Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts

Saturday, July 4, 2020

Playskool Heroes Transformers Review


Grandson Tyler just turned six. Since we only get to visit in person a couple times a year, I always need advice from his parents as to what his latest 'favorite' toy is.  This time the recommendation was for a Heroes Transformers action figure by Playskool. 

Due to the marvel of today's video chats, I was able to watch-in-person while Tyler opened his birthday gift from grandma. Judging by his reaction, my birthday gift of this transformer action figure was a BIG hit. 


The Optimus Prime Rescue Bot Action Figure



The Robot Mode


Available on Amazon



The Vehicle Mode


Available on Amazon


This Rescue Bot Action Figure manufactured by Hasbro (a trusted toy company) has an easy-to-do conversion. It converts from robot mode to vehicle mode and back again. As a fierce truck, Optimus Prime is ready to roll to the rescue in a (pretend) dangerous situation. Then the vehicle can be quickly converted into a heroic robot figure to save the day! 

This 2-in-1 toy is sized just right for small hands and recommended for ages 3-7. The perfect toy for newly 6-year-old Tyler. 


Transformers Boys' Optimus Prime T-Shirt

Transformer T-Shirt

As a grandmother, I also like to be 'practical' when it comes to purchasing gifts for my five grandsons. It is also appreciated by the parents.  So, in addition to the Transformers Toy, I also sent a Transformers Boys' Optimus Prime T-Shirt to match the toy. The T-Shirt has an Officially licensed graphics decal on the front that matches the Transformer Toy. The shirt is 100% cotton, has a super soft crew neck, is made in the USA, and is machine washable. 


Summary


My little Tyler liked both the Transformers Rescue Bot Robot toy and the T-shirt to match. He knows all about the Transformers Cyberverse Adventures by Hasbro..... and Grandma is now being educated about this world of Transformers. :)


Happy Birthday, Tyler!




Transformers Review written by Wednesday Elf on (c) 7/4/2020





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, June 29, 2020

Reviewing Royal Wing No Waste Bird Seed with Fruit

If you would like a larger variety of birds visiting your bird feeder and you haven't used Royal Wing Total Care No Waste bird seed with Fruit, you should give this a try!


Royal Wing bird seed brand available at Tractor Supple Company

I enjoy bird-watching have had a large variety of bird feeders over the years. But I have had the most luck with this particular feeder and bird seed combination. The birds literally began to line up as soon as I put this No Waste Blend with Fruit in a hanging platform feeder. It has been amazing.

In the past, I would put out Nyjer seed for the finches, suet for the nuthatches and mixed bird seed for everyone else. Of course, Cardinals like sunflower seeds. Some seed mixes did not seem to attract Cardinals. Perhaps not the right type of sunflower or not enough sunflower seed to other seed ratio. I don't know.

In an impulse buy during a shopping trip at Tractor Supply Company (TSC), I bought this seed. It is a bit more expensive than the mixed seed at the big box stores but it was well worth it! The very next day I saw Cardinals and a variety of other birds - some birds I've never seen at my feeder before -- such as this Grosbeak. This was the very first Grosbeak I've added to the list of birds I've seen! In addition to the Rose Breasted Grosbeak, I am excited that the Indigo Bunting pair have nested somewhere very close to this feeder and a Spotted Towhee makes a daily appearance and sings to us -- both birds I had never seen prior to bird watching at The Shack.  I think this food has helped attract them to the area on a daily basis. 




The birds line up for their turn at this seed. I have continued to use the remaining nyjer seed. But it seems the finches are coming even when I don't add the nyjer seed.  



If you are not familiar with TSC (Tractor Supply Company) or prefer shopping via Amazon there are similar "waste free" seeds with fruit to chose from.





Related Links:

I'm not as good at bird photography as I would like to be. Our own Mary Beth is both a wonderful photographer as well as a bird-lover. Please check out some of her posts featuring birds such as Review of Spring Bird Photography and Review of Bluebird Facts and Photography. I love bluebirds and Mary Beth's photos of them are outstanding!

To read more about my personal adventures at The Shack click here. It is my piece of land, and future home, on top of a mountain ridge in West Virginia. Bird watching there has been an amazing experience. 

My basalt bird bath by Stone Age Creations has been very popular with the birds. The Eastern Bluebirds and sparrows (Chipping Sparrows I think but I'm not sure) are daily bathers. I was very excited to see a Cardinal using the bath recently. See my review of this particular bird bath here. This bird bath has been one of the best splurge purchases I have ever made.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, June 26, 2020

How to Use Ebay to Find Old Automobile Parts Reviewed

My husband recently purchased an older model jeep that needed a lot of repairs and restoration.  He has spent the last few months under the hood or under the jeep assessing, then replacing worn or rotted parts.  The interior also needed a tremendous amount of loving care.  This jeep sure chose the right new owner!  My husband is meticulous and dedicated.

