Showing posts with label Gifts. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Gifts. Show all posts

Wednesday, November 30, 2022

What is Jolabokaflod? Christmas Eve Traditions to Try! Holiday Gift Ideas

 So you might be wondering what a Jolabokaflod is and why it's important!  Well in the interests of learning something new every day, this is one word and idea that really resonates with me and my family.

Jolabokaflod is an Icelandic Christmas Eve tradition.  Every one in the family gets a "book" gift on Christmas Eve and the rest of the evening is spent reading and drinking  hot chocolate and eating some of those wonderful Christmas cookies that seem to magically appear at this time of year.




Our family is blessed in so many ways!   All our children are grown and have children of their own. Our children and grandchildren don't really need more "stuff".   Each family member has a roof over their heads and food on the table.  Clothes in the closets and shoes/boots for whatever weather conditions may be outside.  So what more do we need?

The simple answer is NOTHING!  

The most important things to us (my husband and myself) is BEING with each other and sharing time together.  Yet at Christmastime, we also like to do something special for our family.

So this year we have made the decision to do what they do in Iceland.  Instead of gifts for the adults we will focus on purchasing a book that we have loved and share it with another member of  the family.  

The grandchildren will still receive traditional Christmas gifts, but a book might find it's way into that idea too! We love reading and love promoting reading skills to our grandchildren as well. 

If you are looking for a great list of books to peruse, you don't have to go too far!  Review This Reviews has an amazing list of books that have been reviewed by the writers of this site!  There is everything from Puzzle Books and Riddles, to Murder/Mysteries, Biographies, Cozy Romances and so much more!  

Some books are from new authors and some are from well known authors who have been writing for years.

There is something for everyone at ReviewThisReviews.com!  Click on the link and then follow the tabs across the top!  The first one you come to is BOOK REVIEWS.  How much easier can gift finding get?


We (my other half and I) will be using this link to find the gifts for our own first of a kind, Jolabokaflod that we will celebrate this year!  

Now I have to add an addendum:  This idea is not for every one and if you are interested there are a host of "OTHER" reviews that might help you find that perfect gift if you are celebrating in a more traditional way.

May Your Christmas be everything that you hold dear to your hearts and may you enjoy each other's company making great memories as you go along!  Blessings to all!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 25, 2022

LEGO Creator Winter Toy Shop Reviewed

Lego Toy Shop
The Lego Creator Winter Toy Shop is part of our annual Christmas decor!

When Treasures By Brenda recently reviewed The Best Lego Gift Ideas, I realized that I had never reviewed the Lego Winter Toy Shop set and explained how we use it every year during the holidays.

The snowy scene is the perfect winter design and there is nothing better than a toy shop at Christmastime.  Our whole family loves this Lego set. 

Our son built the #10249 set in 2019 and that was the first year we used it as our dining room table centerpiece for the holidays. It was such a hit with everyone, that I continue to display it in the center of our table for the holidays.

Our children are adults, but when our daughter was recently in town, they were both "playing" with the Lego figures in the set, discussing the Lego toys around the tree, and laughing at the poor skier that just can't seem to keep his balance sitting on my green table runner.  

I personally love the carolers that are reminiscent of holiday Dickens Village Carolers. 

We also add the 2019 Winter Gingerbread House (#40337) to our centerpiece display. I have a wide family table that needs a wider centerpiece. Plus, I like having more of the gingerbread house motif included.  We selected the 2019 house to serve as a date "cornerstone" for the building year.

Lego Toy Shop
Our Dining Room Table Holiday Centerpiece

 

Lego Creator Winter Toy Shop Set #10199 or #10249

This toy shop Lego set is fabulous and makes an excellent holiday decoration.  As stated above, we use it as our dining room centerpiece, but it would be lovely on any table top in any room.

There are at least 2 Lego Winter Toy Shop kits to consider.  My son built the newer version (10249) for our dining room table.  The older version (10199) has less pieces, but different toys. Plus, the building details are slightly different, notably the wreaths.  

 LEGO Creator Winter Toy Shop 10199Check Price

The Lego Set 10199 Includes:
  • The Winter Top Shop Building with light-up tower window
  • Christmas Tree
  • Bench & Lamp Post
  • Decorative Landscape Trees
  • Minifigures included:  2 Carolers & 5 more town people, snowman, cat, toy train, jack-in-the-box, stuffed animal, robot and toy car
  • 815 pieces 

 

The Lego Set 10249 below (the set my son built) has 898 pieces with similar pieces as above, but also includes:

  • Updated Designs 
  • Minifigures are similar 2 Carolers & 6 more town people, snowman, & the cat
  • Toys are teddy bear, jack-in-the-box, train, truck, race car, plane, helicopter, tug boat, robot & rocket.

 LEGO Creator Winter Toy Shop 10249Check Price

 

 





Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, November 23, 2022

Holiday Gift Guide: Thoughtful, Affordable Gift Ideas They Will Love

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving and the day after is Black Friday, when many people will be taking the day off to enjoy an extra-long weekend. Despite the growing trend toward "pre-Black Friday sales," the Friday after Thanksgiving is widely considered the kickoff to the holiday gift shopping season and making plans for the Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanzaa winter holidays.

With retail stores (both online and brick-and-mortar) competing hard for your holiday shopping dollars, it's easy to feel overwhelmed by the barrage of sales messages and holiday gift guides. But the best gifts, the ones that make both the giver and receiver feel warm and fuzzy, are presents that reflect your personal connection to each recipient through your knowledge of their individual likes and interests.

