Tuesday, July 5, 2022

Wholesun Electric Pressure Washer

 My new Wholesun Electric Pressure Washer Reviewed

Wholesun Electric Pressure Washer


For so many years I have wanted to buy a pressure washer. A pressure washer is just one of those things that you don't think you need but there are so many times when you need one. When I needed one I found myself borrowing one from a friend.

A pressure washer is a great tool for cleaning patios, decks, walks, driveways, the siding on your house, grills, and your car. 

I finally bought one of my own and I am so glad that I did. Our deck was in need of a makeover, and I knew that I needed a pressure washer to remove the loose paint. I did some research to find out how much PSI (Pounds per square inch) I needed to remove loose paint.

I found that between 2500 and 4000 PSI was good enough to remove loose paint. I also knew that I didn't want a gas-powered one, I wanted an electric one. So, I found this Wholesun electric pressure washer on Amazon. The reviews I read were all positive.

Features of my new Wholesun Pressure Washer: 

3000 PSI
2.4 gallons per minute
4 adjustable nozzles
20-foot pressure hose
Long electric cord
Detergent Bottle
Easy connect water and pressure hose

When my pressure washer arrived I found it very easy to assemble. I had it together and ready to use in about 10 minutes.

Deck

The very first project I used it for was our deck. There was so much winter dirt to clean up and I really needed to get that loose paint removed. As you can see, my new pressure washer worked like a charm. It removed the loose paint down to the bare boards.

Porch Rail

We have a small front porch, we don't use our front door entrance at all so this has not been cleaned in a couple of years. This little pressure washer cleaned the dirt build-up off with ease. This is a photo of the porch railing halfway cleaned. The porch now looks like it is brand new and is ready for a fresh coat of stain.

I am so very happy with my new Wholesun electric pressure washer, and would highly recommend it to anyone for their outdoor cleaning projects.

Find more amazing product reviews here:

WHOLESUN 3000PSI Electric Pressure Washer, 2.4GPM 1600W High Power Washer Machine with Spray Gun & 4 Nozzles for Cars, Homes, Driveways, PatiosWHOLESUN 3000PSI Electric Pressure Washer, 2.4GPM 1600W High Power Washer Machine with Spray Gun & 4 Nozzles for Cars, Homes, Driveways, PatiosCheck the Price

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, July 4, 2022

Reviewing Sugar Birds: A Novel by Cheryl Grey Bostrom

One way to describe Sugar Birds is to call it a coming of age story. Which it is. But it is also a look at parenting, families, relationships, survival, and faith. Each of these characters were unique. However, their common bond (for the most part) was having gone through some hard times then deciding how they would treat others. All of this while they are on a search and rescue mission to locate poor little Aggie. I was completely absorbed in this book from the beginning.




The story is told by Aggie and Celia in alternating chapters. 

Aggie

Agate Esther (Aggie) is a just-turned 10 year old girl who lives with her parents and her brother. She is consumed with bird-watching. She is familiar with the forest around her and just cannot follow her mother's directions to stop climbing the trees to observe the birds. Aggie documents the birds in her notebook and is encouraged by her father to do so. However, she defies her mother's directions to stay out of the trees. After they have conflict about the issue again, Aggie decides to try to get back into mom's good favor by making kindling as a gift. Unfortunately, she inadvertently causes a house fire.

"Her chest clenched, wringing her insides hard, like a dishcloth. Dad. Mama. She killed them with those sticks. With her fire. She beat her legs with clenched first, bit her cheeks, tasted blood." - Sugar Birds

Believing she has killed her parents and will be arrested, she panics and flees to the forest to hide. She has plenty of survival skills but will she survive the predators? 

Celia

"We're on track for the cabin by eight tonight, Daddy" I flipped down the visor mirror and twisted the stud in my infected earlobe, my teeth set against its sting." - Sugar Birds

Celia is a 16 year old young lady, who thinks she's going to the family lake cabin in Washington state with her dad. Her mother, not the most warm and attentive on any day, has left them. Celia is trying to move on from that betrayal when her father discloses that he's not taking them to the cabin. He's taking her to her grandmother's home while he goes on a remote work assignment for several months. Celia is furious that her father is also leaving her and she immediately starts to formulate a plan to runaway. She believes that she'll find a way to return to Texas on her own and will stay with her friend Meredith. The very same friend that her dad doesn't approve of. 

