Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts

Thursday, May 30, 2024

The World of Play-Doh

The World of Play-Doh

WHAT IS PLAY-DOH?


Play-Doh is a non-toxic modeling material for young children, for older children and, of course, for the young at heart. It is made from a blend of wheat flour, water, salt, boric acid, and mineral oil. Join me here as I review a bit of the history of the iconic play compound.

A BRIEF HISTORY


Play-Doh was first made as a wallpaper cleaner in the United States in the 1930s and became a children’s product in the 1950s when it appeared at an educational convention and was eventually used in schools. Initially the department store Woodward and Lothrop took on the product but when Macy’s and Marshall Field’s saw how popular the modelling compound was, they also took it on. Play-Doh did not have money for advertising so, in what turned out to be a stroke of genius, they arranged for Captain Kangaroo, the then massively popular children’s show, to use it on air once a week. The rest is, as they say, history.

THE COMPANY'S HISTORY, A VIDEO


The Accidental Birth of Play-Doh: Uncover the complete company history via interesting, 10-minute long YouTube video:


CONTINUED POPULARITY


Play-Doh has continued to be popular in the decades that followed and is now available in an endless array of sets that include everything from cans of dough to items like the perennially popular Fun Factory to pop culture themes of the day like Star Wars and Disney. The product made the Toy Industry’s Association Century of Toys List in 2003.

SKILL DEVELOPMENT


Play-Doh is a wonderful product for developing children’s skills. Fine motor skills and hand-eye coordination are enhanced with all of the pushing, squishing, squeezing, and pinching that is required to play with the product. Literacy and numeracy are promoted when a child creates shapes and numbers and acts out stories. Calm and focus are a natural result of this quiet activity that also supports creativity, imagination, playtime and social skills. Whether a child has a few colors of the modeling material or many colors, the options are endless.

TODAY


According to the video shown above, Play-Doh is available in over 80 countries today and the current owner, Hasbro, produces over 500 million cans of the modeling compound each year.

Is there a can of Play-Doh in your future?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Reviewing ImmunityFizz Vitamin C Fizz Sticks

ImmunityFizz to support your immune system
ImmunityFizz by Arbonne

This year I have started to take ImmunityFizz every day and I love it. The taste is amazing and I love the feeling that I am doing something to improve my immune system. The fact that the drink it makes is a gorgeous purple colour has nothing to do with my enjoyment, despite what my daughter says!

So what's so special about ImmunityFizz, well it is a delicious drink that is designed to support your immune system.

It comes in a box of 30 stick packs that you add to water (just like the fizz sticks I also enjoy). Personally, I also add a few ice cubes and enjoy it as my favourtie after-work drink (I already have my morning drink sorted with my greens).

The ingredients include Arabinogalactin which is from the North American Larch Tree and has been clinically studied to support immune response. It also includes Vitamin D, Vitamin C, Zinc and Elderberry Extract.

You only take one stick a day so a box gives you a month's supply. I have been taking it religiously every day and so far I've avoided the viruses that are doing the rounds here in Australia as we head into winter. I don't know if I can thank ImmunityFizz for the fact that I've avoided these viruses, but I do know that it makes me feel good to be proactive about supporting my immune system.

Another thing that I really love is that I take the ImmunityFizz in a glass with 600ml of water so that's adding to my water intake for the day (something that I have to remind myself about during winter).

I used to take a tablet daily to boost my immune system, but I definitely prefer enjoying this drink instead. Do you think you'd prefer a tablet or a drink to support your immunity?

Delicious and good for supporting your immune system - ImmunityFizz

Don't you think it looks lovely? It has been strongly suggested by my daughter that maybe I love it because it's purple and I'll admit the colour doesn't hurt LOL!

If you'd like more information about these, please contact me or click on this link for the meet the product sheet




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, May 27, 2024

Universal Knife Block Reviewed

Is kitchen counter space tight? Is a traditional wood knife block taking up too much of the kitchen counter? The Universal Knife Black may be right in your lane to increase functionality along with increasing counter space.


