Showing posts with label Food Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Food Review. Show all posts

Wednesday, February 1, 2023

Delicious Sugar-Free Keto Cookies That OREO Fans Will Love

If you are following a sugar-free, low carb or ketogenic diet or just trying to cut down on sugar and empty carbs, either for overall health and wellness or for weight loss, there are certain comfort foods from childhood that you may crave but try to avoid in favor of healthier options. 

Fortunately, there are now several brands of low carb chocolate sandwich cookies available to OREO lovers who want to eat healthier. Today, I'll be reviewing HighKey Sugar-Free Sandwich Cookies, which have the best clean ingredients for someone on a low carb, gluten-free, sugar-free or keto diet.

Gluten-Free HighKey Sugar-Free Sandwich Cookies 2 Net Carbs Per Serving!
My husband no longer misses his OREO cookies as much, now that I found these delicious low carb, gluten-free, sugar-free keto sandwich cookies for him. 

Who Loves OREO Cookies?

Before we switched to a low carb way of eating for health reasons, one of my husband's favorite treats were OREO cookies. In fact, "Double Stuf" OREO cookies (filled with twice the amount of vanilla creme filling) and mint Oreos were extra-special treats for him. But two Double Stuf OREOs have not only 140 calories but also 21g of carbohydrates (my entire daily carb allowance when I was following a keto diet for weight loss!), including 13g of added sugars. Even two classic OREO cookies have 110 calories and 16g of carbs, including 9g of added sugars. So, both Double Stufs and classic OREO cookies were no longer an option as a sweet treat for both my husband and me.

So the answer to "Who Loves OREO Cookies?" is our taste buds and our emotions but, sadly, not our bodies or our health.

What's a Health-Conscious OREO Cookie Lover to Do?

In order for our low carb lifestyle to be sustainable, we look for alternatives to our favorite treats that support our health and nutrition goals or, in the case of treats, at least don't sabotage them. That's why I got so excited when I started seeing low carb and sugar-free cookies similar to my husband's beloved OREOs. Then I started reading the ingredients and nutrition labels...and I got less excited. 

Thanks to the popularity of the keto diet, the term "keto" sells. Unfortunately, since there is no universally agreed-upon definition of a "keto diet" or a "keto" food (my post on Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet discusses this topic in more detail), marketers slap the "keto" label on anything that is low in net carbs, regardless of the quality or nutritional value of the ingredients. So, for those of us who are looking to make healthier food choices, it's up to us to educate ourselves about ingredients and nutrition and read packaged food labels carefully, and to experiment to find out which low-carb ingredients spike our insulin levels, cause gastric distress, etc., since each of us has a different metabolism and a different reaction to the same foods.

Three Low-Carb OREO Cookie Alternatives

I found three vanilla-filled chocolate sandwich cookies that looked similar to OREOs and claimed to be "keto" or "keto-friendly" and started reading and comparing the ingredients and nutrition labels. The three contenders were:

Here's how they compare vs. each other and vs. classic OREO cookies:

Chocolate Vanilla Sandwich Cookie Ingredients and Nutrition Comparison*
* Ingredients and nutrition data obtained from Amazon product pages on 01/30/23

HighKey

Catalina
Crunch

Rip Van

LEOs

OREO

Serving: 2 cookies

Calories

60

90

100

110

Total Fat

4g

6g

6g

4.5g

Saturated Fat

1g

3g

3g

1.5g

Trans Fat

0g

0g

0g

0g

Cholesterol

0g

0g

0g

0g

Sodium

130mg

95mg

80mg

85mg

Total Carbohydrate

17g

12g

13g

16g

Dietary Fiber

7g

3g

6g

0g

Total Sugars

0g

2g

3g

9g

Added Sugars

0g

2g

2g

9g

Sugar Alcohols

4g

0g

0g

0g

Allulose

4g

2g

2g

0g

Net Carbs

2g

5g

5g

16g

Protein

<1g

4g

3g

<1g

Ingredients

Resistant Cassava Fiber, Erythritol, Allulose, White Rice Flour, RSPO Palm Oil, Non-GMO Canola Oil, Cocoa Powder (Processed with Alkali), Egg Whites, Natural Flavors, Sunflower Lecithin, Oligofructose, Baking Soda, Salt, Xanthan Gum, Psyllium Husk, Water, Stevia Extract, Monk Fruit Extract.

