Showing posts with label Travel. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Travel. Show all posts

Thursday, July 11, 2024

Review of The Riverlands

River Barge


Just north of St. Louis, Missouri the Mississippi and Missouri rivers combine.  This confluence is fun to see and on a warm summer day, I took a trip there with my granddaughters who were visiting from New Hampshire.  The photo above shows a barge waiting on the Mississippi to get through the lock and dams.

The Riverlands

The Riverlands is a 3700 acre migratory bird sanctuary that is located in West Alton.  This area is home to prairie land, wetland and forest habitats where both resident and migratory birds find refuge.

More than 300 different species of birds have been seen in this area.  Many species make their homes there and other stop for feed and rest as the migrate down the "Mississippi River Flyway" spring and fall.  It is said that over 60% of all North American migratory birds use this flyway.

The Riverlands is open to the public from sunrise to sunset each day.  It is a fantastic place to observe and/or photograph birds.  The area offers 8 miles of walking and hiking trails and also offers bicycle trails.

Audubon Center at the Riverlands

Our first stop when we entered the Riverlands was the Audubon Center.  Here you can find lots of information and displays about both the birds and the Missouri and Mississippi confluence and how it affects the ecosystem.  This center offers educational opportunities, as well as information on conservation.  It has several platforms for public viewing and scopes that take you into the middle of the Mississippi flyway to observe migratory birds.  The wall facing the Mississippi is made of glass and gives you a wonderful way to view birds all year round in all types of weather.

When we visited it was mid June, so of course there was not much to see in the way of migratory birds, but a very helpful volunteer took the girls out to the side of the center to tell them all about the "Purple Martins" that lived there.  Here are a couple of photos.
Audubon Center Birds

Purple Martins at Audubon Center


 The volunteer pointed out how the birds were feeding their babies. It was very interesting.

Confluence

The volunteers at the center suggested we drive up the road a bit and stop at the path that takes you to the confluence of the Missouri and the Mississippi rivers.  We decided to do that and took the path which was about 1/3 of a mile long.
Walking on Wooded Path

The Mississippi River is called the "Father of Waters". On it's path north from the Gulf of Mexico, it drains 32 US states and two Canadian Provinces.
The Missouri River is the longest river in the US.  It starts in southwestern Montana where the Rocky Mountains are and then flows east and south for 241 miles before it enters the Mississippi just north of St. Louis.
Here is a photo I took of the confluence.
Confluence of two rivers

Story from our Visit

While we were there, we took photos on a platform that faced the two rivers.  It was my brother and his wife, my two granddaughters and myself.  After the photo my 15-year-old granddaughter, Kate, decided to take a closer look at the Mississippi and found herself stuck in mud almost to her knees.  A nearby fisherman ended up pulling her out, but her shoes did not come with her.  My brother took some big sticks and was able to get the shoes out, so we had Kate sit on a platform by the confluence and wash out her shoes.
Washing Shoes in Mississippi

It would be good if that was the end of the story, but you can see by this photo how muddy it was and when Kate finished washing her shoes, she put them back on and in two steps they had sunk in the mud again.  This time my brother could not get them out, so Kate lost her shoes to the "Muddy Mississippi".  She walked back to the car barefoot and we took bottles of water to try to get some of the mud off her feet.  So now we have a story to tell from our adventure.

Here is a link to an Amazon Book if you'd like to learn more about the Mississippi. https://amzn.to/3RNqkyd



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Reviewing Our Experience Of The Treetop Walkway Kew Gardens London

View of green leafy tree canopy at Treetop Walkway Kew gardens

The Treetop Walkway is an exciting part of Kew Gardens London. Stepping up to the walkway in the tree canopy and looking out over the vista of the gorgeous Kew gardens was one of the highlights of our trip.

The many steps to reach the top was absolutely worth it and we took our time and enjoyed the views on the walk up to the top. 


View across the trees at Treetop Walkway at Kew Gardens


I have wanted to visit and experience Kew Gardens Treetop Walkway for years and when I got the chance I was so happy. I was especially excited to find out what it felt like walking high up amongst and above the tree canopy and it was amazing!

