Showing posts with label Home Office. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Home Office. Show all posts

Friday, September 21, 2018

Animal Shaped Memo Clip Holder Note Pad Dispenser Organizer Review

Animal Shaped Memo Clip Holder Note Pad Dispenser Organizer Review
I am always writing little notes and reminders for myself, as well as for my family.  These little notes help me tremendously to stay on schedule.   They also serve as reminders to take out the trash or refill a prescription, or other mundane chores I would rather forget.  I rely heavily on them everyday.  Sometimes I even write myself a little reminder about an upcoming holiday so I can remember when offices and stores are closed.  That helps me avoid being annoyed if I try to reach someone on business only to get an answering machine.  Needless to say, my laptop is often decorated with colorful post-its.  

Until recently, I didn't have a great place to leave a note for a family member, or for something that was unrelated to my computer work.  Seemed like my little notes ended up on the floor or covered by other "stuff" rendering them useless.

That was all before I bought my rabbit memo clip holder!


My Rabbit Memo Clip & Note Pad Holder


To say I love animals, would be an understatement.  I have rabbits, mice, squirrels, bears and even a giraffe included in my home decor surroundings.   They are beautifully displayed on pillows, afghans, magnets, and more.  Plus, I have cookie jars and teapots in the shape of animals.  Not to mention my beloved plush animals that decorate my craft room and our bedroom.

 Chris-Wang Multi-functional Plastic Animal Figure Memo Clip Holder Stand Note Pad Dispenser Organizer, With 200 SheetsCheck PriceOne day I was browsing Amazon, searching for shaped post-its when I spied a  rabbit shaped clip holder.  Yes, I had to have that memo clip holder!  

Now, my pretty blue rabbit chomps down on my daily reminders, receipts, or even my outgoing mail.  She keeps those slips of paper and envelopes front and center on my kitchen counter.  Therefore, the notes are no longer "lost" under other things or blowing to the floor unnoticed.  My blue rabbit has become my most useful home office helper.  

She also features a cut out space that is the perfect size for a pad of post-its.  She came with a blue note pad, but once they were all gone, I replaced them with a pad of post-its.  She can hold a post-it as well as any slip of paper.  I simply use post-its more often, but someone else might well prefer the less expensive note pad replacements.

In addition to the blue rabbit style that I selected, there is also a dinosaur, a giraffe, a donkey, a elephant and a hippo available.  I have to sit on my hands to keep from buying them all.  I think they are all adorable, but I really only have a place for one and I have a special affinity for rabbits.  However, you might prefer one of the other animal shaped memo holders so I have displayed them all below. 

 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, December 18, 2016

A Coffee Table Desk - When a Regular Desk is Too Much

Coffee Table Desk, & More Here
When you just don't have the space to incorporate a typical office in your home, or simply want a second place to do your work, a Coffee Table Desk is an ideal solution.

A Review - The Top 10 Benefits of a Coffee Table Desk

1. The obvious benefit is the space saving aspect. A coffee table desk allows you to include a working surface in your living or family room without having to bring in another piece of furniture.

2. You're able to save money by incorporating two pieces of furniture into one.

3. You can also find coffee table desks that include built-in storage thus giving that designated square footage triple use. Store your office supplies inside your coffee table desk.

4. It's not only a desk to do your own work on, it's also a place for the kids to do their homework, or their fun creative projects.

5. The elevated surface gives you a way to have your coffee cup in a more convenient reach AND go ahead and eat dinner in front of the TV without a hassle.
My family room
has space for a desk in the corner.
However, a Coffee Table Desk
is another viable solution.

6. Some designs give you storage, a coffee table, and a desk combined. Despite all of this built-in convenience, the looks are sleek and easily blend with existing decor.

7. Prices range as do quality and design. If you need a more expensive elaborate piece, there are many to choose from. Or if you simply require a basic solution, there are designs with prices that reflect that purpose as well.

8. When you plan to redecorate and no longer require your coffee table desk in the room, its versatility allows you to transfer it to just about any other room in the home. Or go ahead and pass it along to a young adult for their first apartment or dorm.

9.  Many designs still offer an open bottom; something that's important in a small room. Closed full bottom coffee tables make a room look smaller. However, if your room is larger, go ahead and choose a fully closed-bottom coffee table desk. Many of the closed-in designs offer numerous built-in drawers.

