Showing posts with label Wednesday Elf. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Wednesday Elf. Show all posts

Saturday, September 25, 2021

Cakes and Cupcakes Special Days and Reviews

 


There are a multitude of special days (those wacky, weird, humorous and fun days) throughout the year devoted to various kinds of cakes and cupcakes.  The Contributors to this Review This Reviews site have also reviewed and shared a number of recipes of their favorites.


A compilation of these yummy dessert recipes and the days that are set aside to recognize them are featured in this article.


What is the Difference Between a Cake and Cupcakes?


There are only two differences ~ the type of pan you use to bake them, and the amount of time they spend in the oven.


*Some terms used for cupcakes – snack cake, mini-cake, Fairy Cake, Patty Cake.


Cake Holidays


Source: Pixabay


List of National Cake Holidays:


  • National Cake Month - February
  • National Chocolate Cake Day  - January 27
  • National Carrot Cake Day  - February 3
  • National Poundcake Day  - March 4
  • National  Blackforest Cake  Day - March 28
  • National Lemon Chiffon Cake Day - March 29
  • National  Coffee Cake Day  - April 7
  • National Hazelnut Cake Day - June 1
  • National Applesauce Cake Day - June 6
  • National German Chocolate Cake Day - June 12
  • National Strawberry Shortcake Day  - June 14     
  • National Spongecake Day  - August 23
  • National Angel Food Cake Day - October 10
  • National Cake Day - November 26
  • National Fruitcake Day  -December 27
  • National Sacher Torte Day  -December 5


Cupcake Holidays


List of National Cupcake Holidays:


  • Hostess Cupcake Day – May 10
  • Chocolate Cupcake Day – October 18
  • National Vanilla Cupcake Day - November 10
  • National Cupcake Day – December 15


Source: Pixabay

*NOTE:  One of the most famous and popular cupcakes is the Hostess Cupcake.  Check out this recipe for homemade Hostess Cupcakes.  It is found on the blog Love, Life & Sugar by Lindsay. 



Cake & Cupcake Recipes by the ReviewThisReviews Contributors


One of the RTR Contributors – the leader of the pack we all affectionately call “Mouse” -  SylvesterMouse Cynthia, is our 'go-to' expert on getting fancy and having fun with cakes and cupcakes. In addition to numerous recipes Mouse has shared here on Review This Reviews, she has also featured several on her own blog sites.  See a few below:


Snake Cake by Sylvestermouse

For an extra fun cake, see this (How to Decorate) Snake Cake by Sylvestermouse on her Cooking for the Holidays website.






Halloween Ghost Cake by Sylvestermouse

Plus, her Halloween Ghost Castle Cake on the Sylvestermouse Halloween Haven website.






Photo courtesy of Fun Food


Then there is her Spooky Spider Cupcakes 


And how about making a fancy cake design using cupcakes in the Sylvestermouse review of the Cupcake Cakes Cookbook?


More Delicious Cake & Cupcake Recipes & Reviews on Review This



Summary


So anytime you wish to indulge in a sweet treat in the cake & cupcake family, check out one of the above recipes or have a cake dessert day to celebrate one of the cake/cupcake holidays found all year long. 



Happy 'Cake' Eating!


*Cakes and Cupcakes - Special Days and Reviews compiled for your eating pleasure by Wednesday Elf.


For More Holiday Reviews, see 

ReviewThisReviews: Holidays


For More Recipe Reviews, see 

ReviewThisRecipes.com 







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, September 14, 2021

Book Review of VORTEX by Catherine Coulter

 


An FBI Thriller


Vortex is the latest book in best-selling author Catherine Coulter's FBI series. Her favorite characters, husband & wife FBI team Savich & Sherlock, once again embark on solving a case. Usually, they work together on a case, but this time there are two cases demanding their attention in two different cities.


Synopsis of Vortex


Case #1


Dillon Savich deals with one case in Washington DC. A CIA Operative, Olivia Hildebrandt, is nearly killed while on a mission in Iran to exfiltrate a betrayed undercover operative.  But by the time she is released from Walter Reed Hospital, her team member, Mike Kingman, who saved her life, has disappeared, along with a critical flash drive the undercover operative was carrying.  While Olivia worries about her teammate, she is convinced he has a very good reason for not bringing the flash drive directly to CIA Headquarters. 


When Olivia is attacked on her first night home, the FBI becomes involved.  Savich suspects that the strike is a direct result of the compromised mission and the missing team member and flash drive. The question is ~ who betrayed them?