Palm Fruit Oil, Allulose, Pea Protein, Cane Sugar, Cassava Flour, Tapioca Flour, Inulin, Cocoa Powder, Cocoa Powder (Processed with Alkali), Xanthan Gum, Natural Flavor, Sunflower Lecithin, Baking Soda, Sea Salt, Stevia Extract.

Palm fruit oil, Vegetable fiber, sugar, milk protein, wheat flour, allulose, sugar cane fiber, cocoa processed with alkali, wheat starch, oat fiber, sea salt, baking soda, chocolate extract, sunflower lecithin, vanilla extract, stevia leaf extract.

Unbleached enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate {vitamin B1}, riboflavin {vitamin B2}, folic acid), sugar, palm and/or canola oil, cocoa (processed with alkali), high fructose corn syrup, leavening (baking soda and/or calcium phosphate), salt, soy lecithin, chocolate, artificial flavor. Contains: wheat, soy.

Plate of HighKey Suger-Free Sandwich Cookies
This plate of HighKey Sugar-Free Sandwich Cookies makes my husband miss his OREO cookies much less, now that we follow a more health conscious, low carb but still delicious approach to eating.

Why I Chose HighKey Sugar-Free Sandwich Cookies

Here are a few of the reasons I decided to order HighKey keto sandwich cookies as a healthier alternative to OREO cookies.

Only 2g of Net Carbs

As you can see, the HighKey Sugar-Free Sandwich Cookies have only 2g of net carbs, compared to 5g each for the Catalina Crunch Keto Friendly Chocolate Vanilla Sandwich Cookies and Rip Van LEOs Sandwich Creme Cookies.

Lower in Calories

Two of the HighKey Sugar-Free Sandwich Cookies have 60 calories, compared to 90 calories for two Catalina Crunch keto sandwich cookies and 100 for the Rip Van LEOs. 

No Added Sugars, Gluten-Free

The HighKey sandwich cookies use low glycemic sweeteners that don't spike blood glucose. Other than the white rice flour, which is gluten-free but can spike blood sugar levels, the ingredients are surprisingly clean for this type of low carb sweet treat.

By contrast, cane sugar is the fourth ingredient in the Catalina Crunch sandwich cookies. Since cane sugar spikes insulin and is something my husband and I try to avoid completely, that pretty much knocks these out of contention for us.

Similarly, the Rip Van LEOs sandwich cookies contain not only (cane) sugar but also wheat flour, neither of which ingredients are considered keto-friendly, although people who follow a "dirty keto" diet may not be bothered by this.

Not a Perfect OREOs Dupe, But a Good, Healthier Option

HighKey Sugar-Free Sandwich Cookies taste good, especially to those of us who have kicked our food addiction to cane sugar and wheat flour. However, they are by no means an exact dupe of classic, sugar-laden OREO cookies. 

The chocolate cookies are harder and don't soften as readily when dipped in regular or dairy-free milk. They are also more brittle and the filling is firmer, so you can't twist to separate the two chocolate cookies and lick off the creme filling, a favorite part of the experience of eating classic OREO cookies.

For us, and probably for many people who must eat gluten-free or sugar-free, the trade-offs are well worth it.

Healthier Packaged Foods With Clean Ingredients Cost More Than Their Conventional Counterparts

I compared the Amazon prices on January 30, 2023for classic OREO cookies, HighKey Sugar-Free Sandwich Cookies, Catalina Crunch Keto Friendly Chocolate Vanilla Sandwich Cookies and Rip Van LEOs Sandwich Creme Cookies (Cookies & Creme flavor). Here are the price comparisons per package and per cookie.