I hope that I'm not making Celia sound like a run-of-the-mill ungrateful adolescent character. She is not. Celia is a high school math nerd, cross country runner, compassionate young lady who helps her grandmother rescue and rehabilitate birds. However, with Meredith's tutoring, she has just begun to catch the attention of boys.

"Dancing flames didn't cause those astonished stares when I walked through that crowd in Meredith's hand-tooled cowboy boots with Luke hanging on me. I swear Meredith sensed that I was about to ditch him and run to the ladies room to scrub my face and calm my hair down a little. She trotted up beside us, looped her arm in mine and whispered that I was a Harrison County version of Sandy in Grease." - Sugar Birds
After her father drops angry/hurt Celia off with her grandmother, she quickly catches the attention of Cabot. 

Mender

Marta Burke a.k.a Mender a.k.a Gram is an aclaimed biologist who has retired but who is active rehabilitating birds. She gardens. She prays. And she cares deeply for others. Mender has taught Celia the skills needed to handle and rehabilitate birds; raptors being Celia's favorite. Will Mender be able to keep Celia from being the prey?

Burnaby

Burnaby. Aggie's older brother and Loomis' employee. Burnaby has difficulty with interactions, eye contact, and affection. But his is a good employee, following rules and routines. He too loves the natural world and is very specifically drawn to bird and animal bones. 

I absolutely loved Burnaby's character. 

"Mama says I give speeches when I should be conversing. Misplaced monologues are selfish, she says. Talking should be reciprocal. Unselfish. Like tossing an apple back and forth so each hearer can catch it. She says I should listen without having a speech ready. Consider. Respond. Listen again."  - Sugar Birds

Harris & Bree

Harris is Aggie and Burnaby's father. He moved them to the area, after he left the Alaska Forest Service, in order to be close to family. He nurtured the children's love of the outdoors and knowledge base; such as foraging for edible plants and water that is safe to drink. Bree also loved the outdoors. And once-upon-a-time, she collected Agates from a cliff. And this is how they chose Aggie's name. Bree struggled with mental illness and Aggie resented the change.

Loomis & Nora

This couple is Aggie's Aunt and Uncle and Mender's neighbors. They own a dairy farm. They employ Burnaby and Cabot.

Cabot

Twenty-year-old Cabot likes Celia. As have the others, twenty-year-old Cabot has been through some rough times and he has chosen to hang on to his anger and lash out at others. He is the villain, and his behaviors are a perfect example of a budding abusive relationship. 

I LOVED Sugar Birds: A Novel by Cheryl Grey Bostrom


I am rarely able to read a book in a matter of 2-3 days. Not only did I read this in 2 days, I stayed up last night after 2:00 am trying to get to the end. I wanted to learn who survived and whether or not some of them didn't. Granted, I'm on vacation so it was an easier decision to stay up many hours past my bedtime. But I'm not so sure I would have put the book down even if I had to work the next morning. Not only were the characters interesting, but the descriptions of the setting painted the picture perfectly.

I do not feel that I've been able to review this book as it deserves. I hope you will take a peek at it on Amazon for not only the long list of awards this book has received, but the reviews from the other readers. 

If you read Where the Crawdads Sing and loved it, you'll enjoy this story. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, July 3, 2022

Affordable Warm Sherpa Comforter and Shams - A Personal Review

 Warm Affordable Comforter Set

Recently we had to add another sleeping area to our home. We have five bedrooms already, and hadn't anticipated needing a sixth!

Our basement isn't finished; it's only partitioned and has all the electrical hooked up. I decided to use one of the unfinished basement rooms to create an extra sleeping area. 

The "Hippie Bedroom"

That's what we call it; the Hippie Bedroom. It's genuinely a hippie room, with comforters nailed to all the walls and extra furniture that gives the space a bedroom feel. We've also added a TV, Fan, and Portable Heater. 

It's a funny-looking mish-mash, but it solves a problem and, believe it or not, is actually cozy.

