Showing posts with label home decorating. Show all posts
Showing posts with label home decorating. Show all posts

Thursday, March 21, 2019

DIY Pallet Book Nook - Part One

Pallet Wood Feature Wall and Window Seat
When I purchased my current country home, many of the features that most appealed to me were the quirky, whimsical touches that made it so unlike all of the other cookie-cutter properties.  After moving in, though, I discovered a few things that were just a little too different for my taste.  Still, in renovating those oddities, I wanted to remain true to what had drawn me to this house in the first place: the use of character wood (weathered wood that captures your imagination).

In today's post, I am sharing part one of a two-part series focused on creating a DIY pallet book nook from a previously unused space in my upstairs bedroom.  We will start with the woodworking elements of the project and then finish with handcrafted decorating touches (a homemade cushion, pillows, rug, and other decor to cozy up the space).

Because I have poured so much of myself into my master bedroom renovations, it has become my favorite room in the entire house.  One last improvement remained to make this space visually and functionally cohesive.  There was a funky "hallway" in the room that housed my exercise bike (because it didn't lend itself to much else).  The thing that really bugged me about that long, narrow space was a weird, uneven application of drywall.  I couldn't knock that wall down because it housed my closet and was most likely structural (helping support the roof).  And, hanging, mudding, texturizing, and painting new sheetrock just wasn't on my bucket list.  Been there, done that.  Not my idea of a good time.  So, what to do?

Funky Drywall Before Renovation
Recycled pallets are the answer to most of the truly pressing needs in my world.  Seriously.  Pallet wood can right most wrongs.  It just requires a little—well, okay, a lot—of elbow grease.  I'm good with that.  The finished product has always proven worth it.  We'll just skip over the less than scintillating details of finding, hauling, deconstructing (pulling a massive number of ornery nails), and refinishing (cutting, sizing, planing, and sanding) a tall pile of pallets.  On to step eight.

Tape Marks Studs Where Planks Will Be Nailed
With the feature wall pallet planks ready for installation, I prepped the wall by finding and marking the studs.

Leveling Wall Sections With Lath
Next, I applied thin strips of wood lath to level the two sections of drywall, which will provide a more solid backing when nailing in the pallet planks.  The wainscoting pictured above consists of three framed pieces of corrugated metal topped by a chair rail.  It provides a nice contrasting texture, as well as adding a reflective surface to lighten up the space.

Oh the Tales This Wall Could Tell
When I nailed in the rows of pallet wood, I decided to alternate different widths and colors.  I left all of the wood in its natural state, as the original saw blade marks, nail holes, knots, and checking is what adds personality.  As I started working on this step, I got the inspiration to separate rows of planks with horizontally placed strips of recycled lath removed from inside the plaster walls of an old ranch house.  The definition of the chiseled edges of lath created an effect similar to the chinking seen between bricks.  Really, though, it is the history of that lath, and the story it tells, that adds so much value and interest to the feature wall.

Rustic Pallet Window Seat 
No book nook would be complete without a window seat.  Again, I used rustic pallet parts, purposely choosing planks with nail streaks, and then trimming the bench with pallet skids.  Where there was fresh wood from making the cuts, I applied chalkboard spray paint, and then sanded off most of it to blend the color with that of the naturally weathered surfaces.

Books Feed and Seed the Mind
Above the window, I created a decorative king post truss trim that matches the actual support truss on the front of my house.  I like the way it ties everything together.  While working on this truss, I happened to find the metal  Feed & Seed sign at Tractor Supply Co.  It seemed like the perfect message for my new space, as books certainly do feed and seed our minds.  When I got home with the sign, I was amazed that it fit exactly in place between the truss and the window.  That never happens.  I knew then that it was meant to be.

My Nook is Ready for Accessorizing
With the construction work done, I am now in the process of accessorizing my new nook.  I have selected fabrics and will soon start sewing the window seat cushion and pillows.  Stay tuned for part two of this DIY series when I post the final reveal.  So, what do you think?  Could you see yourself curled up with a book in this sunny space?













Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, February 10, 2019

The Basic Rules for Choosing Colors to Decorate Your Space

How to Choose Colors for Your Space: 1. Mood, 2. Temperature, 3. Harmonies
Looking at a room and making choices can be overwhelming. No need to fret, just keep these three basics in mind as you tackle your project: Mood, Temperature, Harmonies

1. Mood

In a previous home decor article we discussed how choosing the mood for your room was the first essential step to starting a decorating project.

Once you've established the mood, be it light and airy or warm and cozy, you need to then determine the color scheme for your space.

2. Temperature

Warm Color Choices for Home Décor

Red, yellow and orange, and variations of them, are considered warm colors.

If your goal is to create a space that feels like being wrapped in a blanket, safeness and security, then dominate your space with warm colors.

Where we live also determines our approach to decorating. Standard logic applies: Colder climates lean towards warmer decorating themes and warmer climates attract cooler décor themes. However, don't be guided by that, do what you like.