Case #2


Meanwhile, Sherlock is in New York City, first helping to deal with a triple homicide, then working with an investigative journalist covering the political scene in NYC. The journalist, Mia Briscoe, has discovered old photos taken the night seven years ago at a frat party where a fire broke out and her best friend Serena disappeared.  Serena was never seen nor heard from again. Mia recognizes someone in those photos and begins to uncover a sinister string of events going back to that disastrous party. As the secrets begin to unravel, some very powerful and dangerous people will do anything to keep Mia and Sherlock from learning the truth. 


Summary


Available on Amazon


Catherine Coulter is known for her contemporary suspense stories and her popular characters FBI Agents Sherlock and Savich.  This brilliant new novel is her latest (#25) in her FBI thriller series. 


For more book reviews, check out ReviewThisBooks.com



More Catherine Coulter Book Reviews:



Book Review of Vortex by Catherine Coulter, written by

~Wednesday Elf





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, September 11, 2021

Review of Woodland Forest Animals as Soft Toys

The definition of a Woodland is a place that features trees, grasses, shrubs, and other plants. A Woodland Animal is one which finds this their natural habitat. Therefore, a deer would be found in a Woodland, but not, for instance, a Zebra.


There are a great many creatures that would be found in a Woodland, including deer, bears, foxes, raccoons, squirrels, birds, bees and butterflies. Crafters love to create a representation of these animals as soft toys for the delight of children. Thus, we shall look at a few of these creations in this review.



Woodland Animals in Fabric


Woodland Squirrel



These felt squirrels are the perfect addition to a woodland themed nursery or make a snuggly companion for small creature lovers. Found in the Etsy Shop of Sweetest Soybean, where Children's items are lovingly handmade in Sarah's home studio in Madison, Alabama.


Woodland Fox



The sweetest little woodland plush, one adorable fox in rich autumn orange.

This cute little guy is made completely from super soft poly fleece in rusty orange, with black and white details.

Orange Fox is made completely from fabric, and stuffed with extra soft and plush poly fiberfill.

Handmade by Lily of Salem, Wisconsin and featured in her Etsy Shop Wild Rabbits Burrow


Woodland Frog



For those who like to sew and create cute stuffed animals, Paulina of My Scrappy Ideas has created this adorable frog pattern available in an instant download.


Ribbit the Fearless Frog has many faces. That is because he can be anything out of the following:

  • a very soft and cuddly plushie; (a terrific friend for your child during endless hours of fun)
  • unbelievably cute door stop, (guarding any desired room)
  • decorative item somewhere in your hallway; (to make your Guests feel at home)
  • or a welcome gift (that for sure will not only immediately make a way to your friend’s house, but certainly to his/her heart as well!)
  • and last but not least: a frog is always a clear sign of spring!


Woodland Animals in Yarn



Choose a handmade crochet woodland animal with long legs and arms from this collection which includes a wolf, a fox, a bunny and a big stuffed reindeer.  The Warm Cats Etsy Store created these adorable animals which are perfect as nursery décor or plush playmates for children.


Woodland Owl



Amigurumi Owl in Crochet. Plush Toy Owl. Gray Owl Stuffed Toy. Cute & Cuddly Plush Owl. Handmade Kawaii Cutie. Nursery Décor. Gift for Kids. Soft and cuddly toy owl woodland creature.

Handmade by Pat and found in her Etsy Shop Coastal Crochet Crafts


Summary of Plush Woodland Animals


Felt Woodland Animals on Etsy

The Woodland forest may be the natural home of real-life animals. But a plush Woodland Creature can easily live in a child's toybox or perched on their bed or cuddled in their arms. A fun and safe way for children to enjoy the world of these wild Woodland animals.


*Woodland Forest Animals as Soft Toys - review written by Wednesday Elf





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, August 31, 2021

The Boy From The Woods by Harlan Coben – Book Review

 


A man with a mysterious past must find a missing teenage girl in this shocking thriller by Harlan Coben


The Plot


A high school girl who was relentlessly bullied, disappears. No one seems to take it seriously, but a classmate is worried. When Matthew asks his grandmother (the well-known television criminal attorney, Hester Crimstein) for help in finding her, Hester asks Wilde to use his unique skills to help find Naomi.