As for me, my job with this restoration has been to assist in finding replacement parts.  I'm not very keen on walking junkyards or old vehicle graveyards to find parts.  However, I am extremely familiar and experienced with finding impossible things on Ebay.  Locating the needed parts for his jeep on Ebay has actually been a lot of fun!

Because of the needed work, this pretty Jeep Wrangler will always hold a special place in our hearts.  You can't focus and work on something for so long without becoming attached to it.  We have already enjoyed a day out exploring jeep trails in one State Park and we look forward to spending a lot more time having fun with our restored jeep.



How to Find Replacement Automobile Parts on Ebay


You might not even realize that Ebay has old automobile parts listed.  However, there are several sellers who tear down old or wrecked vehicles and sell individual parts separately.  For us, those sellers were essential for our jeep's restoration.

Almost every dashboard trim piece on our jeep had to be replaced.  One of the previous owners had painted them white with splatter dots.  The paint job didn't appeal to us.  We purchased and replaced every individual trim piece that was painted.  The dashboard area looks a million times better.




In order to find the correct trim pieces, my husband removed each piece and wrote down the trim piece number which was found molded into the backside of each piece.  In several cases, it was as simple as typing in the year, make and model of the vehicle, plus the trim piece name and number in the Ebay search bar.  Then making our selection by color and condition.  

Before we embarked on this restoration, I had no idea each trim piece had an identity number stamped into the molded piece.  That makes finding a replacement much easier than simply matching by looks.

Example Search:  "2004 Jeep TJ Wrangler Knee Bolster 5G00TRM" 


The part number was not always listed in the title.  Details in the title vary by seller.  However, we were always able to verify those numbers in the photos provided by the sellers.  That guaranteed the piece would fit our jeep when it arrived.  

I found the Ebay parts sellers usually know more than I do about piece numbers & names, therefore whatever I put in a search, as long as I included the year, model, and name of the piece, I could find what we needed.  The sellers pictures for proper piece identity made it easy!

We also replaced the wheels, several engine parts, and the jack tools by finding them on Ebay.  The OEM jack & lug tool set had a few rusty areas, but my husband cleaned them up like new by letting them soak in Evapo-rust overnight.  

Example Part Searches
  "Jeep Wrangler TJ OEM Tire Jack Tool Set",

  "Jeep Wrangler TJ Heater Drain Tube", 
  "2004 Jeep Wranger 15" Refinished Steel Wheel"



When Total Price Matters


When restoring an old vehicle, you can find yourself financially upside down pretty quick.  We didn't want to spend "new car" money on an older jeep.  

Purchasing the exact individual used part on Ebay and replacing it ourselves was a lot cheaper than buying new parts, if available.  

Keep in mind though, not all parts are even still available.  That is another reason we love shopping for vehicle parts on Ebay.  The sellers competitively price parts, therefore price gouging is minimal, if even existent. 

If you are buying several parts from the same Ebay seller, contact them and ask for combined shipping costs.  That literally costs them nothing and can often save you a lot.  Why pay more when you don't have to?

If you don't find exactly what you want on Ebay today, go back tomorrow. 
There are new listings daily




 






House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, June 16, 2020

When is National Umbrella Month?


When is National Umbrella Month?

WHEN IS NATIONAL UMBRELLA MONTH?


March is National Umbrella Month. In my part of the world, you could not pick a better month to celebrate this very important invention. Ontario is not necessarily the rainiest part of Canada but we do receive plenty of rain in the springtime, which is not a bad thing for, as you know, rain showers bring spring flowers.

Umbrellas have a number of job duties that are not limited to protecting us from the rain though that is what they are most commonly associated with. People also use umbrellas as fashion accessories, for photography and to block out the strong rays of the sun.

National Umbrella Month is the time to celebrate one of the most useful yet underrated inventions so before we plan our celebration, let's take this striking striking blue umbrella for a walk in the rain with us now. It is Amazon's top rated sky-themed umbrella and is available by clicking right here.



