Wednesday, January 19, 2022

January, the Longest Month in the Year for Gardeners!

January is a month that has many of us dreaming and planning for better things to come!

As a  avid gardener, I know that this month in particular is probably the one I wish would pass by quickly.  Don't get me wrong, I'm not wishing my time away, rather, I want to see something other than snow and cold temperatures.  

In past years I get through this month with a trip to the south where I can soothe my soul on a beach or sitting poolside and dreaming about how to bring this beautiful weather back home with me.

Alas, as we all know this has not been possible for the past couple of years due to pandemic travel restrictions.  
 
So what can I do to combat this seasonal depression that seems to envelope me and many of my friends?

Well let me tell you what works for me and maybe, just maybe you could try it and see if it works for you too!

The internet is wonderful for daydreaming and even most browsers will send you lovely pictures from all over the world,  When I find one I particularly like, I will google that location and see what I can learn about that particular spot.

This past week I had pictures of Machu Picchu, Portugal and  Columbia!  That's just to name a few places I have had come up on my screen just this past week.   

If that doesn't get you dreaming, I don't know what will.

But let's get back to some reality.  I don't think travel will be in my near future (at least until our COVID situation changes) so I'm back to dreaming closer to home.

As an avid gardener, my other daydreaming is all about growing things when the season moves from winter to spring.   

Seed catalogues are a staple in our home.  If you are looking for a magazine to read, it will usually be a Gardening magazine!  In between those magazine, you will find seed catalogues from several different suppliers and growers.  

Now you have to be careful with seed catalogues and where they originate.   Many countries will not allow over the border sharing of plants and seeds (rightly so).  My feelings on this are that this is a prudent way to do business, especially when it comes to live plants.  We have seen invasions of many detrimental and invasive species take over when they find a new hone that they happen to like.  Just one small example is the KUDZO vine which seems to grow unhindered in the south.  

Please don't try bringing plants across borders without the proper growth certificates and permissions.  

But we are supposed to be dreaming, not having nightmares, so let's get back on track.

I love my Gardening Magazines and keep them for reference and the pretty pictures.

In Canada we have many to choose from including The Gardener Magazine.  I love it because it does focus on Canadian sources, growing zones and is full of really good information!




In the USA, you have several different choices as there are so many more growing zones in your country.  You can focus on magazines that will show you beautiful shrubs, vines, plants and vegetables that will grow well in your particular "zone" or you can get magazines that encourage you to become a better gardener.  The Spruce has a list of 9 of the best magazines for gardeners in the States (you can also use some of these here in Canada as references) !  

There will be pictures of birds, flowers, garden plans and anything else that will make a true gardener's heart go pitter pat for a long time.  

You can treat yourself to a magazine subscription to some of the best magazines available right here at Magazine Deals.com!  You just need to put "Gardening" in the search box. 

I know that you will find something that just tickles your gardener's fingers. I know that are itching to get back in the ground. This will keep you dreaming and planning until you can actually get your hands dirty!  It works for me and I always learn something new too!  

Don't let yourself get caught up in what you can't do right now, rather spend that time dreaming up ways that you can do something new in the coming months.  

Plant a garden, learn a new technique for growing your favorite vegetables or learn about keeping the bees and birds happy!  All of these topics and more are right at your fingertips when you immerse yourself in a great gardening magazine.  

Here is hoping that you don't find the winter too long and that your itchy fingers will find some relief when your eyes behold some of the beauty that can be yours with just a little dreaming and planning.



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Flying Fish Bar & Grill - Restaurant Review



SLOGAN: “Where the Fish Fly” 


We spent 13 years living on Tybee Island, Georgia, then later lived another 6 years on Wilmington Island located off Highway 80 east of Savannah and just minutes from Tybee Island.  As you can imagine, we had a lot of visitors over the years drawn to the area the same way we had been.  Between the historic sights of Savannah and the Atlantic Ocean off Tybee Island, not to mention the temperate winter weather in Georgia, our northern friends loved to come visit. 

As a result, we quickly found our favorite restaurants to take our visitors to.


Flying Fish


(c) Elf
One of our favorite restaurants was the Flying Fish. This was especially true during the years we lived on Wilmington Island, GA. It is located less than 2 miles away from where we lived, conveniently located on Highway 80 between Savannah and Tybee Island, just a short 15 minute drive east from downtown Savannah. 