I found this alternative to the traditional wood knife block when shopping to replace a very attractive, but very heavy and large knife block. With counter space at a premium the Universal Knife Block caught my shopping attention and I decided to give it a try.

Material

The Universal Knife Block comes in a three colors: black, white and lime green. The white and black colors are speckled to resemble marble (and actually from a distance the visual of marble is very close!) An up close inspection and it is evident the material is imitation and the block is in fact made of plastic.

Price Point And Convenience

The top of the knife black looks like a wavy grate. Knifes of all types easily fit between the "grates" with the handles straight up. This design is a huge space saver whether it be on the counter or in a kitchen cabinet. 

The block is very easy to use and fits all different size and shapes of knives.  The price point of twenty dollars much less expensive than traditional wood knife blocks. If down sizing or looking to increase counter space the Universal Knife Block is a very affordable alternative to wood. 

Recomendation

The Universal Knife Block has already become a favorite. The block has two homes: 1. On the counter when cooking and 2. In a cabinet to be easily stored away. I do not miss the traditional heavy wood knife block taking up space on the counter.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, May 26, 2024

The Use of Peppermint Oil to Deter Squirrels and Certain Insects

The Use of Peppermint Oil to Deter Squirrels and Certain Insects
I've been on the hunt for a natural, safe remedy to deter squirrels from digging in my hanging pots and garden and something that would naturally deter wasps and spiders

After researching various options, I discovered that peppermint oil is highly recommended for these purposes. Its strong, minty aroma effectively repels these pests while being safe for the environment, pets, and humans when used properly.

Peppermint oil is a popular natural remedy for deterring various indoor and outdoor pests. This essential oil, derived from the peppermint plant, has a strong scent that many pests find overwhelming and unpleasant. 

Here, I explore how to use peppermint oil to deter spiders indoors, wasps outdoors, and squirrels digging in your flower pots. I also discuss what pests peppermint oil won't deter and whether it might attract any pests.

Note: I've made the suggested diluted mixture, but I also use the pure oil outside (not diluted).

How to Use Peppermint Oil as a Pest Deterrent

General Preparation:

  • Mix peppermint oil with water to create a spray.
  • Use 10-15 drops of peppermint oil per cup of water.
  • For stronger solutions, use 20-30 drops per cup of water.
  • Shake the mixture well before each use.
  • I've also put some pure oil on the bricks of my house near my hanging pots as a potential climbing deterrent for squirrels.

Indoors (Spiders):

  • Spray the mixture around windows, doors, and baseboards.
  • Apply to corners, cracks, and other entry points where spiders may enter.
  • Reapply every 2-3 weeks or after cleaning.
  • I've sprayed the entire perimeter of my basement using this mixture. It seems to help!

Outdoors (Wasps):

  • Spray around areas where wasps are likely to build nests, such as under eaves, around porch roofs, and in sheds.
  • Apply to outdoor furniture and around picnic areas. I spray it under my outdoor table.
  • Reapply every few days or after rain.
  • I apply it to my decorative stones near my flowers and the open brick slots outside the house where I see the little "&#$%(" going in!
  • I have a little container on the patio table with pure peppermint oil.

Flower Pots (Squirrels):

  • They say you can spray the mixture directly onto the soil of flower pots, but I need to be brave enough to do that! I have sprayed it on my pots and around the edges of the flower pots.
  • I have yet to try dousing cotton balls with peppermint oil and placing them in the pots.
  • Reapply every 2-3 days or after watering.

What Peppermint Oil Won't Do

  • Rodents: Peppermint oil might be effective against mice and rats, but it is not a guaranteed deterrent. I couldn't speak to its effectiveness for this use. I encourage you to research more about rodents.
  • Significant Pests: It won't deter larger pests such as raccoons.
  • Persistent Insects: Peppermint oil alone may not significantly deter certain insects, such as ants and cockroaches.

Potential Insects That Peppermint Oil Might Attract

  • Pollinators: Bees and butterflies, which are generally drawn to floral and sweet scents, might be attracted to the sweet scent of peppermint oil.

