Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Immersion Hand Blender Reviewed

Easy Way To Blend or Puree Foods

tomato soup
Soup probably pureed with an Immersion Blender
image courtesy of pixabay.com 
I don't own an immersion hand blender yet but I want one pretty darned bad. So, I thought I would review the one that I think that I will purchase in the near future. 

The main reason that I want one of these hand held blenders is that I love tomato soup and I want to be able to make my own. In order to get the correct consistency the soup needs to be pureed. Now, cooking up a big pot of tomatoes for soup and then having to pour batches of it into a regular blender is a pain in the royal keester. For one thing there is the most likely possibility that I will burn myself or spill quite a lot while trying to maneuver the contents from pot to blender. There is also the time involved! Not to mention that the clean-up will be a hot mess! I would have to clean up the pot that the soup is cooked in, the blender and the pot that I would need to put the pureed soup into while going through the blending process. An immersion blender solves all of those obstacles. 

With a hand held blender I can just puree the tomatoes in the pot that they have cooked in eliminating the use of so many tools, the burn factor and the spill factor. Easy peasy lemon squeezy! 

So, I have been looking at my options and there are several to choose from. I can go the expensive route or I can try to save myself a little money. I decided that maybe the best route to pursue is the one that most folks seem to be happy with. So, I looked at ones that have the best reviews and then picked the one that is marked as Amazon's choice; which by the way, happens to have the best review history.

Here is the model that I believe I will purchase after the holidays. There is a possibility that Santa might leave me one so that is why I plan to wait. 

I like that it has two attachments. One for blending and a whisk. So, I will be able to puree all sorts of foods or easily whisk ingredients for many recipes. There are six speeds so that should be handy, too. I will be able to make smooth and wonderful tomato soup or wonderful fruit smoothies. I think my possibilities will only be limited by my own imagination.

I think it might be helpful if I let you on something. Depending on the cook these hand blenders are known as immersion blenders or sometimes they are called emulsion blenders. Those two words are describing the same tool.

How about you? Do you own an immersion hand blender? If not, do you think it would be something that you would use? Not only do I plan on using mine a lot but I think this is a wonderful idea as a wedding gift or a holiday gift for your favorite cook. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, December 10, 2018

Snowglobes are Great Gifts and Seasonal Decor

Holiday snowglobes on Review This!
There is something magical about snowglobes. It doesn't seem logical. After all, Snowglobes are simply water-filled globes of glass (or plastic) encasing some sort of item or scene. Shake the globe and the little flakes begin to "snow". But there is something special about that frozen moment in time surrounded by the movement of falling snow.

At this time of year, snowglobes always come to my mind. They are a wonderful part of holiday decorations. Because holiday snowglobes are offered in such a wide variety of styles they can also be very thoughtful gifts. Each one individualized to reflect special interests of the giver or the receiver. Snowglobes range from the tiny plastic trinkets that you can find at just about any souvenir gift shop to high-quality pieces of seasonal art that can be enjoyed and passed down for generations. 


Santa Claus Snowglobes



This review came to mind after recently purchasing a beautiful snowglobe depicting Santa's workshop. There was a piece of synchronicity that led me to thoughts of how special snowglobes can be. 

Scenes with Santa are my favorite snowglobes. And there are MANY Santa scenes to choose from:
  • Seated in his workshop with the elves, making toys. 
  • Flying in his sleigh through the snowy sky. 
  • Dressed in his suit with the huge bag of toys slung over his shoulder. 
  • Seated with a child seated on his knee
Santa's Workshop - musical snowglobe


Musical Snowglobes


Some snowglobes come with a music box option. Typically, the music box key is under the base of the snow globe. Simply turn the globe over, turn the key a few times, then place the snowglobe on the table to watch the snow and listen to the tune.

Tunes that are as familiar as Jingle Bells and as traditional as Oh Holy Night can be found with some snowglobes.


Religious Snowglobes



A variety of religious scenes are depicted in snowglobes. From angels to the nativity scenes (simple and ornate) a snowglobe reminding us of the "reason for the season" can be found.


Nativity - musical snowglobe



Snowglobes and Nature Scenes



In the areas of the world that have four seasons and the possibility of snow during the holidays, snowy naturescapes are reminiscent of Christmas. Trees drop their leaves and make unique silhouettes against the sky. Native backyard birds are easier to see against the white background of snow. Polar bears, penguins, and white hares are wildlife that are often associated with a winter wonderland. 


