Showing posts with label Health. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Health. Show all posts

Saturday, October 15, 2022

A Review of National Bullying Prevention Month

 


The month of October is designated as National Bullying Prevention Month. It was begun in 2006 by the Pacer Center in Minnesota. The Pacer Center is known as “Parents Helping Parents” and they focus on being Champions for Children with Disabilities. 


Don't Laugh at Me


Children with disabilities seem more prone to bullying than other children, but, sad-to-say, over the years bullying has become more widespread and often affects any child who is 'shy' or 'small for their age' or 'overweight' or just different in some way.  


Don't Call Me Names


I don't remember bullying being a 'thing' when I was a child, although I do remember one particular incident that affected me strongly in second grade; enough that I never forgot it. And not long ago I remember having a discussion with my grown children who worry about bullying affecting their own children. I said that didn't seem to be a problem when they were young and in school and all three related incidents of bullying they had experienced that they never told me about.


Therefore, bullying is not new, but today's awareness is bringing it into the open. So much so, that programs have been, and are being, developed to eliminate bullying ~ which is mean, aggressive and potentially life-threatening. It occurs in schools, on the playground, and now we have 'cyberbullying'. 


Don't Get Your Pleasure From My Pain


Bullying can be as simple as teasing a child because she has freckles or as terrible as calling names or shunning a child for being different. It all has the same impact!


Things to Do to Help Prevent Bullying


  • Students can be taught to practice empathy by befriending someone who is being bullied and report bullying when you see it.
  • Teachers can reward students who show respect for others and who demonstrate thoughtfulness for their classmates, for adults, and for their school. 
  • School administrators can plan bullying prevention programs that help parents, teachers and students understand the problem and how to handle it.


Wear and Share Orange – Unity Day



On the third Wednesday of October (October 19th in 2022), wear orange to show unity for kindness, acceptance, and inclusion. It also sends a visible message that no child should ever experience bullying.


*This orange Unity Shirt, and others like it, is available on Amazon.


Operation Respect


In 2000, Peter Yarrow (of Peter, Paul & Mary fame) began Operation Respect (OperationRespect.org), a nonprofit organization that brings to children, in schools and camps, a curriculum of tolerance and respect for each other's differences. 


In God's Eyes We're All the Same

Someday We'll All Have Perfect Wings.


The idea came about when Peter's children, Bethany and Christopher, heard the song “Don't Laugh at Me”. The song was written by Allen Shamblin and Steve Seskin. The idea for the song came about when Allen's daughter came home from school in tears because her peers were teasing her about her freckles. The song is a ballad about various characters (children and a crippled homeless man) who have been teased and are just asking for acceptance from others. 


You don't have to be my friend, 

But is it Too Much to Ask?

Don't Laugh at Me





I heard Peter Yarrow sing this song at a concert in Savannah, Georgia in October 2013. It made a big impression on me and I can see why Peter uses this song as the theme for his “Operation Respect” organization.

 

Related Post:


*National Bullying Prevention Month review written by Wednesday Elf





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, October 12, 2022

The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush

I have been using Oral-B or Philips Sonicare ultrasonic toothbrushes for many years, at my dentist’s recommendation. In August, I replaced my old, expensive ultrasonic toothbrush with an excellent and surprisingly inexpensive model (from a lesser-known brand), which has smaller brush heads that fit into hard-to-reach areas, soft, rounded bristles that are gentle on my aging gums, and a choice of five brushing modes.

Even though my new Dnsly electric toothbrush had great customer reviews and was highly recommended by a well-known and respected YouTube influencer whose product recommendations I have come to trust, I was still a bit skeptical about the quality of such an inexpensive product. However, my oral health team was impressed with the state of my teeth and gums during my routine dental cleaning and checkup 10 days ago. I'm delighted that my new Dnsly has been dental hygienist- and dentist-approved.

I'm excited to share my product review of this terrific electric toothbrush set, which comes with seven regular brush heads, an interdental brush head and a fitted case for storage and travel and costs less than $30 at time of publication. Update 10/24/22—the entire set now costs less than $25 on Amazon!

Dnsly Electric Toothbrush With Custom Travel Case, Protective Cover and 8 Brush Heads

Why the Dnsly Electric Toothbrush Is a "Best Buy" For Savvy Consumers

Here are some of the key features that make this Dnsly Electric Toothbrush Set With Replacement Brush Heads and Travel Case a smart purchase.

40,000 VPM for Effective Cleaning and Plaque Removal

Although the American Dental Association says that both manual and electric toothbrushes can clean teeth effectively when using the correct brushing technique, clinical studies have shown that “electric toothbrushes, which combine ultrasonic and sonic (or acoustic and mechanic) actions, may have the most promising effect on good oral health” compared to manual toothbrushes.1 

On the Amazon product page, the manufacturer refers to this electric toothbrush mostly as "sonic" but also as "ultra sonic." It vibrates at up to 40,000 VPM (vibrations per minute), which is in the same ballpark as many ultrasonic toothbrush models from Philips Sonicare and Oral-B.

Digel, I., Kern, I., Geenen, E. M., & Akimbekov, N. (2020). Dental plaque removal by ultrasonic toothbrushes. Dentistry Journal, 8(1), 28. https://doi.org/10.3390/dj8010028

Choice of Five Brushing Modes

There are five tiny LED lights down the front of the handle labeled W, C, S, P and M, respectively, that allow you to choose among the following brushing modes to customize your oral health care routine:

  • White mode (W): strong vibration helps whiten and brighten teeth by removing surface stains.
  • Clean mode (C): medium vibration for routine cleaning / twice-daily brushing.
  • Sensitive mode (S): gentle vibration for first-time electric toothbrush users or those with sensitive teeth and gums.
  • Polish mode (P): stong vibration/invert frequency helps polish and brighten teeth.
  • Massage mode (M): gentle vibration/invert frequency for gum massage and increased circulation to improve the health of your gums.
    • Note: I could not find any information on what "invert frequency" means (or does) in the context of electric toothbrushes.

