Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts

Friday, January 27, 2023

Disposable Powder-Free Nitrile Gloves - Uses & Review

Nitrile Gloves
Nitrile Gloves are an essential product in our home.  Long before the pandemic, my husband and I always used disposable powder-free nitrile gloves for a variety of jobs. 

Because Nitrile gloves are made of thick vinyl, they are more durable, puncture resistant, and more resistant to chemicals than plastic gloves.  They are almost like wearing a second skin since they stretch over your hands.

I wear nitrile gloves for any housework that requires the use of cleaners or chemicals.  I wear them when I clean bathrooms, cleaning the kitchen sink or spots on rugs & carpet, changing linens when someone has been sick, cleaning my stove top, cleaning inside my refrigerator, and many other daily tasks.

We love animals and our dogs have always lived indoors.  With pets, come accidents. While these are rare incidents, it is necessary to be prepared for the inevitable. Pets can't always get outside when they have upset stomachs. Thus, we keep a ready supply of Nature's Miracle and nitrile gloves for the cleanups.

We also use them for applying ointments or creams on humans or pets.  The nitrile gloves protect hands and help prevent the inadvertent spread of a rash.   

Plus, my husband wears Nitrile gloves when he is picking up after our pups in our backyard or on walks. That is a job he has primarily taken on, but I certainly perform the task as needed.  It is definitely unpleasant, but would be exponentially worse without the Nitrile gloves.

Once we use the gloves, we throw them away.  

 

Uses for Powder-Free Nitrile Gloves 

There are so many uses for Nitrile Gloves around the house that I doubt I will be able to list them all, simply because I might not recall them all as I am writing this article.

Starting with the uses above, here are some of times we reach for our disposable Nitrile gloves. 

  •  MedPride Powder-Free Nitrile Exam GlovesCheck PriceCleaning Bathrooms
  • Cleaning Kitchens
  • Cleaning Appliances (not to be used when appliances are hot)
  • Cleaning Floors, Carpets & Rugs
  • Changing Linens (especially after illness)
  • Picking Up After Pets
  • Applying Ointments or Creams 
  • Attending to Cuts or Wounds
  • When Pumping Gas into the Cars
  • Changing Oil in Cars
  • Cleaning Glass, Windshields in Cars & Home 
  • Cleaning Outdoor Furniture
  • Painting
  • Picking Up Litter, especially from unknown sources

Whatever has a potential for germs or exposure to chemicals, we use the disposable Nitrile gloves.  Because skin is absorbent, we choose to protect it from anything we would not willingly ingest. 

Can you think of other ways you would use disposable Nitrile gloves?


One more note:  They do come in sizes.  My husband wears the X-large and I wear the small or medium, depending on which is available. I am wearing a medium size glove in the introduction picture. You can see it doesn't fit my hands quite as well as the small, but it works!

 




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, January 23, 2023

Spysee Shoe Sizer Review

Online shopping has its' positives and negatives. The number of consumers purchasing shoes and clothes online for the past few years has skyrocketed and through all the online shopping done in the past few years I have found shoes have been one of the toughest items to purchase successfully. And so began my search for an easy to use and affordable shoe sizer to use at home.



Spysee Shoe Sizer (Foot Scale)

When looking for shoe sizers online I simply chose one of the most affordable with good reviews. The SPYSEE fit the requirements. It was also very convenient for storage as the Spysee came with its' own storage bag. The sizer has worked flawlessly and helped me figure out the proper sizing for online shoe purchases.  Rumor has it that shoe sizes change through the years and yes, the rumor is true!

Replacement Of The Tried And True

This is exactly where online shopping for shoes shines with the ease, convenience and ability for quick price comparisons at different stores. If the design of the shoe has not be changed then I highly prefer to shop online for its' replacement. Fortunately or unfortunately for consumers just like any fashion item shoe manufacturers change shoes quickly and often whether it be the design, color or the last of the shoe. 

And so comes in the problems of buying replacement shoes online! Especially with athletic shoes manufacturers tweak the designs of the shoes frequently and that change can cause a great deal of discussion and likes or no likes of their existing customer base. I have found the same where shoe 4.0 is a shoe I love and when it s time to order a replacement the company is now on shoe 4.8 and when ordered you find the shoe does not fit the same as the 4.0. Very frustrating for the consumer. 

 

Return Policy

This is key I have found is to only purchase shoes online with a company that offers free returns and easy free returns. Easy free returns are what I term the most user friendly where a pre paid label is provided and free pickup at your door. 

