hallmark B. Worth watching, but probably not on the rewatch list. And if you know Hallmarkies, rewatching is also key to Hallmark Christmas movie season!

More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

You, Me & The Christmas Trees by The Savvy Age

A New Year's Resolution by Cynthia 

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 10, 2022

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2022 Reviewed

 It's time! Hallmark Christmas 2022 Movies have arrived! Time to move aside the pumpkins and bring on the Christmas Hallmark movies.


Hallmark Christmas movie season includes the beloved Hallmark favorites from years past and begins October 21, 2022. Movies will air on both the Hallmark Channel and Hallmark Movies and Mysteries channel.






The 2022 Hallmark Christmas Movie Schedule has been released and here are a few to look forward to! There will be 31 new movies on Hallmark and 9 new for Hallmark Movies & Mysteries channel.

A Holiday Spectacular 

The Radio City Rockettes and Radio City Music Hall will be featured! Sounds ... spectacular. Join Ginna Clair Mason, Derek Klena, Ann Margaret and Eve Plumb on this wonderful journey through New York at Christmas with the Rockettes playing a pivotal role.

Jolly Good Christmas

London background with a Hallmark favorite lead! Will Kemp and Reshma Shetty will provide the rom com chemistry as Hallmark fans experience London, shopping, and gift choices at Christmas. Fans will remember Will Kemp from his Hallmark movie Christmas Waltz with Lacey Chabert.

Haul Out The Holly

Lacey Chabert is back for her 12th Hallmark Christmas movie. It wouldn't be with Lacey! In this movie she teams with a Hallmark favorite Wes Brown and Lacey plays abit off type as she is the reluctant Christmas fan and the campaign ensues to bring her on board for Christmas fun.

A Cozy Christmas Inn

Jodie Sweetin (Full House) and David O'Donnell brave Alaska, Bed and Breakfast's and Christmas as exes thrown together ... its' a Hallmark movie, I think we know the rest of the storyline (yeah!)! O'Donnell might also be noticed as the lead in the top ten Hallmark Christmas movie Christmas Under Wraps with Candace Cameron Bure, also in Alaska! Full circle with Hallmark, Full House and Alaska!

Full Hallmark Schedule for Christmas 2022 is >>> Here 

There will be three all new movies each weekend night on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Released for Christmas In July 2022

My Grown Up Christmas List - Kevin McGarry and Kayla Wallace navigate the military and the holidays as their connection grows.

Campfire Christmas - Tori Anderson and Corbin Bleu rekindle a romance as their families reunite for fun, romance and campfires at the families' Christmas In July annual celebration.

Christmas In Toyland -Jesse Hutch and Vanessa Lengies star in this Christmas tale revolving around a toy store and its' importance for a town.

Jesse Hutch you may recall from his pairing with Candace Cameron Bure in the classic Let It Snow Hallmark movie.

More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

You, Me & The Christmas Trees by The Savvy Age

A New Year's Resolution by Cynthia 

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia


Where To Find Hallmark Christmas Movies?


If your cable subscription includes Hallmark channels then Hallmark Channel is available with the Hallmark Everywhere App. Your cable subscription username and password will be needed to log in.

 Hallmark Movies Now  is a streaming service for a monthly fee. A seven day free trial is available to give the channel a no obligation spin.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, September 26, 2022

5 Best Cooking Themed Hallmark Movies

 As Hallmark fans know... the answer to many problems in a Hallmark movie is... hot chocolate! Hallmark fans also love their food and cooking themed movies. So many fun and yummy Hallmark movies to view it is difficult to narrow the field to just five movies. But here it goes, my top 5 favorite Cooking Themed Hallmark movies.


1. Cooking With Love

Lights, camera and conflict; well, romantic conflict of course this is a Hallmark movie. Alie Liebert and Brett Dalton comprise the TV producer and temperamental chef turned cooking show host with an easy rom com repertoire. Enjoy the witty comments between the leads as they navigate the foodie journey.

2. Truly Madly Sweetly

This cooking rom com movie scores on every Hallmark movie scorecard! Dylan Neal and Nikki DeLoach two favorite Hallmark leads unite for witty banter, rom com fun and Hallmark chemistry as they co inherit a small town bakery and where the baking journey leads.  These Hallmark stars do not disappoint!