The walkway itself is essentially a walk at height on a wide safe pathway through the treetops of Kew Gardens. It is an amazing piece of architecture built with more than four hundred tonnes of weathered steel, which although quite industrial looking, has its own beauty and surprisingly does become absorbed and integrated by the trees all around.

View across to the walkway at Kew Gardens

The structure needs to be strong though as there are 118 steps up to the main walkway in the sky, then you walk up onto the pathway which is 18 metres or 59 feet above the ground! 

The walkway itself is 200 metres or 656 feet long and that means you really do get a great experience literally walking in amongst the amazing trees and seeing them with a totally new rarely experienced perspective.


Trees and branches with leaves at Kew Gardens Treetop Walkway


As a child I was always climbing trees and loved being high up in the midst of a tree among the leaves and berries and closer to the birds. However there is no way I could have safely climbed this high and now I would not even attempt it! So enjoying the amazing tree canopy in a safe way like this is just perfect.

Horse chestnut trees with seeds
 

I love looking up at trees from the ground level and being in awe of their beauty and majesty. It was amazing to be walking amongst the uppermost branches of the trees really close to the birds taking a rest in the branches, the fruits of trees, seeing the insects that live there and noticing he fungi and lichen at that level. It felt a real privilege and joy to be there. 


View between trees to the Glasshouses At Kew gardens


It is however important to note a few safety aspects of the walkway. By its very nature being so high up you need to be Ok with walking around at that height. 

The walkway is quite wide and has semi circular places where you can stop and look out over the views and let others pass as necessary. In some areas there are benches to sit.

To me it all felt very safe and secure. The walkway is designed to flex a bit and we certainly did feel that from time to time which initially was a bit strange, but we got used to it. We found it not bouncy and not at all like the swinging of a ropewalk, but rather feeling sturdy with some movement. The flex in the walkway is an important design feature so that it can cope with the winds without breaking.

The weathered steel walkway at Kew gardens Treetop walk

You do have to leave buggies and pushchairs on the ground and young children must be closely supervised. The rails are high but I would not like to take chances with very young children, so best to keep hold of them.  

 As there are 118 steps up and many steps down, you do need to be fit enough to walk them. You can certainly take your time, which we did and look out over the wonderful views on the way up, but if you have any issues with climbing steps it would be better to use the lift provided. It may be best to check ahead of your visit if you need the lift or assistance to ensure it is available and suitable for you. 

View looking down on the lift at Kew Gardens Treetop walk
 

Also personally we did avoid the large school parties which were there. It was wonderful to see the children so engaged and excited, but we wanted to go at a calmer time so that we could go at a steady pace on the way up without feeling rushed or obligated to go faster, and could drink in the atmosphere in a more peaceful way.  

View over the green tree canopy

It is best to check before visiting when the walkway is open both in dates and times. Clearly safety is always considered first so weather conditions need to be taken into account. Have to say although I am good with heights I was glad it was a still and warm day. I am not sure if I would have enjoyed it as much had it been windy and cold.

Spring, Summer and early Autumn are all wonderful times to visit and will give very different experiences of the tree canopy.  It does often close or partially close during the Autumn and winter months.

I thoroughly enjoyed the treetops experience and am glad that we took the time out to experience it. We spent probably about two hours exploring and absorbing the treetops. We saw some people wizz around in less than an hour and we could have probably stayed longer but had so much more of Kew Gardens to explore! It is both an educational and enjoyable experience.


Take a look at these wonderful books about or related to Kew Gardens 

The Story of Kew Gardens in Photographs


The Kew Gardens Beautiful Flowers Colouring Book Paperback



Kew: The Witch's Forest: Trees in magic, folklore and traditional remedies (Kew Royal Botanic Gardens) Hardcover – September 19, 2023


More Travel Reviews










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, November 14, 2023

Reviewing Our Visit To The Waterlily House Kew Gardens London.

 

Giant Waterlilies At Kew gardens Waterlily House

From the second I stepped into the Waterlily House at Kew Gardens in London I was filled with awe and wonder. I was both excited and calmed by the environment. It is amazing and I truly love being here. 

Kew gardens is based in Kew near Richmond in south London. The Waterlily House is one of the smaller glasshouses at Kew, finished in 1852 and now a listed building.

This glasshouse was designed specifically to showcase the amazing giant Amazon waterlily, (Victoria amazonica) which is a natural wonder and deservedly so. 