Carefully review the return policy prior to purchasing to ensure a hassle free return process. This is very important if the online company offers merchandise from a third party seller: many times the seller must be contacted for a return through the shipping/online company and then approve the return. It can be cumbersome and very unuser friendly.

 

Vintage Silver Foot Scale

Remember heading into the shoe department of a bricks and mortar store and finding the sparkling silver foot sizer? Ah the memories of shoe shopping old school with Mom at the iconic department stores in the area. It was always a special event to purchase new shoes! And always helped that shopping included a stop at the iconic ice cream shop for hot fudge sundaes...




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 20, 2023

Huge 14" Dash Electric Skillet Reviewed

Electric Skillet Review
I have cooked with electric skillets my entire adult life, and that's a long time.  My parents gave me a new electric skillet for my last birthday. It is very large, but I was thrilled with the gift.  I knew immediately that it would reduce the length of time it took me to fry chicken simply because I could fry double the amount at one time in one electric skillet.

In the past, when I fried chicken, it took almost 2 hours in one electric skillet.  Years ago, my brother gave me a second electric skillet so I could use two at a time. That has been a fabulous time saver, but it still required clean up of two electric skillets.

My first experience with my new large Dash electric skillet was, of course, frying chicken.  This skillet will fry 6 - 8 chicken breasts or thighs (depending on size), 10 - 12 legs, or a combination of pieces all at one time in approximately 45 minutes.  I deep fry my chicken so it does take a lot of vegetable oil to fill the skillet, but it took a lot for 2 electric skillets too.  

The clean up is much easier than with my original electric skillets.  After I dispose of the oil, I wipe out the Dash skillet, set it in my sink and wash the inside of the skillet. Thus far, after several uses, the skillet doesn't even look like it needs to be washed after I wipe it out, but I still wash it!

When my siblings were home for the holidays, I took my Dash skillet over to my mom's house to cook.  My oldest brother joined me in the kitchen to make our family spaghetti.  There is no real set recipe for the family spaghetti.  We have a basic beginning of ingredients, but then we season with "whatever" to taste.  

I must say, cooking the spaghetti with my brother was one of my all-time favorite cooking experiences.  He brings a whole new attitude to preparing a meal.  Think the French Chef!  He adds a dash of this and a dash of that to create a delicious dinner.  I will never be able to duplicate that spaghetti, but it truly was the best I have ever eaten. Would you believe we added worcestershire sauce to it?  As Emeril would say, that certainly "kicked it up a notch"!

Most recently, I fried pork chops in my Dash electric skillet.  Wow! How awesome it was to be able to fry 10 boneless breakfast chops at once. For another dinner night, I fried 6 bone-in 3/4" pork chops all at one time.  They were all tender and outstanding!  As a matter of fact, my husband said the bone-in chops were the best he had ever had including what he had eaten in restaurants.  

I can hardly wait to try something new in my Dash electric skillet!


The 14" Dash Family Size Electric Skillet

 DASH Family Size Electric Skillet with 14 inch Nonstick Surface + Recipe Book for Pizza, Burgers, Cookies, Fajitas, Breakfast & More, 20 Cup Capacity, 1400-WattCheck PriceAfter I received the Dash Electric Skillet, I was anxious to try it out.  I've been pleasantly surprised by this skillet.  It cooks evenly and cleans up quickly.  

The tempered glass lid has a seal around it that locks in the heat, almost creating a steam effect to cooking.  I credit that for why the pork chops I cooked were so tender.

Features of the Dash Skillet

  • 20 cup capacity
  • 2.5" Depth
  • Tempered Glass Lid with seal
  • Non-stick Surface
  • PFOA-Free  (the chemicals used on nonstick surfaces)
  • Cool Touch Handles
  • Removable Cord
  • Non-Slip Feet
  • 4.5-qt. capacity
  • 6.7"H x 18.9"W x 16.5"D

I came across this interesting video on Youtube.  I thought you might enjoy watching it too. I never would have thought to make a pizza in the skillet.

 


 



 

Read More Kitchen Product Reviews On
Kitchen Products





House of Sylvestermouse






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, January 17, 2023

Easy Pumpkin Spice Bread


Pumpkin Spice Bread Reviewed


I always like making things from scratch, but sometimes you just have to go with a box mix.

I wanted to make some banana bread but didn't have any ripe bananas. So I started looking through the cabinets and found this box of Krusteaz pumpkin spice bread.

