Showing posts with label Health. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Health. Show all posts

Wednesday, June 2, 2021

The Best Advice to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss

 Losing weight is a piece of cake (so to speak) compared to keeping those pounds from coming back. If you are following a mostly clean ketogenic weight loss diet for an extended period, figuring out how to maintain your successes after you reach your target weight can be even more challenging.

This time last year, after celebrating the one-year anniversary of the start of my successful keto diet weight loss journey, I shared my best advice for preparing to succeed on a keto diet

Last week marked my second keto-versary, In honor of this important milestone in my transformational journey toward better health and wellbeing, I am sharing what I’ve learned during the past year about how to maintain the significant weight loss I achieved on a ketogenic diet.

image collage of woman at different weights between 2017 and 2020

The Best Tips to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss Success

In part one of my post about preparing to succeed on a keto diet, I shared my belief that there is no “one-size-fits-all” ketogenic weight loss diet that is optimal for everyone, that dirty, lazy and strict keto are not your only options, and that designing a personalized approach to this way of eating that best fits your unique needs, lifestyle, and priorities can improve your chances of success. Based on my own experience so far, I think it’s just as important to design a personalized plan to maintain your keto diet journey wins after you reach your target weight.

For the past 12 months or so, I have been working on and refining my long-term strategy to maintain not only my new, healthy weight but also the other profoundly positive changes that resulted from my switch to a mostly clean ketogenic diet. Although I will likely continue to experiment, evaluate and make further tweaks over time, I have gradually figured out a viable “new normal” that is meeting my needs, for now. 

The best advice I can share is to learn as much as you can from people who have transitioned from a keto weight loss diet to a healthy, sustainable maintenance diet and kept those pounds from coming back. Use whatever aspects resonate with you to help you design your own personalized plan, tailored to your needs, priorities, and preferences.

To help you get started, here are the seven strategies that have helped me maintain my nearly 60-pound weight loss so far. 

3 side-by-side photos of same woman before and after losing weight and keeping it off with a ketogenic diet

Make Small, Incremental Changes to Your Diet at a Time

Increase your carbs and calories very slowly, then wait at least a week or two to see how your body responds before deciding whether, what, and how much to change next. You also may want to try gradually decreasing your fat intake somewhat and evaluating the effects. I increased my carbs by 5 grams and added 50 calories every three weeks,  very small changes to my calories and macros roughly every 3 weeks so my metabolism would adapt to each minor change without overreacting to a perceived food surplus or famine. 

Use Most of Those Extra Carbs and Calories to Add Nutrients and Fiber

It’s okay to reserve some of your extra maintenance carbs and calories for a keto-friendly cheddar cheese and chive biscuit or a square or two from a healthy, sugar-free The Good Chocolate bar, but try to invest most of your carb and calorie “raise” into a broader range or slightly larger portions of nutrient-dense, fiber-rich foods, such as berries and root vegetables, especially if you plan to continue with a modified keto or low carb diet as part of a healthy lifestyle. You can also try introducing small amounts of high-fiber beans and legumes and see how they affect your blood sugar, insulin, energy level, mood, and mental clarity. 

Pay Attention to How Your Body Responds 

If you have (or had) a lot of weight to lose, start experimenting with very small, gradual increases to your calories and carbs when you are within three pounds of your target weight, even though it means waiting a bit longer to reach your “magic number” on the scale. Finding your personal nutritional “sweet spot” to maintain your new, healthier weight will require navigating uncharted territory. Switching your focus from losing those last few pounds to figuring out how to keep them off for good will give you a good head-start on testing the effects of those dietary changes and fine-tuning them by the time you  reach your weight loss goal. 

Don’t Revert to Your Former Bad Habits

To paraphrase Henry Ford, if you keep doing what you’ve always done, you’ll keep getting what you’ve always gotten. So, if you go back to eating the things that caused you to put on weight and made it hard to lose—especially sugars, refined starches and highly processed foods—you will soon put back any pounds you dropped on keto, and probably a few more, too boot. 

Keto cookbooks and baking books

Build On Your New, Healthy Lifestyle Habits

If you have been following a "dirty keto" approach, consider eating fewer highly processed foods and buying healthier, fresh, whole, or minimally processed foods, such as organic fresh berries and vegetables and grass-fed (and, ideally, grass-finished) beef and dairy products.

If you your meals have relied heavily on fast food restaurant chains or packaged foods, try cooking more of your meals and eating out less to help you control the quality and quantity and enhance the flavor and nutrition of the foods you consume. (You will probably also save some money in the process.) To expand your repertoire of quick and easy, delicious and nutritious breakfasts, lunches, dinners, and snacks, I highly recommend Carolyn Ketchum's cookbook The Everyday Ketogenic Kitchen: With More than 150 Inspirational Low-Carb, High-Fat Recipes to Maximize Your HealthMaya Krampf's The Wholesome Yum Easy Keto Cookbook: 100 Simple Low Carb Recipes. 10 Ingredients or Less, Kyndra Holley's Craveable Keto: Your Low-Carb, High-Fat Roadmap to Weight Loss and Wellness, Natasha Newton's Southern Keto: 100+ Traditional Food Favorites for a Low-Carb Lifestyle, and Maria Emmerich's Keto Restaurant Favorites: More Than 175 Tasty Classic Recipes Made Fast, Fresh, and Healthy

If you miss traditional baked goods and have been disappointed by the keto recipes or packaged versions you've tried, invest in a couple of cookbooks with reliable recipes from a keto baking expert, such as Ketchum's The Ultimate Guide to Keto Baking: Master All the Best Tricks for Low-Carb Baking Success or Hilda Solares' Essential Keto Bread: Sweet and Savory Baked Goods to Satisfy Any Craving.

If you haven't been getting much exercise, look for ways to build a more active lifestyle.

Bagged piles of women's clothing to donate or sell

Get Rid of Clothes That No Longer Fit You 

Don’t sabotage yourself by holding onto this safety net in case you gain back the weight you worked so hard to lose. Try on every piece of clothing you own and sort it into the appropriate pile: throw away, give away, donate, sell, or bring to a tailor to be altered to fit your new size, depending on the style and how much would need to be taken in. If you’re having trouble letting go of some favorite pieces that would require too much alteration, think about how much good you will do by donating them to someone in need.

Digital body weight scale and tape measure

Keep Paying Attention (for the Rest of Your Life)

Body weight can fluctuate frequently for many different reasons, so stepping on the scale too often when you’re on a reducing diet can be frustrating, demotivating and even misleading. However, once you are close to your goal, more frequent weigh-ins can provide important feedback as you experiment with and fine-tune changes to your diet to develop a successful eating plan to maintain your target weight. 