Locally known as simply “The Fish”, the restaurant was started by Mike McMahon in 2007. Mike is a local Savannahian who has worked in the seafood industry all his life. Because Savannah is known for a wide variety of tasty local seafood, Mike took his knowledge of seafood and applied it to a tasty menu of fresh Georgia Shrimp, Flounder and Oysters, along with crispy fried calamari and crab claws.  And, of course, the famous Low Country Boil, consisting of spicy peel-and-eat shrimp, sausage, corn and new potatoes, which is a classic Southern recipe along the Georgia and South Carolina (low country) coasts!


If you are not a big seafood lover, The Fish also caters to “landlubbers” with dishes of Chicken Alfredo & Pasta, chicken fingers and wings and beefy burgers. They also feature a full service bar. 


Our Favorite Dishes 


Image Source: Pixabay

Love their fried shrimp or fried oyster dinners and several times have had their Shrimp for 2 meal, which is a very plentiful platter of fried shrimp with French fries, cole slaw and hush puppies. (Mmm, I could go for a plate of that right now!)


For many years, the Flying Fish was open daily, beginning with lunches, and had 'lunch specials'.  My brother and I loved going out to lunch on Mondays when the 'special' was pork chops deliciously prepared (our favorite non-seafood dish).  Due to the circumstances of the past couple years, I see that the hours have been reduced to just 5 days a week and not opening until 4:30 p.m, except on the weekends. It is still an eatery well worth visiting. And I have truly missed the Flying Fish since moving back to the Midwest.  I still have their menu, which is occasionally fun to 'drool' over. Click here for the Menu to see for yourself.


Location


Flying Fish Bar & Grill

7906 East US Highway 80

Savannah GA 31410 

(912) 897-2009

Hours: Open Wednesday and Thursday 4:30 and Fri thru Sun 11:30 am … until the party stops! 

Website: Flying Fish https://www.flyingfishsavannah.com


Summary


So, if you are a snowbird planning a trip south in the winter, or vacationing in the Savannah, Georgia area, add The Flying Fish Bar & Grill to the “restaurants” section of your itinerary. You won't be disappointed in the food or the relaxed atmosphere. And Tell Mike hi for me.  :)


Related Links:


My family & I do seem to seek out seafood restaurants wherever we may find ourselves. I may miss the Flying Fish Bar & Grill in Georgia, but have since found another here on the Mississippi River in my current location. Another FISH-named restaurant equally as tasty ~ the Go Fish Marina Bar & Grill.


Flying Fish Bar & Grill Restaurant Review written by Wednesday Elf


Seafood Restaurant Recipes to Make at Home:


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, January 17, 2022

Movie Review: Harriet

During certain U.S holidays, I make an effort to learn more about the people or situations behind those holidays. With Martin Luther King Jr Day approaching I decided to sit down and finally watch Harriet. When it comes to thinking of civil rights and the battle for equality, I always find myself thinking of Harriet Tubman and her epic walk to freedom. I am astounded that a woman, a slave woman, walked from the marshes of Dorchester County, Maryland to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. "I left my husband and family, there's just me and the Lord" she says to William Still up her arrival in Philadelphia. He replies, "I don't know if you know how extraordinary this is, but by some miraculous means you have made it 100 miles to freedom. All by yourself." But it doesn't seem that Harriet felt alone. She had already proclaimed that "I walk with the Lord". 



I am glad that I made the time to watch the movie Harriet and I recommend it to anyone who would like to know more about this one woman who was literally willing to go to great lengths to make sure she gained her freedom.

Harriet the Movie

Harriet was released in 2019 and stars Cynthia Erivo. Cynthia plays Araminta "Minty" Ross, a slave owned by the Brodess farm family in Dorchester County, Maryland. As a slave, she married John Tubman (a free black man). The movie begins as John presents a letter from a lawyer to Mr. Brodess, stating that legally, Minty's mother was to be released from slavery at age 45. And therefore, they are asking for Minty to be freed so that they can raise their family without fear of their children being sold. That conversation, of course, goes badly. From that point, we watch as things become increasingly difficult. Minty and the fictional Brodess son, Gideon, have a complicated relationship - having been raised together but in the role of slave owner and slave. The farm is facing financial difficulty. And Mr. Brodess dies, leaving the decisions of the farm to his wife and son.

