Showing posts with label Movies: Children's Movies. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Movies: Children's Movies. Show all posts

Friday, November 2, 2018

Disney Zootopia Movie Review

Disney Zootopia Movie Review
Disney Zootopia is a really cute animated movie that features all animals.  As you can see in the photo on the right, the main characters are Judy Hopps, a rabbit, and Nick Wilde, a fox.  In addition to Judy and Nick, there were several other animal characters in this movie that I loved.

I really like the story line and the message that "you can be anything you wanna be".   The movie doesn't make light of the reality though that it often takes hard work and real commitment to achieve your goals.  It also touches on how preconceived opinions or past experiences can influence your thoughts when you first meet someone.  I really liked the way each character faced and dealt with their prejudices and negative attitudes to overcome them.

The characters are adorable and the animation is fantastic!  I also enjoyed the music.  Overall, it was a great way to spend 108 minutes.

The DVD cover quotes Germain Lussier, "The Best Film Disney Animation Has Made in 20 Years", and I would agree.


The Plot of Zootopia


 Zootopia (Plus Bonus Features)Check PriceJudy Hopps, the leading bunny, wants to be a police officer when she grows up.  That is not really a job most would believe is appropriate for a  bunny rabbit.  Even her parents try to dissuade Judy.  However, Judy is determined.  After she gets through the police academy, she is sent to Zootopia, which is appropriately named.  It is an animal utopia.  Predators and prey coexist without the natural desires to hunt or the natural fear of being the prey.

Judy finds herself surrounded by fabulous large beasts who are her fellow police officers.  On her first day, assignments are handed out.  There are a dozen missing animals that don't seem to have any obvious commonalities.  However, Judy is not assigned to find any of the missing animals.  She is assigned to parking duty to hand out tickets.  It seems like a safe place for a bunny officer.  Of course, that assignment does not make Judy happy at all.  However, she strives to make the best of it.

While writing parking tickets on her very first day, Judy sees a fox (Nick) and his "child" enter an ice cream shop owned by an elephant.  Nick wishes to buy a treat for his "son", but the owner refuses to serve a fox.  That is, until Judy comes to their defense.  Later that day, she finds that she was duped by the sly fox.  However, it turns out that the fox is just who she needs to help her find Mr. Otterton.  

As you have probably already guessed, Mr. Otterton is an otter that is missing, but he isn't one of the individuals the police are most worried about finding.  But, Judy willingly takes the case!  And that is when the real action begins.


My Recommendation of Zootopia


As an adult and animal enthusiasts, I really enjoyed the movie.  I especially loved the scene that included the sloths, who work for the DMV.  




The movie is rated PG and for good reason.  I do recommend that parents watch the movie first to determine if it is suitable for your own children.  Most notably, there are a few crude words that a parent may not want their very young children hearing and definitely not repeating.  Otherwise, I would say Zootopia is a fun movie to watch for both children and adults.






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Disney Zootopia Movie Review Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, October 19, 2018

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review

Cat in the Hat Halloween Movie for Kids

The Cat in the Hat takes Sally and Nick on an adventure to the Oooky-ma-kooky closet to find their perfect Halloween costumes.  According to the Cat, the Oooky-ma-kooky closet has costumes "to fit one and all!"   The three friends board the Thingamajigger to find the Oooky-ma-kooky closet and costumes that aren't too spooky.

Of course, the adventure includes singing and lots of awesome animated characters.  Fish goes along for the ride and decides he wants to find ways to frighten the Cat.

There are several awesome lessons intertwined in this video that parents are sure to appreciate and the children will love.  They won't even realize they are learning anything.  They will simply think it is fun to watch. 


The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween


In addition to the Cat in the Hat, the video includes Fish (Karlos K. Krinklebein), Thing One and Thing Two from the original Cat in the Hat books.  

On their adventure to the Oookey-ma-kooky closet, the group gets lost in a corn maze, encounters a thunder storm, and the spookiest house around.  In the midst of the thunderstorm, Cat tells the children a few very interesting things about thunder.  When the Cat and the kids "take charge" in the house, they fix several of the creepy things making it less scary.  

On the way home, we find out the one thing the Cat in the Hat is afraid of and the children help him overcome his fear.




The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That Series


 The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That is a delightful series starring the fabulous Cat in the Hat originally created by Dr. Seuss.