Even after you have developed a maintenance diet framework that appears to work for you, it’s important to weigh yourself consistently, at the same time of day, at least twice a month. This is even more important if you stop tracking your calories and macros with nutrition tracker app such as Carb Manager after you reach your desired weight. 

The longer it has been since you reached your weight loss goal, the more likely it is that you will start taking your ability to maintain that weight for granted. I learned this the hard way after Carb Manager’s initial poorly implemented redesign of this popular keto and low carb diet tracking app early this year forced me to stop using it for several months. Recording and tracking everything I ate or drank against my daily calorie limit and macros in the Carb Manager app had been one of the keys to achieving my target weight and maintaining it for the next eight or nine months. So, when the initial launch of the redesigned app made it too time consuming and frustrating to keep using, I was nervous about losing the main tool I had come to rely on to help me keep my weight and my healthy eating on track. But it didn’t take long to become confident in my ability to maintain my weight without tracking every bit and sip. Then, a few weeks ago, I noticed that my tummy wasn’t as flat as it had been a year ago, and the scale informed me that I had gained back four pounds. I realized it was time to start learning to use the new version of Carb Manager and get back to tracking my calories and macros. I have already shed two of those four pounds and returned to weighing myself every two weeks, so that if my weight creeps up a pound or two, I can nip that trend in the bud and return to my ideal weight quickly and easily, simply by cutting back on the carbs for a week or two.


The Best Advice to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss by Margaret Schindel


Posts In This Series About My Keto Diet Journey

The Best Advice to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss

The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffins

The Good Chocolate 100% Organic No Sugar Dark Chocolate Review

Wholesome Yum Easy Keto Bread Mix and Yeast Bread Recipe

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

The Ultimate Keto Hot Chocolate Recipe

Keto Cheddar Cheese Biscuits With Chives Recipe

Good Dee’s Keto Cookie Low Carb Baking Mix Review

Low Carb Keto Chocolate Yogurt Granola Chip Pudding Recipe

Low Carb Muffins & Cupcakes: Treats to Enjoy on a Keto Diet

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part Two

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part One

My First Year on The Keto Diet


Reviews of the Keto Diet by Barbara C. (aka Brite-Ideas)

My Personal Keto Testimonial

How I Stayed Committed to the Ketogenic Way of Eating


Read More Reviews About Health and Wellness by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 28, 2021

Kandio Non Contact Infrared Sensor Thermometer Reviewed

No Touch Thermometer
At the beginning of the pandemic, I realized I didn't have a very good thermometer in my home.  All of our existing thermometers were decades old and took temperature in the ear or mouth.  Because we were warned about how easy it was for the virus to spread, I decided we needed a no touch thermometer.

I promptly went to Amazon and bought a no contact infrared thermometer.  After waiting weeks for it to be delivered, it didn't work at all upon arrival.  I returned that one and ordered another one that was available.  

Again, I had to wait weeks.  Upon arrival, the second thermometer would turn on, but it definitely did not show correct temperatures.  Not only were the readings way too low, but they were inconsistent.  I returned that thermometer too.  What seemed apparent to me was that there was a lot of trash being sold on the market and the sellers were price gouging.  

Both of those thermometers exceeded $100 price tag, but I really wanted, actually felt we needed, a no touch thermometer.  I was quite frustrated and had no idea how I could get a working non contact sensor thermometer.  Frankly, I was wary of ordering another one so I ordered from a different site.  Same results!

After 3 unsatisfactory orders, I gave up on buying the thermometer online.  I had expressed my frustration to my husband and clearly he was listening because one day he came home with the Kandio No Contact Infrared Sensor Thermometer and it works!!!  

He purchased ours at our local independent pharmacy.  It was in the window when he drove by.  He spotted it and promptly bought one for our household.  Pretty awesome and greatly appreciated!

Before writing this review, I checked the major online sites and couldn't find anyone carrying the Kandio thermometer, but I do see there are sellers on Ebay carrying them.

My recommendation, don't waste your money and time on others!  Seek out the Kandio Non Contact Infrared Sensor Thermometer.


The Kandio Non Contact Infrared Sensor Thermometer

Below is the information on the thermometer that my husband bought for us. Along with the model number, I am sharing what we paid for ours so you know if you are getting a fair price or not.

No Touch Thermometer
Model: GDTWQ36 

Our Kandio thermometer cost: $59.99

Temperature is taken by aiming the thermometer at the forehead (1 - 2 inches away) and squeezing the trigger button on the handle.  Therefore, the thermometer never touches the "patient" and you can easily stand an arms length away.

  • Fast, accurate reading in 1 second
  • Large, easy to read display screen
  • Back-lit display (you don't have to disturb patients rest)
  • Beeps when temperate is taken
  • Auto Shut-off after 1 minute
  • 2 AAA batteries required
 
This has been the only reliable no contact thermometer that I have found available.  How about you?  Have you found a reliable no touch/non contact thermometer?  If so, please share the thermometer product information in the comments below.  We want everyone to be able to check and monitor their own temperature accurately.

Stay Safe & Healthy!
 

No Contact Thermometer on Ebay


 




Read More Health Related Reviews
Here On Review This Reviews!

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, May 19, 2021

14 Secrets to Growing Strong, Healthy, Beautiful Nails

Weak, fragile, ridged, peeling, flaking or splitting nails are unsightly, embarrassing and sometimes painful. The same is true of cracked, ragged, torn, chewed, or puffy cuticles. I know this because I spent much of my adult life feeling self-conscious about my visibly damaged nails and dry cuticles, and searching for effective ways to improve their length, strength, and appearance. I described the extent of that damage, as well as the remarkable results I have been able to achieve so far, in my recent review and recommendations for choosing the best manicure (and pedicure) tools

In today’s post, I am sharing the things I have done to dramatically improve the strength, flexibility, and appearance of my damaged fingernails and toenails.


Before I reveal these 14 secrets to growing strong, healthy, beautiful nails, I will offer three important considerations to provide context for these proven strategies.

  • The nail plate—the visible, hard surface to which nail polish is applied—is hardened, flattened, compressed layers of dead keratin protein cells. (That's why it doesn't hurt or bleed when you clip or cut the free edge, unless you accidentally trim too close to the quick.) 
  • The only living tissue is the deeper layer (dermis) of the skin beneath the nail plate (aka the nail bed) and the fold of skin cells at the base of the natural nail plate (aka the nail fold) that produce the cuticle.
  • So, the best way to achieve lasting improvements to the strength, flexibility and appearance of damaged nails is to focus on nourishing and protecting the nail bed and nail fold, keeping the cuticle and surrounding skin moisturized, and protecting the nail plate as much as possible from absorbing excess water. 

Tip: The Nail (anatomy) Wikipedia page provides a helpful, high-level overview of the nails' structure and parts, function and clinical significance. 