10. And lastly, life is too short not to decorate your home the way your want!

You can check out additional coffee table desk designs here, where you'll find pieces ranging from traditional to modern.

Happy Funky Decorating :)



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, May 5, 2016

How to Store Your Passwords

How do you store your passwords? Let's review three choices to consider as we celebrate World Password Day.
Happy World Password Day! This is a holiday that everyone within the sound of my written voice can celebrate; if you're on a computer, you almost positively have at least one password. Or a hundred of them, and therein lies the problem. How do you store all those passwords? Better yet, how do you remember them? Let's review some of the best ways to store the passwords that you use online.

But first, let's talk a little bit about why there is a World Password Day. Cybercrime is huge in the news these days. Rarely a week goes by that we don't learn of another hack by some group of unknown criminals on the computer records of yet another well-known large company, bank, or perhaps worse, government agency.

It is said that there are two groups of people online, those who've been hacked and those who don't yet know they've been hacked. It's hard to imagine how much personal information, often including account numbers and passwords, is in the hands of criminals who have nothing but bad things in mind. Likely they plan to sell all the compromised information they can get their hands on to the highest bidder with no regard at all to how their illegal deeds might adversely affect the average computer user.

While there's little we as individuals can do to stop this widespread criminal behavior, the best thing we can do to keep our own online information safe is to protect access to it by using good, strong passwords and storing them properly.

Care to guess what the two most-used passwords in the world are? At the top of the list is the numeric sequence 123456 while second is the word "password." If you use either of those on any of your online accounts, I have three words for you: No! No! No! It takes mere seconds to create a strong password, one that even the worst bad guy's password-stealing robot can't easily hack. For some simple tips to follow when creating a password, both do's and don't's, visit the World Password Day website. It's a fun and informative site where you'll probably learn a thing or two.

Once you've created your new long, strong passwords, one for each and every account you use, you'll need to figure out how to safely store them. Here are three choices to consider.

Kaspersky Password Manager is a great way to keep your personal passwords safe!
1. Hire a manager. The easiest way is to store all of your passwords with the help of a password manager such as the highly-recommended Kaspersky Password Manager (available in both a free and a paid version). This program syncs your passwords across devices, which is very handy. It will also help you develop strong passwords that are hard to crack, always a good thing. Learn more then download the free version or buy the paid version (just $14.99, price subject to change) at the link.

2. Write them down. If you're old fashioned, as I tend to be, you might want to keep track of your passwords yourself by writing them down on paper. Or use a simple Rolodex. The one in the picture above is mine. The alphabetical tabs make it easy to file the cards by site name or URL and it doesn't take much room on your desk top. This is a good solution for a home office, but I wouldn't use it in a public work space where anyone who walks by could take a peek or, worse, grab it and take off with it. Also, it isn't easy to pack in my purse when I travel. That's where the next option comes in.

This personal password logbook is a great way to store all the passwords you use online.
3.  Use a password journal. I really like this personal password logbook or journal! It's designed specifically for recording internet addresses and their passwords as well as other useful information about your computer, your software, your ISP, your email addresses, and more. The front label is removable, so the contents are stored discretely. The elastic band helps by keeping the book closed until you want to open it. I really like the cover design, too, which is just one of several available for this line of password journals or logbooks. (You'll see them at the link.) While I keep a short list of passwords with me in my purse, it's barely sufficient and not nearly as efficient as this pretty book which right now costs less than $7 (price subject to change).

A word of caution: House fires happen. I know first hand. So if you depend on a Rolodex, sticky notes, or just a simple notebook for storing passwords, make sure you have a backup somewhere (and not on an external hard drive in your home; they burn, too). The Kaspersky system is probably the best choice for storing passwords or, if you still want to do it yourself, just make sure you've set up a file in the cloud somewhere that you can retrieve from anywhere in case of emergency. The price is very reasonable and very worth it when you consider the time it takes to retrieve and/or change every password you have. Again, I know.

So, how do you store your passwords? Do they need updating? How will you celebrate World Password Day? While it officially falls on the first Thursday of May (May 4, 2017), this information is important every day of the year. I hope you'll use it to keep both your data and your passwords safe!

