Showing posts with label Toy Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Toy Reviews. Show all posts

Friday, November 25, 2022

LEGO Creator Winter Toy Shop Reviewed

Lego Toy Shop
The Lego Creator Winter Toy Shop is part of our annual Christmas decor!

When Treasures By Brenda recently reviewed The Best Lego Gift Ideas, I realized that I had never reviewed the Lego Winter Toy Shop set and explained how we use it every year during the holidays.

The snowy scene is the perfect winter design and there is nothing better than a toy shop at Christmastime.  Our whole family loves this Lego set. 

Our son built the #10249 set in 2019 and that was the first year we used it as our dining room table centerpiece for the holidays. It was such a hit with everyone, that I continue to display it in the center of our table for the holidays.

Our children are adults, but when our daughter was recently in town, they were both "playing" with the Lego figures in the set, discussing the Lego toys around the tree, and laughing at the poor skier that just can't seem to keep his balance sitting on my green table runner.  

I personally love the carolers that are reminiscent of holiday Dickens Village Carolers. 

We also add the 2019 Winter Gingerbread House (#40337) to our centerpiece display. I have a wide family table that needs a wider centerpiece. Plus, I like having more of the gingerbread house motif included.  We selected the 2019 house to serve as a date "cornerstone" for the building year.

Lego Toy Shop
Our Dining Room Table Holiday Centerpiece

 

Lego Creator Winter Toy Shop Set #10199 or #10249

This toy shop Lego set is fabulous and makes an excellent holiday decoration.  As stated above, we use it as our dining room centerpiece, but it would be lovely on any table top in any room.

There are at least 2 Lego Winter Toy Shop kits to consider.  My son built the newer version (10249) for our dining room table.  The older version (10199) has less pieces, but different toys. Plus, the building details are slightly different, notably the wreaths.  

 LEGO Creator Winter Toy Shop 10199Check Price

The Lego Set 10199 Includes:
  • The Winter Top Shop Building with light-up tower window
  • Christmas Tree
  • Bench & Lamp Post
  • Decorative Landscape Trees
  • Minifigures included:  2 Carolers & 5 more town people, snowman, cat, toy train, jack-in-the-box, stuffed animal, robot and toy car
  • 815 pieces 

 

The Lego Set 10249 below (the set my son built) has 898 pieces with similar pieces as above, but also includes:

  • Updated Designs 
  • Minifigures are similar 2 Carolers & 6 more town people, snowman, & the cat
  • Toys are teddy bear, jack-in-the-box, train, truck, race car, plane, helicopter, tug boat, robot & rocket.

 LEGO Creator Winter Toy Shop 10249Check Price

 

 





Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, November 22, 2022

The Best Lego Gift Ideas That Aren't Necessarily Lego Building Sets

A gift guide with Lego ideas that are not necessarily Lego sets.
My children clamored for Lego sets when they were growing up and, somewhere along the line, they turned me into a Lego enthusiast. Each year at Christmas my sons picked a special set that they dreamed of owning and, of course, hoped that Santa Claus would leave under the Christmas tree. They generally picked reasonable sets and discovered them under the Christmas tree in the morning.

Now that my children are grown up, Lego still appeals to them and Santa still likes to leave them a small Lego set at Christmastime. However, Lego gifts can even make an appearance on Valentine's Day, at Easter time or on a birthday and sometimes those gifts are Lego themed but not necessarily Lego sets. The popularity of Lego has ensured that there is plenty of merchandise to choose from so that gift giving is not limited to building sets though of course no Lego fan would ever say no to another Lego kit.

I have gathered on this page some of the best Lego-themed gift ideas that I could find in 2022. It was while looking for just such a gift that I decided to create this page. The "best" is used very loosely and is based solely on what appealed to me, partly by my sense of what my Lego lovers would love to own and partly by what appeals the most to me. I hope you find this list useful.

A BOOK - FANTASTIC: A LEGO ADVENTURE IN THE REAL WORLD


Factastic A LEGO Adventure in the Real World by Penelope Arlon.

Within the pages of Penelope Arlon's Factastic: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World the reader will find real photographs with Lego figures and interesting facts and statistics about an eclectic variety of subjects including flying to Pluto, the invention of my favorite snack (the humble potato chip), the playing of the first video game and more. It is a fun, non-fiction Lego-themed book by Scholastic recommended for ages seven to eleven but, of course, of interest to anyone who loves the Lego brick. 