Best Practices for Using Peppermint Oil

  • Consistency: Regular application is key to maintaining the effectiveness of peppermint oil as a deterrent.
  • Targeted Application: Focus on areas where pests are commonly found or seen entering.
  • Alternative Solutions: Consider integrating other pest control methods for persistent or large infestations.

Additional Tips

  • Safety: Ensure the peppermint oil mixture does not contact pets or children. While natural, it can still cause irritation.
  • Storage: Store peppermint oil in a cool, dark place to maintain potency.
  • Testing: Before widespread use, test the mixture in a small area to ensure it does not damage surfaces or plants.

Conclusion

Peppermint oil is an effective natural remedy for deterring spiders indoors, wasps outdoors, and squirrels from digging in your flower pots. 

Peppermint oil can be part of your pest control strategy by following proper application methods and understanding its limitations. 

It does seem to work for our home and the outdoor patio; I have had fewer wasps harassing me in the backyard so far this year. Since it's an easy, natural solution, I use peppermint oil inside and outside.

ADDED BONUS TIP:

Every month, I change our furnace filter and add about 20 drops of peppermint oil directly on the filter to give the house a pleasant, fresh peppermint scent throughout. It does wear off quickly (within a day or so).

************

Where I Buy My Peppermint Oil:

I buy my peppermint oil from Amazon. There are many to choose from. Here's the latest one I purchased.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, May 24, 2024

Cascade Platinum Dishwasher Cleaner Reviewed

cascade platinum dishwasher cleaner
In my last review, I explained why we run a washing machine cleaning packet through a new home's washing machine on move-in day.  We also run a dishwasher cleaner through the family members new home's dishwasher.

Like clothes washing machines, the dishwasher has been used by previous tenants or owners.  They may not have worried about the cleanliness of the dishwasher's interior or grease build-up on the bottom, sides or door interior.  It could also have an unpleasant odor and need cleaning.

In my own home, I keep the dishwasher cleaner tabs on-hand and use then as needed.  In the image on the right, you can see the residual grease on the inside of the dishwasher door still there after I washed the dishes.  The grease stain wouldn't just easily wipe off, so I ran the empty dishwasher with the Cascade cleaner.  

Viola!  A clean dishwasher, ready for the next load of dirty dishes.

 

Cascade Platinum Dishwasher Cleaner

 Cascade Platinum Dishwasher Cleaner, 3 countCheck PriceCleaning a dishwasher is easy when you use the convenient Cascade Platinum Dishwasher cleaner.

  • Use in an empty dishwasher
  • Eliminates odor
  • Remove grease buildup
  • Remove limescale buildup
  • Recommended use - once a month

To Use:  Simply place the Cascade Platinum Dishwasher tab in the dishwasher dispenser, close the dispenser door, and run the empty dishwasher to clean. 

 

 


 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, May 22, 2024

The Best Low Carb, High Protein, Gluten-Free Pasta

Kaizen Low Carb Pasta made with lupin flour is a health-conscious alternative to traditional pasta made with wheat flour and semolina. It is the best pasta I have found for those of us who follow a low-carb diet, such as keto enthusiasts, diabetics, or anyone looking to reduce their carbohydrate intake. It is also a great option for people who follow a gluten-free diet.

This product review will cover Kaizen pasta’s taste, texture, nutritional value, preparation, and overall value. As a bonus, I will also share a simple recipe I developed that uses Kaizen fusilli.

Kaizen low carb, high protein, gluten-free pasta

Taste and Texture

One of the most critical aspects of any pasta product is its taste and texture. Kaizen low carb pasta aims to mimic the familiar experience of traditional pasta, and it does a commendable job.

Taste

The pasta has a mild, slightly nutty flavor that pairs well with a variety of sauces. It reminds me of chickpea pasta. 

While it doesn't have the same taste as pasta made from wheat flour and semolina, it is quite enjoyable when combined with robust sauces like marinara or Alfredo. 

Texture

The texture is pleasantly firm, though slightly different from traditional pasta. It is a bit chewier, which can take some getting used to, but it holds up well in both hot and cold dishes. 

Nutritional Value

Kaizen low carb pasta shines in its nutritional profile, making it an attractive option for health-conscious consumers.

