Showing posts with label Book Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Book Reviews. Show all posts

Sunday, December 4, 2022

Word Scramble for Teens, Adults, and Brainiac Kids - A Fun Word Jumble for the Family

Word Scramble Book For Teens and Adults

This latest published word scramble is written explicitly for seniors, teens, and brainiac kids.

Designed with large print inside an 8.5" by 11" book, this word scramble is easy to hold and easy to read.

Nearly all of my 24 published activity books are designed with larger print and include various levels or challenges.

Why You Would Enjoy this Word Scramble:

It's not just a word scramble for self-challenge; it can also be played as a simple game. There's a place on each page to mark your start and finish times. Each person completes a puzzle page to see who can solve the puzzle the fastest.

There's also a place for working notes.

Here's a sample of each puzzle page:


What's Inside this Word Scramble Book

  • 500 jumbled words to unscramble
  • 10 words per page per topic
  • There are 50 different, broad-ranging topics
  • Each page is large and easy to read
  • The answers are included at the back, with two answer bundles per page, making the solutions easy to read as well
  • Record your start and finish times to compete with yourself or others
  • Some scrambles are easier than others making it a fun activity for the whole family
  • As you can see above, there's a place for notes in case you have to do further evaluations
This scramble book is ideal for:
  • Personal use
  • Stocking stuffers
  • An affordable hostess gift for the family
  • A significant loot-bag gift for teen parties
  • An around-the-table game for family gatherings
  • To take on trips for something to do when you're traveling
  • For seniors to encourage mind exercise challenges
  • For brainiac kids to keep their minds fresh, challenged, and growing

You Can Find This Word Scramble Book on Amazon or Via StumpedRiddles.com:

Word Scramble Book for Teens and Adults

You can find all Stumped Activity Books on Amazon here.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 2, 2022

A Fall from Grace (Clavering Chronicles Book 1) Book Review

Before we ever read the first word in the book, the title tells us what to expect.  What the title doesn't reveal is how and why Selena loses her position in society.

This historical fiction is set in Hertfordshire, England in 1817 and paints a vivid picture of how easy it was for a young woman, or even a whole family, to have the ton (high society) shun them.  

Imagine having everything you have ever known or expected your life to be, stripped from you because someone else made a mistake. By no fault of your own, you have to learn how to make a living for yourself while watching the world you once knew carry on without you. Becoming an employee in a house where you would previously have been received as a desired guest and ushered into the drawing room for tea with the countess.  Instead, you will now be expected to use the servants entrance and consider yourself fortunate that the countess has favored you enough to even allow you to be her companion.

That is what happened to Selena Lockhart in "A Fall from Grace" by Jennie Goutet.


"A Fall from Grace" Plot Synopsis

 A Fall from Grace
(Clavering Chronicles Book 1)
Check Price

The first few chapters of the book are somewhat humorous.  We are immediately introduced to Sir Lucius Clavering, sixth Baronet of Mardley.  As a wealthy landowner, he is accustomed to having "young maidens" devise reasons to be in his company alone in order to force a marriage.  A snowy night is the perfect opportunity for "accidents" to strand fair maidens who would require refuge in a nearby home.  On this particular night, two such woman separately appeared at his door.  One was intentionally planned, the other truly was in dire straits.  Both are greeted with suspicion.

___

As the lone female occupant of a broken down stagecoach, Selena needs shelter from the snow storm and other danger.  She believes her salvation must lie within the walls of a nearby home which is lit well enough for her to see in the distance. Dispute her lack of warm clothing, she sets out for the house and has plenty of time to recount the events that put her in this frightening situation.  Her father's extreme gambling problems followed by his subsequent death; her fiance's recindment of his offer of marriage;  insufficient funds to sustain her mother & sisters;  all combined to create this life she was so ill-prepared to live.  She was equally unprepared to be greeted by the cynical landowner who did not readily welcome her in out of the cold.

_____

Following Selena's story of becoming a companion to a bitter and unhappy widowed countess, caused me to consider what a truly difficult situation this would have been for a young lady who was raised in a wealthy home with the expectations of a prosperous marriage and continued position in high society.  It would require a strong and determined individual to make this unwanted transition in life status.