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween is one of the video specials in The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That animated television series.  The entire series is dedicated to teaching pre-school children about science and math in a fun way.  However, younger school age children will also enjoy the shows. Actually, adults will enjoy this video too.   I know I love it!   I found myself smiling, even laughing several times during the show.

There is no reason to wait for the Halloween special to air again on television.  It is available on DVD and also through Amazon video.

DVD Prime Video The Series




More Halloween Videos for Children 



Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, October 7, 2016

Lumpkin the Pumpkin Video Movie Review

Halloween Video for Kids

"Lumpkin the Pumpkin" is a entertaining Halloween musical for children of all ages.  Cute story & great music by Bobby Goldsboro
Scan of Our
Lumpkin the Pumpkin Video Box

"Lumpkin the Pumpkin" is an entertaining Halloween musical for children of all ages.  My own children loved this video when they were little.  As a matter of fact, we have had to keep an old vhs player just so they could continue to watch their favorite old videos.

Kids love movies that include music and the songs in this show are fun and entertaining.  

This is a cute story about Lumpkin, an adorable pumpkin, who teams with Tara, a young and sweet witch.  They want to make Halloween more enjoyable for the children.

Tara and her mother are both members of a witch community.  Unfortunately, the older members of their society are committed to scaring the children on Halloween, but Tara is not interested in frightening anyone.





Lumpkin the Pumpkin Video


Lumpkin the Pumpkin is an entertaining Halloween musical movie for kids.  Cute story & great music.
Scanned From the Cover of our Video
On Halloween night, while all of the elder witches try to find ways to scare the children, Tara and Lumpkin join different groups of children and try to find ways to help them enjoy the evening.  Their greatest desire is to keep them safe.  The video gently instructs children on being kind and teaches a lesson about Halloween safety. 

For those of us who are older, we easily recognize the mellow voice of Bobby Goldsboro.  He narrates and sings this happy tale of  Halloween fun.  

The show may be a bit hokey for older kids, but most little children really enjoy it. 


Where to Buy Lumpkin the Pumpkin


 Lumpkin the PumpkinThe video was released in 1991 and is only available on VHS.  They are not always easy to find at a reasonable price.   Most likely any you find that are affordable will be used.  However, currently there a few that are still new and factory sealed on Amazon.com. (shown on the right)  Be prepared for the cost to reflect the age and difficultly to purchase the video factory sealed. 

Ebay is an excellent resource if you are willing to purchase the video in used condition.  Since they are all auctions, the availability varies.  I have added an easy scrolling search for the video on Ebay below for your convenience. 






Read More Movie Reviews On ReviewThisMovies.com



More Recommended Movies for Children


Pooh's Heffalump Halloween Movie Review
It's the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown
The Tale of the Bunny Picnic Video Review
The Jungle Book (2016) Movie Review
A Charlie Brown Christmas Movie Review


All Photos of Lumpkin the Pumpkin used in this article are Scanned and Copied from Video Box Cover

Movie Review of "Lumpkin the Pumpkin" Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, July 22, 2016

Lyle, Lyle Crocodile ~ Review of the Book & Musical Video for Kids

Lyle is Like a Family Member

I would highly recommend Lyle, Lyle Crocodile to anyone!  You can read my review of the book and video here
When my children were preschool age and learning to read, I was always searching for good books for them.  Lyle, Lyle Crocodile was a favorite with both of my children.  We also purchased the video, Lyle, Lyle Crocodile: The House on East 88th Street, which quickly became a family favorite.  Even now when my children visit they will drag out Lyle and watch it again.  Sometimes they even sing along, which really entertains me.

It is also interesting to note that our entire family uses the name "Hector P. Valenti" as an expletive.   Hector is Lyle's original owner who returns to reclaim Lyle once he realizes he could make money by exploiting Lyle's talents.   Around our house it is not unusual to hear "Oh, Hector P. Valenti! "

When I was a young adult watching a musical like the Sound of Music, I used to say "That's so stupid!  People don't just break into song like that!"  Well, I am here to tell you, I have had to eat those words many times because we frequently break into song if someone is leaving with one of the songs from the video.  "Don't leave me now, I'll just die if you do. I'm trying to smile, but darn you Lyle, I would never leave you."

Because Lyles appeal has lasted over 20 years in our household, I would highly recommend the book and the video to anyone with or without a child.