Cool Color Choices for Home Décor

Blue, greens and light purples fall into the cool color category. Cool colors remind us of water and the sky. Depending upon how you mix and match colors they can also reflect the feeling of ice and snow.

Think about nautical themes where multiple shades of blue are used, and you'll get a good idea of what cool energy is suppose to feel like.

3. Harmonies - Use the 60-30-10 Rule

Decorate using the 60-30-10 rule. It's an easy to understand basic rule outlining percentage of color use.

60 Percent: The main color occupies 60 percent of the space. Use this color for larger areas such as furniture, walls and flooring.

30 Percent: The secondary color choice would consume 30 percent of the décor in the space. Logically you would use the next obvious items to feature this color. Items to consider in this shade would be drapes, smaller furniture pieces, bedding and even an accent wall.

10 Percent: The third color choice would be used for smaller accessories such as throw blankets, pillows, lamps and wall art.

How to Put it All Together - Choosing the Actual Colors

1. You've selected the mood. Check.
2. You've decided upon the temperature. Check.
3. Now you need your 60-30-10 color scheme

BUT...

You're not sure how to choose the actual colors for the 60-30-10 rule.

Last week we discussed Pantone's color of the year for 2019. In that article three color schemes were outlined, however there are several more to consider.

Here's a brief summary of color harmonies:

1. Triadic Color Scheme - Three colors evenly spaced on the color wheel
2. Square Color Scheme - Four colors evenly spaced on the color wheel
3. Complementary Colors - Colors directly opposite each other on the color wheel
4. Analogous Color Scheme - Colors that are adjacent to each other on the color wheel
5. Monochromatic Color Scheme - Involves all the shades in one particular color
6. Achromatic Color Scheme - Unsaturated or near neutral colors such black, browns, greys or any hue or lightness

Here's a sample of a color wheel so you can see quadrants and opposites at a glance. 




A Personal Choice Video from Wayfair that Explains 60-30-10 and Color Schemes

If you learn best by watching videos, this one is easy to understand. Before tackling your next decorating project, start by watching this:


Here's to your decorating freedom, have fun :)


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 20, 2019

5 Hacks to Make Your Bedroom Look Expensive Without Spending a Fortune

5 Hacks to Make Your Bedroom Look Expensive
Getting Our Homes to Look Anything like the Designs we See on TV or Pinterest Can be Frustrating!

Don't sweat it. Your home should reflect your taste. For most of us it not only reflects our taste, but unfortunately our budget as well.

For us average souls, the budget usually prevents us from spending obscene amounts of money on our décor.

The thing is, with a little creative thinking you can dress up your bedroom without spending oodles of cash. 

Here are 5 Basic Suggestions to Help You Achieve an Expensive Look in Your Bedroom Without Spending a Fortune

1.  Floor to Ceiling Drapes

Even if your bedroom has small windows, bring the curtain rod to one inch below the ceiling and feature long drapes that go to the floor. With floor to ceiling drapes, when your drapes are closed your room will appear large and elegant.

You can also put up drapes wider than the window. In fact, you can put them wall to wall no matter the size of the window.

2. Place a Chair in the Room

Don't use a chair from a table set. Place a chair in the room that has a bit of substance. Something that adds elegant bulk to the space, and something with cloth material. A few examples are featured below. Scroll to view all of them.


3. Add A Thick Luxurious Blanket or Comforter Folded at the End of the Bed

This is a trick I do in my home. Adding a decorative blanket at the end of a bed gives you the opportunity to increase the room's texture, color and style. Depending upon the design of your room, use the blanket to make a statement based on what the space needs.
  1. Does it need more bulk? If so, add a thick soft comforter folded at the end of the bed to give the room that warm lush look.
  2. Does it need more color? If so, add a blanket with a pop of color at the end of the bed.
  3. Does it need a slimmer leaner look? Then add a thin blanket at the end of the bed
The secret to adding blankets to the end of the bed is to have them reach over the sides of the bed by about a foot or so on each side. Don't let it go to the floor though. If you place a blanket that doesn't drape over the side, it looks like an after thought.

Also, make sure it's folded nicely. A blanket in a messy heap loses it's impact and intent. Pull it tight to get all the wrinkles out.

Before you go out and purchase a new 'end-of-the-bed blanket', check your linen closet. You might have something stored away that will work.

4. Upgrade Your Lamp Shades

Plain old lamp shades can drag down a room. Take a look around your space and if the room lacks color, texture or patterns, then lamp shades are the ideal place to add these elements.

However, to keep the room classy don't go for lamp shades that have tassels or pompoms. Keep them conservative in style but interesting in design or texture.

Below are some example lamp shades to help spurn your creativity. Scroll through to view them all.
5. Change the Hardware on Your Dressers

If your furniture needs a pick-me-up, change the hardware.

Add elegant interesting handles on your end tables and dressers. With aged and tired furniture, let the hardware do the talking. Draw the eye to the new fixtures by using a metal that pops rather than blends.