Low in Carbohydrates

This pasta is significantly lower in carbs compared to regular pasta, making it suitable for low-carb and keto diets. Each serving contains only 6 grams of net carbs, depending on the specific variety. 

The company has also come out with an even lower-carb pasta line, which I have ordered and will review after I have tried it.

High in Protein

With 20 grams of protein per serving, this pasta helps in meeting daily protein requirements, which is beneficial for muscle maintenance and overall health. 

High in Fiber

The pasta has 15 grams of dietary fiber per serving, contributing to better digestive health and helping to keep you full for longer.

Gluten-Free

Kaizen pasta has been reformulated with a gluten-free recipe, so more people can enjoy it.

No Artificial Ingredients

Kaizen prides itself on using natural ingredients, which is a big plus for those avoiding artificial additives and preservatives. 

Preparation

Preparing Kaizen Low Carb Pasta is straightforward and similar to traditional pasta. Just bring a large pot of salted water to a boil, cook the pasta for about 5–6 minutes (to the desired texture), drain, and use as desired, with a sauce or in recipes. 

Although the texture is different than traditional pasta made from wheat and semolina flours and cannot be cooked al dente, it's crucial to monitor the pasta closely to avoid overcooking so it does not become mushy.

Versatility

Kaizen Low Carb Pasta is versatile and, at the time of this post's publication, is available in four shapes: Fusilli, ziti, radiatore, and cavatappi. This makes it suitable for a variety of dishes.

It works well in classic hot pasta dishes like spaghetti Bolognese, carbonara, lasagna, and baked casseroles.

I used it to make a low-carb, high-protein, high-fiber version of a traditional Jewish sweet noodle kugel (a sweet egg, cottage cheese, and noodle casserole) and it was absolutely delicious!

It also holds up well in cold pasta salads, providing a hearty base for a variety of fresh ingredients. 

Overall Value

Considering its health benefits, Kaizen low carb pasta offers good value for money. Although it is more expensive than conventional pasta made with wheat flour and semolina, the added nutritional benefits will justify the higher price point for many consumers.

It's particularly valuable for those who need to manage their carbohydrate intake, follow a gluten-free diet, or want a higher protein alternative to standard pasta.

Kaizen low carb pasta is an excellent product for anyone seeking a healthier alternative to traditional pasta without compromising on taste and texture. Its high protein and fiber content, combined with its low carbohydrate profile, make it a standout option for low-carb dieters and health-conscious individuals. While it may require a slight adjustment in cooking and texture expectations, its versatility and nutritional benefits make it a worthwhile addition to your pantry.


Low Carb Fusilli With Pork and Mushroom Ragu

I whip up this delicious, low carb pasta dish often because it's quick and easy to make and my husband and I both enjoy it.

I usually serve it with a side salad and, sometimes, with garlic bread made with Hero bread (expensive but 0 net carbs and exceptional taste and texture for a keto-friendly bread).

I hope you and your family enjoy it.

Buon appetito!

Servings: 4

Ingredients

Boiling water

Salt

1 pound ground pork

8 oz. portabello mushrooms

1/4 cup wine (red is traditional but white is good, too)

Chopped fresh or dried Italian herbs (optional)

15.5 oz. jar Rao's Homemade Marinara sauce

8 oz. box Kaizen Fusilli low carb pasta

Freshly grated Parmigiano-Romano cheese

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil while you make the pork and mushroom ragu (meat sauce).
  2. In a large nonstick skillet, crumble and lightly brown the ground pork over medium-high heat.
  3. Slice the mushrooms and add them to the browned pork. Stir occasionally until the mushrooms are soft.
  4. Stir in the wine and the optional seasonings and cook until the wine is reduced by about half.
  5. Stir in the marinara sauce and turn the heat to a low simmer.
  6. Stir the fusilli into the boiling salted water (some foaming is normal) and boil for 5 minutes.
  7. Drain and stir the cooked pasta into the pork and mushroom ragu. Turn the heat down to low and let the pasta "marry" with the sauce for 3 to 5 minutes.
  8. Divide into four portions and grate some Parmigiano-Romano cheese over the top just before serving.