~ Susan
Read more of my reviews.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 31, 2016

How to Visually Increase the Size of Windowless Room

Faux French Door - See more here
Last week we talked about three affordable ways to increase the size of a room, and today we'll talk about how to trick the mind so you won't feel caged in a windowless room.

The three previous suggestions were to use a faux window, 3D Scenery Drapes or Mirrors. Today we'll add three new ideas to the mix. 

Although your first choice should be a faux window, here are a few other ideas to consider:

Faux French Doors

Yes, that's right you can easily feature double french doors in your space, without so much as picking up a hammer and banging a nail into the wall!

Faux door wall graphics, usually made of easy to put-up vinyl or a pre-pasted material, are very effective. You'll have to read the directions, and patiently approach the project, but the overall completed look makes it all worth while.
Suggested Tip: If you paint the walls to coincide with the actual faux doors you're putting up, you can easily create a seamless visual effect by choosing a wall color that will blend or compliment the doors. 

Animals Bursting Through Your Walls
3D Animals Bursting through the Wall

These are so creative! Do you know anyone who has 3D animal art on their wall? Probably not, so get ready, you're going to make an impression when your guests see this!

By using 3D wall art to create the illusion of something busting into the room, you automatically trick the mind into believing the room has been opened to the outdoors.

Best of all, this unique approach provides a decorating foundation to use when adding accessories; add animal pillows, throws or rugs and all of a sudden you have a theme going!
Faux Book Wall Shelf

Where a real bookshelf takes up too much space in a small room, a faux bookshelf takes up no space! 

If an actual faux shelf isn't your cup of tea, there are many other book wall decals you can choose from and most have a three dimensional look: Some feature a dog with a stack of books, others just a stack of books that look so real you'll reach out to touch them, and some are designed as sketches. Visit the link above to see examples of these.

There you have it, three more creative ideas you can use to visually increase the size of a windowless room. 

Featured Photo: 3D Faux Book Wall - Via Amazon

Stay Open!
by Funkthishouse.com


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, October 15, 2015

Review: Will a Sunlight Lamp Help SAD Disorder?

If you suffer from seasonal depression, known as SAD or seasonal affective disorder, then this is a very important question for you. My review is based on my experience, and I am not a medical professional. Your results may vary, but here's what I've discovered while using a sunlight lamp to help with SAD disorder.
Here's what I've discovered while using a full-spectrum sunlight lamp to help with SAD disorder.
The author's sunlight lamp.

The lamp in the picture is the sunlight lamp that I've used on my desk in my home office for several years now - and I love it. It helps improve my seasonal depression (SAD disorder) during fall and winter (also referred to as the winter blues). It also provides excellent lighting at my desk while I'm working all year round.

The sunlight desk lamp gives off light that is soft and natural, not harsh and hard on my eyes. I don't claim to fully understand the scientific explanation, but the light from this lamp simulates the colors of natural light, so that the light produced appears similar to sunlight. It's a cool sunlight, though, so don't worry about the lamp producing heat. Mine stays on for hours every day, stays cool and does not heat up the area around it. Instead, during the daytime it balances the light I work in (the lamp is on my left and I'm fortunate to have a big window on my right). When it's dark outside, the lamp provides all the light I need across my workspace.

Don't confuse a sunlight lamp with a sun lamp; a full-spectrum sunlight lamp won't give you a tan. While there are claims that a full-spectrum lamp helps produce vitamin D in our bodies, I'm skeptical of that. Don't stop your supplement if you take one. However, having a good amount of natural light most definitely puts me in a better mood. Like many others, I suffer to some degree from seasonal depression (or SAD disorder) and having plenty of soft "sunlight" to work in most definitely lifts my spirits during the winter months. I've used this lamp long enough to know that that claim is absolutely true, at least for me, and I would recommend using this lamp if you suffer effects of seasonal depression or live in a low-light latitude.

Inexpensive to Operate, Long-Life Light Bulb


The official light output of the sunlight lamp is 150 watts though it only uses 27 watts of energy. In other words, it's inexpensive to operate.

The bulb life is 10,000 hours and, while I haven't measured the exact hours, I've used my current lamp for over four years and just recently replaced the bulb. Given that the light is on for many hours most days, I'd say the bulb probably lived up to its long-life promise.