This holiday gift guide reviews a selection of gift ideas that are both affordable and thoughtful, tailored to the interests of special people on your list.

Thoughtful & Affordable Holiday Gifts

Holiday Gift Ideas by Interest

Whether your nearest and dearest friends and family members, teachers and other recipients on your list are fond of fashion, food, fancy fingertips or other interests, the affordable gifts in this holiday gift guide are sure to please!

For Women Who Love Luxury But Hate Cold Weather

One of the best presents I ever bought myself were a pair of VIKIDEER Long, Lined, Warm Leather Gloves for Women With Touchscreen Fingertips. They're made of soft, luxurious lambskin leather, have a warm, plush lining, are long enough to keep my arms as well as my hands toasty warm, and let me  use my mobile phone, tablet or Kindle to make a phone call, look up a bus or train schedule, call a cab, Uber or Lyft or listen to an audiobook, podcast or music without having to expose my fingers to the cold winter weather. Read my product review of these Long, Lined Leather Touchscreen Gloves to learn more about why they make a much appreciated gift for women.

Long, lined, warm leather touchscreen gloves

Other cozy gift recommendations to keep her warm in the cold weather include the Warm, Oversized, Hooded Wearable Blankets recommended by Raintree Annie and the Affordable, Cozy Warm Micromink Sherpa Blanket reviewed by Barbara (a.k.a. Brite-Ideas) that keeps her family members toasty during the chilly Canadian winters. 

For Podcast, Audiobook and Music Lovers

Any audiobook or podcast lover will appreciate a Audible Premium Plus Gift Membership. A 1-month membership costs only $15 and allows the recipient to select an audiobook their choice for 1 credit and gives them access to additional listens through the Audible Plus catalog. It would make a great stocking stuffer! There are also 3-month, 6-month or 12-month gift memberships available.

Recipients with iPhones or other Apple devices can use an Apple Gift Card to buy AirPods (and other accessories) as well as subscriptions to Apple Music (as well as apps, games, movies and TV shows) in the Apple App Store.

If you want to splurge a little on someone special, a pair of comfortable, lightweight, high-quality, bone-conduction headphones makes a great gift idea. Check out my product review of The Best Bone-Conduction Bluetooth Headphones: Shokz OpenRun Pro to learn more about these awesome headphones.

Shokz Open Run Pro premium bone-conduction headphones

For Women Who Enjoy Pretty Nails

As a former nail biter with weak nails that constantly broke or split, I used to envy women who had long, strong, beautifully manicured and polished nails. It is only in recent years that I finally learned how to heal my weak, ridged nails and ragged cuticles. Now, I love showing off my new, long, healthy nails with pretty polish colors and nail art designs!

Manicure with Color Street nail polish strips

If someone on your list also enjoys having pretty, well-groomed nails (or wishes she did), check out my product reviews of The Best Manicure Tools for Strong, Healthy Nails and put together a selection in a gift basket, along with a printout of my article 14 Secrets to Growing Strong, Healthy, Beautiful Nails and a bottle or two of good quality nail polish or, better, yet, Color Street nail polish strips, which I use and recommend highly. You can order them from my fellow Review This Reviews contributor Olivia Morris and read her Color Street nail polish strips product review to learn more about them.

For Current or Aspiring Gardening Enthusiasts and Flower Lovers

My mother and my sister both got the "green thumb" genes in our family. So, while my sister grows a lot of her own vegetables and herbs (and even lemons and limes) year-around, despite our cold New England climate, the only crops I have been able to grow reliably all year long are Hamama microgreens seed quilts. Hamama Microgreens Starter Kits and Seed Quilt Refills are designed specifically for indoor growing. Just fill the grow trays with tap water up to the fill line, place the seed quilts and attached coir fiber mats on top and press to soak evenly, place them near a window or under a grow light, wait for them to sprout and grow, then harvest and eat, So easy, delicious and satisfying, especially for people like me who lack natural gardening talent or savvy! I have given them as gifts and the recipients have loved them. Learn more in my Hamama Microgreens Starter Kit and Seed Quilts Review.

HAMAMA microgreens seed quilts in grow trays

Outdoor gardening enthusiasts will definitely appreciate the gift of a high quality tool, such as bypass secateurs. Check out my savvy gardening expert Raintree Annie's review of her favorite Wolf-Garten ByPass Secateurs.

For someone with a deck, consider giving a City Pickers raised garden bed recommended by Tracey (a.k.a. The Savvy Age) along with some good quality potting soil.

Several of my fellow Review This Reviews contributors are talented nature photographers who have turned their photos into various products on Zazzle. You'll find beautiful flower-themed photo mugs, t-shirts, decorative pillows and other gifts on Mary Beth Granger's Beauty in Nature Zazzle shop and Raintree Annie's Raintree Earth Designs Zazzle shop.

For Cooking or Baking Enthusiasts

There are so many wonderful gift ideas for people who love cooking, baking or both! Two that I can recommend highly that are also very affordable include my pick for The Best Powerful, Lightweight Stick Blender With Versatile Attachments and an assortment of handy, easy-to-clean, nonstick pan friendly silicone kitchen tools

Mueller Multi-Purpose Ultra-Stick Hand Blender

If you want to give your favorite home cook a gift they would love to own but might not buy for themselves, also check out the equally versatile Ninja Foodi Grill reviewed by Sam Monaco.