WAYS TO CELEBRATE NATIONAL UMBRELLA MONTH

  • Celebrate umbrella month with a new umbrella. Find one that will be sure to make you smile on a rainy day!
  • Celebrate by donating a new umbrella to a homeless shelter. It will help shelter someone else from the rain.
  • Celebrate umbrella month by promoting your business with one. Instead of using pens this year to promote your business, use umbrellas with your company business information and logo on them. You'll really stand out in a crowd!
  • Celebrate by hanging a decorative umbrella on your patio or by adding one to your patio table. Pick a colour or a pattern that you really love!
  • Celebrate umbrella month by donating all of your used ones to goodwill. If you are not using them and they are in good working condition, you can bet that someone else will.
  • Celebrate by donating ten new umbrellas to the Red Cross. Once again, you will help brighten someone's rainy days.
  • Celebrate umbrella month by reading an umbrella-themed storybook. Yes, there are beautiful children's books devoted to the wonderful umbrella.
Can you think of other ways to celebrate National Umbrella Month?

Don't let those raindrops
keep falling on your head!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

MORE UMBRELLAS:

Order the Sky Blue Umbrella shown on this page directly from Amazon.
Learn about Totes Clear Bubble Umbrellas.
More days to celebrate in March.
Discover the Rainbrella Golf Umbrella.
Looking For Rihanna's Pink Umbrellas?
Thank You For The Umbrella, Totes! 






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, June 14, 2020

An Affordable & Amazing Concealer - Check This Out

An Amazing and Affordable Concealer

My make-up routine is specific, fast, inexpensive, and extremely basic. It consists of a bit of eye shadow, mascara, blush, concealer, and lip gloss. Yep, I've mastered the five-minute face.

We all have health issues of some sort or another, however, problem skin has never been one of mine. The good skin gene has allowed me to be more liberal with my make-up choices.

I've never had to buy products for sensitive skin - and for that reason, I've had the good fortune of trying out just about every cheap make-up product out there!

After decades of trying different things, and enjoying the changes, I've discovered one product I'll no longer switch-up: I love e.l.f. Camo Concealer.

No Foundation Ever - Just a Bit of Concealer
e.l.f 16hr Camo Concealer - on Amazon


Foundation isn't something I choose to or need to wear. However, I do like a good concealer for under my eyes. Long hours, and those sleepless nights lead to tired-looking eyes - yuk - me no likey.

Also, in my opinion, tired, dark eyes make me look older. A good concealer is a great facial pick-me-up; it makes my eyes look brighter.

I've run my own not-so-double-blind-study: Without concealer, hubby will almost always say, "you look a bit tired today" - with it, hubby has been heard saying "oh, you slept well." Can't argue with wife-science?

I've tried umpteen concealers, and until e.l.f. Camo Concealer, I would switch products like underwear. I was never committed to a concealer, until this one.

Why I Like e.l.f Concealer

First, it's the price. It's not expensive. It's under $10 most of the time. Second, I can buy it at my local grocery store in the drugstore section. For any Canadians reading this, I buy mine at our local Superstore. Of course, you can find it on Amazon as well.

Skin Discoloration Cover-Up

As mentioned above, I don't have problem skin, however, a medication I take has a side-affect - skin discoloration.

Fortunately, it's only two spots on my neck. I get two reddish/brownish narrow blotches in the middle of my neck. Weird, I know. Unfortunately, they look like hickies (lol).

This concealer covers the two marks perfectly. I don't use very much, and I don't have to cake it on. By the end of the day, it's pretty much worn off.

How I Apply e.l.f. Camo Concealer

They give it that name for a reason - it's pretty thick. So you'll want to use it sparingly to determine how much you need. I use just a dab - the end of a fingertip - on each of the spots on my neck, then rub it in. I then put a dab under each eye, and on the eyelid of each eye, and gently rub it in. It's quick and easy to apply.

It Comes in Different Shades

Probably one of the hardest things to figure out with concealer is what shade/tone matches our skin. As you can see from my photo below, my skin is fair.

In the past, I always selected an Ivory shade. However, with e.l.f. Concealer I decided to try 'Light Peach' - Turns out, that's a better choice than ivory for me. The specific shade I use is "85845 Light Peach 9H02FH."

Can People With Sensitive Skin Use e.l.f Concealer?

Truth is, I have no idea. It may very well be fine, however, you'd have to do your own research on that front. My skin is normal, and this review is written with that in mind.

Make-up choices for our skin are often trial and error - e.l.f Concealer gets two thumbs up after my trial.  I've been using e.l.f. Camo Concealer for about a year, and plan to continue with it.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, June 13, 2020

Why You Need a Fun Beauty Headband

I'm going to review for you today why you actually need a fun beauty headband such as this one pictured -


Peace signs and a fun black and white headband makes waiting for your facemask to dry go faster
Peace signs, laughter and a fun headband may not make your clay face mask
harden any quicker, but it passes the time nicely!