Since this is a Regency Romance novel, the reader can rest assured there will be a developing romantic relationship throughout the book. However, I was equally interested in watching the other relationships develop in this book.

I highly recommend this book, and series, to anyone who enjoys clean & wholesome romance novels.

 

 

At publishing time of this review, "A Fall from Grace" is available for free with a Kindle Unlimited Subscription. Or, you can purchase it with the link below.


More Books Reviewed on Review This Reviews




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, December 1, 2022

Gabby - A Story of Courage and Hope - Book Review

Those who come to know Gabrielle Giffords are said to become Gabbified. It certainly happened to me and I would be very surprised if you did not experience being taken in by the immensity of her spirit as revealed in Gabby: A Story of Courage and Hope

Giffords, a United States Congresswoman at the time, was the victim of an assassination attempt, and deadly mass shooting, on January 8, 2011. Shot in the head at point-blank range, her chances of surviving were less than one percent. The bullet that traveled through the left hemisphere of her brain should have killed her. Yet, despite the astronomical odds against it, Giffords survived.

This is the true story of an astonishing woman who is the epitome of extreme service, deep humanity, and extraordinary fortitude. Way beyond survival, Gabrielle Giffords, through sheer grit and an unmatched work ethic, demonstrates what it means to live out your life's calling with undying passion, radical optimism, and the kind of genuine care for others that transcends political divisions.

Despite years of a grueling rehabilitation regimen that would likely defeat the toughest among us, Gabrielle has never quit when it comes to taking on the most challenging issues of our times. Her nonprofit Giffords organization has stepped up to address the ongoing rampage of gun violence in our nation. 

I picked up this book, and Giffords' new documentary (Gabby Giffords Won't Back Down), because I have been feeling deeply shaken (horrified) by the escalating anger and violence that is destroying lives and ripping apart the fabric of our world.  I knew that I would draw strength, and a new commitment to doing something of substance, by opening myself up to Gabbification.  

As I have reflected on the impact Gabrielle Giffords has had on her constituents, her community, her family, and on everyone who has crossed her path, the thought crossed my mind that I want to be like Gabby Giffords when I grow up.  Then, I realized that she would most likely want me to be the very epitome of me.  I can't be Gabby, but by following her example, I can use my own inner power and determination to proactively be a force for good in my corner of the world.








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, November 30, 2022

What is Jolabokaflod? Christmas Eve Traditions to Try! Holiday Gift Ideas

 So you might be wondering what a Jolabokaflod is and why it's important!  Well in the interests of learning something new every day, this is one word and idea that really resonates with me and my family.

Jolabokaflod is an Icelandic Christmas Eve tradition.  Every one in the family gets a "book" gift on Christmas Eve and the rest of the evening is spent reading and drinking  hot chocolate and eating some of those wonderful Christmas cookies that seem to magically appear at this time of year.




Our family is blessed in so many ways!   All our children are grown and have children of their own. Our children and grandchildren don't really need more "stuff".   Each family member has a roof over their heads and food on the table.  Clothes in the closets and shoes/boots for whatever weather conditions may be outside.  So what more do we need?

The simple answer is NOTHING!  

The most important things to us (my husband and myself) is BEING with each other and sharing time together.  Yet at Christmastime, we also like to do something special for our family.

So this year we have made the decision to do what they do in Iceland.  Instead of gifts for the adults we will focus on purchasing a book that we have loved and share it with another member of  the family.  

The grandchildren will still receive traditional Christmas gifts, but a book might find it's way into that idea too! We love reading and love promoting reading skills to our grandchildren as well. 

If you are looking for a great list of books to peruse, you don't have to go too far!  Review This Reviews has an amazing list of books that have been reviewed by the writers of this site!  There is everything from Puzzle Books and Riddles, to Murder/Mysteries, Biographies, Cozy Romances and so much more!  

Some books are from new authors and some are from well known authors who have been writing for years.

There is something for everyone at ReviewThisReviews.com!  Click on the link and then follow the tabs across the top!  The first one you come to is BOOK REVIEWS.  How much easier can gift finding get?