If these five tips are not option, check out this article on how to decorate a bedroom without any money....


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 13, 2019

Add Love in Your Home Decor for Valentine's Day

Love Themed Home Décor Items
Love Décor for the Entire Year

Most of us rarely think about adding home décor that relates to a love theme. It's a beautiful way to honor our families and each other.

Here are some ideas for you:

1. Add a Heart Themed Rug to a Room

The nice thing about a heart themed rug is that it works no matter what time of year it is. If you have someone celebrating a birthday in February, it makes a terrific original gift. You'll notice there are many styles and colors in heart rugs to choose from. One of my personal faves is the pompom heart rug for a child's room. Be sure to check them out, you can find them here.

2. Add a Love Themed Wall Decal to a Room

There are countless wall decals that speak about family and love. A famous quote we've heard over and over is "All Because Two People Fell in Love". Add this quote to any room in the home, including a child's room. In fact, if someone you know is having a baby, this wall decal makes an excellent gift. You can find several featured here.

3.  Redecorate a Room with a Love Themed Bedding Set

With spring coming up, you may be feeling the itch to redecorate. If so, why not create a room that's all about love.

It can be a child's room, a guest room, or the master bedroom. Love themed bedding will stand the test of time. If you're not into changing your existing comforter, put a new duvet over it. That way when you tire of the love themed bedding, you can remove the duvet and get your room back to it's original state.

A guest room or child's room is an ideal place to go to town with a love theme. In fact you can incorporate the rug and wall decal suggestions featured here to complete the look. Check out a few lovely bedding sets here.

4. Put a Kindred Hearts Light Box in a Room

These are great! They serve a double purpose, ambient lighting and inspiration.

It's a decorative box that lights up. However, the best part is you can collect pre-made quotes and art to insert inside the box.

Collect a bunch of them and change them up for every holiday or special occasion. There are countless inserts to collect: birthdays, holidays, inspirational quotes, valentines day, Easter, Christmas, fun, jokes, patriotic holidays and more.

The inserts make an excellent small gift to bring to someone who you know has the light box already. Keep adding to their collection. Place one of these light boxes in your love themed bedroom and feature a quote about love.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 25, 2018

Blue Home Decor - One Stop Shopping by Color

Blue Home Décor Items by Funkthishouse.com
A Place Where You Can One-Stop Shop for Blue Home Décor Items

I've been working to reduce shopping time for those shopping by color for major home décor items.

We all know that shopping on the internet can suck hours out of the day.

However, the convenience of online shopping is unmatched. 

One can argue that the time it takes to find what we want isn't any different than heading to the mall. In fact, it might be worse. 

Read below on how you can save yourself time finding blue décor items for your home.

Today's Home Décor Color is Blue

When visiting 'Blue Home Décor Items by Funkthishouse', notice that the major items for decorating a room have been broken down into 9 categories:
  • Blue Bedding Sets
  • Blue Couches
  • Blue Nursery Décor
  • Blue Area Rugs
  • Blue Chairs
  • Blue Drapes
  • Blue Side Tables
  • Blue Artwork
  • Blue Lamps
When on the page, scroll down part way then click the main photos in the box. The products featured in each category will drop down for you to see. You won't be taken off the page to view the products, prices, and stores they can be found in.

The Blue Home Décor Items Featured are from Multiple Major Retailers

You'll see items featured from multiple stores: Macys, Walmart, Wayfair, Target, Kohls, Zulily and many more

Once you click the actual product, you'll be taken to the respective store that's offering it. Sale prices will also be indicated. You can request a 'sale alert' for any item not on sale.

Even better, these blue home décor items are always changing. On occasion I switch out the products and add new ones. Check back from time to time to find additional blue home décor items.

The Blue Home Décor Items Are Personally Selected

If you're wondering how all of these blue home décor items are compiled and featured, I personally select them. My product hunting is designed to save you time.

Of course, I can't guarantee you'll find the blue home décor item you need or want, but if you start on this page, you'll save some time.

What's Next For One Stop Shopping By Color at Funkthishouse

'Shop by Color' will be created for each of the main colors. Be sure to check back as these Colorful Home Décor pages will be available in the near future: Purple, Red, Pink, Yellow, Green, and Orange.

Funkthishouse on Pinterest

1) The main Funkthishouse Pinterest account is here. You'll find many home décor and other items featured. Traffic is climbing nicely with over 700,000 views monthly and I'm sharing numerous other home décor tips, products and ideas. Be sure to follow and check it out.

2) The newest Pinterest account is a 'Shop by Color' design. Boards feature home décor by blue, purple, red, pink, orange, yellow, green, black and white. Go here to follow.

Happy Blue Shopping!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, August 12, 2018

How to Get Your Bed to Look Like a Professional Decorator Made It

Photo Design by Funkthishouse.com
photos via Pixabay
The problem for most of us is that our bedding lacks style, quality and most probably, fluffiness!