Fran had picked this up at the store and thought it would be a good idea to make with the grandchildren.


Well, I guess I just couldn't wait so I went ahead and whipped this up. It was so easy to make and really moist and delicious. All you need is water, vegetable oil, and a couple of eggs. Stir everything together and bake in a 5-inch x 7-inch bread pan. Just follow the easy instructions on the box and you'll be enjoying this pumpkin spice bread in no time at all.

To be honest I've never heard of Krusteaz (Crust + Ease) before this. So I looked them up and found out that they have been around since 1932. Wow, where have I been?

The Krusteaz Story:

Times were tough during the great depression. A few women who always traded recipes together came up with a recipe for an easy-to-make pie crust and called it Krusteaz. They would go door to door and visit small cafes to sell their creation, and the rest is history. Today Krusteaz is still a family-owned business. 

They make a variety of easy-to-make bread and muffins, and I'm sure that they are all equally as delicious as this pumpkin spice bread. I will certainly be giving some of their others a try.

If you're looking for an easy and delicious dessert or snack to serve your family or friends just pick up a box of Krusteaz.

Find more product reviews on Review This Here: ReviewThisProductReviews.com

Try my made-from-scratch: Quick Cinnamon Swirl Bread

You will find a variety of Krusteaz products in your local grocery store or you can find them on amazon.

Krusteaz Quick Bread Supreme Mix, Pumpkin Spice, 30 OunceKrusteaz Quick Bread Supreme Mix, Pumpkin Spice, 30 OunceKrusteaz Quick Bread Supreme Mix, Pumpkin Spice, 30 OunceKrusteaz Chocolate Chunk Muffin Mix - No Artificial Flavors/Preservatives - 18.25 OZ Box (Pack of 12)Krusteaz Chocolate Chunk Muffin Mix - No Artificial Flavors/Preservatives - 18.25 OZ Box (Pack of 12)Krusteaz Chocolate Chunk Muffin Mix - No Artificial Flavors/Preservatives - 18.25 OZ Box (Pack of 12)5 Pounds Krusteaz Sweet Cream Pancake Mix Just Add Water5 Pounds Krusteaz Sweet Cream Pancake Mix Just Add Water5 Pounds Krusteaz Sweet Cream Pancake Mix Just Add WaterKrusteaz Snickerdoodle Cookie Mix, 17.5-Ounce Boxes (Pack of 2)Krusteaz Snickerdoodle Cookie Mix, 17.5-Ounce Boxes (Pack of 2)Krusteaz Snickerdoodle Cookie Mix, 17.5-Ounce Boxes (Pack of 2)

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, January 16, 2023

Reviewing the Coleman Gas Stove for Camping, Emergencies, and More.

During two recent weather events, I was reminded of the importance of being prepared. I lost power for four days during an ice storm. Some of my neighbors were without power for 5 and 6 days. Between my woodstove and my Coleman Gas Stove I was able to make hot meals. I highly recommend this little single burner propane stove for a variety of reasons and situations.


 

Many years ago I went camping with a friend who had more camping supplies than I did. He had the Coleman Gas Stove single burner. He has since moved on to a smaller, more lightweight camp stove. But I had purchased my own Coleman Gas Stove burner and have used it since.

This single burner screws on to the top of a small propane canister. Legs attach to the bottom of the canister to stabilize it and hold it upright. Even as clumsy as I am, I have never tipped over this burner. But I should add that I do not use my large, cast iron skillets or dutch ovens on it. I stick with small skillets or small to medium sauce pans which are plenty large enough to cook for 1 to 2 people.

Things I like about this small camping burner

Durability. I can't recall when I purchased mine but probably 2015 or before.

Long-lasting. The propane bottle (in temps above freezing) lasts me for many meals (the website states 2.5 hours runtime).

Adjustable flame. From low to high, I can find the temperature I want.

Availability. The gas canisters are easy to find for purchase online and in many local stores that carry any sort of camping/outdoor supplies.

Small Size. It was small enough to use in my shed when I was shed-camping on my land.

Portability. It was easier to move than a grill or cooking grate. 

Ease of Use. I just screwed the top in, turned the knob, and lit the flame with a match or lighter. While I like cooking on coals, grills, or the woodstove this burner is much easier to use.

Inside or Outside.  I have used this burner outside on picnic tables, tailgates, and on the ground. I have also used it in my house, in the shed, and in my previous apartment.

A Few Things to Note

Below Freezing Camping. I noticed that in sub-freezing temps and during heavy use, I found that the outside of the canister frosts up and the canister appears to be empty prematurely.

Extremely High Winds. The bottom of this burner is solid which provides some winder protection. However, I had some trouble in very high wind situations (i.e. on a beach along the ocean) with the flame blowing out when I tried to cook on very low flame. But that only occurred rarely.

Small Meals or Groups of People. This burner might not be suitable for large groups or families due to the limit of the size of pans that can be used on this single burner. However, in an emergency, it would be far better than nothing.

A Great Tool For Camping, Outdoor Activities, or Being Prepared for Emergencies

With weather events, random power outages (that occurred both at my metro apartment and here in my very rural home), rolling black outs, and similar situations you never know when you may need an alternate way to cook a meal. This burner is also perfect for picnics, camping, and other outdoor events.


Isobutane Stoves and Link

My friend changed from the larger Coleman gas burner to Isobutane burners. He does far more camping, hiking, and hunting than I do and has come to prefer the light weight of these tiny burners. He says "it is tiny and you can get a very small fuel can".  My friend also says that he switched because it is "easily packable", "durable", and "can be used as an emergency heater".

My son also uses one of these smaller burners for his outings. If you need to carry less weight, you may want to consider the Isobutane burners as opposed to my Coleman Gas Burner. 







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, January 11, 2023

Aging Gracefully is My Goal for 2023 and Beyond! ~ A Product Review

 Aging is a topic that many people don't want to talk about, but, it's happening to each one of us as each day passes by!  

Today we are going to look at a product review that will help keep you safe as you journey through the days and your years increase.



Both my husband and I are well into our retirement years and we are thankful and happy to have made it to this milestone in life!  We are brave souls that don't take too much for granted and try to make the best out of every day we have.  I guess it helps that we have "Older" people around us that we care for!  They unwittingly give us hope that we will make it further as well. 

Aging is not for sissies, you have to be ready for changes!  Lots and lots of changes!  So when the inevitable decline in mobility started, we knew that it was time to do something about it!  No we aren't ostriches with our head in the sand, we know that in order to keep our days moving forward, we had to make some changes.

Aging gracefully is an attitude we have both decided to adopt.  Being old and miserable just doesn't suit us at all and it makes life more difficult in the long run.  No one wants to be around someone who is cranky all the time because life has brought about some changes.  They will happen whether you like them or not.

We accept the changes and work to make it easier to live with those changes.  

One of the most important aspects of this new philosophy of life is to be "SAFE"! 

With my double knee replacement and my husbands neuropathy in his hands and feet, mobility has become one of our major changes.  Standing for us is sometimes difficult, so we needed help in that area.  Not to worry, there are lots of "tools" available to make that easier.

The one room I will focus on today is in the bathroom!  Most accidents in the home happen in this room!  Why?  Well let's just take a quick look and see what the problems can be! 

  • Lots of very hard surfaces.
  • Water and non-permeable surfaces and floors
  • Lots of  very hard edges and corners
  • Tubs with glossy surfaces and water just waiting to be used like an ice skating rink
  • Hard protruding handles and water spouts
  • Confined spaces (once you fall, there is no where else to land)

My husband had a close call in the shower one morning and that was my wake up call.  Thank goodness for Amazon Prime, the problem was fixed in a day!  

While taking his shower, he felt a little lightheaded and dizzy.  We didn't have anything to hold onto in the tub area, so he was grasping the walls as well as he could.  That day we searched out a way to make showering safer for us.

This is what we came up with and it works well, is not too costly!  



We have had this chair now for a few months and can't believe we did without one for as long as we had. It has been a great purchase for us and I can honestly say that I don't worry about him in the shower anymore.  I know he is safe!  The other modifications we made to our bathroom is a grab bar and a hand held shower head!  Both of these were additions that made showering so much easier, safer and better! I must add that there was always a non-slip floor mat in the bathtub.  If you don't have one of these, they are the first and maybe the most important thing to add to your bathroom safety list.  Anyone, not just seniors can slip in the tub.  So a non-slip bath mat is good for any family, no matter how old or young they are!

Stay tuned for more products that should help you be Super Seniors that take their safety seriously!  Be Fabulous, be Great and above all be Safe as we all move through our days!



The cartoons on this page are borrowed from "weloveourgranny.com"







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, January 4, 2023

My 10 Best Product Reviews of 2022 Revisited

Last year I published 18 in-depth, personal product reviews here on Review This Reviews. As I was looking back at them recently, I decided to revisit and share my 10 favorite products that I reviewed in 2022.

My 10 Best Product Reviews of 2022 Revisited
Check out the best products I reviewed in 2022 to find some great buys in 2023!

My Top 10 Product Reviews From 2022

I hope the reviews I've chosen to highlight in this "best of 2022" collection will help you find some new favorites of your own, as well as some terrific gift ideas for others to enjoy.

My Favorite Fashion Product Review

VIKIDEER Microfleece Lined, Ultra Soft Lambskin Leather Touchscreen Gloves

Winter here in New England is long and extremely cold. These VIKIDEER microfleece-lined, ultra soft lambskin leather touchscreen gloves keep my always-chilly hands and arms warm and cozy, even when I need to pull out my mobile phone, Kindle or other touchscreen device.

VIKIDEER long, warm, lined, lambskin leather touchscreen  gloves
VIKIDEER Elegant Winter Black Long Leather Full Touchscreen Gloves for Women

They're also long enough to prevent any gap below the hem of my coat sleeves when I bend or raise my arms, so they stay nice and toasty even in the chilliest weather. Any woman who lives in a cold climate would love to receive these as a gift!

Check out my in-depth review of these Long, Lined Leather Gloves - A Luxurious, Affordable Gift She'll Love.

My Best Gift Review for Music, Audiobook and Podcast Lovers

SHOKZ OpenRun Pro Bone Conduction Bluetooth Headphones

My husband and I love listening to audiobooks or music while we are doing chores, relaxing, traveling, etc. We both love our SHOKZ bone conduction Bluetooth headphones and wear them all the time.

Man wearing SHOKZ OpenRun Pro bone conduction Bluetooth headphones
SHOKZ OpenRun Pro Open-Ear Bluetooth Bone Conduction Sport Headphones

He first introduced me to bone-conduction Bluetooth headphones several years ago, and I've never looked back! Bone-conduction headphones use a technology that transmits sound vibrations along your cheekbones instead of through the air into your ears. It's great for someone like me, who has difficulty with ear buds, and for my husband, who has itchy ears and doesn't like anything in or against them. 

SHOKZ is the undisputed leader in bone conduction headphones. They make a variety of styles, but our favorites by far are the OpenRun and OpenRun Pro, which are both ultra lightweight. In fact, I often tease my husband about his SHOKZ bone conduction headphones being permanently grafted onto his head, since they are so comfortable that he forgets he's wearing them and almost never takes them off during the day, even when he's not listening to anything through them.

Learn more about why we're such hugs fans in The Best Bone-Conduction Bluetooth Headphones Review: Shokz OpenRun Pro.

My Best Gift Review Pick for Recipients Who Are Hard to Buy For

DuraTech Tool Roll Organizer With 21 Pockets

My husband enjoys working on cars, scale models, and model trains. As a result, he has several collections of prized hand tools for both automotive and hobby use. Keeping not only his wrenches and sockets but also his fine precision tools organized and well protected is a high priority for him. 

DuraTech tool storage organizer - rolled up and latched

After considerable product research, I chose this attractive, durable, well-designed and well-made DuraTech tool roll organizer as a Christmas gift for him and he absolutely loves it. 

Here's a view of the interior, filled with his precision hand tools, including fine nippers, needle nose pliers, precision tweezers and X-ACTO knives:

DuraTech tool roll organizer, unrolled to show tools stored inside
DURATECH Tool Roll Organizer, 21 Pockets Tool Bag Roll

I'm planning to buy one for myself for my most-often-used jewelry making and crafting tools.

Find out more about why this makes such a terrific gift for anyone who relies on hand tools for hobbies, models, automotive repairs, etc. in my review of The Best Tool Roll Organizer To Store & Protect Your Tools.

My Best Health Product Review

Dnsly Ultrasonic Toothbrush Set With Travel Case and Extra Brush Heads

I've been using top name brand ultrasonic toothbrushes with fancy features from Oral-B and Philips Sonicare for most of my life. A few months ago, however, I switched to this much more affordable and equally effective Dnsly ultrasonic toothbrush set with a choice of five brushing modes (White, Clean, Sensitive, Polish and Massage). It also has ultra soft bristles that protect my gums from erosion as well as compact brush heads and an interdental brush that make it easier to get into hard-to-reach spots. 

