Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

DIY Floor Cleaner Recipe Reviewed

Works on all floor types

diy floor cleaner
Make your own cleaning solution
I would like to review a DIY floor cleaner recipe with you today. It is perfect to use on all hard floor surfaces, it is non-toxic and it is easy on the budget. What more could a gal ask for?

Since purchasing my Kray Spray Mop I have been looking for good cleaning solution recipes to use. I can use just plain water and white vinegar but I wanted something a little more robust. One that would clean well, not streak and be environmentally friendly. I found one that I love and just about all of the ingredients were already in my pantry. 

All Purpose Floor Cleaner Recipe

  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup rubbing alcohol
  • 3 drops dish washing soap
  • 5 to 10 drops of essential oil
You will also want a container to keep your solution in for future use. I use an empty 1 gallon vinegar bottle to store mine in. It is a good idea to store the floor cleaner away from any heat. 

This particular formula works well because each ingredient serves a purpose in the cleaning process. The water acts as a base for the other ingredients and it helps to loosen any grime on the floor. The white vinegar acts as a disinfectant and a degreaser. I might add that even though vinegar is acidic this diluted mixture should not harm stone floors. The rubbing alcohol also helps to degrease and disinfect but its main purpose in this floor cleaner is to help the floor dry quickly and not leave any streaks. The dish soap will dissolve any bonds between the dirt and the floor, it cleans, and it also breaks down any greasy residue on your floor. Use a basic dish soap that is not oil based (causes streaking and smearing). The dish soap should not have moisturizers, bleach or antibacterial substances. You might think that the added anti-bacteria would be helpful but you don't need it because you already have the vinegar and alcohol for that purpose. The essential oil just works to offset the smell of the vinegar and rubbing alcohol. Watch carefully which essential oil that you use because the ones that are compounds are usually oil based. The oil will cause smears and streaks just like it would if there is oil in your dish soap. 

And that is it! This floor cleaner is that easy to make and you will love the cleanness of your floor plus this solution leaves a nice shine, too. So, if you are looking for a floor cleaner that is economical, safe for children and pets, cleans super well and is easy to make try this do it yourself recipe for mopping your floors. I really don't think that you will be disappointed!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Kray Spray Mop Kit Reviewed

Mopping Floors Made Easier

floor mop
Mop and bucket image courtesy of pixabay.com
Let me review my new favorite tool the Kray Spray Mop for you today. This wonderful addition to my arsenal for cleaning is so much better than what I have been using. 

For the last several years I have used a combination dust mop and wet mop made by a well known company. It is fine but I constantly had to buy replacement pads that were for dry dusting of the floors or the wet ones when I wanted to clean the floors. I found it to be inconvenient and after a while costly to be always buying the refill packs. That won't be a problem any longer. 

As I looked into getting a spray mop, I almost purchased the one from the same company who makes the one that I have now. What I didn't like about that particular brand was that the mop required batteries to operate the spray action. I noticed in the some of the reviews that some people experienced problems with the battery operation so I kept looking. That is when I found this one that does not use batteries at all. 

Another feature that I did not like about the competitor was that you had to use their solution (another thing to have to replenish) and those bottles could not easily be refilled. The Kray Spray mop kit comes with three refillable bottles that I can put my own solution in. I like that idea a lot! I can mix different cleaners for the different floor types in my home. 

I also love that the kit comes with five microfiber pads that attach to the mop head with a velcro type system. The pads are re-usable and I can throw them in the washing machine when they become soiled. No more having to buy replacements! The pads can be used for dust mopping or I can just use the spray feature when I want to wet mop. Easy peasy! 

For me, this mop kit will be so much easier to use and much more economical, too. How about you? Does this mop kit appeal to you? 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, November 5, 2018

Reviewing the Teamoy Tunisian Crochet Hook Case

The Teamoy Tunisian Crochet Hook Case
Organization is not my strong suit. So I'm really happy when I find something that helps me to be more organized. I have found the Teamoy Tunisian Crochet Hook Case and I'm thrilled about how roomy, well-made, and helpful this little case is. Not only does it hold my brand new Tunisian Crochet Hooks, there is plenty of room for my other crochet hooks and other small supplies. 


Teamoy Tunisian Crochet Hook Case


This case is tall and thin; made to hold Tunisian crochet hooks (crochet hooks that are very similar in length and size to a single knitting needle). 

This little soft-sided case has two main zippered sections, Within each of those sections there is a variety of pockets and elastic bands that can organize longer crochet hooks (or knitting needles), traditional crochet hooks, as well as smaller supplies such as my locking stitch markers.

Not only are the crochet hooks held in by elasticized straps, the ends tuck in under flaps. This awesome design is going to prevent my clumsy self from accidentally dumping the contents out onto the floor each time I open the case. At this point, I can't imagine anything falling out accidentally. The zippers seem like quality zippers; not those cheapo zippers that are on many items.

This case is made from a "high quality and durable material, water-resistant and easy to clean up". There are also several colors/prints to choose from. I chose the cute cat print. 

The BEST feature about this case was the small price tag. It cost only $16.99 ! 

The only small complaint I have about this case, and it may be a complaint specifically to me, is the smell of the case when it arrived. It was wrapped in a sealed plastic bag. The smell of the "durable material" was strong when I opened that sealed packaging. It had an oily, "plastic" smell that bothered me (I am very sensitive to some chemical smells). I wiped off the case with a damp, slightly soapy cloth and then let the case air out before I spent time checking out all of the little pockets. There is no lingering odor.

If you crochet (or knit) and are in need of some organization, Teamoy may have a case for you.



If you'd like to see my first Tunisian crochet project (with gorgeous DK Colors yarn) check out my post here

my first Tunisian Crochet on Treasures, Travel, and Tales 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, November 3, 2018

Reviewing How Aromatherapy Can Enhance Your Life

how to use essential oils to enhance your life every day
How to use aromatherapy in your life
I think everyone should have a little aromatherapy in their life and it can be enjoyed in so many different ways.

You can use essential oils as air freshner or in cleaners around the home.  You can diffuse them or use them in massage oils.  You can also add them to your skincare and so much more.

Let's have a look at just how you can add them into your life easily, safely and get maximum enjoyment all at the same time.

First you have to think of ways that you would enjoy using them and get an oil that can multi task for you.  I always think that tea tree, lemon and lavender oils are good ones to start with because they can be used in so many different ways.

Once you are used to using essential oils regularly you can start to expand your aromatherapy collection and venture into oils such as Roman chamomile, jasmine, lime, geranium and rosemary to name a few that I love.

Getting Started Using Essential Oils


For anyone getting started with essential oils I highly recommend joining this facebook group - Using & Enjoying Essential Oils with Louanne - as a disclaimer it's one I've just started myself!

The most common use of essential oils in the home seems to be as an air freshner.  I use a difuser that I plug in (I used to use an oil burner that you would use tea light candles in, but I worry about fires these days!).  If you don't want to invest in a difuser in case you don't use it then rice is your friend.

Using Rice in Place of Pot Pourri

You know the little 'bowls' of pot pourri people have around the place, well you can add uncooked rice to a small container and then add a few drops of essential oils and you have the same fragrance carrier.  It should go without saying that you must not cook the rice once you've used it like this!

I'm relatively new to this concept as I only heard about it a few months ago, but it works really well!

Carpet Freshner Too!


If you have carpet you can also freshen up the smell in the room by creating your very own natural version of 'shake n vac'.   All you need is baking soda and your favorite essential oil, I like lavender or one of the citrus oils.

For each cup of baking soda you can add 5-7 drops of essential oils and shake it up really well (it can clump sometimes so I have heard it suggested that you use a whisk to mix it up before adding to a container ... I have never done that!

I use an old carpet freshner (a generic shake n vac powder) container as it already has the holes for you to shake it out of - doesn't get any easier!

While we're talking about carpets - do you have a bag in your vacuum or do you have a bagless one?  I have a bagless vacuum at the moment, but when I had my old bagged vacuum cleaner I would put 2-3 drops of tea tree, lemon or lavender oil into the bag each time I emptied it, you could smell the fragrance every time you turned the vacuum on.

Household Cleaners Using Essential Oils

There are lots of ways you can incorporate essential oils into your cleaning routine besides using it on your carpet.  You can make your own multi purpose cleaner, window cleaner, use it in the toilet cistern and many more.

I love using it in the toilet cistern and have been doing this for years - I add 6-10 drops of tea tree oil into the cistern and every time you flush the toilet you get a faint whiff of tea tree oil, when you stop getting that whiff (or once a week) you add 6-10 drops again.

I am sure that it makes the toilet easier to clean as well, but I may be imagining that!

Years ago where I worked had lino flooring and we would often get black marks left by people's shoes - we simply added a couple of drops of eucalyptus oil to a cloth and wiped it on the mark - gone!

There are lots of recipes for cleaning products to be found online that use lemon or tea tree oils.

Aromatherapy to Help With Sleeping

So many people have problems sleeping and this is something that aromatherapy can really help with from pillow sprays to having a diffuser in the bedroom.

On my facebook group I have a great recipe for a pillow spray that you can use, but you can also just add a few drops of lavender and/or chamomile oil to a hankerchief and take that to bed with you.

Using a diffuser is a great idea to help with sleeping.  Many years ago I worked with a lady who's daughter used to get so stressed out at college that she couldn't sleep (she also suffered from asthma).  She brought her a diffuser and a relaxing oil blend and instructed her to use it at night - not only was she able to sleep better, her asthma also seemed to improve.

Of course a lovely relaxing massage before going to bed is also a great way to help you sleep, you may have to take times with your partner as to who has the massage though!

Beauty Uses for Essential Oils

You can use essential oils to make your own beauty products or add them to your existing beauty products to enhance them.

There's not enough time to go into all of the uses for these, but the more common ones you can use is to add a few drops of lavender oil to a hand cream, add a few drops of tea tree oil to a shampoo and to add a drop of rose oil to a face mask.

Gift Ideas with Essential Oils


If you have essential oils on hand you can find lots of ways to incorporate them into fantastic gift ideas such as -


  • bath bombs
  • facial sprays
  • hand creams
  • cuticle oil
  • lavender eye pillows


Ready to Get Started?


You could buy these essential oils one at a time or if you want to get started right away then we have a special set that is an economical way of getting the three must have essential oils to start along with another pillar essential oil and some blended essential oils.

Holiday Set of Essential Oils


They are all sent to you in a box which is great because essential oils should be kept in a dark cool space ideally.


More articles on Aromatherapy which I'm sure you'll enjoy -


Reviewing an Essential Oil Holiday SetReviewing an Essential Oil Holiday Set
Arbonne have just brought out their holiday range for 2018 and this year it includes a gorgeous essential oil set. If you're interested in using essential oils then this is a great way to start your selection.

Reviewing Uses for Tea Tree OilReviewing Uses for Tea Tree Oil
Over the years I have used tea tree oil in many ways, from household uses to medicinal uses and there are lots of other uses that I haven't tried. Tea Tree oil has antiseptic properties and is both a germicide and a fungicide

Reviewing Arbonne's Focus Blend Reviewing Arbonne's Focus Blend
This blend of oils contains basil, rosemary, frankincense, bergamot and lemon. The combination of these oils helps to clear the mind and uplift your emotions which is perfect for increasing your focus and productivity

How To Make The Easiest Cuticle Oil EverHow To Make The Easiest Cuticle Oil Ever
There are so many recipes for DIY cuticle oil that they would make your head spin, but many of them used so many ingredients that it just seem such an effort so when I found a simple recipe with only 3 ingredients ..

Reviewing How Aromatherapy Can Help Relieve StressReviewing How Aromatherapy Can Help Relieve Stress
I thought it would be handy to showcase which aromatherapy oils are the best to help relieve stress and how you can incorporate them into your lifestyle to make stress a thing of the past.

Using & Enjoying Essential Oils with LouanneUsing & Enjoying Essential Oils with Louanne
A facebook group where we can talk about essential oils and how to incorporate them into your life.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Holiday Gift Wrap Bundle Set Reviewed

Coordinated Packages Under The Tree

holiday gift wrap
Holiday Wrap For pretty gifting (image courtesy of pixabay.com)
Before you know it, the time for making sure we have enough supplies for our holiday gift wrapping will be upon us. I don't know about you but I like to have a nice variety of papers on hand but I also like for the packages to have a coordinated look to them. 

I found a nice bundle set to get for my gifts this year and I thought that I would share my discovery with you today. The set comes with three rolls of wrapping paper which have a design on both sides, gift tags and ribbon. I love that they are all color coordinated. The set that I plan to get is in reds and golds but there is an option to choose different color sets if the red and gold does not appeal to you. Our tree is predominately red and gold so this set will look really nice under our tree this year. 

Did you know that red and gold are very traditional colors for the Christmas holiday? Red is often used to represent the blood of Christ when he died on the cross but also the bishops robes were often red and later St. Nicholas and Santa Claus wore red. Gold represents one of the gifts brought to the Christ child and is also used to show the star over Bethlehem. 

Often times in the past I have purchased gift wrap and then tried to find tags and ribbon that would work well but that can be a real pain in the backside. Finding a set that is already matched will make my job so much easier this year. I know that most likely no one will even notice that everything is wrapped in a coordinated color scheme but I will know. Maybe it won't register with the family at all and that is just fine. It might be one of those subtle things that they know they liked it but can't put their finger on why. 

How about you? Do you like for all of your gifts to coordinate or do you just try to use up the paper you have on hand before purchasing new paper, ribbon, and gift tags? 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Whimsical Throw Pillow Covers Reviewed

Fun Ways To Cover Your Pillows

throw pillows
Pillows image from Pixabay.com
Today, I would like to show you a fun option to cover your throw pillows in an economical and whimsical way. If you are like me, you have several around the house that could be changed with your mood or even the season of year. 

I love the thought of covering pillows that I already have instead of having to go out and buy more pillows. Getting a few pillow cases that match the size of my pillows is an easy solution. 

I should mention that if you don't have many throw pillows, you can purchase the cover and a form to use. That just is not a problem in our home because I own more pillows than most already. 

For less than ten greenbacks you can surely find at least one pillow cover that you like. The option that I found has 43 different patterns to chose from. There are several that have a phrase about books and reading but there are also some for the different holidays during the year like Easter and Christmas and even some nice ones with an autumn theme. 

The cases or covers that I found fit 18 by 18 inch pillows and do not come with the pillow insert. They are made from a cotton linen fabric and are machine washable. The printing is on one side only and did I mention that they are really inexpensive? I did? Well, it was worth noting again. 

These are so fun that not only will I be getting one or two for myself but they will make a great gift for Christmas or a house warming party. 

What do you think? Do you like the idea of being able to have a few pillow covers to change the look of your throw pillows? 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Unique Gift for The Blogger in Your LIfe


Is there a Blogger in your life, your mom, dad, grandmother or aunt?  Let's review a great gift idea for anyone who spends a lot of time sitting!


If anyone tells you that blogging is easy, they are wrong.  It requires spending a lot of time researching and writing and then re-writing to get your blog or post just perfect.

Do you need a really creative and useful gift idea for the blogger in your life?  Believe me when I tell you that this is one gift they will enjoy for years to come!




All that time is spent with your backside down on a chair. You may find that your tailbone becomes sore after a little while.  Concentrating on your subject matter is difficult when your tailbone is screaming for you to get up.   Don't let that become a discouragement for you.  There is relief!

As we get older our natural padding tends to become less cushioned.  It doesn't become smaller, just less dense.  This can lead to sore back-sides and no one I know likes to have a sore derriere.  When you are in the middle of a great blog post, you don't want to drop your line of concentration just because your backside is complaining.  Once you get up, you might lose your train of thought (that's an age related thing too).   Better stay where you are and finish that part of your blog.  But oh, to stand up for just a minute or two!  

Well I'm here to tell you there is relief for sore backsides.  I was complaining to a friend of mine who is wheelchair bound.  Now if anyone is getting a sore rear side, it has to be someone who has no choice but to sit.  So when we were together for coffee, I asked him, "What do you do when your rear end is complaining about being sat on all day?"  After laughing at me, he quickly replied that he has a special cushion on his chair that let's him sit comfortably for the whole day.  

Well I thought that was a great idea.  Let me see what I can find out about this!  Well, I guess I am not alone in thinking of ways to make my backside happier.  There is a whole line of memory foam cushions made just for those of us who spend a lot of time in a sitting position.  Truck drivers, transit workers, school bus drivers, computer gurus, and many more people enjoy the benefits of specialized cushions made just for them.




There are several styles of cushions available and all of them are portable, so you can use them in your car or whenever you know you will be sitting for a while. Taking them to a ball game is a great idea too, those bleacher seats are killers for older people.

Now my other half loves hockey games.  I know from experience that it gets really cold in those arenas.  When we watch our grandkids, sitting on the bleachers is a pain in the assets!  So these cushions would not only make that pain go away, but it will also insulate your posterior from the cold benches.  It's a win-win situation for me, that's for sure.
memory foam cushions, sore tailbones, sitting a long time


These cushions are lightweight and most come with a carrying handle.  I know that my backside will be much happier when it spends some time on an extra well padded chair seat.  They are affordable, comfortable and they do the job!  My tailbone has never been happier.

With Christmas coming, this would make a great gift idea for any grandparent, aunt, uncle, or anyone else you know who will spend some extra hours in the sitting position.  I'm hoping that your backside will be happier for knowing about these great cushions!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Rectangular Serving Plates Reviewed

Serving Platter For Large Dinners

turkey needs plate
This turkey needs a serving plate (image from Pixabay.com)
Let's review an option for rectangular serving plates, today. I know, as I write this we haven't even celebrated Halloween yet this year. Before we know it, it will be time to sit down to Thanksgiving Dinner and then in December there will be the Christmas Dinner. Do you have enough serving plates to accommodate those larger portions of food?

I have found a set of three serving plates that will come in mighty handy for those dinners or parties that we often host during the year. What I love about this set is that they do not have a design that will make you feel like you can only use them for one specific holiday. I have always been fond of those wonder old turkey platters with the turkey design on them but they look a little silly if you use them for anything other than Thanksgiving. So, they sit in the cupboard to be pulled out once during the year. That is not very practical is it? 

What I love about this set of three is that you have three different sizes of plates to serve on: small, medium and large. The largest plate is 15.6 inches by 8.8 inches and will serve nicely for a large turkey, ham, or pot roast. The medium size is 13.8 inches by 7.5 inches and will work well with a variety of dishes for the dinner or party. The smallest plate is 12.2 inches by 6.5 inches and is perfect for appetizers or just about anything! 

I also love that they are white in color. There is nothing that will distract from any pattern we might have on our dinnerware. They can be used for any occasion we plan to serve a lot of people and will stack nicely in the cupboard. 

This set of three rectangular serving plates are made of porcelain so that can be used in the freezer or oven and can be washed in the dishwasher. Now, I think that makes them even more practical! 

How about you? Do you think that this set of serving platters would function well for your large gatherings of family and friends during the year? 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, October 12, 2018

Halloween Pocket Size Candy Tins Filled with Jelly Beans

Halloween Pocket Size Candy Tins Filled with Jelly Beans

Halloween Candy Tins Available on Zazzle

Each year I look for a special treat to give to the trick-or-treaters that I personally know.  I'm sure you know what I mean.  Out of dozens of children who trick-or-treat in our neighborhood, I only personally know my friend's children or grandchildren who come to my door.  I like to have a really special gift to give to them, not just the candy I give to everyone trick-or-treating. 

It is also true that I like to have a special treat to give my own grown children for Halloween.  These Candy Tins filled with Jelly Beans are the perfect special treat for each of them.  Plus, the candy tins are refillable and not very expensive.  Therefore, they could actually keep and use their "special Halloween treat" year round.

By the way, there is a volume discount when you order 10 or more of these candy tins on Zazzle.  Plus, if you subscribe to "Zazzle Black" (standard subscription - currently $9.95/year), you will get free shipping on your orders on Zazzle.  I have personally saved over $300 by subscribing to Zazzle Black. 

Also, anytime you buy on Zazzle, be sure you check their current coupons for savings!

 

Halloween Candy Tins with Jelly Beans or Mints

Halloween Grim Reaper Candy Tin
There are a few reasons why I enjoy giving these pocket candy tins as special Halloween treats.  

First, Jelly Beans are a very popular candy.  It seems like everyone loves them.  

Second, as I mentioned earlier, they are refillable, which means the gift will last well beyond Halloween.

The candy tins come with a variety of images on the front.  You simply choose the picture you think is appropriate for the recipients.  Obviously, the grim reaper on the right would be for adults, but I have also featured some of my own favorites for children below.

Plus, the candy tins are small enough to slip into jeans pockets or the interior pocket of a purse, which makes them very convenient to carry.  The tins are approximately 2½" wide.

You choose the flavor of Jelly Belly jelly beans in the tin.  Select assorted or one specific flavor from the options available.  The tin holds 20 jelly beans.   

Mints are also available as a choice instead of jelly beans.  Or, you can choose to have the tin shipped to you empty and fill it with whatever you wish.

Oh, and lest I forget, they make great Halloween party favors!

 

Halloween on Zazzle

 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Play Doh Party Bag Reviewed

Great For Party Favors Or Stocking Stuffers

play doh creation
Play-Doh Creation image courtesy of Pixabay.com
A Play Doh party bag might not be on your radar but if you have parties for children to plan or stockings to stuff perhaps it should be. Children of all ages love to play with this modeling dough; at least in our house they do. 

It is sometimes hard to find small little things to include as a party favor for children. A party bag of Play-Doh seems like a good idea to me. Each bag contains 15 small little containers of dough that can even be personalized on the top. It doesn't get much easier than that! 

When I saw this option, I immediately thought of the ease of placing a few of the containers in a Christmas Stocking. Our grandchildren still love to create things with this modeling clay like substance. Truth be told, Grandma still like to sit with the kids and make things, too.

The containers only hold about 1 ounce so they will be light weight in the stocking. There is a variety of colors so some might help replace a color that has dried out or provide a color that we don't have. I am sure not one of them will go to waste. 

Getting a bag or two is a nice idea for a Birthday Party but also if there is a classroom party. It would only take a couple of bags to make sure that each child could receive a container. A very economical solution that will provide something that the children will play with and not just toss away or break. Both genders of children will appreciate a container of Play-Doh, too. 

I am so thrilled that I found this party bag! It is not going to make much of a dent at all on my budget, the grandchildren will love it and it is something that we can play with together. It doesn't get much better than that, in my humble opinion. How about you? Would you consider getting a Play Doh Party bag for your children or grandchildren to play with? 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, October 7, 2018

Should I Use a Knee Brace Support for My Arthritis

When it comes to physical aids, I'm a bit stubborn. After suffering long enough, I finally broke down and answered the above question honestly. Yes, the answer is yes.

On a really bad day, technically I need a walker when I'm out and about, and there's no way I'm ready to consider something like that. No way. On an average bad day, I would say I could use a cane, and yep, you guessed it, no way am I using one. Well, at least at this stage.

I'm a few years into my ailment now and refuse to jump into these mobility aids at this point. On a good day I do pretty well without any aids whatsoever.

The question of whether I should use a knee brace is about those really bad and just plain bad days.


I Finally Gave In and Said Yes to a Knee Support Brace

I had tried stretchable cloth type wraps that you slip on, but found them too tight. So I opted for an actual brace support.

I went to a popular drugstore chain here in Canada called Shoppers Drug Mart. After trying on several, I ended up choosing the Formedica Adjustable Knee Support. It's important to know your knee measurements to ensure you have the right size.
In-Store Purchase from
Shoppers Drug Mart
in Canada

The price was reasonable, less than $30 Canadian. They're manufactured in Quebec, Canada. It's designed to stabilize and protect the patella (knee cap). It gives weak knee muscles and ligaments stress support.

The knee brace sat in the box until a 'really bad knee day' occurred and grocery shopping was on that to-do-list.

So off I went with my knee wrapped nice and snug.

Wowza! Was I ever wrong about holding off to get one.

On a bad knee day, grocery shopping is brutal. With the knee wrap, it's 50 percent better than without it. Of course I still have pain, but the knee brace wrap provides the support needed to walk confidently without feeling I'm damaging it further, or that I'll fall.


EXOUS Knee Brace Support Protector - Relieves Patella Tendonitis - Jumpers Knee Mensicus Tear - ACL Lateral & Medial Ligament Sprains Comfort Design True Non-Slip FIT for Arthritis - Sport - RunningEXOUS Knee Brace Support Protector - Relieves Patella Tendonitis - Jumpers Knee Mensicus Tear - ACL Lateral & Medial Ligament Sprains Comfort Design True Non-Slip FIT for Arthritis - Sport - RunningMy Online Store Choice Would Have Been EXOUS Knee Support Protector

If you're in the market to get a knee wrap via online shopping, this brand is quite popular.

It's available on Amazon and best of all when you visit the product page, you'll see a handy video that tells you everything you need to know about the product, including how to measure for the right size.

Although I haven't tried this product, after doing some research, it was my online pick based on features and price.

If you have bum knees, don't hold off getting a knee brace support. Personally speaking, they've really helped me on those not so perfect days.




The Obvious Statement:

I'm not a doctor, so of course, anything medical related you should seek the advice of a professional. There I said it.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, October 4, 2018

Bagster Review

Have you ever started a home improvement project and found the debris begins taking on a life and area of its' own?  Improving one's home can be like opening Pandora's Box; one never knows what you will find lurking in, under, or behind an older home which brings the inevitable problem of how to dispose of construction debris.

We recently demolished an old and small wooden deck. Somehow the little deck turned into a very large pile of debris which seemed to keep growing and growing. Remodeling can be like cutting your own bangs; once you start it is hard to stop. Since we were demolishing the deck... well, of course we should cut down the old unwieldy bush and then could not ignore the well worn railroad ties around the garden bed which had outlived their usefulness.


Where and how to dispose of all these goodies? Even though the pile kept growing the size did not warrant renting a dumpster. At the suggestion of the carpenter the Bagster was investigated to help unload our pile of construction debris.


What Is The Bagster?

The Bagster is a disposable bag which can hold up to 3,300 pounds of debris or waste. The purchase of the Bagster allows access to the Bagster Pick Up and Disposal Service operated by Waste Management. It is an on demand debris removal also referred to as a dumpster in a bag.



Dumpster or Bagster

In my area it is difficult to rent a small dumpster due to the booming construction industry for both pros and DIYers. Small dumpsters are difficult to rent and one must also have the room to park the dumpster.

It was clear when the deck (it looked so small) was being removed and parked on the lawn this was more construction debris then anticipated. The pike kept growing ! Who knew such a little deck could produce so much construction debris? The dirt was also filled with concrete from the original construction of the house over 50 years ago.

Now what? Enter the Bagster.




Where To Find The Bagster

I purchased the Bagster from Amazon  for $29.95. For our project we needed 1.5 Bagsters so of course not wanting to pass up the opportunity to clean out the garage we made great use of the remaining area in the Bagster.


Note: Review the Do’s and Dont's as to the type of materials accepted in the Bagster. We had old pieces of odd shaped concrete which had been hanging around the garage for years we happily filled up the remainder of the Bagster. Actually everything we wanted to put into the Bagster was on the Do list for our area.

Schedule The Bagster Pick Up

The system worked flawlessly. I used the online scheduler at approximately midnight on a Monday. I received a confirmation email of the order and subsequent emails throughout the progress of my order through the process.On Wednesday morning at approximately 5:30 am I heard a rumble outside and it was the very large crane/truck arriving to pick up the 2 Bagsters. Shortly after the pick up I received an email completing the process.