If we're being honest, we tend to keep our Comforter/Duvet Sets for much too long without changing them. When we're stuck with the same bedding, we're stuck with the same drab look.

Beyond the bedding color, pattern and design, there are certain items that can give your bedroom a pick-me-up.

Below are a list of basic items or variations of them that you'll need in order for your bed to look like a high priced decorator assembled it.

Duvets Versus Comforters - Which One is Better?

With a Duvet, you buy the fluffy insert separately and it's the quality fluffiness that gives your bed it's professional look. The benefit of buying an insert separately is that you can choose one that's long lasting and of higher quality: The higher the quality the longer it will stay fluffy.

Since it's an insert, you can change the actual duvet cover, and thus the look of your room, anytime you want.

Next you'll want duvet clips to secure the Insert to the Cover so it's free of lumps, bumps and wrinkles.

Comforters are all-in-ones, in that the comforter and insert are one piece thus eliminating the need to buy an insert or duvet clips. Also, they usually come with pillowcases, a comforter, a bed skirt and sometimes bed sheets.

However, the downside to a comforter is that if the quality is lower (and many times they can be), it will lose it's fluffiness and start to look flat on the bed (like a bed sheet does).
Here's an 8 Piece COMFORTER Set (Not a Duvet Set) Rochelle Pinched Pleat Gray Comforter Set QueenHere's an 8 Piece COMFORTER Set (Not a Duvet Set) Rochelle Pinched Pleat Gray Comforter Set Queen
A flat comforter will take away from that professional look you're going for, unless of course you're aiming for a simple almost Japanese look to your room.

Pillows Finish the Bed's Look:

Have you noticed that a bed with a duvet or comforter looks decoratively unfinished with only two pillows on the bed? Especially on a king size bed.

To give a bed that professional decorator look, you'll want to have at least four standard or king size pillows, and then finish the pillow-look with a few decorator pillows.

Bolsters also work. They're a long oval pillow you can use against the bed frame or the wall for the other pillows to lean against.

They do exactly what their name says, 'they bolster' the pillows in front so you have a fuller look of pillows on the bed. If you don't have a bed frame, they're also a way to get pillows off the wall. However, even if I have a bolster, and I do, I still use 4 pillows.

Make sure the pillows are fluffy as well. Flat, over-used pillows will make the bed look drab. So if your pillows aren't fluffy and you can't go out and buy more, put two old pillows, or even three old pillows inside one pillowcase. I've done this several times and it works well.

I've overstuffed the pillowcases at the back, and put two new fluffy pillows at the front. That way I only had to buy two new pillows instead of four, saving a bit of cash while still maintaining that fluffy full look.

Pillowcases, Don't be Afraid to Mix and Match:
With pillowcases you can go two ways. 
Either they can exactly match the duvet or they can be complimentary in pattern and color to the duvet. 
If you have a lot of extra pillow cases, you may already have some that are complimentary with your new duvet thus saving you the expense of having to purchase extra pillowcases. 

Bed Skirts for Duvet and Comforter Sets:
Some people like bed skirts, and some don't. 

My mom isn't a fan of bed skirts, so rather than a duvet or comforter, her bed has a bedspread. A bedspread goes right to the floor to hide the box spring, thus removing the need for a bed skirt. 

However, if you don't like to see any part of the box spring when the bed is unmade, then even with a comforter, you'll want a bed skirt.

Bed Sheets - They Don't Have to Match the Duvet or Comforter
This is misunderstood by many bed makers.

If you already own bedsheets that are complimentary to the duvet/comforter set you purchased, then use them!

That way you can focus on buying the most important elements to making your bed look professional: A high quality duvet insert, duvet clips and at least four pillows, decorator cushions and a bed skirt if you don't already have one.

Use an existing bed skirt if you have one that's complimentary! Again, it doesn't have to match exactly.

Pull it All Together:
  1. You have your fluffy bedding - either a comforter set or a duvet set with a quality insert and duvet clips
  2. You've got a bed skirt to hide the box spring
  3. You've got at least four standard (or King) pillows and a couple of decorative pillows.

However, Making the Bed is Where it Will Get that Final Professional Look:
  1. Fold down the top part of the duvet so the reverse side is showing by about six to twelve inches. You can even fold it down a couple of feet if you have a lot of pillows and you want some of the bed sheets exposed because of their design and quality. However, the standard fold down of the top portion of the duvet/comforter is about one foot.
  2. Pull the wrinkles out of the comforter/duvet
  3. Make sure the comforter/duvet is even all the way around
  4. Details matter, don't let the bed sheets hang past the duvet cover/comforter on the sides or ends. If they're too long, tuck them in

There you have it! Think fluffy and you'll nail it.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, July 29, 2018

Egyptian Cotton Sheets Really Are THAT Awesome!

