Showing posts with label Toy Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Toy Reviews. Show all posts

Monday, August 15, 2022

Reviewing the Octopus Kite from the Hengda Kite Store

I had so much fun flying my new Octopus Kite from the Hengda Kite Store that I knew I had to share it with you today. I was very skeptical ordering a $10 kite online. But with over 3,000 positive reviews, I took the chance. I'm glad I did.



During different periods of my life I have flown kites. I am not an expert on kites, nor do I understand much about the different styles of kites and why they fly better on different speed of winds. But whether it was flying kites with my sons when they were young, flying kites as an adult on the beautiful Assateague Island in Maryland, or the few times I've tried to launch a kite up here on my ridge in West Virginia, I do know that I love flying kites. And good kites make the experience almost magical.

Octopus Flyer Kite from the Hengda Kite Store

My preferred type of kite is the Delta style. I find that they are easy to fly in a variety of wind speeds. I have flown parafoil kites but have never owned one. Until now.

The "Software Octopus Flyer Kite" is a parafoil style kite. That means, there are no "sticks" to assemble - no cross bars that we are familiar with in the diamond style and delta style kites. Parafoil kites are only the material, sewn in cells - or tubes - that help catch the wind and keep the kite aloft. 

Information from the Henga Kite Store page:

  • no kite sticks; soft [parafoil] style 
  • strong, durable, and lightweight polyester 210 material
  • measures 31" wide and 157" long
  • comes with a plastic handle and kite string
  • made in the International Kite Capital, Weifang, Shandong, China
  • Hengda has been manufacturing kites for 20 years

My Experience with the Octopus Kite

The Octopus came with a length of kite string on a handle. But I prefer to use my own kite string on a wooden spool. So I attached the hook from my string into the end of the strings attached to the kite, and off I went.

An internet search showed that I probably should have chosen a day with more wind for my kite's maiden flight. 

"Deltas, Diamonds and Dragon kites fly well in light to medium winds (approximately 6-15 mph) while Box Kites and stickless Parafoil kites fly better when the winds get a little stronger (approximately 8-25 mph). 
                                                            -- NationalKiteMonth

But I was too excited to wait another day. With my weather app showing winds of 2 miles an hour at the most, and feeling that there were periods of no wind at all, I headed up to the top of my hill to give this kite a try. 

It flew! Sluggishly on the very low wind day, it flew. And when it came down I had to wait for the next puff of breeze before I re-launched. But it flew. And I loved it!



This Octopus Kite is HUGE, bright, and interesting.  I purchased it for an upcoming visit with my grandkids and I can barely wait to see them and fly it with them.

The Kite Loft in Ocean City, Maryland - A Brick and Mortar Kite Store

I mentioned having spent time on Assateague Island, Maryland flying kites. Whether it is Assateague Island or nearby Ocean City... beaches are the best place to fly kites in my opinion. There is a store in Ocean City called the Kite Loft. If you enjoy flying kites, this store is a must-see. 

This specialty store is located beach-front that offers top-of-the-line kites. They also host a variety of festivals and kite-related events; including the SunFest Kite Festival. It is quite a sight to behold seeing the sky above the beach full of intricate and interesting kites. 

This year the SunFest Kite Festival is September 29 to October 2, 2022. If you love kites and have any chance of attending, I strongly encourage you to go. It is a fantastic event. If you cannot attend, you could get a feel for it on the Kite Loft Beach Cam.  The cam can be viewed any day and I often take a peek just to see what the ocean front looks like that day.

I purchased my favorite kite from the Kite Loft - a Delta style kite with a Kokopelli and lizard design. I have since misplaced that kite during moves or someone decided they wanted a fantastic kite. I'm not quite sure what happened but I miss that kite.

While kites at the Kite Loft have a larger price tag they are completely worth the investment. 