Thirty years ago, Wilde was found as a boy living feral in the woods, with no memory of his past, not even that of his name. But his unique tracking abilities and knowledge of the woods give him an advantage in looking for Naomi.


To do this, Wilde must also go back into the community where he has never fit in and confront the powerful whose wealth and fame protect them even when they harbor secrets that could destroy the lives of millions.  Wilde must uncover these secrets before it is too late.


A Few of the Many Outstanding Reviews of The Boy From the Woods


"The Boy from the Woods  is as much an action as a psychological thriller, as much a riveting read as a superb character study in which Coben challenges himself by taking his story outside his suburban comfort zone. A must-read for any mystery or thriller fan."―Providence Journal


"The crafty Coben knows how to weave a compelling story with intriguing characters, and Wilde is one of his best . . . The narrative veers into such unexpected directions that even a true thriller aficionado will not see the multiple surprises the ending delivers."  ―Associated Press 


"There may be no other thriller writer alive today who has mastered that fundamental trick of the genre. When you start a new Coben novel, or just pick one up and read the jacket copy, you know that nothing will unfold as it seems. You can be assured that surprises will keep appearing until the final page."―BookTrib


My Opinion


Available on Amazon

The character study is one of the most fascinating Coben has ever come up with. And the ending was a complete surprise. I recommend The Boy From The Woods to all who love suspense, thrillers and mystery. 


More Book Reviews by Harlan Coben:


Read more Mystery book reviews on


*Book Review of The Boy From the Woods written by 

Wednesday Elf







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, August 28, 2021

Review of National Marshmallow Toasting Day

 



This is the perfect holiday to top off a summer vacation.  It is held each year on August 30, so enjoy an end-of-summer vacation by taking a camping trip or having a backyard bonfire (perhaps around your fire pit or outdoor fireplace) and toast marshmallows.   


The marshmallow is a type of confectionery made from sugar, water, and gelatin (whipped to a solid, but soft, consistency) then coated with corn starch. It is used as a filling in baking.  It is also molded into shapes. You can buy marshmallows by the bag or make your own with this recipe here on the Food Network.


Marshmallow Treat


The most popular way to eat a marshmallow is in a S'mores!  Nothing better than a night around a campfire, singing songs, enjoying the outdoors, and topping it off with this sweet treat.


S'mores Recipe:


Source: Pixabay


Ingredients:


Chocolate candy bar

Honey Graham Crackers

Marshmallows


Instructions:


Break off a square of Graham cracker

Add a piece of Chocolate.

Toast a big marshmallow over the campfire.

Add the hot marshmallow.

Top it with another graham Cracker.

Eat , savor and enjoy!


Note: For wintertime or anytime you cannot go camping, you can make S'mores in the microwave. Just put them together and pop them into the microwave on high for 15 to 20 seconds.


Recipe Credit: Holiday Insights dot com. 


More Fun Ways to Eat Marshmallows


Source: Pixabay

Top off a cup of hot chocolate on a cold winter day.


Source: Pixabay


Savor marshmallow filling in a yummy candy


Source: Pixabay


Mix up a batch of marshmallow Rice Krispie treats. 


Source: Pixabay


Decorate a gingerbread house using marshmallows for the snow.


Source: Pixabay


A favorite as a marshmallow 'peep' in an Easter Basket


Party Time


Available on Amazon

And for a S'mores party, what could be more perfect than this indoor Electric Stainless Steel S'mores Maker with 4 Lazy Susan Compartment Trays for Graham Crackers, Chocolate, Marshmallows and 4 Roasting Forks. Made by Nostalgia, it has an electric flameless heater to toast your marshmallows to perfection. Perfect for parties and family gatherings.


Toasted Marshmallow Day
August 30


For More Holiday Reviews



*Holiday review of Toasted Marshmallow Day written by Wednesday Elf





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, August 17, 2021

Taming the Paper Tiger – Book Review


Just about everyone has – currently or in the past – had clutter in their lives. Many books have been written (with several reviewed here on
ReviewThisReviews) about dealing with that dreaded CLUTTER, including closets stuffed with clothes no longer worn, drawers so full they won't open, and random stacks of 'stuff' that have been in place so long you no longer remember what is in the pile. 


Author Barbara Hemphill, a professional organizer, has written several books dealing with clutter. This one I am reviewing – Taming the Paper Tiger – deals with MY biggest bug-a-boo – PAPER. 