Pricing Of the Bagster Pick Up

The pricing of the Bagster and debris removal is two fold: the cost of the Bagster plus the cost of the removal by Waste Management. The cost varies per area and the flat rate can be obtained on the Bagster website. Two Bagsters plus the pick up charge was lower than the cost of renting a small dumpster and so much more convenient!

The Yellow Bagster Handles

The Bagster deceptively indeed holds ALOT of debris.It is critical the yellow handles “touch” for the Bagster to be picked up by the truck as a large crane must be able to lift the
Bagster up by grabbing the handles.


This information is clearly stated on the Bagster bag instructions and the website and do not ignore! 

Coupons

Online scheduling allows a customer to take advantage of a discount off the pick up price of more than one Bagster. Coupons are also available online by searching Bagster coupons.

Recommendation 

I highly recommend the Bagster. It worked flawlessly from start to finish. I’m still surprised how much construction debris can fit into one Bagster. Quick, convenient and on demand debris removal fit our construction project perfectly.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Skeleton Cat Halloween Decor Reviewed

Fun Cat Decor For Halloween

black cat
Black Cat image from Pixabay.com
A slightly different Halloween decoration for this year would be a skeleton cat. Let me review one for you this year and you can decide if it is something you would want to add to your decorating this year. 

Black cats are often associated with Halloween. That is a bad rap for those beautiful creatures, I know. Unfortunately, most tales of the spooky persuasion involve a cat (often black) in them. Witches and magicians often have a familiar in the form of a cat. One can sort of see why because a cat when angered can be pretty darned frightening whether it is Halloween or not. I digress.

A few years back a very popular decoration for the night of trick or treats was the flamingos that were skeletons or devils. I thought those were hysterically funny! Actually, I think that if one looks they can still find those available. Perhaps you aren't into those majestic birds as a part of your yard decor but you do want a skeleton theme or at least a few skeletons in the overall plan. Of course, we can find human skeletons but gosh everyone has at least one of those. How about something different? Hmmm? 

I have found a fun and different option for this year's night of fright! A skeleton cat and rat can be placed in my yard or beside the door. Now, before you go getting all bent out of shape thinking that a cat skeleton is kind of cruel, hear me out. First of all, I absolutely love cats. I have one that adopted me years ago and I love her dearly. Still, I think having a skeleton cat at the door greeting my little trick or treaters is a funny idea. It is not something that they would expect to see. I think after the first shock of seeing one they will probably laugh. I know I will when I see them jump! A little wicked of me, I suppose. 

Since I know that my own cat will not even consider sitting by the door to hiss and arch her back (she is one big scaredy cat with strangers); this option appeals to me. It might even be funny to dress as a witch and hold the skeleton in my arms, petting it like it is still alive. 

What do you think? Is it over the top or just the right amount of whimsy for decorating this year?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, October 1, 2018

Reviewing Vistaprint for Business Cards

Business cards from Vistaprint
I am in the process of starting a small business. An Etsy store to offer my crocheted items to an audience beyond my circle of friends. In this beginning stage of the process, I quickly decided that I wanted a "business card" to include with my sold items. I chose Vistaprint and am thrilled with the service and product they provided. So thrilled that I'm writing this review to share the information with you.


Vistaprint - The "Everything to Market Your Business" Site


I see the Vistaprint commercials frequently. This constant advertising is why I checked out their site first. Sheer laziness on my part. I ordered with some skepticism - as some businesses that advertise the most are not the best. But I am glad I ordered my cards from Vistaprint. Before I start rambling, the mini-review is:

  • Super easy-to-navigate website
  • Many business card styles to choose from
  • Choices ranging from completely designed by you (including your own photo) or use one of the existing designs
  • Preview function that shows you exactly what you have created
  • Fast service (ordered on 8/22 and received on 8/29) even with standard shipping


My Business Cards


I knew I wanted a somewhat "rustic" design. The purpose of the card would be a thank you and continued advertising with my store URL. I needed a thicker paperstock as I would be punching a hole in many of the cards and attaching them to my handmade item with a ribbon.

I was able to choose rounded corners (to avoid snags in my yarn), "standard glossy" front of card (to add to the durability of the card), and print on the back of the card (for a more personal message). Not feeling creative enough to design my own card, I quickly found one of their templates. The overall front design of the template was not adjustable, but I could add customize with my store name.  I could also choose a couple of color variations.  Scroll to the very bottom of this article to see a very small sample of some of the designs. 

The back of the card allows for print. So I added the personalized printed message I wanted. The back of my card is not glossy paper.


I had expected to receive flimsy, poor-quality business cards (like the ones we have at work). Instead, I received cards that I am thrilled with. I paid $25.58 for 100 cards and shipping. 

