Showing posts with label product review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label product review. Show all posts

Tuesday, May 17, 2022

Scotts Hand-Held Lawn Spreader

 My Scotts handheld lawn spreader reviewed

Scotts hand held lawn spreader

Most homeowners love a lush green lawn and achieving that beautiful lawn can be a lot of work. Luckily for me, I have a small yard so taking care of it is not so bad. 

If you have a large yard you probably have a lawn spreader on wheels. I honestly don't have room in my garage for one more thing, so I found this handy little handheld lawn spreader. It is perfect for my small yard.

Features of Scotts Hand-Held Lawn Spreader:

Great for small yards
All sturdy plastic 
Fully assembled  and ready to go
Five spreader settings
Holds up to 1,000 sq. ft. of lawn products
5-Feet of broadcast 
Easy hand crank

Scotts recommends feeding your lawn with weed and feed or lawn food four times a year. I would only feed twice a year, once in early spring and then again in the fall.

Because we live only two blocks from a lake I quit using weed and feed because of chemical runoff into the lake. I still use my lawn spreader in early spring. I spread granulated lime and a couple weeks after that I spread grass seed.

The lime increases the PH balance and calcium in the soil for thicker greener lawns and improves the soil structure and root development. The grass seed is for new growth and helps choke out weeds. The spreader is perfect for small yards, gardens, and flower beds.

In the winter this little lawn spreader is a handy tool to spread ice melt on my driveway and sidewalks. Although I prefer spreading the lime and grass seed much better. Scotts even makes a battery-powered spreader. For this one, you will need two AA batteries.

Find more Product Reviews here: ReviewThisProductReviews.com

Scotts Wizz Battery Powered Fertilizer, Seed, and Ice SpreaderScotts Wizz Battery Powered Fertilizer, Seed, and Ice SpreaderScotts Wizz Battery Powered Fertilizer, Seed, and Ice SpreaderScott's 71133 HandyGreen Hand Held SpreaderScott's 71133 HandyGreen Hand-Held SpreaderScott's 71133 HandyGreen Hand Held Spreader

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 10, 2022

How to Fix a Gap at the Bottom of a Door - A Review



Our laundry room door opens to the garage. We recently noticed that time created a gap at the bottom that allowed light, and gawd knows what else to come through!

I did a lot of reading and research to decide which product my husband should use to repair this problem.

Things We Had to Consider:
  • It's a metal door and being a door to the garage, it's a fire door.
  • Products we could DIY
  • However, feel free to double-check and get a professional opinion on the best products to use with a fire door. We're happy with the product we selected.
  • Affordability
  • Easy to install

Information We Needed Before We Decided on the Best Product:

  • The depth and width of the door
  • A close measurement of how big the open gap is at the bottom of the door (between the floor and the door)
  • To choose a fire-rated product
  • Something that was affordable and that we could do ourselves

Allow Me To Save You Some Time:

I researched for hours to find what we thought would be the best product to solve our problem. 

The biggest problem was the endless number of products to choose from!

We chose two products for our exterior door:
  1. U-Shaped Door Bottom with Drip Cap (To fit a 1(3/4)" door width)
  2. Door Draft Stopper for Exterior/Interior Doors - Weather Stripping Door Sweep. Here's the one we purchased from Amazon Canada. Here's a similar product on Amazon USA - It's not the exact same, but very close.

1. The U-Shaped Door Bottom:

This product also comes with a door sweep on it. The benefit for us is that it helped fill in the gap at the bottom of the door. 



It also has a "drip cap." We really didn't need a drip cap since our door is in the garage and not exposed to the elements; however, I preferred the extra coverage the drip cap provided. Plus, it looks nice.

This product slides onto the bottom of the door but needs to be secured with the enclosed screws. You'll need a drill for that.

Our door depth measured 1(3/4)," and the u-shaped door bottom slid on perfectly. 

Our door is 30" wide, and the product comes as one whole piece measuring 36" wide. 

My husband cut the metal piece to fit our door using a Dremel Tool with a cutting disk. Hubby said you could also use a hacksaw. 

His tip is to be sure to measure the width correctly (double-check it) before you begin cutting.

Here's what a Dremel tool looks like:




Here's a close-up of the cutting disks:




2. Door Draft Stopper for Exterior/Interior Doors

This product is pretty easy to put on the door. My hubby's tip is to ensure the door is clean before putting it on. The product sticks on, so it only makes sense that you'll want to have a good clean surface. 

You'll have to cut it to fit your door. 