After the death of his father, Gideon posts flyers for the sale of Minty. And she runs. Minty is given one name and location after another along the underground railroad and she flees, narrowly missing being caught. At one point, she jumps from a bridge into a river after stating that she was going to "be free or die". Everyone believes she drowned. But miraculously, she continues on. 

At one point, near the Pennsylvania border, Thomas Garrett is one of the angels along the way. "May I help thee Friend?" he asks her. Although brief, I am glad that one of the characters depicted was of Quaker background. Quakers played a very important role in the success of the underground railroad and I am not sure that is well-known information. It is astounding to me in light of the risks (physical, legal) involved when helping slaves escape during the days of the Fugitive Slave Act that such a peaceful group of people would help others. But they did. Peacefully, they helped free many enslaved people.

After Minty arrives in Philadelphia she is helped by William Still and others. She takes the free name of Harriet Tubman. Harriet obtains a paying job and is living free in Philadelphia. Her story could end there but she feels she can't live fully without her husband and family. 

Harriet returns to Dorchester County to get her husband to come with her. During that trip is when she begins helping other slaves to freedom. She becomes so good at it that advertisements are hung announcing "Moses" the slave stealer and everyone is trying to catch Moses. Some believe Moses is a man in black face. Imagine the surprise when they find that it is the drowned Minty who is stealing their slaves.

Of course, the fight for freedom and stealing slaves is not an easy thing. There is some conflict, physical or emotional, at every turn.

My Personal Thoughts of Harriet the Movie

I think part of the reason I hadn't watched this movie sooner is because I didn't want to ruin some of the images I already had of Harriet Tubman in my head. Sometimes I prefer my imaginings and Hollywood's version isn't the version I want to see. As a young girl, I was amazed that a woman would walk to freedom. As an adult, visiting Dorchester County, I was amazed that a woman would walk through that marshy area to freedom. I was once visiting the area around Fishing Bay, Maryland during a tropical storm. The rain was falling in sheets off and on the entire day. The wet marshes were even more full of water and water was across the roads. And that was the first time I realized that I was in the area where Harriet Tubman (I didn't yet know that wasn't her birth name) was born and raised. We passed a historical marker along a country road. Despite the rain we stopped to read the sign. Off across the field, barely visible through the rain, was a small cabin. The marker listed it as a Harriet Tubman home.

photo by Dawn Rae

Currently, if you travel to that general area, you'll find the Harriet Tubman Museum that was completed in 2019.  It is a small museum but worth the visit in my opinion. And you can drive the Harriet Tubman Byway - a driving tour with many sites related to Harriet Tubman's life.

This movie was not filmed in Dorchester County. I was a bit disappointed about that fact. Hiking 100 miles is a huge feat but walking 100 miles through marshy areas is terrifying to me (I have a great fear of snakes). Also, the movie was an abbreviated depiction of her life. I'm sure it was not easy to pack a lifetime worth of information into a two hour and five minute movie. I would have loved this movie to have been mini-series length. Despite those two things, I enjoyed this moving very much. I loved watching Ms. Erivo as Minty. I think she was perfect for the role. The singing was touching and perfect for the setting. I enjoyed Erivo's voice immensely. 

It will never be determined whether Harriet's head injury (being hit in the head by an overseer) led to her "spells", whether she had a neurological disorder such as seizures, or whether she fell out when God gave her visions, but it is clear that she had an unshakable faith. And she saved lives through that faith. Harriet Tubman was pretty amazing and I recommend this movie to anyone who wants to get a more clear idea of who she was and what she was able to do with her life.

Finally, I rented Harriet for $1.99 on Amazon Prime and watched the movie twice (once for each day of the rental). I don't think you can beat that price for good entertainment. I highly recommend an Amazon Prime membership for good deals on movies and books among other benefits.

find your copy on Amazon





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 16, 2022

A Bread Box Review and Recommendation

A Five Star Review - Bread Box

I've needed a new bread box for a long time. I searched on amazon for at least three months before finally taking the plunge and making the purchase.