Source: Pixabay

I have managed to keep the majority of unneeded clutter out of my life, but when it comes to paperwork I tend to let days ~ yea, even weeks ~ go by without dealing with it. I can't explain it – I have all sorts of file organizers and notebooks and To-Do Lists, and even a scheduled 'day' each week to deal with it – and I'm always behind because I tend to look at a pile, turn around and walk away. Now I have 'piles' of unsorted papers stacked in several places and in more than one room. Sometimes I move a pile – sometimes I even deal with a few papers from a pile – but I never catch up! Thus, the procurement of this book Taming the Paper Tiger – Organizing the Paper in your Life!


The Book


Available on Amazon
Taming the Paper Tiger deals with ~ simply ~ the 'paper' in your life. This includes bills and tax information, but also keeping track of family records, the memorabilia of your family, your photographs, and your files. There is even a section on cleaning up the files in your computer. 




Key Points


I found several key points that 'spoke' to me when I first began to utilize the tips in this book to get control of my paperwork.


One tip I particularly liked was the reminder to 'forget' about the backlog.  Barbara states that to develop an effective paper management system starts with stop feeling guilty about yesterday's piles. Instead, do something with TODAY'S. In other words, start with today's mail and work backwards. 


Source: Pixabay

One of my favorite chapter headings is called “Master the 
Art of Wastebasketry”. I can relate to that! I find it quite tempting to throw ALL my piles of paper into the wastebasket right now. But, no – something important and/or valuable would be lost forever.  So – onward in an 'organized' way. 


We all know about sorting into related piles your bills, action papers, reference papers, to read pile and to write pile, family records and – that very difficult to control pile because we (and the kids) never want any of their work thrown away – the children's papers. The author gives us outlines of each of these in this book, which all makes sense as soon as we (I) admit that I am a “Paperholic”. 


Summary


Source: Pixabay

I have purposely kept this review lighthearted, and not gone into a lot of detail as each chapter deals with learning to control your paper and the chapter headings are self-explanatory. But paper management can be a real (and sometimes a really serious) problem for many people. Personally, I DO want (and need) to get the paper in my life under control and bring 'order' to the 'chaos', and am finding that “Taming the Paper Tiger” is helping.  


So, if stacks of papers are encroaching on your space or you frequently move piles of paper from one side of the desk (or room) to the other or you plan to 'sort' everything out as soon as you have some time, than you may find Barbara Hemphill's book Taming the Paper Tiger exactly what you need to read. Her paper management system and strategies are very helpful.


Additionally, Barbara Hemphill has also written other paper organizing books, including 'for the home' and 'for the office' and 'at work', whether you work in an office or from home.  If you need to know what to toss and how to find the rest, she also has a book about that.


Whatever your paper management needs are, Taming the Paper Tiger and Barbara Hemphill's other management system books will prove to be beneficial to anyone, like me, who finds 'dealing with paper' overwhelming.


*Reviewer's Note: The book I own is simply called 'Taming the Paper Tiger'. It is the fourth edition published in 1997. The current book available is called "Taming the Paper Tiger at Home" - Fifth Edition. Same book with expanded title and different cover.


Quick Links to Other Clutter Control Books and Organizing Suggestions Reviewed by our Contributors here on Review This Reviews



For more organizing tips and tricks reviewed here on Review This Reviews, just do a search for 'clutter'


*Taming the Paper Tiger by Barbara Hemphill – book review written by ~

Wednesday Elf






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, August 14, 2021

Review of National Kool-Aid Day


National Kool-Aid Day is celebrated every year on the second Friday in August. The day was likely created by Kraft Foods, the owner and marketer of the Kool-Aid brand. 


History


Kool-Aid was invented by Edwin Perkins of Nebraska in 1927 in his mother's kitchen. He originally created it as a concentrate called “Fruit Smack”. To save on shipping costs, Perkins removed the water content and marketed it in powder form as “Kool-Aid”. There were six original flavors: cherry, grape, lemon, orange, root beer and raspberry. Over the years, many other flavors were added.


Fun Kool-Aid Facts


  • In the 1960s, a packet of Kool-Aid cost just 10 cents. 
  • Do you remember the 1960's cartoon Kool-Aid Kids"?
  • Monkees fans trivia: Davey Jones appeared in the Kool-Aid commercials during the 1960s.
  • Did You Know? Kool-Aid is the official soft drink of the state of Nebraska.


More Things to do with Kool-Aid



Color Easter Eggs with Kool-Aid as described by Dawn Rae in her Sharpies - a Great Way to Personalize Easter Eggs review.