And for your favorite baker, Treasures by Brenda recommends these pretty and practical pink cupcake-themed aprons and adorable, festive gingerbread man-themed aprons that would make perfect Christmas gifts.

For Coffee Lovers in a Small Household

One of the Christmas gifts my husband requested last year was a coffee maker that could make just one or two cups of really good coffee that would taste as delicious as a larger 6-, 8- or 12-cup batch (for when we had company) and could be programmed the night before to brew the next morning, so he (or we) could wake up to a freshly brewed cup of java. 

After a lot of research, I finally chose the Ninja CE251 Programmable Brewer with 12-cup Glass Carafe and it was a huge hit. Read my product review to learn why we think it's The Best Affordable Programmable Large- and Small-Batch Coffee Maker.

Ninja CE251 Programmable Brewer with 12-cup Glass Carafe

If your gift recipients are the only coffee drinkers in their household or if the want to enjoy delicious, freshly brewed coffee when they travel, check out Sylvestermouse's review of the Keurig K-Mini Single Serve K-cup Coffee Maker.

For Regular and Herbal Tea Lovers

I and many of my friends are avid tea drinkers. While I enjoy a cuppa good Darjeeling or English Breakfast, I also love flavored teas, such as peach, apricot and blackberry. Although I never liked the grassy flavor of most green tea or chamomile, I have been exploring flavored herbal teas and discovered quite a few that I enjoy even more than traditional black teas. Flavored red rooibos teas, in particular, have become some of my new favorites. I love The Republic of Tea's Restore and Reset SuperAdapt Herbal Tea, which is organic, caffeine-free and infused with cocoa and reishi mushrooms, adaptogens (which the Cleveland Clinic describes as "plants and mushrooms that help your body respond to stress, anxiety, fatigue and overall wellbeing") that give it a delicious, slightly earthy chocolate flavor, and The Republic of Tea's Strawberry Chocolate Tea, which I have reviewed in detail (An Unusual, Delicious Strawberry Chocolate Tea With 0 Calories).

Republic of Tea Strawberry Chocolate Cuppa Chocolate Tea

To enhance your gift, consider adding the pretty and practical McIntosh Van Gogh Fine China Tea Mug with Lid & Infuser reviewed by Cynthia Sylvestermouse, a perfect gift pairing with the tea of your choice for your favorite tea lover.

For Healthy Chocolate Connoisseurs

As a chocolate connoisseur who has lost a significant amount of weight on a ketogenic diet and now follows a delicious, healthy low carb lifestyle, I have tried most of the no sugar added and sugar-free chocolate brands and products on the market. There are many great choices now, but my favorite chocolate candy bars are from The Good Chocolate and ChocZero. 

The Good Chocolate is expensive but has the best mouthfeel of any no sugar added dark chocolate I have tried (they also offer vegan milk chocolate treats). Check out my review of The Good Chocolate 100% Organic, No Sugar Dark Chocolate

The Good Chocolate organic no sugar added chocolate bars

I also love ChocZero's sugar-free keto bark, which contains no sugar alcohols. The ChocZero dark chocolate peppermint keto bark with bits of crunchy, sugar-free peppermint candy is my husband's favorite holiday candy. Both these chocolate bars are also high in fiber, which is a nice bonus.

No sugar added, low carb chocolate hazelnut spreads would also make a great stocking stuffer for a health-conscious Nutella lover. My side-by-side comparison of the Best Keto-Friendly Chocolate Hazelnut Spreads with No Added Sugars will help you choose. 

For People Following a Keto Diet or Low Carb Lifestyle

In addition to the healthy sugar-free and no added sugar chocolate suggestions above, you'll find loads of other wonderful presents for health-conscious recipients in my Keto Gift Guide: The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas.

For Women Who Appreciate Handmade Gifts

A gift you make for someone is truly a gift from the heart. Even if you are new to making jewelry, you can quickly and successfully create a beautiful and memorable gift of handmade jewelry for a special woman on your list to cherish. Just follow my easy, step-by-step jewelry tutorial, How to Make a Stylish Beaded Coil Wrap Bracelet.

Handmade beaded coil wrap bracelet on wrist

If jewelry making isn't your thing, consider getting one of the crochet, knitting, sewing, felt, quilting or other craft kits recommended by Pat Austin (a.k.a. Wednesday Elf) that come complete with all the materials and tools you will need to complete your handmade gift projects.

If you prefer cooking to crafts, homemade baked goods are always a treat. For someone who prefers savory foods to sweets, you can buy some pretty lidded glass food storage jars and fill them with a batch of refrigerator pickled vegetables recipe using Tracey Boyer's quick and easy recipe that doesn't require canning.

If your gift recipient's household includes a beloved cat or small dog owner, you can follow this Upcycled Drawer Pet Bed Tutorial by Diana (a.k.a. Renaissance Woman) to turn an old dresser drawer into an elegant, luxurious bed for their precious pet.

For Scale Model, Jewelry Making or Hand Tool Enthusiasts

My husband is both a "tool guy" and a "car guy" who loves building scale models as a hobby and doing electonics and automotive repairs. One of the best gifts I've given him is a durable, compact tool roll that keeps his many files and other precision hand tools organized, protected and easy to find. I've been tempted to buy another for myself for my jewelry making tools. Check out my in-depth product review to find out why The Best Tool Roll Organizer To Store & Protect Your Tools makes a great gift.