Related Links:

Our BarbRad took us to visit Moonstone Beach in Cambria. In that review, she enjoyed watching a family flying stunt kites. Stunt kites have 2 lines and you hold one in each hand. This gives you the ability to control the kite and cause it to make turns and loops. I was never able to master the art of stunts kites because they are very responsive to small movements and I wasn't coordinated enough. I enjoyed watching the video in her review - maybe you will too. 

Visit the Hengda Kite Store link on Amazon here.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 29, 2022

Lego Carousel Creator Expert Set #10257 Reviewed

Lego Carousel

Everybody loves an amusement park or fairground!  We all have favorite rides or features in the park.  Lego offers a way to create a small replica of one of the most beloved amusement park rides: the carousel. Just looking at the finished creation brings joy and fond memories to mind.

The carousel is a popular ride simply because anyone, of any age, can ride. Even new mother's can take their babies on many carousels because they have the bench seat option. 

Children opt for the animals. They want to ride the horses, elephants, tiger, or other animals. The biggest question beyond which animal, is whether they want one that moves up and down. 

The Lego carousel set has moving fairy tale animals featuring an elephant, a tiger, a frog, and a flamingo. Plus, the set includes a swan, which is the Lego version of the non-moving bench seat. There is a center ring platform with a staircase to make mounting or dismounting the animals easier for Lego children. 

Sadly, the Lego Carousel Set #10257 does not include a horse. Otherwise the detailing is fabulous! There is a strong base on this set that allows you to carefully pick it up without damaging the completed Lego carousel.

The Lego Carousel Set #10257 is retired and can only be purchased from a secondary market like Amazon or Ebay.


Building The Lego Creator Expert Carousel Set 10257

The Creator Expert set is recommended for ages 16 and up. It has over 2600 pieces and will require patience and time to build. 

 As a parent of a huge Lego fan & builder, I can tell you that the recommended ages are important to consider when buying a Creator Expert set. If you consider the child and their individual Lego building aptitude, you may well know that your child is ready to jump into the Creator Expert world before they are 16, especially if they have a parent, grandparent, or older sibling who is willing to help them.  Some children are exhilarated by the challenge, while others will get frustrated and never want to build a Lego again. For a child who has been successfully building Lego sets for years, they may well be ready for the challenge of the Expert Creator sets before they are 16.

Helping your child build a complicated Lego set can provide hours of fun for both the parent and the child. There is a true sense of accomplishment when the masterpiece is finished and ready for display. Most importantly, there are cherished memories of working together that are priceless.  

In our case, we would sit at our dining room table for hours, often across a period of days. I only helped by separating pieces into organized piles for easy identification while my son built his Lego masterpiece. Sometimes, I would look at the upcoming steps, pull the needed Lego pieces and have them waiting for him so he could maintain his concentration and focus on building. Sometimes, we would talk and other times we quietly kept each other company. One constant in our Lego building days was that the gift of a Lego set was always a gift to me. 


Lego Carousel Creator Expert Set Specifications


More Lego Sets & Shelves Reviewed 

Lego Disney CastleLEGO Disney Castle Set - Cinderella's Castle Lego Set #71040 Reviewed
With its impressive details, arched doorway, stunning spires & turrets, the Lego Disney Castle Set is a fabulous replica of the real Cinderella Castle.

Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion LegoScooby-Doo Mystery Mansion Lego Kit Reviewed
Lego & Scooby Doo fans will love this awesome Lego set. The Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion is the perfect treat for Halloween or anytime for kids & adults.

Winnie the Pooh LegoDisney Winnie the Pooh #21326 Lego Set Reviewed
Those who love Winnie-the-Pooh & Legos are thrilled with the Winnie Lego set! It includes Pooh, Piglet, Tigger, Eeyore, Rabbit & Poohs treehouse home.

Lego Gingerbread House SetLego Gingerbread House Set #10267 Reviewed
The Lego Gingerbread House is the perfect set for Christmas time! Many of us enjoy decorating gingerbread houses for Christmas, but ...

Spider Man LegoSpider-Man Far From Home Lego Set #76130 Reviewed
The Spiderman Far From Home Lego set has lots of awesome features including an opening hatch in the jet for Spidermans quick exit. Specs & review here.