A Warm Comforter with Matching Shams

Since the central air conditioner can make that space quite cool, even cold, I wanted a comforter that looked sleek but had warmth.

I wasn't seeking anything decorative; however, as you can see from the photo below, it's pretty.

Warm Sherpa Comforter with Matching Shams
At the foot of the bed is an extra blanket, purchased separately

I Do Recommend This Soft Micromink Sherpa Comforter Bed Set - It's Good Value for the Money

  • This set comes with a comforter, and two shams (1 Sham for twin sets, I presume)
  • It's available in multiple color choices
  • For us, it arrived quickly
  • It's available in sizes Full/Queen, King, and Twin
  • It's a nice quality
  • It's warm
Make shift hippie bedroom with warm sherpa comforter set
Check out this make-shift Hippie Bedroom! The Sherpa blanket adds more warmth
The blanket at the end of the bed is an extra blanket, purchased separately

This bedroom set would be ideal for a guest room or a room that's not particularly warm. It would even be suitable for a child's room. Since it's not that pricy, it's a set that can safely take a little bit of use or overuse without too much risk.

You can find this set on Amazon here.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, July 2, 2022

The World of Granny Squares – a Craft Review

 Granny Squares are a popular crochet motif worked in rounds from the center outward.




Each motif is created separately, then joined together to make a finished item. Traditionally, granny squares were used to make afghans, but they also make great patchwork scarves, purses, shawls and a wide variety of items.


The traditional granny square was designed by a Mrs. Phelps in 1885. It was published in the Prairie Farmer, which is the oldest magazine publication in America. Based in Chicago, it has served the Illinois farmer for over 175 years. 


The Traditional Granny Square


This square motif has many variations. The traditional one is a double-crochet square made by using a series of chains and double-crocheted blocks. The most familiar granny square is, of course, square. But by using different stitch types, other geometric shapes, such as hexagons, can be produced. Crocheting granny squares are also a fun and quick way to try out different crochet stitches.


Dozens of books, articles and YouTube videos are available to teach you the variations of this familiar motif.


Examples of Granny Square Garments:


The most well known granny square example is the traditional afghan. I can well remember the one my grandmother had (made my HER mother; my 'Banny').  The granny squares were joined together with black yarn, which was the traditional way originally. That afghan sat on the back of my grandmother's couch for my entire childhood. I can recall many a visit where I would curl up on the couch with that afghan. An example is shown below:


Granny square afghan



This retro Granny Square afghan is a 1970s crochet pattern featured by Pearl in her Etsy Shop PearlShoreCat. This vintage pattern is available as an instant digital download. Give your home décor a vintage look-from-grandma's-time with this classic blanket throw.


Purses are a popular way to use granny squares. ….



Lauren of MoonageCrochet on Etsy used the hexagonal style of granny squares to create this gorgeous shoulder bag


Shawls are also a well known way to use the granny square motifs.

 


Granny squares were used to create this colorful long patchwork-look winter scarf. It is featured in the Etsy Shop MyCottonAccessories


Summary


As you can see in the featured items above, you can create just about anything using crocheted Granny Squares. A time-honored technique that is always stylish.


The World of Granny Squares Craft Review was written by Wednesday Elf


For more Craft Reviews, check out

ReviewThisCrafts.com






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 1, 2022

Clear Bathroom Countertop Tray Review

clear trays
When Barbara (Brite-Ideas) recently reviewed her cosmetic storage holder, I was reminded of my own difficult search for a clear bathroom countertop tray. Over several days, I looked at different products seeking the right size. I was surprised at how hard it was to find a simple countertop tray deep enough to hold bottles & containers.

I wanted something clear because I wanted it to compliment any decor changes I might make.  Plus, clear won't discolor if it gets wet and I can easily see the contents at a glance.  

Since I wanted to place hairspray, lotions and cleaners in it, I needed higher sides than most bathroom countertop trays have.  I wanted to simply be able to pick up the entire tray with contents when cleaning the countertops without spilling or dropping anything.

When I finally found one, I was so thrilled with how much easier it made my cleaning life, I purchased a tray for my husband and our son.  They need to be able to keep their daily used deodorants, shave cremes, aftershave, and colognes handy too without making cleaning a harder task.  It is so easy to just pickup the tray and wipe underneath everything all at once.