Now I don't wear make up very often so I don't need a beauty headband to keep my hair off my face while doing that, but I do love a good face mask.

I have actually written about my favorite face masks on here already from my fun clay face mask to my 'face never felt so smooth' cellular renewal face mask.   I would also like to tell you a little bit about double masking, but that can wait.

You need to have a beauty headband to keep your hair off of your face as your hair doesn't want to get covered in your face mask!   It's also handy to use one when you're cleansing, toning, treating and moisturising your skin.

Why would you grab a boring headband? - you deserve so much more, now maybe you want something glitzy and glam, but I recommend something fun because laughter is good for you and if you can't enjoy a little fun while having a beauty treatment in your own home - when can you?

It should come as no surprise to anyone who's read my cow onesie review that I love injecting fun into my life where I can.   At the moment I have two different fun beauty headbands that I use - the one featured above and the one below.   However I have just discovered a unicorn one on Amazon!   Oh my goodness, that is going on my Christmas list!


Face mask and pout all with a fun ears headband
This photo was for a face mask and pout friendly competition on instagram, as I've said
you only live once so why not have fun!  Don't you love the ears on this headband?

So where do you get these fun fashion headbands?   Well you can check out the selection online at Amazon - there are some great ones or keep an eye out when you're at the mall.   I got my two at a local cosmetics store.   If you're self conscious then I recommend online, the girl seemed to think I'd grown an extra head when I told her they were for me - she'd asked if I was buying them for my daughter!

Don't forget to have fun in your life, even while doing mundane things like treating your skin (a few pouts or peace signs don't go amiss either LOL!)   I'm sure I've read many times that if you're happy and enjoy life then you'll live longer and I challenge you not to have fun (or at least crack a little smile) while wearing a unicorn headband, pink furry fox ears headband or some other fun headband!

Do you have a fun beauty headband?   I'd love to know what ones you have.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, June 8, 2020

Regular Hereos: Amazon Original Reviewed

Regular Hereos is a documentary you want to see. Take a few hours away from masks and hand sanitizer to be inspired, be grateful and be thankful.  Celebrate these vital "essential workers" in this heart warming and at times heart breaking documentary as we are invited into their lives as they stay at work to keep our country running.


Who Are Regular Hereos?

This Amazon documentary features three hereos per one hour episode. Each hero is an "essential worker" whom the country could not have navigated without this year.

The backstories of each hero are different.
The location of each hero is different.
The profession of each hero is different.
The sacrifice of each hero is significant.
The contribution of each hero is significant.
And each hero is someone you will also recognize in: your neighborhood, your grocery store, your hospital, your community.
And each essential hero would humbly say they are "just doing their job..."

Each episode is narrated by a different entertainment star: Nick Jonas, Kevin Hart, Alicia Keys, Kelly Rowland thus far. The fifth episode is scheduled to premier June 12th.


Amazon Original Series


One of my favorite features of an Amazon Prime membership is the inclusion of Amazon Originals which are series or specials made exclusively for Amazon Prime members. I recall when Amazon Originals first began and members could view pilots and vote for their favorites. The top favorites were then made into Amazon series.

As  Amazon Originals have evolved series and specials are being made in all categories of entertainment: comedy, drama, kids, international, mystery, documentary. The content library is enormous and varied.

Some current favorites:

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Upload
Alpha House
The Aeronauts
Late Night
Ballerina
Homecoming

Amazon Prime requires an annual membership; however, a 30 day free trial is offered to give the Prime membership a spin.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, June 5, 2020

The Perfect Camera Strap Cover to Protect Your Neck

https://www.reviewthisreviews.com/2020/05/best-camera-strap-cover-to-protect-neck.html
I own several cameras and I carry one with me almost everywhere I go.  I enjoy taking pictures, focusing on something I might otherwise overlook.  Capturing moments that I can enjoy recollecting years later.

My favorite camera is my Nikon 3100 which has multiple lenses.  I love the zoom lenses that allow close-up shots of something far away, like the hot air balloons in the sky or dangerous wild animals I would never dream of getting huggably close to.  

For years, I complained about my camera strap rubbing and cutting into the back of my neck.  It is the one downside to carrying my "big" camera, which I prefer for the long-range capability. 

My son found and gave me the perfect camera strap cover this past year for Christmas.  However, it is a cover that is not made for a camera strap, nor is it promoted for that purpose.  But, it is truly the best camera strap cover I have ever had.