Penguin snowglobe - plays "Let It Snow"



Baby's First Christmas Snowglobe



Special occasions, such as baby's first Christmas, can be commemorated with an engraved snowglobe. And those globes can last a lifetime.

Baby's 1st Christmas snowglobe



Snowglobes with Favorite Movies, Places, Things



Perhaps your family has made a tradition of watching the Nutcracker during the holidays. Or watching the Wizard of Oz has become an annual event as the holidays approach. 

Maybe you've traveled during the holidays and want a reminder of those special places.


Whatever your holiday traditions include, chances are good that there is a snowglobe that gives a shout out to those special memories.

design courtesy of pixabay.com

Whether you are looking for long-lasting holiday decorations or a special gift for that special someone, snowglobes are a great choice. 

My love of snowglobes was recently renewed during an incident of coincidence. Or maybe it wasn't coincidence at all. I'm not completely sure. If you would like to read about how I came to own my most recent Santa Claus snowglobe you can read about it on my personal blog. 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, December 8, 2018

Advice from the Ocean T-Shirt Review

 Advice From Nature Products

(c) Elf. Ryan's New Beach-Themed T-Shirt
I recently moved from the Georgia Coast to the Midwest to be near family. Before I left Georgia, I wanted to gather together a few beach-related mementos to give to my family members who had all visited me in Georgia at one time or another.  I thought the items would be a nice memory of our time spent together in the South. 

One family member is my grandson, Ryan.  At age 16, it's harder to choose a gift he'd enjoy as teenagers have set preferences. When I saw this T-shirt with an ocean theme found in the Tybee island, Georgia Marine Science Center, I thought “this is the perfect gift”. Ryan loves the beach and the times he spent at the Atlantic Ocean. 





Earth Sun Moon Trading Company


The T-shirt is the product of Earth, Sun and Moon Trading Company, located in Grove City, Pennsylvania.  The themes of their t-shirts reflect the company's mission to be “Good to the Earth”. You can read about their commitment here.



(c) Elf. Advice from Nature

Earth, Sun & Moon's “Advice” nature themes have scenes with a large number of animals, birds and insects we share our earth with (i.e. Advice from a Buffalo, Advice from a Bear, Advice from a Cardinal), as well as places such as this one “Advice from the Beach”. Each design is expertly printed in beautiful colors and features words of advice presented in a funny and delightful way.


Advice from the Beach Slogan


For instance, the words for this 'Advice from the Beach' T-shirt state:





Be shore of yourself | Come out of your shell | Take time to relax and coast | Avoid pier pressure | Sea life's beauty | Don't get tide down | Make waves!

As you can see in the intro photo, Ryan enjoyed receiving this reminder from Grandma of his visits to the Georgia Coast, beach and ocean.


Summary


So if you are shopping for a nature lover, you will find the choices from Earth Sun Moon to be unique and fun for both the gift giver and the recipient. The company has been creating their T-shirts, sweatshirts, hats and more since 1996, all with original designs. Therefore, there is sure to be a design of an animal or outdoor theme that perfectly fits any occasion, like this ocean theme for Ryan did for me. 









(c) Wednesday Elf Product Review written 12/8/2018






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Multi-use Cake Stand Reviewed

More than just a place for cakes

no cake stand
Cake not on a stand (image from Pixabay.com)
One of the things that my youngest daughter asked for this Christmas was a cake stand. She also wanted a salad bowl. As one of Santa's dedicated elves, I found a perfect solution! Let me tell you about it. 

To be honest, I planned to purchase both of those items for her. When on my quest to find a nice cake stand, I came across something that has multiple uses that surprised and delighted me and I know it will be perfect for my daughter. 

The wonderful set can be a cake stand with a dome. The dome can be flipped over to create a salad bowl or a punch bowl. The base can be turned upside down to be used as a chip and dip tray or veggie dip. There are six different ways to serve whatever you need with this one set. Isn't that amazing? 

I also like that instead of having to store six different pieces for six different functions, this set only takes up the space of one piece. That is wonderful for my daughter since her storage space is limited. I think she will be thrilled!

I also like the simple design because it will go with any style of dinnerware and can be used throughout the entire year. It is made from acrylic so it isn't heavy to move, either. Let me tell you, this Santa's helper is so excited about this find!