Find your copy of Factastic here on Amazon.

A CALENDAR - LEGO BRICK CALENDAR SET 40172


LEGO's Brick Calendar set 40172. Perfect for any adult or older child who loves building with Lego bricks.
I am not in the least surprised that there is such a thing as a Lego calendar. This Lego Brick Calendar seems like a natural choice for someone who loves to play with Lego or who remembers fondly playing with Lego in his or her youth. The calendar is set 40172 and comes with everything you need to build the four blocks as well as a mini-figure and the display rack. It is a perfect gift for the year 2022 that will be equally useful for years to come. Personally, I would trade out the mini-figure for one that suits my interests more but that is no problem if your gift recipient owns a collection of Lego.




A STORAGE UNIT - LEGO ICONIC RACK SYSTEM SET 5005875

Transparent Blue LEGO Rack System


This Transparent Blue LEGO Iconic Rack System (5005875) is not particularly big but it is perfectly designed for young builders having three drawers for him or her to sort and organize Lego bricks. The drawers are semi-transparent drawers and have baseplates to build on. The unit measures 14 inches tall by 12 inches wide by 13 inches deep.

I am not sure if this storage unit will save you from the pain of stepping on the Lego bricks of younger Lego fans but it will help them sort and organize their bricks and even the youngest will now have a home to put all of their Lego bricks away when they care to or when they are instructed to. Available in red as shown, in blue or in gray.

Click here to find this Transparent Lego Rack System on Amazon. 



The Lego Movie set includes both the first and the second movie.

A gift for any Lego fan, whether they travel or not. Affix them to your luggage, your backpack, your purse. Any bag will do!

Love Lego? Don't miss these wonderful head block t-shirts. Pick your color, face style and size!

A MOVIE - LEGO'S EXTRA AWESOME 2-FILM COLLECTION 


The Lego Movies were a huge hit with fans and the critics. This Extra Awesome set is one that your gift recipient should own. Whether or not he or she has already seen the movies, they'll likely watch them over and over again.  Click here to find The Lego Movie 2-Film Collection on Amazon. It is an extremely affordable gift idea.

A LUGGAGE TAG - BANANAS, HOT DOGS AND MORE, OH MY!


These Lego tags are fun, declaring, as they will, your recipient's love of Lego to one and all and I don't think you have to be a traveler to appreciate them. They could also be affixed to a backpack, purse or other bag, not just your suitcase. I have shared a couple of mini-figure food-themed tags but Lego has also produced tags in themes that include Star Wars, Batman, Ninjago and Batman. Find them all on Amazon by clicking right here

A T-SHIRT - CUSTOMIZABLE LEGO BRICK HEAD BY TEEZ 2 GO


I cannot think of a more practical or affordable gift idea for a Lego lover than a t-shirt like the ones shown above from Teez 2 Go on Etsy.  They are available in a host of colors, designs and sizes for men, women and children so that you can pick the one that you think is perfect for your Lego enthusiast.  You will find these t-shirts on Etsy by clicking right here. If the whole family loves Lego, why not dress them all in one of these? That would create a fabulous photo opportunity.

A LIMITED EDITION POSTER - TOM WHALEN'S THE LEGO MOVIE POSTER 


Tom Whalen's The Lego Movie art poster makes a unique gift idea for a Lego fan.

Tom Whalen's Lego Movie art poster makes a unique gift for your Lego fan that can take pride of place on his or her bedroom wall. Heck, don't limit it to the bedroom. It would be fabulous on a family room or play room wall or absolutely any wall at all. 

Whale is a deviant artist who has produced many movie-themed prints, including this limited edition The Lego Movie one, which was issued in a limited numbered run of 475. You can source it now on eBay from the original buyers who are now wanting to sell their copy of the fun print.  Find it on eBay by clicking right here.

A MINI-FIGURE - PERSONALIZED & BUILT IN YOUR LIKENESS


Personalized Lego mini-figures created by Brick Creative. Customizable with your choice of colors, figures, text, etc.

Finally, here is a truly unique Lego-themed gift idea. Brick Creative on Etsy creates personalized minifigures of you and/or your loved ones. They do them in many themes including but not limited to Christmas, Halloween, birthday, anniversary and thank you. You can select the number of figures, theme, etc. that suit you. See for yourself all of the choices in Brick Creative's store on Etsy by clicking right here

So there you have it, a page full of interesting and less usual Lego-themed gift ideas. Which items were your favorites?