Chocolate Vanilla Sandwich Cookie Amazon Price Comparison*
* Prices on Amazon on 01/30/23

HighKey Catalina Crunch Rip Van LEOs OREO
Quantity 3 packs (4.27 oz packs), 10 cookies each = 30 cookies 2 pack (6.8 oz boxes), 16 cookies each = 32 cookies 2 pack (6.77oz), 16 cookies each = 32 cookies 60 Snack Packs (2 Cookies Per Pack) = 120 cookies
Item Price $17.99 $17.63 $14.39 $29.40
Price per Cookie $0.60 $0.55 $0.45 $0.25

My Recommended Sugar-Free, Gluten-Free Alternative to OREO Cookies

If you or someone you know is on a sugar-free, gluten-free, low carb or ketogenic diet, these keto friendly HighKey Sugar-Free Sandwich cookies would make a great gift or something to keep on hand for when they visit. They're a sweet treat both kids and adults will appreciate!


Delicious Sugar-Free Keto Cookies That OREO Fans Will Love by Margaret Schindel

Posts About My Keto Diet Journey

My First Year on The Keto Diet

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part One

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part Two

Low Carb Muffins & Cupcakes: Treats to Enjoy on a Keto Diet

Low Carb Keto Chocolate Yogurt Granola Chip Pudding Recipe

Good Dee’s Keto Cookie Low Carb Baking Mix Review

Hamama Microgreens Growing Kit Review & Success Tips

My Favorite Hamama Microgreens Seed Quilt Accessories

Keto Cheddar Cheese Biscuits With Chives Recipe

The Ultimate Keto Hot Chocolate Recipe

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffins

Wholesome Yum Keto Bread Mix and Yeast Bread Recipe

The Good Chocolate 100% Organic No Sugar Dark Chocolate Review

The Best Advice to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss

My New Irresistibly Delicious Keto Cheese Crackers Recipe

Luscious Low Carb Keto Triple Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies Recipe

Quick & Easy Livlo Blueberry Scones Keto Baking Mix Review

Snack Better With The Best Healthy Keto Cookie Dough Bites

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Pizza Recipe

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Shortcake Cupcakes Recipe

Comparing the Best Keto-Friendly Chocolate Hazelnut Spreads - No Added Sugars

The Best Low Carb Keto Sandwich and Burger Buns Mix

Blueberry Biscuit Scones — New, Easy, Low Carb Keto Recipe

The Best Keto Pizza Crust Mix With 0 Net Carbs

An Unusual, Delicious Strawberry Chocolate Tea With 0 Calories

Delicious Sugar-Free Keto Cookies That OREO Fans Will Love

Reviews of the Keto Diet by Barbara C. (aka Brite-Ideas)

My Personal Keto Testimonial

How I Stayed Committed to the Ketogenic Way of Eating

Read More Food Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Reviews About Health and Wellness by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, January 4, 2023

My 10 Best Product Reviews of 2022 Revisited

Last year I published 18 in-depth, personal product reviews here on Review This Reviews. As I was looking back at them recently, I decided to revisit and share my 10 favorite products that I reviewed in 2022.

My 10 Best Product Reviews of 2022 Revisited
Check out the best products I reviewed in 2022 to find some great buys in 2023!

My Top 10 Product Reviews From 2022

I hope the reviews I've chosen to highlight in this "best of 2022" collection will help you find some new favorites of your own, as well as some terrific gift ideas for others to enjoy.

My Favorite Fashion Product Review

VIKIDEER Microfleece Lined, Ultra Soft Lambskin Leather Touchscreen Gloves

Winter here in New England is long and extremely cold. These VIKIDEER microfleece-lined, ultra soft lambskin leather touchscreen gloves keep my always-chilly hands and arms warm and cozy, even when I need to pull out my mobile phone, Kindle or other touchscreen device.

VIKIDEER long, warm, lined, lambskin leather touchscreen  gloves
VIKIDEER Elegant Winter Black Long Leather Full Touchscreen Gloves for Women

They're also long enough to prevent any gap below the hem of my coat sleeves when I bend or raise my arms, so they stay nice and toasty even in the chilliest weather. Any woman who lives in a cold climate would love to receive these as a gift!

Check out my in-depth review of these Long, Lined Leather Gloves - A Luxurious, Affordable Gift She'll Love.

My Best Gift Review for Music, Audiobook and Podcast Lovers

SHOKZ OpenRun Pro Bone Conduction Bluetooth Headphones

My husband and I love listening to audiobooks or music while we are doing chores, relaxing, traveling, etc. We both love our SHOKZ bone conduction Bluetooth headphones and wear them all the time.

