Showing posts with label Hallmark movies. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Hallmark movies. Show all posts

Friday, December 31, 2021

A New Year's Resolution Hallmark Movie Review

This is a delightfully uplifting movie to watch for New Years!

I have previously bypassed this movie several times because the trailers simply did not appeal to me.  This has taught me that I should never solely rely on the trailers to give me a real representation of whether I will like a movie or not.

True to Hallmark style, this romantic movie is somewhat predictable when Kelly Leone meets Tom Malone, but the story is unique.  

It is clear from the beginning that they are attracted to each other.  However, due to Kelly's New Year's resolution to say "yes" to more social event invitations, their relationship doesn't start with Tom asking her out.  He doesn't want her to feel forced to accept.  Of course, nothing says Kelly can't pursue Tom.  After all, Tom is not bound by any resolution.  Plus, they have several upcoming social events in common. 

Not only did I enjoy the romantic story, I also found myself laughing over several of the scenes.  Truly a nice break and a great way for Hallmark lovers to start the new year.

 

A New Year's Resolution Movie Synopsis

 A New Year's ResolutionCheck PriceKelly Leone is a dedicated morning show producer who has spent the last year working long hours and focusing on getting better ratings for her show.  Now that she has finally gotten the show in a safe zone, she decides it is time for her to focus on her personal life.  While her friends have been extremely understanding and patient with her busy work life, they do express how much they have missed her and want her back.  Kelly recognizes that she has really missed out on some of the changes in their lives, plus the combination of "small moments that makes up the big important stuff in life". 

Because of these revelations, Kelly decides to change her standard New Year's resolution.  She commits herself to her friends and vows that she will accept any social invitation offered to her until her birthday in February.  Her friends don't hesitate to start offering those social invitations, starting with a cold New Year's Day Polar Plunge into Lake Michigan.  Other social invitations include the Blizzard Obstacle Course, speed dating, curling, and facing her greatest fear, a magician.   

When the morning show cast hears of her resolution, they decide to make her the "star" of their new story.  They follow her through her events and film her experiences for the show.  Kelly prefers to be in the background, off camera, but she makes an adorable focus for the new series, as well as for this fun Hallmark movie.

Don't let the trailers keep your from watching this movie!  Why not join me and make it your New Year's resolution to ignore the trailers and watch the movie for yourself. 





Currently, "A New Year's Resolution" is also available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  
 


Hallmark Channel Subscription on Amazon


More Movies REVIEWED ON REVIEW THIS REVIEWS!
Available with Subscription to the Hallmark Channel






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



A New Year's Resolution Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 3, 2021

The Christmas Train Hallmark Movie Review

The Christmas Train
The Christmas Train is a wonderful star-studded Hallmark Hall of Fame Christmas movie.  The movie is based on the book by David Baldacci.  This movie originally aired in 2017, but I only recently discovered it on the Hallmark channel. 

During the holidays, I occasionally need a break from cooking, company, noise, and the annual chaos generated by a large family. Please understand, I wouldn't change a thing, but I do still need brief intermissions in the midst of our family multi-day holiday gatherings.  That is when I grab my iPad, seek out a quiet spot, and watch a Hallmark Christmas movie.  Works like a charm!  After the movie, I am refreshed, happy and ready to interact with real people again. 

I really needed a good movie to watch the day I happened upon The Christmas Train.  It turned out to be the perfect movie with a cast of fabulous actors who were all endearing for various reasons.  Every passenger on The Christmas Train had their own story and their own reasons for being on a train the week of Christmas.  From a film director, a writer seeking a new story, to the quirky, nosy woman who seemed to be overly interested in everyone, they all added value to the movie.  

 

The Christmas Train Synopsis

 The Christmas TrainCheck Price

Tom Langdon (Dermot Mulroney) was the last person Eleanor (Kimberly Williams-Paisley) expected to encounter on the Christmas train and she was the last person he expected to see.  It is immediately obvious to everyone that they already know each other and that there is "history", and pain, between them.  

Max Powers (Danny Glover) is the film director who believes Tom and Eleanor should set aside the past and work together to write a new film for him.  They reluctantly agree to collaborate, only because Eleanor couldn't find another form of transportation.  