Photo by Funkthishouse.com - A Personal Review
100% Egyptian Cotton Sheets are Incredible to Sleep In

I've never been one to fuss about the quality of our bed sheets. If the sheet set was on sale, then it likely made it's way into our home.

However this past weekend my mother gifted me a set of 100% Egyptian Cotton Sheets and my husband and I are shocked at how amazingly comfortable they are.

The thread count on these sheets is quite high: If I had to guess I'd say approaching 1000tc.

If you've ever stayed in a quality hotel with those Hotel Bed Sheets, these sheets fall into the same category.

Mom purchased the sheets a few years ago, but because she didn't like the way they wrinkled after washing, she never used them. In fact, she had them dry cleaned and kept them hanging in her closet unused.

When I arrived home from my visit with Mom, I washed and dried the sheets, and yes they did wrinkle, but once on the bed, they were fine.

The wrinkles really don't bother me. Of course I googled how to get the wrinkles out, but have no intention of doing any of the suggestions. For my taste, they really don't wrinkle enough to worry about it.

Crisp and Cozy

That's how I'd describe these sheets. In my opinion they're worth every penny. 
Thread Spread True Luxury 100% Egyptian Cotton 1000 Thread Count 4 Piece Sheet Set Dark Grey QueenThread Spread True Luxury 100% Egyptian Cotton 1000 Thread Count 4 Piece Sheet Set Dark Grey Queen, King, & California King
The crisp feeling of the sheets make you want to stay in bed and never get out. Even my husband who could care less about bed sheets has been going on about how comfortable they are.

Apparently the sheets will get softer as they go through additional wash and dry cycles. However, I prefer their new and 'crisp' feeling on my skin. 

If you want to soften them quicker, you can always try these suggested tips from WikiHow.

Flannel and Jersey Bed Sheets - Also Awesome

Although we're not terribly fussy about our sheets (until the Egyptian Cotton Sheets!), we have always liked Flannel Sheets and Jersey Sheets for the winter months. 

There's nothing more comfy cozy than crawling into a bed with flannel sheets on a cold winters night.

Jersey sheets are similar to flannel, just a little thinner. Their bonus feature is how the fitted sheet easily stretches over the mattress ends. If you've never tried jersey sheets, you should, they're pretty awesome, and not that expensive.

So in summary, all the hype you've heard about 1000 Thread Count Egyptian Sheets, in my opinion, is justified; total comfort!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, May 20, 2018

How to Use Color on the Walls or Ceiling in an Open Concept Room

Notice the Kitchen Ceiling is in the Same Color Family as the Walls Outside of the Kitchen Area
They've Provided Continuity by Bringing the Main Room Colors into the Kitchen Design
Photo Via Pixabay
Most newer homes are designed so that the main rooms combine or flow directly into one another. Although popular, it can be a challenge to decide how to create a cohesive color scheme.

Here are Three Tips to Review:

1. Choose Your "Neutral Color" and Use it On All the Rooms that Open to Each Other

A neutral color doesn't have to be white, beige, gray or tan. When we think about a neutral color, we tend to think 'light' colors, however, your neutral color can also be a bold color.

The main tip in choosing your base color is to use it on all the rooms that flow together in an open area.

Once you've established your base neutral, you're free to create separations in the space using elements or furnishings in the room.

As an example, if a living room opens up to the kitchen, establish your base color for the walls in both rooms then define the spaces using color in other décor aspects. The couches could be lighter and more neutral with darker walls, while the counter tops could be darker if the kitchen cupboards are lighter.

Once you establish a base color for the walls and floors, the rest of the room becomes an effort in matching and binding the elements together.

Notice the Wall Color Between the Two Spaces is the Same
Check out the Ceilings - Because of the Dividing White Beam, a Different Ceiling color Works
Photo Via Pixabay
2. If You Prefer Different Wall Colors in Each of the Defined Spaces that are Open to Each Other Choose Colors in the Same Color Family or Color Temperature

If choosing just one color flowing between your open space rooms is simply not to your liking, then consider choosing colors in the same tones.

As an example, choose a darker shade of a particular color for one aspect of the room, and a lighter shade of the same color for the other open area.

Don't forget the ceiling. Rather than going with a standard white ceiling, depending upon the design of your room, you could use an even lighter shade of your chosen color for the ceiling.
As an example, in a living room kitchen combined space, you could use a dark grey for the living room walls and two shades down for the kitchen color. For the shared ceiling between the two spaces, bring the grey even lighter, perhaps four shades down from the darkest shade you've selected. With this example, you've stayed in the grey family, yet provided distinctive color differences between the two rooms and tied them together using the ceiling.
With a cohesive floor and ceiling flowing through the space, walls in the same tone but different in shade still work nicely without leaving one feeling overwhelmed.

This Design Opens to Several Rooms
They've used Various Shades in the Same Color Temperature
to Create Cohesiveness and Separation - Photo Via Pixabay
3. When You're Not Sure Whether a Room Flows from One to Another

One of the difficult things people find about an open concept space is, are the rooms in fact, open to each other.