The trays I selected are listed as drawer organizers.  I have no doubt they make excellent drawer organizers, but they are also fabulous bathroom countertop trays.  The 2" sides are just tall enough to keep the contents stable when I pick up the tray, but short enough that intentional removal is easy.


The iDesign Clarity Organizer Tray

 iDesign Clarity Plastic Drawer Organizer, Storage Container for Silverware, Utensils, Kitchen Gadgets in Pantry, Cabinets, & CountertopsCheck PriceThe trays are available in several sizes, but I chose the trays that are 12"W x 4"D x 2"H.  

This size is perfect for my hairspray, daily face cleanser, moisturizer, sunscreen, and a few other hair and make-up items.  The tray is long, which is really nice, but slender enough that it is pretty much out of the way, leaving a neat, open countertop appearance.

The trays are also easy to wash or wipe clean when needed. 

There are many places throughout the house where these trays would be handy, not just the bathroom countertop. I'm sure they would be wonderful home office organizing trays, kitchen trays, or even craft room organizers. 

This clear bathroom countertop tray would be the perfect companion for the cosmetic storage holder previously recommended by Brite-Ideas here on Review This Reviews.




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, June 30, 2022

How to Recharge Auto Air Conditioning

Holy heat wave, Batman! On the hottest day of the year so far here in the Desert Southwest, I discovered something I never want to do again: drive for twelve hours straight without A/C (with the temperature right at 100 degrees). There's nothing that will melt your superpowers faster (and I was on a rescue trip at the time).

What's a girl to do? Thankfully, you don't need to call in a superhero, aka mechanic, when you can easily solve the problem with an affordable, easy-to-use A/C Pro air conditioning recharge kit. Best ten minutes and $37 I have spent this summer. Here's a quick DIY tutorial on how you, too, can beat the heat by knowing how to recharge your vehicle's air conditioning system. 
 

 
Step 1: Purchase the right kind of A/C refrigerant for your vehicle. Most vehicles after 1990 use R-134a (which complies with the EPA Clean Air Act). Check your vehicle's maintenance manual, or find the sticker under the hood, to verify. After reading online product reviews, and watching YouTube videos, I decided to go with the bestselling A/C Pro recharge kit. This kit is sold at automotive stores, Amazon, Walmart, and many other retail locations.


Step 2: Find the low pressure service port in your vehicle's engine. If you're not sure where to look for it, download the A/C Pro app for specific information linked to your car or truck model year. Mine was easy to find (a blue cap with an "L" imprinted on it). 


Step 3: Start your engine. Set A/C to its maximum cooling level and recirculation mode (with fan on highest setting).


Step 4: Place hose coupler on low pressure service port and press down. It will click into place and lock down securely. 


Step 5: Check gauge to determine if your vehicle's A/C system is low on refrigerant. My gauge reading indicated I needed a major fill (it was on zero).


Step 6: If low, remove coupler from the service port. Unscrew gauge/hose assembly from the new can of A/C Pro. Unscrew the protective shipping tab on the top of the dispenser. Screw gauge/hose back on the refrigerant can. (Be sure to wear protective gear: gloves and safety goggles.)

Step 7: Affix hose coupler to low pressure service port. Hold can upright. Squeeze dispenser trigger to begin filling A/C system with refrigerant. While squeezing the trigger, move the can from a 12 o'clock position back and forth to a 3 o'clock position (to keep the contents mixed and flowing properly). Release the trigger after about ten seconds.


Step 8: Check the gauge to see if the needle is in the green filled section. Do not overfill! If the level is still low, repeat step seven. If filled to the mid part of the green section, you are done. Check the air temperature coming out of the vents inside your car. My air was perfectly chilled at this point.

Step 9: Remove the coupler from the service port. Replace the port cap. Turn off your engine and close the hood.

I cannot even begin to express the satisfaction I felt to have solved this common air conditioning issue so quickly and so cheaply. You should have seen the big smile on my face. Not only did I save at least $100 with this DIY fix, but I learned how to keep myself out of a dangerous situation in the future. 