As Tom and Eleanor interact with the other passengers, tidbits of their past together are shared.  But what really makes this a fun ride, is the combination of the stories of the passengers and their willingness to befriend one another. 

We have all had an "Agnes" (Joan Cusack) in our life. The nosy "neighbor" who seems to know everything about everyone.  We learn a lot about each passenger thanks to Agnes making their business, her business, and then sharing it with others.  

There is also an eloping couple who become important to the story because both Eleanor and Tom must dredge up old memories in order to offer advice to this struggling couple.  Even Max gets involved with helping them find their way to the altar.  

There are several other passengers on the train who are important to the complete story.  I'll let you discover them for yourself! 

 



If you enjoy a sweet romantic movie, then you will love The Christmas Train starring Danny Glover, Joan Cusack, Dermot Mulroney, and Kimberly Williams-Paisley. 

After seeing the movie, I definitely want to read the book now!



More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



The Christmas Train Hallmark Movie Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 11, 2021

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed

It's time! Hallmark Christmas 2021 Movies are ready to roll out! This unabashed Hallmark Christmas Movie fan is excited to take a break from everything pumpkin and enjoy the new, old, classic and fan favorite Hallmark Christmas movies.

Hallmark Christmas movie season includes the beloved Hallmark favorites from years past and begins October 23, 2021. Movies will air on the Hallmark Channel and Hallmark Movies and Mysteries channel.

The 2021 Hallmark Christmas Movie Schedule has been released and here are a few to look forward to!

Candace Cameron Bure


Two Sisters - Two Hallmark Christmas Movies

Kimberly Williams-Paisley and Ashley Williams, sisters in real life, are pairing up in two Hallmark Christmas Movies for 2021

Sister Swap: A Hometown Holiday

Sister Swap: Christmas in the City




Looking For More Hallmark Christmas Movies?

Reviews:

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age


Favorite Hallmark Christmas Movies 2019

  • Christmas In Rome with Lacey Chabert and Sam Page
  • Christmas At The Plaza with Ryan Paevey
  • Christmas Town with Candace Cameron Bure and Tim Rozon
  • Christmas at Dollywood with Danica McKellar and Niall Matter

Where To Find Hallmark Christmas Movies?


If your cable subscription includes Hallmark, Hallmark Channel is available with the Hallmark Everywhere App by logging in with your cable subscription username and password.

A monthly plan is also available with the Hallmark Movies Now service for $4.99 a month. A seven day free trial is available to give the channel a no obligation spin.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, September 13, 2021

Favorite Fall Hallmark Movies Reviewed

Fall is pumpkin season at the Hallmark channel! As summer wanes and the cooler air is a welcome relief this also brings my favorite Fall Movies at Hallmark.


This year three new Hallmark Harvest movies premier in September. Set your schedules now to enjoy the brilliance of Fall along with pumpkin, spices and Hallmark. No worries if you miss the premiere, the movies will repeat throughout the month.

New Fall Hallmark Movies 2021

Roadhouse Romance - September 11

A fall Rom Com featuring Tyler Hynes and Lauren Alaina. Tyler has become a Hallmark favorite lead and Alaina is a country music veteran. The Hallmark formula of returning home, high school sweetheart and a struggling family business entwine the two leads plus a special treat. Lauren Alaina will perform two songs “Run” and “What Do You Think Of"

Preview of Roadhouse Romance

 Raise A Glass To Love - September 18

It wouldn't be Fall without a trip to the vineyards for Hallmark. This guarantees gorgeous scenery to combine with wine, sommelier, family vineyard and a new handsome 'visitor' to the vineyards. Laura Osnes and Juan Pablo Di Pace star.

Taking The Reins - September 25

I am very much looking forward to Taking The Reins with Hallmark fan favorite Nikki DeLoach. Filmed on location at a horse farm, Scott Porter joins DeLoach as the male lead. Expect fall color and romance as DeLoach plays a writer returning to the family ranch and discovers the relation between marriage, ranching, writing and romance.

Favorite Fall Hallmark Films Returning



Autumn Dreams

Hallmark favorite Jill Wagner and Collin Egglesfield have a fun and flirty chemistry as they reunite 15 years after their ill fated teenage marriage. Enjoy these two in this rom com as they discover they are still married, but one is engaged, but married? The fun begins as they try to unravel this romance and perhaps begin again...