Other Features of the Sunlight Lamp That I Like


  • The touch on/off switch. My previous lamp had a toggle switch (we lost that lamp in a fire) and when I ordered this one I didn't even realize it had a touch switch. What a happy accident! I really enjoy being able to just touch the switch to turn the light on. 
  • The lamp looks nice. It's not a decorative lamp meant for a fancy living room, but it's sleek, nice-looking, and looks pretty as well as professional on my desk.
  • The small footprint. The lamp does not take up a lot of space on the desk. The base is about 8 inches long and 6.5 inches wide. 
  • The height is adjustable. My lamp is adjusted to about the highest point I can get it, about 18 inches high. That works for me. Occasionally I'll want to contain the light a bit, so I'll lower it by pivoting the lamp at the neck and adjusting the top. It's simple to move and stays put nicely at any height. 
  • It only moves when I want it to. The lamp doesn't slide on the desk though I can pick it up and move it easily if necessary. I like that it doesn't slide. It's also heavy enough that it doesn't tip.  
  • It's also available as a floor lamp, which would be absolutely perfect for people who do hand crafts. Placing the sunlight floor lamp next to your comfy craft chair would be a wonderful idea! (Think "gift idea"!)

So, Will a Sunlight Lamp Help SAD Disorder?


Based on my personal use, I do believe that the sunlight lamp helps improve seasonal depression, but I'm not a doctor so if SAD disorder is a problem for you, seek out a professional opinion. Or order a sunlight lamp and try it for yourself.

Do you use a full-spectrum sunlight lamp? For SAD disorder or just as a nice desk lamp? Feel free to share your comments about how you like it.

P.S. Replacement bulbs for the Sunlight lamp are sold on the product page or pick one up at your local Walmart.


Or find one on eBay:

~ Susan Deppner




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, September 14, 2015

Two Things that are Missing from Everyone's Computer Room




Now I'm sure you are already laughing at the title of this Little Review!  But I must say, that if you love your family, there are two things that you will immediately add to that room where everyone gathers to check out their emails, Facebook postings, Google + pages and anything and everything else that you could possibly do on the computer.

Have you come up with what those two things are, yet?  Don't worry if you haven't because I'm sure there are lots and lots of people who are scratching their heads right now and  that will never think of these two things.

Now let me assure you, that they are not the regular things you might think of like, monitors or printers, paper and other computer related items, as a matter of fact, these are not really computer related at all, at least not directly.




Let me give you a little information that might help you decipher what I am talking about:

Most Americans and Canadians, are found to live a lifestyle that is far too sedentary.  The minimum of 20 minutes of exercise daily, is not being met by the majority of people over 40.  And that is 20 minutes of accumulated exercise.  Every time you exercise for 5 minutes or more, you add it to the next 5 minutes of exercise until you come to the 20 minute level.


That doesn't sound too strenuous for anyone, yet we don't do that little bit.  Why?

Well it seems that  the biggest problem is people come home from work, and sit down at the computer to do just a few "things" and before they know it 3 hours have been whittled out of your life, and it's time for bed.

Now, if you had these two things in your computer room, you would never get that far behind in your minimum requirements of exercise per day.

The first item needed, is a Kitchen Timer, and in this case we are going to re-purpose that Kitchen Timer to be our Computer Time Timer.

Oggi Countdown Stainless Steel 60-Minute Kitchen Timer

 Once you are at the computer, set the Timer to 55 minutes (or 50 minutes for those who are more active already).  Don't cheat, just do it!

Now when that timer goes off, you need that second piece of equipment in your Computer Room. That equipment is a Stationary Bike.  So the Timer has gone off, it's time to get out of your chair and get on the Stationary Bike.  It won't help if you just look at it, you have to get on it!
Sunny Health&Fitness SF-B901 Pro Indoor Cycling Bike

Now if you are really smart and I'm sure that you are, you can load up all those You Tube Videos that you have wanted to watch and let them roll!  You are on your bike, pedalling your way to a healthier lifestyle and still doing what you like to do on the computer.   This is the best WIN-WIN situation, ever!  If you are not into watching You Tube, you can put a movie into your CD ROM and catch up on a movie in the 5 or 10 minutes that you have set the timer for.



In 5 or 10 minutes you can get off the bike and resume your position in front of the computer again and continue your blogging or catching up with your friends on Face Book or just searching for whatever floats your boat!.