3. The Secret Ingredient 

What happens when you are unexpectedly competing with your ex fiancée in a baking competition? Valentine's Day theme? Brendan Penny and Erin Cahill make a very believable rom com team in this cross between Top Chef, Top Baker and Hallmark Romance movie.

4. The Sweetest Christmas

Two High School sweethearts  meet up years later - will the romance be rekindled? Lacey Chabert finds herself competing in a gingerbread house sculpture contest with a little help from her old sweetheart Lea Coco a restaurant owner. Cute chemistry, cute theme, cute Hallmark movie!

5. You're Bacon Me Crazy

Two dueling food truck chefs compete and the bacon is aflying! Michael Rady and Natalie Hall lead their food trucks through the paces in what could be a life changing competition. Foodie and food truck aficionados will appreciate the storyline.

Bonus Hallmark Foodie Movies

Vineyards across the land are an integral backdrop to quite a few Hallmark movies. And what goes well with wine... food of course! So while not necessarily cooking themed, the following movies feature wine, romance and gorgeous scenery along with more than one meal!

In The Vineyard Collection:

  • Summer In The Vineyard
  • Autumn In The  Vineyard
  • Valentine In The Vineyard

Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, September 12, 2022

Peanut Butter To Go Review

Peanut Butter on the go! Yes, please. The major peanut butter manufacturers offer convenient, small personal sized and individually packaged portions of peanut butter and the products promises as delivers. 



While this family prefers creamy peanut butter, the peanut butter cups and pouches are also offered in crunchy, natural creamy and chocolate flavored peanut butter.

Perfect Size

One major manufacturer offers the popular spreadable nuttela in cups which are perfectly sized for one. Enough quantity to make one or two perfectly sized snacks! Pair with fruit for a peanut butter and fruit snack, healthy breakfast, mid day work snack or after school snack. Leftovers can be easily saved with securing the cup with plastic wrap and/or a plastic bag for use at another time.

I also discovered individual sized portions of peanut butter in squeezable pouches. The portion size is larger than the cup, but what I really like is the turn top so the pouch can be easily closed and reused. 

Travel

Both the cups and the pouches are wonderful for road trips! No muss, no fuss, the containers can be disposed of and no sticky peanut butter remains to worry about. Pair with individually portioned packages of jelly for mobile peanut butter and jelly!

Packaging

The mini cups are sealed well and durable for travel. The pouches are very secure with the screw top and pouch design. With confidence I can pack both in a lunch bag, backpack or briefcase and the seal does not break.

Cost

There is no price point comparison with purchasing the cups or pouches versus using peanut butter from a jar. The price point is higher as is usual for individually packaged food. Convenience no doubt comes at a price and as we continue through inflationary pricing, this product is no different. 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, August 22, 2022

Shopping Online For Camera Equipment Review

 Back in the day, way back in the day I originally learned to develop film old school in college. Where students were ushered into an itty bitty pitch black room armed with a camera and metal spools where we learned how to remove the film from the camera and thread the film on the spool - in the dark! And then learned the process of developing film and then learned how to manipulate the "picture" in the developing process with the developing chemicals, time of exposure etc etc. Lots of etc's for novices to learn! Fast forward a few decades through many a camera and I have found myself back to wanting to up my photography game and return to a 35 mm camera albeit digital.



Where To Buy Photo Equipment?

This led me to the vast array of products offered at online retailers for camera and photography equipment. I reintroducing myself to a 35 mm camera by purchasing a used Canon Rebel 2 any today the current Rebel is 8 so you can see I went back quite a few model years. I did this intentionally as I wanted to ensure this was an avenue I wanted to pursue (and knowing, suspecting that it would be, much more investment would be forthcoming).

I purchased the Canon Rebel 2ti used from B & H Photo online. The camera arrived quickly. The packaging was excellent and the camera looked brand new. The only negative though very typical of buying any type of used equipment is the lack of a hard copy manual, but that is easily accessible online. 

Since the original purchase I wanted a few accessories and a different lens and back online I went to shop. I would love to support my local camera shop; in my area there is only one bricks and mortar camera store left, but unfortunately though understandably they did not stock the older equipment.

I have purchased equipment from B & H Photo, Adorana, Amazon and eBay and have had positive experiences with all. When seeking a specific pieces of equipment I will surf each of the stores and cost and compare prices, shipping charges. With older accessories that may be model specific the item may very limited in supply so that limits comparison shopping. 