How about you? Can you use something like this for your serving needs? Perhaps you know someone on your list who would appreciate its multi-function features. It is perfect for a gift for a bride or a house warming gift, too. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, December 3, 2018

Reviewing the Anker PowerCore Portable Charger

Anker PowerCore Review
Anker is becoming a brand name that I trust and depend on. And the PowerCore portable charger is no exception. Whether you travel and do not want to have the security risk of plugging in to public charging stations or you spend time off-grid but still want to keep that cell phone charged for emergencies, the Anker is an excellent choice for portable, secure, and dependable charging.

I bought one for myself but I think this little gadget would be a great gift idea.


What is an Anker PowerCore Portable Charger?


My description of the PowerCore is a rechargeable battery that is small enough to fit in my coat pocket but holds enough power to fully recharge my phone (and Kindle) many times. 

Even though it is an electronic gadget, it is foolproof. 

Three easy steps:

  1. Plug it in to charge the battery using the USB cord (using my laptop or the same plug I use to charge my phone and my Kindle)
  2. Remember to put it into my purse, coat pocket, or camping tote
  3. Plug my phone (or Kindle) into the PowerCore to charge as needed.



The Description from the experts:

  • Qualcomm Quick Charge 3.0 (24w) with Anker's proprietary PowerIQ and VoltageBoost technology - fastest possible charge to almost any USB device. 
  • 7 days of power (fills the iPhone 7 almost seven times, the Galaxy S8 more than four times, and iPad Air 2 one and a half times) 
  • Quick Charge input, a full recharge is over in half the time of standard portable chargers. (written by Anker about the PowerCore 20000 Quick Charge 3.0)

Why I Chose the Anker PowerCore 20000 Quick Charge 3.0


I go camping at my cabin for days on end. I own the Anker PowerPort Solar charger and love it. It is dependable and perfect for off-grid living (see my review here). Perfect, except for when it isn't. 

This year was a record-breaking rainfall year in my area. Rain means solar charges aren't able to work properly (if at all). Lack of sunlight was causing either no charge on my phone or a walk (in the pouring rain) to the Jeep to charge (slowly) my phone. Due to all this rain, I bought the PowerCore "battery".  I charge it fully at the apartment, throw it into my camping tote, and I have a dependable way to charge my phone - rain or shine.

I depend on the Anker PowerPort Solar charger - except during a season of record rainfall.

I chose the 20,000 based on the higher number of charges it provides (compared to some of the more compact PowerCore chargers) and the price tag was as high as I wanted to spend that day.  

My PowerCore came with the charger, the USB cord to charge it, and a slightly padded travel bag. It did not come with the plug that is used in a wall outlet. But I already had several of those. 

There are many Anker PowerCore choices, smaller/less expensive and larger/more expensive.  I love that Anker provides so many options.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, November 30, 2018

Leather Professional Planner Calendar by Gallery Leather Co. Reviewed

Leather Professional Planner Calendar by Gallery Leather Co. Reviewed
For years I have been using the Professional Planner Calendar by Gallery Leather Co.  It is, by far, the best planner calendar that I have ever owned and I do love the leather cover.  I used to buy a different color each year as a way to differentiate between the years at a glance on my shelves.  However, for the last 2 years I have purchased the burgundy.  I just love the deep wine color.  I plan to order the navy this year.  I need to get back to using a different color per year.    Or, perhaps I'll opt for green in the hopes that it will represent strong earnings for the year.

I am reviewing the Gallery Leather Co. Professional Planner today simply because I want the opportunity to point out the fabulous features of this calendar.  I admit, I take them for granted now.  One glance at a different planner reminds me why I choose the Gallery Leather Co. planner year after year.  The fact that they are pretty on my shelf is only one reason.



Fabulous Features of the Leather Professional Planner by Gallery Leather Co.


Aesthetically, it is a beautiful calendar with it's leather cover and gold gilded page edges. Plus, as the name suggests, it has a very professional appearance.  The year is embossed on the front cover, but is not colored or filled with anything.  I love that professional simplistic design.  I am never embarrassed to pull this calendar out in front of anyone when setting appointments or making notes.


Speaking of notes, there is a special note section in this planner.  I use that section to write down ideas for articles, or things I need to do that don't have a deadline.  

Leather Professional Planner Calendar by Gallery Leather Co Reviewed



Leather Professional Planner Calendar Reviewed
The first page displays a quick reference showing a calendar of all of the months and dates in the standard square box display (shown on the right).  That helps when I just need to pull the dates quickly for every Friday in a particular month.   Or to quickly count the number of Fridays in a particular month.