Kew Gardens Waterlily House Entrance


Experiencing The Waterlily House 

Do not be fooled by the Waterlily House unassuming entrance. It belies the beautiful experience you are about to have.  As you enter you are immediately greeted with a vibrant array of tropical and aquatic plants including waterlilies and climbers and everything in between, each one a thing of beauty, interest and sheer joy.

When you enter the Water Lily house you are straight away  struck by the beauty, then the humidity. In fact it is the hottest and most humid of the glasshouses and it feels like it. You are transported into a different world. 

Measuring only 225 square metres or 738 square feet, the small glasshouse heats up very quickly and especially when the weather outside is warm and sunny, so if you visit be prepared for that. Layers you can take on and off quickly as you go in and out of the glasshouses are your friend at Kew Gardens. 

Giant Waterlilies, Kew Gardens Waterlily House


The atmosphere inside emotionally is a mixture of silent awe and excited chatter. When we were there a group of schoolchildren were happily taking photographs and calling to each other to look here and there at the plants. It was heart warming to see them so interested and enthralled. 

Couples were wandering through smiling at the plants and each other. Others were intent on reading the descriptions of the plants and looking up more details on their phones. Some stood silently gazing. From time to time complete strangers would meet, both looking at a plant and strike up a natural friendly conversation.

For our time in there everyone had one focus and one joy and it was wonderful.

Close up Of Giant Waterlily


The Pond and Giant Waterlily 

At his heart is the circular pond where the giant waterlilies live. This spans over 10 metres or about 32 feet and takes up a large central area of the house. There is a perimeter circular pathway all around and more plants around the perimeter and hanging above our heads. As you walk around you brush against the plants and are able to touch and smell them. The pathway is not large so there is a lot of "excuse me" and smiling as we move past each other. We are all surrounded by gorgeous, interesting plants and immersed in nature.  

 Some of the waterlilies are almost purely circular while others to me seemed to have a heart shape, all are stunning. We found the giant Waterlily Victoria boliviana in the pond, it is very easy to spot! This is a record breaking waterlily, named as a new species by Kew Gardens in 2022. The lily pads of this species grow up to three metres or about ten feet wide so they are huge and very impressive indeed. They have very wide rims upturned and prickly undersides. 

They have beautiful large fragrant flowers which open white and mature to a pretty pink. Gorgeous as they are, each flower only lasts for 2 days. It is truly an amazing sight to behold. We are not permitted to touch these waterlilies but to see them is a privilege.

Giant waterlilies were discovered in Bolivia in 1801 and later on named "Victoria" to honour Queen Victoria Of The United Kingdom. They understandably attracted a lot of attention and curiosity. The huge lily pads look spectacular and grow so massive they are able to carry an adult. However this is most certainly not permitted at Kew and is an offence as can harm the plant and would eventually ruin this most beautiful display of waterlilies. These days only Kew Garden staff are allowed into the pond. 

It is also interesting that In the mid-19th century, a specimen of the waterlily was sent to Joseph Paxton, the architect. He designed Crystal Palace in south London which housed the Great Exhibition of 1851. It is said that the waterlily leaf inspired his design for that amazing building. Sadly fire destroyed Crystal Palace 30th November 1936. 

Waterlily Pond, Kew Gardens, London


Plants In The Waterlily House

While everyone is naturally focussed on the amazing giant waterlilies do take time to look around at the other plants.

While the Waterlilies are the stars here, every star needs a good supporting cast and these plants do that very well. In fact many of these beauties made my heart skip a beat as much as the waterlilies.  

There are many beautiful and fascinating plants around the perimeter that are certainly worth taking a while to view and photograph. They add to the beautiful ambiance and magical quality of this lovely place. If I could visit every week I really would! The Waterlily House is open during the Spring, Summer and Autumn up to November then closed for the winter.  


Orange Flower At Waterlily House, Kew


Large Carnivorous Plant At Waterlily House Kew Gardens


People often ask how long will a visit take and I find that difficult to answer. Certainly as one of the smaller glasshouses you can take it all in quite quickly. In ten minutes you can walk all around at a slow pace. However if you do that you are missing the best part of the experience which is to immerse yourself in the plants, see the giant waterlilies and then as you are there longer start to notice all the other details you initially missed. 

