Showing posts with label Coletta Teske. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Coletta Teske. Show all posts

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Book Review of Take Command by Jake Wood

Book review of Take Command by Jake Wood (Reviewed by Coletta Teske)

When chaos rules the day, co-founder of Team Rubicon, Jake Wood, suggests people Take Command to become a first responder in business. Read more in this review.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Book Review: Get More Work Done With Scrum

Book review of Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time by Jeff Sutherland (review by Coletta Teske)
Want to help your co-workers become more productive? Learn how your team can do twice the work in half the time in this book review of Scrum by Jeff Sutherland.

Project managers have always struggled to help companies make more product, to complete projects on schedule, and to avoid employee burnout. It was a constant battle until the early 1990s.

In 1993, Ken Schwaber and Jeff Sutherland developed a new way of managing projects. Their work with software developers paved the way for a faster, more reliable, and more effective way to create software. This tool can be used to help any company, not just software developers, become more productive.

Implement Scrum and create productive teams


Purchase Scrum by Jeff Sutherland on Amazon.com
Available on Amazon
Hardback, Kindle, and
Audiobook Download
This project management tool, called Scrum, increases team output and productivity through accountability, interaction, and continual improvement. It is a framework that helps teams get organized and get more work done.

Scrum uses visual tools to show team members the work that needs to be done and implements problem solving techniques to eliminate those things that prevent a team from getting the work done efficiently.

Want to learn how you can implement Scrum in your organization? Jeff Sutherland, a co-creator of Scrum, takes you on a journey of learning in his book, Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time (Crown Business, New York, 2014).

Find tips to do more work in less time


This book doesn't tell you how to become more productive, it shows you. All through the book, you'll find examples of how teams used Scrum to overcome obstacles, find their strengths, and create a harmonious workplace.

You'll see how organizations went from failure to success by implementing Scrum. You'll get a peak inside the problems these organizations faced, see what strategies worked, and find out what strategies didn't work. Sutherland doesn't hold back and takes every opportunity to show how Scrum can work in a variety of industries.

Here are some of the other features that make this an enjoyable and helpful book:
  • The writing style. This book is easy to read and easy to understand. Sutherland uses plain writing  to deliver his message in a way that is effortless to comprehend.
  • The chapter takeaways. Each chapter ends with a summary of the important points covered in that chapter. These takeaways not only provide an excellent recap, but also provide a checklist that can be referenced later when you need a refresher.
  • The problem-solving approach. Sutherland shows how problems can be overcome by implementing Scrum. He tells how companies have rejected Scrum, only to come back later to try Scrum with success.
Scrum is recommended reading for anyone that wants to increase their productivity, decrease distractions, and have more time for fun. You'll enjoy this book if you are:
  • A manager searching for new ideas to increase the amount of work your teams output and for productive ways to improve employee morale.
  • An employee wishing to be a valuable asset within your organization and to advance within your profession.
  • An independent contractor desiring to increase the efficiency of your client's projects and to gain an advantage within your industry.
  • An individual looking for ways to remove the distractions that keep you from getting your work done and from having more fun time to spend with family.

Get your copy of Scrum and get more work done


Scrum by Jeff Sutherland available at Amazon.com in hardback, Kindle, and Audiobook Dowload formats
Available at Amazon in
Hardback, Kindle, and
Audiobook Download
I give this book 5 stars because it is full of ideas that will help individuals, small businesses, and large organizations become more productive. After 230 pages of easy reading, I saw an increase in my ability to get more work done. I found new ways to get rid of distractions and better ways to organize my workload.

If you manage a team of people, need to increase their productivity, and want to give them more playtime, get a copy of Scrum. By practicing the sound project management techniques in this book, your team will be getting more work done in the office and having more fun at home.

DISCLAIMER: I received a copy of Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time by Jeff Sutherland (Crown Business, 2014) from Blogging For Books in exchange for this review. My opinions are my own.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Book Review: Guide to Rethinking Resumes by Richard Bolles

A book review of Guide to Rethinking Resumes by Richard Bolles (reviewed by Coletta Teske)

If you need help writing a resume that gets noticed in this digital age, check out Guide to Rethinking Resumes by . Here is our book review.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Reviewing Argan Oil for Healthy and Tangle-Free Hair

Let's review Argan oil for healthy and tangle-free hair (by Coletta Teske)

Looking for a solution to end dry and frizzy hair? Need to get the tangles out quickly? Let's review tips for using Argan oil to grow healthy hair.

As we get older, our once long locks of lusciously thick hair may start to dry out and get frizzy. Sometimes it seems that the only way to keep our hair healthy-looking is to keep it cut short. If you're like me, you may want to keep your waist-length braids to the end of your days. And, yes, I'm talking to the guys, too!

When my hair started showing signs of middle-age frizz, I went to a high-priced hair stylist for some help. She explained that the aging process causes our skin to sag and wrinkle. It also causes our hair to become dry and brittle.

Argan Oil Rejuvenates Hair to a Healthy Shine


Buy Renpure Argan Oil on Amazon.com
The high-priced hair stylist suggested an expensive conditioning treatment and a high-priced bottle of Argan oil. I paid the price and left the salon a poorer, but happier girl. I never went back for another the expensive conditioning treatment, but I kept massaging the Argan oil on my scalp and long locks.

I have since changed brands of Argan oil. I admit, it was the price that hit my pocketbook a bit too hard. I now apply a small bubble of Renpure Argan Oil on my hair two or three times a week. A little goes a long way.

Aragn oil has been a part of my hair care routine for 6 years and I love the result.

Argan Oil Takes Out Tangles Without the Tears


Monday's post by Dawn Rae about how she uses her BUFF hair stocking to prevent Jeep Hair reminded me of our Harley riding adventures through the back roads and over the city streets of our hometown. By the end of a ride, my hair is always a mess.

It doesn't matter if I braid my waist-length locks or twist them under a skull cap, the result is always the same. Twisted knots of tangled hairs that are impossible to comb.

My solution is to pour a little dab of Argon oil in one palm, rub my palms together and gently massage through the tangles. With some gentle coaxing, a rat's nest of knotted hair turns into long and silky locks once again. No tears and no clumps of pulled out hair.