A quick glance page for the previous year and the next year immediately follow the current year calendar.

Following those pages is a larger breakdown of the months for quick notes.  Each month has a page with boxes, one for each date, and area to make quick notes.

Professional Planner by Gallery Leather Co.
  

However, the section of the planner that I most rely on, the one that I refer to multiple times everyday is the daily calendar that displays each day of the week with appointment times.  This is where I organize my work day.  Without it, I would be lost.  The satin bookmark could be used anywhere to mark your place in the book, but I use it to mark the current week so I can quickly flip the planner open to it.


Professional Planner Calendar by Gallery Leather Co.
My fellow contributors already know a great deal about my busy schedule.  They see me at work daily.  But, I am here to tell you, without my trusty planner calendar, I would be lost.  It keeps me focused on what I need to accomplish each day and what should get my attention first each morning.  

I know I am not alone.  Many people scurry from one activity to the next trying to stay ahead and on their fast paced schedules.  I can tell you from experience, this planner calendar really makes a huge difference!
 





Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, November 29, 2018

DesignCap Free Online Poster Maker Reviewed

DesignCap is the free online poster maker offered by PearlMountain to make all your poster and flyer graphics easy to make and easy to design. The variety of templates, colors, text and background options are endless and will whet your appetite to make free posters in a few minutes for all your events.

WYSIWYG What You See Is What You Get


The DesignCap software is WYSIWYG which is very helpful for all levels of poster designers.
Beginner designers will enjoy the ability to change a template with the click of a mouse and the visual changes are immediate. Graphic designers with more advanced skills will find the templates easy to adjust with the text, color and image options.

DesignCap is an online program which is a bonus as software is not required to download to your computer; design the poster and simply save the poster as a download for its' future use.

I used the cover of my cookbook to test DesignCap and loved the ability to upload an image and change the background in a few seconds.

Background Options DesignCap

DesignCap offers a large variety of background colors and one can get lost (in a good way!) browsing through the options and making changes.

This is the DesignCap template I used for my cookbook.



This is the same template with a different border using the background menu.
The Low Oxalate Cookbook

The border was changed with a quick of the mouse when browsing the background menu. It was very helpful to have different colors and designs available to change the colors of the background.

Intuitive Design

Overall I found the menus easy to use and intuitive. The text menu to change the font size was less intuitive; however this is more than likely dependent upon the skills the designer has prior to using DesignCap. Two options exist to change the font size: the A+ or A-  or the font size can be changed manually. I like the ability to choose the font size manually; however, a first glance it appears the font size is limited to the drop down menu sizes when in fact any size font can be chosen by typing in the size. DesignCap offers tutorials for assistance and step by step guidance through its' menu options.

Image Size


The design can be saved in either jpg or png format. Remember this is a poster therefore the size is large. The image can then be scaled down if necessary or optimized prior to using on a website.

PearlMountain

DesignCap is the latest online design program from PearlMountain along with the established Fotojet and DesignEvo, the free online logo maker. The mission of PearlMountain, "We aim to make professional photo editing and graphic design capability accessible to everyone."





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, November 17, 2018

Reviewing How to Clean Jewelry Like a Pro!

Connoisseur's Jewelry Wipes
I have recently discovered Connoisseur's jewelry wipes and I have to say they are fantastic!

My daughter has just graduated high school and I thought I would give her some moonstone ear rings that have some family history to them.   My daughter loves moonstones and these originally belonged to her great grandmother.

I got them out of a jewelry box that they've been in for about 17 years and they looked tarnished and old.   I popped them in some vodka overnight and then gave them a wipe with a soft cloth and they certainly looked better, but not great.

My husband went down to a manufacturing jeweler to see about getting them cleaned, she gave one of them a quick clean with a Connoisseur jewelry wipe to demonstrate and then gave him the price to purchase a pack and the price for a professional clean.

When I got home from work he showed me the two ear rings and in my mind it was a no brainer - we went and brought the wipes the very next day!

Using Connoisseur's Jewelry Wipes


When I opened up the container that the wipes came in I was a little surprised.  I expected the wipes to be damp, like cleansing wipes I guess, but they were dry.   I wiped the jewelry and the wipes looked black in places where they were doing their job.

All you have to do is gently wipe the metal part of the jewelry - you can wipe the stones, but the wipes make no difference to stones.  These wipes work on either gold or silver.

The end result was that the ear rings looked like they had just come out of a jewelers box brand new!