Review of Buying Camera, Photography Equipment Online

I have found B & H Photo and Adorana are quick if not quicker when using Amazon Prime. The items were securely packaged by all 4 sellers/companies which is very important with delicate and breakable equipment. The packaging on Amazon I found really varied in quality and quickness to ship even with Prime; on the flip side items purchased are also shipping quicker than promised on Prime. 

 It is critical to vet the sellers on eBay and Amazon. Returns to third party sellers on Amazon can be a slower process than if sold directly by Amazon. Some third party sellers also require you apply for permission to them to return an item prior to processing on Amazon which is another layer of administration. For eBay sellers research their ratings and the comments by clicking on the number of reviews next to their ebay name.

Top Four(In No Particular Order)

  • B&H Photo in New York, family owned
  • Adorana in New York, family owned
  • Amazon (check if the seller is amazon or a third party)
  • eBay (vet the seller closely)

Adorana has a bricks and mortar superstore in New York at 42 W. 18th Street

B&H has a bricks and mortar superstore in New York at 420 9th Avenue. 

Recommendation 

While online shopping has never been easier it does 'pay' to comparison shop. I've had positive experiences with all the sellers/stores. As mentioned above if a third party is the seller make sure to vet the third party on the site. If seeking discontinued or older equipment eBay or Etsy can be a great resource!

Review This Reviews contributor mgbphoto has an excellent review of her favorite photos of 2021 using three different cameras including an iphone camera. If looking to up your photo editing skills Mary Beth reviews Lightroom and Photoshop which really are a game changer for novice photographers.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, August 8, 2022

CORQUE Marshmallow Roasting Sticks Review

 Did I hear S'more? Did I hear outdoor fire pit? Did I hear grilling season? This is the handy tool you didn't know you needed and will be so happy to use. Marshmallow Roasting Sticks will bring smiles to the faces of your guests and make s'more making so much easier whether it be in the backyard or campsite.


Colors & Size

Jumbo sized and so much fun! Oh sure, back in the day we just used branches. Which is not to devalue the practical branch as a tool for your marshmallow roasting, but....

I thought these Jumbo roasting sticks would be a slight upgrade for guests. Not that browsing for branches is not fun in the middle of winter... but perhaps better left for the younger guests as an adventure.

The adults appreciated these Jumbo Roasting sticks! The kids appreciated the cheerful colors.

Each of the eight sticks is marked with different colors for easy identification. No double dipping! The sticks come with a convenient nylon carrying case for easy storage.

Outdoor fire pits both large and small have increased in popularity tremendously the past few years. In our house no fire pit is complete without a christening of making s'mores. The marshmallow sticks were a hit with all and hint hint - would be a perfect gift for fire pit owners. 

Gift Ideas

I also gifted a set to friends who are fervent campers and the sticks were again a big hit. The kids used the sticks for marshmallows and the adults also used the sticks as skewers for campfire cooking. Win win for all.

I also plan to gift a set as a housewarming gift this summer. The marshmallow sticks fill the I'd love to have them, probably would not buy for myself, but love to receive as a gift lane.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, July 25, 2022

2022 Favorite Garden Tools

Oh garden tools! I have known quite a few in my amateur garden career. But there are some tools that become staples in the gardening collection. The tried and true. 

Some new, some old and all valued. So here are my top five cannot do without garden tools - helpers-accessories!

1. Container Gardening City Pickers Raised Garden Bed



Love, love this rolling cart for container gardening. After the loading up the cart with dirt, the cart still rolls easily. This is a very nice feature for not just moving the cart around a deck or patio, but if you have plants that can do well inside in the winter. Just roll the cart inside! Review here >> City Pickers

The raised bed is available in different colors to suit your landscape. I have only had to fill the bed once with dirt and each year a successful harvest. 

2. Ironclad Gloves

New entry for this year. Purchased in 2021 to replace a pair of garden gloves and the Ironclad Utility gloves have quickly become a favorite. Review here >> Favorite Utility Gloves Review: Ironclad Gloves

The gloves fit very well to allow easy maneuvering of garden tools of all types.

3. B Hive Smart Hose Timer Wifi



Purchased in 2021 this WIFI timer for your sprinkler quickly headed to the top of my list. So convenient to use and easy to program. Mobile App included to trigger gardening from your phone. Review here>> B Hive Hose Timer

Set the timer up for your vacation and no worries. The watering schedule can be as varied as you'd like (time with projected weather) or as simple and straight forward. I prefer the later and since the weather is so incredibly variable here, I check weather first, then program the timer or trigger it manually.

