Showing posts with label exercise. Show all posts
Showing posts with label exercise. Show all posts

Wednesday, October 18, 2023

Temperature Drops and Keeping Warm Are Important To Me ~ A Product Review

It's that time of year when the temperatures are dropping and you know that Good Old Mister Winter is just waiting to make his presence known. Keeping your hands and feet warm is going to be one of the ways that you will enjoy this temperature drop, really!

snowy scene



Personally I'm just enjoying the beautiful autumn that we are having right now, but, I know that it will be short lived.  I hate being cold. Unlike springtime when the temps are rising, in October, the temps are dropping and dropping quite quickly.

My biggest problem is that walking has become my go to exercise to keep myself fit and sane all at the same time.  I need some time away from my home in order to clear my mind, think about what needs must be met (this is where it gets difficult), and just get away from the source of my stress.

I walk between 5 and 8 kilometers a day (for my American friends that translates to 3.1 miles to 4.97 miles respectively).  This is my routine and has been for the last 3 years.  I have learned to enjoy the walking, but, I still hate the part about getting cold!

Well I have come to rely on a handy dandy and easy way to get rid of that feeling, so that my walks are comfortable in whatever weather Mr. Winter decides to throw my way.  I just happen to love My HotHands!


 


This pack has a great combination of hand, body and feet warmers, all together. So there is no need ever to feel that Mr. Winter is winning and keeping you away from your much needed walking schedule. As seniors, I and my other half look forward to keeping ourselves healthy and strong. One way we do this is to keep active. Walking is by far one of the Best Rated exercises for Seniors all around the world. You don't need any equipment per/se. Good boots and warm clothing are the basic requirements. Of course hats and scarves help too!  This is where the HotHands come in.  We place these little packets into our mitts and into our boots and both our hands and feet are kept warm and toasty the whole time we are out!  We don't use them every time we go out, but when the temperatures really drop they are a life saver!  

We live in an urban area so that most of the sidewalks and roads are plowed, but if you lived in a very rural area you might also want to invest in some snow cleats for your own safety.  These are handy items that attach to your boots and give you that extra grip when ice and snow become an obstacle to your fitness routines.  If I lived in the countryside I would have these for sure.  Where I live they would not be necessary.  My other half and I don't go walking in the "outer reaches".  We stick fairly close to home.



For those of you who are city dwellers, but still like getting out into the countryside, then I would recommend that these traction aids be a part of your outdoor activity equipment along with those wonderful HotHands! 

Nothing should keep you from getting a good walk in everyday, especially the cold temperatures.  You can keep up your exercise goals with the help of these Hand Warmers, enjoy a beautiful walk in the brisk air and feel comfortable the whole time you are out!

https://amzn.to/46RRDw9.


I hope that you will give them a try and keep yourself strong and warm during those winter months when hibernation seems to be the only other alternative.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, November 30, 2021

The Benefits Of Bodyblade For Health And Fitness Reviewed

bodyblade for exercise


I originally bought the Bodyblade piece of exercise equipment for my husband.

He was keen to get fitter but doesn't want to go to a gym and needs something he can pick up and work on quickly whenever he feels like it.

I was thrilled when my husband took to using it right away! It is always nice when a gift is well received.

The Bodyblade is very convenient. In our experience, it takes a few minutes to get used to the actions required and the different exercises were not difficult to learn.


bodyblade propped against brick wall


What Is The Bodyblade? 

The Classic Bodyblade we have is a long flexible rounded edged blade about four foot long and a few inches wide. It is made of a sturdy, firm yet comfortable material that is easy to hold. It consists of a section in the middle that is slightly thicker for your hands to hold onto and is essentially a long flexible strong blade. 

It arrived quite quickly and really almost as soon as you get it out of the packaging you can start using it. There was no complicated assembly to frustrate us. Just unpack it and get going!

I would recommend that you read the instructions and watch the instructional DVD of course, but it is easy to follow the instructions and simple to use.

Do consult with your healthcare provider if you have any health issues, are pregnant or have not exercised in a long time before using any exercise equipment.

Bodyblade was created by Bruce Hymanson, a Californian physiotherapist. It was designed to help build strength, balance and stabilisation and has many benefits. 


Here is a short YouTube Video by Bruce Hymanson explaining how this piece of exercise equipment works.