It would be smart for all of us to keep a canister of A/C Pro in our vehicles' emergency supply kits. I am totally sold on this product and highly recommend it. It's not just about comfort. Heat kills. I have lost count of the number of heartbreaking articles I have read this week about individuals, especially children, who have died in hot vehicles. Incredibly tragic.

You never know when you might be called upon to provide assistance with something you keep in your vehicle for emergencies. My recent rescue trip was all about rendering aid to a young family broken down roadside in excessive heat (in a remote area without services). With this weighing on my mind and heart, I wanted to share a product that I now consider essential. Let's all be safe out there!











Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, June 29, 2022

Summertime and Playtime Go Together For the Whole Family

For most of us Summertime is just what we need to get us moving a little bit more!  That being said, it's also a time when family's get together more often for BBQ's and some fun!

We spent the last weekend at my son's cottage and had some really good time with two of our three grandchildren.  The third one was busy at a Horse Show.  

So we made the most of the time we had with the two younger ones!  

Cottage life is so different from everyday life in the city.  It's time to relax, enjoy the outdoors and just reconnect with our loved ones.  

My son makes sure the kids have more outdoor time and less "electronic" time especially when at the cottage.  Plus sometimes the power goes out, so there is no electricity to run those hand held games.  That is exactly what happened when we were there.  No power, so we had to make our own brand of fun.  

Enter Granddad's great idea for a fun time without the need for power.  

We are always looking for things that the kids can do while at the cottage.  Things that make them think, explore, observe and best of all move out into the wilds!  Board games are great, but sometimes you just need to get some of that pent up energy released!  

We found a great way to do just that with a Badminton Set that is so easy to set up and take down again.  

No need to bang in posts or mark out where those posts should go.  Just set it up and you are ready to go! Of course I'm talking about recreational badminton and not professional status.  This is meant for fun only!  


Do you want to see how easy this set is?  Well I'll tell you I was impressed with how quickly this was done!  Granddad checked out the instructions just to see if there was a hidden surprise in there.  Like some difficulty that was NOT expected.  Well I'm happy to report that there were no hidden surprises of any kind and it was as advertised, easy to set up!



 

 The net is pressure fitted onto the frame and stands up on it's own in minutes. Just put the base together (everything slides together), attach the net and you are ready to go! Grab a racket and shuttlecock and you are ready to play.  Make up your own rules if you really want to have some fun!  (Like first one to get a rally of 10 or more hits, gets the first popsicle)  You get the idea....

The beauty is that all you need is a flat surface to set up on and when you are done, it goes back into the box as quickly as it was set up or you can make it into a self caddy.   Not only good at the cottage, but if you go camping or to the beach this Badminton set is a great take along.  It comes with 4 rackets and 2 shuttlecocks, the net and the frame.  It has instructions as well, but even a child could put this together in minutes.  

What has us so excited about this set, is that even in our apartment, we could take this set outdoors and play on the grounds around our building.  I bet that when our neighbors see us having some fun, they would be interested in joining us for some great outdoor fun and exercise time.  

Badminton when played at a recreational pace is not so tiresome that us "older" kids can't join in the fun.  It might even do our older bones some good to get them moving about!  Just think about all the stretching and bending to get our joints moving!  Of course after all this playing is done, you can relax with your favorite beverage (you deserve it now)!

Don't let this summer pass you by without making some time for some fun in the great outdoors.








Play on everyone and enjoy the summer months!  





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

The Benefits Of Seatbelt Protectors Reviewed

I recently bought a seatbelt protector for the first time. It has proved to be a very useful and essential item. It is simply attached around the seatbelt in the car to provide more comfort when driving. It can also be used for any other straps on various bags for extra comfort for our shoulders, neck and chest. 




The reason I looked into buying a seatbelt protector is that after having surgery a few months ago I got clearance from my surgeon to resume driving. The nurse did however advise me that because of where the scar is and that the seatbelt cuts across it that I may find it a lot more comfortable with some form of cushioning.

She suggested wrapping a towel or small blanket around the seatbelt to protect my skin and the scar tissue, which I initially thought was a great idea.

However, while this is an inexpensive idea I could not get on with it as it kept slipping and felt very bulky and certainly not a great look either. 