DuraTech Tool Roll Organizer

Consider pairing it with a Grypmat, a handy silicone tool organizer that sticks to and protects work surfaces and comes in a variety of sizes. It's perfect for automotive repairs and other mechanical work, jewelry making and DIY projects. Learn more about it in Dawn Rae's product review of the Grypmat: the Ultimate Tool Mat.

For Women or Men With Long, Thick or Damaged Hair

Drying long or thick hair can be time-consuming unless you use a blow dryer, which can damage tresses if overused, which can lead to damage. Using blow dryers or heat styling tools, such as curling irons and hot brushes, for as short a time as possible is important to keep hair healthy and prevent additional damage to colored, processed or fragile strands.

For the person on your list who has long, thick or damaged hair, a high-quality, absorbent hair towel that glides over vulnerable, wet tresses without stretching or pulling them is a wonderful gift. I highly recommend the VOLO Hero or VOLO Hero Plus (for long, thick locks), which I've written about in my VOLO Hero Premium Microfiber Hair Towel Product Review.

VOLO Hero Premium Microfiber Hair Towel

A good "wet brush" designed to slide through tangles without pulling, stretching or breaking wet strands after a shampoo would make a great pairing or stocking stuffer. Check out my article on The Best Wet Brushes for Detangling Your Hair Without Damage in addition to the Crave Naturals Glide Thru Detangling Hair Brush for Wet or Dry Hair, my new favorite daily brush for hair that's already damaged or fragile.

For People Who Love to Smile

I recently treated myself to a new sonic toothbrush that works as well as my previous Philips Sonicare and Oral-B brushes that cost much more. The bristles are gentle on the gums and clean very effectively, and the brush comes complete with a travel case and lots of extra brush heads, all for a remarkably low price. Unlike my previous ultrasonic toothbrushes from the big-name brands, the brush head refills are also delightfully affordable. 

Dnsly Electric Toothbrush Set

Read my product review of The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush to learn more about why this set makes a wonderful gift for yourself or a loved one with a beautiful smile.

Have You Made Your Holiday Gift List (and Checked It Twice)?

I hope this holiday gift guide helps you choose thoughtful, affordable presents that will continue to delight both you and the recipients long after the holidays are over.

Happy holidays!

Holiday Gift Guide: Thoughtful, Affordable Gift Ideas They Will Love by Margaret Schindel

Read More Gift Ideas From Our Review This Reviews Contributors





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 21, 2022

Reviewing Why the Sitivien ST139 Knife is a Great Gift Idea

 I recently gifted myself with a Sitivien ST139 knife and immediately wondered why I let "knife" languish at the bottom of my to-buy list for so long. I know little about things such as blade material (what makes a knife sharp versus durable) so I finally accepted help and recommendations from others who know knives. As soon as I began sharing my experience with this knife there were others that said this would be a great gift; hint-hint.  


As I said, I am not a knife afficiando. Quite the opposite.  I only recall owning 3 or 4 folding knives before this. Most recently, two of those were Kershaws that I really liked. And two others prior were really cheap knives - one of which I kept clipped to my kayak life vest because I had a terrible fear of capsizing and becoming entangled in some underwater mess.  I know, I know, a somewhat irrational fear and yet I felt better having a blade handy in case I wanted to cut myself from my vest or my 'yak leash. Since that specific knife was junk, it didn't take more than 2 seasons to corrode.

The Sitivien ST139 Folding EDC Knife

In order to educate myself about knives, and stay within my very low budget, I began listening to people who know much more than I about the subject. Of course, being knife collectors and daily users, they have their eyes on high quality knives and carry knives with a smaller price tag than their "next" knives. That smaller price is still out of my range. One day I was brave and asked point blank for a recommendation for someone with with a very tight budget. Sitivien was the answer. 

The ST139 was my choice because it looked like the handle would be the best for my weak hand grip. And I chose the yellow and black handle so I could find it more easily if I drop it in the woods.

In the description online it states:

  • Knife dimensions: Overall length: 7.48" inches(19cm); Blade length:3.15" inches(8cm)
  • Handle length: 4.33” inches(11cm); Weight of Knife: 4.37 Ounce OR 124 grams
  • Blade: Sandvik 14C28N Steel Knife : Durable 14C28N steel blade hardness 60-61 HRC, provides a perfect balance of edge sharpness, edge stability and corrosion resistance. 
  • Handle: Micarta Handle Ensures a secure and confident grip during use and comfortable in-hand feel.
  • Ball Bearing knife can open extremely smoothly on its ball bearing pivot,
  • Lock: has a simple and reliable Liner lock [that] is resistant to dirt and prevents unexpected closure.
I did NOT verify the dimensions but overall length sounds right.


I do know that the Amazon description was wrong about 2 things; a leather sheath was not included and the clip isn't (in all the research I've done since getting my knife) interchangeable from right-handed to left-handed.