In other words, a room is open to another yet not visible from every angle and thus you're unsure if it's considered a separate space.

The solution to this is 'Sightlines". Stand in a room, and determine what other rooms can be seen when you're in it and repeat this for all rooms. If there's an open connection to another room, then you need to be cognizant of color flow.

If you're standing in a room and the only way you can see another room is through a door, that doesn't count as 'open to the other space'. It doesn't mean you should go hog-wild with color differentials, it merely means you're not obligated to consider the flow as carefully as you would with adjoining rooms.

The bottom line, don't be afraid of color. Take your time to determine how your rooms connect together, then decide what system works best for your open concept spaces; one color connecting all walls or various shades in the same family.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 22, 2018

3 Easy Ways to Cover Wall Imperfections Without Painting

Real or Faux - Brick and Wood Looks
Imperfect walls can be frustrating. We see them, where others may not, and they drive us crazy!

When painting isn't an option, or something you feel like doing, there are several other techniques you can employ to solve your flawed wall issues.

Wall Murals & Decals

Today's wall murals come in many materials; most commonly you'll find vinyl and paper.

You can get full wall coverage with a vinyl wall decal, however, it can be a bit expensive to cover a large wall. In fact, most of the large wall decals approach the five hundred dollar mark. But remember the advantage of a vinyl decal is being able to easily remove it.

If you're renting, vinyl decals are much easier to take down when the rental period is up. Depending upon the quality of vinyl you choose, you may or may not have to repair the paint underneath after removing it. However, higher quality decals tend to be removable without the worry of wall or paint damage.

If you have an overly flawed wall, another tip is to choose a geometric design in either paper or vinyl. The three dimensional look helps to hide any obvious boo-boos that might otherwise peek through a plain or solid design.

Faux Brick Wall Treatments
If a wall has quite a few flaws, wallpaper (not vinyl) may be the wiser choice.

In fact, if the walls have obvious marks or flaws to cover, then a durable wallpaper, like Grass Cloth should be considered.

You can essentially get any pattern, scenery, or design in vinyl or paper, making it possible to create virtually any artistic look you want.

Faux Wall Treatments - Faux Brick, Faux Wood

You don't have to spend a fortune to cover an unattractive wall. Faux vinyl materials exist in various styles including faux brick and wood. Or if you're willing, you can put up actual wood panels. Today's decorating choices essentially give you any design, look or color in faux or real wood.

Creating a feature wall can change the look of a room. A flawed wall gives you the chance to put your inner artist to the test. The wall that was once painful to look at, can be become your home's Picasso.

Getting started is the hardest part. Look around your room and decide what design would look best on your wall; geometric, bricks, or wood ... and then find the look you want in easy to install faux art.

3D Green Fields and Peaceful River Curtains3D Green Fields and Peaceful River Curtains
Use Three Dimensional Drapes to Cover a Flawed Wall

When you're not into painting, and you're not into vinyl decals, and you're absolutely not into wallpaper, but you need to do something to fix that eye-sore, then three dimensional drapes are the way to go. 

You don't need a window to put up drapes!

Put up the drapery rod and add the artistic scenery drapes to cover your wall, floor to ceiling and wall to wall, and you've solved your problem! Easy peasy, lemon squeezy. 

Oh, and the best part, get two or three designs in three dimensional draperies, and switch them up when you get tired of them! Go seasonal in your designs; spring, summer, fall and winter. 

There you have it, three easy ways to fix up your walls without painting; have fun!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 1, 2018

Three Unique Kids Bedroom Decor Ideas - Unconventional, Practical and Fun

Glow in the Dark Area Rugs Here
Something for the Wall, the Floors and the Bed - Unique Items that Serve a Useful Purpose and Add a Decorating Element to the Room

For the Floor - A Glow in the Dark Area Rug

A glow in the dark area rug is a fantastic way to add ambient lighting to a child's room without having to use electricity or batteries.

Depending upon the size you choose, add several glow in the dark rugs to a bedroom. If your child's room is quite large, position the rugs so that they safely lead the way out in the dark, or place them at various ends to provide soothing lighting to the entire space.

You could also place the rug in a hallway near a washroom. Again, it's an evening lighting solution without using electricity. 

For the Walls - A Picket Fence Wall Decal 
Picket Fence Wall Decals Here

Adding color and interest to the walls of child's room helps to finish off the space.

Today there are an endless supply of wall decals to choose from. Decorating unconventionally is much easier these days than it was twenty or so years ago. 

Today there's no need to stencil art on the wall, or have murals painted when you can just buy them, ready made, in the form of vinyl. 

A picket fence wall decals can be featured in a number of ways. Install it all the way around the room, on one wall, or even as a faux headboard for a bed. If the room has a number of corners or alcoves, use wall decal picket fences as a way to create areas of interest, such as a gaming or reading corner.