The Best Low Carb, High Protein, Gluten-Free Pasta by Margaret Schindel


Read More Low Carb & Keto Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Recipes by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Health Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, May 21, 2024

The Classic Record Player Stand - Reviewed

 In this age of digital streaming, there is something undeniably charming about spinning vinyl records on a classic turntable. Our daughter bought Fran a classic turntable for her birthday this year. Since we didn't have a place for it we had to find a record player stand. 

The classic record player stand - reviewed

Fran began a search for what she wanted to buy for our new turntable. Yes, now we have another piece of furniture in the house. She found this Amil Series stand from Mazefur with more of a contemporary style. It's perfect for the new turntable and fits nicely in our living room.

The stand was very easy to assemble with excellent easy-to-follow instructions. The top surface offers a stable platform for our turntable, with enough space to accommodate even a larger model. 

The stand has a sleek pull-out drawer at the top, a shelf right below the drawer, and plenty of storage space for our extensive collection of vinyl records to be stored safely.

Many turntables on the market today have built-in CD players, ours does not. The shelf below the drawer will be perfect for a CD player, as we also have an extensive collection of CDs. The shelf has wire management access on the back panel for easy installation of the wires.

There are many styles of record player stands to choose from. We like the style of the one we purchased, but you can find many stands that offer a retro look to bring you back in time.

Find more Product Reviews on ReviewThis here:

ReviewThisProductReviews.com

Below are just a couple of styles you will find on Amazon.

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, May 17, 2024

Tide Washing Machine Cleaner Reviewed

tide washing machine cleaner
Throughout our children's college and establishing careers years, there were many moves.  For 10+ years we were annually moving our children in and out of dorms, apartments or rented houses with used appliance.  Even now, as they buy homes, they still have used appliances.  Only once, in all of those moves, have either of them purchased a new washing machine.  Therefore, one of the first things we have done on moving day, was to start the empty washing machine with a Tide washing machine cleaner packet.

Often, the washing machines have set dormant for a week or longer.  Plus, we have no way of knowing what might have been washed in them previously.  Prior tenants clothes could have been muddy or heavily soiled.  Some of the washing machines even had a damp, nasty smell inside.  I've always felt like the washing machine tub needed to be cleaned.  We frequently opted to run them twice with the cleaning packets before regular use.

I associate the washing machine cleaning packets with moving.  However, I have recently started using them in my own washing machine.  Merlin, our Labrador Retriever, will be 16 years old this month.  He sleeps in his doggy bed at the foot of our bed.  As the years have crept up on him, he doesn't move as fast and his bed occasionally gets soiled and must be washed.  After I wash his bed cover and pillow, I use the Tide cleaning packet in our washing machine.  It might not be necessary since I set the machine for 2 rinse cycles, but I feel better knowing the machine has been washed and cleaned before I put our clothes in it.

 

Tide Washing Machine Packets

 Washing Machine Cleaner by TideCheck Price Because of the scented smell, I don't use Tide detergent on our clothes or towels, but I do love the Tide packets for cleaning the empty washing machine. 

As you can see in the photo above, I have a top loading machine but the packets are safe to use in the front loading machines too. 

I can tell you from experience that the Tide packets do leave the washing machine smelling good and clean.  

According to Tide, the cleaning packets activate faster than the regular washing tabs.  Plus, they have added Oxi to the washing machine cleaner to "boost the cleaning action".

To use:  Simply add one packet into the empty washing machine tub and run a normal wash cycle using hot water.

You will be amazed by the difference it makes!

  

For more moving tips, be sure to visit Sam Monaco's review, "How to Plan for a Move"

 


 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, May 15, 2024

How to Organize and Digitize Old Slides EASILY ~ A Product Review

My other half and I had a big problem! We both grew up in the 1960's and 70's when cameras were filled with films that had to be taken to the store  and then processed.  We would have to wait a week or so until we knew whether the pictures were any good or not.  Most of the time we used our Kodak Brownie Cameras, as the better ones were way out of our price affordability.  Even our parents took pictures with those cameras. Now what happened to all those pictures and were they memories that we wanted to keep or were they just garbage photos?