4. Solar Light




Loving this solar light! I purchased it a few years back and the lights have worked flawlessly all year round. A combination garden and security light that has not disappointed. In the warmer months I have a few nestled in the garden to light a path and in the winter the lights are moved and used as security lights. Review here >> Aootek Solar Light

5. Blue Shoes Disposable


Soggy yard, but need access in spring or during rainy season. These little booties are great to save your shoes or gardening shoes in inclimate weather. Review here >> Blue Shoe Guys 

The shoes are also great to have on hand for contractors visiting your home. While many will bring their own disposable booties it is always nice to have spares on hand for when they may forget - especially in winter or spring.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, July 11, 2022

Hallmark Christmas In July Movies 2022

Ready, set and go! Hot and humid weather can only mean a little air conditioning and cueing up the Hallmark Christmas in July movies! The favorite Hallmark Christmas movies are back from all years plus a few new Hallmark surprises.


Here are a few of my favorite Hallmark Christmas movies showing this July. 


Crown for Christmas  - Danica McKellar and Rupert Penry-Jones

One of the top if not at the very top Hallmark Christmas Movies of all time ! Danica McKellar is transported from her job as a maid in a swanky hotel to a nanny for an extremely adorable prince with an equally cute and trouble making princess. Great chemistry between all three leads and the palace staff make this a modern day romcom Hallmarkies will watch again... and again.

Christmas at Graceland - Kellie Pickler and Wes Brown

Enjoy a trip to Graceland via Hallmark which provides the love, romance, and country music. You haven't seen Graceland until you have seen Graceland decked out for Christmas.

Christmas Under Wraps - Candace Cameron Bure, David O'Donnell

In the top of Hallmark Christmas movies I can and do watch multiple times in a year. There I said it!  Bure is a career only focused doctor transplanted for a residency in a small Alaska town. A little Christmas romance percolates with the local Christmas family which happens to have a Christmas themed business with its' CEO who happens to look very Santa like. Hmmm. No disappoints here  and the leads do not disappoint.


Our Christmas Love Song - Alicia Witt, Brendan Hines

Fans of both Hallmark stars are in for a treat as these actors sing, act and dance their way through a Hallmark movie country style. Country music is the backdrop along with an original song by Alicia Witt.



New 2022 Christmas Movies

Hallmark fans will be delighted that Christmas In July this year will include  brand new Christmas movies - albeit early.

My Grown Up Christmas List with Kayla Wallace and Kevin McGarry

Campfire Christmas with Tori Anderson and Corbin Bleu

Christmas In Toyland with Vanessa Lengies and Jesse Hutch

Hallmark Christmas Movie Reviews

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, June 27, 2022

Favorite Utility Gloves Review: Ironclad Gloves

One of my absolute favorite finds for working around the home, lawn or garden are my Ironclad Utility Gloves. When I needed to replace my garden gloves last year I visited my local Ace Hardware store and found these fabulous gloves in the garden/utility glove section.



It is pretty rare to pair fabulous with gloves so this is probably an indication of how happy I am to have found these gloves! They have become a go to staple for work around the house, garage, lawn and garden. So versatile, so comfy, affordable and practical.

Comfort And Fit

The Ironclad Gloves are sized which I think make ALL the difference for a comfortable fit. No more swimming in garden gloves. True to fit. The gloves have velcro straps around the wrist to ensure a solid fit and keep out all those stray yard clippings and dirt from gardening.

Washable

Yes! The gloves are washable! I used these gloves for gardening with wet spring mud and the gloves washed beautifully. But the gloves must be hung dry!

Nimble

One of the best features of these gloves is the nimble feel for using with power tools, rakes and shovels. Particularly with power tools that require you to hold down a button while pressing another button to operate the tool. The gloves allow you to easily and comfortably operate small buttons or levers on power tools. 

Strength & Durability

So strong, so durable yet so lightweight. The Ironclad gloves are first and foremost  utility gloves that I happen to also use in the garden. If you have any type of plants with thorns, prickers or sharp edges these gloves work wonderfully.

Recommendation

I highly recommend the Ironclad Gloves for the home and yard. You will not be disappointed in the quality and versatility of these gloves. 