Two pieces of equipment for your computer room that will cost less than a yearly gym membership, and help you to become healthier, less sedentary and maybe even lose a pound or two in the process.
Can you think of a better way to do all of that?  

If you can, let me know and maybe I'll try it your way.  In the meantime, think about it and then do it!  Your body will thank you!








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, March 13, 2015

Ativa Cross-Cut Shredder Review



Over the years, I have owned several different paper shredders for our home use.  In our world where identity theft is a very real concern, it is wise to purchase and use a cross-cut shredder for old bank statements, old credit card statements and applications, old tax returns and oft times, even unsolicited mail offering new credit cards.  These types of documents should not simply be thrown in the trash bin for someone else to happen upon and use to steal your identity or to apply for credit in your name.   And, we certainly do not want to have to hoard every piece of paper with our personal information just to protect ourselves.

As I preciously stated, I have owned several paper shredders over the last 15 years or so.  None of them last forever.  

In fact, we have to replace our shredders every few years.  I consider myself fortunate if I get one that lasts for 3-4 years.  That is both good and bad.   It is bad because I hate having to replace any equipment or household appliance because it stops working.  It is good because each time I have to buy a new shredder, I purchase an improved version.


The Ativa Cross-Cut Paper Shredder

I recently purchased the Ativa 12 Sheet Cross-Cut Shredder, model #12CC01 and I have been pretty pleased with it.  In the past, my home shredders would only shred a few pages at a time.  This new shredder will truly shred 12 sheets at a time without jamming up.  That is a definite improvement!

I also like the lockable wheels on this shredder.  They allow me to move the shredder to a different room or pull it right up next to the file cabinet.  When I have finished shredding the papers, I simply roll it back into it place next to the wall.


Benefits of the Ativa Cross-Cut Paper Shredder

  • Shreds up to 12 sheets at a time
  • Shreds Credit Cards
  • Waste Basket with Full Indicator Light
  • Lightweight Basket ~ Pulls out / Removable / Easy to Empty
  • Eats through Staples
  • Cross-cut for Shorter Strips
  • Reverse Mode on Power Switch in case of Jams
  • Automatically Shuts off when Overheated
  • On Lockable Wheels
  • Dimensions:  18.9" x 9.5" x 13.6"

If you are bulk shredding, the waste basket does require being emptied frequently.  I should also note that this shredder does not shred cd's, but otherwise is a great little home paper shredder.


Lubricant Sheets for the Ativa Shredder


You will need to properly maintain your Ativa Shredder by periodically using a lubricant sheet.  If you plan to bulk shred, you will need to run a lubricant sheet through the shredder every 30 minutes or so.  The lubricant sheets are very easy to use.  You simply put them through the shredder like you would a regular piece of paper.  There are arrows on the lubricant sheet showing the direction in which to insert the sheet.   Extremely fast and easy!  No Mess!

http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/778012/Ativa-Shredder-Lubricant-Sheets-Pack-Of/




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 8, 2015

Review of The Best PC to PC Transfer Device

PC to Pc Transfer Device
I can't say enough good things about this PC to PC data transfer device! We've had this Tornado Data Transfer Tool for years and years: I'm trying to remember what year my husband bought it...maybe 2005 or 2006?

Of course since then we've had to transfer data numerous times from an old PC to a new PC and it's still as easy to use now as it was then!
I Was Really Mad that My Husband Bought Yet Another Gadget!
Well let's hope he never reads this page, 'cause he was right about this gadget...well worth the money and not expensive! To be fair, he knows he was right about this one already; I've admitted it to him! Big girls don't cry? lol.
The thing sat in it's package for a few years before I actually took it out to use it! My first thoughts on new devices are usually how they're going to suck hours out of my day trying to learn and configure them...you get the picture! Well, well, well, it turns out it's as simple as 1,2,3!
  1. Plug the USB in One Computer
  2. Plug the Other USB end in the Other Computer
  3. Open up the Tornado on both computers, read the screen and drag and drop to transfer
Seriously, it's that easy! On both computers, the screen says 'This Computer' and 'The Other Computer' so you can easily know which files are on which!
Again, at that point, just drag and drop the files you want to transfer.
My Most Recent Computer Crisis - and How I Used It
Yep, I was having computer troubles...pulling my hair out and thinking about wine! Anyway, I quickly pulled out this device to transfer all the data to another laptop - (I have too much info for Cloud Storage...maybe eventually I'll go down that road).In no time flat, all my data was protected. Today I transferred all my data back to a new laptop. Again, fast and painless!
Best Part, I've never had the pain-in-the-rear compatibility problem that can sometimes happen when you get a new laptop; The Tornado has worked on every version of windows that we've used, without a hitch - currently 8.1 - Not only that, I was able to transfer even if one computer had one version of windows and the other was different. So hubby was right to get this device years ago! shhh.
Other Ways to Transfer Data
Of course there are many other ways to back-up and transfer data: Windows Easy Transfer, Cloud Computing, Other Software Programs, Wireless Transfer between devices if you're set up for that, or Using an External Hard Drive. I've tried 'Windows Easy Transfer' and for me it wasn't that easy! I prefer this device. Also, for those who have been thinking about using a Cloud Based Storage System but don't really understand the concept, here's a very basic and easy to understand explanation on Cloud Computing.
Here you can watch The Tornado File Transfer Tool in action: 