Nevertheless, it was clear that I was going to be uncomfortable for a long time if I drove or was a passenger wearing a seatbelt in the car so I had to find something. Here in the UK it is a legal requirement for all drivers and passengers -with very few exemptions- to wear an individual seatbelt. If we do not wear a seatbelt we can be given a hefty fine and penalty points on our license. 

The hard edges of the seatbelt and the hard material hurt my skin now and where it lies is very close to the scar. I do not like to wear a coat when driving so there is not much buffer of clothing between my skin and the hard seatbelt. 

 So when I found this seatbelt protector it seemed an excellent idea! I chose a fake fur one as I thought it would be the softest option. I wanted it to protect my skin from any chafing or cutting from the seatbelt.  

Seatbelt Protector Velcro Fastening Side Up 



Factors To Consider When Buying A Seatbelt Protector


What colours and patterns do you like?
Mine is in grey as I thought it would blend in with my car's decor. However, if you wanted to have some colour or make a statement they do come in different colours and patterns. I have seen many in pink and blue and black and different patterns to suit everyone's taste. There are some fun designs for children as well. 

Decide the right size for you. 
I chose a seatbelt protector that is a little longer than average so mine is 13 inches long, many are around 10 inches. I think in normal circumstances 10 inches would be perfectly good but I just wanted to make sure none of the seatbelt had edges touching my body. 

Ease of use. 
You do need to slide the seatbelt protector up and down the seatbelt to get it adjusted to fit in the right place but in my experience, it stays there once positioned. 

The one I have is fastened with velcro. It is very easy to fit as you just pull the strong velcro apart, fit around the seatbelt and seal up the velcro again. It takes no time at all. To take off just unseal the velcro. 

I wear it with the edges of the velcro away from my body but you could wear it either way round.

Fabric composition. 
 I chose fake fur as I wanted the softest possible material. Apparently, they are warm in winter and cool in summer so time will tell. So far I will say it is very soft and for me makes driving a lot more comfortable. I am not finding it too hot even in this mini heatwave we are currently having. 

You can also buy them in a quilted fabric, so if you do not like the look or feel of fake fur, quilted is a good option. 

Washability.
While they should not need washing all the time, you will want to clean them so it is important to check if it is machine or hand washable.    

Velcro Fastening On My Seatbelt Protector 

Seatbelt Protectors Are Comfortable


 As there were two in the pack we fitted the other seatbelt protector one to the passenger seat and my husband has used it as well. He said he wonders why we did not fit them years ago as it makes wearing a seatbelt significantly more comfortable as it provides a cushion between you and the seatbelt hard edges.

I imagine it would also be helpful to fit these for children to make their car journeys safer and more comfortable and encourage them to wear their seatbelts with a fun design.

I think they would be helpful for many people who may find the seatbelt cuts across their necks, shoulders or chest when driving or a passenger. 

Inside Of The Seatbelt Protector

There Are Many Uses For Seatbelt Protectors


I bought mine for a very specific reason initially, but now I have it I can see there are many more practical uses for them!

I can see them being very useful and practical protecting us from backpack straps which can often cut in on the shoulders and laptop bags which can cut across the body or shoulders with a laptop and maybe heavier work materials to be carried as well.

Seatbelt protectors may be very handy when carrying baby bags which often have a lot of items inside. They may even be useful when carrying baby close to your body in a baby harness.

Sports bags such as golf bags which can be heavy and awkward would also be more comfortable to move around with a seatbelt protector.

It would be wonderful to make carrying heavy luggage when on holiday easier. Also when we next travel by plane I will take a couple with us for when we wear seatbelts during the flight to make it more comfortable. 

I have even thought of buying another one for my camera bag which has good straps but can cut in when it's around my neck for a while. See The Perfect Camera Strap Cover to Protect Your Neck by Sylvestermouse Cynthia about how to use it on a camera strap.

 Using it on these types of bags will help prevent any strap cutting in on the shoulder, chest, or neck and make carrying heavier or awkward bags more comfortable.

So, in addition to using them for driving and whenever I am a passenger in any vehicle,  I will certainly be using one when we are traveling with bags for day trips or on longer holidays for our luggage. 