See you 
at the Lego store!
Lego fans will enjoy checking out the retired sets in my eBay store.

True enthusiasts, young and old, will love perusing the pages of these great books.

Lego's Beatles' Yellow Submarine Set.
Know someone who loves Lego and the Beatles? This will be the set for them!

Another adult set, perfect for those who are expert builders and love a beautiful carousel.

A throw-back to another time, adult fans who remember typewriters will enjoy this set.

Perfect for fans of the iconic television program, the Big Bang.

An adult-level set for those appreciate grocery stores or markets of the old-fashioned style.


Lego Gift Ideas a page full of 'em!







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, September 24, 2022

Backyard Wildlife – A Toy Review

 


The most common animals you might find in your back yard are squirrels, rabbits, raccoons, perhaps a deer, or maybe a skunk. Some are found in nearly every yard (squirrels and rabbits); some you might find only if you live where your back yard is near a wooded area (deer, for instance). 


Because these animals are wild, it is practically impossible to get close to them.  That's where toy versions come into play.


Let's review a few of these animals one might find in a backyard in toy version made in crafty plush or wood. 


Squirrels


Nearly everyone with a back yard has squirrels, probably the most common wild animal seen there, flitting from tree to tree and across the yard. 


In Iowa, they have black squirrels. The intro photo above shows one that was seen on my son's backyard deck.


Red Squirrel Plush Animal

Squirrels come in many colors. This one by Aurora World is in a 'rusty' color and is super silky and soft for little hands. Recommended for ages 3 months and up, this sweet red squirrel from a trusted manufacturer will fill your child's imaginative play. 


Rabbit


Wooden Bunny Push Toy


This wooden push toy bunny is handmade in Iowa by Jesse & Stacey Bannor of BannorToys. Bunny push toy is 5.5 x 5 inches with wheels that are fully functional.  It features an interior cutout that makes an easy 'handle' for little fingers to grasp and helps babies & toddlers to develop motor skills and hand-eye coordination. 


Crafted from locally sourced Cherry wood, this darling push toy is finished with beeswax and flaxseed oil.



Raccoon Plush Toy


Raccoon Plush Toy Animal

This adorable soft and cuddly raccoon is handcrafted with care by Angela Gray and featured in her Etsy Shop GrayMomMakes.  It is created from soft plush 100% polyester yarn, stuffed with hypoallergenic 100% polyester fiberfill. Perfect gift for kids and adults alike. Can be used as a nursery décor or perfect companion for animal lovers and creative outdoorsy people.


Sweet Deer Toy


Velvety Plush Deer in Crochet

This adorable velvet plush deer is handmade by Viktoria in Turkey. Measuring approximately 11 inches tall (or 7 inches in a sitting position), this sweet little deer is cuddly and cute.  Deer can be found in Viktoria's Etsy shop Divohobby


Summary


Such cute, cuddly, sweet plush animals and educational wooden toys make a child's toybox a place for a fun collection of backyard wildlife. 



Related Reviews:




*Backyard Wildlife is written by Wednesday Elf









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, August 15, 2022

Reviewing the Octopus Kite from the Hengda Kite Store

I had so much fun flying my new Octopus Kite from the Hengda Kite Store that I knew I had to share it with you today. I was very skeptical ordering a $10 kite online. But with over 3,000 positive reviews, I took the chance. I'm glad I did.



During different periods of my life I have flown kites. I am not an expert on kites, nor do I understand much about the different styles of kites and why they fly better on different speed of winds. But whether it was flying kites with my sons when they were young, flying kites as an adult on the beautiful Assateague Island in Maryland, or the few times I've tried to launch a kite up here on my ridge in West Virginia, I do know that I love flying kites. And good kites make the experience almost magical.

Octopus Flyer Kite from the Hengda Kite Store

My preferred type of kite is the Delta style. I find that they are easy to fly in a variety of wind speeds. I have flown parafoil kites but have never owned one. Until now.

The "Software Octopus Flyer Kite" is a parafoil style kite. That means, there are no "sticks" to assemble - no cross bars that we are familiar with in the diamond style and delta style kites. Parafoil kites are only the material, sewn in cells - or tubes - that help catch the wind and keep the kite aloft. 

Information from the Henga Kite Store page:

  • no kite sticks; soft [parafoil] style 
  • strong, durable, and lightweight polyester 210 material
  • measures 31" wide and 157" long
  • comes with a plastic handle and kite string
  • made in the International Kite Capital, Weifang, Shandong, China
  • Hengda has been manufacturing kites for 20 years

My Experience with the Octopus Kite

The Octopus came with a length of kite string on a handle. But I prefer to use my own kite string on a wooden spool. So I attached the hook from my string into the end of the strings attached to the kite, and off I went.

An internet search showed that I probably should have chosen a day with more wind for my kite's maiden flight. 

"Deltas, Diamonds and Dragon kites fly well in light to medium winds (approximately 6-15 mph) while Box Kites and stickless Parafoil kites fly better when the winds get a little stronger (approximately 8-25 mph). 
                                                            -- NationalKiteMonth

But I was too excited to wait another day. With my weather app showing winds of 2 miles an hour at the most, and feeling that there were periods of no wind at all, I headed up to the top of my hill to give this kite a try. 

It flew! Sluggishly on the very low wind day, it flew. And when it came down I had to wait for the next puff of breeze before I re-launched. But it flew. And I loved it!



This Octopus Kite is HUGE, bright, and interesting.  I purchased it for an upcoming visit with my grandkids and I can barely wait to see them and fly it with them.

The Kite Loft in Ocean City, Maryland - A Brick and Mortar Kite Store

I mentioned having spent time on Assateague Island, Maryland flying kites. Whether it is Assateague Island or nearby Ocean City... beaches are the best place to fly kites in my opinion. There is a store in Ocean City called the Kite Loft. If you enjoy flying kites, this store is a must-see. 

This specialty store is located beach-front that offers top-of-the-line kites. They also host a variety of festivals and kite-related events; including the SunFest Kite Festival. It is quite a sight to behold seeing the sky above the beach full of intricate and interesting kites. 

This year the SunFest Kite Festival is September 29 to October 2, 2022. If you love kites and have any chance of attending, I strongly encourage you to go. It is a fantastic event. If you cannot attend, you could get a feel for it on the Kite Loft Beach Cam.  The cam can be viewed any day and I often take a peek just to see what the ocean front looks like that day.

I purchased my favorite kite from the Kite Loft - a Delta style kite with a Kokopelli and lizard design. I have since misplaced that kite during moves or someone decided they wanted a fantastic kite. I'm not quite sure what happened but I miss that kite.

While kites at the Kite Loft have a larger price tag they are completely worth the investment. 

Related Links:

Our BarbRad took us to visit Moonstone Beach in Cambria. In that review, she enjoyed watching a family flying stunt kites. Stunt kites have 2 lines and you hold one in each hand. This gives you the ability to control the kite and cause it to make turns and loops. I was never able to master the art of stunts kites because they are very responsive to small movements and I wasn't coordinated enough. I enjoyed watching the video in her review - maybe you will too. 

Visit the Hengda Kite Store link on Amazon here.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 29, 2022

Lego Carousel Creator Expert Set #10257 Reviewed

Lego Carousel

Everybody loves an amusement park or fairground!  We all have favorite rides or features in the park.  Lego offers a way to create a small replica of one of the most beloved amusement park rides: the carousel. Just looking at the finished creation brings joy and fond memories to mind.

The carousel is a popular ride simply because anyone, of any age, can ride. Even new mother's can take their babies on many carousels because they have the bench seat option. 

Children opt for the animals. They want to ride the horses, elephants, tiger, or other animals. The biggest question beyond which animal, is whether they want one that moves up and down. 

The Lego carousel set has moving fairy tale animals featuring an elephant, a tiger, a frog, and a flamingo. Plus, the set includes a swan, which is the Lego version of the non-moving bench seat. There is a center ring platform with a staircase to make mounting or dismounting the animals easier for Lego children. 

Sadly, the Lego Carousel Set #10257 does not include a horse. Otherwise the detailing is fabulous! There is a strong base on this set that allows you to carefully pick it up without damaging the completed Lego carousel.

The Lego Carousel Set #10257 is retired and can only be purchased from a secondary market like Amazon or Ebay.


Building The Lego Creator Expert Carousel Set 10257

The Creator Expert set is recommended for ages 16 and up. It has over 2600 pieces and will require patience and time to build. 

 As a parent of a huge Lego fan & builder, I can tell you that the recommended ages are important to consider when buying a Creator Expert set. If you consider the child and their individual Lego building aptitude, you may well know that your child is ready to jump into the Creator Expert world before they are 16, especially if they have a parent, grandparent, or older sibling who is willing to help them.  Some children are exhilarated by the challenge, while others will get frustrated and never want to build a Lego again. For a child who has been successfully building Lego sets for years, they may well be ready for the challenge of the Expert Creator sets before they are 16.

Helping your child build a complicated Lego set can provide hours of fun for both the parent and the child. There is a true sense of accomplishment when the masterpiece is finished and ready for display. Most importantly, there are cherished memories of working together that are priceless.  

In our case, we would sit at our dining room table for hours, often across a period of days. I only helped by separating pieces into organized piles for easy identification while my son built his Lego masterpiece. Sometimes, I would look at the upcoming steps, pull the needed Lego pieces and have them waiting for him so he could maintain his concentration and focus on building. Sometimes, we would talk and other times we quietly kept each other company. One constant in our Lego building days was that the gift of a Lego set was always a gift to me. 


Lego Carousel Creator Expert Set Specifications


More Lego Sets & Shelves Reviewed 

Lego Disney CastleLEGO Disney Castle Set - Cinderella's Castle Lego Set #71040 Reviewed
With its impressive details, arched doorway, stunning spires & turrets, the Lego Disney Castle Set is a fabulous replica of the real Cinderella Castle.

Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion LegoScooby-Doo Mystery Mansion Lego Kit Reviewed
Lego & Scooby Doo fans will love this awesome Lego set. The Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion is the perfect treat for Halloween or anytime for kids & adults.

Winnie the Pooh LegoDisney Winnie the Pooh #21326 Lego Set Reviewed
Those who love Winnie-the-Pooh & Legos are thrilled with the Winnie Lego set! It includes Pooh, Piglet, Tigger, Eeyore, Rabbit & Poohs treehouse home.

Lego Gingerbread House SetLego Gingerbread House Set #10267 Reviewed
The Lego Gingerbread House is the perfect set for Christmas time! Many of us enjoy decorating gingerbread houses for Christmas, but ...

Spider Man LegoSpider-Man Far From Home Lego Set #76130 Reviewed
The Spiderman Far From Home Lego set has lots of awesome features including an opening hatch in the jet for Spidermans quick exit. Specs & review here.

Lego Display ShelvesThe Perfect Lego Display Shelves Reviewed
Completed Lego sets need a safe place for display. I recently purchased the perfect bookcase shelves for Lego display!





Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, March 21, 2022

Family Game Night - Reviewing Here to Slay

 Here to Slay is a strategy card game. I had never heard of the game prior to a recent visit with my youngest son and grandchildren. And when my son asked me to play, my initial reaction was "oh gross". But I gave it a try and I loved it. We had so much fun that we are planning on figuring out how to play long distance video chats.


Here to Slay

My first thought was one of dread. I fully expected this game to be a copy-cat version of Dungeons & Dragons (D&D). I am not cut out for playing D&D. It just doesn't compute for me. Role-play and creating your characters is too much for me. I've had young people at work try to "teach" me. Or, when we don't have access to the actual game, these hopeful students would give me watered down role-play versions via asking me "what would you do" scenarios. My answers were always based on what I would really do - which is always very mundane. For this reason, I thought I'd try Here to Slay once then gently guide us back to the other board games we had been playing.

But once we got started, I found that I LOVED Here to Slay. As did my son. We had a great time. One of the many good things about the game is that it doesn't take a long time to get through it. So we played round after round and enjoyed each game more as we became accustomed to the rules.

How to Play

As we read through the brief How to Play we felt thoroughly confused. And I thought the one page (front and back) of instructions clearly was not sufficient. But it was! It is a strategy game with many different options and outcomes but really very simple.

"In this game, you'll assemble a full Party of Heroes to slay dangerous Monsters while working to avoid the sabotage of your [friends] enemies. You'll also equip items to your Heroes, harness powerful mage, and use roll modifiers to tip the adds in your favor."

We played with just the 2 of us. Which was fun. But the game can accommodate up to 6 players. The more players to battle, curse, and steal their heroes the more fun (and strategic) the game would be. 

Each play chooses a Party Leader card. Each Party Leader has a special skill/power. I chose the Leader that had a bit more strength against fighting the monsters. My son chose the Leader that had a bit more power during each roll. 

During each turn, the player has 3 "actions". During those actions, you could choose to draw cards, battle a Monster (which takes 2 of your 3 actions) or roll to have one of your Heroes do something against your opponent.  

To win the game you must either slay 3 Monsters or gather a party of Heroes that represents at least one each of the 6 classes (Fighter, Guardian, Ranger, Thief, Wizard, Bard). During each turn you have to try to build your Party of Heroes or do something to try to set back your opponent. 

There are challenge cards and modification cards. These cards can make your rolls of the dice stronger or your opponents rolls weaker. Or, you can challenge your opponent and if you win the challenge roll of the dice you can in effect take away their turn.

I am probably making it sound more difficult than it is. Perhaps some visuals will help. 

There was a handy and very helpful direction card to keep next to me. To remind me of what my turn (my 3 actions) could consist of. It also reminded me of the 6 different party classes - an easy reminder of the different Heroes I was trying to collect.



These were my favorite Party Leader and Hero cards so far. The Divine Arrow Party Leader added one point to each of my rolls against the Monsters. And Wiggles the Hero allowed me to steal my opponent's Hero card - if I was able to roll a 10 or higher.



If you have children (or grandchildren) who like strategy and/or role playing card games but you aren't as enthused about them this may be a wonderful compromise. If you are competitive and like to steal things from your opponent or block their play, you will love this game. I was a skeptic. But it turns out that the game was so much fun that I have been trying to figure out how to Face Time or Zoom with my camera pointed at my table. 

                                         


Related Reviews:

If you are more imaginative than I am, you may want to take a look at Wednesday Elf's Dungeons & Dragons - Fantasy Role-Playing Game Review. In that review she shares how she is familiar with the game. Two years ago she wrote, "D&D is here to stay". Ms. Elf was not wrong about that. As I mentioned above, there have been quite a few students I work with who play the game today (and try to get me to play despite my imagination limits). 

You can see her review here




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 18, 2022

Adorable 15 Piece Kids Toy Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case Reviewed

Tin Tea Set
My parents have a new family that just moved in next door. There are two little girls in the family and my mother wanted to give them a special gift for Christmas this year. Plus, it was the perfect way to welcome them to the neighborhood. 

She selected a tin tea set and asked my opinion. I loved the idea!  After all, I still have pieces of a small tin tea set that I had as a child.  The little plates and cups certainly evoke wonderful memories and I wish I still had the full set. 

The tea set my mom chose came with a carrying case. How awesome is that! I couldn't help but think how I wish my set had come with a carrying case.  Perhaps, I would still have the full set if the case was included.  I carried my set around in a brown paper lunch bag, which is most likely why some of the pieces are missing.  

I also loved the design on the set my mom gave the girls. It has kitties on it.  My set has a sweet floral design, but the kitties are adorable.

This leaves me wondering, am I too old to start a collection of delightfully decorated children's tin tea sets?  Nope! I am not.  My husband better prepare to participate in my upcoming tea parties.  I think we will ask our dog, Merlin, to attend too if he promises not eat all of the teacakes.


15 Piece Kids Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case
Several Designs Available

 Jewelkeeper 15 Piece Kids Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case - Cat DesignCheck PriceThe tea sets include a lidded teapot, tray, 4 plates, 4 tea cups, 4 saucers, and the fabulous matching carrying case.  The tea set can be washed by hand and used for many delightful tea parties.  

The tea pot and the cups will hold a small amount of liquid, which is perfect for young children who wish to entertain.

The real benefit to using a tin tea set is that they will not break. 

I am featuring a few of my favorite designs below, but there are others also available.  You can choose the kitties, dogs, unicorns, llamas, horses, or even a ballerina.  There are also jungle and safari sets.  The designs and colors are all awesome!  Now you understand why I said I would like to start my own collection of tin tea sets.  It is hard to choose just one.



Check Out More Toy Reviews
ReviewThisToyReviews.com


Adorable 15 Piece Kids Toy Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 29, 2021

Battleship Classic Board Game Reviewed

 

Battleship Classic Board Game Reviewed

Battleship is a classic naval combat board game of strategy and excitement. In this board game, you will search the ocean floor to destroy your opponent’s fleet of ships.