1. Protect and heal your cuticles, so they can protect you.

Picking at, biting or cutting your cuticles can open the door to bacteria or fungi, causing an infection that not only will make your cuticles look worse, but also can lead to permanent nail bed damage. Dana Stern, MD, a board-certified dermatologist in New York City who specializes in nail health, explained in a Q&A for Nails magazine, “Cuticles serve as the nail’s natural protective seal. They are next to the most important part of the nail—the nail matrix—and protect the matrix from bacteria and infection. Any trauma to the cuticle area (cutting, biting, picking) can affect the matrix and ultimately lead to irregularities in the nail. Instead, push cuticles back gently and use a cuticle oil or cuticle cream to keep them hydrated and healthy.”

If you have a hangnail, don't pull, tear or bite the off. Remove it right after showering or shampooing, when the dead skin has been softened. If it is next to the side of the nail, file it off with a glass file. If it is at the bottom or corner, use a sterilized cuticle nipper to carefully nip off just the base of the loose, dead skin. Avoid nipping any live tissue. Then use a glass nail file to smooth the clipped root so it doesn't catch or snag on fabrics, etc., and you aren't tempted to pick at or pull on it. I recently discovered that using a Germanikure glass cuticle pusher, which I can hold in a “pencil grip,” gives me much better control when I am smoothing hangnails or calluses.

2. Moisturize your cuticles and nail bed.

The nail bed is the living tissue directly under the nail plate, which extends beyond the cuticle. A well moisturized nail bed is one of the keys to improving the nails’ health, strength and appearance. It not only makes the cuticles smoother and less prone to cracking (which can let damaging bacteria and fungi in), but also makes the nails stronger, more flexible and less prone to chipping, cracking or splitting. 

To keep these areas moisturized, apply cuticle oil, serum and/or cream, then slowly and thoroughly massage the oil into your cuticles and the surrounding skin. Do this every morning and just before bed, at a minimum, and preferably after showering, bathing, shampooing, or washing your hands in hot, soapy water, or using hand sanitizer. It’s a good idea to moisturize your cuticles and the surrounding skin again after washing dishes, cleaning the kitchen, bathrooms, windows, etc., or doing other “wet work” without wearing rubber gloves, and especially if you use household cleaners containing harsh chemicals. If you don’t want to keep multiple bottles, applicators or jars of cuticle oil or cuticle cream in different parts of your house, you can keep one in your bedside stand or table and keep hand cream or lotion near the sinks to massage into your hands and cuticles after getting them wet.

Tip: If your cuticles are very dry and in rough shape, I highly recommend splurging on Deborah Lippmann's The Cure cuticle cream intensive cuticle treatment therapy, which won Allure’s Best of Beauty Award for four consecutive years. I have been using it for many years, and even though I have tried several other highly rated cuticle creams during that time, this rich formula consistently gives me noticeably softer, smoother cuticles and must faster results that, for me, are worth the premium price. 

3. Keep your fingernails dry.

When fingernails and toenails absorb water, they soften and swell. As a result, the thin, translucent keratin layers on the surface can separate, which leads to peeling and flaking. Avoid keeping your hands in warm or hot water—especially hot, soapy water—except when you wash your hands, bathe or shower and shampoo your hair. 

Also, paradoxically, keeping your hands or feet submerged in hot, soapy water dehydrates the living tissue, including the dermis layer of the nail bed and the nail fold. That’s why it’s important to massage in a cuticle oil, serum or cream (or at least a moisturizing hand cream or lotion) right after washing your hands or emerging from the tub or shower. 

Protect your nails and keep them dry by wearing cotton-lined latex or rubber dishwashing gloves for washing dishes, cleaning the kitchen and bathrooms, and other "wet work," and wear gardening gloves while working or playing in the dirt.

4. Clean your nails gently.

Don't use a cuticle stick or other pointed tool that can dig into the quick and open it to bacterial or fungal infections. Instead, scrub the fronts and backs of your nails gently with a wet nail brush and gentle hand soap.

5. Avoid or limit contact with harsh chemicals when cleaning.

When doing housework (including washing dishes) or laundry, minimize contact with harsh chemicals, by wearing rubber gloves whenever possible and, ideally, swapping traditional household cleaning products and laundry detergents for cleaners that don't contain harsh or potentially harmful chemicals. I highly recommend Puracy's natural cleaning products, which have perform as well as, and often even better than, the popular, big-name cleaners I had used in the past. 

6. Use nail hardeners sparingly, if at all.

These products make nails more brittle and, therefore, more prone to breaking. Nail hardeners can give the illusion of strong nails, but with continued use they can do more damage than good. They should only be considered for nails that are exceptionally weak or fragile, and not for long-term use.

7. Use nail polish to repel water and prevent peeling and splitting nails.

Wearing polish not only creates the appearance of more beautiful nails, it can also protect them. In the May 2020 Bustle post “5 Affordable Nail Polishes That Are Actually GOOD For Your Nails,” Dr. Stern explained that, but also can protect nails by helping to prevent the absorption of water, and because polish “binds the nail cells together, so nails are less likely to fray and split.” 

Dr. Stern recommended “10-free” polishes, which don’t contain any of the 10 potentially harmful chemicals most often used in polish formulas. I have tried several 10-free nail polish brands and formulas, and Zoya nail polish is one of my favorites in this category.

It’s also worth noting that the authors of the November 2019 Harvard Health blog post “A look at the effects of nail polish on nail health and safety” wrote, “There is no strong research data regarding whether the chemicals excluded from non-toxic polishes have harmful health effects at the concentrations present in traditional nail polish.” 

8. Never try to flake, peel or scrape off your nail polish.

Although applying basecoat, polish and topcoat can provide some protection and aid with maintaining or growing strong nails, wearing that lacquer will do much more harm than good if it isn’t removed gently by rubbing (not scrubbing) with a cotton ball or pad soaked in acetone-free nail polish remover.

Removers whose primary ingredient is acetone are essentially slightly diluted versions of paint stripper, and while those powerful solvents are effective and efficient, they are exactly the type of harsh, drying, potentially harmful chemicals that you want to avoid. Peeling or (even worse) scraping is even worse. Because lacquer is bonded to the surface of the nail plate, the top layers of keratin are removed along with the polish, leaving them even thinner, weaker and more fragile than before the protective coating was applied.  

So, if you want to achieve or maintain healthy nails, but you either can’t resist the urge to pick at or peel off your polish or don’t have the patience to remove it slowly and gently with acetone-free nail polish remover and cotton, you're probably better off leaving your nails bare.

Experts also advise removing polish no more than once a week (especially if you are using an acetone-based remover.)