Seatbelt protectors are not particularly expensive and in addition to our own personal use, would also make a great and thoughtful gift idea for many people.



Other Useful And Interesting Reviews










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, June 27, 2022

Favorite Utility Gloves Review: Ironclad Gloves

One of my absolute favorite finds for working around the home, lawn or garden are my Ironclad Utility Gloves. When I needed to replace my garden gloves last year I visited my local Ace Hardware store and found these fabulous gloves in the garden/utility glove section.



It is pretty rare to pair fabulous with gloves so this is probably an indication of how happy I am to have found these gloves! They have become a go to staple for work around the house, garage, lawn and garden. So versatile, so comfy, affordable and practical.

Comfort And Fit

The Ironclad Gloves are sized which I think make ALL the difference for a comfortable fit. No more swimming in garden gloves. True to fit. The gloves have velcro straps around the wrist to ensure a solid fit and keep out all those stray yard clippings and dirt from gardening.

Washable

Yes! The gloves are washable! I used these gloves for gardening with wet spring mud and the gloves washed beautifully. But the gloves must be hung dry!

Nimble

One of the best features of these gloves is the nimble feel for using with power tools, rakes and shovels. Particularly with power tools that require you to hold down a button while pressing another button to operate the tool. The gloves allow you to easily and comfortably operate small buttons or levers on power tools. 

Strength & Durability

So strong, so durable yet so lightweight. The Ironclad gloves are first and foremost  utility gloves that I happen to also use in the garden. If you have any type of plants with thorns, prickers or sharp edges these gloves work wonderfully.

Recommendation

I highly recommend the Ironclad Gloves for the home and yard. You will not be disappointed in the quality and versatility of these gloves. 

Where To Find Locally

My first stop to shop local is always my local Ace Hardware. This is where I originally found the gloves and their recommendation was spot on.

Ace Hardware Reviews

Ace Hardware Review by Wednesday Elf

My Favorite Local Ace Hardware by The Savvy Age









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, June 26, 2022

How To Get Through All of It - A Personal Diary Entry

How to Get Through All of It
How to Get Through All of It - A Personal Diary Entry Review

Living over six decades, I've gathered some of the tools needed to overcome life's constant challenges. I thought I'd share a few tidbits for those seeking coping mechanisms.

The Most Important Thing I've Learned in This Life So Far

I can definitively say, the most valuable lesson I've learned is that the peace we seek is entirely inside of us, at our core. It doesn't come from anything or any person. 

When the storm swirls around me, I hold onto that which is entirely mine, my soul. 

Our soul is the one thing that is truly ours. Unseen and always ready to be nurtured, it's not the possession of anyone except ourselves and the higher power we believe in.

Five Techniques to Help You Get Through It All

1. Mindfulness

Mindfulness can be an overused, confusing term.

For me, it's when I choose to practice being wholly present in a moment. When being 'present' doesn't come naturally, I use a repetitive mantra or a prayer to bring my mind into the now and away from that rabbit-thinking-hole that leads nowhere. 

It takes practice to perfect, but like any exercise, it becomes easier each time.

2. Prayer

Prayer isn't just for the religiously committed. 

You can create your own prayer to the universe or the higher power that means something to you. For me, it's usually Psalm 23 on repeat in my mind. The beautiful thing about prayer is that you can do it anywhere, anytime. 

As soon as you feel yourself getting upset or thinking thoughts that lead you to a dark place, STOP and begin repeating that prayer or inspirational phrase you decided upon. Repeat it over and over until you bring yourself back to a healthy center. If it takes all day, so what! Repeat it all day, and don't let anything else in.

When I spend time praying for other people, one by one, with specifics for each of them, I feel so much better. Try it; when you're feeling at the end of your rope, start praying for all your loved ones.

I go on prayer bike rides; I get to exercise physically and spiritually. I spend the entire bike ride praying for my friends, family, country, planet, and the universe. The prayers are unique and specific to each of them.

3. Music

For me, I sing. Put your headphones on and listen or sing your guts out. My family is used to me singing full tilt. I'm grateful for that. Depending on the lyrics and message I need, I choose the song for the moment. One of my favorite spiritual groups is Mercy Me. While typing, I'm listening to their song "Say I Won't" (Live from the 2021 K-Love Fan Awards). 