Although this video goes back to 2007 (ish), you'll still get to see how easy this is to use! And Best of all, how to use it hasn't changed despite the constant changes in technology since then!



By Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Funkthishouse.com


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Scanning Old Photos with the Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II

Turn your old photos into digital files. Learn how in this review of the Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II color image scanner.

Have a box of old photographs, negatives, or 35mm slides? Turn your old photos into digital files. Learn how in this review of the Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II color image scanner.

Do you have an old box of photographs and negatives hiding in a dark corner of your closet? Do you find 35 mm slides during your wanderings through the flea market? Wondering what you can do with that old photographic film in this electronic age?

Turn photos, negatives, and slides into digital files


Photography has been a hobby for me since the mid-1970s. Over the decades, my hobby has filled a box with 35 mm slides, negatives, and photos. When I decided it was time to make some money from my photos, I needed a color image scanner to turn those photographs into digital files.

After doing some shopping, I narrowed my choices to the Canon CanoScan 9000F MKII and the Epson Perfection V600 based on these requirements:
Buy the Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II color image scanner on Amazon.com
Buy the Canon CanoScan 9000F MKII
on Amazon.com
  • Low price. I didn't have a lot of money to spend and couldn't afford a top-of-the-line professional scanner. Both of these scanners are priced below $200.
  • High resolution. Many of the products available through the print-on-demand services such as Zazzle or CafePress are large. The Canon scans film at a maximum resolution of 9600 x 9600 dpi and the Epson at a maximum resolution of 6400 x 9600 dpi.
  • Scan multiple formats. The Canon and the Epson digitize slides, negatives, photo prints, and printed documents. Files can be saved in JPG, TIFF, PNG, and PDF formats.

Digitize images with the Canon CanoScan 9000F MKII


The Canon CanoScan has more than met my expectations. The setup was simple and the software drivers installed without a problem. Here are some of the features that I really enjoy about this image scanner:
  • It is simple to scan multi-page documents and convert those pages into a single PDF file.
  • The film guides hold slides and negatives securely.
  • The protective cover is easy to remove for slide and negative scanning.
  • The included software reduces image editing with automatic image enhancement features.

Enhance photos with the My Image Garden software


The Canon CanoScan includes My Image Garden software for scanning, enhancing, and organizing photographs. I'm not usually a fan of the software that comes with many electronic devices, but the My Image Garden software has saved me a lot of time. I especially enjoy using the ScanGear utility to scan slides and to correct imperfections.

Here's an example showing the settings for a 35 mm slide and a preview of the image.

The Canon CanoScan comes with ScanGear to scan an enhance photos

The ScanGear image scanning utility gives complete control over images. As different resolutions and different levels of image correction are selected, the utility shows the output file size. Here are other ways to use this scanning software:
  • Remove dust spots. Images files from slides and negatives that are old, have been  handled over the years, and are dusty can be difficult to clean up. I estimate the ScanGear utility removes 95% of the dust spots from my scanned slides and negatives.
  • Fix over-exposed photos. It's heartbreaking when a well-framed shot is ruined from a bad exposure. Adjust the backlight and exposure options while watching the changes in the preview window.
  • Adjust the color. Sometimes the color in the photo isn't as vibrant as the memory because slides and negatives fade over time. Increase the color saturation, brightness, or contrast and see the adjustments in the preview window.