Bodyblade How It Works 


 Starting The Bodyblade Exercises

As we both have some health issues we started slow and very gentle with this exercise, which we found was perfectly possible to do.

As you are driving the speed and mobility of the blade it is very much under your control. You are in complete control of the intensity of the exercise using a push-pull movement with your hands. We found it best to be standing with feet about shoulder-width apart and knees softly bent standing on a flat stable surface. 

We started doing the exercises for just one exercise per minute and built up very slowly until doing several exercises in one session. At first, we found it better to learn and do the exercises standing still. 

As I have back issues that can be aggravated by new exercises I never attempt to do all the exercises in one go, I always split them up over the course of a week. I do need to avoid some advanced exercises or reduce the intensity of some of them.

Hubby tends to pick it up and do the exercises whenever he feels like it, sometimes for a few minutes, other times for a longer exercise session. We both feel like we have had a good safe workout from it.

In fact, I believe it suits very gentle workouts and would suit a more demanding workout. You can of course combine it with other types of exercise. Most of all the exercises are quite fun and not too difficult to learn. Start with the basics and get the technique right, then you can gradually progress working to your tolerance and fitness level. 


bodyblade held by man for demonstration of use


Learning How To Use The Bodyblade

With the Bodyblade kit I bought, there is a DVD and a wall chart for you to learn the technique and exercises. If you are a beginner I would advise you to buy a Bodyblade with these extra essentials so that you can learn and know what you are doing. 

I do think it is worthwhile watching the videos and looking over the wall chart before you start using the Bodyblade. That way you will understand the technique and what all the different exercises can do for you.

It is so easy to fit in a few minutes of exercise whenever you have time.

bodyblade exercise equipment

Getting Used To The Rythmn Of the Bodyblade

This is the grip and push-pull technique that you really need to master to get benefits from the Bodyblade. Some people seem to get it quickly while others take longer, but do take time to master the technique. 

If you don't get it within a few minutes this can be a little frustrating. However do not give up as it can be learned, just needs time in some cases. There are also YouTube Videos by the inventor to help us learn.

It is best to spend a little time getting the rhythm and technique good first. You do need to hold the center of the blade very gently. You do not need to grip hard, in fact, the softer and more gentle your grip the better. Then it is simply mastering the push-pull action.

We found it easier to learn the technique while holding the blade in front of the body with both hands first, then graduate onto holding the blade above your head, behind your back and so on. Then progress on to holding the blade with one hand for the side exercises. 

You can feel when you get it right and once into the rhythm it does feel natural. Once you master the technique it seems to stay. Then you can build up the time and variety of exercises.


bodyblade held in front of wood fence

Which Parts Of The Body Does BodyBlade Target?

I thought initially that it would be only my arms that would get the training, but after using it I find that I can also feel it most in my quadriceps and core abdominals too. It is great to feel that you have had a workout in a very short space of time.

We found it best when starting out to split up the workouts into short sessions but you will know what is right for you and your fitness levels. 

As you continue to use it you can see and feel toning and firming of the muscles.


Watch this YouTube Video by Bruce Hymanson to see the 12 minute BodyBlade Super Six workout -the six basic exercises targeting many parts of the body, as well as a reasonable cardio workout.


What To Wear When Exercising With BodyBlade

You can exercise in full gym gear if you want but equally we often just do a few minutes in whatever we are wearing.

We usually exercise with the Bodyblade in a T-shirt, joggers and trainers. Really as long as you can easily and freely move and put your arms side to side and above your head, whatever you are wearing is OK. 

I would advise comfortable flat proper exercise shoes though as you need to maintain good posture. I wouldn't try it wearing restrictive clothing or high heels!


Storing The Bodyblade 

The Bodyblade does not weigh much and is so easy to store, it takes up very little room. We just prop it up against a wall and you hardly notice it is there.

Most exercise equipment takes up so much space and some are complicated to set up, but this is hardly noticeable in our home. You could easily store this even if you are short on space, you just need enough room for an item about a couple of inches wide and four foot high. 

The ideal piece of exercise equipment is one that is easy to store and easy to use. Anything complicated or cumbersome to set up does put off a lot of us bothering. The Bodyblade is perfect for ease of storage and use. 


bodyblade propped against wood fence


Is Bodyblade A Fun Exercise?

What is a fun exercise is very subjective of course. However, I do not find it boring. It does not seem to be necessary to do long complicated workouts to get some benefit. Equally, if you are already fit you can move on to relevant more advanced exercises. 

You can do twelve or twenty-minute exercises or you can split those up into shorter more manageable blocks if that is better for you. I do prefer to use it while following a Video as I find it more fun that way. 

There are many videos targetting areas of the body and increasing in difficulty and intensity. 


Here is a slightly more demanding 22 minute BodyBlade Power 10 workout by Bruce Hymanson on YouTube. You will see how you can incorporate more cardio into the workout once you have mastered the basics. 


My husband got the Bodyblade rhythm and technique very quickly and really enjoys it.  

I tend to use it for a session once or twice a week.  It is one of the quickest forms of exercise to do as there is no setup or preparation of equipment and is especially useful when I am short on time but want to do something good for myself, even if I don't feel like exercising. 

We can use it in any room we choose or even outdoors when it's warm.

There are quite a few Bodyblade videos you can buy or watch on YouTube free which are a fun way to exercise along with others and to supplement and advance the exercises you can do. So this is also an exercise that can grow with you.  

You do have to concentrate so time passes very fast and then you are done!


Is It Worth Buying The Bodyblade? 

Overall for us, it has been an excellent purchase.

We can both use it as often as we like at any time of day, It is very sturdy, stores easily is very quiet to use and is effective.

As there is really nothing to break or get damaged I can see us having it for many, many years so certainly very cost-effective.

There is also no driving to the gym or setting up any equipment. As it is so light and so easily stored you could take it many places with you if you want to exercise while on holiday or visiting family and friends.

If you would like a piece of exercise equipment you can use anytime at home, that is easily and unobtrusively stored, relatively easy to master, can be built up from beginner to more demanding workouts, is long-lasting and relatively inexpensive you may like to consider the Bodyblade. 


More Health And Fitness Reviews:-

The Benefits Of Using A Rebounder For Health And Fitness

Health Reviews By Contributors On Review This Reviews








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, February 24, 2021

Super Comfortable and Flattering Yoga Pants for Women

I finally discovered the joy of wearing comfortable yoga pants and workout leggings as an alternative to jeans or pants after beginning a successful ketogenic diet journey that culminated in a nearly 60–pound weight loss. After purchasing several different styles and sizes of yoga pants over the past 21 months, there have been three (so far) that I can recommend highly, each for different reasons. The pair I've chosen to feature in this product review, the IUGA high-waisted workout leggings, are by far the most comfortable yoga pants for women I've tried. 

They not only feel wonderful and are available in a choice of several, they're also flattering, even on those of us who aren't blessed with model-perfect bodies. 

IUGA yoga pants - The Most Comfortable Yoga Pants, Super Soft Fabric That Doesn't Bag or Bind for a Flattering Fit
There's no bunching, bagging, or binding with these ultra-soft, ultra-comfy workout leggings! 

Yoga Pants and Workout Leggings Have Become Wardrobe Staples

The fashion experts at Vogue magazine just released this year's Vogue Wardrobe Essentials Guide. and black workout leggings are one of the editors' 34 wardrobe staples for 2021. (Who knew?)

Originally, yoga pants and workout leggings were made specifically for yoga practice and working out, respectively, and had different fabric and design features. But as they have evolved from fitness-only to fashion, those distinctions have gradually eroded, and now the terms "yoga pants" and "leggings" are often used either together or interchangeably in product descriptions.

Yoga Pants Provide Greater Comfort and Freedom of Movement Than Pants or Jeans

My first time buying a pair of yoga pants wasn't until shortly after my 65th birthday, when I began a health-driven weight loss journey and switched to a clean, ketogenic approach to eating. I completely eliminated sugars, grains, and highly processed foods from my diet, and between May 2019 and August 2020, I lost 59 pounds and went from a size 16-18 to a size 6-8. Every two to three months (even less, at the beginning), I was dropping a size, and boxing up my almost-new clothing to donate. Having to buy them again in a smaller size every few months meant limiting my clothing purchases to a few, basic wardrobe staples—underwear, jeans, black pants, shorts, and a couple of tops—until I reached my weight loss goal.

As you may have noticed, neither yoga pants nor leggings were on my initial list of wardrobe staples. I had always associated them with much younger, slimmer women and girls, with taut, toned bodies and cute figures, so they weren't even on my radar at that point! However, my attitude toward this type of clothing changed significantly once I accepted that my commitment to healthier living would require becoming more active, in addition to nourishing my body better.  

One of the most important benefits of losing weight and follow a clean, ketogenic diet was the amelioration, and eventual elimination, of the chronic, acute pain in my knees, hips, back, and feet that I had been living with for decades. Being able to go for a walk or a Segway ride with my husband  without being in agony was not just liberating, but life-changing! As I was searching online for a new, smaller pair of classic, high-waisted, basic black pants (which I wore more often than anything else I owned), I was surprised to see more high-waisted leggings and yoga pants than regular pants in the search results. It occurred to me that it might be a good idea to expand my list of wardrobe staples to include a couple of pieces of activewear, to support and encourage my efforts to make physical activity part of my new, healthy lifestyle. In fact, it might even be time for me to consider a pair of workout leggings a try.

Of course, I could wear them...but should I? Would it be possible for yoga pants to look attractive (or, at least, not unattractive) and age-appropriate, on this out-of-shape senior? I debated with myself for a while, but finally acknowledged that I couldn't see myself objectively, and decided to ask my husband what he thought, knowing he would give me his honest opinion. He encouraged me to order a pair and try them on. 

When I did, I was surprised and delighted at his reaction, which was more positive than I could have imagined! You could have knocked me down with a feather. I also was thrilled to discover how much more comfortable and less restrictive those yoga pants felt, compared to the jeans and tailored pants I had always worn, Before long, I found myself wearing them several days a week, not only for walks and Segway rides, but also for routine, everyday activities, like working, reading, cooking, or watching a movie. They quickly went from being completely off my radar to becoming a staple in my new wardrobe. 

Woman wearing IUGA yoga pants and stretching her leg
I'm pulling my hamstring and calf muscles together as far as I can, the fabric doesn't bind or cut into them, it simply conforms to the compression I'm creating

Since that first pair, I have purchased other pairs from different brands and with slightly different features, and my IUGA high-waisted workout leggings have been the most comfortable yoga pants I've owned to date. 

What I Love Most About My IUGA High-Waisted Leggings

Ultra-Soft, Opaque Fabric

  • The first thing I noticed about these yoga pants was the extremely soft, silky, luxurious fabric, which gave these a totally different feel than any of my other leggings. The best word I can think of to describe it is "touchable," with a lovely, tactile quality similar to that of microfiber. 
  • The "non see through" fabric is completely opaque. 

Flattering Fit

Woman wearing IUGA yoga pants
  • The fiber content blends polyester for shape retention with spandex for excellent stretch and recovery, as well as abrasion-resistance.*
  • The 4-way stretch provides good compression and support. 
  • The high-waisted silhouette, seamed front and back yoke construction, and increased compression around the lower torso are designed to "contour your curves" and "pull in your tum and bum." 
  • They are made in six sizes, ranging from XS to XXL, and there's a size chart to help you determine which one will fit you best. (I followed the size chart when I ordered mine, and they fit me perfectly.)
* Note: The description on the Amazon product page states that the fiber content of these workout leggings is 80% polyester and 20% spandex. However, the fiber content printed inside my light blue IUGA yoga pants is 87% polyester and 13% spandex. Sometimes, a product's fiber content may vary slightly different from one color to another, which is one possible explanation for the discrepancy, but your guess is as good as mine.

Extremely Comfortable

  • The smooth, soft, supple polyester and spandex fabric also wicks moisture away from the body to keep you dry and comfortable while working out.
  • These yoga pants provide less compression around the the legs than around the lower torso, so they don't bind or cut into your legs, but also enough to remain conformed to your legs and prevent the fabric from bunching or sagging as you move, bend, and stretch. 

Waistband Pocket

Built-in pocket in the waistband of the IUGA workout leggings/yoga pants
  • The built-in pocket is completely hidden, and remains undetectable unless or until you decide to place something inside it.
  • Although I haven't had to use it very often, I'd guess it could easily hold a couple of keys, a lip balm, and a few tissues, for example.  
    • According to the product description, "You will be able to stash your phones and keys safely." Keys? Probably. But unless your phone is quite small, I wouldn't consider the waistband pocket a secure place to stash it. 
  • Access is easy and convenient.

Excellent Quality

  • I purchased my IUGA High Waisted Leggings three months ago, and I machine wash and then hang them over a clothes drying rack to dry. After having laundered them quite a few times so far, there appears to have been no fading, pilling, or changes in the fit or performance of these yoga pants. 
  • At the time this post was published, they had more than 5,400 5-star ratings from Amazon customers.

A Choice of Colors and Lengths

  • Currently, these yoga pants come in black, dark coffee (dark brown), dark violet, dark blue, gray, light blue, pale red violet, carnation purple (lilac), maroon, and tranquil green. 
    • Note: The ones I own are the "light blue" shade. In real life, the color is a bit less aqua than it appears in the Amazon product page photos.  
  • Most of the colors (but not all) are offered in both regular and capri lengths. 

Very Affordable

  • These IUGA workout leggings retail for $24.95 and, at the time of publishing, were priced at $19.95 on Amazon with Prime free one-day shipping and free returns for Amazon Prime members.

    Super Comfortable and Flattering Yoga Pants for Women review by Margaret Schindel

    Read More of My Product Reviews

    Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    Friday, March 13, 2020

    ProForm 235 CSX Recumbent Exercise Bike Reviewed

    Pro-Form 235 CSX Recumbent Exercise Bike Review
    Exercise is not my favorite pastime!  However, like everyone else, I need to exercise regardless of the weather.  Few exercise machines work for me because I have a severely curved spine (scoliosis), therefore strain on my spine causes a great deal of pain.  

    Over the years, I have tried several exercise regiments and different low impact machines.  Until I discovered the recumbent exercise bike, all exercise ended in pain.  

    While I would be the first to say there is no substitute for walking, I am grateful to have found an indoor exercise machine that actually works for me.  By the way, I have tried other types of exercise bikes, but the backless style puts too much pressure on my spine.


    The Pro-Form 235 CSX Recumbent Exercise Bike Information & Features


     ProForm 235 CSX Recumbent BikeCheck PriceOriginally, I planned to purchase a exercise bike made by a company that is renowned for quality bicycles.  My husband suggested  I go to a local store that has them set up and allows you to test them.  I am so glad I took his advice!  The one I thought I wanted was uncomfortable, which means I would end up not using it.  

    When I sat on the Pro-Form Recumbent Bike, I was shocked at the difference.  The seat is supportive and quite comfortable.  Because the seat will move forward, I was able to set it for my leg length with my back pressed against the seat back for support.   
      
    It is recommended that you exercise 5 days a week, for 30 minutes. I am easily able to peddle for 30 minutes without experiencing any pain, during or after.  That is amazing!  

    There are 18 difference workout settings which emulate riding on various terrains, or you can simply peddle at your own pace and preferred resistance level. 

    For example, I can take it slow and easy, with no resistance, for 30 minutes and burn 150 calories.  A real workout would obviously yield greater results. 


    Additional Features

    ProForm 235 CSX Recumbent Exercise Bike
    • Requires 4 D Batteries for Monitor (a power adapter is sold separately)
    • Monitor shows time, speed, watts, & calories burned
    • EKG Grip Pulse
    • Built-in Audio for Ipod
    • Adjustable Cushioned Seat
    • Water Bottle Holder
    • Quiet (almost silent)
    • Approximately 5' long & 2' wide
    • 275 lb. Weight Limit


    Other Considerations Before You Begin

    It takes a few hours to assemble the exercise bike and having a second person to help is preferred.  You don't want to rush the assembly time!  

    You will also need a carpet piece or mat underneath the bike to avoid damaging floors when exercising.  

    Plus, be sure to buy your batteries or the AC adapter in advance.  You will want to be able to test everything immediately after it is assembled. 


    Entertainment While Exercising


    ProForm 235 CSX Recumbent Exercise Bike Reviewed
    Most often, I feel like I should be doing something instead of dedicating time to exercise.  After all, real bicycling allows you to enjoy your surroundings, the sounds, the smells, and the beauty of the great outdoors.  It is a totally different experience than just plain exercising.  

    Frankly, I need a distraction when I exercise.  The ProForm 235 CSX Recumbent Bike has a slot in front of the monitor for an iPad or Kindle.  Instead of watching the monitor, I watch a movie, read, listen to an audio book or to music.  Before I know it, the 30 minutes have passed.

    Of course, you would set your own workout length of time and preferred resistance.  Just be sure to bring your water bottle and entertainment along for the ride. 

       

    Disclaimer: I am not a doctor. You should consult your physician before starting this or any exercise program to determine what is best for your needs.



    Read More Product Reviews On
    ReviewThisProducts.com

     


    House of Sylvestermouse




    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    Wednesday, August 3, 2016

    Review Some of Grammie Olivia's Favorite Things

    Grammieknows is what my darling little ones tell everyone, whenever I answer a question for them. 

    Sometimes the answers are true and other times they are a story that makes absolutely no sense, but has them laughing in the aisles.  My propensity for telling tales has earned me the moniker of being a know it all.....So I guess the nickname Grammieknows fits pretty good.


    white trilliums flowers
    Trilliums 2016 from  Grammie Olivia's Garden. 


    What Grammie does Know is, that gardening is a balm for the soul and works nicely to make a body tired, so that sleep can, eventually make the body rest.  Working in the garden not only makes the body tired, but it is great exercise.  As we age, we need that exercise to keep us moving one step at a time.  You know (and Grammieknows) if you don't use it, you'll lose it!  It is so true with exercise, if you don't move those muscles, arthritis and weakness will take over.  


    muscle medicine
    Muscle Medicine
     


    Gardening also provides a way for you to enjoy the beauty that is all around.  From the ground right up to the sky, flowers and plants make the world a more beautiful place. It doesn't stop at the ground level either.  All those flowers planted in garden beds, encourage bees, butterflies, birds and small animals to gather and enjoy the work of your hands.

    backyard wildlife book

    Finding great tools to use to make the job easier is also a lot of fun.  I have my special tools that I just can't be without!  Like any other craftsman, looking for new tools is a joy and I love sharing those great finds.  You can see some of the tools I love in another Review This Article, I love my tools.


    Being green minded, may be avante garde today, but I have been that way for a long time.  I don't encourage the use of chemicals in any way, shape, or form.  There are natural solutions to every problem and I try to search those out.  When something works particularly well, you will find me sharing that with everyone who will listen. 

     


    Recipe for Homemade Weed Killer

    Like my favorite weed killer, that is made up of Vinegar, Salt and Dawn (Blue) Dishwashing liquid.  I know you want the recipe now....  So, it's one gallon White Vinegar,  2 cups of Salt, and 1/2 cup of Dawn.  Always shake it up well, before applying.  Put it into your sprayer or divide it up into several different spray bottles (make sure you label them) and use early in the morning(on a dry day) for your weed issues.


    Gardening is such an incredible opportunity to stand on God's earth and work to make the world a better place to live, breathe, and be!


    You will find me on Review This, or on my website, www.grammieknowshow.com and sometimes on Facebook posting things of interest to gardeners  and those who enjoy flowers and nature at https://www.facebook.com/GrammieKnowsWeekendGardeners.
    The other places where Grammie Olivia posts things of interest include  Pinterest for fun and lots of interesting subjects that just tickle her funny bone.  You can check out some of the interesting things Grammie Olivia finds online right there.  


    I love to hear from others, so use one or all of the platforms I have shared with you to drop me a line.  I will answer, because after all, GrammieKnows.




    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    Thursday, January 7, 2016

    Improve Your Health With a Simple Rebounder Workout

    When you use a mini trampoline for exercise, every cell in your body benefits from each brief, simple rebounder workout, making you healthy and stronger.

    Several years ago when I was recovering from cancer treatments, a friend recommended that I start using a rebounder for exercise. That way, every cell in my body could be oxygenated in one brief, simple rebounder workout, helping rebuild my strength quickly. She was right. With just a few minutes a day of gentle bouncing, I began feeling better quickly and, in no time, my strength and endurance were back to normal.  I'm well now, but I still enjoy my mini-trampoline workouts. Not only are they good for body and soul, they're lots and lots of fun!

    You don't have to be recovering from an illness to reap the benefits of using a rebounder for exercise. It's a great workout for just about anyone who can stand upright and maintain a fair amount of balance. If you're not sure that's you, check with your doctor first!

    Advantages of Rebounder Exercise


    The advantages of rebounder exercise are many. First, you can exercise by yourself, in the comfort of your own home. No gym membership necessary which brings us to our second point: it's cheap exercise. The only piece of equipment that you need is the rebounder or mini-trampoline (the names are used interchangeably). I'll give you some recommendations about that below.

    Next advantage, rebounding is a great choice whether you're totally out of shape, in perfect shape and want an additional cardio/oxygenizing workout, or anywhere in between. If you fall into the first category, your workouts will start out short, just a few minutes as your body tolerates.  If you fall into the totally-fit category, you'll just bounce for a longer period of time and add plenty of upper body movement to your workout.

    One of the most important advantages of exercising using a rebounder is the oxygenation aspect that I mentioned above. What that means is that as you work out, breathing faster and deeper, your respiratory system absorbs more oxygen and your cardiovascular system pumps that oxygen-rich blood through every cell in your body. You know that oxygen is essential if you're a living, breathing human being, but what you might not know is that high levels of oxygen have been shown to fight disease, including cancer. In fact, it has been proven that cancer cells can't exist in the presence of oxygen. While we obtain oxygen from drinking lots of water and eating the right foods, exercise that makes us breathe more deeply also provides our bodies with a live-giving fresh supply of oxygen. That's why, simply put, exercise is so important in maintaining, or rebuilding, a healthy body. Breast cancer patients and others with lymphatic system issues, consult your doctor about using a trampoline to help rid your body of those toxins.

    There's one more important advantage of rebounder exercise and that is the effect the workout has on your overall well being. While your body is getting its workout, your mind is having the time of its life! It is so much fun to exercise using a lively workout music playlist. As you bounce, dance, and jump to the music, you can't help but be in a better mood when it's all said and done!

    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

    Workout Music for Rebounding


    Choose something moderately fast with a steady beat. Most importantly, pick music that you like.  My current favorite is Motor City Hits, a workout mix from The Biggest Loser.

    How to Use a Rebounder


    Wear comfortable, sturdy shoes or go barefoot if you prefer. If you're a beginner, place the rebounder within reach of a counter or sturdy chair to grab just in case you start feeling a little unstable (or choose a rebounder with a stability bar). Start by stretching, then bounce "slow and low," keeping your feet on the deck of the trampoline. Personally, I like to just do my own thing, walking, marching, or jumping to the music, adding arm movements as I pick up the pace. If you've never done any rebounding at all, I'd recommend starting with a video such as the excellent one below in order to learn some basic moves. Stick with your comfort level, pushing yourself only when you feel ready, and you'll do fine.

    Reviewing Mini-Trampolines: Which Rebounder to Buy


    The price range for rebounders is wide, starting at less than $30 and going up to over $300. The choice is yours and I'd recommend starting on this page at Amazon.com for a quick overview of what's available. The more expensive fitness trampolines are generally very highly rated, but then so are many of the cheaper models. 

    Besides your budget, keep in mind your state of health. A stability bar is a feature that you'll find helpful if you have an issue with balance. When I was sick, having the bar to hold onto while I bounced was very important. These days I'm comfortable going without the bar and leaving more space around me. 

    I've never used resistance bands like the ones included on this inexpensive but well-reviewed Gold's Gym Mini Rebounder, but customers seem to love this model. 

    My bottom line advice? Read the reviews and choose the best model you can afford. As many reviewers say, you get what you pay for. As for me, I'm fine with my 36-inch, non-folding model with elastic bands (not springs) and no stamina bar. Your mileage may vary. 

    So, should you rebound? 


    The answer is a resounding, "Yes!" unless your doctor tells you otherwise. It's simple, cheap to get started, it will improve your health, and it's the most fun exercise to do day or night, rain or shine, in the privacy of your own home.  What's not to like about that!

    Like the idea of improving your health by using a rebounder for exercise? I'd love if you'd share your thoughts on the subject in the comment section below.

    QUICK LINKS:



    Posted by Susan Deppner

    Susan Deppner

    About the Author

    Susan Deppner is a baby boomer, a cancer survivor, and a Southerner who believes in the Golden Rule. She enjoys writing about food, faith, and fitness; health, home, and holidays; people, places, pets, and patriotism, and more. Follow Susan on Twitter, Facebook, and Pinterest.




    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






    Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

    The Review This Reviews Contributors



    SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

     


    Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

    Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

    We may be apart, but
    You Are Not Forgotten





    “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

    X