Where To Find Locally

My first stop to shop local is always my local Ace Hardware. This is where I originally found the gloves and their recommendation was spot on.

Ace Hardware Reviews

Ace Hardware Review by Wednesday Elf

My Favorite Local Ace Hardware by The Savvy Age









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, June 13, 2022

Windaze Pressure Power Washer Review

 Spring and summer in the Northern United Stated is go time for all outdoor projects! And there seems to be no end to the "To Do" list. Last year I garden sat for a neighbor and loved the hose attachment which allowed you to water a garden 100 feet away from the house without having to leave the patio.



The neighbor highly recommended the wand attachment to the garden hose which doubles as a watering tool, power washer and window washing accessory. Need to wash the wheels of your car? Wash the windows and doors of the house? Water your plants? This is a very versatile hose attachment.

Power

The Windaze is very powerful and the spray can be adapted easily to match your watering needs. Gentle spray for delicate plants or newly planted areas to stronger spray for well established areas.


If using for the home or on the home the spray can be adjusted to match the job. I have used the Windaze to clean off  decks, garage floors, power wash pavers as well as for the lawn and garden.

Reach

Very powerful and the reach of the water is incredible. I can water the far back of the yard and now be standing at the house with the water spigot. Those with older homes (some call vintage, some may call well, old) might notice the actual water spigot are few and far between and the locations are in relation to the infrastructure. This means the spigots on many homes are not located near the actual garden!

The Windaze gives you the reach without much effort to water the far reaches of the lawn or garden without having to drag hoses out or hook up connector hoses due to distance from the spigot.

Lightweight

I like the added power but without adding weight to a hose. Traditional green hoses can be very heavy especially when you need to use long hoses and have to move the hoses around the lawn. The windaze is very light and so light in fact I forgot I had attached it to the hose.

Hanging plants are no problem to water with the Windaze. So easy for summer drought watering!

Recommendation

The Windaze promises as delivers. The price point works to add this handy watering accessory to your toolbox for power washing, home cleaning and gardening.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, May 23, 2022

Back To The Roots Garden Bag Review

It is gardening season and the hunt continues for economical and easy to use garden pots, containers or bags. This year I chose to try the Back To The Roots Garden Bag and am already loving it!



Lightweight  & Flexible

Nicely constructed and oh so lightweight! Lightweight without dirt of course; however, there are two handles at either end should you need to move the bag. The bag also slides easily.



I used my garden bag or planter dirt trick and used recycled to fill the bag about three quarters and then filled the remainder with dirt. This works great if planting annuals which have short or shorter roots. It is a short growing season in the upper midwest so many container garden with annuals, but these bags are definitely deep enough to plant vegetables or robust root tomato plants.



Filling the bag with old shipping materials and newspapers is a great way to reuse and reduce. I put the materials in a plastic bag and then seal the bag so water does not enter. I have done this for years and works like a charm while also saving money on buying dirt. Even if water does enter the bag I've never had any buggy surprises, just wet packing materials.

Give Back

The Back To The Roots Bag also comes with a charity give back of Grow One, Give One. A gardening kit and STEM curriculum will be given to an elementary classroom of that you can choose! by simply posting a social media photo of your raised garden bed.

What Can I Grow?

The general guidelines which come with the garden bag are PER each square foot section:

6-8 small root veggies

3-4 herbs or leafy green plants

1 large vegetable

I plan on using the three sections for 1 tomato plant, mixed herbs and probably a container type tomato plant.

Recommendation

I already love this garden bag and the three separate sections. So much handier than when I had single garden bags. The size is perfect for a deck or patio or container garden: not too deep and not too wide. I could easily put two bags side by side which would be six sections to plant.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, May 9, 2022

Carewell: The Caregivers Shop Review

Carewell: The Caregivers Shop is an online shop I found and used when assisting a family member to recover from surgery. This shop was a wonderful resource and their ability to ship quickly in the midst of a snowstorm was impressive!



Selection

Carewell carries all the major brands you will recognize, but the difference is the wide selection per product. Whether it be flavors, sizes, the medium or products you didn't even know were offered, the choices are voluminous. This makes shopping so much easier and definitely gives the shopper so many more options which helps to provide exemplary care.

Shipping

Quick! Very very quick even when one part of the order was caught in a snowstorm mid route. The communication was on point and efficient to give notice of the package arrival. Free 1-2 shipping is available for orders beginning at $49.00. The quantity of each product offered is similar to a big box store like Costco or Sam's Club.