Here are the easy instructions indicated on the box that came with our product:


Here are a few photos of our actual door - which badly needs painting!


This is the Metal Slide On Door Sweep - View from the Outside of the Door


This is the weather guard on the inside of the door





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, March 20, 2022

Which Personal Product Review Still Gets 5 Stars After a Year?


After giving it some thought, I picked my favorite personally used and reviewed product over the past year.

While pondering and pedaling, I realized my favorite purchase (actually, it was a gift) out of all the reviews I've written and recommended is ... drumroll .....  "The Cubii."

This Personally Reviewed Product Still Rates 5 Stars After Nearly One Year of Use

I'd give The Cubii ten stars if I could. My mother purchased it last year for me as an early birthday gift, and it's been sitting under my desk since then. 

I use it every day. In fact, I'm using it right now as I'm typing this article.

What's So Great About This Product?

Here's the list, based on my personal experience:
  • It's top quality
  • It's not cheap feeling or cheap looking
  • It's completely quiet! It doesn't make a sound! No squeaks whatsoever!
  • It fits nicely under my desk
  • It's always there, so the possibility of exercise is always there
  • It has a grip mat, so it doesn't slide around
  • As soon as I sit at my desk, I can pedal
  • When stressed or frustrated, I pedal faster
  • If you're desk-bound for the entire day, you can pedal all-day
  • Stop and start pedaling whenever you want
  • It's addictive in a good way!
  • Your glutes and thighs get a workout
  • I feel less guilty sitting for an extended period when I'm pedaling!
  • It helps me to think of new ideas when I'm creatively stuck
  • It feels good to pedal
  • You can adjust the tension, track calories burned, etc
  • It's not too big
  • It hides nicely under my desk, making it unassuming
You can read more about the Cubii from my original review featured here.

Which Personally Reviewed Products Over the Past Couple of Years Rank 2 and 3 as a Fave?
2. Something for the yard or garden - I still love this one.

3. Something for the bedroom -  Yep,this does the job. 

Summary

If you've seen the commercials for the Cubii and wondered whether it does what it says, I say, wonder-no-more; it's a solid, useful product. After one year, it still gets 5 stars from me.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, January 11, 2022

Reviewing The Benefits Of Weighted Blankets

 


I recently purchased a weighted blanket. Ours is by Sleepeasy, but now many companies are producing them. 

I had read about them for a while and thought they may be helpful to me. Going through perimenopause has been quite stressful with many disrupted nights and I hoped it may help. There have always been other priorities but when I saw this one for a reduced price I could not resist!

They are essentially a heavy blanket filled with beads or similar in strongly stitched pockets or squares weighting between around 5 to 30 pounds and certainly heavier than a normal blanket or most quilts. They purport to produce a deep pressure stimulation that is said to relax the nervous system similar to a great big bear hug, except this comes from having the blanket wrapped around you.


What Are The Benefits Of A Weighted Blanket?

Weighted blankets are said to have several benefits. I have read that researchers are still studying the effects for physical and emotional benefits. 

Benefits so far are mainly listed as being helpful to reduce anxiety, relieve stress, aid restful sleep and essentially to give the body a big relaxing hug. Many people say that they have a fantastic sleep while using one. 

However, I cannot verify them so do your research and it is best to buy one based on whether you like it and feel you personally receive benefits from it. Any other benefits would be a bonus. 

If we choose to use them it should be because we find them comfortable and personally helpful.



What I Like About The Weighted Blanket

I like the colour of ours being a dark grey it goes with everything. I think I would always choose a dark neutral colour for these blankets as it is more versatile. They do come in many colours though so choose whichever suits you and your decor. 

I do like the way in mine that the beads are contained in individual pockets so they do not move about very much at all and the stitching is very strong and secure.

I have taken to draping the weighted blanket over me and hubby in the evenings while watching a film and draped over the sofa it looks great in our living room and not like just something for bedtime.

I do enjoy the feeling of a big hug and find it very relaxing. Hubby found it so relaxing the first time we tried the weighted blanket that within 15 minutes he fell asleep and did not see the film!!

It is warm, but surprisingly not too warm. When I use it I sleep really well without waking up several times as usual.

My personal experience is that I like to feel the weight of it over my body and find that feeling very calming and relaxing. I can never rest properly with only a light sheet for covering, so I was always going to be a good candidate for a heavier blanket. 

The first night I used it I did not struggle to drop off to sleep which for me usually takes about an hour. Now it is much less than that. I did not wake up all night and usually since starting perimenopause I have woken up two or three times every night. 