Camera Strap Cover

Using a Seat Belt Cover as a Camera Strap Cover


 Lebogner Car Seat Belt Shoulder Pad, 2 Pack Soft Harness Cushion Protector, Comfortable Genuine Sheepskin Safety SeatBelt Strap Cover For Adult & Kid Also Good For Backpack, Shoulder Bag & More, BlackCheck PriceWould you believe the solution was  simply a matter of thinking outside the box?  

My son gave me a furry seat belt cover to use as a camera strap cover.  When I first opened it, I wondered why he was giving me a seat belt cover, but I tried to be kind and focused on how soft it was.  He just smiled and said, "Mom, that is for your camera strap".  Wow!  I never would have guessed.

I put it on my camera strap immediately using the sewn on Velcro strips.  It fit like it was made for a wide camera strap. I threw the strap over my head and let it rest on my neck.  Wow again!  It was amazingly soft and definitely protected my neck from the thick, hard edges of the camera strap.

My first day trip after Christmas afforded me to opportunity to wear the new strap cover in normal use.  Hours later, it was still providing a soft cushion on my neck without the soreness that I previously experienced after "wearing" my camera all day. 

Anyone with a camera strap knows the strap will rub against your neck constantly as you move the camera to take photos.  Those straps are a necessity, but they do have a downside.  They rub constantly and dig into your neck skin, almost abrading the skin, making your neck sore.   If you plan to use a camera for hours, you need a protective cover.

The furry seat beat cover truly is the very best camera strap cover!






Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, June 3, 2020

Totes Clear Bubble Umbrella


During the spring of 2020 when the world was under lock down because of the pandemic, my husband and I have tried to take two walks every day. These walks do not quite replace our regular and beloved visits to our gyms but they are definitely better than doing nothing. Plus not only do they give us much needed exercise, they also make us feel better mentally.

Did you know that walking has been proven to improve your mood? We know this as a fact from our firsthand experience walking. We also know that we need to take advantage of whatever it is that helps us keep on smiling during these tough days. For us, our walks work wonders.

Anyway, because we are walking come rain or come shine and because it is spring in Canada, we frequently wear raincoats and carry umbrellas. We are lucky enough to have a couple of really big umbrellas that are very good at protecting us from the elements. However, they are not clear, which means that on a gusty day we are walking blind trying to peer around the outer edges of our umbrellas. It is a constant effort to make sure that no one is coming at us from the other direction!

Yesterday, I revisited some pages that I wrote previously about umbrellas and was reminded of the wonderful Totes Classic Clear Umbrella. When I originally wrote about it in 2009, it was the best-ranked Totes umbrella on Amazon.  I cannot image that fact has changed much but I do see that it is still readily available for both adults and children in the clear version but that it is also made in a variety of different colors that are opaque and still easy to see through.

The bubble style of this umbrella provides extra protection from the rain because of its rounded shape and of course, because of its size. It has an a large canopy when opened and plenty of headroom. Because it is clear, it will not block your sight, which makes walking in the rain a little bit safer and the unique shape also keeps your husband's or in our case, your wife's umbrella out of your face! "Brilliant," says my husband.

The next time I need a new umbrella that is generously sized, I will buy the Totes Classic Clear Umbrella so that I can see the way forward. If you would also like a little clarity in your life, you can find this Totes umbrella right here on Amazon.

Don't let those raindrops
keep falling on your head!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

Quick Links:

See Amazon's complete collection of Totes umbrellas.
Discover the Rainbrella golf umbrella on Review This.
Discover some Good Vibes t-shirts for women on Treasures By Brenda.
Find vintage umbrellas by designers like Burberry, Gucci, Christian Dior, Pucci, Chanel, Givenchy, Oscar de la Renta and Bakelite on eBay.










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, June 2, 2020

Reviewing Choosing Compression Socks

Not All Compression Socks Are Created Equal

If you find yourself having to wear compression socks, are they digging into your legs? If so, you do not have a proper fit. Let's review the things you need to know before purchasing another pair.

compression socks
These ankles don't seem to need compression socks. Do yours?
image courtesy of pixabay.com
We might assume that if this type of stocking has been recommended by a physician that the correct size would be prescribed or at least the information you need to purchase them if they are not covered under your insurance. That isn't always the case. Even in a hospital or assisted care facility, the correct fit isn't always chosen. If they are so tight they cut into your leg or so loose you have to pull them up; they are not the proper fit for your legs.

Factors To Take Into Consideration:

I think most of us would opt for a lower cost in this type of stocking that is supposed to help our circulation because we don't plan on having to wear them for an extended length of time. First of all, the cheaper ones don't usually ask for measurements of your calf or your ankle and that is important for a proper fit. They also don't normally tell you the degree of pressure the socks will provide and that is also important. 