Bridges The Gap

The selection at Carewell's helps bridge the gap between items which are necessary, but not easily (if at all) available for in person purchase at a bricks and mortar store. I was surprised to find a product I found at the local drugstore actually came in many more sizes and flavors, but only found online at Carewell. Phone assistance is available 24/7 to help with product selection if needed.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, April 25, 2022

Dog Raincoat Reviewed

April showers is so true in this state. Every year this northern state seems to have a very rainy, very muddy spring with a few days of monsoon like rains.  The battle is real if you own a dog with the elements. Just when the coast is almost clear after battling a snowy winter in comes spring rains like the proverbial lion.

Spring is not the dog owner's best friend. After a few very soggy outings I decided to try out a dog raincoat I had seen a few dogs successfully wear. As every dog owner will attest, every dog has their own distinct personality, likes, loves and quirks. 
I'd consider the raincoat falling into that category of  I will give it a try, but will it fly with the Fluff?

Wash And Wear Dogs

The Fluff is a nickname referring to a dog that needs to be "fluffed" due to the dog having hair verse fur. The Fluff  is not a wash and wear dog. Rain makes the Fluff look pretty much like a very large rat. It is not pretty. 

However, the reality of not being a wash and wear dog is a wet Fluff must then be dried with a hair dryer (that is an event) and the hair blown out (that is an event) so the curly hair does not mat. All of the above is an EVENT and requires much labor, a few temper tantrums and lots of treats. Enter the rain coat.


Overall the rain coat delivers as promised. Very easy to put on and take off. The coat provides great coverage from the rain and keeps the entire back rain free. There is a small opening along the back to hook a leash should the dog be wearing a harness which is very convenient.  I put the rain coat on over the harness. I have also put the raincoat on over a harness and a dog sweater!  

Along with the very bright yellow the coat also has reflective stripes to ensure the dog can be seen at night or in cloudy weather. My one concern was the hood...

The Hood

The hood is flexible! It can be worn up or down just like a human's rain coat. I was a little skeptical about how the Fluff would react to the hood. The opening of the hood attaches under the dog's chin with a velcro closure. What was nice and practical is the bottom closure of the hood is not tight around the dogs' muzzle and I believe allows the dog to wear the hood without feeling constrained or like a tight hat.

The Fluff Approves

The Fluff actually likes the rain coat! Who would have known! The coat is easy to put on with a velcro strap which goes under the dogs belly. The hood has another velcro opening. Quick, easy, no muss, no fuss. The coat goes on in a flash and provides great coverage to keep the majority of the dog rain free in even the heaviest of down pours.

Is your dog hood friendly? Well, on a scale of hat friendly aka I will wear whatever my owner puts on my head the Fluff is about a 9/10 on the laid back wearing hats scale. Yes, the hood does occasionally generate a side eye look of "Oh, it's that thing... again." But ok and off he goes into the rain with hood. 

As with any dog coat, hat, sweater it is of course up to the dog if the accessory is acceptable! Because the coat is not tight or restrictive and is light weight I think there is a good chance the rain coat would be accepted by your furball.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, April 11, 2022

Orbit B-hyve Smart Hose Wifi Review

No sprinkler system? Sprinkler system envy this year? If you have to water a large area of land or just regularly water a garden bed then a wifi controlled hose timer may be for you. Newly planted landscaping definitely need attentive watering and a hose timer can be a great time saver to expedite watering.


After a large revamp of the garden beds this year it was clear the area needed frequent watering and it was also clear the location of the outdoor water faucets did not correspond with the area needing watering. Many hoses and hose extensions would be required along with constant monitoring and moving of the sprinklers.

I researched quite a few remote controlled or Wifi controlled hose timers in order to expedite the watering of the garden beds. Of course remote controlled hoses do not spare the gardener from moving the hoses! Pro Tip: End the watering by leaving the hose/hose timer in the area that needs the most water, then you can remotely start watering that area the next day.