It was so easy to simply wipe the jewelry that I'm looking forward to 'refreshing' a few pieces of old jewelry I have.  One thing I will say, I do not think I'll be getting my jewelry cleaned by a jeweler again since discovering their 'secret weapon'.

I thoroughly recommend these jewelry wipes and if anyone is wondering, my daughter loved her ear rings and not just because they were moonstones, but because of the family history that was attached to them.

Have you ever heard of or used Connoisseur's jewelry wipes?


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, November 16, 2018

Duraflame Firelogs Reviewed - Wood Alternatives for Fireplace

Duraflame Firelogs Reviewed - Wood Alternatives for Fireplace
If you love a great fire, but don't love the idea of chopping wood or cutting down trees, than you are going to love Duraflame firelogs!

We started using the Duraflame firelogs years ago. Once it gets cold outside, my husband starts every day by his outdoor fireplace, drinking his coffee and simply enjoying the great outdoors.  As fireplace enthusiasts, we are very familiar with woodpiles and the creatures that made their homes in them.  Therefore, neither of us are keen on having a woodpile stacked close to our home.  Frankly, if it was left to me to go to a woodpile and bring in wood, I would probably start burning the furniture inside first.  As much as I love mice, I really, really hate snakes!

The Duraflame firelogs are a most excellent alternative!



Duraflame Firelogs


 Duraflame 2.5 lb 1.5-hr Firelog, 6 pkA Duraflame firelog will last for at least 1½ hours, which is the perfect amount of time for hanging around an outdoor fireplace in the cold.  If you need more time, simply use a second firelog after the first one has gone out.  Not only do they create that inviting fireplace ambience, but they are actually warm.  Because the Duraflame firelogs are made with sawdust, they smell like firewood. 

We use them outside only, but they are actually made to burn inside in a well-vented, open hearth fireplace in place of burning real wood.  

For the environmentalist who enjoys a great fire, the Duraflame firelog is the perfect replacement.  Since they are made of sawdust, agricultural fibers, and wax, they don't require cutting down trees to have a fire.  It is a green, environmentally friendly way to have a fire.  And, for those of us who hate discovering creatures in the woodpile, well needless to say, we are also thrilled.

Each log comes individually packaged inside the box.  Don't unwrap the log!  You light the firelog by lighting the paper wrapper, which serves as the perfect fire starter.  



Information About our Outdoor Fireplace shown in the introduction photo:  We bought our outdoor fireplace 7 years ago and have been very pleased with it. Unfortunately, the Char-Broil Trentino Deluxe Outdoor Fireplace has been discontinued.

If you need an outdoor fireplace, we did purchase ours from Amazon and you can see their current "in stock" models by clicking here.




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

DIY Floor Cleaner Recipe Reviewed

Works on all floor types

diy floor cleaner
Make your own cleaning solution
I would like to review a DIY floor cleaner recipe with you today. It is perfect to use on all hard floor surfaces, it is non-toxic and it is easy on the budget. What more could a gal ask for?

Since purchasing my Kray Spray Mop I have been looking for good cleaning solution recipes to use. I can use just plain water and white vinegar but I wanted something a little more robust. One that would clean well, not streak and be environmentally friendly. I found one that I love and just about all of the ingredients were already in my pantry. 

All Purpose Floor Cleaner Recipe

  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup rubbing alcohol
  • 3 drops dish washing soap
  • 5 to 10 drops of essential oil
You will also want a container to keep your solution in for future use. I use an empty 1 gallon vinegar bottle to store mine in. It is a good idea to store the floor cleaner away from any heat. 

This particular formula works well because each ingredient serves a purpose in the cleaning process. The water acts as a base for the other ingredients and it helps to loosen any grime on the floor. The white vinegar acts as a disinfectant and a degreaser. I might add that even though vinegar is acidic this diluted mixture should not harm stone floors. The rubbing alcohol also helps to degrease and disinfect but its main purpose in this floor cleaner is to help the floor dry quickly and not leave any streaks. The dish soap will dissolve any bonds between the dirt and the floor, it cleans, and it also breaks down any greasy residue on your floor. Use a basic dish soap that is not oil based (causes streaking and smearing). The dish soap should not have moisturizers, bleach or antibacterial substances. You might think that the added anti-bacteria would be helpful but you don't need it because you already have the vinegar and alcohol for that purpose. The essential oil just works to offset the smell of the vinegar and rubbing alcohol. Watch carefully which essential oil that you use because the ones that are compounds are usually oil based. The oil will cause smears and streaks just like it would if there is oil in your dish soap. 