Zip Up Bedding
For the Bed - Zip-Up Bedding

Zip-Up bedding is perfect for kids who don't like to make their beds.

If you're tired of going into a room with a messy bed, then get the kids zip-up bedding. They're easier on mom or dad, as the kids can easily do their own beds.

Zip bedding is also an option for kids who may fall out of bed or who tend to kick the covers off at night.

Hard to make beds like Bunks or Lofts are an ideal choice for zip up bedding. The top sheet and fitted sheet are joined together making them easy to go on and off as one piece. You never have to worry about tucking sheets in, especially hard-to-get-at sides.

Since zip-up bedding comes in many designs and colors you can use them as the main bedding by just adding some decorative pillows, or put a comforter set over top. You could also fold a lovely comforter at the end of the bed making the designs in the zip-up sheets the main decorative print for the room.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, March 25, 2018

Five Easter Home Decor Ideas

Easter Home Décor Product Items Here - by Funkthishouse.com
Decorating for Easter can be as simple as changing the centerpiece on the table, to a more dramatic change, such as changing out the art on the wall with a seasonal Easter/Spring piece.

Let's review five Easter home décor ideas that are both traditional and unconventional.

1. Be Unconventional and Decorate a Dollhouse for Easter

Heads-up Grandparents, this is for you! Mom and Dad too of course. It's a great idea for parents (Grand and all) who don't have time to decorate the 'real' house for Easter.

Get a dollhouse and decorate it, it gives the kids something to play with and something to decorate.

Place the dollhouse in a central location, perhaps on a table in the foyer, and decorate it with Easter related characters, eggs, fun dollhouse lights, or have the kids make items for it. Get Easter cut-out books for the kids to decorate with, or just make décor items from scratch.

2. Decorate the Table for Easter

Our dining room table or kitchen table sits ready to be used as the focal point for the special occasions yet we tend to avoid using it.

The problem with using a table to decorate is ensuring it's still usable for eating. But hey, no problem, just keep it simple.

Cover your table(s) with an Easter themed tablecloth or Easter placemats and feature a lovely Easter centerpiece.
More Easter Fun by ReviewThis

3. Place Easter Bouquets or Easter Ornaments in the Main Rooms - Add an Easter Wreath

The easiest way to add a touch of Easter, is to include a bouquet or ornament in the room. You don't have to go with a standard flower bouquet (although that's always lovely) ... try an Easter egg tree or a lighted Easter display ornament.

Add an Easter wreath to the front door or add several inside the house. Place one or two in the foyer and of course find a place for one in the living or dining rooms. Again be sure to scroll down and view some examples.

4. Easter Wall Art - Add Fun Creative Pieces to the Wall for Spring

The nice thing about Easter wall art is that it works for both spring and summer. Get a piece or two and put it up in the foyer, living room or dining room for both seasons. You'll have Easter covered and the fun continues through all the warm weather.

5. Easter Pillows and Throw Blankets

The standard décor pieces for a seasonal change are pillows and blankets. They're easy to display and easy to put away. If you have pillow covers, you can just cover your existing pillows. That's a particularly popular way to change out pillows, as pillow liners are easy to store.

Changing your throws and pillows to pastels or soft tones also helps to lighten up a room giving it that fresh, airy appeal.

See the Products Here

Happy Easter :)



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, March 18, 2018

5 Ways to Brighten Up Your Home - Get Ready for Spring and Summer the Easy Way

Brighten Up Your Space - Blonde Wood Flooring Opens Up the Room- Photo Via Pixabay
Where fall and winter had us craving darker, richer tones, spring and summer reverses that and brings out our need for a cleaner, leaner, brighter, fresher environment.

Go From Drab to Fab

When a total renovation is out of the question, you can still try any one of these five simple ideas to lighten and brighten your home:

1. Update Your Light Bulbs

You can acquire light bulbs in various shades. If you haven't tried 'Daylight' bulbs you'll want to give them a go. They emulate natural outdoor lighting and come in a number of styles, such as traditional, candle, spotlight, miniature and more. They're also useful for those who suffer from seasonal affective disorder (SAD).

2. If Your Room is Already Lighter in Shades, Add Some Black or Charcoal Accents

Sounds weird doesn't it? However the darker accents help the lighter aspects to pop and become front and center in the room. Add them in subtle areas, not as major pieces. As example the book spines in a very white cabinet could be black (or darker colors), subtle wood trim in the room could be black or charcoal, as well as a few black picture frames. However the most effective use of this darker shade is in items that are thin or long - chair legs, long arms on lamps, or the pole of a floor lamp.

3. Wall Mount Lamps

These work well in bedrooms above the end table. Choose lamps with a light cheerful lamp shade and a dark base that attaches to the wall. The light lamp shade on a slightly contrasting wall can help encourage that blended feeling a bright room often exhibits. As an example, a coastal blue wall color and lovely large white lamp shade with a black arm and mount can look outstanding.