Dnsly electric toothbrush with travel case
Dnsly Sonic Electric Toothbrush with 5 Modes, 2-Minute Smart Timer, 8 Brush Heads, 1 Travel Case

The set I purchased includes a hard, fitted travel case, a clear plastic brush head cover (so you can toss it in your purse or briefcase without carrying the travel case) and seven brush heads, in addition to the tiny, pointed interdental brush. You can brush twice a day for 30 days on a single 4-hour charge, which makes it perfect for travel! 

Check out this affordable, high quality set in my product review of The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush.

My Top 3 Kitchen Product Reviews

I enjoy cooking and baking, but not washing dishes. Three of my favorite product purchases for 2022 were kitchen items that have made our time spent prepping, making good food and cleaning up more efficient and enjoyable.

Adjustable Stainless Steel 3-Tier Over Sink Dish Drying Rack

The first was this fabulous three-tier 304 stainless steel dish drying rack that has gotten all our nonstick cookware, bakeware, oversized items (like the Vitamix blender jar and the large cake storage box in the photo) and other hand washable items off our countertops. (This large-capacity drying rack also comes in a smaller, two-tier version.)

Boosiny stainless steel, 3-tier over sink dish drying rack
BOOSINY Adjustable 3-Tier Over Sink Dish Drying Rack, 304 Stainless Steel

We love the adjustable-height shelves and moveable accessories, such as the hanging hooks, utensil holder, cup hooks, soap/sponge tray and cutting board holder, that we can configure to our needs and preferences. With the limited counter space in our old galley kitchen, this over-the-sink dish drying rack has been a godsend! And the convenience of being able to simply hang items to drip dry after hand washing them means we save electricity by running our dishwasher less often.

Read my full review of The Best Large, Sturdy, Adjustable, Over-the-Sink Dish Drying Rack to learn more about why it is one of my favorite product purchases of the past year.

Mueller Ultra-Stick 500 Watt 9-Speed Immersion Blender, Electric Whisk and Frother

My second favorite kitchen purchase from 2022 is this awesome Müeller Ultra-Stickmulti-purpose hand blender with a heavy-duty 500-watt copper motor and brushed stainless steel body. The comfortable handle with an ergonomic, non-slip grip makes this hand blender a pleasure to use, and the powerful motor offers 9 speeds and a Turbo Mode for a burst of extra power when needed.

Müeller Multi-Purpose Ultra-Stick Hand Blender model MU-HB-02
Mueller Ultra-Stick 500 Watt 9-Speed Immersion Multi-Purpose Hand Blender

The three attachments make this three, high-quality, small kitchen appliances in one: an immersion blender, an electric whisk and a milk frother. We use ours all the time for blending soups, making fresh whipped cream and frothing milk for our coffee (or making frothy bulletproof coffee or silky-smooth hot cocoa).

Read my detailed review of The Best Powerful, Lightweight Stick Blender With Versatile Attachments.

Astercook 15-piece German Stainless Steel Kitchen and Steak Knives Set With Wooden Storage Block

My third kitchen product purchase from last year that my husband and I have really been enjoying is our Astercook kitchen and steak knives set.

Astercook 15-piece stainless steel kitchen and steak knives set in a wood storage block
Asktercook 15-piece German high-carbon stainless steel kitchen & steak knives set with storage block

This 15-piece set includes an acacia wood knife block fitted with a full set of the most useful kitchen knives, including an 8" chef knife, 8" slicing knife, 7" santoku knife, 8" serrated bread knife, 5" utility knife and a 3.5" paring knife; a set of six 4.5" serrated steak knives; a pair of kitchen shears with a handy built-in bottle opener; and a sturdy sharpening steel for honing the sharp, German stainless steel blades to keep them "in good nick." 

My husband and I have been extremely pleased with the quality of these knives, especially considering the extremely low price (less than $45 as of this post's publication date)!

Learn more about this excellent, inexpensive knife set that would be a great addition to any kitchen, and a welcome gift for anyone outfitting their first kitchen, in my in-depth review of The Best Affordable, Super Sharp Kitchen and Steak Knives Set.

My Favorite Low Carb and Keto Food Reviews

Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix With 0 Net Carbs Per Slice

My husband and I both love high-carbohydrate foods like breads, rolls, cookies, cakes and pizza. We have chosen to cut back substantially on both carbs and highly processed foods because of the health benefits we have both noticed when we eat a very low carb, largely whole food diet. Even though my husband is quite slim and has to make sure he eats enough calories to avoid losing weight, we both have experienced significant improvements in mental clarity and focus, reduction in joint pain and inflammation, and other health benefits by eating this way. However, neither of us is willing to give up our favorite foods, so I invest time and effort researching, trying out and evaluating healthy, low carb alternatives for foods like pizza crusts and burger buns.