Reviewing Tips for Long and Healthy Hair


My hair has grown half-way down my back for as long as I can remember and I have always looked for easy ways to keep my hair looking clean and silky. In the 1970s, I watched an interview with a hair stylist that specialized in long hair, extremely long hair. Long hair was the Big Thing back then. All the girls and guys were growing their hair down below their knees and this stylist explained that long hair has special needs.

Here are a few things I learned from that TV interview:
  • Long hair should not be washed every day. Wash long hair every 3 to 4 days to prevent dryness and split ends.
  • Wash long hair with a mild shampoo. Concentrate the shampoo on the scalp and give the ends a quick wash.
  • Put conditioner on the hair when it is wet. Concentrate the conditioner on the ends, leave in for a couple of minutes and rinse out.
  • Trim the ends regularly. Hair grows faster and thicker when the split ends are cut.
  • Avoid hair dryers, hot curlers and curling irons. These hot items dry out the hair and cause it to break off or fall out. Instead, wrap or twist hair up into a turban while it is wet and let it dry that way.
Buy Turbie Twist on Amazon and dry long hair fast and easy
Turbie Twist is better than a bath towel for drying long and short hair. Buy yours at Amazon.com!

Help Your Hair With Argan Oil


I love the way Renpure Argan oil makes my hair feel and makes it easy to run my fingers all the way through my mop of hair. I gave my mom some Argan oil and she loved the way it made her gray hair shine. She also loved the way it turned her dingy gray hair to a bright shade of gray and took out that yellow tint that gray hair sometimes gets.

If you have suffer with dry hair, I think you'll really like Argan oil.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Review Your Digital Footprint

How to Review Your Digital Footprint -- tips to keep your online browsing safe and secure

Watch where you travel on the web and review where you've left your digital footprint. Every click you make can be recorded and analyzed in the blink of an eye.

There's been some talk among my friends about how their web habits have changed recently. They don't feel as comfortable being online these day. And, they don't know what kind of effect the web is having on their lives and on their futures.

Some friends are concerned because they believe careless online remarks can permanently damage a reputation. Others are concerned because social media seems to consume our lives. A few are glad the Internet wasn't around when they were growing up. And, most are concerned about being watched as they click from one site to another.

All of them agree, their web surfing habits are changing to a more cautious and thoughtful way of navigating in the online world to reap the benefits and avoid the risks.

Reasons to Review Your Digital Footprint


Read Coletta Teske's review of The Reputation Economy by Michael Fertik
In his book, The Reputation Economy, Michael Fertik tells us that "we've reached a point where the safest assumption is that every digital interaction you have is being permanently recorded in at least once place."

Think about how your web travels are recorded.
  • Websites use cookies to keep track of the pages you visit. 
  • Social media sites ask you to include personal information in your profile. 
  • Shopping sites store your contact and credit card information. 
  • Employers scan the resumes they collect into digital databases.
And the list goes.

When you add up all of the places you visited, all of the cookies you've collected and all of your online purchases, you have your digital footprint. Armed with your web surfing habits, any computer can crunch the data and make a prejudicial decision about the kind of person you are.

What can you do? You can either completely erase your digital footprint or conduct a digital audit to clean up your online profile.

Review Your Online Profile


In the Guide to Rethinking Resumes, Richard N. Bolles tells job seekers that "you can manage or remove anything online that might disturb a prospective employer, prior to that employer's Googling you."

Over 90% of employers check an applicant's "search engine resume" before they consider interviewing that person. Many of these searches reveal some reason for an applicant to be rejected.

There are several ways to clean up how you appear in the search engine results.
  • Type your name into every search engine and delete those posts that appear unfavorable. 
  • Scan your social media profiles and delete questionable posts. 
  • Use a service such as Reppler.com to review your social media accounts and find posts that you might want to delete.

Clean Up Your Online Profiles


If you want a fast and easy way to go through your major social media accounts and see how well you're scoring, check out Reppler. Reppler scans your Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Picasa, Flickr and YouTube accounts to give you an impression score, a list of your inappropriate posts, a look at your online profile and a notice of any security risks.


These are my results on Reppler (I've blurred the images for my network of friends). Even though I have always been careful about what I say and what I post online, it's still easy to mention something that may be considered inappropriate by others.

Reppler provides more explanation for each of areas, just click the MORE link for each section. You'll find tips to improve your image score and secure your social media accounts.

These are just a few of the ways to give yourself a digital footprint checkup. Have you changed your web browsing habits as data collection on the web has become more sophisticated? What are you doing to cope in this new world of digital data collection and data analysis?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Reviewing the Risks and Rewards of Living on the Web

Review the risks and rewards of your online time before stepping out into the world wide web

The Web is a two edge sword with benefits and risks. As you travel the Internet, review how you act and react on the sites you visit. Here are some things to think about.

We're living in a new world. Tread lightly.

That was how a friend started her Facebook post. An article she read on Time.com put a warning in her head about the dangers of texting while parenting. She wanted her friends and family to know that the relationships we have with our children and grandchildren are at stake!

According to the article, kids don't want to compete with smartphones for attention. Can you blame them?

In the 1960s and 1970s, parents were warned that watching too much TV meant spending less quality time with family. In 2015, it's the smartphone that monopolizes our attention and causes us to get grumpy when the kids interrupt a game of Candy Crush.

The moral to this story... Think before using your smartphone and watch your travels carefully when you step out on the web. It's not just our relationships with our families that are at risk.

Review Your Online Activities


The Reputation Economy is available on Amazon in Kindle, Hardcover, Audible and MP3 CD editions.
Available on Amazon.com
It was ironic that my friend posted this article just as I finished reading The Reputation Economy: How to Optimize Your Digital Footprint in a World Where Your Reputation is Your Most Valuable Asset by Michael Fertik and David C. Thompson.

It's not just our children and grandchildren that react to our online activities. Our banks, employers, travel agents and others watch us as we surf the 'Net. Yes, the Big Brother from George Orwell's classic book, 1984, is alive, well and watching us. And, Big Brother's cousin, Big Data, is keeping score.

In the new and evolving Reputation Economy that is forming on the web, the authors predict that reputation, not money, will be the new power. And, how we act online will affect our online reputation score. It will be this score that will define how people see us and what they will do for us. Or, not do for us.