Man wearing SHOKZ OpenRun Pro bone conduction Bluetooth headphones
SHOKZ OpenRun Pro Open-Ear Bluetooth Bone Conduction Sport Headphones

He first introduced me to bone-conduction Bluetooth headphones several years ago, and I've never looked back! Bone-conduction headphones use a technology that transmits sound vibrations along your cheekbones instead of through the air into your ears. It's great for someone like me, who has difficulty with ear buds, and for my husband, who has itchy ears and doesn't like anything in or against them. 

SHOKZ is the undisputed leader in bone conduction headphones. They make a variety of styles, but our favorites by far are the OpenRun and OpenRun Pro, which are both ultra lightweight. In fact, I often tease my husband about his SHOKZ bone conduction headphones being permanently grafted onto his head, since they are so comfortable that he forgets he's wearing them and almost never takes them off during the day, even when he's not listening to anything through them.

Learn more about why we're such hugs fans in The Best Bone-Conduction Bluetooth Headphones Review: Shokz OpenRun Pro.

My Best Gift Review Pick for Recipients Who Are Hard to Buy For

DuraTech Tool Roll Organizer With 21 Pockets

My husband enjoys working on cars, scale models, and model trains. As a result, he has several collections of prized hand tools for both automotive and hobby use. Keeping not only his wrenches and sockets but also his fine precision tools organized and well protected is a high priority for him. 

DuraTech tool storage organizer - rolled up and latched

After considerable product research, I chose this attractive, durable, well-designed and well-made DuraTech tool roll organizer as a Christmas gift for him and he absolutely loves it. 

Here's a view of the interior, filled with his precision hand tools, including fine nippers, needle nose pliers, precision tweezers and X-ACTO knives:

DuraTech tool roll organizer, unrolled to show tools stored inside
DURATECH Tool Roll Organizer, 21 Pockets Tool Bag Roll

I'm planning to buy one for myself for my most-often-used jewelry making and crafting tools.

Find out more about why this makes such a terrific gift for anyone who relies on hand tools for hobbies, models, automotive repairs, etc. in my review of The Best Tool Roll Organizer To Store & Protect Your Tools.

My Best Health Product Review

Dnsly Ultrasonic Toothbrush Set With Travel Case and Extra Brush Heads

I've been using top name brand ultrasonic toothbrushes with fancy features from Oral-B and Philips Sonicare for most of my life. A few months ago, however, I switched to this much more affordable and equally effective Dnsly ultrasonic toothbrush set with a choice of five brushing modes (White, Clean, Sensitive, Polish and Massage). It also has ultra soft bristles that protect my gums from erosion as well as compact brush heads and an interdental brush that make it easier to get into hard-to-reach spots. 

Dnsly electric toothbrush with travel case
Dnsly Sonic Electric Toothbrush with 5 Modes, 2-Minute Smart Timer, 8 Brush Heads, 1 Travel Case

The set I purchased includes a hard, fitted travel case, a clear plastic brush head cover (so you can toss it in your purse or briefcase without carrying the travel case) and seven brush heads, in addition to the tiny, pointed interdental brush. You can brush twice a day for 30 days on a single 4-hour charge, which makes it perfect for travel! 

Check out this affordable, high quality set in my product review of The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush.

My Top 3 Kitchen Product Reviews

I enjoy cooking and baking, but not washing dishes. Three of my favorite product purchases for 2022 were kitchen items that have made our time spent prepping, making good food and cleaning up more efficient and enjoyable.

Adjustable Stainless Steel 3-Tier Over Sink Dish Drying Rack

The first was this fabulous three-tier 304 stainless steel dish drying rack that has gotten all our nonstick cookware, bakeware, oversized items (like the Vitamix blender jar and the large cake storage box in the photo) and other hand washable items off our countertops. (This large-capacity drying rack also comes in a smaller, two-tier version.)

Boosiny stainless steel, 3-tier over sink dish drying rack
BOOSINY Adjustable 3-Tier Over Sink Dish Drying Rack, 304 Stainless Steel

We love the adjustable-height shelves and moveable accessories, such as the hanging hooks, utensil holder, cup hooks, soap/sponge tray and cutting board holder, that we can configure to our needs and preferences. With the limited counter space in our old galley kitchen, this over-the-sink dish drying rack has been a godsend! And the convenience of being able to simply hang items to drip dry after hand washing them means we save electricity by running our dishwasher less often.

Read my full review of The Best Large, Sturdy, Adjustable, Over-the-Sink Dish Drying Rack to learn more about why it is one of my favorite product purchases of the past year.

Mueller Ultra-Stick 500 Watt 9-Speed Immersion Blender, Electric Whisk and Frother

My second favorite kitchen purchase from 2022 is this awesome Müeller Ultra-Stickmulti-purpose hand blender with a heavy-duty 500-watt copper motor and brushed stainless steel body. The comfortable handle with an ergonomic, non-slip grip makes this hand blender a pleasure to use, and the powerful motor offers 9 speeds and a Turbo Mode for a burst of extra power when needed.

Müeller Multi-Purpose Ultra-Stick Hand Blender model MU-HB-02
Mueller Ultra-Stick 500 Watt 9-Speed Immersion Multi-Purpose Hand Blender

The three attachments make this three, high-quality, small kitchen appliances in one: an immersion blender, an electric whisk and a milk frother. We use ours all the time for blending soups, making fresh whipped cream and frothing milk for our coffee (or making frothy bulletproof coffee or silky-smooth hot cocoa).

Read my detailed review of The Best Powerful, Lightweight Stick Blender With Versatile Attachments.

Astercook 15-piece German Stainless Steel Kitchen and Steak Knives Set With Wooden Storage Block

My third kitchen product purchase from last year that my husband and I have really been enjoying is our Astercook kitchen and steak knives set.

Astercook 15-piece stainless steel kitchen and steak knives set in a wood storage block
Asktercook 15-piece German high-carbon stainless steel kitchen & steak knives set with storage block

This 15-piece set includes an acacia wood knife block fitted with a full set of the most useful kitchen knives, including an 8" chef knife, 8" slicing knife, 7" santoku knife, 8" serrated bread knife, 5" utility knife and a 3.5" paring knife; a set of six 4.5" serrated steak knives; a pair of kitchen shears with a handy built-in bottle opener; and a sturdy sharpening steel for honing the sharp, German stainless steel blades to keep them "in good nick." 

My husband and I have been extremely pleased with the quality of these knives, especially considering the extremely low price (less than $45 as of this post's publication date)!

Learn more about this excellent, inexpensive knife set that would be a great addition to any kitchen, and a welcome gift for anyone outfitting their first kitchen, in my in-depth review of The Best Affordable, Super Sharp Kitchen and Steak Knives Set.

My Favorite Low Carb and Keto Food Reviews

Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix With 0 Net Carbs Per Slice

My husband and I both love high-carbohydrate foods like breads, rolls, cookies, cakes and pizza. We have chosen to cut back substantially on both carbs and highly processed foods because of the health benefits we have both noticed when we eat a very low carb, largely whole food diet. Even though my husband is quite slim and has to make sure he eats enough calories to avoid losing weight, we both have experienced significant improvements in mental clarity and focus, reduction in joint pain and inflammation, and other health benefits by eating this way. However, neither of us is willing to give up our favorite foods, so I invest time and effort researching, trying out and evaluating healthy, low carb alternatives for foods like pizza crusts and burger buns.

I have tried several low carb pizza crust mix products and recipes, and one of my favorites so far is Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix. 

Pizza made with Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix

One of the reasons is convenience, since this mix calls for only olive oil and water, both of which we always have on hand. Others include speed (just mix, roll and bake), fairly clean, healthy ingredients), high in dietary fiber, low in calories and 0 net carbs per slice, and a surprisingly good taste and texture considering the nutritional profile.

This mix makes a pizza crust that, unlike some low carb options, is crisp on the outside, slightly chewy on the inside, and sturdy enough to pick up and eat with your hands. We love being able to eat pizza for dinner once a week again and have fun changing up the toppings to keep things interesting.