I have tried several low carb pizza crust mix products and recipes, and one of my favorites so far is Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix. 

Pizza made with Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix

One of the reasons is convenience, since this mix calls for only olive oil and water, both of which we always have on hand. Others include speed (just mix, roll and bake), fairly clean, healthy ingredients), high in dietary fiber, low in calories and 0 net carbs per slice, and a surprisingly good taste and texture considering the nutritional profile.

This mix makes a pizza crust that, unlike some low carb options, is crisp on the outside, slightly chewy on the inside, and sturdy enough to pick up and eat with your hands. We love being able to eat pizza for dinner once a week again and have fun changing up the toppings to keep things interesting.

Check out my full review of The Best Keto Pizza Crust Mix With 0 Net Carbs including some of our favorite low carb, keto friendly pizza toppings.

KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix

My husband makes the best burgers and, for many years, we have had a tradition of him making his special Friday night burgers (or, as we like to call them, Friday night "burglars") to celebrate the end of the work week and kick off the weekend. Although some people enjoy using lettuce as a burger wrap, we much prefer ours on a nice, soft, lightly toasted bun. And, although we love Natural Ovens Bakery Keto-Friendly Buns and often keep a few bags in our freezer, they contain a few ingredients that aren't strictly "clean keto" and are not gluten-free.

So, unless I'm pressed for time, I prefer baking fresh burger buns using KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix, which lives up to its name as far as keto-friendly buns are concerned.

KetoBakes Best Ever Sandwich Bun Mix
KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix

This mix has clean ingredients, the same ones I would use if I were baking keto buns from scratch, and makes soft, pillowy, yummy buns that are perfect for burgers or sandwiches. They also freeze beautifully, which I do in my favorite Stasher reusable silicone 1/2 gallon food storage bags, which open and seal incredibly quickly and easily (I love them!). 

Get the 411 on this excellent baking mix in my product review of The Best Low Carb Keto Sandwich and Burger Buns Mix.

ChocZero Regular and Dark Cocoa Hazelnut Keto Spreads and Livlo Zello Keto-Friendly Chocolate Hazelnut Spread

These low-carb chocolate hazelnut spreads with no added sugars offer three excellent, healthy (and keto-friendly) alternatives for people who love Nutella.

ChocZero and Livlo ZELLO keto chocolate hazelnut spreads
ChocZero Dark Cocoa Hazelnut Keto Spread, Livlo Zello Keto-Friendly Chocolate Hazelnut Spread and ChocZero Cocoa Hazelnut Keto Spread

I've provided a detailed side-by-side comparison of the flavor, size, price, nutrition facts, ingredients, dietary restriction / special diets information and other considerations in my review Comparing the Best Keto-Friendly Chocolate Hazelnut Spreads - No Added Sugars.


I hope this recap of my 10 favorite products that I reviewed in 2022 helps you find some gift ideas or new favorites of your own for the coming year.

Wishing all our Review This Reviews readers and my fellow contributors a healthy, happy, peaceful and prosperous 2023!


My 10 Best Product Reviews of 2022 Revisited 

by Margaret Schindel


Read More Fashion Reviews From Our Contributors

Read More Health Reviews From Our Contributors

Read More Kitchen Product Reviews From Our Contributors

Read More Low Carb & Keto Diet Reviews From Our Contributors

Read More Food Product Reviews From Our Contributors

Read More Gift Ideas From Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, December 31, 2022

Goal Setting Guides: Reviewing Ways to Get Organized

As the year ends and the New Year approaches, one's thoughts turn to items needed for a new beginning. The setting of goals becomes a priority and, in aid of that, certain items lend themselves to the task. 


These include calendars and planners. While sounding mundane and ordinary, today's planner products are anything but. So many choices are available that there will always be that certain style that will appeal to you. And if you are pleased with the calendar/planners you are working with, you will be more apt to follow through with 'getting organized' and 'tackling life ambitions'. 


Here are a few suggestions for a calendar or planner for a truly organized life!


Calendars


Calendars come in many sizes and in a large variety of styles.  



There are large desk calendars with ample space to write your schedule in ruled daily blocks. Some also have spaces for notes and to-do lists.