And that is it! This floor cleaner is that easy to make and you will love the cleanness of your floor plus this solution leaves a nice shine, too. So, if you are looking for a floor cleaner that is economical, safe for children and pets, cleans super well and is easy to make try this do it yourself recipe for mopping your floors. I really don't think that you will be disappointed!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Kray Spray Mop Kit Reviewed

Mopping Floors Made Easier

floor mop
Mop and bucket image courtesy of pixabay.com
Let me review my new favorite tool the Kray Spray Mop for you today. This wonderful addition to my arsenal for cleaning is so much better than what I have been using. 

For the last several years I have used a combination dust mop and wet mop made by a well known company. It is fine but I constantly had to buy replacement pads that were for dry dusting of the floors or the wet ones when I wanted to clean the floors. I found it to be inconvenient and after a while costly to be always buying the refill packs. That won't be a problem any longer. 

As I looked into getting a spray mop, I almost purchased the one from the same company who makes the one that I have now. What I didn't like about that particular brand was that the mop required batteries to operate the spray action. I noticed in the some of the reviews that some people experienced problems with the battery operation so I kept looking. That is when I found this one that does not use batteries at all. 

Another feature that I did not like about the competitor was that you had to use their solution (another thing to have to replenish) and those bottles could not easily be refilled. The Kray Spray mop kit comes with three refillable bottles that I can put my own solution in. I like that idea a lot! I can mix different cleaners for the different floor types in my home. 

I also love that the kit comes with five microfiber pads that attach to the mop head with a velcro type system. The pads are re-usable and I can throw them in the washing machine when they become soiled. No more having to buy replacements! The pads can be used for dust mopping or I can just use the spray feature when I want to wet mop. Easy peasy! 

For me, this mop kit will be so much easier to use and much more economical, too. How about you? Does this mop kit appeal to you? 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, November 5, 2018

Reviewing the Teamoy Tunisian Crochet Hook Case

The Teamoy Tunisian Crochet Hook Case
Organization is not my strong suit. So I'm really happy when I find something that helps me to be more organized. I have found the Teamoy Tunisian Crochet Hook Case and I'm thrilled about how roomy, well-made, and helpful this little case is. Not only does it hold my brand new Tunisian Crochet Hooks, there is plenty of room for my other crochet hooks and other small supplies. 


Teamoy Tunisian Crochet Hook Case


This case is tall and thin; made to hold Tunisian crochet hooks (crochet hooks that are very similar in length and size to a single knitting needle). 

This little soft-sided case has two main zippered sections, Within each of those sections there is a variety of pockets and elastic bands that can organize longer crochet hooks (or knitting needles), traditional crochet hooks, as well as smaller supplies such as my locking stitch markers.

Not only are the crochet hooks held in by elasticized straps, the ends tuck in under flaps. This awesome design is going to prevent my clumsy self from accidentally dumping the contents out onto the floor each time I open the case. At this point, I can't imagine anything falling out accidentally. The zippers seem like quality zippers; not those cheapo zippers that are on many items.

This case is made from a "high quality and durable material, water-resistant and easy to clean up". There are also several colors/prints to choose from. I chose the cute cat print. 

The BEST feature about this case was the small price tag. It cost only $16.99 ! 

The only small complaint I have about this case, and it may be a complaint specifically to me, is the smell of the case when it arrived. It was wrapped in a sealed plastic bag. The smell of the "durable material" was strong when I opened that sealed packaging. It had an oily, "plastic" smell that bothered me (I am very sensitive to some chemical smells). I wiped off the case with a damp, slightly soapy cloth and then let the case air out before I spent time checking out all of the little pockets. There is no lingering odor.

If you crochet (or knit) and are in need of some organization, Teamoy may have a case for you.



If you'd like to see my first Tunisian crochet project (with gorgeous DK Colors yarn) check out my post here

my first Tunisian Crochet on Treasures, Travel, and Tales 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, November 3, 2018

Reviewing How Aromatherapy Can Enhance Your Life

how to use essential oils to enhance your life every day
How to use aromatherapy in your life
I think everyone should have a little aromatherapy in their life and it can be enjoyed in so many different ways.

You can use essential oils as air freshner or in cleaners around the home.  You can diffuse them or use them in massage oils.  You can also add them to your skincare and so much more.

Let's have a look at just how you can add them into your life easily, safely and get maximum enjoyment all at the same time.