Lego Display ShelvesThe Perfect Lego Display Shelves Reviewed
Completed Lego sets need a safe place for display. I recently purchased the perfect bookcase shelves for Lego display!





Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, March 21, 2022

Family Game Night - Reviewing Here to Slay

 Here to Slay is a strategy card game. I had never heard of the game prior to a recent visit with my youngest son and grandchildren. And when my son asked me to play, my initial reaction was "oh gross". But I gave it a try and I loved it. We had so much fun that we are planning on figuring out how to play long distance video chats.


Here to Slay

My first thought was one of dread. I fully expected this game to be a copy-cat version of Dungeons & Dragons (D&D). I am not cut out for playing D&D. It just doesn't compute for me. Role-play and creating your characters is too much for me. I've had young people at work try to "teach" me. Or, when we don't have access to the actual game, these hopeful students would give me watered down role-play versions via asking me "what would you do" scenarios. My answers were always based on what I would really do - which is always very mundane. For this reason, I thought I'd try Here to Slay once then gently guide us back to the other board games we had been playing.

But once we got started, I found that I LOVED Here to Slay. As did my son. We had a great time. One of the many good things about the game is that it doesn't take a long time to get through it. So we played round after round and enjoyed each game more as we became accustomed to the rules.

How to Play

As we read through the brief How to Play we felt thoroughly confused. And I thought the one page (front and back) of instructions clearly was not sufficient. But it was! It is a strategy game with many different options and outcomes but really very simple.

"In this game, you'll assemble a full Party of Heroes to slay dangerous Monsters while working to avoid the sabotage of your [friends] enemies. You'll also equip items to your Heroes, harness powerful mage, and use roll modifiers to tip the adds in your favor."

We played with just the 2 of us. Which was fun. But the game can accommodate up to 6 players. The more players to battle, curse, and steal their heroes the more fun (and strategic) the game would be. 

Each play chooses a Party Leader card. Each Party Leader has a special skill/power. I chose the Leader that had a bit more strength against fighting the monsters. My son chose the Leader that had a bit more power during each roll. 

During each turn, the player has 3 "actions". During those actions, you could choose to draw cards, battle a Monster (which takes 2 of your 3 actions) or roll to have one of your Heroes do something against your opponent.  

To win the game you must either slay 3 Monsters or gather a party of Heroes that represents at least one each of the 6 classes (Fighter, Guardian, Ranger, Thief, Wizard, Bard). During each turn you have to try to build your Party of Heroes or do something to try to set back your opponent. 

There are challenge cards and modification cards. These cards can make your rolls of the dice stronger or your opponents rolls weaker. Or, you can challenge your opponent and if you win the challenge roll of the dice you can in effect take away their turn.

I am probably making it sound more difficult than it is. Perhaps some visuals will help. 

There was a handy and very helpful direction card to keep next to me. To remind me of what my turn (my 3 actions) could consist of. It also reminded me of the 6 different party classes - an easy reminder of the different Heroes I was trying to collect.



These were my favorite Party Leader and Hero cards so far. The Divine Arrow Party Leader added one point to each of my rolls against the Monsters. And Wiggles the Hero allowed me to steal my opponent's Hero card - if I was able to roll a 10 or higher.



If you have children (or grandchildren) who like strategy and/or role playing card games but you aren't as enthused about them this may be a wonderful compromise. If you are competitive and like to steal things from your opponent or block their play, you will love this game. I was a skeptic. But it turns out that the game was so much fun that I have been trying to figure out how to Face Time or Zoom with my camera pointed at my table. 

                                         


Related Reviews:

If you are more imaginative than I am, you may want to take a look at Wednesday Elf's Dungeons & Dragons - Fantasy Role-Playing Game Review. In that review she shares how she is familiar with the game. Two years ago she wrote, "D&D is here to stay". Ms. Elf was not wrong about that. As I mentioned above, there have been quite a few students I work with who play the game today (and try to get me to play despite my imagination limits). 

You can see her review here




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 18, 2022

Adorable 15 Piece Kids Toy Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case Reviewed

Tin Tea Set
My parents have a new family that just moved in next door. There are two little girls in the family and my mother wanted to give them a special gift for Christmas this year. Plus, it was the perfect way to welcome them to the neighborhood. 

She selected a tin tea set and asked my opinion. I loved the idea!  After all, I still have pieces of a small tin tea set that I had as a child.  The little plates and cups certainly evoke wonderful memories and I wish I still had the full set. 

The tea set my mom chose came with a carrying case. How awesome is that! I couldn't help but think how I wish my set had come with a carrying case.  Perhaps, I would still have the full set if the case was included.  I carried my set around in a brown paper lunch bag, which is most likely why some of the pieces are missing.  

I also loved the design on the set my mom gave the girls. It has kitties on it.  My set has a sweet floral design, but the kitties are adorable.

This leaves me wondering, am I too old to start a collection of delightfully decorated children's tin tea sets?  Nope! I am not.  My husband better prepare to participate in my upcoming tea parties.  I think we will ask our dog, Merlin, to attend too if he promises not eat all of the teacakes.


15 Piece Kids Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case
Several Designs Available

 Jewelkeeper 15 Piece Kids Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case - Cat DesignCheck PriceThe tea sets include a lidded teapot, tray, 4 plates, 4 tea cups, 4 saucers, and the fabulous matching carrying case.  The tea set can be washed by hand and used for many delightful tea parties.  

The tea pot and the cups will hold a small amount of liquid, which is perfect for young children who wish to entertain.

The real benefit to using a tin tea set is that they will not break. 

I am featuring a few of my favorite designs below, but there are others also available.  You can choose the kitties, dogs, unicorns, llamas, horses, or even a ballerina.  There are also jungle and safari sets.  The designs and colors are all awesome!  Now you understand why I said I would like to start my own collection of tin tea sets.  It is hard to choose just one.



Check Out More Toy Reviews
ReviewThisToyReviews.com


Adorable 15 Piece Kids Toy Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 29, 2021

Battleship Classic Board Game Reviewed

 

Battleship Classic Board Game Reviewed

Battleship is a classic naval combat board game of strategy and excitement. In this board game, you will search the ocean floor to destroy your opponent’s fleet of ships.

The board game was first introduced by Milton-Bradley in 1967 as a plastic board and peg game. The game battleship comes from earlier versions of a pencil and paper game from the 1930s.

Battleship has also evolved into many electronic versions of the game today. The game I had growing up was the original plastic board and peg game. I have spent many hours playing this game with my brothers and friends.

The game we have today is the same, but it was made by Hasbro. I have never tried one of the electronic versions but thought about it many times. Today I play the same battleship game with my grandchildren that I played growing up.

How to Play Battleship:

Each player has a fleet of five ships consisting of the following:

Class of Ship                       #of Hits to Sink the Ship

Aircraft Carrier                                  5

Battleship                                          4

Destroyer                                          3

Submarine                                        3

Patrol Boat                                        2

Battleship classic board game

Each player has a plastic case with two grids, white pegs, and red pegs. One grid is the ocean floor, this is where you place your fleet of ships either horizontal or vertical. The upper grid is to record your misses with white pegs and your hits with red pegs.

 You can also use your ocean floor to track your opponent's misses with white pegs. This is an option and I never use it.

A player calls out a location on the grid and the opposing player says either hit or miss. If it is a miss the first player marks the location with a white peg, so he doesn’t call that location again. If it is a hit, then he places a red peg in that location and the opposing player places a red peg in the ship that was hit.

Now, the first player must figure out if the ship is placed horizontal or vertical on the opposing player’s grid. Once a player has sunk the other player's entire fleet, he wins the game.

Battleship is just another classic game that has been around for many years and will provide hours of fun.

For more classic toys and games visit me at

 Cherished Toy Finds


Find more toys on Review This Here

ReviewThisToyReviews.com

 Battleship Board Game for ages 7 and up makes a perfect gift for hours of fun.

Hasbro Gaming Battleship GameHasbro Gaming Battleship GameCheck the Price

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 26, 2021

Lego Gingerbread House Set #10267 Reviewed

Lego Gingerbread House
The Lego Gingerbread House is the perfect set for Christmas time!

Many of us enjoy decorating gingerbread houses for Christmas, but we hate to throw away our hard work after the season has passed.  While a real gingerbread house is eatable, I've actually never known anyone who ate one. Therefore, building a gingerbread house that doesn't get old, go stale and wind up in the trash, is awesome!

Over the years, Lego has branched out considerably.  They now have hundreds of sets that are created with older, experienced Lego builders in mind.  This allows kids who grew up building Legos to continue their hobby with advanced, bigger sets.  These sets also offer families the opportunity to build together by allowing younger children to handle the easier parts, while the more experienced Lego builder takes on the more intricate details and the overall assembly.  

Many of the Creator sets have small accessory pieces which are perfect for those family members who want to be a part of the fun, but worry they will do something that will mess up the design.  

The Lego Gingerbread House set has several small accessories that include a gingerbread girl, a train, a rocking horse, a few gifts, a Christmas tree and interior furniture.  These "parts" of the overall set are perfect for grandparents who were not previously Lego builders.  They are a great way to learn how to build Legos.  Plus, they allow everyone to be part of the building fun!  No one has to be left out simply because they don't know how to build a Lego set.

Bring your family together this holiday season by building this wonderful Lego Gingerbread House that will never decompose.  Plus, it is a fabulous Christmas decoration! 


Lego Gingerbread House set
This Image Shows the Backside of the Finished Gingerbread House
Check Out All of the Awesome Home Decor Included in the Set



Details of The Lego Gingerbread House Set - #10267

The Lego Creator Gingerbread House set has almost 1500 pieces (1,477 pieces to be exact) and provides hours of building entertainment.

 LEGO Creator Expert Gingerbread House 10267 Building KitCheck Price

Features Include:

  • Gingerbread House with Frosted Roof & Candy Cane Columns
  • Gingerbread Man & Woman
  • Baby & Carriage
  • Christmas Tree
  • Snow Blower
  • Candy Cane Signposts
  • Train
  • Gifts
  • Candy Design Furniture 
  • Battery (included) Operated Light Brick for the Fireplace

Completed Gingerbread House measures:
8" high x 10" wide x 5" deep.

Just the right size to make an adorable centerpiece for your holiday dinner table or buffet! 




Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 29, 2021

Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion Lego Kit Reviewed

Scooby Doo Lego
As a special treat for Halloween a few years ago, I gave my all-time favorite trick or treater (my son) the Lego Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion.  He loves it!

Scooby-Doo, Shaggy, Daphne, Fred & Velma have been the source of entertainment for many years in our household. All ages seem to adore them, laugh with them, sing along with the intro music, and even call out the question "Scooby-Doo, where are you?"  

We are also fans of haunted houses!  Therefore, the Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion was a perfect "treat" choice. Not only does the set come with members of the Scooby-Doo gang, it also includes a ghost & a vampire.  However, there is one notable missing character and I have given the information below on how to buy him separately.

One very unique feature of this set is the "man" eating plant, reminiscent of the Venus Fly Trap plant recently reviewed by our own contributor, Raintree Annie.  (You can read her Venus Fly Trap review by clicking here.)

This fabulous set has 860 pieces and would be a fun project for the family on Halloween, or any time.  Over the years, I have been blessed many times by our son sitting at the dining room table, letting me sort out pieces for him into like piles, while we talk and he builds the set. These are memories that I cherish and I know you will too.  I highly recommend taking the time to sit with your Lego builder while he or she works.  You will discover a totally different reason to love Legos!

 

Lego Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion Kit #75904

The mansion alone is awesome with it's clock tower and adjoining rooms, but when you add the Halloween pumpkins, the black knight, a vampire, a ghost, and the Scooby gang, you have perfection!

The set also includes a motorbike with a sidecar, the fabulous man-eating plant with a snapping mouth, and a bunch of additional accessories including food for our always hungry friends.

When completed, the Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion is 14" tall, 12" wide, & 5" deep.

 LEGO Scooby-Doo 75904 Mystery Mansion Building KitCheck Price



Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion Lego Availability

This Lego set is retired, therefore, you will need to search for the set on Amazon, Ebay or a different secondary market.  If you don't see it today, check again on a later date.  Sellers frequently add new items on Ebay.  It is one of my favorite source for retired Lego sets! (links for Mystery Mansion (shown above) on Amazon or on Ebay)


Oddly enough, Fred was not included in this set.  He can be pretty expensive when sold separately, so I would recommend pairing the Mystery Mansion Lego set with the Lego Scooby-Doo Mystery Machine Set #75902.   (The following words are links to the Mystery Machine on Amazon or on Ebay)


The images below are linked to the sets available on Amazon.

Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, October 12, 2021

Forest Animals in Wood Reviewed

There are many clever artisans who create Woodland animals hand-cut from a variety of woods for children's play. Other crafters create them as wall hangings, some especially sweet for a baby's nursery or a child's room. Others create wooden animal puzzles.  


Some are finished in natural wood, many of which are considered 'Waldorf Toy Animals'.  Others are hand-painted. All are special because they are lovingly handmade.


These Forest Critters include the animals usually found in the woods, including foxes, wolves, bears, deer, squirrels, bunny rabbits and many others, including birds such as the Owl. 


This page presents a few creative sets of Woodland creatures and a couple individual animals as toys – all created in wood. 


Waldorf Toys


According to a description on Google....


Waldorf toys are wooden toys, they are eco-friendly toys and of course organic toys. ... Toys that are made from natural materials, with rich, natural colors, and that are lovingly handcrafted are inviting and contribute to a child's “sense of life.” Waldorf toys are often simple, without a lot of detail. 


Woodland Animal Sets in Wood


Woodland animals handcrafted in wood
Woodland Animal Nature Toys


All Natural toys for small children shaped like cute Woodland Animals to promote Nature-Based Play.


Each critter is hand-cut out of natural wood and sealed with a Non-Toxic Food Grade Sealant made from beeswax and olive oil. 


These natural wooden toys encourage key early childhood developmental skills such as brain development and small motor skills. They can practice balance by standing them up and stacking, counting the animal toys and families, or creative play with these fun natural toys. 


There are two sizes to the sets, which include a bear, a deer, a rabbit, a squirrel and a bird.  These wooden forest animals are handmade by Erik in Michigan and are available in his Etsy Shop Hessler Customs.


Animal Puzzle Handmade in Wood


Wooden Frog Puzzle

This stand up frog puzzle is handcut from 3/4" thick cherry on a scroll saw, sanded smooth, and finished it with a natural beeswax and organic jojoba oil polish.


The puzzle is 6 1/4" tall, 7 1/4" wide and 3/4" thick. It has four puzzle pieces.  This is a great beginner puzzle for ages 3+.


Woodland Frog puzzle is handmade by Susan who lives in Missouri near St. Louis. She has been creating adorable woodland creatures for many years and is a very talented craftsman. Susan and I met up several years ago when I was living in St. Louis and I have been a fan of her work ever since seeing them in person. You can find this frog puzzle and many other delightful wooden toys created by Susan in her Etsy Shop OohLookItsARabbit.


Woodland Animal Peg Dolls


Woodland Animal Peg Dolls

These Woodland animal peg dolls make for delightful playtime. They are made of solid beechwood, measure 2/5 inches tall and are hand-painted and sealed using CE tested (certified) non toxic paints and sealants.


Included in this listing are a Bear, a Fox, a Deer, a Hedgehog, an Owl and a Badger. They are available to purchase individually or as a set.


These Woodland animal peg dolls are handmade by Katie and are available in her Etsy Shop Multipegs.


Woodland Animal Wall Hangings for the Nursery


Woodland Animals Wall Art for the Nursery

This delightful array of Woodland animals for the nursery wall (or any child's room) are created by Lea of Michigan for her Etsy Shop NovelWares.


• Crafted from 1/4” solid walnut which is sourced from sustainable and responsibly harvested forests

• Sealed with a poly for durability and easy cleaning

• Comes with double sided tape for easy and quick installation on your wall.   


Some of Lea's forest animals include 


There is also a bear, a bee, a hedgehog and a wolf.  Check out Lea's shop for many selections in this world of wooden forest animals. 


Summary




Many more Woodland Forest Animals are available throughout Etsy cleverly created in wood.  Just do a search for Woodland Animals in Wood for a wide variety of these cute animals who live in the forest. 


Related Post:


Review of Woodland Forest Animals as Soft Toys


*Forest Animals in Wood reviewed by Wednesday Elf






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 8, 2021

LEGO Disney Castle Set - Cinderella's Castle Lego Set #71040 Reviewed

This Lego Disney Castle set #71040 is the perfect memento of a wonderful vacation or an awesome reminder of a favored fairy tale.

This Cinderella's Castle Lego set is quite unique in size and color.  The set consists of 4080 pieces, stands over 2 feet tall when finished, and could easily be another family time adventure to assemble.  With it's impressive details, arched doorway, stunning spires and marvelous turrets, this Lego castle is a fabulous replica of the real castle at our favorite family vacation destination.

Cinderella's Castle in the Walt Disney World Resort is easily recognizable to anyone.  It is almost always featured in Disney World's advertisements and brochures.  

It serves as the gateway entrance to the enchanted theme park, Fantasyland, which is full of villages, characters, and rides.  Families, groups & friends stop for photos in front of the castle and that photo is often their most treasured keepsake of their visit to Disney World. Therefore, the Disney castle is indelibly etched in our minds as the symbol of the Magic Kingdom.


The Fabulous Lego Disney Castle Set #71040

 LEGO Disney Castle 71040Check PriceSeveral of our favorite Disney characters are included in the kit. With Lego, you can always add more Disney characters to join Mickey Mouse, Minnie Mouse, Donald Duck, Daisy Duck and Tinker Bell at Cinderella's castle.

As I previously mentioned, the set has 4080 pieces. It is recommended for ages 16+.  I know from experience that these ages are "recommendations" based on intricacy of the set, size & number of pieces, and dexterity. If you have a younger child who would like to build the Disney castle, why not create another wonderful memory by helping them.  I fondly remember sitting at the dining room table, sorting Lego pieces into "like" piles for my son, when he was in elementary school. Not only did we accomplish building a magnificent Lego set, we talked about anything and everything. Building Lego sets together is about building relationships when you work together.

 Inside the CastleThe back side of the Lego castle is also truly awesome!  It allows us to take a peek at each room in the Lego Disney castle. The set includes mirror, chest, bed, spinning wheel, curtains, vases, chandelier, armor, shields and other decorative accessories are all included in the set.

There is also a hidden section under the roof to store the glass slipper or the special Lego piece created to look like a fairy-tale book. 

Because either side has a finished appeal, you can decide which way you wish to display the castle.  You could even place Mickey Mouse or the other characters in the rooms just for fun. What a delightful, easy way to change things around.

 

The Lego Disney Castle measures over 29” (74cm) high, 18.8” (48cm) wide and 12” (31cm) deep.

 

The Missing Element

Normally, Lego has everything you could think of, or wish for, in a Lego set.  However, in this set, there is no Cinderella figure.  I couldn't help but think they really should have included Cinderella.  After all, she is readily available in other sets and could easily transition into this set without having to design a new figure.

Personally, I like the Cinderella figure below. I prefer the white detail in her gown that is not on some of the other Lego Cinderella figures.

For me, the castle is complete only when the lovely Cinderella there to greet her mouse and duck guests!

 LEGO Disney Princess Cinderella's Kitchen (30551)Check Price



Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X