I am a lady in my late 50's who just moved to my land and is homesteading. I need a knife for many reasons.  Just a few I can think of at this moment are:
  • I could have used it with garden plants, pruning, and cutting tomato stake ties.
  • Harvesting... if I had veggies to harvest this year (it wasn't a good gardening year for me).
  • Building my chicken coop and similar projects (cutting paracord and zip tie ends).
  • I needed a good knife to cut that Black Gorilla tape I needed to use (that was a nightmare with dull scissors and tin snips).
  • I've used it for opening boxes. 
  • I've used it for cutting up meat (it was FANTASTIC for that purpose as the handle did not become slippery).
  • I desperately needed a sharp knife last year when I installed my water line heating cords under the house.
I think that others who could use this would be people who:
  • do simple or emergency household and/car repairs
  • go hiking
  • go camping
  • live/work on a farm or homestead
  • people who hunt and fish
  • are crafters or artists (whittling, trimming, sharpening, and who need a sharp cutting tool larger than an Xacto blade)
  • collect knives
  • and people who have the skills to use it for self-protection and/or emergency situations
  • perhaps in medical kits - I imagine it would be good for cutting those large band-aid wraps

Why Did I Choose to Review a Knife on Review This? 


I believe that our readers are more females than males. So why would I review this here?  I almost didn't. Then I changed my mind.  Women also need quality tools that suit their needs. I think we tend to overlook that. Also, buy gifts for our fathers, husbands, and sons. I'll never forget when my dad had started to down-size and he had many new shirts to get rid of. And I wondered if that pile of shirts were many of the shirts that he had received as gifts over the years. And that it was too bad we didn't have a better idea of what to get for him.  When he was elderly and in an apartment he might not have appreciated the knife but when he was a builder and a farmer he sure would have put it to good use (if only for cutting bale twine).

If you'd like to see more, you can see my personal video review and how the knife fits in my hand you here:






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 11, 2022

Lightweight Acrylic Cake Plate with Dome Lid Reviewed

Domed Acrylic Cake Plate
Let me start by saying, I absolutely love my new acrylic cake plate!

Domed Acrylic Cake Plate

I rarely buy anything for myself.  I usually keep a running wishlist for special occasions. Normally, if I want something new for my kitchen, I add it to the wishlist and try to forget it.  That way, my family can select things they know I will want and I can be surprised by a new gadget, utensil, or cookware.  

For some time now, I have been searching for a lightweight, pretty covered cake plate that I can easily move from the refrigerator to the table.  For decades, I have used my domed glass cake plate, but in recent years I have noted that it is heavy for me to carry.  

I hate the way wrap or foil messes up cake frosting and much prefer the domed cake plates, so I have continued to use the glass domed cake plate in spite of the weight.  My glass cake plate is also footed, which makes it rather tall.  I have to move my refrigerator shelf to accommodate the height, which is another inconvenience.

When I found this footless acrylic domed cake plate on Amazon, I thought I would try it.  I wasn't sure it would work well for me and I didn't want to wait for Christmas to receive it.  With several birthdays to celebrate in October & November, I really needed the cake plate now.  Therefore, I bought it for myself.  

Because it turned out to be exactly what I wanted and needed, I wish I had waited for a beloved family member to gift it to me so it would have that memory attached to it.  I'll have to settle for the memories of the birthday cakes that were first served and stored in it.

 

The Lightweight Acrylic Domed Cake Plate

This cake plate is perfect!  It is very lightweight, almost feather light.  Because it is not footed, it easily slides into my refrigerator without having to adjust the shelf height, even with the handled tall dome.


 

I was concerned that the dome would not be tall enough, however, it easily accommodates our two layer lemon cake (shown below) or chocolate cake without touching the frosting.

I use a glass plate under my cake because they turn easily on the table when frosting a cake.  The dome is tall enough and the plate is wide enough to accommodate the plate and the cake together.  As you can see in the picture below, my husband used a dinner plate for the lemon birthday cake he made for me.  The cake is not touching the lidded dome on the top or the sides, and there is plenty of room for the dinner plate underneath the cake.

 

The diamond pattern of the plate itself is very pretty on the table and compliments any dessert. 

I am thrilled to have a lovely domed cake plate that will protect my frosted cakes and that I can easily move from the fridge to the table.  The dome does get fogged between fridge and table, but that is easily wiped away with a paper towel, leaving the cake in a clear and lovely domed display.

 AVLA Acrylic Cake Plate with Dome, 13 Inch Cake Stand with CoverCheck Price




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, November 9, 2022

Long, Lined Leather Gloves — A Luxurious, Affordable Gift She'll Love

With the winter holidays fast approaching, many of us are starting to think about Hanukkah, Kwanzaa and Christmas gifts for teachers, friends, family and other loved ones. Gloves are traditional and practical gifts, but not always exciting. A gift-worthy pair needs something special, such as a pretty color or luxury materials, to make the recipient's eyes light up when they unwrap their present.

The long lambskin leather touchscreen gloves I bought myself a couple of years ago are beautifully made, have a soft, plush lining, look and feel much more expensive than they are and keep my hands and arms toasty warm during the cold winter months.

I'm sharing my in-depth product review of these yummy, extra-long, warm winter gloves that would make a luxurious and surprisingly affordable gift idea for the women on your holiday shopping list.

Soft lambskin leather long, warm winter gloves with cozy plush lining
Beautiful VIKIDEER long leather lambskin gloves with a soft, warm, plush lining that are also touchscreen compatible to work with your mobile phone, tablet or Kindle

Here in New England, winters are long, snowy and bitter cold. Even when I lived in New York City, I always purchased warm winter gloves that extended several inches above my wrist. However, once I moved to the Boston area I found that they weren't long enough to protect my forearms from the bite of the arctic winter wind, which forced its way inside my coat sleeves every time I bent my arms to take something out of my purse, such as a tissue or bus fare, or use my phone.