I will continue my orders with Vistaprint, adding fabric care cards to my packaging. I have also begun to consider purchasing postcards for advertising after seeing all of the fantastic design possibilities.

If you are in need of business cards and other paper products for your business, I highly recommend Vistaprint

finished and ready for delivery - with card attached


Related Links:

Our own Tracey (The Savvy Age) recently reviewed a free online logo maker called DesignEvo. If you feel more confident in your creative abilities than I do mine, DesignEvo Free Logo Maker may be a great site to use. I LOVE the logo she created in "2.5 minutes". 

My Etsy Store. My goal is to retire at The Shack; tending my garden, chickens, and land. That retirement dream includes sitting in a rocking chair on the deck and crocheting. If that crochet adds a very small bit of retirement income (aka more money for yarn) all the better. 


an extremely small sample of some of the existing business card designs on Vistaprint




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, September 28, 2018

Inexpensive Disposable Rain Ponchos Reviewed

Inenpensive Disposable Rain Ponchos Reviewed
Rain Ponchos can save the day!  When you are at an outdoor event and it starts to rain, would you pay $1.75 to stay dry and continue enjoying the outing?  Most of us would be happy to give a very small fee to anyone selling a rain cover for our hair, clothing, totes, and cameras. 

We recently went to an outdoor arts and crafts fair. We had planned our attendance for over a month and I was pretty excited when the day finally arrived.  I enjoy walking around, looking at all of the new crafts talented people have made and are willing to sell.  I admit, I don't always buy a lot, but I still love going.  Plus, pronto pups seem to call me from miles away.  In our region, there is always a pronto pup stand (or two) at every outdoor event. 

What I don't like, is to get caught in the rain unprepared.  A wonderful day outdoors can quickly become a horrible experience that includes mass numbers of fleeing bodies, followed by ridiculous traffic jams of cars filled with wet humans anxious to get home and get dry.  However, armed with a handy disposable rain poncho, I can cover myself quickly, then stand back and watch the attendees desert an event, leaving me and the few other prepared attendees, enjoying a much less crowded function.


Why I Carry Disposable Rain Ponchos to Outdoor Events


 Rain Poncho: Disposable Emergency Rain Ponchos
for Adults  
Including Drawstring Hood and Thick Material
(10 Pack, Clear)
Check Price
Let me use the arts and crafts fair as an example.  The tents are set up and tables are filled with wonderful handmade creations and art.  These types of events cannot be postponed due to a little rain.  Toss a few thousand people in and you have crowded streets.  Everyone is laughing and having fun, but it is hard to see all of the tables.  Some of the most popular tables are completely surrounded by people who are taller than me.  Then it happens!  The promised rain comes and people start leaving in droves, some actually jogging to their cars.  

Within 30 minutes, the crafts fair and 100+ tables covered with wonderful things, belongs to me and a hundred or so prepared festival attendees.  It becomes extremely easy to visit each table and really thoroughly peruse the merchandise.  Even when the rain stops, few people return to the event.

Oh, and with the rain ponchos, my hands are free to eat, drink & shop!

Recommended Disposable Rain Ponchos   

I prefer the disposable rain ponchos for several reasons.
  1. Easily carry a prepackaged rain poncho in jeans back pockets, purses, vests, backpacks, etc. and pull it out if needed.
  2. Toss a wet rain poncho directly in the trash, even before getting in the car.  Thereby avoiding getting seats and automobile interior wet.
  3. Rain Ponchos cover my hair, clothes, and everything I have around my neck (like my camera) or that I may be carrying.
  4. Featured Rain Ponchos have drawstrings in the hood for fit 
  5. Easily keep 3 or 4 in the glove compartment of the car to be handy when needed.

One Note:  If you purchase the featured ponchos, be sure you tie a knot in the ends of the strings in the hood.  Otherwise, they will come right out and the hood will be hard to keep up.


Where to Use a Disposable Rain Poncho

 Rain Poncho: Disposable Emergency Rain Ponchos for Adults In Bulk Including Drawstring Hood and Thick Material
(5 Pack for Colors or 10 pack for Clear)
Check Price

  • Any Outdoor Festival or Event
  • Outdoor Sports Events
  • Fairs, Amusement Parks, Disneyworld  (great for water rides!)
  • Outdoor Concerts
  • Camping
  • Hiking
  • Zoos 
  • Botanical Gardens 
  • School Field Trips
  • Vacations when packing limits apparel
  • Protect Halloween Costumes when Trick-or-Treating
  • Even indoor events when you just need to get to your car without getting wet!

If you pay an admission fee, do you really want to leave simply because of rain?


Additional Rain Ponchos Available - Choose Your Favorite!



Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.