Lyle, Lyle Crocodile ~ The Book

Written by Sylvestermouse


http://www.reviewthisreviews.com/
Lyle, Lyle Crocodile
When the Primms move into their new home on East 88th Street in New York City, they are shocked to discover a crocodile living in their bathtub.  At first, they are not too thrilled to have this interloper, but it certainly doesn't take Lyle the Crocodile long to find his place in their hearts, their home and in their lives.

Lyle becomes young Joshua's best friend and even helps Joshua with is homework.  During the day, while Joshua is in school, Lyle browses through antique shops with Mrs. Primm.  This fun loving crocodile even dons an apron to help with the cooking and the house cleaning!

This book easily charms young readers with simple, comical illustrations.  After all, who wouldn't love a pet crocodile who cooks, sings and dances?

(Ages 4 to 8)


Lyle, Lyle Crocodile:  The House on East 88th Street Video

Written by Sylvestermouse


http://www.reviewthisreviews.com/
In the video, we see a beautifully animated, musical version of Lyle come to life on the screen.  He sings, dances, cooks, and jumps rope with the neighborhood children.  All of his playful antics are true entertainment.

The children laugh and sing along with Lyle and the Primm's when they regale them with fun songs, crazy crocodile antics and a very heart warming story of love, friendship and true happiness.

Sadly, the video is much harder to find these days since it was released on VHS.  This is a scanned photo of our video cover so you know what to look for.

Lyle, Lyle Crocodile Musical Video is a fantastic & fun children's video!
Lyle, Lyle Crocodile Musical Video Photo

However, if you can find a copy, you really should get it immediately.  Lyle really comes to life on the screen!  The animated characters and the music is truly outstanding.  This is probably the best children's video I have ever seen. 

Occasionally, you may find a copy of the video on Amazon.com.  You can click here to see if one is available now


You may also check on Ebay below.

 


Lyle Photos Used in this Review: Scanned from Book and Video Box Covers



Lyle, Lyle Crocodile Book & Musical Video Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, April 22, 2016

The Jungle Book (2016 film) - Movie Review

By Disney [CC BY-SA 4.0
(http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)],
via Wikimedia Commons

The newly released movie, The Jungle Book, is the best new movie of 2016!


The combination of a fabulous book, excellent actors, and spectacular animation techniques makes The Jungle Book one of the best movies ever released.  

I sat in amazement as I watched the new movie version of The Jungle Book unfold on the big theater screen.  The characters were so realistic it was seriously hard to believe that they were not real live animals.  

I have read the book by Rudyard Kipling several times, I've seen the original Disney The Jungle Book many times, but the new Jungle Book movie starring Bill Murray as Baloo literally breathed new life into the old beloved story.


Bill Murray as Baloo


By Paul Sherwood from Welland & Toronto, Canada
(Bill Murray  Uploaded by Diaa_abdelmoneim)
[CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)],
via Wikimedia Commons
For as long as I can remember, Baloo has been one of my all time favorite animal characters.  His cheerful personality in the original Disney movie always made me want to dance and sing right along with him.

I didn't initially want to see the new Jungle Book movie because I didn't want my mental image of the beloved bear to be ruined.   Once I found out Bill Murray was Baloo, I decided it might be okay.  It was better than okay!

Bill Murray is Baloo!   There could be no better choice to play that part.  Since Bill Murray has always been part comedian and part serious actor, he was perfect for the part!!!  Baloo the Bear is fun-loving, easy going and yet very powerful in the jungle.  All of those descriptions apply as well to Bill Murray.



Oh, and yes!  He does sing "The Bare Necessities" with Mowgli.  They were so precious together.  


Christoper Walken as King Louie


John Harrison [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)
or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)],
via Wikimedia Commons
King Louie was always my least favorite character in The Jungle Book.  Much to my surprise, that is no longer true.  This is The Jungle Book character that has forever changed for me, and it is a great change.

Christoper Walken, as King Louie, was magnificent!  The man actually made me like the orangutan.  So much of Christoper Walken's personality showed though that the orangutan made me laugh.   

The really crazy thing, there was a part of me that wanted Mowgli to give this King Louie the desired red flower (fire). 





Exceptional Animation in Jungle Book 2016


I've seen a lot of animated movies in my lifetime, but the new Jungle Book animation is truly beyond spectacular.  You can see the real human actors in the facial features of the animals.  Their voices were not simply dubbed in.  When I looked at the face of Baloo, I could see Bill Murray's expressions.  The same thing was true for King Louie.  Those eyes are so very recognizable especially when the voice matches.  