First you have to think of ways that you would enjoy using them and get an oil that can multi task for you.  I always think that tea tree, lemon and lavender oils are good ones to start with because they can be used in so many different ways.

Once you are used to using essential oils regularly you can start to expand your aromatherapy collection and venture into oils such as Roman chamomile, jasmine, lime, geranium and rosemary to name a few that I love.

Getting Started Using Essential Oils


For anyone getting started with essential oils I highly recommend joining this facebook group - Using & Enjoying Essential Oils with Louanne - as a disclaimer it's one I've just started myself!

The most common use of essential oils in the home seems to be as an air freshner.  I use a difuser that I plug in (I used to use an oil burner that you would use tea light candles in, but I worry about fires these days!).  If you don't want to invest in a difuser in case you don't use it then rice is your friend.

Using Rice in Place of Pot Pourri

You know the little 'bowls' of pot pourri people have around the place, well you can add uncooked rice to a small container and then add a few drops of essential oils and you have the same fragrance carrier.  It should go without saying that you must not cook the rice once you've used it like this!

I'm relatively new to this concept as I only heard about it a few months ago, but it works really well!

Carpet Freshner Too!


If you have carpet you can also freshen up the smell in the room by creating your very own natural version of 'shake n vac'.   All you need is baking soda and your favorite essential oil, I like lavender or one of the citrus oils.

For each cup of baking soda you can add 5-7 drops of essential oils and shake it up really well (it can clump sometimes so I have heard it suggested that you use a whisk to mix it up before adding to a container ... I have never done that!

I use an old carpet freshner (a generic shake n vac powder) container as it already has the holes for you to shake it out of - doesn't get any easier!

While we're talking about carpets - do you have a bag in your vacuum or do you have a bagless one?  I have a bagless vacuum at the moment, but when I had my old bagged vacuum cleaner I would put 2-3 drops of tea tree, lemon or lavender oil into the bag each time I emptied it, you could smell the fragrance every time you turned the vacuum on.

Household Cleaners Using Essential Oils

There are lots of ways you can incorporate essential oils into your cleaning routine besides using it on your carpet.  You can make your own multi purpose cleaner, window cleaner, use it in the toilet cistern and many more.

I love using it in the toilet cistern and have been doing this for years - I add 6-10 drops of tea tree oil into the cistern and every time you flush the toilet you get a faint whiff of tea tree oil, when you stop getting that whiff (or once a week) you add 6-10 drops again.

I am sure that it makes the toilet easier to clean as well, but I may be imagining that!

Years ago where I worked had lino flooring and we would often get black marks left by people's shoes - we simply added a couple of drops of eucalyptus oil to a cloth and wiped it on the mark - gone!

There are lots of recipes for cleaning products to be found online that use lemon or tea tree oils.

Aromatherapy to Help With Sleeping

So many people have problems sleeping and this is something that aromatherapy can really help with from pillow sprays to having a diffuser in the bedroom.

On my facebook group I have a great recipe for a pillow spray that you can use, but you can also just add a few drops of lavender and/or chamomile oil to a hankerchief and take that to bed with you.

Using a diffuser is a great idea to help with sleeping.  Many years ago I worked with a lady who's daughter used to get so stressed out at college that she couldn't sleep (she also suffered from asthma).  She brought her a diffuser and a relaxing oil blend and instructed her to use it at night - not only was she able to sleep better, her asthma also seemed to improve.

Of course a lovely relaxing massage before going to bed is also a great way to help you sleep, you may have to take times with your partner as to who has the massage though!

Beauty Uses for Essential Oils

You can use essential oils to make your own beauty products or add them to your existing beauty products to enhance them.

There's not enough time to go into all of the uses for these, but the more common ones you can use is to add a few drops of lavender oil to a hand cream, add a few drops of tea tree oil to a shampoo and to add a drop of rose oil to a face mask.

Gift Ideas with Essential Oils


If you have essential oils on hand you can find lots of ways to incorporate them into fantastic gift ideas such as -


  • bath bombs
  • facial sprays
  • hand creams
  • cuticle oil
  • lavender eye pillows


Ready to Get Started?


You could buy these essential oils one at a time or if you want to get started right away then we have a special set that is an economical way of getting the three must have essential oils to start along with another pillar essential oil and some blended essential oils.

Holiday Set of Essential Oils


They are all sent to you in a box which is great because essential oils should be kept in a dark cool space ideally.