Well it's spring time and that means cleaning up, clearing out and donating lots of things to various charities.

But one box had us in a quandry!  It was full of slides and negatives from who know when, where or how long they were in there. 

Could these be long lost family pictures or just a bunch of scenic areas that we would not recognize without some obvious sign posts?

https://amzn.to/3xRhrwu

This is the mess that we were faced with. We were pretty sure there would be some pictures in there that we would like to keep.  But, how do you do that without taking this mess to a dedicated service that will scan these?  And at what cost to us?

Looking into a professional service, we found out that it would cost us .25 cents to 1.00 per slide to be digitized.  

That was a cost that we just could not swallow.  You would pay for each slide whether they were worth keeping or just junk shots.  So this was not an option for us.

Thank goodness for the internet and Amazon!  A quick search and you can find out just about anything.

For just under 15.00 you can get a PICSCANNER !  What, you may ask is a Picscanner?  Well it's a small platform for your mobile phone.  The platform is about 3 inches away from the bed of the scanner.  This allows your phone to actually take a picture of your slide or negative. This is what the box looks like and you can see exactly how it works:

https://amzn.to/4bJiUTY



 Upload it to your computer and voila, you have a digital copy of what was a slide or negative. Just like this one:



This is a digital copy of a negative film strip. With a few programs on the computer it is easy to turn this negative into a proper picture.  Like this:



It works great!  What I really like about this easy to use slide digitizer is, that it is inexpensive and it lets you see what is on that slide or negative without having to print it first.  Once you see what's there, you just might decide that is is worth having it printed professionally!  But, I bet that most of them will just go into a Picture file on your computer. You have not spent hundreds of dollars on getting worthless (to anyone but yourself) pictures digitized.  

Today with our cell phone cameras and digital professional cameras, we can skip this step completely.  But again if you were born in the 50's , 60's and 70's, I'm sure that this Picscanner will be a valuable tool for anyone who has boxes and boxes of negatives or slides kicking around. Just imagine being able to take all those slides and negatives, organize them and keep the great ones and discard all the rest.  It's a job to do it, but, when it's done you will enjoy the fruits of your labors!

As an added bonus, this would make a great Father's Day Gift too!  Most of the Dad's I know are the techy types that love to fiddle with a new toy!  

Happy Photo Editing to all!


**These pictures are my own, the Cups in the Photos are "One of a Kind" handpainted and fired by my uncle!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, May 13, 2024

DASH Everyday Stand Mixer Review

Ready to downsize? Has the stand mixer become a counter hog? A kitchen tool that can be decorated but is too heavy to move? Looking for a smaller or mini stand mixer? The Everyday Stand Mixer by DASH is a mini mixer with six speeds and a 3 quart bowl with a retro look. 

The Dash Everyday includes a set of beaters and a set of dough hooks along with a book of directions and recipes. Six colors are available: black, aqua, cream, pink, red and white accented with silver trim.



Weight

The weight or lack of is one of my favorite features of the mixer. So easy to move on the counter. So easy to store under the counter. The power the mixer generates with such a light weight is quite unexpected!

Convenience

The light weight of the Everyday stand mixer was a major factor in my consideration of a mini stand mixer. The prior stand mixer was heavy and needed alot of space on the counter. The space the Everyday stand mixer needs is minimal.

Measuring in at 1.93 pounds for the DASH Everyday compared to 25 pounds for the well known brand 5 QT stand mixer, the Everyday is so easy to move and store whether on the counter or in a kitchen cabinet. The low weight is my favorite feature of the Everyday mixer,

Sound

The DASH is very loud. The reviews mentioned the unit is loud. It is. Not so loud to need earplugs, but definitely loud enough to prevent conversation.

Again, no comparison between the big name brands. My five quart model was not whisper quiet; but a conversation could be held in close proximity while the mixer was working. 

Construction

The look of the mixer is pleasant to the eye. Sleek and minimal. The exterior and buttons are plastic; the buttons are push buttons which do require a bit of labor to push.