Features That Were Important to Me:

  1. I wanted a roll-top bread box
  2. It needed to have two shelves inside
  3. Each shelf had to be deep enough and high enough to hold several loaves of bread
  4. There had to be room between the cupboard and top of the bread box so I could place things on top if necessary
  5. I wanted to spend less than $100
  6. It had to look attractive
  7. It could be chrome or wood
  8. I preferred it be pre-assembled
  9. I didn't want a glass door (I figured the glass would eventually break)
  10. Bamboo wood was preferred
This Bread Box Met 9 out of the 10 Criteria Items:

Bamboo Bread Box


Which One of the 10 Criteria Items Did Not Get Met?

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to find one that met all of our needs that was pre-assembled. 

However, like most of my sons, my husband is very good at assembling products, so I knew I could safely forfeit this preference.

After reading the reviews, a few comments expressed their dissatisfaction with the assembly process. But I have to say, my husband had absolutely no problem putting it together, but as I mentioned, he's good at such things. 

If I had to personally assemble it, I would not have purchased any item that required putting it together --- only because I suck at that stuff! Fortunately, hubby handled that.

The Interior Has Two Shelves With Plenty of Room
Has Two Roomy Shelves

There is Plenty of Room On Top
There's Room to Place Items on Top

The Only Fix We Had To Make

When the roll-top door is closed (without care), it makes a loud noise. Since so many people live in our home, I knew I couldn't police that behavior, so we solved the problem by putting two tiny velcro tabs on the bottom. The tabs prevent the door from hitting the base, and it's much quieter.

We Placed Velcro Tabs to Reduce the Door Closing Noise

We Purchased the Bread Box From Amazon

We purchased it from Amazon.ca (Canada) at this link.

When typing this, I noticed that this specific bread box wasn't appearing on the USA site. But here's a link to a similar one (from what I could tell)... Both of them are the same size ... 15" by 9.8" by 14.2"

Five stars. Recommended.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, January 15, 2022

The Krewe of Hunters Book Series Review

 



By Heather Graham


Series Synopsis


FBI agent Adam Harrison had been involved in mysterious searches and situations so often that the government had asked him to put together a group of special teams who became known as the Krewe of Hunters. Jackson Crow, the only member chosen straight from the ranks of the  FBI behavioral Sciences Department, became the leader of the original team. The other members were carefully selected by Adam Harrison and Jackson Crow for their unique talents; some from other branches of law enforcement and some who had other skills needed for investigations (computer skills, audio & visual skills, etc.). Once the teams were formed, they all went through the rigorous FBI training at Quantico.


These teams are called upon to investigate and solve strange and unusual cases. What makes these teams special is more than their skills and FBI training; it is their paranormal abilities. Each team member is able to talk to the dead. You might call these 'ghost stories' and the 'ghosts' are as interesting as the crime-fighting characters. In fact, quite often a ghost is able to help in solving a crime. 


The other interesting thing about this series of books is the various locations where the investigations take place. The author adds in a bit of past history each location is famous (or infamous) for.  For instance, one story takes place in Salem, Massachusetts at Halloween time. The reader gets a history lesson about the area and the Salem witch trials that occurred there in the 1700s. Another story takes us to San Antonio and the Alamo. 


The book I found most interesting to date (#11 - The Night is Alive) is the one that takes place in Savannah, Georgia, because I lived in that area for almost 20 years. The restaurant & bar where the main part of the story action takes place is fictional, but all the other places mentioned are real. It was a fun trip down memory lane to read this particular mystery. 


The Krewe of Hunters Series



Book 1 in the Krewe Series

There are currently 37 books in the Krewe of Hunters series. Each book features primarily one crime to be solved and while quite often several team members are sent to investigate, the focus is on one member of the team each time. That way you get to know the background of that member. That member also seems to 'meet' just the right person to fall in love with. You also get to see the relationships and working dynamics between everyone.


The series begins with the formation of the first team and by book six a second team is formed. Six members seems to be optimal for their working relationships for each team.  In Book One, when the first team is formed, their first crime is located in New Orleans where the name Krewe of Hunters becomes the teams' name. And in several books there seems to be another unique person found who will be perfect for a team. 


Summary


So, we have a murder mystery, a ghost story, a history lesson, and a love story in each book.  


I am approximately one-third of my way through the entire series and I find each book so fascinating I don't want it to end ~ and I can hardly wait to get to the next one. 