View preview and blooper reel > here 

Country At Heart

A very sweet movie with Jessy Schram and Niall Matter. Nashville, song writing, the hits and struggles of the music business and of course romance star in a movie with real chemistry and real! singing. The stars also sing in this don't miss Hallmark Fall movie.

View the Country At Home Music Special

Sweet Autumn

Two Hallmark Favorites Nikki DeLoach and Andrew Walker star in a fall movie centered around the Sweet Autumn Festival. Two opposites are left a legendary sweet shop as their romance unfolds. These two actors have great chemistry and the plot is classic Hallmark. Enjoy!

More Hallmark Movie Reviews

Hallmark Sweet Carolina by The Savvy Age
Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age
Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia
Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age
Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia
Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age
Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 16, 2021

The Hallmark Aurora Teagarden Mystery Series Reviewed

Aurora Teagarden Review
Several years ago, our contributor, Bev Owens, reviewed the Aurora Teagarden book series by Charlaine Harris. I was immediately interested in the great cozy mystery books. I love a series that allows us to follow the main character through multiple intriguing mysteries.  Since this series has 11 books, and because Bev highly recommended them, I knew I was in for a real treat that would last for perhaps a few weeks of great reading.

I recently discovered the Hallmark Aurora Teagarden mystery movie series based on the books and immediately started watching them.  I enjoyed the first movie so much, that I watched the second movie as soon as the first one ended.  By the time I turned off the videos, I had watched the first 4 movies back to back.  I only stopped there because I had to get some sleep!  Honestly, I can hardly wait to have another evening to dedicate to more of the movie series.

I decided it would be more economical for me to buy the complete series instead of paying for each movie individually.  I want to see all 15 of them that are currently available on dvd!  I expect to watch them more than once, plus I plan to share them with my mother, who also loves Hallmark movies.  Therefore, the seasonal box sets were my best option.  You can see the box sets I selected at the bottom of this article.  I tried to get the most movies for the least investment, but I did have to purchase 2 sets to get all 15 movies.

While the books do give a lot more background and details, I found the movies felt "complete" and I love the actors!

 

Meet Aurora Teagarden!  

In many mystery movies, we follow detectives as they investigate murders, but Aurora is not a police officer or detective.  She is simply a librarian with an penchant for solving murder mysteries.  She is a member of the local Real Murders club that consists of armchair sleuths who enjoy studying real murder cases and known murderers. Give them a real murder mystery to solve, and they are all in!

In each of the episodes, Aurora discovers evidence of a murder, or finds the actual victim. She calls on her amateur detective fellow club members to help her solve the case, much to the distress and disapproval of the local police.  But, the detectives tolerate her because she does seem to have a natural aptitude for ferreting out information from people and evidence that the police would never be allowed to find.

 Aurora Teagarden: 6-Movie CollectionCheck PriceIn the first movie episode, A Bone to Pick, Aurora finds a hidden skull in the window seat of a home she inherits. Instead of contacting the police, she starts her own investigation based on what else she can find around the house and on her knowledge of the deceased homeowner.  It is interesting, and sometimes comical to watch Aurora "work".  If she were my neighbor, I would consider her way too nosy, but that is how she solves cases.  She asks a lot of questions and does a lot of snooping.

The second movie, Real Murders, focuses on her Real Murder club when one of their own members is murdered and the club members are the main suspects. Aurora is joined by one of her favorite fictional crime book authors in this investigation, but there are times when it is hard to know if he is an ally, a romantic interest, a suspect or all of the above.  

In Three Bedrooms, One Corpse, which is the third movie, Aurora is helping her mother by showing one of her real estate properties to a new client.  Sadly, they discover the body of one of the real estate agents working for her mother's agency.  While in the home, Aurora notices that something doesn't look right.  She can't quite figure out what detail is off until she compares current pictures to old pictures. Her keen observation and attention to detail points the detectives in the right direction, but also puts her in great danger.   

The Julius House is the fourth movie in the series and happened to be my favorite thus far.  In addition to being an excellent cozy mystery with a surprising end, there is a touch of romance developing between Aurora and Martin, her mother's client from the previous episode.  The mystery revolves around the disappearance of the entire Julius family.  It was believed that the family was probably victims of a car accident that simply hasn't been discovered. Or, perhaps, they decided to leave for unknown reasons. Aurora's "detective" sense is aroused when she buys the family home and meets the heir, Melba Totino (the wife's mother), who sold her the home.  Conversations with Mrs. Totino, coupled with Aurora's natural inquisitive mind, set off a chain of events that finally lead to discovering what really happened to the Julius family. 

 

Each of these movies would be enjoyable alone, but as a series, the characters become more developed as they move along, and as I said in the introduction, I really like the actors who were selected to play the parts.  Candace Cameron Bure is a very believable Aurora Teagarden.

 


These are the two box sets that I purchased!

 The Aurora Teagarden Mysteries: Collections 1-3Check Price Aurora Teagarden Mysteries - Collection FourCheck Price

  


More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



The Hallmark Aurora Teagarden Mystery Series Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 7, 2021

Witness to Murder: A Darrow Mystery from Hallmark Movie Review

Witness To Murder
I think just about everyone enjoys a mystery, but we don't always desire to see the explicit crime scenes. The Darrow Mystery series from Hallmark provides mysteries without including sights that haunt us in our nightmares.

In 2019, I reviewed the Darrow & Darrow Hallmark series.  At that time, the episode, Witness to Murder, had not yet been released. Therefore, I am reviewing it separately today.

Darrow & Darrow is a law firm originally started by Claire Darrow's parents.  When Claire's father died, her mother took a position with a different law firm in New York.  However, Joanna Darrow has now returned to Darrow & Darrow to work alongside her daughter. 

In Witness to Murder, Miles Strasberg is the appointed prosecutor and Claire is the defense attorney in the case. Even though they have toyed with the idea of dating, they agree to set aside any romantic interest until the trial is over.  With Mile's ex-girlfriend investigating the case and working closely with Miles, Claire finds herself questioning if Miles had ulterior motives for suggesting they place their personal relationship on hold.


Synopsis of Witness to Murder: A Darrow Mystery 

When Cassie Piper shows up at Darrow & Darrow begging for help, Claire and Joanna are not certain they want to take Cassie's case.  After all, Cassie was responsible for Joanna being fired from the New York law firm and Joanna has no desire to run to her rescue now that she needs legal representation.  

Cassie maintains that Joanna's law firm would be the best defense law firm for her since Joanna worked with Brian Herriman, the man accusing Cassie of insider trading.  

Joanna is still debating whether to take Cassie's case when Brian Herriman contacts her and requests a meeting. She can't resist the opportunity to see her former employer pleading for her assistance. What she doesn't expect is to be a witness to murder herself and the number one suspect is Cassie Piper.  

 


If you are a Hallmark fan, or enjoy a cozy mystery with a touch of romance, then I am sure you will also love this movie! 



Currently, "Darrow & Darrow" is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  


More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Witness to Murder: A Darrow Mystery Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 23, 2021

Picture Perfect Mysteries: Newlywed and Dead Hallmark Movie Reviewed

Picture Perfect MysteriesIn 2019, Hallmark released the first movie in their series, Picture Perfect Mysteries. You can probably guess by the title, Newlywed and Dead, the basis for the mystery, but you will be shocked by the killer's identity.  As mysteries go, this one is pretty good since the ending is not predictable.  

I also like the main characters and actors. The fact that one of the main characters is a photographer appeals to me. While I am not a professional photographer, I do enjoy taking pictures. I understand how photographers focus on something through the lens of a camera that we might otherwise overlook.  Capturing just the right image, at that perfect moment, is important to any photographer, professional or amateur.  In the case of murder, it is paramount. 

In this Hallmark mystery series, Alexa PenaVega plays the part of the professional photographer, Allie Adams, and owns the studio, Picture Perfect Photography.  In the movie, Newlywed and Dead, Allie is shooting her friends wedding reception when the groom is killed. Using the photos taken before & after the wedding, she strives to piece together what happened to discover who killed her friend's new husband.

Most Hallmark movies I select to watch and review are romantic movies.  While Newlywed and Dead has a very small element of romance, it is primarily a murder mystery and is recommended as such.