There are wall calendars which come in a very large style containing all 12 months at a glance (excellent for a board room or a home office). And wall calendars with large writing blocks to keep your schedule current.


There are medium size ones with wire binding and hanger so that you can hang it up in your office, bedroom, or kitchen. They come in cute patterns and designs that pair well with your home décor.  


Then there are the popular daily desk calendars in designs that fit every personality, whether it's your favorite hobby, pet, places, sport, etc. There are motivational ones, inspirational ones, jokes and funny calendars, plus trivia or fun facts. They are called Daily Desk Calendars, Page-a-Day, or Year-in-a-Box Calendars. 







Planners



In addition to regular calendars, to become truly organized, one needs a planner. The one I get each year has to be a Weekly/Monthly Planner with the year's dates on the pages and tabs for each month. I've tried blank ones, but never seem to remember to fill in the correct dates! :) But there are Planners that suit anyone's style and way of keeping track of tasks, holidays, birthdays, appointments, errands and chores. Anything and everything fits well into a Planner. 


I also prefer the 8-1/2” x 11” Planners that fit well next to my computer. I can quickly see what I have scheduled or planned on any given week/month and easy to add things as they come up. But Planners also come in a variety of sizes (from pocket or purse size to large desk size) to suit your way of doing things. 


Summary



So, whatever you need in a calendar or planner, the size, style and designs are endless. It's such fun to choose the ones you like best, which makes getting organized for the New Year easier than ever. 


 Happy (Organized) New Year! 


*Calendars and Planners for your New Year goal setting - review written by Wednesday Elf


Amazon Links to Calendars and Planners Featured in this Review:






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 28, 2022

Year End Traditions and Goal Setting for 2023: A Product Review

Hopefully you have all had a wonderful Christmas with your family and friends!  Now, we are in the last few days of 2022 and it's time to reflect on the year past and make some plans for the New Year to come!

If you don't make plans, then maybe it's time that you started a new tradition in your own life.

You are never too old to change paths if the path you are on no longer fits your views of the future.,  But you must take some time to reflect on the changes that you might need to make.



I know from experience that my diet and activity levels were not where they should have been.  So a few years ago I decided to make a few changes.  I had to plan my strategy just like I would have planned a big business idea.  

It started with getting more active. My mobility was suffering and something needed to change.  I started small, but made sure that I could do what I set out to do.  I started walking around the block!  It doesn't sound like much but when you have been fairly sedentary for a long time, around the block may be all that you can do!  Make sure your goal is attainable and sustainable!  



After a little while you will find that your stamina will let you walk a little further.  When it feels right, increase your distance, again making sure it is an attainable goal.

There are many ways to help yourself with those goals and one that I have found very useful and helpful are my Nordic Walking Poles.   Sometimes my balance isn't all that it should be and these walking poles really help me feel much more confident when walking outdoors. They just give me that little bit of stability and they make my walk much more effective in distance covered and calories burned.  After 2 years of walking I am now working my way to 10kms a day.  If I can do it, you can too!

The other part of walking that I love is the quiet!  Sometimes you just need to get away from everything that keeps your mind jumping all over the place.  Getting out in nature is a wonderful way to let go of the "stuff" that keeps your mind going around and around.  As Raintree Annie wrote yesterday, getting out in nature and really observing all the changes in our world can be very cathartic and wonderful.  Check out her Review right here!

Now if you need some help with making your plans, maybe you could use a workbook to help you center yourself and help you create a way forward for 2023.  Barbara Tremblay Cipak, another writer here at Review This Reviews has taken a path to writing about our emotional and mental well-being.  Her book, "I Need Help Thinking Positive" would be a great help in marking out a new path for you to follow in 2023!


 

  

A Gratitude Journal might be another way for you to hone in on the changes you'd like to make or give you some direction in where your interests lie.  

One thing is certain, there are unlimited ways in which to make changes in your day to day lifestyle if that is what you are interested in doing. 

The World Wide Web is a resource for learning all kinds of new things.  Broaden your horizons by learning a new language, visit another country virtually, take a course on hobby that you have been thinking about or check out a university and see what kind of on-line courses are available.  Many of them are free to join and you could learn about something that twigs your interests.  2023 is unmapped territory and you can make some plans to make the New Year a whole lot more interesting, just by preparing a path.  

Might I suggest that you take a walk, think about some things that would interest you and then when you are back home, check out what the internet has available.  You just might find something that really adds a whole new dimension to your life.  

Happy New Year to All and may all your plans be accomplished as you take a new step forward!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X