Make a Brew-Ha-Ha Punch for your Halloween Party with the Kool-Aid recipe in Sylvestermouse's Wicked Brews and Beverages Halloween recipes review.


Make Kool-Aid Play Dough for a fun activity for the kids. Try this easy recipe from the Growing a Jeweled Rose Website


More Kool-Aid Activities to create in this Play Learn Grow blog by Growing a Jeweled Rose, such as Kool-Aid finger paints and sidewalk chalk paint. A fun group of Kool-Aid crafts for kids. 


And – best of all – make some Kool-Aid Popsicles. They are a favorite of kids everywhere for a cooling off treat on a hot summer day. Grape was always MY kids' favorite. Silicone Popsicle molds make this treat quick & easy to do.


Summary




Kool-Aid is the favorite sugary soft drink of kids. Always perfect on a hot summer day.


Come celebrate National Kool-Aid Day on the second Friday of August each year – or on any summer day you crave a cool glass of your favorite flavor of Kool-Aid.


National Kool-Aid Day Holiday Review written by

Wednesday Elf








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, August 3, 2021

Ocean Prey by John Sandford – A Book Review



Mystery Writer John Sandford has written 30 books in the Lucas Davenport 'Prey' Series and 12 books in the Virgil Flowers Series. With Prey Series Book #31, Sandford combines these two entertaining characters into one story and has them working together to solve a crime. 


Ocean Prey is a Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers Novel.


Main Characters in John Sandford's two well-known suspense/mystery series.


The Virgil Flowers Series


The  main character of the series, Virgil Flowers, is described as tall, lean, late thirties, three times divorced, with long hair. He often wears t-shirts featuring rock bands. Virgil works at the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA). He is good friends with Lucas Davenport and is frequently mentioned in various 'Prey' novels.


The Lucas Davenport 'Prey' Series


Davenport has been a police officer, a Minneapolis detective and Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension investigator.  In later books, including Ocean Prey, he now works for the U.S. Marshall's Office.  Lucas is tall with black hair, gray at the temples, blue eyes, and dark complexion.


Although each character has been mentioned occasionally in each other's series (as they are friends), this is the first book where they are featured working together on the same case.


Synopsis of Ocean Prey



Fan-favorite heroes Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers join forces on a deadly maritime case   


An off-duty Coast Guardsman, fishing with his family, spots a snazzy craft with extra horsepower picking up a surfaced diver who was apparently alone without a boat in the middle of the ocean. This doesn't make sense. The Coast Guardsman calls in this suspicious behavior.  The three Guardsmen who come out to investigate are shot and killed.


Since they are federal officers killed on the job, the FBI investigates. When the case stalls out, the FBI calls in the U.S. Marshall's office in the form of Lucas Davenport and his team. 


When the case turns lethal, Davenport brings in a detective whose biggest asset is having a fundamentally criminal mind: Virgil Flowers. 

Working undercover posing as a deep sea diver, with Davenport and the FBI supporting him in the background, Virgil infiltrates the group of notorious drug runners operating off the coast of Miami. They want the men responsible for the deaths of the Coast Guardsmen, but also the head of the organization which has been bringing in tons of illegal drugs in an unusual way. The main goal is to shut down the entire operation once and for all. 


Summary


Ocean Prey brings us an outstanding and exciting story starring Sandford's two favorite characters, Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers. This may be a suspenseful mystery story, but it is also filled with humor of the type frequently used by police personnel to lesson the tension.  The jokes and wisecracks among the characters made me smile often, and actually laugh out loud in two places. A very enjoyable read. 


Quick Links:



Ocean Prey Book Review written by

Wednesday Elf





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, July 31, 2021

Book Review of WIN by Harlan Coben

Book Review of the Harlan Coben novel WIN

Best-selling author Harlan Coben has written 18 Non-series stand-alone suspense books, the latest of which is WIN. Coben is also well-known for his Myron Bolitar series. Throughout the Bolitar series, we follow the interaction between Myron and his best friend and 'side kick' in solving crimes, Windsor Horne Lockwood III - or Win. It wasn't until I began reading Coben's newest book WIN that I realized the story was about Myron's friend.


For the first time, we get the true inside story of Win. Myron Bolitar is not featured in this book, except for a few references about the two of them together.  Instead, for the first time, this book gives us the background on the Win we have known and loved throughout the Bolitar series.