Picture Perfect Mysteries: Newlywed and Dead

Allie Adams is happy to be photographing her best friend's wedding. As such, she has a "focus" on several views, interactions, and conversations before and after the wedding. 

Weddings always appear to be the height of happiness, but often have underlying threads of tension. It is Allie's job to capture the pleasant moments and create that illusion of perfection which allows the memories of stress to fade over the years and the memory of love and beauty to prevail in hearts and minds.  However, that is an impossible job when the groom is shot while dancing with his bride at their wedding reception. That will always be the image that replaces all others of that wedding day. 

When Allie's brother is accused of committing the murder due to jealousy, Allie refuses to let her brother be railroaded because he is the likely suspect. A new detective in town, Sam Acosta (played by Carlos PenaVega) is investigating the groom's murder.  With an unbiased perspective, he looks at evidence to determine who to charge with murder and Allie is determined to find evidence of her brother's innocence. That means she is seeking for other suspects and could easily put herself in harm's way. 

 

Newlywed and Dead Reviewed

 

Mystery lovers will enjoy the thrill of not knowing the killer's identity, while romantics will enjoy watching the beginning of a newly developing relationship.  Newlywed and Dead sets the stage for what is sure to be a fun, Picture Perfect Mysteries series for all to watch.





Currently, "Picture Perfect Mysteries: Newlywed and Dead" is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  


More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Picture Perfect Mysteries: Newlywed and Dead Hallmark Movie Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 26, 2020

Christmas Tree Lane: Hallmark Movie Review

Hallmark opened up the 2020 Christmas movie season with a winner! Christmas Tree Lane will not disappoint Hallmark fans and will definitely not disappoint Hallmark Christmas fans. 

A delightful romance with all the necessary Hallmark elements will delight fans and will leave you eagerly awaiting the newest Hallmark Christmas movies along with past favorites.


The Stars

Hallmark brought out the A team actors of Alicia Witt and Andrew Walker to create the chemistry for the Christmas Tree Lane story. Each actor has starred in multiple Hallmark movies and are fan favorites. Andrew plays an architect whose family business has its' eye on the infamous and beloved Christmas Tree Lane. Alicia plays the owner of her families shop threatened by the redevelopment along with all of Christmas Tree Lane.

I won't spoil the love story; however, the story line may sound familiar to Hallmark fans and that is just fine with Hallmark fans! It is the chemistry and acting which makes the story and both stars bring this romance to life.

Fun Facts

Alicia Witt not only stars in Christmas Tree Lane and executive produced the movie. But wait there is more. She also created the story, brought the story to Hallmark,  wrote the theme song, played the piano and performed the song in the movie. 

One Life To Live fans will recognize the actor who plays Alicia's father - guess who?

Catch a sneak peek here of Christmas Tree Lane while you are waiting for the replay!





More Hallmark Christmas Movies

I recently wrote a review for the Hallmark Christmas movies 2020 and did pick this movie out as a movie to bookmark! Christmas Tree Lane is on the Hallmark Movies & Mysteries channel.

There will be 40 new Hallmark Christmas movies for 2020 and let's hope all movies will be as good as Christmas Tree Lane! The new movies will be shown on both Hallmark channels: Hallmark and Hallmark Movies & Mysteries.

More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia

Happy Hallmark Christmas!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 12, 2020

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed

Ready, set and Hallmark! It may be Fall, but Fall means the start of the Christmas movies on the Hallmark Channel.



Yes, unabashed Hallmark fan here and my absolute favorite Hallmark movies are the Christmas movies. I reviewed my Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies in 2018 and while those are my favorite I have added a few as new Hallmark Christmas movies which have debuted.

Christmas In Rome, Christmas Town, Christmas At The Plaza were favorites for 2019.

What's In Store For Hallmark Christmas 2020?


Hallmark Channel's Countdown to Christmas begins Friday, October 23rd. The Hallmark Channel Movies and Mysteries has also joined the Christmas fun with its' Miracles Of Christmas movies also beginning October 23, 2020.

In all there will be 40 new Christmas movies for 2020: 23 on the Hallmark Channel and 17 on the Hallmark Movies & Mysteries channel.