At the end of several of the books, in addition to the history of the area, the author gives us a history of the foods indigenous to the area, along with a couple recipes. An interesting and varied series of books for sure. 


Book 37 in the Krewe of Hunter Series
Due to be released on July 26, 2022.


Book List of the Krewe of Hunters


Book 1: Phantom Evil

Book 2: Heart of Evil

Book 3: Sacred Evil

Book 4: The Evil Inside

Book 5: The Unseen

Book 6: The Unholy

Book 7: The Unspoken

Book 8: The Uninvited

Book 9: The Night Is Watching

Book 10: The Night Is Alive

Book 11: THE NIGHT IS FOREVER

Book 12: The Cursed

Book 13: The Hexed

Book 14: The Betrayed

Book 15: The Silenced

Book 16: The Forgotten

Book 17: The Hidden

Book 18: Haunted Destiny

Book 19: Deadly Fate

Book 20: Darkest Journey

Book 21: Dying Breath

Book 22: Dark Rites

Book 23: Wicked Deeds

Book 24: Fade to Black

Book 25: Pale as Death

Book 26: Echoes of Evil

Book 27: The Summoning

Book 28: The Seekers

Book 29: The Stalking

Book 30: Seeing Darkness

Book 31: Deadly Touch

Book 32: Dreaming Death

Book 33: The Unforgiven

Book 34: The Forbidden

Book 35: The Unknown

Book 36: Sound of Darkness

Book 37: Aura of Night


For more books reviewed by the writers of Review This, check out

ReviewThisBooks.com


Review of the Krewe of Hunters mystery book series was written by Wednesday Elf






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 14, 2022

Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa Collectible Gift Tins Reviewed

Swiss Miss Tins
One of my favorite gifts that I received this year for Christmas was a set of Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa Tins filled with fabulous packets of instant hot chocolate.  This gift shows that my sister-in-law knows me well!

I am an unapologetic chocoholic. Any gift of chocolate is greatly appreciated.  Since I enjoy a mug of hot chocolate on a cold winter day, the hot cocoa was a perfect choice. 

I am also a collector of glass jars and tins.  I can trace my obsession to glass jars and tins to my favorite hobbies.  They make excellent and inexpensive containers for all kinds of craft supplies.  While glass jars are excellent for viewing contents, a tin won't break, which means they both have their place in my craft room.  

The adorable gnome tins will be an awesome addition to my collection of tins in my craft room when we have finished drinking the hot cocoa.  Correction:  when we have finished using them for hot cocoa. I have already had to replace the hot cocoa packets in two of my new tins and it has only been a few weeks since Christmas.  Most likely, I will keep two of the tins in my kitchen for continuous refills and use.

 

Swiss Miss Collectible Gift Tins

I had never seen the wonderful Swiss Miss tins before, but I will certainly be watching for additional sets.  

When writing this article, I checked Amazon to see if they had my gnome tins available.  While there, I noted some precious woodland animal Swiss Miss tins.  Of course, I had to order a set of those for my craft room.  I need more storage tins for craft supplies (yes, that was my excuse!) .  

Each Gnome tin contains 5 packets of hot cocoa.  My personal favorite is the marshmallow hot cocoa, but my husband prefers the milk chocolate. The animal tins contain 4 packets in each tin.  

For the first time in my entire life, I tried the peppermint hot cocoa that came in the tins.  I love it!  It is my new second favorite (sorry, the marshmallow can't be beat).  I also tried the caramel for the first time ever.  It is good, but the competition is stiff.  Still, if I run out of my marshmallow and peppermint, I'll be more than happy to enjoy a mug of caramel hot cocoa.  All of the flavors are fabulous!

 

How to Make Swiss Miss Cocoa Packets 

It is very easy to make hot cocoa with the Swiss Miss packets.  Simply pour the packet of mix into a mug, add 1 cup of hot water & stir.   It is important to note that you should only add 1 cup (measurement) of water.  More water will dilute it and diminish the chocolatey flavor.  

You can add fresh marshmallows, peppermint, or other toppings to create your own fun flavor of hot cocoa.