Each of the animals were exceptional!  I dearly loved Mowgli's wolf mother, Raksha in the new movie.  She is gorgeous, expressive and very believable.  Prior to seeing this new adaptation of The Jungle Book, I would not have even remembered her name.  Now, her image and her protective strength will come to mind when I define motherhood.  

It is truly hard to believe that this movie, this story that I was previously so familiar with, had such a powerful impact of me.  I largely attribute that affect to the realistic animals and their interaction with what appears to be a real human boy.


You can see for yourself in the photos above how very realistic the animals look and how beautiful they each are.   The little wolf cub sitting next to Mowgli is his little wolf brother, Grey.  The stunning beauty in the lower right photo is Mowgli's wolf mother, Raksha.


The Two Big Cats in the The Jungle Book


Shere Khan, the tiger, is so gorgeous that at first he is really hard to dislike.  Just in case you are not familiar with the story, Shere Khan desires to take revenge on Mowgli for the injuries he suffered when he killed Mowgli's human father.   His hatred of the man-cub is palpable and sadly diminishes his outward beauty.

I saved one of the best til last.  As the story goes, after Shere Khan kills Mowgli's father, Bagheera finds him and gives him to the wolves to raise because of their strong, protective family pack.   Bagheera, who is so profoundly well played by Ben Kingsley, is beautiful inside and out.  I have always thought black panthers were pretty, but Bagheera's beauty goes beyond the fur.  He is wise, protective, intelligent, loyal and above all else, good.


More Notable Actors in The Jungle Book 2016 

Simply stated, all of the actors are exceptional and deserve a standing ovation for their performance.  

Here are a list of the main actors in Jungle Book  (2016) 

All of these actors, and more, worked together to make The Jungle Book film of 2016 the best movie of the decade!  You will not want to miss it.  While quite suitable for kids, this movie is not just for children.
 

The Jungle Book (2016) Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, April 16, 2016

“The Good Dinosaur” Book and Movie Review

The story is set on a fictional Earth where dinosaurs never became extinct.

 

Available on Amazon

We are familiar with many movies made from books, but this book was created FROM the movie.  


I read the Junior Novelization version of "The Good Dinosaur", written for 9-12 year olds, which retells the whole exciting story and features eight pages of full-color scenes from the movie.  The book can also be found in other forms such as the Big Golden Book for 3-7 year olds and in Little Golden Book form and board book form for preschoolers 2-5 years old.

My sister-in-law saw this book at my house and became fascinated with it.  She had to borrow it to read, and loved it.  Her thoughts on the book were:  “It was a great story for kids and adults showing the importance of family, loyalty and bravery. The characters were sweet and funny.”



Arlo the Apatosaurus Dinosaur


Arlo, Action Figure

The movie, and the book from the movie, are about a good-natured little Apatosaurus dinosaur named 'Arlo' who tries to overcome being afraid of almost everything while he works to find his place in the world his parents and bigger brother and sister have no problem with. Arlo's father tells him that “sometimes you gotta get through your fear to see the beauty on the other side.”


After the rest of the family have 'made their mark' (a dinosaur mudprint on rocks used to protect the opening to the family corn silo on their farm), Arlo attempts to earn his right to his own mark.  His Poppa tries to teach him the importance of bravery, as well as proper goal setting and follow-through: “You gotta earn your mark by doing something big.” 


Spot the Human Caveboy


Spot on a beach towel


When tragedy strikes, Arlo ventures out into the wilderness where he makes an unusual friendship with a human caveboy who answers to the name 'Spot'.  After being swept away by a raging river during a storm, Arlo and Spot have a variety of adventures while trying to find Arlo's home again.  Their journey is complete with pterodactyl chases, T. rex run-ins and terrible storms.  Spot saves Arlo from the river by teaching him how to swim and Arlo later saves Spot from the mean pterodactyls. A special friendship develops through these shared adventures.

As their journey nears an end and they approach Arlo's home, the two come across a caveman family. Reluctantly and sadly, Arlo pushes Spot to join his own kind, and the two of them share a tearful goodbye. Arlo finally arrives back home to his mother and siblings, and makes his own mark he has bravely earned on the silo between those of his mother and father. 