Hallmark Favorites Return For 2020


I'm looking forward to the return of favorite Hallmark stars for the Christmas season!


  • If I Only Had Christmas, starring Candace Cameron Bure
  • Christmas Waltz, starring Lacey Chabert
  • Chateau Christmas, starring Merritt Patterson and Luke Macfarlane
  • Cross Country Christmas, starring Rachael Leigh Cook
  • Christmas Tree Lane, starring Alicia Witt and Andrew Walker
  • Cranberry Christmas, starring Nikki DeLoach and Benjamin Ayres
Where to Find Hallmark Christmas Movies?
If your cable subscription does not include Hallmark or you have cut the cable cord, Hallmark Channel is available with the Hallmark Everywhere App

A monthly plan is also available with the Hallmark Movies Now service for $4.99 a month. A seven day free trial is available to give the channel a no obligation spin.


More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia

Pick of The Hallmark Christmas Movies

Flashback to A Christmas Detour



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 15, 2020

A Summer Romance Hallmark Movie Reviewed

I can always depend on Hallmark to provide wholesome entertainment!

A Summer Romance
Hallmark movies have been called "cookie cutter", "unrealistic" and "predictable".  Okay, that may well be true, but who cares.  I love Hallmark movies!  

Hallmark movies are what I call easy watching, like easy listening music.  Not especially profound or deep, but they leave me feeling happy and relaxed.  For me, that is most important when watching movies.  I don't personally need depressing or upsetting, or even realistic all of the time.  But, I'll take "happy" anytime!

I happened upon "A Summer Romance" recently, starring Erin Krakow, who I think is adorable.  It did take me a few minutes to adjust to her character in this movie.  After all, I see her as Elizabeth in "When Calls the Heart" which is an awesome Hallmark series.  She also stars in a Christmas movie I previous reviewed, Finding Father Christmas.  She does an excellent job of acting in all of these movies and has quickly become my favorite Hallmark actress.  Krakow is not exclusively "Hallmark".  They just happen to be where I have seen her most often.

"A Summer Romance" is another sweet romantic movie that ends exactly the way we all hope it will.  Still, it's fun to watch, especially when they take a boy out of the city and introduce him to an unpretentious country girl.  



Plot of the Hallmark movie, A Summer Romance


 A Summer RomanceCheck PriceSamantha Walker is now the sole owner of the Montana ranch that has been in her family for generations.  Unfortunately, a large ranch is expensive to maintain.  Repairs have required Sam to take a bank loan, which she is several months behind on with payments.  That leaves her ranch vulnerable to vultures who desire to build a country club on her land.

Richard Belmont (Ryan Paevey) has already developed a plan to acquire a certain ranch in Bighorn, Montana.  He is certain he can persuade the owner to sell.  What he doesn't realize is that the owner has plans of her own to make her ranch profitable.  

Sam is weighing all of her options, which is why she agrees to meet Belmont and consider his offer.  But, the ranch has been in her family for generations and it is home.  When Richard arrives in Bighorn without reservations for a room, Sam ends up inviting him to stay in the guesthouse on the ranch.  

As Richard spends time with Sam and the residents of the ranch, they all actually become friends.  That is not the best alliance for the man, and the company, who plans to buy the ranch home out from under the owner, now friend.  

Richard only thinks he is completely in charge of the deal.  Sam only thinks she is making the decision.  And, yes, you will have to watch the movie if you want to see what happens.





Currently, "A Summer Romance" can be purchased on DVD linked above, but is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



A Summer Romance - Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 10, 2020

Signed, Sealed, Delivered Hallmark Series Reviewed

Signed, Sealed, Delivered Hallmark Series Reviewed
Signed, Sealed, Delivered started as a tv series in 2013, but after the first complete season, Hallmark rebranded the series as television films.  Sadly, that meant there would no longer be a weekly show.  But, for those of us who love the series, we are always excited when a new film is released.

There are 11 episodes, including the pilot, in the one season tv series.  At the time of publishing this review, there are more than 10 films that have been released since the series ended. 


Alongside the wonderful main characters, the shows have featured some really fabulous special guests that include Carol Burnett, Della Reese, Valerie Bertinelli, and Valerie Harper.  These special guests have added lighthearted humor and fun that makes the shows even more entertaining.



Signed, Sealed, Delivered Plot


As you might expect from the name, the main characters are employees of the US post office.  They are the only 4 employees of the Denver dead letter office, where they strive to find the right recipients in order to deliver long lost letters.  They often end up on great adventures while solving intriguing mysteries.

Signed, Sealed, Delivered - Series 1
The dead letter department is headed by Oliver O'Toole who is described by his team as an old-fashioned gentleman, a man of faith, a rule-keeper, and a meticulous manager.  Oliver is married, but his wife left him so she could live in Paris.  He is always on the lookout for any correspondence from her, but she has clearly abandoned him and their marriage.

Shane McInerney is accidentally placed in the dead letter office.  Because of her computer expertise and hacking ability she ends up being an excellent addition to the team.  Plus, she likes the other employees there.  Shane decides to stay with them even when her transfer to her intended position is finally approved.

Signed, Sealed, Delivered Hallmark Series Reviewed Rita Haywith is a really sweet lady who happens to have a photographic memory.  She has an uncanny ability to "look up" facts, names, and information via her own mind.  There are times when she seems too naive to believe, but she is so adorable you can't help but love her.  Her crush on Norman is obvious to everyone but him.

Last but by no means least, Norman Dorman is the consummate librarian and scientist.  He seems to be able to find the right book for any needed reference or information.  Norman possesses the "absent minded professor" personally that doesn't understand the normal, everyday conversations, social cues or nuances. Personally, I find his straight forward purity of words and actions refreshing. 

This team of determined post office workers are later dubbed the Postables because of their commitment to maintain the confidentiality of the contents and sender, while playing detective in order to locate the proper recipient of a dead letter or package.

The Postables always go the extra mile to make sure a missive finally reaches it's destination, even when it is years after it was initially mailed.

The letters always provide something the recipient needs, like an explanation for past actions, a long awaited apology or resolution, a gift like a wedding gown, or they reunite friends and family who have lost touch.  Some of the stories are pretty sad because either the sender or the recipient have died.  But, they still serve a purpose for the remaining loved ones.

One particularly touching episode, "To Whom It May Concern", was about a young woman who wanted to find the soldier who not only taught her to read, but also saved her life by giving up his seat on the rescue helicopter.  The team had to go to great lengths to find the missing soldier.


Watch Signed, Sealed, Delivered in Chronological Order 


It isn't absolutely necessary to watch the episodes or films in the order of their release date, but it will make the basic storyline more cohesive.  Because the plot and couple relationships develop over time, just like real life relationships, some things will make more sense if you know what happened in the past.

This is one series that I would recommend watching in chronological order.

    Signed, Sealed, Delivered Hallmark Series Reviewed
  1. Signed, Sealed, Delivered - Pilot Movie  (2013)
  2. Signed, Sealed, Delivered - The Complete Season 1  (2013-2014) 
    Note: Series 1 DVD does not include the pilot. Must purchase it separately.
  3. Signed, Sealed, Delivered for Christmas  (2014)
  4. Signed, Sealed, Delivered: From Paris With Love (2015) 
  5. Signed, Sealed, Delivered: Truth Be Told  (2015)
  6. Signed, Sealed, Delivered: The Impossible Dream  (2015) 
  7. Signed, Sealed, Delivered: From the Heart  (2016)
  8. Signed, Sealed, Delivered: One in a Million  (2016)
  9. Signed, Sealed, Delivered: Lost Without You  (2016) 
  10. Signed, Sealed, Delivered: Higher Ground  (2017)
  11. Signed, Sealed, Delivered: Home Again  (2017)
  12. Signed, Sealed, Delivered: The Road Less Traveled  (2018)
  13. Signed, Sealed, Delivered: To the Altar  (2018)
  14. Next Film Originally Planned to Be Released in mid to late 2020! Due to Pandemic, it is delayed, but still coming!          


 
As you can see above, the DVD's are available to purchase on Amazon.  Or, you can subscribe to the Hallmark Channel via Amazon to watch them all.


Subscribe to Hallmark Channel on Amazon






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Signed, Sealed, Delivered Hallmark Series Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X