Cost 

Apples to oranges stereotype comparison. $449 for the 5 qt namebrand stand mixer vs $49 for the Everyday mixer.

Performance

I have been experimenting with recipes I have made for years in the higher priced stand mixers; so does the Everyday get the job done. It has and it does. Is the process as streamlined or as quiet as the name brand stand mixers? No. 

The speed of the mixer is very very fast! At times the mixer does seem a bit out of control with the speed, but the stability has been solid thus far.

Reviews

The reviewers were correct. As a consumer the information is easily accessible so I was not surprised regarding the features. I highly recommend sifting through the reviews particularly if you are downsizing from the larger capacity big name brand to this mixer. 

I purchased the Everyday with the hopes it would feel a void between the large steel stand mixers and hand mixersf. The Everyday did mix dough and recipes which require a long mixing time such as meringue with ease.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, May 12, 2024

Revitalize Your Lawn with Scott's EZ Seed Lawn Patch and Repair - A Five Star Review

Revitalize Your Lawn with Scott's EZ Seed Lawn Patch and Repair - A Five Star Review

Let me start by saying that this is the only seed I use to repair and replant small and large lawn sections. I'm an absolute fan of this product! It works! 

It's pricier than regular seed, but you can read why it's worth every penny below. I especially love it because there's little prep to do. I'll usually rake, slightly turn the dirt a bit on the exposed sections, give it a bit of water, and then toss the seed on. I like to use a healthy amount. Just be sure to water it regularly during the growing process. 

Within six weeks, often before that, the lawn is fully grown.

A lush, green lawn is the pride of any homeowner, but maintaining it can be a challenge, especially when faced with bare patches and thinning grass. Enter Scott's EZ Seed Patch and Repair, a revolutionary solution designed to breathe new life into your lawn effortlessly. Packed with essential nutrients and cutting-edge technology, this product has become a go-to for homeowners like me who want to rejuvenate outdoor spaces with minimal effort.

What's in Scott's EZ Seed Patch and Repair?

  • Water-retaining mulch: Holds moisture around seeds for better germination.
  • Premium seed blend: Contains a mixture of high-quality grass seeds suited for various growing conditions.
  • Fertilizer: Fertilizer is included. It provides essential nutrients for seedling growth and establishment.
  • Biodegradable tackifier: Helps seeds adhere to the soil, preventing washout and promoting vigorous root development.

Why is Scott's EZ Seed Preferred?

  • Easy application: Simply spread water and watch it grow – no special tools or equipment are required - although I do a little bit of prep as described above just to help things along.
  • Versatility: Suitable for repairing bare spots, thinning areas, and overseeding existing lawns.
  • Quick results: Visible improvements in as little as 7 days, with full coverage in 4-6 weeks.
  • An all-in-one solution (the best part!): It eliminates the need for multiple products, saving time and money.

What Do People Use Scott's EZ Seed For?

  • Patching bare spots: Whether caused by pet damage, heavy foot traffic, or harsh weather conditions, EZ Seed seamlessly fills in gaps.
  • Thickening thin areas: Sparse patches and thinning grass can be quickly addressed, resulting in a more uniform lawn.
  • Enhances existing lawn: Enhances the overall health and density of existing lawns, promoting a lush, vibrant appearance.
  • Revitalizing problem areas: Troublesome zones such as shaded or high-traffic zones can be rejuvenated easily.

Why Does Scott's EZ Seed Work So Well?

  • Triple action formula: Combines seed, mulch, and fertilizer for optimal growth conditions.
  • Advanced technology: The tackifier component ensures seeds stay in place, even on sloped surfaces, for improved germination rates.
  • Proven performance: Trusted by homeowners and lawn care professionals alike, Scott's EZ Seed has established a reputation for reliability and effectiveness.

With Scott's EZ Seed Patch and Repair, achieving a lush, green lawn has never been easier. Say goodbye to unsightly bare spots and thinning grass – with just a few simple steps, you can transform your outdoor space into a vibrant oasis that enhances your home's curb appeal. It's our go-to lawn seed repair each year when needed.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, May 8, 2024

Clean Makeup Brushes in Seconds With This Terrific Brush Cleaner Spray

As a beauty and skincare enthusiast who loves wearing makeup, I am passionate about using good quality makeup brushes and caring for them properly to keep them clean, hygienic, and performing at their best. Recently I shared my tutorial for the best way to clean makeup brushes without ruining them, including my tips for cleaning brushes with water and a good quality brush soap cleanser without getting water inside the ferrule that covers the glued join between the bristles and the handle, which can cause shedding and shorten the useful life of your makeup tools. 

In that tutorial, I discussed using an alcohol-based sanitizing spray periodically in between washings. Today, I am reviewing another type of spray-on brush cleaner: Jenny Patinkin Spray Away Instant Makeup Brush Cleaner. Spray Away is a new favorite for me that instantly removes even heavily pigmented makeup from bristles easily in just seconds and leaves my brushes dry and ready to use again immediately. It also helps keep the inside of my brush case clean and free from makeup residue.

Jenny Patinkin Spray Away Instant Makeup Brush Cleaner

Developed by a "Lazy" Professional Makeup Artist

Spray Away was developed by pro makeup artist, beauty expert, brand founder and bestselling author Jenny Patinkin, who wrote Lazy Perfection, The Art of Looking Great Without Really Trying. Patinkin's eponymous line of beauty tools is all about simplicity, sustainability, and effectiveness with minimal effort. Spray Away definitely fits with her beauty philosophy. 

Cleans Makeup Brushes Completely in Seconds!

As someone who relies on good quality makeup brushes, I've tried my fair share of brush cleaners and this one truly stands out.

Watch me demonstrate how Jenny Patinkin Spray Away Instant Makeup Brush Cleaner lives up to its name, allowing me to remove all traces of a heavily pigmented, vivid blush and a dark brown eyeshadow from some of my favorite makeup brushes from BK Beauty. 

Note: If you prefer, you can watch my Spray Away brush cleaning demonstration on YouTube.

Works Beautifully on Brushes With Densely Packed Bristles

As you can see from my demonstration, Spray Away Instant Makeup Brush Cleaner works perfectly on brushes of any size, from large foundation and blush brushes to small eyeshadow and eyeliner brushes, as long as they have densely packed bristles like the ones from BK Beauty that I show in the demo.

The only thing you need in addition to the Spray Away is a towel. I prefer to use a large microfiber cloth.

If you have any brushes with long, loose bristles, you'll want to stick to washing those with water and a brush soap type cleaner, such as Jenny Patinkin Makeup Brush Soap.

Gentle Yet Effective

I also appreciate the gentle yet effective nature of the formula. Spray Away removes even stubborn makeup buildup effectively without damaging the bristles or compromising their softness.

Dries Almost Immediately

One of the most impressive aspects of this cleaner is its quick-drying formula. Spray Away evaporates almost instantly, allowing you to use your brushes immediately after cleaning. This is a game-changer for those moments when you need to switch between colors or brushes on the fly.

A Clean Beauty Product

According to the brand, Spray Away is oil-free, dye-free, waterless, paraben-free, vegan, and free from the types of chemicals commonly found in makeup brush sprays.

It also leaves behind a subtle, pleasant scent that adds a touch of luxury to the cleaning process.

A Great Gift for Any Makeup Lover

Anyone who wears makeup should be cleaning their brushes regularly: washing weekly or bi-weekly and doing quick cleanings in between washings to keep brushes hygienic and performing well.

The Jenny Patinkin Spray Away Instant Makeup Brush Cleaner, some microfiber cloths and the Jenny Patinkin Luxury Vegan Makeup Brush Soap would make a great gift!

Overall, Jenny Patinkin's Spray Away Instant Makeup Brush Cleaner has earned its place as a staple in my beauty arsenal. Its convenience, quick-drying formula, and effectiveness make it a standout product that I wholeheartedly recommend to anyone looking to streamline their brush cleaning routine


Clean Makeup Brushes in Seconds With This Terrific Brush Cleaner Spray by Margaret Schindel

Read More Beauty Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Gift Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X