We were there around an hour and really I still felt I could have stayed longer. So my suggestion is to take your time, wander round, take photos, read the information if you want but do take time to stop and stare, drink in the atmosphere and fully experience it. If you like gardens you may enjoy the book Royal Gardens Of The World which explores twenty one celebrated, beautiful, interesting gardens.

Pink Flowering Climber Kew gardens Waterlily House


Red Tassels of plant in Waterlily House , Kew



If you love the look of Kew gardens you may like this lovely book  The Story Of Kew Gardens In Photographs. 


So if you ever visit London's Kew gardens do not miss the Waterlily House, it is a real treat and somewhere we go every time we are able to visit Kew Gardens. For me it is a gardening jewel.  


More Gardening/Travel Articles








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, October 26, 2023

Review of Missouri Botanical Garden

 

Purple Water Lily
Water Lily and Reflection
Missouri Botanical Garden in South St Louis is a wonderful place to discover nature and so much more.  The garden was founded in 1859 by Henry Shaw on his country estate.  Today it is a National Historic Landmark and is considered to be one of the top 3 botanical gardens in the world.

Some highlights to see and do when you visit the garden include:
  • Climatron- a geodesic dome that is used as a conservatory.
  • The Doris L Schnuck Children's Garden- this area is a delight for children and I have spent many hours there with my granddaughters when they were visiting.
  • Japanese Garden- this beautiful area is one of my favorite spots to stroll in the garden.
  • Chinese Garden- another favorite spot of mine in the garden.
  • Tower Grove House
  • William T. Kemper Center for Home Gardening
These are but a few of the many interesting highlights in the garden.  The garden is also the host to many festivals and special events.  I recently toured the garden on a special night they had for photographers to photograph the Chihuly works of art that were featured in the garden from May through October.

Chihuly Exhibit

Dale Chihuly is a world-renowned artist who does amazing works with glass.  In his works in the Missouri Botanical Garden art and nature are united in a fantastic exhibition.  

I spent several hours at the exhibit in mid-September where I entered the garden at about 6 pm when it was still daylight and stayed for several hours so that I could also capture the beauty of the Chihuly art lit up in the night.  Here are a few of the photographs that I took. The first one shows the first Chihuly art I saw when entering the garden.
Lime Green Glass Art
Chihuly-Vivid Lime Icicle
The next three photos show a beautiful red and yellow tower that I photographed first in the daylight, then closeup and finally a nighttime shot with the crescent moon above it. 
Bright red and yellow glass art
Chihuly Tower in Daylight

Section of Chihuly Art
Closeup of Chihuly Tower

Chihuly Art at Missouri Botanical Garden
Chihuly Tower at Night

The next photo was taken at night in the lake by the Japanese garden.
Chihuly Art in Japanese Garden
Float Boat and Niijima Floats

Here are three more of photos from the exhibit.
Boat filled with Chihuly Glass Art
Boat with Chihuly Art in Reflecting Pool

Blue  Glass Reeds
Turquoise Martins in Chinese Garden

White Tower through Oval Opening
White Tower in Blanke Boxwood Garden


These are just a few of the many Chihuly works of art throughout the garden.  It was truly an inspiring experience.

Water Lilies in the Garden

Along with the Chihuly works I was able to enjoy the flowers in the garden when we first entered in the daylight.  My favorite flowers that were blooming in mid-September were the beautiful water-lilies.  They were in several pools within the garden.  The ones I liked the best were the ones that I photographed in the reflecting pools in the central axis area of the garden.  My favorite is the purple one in the opening photo for this article.  The light was fading and it really made the reflections of the flowers stand out.  Here are a few more of my favorites.
Lavender Water Lily and Reflection

Pink Water Lilies with Reflections
Water Lily

White Water Lily
Reflecting Pool

Purple Water Lily
Stunning Purple Water Lily

I hope you have enjoyed this brief review of the Missouri Botanical Garden and if you visit the area I hope you will be able to enjoy the Garden.