What is this online reputation score? It's created by a computer algorithm and it takes all of our online activities into account. How can it do this? Big Data is busy collecting everything it can about us as we travel from site to site on the web. Cookies are just one way to collect all kinds of data about us. And, data storage is so cheap that companies can afford to store petabytes of data. A petabyte is 1 million gigabytes!

With so much available cheap storage, Big Data's sibling, Big Analysis, has lots of data to work with and manipulate. Big Data can store everything from our Google searches to online purchases, websites visited and social media posts. And Big Analysis has the computing power to make a quick decision about our characters and habits.

Create an Online Reputation Plan


Think about this for a minute. The combination of data collection, cheap data storage and blazing-fast analytic abilities means that everything we do online can be under scrutiny and recorded. Algorithms have the ability to assign us a reputation score based on the people we meet, the places we go and the things we do.

How much do you know about your fellow Farmville players? You may not think your time spent with gaming friends doesn't matter, but it might. Big Data and Big Analysis may use this information to create a reputation score that affects your ability to rent a car, buy a home or receive valuable coupons.

Now, if you're thinking that you can surf the web anonymously and avoid detection, you may be wrong. According to Fertik and Thompson, "powerful software can often identify you by nothing more than the quirks of your writing style."

What do the author's of The Reputation Economy suggest we do to protect ourselves from Big Data and Big Analysis? Here are their basic tips:
  • Assume everything you do online is being collected, stored and analyzed.
  • Be careful what you say and how you react to false allegations.
  • Create a digital smokescreen to hide any negative information in your search results.

Learn How to Manage Your Online Activities


Why should you care about this online reputation score? Fertik and Thompson believe one of the outcomes of this reputation score is that business will use this score to pinpoint good customers and offer these people special offers. If you aren't lucky enough to have this prized reputation score, you may be passed over for these offers and never know it.

The moral to this story... Keep a clean social media profile, always be on your best behavior online and think before you post.

Find more insights and tips on living on the web while preserving your reputation by reading The Reputation Economy. I found this book fascinating, informative and somewhat scary. The Reputation Economy is a well researched book that looks at the effects online data collection can have on our lives and our abilities to get along in the world. It provides some serious food for thought that every netizen should be thinking about.




Coletta Teske received The Reputation Economy from Blogging for Books in exchange for this honest review.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Reviewing Best Practices for Pinterest Success

Follow these best practices to get your business noticed and achieve Pinterest success (a social media review by Coletta Teske)

Pinterest is one of the fastest-growing social media sites on the web. Follow these best practices to get your business noticed and achieve Pinterest success.

Of all the social media channels on the web, Pinterest has become the popular marketing site for small business owners, artists, designers and home-based crafters.

It is estimated that Pinterest will reach 47.1 million users in 2015. That's more than 25% of all social media users. And, these numbers are expected to grow to a user base of 59.3 million by 2019.

If you haven't joined Pinterest, you may want to seriously consider joining the crowd. But, before you do, take some time to create a Pinterest plan. If you're already on Pinterest, it may be time to review your plan.

Here is our review of the best practices to bring success on Pinterest.

Niche Your Pinterest Account


As web marketers, we're always told to "Find your niche." A niche is a fancy way of saying, "Stay on topic." And another way of saying, "develop a theme." Your niche/topic/theme is your business, art, craft or hobby.

While setting up your Pinterest account, make sure that your profile description, board titles and board descriptions always follow your main theme. And, create boards that encompass all of the areas that follow that theme to niche down your boards.
TIP:  When you have pins that don't pertain to your niche but you want to add them to a board, create a secret board where only you can see those pins. Or, create a separate Pinterest account for your personal and fun sharing.
For example, if you sell crochet craft items, build Pinterest boards around the types of items you crochet and other items that support your craft. This could include boards for crochet baby gifts, crochet plush toys, crochet tips and tricks, and crochet yarns.

Think of your Pinterest account as a department store and your boards are the different departments within your store.

Create Descriptive Boards


Pinterest boards with descriptive titles are more likely to be noticed by other Pinterest users and by the search engines. Write board titles that accurately describe the types of pins found on the board. And, don't forget to add a short description that offers more information about the board.

This may seem like a lot of work but visitors to your Pinterest page will appreciate the added descriptions. Adding titles and descriptions can turn a boring Pinterest page into an interesting and informative place where people will gather to find useful pins.

Design Eye-Catching Images


Pinterest is a visual place and the best looking images get the most notice. If you don't have any graphic design skills, this may be the most challenging Pinterest best practice that you'll encounter. But, don't give up hope, there are many online tools that will help you create incredible Pinterest graphics.

When creating images for Pinterest, keep these tips in mind:

  • Use clear photographs that accurately portray the pin.
  • Make images large to make your pins stand out from the crowd.
  • Add text to add more description.

Find Group Boards in Your Niche


There are two ways to grow your following. The first is to promote your Pinterest account and pin regularly. The other way, and an easier way, is to find group boards that match your niche and interests. When you add your pins to a group board, you reach every follower of every member of that group board. And, you may make some new friends in your niche that will help you in your cross-promotion efforts.

Post on a Regular Schedule


This is the most difficult part for many people. It's easy to get started and it's easy to pin for a while. But, as time goes on, life and work get in the way. Don't get caught in the trap of putting off your pinning until tomorrow. If you have to, set a schedule and pin by it. Even if you can only spend a few minutes a day, make a schedule and stick to it.

If you find it difficult to keep up your Pinterest enthusiasm, join a Pinterest networking group.

Join a Pinterest Networking Group


It's not always easy playing the social media game and finding a method that fits your marketing style. One of the best ways I've found to stay focused and find synergysm is to join a Pinterest networking group.

A new Pinterest network group that showed up just a few months ago and has achieved awesome success is Pinterest Party. Pinterest Party is not one of those "you share mine and I'll share yours" kind of groups. The group administrators have daily activities that help members stay active, keep their Pinterest page interesting and grow their exposure.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Reviewing Handmade Book Crafts for Readers and Writers

Find a present for yourself or a friend in this review of handmade book crafts for readers and writers

Know a book lover? Show your love with a gift to warm their book-loving heart. Here's our review of easy to make handmade book crafts for readers and writers.