Windsor Horne Lockwood III (Win) is an extremely wealthy man with impeccable taste and a personal approach to justice that too often lands him on the wrong side of the law.


Synopsis


When the FBI takes Win to a murder scene in the upper West Side apartment of a recluse, Win doesn't know why. Then he sees two objects there, a stolen Vermeer painting and a suitcase bearing the initials WHL3 - his initials


Win is baffled how his family heirlooms came to be in a dead man's apartment. All he knows is that they were stolen from Lockwood Manor over twenty years ago when his Uncle was murdered and his cousin Patricia was kidnapped. Even though Patricia escaped her captors, they were never apprehended, the murder of her father was never solved, and the stolen items were never recovered. 


Now the FBI reveals that the murder victim in the apartment was also the mastermind behind a notorious act of domestic terrorism. Win must figure out the connection between the two cases. 


Summary


WIN by Harlan Coben

A dead man's secrets lead our hero down a dangerous road in this thriller from the author of the Myron Bolitar series – where we first meet Win. Harlan Coben writes with wit and irony in each of his suspenseful outings . A master storyteller ~ always a delightful read.


Quick Links to more reviews of Harlan Coben:

  • Book Review of CAUGHT by Wednesday Elf
  • TV Series Review of THE STRANGER by Lou16 aka Louanne Cox
  • Book Review of WIN by Wednesday Elf


*Book Review of WIN by Harlan Coben written by 

~Wednesday Elf






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, July 20, 2021

National Lollipop Day Review

 

National Lollipop Day

July 20 is known as National Lollipop Day – a fun holiday founded by the National Confectioners Association. 


What is a Lollipop?


Lollipop Shop - Pixabay


Definition: Lol-li-pop – a flat rounded candy on the end of a stick.


Lollipops are a type of sugar candy – usually hard candy – mounted on a stick. You eat it by sucking or licking.  Lollipops are also called a lolly, a sucker, or a sticky-pop, depending on where you live.


Lollipops are available in many flavors and can be found in several shapes, as well as the usual round shape. They range in size from small candies often purchased by the bagful, to giant lollipops made by specialty candy shops.


Banks, barbershops, some stores and vendors at parades often give away this sweet treat to customers. 


Little Boy Lost – a Personal Lollipop Story


When our youngest son was four years old, we went to visit the grandparents in a small Kansas town. Grandpa was a doctor and kept a large glass jar filled with lollipops in his office.  Naturally we stopped by his office one day and our son, Greg, got to choose a Lollipop from the jar. The office was located one block over and two blocks up from grandpa's house. 


The next morning, we were in the kitchen with Grandma, having coffee. Greg was outside on the front porch with his older brother & sister and cousin. Several workmen were laying a new sidewalk right in front and the children were all watching. We figured 3 older children could watch one 4-year-old, but we didn't figure on the adventurous little boy our youngest was. We learned later that Greg had gotten bored with watching the workman and decided, all on his own, to go over to Grandpa's office to get another lollipop. But ….. instead of walking one block over and 2 blocks up, he went 2 blocks over and started walking trying to find the doctor's office. 


About 30 minutes later the other children came inside and we (naturally) asked “Where's Greg?”. They had no idea – never having seen him leave and figuring he'd gone inside the house. Now we've got panicked parents, an aunt and grandma all going in different directions looking for Greg and calling his name. About the time we figured we should call the police for help, we spotted a police car coming around the corner with a small boy standing up in the back seat. We flagged them down and re-claimed our child.  Turned out they had found him standing on a corner on a downtown street – over a mile from where he started. He'd gotten lost and was crying and a kind lady had found him and called the police.


We never even had to punish him.  He'd scared himself so much, we figured that was punishment enough! And he never even got his LOLLIPOP! :) 


Lollipops in Pop Culture


Image Source: Pixabay


In the TV series Kojak (1973-1979), Telli Savalis played a lollipop-loving detective known as Lieutenant Theo Kojak. 

In The Wizard of Oz (1939), Dorothy is welcomed to the Land of Oz by The Lollipop Guild armed with a giant spiral sucker. 

In 1934 – In the movie Bright Eyes, Shirley Temple sang the song “On the Good Ship Lollipop”



Summary


So - on July 20 - or any day - enjoy this candy-on-a-stick!


Lollipop Day - July 20



More Candy Stories:



Lollipop Day reviewed by Wednesday Elf





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G




Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten


Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner




“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X