4. Realize You Can't Change People

This is a tough lesson to learn. If you're one of the lucky ones, you'll discover it quickly in your early years. If you understand this as early as your 20s, you might just have the world by the tail! 

What does it mean to understand that you can't change a person? 

It means that they have to walk their walk; you can't do it for them. That goes for spouses, siblings, friends, and children. We can teach with our words, but most importantly with our actions, and be there for them; we can't do it for them. I learned this first hand, it was brutal, but we got through it.

When there's a situation that hurts, that I have no power over (and the older I get, the more there are), I pray over and over. Some days I spend most of the day mentally praying.

5. Let It Go

Holy crap, that's overly simplified, isn't it?  

When I was younger, I used to get upset with people who told me to 'just let it go!' What in the world does that mean! That's how I used to feel.

What it DOESN'T mean is to not have empathy, compassion, and a good heart. Letting go isn't about not caring.

Today, at this stage of life, I completely understand what it means to let it go; it means,

  • practice mindfulness when you're consumed with an issue
  • pray when you're consumed with an issue
  • exercise when you're consumed with an issue
  • listen to music when you're consumed with an issue
  • trust in a positive outcome; see it
  • have faith in those around you
  • always embrace love no matter the pain; love them anyways
  • and finally, only take action to tackle a problem when it's warranted that you do so
HAVE FAITH. Believe in the greater good, and higher solutions, and believe in your prayers. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, June 25, 2022

Killing Season by Faye Kellerman – Book Review

A really good book is one you cannot put down.  An excellent book is one you literally cannot stop reading! In my opinion, Killing Season by Faye Kellerman is such a book. 




Synopsis


Sunset in New Mexico - Pixabay
The setting is New Mexico – a small town close to Santa Fe.  Benjamin Vicksburg was barely 14 when his 16-year-old sister went missing. Her body wasn't found for a year. She had been kidnapped and strangled. 

Ben, his parents and younger sister had all suffered the anguish of not knowing what happened. Later, the family also becomes friends with another local couple whose teenage daughter Katie went missing and she has never been found.


As the story begins, Ben, now seventeen, has committed himself to finding the monster who abducted and strangled Ellen. The police continue to investigate, but there is nothing new. But Ben, who is a math genius, sees patterns that don't fit and conducts his own investigation. As he gathers data, he discovers clues to other similar unsolved murders. 


As Ben's senior high school year begins, he becomes friends with the new girl in school, Ro Majors. They bond over the fact that Ro lost a sister to cancer around the same time Ben lost Ellen.  Ro ends up helping him with his research, and together they discover 3 other unsolved cases of teenage girls whose murders were almost identical to Ben's sister. And then.... they go on a hike in an area Ben has figured out is a logical place to find where the killer might have buried Katie, and they find her grave.


The police are not happy that Ben is investigating on his own, even though the police detective who was lead investigator on Ellen's case likes Ben and is as anxious as the family to solve her case. 


As Ben gets closer to discovering who the killer is, his obsession marks him as a threat. The police want him to stop investigating, but Ben is worried about Ro and about his little sister Haley and her best friend Lilly. The little girls are now going on 15 and Ro is 17, all in the age-range the killer targets. 


Learning the truth may not be enough to keep Ben and those he loves from this relentless killer. 


Summary



I have never been as absorbed in a book to the point of ignoring everything else until I finished as I was with this one. Killing Season is so well written and captures your attention from the beginning. I enjoyed it very much. 

I have been reading books by Faye Kellerman since 1986 when she began the 26 books in her Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus series. I've always enjoyed those books, and now am enjoying her stand-alone thrillers. Killing Season is the first one I have read that wasn't in the series I have been following and, as much as I liked the series, I like this one even more. Kellerman has done an outstanding job capturing this mystery fan's attention. 


Note: Faye Kellerman is married to Jonathan Kellerman, also a writer, and together they are the parents of Jesse Kellerman, who has had several books published on his own and has co-authored several other books with his dad, Jonathan.  A real writing family.  


Links to other Kellerman books reviewed here on ReviewThisReviews:



*Killing Season Book Review written by Wednesday Elf






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X