Preserve photos and documents with the Canon CanoScan


The Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II scan 35 mm slides easily. Buy it on Amazon.com
Scanning a variety of documents is made quick and simple with the Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II color image scanner. The scanner comes with guides for 120 format film, 35 mm slides, and 35 mm negatives. It also operates as a flatbed scanner and turns pages as large as 8-1/2" x 11" into PDF files.

I give this scanner 4.5 of 5 stars for ease of use, high quality scans, and image editing abilities.

If you have a large number of photos, slides, negatives, and other documents that you want to turn into digital files, I highly recommend the Canon CanoScan 9000F Mark II color image scanner.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, January 16, 2015

Satechi SD Mini Portable Speaker & SD Card Player Review

I recently discovered the most amazing little electronic gadget and I simply had to share my review of the Satechi SD Mini Speaker, SD Card Player.

I like to listen to music when I am working on or offline, but I have found that if I listen to music on my computer while I am also working on my computer, the processing will slow.  I normally have multiple programs, sites and windows open all at the same time.  I decided I needed a separate music player that I would have close at hand so I could switch it on or off quickly when the phone rings.

I considered several options, including ipods and cd players, but I really wanted something less expensive and smaller.  That is when I remembered the sd cards!  

A little over a year ago, I got a new car stereo that has an sd card player.  I was clueless about how that worked initially, but thought it was a cool idea.  I downloaded several of my cds onto an sd card, inserted it into the stereo and was thrilled with how much music I could load onto one small sd card to listen to in my car.  Therefore, when I remembered the little sd cards in my car, I went in search of a small sd card player and viola', I found the Satechi SD Mini Speaker and Player.


Satechi SD Mini Portable Pocket Speaker 


Satechi SD Mini Speaker Available on Amazon.com
This absolutely has to be the coolest thing I have discovered in a long time!   Since the Satechi SD Mini Portable Speaker / SD Card Player is only about 3" tall and a bit over 2" wide, it really is very small and easily sits on my laptop table without taking up much room at all.
 
Transferring my cds onto an sd card takes less than a minute, so I quickly have music available to play.  This little speaker is amazingly loud too.  I often have to turn it down since I am sitting so close to it, but I love being able to turn it up and still hear it when I need to work away from the computer for a while.

You can also close the little speaker and poke it into your pocket if you want to carry it to your car or just to another room.  It is very compact.  I would say it is slightly bigger than a golf ball when closed.   


How to Charge the Satechi SD Mini Portable Speaker


No batteries are required for this mini SD player / speaker.  You simply charge the speaker by plugging it into your computer with the USB charging cable that is included with the speaker.  There is a flashing light indicator that lets you know when your speaker is fully charged.

Once charged, it will play for 5 or 6 hours without being recharged.





 

Use the Satechi SD Mini Portable Speaker as a Computer Speaker


I was recently watching Moonstruck on my laptop via Netflix and found that the volume was so low that I was having trouble hearing it.  

I plugged in my Satechi Mini Portable Speaker and had instant volume.  It was really fabulous to be able to hear all of the dialog the first time!  Since the speaker has a volume control, I was able to set my own comfort level for listening.

You can also plug the mini speaker into some iPhones, iPods, a Blackberry, etc. to enhance their volume via the same plug used for a laptop computer.

Now, I use my Mini speaker to hear every movie I play on my laptop.  Most excellent! 



Transferring Your Music to an SD Card

It is not hard at all to transfer music to an sd card. 

This young man shows us step by step how to easily transfer music from our computers to an sd card. 








Satechi SD Mini Portable Speakers as Gifts


My mini player / speaker was so popular with our guests over the holidays, that I purchased 5 additional units to give as birthday gifts this year.  As soon as they came in, my husband was like a little kid.  He didn't want to wait for his birthday in June.  He wanted his now!  

Yes, I let him have his gift early.  Now, we have dueling speakers in the house.   




Accessories for the Satechi Sd Mini Portable Speaker


The speaker comes with a small tote bag and the USB charging cable.   You will need to purchase your SD cards separately.  Plus, I found that I needed a case for my SD cards.  I put that on my own Christmas wishlist and my parents were kind enough to give me my little sd card holder.  It is a great way to keep all of your sd cards in one place for easy selection.

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.