The Good Dinosaur is a Disney Pixar Movie


Official Movie Trailer










 

Quick Links:









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, March 11, 2016

The Tale of the Bunny Picnic Video Review

The Tale of the Bunny Picnic - A wonderful video for kids
Photo from the Video Cover
"The Tale of the Bunny Picnic" is a wonderful children's classic video that is loved by all ages.   It is the perfect children's video for Easter, but will be treasured throughout the year.   

Jim Henson really out did himself when he created this story.  The story and the characters are beloved childhood memories for both of our children.  Actually, they still watch the video!

The Tale of the Bunny Picnic is an interesting twist to the "boy who cried wolf" story and has bunny rabbits for the main characters.

You'll love all of the bunnies, especially Bean.  You will even love the farmers dog.



 Jim Henson Video: The Tale of the Bunny Picnic [VHS]

The Tale of the Bunny Picnic Cover Story 

 

This adorable little bunny adventure is sure to win your heart!  The animated bunnies, dogs, people and other animals in Jim Henson's video, The Bunny Picnic," are all really endearing.

The story centers around Bean, a young, imaginative bunny who tells so many tales that when he really does discover that the farmer has a new dog to hunt rabbits, none of the other bunnies believe his warning.


The Tale of the Bunny Picnic Video Provided by: Heather Katsoulis


 

My Recommendation of The Tale of the Bunny Picnic

"The Tale of the Bunny Picnic" is a wonderful children's classic video that is loved by all ages.
When my now grown children were little, this video played constantly.  We memorized the songs and some of the lines.  Even today, when one of us randomly starts reciting sections of the tale, the rest of us join in with the appropriate character responses.  I truly believe when a story has that kind of lasting effect, that must be the best recommendation that can be given.

Here is an excerpt of our favorite part of the tale:

Story Teller: "Fox, Fox, I'm the Giant Hedgehog and even though I'm really, really big and you're really, really small, I'm not gonna hurt you and do you know why?" 

Little Bunny: "No Why?"

Story Teller: "Because those who hurt others, hurt themselves."


How to Purchase Your Copy of "The Tale of the Bunny Picnic"


Because these videos are no longer in production, they are not always easy to find.  Plus, when you do find a copy, they are often quite expensive.  I have honestly found the best place to search for the video is on Ebay.  The video may be used, but it is still worth buying your own copy.


 


Review of "The Tale of the Bunny Picnic" was Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, December 4, 2015

A Charlie Brown Christmas Movie Review

http://reviewthispersonalreviews.blogspot.com/The Christmas Classic Movie

I feel as if I have always known Charlie Brown, Snoopy and the entire Peanuts gang.  They were not only a part of my own childhood years, but they were a part of my husband's childhood.  Of course,  we introduced them to our children when they were little too.  Therefore, our household has literally had decades of being entertained, and multiple generations taught, by the magnificent Charles Schulz characters.

In 1965, "A Charlie Brown Christmas" made it's debut on television.   It is one of the Christmas classics that I must watch every year.  I even find myself singing or humming "Christmastime is Here" while I am cooking or decorating our tree.

The Peanuts gang is an entertaining group for every age and every member of the family.  Watching "A Charlie Brown Christmas" together is a wonderful family tradition.

Each year, my heart is touched by the message shared in this Christmas classic to such a degree that anyone watching me would think I had never seen the show before.



A Charlie Brown Christmas Ice Skating Party

The opening scenes of everyone ice skating are beautiful with the snow falling and the loving sense of happiness.  The theme song softly plays in the background.  As I mentioned earlier, it is such a simple melody, that it often plays in my mind throughout the Christmas holiday.

While they are walking to the ice, Charlie Brown is telling Linus about his general depression surrounding the holidays and his own lack of understanding for his absence of excitement and enthusiasm.    
(You can view that in the video scene below)



Did You Know? 

When A Charlie Brown Christmas was made, the producers broke a lot of unwritten rules. 

* No canned laughter was inserted 
* References to the Bible were used to reinforce the true meaning of the season 
* Real children did the voices of the gang instead of adults talking like children 




Setting the Stage for "A Charlie Brown Christmas"


Moving past the tranquil opening scenes, we find Charlie Brown seeking advice from Lucy about his holiday depression.  Lucy takes her station in the lemonade stand as a Psychiatrist to help Charlie Brown determine why he is depressed.  In an effort to help, she appoints him as the Christmas play director.

Meanwhile, the beloved beagle, Snoopy, sets out to win a decorating contest by decorating his dog house.  Even though Charlie Brown detests the commercialism of it all, the dog house really is very pretty when it is decorated and later wins 1st place in the competition.