The amount of compression that you need is determined by why you are being asked to wear these socks. 
  • Mild compression (15-20 mm Hg) is used for the relief or prevention of minor to moderate varicose veins, minor swelling of the legs and ankles, or tired and aching legs
  • Moderate compression (20-30 mm Hg) is needed for moderate to severe varicose veins, moderate to severe lymphatic edema, ulcers, or post thrombotic syndrome
  • Firm compression (30-40 mm HG) is used for ulcer management or post thrombotic syndrome
The better quality socks will provide a chart to determine what size you need. You will need to measure the circumference of your calf and your ankle in order to know what size will work best for you. A proper fitting stocking will feel snug but not tight. 

Usually if a physician has recommended that you wear the socks, they will give you some guidance on what to select. They do not have to be prescribed in order to wear them, though. Athletes often wear compression stockings to help with blood flow as they perform. They are also often used by people who have to stand on their feet for long periods of time during their work day. 

Compression socks like the ones below give you the option of the sizing and compression provided before you order them: 

Disclaimer: I am not a physician. Be sure to discuss the use and purchase of compression socks with your medical professional before using them. This is information you can be armed with when you have the discussion.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, June 1, 2020

Reviewing the DB Moon Women's Summer Casual Dress

I recently decided that I needed a new piece of clothing. I needed lounge wear that didn't look too much like pajamas. I wanted something extremely comfortable that could be worn in public. I didn't really want stretchy pants. What I chose was a casual summer dress by DB Moon and I like it so much that I'm ordering a second dress in a different print.





Summer Casual Short Sleeve Dress with Empire Waist 


This dress has a scooped neck, short sleeves, and an empire waist. The waist is elastic. The dress has pockets (in-seam and deep) and what I call a full skirt. 

The material is 95% Rayon and 5% spandex. It is machine washable - cold. And it is "hang dry".  It is offered in a variety of colors and prints (including floral, polka dot, and snow leopard). 


Why I Chose This Dress


During this work-from-home time frame, I found that I do not have adequate lounge/casual clothing. I have pajama dresses and jeans/slacks. Period. I decided I needed some dresses that I could wear both while lounging/working from home and while doing errands or walking the dogs. I was also thinking of future camping trips. While camping at The Shack, I tend to slip my boots on with my pajama dress when I go out to walk the dogs or look around the yard in the morning. Typically, no one can see me when I am tucked down the hill and hidden from the road. But recently, the builder pulled up while I was in my boots and pajama dress!  

I wanted a comfy, casual-but-appropriate dress.

The DB Moon dresses offer a variety of color choices. It was hard to choose which color to try first. And is knee-length (to the bottom of my knee since I'm 5'4") which means I feel adequately covered for errands or visitors. The material is very soft and cool and drapes/swings nicely. But I think I like the pockets the best. The pockets are deep enough for a roll of doggie bags, my key, and my phone. 

Some people may be put off by the "do not tumble dry" care directions. I'm not. I already prefer to hang dry as much clothing as possible. Also, while most of the reviews are good reviews, a few ladies were disappointed with the fit of the dress.  From their photos, it seems that they maybe chose a size too small. I chose XL and the dress does not fit me as tightly as it seems to fit those who didn't like the fit. So I guess I am recommending that when in doubt about the size, go a size up.




Related Links: 

Bev reviewed comfy flannel pajama bottoms. I love flannel and that sort of pajama pant is what I often prefer to wear. However, we are moving toward summer and warmer weather. I wanted something cooler during warm days.  

Our friends on the other side of the world are moving into cooler weather. They may prefer the flannel pants. Or, they may prefer this fun Cow Onesie that LouAnn reviews. I know I want one! Just not as our summer is arriving. Maybe this fall I'll be seen wearing a cow (or chicken!) onesie while puttering around the yard at The Shack. 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, May 31, 2020

High Pressure Car Cleaning Tool Review

Reviewed, and Approved - Yes to a High Pressure
Car Detailing Tool
This item is a must for auto-detailing enthusiasts.

My husband loves to clean. You heard that right. Gifts for him normally include cleaning gadgets of some sort.

However, this particular gadget was entirely his idea. He's an avid cleaning-product-researcher and decided a high-pressure car cleaning tool would help to detail the car the way he likes it.

A High-Pressure Car Cleaning Tool Works With an Air Compressor

Take note that you'll need an air compressor to run this gadget. If you don't have an air compressor or access to one, this tool isn't for you.

This particular car cleaning tool lets you adjust the air pressure. You can clean an area using a level of pressure that's appropriate for the job.

He's pointed out it's the air pressure that pushes the cleaner into the fabric and on surfaces. That helps to provide deep, thorough cleanings.