 

How to Get Your Own Set of Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa Tins

 Swiss Miss Gift Pack Tins Gnomes Characters, 6.9 Oz pack of 4. LIMITED EDITION. Milk Chocolate, Peppermint, Marshmallow and Caramel FlavorsCheck Price Swiss MIss Hot Cocoa Mix Milk Chocolate 3 Piece Gift Set, 1 Milk Chocolate Hot Cocoa Mix Tin and 2 Ceramic MugsCheck Price Swiss Miss Hot Chocolate Variety Pack (4 Flavors), Hot Chocolate Mix, Hot Chocolate Variety, Hot Chocolate Swiss Miss, Peppermint Hot Chocolate, Instant Hot ChocolateCheck Price

 





Read More Gift Reviews On
ReviewThisGifts.com




Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa Collectible Gift Tins Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, January 13, 2022

Reviewing Photos from 2021

 

Beauty from Behind

Whether you are taking photos for fun or professionally it is a great exercise each year to review the photos you took the year before.  By doing this you will help yourself to become a better photographer. Looking through the previous year's photos and picking your favorites will tell you a lot about yourself as a photographer.  It will give you a better idea of what type of photos you tend to gravitate to and also what types of photos you need the most improvement.  I challenge you to take some time to look at last years photos and pick out few that you feel are your best. 

My Review of 2021 Photos

I took this challenge in a couple of photography groups in which I participate.  I found it to be a fun and rewarding experience. 

I have three different cameras that I use on a regular basis.  A Sony DSLR A57, a Sony mirrorless 6300, and my iPhone 11 Pro.  When I went through the photos, I did not look for ones from each camera, but rather just looked for the photos I liked.  I was surprised to find that all three cameras were represented in the 13 photos I ended up choosing as my favorites.

I had played around a lot in Lightroom and Photoshop during 2021 and I found a few photos in my favorites that reflected some of the new features I learned.  But I also noted that some of my favorites just went back to basic good photography without any enhancements added.

My Favorites for 2021

One of the photos I really liked was a photo of the Wolf Moon taken on January 28, 2021.  This photo was taken with my Sony DSLR and a 600mm lens.  I used an f stop of 6.3 and a speed of 1/400.  
I always like to photograph birds and birds in the snow are particular favorite shots.  Here is one I captured in February with my DSLR with the zoom at 250mm.  It was taken through my sliding glass doors of some Cardinals at a feeder on our deck.

Since we were homebound much of 2021, I found that I had a lot of backyard bird photos.  Here is another favorite.  A bluebird I took in April.  Again, with my DSLR camera this time with the lens zoomed in to 600mm.

In April we got a new dog, Dixie, and she became a favorite model.  Here is a photo I took of her in May.  This one was taken with my mirrorless camera and a 25mm lens.  I edited it in Lightroom to select the subject and then black out the background with the exposure slide.  I like the effect.

In June I went to a lavender farm to find some new subjects for my photography.  I took several shots with my mirrorless camera.  This one caught my eye with the bee on the plants.  It was taken with a 210mm lens and enhance in Photoshop with a Neural filter.  I like the look the filter gave to the photo.
Lavendar Farm

In July I captured these coneflowers with my iPhone.  It really does take great photos and the colors are brilliant.  

A photo outing in September was to Art Hill in St. Louis where there was a display to honor those who were killed from 9/11.  It was called Flags of Valor and this photo was taken with my mirrorless camera with a 24mm lens.

In late September we took a trip to the Missouri Botanical Garden.  I had my Sony mirrorless camera with me.  It is really my go to camera now whenever I am out and about.  It is lightweight and I think takes a quality photo.  Here is a photo taken of some water lilies at the garden.
The next photo, also from the botanical garden is of the Japanese bridge.  Fall colors were just started to come out so I took this photo into Photoshop and enhanced it with a Neural filter.

In October I went to a farm with a group that I am the mentor for their photography club.  We took photos of pumpkins and animals and some farm machinery.  Here is a photo of a tractor.  I was using my mirrorless camera and this one I took into Photoshop and used one of the Neural filters.

In December I went with the group to downtown historic St. Charles.  Here is a photo I took of the visitor center.  Again, I was using my mirrorless camera.
 
The photo at the beginning of this article is one I took in October of a final flower on the pot on our deck.  I was using my Sony mirrorless camera.

My Photos on Zazzle

I enjoy making Zazzle products from my photos.  Here are a couple I made from my favorite photos from 2021.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, January 12, 2022

Snack Better With The Best Healthy Keto Cookie Dough Bites

Is raw cookie dough a guilty pleasure that you try not to indulge in, either because of the health risks associated with eating raw eggs or because you are trying to eat better? 

Whether you are trying to cut down on sugar or highly processed foods, follow a vegan, gluten-free, grain-free, low carb or ketogenic diet, or just want some healthy treats to satisfy your sweet tooth and curb your afternoon hunger pangs, you will love Bhu Keto Bites from Bhu Foods.

Today I'm reviewing these mini protein bars that come in five delicious cookie dough flavors, have a rich taste and smooth, creamy texture, are high in fiber and healthy fats, and contain no added sugars or artificial sweeteners, just minimally processed, non-GMO, organic ingredients.

Best of all, Bhu Keto Protein Bites taste just like cookie dough (yum!), but unlike that forbidden treat, they are not only safe to eat but also good for you!

Photo of Bhu Keto Bites - Delicious, High Protein, No Added Sugar Keto Cookie Dough Bites
Four of the five delicious flavors of Bhu Keto Bites mini protein bars.
Not shown: Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough flavor

For several years before before I began my successful low carb keto diet journey, I had been searching for delicious, healthy protein bars or snacks that would taste good and be good for me. Unfortunately, most of the protein bars I tried either tasted like cardboard and had a dry, unpleasant texture or tasted good because they contained a lot of natural or added sugars or contained highly processed ingredients, even though they marketed themselves as healthy food.

Then, in 2019, I switched my focus from a traditional low-fat, low-calorie diet to a nutritious, low carb approach to eating that focused on healthy fats, proteins and dietary fiber with little to no added sugars and minimally processed ingredients. That's when I discovered Bhu Keto Bites (and their big brothers, Bhu Keto Bars).

10 Reasons to Love Bhu Keto Bites

How do I love Bhu Keto Bites? Let me count the ways!

1. A Healthy Treat That Tastes Like Raw Cookie Dough

  • These bite-sized mini protein bars are absolutely delicious and have a rich, creamy texture and luscious mouthfeel.

2. High in Protein, Healthy Fats and Fiber

Depending on the cookie dough flavor, these Bhu Keto Bites contain:

  • 6-7g protein
  • 10-12g fat
  • 4-6g dietary fiber

3. Low Carb and Keto Friendly

Depending on the cookie dough flavor, these Bhu Keto Bites contain:

  • 5-7g total carbs
  • 0-1g net carbs

4. Healthy, High Quality, Nutritious Ingredients

  • Organic
  • Non-GMO
  • Minimally processed

"We are committed to 100% organic, clean, ingredients. Our pricing may be slightly higher than the competition, but we believe the investment to your health and towards our planet is well worth it."
— Bhu Foods

5. No Added Sugars

  • 100% free cane sugar. 

"Our mission is to help wean people off of sugar so we wouldn’t think of adding sugar to our bars."
— Bhu Foods

6. Sweetened With Pure Monk Fruit

  • Sweetened with pure monk fruit (aka monk fruit sugar), which has numerous health benefits.
    • Monk fruit sugar is made by infusing the juice of the small, melon-like fruit in hot water and drying it to a powder.
    • It is metabolized differently than regular sugar, has a zero glycemic index and does not affect blood sugar levels or spike insulin, making it a great sugar alternative for diabetics.
    • Monk fruit has been used for centuries in Eastern medicine to treat digestive problems and colds. So, unlike sugar alcohols and artificial sweeteners, monk fruit sweetener can help with, rather than cause, intestinal distress.
    • The compounds that give monk fruit sugar its sweetness (mogrosides) have anti-inflammatory effects and can help your body fight cancer.
    • Unlike regular sugar, monk fruit sweetener will not cause cavities. 
    • It's 150-200 times sweeter than cane sugar, so only a small amount is needed to achieve the desired sweetness.

Source: "What to Know About Monk Fruit Sugar," WebMD

Bhu Foods even has the chocolate chips in these Bhu Bites manufactured to their own specifications and sweetened with pure monk fruit!

7. No Sugar Alcohols

  • Bhu Bites also contain no erythritol or other sugar alcohols that can cause gas, bloating, and diarrhea in some people, or if too much is consumed.