More articles on Aromatherapy which I'm sure you'll enjoy -


Reviewing an Essential Oil Holiday SetReviewing an Essential Oil Holiday Set
Arbonne have just brought out their holiday range for 2018 and this year it includes a gorgeous essential oil set. If you're interested in using essential oils then this is a great way to start your selection.

Reviewing Uses for Tea Tree OilReviewing Uses for Tea Tree Oil
Over the years I have used tea tree oil in many ways, from household uses to medicinal uses and there are lots of other uses that I haven't tried. Tea Tree oil has antiseptic properties and is both a germicide and a fungicide

Reviewing Arbonne's Focus Blend Reviewing Arbonne's Focus Blend
This blend of oils contains basil, rosemary, frankincense, bergamot and lemon. The combination of these oils helps to clear the mind and uplift your emotions which is perfect for increasing your focus and productivity

How To Make The Easiest Cuticle Oil EverHow To Make The Easiest Cuticle Oil Ever
There are so many recipes for DIY cuticle oil that they would make your head spin, but many of them used so many ingredients that it just seem such an effort so when I found a simple recipe with only 3 ingredients ..

Reviewing How Aromatherapy Can Help Relieve StressReviewing How Aromatherapy Can Help Relieve Stress
I thought it would be handy to showcase which aromatherapy oils are the best to help relieve stress and how you can incorporate them into your lifestyle to make stress a thing of the past.

Using & Enjoying Essential Oils with LouanneUsing & Enjoying Essential Oils with Louanne
A facebook group where we can talk about essential oils and how to incorporate them into your life.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Holiday Gift Wrap Bundle Set Reviewed

Coordinated Packages Under The Tree

holiday gift wrap
Holiday Wrap For pretty gifting (image courtesy of pixabay.com)
Before you know it, the time for making sure we have enough supplies for our holiday gift wrapping will be upon us. I don't know about you but I like to have a nice variety of papers on hand but I also like for the packages to have a coordinated look to them. 

I found a nice bundle set to get for my gifts this year and I thought that I would share my discovery with you today. The set comes with three rolls of wrapping paper which have a design on both sides, gift tags and ribbon. I love that they are all color coordinated. The set that I plan to get is in reds and golds but there is an option to choose different color sets if the red and gold does not appeal to you. Our tree is predominately red and gold so this set will look really nice under our tree this year. 

Did you know that red and gold are very traditional colors for the Christmas holiday? Red is often used to represent the blood of Christ when he died on the cross but also the bishops robes were often red and later St. Nicholas and Santa Claus wore red. Gold represents one of the gifts brought to the Christ child and is also used to show the star over Bethlehem. 

Often times in the past I have purchased gift wrap and then tried to find tags and ribbon that would work well but that can be a real pain in the backside. Finding a set that is already matched will make my job so much easier this year. I know that most likely no one will even notice that everything is wrapped in a coordinated color scheme but I will know. Maybe it won't register with the family at all and that is just fine. It might be one of those subtle things that they know they liked it but can't put their finger on why. 

How about you? Do you like for all of your gifts to coordinate or do you just try to use up the paper you have on hand before purchasing new paper, ribbon, and gift tags? 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Whimsical Throw Pillow Covers Reviewed

Fun Ways To Cover Your Pillows

throw pillows
Pillows image from Pixabay.com
Today, I would like to show you a fun option to cover your throw pillows in an economical and whimsical way. If you are like me, you have several around the house that could be changed with your mood or even the season of year. 

I love the thought of covering pillows that I already have instead of having to go out and buy more pillows. Getting a few pillow cases that match the size of my pillows is an easy solution. 

I should mention that if you don't have many throw pillows, you can purchase the cover and a form to use. That just is not a problem in our home because I own more pillows than most already. 

For less than ten greenbacks you can surely find at least one pillow cover that you like. The option that I found has 43 different patterns to chose from. There are several that have a phrase about books and reading but there are also some for the different holidays during the year like Easter and Christmas and even some nice ones with an autumn theme. 

The cases or covers that I found fit 18 by 18 inch pillows and do not come with the pillow insert. They are made from a cotton linen fabric and are machine washable. The printing is on one side only and did I mention that they are really inexpensive? I did? Well, it was worth noting again. 

These are so fun that not only will I be getting one or two for myself but they will make a great gift for Christmas or a house warming party. 

What do you think? Do you like the idea of being able to have a few pillow covers to change the look of your throw pillows? 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.