4. If Draperies Aren't Needed, Skip them, or Use them to Frame the Window

If you live in an private area and can leave your drapes open most of the time, then do that. If you plan on never or rarely ever closing the drapes, then you can either place a light drapery panel on each end, or go ahead and put a full set of drapes, essentially left open. Choose black or charcoal drapes to frame the window ends .... with white trim and black panels on each side, you'll add to that linear look of dark accents explained in point number two.

5. The Most Obvious: Decorate Using White

White reflects light back into the room. It doesn't absorb color. If you want to have the lightest room possible, paint the walls and ceiling white, keep the floors as light as possible and kick it up to another level of brightness by using white accents, lamps and even furnishings. In the case of a bedroom, this is a fairly easy project to tackle; white bedding, white rugs, white dressers, white end tables, and white lamps. Once you've tackled the main areas, then add light pops of color in metallic, gold or chrome.

There you have it, five simple ways to brighten up your home. Scroll to view these white items to add to a home:


If you decide these suggestions are too complicated, or too much work, just change the light bulbs, open the drapes and give the room a good clean. You could also temporarily remove dark area rugs for spring and summer. Exposed floors provide a lovely consistent flow through a space, and thus removing rugs can add to that open, crisp, bright design.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, March 4, 2018

5 Ways to Bring Happiness and Positive Energy Into a Room - Harness the Good

by Funkthishouse
When the world outside feels darker than usual and you want to create a sanctuary of happiness and positive energy, start with your home and personal space.

Since we can't control gravity or other people, controlling ourselves and the environment we live in can give us a sense of taking back our mind and heart.
"We are shaped by our thoughts, we become what we think. When the mind is pure, joy follows like a shadow that never leaves" Buddha
The Emotion Code by Dr. Bradly Nelson talks about how emotions are so powerful they can literally define and determine the experiences we bring into our life. We need to take the power of the energy in our home and enhance it for good.

Lets review 5 Ways to Bring Happiness and Positive Energy into a Room:

1. Open the Window or Clear the Air in the Room

An air exchange can do wonders for a space. Even in the dead of winter go ahead and open the window for a few minutes. Fresh air reinvigorates a space and there's a sense a power in knowing you can change the energy of a room with something you can't see. If opening a window isn't an option, add a Salt Lamp. Just like the goodness of negative ions that fill the air after a thunderstorm, a salt lamp also emits negative ions. However, the radius of negative ions from a salt lamp is quite small, generally surrounding the area immediately around the lamp itself. That's a good reason to have a couple of salt lamps positioned throughout a room - especially a windowless room.

2.  Remove Items that Have Bad Memories

If there are people or items in your life that have negative energy or thoughts attached to them, be brave, and remove photos or items relating to them from your space. You're not erasing what has happened, you're simply taking back the things you CAN control; your space and your mood. If there are linens, pillows or furnishings that have bad memories attached to them, replace them. Add a little humor to the situation and have a small cleansing ceremony with Sage as you box the items up. Pass them onto the Good Will. If getting rid of your furniture isn't in the cards, try slip-covers for couches and taking on a DIY re-do project for the dressers and tables.

3.  Add Plants and Flowers

Plants freshen and clean the air in a room. For more detail on which plants do what, take a look at this list of room cleaning plants. Think in terms of volume. Add several plants in a room; floor plants, plants in plant wall holders, plants on end or corner tables, or multiple plants displayed in plant stands.

4.  Add Music to the Room

Even if you have a TV in the room to play music from the Music Channel, there's something special about listening to music the old fashioned way; from a stereo or radio. Leave the TV off - for less magnetic energy being emitted. The benefits to music are abundant; it promotes good health, helps you sleep, reduces depression and more. Keep a radio running in the kitchen with music playing all the time. We do this in our house. In fact, I can hear the music softly playing while typing this. It's incredibly uplifting to walk into a quiet kitchen that has the life of music filling the background. It brings in positive energy especially when it's a bit lonesome.  Best of all, song lyrics tell a story, and provide a lovely calming, creative visual while preparing meals or tidying up.

5.  Use the Power of Color to Enhance the Emotions You Want to Bring into a Space

Every color has a group of traits and emotions attributed to them. Understanding these traits can help you harness the mood you want your room to evoke. Here's a summary of a few of the traits associated with some of the most basic colors.
  • Orange: Boosts your energy, is fun, and adds excitement
  • Blue: Calming, relaxing, trusting, professional
  • Yellow: Moderate amounts - joy, happiness, encourages thinking/learning
  • Purple: Luxury, spirituality, creativity, royalty
  • Red: Energetic, Love - but peace and tranquility in a bedroom
  • Green: Nature, well being, refreshing, clean, simple, calming and growth
You don't have to go wild wondering how the heck you add color to your room. If you're not into painting, just add your colors via small accessories such as wall art, throw blankets, lamps, rugs, pillows and table décor.

Go ahead, take control of your home's energy and create a space that reflects happiness and positive energy.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON: