Showing posts with label Toy Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Toy Reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Play-Doh Campfire Picnic

Love camping with your family? Play-Doh's Campfire Picnic playset will let you and your children recreate the fun of camping even when you cannot be at the campground. What follows is a brief review of this set.

Released in 2015 as a limited edition playset at Toys R Us, it is now retired and no longer readily available at the store. However, it is available new and used on eBay. Recommended for children aged 3 and up, I think this set represents a whole lot of fun camping-themed play. 

The set includes a play mat, a campfire with brown logs and gray stones, a frying pan and utensils, five containers of Play-Doh and more. Rustle up some pretend chow for breakfast, lunch or supper. Great fun for a child who enjoys Play-Doh, camping and cooking!  I can see your little ones cooking up a great treat with this set.

Find Play-Doh's Campfire Picnic here on eBay.

See you at the toy store!

Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

MORE PLAY-DOH

The World of Play-Doh.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, June 11, 2024

Play-Doh's Rex the Chomper Dinosaur Playset

Discover Play-Doh's Dinosaur Set: Rex the Chomper, the Tyrannosaurus Rex.

For all the little boys and girls (and maybe even the big ones) who are enamored with dinosaurs, Play-Doh created this T-rex or Tyrannosaurus dinosaur-themed set called Rex the Chomper. What follows is a brief review of the set.

Released in 2017, it is now retired and no longer readily available at retail outlets. However, it is available new and used on eBay but be aware that there are two versions: a regular-sized one and a mini-sized one. Recommended for children aged 3 and up, I think the bigger Rex is more fun for small hands. 

The regular-sized set shown here includes a Rex that is 6 inches tall and 8 1/2 inches long, three small tubs of the modelling compound, a plastic knife, a small volcano and a cookie cutter in the shape of a dinosaur foot print. 

Options for play including growing Rex’s tongue and scales, using the tail to make him chomp, crafting lava from the volcano, making footprints with the cutter and creating frogs, fossils and foliage with the molds.

I can see your little person creating a world for Rex and then using his imagination to create a story!

Find the Rex the Chomper Play-Doh set here on eBay.

See you at the toy store!

Brenda
Treasures By Brenda



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, May 30, 2024

The World of Play-Doh

The World of Play-Doh

WHAT IS PLAY-DOH?


Play-Doh is a non-toxic modeling material for young children, for older children and, of course, for the young at heart. It is made from a blend of wheat flour, water, salt, boric acid, and mineral oil. Join me here as I review a bit of the history of the iconic play compound.

A BRIEF HISTORY


Play-Doh was first made as a wallpaper cleaner in the United States in the 1930s and became a children’s product in the 1950s when it appeared at an educational convention and was eventually used in schools. Initially the department store Woodward and Lothrop took on the product but when Macy’s and Marshall Field’s saw how popular the modelling compound was, they also took it on. Play-Doh did not have money for advertising so, in what turned out to be a stroke of genius, they arranged for Captain Kangaroo, the then massively popular children’s show, to use it on air once a week. The rest is, as they say, history.

THE COMPANY'S HISTORY, A VIDEO


The Accidental Birth of Play-Doh: Uncover the complete company history via interesting, 10-minute long YouTube video:


CONTINUED POPULARITY


Play-Doh has continued to be popular in the decades that followed and is now available in an endless array of sets that include everything from cans of dough to items like the perennially popular Fun Factory to pop culture themes of the day like Star Wars and Disney. The product made the Toy Industry’s Association Century of Toys List in 2003.

SKILL DEVELOPMENT


Play-Doh is a wonderful product for developing children’s skills. Fine motor skills and hand-eye coordination are enhanced with all of the pushing, squishing, squeezing, and pinching that is required to play with the product. Literacy and numeracy are promoted when a child creates shapes and numbers and acts out stories. Calm and focus are a natural result of this quiet activity that also supports creativity, imagination, playtime and social skills. Whether a child has a few colors of the modeling material or many colors, the options are endless.

TODAY


According to the video shown above, Play-Doh is available in over 80 countries today and the current owner, Hasbro, produces over 500 million cans of the modeling compound each year.

Is there a can of Play-Doh in your future?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, May 10, 2024

Lego Creator 3 in 1 Forest Animals Set: Red Fox, Owl & Squirrel #31154 Reviewed

lego fox
Lego has been a part of our lives and home decor for decades.  While I have played my part by sorting and organizing pieces, I have never built a Lego set.  I love the Botanical Collection introduced in 2021, but haven't started building a set myself.  However, that is all about to change.

For years, I have perused the Lego catalog seeking out new sets to give my son, hoping I could find one he would like, but had not seen before.  Recently, I discovered the #31154 "Lego Creator Forest Animals: Red Fox" that was released on March 1, 2024 and is now available on Amazon.  I am so excited!  

I love that fox!!!  

This is one of the sets that you can choose from a few options which animal you wish to build.  It comes with instructions for the fox, an owl or a squirrel.  They all use the same pieces simply put together in a different way to create a specific animal.  I happen to love owls and squirrels too, but I will be building the fox.  It is highly unlikely I will ever take him apart so if I want an owl or a squirrel, I will need to buy another set.  

Now, I just need to enlist my son to sort the piece the pieces for me so I can start building immediately. 

 

Lego Forest Animals Set:  Red Fox, Owl & Squirrel

This Lego set has 667 pieces and is recommended for 9+ ages.  Once built, the animals are posable thanks to the special moveable pieces included.  For instance, the fox can sit or stand, open his mouth, or even turn his tail & head. The owl can turn her head.  

As with a real life squirrel, the squirrel is ready to scour the ground for food and has his very own acorn to have and hold.  Plus, he can stand on 2 or 4 feet which is also very lifelike.   

  • Build a fox, owl or squirrel
  • Owl on perch stands 7 inches  (tallest statue form)
  • Posable animals with movable features
  • 667 pieces
  • Recommended for ages 9+ 
lego creator 3 in 1

 


More Lego Sets & Shelves Reviewed 

Lego The Office SetLego Bouquet Roses Set #10328 Reviewed
Give or build a Lego Bouquet of Roses. Lego roses make a lovely decoration of flowers that won't die. They are the perfect gift for someone you love.

Lego The Office SetLego The Office Set #21336 Reviewed
If you love the tv series, The Office, you will definitely love The Office Lego Set. Lots of The Office specific fun pieces included, plus minifigures

Lego Disney CastleLego Carousel Creator Expert Set #10257 Reviewed
The Lego Carousel Creator Expert Set #10257 is a fabulous & beautiful design. Somewhat challenging to build but worth it. Animal rides & carousel move

Lego Disney CastleLEGO Creator Winter Toy Shop Reviewed
The Lego Creator Winter Toy Shop is fun to build AND fun decor, even as a centerpiece, during the holidays. Toy shop in the winter scene is fabulous!

Lego Disney CastleLEGO Disney Castle Set - Cinderella's Castle Lego Set #71040 Reviewed
With its impressive details, arched doorway, stunning spires & turrets, the Lego Disney Castle Set is a fabulous replica of the real Cinderella Castle.

Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion LegoScooby-Doo Mystery Mansion Lego Kit Reviewed
Lego & Scooby Doo fans will love this awesome Lego set. The Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion is the perfect treat for Halloween or anytime for kids & adults.

Winnie the Pooh LegoDisney Winnie the Pooh #21326 Lego Set Reviewed
Those who love Winnie-the-Pooh & Legos are thrilled with the Winnie Lego set! It includes Pooh, Piglet, Tigger, Eeyore, Rabbit & Poohs treehouse home.

Lego Display ShelvesThe Perfect Lego Display Shelves Reviewed
Completed Lego sets need a safe place for display. I recently purchased the perfect bookcase shelves for Lego display!








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, April 26, 2024

Lego Bouquet Roses Set #10328 Reviewed

lego roses
Mother's Day is just a few weeks away.  The first gift idea that always comes to mind is a bouquet of roses.  Both my mother and I love roses, but we do hate throwing them away when they die. However, there is a fantastic alternative to live roses.  LEGO Roses!

For less than the cost of sending a dozen roses, you can purchase the Lego complete set of a dozen roses that includes Lego baby's breath.  Either make the bouquet set in advance to give your mother or give her the set and make them together.  Spending a few hours creating the lovely bouquet with her would be a wonderful memory she will treasure forever in addition to having the bouquet of Lego roses to remind her of you with each glance.  I know from experience, this will be one of her fondest gifts and memories.

My son has always been a Lego enthusiast.  I have priceless memories of watching him assemble dozens of intricate Lego masterpieces.  As a child, he often used our dining room table as his workspace and I had the privilege of sitting with him and sorting the pieces for him while he built something remarkable.  Not only did he build an awe inspiring Lego creation, but it allowed us to build a stronger bond with one another.  

Lego sets are not just for kids!  Even my adult daughter, who is not a Lego enthusiast, built a Lego flower bouquet for her own dining room table that her brother sent to her from Christmas last year.  Neither of them were able to take off to travel last year, but they were able to exchange thoughtful gifts.  It didn't surprise me one bit to hear that my son sent her a Lego bouquet set, but I admit, it did surprise me that she promptly set down to put it together.  She loves it!

Whether you are able to be with your mom on Mother's Day to build the bouquet together or give her the finished bouquet, she is sure to love it!  


Bouquet of Roses Lego Set #10328

lego roses
Click to Check Price or Purchase

This Lego set comes with everything you need, except a vase.  This set is recommended by Lego for ages 18+ and is designed for adults.  I would personally rate this set at 10+. I have no doubt younger creators can master it as well, especially if they have built Legos in the past.  

There are Lego roses in the set that are built in all 3 stages of a flower from bud, blooming to full bloom.  Together, they make a realistic and lovely bouquet of a dozen roses interlaced with Lego baby's breath.

Experienced Lego builders will have this set finished in about 2 or 3 hours.

  • 822 pieces
 

This bouquet of roses would be the perfect gift for Mother's Day, Valentines Day, a birthday or just to say I love you!



If you prefer a mixed bouquet or a single stem, there is a Lego set for you too!

Lego Flowers
Lego Flowers & Lego Bouquet Sets Reviewed

Lego flowers & bouquets offer Lego lovers a great gift to give someone they love. Lego flowers never die & will always be a decorative reminder of you!



More Lego Sets & Shelves Reviewed 

Lego The Office SetLego The Office Set #21336 Reviewed
If you love the tv series, The Office, you will definitely love The Office Lego Set. Lots of The Office specific fun pieces included, plus minifigures

Lego Disney CastleLego Carousel Creator Expert Set #10257 Reviewed
The Lego Carousel Creator Expert Set #10257 is a fabulous & beautiful design. Somewhat challenging to build but worth it. Animal rides & carousel move

Lego Disney CastleLEGO Creator Winter Toy Shop Reviewed
The Lego Creator Winter Toy Shop is fun to build AND fun decor, even as a centerpiece, during the holidays. Toy shop in the winter scene is fabulous!

Lego Disney CastleLEGO Disney Castle Set - Cinderella's Castle Lego Set #71040 Reviewed
With its impressive details, arched doorway, stunning spires & turrets, the Lego Disney Castle Set is a fabulous replica of the real Cinderella Castle.

Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion LegoScooby-Doo Mystery Mansion Lego Kit Reviewed
Lego & Scooby Doo fans will love this awesome Lego set. The Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion is the perfect treat for Halloween or anytime for kids & adults.

Winnie the Pooh LegoDisney Winnie the Pooh #21326 Lego Set Reviewed
Those who love Winnie-the-Pooh & Legos are thrilled with the Winnie Lego set! It includes Pooh, Piglet, Tigger, Eeyore, Rabbit & Poohs treehouse home.

Lego Gingerbread House SetLego Gingerbread House Set #10267 Reviewed
The Lego Gingerbread House is the perfect set for Christmas time! Many of us enjoy decorating gingerbread houses for Christmas, but ...

Spider Man LegoSpider-Man Far From Home Lego Set #76130 Reviewed
The Spiderman Far From Home Lego set has lots of awesome features including an opening hatch in the jet for Spidermans quick exit. Specs & review here.

Lego Display ShelvesThe Perfect Lego Display Shelves Reviewed
Completed Lego sets need a safe place for display. I recently purchased the perfect bookcase shelves for Lego display!





Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, January 18, 2024

Barbie Board Games: A Discussion and List

Here's a collection and a list of new, used and vintage Barbie board games complete with a list.
Anyone who loves Barbie and board games might find themselves wondering, as I did, what Barbie-themed board games are available. A simple search revealed the short list of Barbie-themed games that I review here on this page. However, the more I looked the more games I found and so you will also find on this page a longer list of games at the bottom of this page. This list may help you if you are seeking a particular game from a specific time period. Most of the games on this page (including on the list) are vintage but there are a couple of new games that were released along with the hit Barbie movie in 2023.

THE BARBIE GAME QUEEN OF THE PROM (1961 and 1994)


First up is the game with a blue cover shown above called simply, The Barbie Game. It was released by Mattel in 1960 and could well be the first game ever made. Beware that there are two versions of Queen of the Prom as it was re-released in 1994. Both are vintage games but have a decidedly different appearance.

The description of the game on the box of the newer version reads, “You are Barbie. Win if you are the first crowned Queen of the Prom. To win you must have a steady boyfriend, a prom dress and be elected president of a school club. Midge, Skipper and Ken share the fun.”

What fun it is to see the original game in this 1960s television commercial:


TAKE A PERSONAL APPEARANCE TOUR WITH BARBIE GAME (1980)


This vintage 1980 game was released by Whitman. The description on the back of the box reads, “Travel with Barbie by car and plane on her tour and visit movie studios, grand openings, charity telethons and more. If you are first to appear three times and then reach the awards presentation, you win.” It evokes all of the excitement of a glamorous life in the 1980s. 

DREAM DATE (1992)


The Barbie Dream Date game was released by Golden in 1992. In this game, “…girls play the Dream Date Game with Barbie and Ken! Ken picks out beautiful gifts for Barbie and might take her horseback riding, snow skiing or maybe even to a ball! Players collect gifts for Barbie, moving around the board and taking photos of their dates. At midnight, the individual with the most gift and date cards wins!” The cover definitely reminds me of the 1990s.

BARBIE DRESS UP GAME (1993)


Another Golden release, this game was created in 1993. In this one you “play with a Barbie doll trying to be the first player to collect all of Barbie’s fashion accessories without getting a broken heart.” This game would be especially fun for anyone who loves fashion.

MONOPOLY BOUTIQUE AND MONOPOLY MOVIE (2007 AND 2003)


Monopoly has released hundreds or more likely thousands of board games on every theme you can possibly think of. Monopolyland says estimates range between 300 and 7,000 games and that the largest known collection of Monopoly games claims to have 3,500 games. Anyway, when I looked, I could find two Barbie versions. 

This is the official Barbie Monopoly board game that was released in conjunction with the 2023 movie, Barbie.

The first version was the Barbie Boutique Edition from 2007, which was packed in a pretty pink box. Finding a description of it proved difficult though pictures show that it was beautifully presented in a jewelry-style box.

The second version was official movie merchandise that was released in tandem with the movie Barbie. It is widely available and the box reads, “You can be anything with Barbie…Follow your dreams around the board. Buy famous streets, build DreamHouses and draw Dream Closet and Dream Career cards for extra twists. Flex your unique skills, dream a bit, own it all and be anything!” I expect a lot of people received this version of the game for Christmas in 2023. If you are interested, you can find Barbie Monopoly on Amazon by clicking here.

A LIST OF BARBIE BOARD GAMES


As I was reading about the games mentioned above, I kept discovering more new, used and vintage Barbie-themed games. I guess that is not really surprising given the length of time that Barbie has been around. The gaps in years tells me that this list is not likely complete but here’s my list, not definitive, but definitely long, arranged in chronological order: 

Queen of the Prom Game (1960)
Keys to Fame Game (1963)
Skipper: Barbie's Little Sister (1964)
The Barbie World of Fashion game (1967)
Miss Lively Livin’ (1970)
Take a Personal Appearance Tour with Barbie. (1980)
Charms the World (1985)
Barbie Meets Ken in the Game of Their Dreams! (1987)
Just Us Girls (1989)
Shopping Spree Card Game (1991)
We Girls Can Do Anything (1991)
Dream Date (1992)
Fun Fashions Memory Game (1992)
Butterfly Princess (1995)
Dress Up Game (1995)
Sparkle Kingdom Game (1996)
Go Shopping! (1999)
Enchanted 3-D Game (2001)
Barbie Says (2002)
UNO: Barbie (2002)
Barbie of Swan Lake (2003)
Rapunzel (2003)
The Nutcracker Playset Game (2003)
UNO: Barbie California Girl (2004)
The Princess and the Pauper Game (2004)
Guess the Look! (2004)
Barbie in the 12 Dancing Princesses (2006)
Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (2005)
World of Models (2008)
Race to the Party Game (2010)
Shopping Day (2011)
Charmed Travels (2011)
Fashion City (2011)
Gems! (2012)
Bring The Bling Game (2012)
Shop with Barbie (2013)
UNO: Barbie The Movie (2023)
Monopoly: Barbie Movie (2023)

WHERE TO BUY VINTAGE BARBIE GAMES?


If you are searching for any of these games, new, used or vintage, I suggest following this link to eBay's collection of new, used and vintage Barbie board games. There you will find many of these games in assorted condition. New games that are out of production will likely cost more. However, if you shop carefully, you can likely find a used game that is in good condition. 

Have I missed a Barbie game that you used to play?

See you
At the toy store!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

MORE BARBIE READING


For Barbie enthusiasts who love to build, there's a collection of fun Mega Bloks sets.

Barbie in my eBay Store
Discover what's in store! 

My Barbie Doll Memories 
I was a child when Barbie was released. Discover a few of my earliest Barbie memories.

Uncover my pick of the best Barbie movie gift idea.

Discover the movie fashioned after Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds movie!

Barbie games









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, December 23, 2023

Mega Bloks Barbie Building Sets Reviewed

Mega Bloks and Mega has been building Barbie-themed sets since 2012. Discover a few of the originals here as well as the replica of the Barbie DreamHouse as seen in the 2023 movie!

Barbie fans who enjoy building sets will enjoy constructing Barbie-themed Mega Bloks sets. They were released long before the 2023 Barbie movie on March 29, 2012. At that time, Mattel announced that it would work with Mega Bloks on the creation of a series of building toys themed around Barbie. Fans would now be able to build their own Barbie worlds.

Mega Bloks said, "We are thrilled to join forces with Mega Bloks to create the first Mega Bloks building sets based on Barbie" and I am sure they were. Who wouldn't want to work with Barbie, one of Mattel's most recognized brands? 

Mega Bloks is also a very well-known manufacturer, known for a line of building toys that are thought to be "innovative, well-designed, affordable and high-quality products." As a team, these two companies created some wonderful building sets that are reviewed here on this page.


MEGA BLOKS BARBIE VIDEO 


Watch this three-minute video to see how you can build, design and decorate with Mega Bloks Barbie sets. 


WHAT AGE ARE THESE SETS APPROPRIATE FOR?


Mega Bloks says that the Barbie Sets are appropriate for children aged 4 years old and up. Small parts make them inappropriate for younger children but there is no limit to how old you can be to play with them. Adult fans will have fun building, designing and decorating with Barbie Mega Bloks, too! Some more recent sets have an older recommended age of 10 and are even designed for adult collectors.

BUILD 'N STYLE LUXURY MANSION, SET 80229

Mega Bloks Barbie Build 'N Style Luxury Mansion or House, Set 80229BUILD 'N STYLE LUXURY MANSION, SET 80229
Your builder will love this fantastic house, a mansion with eight different rooms that can be organized as she likes. There's no doubt that this set will make a little girl's eyes light up. It includes two of the Mega Blocks Barbie dolls or micro-dolls as they are called, Fab Girl Barbie and Teresa. 

BUILD N'STYLE BEACH HOUSE, SET 80226 


Mega Bloks Barbie Build 'N Style Beach House, Set 80226


Yes, Barbie also has her very own beach house. This set includes two micro-dolls, Beach Fun Barbie and Beach Fun Nikki and the that is comprised of two rooms and a patio that can be arranged however the builder likes.


BUILD 'N STYLE POOL PARTY, SET 80228 

Mega Bloks Barbie Build 'N Style Pool Party, Set 80228
The Build 'n Style Pool Party is cool or at least Barbie and Ken will be when they take plunge! It comes with two micro-dolls called Pool Party Barbie and Pool Party Ken and a multi-level pool that actually holds water. The pool area is built and decorated by the builder using the umbrellas, trees, flowers and other accessories that are provided.

BUILD 'N STYLE CONVERTIBLE CAR, SET 80223

Mega Bloks Barbie Build 'N Style Convertible Car, Set 80223
Where would a beach-themed Barbie set be without a car? The Build 'N Style Convertible Car allows Barbie to get around with the top down! We love it. Although it is nothing like the Barbie convertible from the 1970s, it still seems very like Barbie to me. The pink car features wheels that turn, a working trunk and a doll called Go Barbie.

ORIGINAL MEGA BLOKS BARBIE SETS


A few more of the very early releases:

The Pet Shop
The Fashion Boutique
The Fashion Stand
The Ice Cream Cart
Party Time 
Movie Star 
Puppy Pals

2023 MEGA BLOKS BARBIE SETS


Mega Barbie the Movie DreamHouse Replica building toy for adults.


The sets discussed above were the original releases but Mega Bloks has released more Barbie sets since 2012.  The most exciting set released in 2023 must surely be the Barbie DreamHouse, which is shown above. It is a replica of Barbie's home in the hit movie of the same name and is intended for adult collectors and rated for players aged 10 and up. With 1795 pieces, it comes with micro-dolls representing Margot Robbie's Barbie and Ryan Gosling's Ken.  

Find the Mega's Replica Barbie DreamHouse here, on Amazon.

Other recent sets include:

Color Reveal Train 'N Wash Pets
Horse Stables
Horse Jumping
Dream Camper
Malibu Dream Boat
Movie Replica Dream House

WHERE TO FIND THESE SETS?


Some of these sets can still be found on Amazon. Click here to see all of the Mega Bloks Barbie sets available there today. Amazon has some of the original sets as well as all of the latest sets.

The earliest sets discussed here on this page were sold under the name Mega Bloks, and have been discontinued. If you are looking for a specific one of them you may have to turn to eBay.  Click here to see what Mega Barbie sets are available on eBay today. 

The more recent sets are sold under the shortened name, Mega.

See you at the toy store!

Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

MORE BARBIE READING


Barbie in my eBay Store
Discover what's in store! 

My Barbie Doll Memories 
I was a child when Barbie was released. Discover a few of my earliest Barbie memories.

Uncover my pick of the best Barbie movie gift idea.

Discover the movie fashioned after Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds movie!

Wear a Barbie Movie apron 
Find an apron inspired by the movie!








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, October 7, 2023

Cards Against Humanity Family Edition – Game Review

 Toy Review of the Game, Cards Against Humanity.


Image of the family game 'Cards Against Humanity'


The Game


My son and family recently purchased a new family game called “Cards Against Humanity”. The name seemed a bit strange to me, but the game itself is more fun than a barrel of monkeys! I had never heard of it before, but I discovered later that it is well known by others in my family and a ball to play.


Card Game "Cards Against Humanity"
My son bought the family edition, which states that it is for ages 8 and up. After playing this game one time, I agree with the age range, as my 9-year-old grandson had no trouble reading the questions and following the rules just as well as his 14-year-old brother, mom, dad and grandma! 





Simple Rules


Cards Against Humanity question & answers examples

The game comes with 600 cards – a batch of black cards with questions, and a box full of white cards with answers. Both the questions and the answers are simple, sometimes silly, all the way to absurd … and all end up hilarious depending on the answer chosen for the question. 


Each player is dealt out 10 white 'answer' cards. Taking turns, one player reads a question from a black card and the other players choose one answer they consider the funniest from the 10 white cards in their hand. 


An example of answers to a question in our family game of 'Cards Against Humanity'
Personal examples of chosen answers
to questions in our family game


The question reader reads all the answers out loud, and then chooses their choice of the funniest answer. The owner of the chosen card gets a point. At the end of the game, the player with the most points is the winner. 


Each round, a replacement white card is dealt out, so that each player continues to hold 10 answer cards, and the next person becomes the question-reader. 

Really quite a simple game, and very funny. 


Summary


Similar to other games of this genre, Cards Against Humanity has a variety of expansion packs that can be purchased separately. They range in subject matter from Nostalgia (different decades) to Nerd to Dumb Jokes to Holidays and many more, up to a Nasty Bundle with words NOT appropriate for children, but funny as an adults-only party game. :) In other words, there is a subject for just about anyone!


Cards Against Humanity Family Edition

This Family Edition of Cards Against Humanity is a fun, and funny, addition to our family's game cupboard. Kids get to engage in absurd wordplay with adults, and adults get to laugh at the silly answers.


Quick Links:



For more toys and games reviews, check out
ReviewThisToys.com 


*Family game reviewed by Wednesday Elf





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, September 12, 2023

MY BARBIE DOLL MEMORIES

The new Barbie movie has caused lots of us to stop, think and talk about our Barbie doll memories. Discover the memories of this Baby Boomer!


BARBIE MEMORIES OF A BABY BOOMER


Barbie was invented in 1959, a few years before my sister and I were born and it would be a few more years before we were ready to play Barbie. When we were ready in about 1967, a young neighbor who we barely knew gave us her entire Barbie collection. She had had a few years to amass a small collection and to outgrow it. How lucky for us! That gift was the start of our Barbie collections and provided many, many hours of play. Though I have no idea who she was or where she might be today, I have never forgotten her generosity.

Over the years, we accrued, mostly from Santa Claus, but also on birthdays and with birthday money, a few more Barbie dolls and, of course, a few more Barbie-themed items to go with them. 

As with most familial memories, my sister and I have slightly differing memories but I know that we shared that collection that was passed to us over the fence. What follows is a review of the main Barbie items that I remember us having. I apologize if this list is not 100 percent accurate.

GOIN' CAMPING BREEZY BUGGY CAR AND TENT TRAILER SET (1973)


GOIN' CAMPING BREEZY BUGGY CAR AND TENT TRAILER SET (1973)
I had a Barbie convertible and tent trailer set from 1973 known as The Barbie Goin' Camping set with Breezy Buggy and Tent Trailer. The Breezy Buggy “really rolled” and the tent trailer “closed up to tow neat and tidy.” This set came with everything that Barbie needed to go camping with including a sleeping bag, a campfire and grill, a camp stool, a picnic table and cooking accessories.  I turned up a few Goin' Camping sets and items here on eBay. It is interesting to see that people still want this set today.

COUNTRY CAMPER (1970)


We played a lot with Barbie's Country Camper. How about you?

My sister had the 1970 Barbie Country Camper, which was known as “a home for Barbie wherever she explores…The swinginest camper on wheels!” It, too, came with a a couple of camp stools and sleeping bags to help Barbie on the go. I found a selection of Country Campers and replacement parts and pieces here on eBay. The picture shown here was used with permission of eBay seller Gameday28 who has other Barbie items and a large selection of vintage toys in his eBay store.  

THE TOWNHOUSE (1973)


My sister also had the three-foot-high Barbie Townhouse that featured a real ‘working’ elevator and a house full of plastic furniture. For whatever reason, I vividly remember the orange couch. 

TALKING BUSY BARBIE (1972)


In terms of dolls, I remember having a Barbie with short curly hair that talked. I think she may have been the Talking Busy Barbie who was released in 1972. This talking doll said things like, "I dig having my own TV," "The new fashions are wild" and "That music is groovy." 

MALIBU BARBIE (1971)


I also remember both of us eventually owning the 1971 Malibu Barbie. She turned out to be one of the most popular Barbies ever made and was produced for quite a few years. She was the ultimate surfer girl, suntanned with long straight blonde hair. Interestingly, she was popular enough that she has even been reissued over the years. If you are curious, you can see all of the new, used and vintage versions of Malibu Barbie here on eBay. My search just now turned up more than 2,300 Malibu Barbie items!

-----------------------------------------------------

We did not have a lot of toys when we were growing up, which was the way it was in those days for most children. Being gifted with a Barbie collection was definitely pretty special.

How about you? Did you play with Barbie? Do you have any Barbie memories?

See you 
in Barbie land!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

MORE BARBIE READING:


Barbie's in my eBay store! See what's in store here.



My Barbie Memories include a variety of pieces from the 1970s including Barbie's Goin' Camping Breezy Buggy & Tent Trailer, the Country Camper and the Townhouse.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X