The board game was first introduced by Milton-Bradley in 1967 as a plastic board and peg game. The game battleship comes from earlier versions of a pencil and paper game from the 1930s.

Battleship has also evolved into many electronic versions of the game today. The game I had growing up was the original plastic board and peg game. I have spent many hours playing this game with my brothers and friends.

The game we have today is the same, but it was made by Hasbro. I have never tried one of the electronic versions but thought about it many times. Today I play the same battleship game with my grandchildren that I played growing up.

How to Play Battleship:

Each player has a fleet of five ships consisting of the following:

Class of Ship                       #of Hits to Sink the Ship

Aircraft Carrier                                  5

Battleship                                          4

Destroyer                                          3

Submarine                                        3

Patrol Boat                                        2

Battleship classic board game

Each player has a plastic case with two grids, white pegs, and red pegs. One grid is the ocean floor, this is where you place your fleet of ships either horizontal or vertical. The upper grid is to record your misses with white pegs and your hits with red pegs.

 You can also use your ocean floor to track your opponent's misses with white pegs. This is an option and I never use it.

A player calls out a location on the grid and the opposing player says either hit or miss. If it is a miss the first player marks the location with a white peg, so he doesn’t call that location again. If it is a hit, then he places a red peg in that location and the opposing player places a red peg in the ship that was hit.

Now, the first player must figure out if the ship is placed horizontal or vertical on the opposing player’s grid. Once a player has sunk the other player's entire fleet, he wins the game.

Battleship is just another classic game that has been around for many years and will provide hours of fun.

For more classic toys and games visit me at

 Cherished Toy Finds


Find more toys on Review This Here

ReviewThisToyReviews.com

 Battleship Board Game for ages 7 and up makes a perfect gift for hours of fun.

Hasbro Gaming Battleship GameHasbro Gaming Battleship GameCheck the Price

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 26, 2021

Lego Gingerbread House Set #10267 Reviewed

Lego Gingerbread House
The Lego Gingerbread House is the perfect set for Christmas time!

Many of us enjoy decorating gingerbread houses for Christmas, but we hate to throw away our hard work after the season has passed.  While a real gingerbread house is eatable, I've actually never known anyone who ate one. Therefore, building a gingerbread house that doesn't get old, go stale and wind up in the trash, is awesome!

Over the years, Lego has branched out considerably.  They now have hundreds of sets that are created with older, experienced Lego builders in mind.  This allows kids who grew up building Legos to continue their hobby with advanced, bigger sets.  These sets also offer families the opportunity to build together by allowing younger children to handle the easier parts, while the more experienced Lego builder takes on the more intricate details and the overall assembly.  

Many of the Creator sets have small accessory pieces which are perfect for those family members who want to be a part of the fun, but worry they will do something that will mess up the design.  

The Lego Gingerbread House set has several small accessories that include a gingerbread girl, a train, a rocking horse, a few gifts, a Christmas tree and interior furniture.  These "parts" of the overall set are perfect for grandparents who were not previously Lego builders.  They are a great way to learn how to build Legos.  Plus, they allow everyone to be part of the building fun!  No one has to be left out simply because they don't know how to build a Lego set.

Bring your family together this holiday season by building this wonderful Lego Gingerbread House that will never decompose.  Plus, it is a fabulous Christmas decoration! 


Lego Gingerbread House set
This Image Shows the Backside of the Finished Gingerbread House
Check Out All of the Awesome Home Decor Included in the Set



Details of The Lego Gingerbread House Set - #10267

The Lego Creator Gingerbread House set has almost 1500 pieces (1,477 pieces to be exact) and provides hours of building entertainment.

 LEGO Creator Expert Gingerbread House 10267 Building KitCheck Price

Features Include:

  • Gingerbread House with Frosted Roof & Candy Cane Columns
  • Gingerbread Man & Woman
  • Baby & Carriage
  • Christmas Tree
  • Snow Blower
  • Candy Cane Signposts
  • Train
  • Gifts
  • Candy Design Furniture 
  • Battery (included) Operated Light Brick for the Fireplace

Completed Gingerbread House measures:
8" high x 10" wide x 5" deep.

Just the right size to make an adorable centerpiece for your holiday dinner table or buffet! 




Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X