Tips for Using Acetone-Free Nail Polish Remover:

I have found that Mineral Fusion works better job than other acetone-free formulas I have tried. However, even the best acetone-free nail polish removers are less aggressive and need more time to soften and dissolve layers of dried lacquer. Try to be patient and resist the temptation to speed up the process by rubbing harder or scrubbing.

If you applied a topcoat, start by scuffing the surface slightly with a few gentle strokes of a coarse salon board, just enough to start dulling the shine a bit. Lightly saturate a cotton ball or pad with acetone-free nail polish remover (so it’s evenly wet, but not dripping) and hold it against the nail for at least 60 seconds before you try to wipe off the polish. Repeat, if necessary, to remove any remaining polish.

I also recommend keeping a few HandsDown Ultra nail and cosmetic pads on hand for removing polish from just one or two nails without putting the rest of them at risk, thanks to the poly film backing and tab “handle.” that keeps the other nails away from the pad and remover. 

Polishes containing chunky glitter are much harder to get off (even with an acetone-based formula. The easiest and gentlest way to remove it is saturate small or mini size cotton balls (or large cotton balls cut or torn in half) with the acetone-free remover and use acrylic nail and polish remover clips to hold a mini cotton ball firmly against each nail. In my experience, it usually takes between three and eight minutes to remove glitter polish this way (and significantly less with an acetone-based formula), depending on how many layers of base coat, glitter polish, and topcoat I’m wearing. 

9. Keep your nails trimmed and the edges smooth. 

Use a glass nail file to smooth out and help seal the edges of the keratin layers to avoid snagging and reduce the chances of breakage. A fine glass nail file is the only type that can be used safely on both the “push” and “pull” stroke, without the risk causing flaking, peeling or splitting nails. (Any other type of nail file or salon board must be used only on the “push” stroke, going from the outer corner toward the center in only one direction, and lifting and repositioning the file to begin each new stroke, to minimize potential loosening of the keratin layers.) 

I recently ordered a few more glass nail files so I could keep one in every room of the house (as well as in my purse and our cars), to help me smooth any rough edges, snags or hangnails as soon as I notice them (and avoid the nervous habit of picking at or pulling on them and making things worse). I decided to try a set of Germanikure Czech glass nail files that come with sturdy, protective, suede leather soft cases. (The company also offers velvet soft cases as a vegan alternative.) The set includes a large file, a smaller, travel-size file, a glass callus remover/heel smoother, and the glass cuticle pusher I prefer to the nail file for smoothing hangnails, rough skin or calluses on my fingers. All the tools in this set are made from a thicker tempered glass than most others I’ve tried, and everything from the tools themselves to the suede leather cases to the packaging demonstrates an attention to detail and a commitment to high quality. I also got a pair of Germanikure Professional Stainless Steel Nail Scissors made in Solingen, Germany, which are also of superior quality. I can highly recommend this company’s products.

10. Eat a nutritious “rainbow” diet that includes foods high in vitamin C, biotin and folic acid (folate).

People who eat a healthy diet with plenty of vitamin C may have smoother, softer skin. One possible reason: Because vitamin C is an antioxidant, it can help protect your skin from free radicals. These break down oils, proteins, and even DNA. Vitamin C is found naturally in vegetables and fruits, especially oranges and other citrus fruits.

Some research studies have found that biotin can strengthen fingernails and make them grow faster. Clinical trials have shown that taking biotin orally can make brittle nails firmer, harder, and thicker, and there is also some evidence that oral biotin may improve vertically ridged nails (a condition known as trachyonychia). You can find biotin in a variety of foods, such as eggs, fish, meat, seeds, nuts, and vegetables. 

A folate (vitamin B9) deficiency can contribute to ridged, weak, brittle or peeling nails. The term folate can mean not only the folate that is found naturally in food but also folic acid, the form of the vitamin used in dietary supplements and enriched foods. To increase your consumption of folate-rich foods, you can eat more leafy greens and cruciferous vegetables (e.g., kale, spinach, arugula, broccoli, Brussels sprouts), asparagus, beets, citrus fruits, avocado, bananas, papaya, melons, eggs, legumes including beans, peas, and lentils, walnuts, almonds, flax seeds, wheat germ, beef liver, and vitamin-fortified and enriched products, including some breads, pasta, cereals, and juices.

Sources: 

Lipner, Shari & Scher, Richard. (2017). Biotin for the Treatment of Nail Disease: What is the Evidence?. Journal of Dermatological Treatment. 29. 1-17. [10.1080/09546634.2017.1395799].

Health Benefits of Biotin, WebMD.

15 Healthy Foods That Are High in Folate (Folic Acid)," Healthline.

11. Consider biotin supplements and folic acid supplements. 

Research studies have found that oral biotin supplements can increase nail thickness and prevent splitting and breaking. If your nails are especially thin and week, you might want to ask your doctor about prescribing a stronger, therapeutic dose of biotin, which has resulted in significant improvements in people with severe nail problems. 

Source: WebMD. (2006, December 16). A Dozen Tips for More Beautiful Nails. [https://www.webmd.com/beauty/features/more-beautiful-nails-a-dozen-tips

You also might also want to consider trying a folic acid supplement. WebMD’s supplement guide to folate (folic acid) [https://www.webmd.com/diet/supplement-guide-folic-acid] provides guidance on the USDA’s Recommended Dietary Allowance (RDA), as well as the maximum amount that most people can take safely on their own, although a doctor might prescribe a higher dose for treating a folate deficiency. Source: WebMD. (2020, July 26). Folate (Folic Acid). [https://www.webmd.com/diet/supplement-guide-folic-acid]

Note: I recommend asking your doctor before taking any supplement.

12. Don't use your nails as tools. 

This is one of the most important secrets to growing strong, healthy, more beautiful nails. It’s also the one I have the hardest time keeping in mind during my day-to-day activities! 

13. Don’t forget your toenails. 

All these secrets for growing strong, healthy nails apply equally to fingernails and toenails. It’s especially important to disinfect pedicure tools after each use, since fungus can grow more easily on toenails that are enclosed in the dark, moist environment of shoes or slippers for many hours each day. Also, to reduce the risk of ingrown toenails, cutting toenails straight across—not at an angle—is a must.

14. Save salon manicures and pedicures for special occasions and bring your own tools. 

There is no doubt that a professional salon mani or pedi can quickly give you the appearance of more beautiful nails, at least in the short term. However, while a salon visit might be an affordable indulgence, you also need to consider the hidden cost of the cumulative damage to the strength and health of your nails. 

“Water content and other aspects of brittle versus normal fingernails” a study by Dr. Stern and colleagues at Mount Sinai published in 2007 in the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, found that the odds of having brittle nails was more than three times greater among participants who received a professional manicure, and that the likelihood of having brittle nails was linked to the frequency of having professional manicures. Possible reasons include exposure to more chemicals and harsher ingredients than you would choose for your own nail polish remover, disinfectant and other at-home manicure or pedicure supplies, and salon owners or technicians who fail to follow their state's disinfection protocols or comply with other health and safety regulations or industry standards.