I have always had a weakness for high-quality, cashmere-lined lambskin leather gloves. I had several pairs, purchased when I still lived in Manhattan and long before I got my first mobile phone, that were still in great shape. However, in addition to not being long enough, they also weren't touchscreen compatible. So, when I used public transportation to get from our house in the suburbs into Boston and back, every time I wanted to check the status of the bus I was waiting for, listen to my audiobook, check my email, text or phone messages, call a taxi, etc., I had to remove my right glove and expose my hand to the freezing cold.

I tried a pair of long, knitted cashmere gloves similar to, but a bit shorter than, these long cashmere blend touchscreen gloves. Although they were long enough to protect my forearms when I bent my elbows and allowed me to keep my hands covered while using my phone, they weren't warm enough for my needs.

Eventually, however, I found my current pair of well made, very warm, long leather gloves with touchscreen compatible fingertips. Jackpot!

What I Love About VIKIDEER Long, Lined, Warm Lambskin Leather Gloves

Here are some of the reasons I recommend these excellent quality, surprisingly affordable VIKIDEER lined, long, warm leather gloves for yourself or as a gift.

Buttery Soft, Supple, Genuine Lambskin Leather

These feel deliciously smooth, soft and luxurious from the moment you take them out of the box.

Pair of long brown leather winter gloves with one cuff turned back to show plush fleece lining
The silky soft, plush polyester fleece lining of these winter gloves keeps hands toasty warm

Warm, Plush Lining

The genuine leather shell, silky soft polyester plush lining and windproof, close stitching keep even my temperature-sensitive hands toasty warm during our cold, snowy, windy New England winters.

Long Enough To Protect Forearms Against the Wind

I bought these luxurious leather gloves in the three-quarter length (15.5" long), which covers most of my forearms, so when I bend my arms there's no gap where skin is exposed to the cold or wind. These warm winter gloves are also available in a longer elbow length (19.6" long).

woman wearing coat with arm bent to show long leather gloves covering forearms
Even when I bend or raise my arms, my forearms stay warm covered by these long winter gloves

Choice of Four Colors

Both the 15.5-inch and 19.6-inch lengths are available in Black, Brown, Champagne (which I would call tan or saddle brown) and Red. I bought the 15.5-inch long gloves in the rich, dark chocolate brown to go with my faux fur-lined microsuede hooded coat. I'm also planning to buy a black pair to go with my nearly ankle-length, black, hooded down coat, which I wear on the coldest days.

High Quality, Made to Last

The materials and workmanship make them durable and wear resistant. The lambskin leather also becomes even softer and more supple with wear and gradually conforms to the shape of your hands over time.

After wearing mine frequently throughout two frigid Massachusetts winters, the leather as well as the fleece lining and stitching have all held up beautifully.

Touchscreen Compatible

These may look like traditional, high quality, warm leather gloves, but there is a hidden feature (probably conductive thread stitching or fabric between the lambskin leather shell and the soft, cozy plush lining) that also makes these touchscreen gloves. I love being able to use my mobile phone, tablet or Kindle while I'm on the go without having to remove my gloves (especially since it is harder to put a long glove back on while wearing a long-sleeved winter coat).

True to Size

These are sold in small, medium, large, extra-large and extra-extra large sizes rather than numerical glove sizes. I ordered the medium, which equaltes to my usual glove size 7, and found that the fit is true to size. At the time of this post's publication, 88% of Amazon buyers who rated the fit of these gloves also said they fit true to size.

Here is a size guide to help you choose the best fit for yourself or your gift recipient:

Small (6.5)

Medium (7)

Large (7.5)

X-Large (8)

XX-Large (8.5)

Attractive Gift Box

These beautiful, warm winter gloves arrive in an elegant tissue-lined gift box with gold embossing, ready for holiday gift giving. Just add wrapping paper and a bow!

A Fantastic Value

These plush lined, genuine lambskin leather gloves look, feel and last like pairs that cost much more. The gift box is a lovely, unexpected bonus.

Luxury Gifts for Her at An Affordable Price

You won't find more elegant, luxurious, well made and affordable gifts for women for less than $37 for these 15.5-inch, three-quarter-length lambskin leather gloves. Even the longer, 19.6-inch elbow-length gloves cost less than $40.

They would make excellent Hanukkah, Kwanzaa or Christmas gifts as well as birthday or Valentine's Day gifts that the lucky recipients will enjoy and appreciate for many years to come.

Consider a Pair For Yourself

These high-quality warm winter gloves are as practical as they are pretty. If yours don't have touchscreen compatible fingertips or you're tired of having cold hands in the winter, consider treating yourself to a pair of these beautiful, long-lasting, affordable, long leather gloves. You deserve to have warm hands this winter, too!


Long, Lined Leather Gloves — A Luxurious, Affordable Gift She'll Love by Margaret Schindel


Get More Gift Ideas From My Product Reviews

The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush

The Best Affordable, Super Sharp Kitchen and Steak Knives Set

The Best Powerful, Lightweight Stick Blender With Versatile Attachments

The Best Bone-Conduction Bluetooth Headphones Review: Shokz OpenRun Pro

The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush

The Best Tool Roll Organizer To Store & Protect Your Tools

The Best Affordable Programmable Large- and Small-Batch Coffee Maker

The Best Manicure Tools for Strong, Healthy Nails

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

Flippy Tablet, Kindle, Phone, and Book Stand Lap Pillow Review

Hamama Microgreens Starter Kit and Seed Quilts Review

Read More Gift Reviews From Our Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 4, 2022

Best Gifts for Christmas 2022 - Recommended by the Contributors of Review This Reviews!