The Car Cleaning Tool with the
air compressor hose attached

Easy to Use - Add Cleaning Product and Go

Just fill the container with any cleaning solution and water. Next, connect the air, set your ball valve to dispense the cleaner. Once you're ready to go, simply pull the cleaning trigger.

There's a water mode and air mode: To do the cleaning, use the water mode. Once the cleaning is complete clear away the excess water with the air mode. At that point, you can wipe the surface down with a microfiber cloth if needed.

Here's the High-Pressure Cleaning Tool in Action

Air Dried and Wiped with a Microfiber Cloth

Use The High-Pressure Cleaning Tool for the Car Seats and Rugs

My husband is quite detailed when he cleans. He also uses this handy gadget to clean the seats and rugs. After the winter months, it's very handy indeed for renewing those filthy rugs! They look like new when he's done. Check out the two photos below showing one of the seats and rugs.

By the way, this vehicle is fifteen years old. So it's not as though he's keeping up a new car that's in prime shape. This old SUV looks new because of his hard work and detailed mindset.

Oh, and something else he wanted me to mention: Cleaning the seats and rug below only took about ten or fifteen minutes. Of course, for extra dirty surfaces, the initial cleaning will take longer.

Here is the rug and seat after a quick cleaning

Here's a closeup of the seat after cleaning.
Remember, this vehicle is fifteen years old.


Yes, He Recommends This Product

It can also be used for other cleaning projects. You're not limited to just cars. Use it for bikes, motorcycles, outdoor furniture and rugs, and whatever else you can think of that needs a deep cleaning.

He didn't buy the high-end version of this product either. He selected an inexpensive model, similar to this one, and so far so good - it's still working.

Have fun, stay clean.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, May 30, 2020

Why I Love My Cow Onesie

Today I'm going to review a polar fleece cow onesie for adults and tell you why it was my best birthday gift.   I also love the presentation (kudos to the shop assistant for folding it this way).

My Cow Onesie folded up
My cow onesie all folded up!

So I recently celebrated another trip around the sun and this year my husband surprised me with a few gifts in the morning.  One of them was my absolute favorite for a number of reasons the main one being I had never asked for one and yet it's perfect!   That gift was the cow onesie pictured above.

When I unwrapped it I was like a kid again, I thought he'd got me a fun, novelty cushion to start with and then I realized what it was and I was so excited!   I love that it was a cow because I have a soft spot for cows and because it's just fun!

More Reasons to Love My Cow Onesie


If you're not into cow onesies there are lots of others ones to choose from (to be honest I would've been just as excited to get a unicorn onesie too!).

Polar fleece onesies mean they are lovely and warm which is just perfect for winter.   Here in Australia we are predicted to be heading into a very cold winter this year, so warmth is very important.  

If you have young children you can all wear onesies for a family movie night and have a lot of fun as your favorite animal.   Just in case you didn't realize I do think these are a lot of fun!

If you have a pet they will love snuggling up to you, my dog loves snuggling up all the time, but the cow onesie really won over my fur grandbaby - my daughter's kitten was not straying from her nanny once she felt the polar fleece!

All pets seem to love polar fleece so a polar fleece onesie means extra cuddles
Pets love polar fleece so a polar fleece onesie is just asking for lots of
cuddles - meet my grandfurbaby, Simba!

Back to my onesie, it has a hidden  zip in the back so that you can sit on the toilet without having to get undressed!   

It also has a tail which I thought was a lot of fun (that might just be me though!).

Onesie's with hoods just seem to me to be even warmer and I love putting the hood up as I'm curling up on the couch watching something on television such as House on Haunted Hill or Jack Ryan.

I do recommend going one size up than you'd normally wear as the idea is to be comfy which is easier if you keep the onesie more roomy.

Cow Onesies are Fun!
PIN ME!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 29, 2020

Propel Water: Bottled & Powder Packets Reviewed

For several years, I have been drinking Propel water, almost exclusively, instead of any other flavored cold drink.  

I started drinking Propel water because it is so hard to find tasty tap water when we travel and I prefer to avoid the unnecessary calories in soft drinks.  

Bottled water has served travelers well for many years.  I simply prefer the flavored water that Propel offers, especially if we are walking or hiking a lot.

I've been told that it is rude to carry a bottle of water into a restaurant.  I don't doubt the validity of that statement.  While I have no desire to offend anyone, I also have no desire to drink the equivalent of pond scum.  One only has to travel abroad once to recognize the very real reality of the revenge that some tap water will take on a body.  