"Isn't there anyone who knows what Christmas is all about?"
~ Charlie Brown from "A Charlie Brown Christmas"

 

The Christmas Play

When it is announced that Charlie Brown will be the Christmas play director several people, including Snoopy, express disappointment.   Lucy takes over and assigns everyone their parts and the practices begin.  Then, Lucy sends Charlie Brown and Linus to bring back a Christmas Tree for the play.


The Charlie Brown Christmas Tree

It's so sad...


Against Linus' objection, Charlie Brown chooses the Christmas tree that needs him.  Of course, he is laughed at and criticized by his peers when he returns with a real tree instead of a modern aluminum tree.

It is at this point that Linus steals the show with his description of what Christmas is really all about.  His eloquent delivery of the true Christmas story is the reason why this show rates as one of my Christmas favorites.



Heeding Linus' words Charlie Brown determines not to let commercialism ruin his Christmas.  He takes his little tree home to decorate it.  After using one ornament from Snoopy's decorated dog house, the little tree bends under the weight of the ornament. Charlie Brown believes he has killed the little tree and walks away even more depressed than before.


Showing Love 


Again at Linus' suggestion, the gang comes together to show a little love and decorates Charlie Brown's tree.  When Charlie Brown sees what his friends have done for him and for his tree of course, he is overjoyed.  The entire group breaks into song:  "Hark the Herald Angel's Sing".

 A Charlie Brown Christmas (Remastered Deluxe Edition)Check Price

Amazing isn't it?  Charles Schulz was actually allowed to make a Christmas story that tells of Christ's birth and it became a classic.


A Charlie Brown Christmas Movie Review
House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, October 2, 2015

Pooh's Heffalump Halloween Movie Review for Children

Pooh's Heffalump Halloween Movie

One Great Halloween Movie

I have always loved Winnie the Pooh, plus I have always loved Halloween, so it naturally follows that I would enjoy a Winnie the Pooh Halloween movie.  Throw in a purple elephant, and you are guaranteed a smash hit.

Pooh's Heffalump Halloween Movie is an absolutely adorable video featuring our favorite Pooh characters.  They sing, dance and delight us throughout this cute little tale about Halloween night.  My children love this movie!  They can sing the songs for you and to this day, we all look into the mirror and sing "I scare myself".

Everyone should join Pooh, Rabbit, Piglet, Eeyore, Roo, Lumpy and Tigger, too, for their Halloween adventure, but I should warn you in advance,  children are likely to want to watch this movie on occasions other than just Halloween.  You may also find yourself watching it when they are in school.

Halloween Night

Just a teaser ~ I won't tell the entire story


When Roo shares his knowledge of trick or treating with Heffalump, affectionately known as Lumpy, they both get excited about the prospect of gathering treats together on their first Halloween.

Under the instruction of Rabbit, Halloween night is meticulously organized.  While Pooh eats all the Halloween candy, everyone else is distracted by Tigger who is busy scaring Lumpy with tales of the Gobloon and Spookables.  Upon discovery that all the candy is gone, Lumpy and Roo go in search of the Gobloon in hopes of getting their wish for more candy to be granted.

The challenge to overcome fear is almost too much for Lumpy.  The challenge to keep a frightened Lumpy on course is almost too much for Roo.

Now, I am not going to tell you what happens from this point on. You will have to journey with Heffalump and Roo to find out if they find the Gobloon and get their wish of more candy for Trick-or-Treat.

However, I will share the Youtube video of Tigger singing, dancing and entertaining the group.


 

Cover Story 

Copied from the back of the DVD cover for easy reading


It's a hilariously haunting Halloween in the 100 Acre Wood.  Roo's best new pal, Lumpy, is excited to trick-or-treat for the first time...until Tigger warns them about the dreaded Gobloon who'll turn you into a Jaggedy Lantern if he catches you.  But if they catch the Gobloon before it catches them, they get to make a wish!

With Roo by his side, Lumpy knows he can face anything.  So when Pooh eats all the Halloween candy, Lumpy and Roo decide to be "brave together, brave forever" and catch the Gobloon so they can wish for more.  When the two friends become separated, however, Roo decides to wish for something even more important.

Filled with adventure, unconditional friendship and lots of laughter, Pooh's Heffalump Halloween Movie is a sweet treat for the whole family.