  

Pros Of The B-Hyve

  • Easy to setup
  • Wifi "hub" is a plug in unit
  • Phone App
  • Easy to water manually via app
  • Available in one, two or four zones
  • Alexa compatible


Cons of The B-Hyve

  • This is not necessarily a con, but the app contains alot of bells and whistles to customize a watering schedule.
  • Wifi "hub" is a plug in unit so if you lose electricity and/Wifi the timer will not work
  • When the remaining battery life is 30% the timer cannot be engaged via app

Recommendation
The B-Hyve Smart Hose Timer has worked flawlessly for this home. The unit has 4.5/5.0  stars with over 4,000 reviews on Amazon and the reviewers were accurate. I chose the one zone unit and never had any issues with its' performance. 
This would be a great gift for the gardener! One of those I always wanted, but have never bought... purchases!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, March 28, 2022

Tiny Showcase Review

Tuesday is tiny artist day on the Tiny Showcase! The tiny showcase is a fabulous showcase for the independent artist offering small scale and affordable art for all.  



The About page eloquently and accurately captures the vibe of Tiny Showcase "We remain a quiet island" and can't we all appreciate a quiet island! What a wondrous resource the online gallery of the tiny showcase. I find it so refreshing and just darn fun to browse the current art as well as the archives from prior years.
 

Tuesday is Tiny Day!

Every Tuesday limited editions of tiny art by one artist is released. Prospective customers or browsers can sign up for the email notification as a gentle reminder. I love viewing the selections each week. Some may be my taste, some may challenge my taste or some may be a perfect gift. 

Each art piece can be customized on the order form according to your preference. The selections include unframed, framed with mat, framed in maple. Art pieces from prior years (if not sold out) are also available in the archive shop. It is always great to find a new artist then discover the artist may just be new to you and then find prior pieces you may be interested in purchasing or viewing via the archive shop.

 

Does Tiny Showcase Only Feature Art?

For years I have followed and purchased art from Tiny Showcase. The products have expanded in recent years from tiny art to also include: stationary, cards, puzzles, toys, textiles and wearable art. Diversity is wise and the theme of affordable independent art continues whether the purchase is art or art on a card!

Gift cards are also offered to help keep Tiny Showcase a tiny showcase for online curated independent art.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, March 14, 2022

Book Review: The Flavor Bible


Do you love to tweak recipes? Create recipes? Love the tried and true family recipes, but sometimes you are in the mood to modify the recipes? Maybe add a little X with a little Y and see what happens?

The Flavor Bible is for you! And I wish I had found this book earlier in my recipe tweaking career (though don't we all have recipes which need NO tweaking! and mine are usually from Grandma!)  However, The Flavor Bible by Karen Page and Andrew Dornenburg is a wonderful resource for recipe creators and tweakers of all talents and cooking levels.



Wow! Now that is a mouthful! But do not be put off by the title. Described as an "empowerment tool" in laymans' terms this book deep dives into ingredients and suggests pairings. I am a self taught cook and while certain ingredients I know from experience pair well I have found when I want to create or tweak a recipe my knowledge is lacking. 

For the I usually use X ingredient in this recipe and X ingredient is no where to be found in the kitchen and it is midnight ... now what? Before you cruise on over to google this book will have your answer! For the I love this dish, but I'd love to tweak it - but with ??? Sweet, savory, herbs or spices this book will have a wealth of ideas.

Organization Of The Book

Clean, clear, concise and to the point! The book is organized by ingredient first which makes looking for pairing so much quicker and easier. The related tips, suggestion and stories regarding that specific ingredient are then included in the same area. Very reader friendly and intuitive.

The Tips and The Stories

The book is full of gems of stories from renowned chefs as well as useful culinary tips that any chef or cook can appreciate and use. The stories bring the reader into the lives of the chefs at different phases of their career in different locales and restaurants.

The Holy Grail Of Pairings

While the book is full of possible and/or suggested pairings there are a few designated pairing denoted with caps and bold letters which are the "holy grail" to use the authors' words. These pairing have received the most votes by the panel of experts.

This is very helpful if you are not in the mood to do major recipe tweaking, are time challenged or prefer to begin recipe creating with the tried and true to build upon. I find it is easy to build flavors by beginning with pairings that will work when using ingredients for the first time.

The intent of the book is to spark your creativity and be a helpful resource; the book succeeds on both levels and I can see why this book was named on the Th Best Cookbooks in the World of the last 100 years list.

The Flavor Bible also won a James Beard award in 2009, yes that James Beard award! Not a chef, not a restaurant, a book!

Highly Recommend

I highly recommend The Flavor Bible! I consider this book a must and wish I had found it earlier in my recipe tweaking career. A great gift for anyone who likes to cook with a little creativity!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X