It is warm, but I bought it in late autumn and since then it has not been too warm. I am not sure if it will be too warm in the summer yet.

I do not feel that it is too heavy when using it as a blanket. Carrying it around I feel it is very heavy, but once on the bed, to me, it just feels comforting.




Can Everyone Use A Weighted Blanket?

Weighted blankets are generally safe for healthy adults, older children and teenagers. 

However, they are not suitable for everyone. If you are considering using a weighted blanket for an adult that has any underlying health conditions or for a child of any age please consult with a qualified healthcare practitioner first to ensure that it is safe for you to use.  

Our weighted blanket is for adults. It should not weigh more than about 10% of your body weight and so would be unsuitable for a child to use.

You can buy children's weighted blankets specifically for them although please check with a doctor first that it is suitable for your child.

Weighted blankets should never be used for a child under age 2 or older children with developmental difficulties or learning difficulties due to the risk of suffocation.

They are not recommended for people with epilepsy in case the person has a seizure under the blanket.

The heaviness of a weighted blanket may cause difficulties for people with certain pre-existing conditions, such as Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), Asthma and sleep apnea where any breathing issues may be exacerbated and diabetes where any circulation issues may be further affected by the heaviness of the blanket. In people with Claustrophobia, a weighted blanket can feel too heavy and restrictive. Please always check with a Dr first if you have any health conditions.

As it is heavy I would not recommend it for anyone who likes only a light covering. When I took it out of the box it was so heavy I thought I would not like it. However, in my experience, it does not feel anywhere near as heavy on the body as it does when carrying it or moving it.



Things To Bear In Mind About A Weighted Blanket

The way the beads are stitched into the covering is something to watch out for in any of these blankets. I have read that in some blankets the beads fall into uncomfortable clumps when the individual pockets are too large or too weak.

You do need to look for quality design so the beads are held in their separate individual pockets and remain comfortable. The stitching needs to be secure and strong. 

Check if there is a washable cover or if the whole blanket is washable. Or do you need to handwash and is this practical for you? Some are dry clean or spot clean. You need to choose whichever suits you best. 

If the whole blanket is washable check if it will fit into your washing machine.

Personally, I would use this blanket over a sheet so that it does not require washing so much, or use a cover. I wash our sheets and covers on at least a weekly basis and I would not want to be washing this blanket every week. However, used as a blanket over a sheet or with a washable cover it will need washing much less. 

Check the size you need. You want it big enough to cover your chest to toe and some drape at the sides but not enough so it is falling off you onto the floor as that will be uncomfortable. Remember the bigger it is the heavier it will be to move around and also to wash. In hindsight, I would probably have gone for a single size as it is mainly me using it. 

I would go for the smallest size you are comfortable with using. If you are using it for yourself only I think a single size may be better. Or if there are two of you then either a double or two single sizes to give more versatility.

Check if there is a trial period and returns policy if you do not get on with it as it is such a personal item. 




Washing Weighted Blankets

I think the only concern I personally have is that my double bed sized one is so heavy my washing machine will not accommodate it.  

However, being dark grey and using it over a sheet or quilt in bed hopefully, it will not need washing so often.

To improve it I feel a detachable cover I the same colour would have been most useful.

I have now found a quilt cover that will fit to sort this issue when using it for sleep purposes. So will treat the blanket as I do our quilts. When using it in the living room we use it without the cover. 




Final Thoughts On A Weighted Blanket

You do importantly need to check if you have any health conditions if you are fine to use a weighted blanket.

If healthwise you are ok to use a weighted blanket and you like the feeling of a heavier cover you may find this type of blanket very relaxing. If you enjoy a light covering in bed you may not like this but if you like the feel of a comforting hug and the feeling of a heavier cover on your body you may well take to it. 

I cannot recall the last time I slept so well and so soundly since we had this blanket. 

Do your research and make sure you can return and refund if you do not get on with it. Give it a week or so to get used to it. I took to it immediately but some people have said it takes them a while. 

A good night's sleep is extremely important to me I do not function well on a disturbed sleep so this has made a huge difference to me.

Before buying a weighted blanket do your own research and see if it will be right for you. This is a very personal choice and requires some thought.

Weighted blankets will not suit everyone. However, if they do suit you they can make a big difference to the way you relax and sleep. I am very glad I got mine and as I am getting a much sounder sleep I am feeling much better these days. 