Origami in the Garden

In 2021 the Garden hosted an exhibit of origami art.  Here is a link to a review that I wrote. Origami in the Garden





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, September 28, 2023

Visit Missouri-Review of Faust Park

 

Faust Park Butterfly House
Butterfly House
There are many interesting parks in the St. Louis metro area and I enjoy visiting them.  On a beautiful September morning I toured parts of Faust Park with a photography group that I mentor. Faust Park is located in Chesterfield, Missouri which is in St. Louis County. On this visit we spent our time in the historical village, but on other occasions I have visited some of the many features of the park.  It is complete with a playground, picnic areas, walking paths, a lake and so much more.  In this post I will give you some of the highlights of the park and share my photos with you.

History of Faust Park

The land that is now Faust Park was originally owned by Frederick Bates who was the 2nd governor of the state of Missouri.  In 1819 Bates built an estate on the property and called it Thornhill.  That building still stands and is open for the public to see what life was like in the 1800 and 1900's. 

In 1968 Leicester Busch Faust acquired 100 acres of the land and opened it to the public as a park.  By 1995 the park area had doubled in size.

St. Louis Carousel

The St. Louis Carousel was built in the 1920's and for years it delighted visitors to the Forest Park area.  It was in an amusement park called the Highlands.  In 1963 when there was a fire at the Highlands forcing it to close, the carousel was moved to Faust Park.  Today it is housed in a building at Faust Park and is a delight for kids of all ages.  I have taken all four of my granddaughters there at different times and they always enjoyed riding the majestic horses.
Building Housing Carousel

Sophia M. Sachs Butterfly House

In 1998 the Butterfly House opened in Faust Park.  This beautiful building, which is pictured at the beginning of this post, houses a wonderful collection of butterflies.  I worked for several years as a volunteer at the house and I was able to guide the public as they toured the Butterfly House.  I learned a lot about butterflies and various insects and enjoyed photographing the butterflies.  Here is a link to some of my photos and an article on photographing butterflies. 

Historic Village

The historic village at Faust Park consists of a collection of nineteenth century St. Louis County homes and buildings. They all were in danger of being demolished and were rescued and moved to the village at Faust Park by the St. Louis County Parks Department.  The buildings date from about 1840 to 1900.  You can read more information about the village at Faust Park Historic Village

There was not a formal tour going on the day we visited so we wandered through the village taking photos and enjoying the historic buildings.  As we approached one of the houses a worker for the parks department offered to give our group a tour of that home.  It was the Davis House, and we were able to go inside on the main floor where she gave us a bit of information about the house.  Here is a photo I took of the outside and one of the front parlor.
Historic Home

Front Parlor in Historic Home

Below you will see a photo I took of the 1800's General Store.
General Store from 1800's

There were several other homes in the village.  Here are three of them.  You will note that each is a completely different style from the others.
Two Story Yellow Home

Small Historic Home

Historic Log Cabin





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, September 22, 2023

NOCO Boost Plus GB40 1000A 12V Car Battery Jump Starter Review

NOCO Boost Plus Car Battery Jump Starter
Every car or vehicle owner should own a NOCO battery jump starter and keep it in the automobile!  It works on automobiles, motorcycles, ATV, watercraft and more.

When an automobile battery dies, it is often at inconvenient times, in inconvenient places and without warning.  In my 40 years of driving, I have only had one car battery that died at home.  Usually, we are in a store parking lot, traveling, or at work.

We had maintained a AAA membership for decades for just such occasions, but they don't arrive on the scene immediately.  As a matter of fact, we most often have to wait for an hour or two for assistance.  Depending on where we are, the time of day, and the weather, waiting over an hour is rarely reasonable.

We also have jumper cables in every vehicle, but that requires the help of a Good Samaritan with a vehicle.  Sadly, when you are stranded and a car pulls up next to you, it isn't immediately obvious if you are about to be greeted by a kind soul or a criminal.  

Therefore, the NOCO battery jump starter is a necessity for every car.  You charge it when you first purchase it and put it in the vehicle, ready for use when needed. 

Being able to jump start your vehicle without assistance from anyone else, or any other vehicle, is truly fabulous! 


NOCO GB40 Car Battery Jump Starter

 NOCO Boost Plus GB40 1000A UltraSafe Car Battery Jump Starter, 12V Jump Starter Battery Pack, Battery Booster, Jump Box, Portable Charger and Jumper Cables for 6.0L Gasoline and 3.0L Diesel EnginesIt takes less than 3 hours to charge the jumper starter when you first purchase it and you charge it in the safety of your own home, at your convenience.  Then, simply put it in your vehicle to use when needed.  It will last for up to 20 jump starts before it needs to be recharged.

It also has a built-in flashlight with multiple flash modes including a strobe light or SOS. 

  • Safely connect to any 12v vehicle
  • Water Resistant
  • Use in any climate
  • Heavy duty booster clamps 
  • Portable Power Bank with USB port for charging cell phone, tablet, or other USB device 
  • Microfiber storage bag included
  • 2.4 pounds

Another notable benefit of having the NOCO battery jump starter is that regardless of where or how you are parked, you can get to your vehicle battery without having to pull another vehicle into position to assist with jump starting.  Most of us pull straight into a parking place which limits access.

This car battery jump starter is very easy to use.  The easiest way to see that, is to watch this very short video.


Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, September 6, 2023

Checklist for Travelling Abroad While Leaving a Senior at Home! FYI

Our lives seem to take turns and detours that we never expected.  That makes for an interesting time and a time to learn all kinds of things that we had never thought of before.  This is Coming from the Heart and I hope it might help you as well.

We are finding out that talking to friends in similar situations helps. Yet depending on where you are living and what kind of "help" is available for seniors, your plans may have to be adjusted accordingly.

Let me back up a little and explain:

We are currently looking after my 92 year young mother.  She has just moved into our home as she is no longer able to take care of herself properly.

We have help that comes into the home 3 times a week to bathe her  That is a chore that I really didn't want to do as I have mobility issues myself.
elderly woman


So now there is a new wrinkle in the mix.  Both my husband and I were planning a trip before Mom came to live with us and we are not getting any younger either,  So what do you do?

Mom is not able to live on her own and we are running out of time to go on this trip.  The options need to be looked at and plans made for her care before we commit to our own travel ideas.

So we need to make sure there is a place that will take her for a short-term stay.  One that is clean and nice.  One that cooks meals that she will enjoy,  One that has some activities to keep her mind active and off of the fact that we are not there.  One that will look after her medications and also her general health while we are gone.

hands


That's not too much to ask, is it?

So where do we start?  

  • Thank goodness there are places that have "RESPITE CARE".  These are rooms that are set up like a bedroom (sometimes private or semi-private) in Registered Nursing Homes. We are in the process of checking out 3 or 4 of these homes and choosing the one that seems to fit all our requirements.
  • Making sure that the place of temporary residence has all the required information regarding 1. prescriptions. 2. Family Doctor's phone number.  3.  Next of kin in case of a great emergency.  4. All necessary tools to make her stay comfortable (glasses, hearing aids, walkers etc.)
  • Labelling all of her clothing.
  • Packing her favorite toiletries, creams, lotions and potions.
  • Making sure she has shoes as well as her slippers.
There is a lot of things that need to be looked after  before we can leave and not need to worry.  Also the grandchildren (who are well into their 40's and beyond) will know where she is so that if they feel like going out for dinner with her, they will know what the ground rules are as well.

Preparedness is key in doing this,  Everything needs to be in order and then we can go on our holiday without the panic that might otherwise make a holiday into a nightmare instead.

I am preparing a Mom's Diary, a book with all of her most important information. Lists of Medications, Doctor's phone number, hospital where she has been before, grandchildren's phone numbers, Health Card information, Dentist info (just in case), and any other information that may benefit the caregivers at the home.  Allergies and food sensitivities will be noted as well.  Favorite foods and least favorites will also be listed.
diary blank pages



We are trying to make this a good experience, so that if we travel again, we know exactly what we need to prepare.

Clothing labels for her personal things. We are looking for labels that are easy to attach and yet are not irritating to the person wearing them.  As always, Amazon is a great place to find just about anything and they have a whole bunch of "label" possibilities!  This is the one that I happen to like:
 

clothing labels

But there are many other choices as well.

We are hopeful that by taking all these steps, we will make sure that my Mom has the best of care while we are away and that putting all of this into play, we may be able to travel again and have a much easier preparation because some of it has already been done!

I will come back here and let you all know how successful we were and if there were any other things we should have included or not!

Hope this helps anyone who is thinking or living the same journey as we are on!


 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X