Best Gifts for Christmas
Shopping for Christmas gifts is not always easy, especially if you have a long gift list.  The contributors of Review This Reviews would like to help you quickly check those names off your list so you can move on to celebrating Christmas with less stress.

Each contributor has selected one gift to recommend here. There are gift selections for women, men, children, and there is even a gift suggestion for pet owners included! 

We have a larger selection of choices featured on our Christmas Gifts Pinterest board, if needed.

We invite you to sit back and enjoy shopping from the comfort of your own home! 

 

FAST CLICK INDEX - Click the Category Title to Jump to Specific Section 


Best Gift for Readers

 Kindle Unlimited Gift SubscriptionCheck PriceYears ago, my daughter gave me a Kindle Paperwhite.  

Even though I was hesitant to set aside physical books, once I started reading books on my Kindle, I found I really liked how lightweight and thin it was compared to an actual book. It is so easy to slip into my backpack, tote or purse and take my entire collection of books with me anywhere I go. This is especially awesome when we travel.  

My mother-in-law lives in a small apartment on a very fixed income. She doesn't have room or money for an extensive book collection. The Kindle made the perfect Christmas gift for her. We included a subscription to Kindle Unlimited with her Kindle and we can renew it every year, if desired. Since she loves the Kindle & the subscription, I expect this is something we will do for years to come. Kindle Unlimited allows her access to thousands of books for free. It is like owning your own multi-level library full of your preferred genres of books!

I love the Kindle Paperwhite for reading books, but if you want colored images on your e-reader, I recommend the Kindle Fire. Great for Cookbooks, Magazines, video games & more.

  Gift choice from Sylvestermouse - To Read Her Full Review, Click Here 



 Wild Bird 24 oz. Wire Tube Nugget Feeder Check Price

Best Gift for Nature Lovers & Photographers

My husband and I enjoy spending time sitting at our kitchen table and watching the birds in our backyard. 

I have several feeders in our backyard, but my favorite is this wonderful feeder that holds suet nuggets. This feeder attracts a variety of birds, particularly different woodpeckers and nuthatches. 

I keep it up and full year-round and set up my camera to photograph the wide variety of birds that visit this feeder.

  Gift choice from Mbgphoto 





The Best Gift for Those Who Like Tool Organization

 Grypmat Pro, Original Flexible Tool Tray Organizer, Industrial Strength, and Heat Resistant Silicone-Polymer Mat, Non-Magnetic, Grips To Any Surface With Easy Clean Up, Seen on Shark Tank (Trio Pack)Check PriceGrypmat is a trademarked, silicone tool organizer that sticks to surfaces and keeps your tools near you while you are working. It holds tools, bolts, screws, and other items and prevents them from rolling away or getting lost while protecting your work surface.  

In December 2020, I gave my best friend a Grypmat. I was so glad to give a gift that has been so useful and enjoyed by him. My friend fixes anything and everything; automotive, HVAC, and major home repairs just to name a few of his specialities. I had witnessed times where he dropped tools into areas that are difficult to reach so I bought a Grypmat for him. He said he loved it then. I recently asked if he still uses it and he gave an emphatic yes. He said, "I like that it's chemical resistant and hasn't bloated, weakened, or stained." My friend was so excited to talk about it that he offered to send me photos of his current project using the Grypmat. I declined. I am taking his word for it that he recommends and uses the Grypmat.  

The mats come in a couple of different colors and three different sizes. You can purchase just one mat or a set of three. It is a plus that Grypmat is a Veteran-founded company founded by former Air Force F-16 Mechanic, Tom Burden. Be careful to purchase the Grypmat instead of a knock-off. The imitations are not the same quality.

  Gift choice from Dawn Rae - To Read Her Full Review, Click Here 



Best Gift For Shipping Food

 1 lb Glazed Pecan Tin | River Street SweetsCheck Price

Ship a Special Treat! 
 
Glazed Georgia Pecans are a tasty treat for the holidays. Handmade at River Street Sweets candy store on the river walk along the Savannah River in Savannah, Georgia, these glazed pecans make a great stocking stuffer/Christmas Gift.

For more variety, check out their pecan pralines or fantastic fudge.


 

Gift choice from Wednesday Elf - To Read Her Full Review, Click Here




Best Gift For Christmas Decor

 12Pcs Ivory Resin Nativity Figurines Set Christmas Ornaments GiftsCheck Price

Oh yes, we will celebrate Christmas and for us it's such a wonderful time of year. As we are aging our ways of celebrating are changing somewhat and that's not a bad thing. So how do you share Christmas and still Transition to a New Way to Celebrate?
 
A lot has to do with mind set and ours hasn't changed too much. It is still for us a more "Spiritual Celebration" than one of lots of gift giving and running around in a crazy frenzy.
 
We no longer put up the Natural Christmas tree as we are seldom home to enjoy it. We are the ones who do the travelling from one family to the other!
 
So, is Christmas still fun? You bet it is! With a little imagination and less money than an artificial tree would cost, we decorate and make our home Christmassy but without the mess!
 
And our Focus is on “The First Christmas Story”. Merry Christmas Everyone!