Experts recommend bringing your own manicure and pedicure tools with you to the nail salon, maintaining separate sets of nail care tools for your hands and feet to avoid cross-contamination, and disinfecting them thoroughly every time you use them, especially after you bring them back from a professional salon manicure or pedicure appointment, to minimize your risk for developing a bacterial, viral or fungal infection. 

Bottom line: If you want healthy, strong nails that look pretty with or without polish, save those salon visits for special occasions, and bring your own tools to your manicure or pedicure appointments.

What are your best tips for growing strong, healthy beautiful nails?

We can all benefit from sharing what has (or hasn't) worked well for us or our friends or family members. Thank you!



14 Secrets to Growing Strong, Healthy, Beautiful Nails product review by Margaret Schindel

Read the Other Posts in This Nail Care Tips Series
The Best Manicure Tools For Strong, Healthy Nails

Read More of My Product Reviews

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, May 9, 2021

A Personal Review of the Cubii - Five Stars - A Great Product

What's the Cubii?

If you haven't seen the ads on TV for this product, it's an "award-winning compact seated elliptical." In plain English, it's a small compact bike pedal that fits under your desk or anywhere you want it to do some pedaling from a seated position.

My 80+ Year Young Mother Purchased One

My mother decided that, especially with covid and with her health issues, she was simply sitting too much.

She had been thinking about getting the Cubii for over a year, and finally, after lockdown number three, she went ahead and ordered it in around March 2021.

The Cubii - Easy Assembly - Comes with the Mat

1. Does Your Mom Use it Regularly?

Yes. She sure does. She generally uses it on average three times a day for about 15 or 20 minutes at a time. However, once on a Zoom call, she biked for the full hour. Gently, of course.

2. Does Your Mom Have Any Pain from It?

No. Nothing that's from the Cubii.

3. Is the Cubii Strengthening Your Mom's Leg Muscles?

I'm going to say yes, slowly, yes. I was concerned about her muscles atrophying, so this is a terrific, safe way to get exercise without leaving her home and risking falls.

4. Does Your Mom Like the Cubii?

Yes. Mom really likes it. She's consistent when it comes to using it. She uses it daily.

5. Is it a Quiet Machine?

Not just quiet, virtually silent! Not a sound. The ads say it's whisper-quiet, and yes, it's that and more.

6. Can You Adjust the Tension?

Yes. Mom and I keep the tension low. Easy to do, turn the dial to the number you want.

7. Does it Track Distance, Time, Calories, and Rotations

Yes. It sure does. 

8. Is it Easy to Assemble

It's effortless to assemble. It comes with a screwdriver and four screws to put the pedals on. Once the pedals are on, it's assembled and ready to use.

9. What Comes with the Cubii?

We purchased the basic model (which is still fantastic). It comes with the unit, a slip-free mat, caster stops if you have a chair on wheels to prevent your chair from moving (I didn't need them because my chair is on a rug), a screwdriver, and four screws.

10. Hows the Quality?

It's high quality and durable—great value for the money.



My Early (Very Early) Birthday Present From My Mom was the Cubii - My Birthday Isn't for Months, But My Health Won't Wait

I was able to try my mother's Cubii, and I loved it. Since I have arthritic health issues, she offered one to me as an early birthday gift.

I positioned my Cubii under my desk, and as I'm typing this article, I'm pedaling. 

Get ready because using the Cubii is kind of addictive!

I LOVE the movement and motion when I'm sitting hours on end at my desk.

Typing and pedaling isn't a problem. Nope. I actually thought it would be an issue, but it's not. Yeah!

What Can I Do While Pedaling the Cubii?

  1. Build Web Pages
  2. Write Articles
  3. Social Media Marketing
  4. Create Graphics
  5. Self Publish Books (Typing & Word Processing)
  6. Talking on the phone
  7. Texting
  8. Watch TV and Videos
  9. Most Accounting Paperwork
  10. Creating Ads and Marketing
  11. Update My Website

The only thing I cannot do while pedaling is create the riddles for my riddle books. Creating original riddles requires focused thought, so I find myself stopping and starting the pedals when I'm in 'creation mode.' Other than that, it's ideal for working at my desk.

What I Like Most About the Cubii

Since it's under my desk and I can exercise anytime while sitting, I don't feel guilty sitting for hours. Of course, I still get up and stretch, etc., but now it's for a change of scenery, not guilt from lack of exercise!

I find it relieves stress. When I'm feeling challenged, I pedal off my steam. 

I highly recommend this product. You can get the product directly on the Cubii website or Amazon. If it's not available on Amazon (out of stock), head over to their website. They offer both a Canada and USA site link.

There are various models with various features. We chose the basic model, the JR1. 

Five stars.

Here is another model up with a few more elaborate features - Bluetooth Compatible - Sync it to Your Fitbit

Here is the one we purchased - on Amazon:







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, April 21, 2021

The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffins

I love baking homemade cinnamon muffins, which always fills our house with the lovely, nostalgic aroma of this traditional, warm spice. So, I've been collecting and trying out low carb, keto-friendly cinnamon muffin recipes that fit my healthy, ketogenic approach to eating. 

The recipes I'm sharing produce scrumptious sugar free cinnamon muffins that the whole family will enjoy, especially if they are trying to reduce or eliminate grains or sugar and other sweeteners that can spike their blood sugar levels and be harmful to their health in potentially more serious ways. 

Any of these cinnamon muffins can be paired with a cup of hot tea, coffee, or cocoa, or a glass of cold, unsweetened vanilla almond milk or macadamia milk for a guilt-free, wholesome, low carb treat for breakfast, dessert, or a healthy, nutritious, and delicious snack.

I am also sharing my product review of BochaSweet Keto Cinnamon Muffin Mix, which makes excellent low carb muffins in practically no time when mixed with just two ingredients: eggs and melted butter (or coconut oil).

Bon appétit!

Photo of keto friendly cinnamon muffins

The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffin Recipes

I have hand picked the following recipes based on their flavor, texture, calories, net carbs, and other aspects of their nutritional profile that make them good choices for people who love baked goods and follow a low carb or keto diet, or who just want to reduce or eliminate sugar from their diets as part of a healthier lifestyle. 

The keto cinnamon muffin recipes I've chosen to feature also can accommodate a range of common dietary restrictions. Most of them are low carb, sugar free, gluten free, grain free, and diabetic friendly. Two are also dairy free, and many of the others can be used to make dairy free muffins by replacing the butter with coconut oil. One of those is vegan. The other suggests substituting sunflower seed meal (aka sunflower seed flour) for the almond meal or almond flour for a nut-free cinnamon muffin recipe option. 

Replacing almond flour or meal with sunflower seed flour or meal works well in many low carb or keto baking recipes, and for someone with nut allergies, it's well worth experimenting with. (You might need to use a bit more than the specified amount of almond flour.)

If you are making these treats for someone who has dietary requirements other than, or in addition to, following a low carb or keto diet, be sure to review the ingredients for each recipe to ensure that it will fit that person's specific dietary restrictions.


Keto Cinnamon Cream Cheese Muffins Recipe (Wholesome Yum)

Maya Krampf developed the recipe for these yummy low carb keto cinnamon cream cheese muffins for her deservedly popular Wholesome Yum low carb and keto website. She is also the author of one of my favorite low carb cookbooks, The Wholesome Yum Easy Keto Cookbook: 100 Simple Low Carb Recipes. 10 Ingredients or Less.

A sweet vanilla cream cheese filling makes her low carb keto cinnamon cream cheese muffins like a cross between a coffee cake muffin with cinnamon streusel and a cheese danish pastry. I always make sure to warm these up before eating them (or sharing them with my husband, who also enjoys them), so the creamy filling returns to its slightly runny, just-out-of-the-oven state. 

The batter and cream cheese filling are sweetened with Maya's granulated/crystallized Besti monk fruit allulose sweetener blend. She says you could substitute allulose, or granulated erythritol for the batter and powdered erythritol for the filling, if you wanted to. The cinnamon streusel topping is sweetened with her Besti Brown monk fruit allulose sweetener blend, and she says she hasn't found another healthy, keto-friendly brown sugar substitute that works well in this recipe.

Compare the macros for Maya's Keto Cinnamon Cream Cheese Muffins, at 4.8g net carbs each, with those for Winchell's Donut House Cream Cheese Muffins (the most similar commercial muffin I could find nutrition data for), at a whopping 81g net carbs!

Nutrition Facts

Keto Cinnamon Cream Cheese Muffins
(Wholesome Yum)
Winchell's Donut House Cream Cheese Muffins
(source)
Serving Size: 1 muffin

Calories 318 610
Total Fat 29.3g 27g
Total Carbohydrate 8.7g 82g
Net Carbs 4.8g 81g
Dietary Fiber 3.9g 1g
Sugars 1.8g 56g
Protein 9.3g 9g

Recipe Notes:

As of this writing, these sweeteners are not yet available on Amazon.ca. However, you can order Besti sweeteners on Wholesome Yum Foods and have them shipped to Canada (although the shipping obviously will be higher). If you live in a country other than the U.S. and Canada and would like to be able to order these products, Wholesome Yum plans to expand its distribution internationally, based on demand. To express your interest, you can sign up to be notified when Besti sweeteners will become available in your country.


Keto Coffee Cake Muffins (All Day I Dream About Food)

Like any coffee cake worthy of the name, these tempting keto coffee cake muffins from Carolyn Ketchum have a grain-free, sugar-free cinnamon crumb topping, as well as an optional sweet vanilla glaze drizzle. Carolyn is the writer and fabulous recipe developer for another extremely popular low carb recipe blog and website, All Day I Dream About Food, another of my go-to resources for consistently excellent keto recipes.

She says these keto coffee cake muffins are "better and healthier than any bakery option!" For me, that's a bit of a stretch. (Even though my taste buds have adapted to enjoy the baked goods from the best keto baking recipes, which definitely includes Carolyn's, I have never eaten keto baked goods that have a better taste and texture than their flour- and sugar-laden counterparts from a good bakery.) That said, this recipe produces wonderful, bakery-style low carb muffins that have an unusually moist and tender crumb (for keto-friendly baked goods), thanks to the use of both almond flour and coconut flour, as well as unflavored whey protein powder that helps them rise properly, since there is no gluten in the grain-free batter. The cinnamon streusel topping and optional vanilla glaze also add to their bakery muffin taste and texture. 

The recipe calls for Swerve Brown sweetener for the crumb topping, granulated Swerve sweetener for the muffin batter, and powdered Swerve for the vanilla glaze drizzle. 

Compare the huge differences in nutrition between a Keto Coffee Cake Muffin from All Day I Dream About Food (3.9 g of net carbs) and a Cinnamon Coffee Cake Muffin from Krispy Kreme Doughnuts (54 g of net carbs):

Nutrition Facts

Keto Coffee Cake Muffins (All Day I Dream About Food)
Krispy Kreme Doughnuts Cinnamon Coffee Cake Muffins (source)
Serving Size: 1 muffin

Calories 285 450
Total Fat 24.4g 23g
Total Carbohydrate 7.6g 55g
Net Carbs 3.9g 54g
Dietary Fiber 3.7g 1g
Sugars - 32g
Protein 9.1g 4g

Recipe Notes:

Swerve sweeteners are mostly erythritol. If you don't care for the taste of erythritol, or if it causes you gastric distress, you can check out Carolyn's Ultimate Guide to Keto Sweeteners Ultimate Guide to Keto Sweeteners on All Day I Dream About Food to find suitable keto-friendly brown, granulated, and powdered sweetener alternatives.


Nutella-Stuffed Cinnamon Muffins (All Day I Dream About Food)

I have had a long and complicated relationship with Nutella. The first time we met, it was love at first bite. I fondly remember the blissful decades when we were together. Sadly, when I started focusing on improving my health and trying to lose weight, I was forced to accept that my beloved "Nutty," with its palm oil, sugar, and artificial vanilla flavoring, was just no good for me. Finally, I found the strength to break up with it, fervently hoping that, someday, I would find another chocolate hazelnut spread that would be just as sweet, satisfying, and special, but also would support my commitment to a healthier lifestyle.

Fortunately, when I began researching low carb and ketogenic diet recipes, I discovered Carolyn Ketchum's All Day I Dream About Food website, which includes quite a few Nutella inspired low carb and keto recipes. Her amazing keto Nutella-stuffed cinnamon muffins hide a sweet surprise—a rich, creamy chocolate hazelnut filling made with healthier, fresher ingredients than the popular commercial spread. In this recipe, her sugar free Nutella filling is made from freshly toasted and husked hazelnuts, hazelnut oil, dark cocoa powder, heavy cream, keto-friendly sweetener, and pure vanilla extract.

These luscious keto cinnamon muffins are sweet and rich enough to enjoy for dessert. Served with a cup of fresh, hot coffee, they also make a truly decadent breakfast. 

The most comparable muffins I could find (from a reliable source I trust) for a nutritional comparison were the Nutella-Stuffed Cinnamon Sugar Muffins from Sally's Baking Addiction, which have a cinnamon-sugar topping instead of Carolyn's streusel crumb topping and vanilla glaze drizzle. 

Compare the calories, net carbs, fat, fiber, and protein in these indulgent yet low carb, keto-friendly Nutella-Stuffed Cinnamon Muffins from All Day I Dream About Food to the wonderful Nutella-Stuffed Cinnamon Sugar Muffins on Sally's Baking Addiction.

Nutrition Facts

Nutella-Stuffed Cinnamon Muffins (All Day I Dream About Food)
Nutella-Stuffed Cinnamon Sugar Muffins (Sally's Baking Addiction) (source)
Serving Size: 1 muffin

Calories 310 450
Total Fat 29g 23g
Total Carbohydrate 8g 55g
Net Carbs 4g 54g
Dietary Fiber 4g 1g
Sugars - 32g
Protein 10g 4g

Recipe Notes:

In the comments, Carolyn Ketchum explains how she toasts and husks the hazelnuts. Toast the nuts in a preheated 350 °F oven for 8 to 10 minutes, take them out, and let them cool for 5 to 10 minutes. Then roll them between your fingers while still warm and most of the husks will come off easily. Don’t worry about a few stubborn bits of husk; they won’t matter after you grind the hazelnuts. 

In my experience, nuts can go from nicely toasted to burned very quickly. I toast mine on a rimmed baking sheet, so I can give it a shake every few minutes without the nuts falling off the pan, and keep a close eye on them until I remove them from the oven. I let them cool for only 3 or 4 minutes, and then rub the toasted nuts briskly inside a clean kitchen towel to loosen the husks. I find that they loosen more easily when they are quite warm, and the towel protects my fingers from the heat.

Note to low carb baking enthusiasts:

In addition to being the driving force behind All Day I Dream About Food, Carolyn Ketchum has written eight keto cookbooks (as of this writing). I highly recommend the two I have purchased so far, the Keto For Two Cookbook (e-book) and The Ultimate Guide to Keto Baking: Master All the Best Tricks for Low-Carb Baking Success, which I consider my keto baking "bible" and a must-have for anyone who wants to understand the chemistry and techniques of successful keto baking recipes (which are fundamentally different than those of successful conventional baking). 

Note to conventional baking enthusiasts:

For many years, Sally McKenny's Sally's Baking Addiction website and her superb baking cookbooks have been among my favorite sources for consistently reliable, clearly written and clearly explained recipes for mouthwatering baked goods made with conventional ingredients, such as sugar, wheat flour, and cornstarch. So, although they don't fit within a sugar free, gluten free, or low carb diet, I recommend her cookbooks and website very highly to anyone who loves to bake with sugar and other high carb ingredients.


Low Carb Cinnamon Roll Muffins (The Big Man's World)

This high protein, low carb cinnamon roll muffins recipe from Arman Liew of The Big Man's World is quite unusual, since it contains no eggs and no butter. In fact, this recipe is keto, paleo, vegan, sugar free, gluten free, grain free, and dairy free. 

These almond flour muffins also contain vanilla protein powder to add sweetness, increase the protein, and help them rise in the absence of gluten, which creates a lighter texture and a better crumb. Pumpkin purée makes them moist. Coconut oil provides the fat in the muffin batter, along with your choice of unsweetened, low carb nut butter or seed butter (Arman suggests almond butter, peanut butter, sunflower seed butter), which further boosts the protein, while coconut butter (also called coconut manna) gives the lemony glaze a luxurious mouthfeel. 

It was hard to find a close analog for a nutritional comparison. I finally chose to compare the impressive macros for these Low Carb Cinnamon Roll Muffins from The Big Man's World (only 1g of net carbs per serving) to Starbucks Cinnamon Muffins (41g of net carbs each). 

Nutrition Facts

Low Carb Cinnamon Roll Muffins 
(The Big Man's World)
Starbucks Cinnamon Muffins
(source)
Serving Size: 1 muffin

Calories 112 350
Total Fat 9g 27g
Total Carbohydrate 3g 42g
Net Carbs 1g 41g
Dietary Fiber 2g 1g
Sugars - 30g
Protein 5g 5g


Keto Cinnamon Muffins (Sweet As Honey)

This versatile recipe for gluten free, dairy free, sugar free cinnamon muffins comes from another of my favorite low-carb food bloggers, Carine Claudepierre, the writer, recipe developer, food photographer, and videographer at Sweet As Honey

Her bakery-style keto cinnamon muffins are dipped into sugar-free cinnamon sugar while they're still hot, to add a crunchy topping and more cinnamon flavor. After they have cooled completely, the tops are coated with icing, made from powdered sugar-free sweetener mixed with just enough unsweetened almond milk to achieve your preferred consistency. 

This recipe is made with equal amounts of almond flour and flaxseed meal (aka flax meal). Flax is a source of many nutrition and health benefits, and flaxseed meal contains very few carbs, so it's great to bake with. Carine recommends using golden flaxseed meal rather than brown flaxseed meal, which would give these baked goods an unpleasant, bitter aftertaste (and no one wants that!). I prefer Bob's Red Mill organic golden flaxseed meal

She says she always uses an erythritol and monk fruit sweetener blend, and although the ingredients list says "erythritol," it links to the original Classic White Lakanto Monkfruit Sweetener With Erythritol. The recipe was published in August 2019, three months before the brand introduced its  Lakanto Monkfruit Baking Sweetener With Erythritol, which also contains tapioca fiber, chicory root inulin, and cellulose gum and was created specifically as a 1:1 sugar replacement for baking recipes. According to Lakanto, some of its advantages for baked goods recipes are that it "dissolves effortlessly, retains moisture, can control cookie spread, and provides better browning for your desserts." I suspect it would be even better than the Classic White Lakanto for this recipe.

Since I couldn't find any commercial equivalents to these Sweet As Honey Keto Cinnamon Muffins whose tops are completely covered with icing (2.3 g of net carbs), I'll compare them to the Walmart Bakery Marketside Cinnamon Coffee Cake Muffins with no icing (45g of net carbs):

Nutrition Facts

Keto Cinnamon Muffins
(Sweet As Honey)
Walmart Bakery Marketside Cinnamon Coffee Cake Muffins (source)
Serving Size: 1 muffin

Calories 217 370
Total Fat 16.5g 19g
Total Carbohydrate 5.5g 46g
Net Carbs 2.3g 45g
Dietary Fiber 3.2g 1g
Sugars 0.4 26g
Protein 5.3g 5g

Recipe Notes:

Carine offers several suggestions for optional mix-ins, if you would like to customize these muffins to suit your personal preference. (Keep in mind that any additional ingredients or substitutions will affect the calories, macros, and other aspects of this recipe's nutritional profile.)

Even though the recipe uses flaxseed meal, she warns against trying to replace the whole eggs with "flax eggs" (flaxseed meal mixed with water), egg white, or another substitute. 