Just press the large Power on/off button (inside the gold circle) repeatedly to cycle through the different modes. The nice thing is that it will remember the mode you used last and return to that setting automatically the next time you press the Power button. 

I have used the Clean, White and Massage modes so far. I think the White mode is gentle enough for daily use, thanks to the soft, rounded bristles on the brush heads.

2-Minute Smart Timer With 30-Second Pauses and Auto Shutoff

Most dentists recommend brushing your teeth for 2–3 minutes, or 30–45 seconds per quadrant. This Dnsly Electric Toothbrush pauses after each 30-second interval to let you know it's time to move on to the next quadrant, then shuts off automatically after two minutes.

7 Brush Heads and 1 Interdental Brush

The American Dental Association recommends that you replace toothbrushes, or brush heads for an electric toothbrush, every three to four months (or sooner, if the bristles are visibly frayed). 

The Dnsly brush heads have blue bristles at the top and bottom that, with use, gradually fade from blue to white  as a helpful reminder to discard and replace the brush head.

I really like the smaller brush heads and the thin, pointed, interdental brush head with white bristles, since both make it easier to get into tight, hard-to-reach areas. The interdental brush is also great for cleaning around and in between dental braces.

The DuPont bristles with rounded tips are gentle on gums and enamel, which is another reason I decided to try this set.

30-Day Rechargeable Battery Life

A full charge, which takes 4 hours, lasts for at least 30 days, based on brushing for two minutes twice a day.

USB Charging (Charging Cable Included)

The included USB cable can be plugged into any socket with a USB interface, such as a car, laptop or phone charger adapter or power bank socket. You can keep both the cable and an inexpensive USB wall charger/plug adapter in the bathroom for when the battery needs charging (roughly once a month).

The Dnsly electric toothbrush has a low battery indicator that lets you know when it's time to recharge it. It also automatically shuts off after the battery has been fully charged to prevent overcharging.

Fitted Travel Case and Protective Brush Head Cover

The hard plastic, fitted toothbrush travel case has molded sections to hold the handle, one brush head and the interdental brush head. There is also a space-saving clear, hard plastic brush head cover if you want to travel with just the handle and one brush head, rather than the larger, fitted storage case that also holds the interdental brush head.

IPX7 Waterproof

The IPX7 Waterproof rating means your Dnsly electric toothbrush can survive immersion in water up to 1 meter deep for 30 minutes without damage.

You can thoroughly clean the entire brush with soap under hot running water and even brush your teeth while you are taking a shower, if you wish.

Two Color Choices

I purchased this set in black, but there is also a pink Dnsly electric toothbrush set with 8 brush heads and travel case that is identical to the black version, except that it comes with three types of brush heads and the bristles are pink and yellow.

Less Than $25 for the Entire Set

At just $24.29 for the black set ($26.09 for the pink and white set) with free shipping for Amazon Prime members as of 10/24/22, this Dnsly set delivers a huge bang for the buck.

You can also get a set of two Dnsly sonic toothbrushes, one black and one pink, with 8 color-coordinated brush heads (four of each color), 2 interdental brushes and 2 clear brush head covers (but no fitted travel cases) on Amazon for just $34.99. Having two sets in different colors makes it easy for spouses, partners, siblings, roommates, etc. who use them to tell which toothbrush is theirs.

Inexpensive Replacement Brush Heads

Replacement brush heads for Philips Sonicare and Oral-B ultrasonic toothbrush models tend to be expensive. At the time of this post's publication, a set of 7 Dnsly black toothbrush replacement heads costs just $8.89 and a set of 7 Dnsly pink and white toothbrush replacement heads costs just $6.99. 

Each set of replacement brushes includes three "daily" brush heads, three "hard" brush heads with firmer bristles and one interdental brush. The savings on not only the initial toothbrush set but also the replacement brushes was a major selling point for me.

Features Not Included in the Dnsly Electric Toothbrush Set

Even though this set is excellent and a tremendous value, there are a few features that some of my previous Oral-B and Philips Sonicare ultrasonic toothbrushes had that the Dnsly does not.

No Charging Base

The only way to charge the Dnsly is with a USB cable (included). While many people prefer this method, some may prefer having a dedicated charging base plugged in near the bathroom sink.

Since hearing several respected medical and dental experts advise "don't brush where you flush," I have started storing my toothbrush in my bedroom instead of my bathroom anyway, so the USB charging requirement isn't an issue for me.

No Battery Charge Level Indicator

My last Oral-B ultrasonic toothbrush had four stacked LED lights on the handle to indicate how much charge was left. Since I used to store the toothbrush on its charging base, however, I never looked at it unless I was traveling for an extended period.

The Dnsly's low battery indicator works fine for my purposes.

No 3-Minute Timer Option

I liked the choice of 2-minute (30 second intervals) or 3-minute (45-second intervals) brushing times on my pricy Oral-B model. However, if I want to spend a bit more time on certain areas, it's easy enough to press the mode button of my choice to resume brushing after the 2-minute automatic shutoff.

Note: None of my Oral-B or Philips Sonicare toothbrushes had bluetooth connectivity or wireless fast charging, and neither does my new Dnsly model. However, one or both of these features are built into many of the newer models from these leading brands.

The Perfect Travel Toothbrush

Even if you don't want to replace your current ultrasonic toothbrush, this very inexpensive Dnsly set would be great to keep in your carry-on luggage for traveling, thanks to its long battery life, convenient USB charging, toothbrush travel case and protective brush head cover.

A Great, Affordable Gift Under $25

This Dnsly electric toothbrush set would make a great gift for anyone who is currently using a manual toothbrush, wears braces, is a college student, or has difficulty getting their current toothbrush into hard-to-reach places.

It also makes a great stocking stuffer. No one would guess that this set, complete with travel case, brush head cover, seven brush heads with fading bristle replacement indicators, interdental brush head and USB charging cable, costs less than $25!


The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush by Margaret Schindel

Read More of My Product Reviews

The Best Affordable, Super Sharp Kitchen and Steak Knives Set

The Best Powerful, Lightweight Stick Blender With Versatile Attachments

The Best Large, Sturdy, Adjustable, Over-the-Sink Dish Drying Rack

The Best Bone-Conduction Bluetooth Headphones Review: Shokz OpenRun Pro

The Best High Security Micro-Cut Shredder for Documents, Media and Credit Cards

The Best Affordable Microfiber Cloths for Cleaning Eyeglasses, Screens & Lenses

The Best Tool Roll Organizer To Store & Protect Your Tools

The Best Affordable Programmable Large- and Small-Batch Coffee Maker

The Best Acrylic Fabric Paints for Painting Clothes and Accessories

Best Manicure Tools for Strong, Healthy Nails

Thermos Stainless King Travel Tumblers & Travel Mugs Review




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 31, 2022

An Unusual, Delicious Strawberry Chocolate Tea With 0 Calories

If you're a tea lover, like exploring new flavors and prefer your "cuppa" slightly sweet, The Republic of Tea's Strawberry Chocolate Tea is definitely worth a try. This delicious, low caffeine herbal tea has no calories, so it's a lovely, guilt-free sweet treat you can enjoy any time of day.

Strawberry Chocolate Herbal Tea No Added Sugar, Low Caffeine, Naturally Sweet & Delicious!

I have been a lifelong tea drinker. While I enjoy a cup of coffee from time to time and I have been having one more often since switching to a low carb / keto diet, I'm definitely not in the "don't talk to me until I have had my morning cup of coffee" camp. However (with apologies to the Florida Citrus Board), "An afternoon without tea is like a day without sunshine." My favorites are made by The Republic of Tea, Harney & Sons, Twining, Tazo and Stash.

For the first half of my life, I drank only black tea varieties, growing up with the ubiquitous orange pekoe, then branching out into English Breakfast and Darjeeling. Later fruit flavored black varieties such as peach, apricot and mango became my favorites. About 10 years ago, I began taste testing green, white and rooibos (red) for their health benefits as well as decaf and low caffeine teas for evening sipping, after noticing that my previously low sensitivity to caffeine was increasing with age. I found the flavor of most green teas so grassy as to be unpalatable, but eventually I discovered The Republic of Tea Decaf Ginger Peach Green Tea and the company's naturally caffeine-free Ginger Peach Red Rooibos Tea that, until recently, was the only red rooibos beverage I enjoyed.

Republic of Tea Strawberry Chocolate Tea and tall insulated stainless steel travel cup

Since I consume not just a cup or mug but a large, 16-ounce Thermos insulated travel tumbler (and sometimes two) of leafy brew that I sip on over the course of several hours each day, I like having a nice selection to choose from. This year, I was in the mood to find a few new favorites and take a break from some of my old standbys. Since The Republic of Tea offers the largest variety I've seen and frequently adds to its line, I focused my search on their herbal and low caffeine offerings.

I found several delightful, new-to-me flavors, including naturally caffeine-free Queen's Cake Vanilla Fruit Tea and refreshing Whistledown Punch hibiscus iced tea with hints of citrus and pineapple from the company's Bridgerton collection, as well as SuperAdapt Restore and Reset, an organic herbal blend with reishi mushrooms and cocoa that's earthy and calming, and my newest obsession, Strawberry Chocolate Tea.

Chocolate covered strawberries
Image by Brook from Pixabay

Smooth, Satisfying and Slightly Sweet

I adore chocolate and cocoa, but I had never heard of a tea flavored with either one before encountering the company's Cuppa Chocolate Tea collection. I was skeptical but also intrigued by this idea. I also love chocolate-covered strawberries. So, after reading the overwhelmingly positive customer reviews of The Republic of Tea Strawberry Chocolate Tea on the company's website, I decided to give that one a try and ordered a 36-bag tin on Amazon (along with the SuperAdapt Restore and Reset and the two Bridgerton collection flavors I mentioned).

According to the label on the back of the tin, the strawberry chocolate flavor is an "Herb Tea for Sweethearts" with an equally fanciful description: "Chocolate mingles with a hint of ripe strawberry atop the rich flavor of rooibos in this delicious, aromatic and romantic cup." After highlighting rooibos's high antioxidant content, it invites us to "Enjoy a lovely cup of dessert with your sweetheart." The copywriters' creativity failed to persuade me, but it did amuse me. My husband doesn't much care for tea and, if I were to offer him a cup of this magical romantic potion, no doubt he would look at me quizically before politely declining! 

Imaginary romantic associations aside, I hoped I would find this brew pleasurable to sip, whether alone or in my husband's company. What I never expected was that it would become my new current, go-to hot beverage!

Rooibos, with its gentle, smooth, nutty and slightly sweet (as well as somewhat earthy) flavor makes a perfect base for the chocolate and strawberry in this blend. To me, those two are more like "topnotes" or supporting players for the rooibos, but even though I'm usually not as fond of earthy teas, the rooibos flavor plays nicely with others and doesn't dominate. There is also a hint of vanilla that adds to this delightful cuppa.

Many customers find the natural sweetness sufficient for their tastes. I like mine a bit sweeter, especially since I often enjoy it in place of a dessert, so I stir in a spoonful of BochaSweet. You may prefer it with a little sugar.

What's In It?

Here are the ingredients in this delicious Strawberry Chocolate Tea:

Rooibos, carob, cocoa kernels, sweet blackberry leaves, natural chocolate and strawberry flavor, and bourbon vanilla beans. 

Using all-natural flavors with nothing artificial helps to give this delightful tea its smoothness.

Naturally Low in Caffeine

Since I enjoy sipping tea in the evening as well as during the day, I always include some decaf, caffeine-free or low caffeine options. Fortunately, The Republic of Tea's Strawberry Chocolate Tea contains very little caffeine. Since both rooibos and carob are caffeine-free, I'm guessing the small amount of caffeine comes from the cocoa kernels.

A Sweet Treat That's Also Good For Your Health

Although it is marketed to appeal to romantics, anyone watching their calories, carbs or gluten will be happy to know that the lovely tea, with its natural sweetness, contains 0 calories and 0 carbs and, like all the company's products, is gluten-free. 

As this 2020 WebMD article about the health benefits of drinking rooibos tea explains, rooibos is rich in polyphenols, antioxidants that have important potential health benefits such as fighting inflammation, lowering blood sugar and reducing blood pressure.

So, while you're sipping your delicious cuppa, you're also doing something good for your body and your health.

Refill pouch of 250 strawberry chocolate tea bags

Save Money With Tea Bag Refills

I love The Republic of Tea's products and commitment to environmental sustainability and responsible use of natural resources, such as its signature round, unbleached tea bags that don't use unnecessary envelopes, strings, tags or staples and the air-tight, light resistant tins that can be refilled over and over or repurposed.

I always buy one of the 36-teabag tins when I want try a new flavor. If I don't love it, I always find an alternative use for the empty tin. For example, I have a couple next to our kitchen sink that hold dish/bottle brushes, and plan to cover a few others with decorative paper to hold some of my small jewelry making hand tools, pens, brushes, etc.

If I like the contents but am still on the fence, I can order a 36-teabag refill for the tin. When I fall in love with a flavor, as I did with the Strawberry Chocolate Tea, I buy the larger, more economical 250 teabags refill to replenish the original tin over and over.

Steeping Tips

The Republic of Tea recommends using one teabag per 6-ounce cup, and for herbal varieties like this one, to use boiling water (200–212 ℉) and steep for 5–7 minutes. I steep mine in my tall, insulated stainless steel travel tumbler, using two bags and 12 ounces of boiling water. 

When I followed the recommended steeping time, the flavor a bit too weak for my liking. Fortunately, I remembered that herbal teas, unlike the black variety, don't become bitter when "over-steeped." So, after experimenting a bit, I found that I much prefer the taste of my strawberry chocolate cuppa after letting it steep for 10 minutes (or even a bit longer). 


An Unusual, Delicious Strawberry Chocolate Tea With 0 Calories by Margaret Schindel

Posts About My Keto Diet Journey

My First Year on The Keto Diet

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part One

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part Two

Low Carb Muffins & Cupcakes: Treats to Enjoy on a Keto Diet

Low Carb Keto Chocolate Yogurt Granola Chip Pudding Recipe

Good Dee’s Keto Cookie Low Carb Baking Mix Review

Hamama Microgreens Growing Kit Review & Success Tips

My Favorite Hamama Microgreens Seed Quilt Accessories

Keto Cheddar Cheese Biscuits With Chives Recipe

The Ultimate Keto Hot Chocolate Recipe

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffins

Wholesome Yum Keto Bread Mix and Yeast Bread Recipe

The Good Chocolate 100% Organic No Sugar Dark Chocolate Review

The Best Advice to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss

My New Irresistibly Delicious Keto Cheese Crackers Recipe

Luscious Low Carb Keto Triple Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies Recipe

Quick & Easy Livlo Blueberry Scones Keto Baking Mix Review

Snack Better With The Best Healthy Keto Cookie Dough Bites

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Pizza Recipe

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Shortcake Cupcakes Recipe

Comparing the Best Keto-Friendly Chocolate Hazelnut Spreads - No Added Sugars

The Best Low Carb Keto Sandwich and Burger Buns Mix

Blueberry Biscuit Scones — New, Easy, Low Carb Keto Recipe

The Best Keto Pizza Crust Mix With 0 Net Carbs

An Unusual, Delicious Strawberry Chocolate Tea With 0 Calories

Reviews of the Keto Diet by Barbara C. (aka Brite-Ideas)

My Personal Keto Testimonial

How I Stayed Committed to the Ketogenic Way of Eating

Read More Food Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Reviews About Health and Wellness by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 3, 2022

Blueberry Biscuit Scones — New, Easy, Low Carb Keto Recipe

Recently I decided to bake a batch of low carb blueberry scones using my favorite mix, the Livlo Blueberry Scones Keto Baking Mix I reviewed in December. It was nearly bedtime and I was tired and not paying close enough attention, and just after I incorporated the small cubes of butter into the Livlo Baking Mix with my pastry blender, I realized that I had added an entire stick of butter (1/2 cup) rather than the half stick (1/4 cup) that was called for. This low carb keto baking recipe is the result of that happy accident, after I turned this "lemon" situation into "lemonade."

Although I didn't have a second package of the blueberry scones mix in the pantry, I did find a bag of Livlo Biscuits Keto Baking Mix, which calls for the same added ingredients in the same quantities and the same baking instructions. By adding it to the bowl with the scones mix and butter cubes, then adding four eggs instead of two and stirring in a cup of fresh blueberries, I not only salvaged the situation but invented a new low carb, keto baking treat.

My husband devoured two as soon as they came out of the oven and dubbed this biscuits and blueberry scones hybrid "biscones." His tongue-in-cheek quip has become their official name in this household.

I promptly ordered more of both Livlo keto baking mixes so I could make another batch of blueberry "biscones" last night. Although the texture is different from either drop biscuits or blueberry scones made with wheat flour, these tender, tasty treats are delicious. 

Anyone who follows a low carb or keto diet will love the macros for these delightful baked goods. Each blueberry biscuit scone has just 184 calories, 2.6g of net carbs, 3.6g of fiber, 17g of fat and 5.6g of protein. 

This recipe makes 20 yummy blueberry "biscones," enough to share with others. They don't have to be watching their calories or carbs to enjoy them! 

Quick & Easy Blueberry "Biscones" Recipe Low Carb Keto-Friendly

Recommended Tools and Equipment for Making Low Carb, Keto-Friendly Blueberry "Biscones"

In addition to basic baking tools and equipment like baking sheets, cooling racks and a measuring cup, here are some of the other items you will need to make this recipe, including my personal product recommendations.

Silicone Baking Mats or Unbleached Baking Parchment Paper

You will need either silicone baking mats or unbleached parchment paper to line your baking sheets to keep the biscones from sticking. (I often use a silicone baking mat topped with a sheet of parchment to help keep my baking trays clean.) The Katbite Silicone Nonstick Baking Mat Set of 3 is inexpensive, works well and is a great value. In addition to two 11 5/8" x 16 1/2" mats for lining half sheet pans, it also comes with a bonus 11 1/2" x 8 1/2" mat for lining a quarter sheet pan, which I use in one of my toaster oven baking trays. As of this recipe's publication date, the price for all three mats is less than $15 on Amazon with free Prime delivery. 

I use unbleached baking parchment and love the convenience of flat, pre-cut sheets. Before I discovered them, I used to hate trying to wrestle with the stubborn, curling edges of the sheets torn from a roll! I can recommend the Baker's Signature Precut Non-Stick & Unbleached Parchment Paper Baking Sheets which come in a variety of shapes and sizes.

Large Mixing Bowl

Since you will be making two batches of baking mix batter or dough in one bowl (one each of the Livlo keto blueberry scones mix and one of the Livlo keto biscuits mix) and adding an extra cup of fresh blueberries, you'll need to use a large mixing bowl. Whenever I'm mixing a batter or dough by hand, I prefer using the appropriate size bowl from my OXO Good Grips 3-Piece Stainless Steel Mixing Bowl Set, which includes 1.5-quart, 3-quart and 5-quart bowls, rather than the bowl from my KitchenAid electric stand mixer. The round interior bottoms of the OXO bowls make it easy to stir and scrape ingredients cleanly, and the non-skid exterior bottoms prevent the bowls from sliding even when they are tilted at an angle. For this recipe, the 5-quart bowl is the perfect size. 

Silicone Spoon Spatula (AKA "Spoonula")

One of my favorite silicone cooking and baking spatulas is the GIR Premium Silicone Ultimate Spoonula, Ultimate 11 inch, a combination silicone spatula and spoon with a deep, spoon-like "bowl" and a thin, flexible edge that scrapes up every last bit of dough or batter easily. I love my pretty teal GIR "spoonula," but it also comes in other colors and sizes.

Pastry Blender AKA Pastry Cutter

I started baking when I was a kid and was taught to make biscuits by "cutting in" the butter into the dry ingredients with two knives, using a scissor-like motion. It was only later in my years as a baking enthusiast that I discovered the joy of using a pastry blender, also called a pastry cutter. It makes quick work of cutting the chunks of very cold butter into small, "petite pea-sized" bits while coating them in the flour mixture and distributing them evenly throughout the dry ingredients. 

Two years ago, I bought a new pastry blender that works much, much better than any other I have used. The Spring Chef Dough Blender Large Pastry Cutter is a heavy-duty, professional grade pastry blender with sharp yet thick, sturdy blades and a comfortable, wide, soft-grip handle. It comes in a choice of 3" and 4" sizes (I bought the larger, 4" model) and a range of grip colors. I recommend it highly to anyone who makes biscuit dough, pie crusts, etc., by hand rather than in a food processor.

Spring-Action 4-Tablespoon Stainless Steel Scoop

I have a collection of trigger or spring-action stainless steel scoops that I use constantly for baking and cooking, for everything from portioning cookie dough and cupcake batter to making evenly sized meatballs. Most of mine are made by Norpro, which are excellent quality, very durable and easy and comfortable to use and measure accurately.

By trial and error, I found that my Norpro 56mm 4-Tablespoon Stainless Steel Scoop is the perfect size for dividing the blueberry biscuit scones batter evenly into 20 nicely shaped mounds. Being able to easily make all the biscones the same diameter, height and volumes helps ensure that they bake evenly at the same time. It's also helpful if you are tracking the calories, carbohydrates, and other nutrition metrics of the food you consume.

Low Carb Keto Blueberry Biscuit Scones Recipe (AKA "Biscones")

Baked blueberry "biscones" on plate on lace tablecloth
These 10 fragrant, freshly baked low carb, keto blueberry biscuit scones are just half the recipe's yield; the other 10 have been frozen to enjoy in the future.

These keto-friendly, low carb blueberry "biscones" are quick and easy to make, thanks to two delicious Livlo Keto Baking Mixes with clean, wholesome ingredients. Just add cold butter, eggs and fresh blueberries!

Servings

20

Ingredients

Instructions

Ingredients for Low Carb Keto Blueberry Biscuit Scones Recipe
Setting out and preparing the ingredients makes everything go even quicker.

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 ℉. Line two full-size baking sheets (or four smaller baking trays, if baking in a countertop oven) with silicone nonstick baking mats or unbleached baking parchment sheets. Cut the butter into 1/4" cubes, beat the eggs lightly and rinse and dry the fresh blueberries.
Cutting the butter cubes into the dry baking mixes with a pastry blender
My large, sturdy pastry blender makes cutting in the butter cubes a snap!

  1. Empty both the bags of keto baking mix into a large mixing bowl. Stir the cold butter cubes into the dry ingredients with a silicone spoon spatula (spoonula), then use a pastry blender to "cut in" the butter into smaller pieces and distribute them evenly throughout, scraping the sides and bottom of the bowl and the blades of the pastry blender as needed.
Biscones dough in mixing bowl after adding beaten eggs
Stirring in the lightly beaten eggs creates a stiff batter or dough.

  1. Stir in the beaten eggs with the silicone spoon spatula to form a thick batter or dough, scraping the bottom and sides of the bowl.
Biscones dough after adding fresh blueberries
Adding fresh blueberries ensures that every bite is filled with juicy, flavorful berries!

  1. Stir in the fresh blueberries until evenly distributed.
Mounds of raw keto blueberry biscuit scones dough on lined baking sheets
A 4-tablespoon scoop makes it easy to portion the dough into uniformly sized and shaped mounds.

  1. Use the 4-tablespoon stainless steel scoop to portion the dough evenly into 20 mounds on the lined baking sheets or trays.
  1. Bake until the tops of the blueberry biscones are golden, approximately 15 minutes. Do not overbake!
Baked blueberry "biscones" (biscuit scones) on cooling rack
Make sure to let them cool on the baking sheets for a few minutes before transferring the biscones directly to the cooling rack.

  1. Transfer the baking sheets to cooling racks and let the biscuit scones cool for a few minutes before removing them from the pans. (Lifting them off the baking sheet while still hot makes them prone to crumbling.)

Nutrition Facts

The following was calculated by entering the nutrition data for each of the ingredients into a "custom recipe" in the Carb Manager app. 

Amount Per Serving (1 blueberry "biscone" (1/20 recipe))

Calories

184

Total Fat

17g

  Sat. Fat

  0.5g

  Trans Fat

  0g

Cholesterol

0mg

Sodium

5.1mg

Total Carbohydrate

9.2g

  Dietary Fiber

  3.6g

  Total Sugars

  1.5g

    Added Sugars

    0g

  Sugar Alcohols (Erythritol)

  3g

Protein

5.6g

Net Carbs
9.2g total carbs-3.6g dietary fiber-3g sugar alcohols = 2.6 net carbs

2.6g net carbs


Recipe Notes

These blueberry biscones are delicious as is, but even better if you split, butter and lightly toast them or drizzle them with a bit of glaze (the instructions for making a glaze are on the Livlo Blueberry Scones Keto Baking Mix package). 

They're great for breakfast, brunch, dessert, or as a low carb snack with a cup of tea or coffee or a glass of cold nut milk or other low-carb, plant-based milk.

Since this recipe makes 20 biscuit scones, I like to freeze some of them to enjoy at a later date.

Blueberry Biscuit Scones — New, Easy, Low Carb Keto Recipe by Margaret Schindel

Posts About My Keto Diet Journey

My First Year on The Keto Diet

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part One

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part Two

Low Carb Muffins & Cupcakes: Treats to Enjoy on a Keto Diet

Low Carb Keto Chocolate Yogurt Granola Chip Pudding Recipe

Good Dee’s Keto Cookie Low Carb Baking Mix Review

Hamama Microgreens Growing Kit Review & Success Tips

My Favorite Hamama Microgreens Seed Quilt Accessories

Keto Cheddar Cheese Biscuits With Chives Recipe

The Ultimate Keto Hot Chocolate Recipe

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffins

Wholesome Yum Keto Bread Mix and Yeast Bread Recipe

The Good Chocolate 100% Organic No Sugar Dark Chocolate Review

The Best Advice to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss

My New Irresistibly Delicious Keto Cheese Crackers Recipe

Luscious Low Carb Keto Triple Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies Recipe

Quick & Easy Livlo Blueberry Scones Keto Baking Mix Review

Snack Better With The Best Healthy Keto Cookie Dough Bites

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Pizza Recipe

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Shortcake Cupcakes Recipe

Comparing the Best Keto-Friendly Chocolate Hazelnut Spreads - No Added Sugars

The Best Low Carb Keto Sandwich and Burger Buns Mix

Blueberry Biscuit Scones — New, Easy, Low Carb Keto Recipe

The Best Keto Pizza Crust Mix With 0 Net Carbs

Reviews of the Keto Diet by Barbara C. (aka Brite-Ideas)

My Personal Keto Testimonial

How I Stayed Committed to the Ketogenic Way of Eating

Read More Recipes by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Reviews About Health and Wellness by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, July 20, 2022

The Best Low Carb Keto Sandwich and Burger Buns Mix

One of the hardest things about sticking to a keto diet or low carb lifestyle is finding good, grain-free alternatives to conventional wheat bread, rolls, buns, etc. The same is true for people with food allergies or other medical conditions that require following a dairy-free, sugar-free, grain-free (or wheat-free) or gluten-free diet.

While a burger wrapped in lettuce or sandwiched between pieces of low carb, keto-friendly bread (or whatever wrapper meets your dietary restrictions) is fine, sometimes you just want to eat a burger inside a real hamburger bun. The challenge is finding one with a good enough taste and texture that also fits within your preferred (or medically necessary) healthy eating lifestyle.

Today, I'll share my product review of KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix, the best low carb keto sandwich and burger buns mix I have found since 2019, when I started my keto weight loss diet that helped me lose nearly 60 pounds and then continued to follow a healthy low carb lifestyle.

Main Image - KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Mix

Low Carb, Keto Friendly Burger Buns With a Great Taste and Texture

I have tried quite a few commercial low carb burger buns that claimed to be keto friendly. My favorite from a taste and texture perspective are the Sola Golden Wheat Hamburger Buns, which have a taste and texture that resemble their high-carb counterparts more than most. They're soft, sturdy enough to hold up well as a "hamburger holder" or sandwich bun, and both the taste and texture are improved after a minute or two in a toaster oven. They are baked fresh weekly, are shipped frozen and defrost in transit, and the company recommends freezing them upon receipt and thawing them as needed. 

They contain 14g of protein, which is great, and 11g of dietary fiber. They also contain 19g total carbs and 6g net carbs after you subtract the 11g of fiber and 2g of sugar alcohol (erythritol), which can be a bit high for someone who is trying to lose weight on a ketogenic diet and has a low daily net carb limit. 

Even though they are marketed as "keto-friendly," they contain ingredients such as wheat that are fine for people who are doing so-called "dirty keto" or "lazy keto" but don't fit the requirements for a "clean keto" or strict keto diet. They also contain some ingredients that are food allergens and, therefore, make them off-limits to my friends and family members who need to eat gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, grain-free or even just wheat-free. So, while I really like the Sola Golden Wheat Hamburger Buns, I also wanted to find some low carb burger buns that had not only a satisfying taste and texture but also fewer net carbs and only "clean keto" ingredients. 

I have tried a couple of very good low carb recipes for keto burger buns for when I have the time, energy and inclination to bake from scratch, but since we eat burgers twice a week, I wanted low carb burger buns that were either ready-to-use or quick and easy to prepare, especially during the hot summer months. Ideally, they would also be wheat-free, grain-free, sugar-free, soy-free and gluten-free, so all my friends and family members could enjoy them, and a less expensive option than the Sola burger buns would be a bonus.   

I tried several keto baking mixes for burger and sandwich buns. Unfortunately, most were disappointing in their taste, texture, or both. Recently, however, I tried a mix from a company I had not heard of before but that had great product reviews: KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix. My expectations weren't very high, based on my experiences with other keto sandwich bun mixes. Frankly, as someone with a professional background in product marketing, I also was skeptical of a product name that made such a bold marketing claim.

To my surprise (and delight), the KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix really does live up to its name, based on my experience so far with burger bun mixes from competing keto baking mix brands. (I'm always trying new products that fit my low carb lifestyle, so if another challenger de-thrones the KetoBakes low carb sandwich buns mix, I'll update this product review.) 

Why KetoBakes Sandwich Buns Baking Mix Really Is the "Best EVER" Keto Burger Buns Mix

Why do I think KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix lives up to its name?

Sliced open burger bun made from KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix
This bun made with KetoBakesBest EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix is large (and tall) enough for a burger. You can see how nicely the tops brown and the airy texture that keeps these low carb buns from being dense or heavy, like so many keto baked goods.

Superior Taste and Texture

This mix produces low carb sandwich buns that aren't overly dense, bland, tough or spongy, unlike many other keto-friendly buns. The dough contains yeast, so the buns are light and full of tiny air pockets, while being sturdy enough for a burger or sandwich that you can pick up and eat with your hands without worrying about it crumbling, tearing or sagging. 

I find them similar in texture to sandwich buns from a good artisan bakery!

High Protein, Moderate Fat, High Fiber, 0g Net Carbs

Dividing the prepared dough into 8 portions makes buns that are a good size for a burger or sandwich.

Nutrition Facts

8 servings per container
Serving size: 1/8 (31g)

 

Per 1/8 dry mix

Per baked bun (1/8 prepared dough)

Calories

130

140

Total Fat

10g

10g

  Sat. Fat

  1g

  1g

  Trans Fat

  0g

  0g

Cholesterol

0mg

0mg

Sodium

360mg

410mg

Total Carbohydrate

9g

9g

  Dietary Fiber

  8g

  8g

  Total Sugars

  <1g

  1g

    Added Sugars

    0g

    0g

  Sugar Alcohol (Erythritol)

    1g

  1g

Protein

5g

8g

Net Carbs
9g total carbs-8g dietary fiber-1g sugar alcohols = 0 net carbs

0g net carbs

0g net carbs


Non-GMO, Wholesome, Clean Keto Ingredients

KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix contains the same wholesome, "clean" ingredients I use when I bake low carb, grain-free sandwich buns from scratch: 

  • Non-GMO blanched almond flour
  • Organic psyllium husk
  • Certified gluten-free oat fiber
  • Non-GMO erythritol
  • Himalayan pink salt
  • Baking yeast
  • Aluminum-free baking powder
  • Xanthan gum
  • Pure stevia extract powder

There's nothing that I can't pronounce or am not familiar with from baking keto recipes and no chemical preservatives.

Quick and Easy to Prepare

Just mix 1 cup of egg whites, 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar and 1 cup of water in a mixing bowl, add in the mix and stir by hand or with an electric mixer for 1 minute (batter will be thick and have a "porridge-like" consistency). Let it rest for 5 minutes to thicken further, then portion the dough with a measuring scoop into 8 portions, either on a parchment-lined baking sheet or a mesh silicone hamburger bun mold. (Note: If baking the buns in this type of mold, increase the egg whites to 1.5 cups.)

Bake in a preheated 350 ℉ oven for approximately 55 minutes (covering with foil after 35–40 minutes if the tops are browning too quickly). Allow the baked buns to cool for 10 minutes before slicing or freezing.

I love that, even though this baking mix contains yeast, you don't have to wait for the prepared dough to rise!

Plate with BBQ pork tenderloin sandwich on a bun made from KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix

Gluten-Free, Wheat-Free, Grain-Free, Soy-Free, Dairy-Free

The mix is manufactured in a dedicated gluten-free facility, and both the mix and the prepared buns can accommodate a wide range of dietary preferences and food allergy restrictions. 

The Baked Buns Freeze Beautifully and Thaw Quickly

Since the mix contains no chemical preservatives, KetoBakes says the baked buns will keep at room temperature for one day, in the refrigerator for one week, or in zippered food storage bags in the freezer for up to four weeks. However, I have stored them successfully in the freezer for significantly longer inside my favorite Stasher Stand-Up Mega Sized Silicone Reusable Storage Bag, which has an innovative air-tight, PINCH-LOC seal that's a cinch to zip and unzip (unlike most zippered food storage bags).

The frozen buns thaw quickly and taste even better lightly toasted!

Less Expensive Than My Favorite Ready-to-Eat Low Carb Sandwich and Burger Buns

High quality keto and low carb baked goods and baking mixes are, of necessity more expensive to produce than their conventional, big brand name counterparts, thanks to the higher cost of cleaner, more nutritious ingredients (e.g., almond flour and natural sweeteners vs. wheat flour and cane sugar). The best quality mixes made with wholesome, less processed, healthier ingredients are also often made by smaller companies. Both these factors contribute to the higher retail price of good quality of high quality, healthy, low carb, keto-friendly baked goods and baking mixes.

The Sola Golden Wheat Hamburger Buns are already baked and ready to eat. Naturally, that convenience costs more. I always order six packages of four, since the price per bun for a single package of four is cost-prohibitive. As of this post's publication date, a two-pack of 4 Sola hamburger buns (8 buns) costs $13.99, or $3.50 per bun(!), whereas a six-pack (24 buns) costs $32.10, or $1.33 per bun.

A single bag of KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix makes 8 large buns and sells on Amazon for $9.99 as of this writing, or $1.25 per bun plus the cost of the added egg whites and apple cider vinegar. The price for a 3-pack of the mix (24 buns) is $29.99, which comes out to the same price per bun as the single bag of mix. You can also buy a 6-pack of the mix (48 buns) for $55.23, bringing down the cost to $1.15 per bun (plus the cost of the egg whites and vinegar).

Versatile Keto-Friendly Baking Mix for Sandwich Buns, Burger Buns, Dinner Rolls or Baguettes

In addition to making delicious sandwich buns, the prepared KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix dough can be portioned out with a 1/3-cup scoop to make 10–11 dinner rolls or shaped into baguettes no wider than 3" in diameter. The package directions provide the adjusted baking times for these variations.

Family-Owned Small Business

I love to find great products from small, family-owned businesses, especially when the quality is superior to what is available from the big-name brands and huge, multinational corporations that dominate the food industry and sacrifice quality for profits.

Note from KetoBakes small business owners on back of sandwich buns baking mix package

I also trust small, family-owned companies like KetoJoy and its KetoBakes brand low carb baking mixes, whose owners put their faces, names, personal stories and passion for their mission on their products and marketing.

If you've been looking for great-tasting, healthy, low carb, keto-friendly sandwich and burger buns with wholesome, non-GMO, clean ingredients, I'm confident that you'll love KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix as much as I do!

The Best Low Carb Keto Sandwich and Burger Buns Mix by Margaret Schindel

Posts About My Keto Diet Journey

My First Year on The Keto Diet

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part One

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part Two

Low Carb Muffins & Cupcakes: Treats to Enjoy on a Keto Diet

Low Carb Keto Chocolate Yogurt Granola Chip Pudding Recipe

Good Dee’s Keto Cookie Low Carb Baking Mix Review

Hamama Microgreens Growing Kit Review & Success Tips

My Favorite Hamama Microgreens Seed Quilt Accessories

Keto Cheddar Cheese Biscuits With Chives Recipe

The Ultimate Keto Hot Chocolate Recipe

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffins

Wholesome Yum Keto Bread Mix and Yeast Bread Recipe

The Good Chocolate 100% Organic No Sugar Dark Chocolate Review

The Best Advice to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss

My New Irresistibly Delicious Keto Cheese Crackers Recipe

Luscious Low Carb Keto Triple Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies Recipe

Quick & Easy Livlo Blueberry Scones Keto Baking Mix Review

Snack Better With The Best Healthy Keto Cookie Dough Bites

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Pizza Recipe

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Shortcake Cupcakes Recipe

Comparing the Best Keto-Friendly Chocolate Hazelnut Spreads - No Added Sugars

The Best Low Carb Keto Sandwich and Burger Buns Mix

Blueberry Biscuit Scones — New, Easy, Low Carb Keto Recipe

The Best Keto Pizza Crust Mix With 0 Net Carbs

Reviews of the Keto Diet by Barbara C. (aka Brite-Ideas)

My Personal Keto Testimonial

How I Stayed Committed to the Ketogenic Way of Eating

Read More Food Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Reviews About Health and Wellness by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X