Product Reviews On Review This Reviews 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 10, 2021

Women's Warm Winter Sherpa Lined Pants Reviewed

Sherpa lining is a soft and fluffy faux fur that keeps you nice and warm!


Early last spring, which is really a continuance of winter weather for my region, I needed warmer pants.  In the past, I have worn jogging pants, but I really wanted a pair of pants with pockets so I could easily carry my cell phone.  

So often, pants with pockets are not lined.  They are simply too thin for our winter weather.  Jeans are great for pockets, but they are not always warm enough.  

I also wanted warm pants that I could wear outside of my home for walking to my mailbox or even making a trip to the grocery store.  I don't mind wearing my fleece pants inside, but they are not really appropriate for outdoor activities.  

I was thrilled when I discovered these warm and cozy sherpa lined pants!  They are jogger style sweatpants with the ribbed ankles and elastic waistband with a cotton blend exterior material that gives them a "dressier" look than standard jogging pants. 

One word of fashion caution, they are not exactly figure flattering since the sherpa lining from waist to ankle gives a bulkier appearance.  For me, that doesn't matter.  I am grateful to be warm!

I would also recommend ordering a size larger than you normally wear to allow for the thick, warm lining.  After all, you want to be warm, not constricted.  

Sherpa Lined Pants
The PEHMEA Collection on Amazon

 PEHMEA Women's Warm Sherpa Lined PantsCheck PriceThese waist to ankle lined pants are exactly what I was seeking!  They keep me warm indoors and outside.  Plus, they have pockets, which are also lined.  Your cell phone might not require lined pockets, but your hands will certainly appreciate the warmth when needed.

The pants are available in several colors.  I opted for black simply because I can wear anything with that color.  However, I am quite tempted to purchase additional pairs in dark gray and navy.

You choose between the ribbed ankle or straight legged options.  Make sure you select the correct style by looking at the pictures before you order.

I will admit that I am considered "short".  With the ribbed ankles, the pants are not too long to wear with my preferred tennis shoes.  I read in the comments that some women who are 5' 7" thought the pants were too short for them.  However, I did notice that one woman who is 5' 7" purchased the larger XXL size and is now completely thrilled with her pants.

As I said in my opening comments, due to the lining, I do recommend buying a size larger than you normally would wear. Please don't get hung up on label size.  Go for the proper fit!

You might think with the sherpa lining that the pants are not washable.  However, they machine wash well on cold, gentle cycle and tumble dry on low settings.




Women's Warm Winter Sherpa Lined Pants Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 25, 2021

3M Lens Repair Tape Reviewed

 Whoops! Crunch! Ouch! From the "that does not sound good" to the visual inspection of "No, that is not good." And so goes the tail light or a healthy part of the tail light. Which began the search for a DIY tail light fix until the professionals can attend to the injured party.


After the inevitable google and youtube search for a tail light bandaid I decided upon the 3M lens repair tape to repair the injured party. The red part of the tail light was missing about 25 percent and it is a large tail light! 




Application

The tape is very easy to apply. Simply decided upon the length and cut the tape. The tape adheres very quickly and is very sticky. If absolutely necessary (though I would not recommend) the tape can be removed after applying, but for maximum adhesion another piece of tape should be cut.

There is enough tape on the roll for a few applications which does allow room for a redo if necessary.

TIP! If you desire to trim the tape I highly suggest the tape is trimmed prior to attaching the tape to the tail light. The tape is very sticky and difficult to trim once the tape begins to adhere to the tail light. All trimming is easier accomplished after the tape is unrolled to the desired length.



Why I Chose The 3M Tape

After researching my options the 3M Lens Repair tape was highly rated with over a 4.5/5 online rating. One of the main factors is the design of the tail light. Is it rounded? The tape allows easy application for tail light fixtures that are rounded and this is key for a waterproof repair. I had looked at a repair tape that in a sheet and many reviewers mentioned - for obvious reasons- how difficult it was to make a sheet bend to fit a rounded corner.

Recommendation

The tape and what is left of the tail light is holding up well until its' repair appointment. I recommend the tape as an easy fix to keep the tail light working and sealed from the elements until a permanent fix can be installed. And yes as I found out ... the entire tail light fixture is one unit so no repairing just the red part - of course that would be too easy. 






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, September 29, 2021

Nice Fingernails Don't Have To Be Difficult to Achieve! A Product Review

Have you ever just finished polishing your nails and then got an itch somewhere?  What happens?  You scratch and ruin all the hard work you just did trying to get your nails looking pretty!  There is a certain amount of "drying time" needed to keep that polish you just applied, looking as good as it should. 


 


Then to add to your misery, you have to remove all that polish that you just mucked up without messing the other hand that you didn't scratch with!  Unless you have three arms, you know that this is just about impossible to do! 

No wonder so many women  have given up on having nice looking nails, or they pay the price to go to a nail salon and have someone do their nails for them.

Now personally I have done that too!  Paying someone to do your nails for you is pricey!  You have to be careful that the nail salon you go to is clean, sanitized and not spreading diseases (fungus especially).  I have had more than one friend end up with an infection in their fingernails because of less than perfect sanitary conditions in a salon they used.  That is truly adding insult to injury!  

Color Street Nail Strips to the rescue!

When you are the master of your own manicures, you don't have to worry about the conditions of the salon!  If you follow ReviewThisReviews.com, I know you have seen Margaret Schindel's write ups on good nail health and the best tools to keep your nails looking good (https://www.reviewthisreviews.com/2021/05/14-secrets-grow-strong-healthy-beautiful-nails.html) (https://www.reviewthisreviews.com/2021/05/best-manicure-tools-strong-healthy-nails.html).  These are very important and if you have daughters, it's a great way to teach them how to take care of their hands and nails.  Good health involves taking care of all your body parts!  It's also a great way to have some fun and spend some quality time with your girls!  Make it a Saturday or Sunday night date to have those hands and nails looking lovely for the whole week to come!

Color Street Nail Strips are relatively new on the market.  They are NOT artificial nails that you paste on your own fingers, but rather they are fully cured nail polish strips that you place right on your own fingernails.  What makes these nail polish strips so nice is that they are dry immediately after application.  No time is needed to dry the polish before you can scratch your nose or ears or any other parts that could itch.  So no way to muck up the freshly applied color.

I have put these nail strips on my own fingers and after a few minutes, washed and dried dishes and then  gone for a swim!   Amazingly these nail strips stayed put, and lasted on my fingers for over two weeks without peeling, cracking or chipping.  They are incredibly strong and beautiful!

Margaret also does some amazing manicures using Color Street Nail Strips either in one set or sometimes mixing different sets to make something truly unique and lovely.  Just take a look at this manicure she did:


I love the combination of these three different sets of  nail strips.  

Let me explain a little more about these strips:

  • each set contains 16 real nail polish strips  (sized for the average nail beds)
  • each set comes with an alcohol pad to make sure your nails are oil free pre application
  • a small emery board to help with removing the excess nail strip
This is what they look like when you receive them:

And this is what is inside each package:

When you open the package right up, you will find easy to follow instructions on how to apply these strips to your own nails.

You can see for yourself that there are only 5 easy steps to applying these nail strips to your fingernails.  Once they are on, you don't have to wait for anything to dry.  You literally can get up and go!  

I know that this is one of the things my other half likes the best, no waiting 10 to 15 minutes for nail polish to dry before you can do anything else.  Those critical minutes when all of your efforts can go up in smoke!  It just doesn't happen with Color Street!

The other part I love is that there are so many choices.  I happen to love glitter and Color Street offers 17 different glitter strips and 4 Prism FX strips (holographic glitter).  There is even a "Glitter Dipped" overlay that makes your nails look like they are dripping with shiny sparks of color.  

But for my more tame days, I can choose from 30 different solid colors too!  Or two different French Manicures.  

Special occasions, no problem, there are 14 different nail art designs (it makes your nails look like someone did some fantastic paintings right there on your fingers).

That is a lot of choices!  Can you just imagine how many bottles of polish you would need to have in order to have all these choices?  

A friend of mine loves mermaids, so there is even an overlay for her and 5 other overlays that change up a plain color to something amazing. The combinations are endless.  Use your imagination and creativity to create something special that is yours and yours alone.



If you want to know more about Color Street, please feel free to leave me a message in the comments!  You can also see the whole catalogue of colors and styles available on my website www.colorstreet.com/olivia72!  I'd be pleased to be of any assistance to you!  Color Street is available through the website in the USA and Canada without any problems!

Here's to lovely hands and even prettier nails!  Believe it or not, little things like nice hands can make a difference in how you feel about yourself and how others perceive you!  It's a little thing, but, it is important to give that totally polished (no pun intended)  and put together look.

www.colorstreet.com/olivia72



Thank you Margaret Schindel for your permission to use your lovely manicure picture!







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, July 21, 2021

Happiness at the Cottage, National Hammock Day July 22

Nothing says Summer better than lying in a Hammock during these lazy, hazy and long summer days and evenings.  A Product Review!


Image by Svetlana Chernyshkova from Pixabay

There is something that is so relaxing and wonderful about being able to plunk yourself down in a hammock!  July 22nd is National Hammock Day!  Sunnydaze Decor has hammocks that will make your eyes pop open and your family drool.  To make things even better Sunnydaze Decor is having a "One Day Sale" on National Hammock Day, July 22nd.  You can save 10% on Hammocks and accessories with the code RELAX10!

Your cottage or backyard is just waiting for a nice relaxing and inviting place!  Hammocks are wonderful in that they can be set up easily between two trees or on a hammock stand.  If you choose the Hammock Stand, you have more options! These stands are wonderful in that you can choose where you want the hammock to be.  Do you like the sun, then just move the stand into a clear area so that sunshine can be an added bonus.  If you are not a sunshine lover, then move the hammock into a shady area.  With the hammock stand, you are not limited to placement

Tethering them between two trees makes the hammock a fixed relaxation spot! And that is not necessarily a bad thing either.



.





Hammocks make a great place to rest on your own or with a friend. Your other half, one of the children (grandchildren) or the family pet will find a nice comfortable spot where they can be with you and relax at the same time. All you need is a favorite book and a little bit of time to read!  What could be better?   A little bit of a breeze will rock you gently and you might even find yourself in dreamland for a bit! Who doesn't like the idea of an afternoon nap?

 
Typically hammocks come in two styles.  Both styles have two point anchoring spots (one on either end).  The hammock that you hang from the anchoring spots,  comes in two styles as well.  There are hammocks that have spreader bars (spreader bars can be straight or curved) on either end, that makes the fabric of the hammock lie flatter.  This makes it easy to get into the hammock and get out of it too!  The other style without the spreader bars is more like a cocoon that wraps itself around you and whoever you are sharing the space with.  Each one is comfortable so there is no problem there.  It really is a personal choice!  

https://shareasale.com/r.cfm?b=1627782&u=577487&m=15199&urllink=&afftrack=
I like the colorfulness of the Mayan Rope Hammock for my own personal use, but I can also see using the fabric ones if you have pets and children.  The rope hammocks can let little fingers get between the cords or paws for that matter!  We don't want accidents, so these are just a few things to think about before you buy one of these amazing outdoor beds! 
 
https://shareasale.com/r.cfm?b=1627782&u=577487&m=15199&urllink=&afftrack=



Hammocks work both at the cottage or at home!  Where ever you decide to place this, I know from experience that there will be many friends and family just itching to let themselves be rocked by the breezes and relax while enjoying the great outdoors.

If you don't want a Hammock bed, they also make Hammock Chairs as well.  Check them out on the Sunnydaze Decor website!  

If you are in the market for a hammock, I hope you can take advantage of the Sunnydaze Decor sale tomorrow July 22nd!  





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, May 26, 2021

Wonderful Tools to Help You Age Gracefully-A Product Review

Aging is not for the Faint of Heart, but it's better than the alternative! 



This is a quote that many older folks often say and as I'm getting older I would have to agree with them.  There are so many things to be thankful for when we reach that "Golden Age"!   But (and now comes the truth), there are also many things that start to go wrong! Things that we never noticed in our youth.  Like the effects of arthritis on our joints especially hips and knees, fingers and such.

My other half and I look after two more elderly than us, relatives.  My uncle turns 91 today and my mother turns 90 in August!  While we "look after" them, they are still both in good health (relatively speaking) and only require help with shopping, doctors appointments and such.  So we are blessed that they both still have their wits about them.

reviewthisreviews.com



One thing that they both complain about is getting up and down.  Stairs and getting up off of the couch or chair causes them both some measure of discomfort.  They are both showing signs of age related arthritis that can be very painful at times.  That seems to be their most difficult and constant complaint.  They can't get up as easily as they used to!

So we started to look for things that would raise their chairs and couches up a little bit more so that they didn't have to work so hard to get up.  What we found were several options that were affordable, easy to install and provided that extra lift!


Buying new furniture was not an option for either of them or we might have suggested that!

Now my uncle is tall (over 6 ft.) and my mother isn't a shorty either, so we decided to go with something that would give them enough of a lift so that when sitting their knees were at 90 degrees to their hips. Right now, without these risers, their "bottoms" are lower than their knees, making it hard to rise up out of the chair or couch. 

Medical equipment specialists, have chairs that will electronically almost stand a person out of the chair when activated, but that was over doing it where my family was concerned and they are very pricey ($400+).  

Furniture risers seemed to be a great answer and we decided to try it ourselves first because I have very bad arthritis in my knees and was having the same problems that they were having.  We ordered and installed the "iPrimio Furniture Risers" and it could not have been easier.  Simply lift each leg and slide the riser under the foot of the couch and place it back down again.  No holes to drill, no marking up the floors, no slipping either as they have a rubber foot that doesn't slide.  Within minutes our couch was 3 inches higher than it was before.  

reviewthisreviews.com These are the risers that we have installed on our couch.

Added bonus is that now it is even easier to vacuum under the couch.  With that extra bit of space underneath, the vacuum head easily reaches under the couch!  

You can see in the ad, that there are also risers for bed frames too.  No need to buy a whole new bed assembly, just lift and install the risers and I know you will hear words of thanks coming from your loved ones.  

Bathrooms are also problematic.  Just recently toilets are being  made to what is called a "comfort height".  If they live in their own homes you could hire a plumber to install one of these but again be prepared for a cost that is not average.  A regular standard height toilet will cost  about $150. dollars without installation.  You can get regular height toilets that can cost much more for "decorator styles".  Comfort height toilets will start at $270. plus!  Again that is just for the toilet, installation will cost extra. 

But, when getting up and down is a real effort or causes pain, then you have options that can help your loved ones live life easier with just a few modifications. Safety and comfort for our aging population are important as we try to keep them as independent as possible.

I hope that my experiences with these really easy additions might help you with whatever joint related issues you or one of your loved ones might be having.  

The risers are wonderful and you would never guess that they were added after the fact!  Everyone who comes to our house enjoys sitting on the chairs and couch, not realizing that the extra height makes it so much more comfortable.  Rising from them is no longer a pain in the knees or anywhere else.











Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, February 15, 2021

Reviewing Handmade Pottery Mugs by Worthington Pottery

I have just purchased a beautiful handmade pottery piece by Jackie of Worthington Pottery. I am over the moon about my mug and very excited to introduce you to Jackie and her artwork.

Reviewing Worthington Pottery on Review This!

I have planned on buying a few handmade mugs for some time. They've been on my long list of things to have for the new house. One of my splurges. Little pieces of functional art for my new kitchen. I only had a vague idea of what I was looking for in mugs; that they must be handmade by a small shop owner and they must reflect or celebrate the natural world. Beyond that, I hadn't a clue where I would shop.

I had been watching Etsy for awhile, following the recommendations of others. There are so many artists creating so many beautiful mugs that I was more than a bit overwhelmed by all of the choices. Add to that the current supply chain problems and my home construction moving at a snail's pace (or slower) that had led to me feeling as though there is no rush to make a purchase. Also, I didn't feel that I had to have any of those mugs right now. 

Yes, there are many, many handmade pottery mugs available that are gorgeous. Created by many talented potters. But artwork is a very personal thing and none of those mugs called my name.

Then one day on Instagram, I saw pottery on the_crazy_potter_lady account and fell in love. I saw this snowflake mug, on a cold and snowy day, and knew I had to have it. 

The snowflake transfers are clean and cool, like newly fallen snow up at The Shack. The glaze at the top of the mug looks like an abstract painting of my view of the woods down the ridge from my future bedroom window.

The view from my future home with colors ever-changing

The colors of that glaze!

Cleary, I bought this mug because of the emotional response I had to it. Here are some factual bits about my mug:

  • Large size, holds the contents of a 16.9 fl oz soda bottle
  • a light, porcelain-like feel - but strong (I was concerned it would weigh a ton)
  • food, dishwasher, and microwave safe
  • beautiful glaze colors
  • sturdy, beautifully curved handle 
  • the snowflake transfer is permanently applied

My mug was mailed the day after my order/payment was complete and arrived safely in a priority mail box, marked fragile, wrapped in paper, and cushioned by packing peanuts. This card was also included:




Jackie Worthington aka The Crazy Potter Lady

Not only do I like Jackie's nature-themed pottery, I also like her presence. I look forward to her posts on Instagram.  She is genuinely warm and welcoming toward her followers and attempts to celebrate each day.  

Jackie also does short live videos while she is creating her pottery. I have always been intrigue by pottery wheels and it is extra cool to see the artist creating the mugs that are being sold. It is a cool process - one I had always wanted to learn but my hand-eye coordination is the pits. I think it is beyond cool that Jackie invites us to watch as she works.

Jackie currently sells her items via pre-sales. Contact her via InstagramFacebook, or her webiste to discuss what you would like to pre-order. I was fortunate, and the mug I purchased was waiting for me on her website thecrazypotterlady.com. She is currently working on pre-orders and does not have a restock/release date for her store.

Jackie is a veteran (as is her husband - thank you both for your service) and it is quick to see that she is concerned with issues of mental health and PTSD. She uses the hashtag #throwingforptsd to bring awareness to Veteran suicide.  

She has this message for Vets:


"Never give up on yourself. It gets rough at times but always remember to take care of yourself first". - Jackie

 

I am so happy to have found Worthington Pottery. I prefer to support artists, small businesses, and Veteran owned businesses when I am able. How wonderful that my beautiful mug came from such a business.

Related Links:

Although time gets away from me and I don't write as frequently as I would like, you can read more about my adventures on my land at Treasures, Travel, and Tales and see a brief tour of my home under construction here.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 19, 2020

Vacuum Packing Made Easy-One Great Kitchen Tool!

Vacuum packing is not new, but it is a wonderful tool to have in your kitchen. ~ A Product Review




If 2020 has taught us anything, it's that nothing stays the same!  While the world is healing slowly, we
are left with finding ways to make our budgets go further.  I don't know if you have noticed, but food prices are on the rise again.  

For my family that means buying vegetables and fruits when they are in season.  You get twice the bang for your buck by doing this.  First you get the freshest of fruits and vegetables and because they are in season, the price usually reflects the abundance, by being much lower than when imported.

I prefer to go out and shop at my local farmer's markets, or when I visit my Sister's family, we make a trip out to the St. Jacob's Market, in St. Jacob's Ontario.  This is a great place to visit for a day trip or if you live close by, to shop at!  You know you are supporting local farmers and the Mennonite Community as well. (I digress!)

We try to buy our vegetables when the season is high.  They are the freshest and tastiest vegetables that you could ever want.  Picked at the perfect time and very cost effective, you just know you are getting nature's best.  But, if you don't have a way to keep them, all that goodness is missed.



With our new Vacuum Sealer, we can purchase more of these vegetables and bring them home.  My husband and I sit and clean, divide and package the goodness either the same day or the day after.  Once they are all vacuum packed, they go into the freezer.  Summer fresh goodness is ours even in the middle of winter.

We don't stop at the fruits and vegetables though.  When we go to market, there are many farmers who make homemade sausages. Some farmers have,  cattle, chickens, pigs and lambs.  Yes we love our meats!  There is a real pleasure involved in bringing home the freshest, grain fed, and antibiotic free meats.  You know you are eating the finest quality foods available.

With our Vacuum Sealer, we separate our meats into family (for us it's two) sized portions. Some of the  Roasts and chicken get treated with spices and then packaged. 


When it's time for dinner, out comes a package and while it is defrosting it is also marinating in the spices.  We save a lot of prep time, by having everything already put together.

Our Vacuum Sealer is getting a really good workout. We have a roll of freezer sleeves, that can be custom sized so there is no waste in the plastic.  It is entirely up to you how small or how big you make your bags.  The sealer seals both ends, one before you fill and one after you have filled the bag to your liking.  Then you have the choice of just bagging it and sealing it, or bagging and vacuum sealing.  Both are options.



This is the exact model that we have purchased and we are delighted with the ease in operation.  We spend a day or so with the prepping, but once it's done, we can relax and just enjoy. 

When we purchased our Vacuum Sealer we also purchased extra rolls of plastic because we knew that we would be making great use of this new addition to our kitchen.  This Sealer is so much better than plastic wraps and easier to use too.  We have even frozen leftovers for use at a future date.  

Now, just a word of caution, you still need to prepare your vegetables like you would normally do.  Wash them, blanch them and then pack them into the freezer.  It couldn't be easier than that.

If you are a baker, then you will love this sealer too!  Bake breads and buns, some for today and some for a later date.  Freeze them and when you are ready, it's like you just baked them that day.


I don't like clutter in my kitchen, and have found that many gadgets are "extra" stuff.  However, I would highly recommend that you think about getting one of these Sealers!  If you are interested in saving money,  buying food that is fresh and wholesome, even freezing your herbs, then you won't be disappointed.  Gardeners will love this Sealer!  When the cabbages, cauliflower, broccoli and your other vegetables are ready, there will be no waste!  Use what you can and freeze what you can't!  This really is a winner in my books.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X