8. Supports a Variety of Dietary Requirements

  • Vegan
  • Gluten-free
  • 100% grain-free
  • 100% soy-free
  • Diabetic-friendly

Allergy warnings: Bhu Bites are manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and possibly whey and may contain an occasional shell fragment. They also contain cashews and MCT oil (from coconuts). The White Chocolate Macadamia Cookie Dough flavor also contains macadamia nuts, and the 

10. Small But Satisfying

  • Bhu Keto Bites are small but also dense, rich and very satisfying, thanks to the significant amounts of high quality protein, healthy fats and dietary fiber.
  • They're the perfect size to enjoy with a cup of tea or coffee or a glass of milk (dairy or plant-based), as a snack, a taste of something sweet after dinner, or any time you're in the mood for "a little something," as Winnie the Pooh would say.
  • I recommend nibbling them slowly to make them last longer so you can savor every bite and prolong the deliciousness!

9. No Refrigeration Needed

  • Unlike their equally delicious and nutritious big brothers, Bhu Keto Bars, Bhu Keto Bites are shelf stable and require no refrigeration. 
  • The manufacturer recommends storing them at 72° F or cooler. During the summer, or if you live in a warmer climate, they also taste great straight from the fridge. 

Key Nutrition Data Comparison for Bhu Keto Bites Flavors

Bhu Keto Bites
Serving size: 1 piece
Calories Protein Total
Fat
Total
Carbs
Fiber Total
Sugars
Added
Sugars
Net
Carbs
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough 130 6g 11g 7g 6g 1g 0g 1g
White Chocolate Macadamia Cookie Dough 130 6g 10g 6g 5g 1g 0g 0g
Double Dark Chocolate Cookie Dough 140 6g 12g 5g 4g 1g 0g 1g
Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough 140 7g 10g 7g 6g 1g 0g 1g
Chocolate Mint Cookie Dough 140 6g 12g 5g 4g 0g 0g 1g

Which Bhu Keto Bites Cookie Dough Flavor Is Your Favorite?

Honestly, I have a hard time deciding. Usually, it's whichever flavor I'm eating at the moment! All five flavors are wonderful. 

I highly recommend starting with:

  • a Bhu Keto Bites Variety Pack, which includes one bag each of:
    • Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough,
    • White Chocolate Macadamia Cookie Dough,
    • Double Dark Chocolate Cookie Dough 
    • Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

  • Chocolate Mint Cookie Dough Bhu Bites, the newest flavor, which is not included in the Variety Pack assortment. 

After you sample them all, you can reorder your favorite flavors. (If you're like me, that's all five!)

Enjoy!

Note: In addition to ordering Bhu Keto Bites on Amazon, you also may be able to find them at some branches of Whole Foods Market, Wegmans, The Vitamin Shoppe, and other retail stores, depending on where you live.



Snack Better With The Best Healthy Keto Cookie Dough Bites by Margaret Schindel


Posts About My Keto Diet Journey

My First Year on The Keto Diet

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part One

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part Two

Low Carb Muffins & Cupcakes: Treats to Enjoy on a Keto Diet

Low Carb Keto Chocolate Yogurt Granola Chip Pudding Recipe

Good Dee’s Keto Cookie Low Carb Baking Mix Review

Hamama Microgreens Growing Kit Review & Success Tips

My Favorite Hamama Microgreens Seed Quilt Accessories

Keto Cheddar Cheese Biscuits With Chives Recipe

The Ultimate Keto Hot Chocolate Recipe

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffins

Wholesome Yum Keto Bread Mix and Yeast Bread Recipe

The Good Chocolate 100% Organic No Sugar Dark Chocolate Review

The Best Advice to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss

My New Irresistibly Delicious Keto Cheese Crackers Recipe

Luscious Low Carb Keto Triple Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies Recipe

Quick & Easy Livlo Blueberry Scones Keto Baking Mix Review

Snack Better With The Best Healthy Keto Cookie Dough Bites

Reviews of the Keto Diet by Barbara C. (aka Brite-Ideas)

My Personal Keto Testimonial

How I Stayed Committed to the Ketogenic Way of Eating

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Reviews About Health and Wellness by Our Review This Reviews Contributors






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X