  Gift choice from Olivia



Best Gift For Exercising


Are you a desk jockey? 
 Cubii JR1, Under Desk Elliptical, Bike Pedal Exerciser with LCD Tracker Screen, Adjustable Resistance, Work from Home FitnessCheck Price
 
If you spend most of your day sitting down, then yes, I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but yes you are. 
 
Most of us who sit all day, be it at a desk or not, generally don't get the exercise we need. My mother bought me the "Cubii" - an under the desk bike pedal, and it gets an "OMG I Needed That" rating! It keeps my legs limber and moving on and off throughout the day, as I work. It's also the best frustration workout! Peeved at something, pedal it off. In fact, I'm using it right now while typing this. 
 
Yep, 5 Stars!

  Gift choice from Brite-Ideas - To Read Her Full Review, Click Here




Best Gift For Coffee Lovers

 Keurig K-Duo Plus Coffee Maker, Single Serve & 12-Cup Carafe Drip Coffee Brewer, For K-Cup Pods or Ground CoffeeCheck Price
My husband loves our Keurig K-Duo Plus Single Serve and Carafe Coffee Maker. 

It was the perfect gift for our two-person household and is one that he uses every day to make his cup or two of coffee. He uses two refillable pods, which make the Keurig a more economical and environmentally friendly choice. 

I love that it brews one cup of coffee for Chris or a whole pot when our family is home for the holidays. 

For small households like ours or homes with few coffee drinkers most of the time, this is the perfect coffee maker. 


  Gift choice from Treasures by Brenda

 

 

 Fire Starter - Natural Pine Fire Starters for Fireplace, Campfires, Grill, Wood & Pellet Stove, Chimney, Fire Pit, BBQ, Smoker - 60 Pack w/10 Min Burning Time - All Weather & Odorless FirestarterCheck Price

Best Gift for Outdoor Enthusiasts

These eco friendly fire starters by Gerossi are fast, convenient and oh so easy to use!  

The gift all love to receive, but rarely purchase for themselves.  

These little fire starters are a game changer to start smokeless fires whether at home, the park, the campsite or in your yard!  

Perfect for backyard fire pits, barbeques, tabletop fire pits and old fashioned campfires.

  Gift choice from The Savvy Age 






Best Gift For Music Lovers


 Shokz (AfterShokz) OpenMove - Open-Ear Bluetooth Sport Headphones - Bone Conduction Wireless Earphones - Sweatproof for Running and WorkoutsCheck Price A good set of headphones is a must for anyone who enjoys listening to music, podcasts, audiobooks, etc. My husband and I love our Shokz bone-conduction Bluetooth headphones, which are extremely lightweight and comfortable enough to wear for hours at a time. They deliver superb sound quality and leave our ears uncovered so we can hear a phone ringing or a car approaching.
 
Shokz OpenMove Open-Ear Bluetooth Sport Headphones have the same bone-conduction technology and sweat-resistance and cost less than half the price of the top-of-the-line Shokz OpenRun Pro model I own (see link to my previous in-depth review)!
 
Gift choice from Margaret Schindel - To Read Her Full Review, Click Here




 Ninja AG301 Foodi 5-in-1 Indoor Grill with Air Fry, Roast, Bake & Dehydrate, Black/SilverCheck Price


Best Gift For the Cook

The Ninja Foodi Indoor 5 in 1 Grill will be the perfect addition to your kitchen. We've had ours for a couple of years now and wonder how we ever got along without it.
 
The grill feature grills meats to perfection in no time at all. We love using the air fryer for all kinds of meals and snacks. You can read my full review of the Ninja Foodi
 

  Gift choice from Sam - To Read His Full Review, Click Here






 Wolf-Garten RR1500 Bypass Secateurs, 28.1x3.62x2.5 cm, RedCheck Price Best Gift for Gardening

Wolf-Garten By Pass Secateurs are a treasured practical gift that I use frequently in the garden for a variety of small and large pruning tasks.

 
They have a scissor like cutting action perfect for younger growth. The plants benefit from the sharp blades that cleanly cut branches and stems and the light comfortable grip and ease of use means we can use these secateurs for longer. The bright colour looks good and means I do not lose them in the garden! Still going strong after significant use, these secateurs make a thoughtful and practical gift.

  Gift choice from Raintree Annie - To Read Her Full Review, Click Here


Best Gift For Pet Owners

 HOVONO Double-Compartment Pet Carrier Backpack for Small Cats and DogsCheck Price
I really love my Hovono Double Compartment Pet Carrier because it has so many uses! 

Not only can I take more than one of my cats to the vet at a time, I can also take my two kitties hiking with me! 

It can also be used as a backpack for camping, the large double compartments will hold all the equipment you need. 

The best part is knowing that if I need to leave my home in an emergency, I can pack both my girls and leave with them safe and comfortable. I highly recommend this! 


  Gift choice from Tracey Boyer




Gift Recommendations for Children

 Kids Toy Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case
Recommended by Sylvestermouse
 Collectible Funko Wizard of Oz Plushies
Recommended by Treasures by Brenda
 Sleepy Time Gifts for Kids
Recommended by Wednesday Elf
 Family Game Night - Here to Slay
Recommended by Dawn Rae
 Battleship Classic Board Game
Recommended by Sam



MORE CHRISTMAS GIFT SUGGESTIONS


(if the Pinterest board is not showing on your browser, please visit it by Clicking Here)







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X