She suggests coconut milk as an alternative to almond milk for the glaze. (I'm sure any keto-friendly dairy-free milk would work.)

If you don't need dairy-free muffins, you can use melted butter in place of the coconut oil, if you prefer.

For nut-free low carb cinnamon muffins, you can replace the almond flour with the same amount of sunflower seed flour or meal.  


BochaSweet Keto Cinnamon Muffin Mix

If you don't have a lot of time for (or don't enjoy) baking from scratch, you can still indulge in some delicious, fragrant, freshly baked keto cinnamon muffins, thanks to BochaSweet Keto Cinnamon Muffin Mix.

Photo of BochaSweet Keto Cinnamon Muffins on cooling rack
My most recent batch from BochaSweet Keto Cinnamon Muffin Mix

Low Carb Muffins in About 15 Minutes

Preparing these tasty treats couldn't be any faster or easier! Just mix the contents of one bag of BochaSweet Keto Cinnamon Muffin Mix with 3 whole eggs and 1/2 cup of melted butter (or coconut oil, for dairy free muffins), portion the batter into a lightly greased 12-cup cupcake or muffin tin, and bake in a preheated 425 ℉ oven for 12–14 minutes, until golden brown, and enjoy!

Low carb keto baking recipes often turn out to be dense, coarse, and dry. Not these delectable muffins! The texture is lighter than I was expecting, which is great. My first batch was a bit on the dry side, but only because I left them in the oven a bit too long. (It's hard to tell when the muffins are "golden brown" when that's the color of the batter to begin with, lol.) So, I baked my second batch for just 12 minutes, and allowed them to cool a bit longer before sampling them. This time, the muffins were delightfully moist and tender! And, both times, not just my kitchen but my whole smelled divine.

High Quality, Wholesome, Healthy Ingredients

I have shared many posts on Review This Reviews about my keto diet weight loss journey that began in May 2019 and enabled me to lose nearly 60 pounds, and my subsequent decision to continue to follow a very low carb, ketogenic approach to eating that has made it easy to maintain my new, slim, healthy weight for more than a year so far. If so, you know that my primary motivation for this change in diet and lifestyle was getting healthier and lowering my risk of cancer and other serious diseases. So, although I am somewhat flexible, I try to make fairly "clean" food choices. And, when I purchase a low carb or keto baking mix (or prepared baked goods), the first thing I look at is the ingredients.

BochaSweet Keto Cinnamon Muffin Mix is made with the same high quality, wholesome, healthy ingredients I use in my homemade keto baking recipes when I'm making low carb muffins from scratch: almond flour, BochaSweet (kabocha extract), grass-fed collagen, psyllium husk powder, organic coconut flour, organic cinnamon, MCT oil powder, baking soda, aluminum-free baking powder, pink salt, and xanthan gum. The ingredients are non GMO, and the mix contains no preservatives or additives. (For that reason, the prepared muffins need to be stored in the refrigerator or freezer.) 

I love the fact that this keto cinnamon muffin mix is sweetened with BochaSweet sugar replacement, my favorite zero calorie, zero glycemic sweetener! BochaSweet tastes nearly identical to cane sugar and (to me and many other happy BochaSweet customers) has no aftertaste and none of the cooling effect produced by some other keto friendly sweeteners (such as erythritol). After using this healthy sweetener every day for about 1.5 years so far (to sweeten my tea, among other things), I have experienced zero gastric distress or laxative effect from this healthy sweetener, and most other product reviews I have read from customers who mention their reactions concur with my experience. The only downside is that it costs more than most other healthy keto-friendly sweeteners. However, for me and many other people who are looking for healthier, zero calorie, zero glycemic sugar alternatives, it's worth paying the higher price for this one, as well as for products that are sweetened with it.

BochaSweet Keto Cinnamon Muffin Mix was launched in late August, 2020, just as I was finishing up my review of recipes and baking mixes for making Low Carb Muffins & Cupcakes: Treats to Enjoy on a Keto Diet. That meant I wouldn't be able to order, test, and review this new cinnamon muffin mix in time to include it in that review of my favorite keto muffins and cupcakes. In the course of testing the recipes and mixes for that review, I ended up with a freezer full of baked goods and a pantry that was positively overflowing with packaged low carb keto baking mixes. So, it was only recently that I finally ordered a couple of bags of the BochaSweet Keto Cinnamon Muffin Mix to try. Now that I've made these quick and easy, tender, toothsome low carb keto cinnamon muffins, I will definitely update that review to include this yummy, convenient BochaSweet baking mix!

Nutrition Facts

BochaSweet Keto Cinnamon Muffin Mix

Serving Size:
23g of dry mix


Calories 60
Total Fat 3g
Total Carbohydrate 13g
Net Carbs 3g
Dietary Fiber 4g
Sugars <1g
Protein 4g


Product Review Notes:

The company provides this information for the dry mix only. However, you can easily calculate the nutrition data for the prepared muffins by entering the data for the dry mix into a tracking app such as Carb Manager and then creating a recipe entry in the app that will calculate the macros based on the ingredients (12 servings of the dry baking mix, three large eggs, and 1/2 cup of butter or coconut oil).

The net carbs for this BochaSweet Keto Cinnamon Muffin Mix are calculated as follows:13g total carbohydrates - 4g dietary fiber - 6g BochaSweet = 3g net carbs

BochaSweet is the name of the company, its flagship product (BochaSweet sugar replacement), and the overarching brand for its other products (such as baking mixes), including those with secondary brands (such as BochaSweet BochaBars high protein, high fiber bars and and BochaSweet Bocha-Beets nutritional supplement). For some reason, on the brand's logotype, the words Bocha and Sweet are separated by a space, which likely explains why it is often misspelled "Bocha Sweet" (occasionally, you'll even see an Amazon product listing for a "Bocha Sweet" product). 


Recipes and Product Review: The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffins by Margaret Schindel


Posts In This Series About My Keto Diet Journey

The Best Advice to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss

The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffins

The Good Chocolate 100% Organic No Sugar Dark Chocolate Review

Wholesome Yum Easy Keto Bread Mix and Yeast Bread Recipe

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

The Ultimate Keto Hot Chocolate Recipe

Keto Cheddar Cheese Biscuits With Chives Recipe

Good Dee’s Keto Cookie Low Carb Baking Mix Review

Low Carb Keto Chocolate Yogurt Granola Chip Pudding Recipe

Low Carb Muffins & Cupcakes: Treats to Enjoy on a Keto Diet

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part Two

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part One

My First Year on The Keto Diet


Reviews of the Keto Diet by Barbara C. (aka Brite-Ideas)

My Personal Keto Testimonial

How I Stayed Committed to the Ketogenic Way of Eating


Read More Recipe Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Reviews About Health and Wellness by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G




Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten


Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner




“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X