There's a new craft website on the Web and, in its first month, Craft Closet has been a busy place. When you're looking for crafty ideas, information, and inspiration, browse the Craft Closet archives. There are sewing projects, crafts for kids, ideas for paper crafts, jewelry tutorials, crochet patterns, and so much more. 

Today I'd like to share with you some of the cool handmade book crafts that the Craft Closet writers have created.

Update:  Sorry, but the Craft Closet has closed and all of their article links have been removed

Scrapbooks Made With Paper Bags


Making scrapbooks is a popular hobby and a great way to preserve memories. If you have some lunch-size paper bags around the house, you can make your own scrapbooks. Just stack the bags on top of each other and sew down the middle.

After you've assembled the basic book, it's time to get out your scrapbook materials and begin decorating. This paper bag scrapbook even has pockets where you can slip small surprise pages.

Easy to Sew Fabric Book Covers


Fabric books covers are an easy to sew craft project
Book covers are an easy way to hide an ugly book, keep your reading choice a secret,  decorate a bookshelf, or protect a valuable book.

When you want to be creative and you have basic sewing machine skills, this pocket-style fabric book cover is a fun project that can be completed in an hour and can be made from fabric found in your scrap drawer.

These fabric book covers can be made to cover any size book. Send kids off to school with a funky new covers for their textbooks. Make a one-of-a-kind cover for your checkbook. Or, hide your latest romance novel behind a cover of fabric.

Customized Journals


Do you or a friend keep a diary? Every have difficulty finding just the perfect journal? Here's an easy way to solve that problem. Upcycle a journal for yourself or your friend using colorful duct tape or washi tape.

Start with a simple and inexpensive journal or notebook. Shop your local dollar store or other discount store for good deals. Then, pick your favorite colors and get taping. You'll have a journal to fit your mood in less than 30 minutes.

More Book Making Ideas


Buy the Little Book of Book Making on Amazon.com
If you've been inspired and want to try your hand at a few more book craft projects, check out the Little Book of Book Making for more ideas.

Inside the Little Book of Book Making, you'll find dozens of unique book making projects from folded books to books with sewn bindings.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Reviewing the Best Birthday Cards for Online Friends

A review of gifts to send to online friends (by Coletta Teske)

Selecting birthday cards for friends you've never met in person is a challenge. Find the perfect greeting in this review of birthday cards for online friends.

We all have them. Virtual friends that we hang out with online. We've never met them in person, but we feel we've known them all our lives. And, when our online friends celebrate a special birthday, we want to share it with them.

What do you send the friend you've never met for their birthday? Let's review birthday cards for online friends.

Create a Customized Birthday Card


Create a customized birthday card at Zazzle
Buy this card on Zazzle.
Yes, it may sound old-fashioned, but many people still enjoy getting cards and letters delivered to their front door.

When an online friend has shared their mailing address, take a suggestion from Review This! contributor, Mary Beth. Mary Beth loves to create special greeting cards for her special friends. And she loves to share her pictures of butterflies in her Zazzle print-on-demand gift shop.

The cool thing about shopping at Zazzle is that you can customize the gifts you buy. Mary Beth's Paper Kite Butterfly greeting card, and all greeting cards on Zazzle's site, can be personalized. You can add a birthday greeting to the front of the card and add a personal wish to the inside.

Send an Electronic Greeting Card


Do a web search and you'll find a long list of websites where you can create an electronic birthday card. These sites usually have a selection of free and fee cards. After you select and customize a card, the site sends an email to the card recipient with a link to the card. The only information you need to provide about your birthday pal is an email address.


My favorite web-based greeting card service is E-Cards.com. I found E-Cards about 15 years ago and have always had a good experience with their service. E-Cards has a nice selection of free cards or you can join the site for access to members-only cards.

If you care about wildlife and the environment, E-Cards donates a portion of their earnings to organizations such as World Wildlife Fund, Natural Resources Defense Council, Environmental Defense, Grist Magazine, The New American Dream, and The Green Schools Initiative.

Send a Gift Card


Gift cards are the universal gift. Gift cards are easy to purchase and easy to spend. The great thing about gift cards is that you don't have to second guess about what your online friend would enjoy.


Amazon.com has made gift card giving a group activity. With the Amazon Birthday Gift, you and your online friends can contribute any amount to a birthday gift card for another online friend. All you have to do is tell your friends where they can make their contribution. This short video explains how it works.


It's easy to remember your online friends on their birthdays. Especially when sending a birthday card is just a few mouse clicks away.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Craft Review: Easy Handmade Valentine's Decorations

Craft Review:  Easy Handmade Valentine's Decorations (by Coletta Teske)

Show your love on Valentine's Day with the gift of your own handiwork. Inside this craft review, you'll find ideas for easy handmade Valentine's decorations.

The simplest expressions of love can leave the biggest impact on your loved one's heart. Especially when those tokens of affection are made from the heart and made by hand.

With Valentine's Day just around the corner, review this list of easy handmade Valentine's decorations and find a craft that will melt your loved one's heart.

Pour Your Porcelain Heart Out

Porcelain heart decorations are an easy kitchen craft

These white porcelain hearts are a kitchen crafter's delight. With a few simple ingredients from your local grocery store and pharmacy, you can cook up a batch of cold porcelain and mold it into any shape.

Cold porcelain is a homemade air-drying modeling clay made from white glue, cornstarch, cold cream, and glycerin. The ingredients are mixed together in an old saucepan, cooked over medium heat until it looks like clay, and kneaded until the mixture is smooth.

You'll find a detailed tutorial on how to make cold porcelain at CraftStylish. There are pictures to guide you through the porcelain making process step-by-step. And, there are ideas for molding the porcelain clay into different shapes.

Hang Your Heart on Your Hearth

Valentine's heart garland decorations can be hung anywhere in the house

Garlands are the perfect decoration for any occasion. On Valentine's Day, create a garland of hearts and hang those hearts all over a room.

Cut hearts out of any material you have in the closet and attach those hearts to a string. You can use fabric, paper, or plastic. Whatever material your heart desires.

Felt is a popular crafting material this year and Marie Williams Johnstone has an easy tutorial for a Valentine felt heart garland. To cut the felt, you'll need a good pair of scissors. To put the garland together, you'll need basic hand sewing skills.

More Valentine's Decorations and Crafts

Pinterest is a wealth of resources for handmade Valentine's decorations and crafts ideas

Pinterest is blushing with Valentine's Day craft and decoration ideas. Here are a few Pinterest boards that you may find inspiring:
  • Valentine's Romance by lakeerieartists has pins for heart-themed garlands, giant paper roses, wreaths, greeting cards, and date night ideas.
  • Valentine Crafts and Gift Ideas by annmackiemiller has pins for heart-shaped yarn and string projects. If you love to crochet, you'll find several Valentine-themed projects.
  • Heart Shapes I love! Crafty by haydnsgrammie has every heart design imaginable. This is the place to go when you need inspiration for a one-of-a-kind heart.
  • Valentine Crafts and Ideas by planetpals has Valentine crafts and activities for kids with an earth-friendly approach.

Creating a handmade token of your love is a gift that creates lasting memories. In the time you spend watching a TV show, you can also make a craft or decoration to celebrate your Valentine.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Scanning Old Photos with the Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II

Turn your old photos into digital files. Learn how in this review of the Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II color image scanner.

Have a box of old photographs, negatives, or 35mm slides? Turn your old photos into digital files. Learn how in this review of the Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II color image scanner.

Do you have an old box of photographs and negatives hiding in a dark corner of your closet? Do you find 35 mm slides during your wanderings through the flea market? Wondering what you can do with that old photographic film in this electronic age?

Turn photos, negatives, and slides into digital files


Photography has been a hobby for me since the mid-1970s. Over the decades, my hobby has filled a box with 35 mm slides, negatives, and photos. When I decided it was time to make some money from my photos, I needed a color image scanner to turn those photographs into digital files.

After doing some shopping, I narrowed my choices to the Canon CanoScan 9000F MKII and the Epson Perfection V600 based on these requirements:
Buy the Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II color image scanner on Amazon.com
Buy the Canon CanoScan 9000F MKII
on Amazon.com
  • Low price. I didn't have a lot of money to spend and couldn't afford a top-of-the-line professional scanner. Both of these scanners are priced below $200.
  • High resolution. Many of the products available through the print-on-demand services such as Zazzle or CafePress are large. The Canon scans film at a maximum resolution of 9600 x 9600 dpi and the Epson at a maximum resolution of 6400 x 9600 dpi.
  • Scan multiple formats. The Canon and the Epson digitize slides, negatives, photo prints, and printed documents. Files can be saved in JPG, TIFF, PNG, and PDF formats.

Digitize images with the Canon CanoScan 9000F MKII


The Canon CanoScan has more than met my expectations. The setup was simple and the software drivers installed without a problem. Here are some of the features that I really enjoy about this image scanner:
  • It is simple to scan multi-page documents and convert those pages into a single PDF file.
  • The film guides hold slides and negatives securely.
  • The protective cover is easy to remove for slide and negative scanning.
  • The included software reduces image editing with automatic image enhancement features.

Enhance photos with the My Image Garden software


The Canon CanoScan includes My Image Garden software for scanning, enhancing, and organizing photographs. I'm not usually a fan of the software that comes with many electronic devices, but the My Image Garden software has saved me a lot of time. I especially enjoy using the ScanGear utility to scan slides and to correct imperfections.

Here's an example showing the settings for a 35 mm slide and a preview of the image.

The Canon CanoScan comes with ScanGear to scan an enhance photos

The ScanGear image scanning utility gives complete control over images. As different resolutions and different levels of image correction are selected, the utility shows the output file size. Here are other ways to use this scanning software:
  • Remove dust spots. Images files from slides and negatives that are old, have been  handled over the years, and are dusty can be difficult to clean up. I estimate the ScanGear utility removes 95% of the dust spots from my scanned slides and negatives.
  • Fix over-exposed photos. It's heartbreaking when a well-framed shot is ruined from a bad exposure. Adjust the backlight and exposure options while watching the changes in the preview window.
  • Adjust the color. Sometimes the color in the photo isn't as vibrant as the memory because slides and negatives fade over time. Increase the color saturation, brightness, or contrast and see the adjustments in the preview window.

Preserve photos and documents with the Canon CanoScan


The Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II scan 35 mm slides easily. Buy it on Amazon.com
Scanning a variety of documents is made quick and simple with the Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II color image scanner. The scanner comes with guides for 120 format film, 35 mm slides, and 35 mm negatives. It also operates as a flatbed scanner and turns pages as large as 8-1/2" x 11" into PDF files.

I give this scanner 4.5 of 5 stars for ease of use, high quality scans, and image editing abilities.

If you have a large number of photos, slides, negatives, and other documents that you want to turn into digital files, I highly recommend the Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II color image scanner.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

How to Write a Review of a Non-Fiction Book

Get tips on how to write an eye-catching non-fiction book review (by Coletta Teske, Review This!)

Looking for tips on how to write a review of a non-fiction book that gets your book review noticed? Come along. Let's read, write, and share our favorite books.

Non-fiction books are full of information. These sources of how to do most anything, self-help for all occasions, and true-life adventures fill bookstore shelves. How do we know if a book is worth reading? The best way is to ask a few friends or to read a few book reviews.

Every book is unique and each book reviewer has a different view. This makes for a diversity of opinions and myriad approaches to writing a review of a non-fiction book. The challenge for you, as a book reviewer, is to find your special touch that brings readers to you when they want to add to their reading list.

Make your book reviews stand out from the crowd by asking yourself a few questions while you read.

What does my audience want to know about this book?


A book review for a non-fiction book is a critique, a constructive evaluation of the book. As the writer of a book review, your job is to give readers a quick glimpse inside the cover. Here are few things your readers may want to know:
  • The main point of the book.
  • Why you decided to read the book.
  • What they will learn by reading the book.
  • The book's strong points and weak points.
  • Why they should read the book.
And, you only have between 500 and 1000 words to give them all this information. So, be brief, concise, and only cover the major points. Those points that left a lasting impression on you. But, where do you begin? Begin by reviewing the cover.

What is my first impression of this book?


The saying, Don't judge a book by its cover, does not apply to book reviews. Publishers work hard to design book covers that attract attention and to write cover copy that genuinely describes the book.

As you explore the book cover and the introduction pages, evaluate these items:
  • The author's background and qualifications to write about the subject.
  • How well the title describes the book.
  • The information revealed in the author's introduction and the table of contents.
  • The description of the book on the book cover.
With your first impression firmly in your mind, read the book and determine if the book meets your initial impression. Did the book deliver on the promises made by the cover? What impressions did you form as you read the book? Pay attention to your feelings about the book and the impact the book is making on your life. And, take notes.

What points stand out as I read this book?


As you read, keep a notebook by your side to take notes. These notes will help structure your book review and help you remember important points and lessons you learned from the book.

Here are a few note-worthy points:
  • Is the writing style easy to understand? How well does the author get the point across? Does the author stay on topic?
  • Did you learn something new? Does the book deliver on its promise? How helpful or informative was the book?
  • Is the book innovative? Does it contain new and updated information? Does it make you think about the topic differently?
As you take notes, also take note of passages that summarize the theme of the book. Select one or two good quotes in your book review to reinforce your critique of the book.

How should I organize and format the book review?


Your audience is your priority when writing a book review. What do they need to know about the book to make a decision? What parts of the book will your audience find useful and informative? What parts of the book will be less than helpful? Organize your book review around your audience's needs.

Here are some general guidelines on how to organize a book review:
  • Start with a brief summary of the book and its benefits, new discoveries, and timely advice. Keep your summary to 1 or 2 short paragraphs.
  • Offer suggestions on how the book may be useful to readers. Does it solve a particular problem? Does it accomplish a specific task?
  • Provide your critique and evaluation. Describe the parts that you found most interesting or helpful. And, tell your reader what you didn't like about the book.
  • Close your book review by giving your honest opinion. Be brief and keep your personal input to 2 or 3 sentences.
Use these tips as a starting point for organizing your book review. The notes you took and the impressions you formed while reading the book will guide you through the writing process. Your audience's needs will also guide you. After you write the review, read it from your audience's perspective and edit as necessary.

What are some good examples of book reviews?


You'll find book reviews all over the Internet. Every bookstore, publisher, and blogger has book reviews of every genre and price range. My favorite place to find inspiration and new ideas is the New York Times Sunday Book Review.

What is the difference between a good book review and a bad book review? The Writing Center at University of North Carolina provides an example. The Book Reviews handout shows what it takes to write an expert book review. You'll also find more helpful tips that will help you get your book reviews noticed.

*   *   *   *   *
Coletta Teske writes book reviews on business management, writing, cooking, and gardening. For more writing tips from Coletta, please visit her writing in plain English website, Scribbler Bay. Coletta also offers professional writing assistance to business that want to improve their procedure manuals, user guides, proposals, and other written communications.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Food Review: Southern Good Luck Foods for the New Year


Set the table for a down-home New Year's Eve party. Give your family and friends the best of wishes with these Southern good luck foods for the New Year.

The Deep South of the United States is filled with good people, good times, and good food. Along with this goodness is an air of superstition and food symbolism. And, the New Year is no exception. On New Year's Eve, Southerners have three favorite dishes that are more than just good luck charms. These foods are plentiful and inexpensive.

Here are the three foods you'll find on a Southern table for New Year's Eve dinner. Serve these dishes to your party guests in the hope that y'all will gain wealth, health, and happiness in the coming year.

Serve black-eyed peas to grow your wealth

Don't go making the mistake of calling these dried packages of protein beans. Any Southerner will tell you that these are not beans, these are peas. Black-eyed peas, in fact, and they symbolize good luck.

It is believed that eating black-eyed peas will help expand wealth because the peas swell up and expand when cooked. Also, black-eyed peas can endure the rough spots. These peas grow in the harsh southern summer sun when many other plants wither and die.

Black-eyed peas are served often at our house. It's easy to cook black-eyed peas and there are so many ways to prepare these staple foods.  We make a simple black-eyed pea and vegetable soup with onions, carrots, and collard greens.

Patrick and Gina Neeley, from Down Home with the Neeleys on the Food Network, have an awesome recipe for Black-Eyed Peas with Bacon and Pork. Their recipe calls for chicken stock. If you are looking for a low-sodium and vegetarian soup stock, save your vegetable scraps and make your own homemade vegetable soup stock instead.

Add a side of collards to have hope for better things to come


Collard greens are the color of money, the color of hope, and the color of new growth. How can you go wrong with the triple crown of good luck?

This West Coast girl had never heard of collards until moving to the South. The bitter taste and tough texture weren't to my liking. Then we started growing collards in our garden and picking the young leaves for our dinners. The flavor is much milder and the leaves are much easier to eat.

Another popular Southern cook, Paula Deen, has a simple dish for a Quick Collard Green Saute that is delicious. If you don't like collard greens, you can substitute any of the cooking greens such as spinach, mustard greens, bok choy, or Chinese cabbage.

Clean your plate with cornbread to keep your good fortune

Leqenik by Violetamyftari. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons
As my best Southern Gentleman would say, "Gotta slop up all those peas and collards, can't let the good luck go to waste." And a slice of golden cornbread is just the way to save your good fortune. The golden yellow of the cornbread symbolizes riches and because the cornbread rises as it cooks, it is a symbol of increasing wealth.

Add a touch of golden happiness to your New Year's meal with this Buttery Corn Bread Recipe from Taste of Home. This is a simple recipe that just takes a few minutes to mix together and 30 minutes to bake.

Sit back and enjoy your holiday get-together


After dinner, sit back and enjoy the Southern hospitality. Spend quality time with your family and friends. Share some laughter. Sing some happy songs. And, have hope in a prosperous new year.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Food Review: The Best Simple Snacks for Santa

Food review of the best simple snacks for Santa (by Coletta Teske)

When Santa stops at your home, treat him nice with some special treats. Find a food that will please in this food review of the best simple snacks for Santa.

During the holidays, Santa is one busy person. Going from home to home, visiting all of the good girls and boys can sure work up an appetite. When Santa stops at your home, show him your hospitality and offer Santa a snack to warm him from his frosty nose to his icicle toes.

These snacks are made with real foods and can be served to unexpected visitors in just a few minutes. With a little advance preparation, these snacks can be heated up quickly to give you more time to spend with friends and family. And Santa, of course!

Offer Santa something hot to drink


Santa will enjoy a hot chocolate to drink after being out in the cold snow

After being out in the cold and snow, Santa will enjoy this delicious Homemade Hot Chocolate Recipe. Dash to the pantry for some milk, cocoa powder, honey, and coconut oil. Then, turn on the stove and warm up the whole mix. In five minutes, you'll have a hot chocolate that's sure to bring Santa back next year.

This simple snack for Santa is so much better than the pre-made packaged hot cocoa mixes. The best part about his recipe is that you control the amount of sugar in the hot cocoa.

Set out a plate of Christmas cookies


Offer Santa a favorite Christmas cookie, the gingerbread cookie

Santa loves cookies and he'll be looking for that plate of cookies near the fireplace. Cookies give Santa a jolly feeling. This year, give Santa a traditional Christmas cookie made from real foods and made by hand.

These White Chocolate Dipped Chewy Gingerbread Cookies (www.jamhands.net/2013/12/white-chocolate-dipped-chewy.html)from Jam Hands will have Santa coming back for more. And, he may want to take the whole cookie jar home with him. These cookies aren't the hard and stale gingerbread men that stand guard over the gingerbread house decorations. These cookies are moist and chewy. And, the cookies can be dipped in white chocolate or almond bark for added flavor.

Send Santa on his way with a handheld snack


Santa will enjoy these simple snacks of meat pies and vegetarian pies

Santa has a busy night ahead of him and he'll need something hearty to fill his belly before he heads back out into the cold. Send Santa up the chimney with a savory snack that he can hold in one hand and eat along the way. Savory meat and vegetable pies will surely keep Santa from getting hungry as he makes his rounds all around town.

This Mushroom, Gorgonzola, and Caramelized Onion Hand Pies Recipe (www.10thkitchen.com/2013/11/mushroom-gorgonzola-caramelized-onion-hand-pies-recipe) can be made in advance and frozen until you're ready to feed Santa his Christmas feast. If you're afraid of making pasty dough, this recipe has an easy crust recipe that uses sour cream as the secret ingredient.

If you don't want to fuss with a crust, try these Crustless Mini Quiches (www.wickedgoodkitchen.com/crustless-mini-quiches-gluten-free-self-crust/) from Wicked Good Kitchen. These mini quiches are so easy to put together. Just pour the ham, bacon, cheese, and whipped eggs in muffin tins and bake. These quiches can be made in advance, stored in the freezer, and warmed up when you're ready to serve this simple snack for Santa.

Simple snacks for simple holiday pleasures


Be prepared for visitors this holiday season. Keep your refrigerator and pantry stocked with ingredients that can be mixed up and heated up quickly. Fix a few hearty handheld snacks in advance to keep dish washing to a minimum. Keep your holiday foods and beverages simple. You'll have more time to enjoy the season.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Homemade Christmas Centerpiece Decoration Ideas

Christmas tree globes setting in a dish for a homemade Christmas centerpiece decoration

When it comes to Christmas decorations, shop your favorite store or browse your favorite websites for inspiration. Here are a few festive homemade Christmas centerpiece decoration ideas using common holiday ornaments that are fun and easy.

The simple decoration above of Christmas tree globes setting in a dish is a combination of cold colors that brings brightness to the center of a table. And, it is so simple to put together. All you need is a pretty platter and a trio of decorative globes. Look for globes that are a color that compliments your holiday decor.

If you like this frozen holiday theme, you and your kids will have a fun time building igloos. Not the big blocks of packed snow igloos, but igloos made of sugar. Corinna Johnson shows us How to Make a Sugar Cube Igloo. She suggests using frosting to build the igloo so that you can use the sugar cubes in a dessert later.

A Christmas centerpiece decoration using small wrapped packages tied with a Tiffany bow

The Christmas stocking isn't the only way to hide extra special presents. Make a centerpiece that is simply an arrangement of tiny wrapped packages, similar to the ribbon-wrapped boxes shown above, neatly nested in evergreens or holly. Wrap a tiny treat inside each box and pass out these miniature presents after dinner.

A pretty ribbon gives these tiny boxes an elegant touch.

Christmas sleigh centerpiece decoration idea

It wouldn't be Christmas without poinsettias, evergreens, and reindeer. Glittered poinsettias fit in with any decor, the evergreens add an aromatic appeal, and reindeer statuary creates a unique touch.

Need ideas on how to arrange a menagerie of ornaments, the House of Sylvestermouse shows us How to Make a Christmas Sleigh Centerpiece that will add a touch of Santa Claus to your home.

I hope you enjoyed these homemade Christmas centerpiece decoration ideas.

Find more inspiration on Pinterest. 
This Victorian Christmas board is full of easy vintage crafts with a bit of Steampunk style.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Sharing Thanks With Handmade Crafts for Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is a time for expressing thankfulness for all of the good things we've received in our lives. Some families have traditions where they express their gratitude during dinner while other families may find it hard to share these feelings verbally. Sometimes it takes a little creativity to find just the right words and the right way to express those sentiments.

Source

Here are four DIY handmade crafts for Thanksgiving that will make it easy for you to express your love and gratitude to your family and friends. These crafts are easy to make and most of the materials can be found in your recycle bin or backyard.

Hang Your Gratefulness on a Tree


Simply Vintage Girl designed The Thankful Tree, With Chalk using items found in her backyard. This tree is made from a broken branch that is used as the tree form. Small wooden discs are painted with chalkboard paint and suspended from the branches. Before your guests arrive, place a piece of chalk under the tree so that family and friends can write down those things for which they give thanks when the spirit moves them.

Stuff Your Thanks in a Turkey


I {Heart} Crafty Things created a Thankful Turkey Box Tutorial from an upcycled tissue box. This is an awesome craft for kids because it is so easy and downright adorable. The kids can explore their creativity and when the crafting fun is done, they can write their thanks on a slip of paper. During Thanksgiving dinner, have everyone take a turn at pulling a slip of paper out of the box and reading the words of thankfulness.

Set a Place Mat for Giving Thanks


Abby M. Interiors has 8 Ideas for Creating Your Thanksgiving Table that will show your gratefulness all through dinner. I especially like number 7 on her list. Make place mats out of upcycled paper bags or kraft paper and draw lines on the mats for guests to write down the good things in their life.

Spread a Garland of Thanksgiving


Carina Gardner shares her gratefulness with a Giving Thanks - Free Thankful Banner Download that makes it easy for family and friends to write their reasons to be thankful on a decorative garland strung near the dinner table. Use your own creative skills or download the free printout to make leaf shapes for the garland. Put the shapes in a jar with a pen and clothespins, find a convenient place to hang the garland string, and encourage your family to write their thanks on a leaf and pin it to the garland.

Source
May the holiday season bring you comfort, joy, and good tidings.
Coletta



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Meet Tsu: The New Player in Social Media

On October 25, 2014, I joined Tsu.co (pronouned Sue). Tsu is a brand new social media network and it is growing by leaps and bounds. In two weeks, Tsu's Alexa rating in the US has jumped from around 11,000 to almost 3,200. That's some pretty phenomenal growth on the Internet.

UPDATE:  August 2, 2016 TSU CLOSED  

What's all the talk about?

You'll find that Tsu is very similar to Facebook. People share content, tell stories, and post pictures. Tsu is also very different from Facebook. Tsu shares its advertising revenue with its members. Yes, you heard me right. Tsu offers a revenue sharing program that is similar to the revenue sharing model used on YouTube.

While I think it's pretty cool that Tsu pays its users to post content, there's something that I find even cooler. From the beginning, Tsu has provided spam reporting tools to its members. Members are encouraged to report spammers because Tsu and the Tsu Community want a place that is filled with content that is unique, useful, and updated.

That's right! At Tsu, it's all about quality content and engaging readers. And in less than 2 weeks, I'm pleased with my personal results. Yes, I have a few dimes in my Tsu Bank. But more important, I have seen a significant increase in traffic to my blogs, have met some incredibly talented individuals, and people I've met at Tsu are now following me on Google+ and Pinterest.

Yes, I am having a great time, meeting new people, and regaining the enthusiasm I lost after the demise of Squidoo.

I make no guarantees about the future of Tsu. There are no guarantees on the Internet. What I do know is that their business plan is solid, they have adequate funding to finance their growth, and they are tough on spam.

Tsu isn't without its growing pains. Every evening I can expect the platform to shutdown for maintenance and during the day I may have the occasional problem posting. But these things are expected on a new site that is experiencing rapid growth. What I can say, the Tsu technical staff is dedicated to delivering a site that users will enjoy.

If you'd like to give Tsu a try, you'll need an invitation. And here is my invitation to you. Please join me on Tsu. It's a community that is fighting for a spam-free Internet, taking back control of their content, and filled with creative people.

Click Here to Join Me On Tsu




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Top 5 Not So Scary Halloween Movies

Source: Stux on Pixabay
You are about to enter a terror-free zone. Tales that frighten and ghosts that scream are not allowed. Only friendly zombies are invited to our low-key, fun, and not so scary Halloween movie night.

Halloween isn't a holiday we celebrate in the usual way at our house. We don't go for the horror, the rattling chains, or the mares that terrorize the night. Instead, we have a celebratory party filled with fun, food, and fantastical tales of the bizarre and macabre. Why? Because that's the way, uh-huh uh-huh, we like it, uh-huh uh-huh!

After Halloween dinner is over, we grab a bowl of candy corn, top it with a few popcorn balls, and set up camp in our movie pit. Yes, our favorite way to spend the Halloween evening is curled up on the couch with a not so scary Halloween movie.

Our Top 5 Favorite Halloween Movies That Fright and Delight


There's a stack of movies that we shuffle through for our Halloween movie night entertainment. Movies range from vintage classics to modern mayhem. Here's a short 3 minute clip from our favorite movie, The Nightmare Before Christmas, with Marilyn Manson, as the backup band, singing This Is Halloween.




Here are our five favorite Halloween movies. If you see a movie you like, click on the cover image to be taken to Amazon's website. Here, you can rent the video through Amazon Instant Video. You can also purchase the movie as either a DVD , Blue-ray, or streaming online video with digital download.

The Nightmare Before Christmas

We love Tim Burton's sense of scary humor and think this is one of the best animated feature films created by a computer. The love story between Jack and Sally is so endearing. There's nothing better than a wicked happily ever after.

Purchase - Stream instantly and download to 2 locations.
Rental - 3-day viewing period.
Purchase The Nightmare Before Christmas from Amazon

The Wizard of Oz
(75th Anniversary Edition by L. Frank Baum)

This is a classic that we've watched every year since we were tiny children. There's something about following the Yellow Brick Road with Dorothy, the Cowardly Lion, the Tin Man, and the Scarecrow. There's an adventure around every corner. And, when I watch this movie, I dream of owning a pair of ruby red slippers.

Purchase - DVD, Blue-ray, or stream instantly and download to 2 locations.
Rental - 24 hour viewing period.

Buy The Wizard of Oz on Amazon

It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown
(Remastered Deluxe Edition)

Another classic from our childhood. Every year we wait for the Great Pumpkin and every year we miss him. But Linus is never discouraged and confidently waits for the return of the Great Pumpkin.

Purchase - DVD, Blue-ray, or stream instantly and download to 2 locations.
Get It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown from Amazon

Ghostbusters

Tell us you don't love singing along to the Ghostbusters song by Ray Parker, Jr. Come on, tell us and see what happens. And it's the music that makes this spooky movie so much fun. You'll be toe tapping to a ghostly beat from beginning to end.

Purchase - DVD, Blue-ray, or stream instantly and download to 2 locations.
Rental - 24 day viewing period.
Purchase Ghostbusters from Amazon

The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad

We love this movie because of The Headless Horseman song which features the voice of Bing Crosby. This song will scare every Ichabod Crane as he makes his lonely ride home on Halloween night. Being chased by the haunting Headless Horseman.

Purchase - Stream instantly and download to 2 locations.
Rental - 3 day viewing period.
Buy the Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad on Amazon

We hope you enjoyed this selection of Halloween movies that will entertain, delight, and not fright your family and friends. What's your favorite not so scary Halloween movie?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X