Tourist cities, and countries, are accustomed to travelers who prefer bottled water.  As a matter of fact, many sell bottled water at local places of interest, on their tour observation buses, and in their restaurants.  I noted the last time I went to Florida, even the hotel was selling bottled water.  I applaud their desire to accommodate a variety of guests with individual preferences or health concerns.  That alone would make me choose that hotel over another when I return.


Why I Prefer Propel


 Propel Powder Packets Four-Flavor Variety Pack With Electrolytes, Vitamins and No Sugar (50 count)Check PriceAs I said earlier, I prefer flavored water.  In addition to being tasty, Propel has 0 calories.  Compare that to the calories in a soft drink, and you can easily see that benefit.

Propel is also vitamin enriched!  For me, that is just a nice side benefit.

My preference to Propel is not just limited to the flavor and calories.  Propel offers individual powder packets!  I can use a powder packet to flavor our local tap water.  When I visit my parents or friends, I don't have to carry a bottled water with me.  I simply carry a powder packet to add to tap water. 

Even at home I use the powder packets.  They take up a lot less storage space and are relatively inexpensive.  I always have bottles of Propel in my refrigerator though for when we make day trips.

Propel is made by Gatorade and is promoted as an exercise drink, enhanced with electrolytes to replace what you lose through sweating.  I did ask my doctor if there were any negatives to drinking Propel water every day.  He didn't know of any negatives. However, his nurse did tell me that Propel will skew a blood test.  Therefore, I don't drink propel after midnight the day before I have an appointment.  



My Preferred Water Bottle


 The Best Water Bottle to Carry Around A few years ago, our own contributor, Barbara Tremblay Cipak, introduced me to the Contigo Water Bottle.   I selected a blue bottle in a slightly different style, but it is still the Contigo brand that Barbara recommended.

I now own 2 bottles so I have one in constant use even when the other is in the dishwasher.  The non-spill lid allows me to keep my water on my nightstand while I sleep.  Now, when I wake up and need a sip of water, it is right there for me.  Plus, it is so nice to have a bottle I can drop, or knock off the table, without spilling the contents on the carpet.

For Propel water, I fill my Contigo water bottle to 20 ounces (not full) and add one packet of Propel powder.   


Disclaimer:  I am not a doctor, nor am I offering any medical advice.  Drinking water is required.  I am not recommending replacing all water consumption with Propel water.











Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Reviewing The Tall Bearded Iris

Bearded Iris Bloom In Late Spring

The tall bearded Iris is blooming in my backyard right now. Do you have one of the many varieties in your garden? They are one of my all time favorites in the springtime.

bearded iris
Tall Bearded Iris in my own garden
I don't know about you but my favorite time of the year is Spring. I love when the buds begin to pop out and the flowers begin to dot the landscape with color. One flower I look forward to in May is my Tall Bearded Iris. It just brings me so much joy when they bloom.


The Iris Has A Long History

The iris has been around for a very long time. I'm not sure why it was decided to name this particular plant after the Greek Goddess of the Rainbow but it appears that it was. It is a flower that has been a symbol of royalty and monarchs throughout history. It is a long history, too. The palace of King Minos on the Greek Island of Crete has a fresco showing the iris. That fresco dates back to somewhere around 2100 B.C. 

The Bourbon Kings of France used a symbol of an iris to show power and position. We all know that symbol as the "Fleur de Lys". Great Britain adopted the iris as a symbol of the monarchy when Edward III added it to his coat of arms in the 1300's. Queen Elizabeth I had her portrait made in a gown covered with irises.  

Whether it has anything to do with royalty or not, the beautiful iris has been around for people to admire for a very long time. There are non-bearded irises but that isn't what most people think of when they think of this lovely flower in their gardens. 

tall iris
Clump of bearded iris in my yard.

Planting Bearded Iris

You want to plant the rhizomes of the bearded iris in the summer. The reason for this is that they need time to grow and establish in the ground before winter takes hold. If you don't already have them in your garden you can buy the rhizomes from a local nursery or you can find them online.

Every few years you should divide your current colonies of iris. If the plants become to crowded they don't bloom as well. It is really easy to divide them. After they have bloomed for the season, dig around the green stems of the plants. Cut out some of the fleshy brown root looking rhizomes and take to a new area where you want to see irises bloom next year. I like to take a large cutting and then divide it in two or three pieces. It is that easy. Just make sure you water the new area to help the new cuttings take hold and that is it. Next year, you will have more of the tall bearded iris to enjoy.

I'm thinking of adding a different color this year, I particularly liked this color. I think it will blend nicely with the ones that currently grow in my yard.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret Schindel Sam MonacoSam Monaco BuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X