Showing posts with label DIY. Show all posts
Showing posts with label DIY. Show all posts

Sunday, August 14, 2022

Simple DIY Home Hacks

 I'm certainly not a professional or an expert on home improvement or repairs, but I have learned some things over the years. Here is a review of some simple DIY home hacks that I have used over the years.

Simple DIY Home Hacks

The estimated cost of minor home repairs is said to be about 1% of the cost of your home per year. So, as the value of your home increases so do your repair costs.

Some of these hacks may save you a little money and some may save some time. These are just some tips that I have used myself over the years.

DIY Home Hacks:

Easy plumbing hack
This one is an easy plumbing hack. It's late night and all the stores are closed, and suddenly you find a leak under your sink in the drain pipe. What do you do?

Since there is no water pressure involved in drain pipes, simply wrap some electrical tape tightly around the leak.

This will stop the leak temporarily until you can replace the broken drain pipe.





Clogged drain

If you have a slow-running drain try some baking soda and white vinegar. Pour 1/2 cup of baking soda into the drain, have a stopper or washcloth handy. Then, pour 1/2 cup of white vinegar into the drain and quickly cover with the stopper or washcloth.

Wait about a minute and then flush with boiling or hot water. To keep my drains running free I do this about once a month. This really works for slow-running drains. If your sink is completely clogged you are going to need a drain cleaner or plunger.


Bees wax

Are you planning some interior painting? Painting around windows can be tedious work. Personally, I like to free-hand paint around windows. But, if you don't have a steady hand you can really make a mess on the windows, and create some extra work to remove the paint.

Applying masking tape takes some time, and is also a real pain to do. Try this, use a stick of Bees Wax and apply it to the window. Be careful not to get any wax on the wood that you're going to paint. Now, paint around the window, and after the paint dries wipe off the Bees Wax. The paint will not stick to the wax.


Denatured alcohol
Denatured Alcohol can be used for many things, such as cleaning glass, metal, and fuel for marine stoves.

This is another painting hack. If you are painting your walls and accidentally drip some onto the finished wood trim and you don't see it until it dries.

Denatured alcohol will remove latex paint without affecting the finish on the wood trim.

Just gently rub the paint spots with a rag wet with the alcohol.


One more hack that I have is removing old window glazing. This one applies only if you have old-style windows. The new windows today do not have window glazing. I don't have a photo because I haven't used this hack in years.

If you happen to have old windows, the glazing over time will dry out and crack.  It's not difficult to apply new glazing around the window, but removing the old glazing can be a pain.

To make this job easy use a heat gun or propane torch, the heat will soften the old glazing to make it easy to remove. A word of Caution: Be careful not to overheat, too much heat will crack the glass. After removing to old glaze, clean the area with a brush, and then brush on some linseed oil before applying the new glaze.

Find more Diy Tips on ReviewThis Here: ReviewThisCrafts.com

ReviewThisDecor.com







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, July 5, 2022

Wholesun Electric Pressure Washer

 My new Wholesun Electric Pressure Washer Reviewed

Wholesun Electric Pressure Washer


For so many years I have wanted to buy a pressure washer. A pressure washer is just one of those things that you don't think you need but there are so many times when you need one. When I needed one I found myself borrowing one from a friend.

A pressure washer is a great tool for cleaning patios, decks, walks, driveways, the siding on your house, grills, and your car. 

I finally bought one of my own and I am so glad that I did. Our deck was in need of a makeover, and I knew that I needed a pressure washer to remove the loose paint. I did some research to find out how much PSI (Pounds per square inch) I needed to remove loose paint.

I found that between 2500 and 4000 PSI was good enough to remove loose paint. I also knew that I didn't want a gas-powered one, I wanted an electric one. So, I found this Wholesun electric pressure washer on Amazon. The reviews I read were all positive.

Features of my new Wholesun Pressure Washer: 

3000 PSI
2.4 gallons per minute
4 adjustable nozzles
20-foot pressure hose
Long electric cord
Detergent Bottle
Easy connect water and pressure hose

When my pressure washer arrived I found it very easy to assemble. I had it together and ready to use in about 10 minutes.

Deck

The very first project I used it for was our deck. There was so much winter dirt to clean up and I really needed to get that loose paint removed. As you can see, my new pressure washer worked like a charm. It removed the loose paint down to the bare boards.

Porch Rail

We have a small front porch, we don't use our front door entrance at all so this has not been cleaned in a couple of years. This little pressure washer cleaned the dirt build-up off with ease. This is a photo of the porch railing halfway cleaned. The porch now looks like it is brand new and is ready for a fresh coat of stain.

I am so very happy with my new Wholesun electric pressure washer, and would highly recommend it to anyone for their outdoor cleaning projects.

Find more amazing product reviews here:

WHOLESUN 3000PSI Electric Pressure Washer, 2.4GPM 1600W High Power Washer Machine with Spray Gun & 4 Nozzles for Cars, Homes, Driveways, PatiosWHOLESUN 3000PSI Electric Pressure Washer, 2.4GPM 1600W High Power Washer Machine with Spray Gun & 4 Nozzles for Cars, Homes, Driveways, PatiosCheck the Price

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, June 30, 2022

How to Recharge Auto Air Conditioning

Holy heat wave, Batman! On the hottest day of the year so far here in the Desert Southwest, I discovered something I never want to do again: drive for twelve hours straight without A/C (with the temperature right at 100 degrees). There's nothing that will melt your superpowers faster (and I was on a rescue trip at the time).

What's a girl to do? Thankfully, you don't need to call in a superhero, aka mechanic, when you can easily solve the problem with an affordable, easy-to-use A/C Pro air conditioning recharge kit. Best ten minutes and $37 I have spent this summer. Here's a quick DIY tutorial on how you, too, can beat the heat by knowing how to recharge your vehicle's air conditioning system. 
 

 
Step 1: Purchase the right kind of A/C refrigerant for your vehicle. Most vehicles after 1990 use R-134a (which complies with the EPA Clean Air Act). Check your vehicle's maintenance manual, or find the sticker under the hood, to verify. After reading online product reviews, and watching YouTube videos, I decided to go with the bestselling A/C Pro recharge kit. This kit is sold at automotive stores, Amazon, Walmart, and many other retail locations.


Step 2: Find the low pressure service port in your vehicle's engine. If you're not sure where to look for it, download the A/C Pro app for specific information linked to your car or truck model year. Mine was easy to find (a blue cap with an "L" imprinted on it). 


Step 3: Start your engine. Set A/C to its maximum cooling level and recirculation mode (with fan on highest setting).


Step 4: Place hose coupler on low pressure service port and press down. It will click into place and lock down securely. 


Step 5: Check gauge to determine if your vehicle's A/C system is low on refrigerant. My gauge reading indicated I needed a major fill (it was on zero).


Step 6: If low, remove coupler from the service port. Unscrew gauge/hose assembly from the new can of A/C Pro. Unscrew the protective shipping tab on the top of the dispenser. Screw gauge/hose back on the refrigerant can. (Be sure to wear protective gear: gloves and safety goggles.)

Step 7: Affix hose coupler to low pressure service port. Hold can upright. Squeeze dispenser trigger to begin filling A/C system with refrigerant. While squeezing the trigger, move the can from a 12 o'clock position back and forth to a 3 o'clock position (to keep the contents mixed and flowing properly). Release the trigger after about ten seconds.


Step 8: Check the gauge to see if the needle is in the green filled section. Do not overfill! If the level is still low, repeat step seven. If filled to the mid part of the green section, you are done. Check the air temperature coming out of the vents inside your car. My air was perfectly chilled at this point.

Step 9: Remove the coupler from the service port. Replace the port cap. Turn off your engine and close the hood.

I cannot even begin to express the satisfaction I felt to have solved this common air conditioning issue so quickly and so cheaply. You should have seen the big smile on my face. Not only did I save at least $100 with this DIY fix, but I learned how to keep myself out of a dangerous situation in the future. 

It would be smart for all of us to keep a canister of A/C Pro in our vehicles' emergency supply kits. I am totally sold on this product and highly recommend it. It's not just about comfort. Heat kills. I have lost count of the number of heartbreaking articles I have read this week about individuals, especially children, who have died in hot vehicles. Incredibly tragic.

You never know when you might be called upon to provide assistance with something you keep in your vehicle for emergencies. My recent rescue trip was all about rendering aid to a young family broken down roadside in excessive heat (in a remote area without services). With this weighing on my mind and heart, I wanted to share a product that I now consider essential. Let's all be safe out there!











Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, June 7, 2022

Flex Seal Liquid Rubber - Reviewed

 Flex Seal liquid rubber in a can is a liquid rubber sealant coating. Flex Seal can be brushed on, rolled on, poured, or dip something to create a rubber coating.

Flex Seal Liquid Rubber - Reviewed

Flex Seal is an easy-to-use liquid coating that dries to form a watertight rubberized seal. Once Flex Seal is cured it will seal out water and moisture on a variety of surfaces.

Projects that I have used Flex Seal For:

Closet Corner

My basement closet corner was the very first project where I used Flex Seal. The wall and baseboard were wet and turning black from mold.

I was walking around the hardware store trying to figure out how to fix this and that is when I found Flex Seal. I had seen it advertised on television so I thought why not give this a try.

After we cleaned all of the mold from the wall and baseboard, I painted the area with a primer. Then, I brushed the Flex Seal onto the wall, baseboard, and even part of the floor.

As you can see in the photo, after two years there is no moisture or mold. 


Outdoor table
This is our outdoor dining table. I told Fran last year that this would be it for this table, next year we will have to get a new one.

It is a glass top table with a metal edge. The problem is that over the years the edge rusted. I have restored this table a couple of times and really thought it was time to get rid of it.

The edge rusted to the point where it had some holes. I filled the holes with a product called JB Weld SteelStick, sanded it down, brushed Flex Seal over the edge, and then spray painted to match the color. 

We just may get one more year out of this table.


My third project for Flex Seal was to seal some leaking gutters. The end caps and seams on the house gutter were leaking when it rained. 

I brushed on Flex Seal to all of the seams and end caps on the gutters and the problem was solved. This I don't have a photo of because there was no way that I was going back up the ladder to take pictures.

I'm very pleased with the performance of Flex Seal on the projects that I have used it on. I am sure there are many more uses for Flex Seal. It comes in a liquid, spray, and caulking I believe you can buy it in white or black.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, May 24, 2022

How to Replace a Window Screen

 Five easy steps to replace a window screen reviewed.

How to Replace a Window Screen

Replacing window screens is not as difficult as some people may think it is. Our screen door into our kitchen has a screen at the bottom of the door. So, with traffic in and out all year long I replace this screen almost every year.

Replacing a screen requires a few simple tools. First, you need a fiberglass or aluminum screen. I always use fiberglass, then you will need a screwdriver, spline, utility knife, and 
roller tool all seen in the photo above.

Replacing a Window Screen Step 1:


Step one Remove the old screen

With a screwdriver locate the end of the spline in the old screen and pry it up. Continue to pull the spline out all around the window. You can save and reuse the old spline, but I never do, I always use a new spline it really doesn't cost that much.

Step 2:

Step 2

Now, roll out the new screen over the window frame. Before you cut it make sure you're 2 to 3 inches over on all sides. Don't worry you will trim the excess off later.

Step 3:

Step 3

There are two wheels on the roller tool, one wheel is smooth, and the other wheel is grooved. Using the smooth wheel, begin pressing the screen into the groove on the window frame one side at a time.

Step 4:

Step 4


Set the spline at one end of the window frame and stretch it to the other end. Now, use the grooved end of the roller toll and press the spline into the groove. Repeat steps 3 and 4 for the other 3 sides of the window frame.

Step 5:

Step 5

Now it's time to trim off the excess screen. Using the utility knife, carefully run it along the outside edge of the window frame groove. Take your time with this because you don't want to slip and cut your new screen. If the spline is not completely pressed down in the corners you can use a screwdriver to push it in.

Replacement Complete

My screen replacement is complete and ready to be placed back on my door until next year. Although, this year I have placed this screen on the top of the door so hopefully I won't have to replace it next year.

 Five easy steps and you can easily replace your window or door screens. You can find all the tools needed to replace window screens at any hardware store.

Find more DIY Projects here: ReviewThisCrafts.com

DIYSELF 2Pack Utility Knife Box Cutter Retractable Blade Heavy Duty(Red)DIYSELF 2Pack Utility Knife Box Cutter Retractable Blade Heavy Duty(Red)DIYSELF 2Pack Utility Knife Box Cutter Retractable Blade Heavy Duty(Red)Yoochee Screen Tools - Screen Rolling Tool and Screen Spline Remover Hook - Screen Roller Tool with Wooden Handle and Steel Wheel for Screen Repair - Durable Tools for Installing Door Screens WindowYoochee Screen Tools - Screen Rolling Tool and Screen Spline Remover Hook - Screen Roller Tool with Wooden Handle and Steel Wheel for Screen Repair - Durable Tools for Installing Door Screens WindowYoochee Screen Tools - Screen Rolling Tool and Screen Spline Remover Hook - Screen Roller Tool with Wooden Handle and Steel Wheel for Screen Repair - Durable Tools for Installing Door Screens WindowSenneny 7 PCS Screen Repair Kit - 39Senneny 7 PCS Screen Repair Kit - 39Senneny 7 PCS Screen Repair Kit - 39HOMWMPA Window Screen Replacement Kit, 36HOMWMPA Window Screen Replacement Kit, 36HOMWMPA Window Screen Replacement Kit, 36

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, May 17, 2022

Scotts Hand-Held Lawn Spreader

 My Scotts handheld lawn spreader reviewed

Scotts hand held lawn spreader

Most homeowners love a lush green lawn and achieving that beautiful lawn can be a lot of work. Luckily for me, I have a small yard so taking care of it is not so bad. 

If you have a large yard you probably have a lawn spreader on wheels. I honestly don't have room in my garage for one more thing, so I found this handy little handheld lawn spreader. It is perfect for my small yard.

Features of Scotts Hand-Held Lawn Spreader:

Great for small yards
All sturdy plastic 
Fully assembled  and ready to go
Five spreader settings
Holds up to 1,000 sq. ft. of lawn products
5-Feet of broadcast 
Easy hand crank

Scotts recommends feeding your lawn with weed and feed or lawn food four times a year. I would only feed twice a year, once in early spring and then again in the fall.

Because we live only two blocks from a lake I quit using weed and feed because of chemical runoff into the lake. I still use my lawn spreader in early spring. I spread granulated lime and a couple weeks after that I spread grass seed.

The lime increases the PH balance and calcium in the soil for thicker greener lawns and improves the soil structure and root development. The grass seed is for new growth and helps choke out weeds. The spreader is perfect for small yards, gardens, and flower beds.

In the winter this little lawn spreader is a handy tool to spread ice melt on my driveway and sidewalks. Although I prefer spreading the lime and grass seed much better. Scotts even makes a battery-powered spreader. For this one, you will need two AA batteries.

Find more Product Reviews here: ReviewThisProductReviews.com

Scotts Wizz Battery Powered Fertilizer, Seed, and Ice SpreaderScotts Wizz Battery Powered Fertilizer, Seed, and Ice SpreaderScotts Wizz Battery Powered Fertilizer, Seed, and Ice SpreaderScott's 71133 HandyGreen Hand Held SpreaderScott's 71133 HandyGreen Hand-Held SpreaderScott's 71133 HandyGreen Hand Held Spreader

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, April 27, 2022

The Original Lysol Concentrate - Reviewed

 This 12oz. little brown bottle of the original Lysol concentrate will make 9 gallons of cleaning solution.

Lysol Concentrate

With all of the convenience today of easy-to-use cleaners in spray bottles, and wipes, it makes me wonder does anyone still use this little brown bottle of Lysol concentrate? Well, we always have a bottle under our kitchen sink.

Lysol concentrate cleans, disinfects, deodorizes, and eliminates germs on non-porous surfaces. It will eliminate bacteria and viruses that I can't even pronounce. 

Some of the many uses for Lysol Concentrate:

  • Floors
  • Washable Walls
  • Appliance exteriors
  • Counter Tops
  • Bathtubs
  • Showers
  • Doorknobs
  • Toilet Bowl exteriors
To clean and deodorize just mix 2 to 3 tablespoons with one gallon of warm water. To disinfect and remove heavy dirt, grease and grime use 5 tablespoons to one quart of warm water.

True Story about this little brown bottle:

Many years ago in high school my buddy and I needed some extra money to take our dates to the prom. We had to buy flowers and take our dates to dinner. Since it was early in the spring we knew that people would be spring cleaning their homes. So we advertised for washing walls.  

Well, the ad worked and we had several customers lined up. So we gathered up our buckets, ladders, and rags. My mother handed me the little brown bottle of Lysol concentrate and told us to add a couple of cap fulls to every bucket, it will leave a fresh scent in their home. I still use the little brown bottle today.

Oh, and by the way, I married my prom date. Fran and I will soon be celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary.


Find more Product Reviews Here:

LYSOL Concentrate Disinfectant, Original Scent 12 oz (Pack of 6)LYSOL Concentrate Disinfectant, Original Scent 12 oz (Pack of 6)LYSOL Concentrate Disinfectant, Original Scent 12 oz (Pack of 6)LEAKTITE 500 5-Quart Plastic PailLEAKTITE 500 5-Quart Plastic PailLEAKTITE 500 5-Quart Plastic Pail

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, February 9, 2022

The Best Tool Roll Organizer To Store & Protect Your Tools

Whether you enjoy jewelry making, building, painting or refurbishing models, other hobby, crafts & DIY projects or doing small electronics repairs, investing in good quality tools for doing delicate precision work can help achieve better results faster and with less effort by giving you more precise control and leverage while reducing the strain on your hands (your most valuable tools by far!).

Choosing the right tool storage and organization system can not only help protect that investment but also enhance your efficiency and enjoyment of the creative process while you are working on your projects. However, I have learned the hard way how challenging it can be to evaluate, compare and, ultimately, determine the best solution for your individual tool storage and organization needs, 

Today, I am sharing my personal product review of the DuraTech Tool Roll Organizer, 21 Pockets Tool Bag Roll that I bought a few months ago as a Christmas gift for my husband, who has an extensive collection of precision hand tools for his hobbies, crafts nd DIY projects.

This awesome waterproof DuraTech 21-pocket tool roll organizer can securely hold many tools of different sizes and shapes. You can view them at all a glance, find and remove what you want, and return it to its spot quickly and easily when you have finished using it.

My husband John works long hours at a rewarding but stressful and high-pressure job. One of his favorite ways to relax and recharge his batteries is working on a variety of hobby, crafts & DIY projects. He especially enjoys collecting and restoring rare and hard-to-find, vintage 1:43 scale die-cast model cars and trucks, as well as collecting and refining hard-to-find plaster buildings for our Christmas village display and then painting them in stunning, elaborate detail and adding interior lights. Sometimes, he even adds strategically placed, tiny color-changing LEDs to create special effects (for example, randomly flashing multicolored lights inside a Harry Potter-esque magic shop, as though the wizards inside are trying out different magic wands to find the one that will choose him or her, or simulating the glow of a blacksmith's forge by carving out a large, wide opening in a wall, lining it with iridescent, colored foil through which you can see tiny LEDs, each cycling through red, orange and yellow and out of sync with each other). We actually display two different Christmas villages, one made up of lighted Dept. 56 Christmas in the City buildings and another with John's amazing carved, exquisitely painted and lighted plaster buildings. During the holidays, our display can take up half of our living room, with two villages arranged around that year's train tracks layout and connected by John's wonderful, vintage, O-scale model train collection, some of which he inherited from his beloved uncle.

Since John isn't easy to buy gifts for, I usually ask him for a Christmas wish list to give me some guidance. (I also choose one or two gifts for him that will be complete surprises, but in case they miss the mark, I know that he'll at least get some of the gifts he really wants!) Two of the items on his most recent wish list were a set of good quality, upgraded pliers and cutters and a better storage and organization solution for them and the rest of his precision hobby tools. 

Since I used many of the same items as jewelry making tools, I knew exactly which pliers and cutters I wanted to buy for him. Xuron makes very high quality tools for small-scale, delicate, precision work at a very reasonable price. They are also more durable than similar tools I have purchased from much more expensive brands. So I chose several pairs of my favorite Xuron pliers and cutters as part of John's Christmas gift.

However, while there are lots of great toolboxes and other tool storage and organization options for larger tools, like hammers, wrenches and sockets, I knew that finding a better tool storage and organization solution for my husband that would meet his specific requirements would be a lot more challenging, since he had already experimented with several different types of tool organizers and storage that weren't working for him.

Close-up photo of Xuron and other jewelry making and hobby precision tools (pliers and cutters)
The five Xuron jewelry making and electronics pliers and cutters I gifted to my husband for Christmas, nestled in the four lower and far right upper pockets of the DuraTech 21-pocket tool roll organizer I also gave him to store them and the other precision tools in his collection.

Great Tool Storage and Organization Solutions for Precision Pliers, Model Building Tools, Jewelry Making Tools, Etc. Are Surprisingly Hard to Find!

Last year, John purchased a secondhand, wheeled O.P.I. nail polish salesperson's sample case that he has been converting into a super cool, customized, mobile crafting workstation with a spacious, attached, removable work surface that he calls his hobby tray. Since he doesn't have a dedicated workspace for his hobbies and crafts, this clever solution now enables him to work on crafts and DIY projects whenever he has a bit of time, wherever he happens to be. Even better, it also doubles as a compact, consolidated storage organizer for all his painted plaster Christmas village, electronics repair and vintage die-cast car refurbishing and model building tools, supplies and current projects. 

He has been having a blast "imagineering" (to use a Disney term) and tweaking his one-of-a-kind mobile craft storage and workstation over time. In fact, redesigning and refining has turned out to be one of his favorite projects to date!

He had come up with workable solutions for customizing the interior in terms of organizing and storing his paintbrushes, paints, glues, sandpaper, markers and other supplies and for safely storing delicate project works-in-progress. Unfortunately, he wanted (and needed) a better way to store and organize a variety of other tools, including pliers and cutters, needle files, riffler files, X-ACTO knives and blades, hemostats, dental picks, micro carving tools, tweezers, specialty pens, scissors, miniature screwdrivers, a ruler, a pin vise, micro drill bits, etc. 

These precision tools needed to be easily visible and acccessible while in use and protected during storage and transport, and the tool organizer not only would need to fit neatly inside the top compartment of the new mobile hobby storage/workstation but also work as a standalone, portable tool storage organizer that he could easily bring to another location, for example, to help a friend or family member with an electronics or jewelry repair project. 

In addition, John's ideal tool organizer and storage solution would need to hold a lot of tools, in a wide range of shapes and sizes, and store them compactly, as well as be both lightweight, sturdy and wear-resistant. 

Traditional and Nontraditional Tool Organizers Didn't Meet Our Needs

Like John, I have been a "maker" since I was a child. and have spent many years trying to find better storage and organizing solutions for my jewelry making, beading, metal clay, polymer clay and painting tools and supplies. While I discovered some wonderful bead storage and organization solutions years ago for my enormous collection of rare and vintage beads and jewelry making supplies, I continue to search for better jewelry making tool storage and organization solutions.

Between the two of us, we have tried or considered a variety of traditional hobby, DIY and craft tool holders and organizers, such as brush holders, tool caddies, plier stands and tackle boxes. (Plano tackle box systems are wonderful for storing jewelry findings, beads, and other jewelry making supplies, but not the best solution for storing, organizing and protecting delicate precision tools.)

We both have also tried a number of non-traditional tool storage and organization solutions, such as cosmetics organizers, including the acrylic eye pencil and lip pencil organizers and lipstick/lip gloss organizer that I keep on my vanity for makeup.  (They work great for their intended use!)

Unfortunately, every commercial or DIY tool organizer solution either of us has tried over the years has had significant limitations that failed to meet our respective precision tool storage and organization needs. As a result, each of us ended up having to cobble together several different tool storage and organization products to accommodate our collections.

Some of the Tool Storage and Organizer Products We Tried That Missed the Mark (and Why)

  • Storing delicate, precision tools in a Plano tackle box rack system would give them no protection. They would rub against each other, potentially nicking or dulling cutter blades or scratching or dinging smooth pliers jaws, creating uneven surfaces that would transfer to the wire or metal on which they were used. 
    • For example, John's coarse bastard file or diamond-coated riffler files could wreak havoc on his pair of fine nippers if they were to come into contact. 
    • Another important downside of that type of storage is that it would not be easy to see each individual tool at a glance and find and remove the desired one quickly and easily.
  • Tool storage organizers with uniform-size compartments, like brush holders or marker storage units, would not work for pliers, cutters or similarly shaped tools. Even straight tools of varying widths, lengths/heights and diameters could not be stored and organized in these storage solutions efficiently (and some tools were too wide or thick to fit at all.    
  • None of the three common types of pliers storage solutions I have used have been particularly convenient for me, and none would work for John's mobile hobby and crafts cart. 

A pliers rack is fine if you have a permanent spot for it to live in a dedicated workspace. However, they don't protect the tips of the pliers, cutters or nippers from each other and would be unsuitable to lay on their sides in John's rolling hobby station cart.

Wood pliers blocks keep the pliers and cutters separated and, therefore, somewhat protected. However, they don't fit every pair of pliers or cutters (especially those with wider/ergonomic handles or grips), and removing and replacing the tools into the holes in the block requires a bit more fiddling than we want to do, especially for the pairs in the middle of the block.

I have a lot of jewelry making pliers and cutters, most of which I have been storing in zippered tool pouches (similar to this Eurotool tool pouch with zipper), for lack of a better lightweight, easily portable solution. They have elastic loops or straps inside to hold the tools in place and prevent them from knocking into each other when not in use. Unfortunately, since the manufacturer doesn't know the sizes, shapes, handle widths and other characteristics of the pliers and cutters you own or how many you have, I have found that unless the zipppered tool case was designed by the manufacturer for a specific brand and set of these tools, it is very difficult to use the interior storage space efficiently.

More importantly, in my experience, it is impossible to remove a pair of pliers or cutters from the elasticized loops without using two hands, even if the tool pouch was custom designed by (or for) the tool manufacturer to work with a specific set of pliers and cutters from a single product line, and especially if the tips have protective caps. So, whenever you are working on a project and need one of those tools, you have to stop working, put down the project so you have both hands free, and then wiggle and coax the required pair of pliers or cutters out from under their elastic strap restraints (without banging into or dislodging any adjacent pairs) before you can pick up the project again with your nondomiant hand and try to pick up where you left off before this unnecessary and distracting interruption.

The need for a simpler, more compact, more portable tool storage solution became a much higher priority when John began customizing his new mobile hobby workstation. (Since we have also been rethinking and trying to redesign my too-small crafts room/ "studio" space, if I could figure out a great tool storage and organization solution for John, I had my fingers crossed that maybe it could work for my jewelry making and crafting tools, too!) 

The DuraTech 21-Pocket Tool Roll Organizer to the Rescue

One Tool Organizer and Storage Solution to Rule (and Hold and Protect) Them All!

Photo showing the full length interior of the open tool roll filled with tools
The main pockets are in wider and narrower widths to accommodate a wide range of tool types, shapes and sizes and provide flexibility in how your organize them. The bright turquoise blue lining also makes it much easier to see and distinguish between the "business ends" of different pliers, cutters and other precision tools.

As usual for me when shopping for an important product purchase, I did my due diligence. 

I began with an in-depth needs analysis, asking John to describe in detail his storage and organization requirements for his model building tools and to take me through all the types of craft storage he had already tried and explain why they didn't do what he wanted and needed.

Then, armed with that information (and a spinning head!), I dove into my product research. Since I had already been looking for solutions to similar storage and organization challenges for my jewelry making tools for my compact crafts studio redesign, I was already familiar with a lot of what was out there and knew that none of what I had found so far would meet my husband's very specific needs.

Fortunately, my persistence paid off! I wanted to make sure that whatever tool storage and organization solution I picked for John would be one he would be happy with, so I had decided to run my choice by him before ordering it, rather than keeping it a surprise until he opened it with his other Christmas gifts.

When I showed him the DuraTech Tool Roll Organizer, 21 Pockets Tool Bag Roll I had picked out for him on Amazon, I could telll immediately from his interest that I was on the right track. The more he read, looked at the product photos and read the product reviews, the more his eyes lit up.

I placed the order that same day, fingers crossed that he would love his new DuraTech tool roll organizer as much when he put his gift to use after Christmas as he did when looking at the product page. Fortunately, he did!

Key Features and Benefits

After filling his new tool organizer with his scale model making tools and using his DuraTech 21-pocket tool roll organizer for more than a month, here are the things he loves about his gift.

Extreme close-up photo showing bartack stitching reinforcement between the pockets, which are bound with stitched twill bias binding tape
Areas of stress are reinforced with bartack stitching between the pockets and heavy-duty, stitched twill tape bias binding enclosing the edges of the pockets and flaps. .

Durable Premium Fabric, High Quality Construction

  • The double-layer, high-quality, waterproof 1680-denier turquoise blue and 900-denier black oxford cloth fabrics are extremely durable, making this Dura-Tech tool roll organizer both sturdy and water-resistant. (Oxford cloth is a tight basketweave fabric. The ones used in this tool roll appear to be ballistic coated nylon or polyester oxford cloth, similar to Cordura fabric.)
    • Even if you aren't storing your tools in a car or shed or traveling with them, so they are exposed to the elements, it's still nice to know that they will be protected against spills and water damage in the event of an accident.
  • The comfortable haul handle, adjustable straps, buckles and hook-and-loop flap closure are also made of sturdy, high-quality materials with durable construction, e.g.:
    • bartack stitching reinforcement between the pockets and on the top haul handle, areas most likely to be subject to stress during use.
    • edges of the pockets and flaps are bound with heavy-duty twill tape bias binding tape and stitched securely with sturdy contrasting thread.
  • After two months of nearly nonstop use, my husband’s DuraTech 21-pocket tool roll organizer still looks brand new.

    Thoughtful and Attractive Design

    Pockets Galore

    • The 17 main pockets that span the length of the tool roll's interior along both sides are tall and come in different widths. The wider pockets can accommodate and hold most pliers and cutters securely to prevent them from moving around and potentially causing damage to the working surfaces. The narrower pockets are great for storing thinner tools and can even accommodate a 12-inch ruler, as you can see in the photos of my husband's DuraTech 21-pocket tool roll organizer.
    • The three shorter, deeper, gusseted pockets at one end can hold a surprising amount, and there is a flap with a hook-and-loop tape closure to help keep the contents from escaping accidentally. These are great for storing smaller items (e.g., a set of micro drill bits housed in a hard storage case, a set of sockets, small packages of nails, screws or washers, a tape measure). 
    • At the opposite end, there is also a sturdy mesh pocket attached to the outside of one of the 17 main pockets. Since this mesh pocket is shorter and also see-through, it's perfect for shorter tools, such as needle files, that could slide down inside one of the taller, opaque, main pockets, where they would be hidden and hard to reach. 
    • The DuraTech tool roll organizer lays flat when unrolled and filled with tools, and there’s plenty of room in each pocket. This means you not only can store all your crafting, model building or jewelry making tools in one place and see them all at a glance, you can also easily remove and replace each tool with just one hand while you are working, so you don't have to put down your project every time you need to reach for a new tool.
    Close-up photo of mesh pocket
    The open mesh pocket at one end of my husband's DuraTech Tool Roll Organizer holds micro drill bits (in a fitted case), needle files and a small diamond nail file for rounding and smoothing wire ends

    Striking Use of Contrasting Colors Goes Beyond Just Good Looks

    • The two-tone black and bright turquoise color-blocked design looks very sharp and distinctive. Bonus—the bright blue color makes it easy to spot your tool storage organizer quickly if you happen to misplace it (or if your work space, craft room or studio is messy and overcrowded, like mine). 
    • The "business end" of the tool(s) in each stitched pocket are much more visible against the backdrop of the bright turquoise fabric lining in the center. So, you can quickly and easily distinguish a pair of round-nose pliers from a matching pair of needle-nose pliers or a Phillips-head from a flathead mini screwdriver, or pick out an individual diamond-coated riffler file from others in an assorted set.

    Versatile Touches

    • The large, sturdy, aluminum D-ring next to the haul handle can be used to hang your DuraTech tool roll organizer from a hook or to use as a keyring, attach a water bottle, etc.
    Close-up detail photo of bartack-reinforced haul handle, tough, high-denier oxford cloth fabric and sturdy D-ring for hanging
    This close-up photo of the bartack-stitched, reinforced haul handle, durable, high-denier, heavy-duty oxford cloth fabric and large, sturdy D-ring help you visualize a few examples of the high quality materials, workmanship and construction that went into this superior  tool roll orgaizer.

    Capacious When in Use, Lightweight and Compact When Rolled up for Storage

    • The DuraTech 21-pocket tool roll organizer can hold a lot of pliers, cutters and other hand tools.
    • The adjustable straps allow this tool roll organizer to accommodate a large number of tools of varying shapes and sizes and store them securely. In fact, if you shake the closed and buckled  tool roll, you won't hear any of the tools rattling against each other. 
    • As you can see, even after my husband put all his favorite model making, crafts and DIY and other hobby tools into his new DuraTech tool roll organizer, there is still plenty of storage room for future specialty pliers or other precision tool acquisitions. (As any hobby or crafting enthusiast will tell you, you can never have too many tools, lol!)
    • Given its generous capacity, this tool roll is surprisingly lightweight and compact. It's takes up relatively little real estate on a work surface or in a cabinet, drawer or rolling cart and doesn't add much weight to that of its contents, making it extremely portable.

    A Remarkable Value

    • After researching so many tool organizers and storage solutions, I was very surprised (and delighted) to discover how affordable this DuraTech tool roll organizer is, given its obviously  superior quality materials, construction, design and durability compared to most of the other types of storage and organization products I've found during my extensive searches. 
    • Currently this DuraTech 21-pocket tool roll organizer is priced at less than $18 on Amazon, which I consider an absolute steal in terms of value for money.

    A Inexpensive and Thoughtful Gift for Any Jewelry Making, Scale Model Making, Electronics or DIY Enthusiast

    My husband couldn't be more thrilled with his DuraTech 21-pocket tool roll organizer. I'm seriously considering buying another for my jewelry making pliers, cutters, awls and other hand tools.

    It's hard to imagine anyone whose hobbies and interests include model railroading, remote-control cars and planes, building scale models or dioramas, jewelry making, watch repair, electronics and similar creative pursuits who wouldn't appreciate receiving such an attractive, thoughtfully designed, well made and durable storage organizer for their precision tools as a gift.

    Of course, if that description also fits you, I encourage you to consider treating yourself to one of these terrific DuraTech tool roll organizers. 

    The Best Tool Roll Organizer To Store and Protect Your Tools by Margaret Schindel


    Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

    Read More Reviews About Crafts & DIY by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

    Read More DIY Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

    Read More Gifts Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    FOLLOW US ON:
    Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

    The Review This Contributors



    Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



    Review This is Dedicated to the
    Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

    Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


    We may be apart, but
    You Are Not Forgotten





    “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

    X