We (my other half and I) will be using this link to find the gifts for our own first of a kind, Jolabokaflod that we will celebrate this year!  

Now I have to add an addendum:  This idea is not for every one and if you are interested there are a host of "OTHER" reviews that might help you find that perfect gift if you are celebrating in a more traditional way.

May Your Christmas be everything that you hold dear to your hearts and may you enjoy each other's company making great memories as you go along!  Blessings to all!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, November 29, 2022

A Review of Creepypasta - What Is It?

 


What is Creepypasta?

The first thing that comes to mind is some type of scary noodles!  Maybe a Halloween dish?  Nope, Creepypasta has nothing to do with food, creepy or otherwise.   The meaning of Creepypasta has changed over time.  In the beginning it meant a short horror story, whose author was unknown, that was shared on forums, storyboards and other internet sites.  Now what, you may ask, does pasta have to do with stories?  I thought the same thing.  It seems that Creepypasta is kind of a rip off of the term Copypasta which has been around since 2006 and means a block of text that is shared in many places around the internet.  

Anyway, Creepypasta now refers to most any type of horror story that one can find to read or listen to on the internet.  Creepypasta stories are basically fiction, but are usually written in a manner that makes the reader think that it really happened, or at least that it COULD happen.  This is what makes them so creepy!  Authors are now fully credited and some have become quite well known, going on to become published writers and even writing screenplays for movies.

What are Creepypasta Stories About?  

Creepypasta stories are usually centered around some type of scary being, such as:

Cryptid - Any creature that may or may not exist. Sightings  have been reported, but their reality is unproven.  Includes: bigfoot, dogman, werewolves, mothman, sea monsters, etc.

Alien - Any creature that is not from our planet or dimension.

Undead - Physical creatures that were once alive but have died and then came back in a physical body.  Includes:  vampires, zombies, ghouls, mummies, etc.

Ghosts- An entity that was once alive, but has died and come back to the world of the living without a physical body.

Demons - A malevolent supernatural entity, mostly considered to be fallen angels that serve the Devil.

There are stories about other things that are also considered to be Creepypasta, but these are the top five that I have seen the most.  

How I Found Out About Creepypasta

I was looking through YouTube one day, searching for something interesting when I ran across a video called "I Am A Monster Created By The Government."



I had to laugh, but I was also intrigued.  What kind of video could this be?  I hit play and was immediately immersed in an interesting creepy story.  This was a compilation of a group of stories about the same characters, which is good because it saved me the trouble of looking for all of them in YouTube.  There was nothing on the video screen to watch, it was more like an audio book that you listen to.  This was even better for me, as it gave me something interesting to listen to while I was crafting or cleaning.  After I finished with that video, I went in search of other stories to listen to and that is when I was introduced to the world of Creepypasta. I've  been listening ever since!  There are literally dozens of authors that write these stories and 
I have listened to many narrators (that is what they call the people reading the stories in the videos) but there are three that I like the best:

Donovan Dread - https://www.youtube.com/@DonovanDread/  

Mr. Creeps - https://www.youtube.com/c/MrCreeps/

Magnetar - https://www.youtube.com/@MagnetarYT

If you don't like to listen to stories, and you prefer to read them yourself, there are also websites with archives of Creepypasta stories.  My two favorites are:

Don't Turn Around - https://www.dontturnaround.com/

Creepypasta - http://www.creepypasta.com

If you are not into monsters, there are other types of video stories that you can listen to on YouTube like True Crime Stories, Mysteries, Bedtime Stories, Time Travel Stories and many others.  Just type "narrated stories"  in the search bar of YouTube.  There is something there for everyone!  I love listening to stories and I am so glad that I found a new place to find them.

If you prefer your reading material in physical book form, you can buy Creepypasta books on Amazon. Not only do they have regular books, but also Creepypasta coloring books and even Creepypasta role playing games.  There are so many ways to have scary Creepypasta fun!

Click Here to Search for Creepypasta on Amazon





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 27, 2022

A Christmas Activity Book for Teens and Adults

A Christmas Activity Book for Teens and Adults

Since 2019 I've been on a self-publishing journey.

It started with clearing a bucket-list item; publishing my fifty-year collection of poems.

Since then, I've published numerous activity books, riddle books, and journals. My website StumpedRiddles.com features every book, as well as fun activities to solve.

You can find my books on Amazon.

My publishing journey to date includes the following:
  • Riddle books
  • Sudoku books
  • Wordsearch books
  • Word Scramble Books
  • Journals
  • and more to come!

My Newest Book is "Christmas Word Scramble for Teens and Adults"

Why did I create a word scramble book?

The main reason for making this book was to encourage mind exercise. In fact, all of my activity books are created with this in mind.

The scrambles included can be challenging, although brainiac kids could solve them!

I'm huge on large print puzzles and only feature one per page.

Although this book has ten topic-driven words per page, the book measures 8.5 by 11 inches, so the print is large and easy to read.

Christmas Word Scramble for Teens and Adults

Word Scrambles on StumpedRiddles

Stumpedriddles originally featured personally written riddles. There are over one thousand original riddles when combined with the website and books. 

I've recently expanded the website to include onsite word scrambles and word searches. Visitors can solve these activities directly on the website. It's a work in progress, as more scrambles are being added weekly. 

Also, the word searches can be printed out as well, for free.

Visitors can subscribe for a free downloadable copy of  Self-Care Word Scrambles. It's a short full-color book that features 50 words related to self-care.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, November 26, 2022

What the Fireflies Knew – Book Review

 by Kai Harris



My usual reading genre is mystery/suspense books. But I recently came across this 'coming-of-age' story that I found totally compelling. 


What the Fireflies Knew is well worth reading. It is an ode to Black girlhood.


Synopsis


The story is told by almost-eleven-year-old Kenyata Bernice (KB).  In the wake of her father's death from an overdose and the loss of their Detroit home due to the debts incurred by his addiction, her mother takes KB and her 14-year-old sister, Nia, to the home of their estranged grandfather in Lansing, Michigan. Then the mother disappears without a word of explanation.


Grandfather is grumpy and silent. With her father dead, her mother gone, and her sister, once her best friend, now ignoring her and acting like a stranger, KB is lonely, sad, resentful and feeling abandoned. The white kids across the street at first act friendly; and then not. It seems as though everyone is keeping secrets.


KB finds herself forced to carve out a different identity for herself and find her own voice. As the summer weeks go by, she finds the almost country setting of her grandfather's street quiet and peaceful compared to the nearly constant noise and strife of her old Detroit neighborhood. She enjoys sitting in the old tree in the backyard, reading her beloved books and listening to the quiet. 


One evening while grandfather, KB and Nia are sitting on the back porch reading, granddaddy suddenly whispers “Look”. When KB asks “What is it” Granddaddy says “Fireflies – I ain't never seen so many all at once.”


KB runs and runs, trying to catch them, but the light goes out and it disappears, and then appears somewhere else. She wonders what the trick is to catch one and learn the secret of their light. Granddaddy comes and tells her to slow down and teaches her how to catch a firefly.  


“Sometimes, when you wanna speed up, you gotta slow down first.”


Eventually, granddaddy and KB begin to talk and learn about each other. Nia is still ignoring her most of the time, busy with a Detroit friend who is visiting an Aunt in Lansing this summer and with an interest in teenage things and boys beyond KB's understanding. KB also learns that 'momma' is in a treatment center for acute depression. 


Summary


This is a very moving novel about family, identity, and race. What the Fireflies Knew teaches KB a valuable lesson of 'growing up'  - the realization that loved ones can be flawed and that the perfect family we all dream about looks different close up. 


I highly recommend this dazzling and fascinating first novel by a gifted storyteller (author Kai Harris). It is a well crafted tale of life, loss and survival told through the voice of an unforgettable 10-year-old narrator. 



*This coming-of-age novel is available on Amazon


*What the Fireflies Knew book review by Wednesday Elf.













Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 13, 2022

The Best Book For Understanding Yourself and Finding Your Way

The best book for understanding yourself and finding your way

Let me start by saying that I don't think this review will do this book justice; it's that good.

The Untethered Soul: The Journey Beyond Yourself by Michael Singer is a number 1 New York Times bestseller, selling over a million copies.

Here is The Author, Michael Singer's Credentials:

"Michael Alan "Mickey" Singer (or Michael A. Singer; born 6 May 1947) is an American author, journalist, motivational speaker, and former software developer.Singer is best known for his writings on spitituality, meditation, and New Age philosophy, and two of his books on the subject, The Untethered Soul (2007) and The Surrender Experiment (2015), were New York Times bestsellers. Singer established the Temple of the Universe, a yoga and meditation center in AlachuaFlorida, in 1975." - SOURCE WIKIPEDIA-Directly Quoted.

When you read this book, you'll understand why people from many walks of life are talking about how it provided the insight and tools they needed to expand their self-knowledge.

When I first read the book about eight years ago, I couldn't believe how much more about the human condition I could grasp ... and I thought I was already pretty enlightened! Was I wrong!

How I Accidentally Found This Book in My Hour of Need

When my dad passed in 2013, I was beyond consolable. Of course, most people would never know how much I was struggling ... but I was.

Around that same time, while visiting mom, I decided to head to a bookstore to look for spiritual answers to loss. I had read, listened to, and watched numerous works on the topic, but after dad's passing, I needed all the answers to everything <---- lol, yah, I know, that bar was set a tad high.

While at the store, I asked my dad to "please direct me to the answers I need to understand that you're ok." 

It was a small bookstore, and I was checking book after book, then out of the blue, I found two books (the only two copies in the store) ... one was "Journey of Souls, by Michael Newton" and the other was "The Untethered Soul by Michael Singer." I won't talk about Journey of Souls in this article, but wowza, if you're open to life-between-lives, you'll find that book engrossing!

Of the two books, I read The Untethered Soul first.

I Was So Moved by the Book I Bought it as Gift For Many People

One person close to me, who struggles with mental health issues, said that this book helped them the most. In fact, they've re-read it many times.

I was confident they would get a lot from the book, but I never anticipated they'd place the book at the top with their other treatments. Of course, that was their personal experience; I'm not implying that would happen to others. 

You Can Watch and Follow the Author on His Podcasts on YouTube

Recently I've watched at least five of Michael Singer's videos on YouTube

Mr. Singer communicates and connects in a personal way through his books. Via video, his messages are profound, and his personality is light and comforting. However, to get the whole experience, you need to read the book.

He's in high demand to be interviewed, and I happened to trip on Danica Patrick's (yes, that Danika Patrick - the former race car driver) podcast, where she also interviewed Mr. Singer. I found it so interesting. Ms. Patrick is not just a race car driver, that's for sure! She's a deeply reflective thinker.

What I Remember Most From Michael Singer's Book

What helps me most - I'm paraphrasing in my own words:

"We are not our body, we are not our mind; we are a consciousness/soul, our own unique conciouness. When times get hard, and bad things come our way, we can learn to master the technique of becoming the observer of the body and the mind. Our wondering mind, and negative self talk and reactions to problem situations are formed from years of habit. Through practice and awareness we can learn to step back to observe our mind and allow pain and discomfort to come through us, feel it, acknowledge it, so we can set it free, and let it go." 

If you're in the mood for enlightenment, don't hesitate to read this life-changing book.

The book is spiritually neutral; it doesn't tout any particular religion; it's merely about a peaceful soul for believers and non-believers from every walk of life.

It's available on Amazon here.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, November 12, 2022

Mary Jane Clark - Author and Book Review

Recently I was searching my local library shelves for books by Mary Higgins Clark. When I returned home, I discovered that one of the books I selected was actually by an author named Mary JANE Clark.  Thus, I accidentally discovered a really good story and have since gone on to read more books by this author.


Today I finished reading “That Old Black Magic” by Mary Jane Clark and was reading the Acknowledgments page at the back of the book (I read EVERYTHING; always reluctant to put down a good book when the story ends – LOL).  Of the people Mary Jane Clark thanked was her thespian daughter who provided the voice and acting realism of the main character, Piper Donovan, who is an actress and baker in the story. 


Mary Jane's daughter's name is Elizabeth Higgins Clark. NOW, I'm really curious because of the similarity to MARY Higgins Clark. So, of course I googled it.  It was so interesting to learn that Mary Jane Clark, an author in her own right, is the daughter-in-law of Mary Higgins Clark and Elizabeth is her granddaughter! 


This review is about Mary Jane Clark and the series of books I have been enjoying.


The Piper Donovan Wedding Cake Mystery Series




To date, the Piper Donovan series consists of four novels:


  • To Have and to Kill (New York City and New Jersey locales)
  • The Look of Love (Los Angeles locale)
  • Footprints in the Sand (Florida locale)
  • That Old Black Magic (New Orleans locale)


The Main Character


Piper Donovan is a struggling actress who has had just a few small roles. Between times of auditions and acting in small parts, she supplements her income by working in her mother's New Jersey bakery “The Icing on the Cupcake”. Having learned a great deal about cake baking and decorating, Piper has begun to design and create very impressive special wedding cakes which become the theme of each book as Piper goes to plan and create a wedding cake for someone's wedding.


Story Themes


During each story of the wedding cakes, somehow Piper becomes involved in a murder mystery and often gets herself in a lot of trouble ~ and even danger ~ when trying to solve the mystery. Her parents worry about her, especially her dad who is a retired policeman. Her boyfriend, Jack, an FBI agent, also worries and definitely frowns upon Piper's rash behavior that puts her in danger. 


Summary


The stories are lighthearted (with just a touch of danger), and very enjoyable. They fall into the Cozy Mystery genre. The descriptions of the various wedding cakes in each story are delightful and will make you wish you could sample them. Piper Donovan is a very likable character and the books are quick and easy to read.



*Mary Jane Clark, book and author review written by 

~Wednesday Elf


*Image Sources: Wedding cake photos are from Pixabay & GetStencil.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, November 3, 2022

The Lies I Tell - Book Review

Can a wrong ever be made right with another wrong? Where is the fine line between justice and revenge? In The Lies I Tell, by Julie Clark, two brilliant, strong, previously wronged women take matters into their own hands, resulting in fascinating twists and turns you won't see coming. 

Meg Williams, aka Maggie Littleton and Melody Wilde, is supremely gifted in becoming who you need, or want her to be. She is a master of psychology and Internet research. By the time you meet her, she knows you better than you know yourself. 

Meg/Maggie/Melody, the three-in-one, shape-shifts between personas. Some know her as a college student, others as a life coach, and now a Senate candidate has hired her as his exclusive real estate agent. Ron Ashton is going to wish he had never met Meg Williams. You'll see.

Kat Roberts, a victimized journalist, has waited ten excruciating years to take Meg down. Kat is desperate to expose the grifter for who she really is, and at the same time, to right the wrong that wrecked her own life and career. Kat believes she can go head-to-head with Meg because she knows the games she plays. In this cat-and-mouse chase, could it be that the mouse has underestimated the cat?

How will it all end? Will Meg get the justice she seeks? Does Kat get the revenge she has longed for (and the publishing deal of her dreams)? 

And you: Will you be cheering at the end, or shaking your head? How will you feel about the choices that are made? What would you have done? I hope you read The Lies I Tell and return here to respond to these questions.

I love a book with a surprise ending. This read kept me highly engaged the entire way. And, I have to tell you, it makes me want to lock down my social media accounts. Repelling a couple of scammers online this week really brought home the message of how very real and present are the Meg, Maggie, and Melody's of the world. This is just barely a work of fiction. 












Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, October 29, 2022

The Wedding Guest by Jonathan Kellerman – Book Review

An Alex Delaware Novel




Jonathan Kellerman has written 37 Alex Delaware novels. The Wedding Guest is #34. The series is set in Los Angeles.


Main Characters in The Wedding Guest


  • Alex Delaware, a child psychologist in Los Angeles, California
  • Milo Sturgis, a career policeman in the Homicide Division of the LAPD


Regular Minor Characters in the Alex Delaware Series of Books


  • Detectives Binchy, Bogomil and Reed who Milo refers to as the “Baby Ds”. 
  • Robin Castagna, who repairs and builds expensive guitars for musicians around the country. She has been in a long-term relationship with Delaware for many years.
  • Alex and Robin's French Bulldog, Blanche


Character Assessment


Delaware and Sturgis form a formidable team. Sturgis has a knack for piecing together the details of a crime. Delaware's expertise is his psychology background aiding him in deciphering the darkest intents driving vicious perpetrators.

 

Plot of The Wedding Guest




In The Wedding Guest, Alex and Milo team up once again to solve a homicide and the crime that led to it. 


At a wedding reception, a horrified bridesmaid discovers the body of a young woman who has been strangled. Not a single partygoer recognizes the victim and there is not a single means to identify her. The bride is convinced the stranger snuck in to sabotage her big day, and the groom is sure it is all a dreadful mistake. 


With over a hundred guests to question, Delaware and Sturgis soon decide that the motive for murder is personal.


Now the party's over and the hunt for the killer begins.


Summary


An uninvited guest. A missing identity. A trail of deadly secrets. 


Once again, Sturgis and Delaware team up to solve a murder in this psychological thriller. As an amateur armchair detective, the needed clues for solving while reading are not uncovered until the very end, but it was an interesting mystery nonetheless.  If you are a fan of Jonathan Kellerman, and especially his Alex Delaware novels, as I am, you will enjoy this one as much as others in the series. 


Related Reviews of Books by the Kellerman Family

 


*Book Review of "The Wedding Guest" written by

    ~Wednesday Elf





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, October 25, 2022

Ken Follett's Never, A Book Review

If you love a political thriller, you should check out Ken Follett's Never, a book in which we find the world on the brink of nuclear war / disaster.

In the past, I have read and thoroughly enjoyed a few historical Ken Follett novels. Never, however, as a modern war or political thriller about the possibility of nuclear disaster, was a definite departure for me.

Never is a saga about a crisis that could lead to a third world war. Follett himself says that the story was in part a result of his discovery that no one wanted the first world war. This book spans the globe from Africa’s Sahara Desert to China and the United States. It is 800 pages of story filled with a large cast and numerous story lines.

The Washington Post calls Never “a cautionary tale of global catastrophe.” Exactly. They also say that it is “credibly detailed and alarmingly plausible.” Disturbing? Yes, but I agree.

VIDEOS


The first video shown below is a short trailer for the book, illustrating the Defcon system and alluding to the suspenseful nature of this novel. The second video, called Behind the Scenes with Ken Follett, is more interesting, detailing how he came up with the idea for this book.





RATING


Readers on Goodreads gave Never four stars; readers on Amazon gave it four stars as well.

Many reader comments show that people enjoyed the book, as I did. The story was extremely well researched and detailed and the storylines were interesting.

Many also found the book a bit longer than they thought it might have been and a bit slow or hard to be absorbed by at first and I agree on both of those points. I was also disappointed with how the individual story lines were sorted out and with the ending.

The premise of this book is disturbing. That is, seeing how a nuclear war might be played out. Let us hope that we never know the truth.

Like other readers, I give the book four stars and recommend it for those who enjoy political thrillers and for those who have enjoyed Follett’s previous contemporary thrillers. You can find Never here on Amazon in whatever format you prefer be that Kindle, audiobook, hardcover, paperback or audio CD.

See you
at the book store!

MORE KEN FOLLETT:




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, October 22, 2022

My Gal Sunday – Book Review


By Mary Higgins Clark



Recently I have been reading my way through books by the Queen of Suspense, Mary Higgins Clark. Although I seldom read short stories, preferring full-length novels, I came across My Gal Sunday, a collection of four stories about an irresistible sleuthing duo. The stories were delightful and I was left wishing Ms. Clark had written more novels featuring this duo. 


The Characters in My Gal Sunday


The book contains four short stories, each starring the same characters and continuing one to the next in order. By that, I mean that some of the other characters and situations in one story are mentioned in the next.... and the next.


The main characters are a dashing ex-president (Henry Parker Britland IV ~  wealthy, worldly and popular ~ and his new wife Sandra (Sandy) O'Brian ~ clever and lovely ~ a newly elected congresswoman from New Jersey. Sandy is the daughter of a motorman on the New Jersey railway and worked her way through school. The media loved it.  When they married, a newspaper ran the headline LORD HENRY BRINTHWHIP MARRIES OUR GAL SUNDAY, a reference to the once popular radio soap opera that for years, 5 days a week, asked the question:


Can a girl from a mining town in the West find happiness as the wife of England's richest and most handsome Lord Henry Brinthwhip.


Because of this, Sandra, new wife of Henry, became known to all as 'Sunday'




The Stories


The premise of stories in this book is that Henry & Sunday somehow become involved in solving baffling high-society crimes and make a formidable team. 


In A Crime of Passion, Henry's former Secretary-of-State, a close friend and political alley, is accused of murdering his lover Arabella Young.


In They All Ran After the President's Wife, Sunday is kidnapped and a frantic Henry works with the Secret Service and his friend and former Vice-President (who is the current U.S. President) to locate Sunday and bring her home safely.


In Hail Columbia! Sunday & Henry reconstruct a long-unsolved case aboard the presidential yacht.


And in Merry Christmas/Joyeau Noel, we find Henry & Sunday getting ready for Christmas at home when a 6-year-old boy turns up on their doorstep. They take him in and work with the police, but the boy never speaks or answers any questions, so finding out who he is and where he belongs becomes a difficult problem. A sweet tale about a Christmas Miracle.


Summary


Mary Higgins Clark tells us in the book acknowledgments that as a child she was a big fan of the radio show “My Gal Sunday” and had a huge crush on Lord Henry and thought he and Sunday made a perfect couple.  That's why, when she wanted to create a new husband-and-wife suspense team, she thought about Lord Henry & Sunday and asked herself “suppose Henry is a former American President, smart, nice, rich and handsome, and suppose Sunday is a stunning, savvy young congresswoman?” The stories in her book of short stories, My Gal Sunday are the  result!


This really is a delightful, lighthearted and fun series of stories. I hope you enjoy the short stories in My Gal Sunday as much as I did. 


Related Reviews:


*My Gal Sunday Book Review written by Wednesday Elf




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 16, 2022

Why I Feel Good Today - A Workbook for Teens and Adults

Why I Feel Great Today Workbook
A Monthly Workbook (in Color) - To Track Good Feelings


As some of you already know, my creative energy has been put toward self-publishing workbook journals this year.

Why Workbooks?

With so much going on in the world, I wanted to put together something that adults or teens could use as a guide to track life moments, feelings, and overall state of mind.

This prompt workbook allows us to write down the good or not-so-good moments about our life in a brief, fun, colorful book to reflect on patterns and trends.

Workbooks give us a chance to retrace our steps and do more of what makes us feel better and hopefully less of the things that don't.

Why This Workbook?

I created this workbook with one main goal: a place for people to quickly record and track their good moments.

Good moments can range from anything small to something significant. For example, a good moment could have been when you prepared a delicious meal, tackled a project, or talked to a friend.

Mark down the good things, no matter how small. 

The book will give you a thirteen-month trend of things that make you feel great.

You'll also be able to reflect on your year and examine trends and memorable moments. If there's something specific that you don't want to forget, write it down in your workbook.

Tracking The Good in Our Life

More than a diary, a specifically targeted prompt workbook brings us directly to the life areas that need noting, remembering, or correcting.

What you get with the Why I Feel Good Workbook:

13 Color Coded Months with Four Workbook Prompt Pages Per Month:
  • Daily Feel Good Quick Notes 
  • Monthly Specific Prompt Questions
  • A Page to Expand Upon Why You Feel Good in Your Own Notes
  • A Monthly Happy Summary with More Prompt Questions
  • A Motivational Quote for Each Month
There's a chart to color in your mood daily so that at the end of the year, with one quick look, you can get an idea of which color mood was most prominent in your life.

You can track any month at any time. You don't have to follow 13 months in a row; pick and choose your tracking months if that works best for you.

Why I Feel Great Today Workbook
Available on Amazon

You can preview the book's interior via StumpedRiddles here or, of course, on Amazon here.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X