Showing posts with label Hallmark movies. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Hallmark movies. Show all posts

Friday, October 25, 2019

Love Surreal - Hallmark Movie Review

Love Surreal - Hallmark Channel Movie Review
Have you ever overlooked a great movie simply because the feature image does not appeal? That is exactly what happened to me with the Hallmark movie, "Love Surreal". I admit, the title didn't draw me in either! 

During a stressful day recently, I went in search of a nice movie to help calm my concerns for the day. After all, there was nothing I could do to change the outcome of the source of my stress. I simply had to wait. 

When I find myself having to "wait", I tend to imagine the worst. Therefore, it is best for me to refocus and stop the horrible images having a field day in my mind. I turned to the Hallmark channel to find my balance.  I needed a calm and peaceful movie, preferably with a happy ending.

Unfortunately, I had seen most to the movies currently available on the Hallmark channel.  I scanned the images several times and finally gave in to one that I intentionally dismissed previously.  I would watch "Love Surreal" and hope for the best.  

As it turns out, it was a pretty good movie.  A romantic story with a dose of comic relief.  I found myself laughing out loud several times during the movie and being equally delighted by the story line.  Love Surreal was exactly what I needed!


Love Surreal Movie Synopsis


Love Surreal Movie DVD
This is the featured image for the movie.
It didn't draw me in, which is a shame.  What do you think?
Being an only child, Abigale Morrison always felt alone when she was growing up.  Since her parents focused their attention on each other and traveling, instead of on Abby, she believed she was only an accessory in her parents marriage.  Not really a part of their lives.  Young Abby found company in her imaginary friend, Simon (Sy for short).  

Sy was understanding, compassionate and always available. When Abby loved drawing and when she drew pictures of herself, she included her friend, Sy as her companion.  She found contentment with her new ally. So much so, she maintained her friendship with her imaginary friend throughout her high school years and into her college life. Simon becomes a barrier between Abby and relationship pain.  It all works wonderfully well until Abby meets her roommates cousin, Quinn.

Quinn happens to be a fellow student in Abby's art appreciation class. He doesn't really appreciate art or the class, but he needs a good grade.  Which means, he needs help!

With a bit of coaxing by her roommate, Jessica, Abby becomes Quinn's tutor and subsequently his friend.  However, Abby makes it clear that she has a long time boyfriend, Simon.  But, that only works for so long.  


Conclusion


Yes, the basis of the story is rather unbelievable.  However if we suspend reality for a few hours, we can really enjoy this romantic comedy.  All of the actors are adorable and fun to watch as they fumble their way through life and make some difficult choices.

This truly is a delightful movie to watch! 

By the way, Love Surreal is also included in Amazon Prime Video.  I just happened to find it on my Hallmark Channel subscription.

   


More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Love Surreal Hallmark Movie Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 27, 2019

Darrow & Darrow Hallmark Movie Series Reviewed

Darrow & Darrow Hallmark Movie Series Reviewed
I recently discovered the awesome Hallmark movie series, Darrow & Darrow!  

It is a fabulous Hallmark series based on the legal cases handled by the law firm of Darrow & Darrow.  The investigations and clues in each of the cases are fun to watch while trying to guess the outcomes.  Add to that, the personal lives of each character, and you have a wonderfully captivating series. 

Adorable actors, a bit of romance, a touch of mystery surrounding the cases, a spattering of family conflicts, all combine to make a thoroughly enjoyable series of movies.

My tolerance for television is normally limited to a few hours a week. I don't like constant noise, although I do know a lot of people who enjoy the "company".  I'm not bashing watching TV.  Just explaining that it has to be something really good for me to leave it on long enough to see an entire movie.

When I find a series that is binge worthy, then it is definitely something to talk about, and review.


Darrow & Darrow Hallmark Movie Series Synopsis


When you see the couple on the first DVD cover, you assume the title "Darrow & Darrow", is referring to a husband and wife team.  Or, perhaps, a brother and sister.  However, only one member of the couple shown on the first DVD cover, is a Darrow.  The man is Miles Strasberg, and the woman is Claire Darrow.  They are actually opposing attorneys.

 Darrow & DarrowCheck PriceDarrow  & Darrow is a law firm that was originally started by Claire's parents.  After her father died, Claire's mother, Joanna, took off to New York to make a name for herself with an influential and powerful law firm. Even though her mother was successful, Claire resents that decision. When her mother returns, requesting she be taken back into the family law firm, Claire is more than reluctant to embrace her again as a partner. They don't see eye to eye on most things, including the types of cases the law firm should be representing.

During the pilot movie, we get to know the main characters fairly well. Miles Strasberg is a mild-mannered widower and district attorney, who happens to be opposing council in the first case of the series.  Claire is an adorable widow that is raising her daughter alone.  As an attorney, she spends her days defending falsely accused individuals in court.  Well, at least people she believes are falsely accused. Claire's clear calling is to be a defense attorney for those who are less fortunate and can not afford a good lawyer, but deserve one.

In the first movie, Claire defends a doughnut maker who has been accused of robbing a jewelry store.  The masked intruder uses David Kellerin's bakery truck to smash the front window. Then jumps out to grab the jewelry in the display case.  When David is arrested, one of the stolen watches is found in his possession.  It seems like an open and shut case.  In spite of the evidence, David pleads innocent and Claire believes him. It requires a great deal of trust and detective work to defend Mr. Kellerin.

Her opposing counsel, Miles Strasberg, is attracted to Claire.  He respects her idealism and her ethics, as well as her desire to find the truth, not just represent someone wealthy who may be guilty.  Every month he asks her out to dinner.  Every month, he gets the same answer, until one day, to his great surprise, she says yes.  They do make a really cute couple!

Darrow & Darrow Hallmark Movie

My Conclusion


It is always exciting to find a new, enjoyable series to watch. When it is Hallmark movies, I know I am in for hours of excellent TV time. 

I really like Claire Darrow.  I enjoy watching her interactions with Miles, her co-workers, her daughter, and even her mother. The court cases, plots, and investigations are quite interesting too. It is fun to try to figure them out before they are revealed in the movies.  Therefore, I highly recommend this movie series to anyone who loves good, clean entertainment with a touch of mystery and romance!

 


Currently, "Darrow & Darrow" is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  


More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Darrow & Darrow Hallmark Movie Series Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 12, 2019

Love's Complicated - Hallmark Movie Review

Love's Complicated - Hallmark Movie Review
While searching for light entertainment last weekend, I came across the Hallmark Movie, Love's Complicated starring Holly Marie Combs and Ben Bass.  Within a few minutes of watching, I knew that I had found exactly what I had been seeking. 

Hallmark is always a reliable source for good movies that usually leave me feeling relaxed, and sometimes even revived after a long day of work and stress.  I know I never have to worry about nudity, excessive foul language, or extreme violence when I turn on the Hallmark channel.  

In a time when movies seem to compete to see which one can be the most extreme, I am most appreciative of a reliable source of mild, lighthearted entertainment that is never embarrassing to watch regardless of whether I am alone, in mixed company, or with my children and parents.  


Love's Complicated Movie Synopsis 


It is easy to like the mild mannered, considerate & compliant Leah in Love's Complicated.   She is the type of person we all enjoy being around.  She rarely, if ever, complains, she does not engage in debates or challenging opinions, she simply goes along happily with whatever others in her life dictate.  Leah doesn't really intend to be a doormat for others, she just doesn't like confrontation.

 Love's ComplicatedCheck PriceWhen her boyfriend of 2 years enrolls her in a conflict management class, she doesn't understand why she would need to be there, especially when she finds out he is not attending the group with her.  Of course, it makes her mad and confused, but she decides to comply with his wishes and attend the sessions.  However, in an unexpected turn of events, she comes face to face with the most annoying people she has ever met.  After all, it was Cinco Dublin who criticized her published book on his radio show, stating that "although well written, Ms. Townsend's safe, Leave it to Beaver take on her childhood, leaves me wanting nothing more from this author, ever."  It is clear from the beginning that Leah has built up resentment toward Cinco and the conflict management class gives her the perfect opportunity to unleash her pent-up emotions. 

The verbal exchanges between Leah and Cinco are revealing about both of their personalities and are often humorous.  They might not be funny to me if I was one of the participates in the conversations, but listening to them made me laugh several times.  

When Leah accepted an unwanted proposal of marriage from her boyfriend, just because she wanted to comply with his desires, and her parents wishes, she finally realizes that she must learn to confront real issues.  Otherwise, she will end up in an unhappy marriage and always letting someone else dictate her life.  At that point, the need for the conflict management classes becomes apparent to Leah.



Additional Thoughts About the Movie, Love's Complicated


While I very much enjoyed this movie and watching a romantic relationship develop, I found I was more intrigued by the concept that conflict management classes were also for people who needed to learn to express their anger, instead of keeping it inside.  I've always thought those classes were for people who lashed out uncontrollably or without an obvious reason.  Recognizing that some attendees might just need to learn how to express their feelings, was rather enlightening for me.



Currently, "Love's Complicated" is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  


More Romantic Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Love's Complicated - Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 1, 2019

Be My Valentine (2013) Hallmark Movie Review starring William Baldwin

Be My Valentine (2013) Hallmark Movie Review starring William Baldwin
With Valentine's Day just around the corner, it is befitting that we should review a movie entitled "Be My Valentine". 

Of course, this is a sappy romantic movie with the perfect ending.  After all, isn't a sweet love story exactly what we are all seeking for Valentines?  

So, why not go ahead and tell you now, this is it! 

William Baldwin might not be as well known his brother, Alec, but he is every bit as likeable.  Perhaps, even more so.  His role in this movie as a single father actually makes him very endearing.  We see his playful side as well as his sensitive side.  But, mostly we see a father who loves his son and is willing to help him in ways that might normally be considered a mother's job.

Oh, and one more important thing, the fact that it is a Hallmark channel movie ensures us that the movie is appropriate for any age to view.


Be My Valentine (2013) Hallmark Movie


 Be My Valentine on DVD,
Prime Video or Hallmark Channel
Check Price
Firefighter, Dan Farrell (William Baldwin), believes all of the embers of love were completely doused for him when his wife died.  But, fear not, he is good-natured and happy as a single father.  His daily focus is on his son and his job.  He is definitely not looking for romance when cupid smacks him upside his head.

Kate Burlington (Natalie Brown) plans to spend Valentine's Day with old movies and comfort food.  Still feeling the sting of a failed relationship, Kate isn't looking for anyone special.  She is not even interested in having a date for Valentines.  However, when a small fire breaks out in her flower shop, she comes face to face with someone very special indeed.  The mutual interest is immediately ignited between Dan and Kate.

As they spend time together, they find they have a lot in common.  Therefore, a friendship between them just seems natural.  It isn't until Kate's ex shows up that this new relationship is challenged to the extreme.  After all, Kate had wanted to marry Gavin and it was his lack of commitment that caused the breakup.  Now, Gavin is back and wants to get married.

Ok, so the movie is probably "cheesy" and a bit predictable, but it is also still adorable.  A sweet love story for Valentine's Day for sure!







"Be My Valentine" is available on DVD or Amazon Prime Video
Currently, "Be My Valentine" is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  


https://amzn.to/2A2nyj4


  

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Be My Valentine (2013) Hallmark Movie Review starring William Baldwin Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 21, 2018

Broadcasting Christmas Hallmark Movie Review

Broadcasting Christmas Hallmark Movie Review
When you mix Melissa Joan Hart, Dean Cain and Hallmark, what do you get?  An amazing romantic Christmas movie!

Broadcasting Christmas takes place at Christmastime in New York with Emily and Charley competing for the same job.   It isn't the first time they have both been considered for the same position either.  Both are television reporters who previously worked for the same station and who were previously romantically involved.  Actually, they were in a relationship until they were pitted against each other 6 years earlier for a different job.   The newscaster job that Charley subsequently landed. 

This Hallmark movie is available on DVD, or you can view it with Amazon Prime or as a subscriber to the Hallmark channel on Amazon.


Hallmarks' Broadcasting Christmas


 Broadcasting ChristmasCheck PriceWhen Emily hears that the "Rise & Shine" morning show is replacing one of their co-hosts, she is determined to get the job.  Unfortunately, when Emily contacts a friend at the network, is told that she really is not a reasonable candidate for the station since they are seeking a known "name" to fill that position.  In a rare moment of passion, fueled by years of struggling and desire to get a break, Emily makes desperate plea on the air to be considered for the co-host job.  Of course, the next day, she regrets that rash action and tries to apologize, only to find out that her plea is trending on Twitter and the stations viewers love it.  As a result, the network decides to give her a chance.

Emily will once again be competing with Charley and two other well known television faces.  It seems highly unlikely that she will be the one to get the job.  Plus, she will have to face her boyfriend from the past.  

When Charley got the newscaster job 6 years earlier, Emily ended their relationship, refusing to move to Manhattan with him so he could work at the job she wanted.  Not to mention, she would have to leave her present position and would not have a job in New York.

This movie might be somewhat predictable, but there are a few fun surprises.  It truly is a really sweet romantic movie with the perfect ending for the couple we all adore.



Currently, "Broadcasting Christmas" is also available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  
 


Hallmark Channel Subscription on Amazon


More Movies REVIEWED ON REVIEW THIS!
Available with Subscription to the Hallmark Channel






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Broadcasting Christmas Hallmark Movie Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 14, 2018

Finding Father Christmas Hallmark Movie Reviewed

Finding Father Christmas Hallmark Movie Reviewed
Hallmark never fails to bring us movies that are touching and wonderful!  Finding Father Christmas was no exception.

I especially love watching the Hallmark movies during the holidays.  I suspect that is simply because Christmas time tends to get hectic and we all need breaks from the work. Since Hallmark is a trusted source of great entertainment, I enjoy taking my breaks with Hallmark and watching the Hallmark Christmas movies offered online.

Oh, and in case you are wondering, yes, of course there is romance in the air too, but it is not with Father Christmas!


Hallmark Movie:  Finding Father Christmas


The movie opens with Miranda (Erin Krakow) as a child watching and listening to her mother performing in a production of "Scrooge" onstage.  Having heard her mother play the part many times, Miranda also has all of the lines memorized.  When her mother suddenly stops speaking, Miranda races to her to find that she has died.  Needless to say, having her mother die at Christmas when she was only 9 years old, leaves her avoiding Christmas celebrations in the future.  

The movie quickly transitions to Miranda as an adult at Christmas time.  She receives a call from a gentleman at the theater where her mother died.  While renovating the theater, he had found an old suitcase that belonged to Miranda's mother and wishes to give it to Miranda.  When Miranda goes through her mother's belongings, she finds a few clues about her unknown father, including an angel bracelet and a picture of Father Christmas.  She imagines these clues will at least show her where she might find him.  She immediately plans a trip to Carlton Heath, Vermont in the hopes of finding her father, but first, she must find Father Christmas to determine why his picture was among her mother's hidden treasures. 

 

The Sequel is also available!



Currently, "Finding Father Christmas" is also available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  
 


 Hallmark Channel Subscription on Amazon


More Movies REVIEWED ON REVIEW THIS!
Available with Subscription to the Hallmark Channel






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Finding Father Christmas Hallmark Movie Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 7, 2018

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review
Mr. Miracle is a delightful Hallmark movie about a new angel and his first assignment on earth. 

As always, Hallmark provides us with an hour (actually 86 minutes) of entertainment appropriate for all family members.  

Not only does this movie have a touch of romance and divine intervention, but it also provides a few laughs.  That bit of comedy is needed though as a relief to the intense subject matter.  Addie is facing her first Christmas after her father's death and having to come to terms with her own purpose in life.      

Also, the movie Mr. Miracle looks like the perfect setup for a series of "Mr. Miracle" angel movies.  Since I really like the actor and the character, I hope there will be more to come.


Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Movie Plot


Harry Mills (Rob Morrow) is an angel on assignment for the first time.  Part of the fun is that everything on earth is completely new to him.  This provides a touch of comedy to the movie since Harry takes everything literally.  What might be common phrases to us, mean something totally different to him.  As a cover for his angel duties, Harry is placed in the community college as a literature professor and provided a home across the street from his "assignment".

As I mentioned in the introduction, Addie (Britt Irvin) and her mother are facing their first Christmas without Addie's father.  After returning home and re-enrolling in the community college, Addie lacks the confidence to stick it out and succeed.  She feels the need to graduate only to meet her father's expectations, not because she has a direction.

Harry is quite certain he can solve all of Addie's problems quickly once he identifies her purpose in life.  He plans to set her on the right course and move on quickly.  It isn't as easy as it sounds in the beginning, and even though Harry resists help from his angelic mentor, he must also find the right course for his duties.



Debbie Macomber, the Author


Debbie Macomber has long been a recognized author that we can all depend on for a great story with clean content. Her books and movies don't require a lot of graphic images or colorful language to grab, and hold, your attention.

A few of our Contributors here on Review This, have previously reviewed some of Debbie Macomber's books.

Reviewed by BarbRad.  How does a woman move on after a painful divorce? Debbie Macomber tackles this subject in her new novel. The book follows the emotional journey of two women after they divorce their husbands.



Reviewed by Diana, Renaissance Woman. Book review of New York Times bestselling author Debbie Macomber's One Perfect Word. She shares how her chosen words have changed her life in profound ways



Reviewed by BarbRad. If you love a romance series that is true to life with characters you can relate to, you will want to read the Rose Harbor Series by Debbie Macomber. Each story builds on the last, so start at the beginning for an enjoyable journey through stories of hurt, love, and healing.





Currently, Debbie Macomber's "Mr. Miracle" is also available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  
 


Hallmark Channel Subscription through Amazon


More Movies Reviewed that are Available with Subscription to the Hallmark Channel






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 3, 2018

Love on the Air Hallmark Movie Review

Love on the Air Hallmark Movie Review
Good Morning Romantics!  

Imagine being live on the air with the person that annoys you most in life.  Broadcasting your arguments for the world to hear, while also giving relationship advice to listeners.  Well, that is exactly what happens to Sonia (Alison Sweeney) and Nick (Jonathan Scarfe) in the Hallmark movie, Love on the Air.

The only thing better than a sweet romantic movie, is one that also makes you smile.  Better yet, one that makes you laugh.  Yes, I found myself laughing a few times during this movie.  

I found out for myself, that it is the perfect movie for an afternoon or evening indoors.  After working in the yard for a few hours, I needed a break from the heat and a relaxing movie that wouldn't take a lot of mental investment to appreciate.  And, that is exactly what I got with the Hallmark movie, Love on the Air.   

A sweet, easy to watch romance.  



Hallmark Movie Love on the Air Plot


 Love on the Air Hallmark MovieA Hallmark Movie Subscription is Required to View This Movie On AmazonBoth Sonia and Nick are talk show hosts for their own individual shows, except at different radio stations.  Nick's Man Cave airs at night, but Nick wants to stop working at night.   Sonia already has a daytime slot, but it is broadcast by a smaller station.

Sonia's show is based on developing a relationship that allows a woman to follow her dreams and career.  She encourages women to not base their lives on love relationships.  Her theme phrase is "be an island".  She believes "getting married doesn't mean giving up your identity.  The question is not who's going to let you.  The question is who's not going to stop you."  In her personal life, Sonia has been in a long-term relationship with her fiance and they are planning their wedding.  Her segmented view of a romantic relationship seems to be working for her and Scott.

Nick's show gives advice to men about how to not be taken advantage of by an overbearing woman.  He gives dating advice like, not spending too much money on first dates, or not spending money on sending flowers.  Instead, he suggests cheap dates and flowers picked from a garden, preferably not from your own garden.  He states on the air that the word "girl-friend is a misnomer".  In his personal life, Nick doesn't pursue long-term relationships.  He appears to be content with being single.

When Sonia is asked to cover for another female on WCV radio station, she is thrilled.  Even though it is a nighttime show, it has a huge following.  It just so happens that Dr. Lynne's show airs right after Nick's Man Cave show.   During the Dr. Lynne show, Sonia's fiance dumps her (inadvertently) on the air.  She has no idea that her fiance was influenced by Nick's Man Cave advice that was on shortly before her program began, but she handles it with as much grace as she can muster.  Surprisingly, Sonia's rating soar as a result of that excruciating experience.

Nick and Sonia meet for the first time by accident at an afternoon movie matinee.  Not realizing who the other one is, they strike up a conversation and seem to like each other just fine.  Nick opts to sit behind Sonia during the movie and even shares his popcorn with her.  After the movie, they get into their first spat over who is going to pay for coffee.   Of course, Nick feels he must tell his audience all about it.  He didn't realize Sonia was in the station, able to respond to his story, until she interrupted his broadcast.  The fire between them as the argued shot their ratings through the ceiling and up to the sky.  And that is when the station decided they needed to co-host a morning show!

Once they had forged a sort-of friendship, Nick decides to help Sonia get Scott back.  Even more fun follows, which means you must see the show for yourself to find out what happens. 

Currently, Love on the Air is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Love on the Air - Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse

 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 20, 2018

The Reality of Love Movie Review

The Reality of Love Movie Review - I Want to Marry Ryan Banks
If you are seeking a really cute love story with a fairy-tale ending, then allow me to recommend The Reality of Love.  Not only is it a sweet love story, but it is a testament to true and devoted friendship.   

I'm not really a big fan of reality television shows, but I am a huge fan of the Hallmark channel movies.  Therefore, I found myself watching this movie a few days ago and I loved it.  If the real reality shows were more like this movie's reality show, then I would probably be more inclined to watch them.  One thing I suspect they both have in common is that the editors of the program cut, edit and alter the participants to appear the way they want them to in the show.  But, things aren't always as they seem on screen.


The Reality of Love Movie Synopsis


 When Todd (Bradley Cooper) and Ryan (Jason Priestley) graduate from college, they drive almost 3000 miles from Boston to Hollywood to celebrate.   While trying to impress a couple of girls in a bar, Ryan claims to be an actor.  He is immediately approached by a casting director who is looking for just the right guy for a movie.  She requests his manager's name and Ryan responds by introducing Todd as his manager.  

The movie fast forwards to 10 years later when Ryan has become a huge success and Todd has in fact worked as his manager.   However, Ryan's last film was a failure and his career is sinking fast.  Todd comes up with the idea of featuring Ryan on a reality television show named "I Want to Marry Ryan Banks" and letting America pick a wife for Ryan.  

The applicants flood in for the show.  It seems everyone wants to marry Ryan Banks.  Todd and Ryan pick 30 girls from the submitted videos which will be interviewed in person and 15 will be selected for the show.  

From the very beginning, Charley (Emma Caulfield Ford) is America's top choice to be Ryan's wife.  Because Ryan wants to maintain his popularity with the public, he is willing to romance and select Charley as his bride.  However, there is just one big problem.  His best friend and manager, Todd, has fallen head over heels in love with Charley during the filming and production of the show. 

One friend has to make a sacrifice that will affect the rest of his life for his best friend. 




Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 6, 2018

At Home in Mitford - Hallmark Movie Review

At Home in Mitford - Hallmark Movie Review
At Home in Mitford is a sweet, romantic movie based on the novel by Jan Karon.  I read the book several years ago and was quite delighted when I found that the Hallmark Channel had released the movie.   I always trust Hallmark movies to be appropriate for family viewing.  Since I knew the plot of the book, I anticipated an excellent movie.  I was not disappointed!   It was truly an enjoyable way to spend my Sunday afternoon.

Jan Karon's books are easy reads which may well explain why they are so popular and why she is on the New York Time's bestselling author list.  At Home in Mitford is the first book in the Mitford series.

The Mitford book series is absolutely perfect for a Hallmark movie.   


At Home in Mitford Movie & Book Plot


 At Home In MitfordCheck PriceMitford is a fictional town set in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains.  It resembles hundreds of small towns in America where people live slower paced lives, plant backyard gardens and look out for each other.  

Andie MacDowell plays the part of Cynthia Coppersmith, a burnt out, uninspired, recently divorced children's book author who returns to her childhood refuge in Mitford.  Even though her uncle has died, he left his home to Cynthia and she desperately needs the solace of his safe-haven.  With her book deadline approaching, Cynthia and her cat, Violet, take off for Mitford and hopefully renewed inspiration.

As the new woman in town, Cynthia immediately starts attracting attention from the bachelors, but she isn't looking for a relationship.  When the realtor asks her to dinner, at first she declines his offer, but eventually reconsiders.  

Father Tim is her next door neighbor who has recently adopted a big dog that can't be held by mere fences.  Therefore, Father Tim and Barnabas also burst unexpectedly into Cynthia's life.  Father Tim, an Episcopal priest and Cynthia quickly become friends in spite of her original anger over being disturbed and having a portion of her fence knocked down. 

I'm not going to tell you which bachelor Cynthia selects.  To find that out, you will have to watch the movie.   But, what I will tell you is that At Home in Mitford is a delightful movie (and book) about a woman who finally finds where she truly belongs.


House of Sylvestermouse




Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X