Bonus Features on the DVD

Bonus features include:
Games & Activities ~ Trick or Re-treat, Pass the Pumpkin, Pooh's Boo Bingo, and Heffalump Halloween Party Planner:  Recipes, Printable Party Invitations, & Decorate Your Own Jaggedy Lantern.

I am also featuring the Heffalump plush below.   My children always snuggled with a plush animal while watching their favorite videos. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, September 25, 2015

It's The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown Movie Review

A Halloween Tradition


One of the best traditions on Halloween is to watch, "It's The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown."  Everybody loves the Peanuts gang, and when you couple them with Halloween, it is bound to be a smash hit!

We usually gather around the tv as a family to support Linus as he waits for the visit from the Great Pumpkin and to cheer Snoopy as he battles the Red Baron.  Yes, by now, we can recite sections of the show ourselves, but that is part of the fun of our Halloween tradition.

It makes for a fun and very entertaining evening, especially when we break out the popcorn, hot dogs and cokes!


The Great Fall


 Fathead Wall Decal, Real Big,One very memorable moment in "It's The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown," is the "agreement" between Lucy and Charlie Brown.

Lucy agrees to hold the football for Charlie Brown to kick.  She even gives him a signed document that states that she will not pull the football away. Trusting and believing Lucy will honor her signed agreement, Charlie Brown falls for her trick which subsequently ends in him falling on his back when she pulls the football away.

While I know some people would view this as being rather mean, I always laugh.  It actually reminds me of growing up with 5 siblings.  Granted, Lucy is not related to Charlie Brown, but they still act like brother and sister.  To be completely honest here, I could easily see myself holding the football while one of my own brothers advanced for the kick.  Of course, you all know I would only pull away for fear of being accidentally kicked myself, right? 


A Great Charlie Brown T-Shirt


Isn't it funny how Charlie Brown has a simple t-shirt that that we ALL recognize as belonging to Charlie Brown?

Click Shirt to Check Price & Availability


I think that is one of the things that makes us all love the Peanuts Gang.  The are just regular kids, living regular lives, with everyday activities.  In some base way, we identify with them and it is awesome to realize that things will be okay and most of the time, they will turn out alright.  We just pick ourselves up from our "great falls" to try again another day.  Children need that reassurance.  Actually, we all need that reassurance.

Of course, it is pretty cool to be able to read a dog's mind like we are allowed to do with Snoopy.


The Great Wait for the Great Pumpkin


Every year as I watch Linus' anticipation of seeing the Great Pumpkin, I wish the show would change and the Great Pumpkin would appear for Linus.  He is so believing and devoted.  Year after year when he is disappointed, I am disappointed.

Not only is Linus ridiculed by his "friends" for believing in the Great Pumpkin, but he is maligned by Sally when she realizes that she missed trick or treating to wait with him for the Great Pumpkin who never materializes.  Again, my heart goes out to Linus as he patiently endures her tirade.


But you know what is pretty cool!  Linus goes right on caring about Sally and being her friend. 


The Great Sister

 Peanuts by Jim Shore Lucy in Witch Costume Collectible Figurine
The biggest surprise on that Halloween evening, is Lucy's uncharacteristic kindness toward Linus.  Even though she grumbles and complains about it, she does ask for extra candy for her little brother while she is trick or treating.

Another kindhearted scene that is actually part of the video clip above, is when Lucy wakes in the middle of the night and discovers that Linus is not in his bed, she ventures out to the pumpkin patch to find him.

Lucy walks him home, takes his shoes off, covers him with his blanket and allows Linus to promptly falls back to sleep.

No unkind words or criticism.  Simply an act of love and care.  Something we could all learn from for sure.


The Great Battle


After over 40 years of seeing Snoopy dressed as a World War I Flying Ace and fighting the Red Baron while "flying" his Sopwith Camel dog house, most of us don't even remember that this is the episode where that little "sorte" took place.

Yes, it was Halloween that inspired Snoopy to don his now legendary red scarf and take to the air in search of the infamous Red Baron.



It's the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown DVD 


Every family should have a copy, or two, of this brilliant classic.  Not only is it entertaining, but it reinforces the importance of love, caring for one another, sticking together, getting mad and getting over it and not forgetting what is most important in this life.  The value of a friend and family.

Buy it today because you will want to have it on hand for Halloween viewing!


 

See More Great Movie Reviews on ReviewThisMovies.com!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.