Check out my full review of The Best Keto Pizza Crust Mix With 0 Net Carbs including some of our favorite low carb, keto friendly pizza toppings.

KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix

My husband makes the best burgers and, for many years, we have had a tradition of him making his special Friday night burgers (or, as we like to call them, Friday night "burglars") to celebrate the end of the work week and kick off the weekend. Although some people enjoy using lettuce as a burger wrap, we much prefer ours on a nice, soft, lightly toasted bun. And, although we love Natural Ovens Bakery Keto-Friendly Buns and often keep a few bags in our freezer, they contain a few ingredients that aren't strictly "clean keto" and are not gluten-free.

So, unless I'm pressed for time, I prefer baking fresh burger buns using KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix, which lives up to its name as far as keto-friendly buns are concerned.

KetoBakes Best Ever Sandwich Bun Mix
KetoBakes Best EVER Sandwich Buns Keto Bake Mix

This mix has clean ingredients, the same ones I would use if I were baking keto buns from scratch, and makes soft, pillowy, yummy buns that are perfect for burgers or sandwiches. They also freeze beautifully, which I do in my favorite Stasher reusable silicone 1/2 gallon food storage bags, which open and seal incredibly quickly and easily (I love them!). 

Get the 411 on this excellent baking mix in my product review of The Best Low Carb Keto Sandwich and Burger Buns Mix.

ChocZero Regular and Dark Cocoa Hazelnut Keto Spreads and Livlo Zello Keto-Friendly Chocolate Hazelnut Spread

These low-carb chocolate hazelnut spreads with no added sugars offer three excellent, healthy (and keto-friendly) alternatives for people who love Nutella.

ChocZero and Livlo ZELLO keto chocolate hazelnut spreads
ChocZero Dark Cocoa Hazelnut Keto Spread, Livlo Zello Keto-Friendly Chocolate Hazelnut Spread and ChocZero Cocoa Hazelnut Keto Spread

I've provided a detailed side-by-side comparison of the flavor, size, price, nutrition facts, ingredients, dietary restriction / special diets information and other considerations in my review Comparing the Best Keto-Friendly Chocolate Hazelnut Spreads - No Added Sugars.


I hope this recap of my 10 favorite products that I reviewed in 2022 helps you find some gift ideas or new favorites of your own for the coming year.

Wishing all our Review This Reviews readers and my fellow contributors a healthy, happy, peaceful and prosperous 2023!


My 10 Best Product Reviews of 2022 Revisited 

by Margaret Schindel


Read More Fashion Reviews From Our Contributors

Read More Health Reviews From Our Contributors

Read More Kitchen Product Reviews From Our Contributors

Read More Low Carb & Keto Diet Reviews From Our Contributors

Read More Food Product Reviews From Our Contributors

Read More Gift Ideas From Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 31, 2022

An Unusual, Delicious Strawberry Chocolate Tea With 0 Calories

If you're a tea lover, like exploring new flavors and prefer your "cuppa" slightly sweet, The Republic of Tea's Strawberry Chocolate Tea is definitely worth a try. This delicious, low caffeine herbal tea has no calories, so it's a lovely, guilt-free sweet treat you can enjoy any time of day.

Strawberry Chocolate Herbal Tea No Added Sugar, Low Caffeine, Naturally Sweet & Delicious!

I have been a lifelong tea drinker. While I enjoy a cup of coffee from time to time and I have been having one more often since switching to a low carb / keto diet, I'm definitely not in the "don't talk to me until I have had my morning cup of coffee" camp. However (with apologies to the Florida Citrus Board), "An afternoon without tea is like a day without sunshine." My favorites are made by The Republic of Tea, Harney & Sons, Twining, Tazo and Stash.

For the first half of my life, I drank only black tea varieties, growing up with the ubiquitous orange pekoe, then branching out into English Breakfast and Darjeeling. Later fruit flavored black varieties such as peach, apricot and mango became my favorites. About 10 years ago, I began taste testing green, white and rooibos (red) for their health benefits as well as decaf and low caffeine teas for evening sipping, after noticing that my previously low sensitivity to caffeine was increasing with age. I found the flavor of most green teas so grassy as to be unpalatable, but eventually I discovered The Republic of Tea Decaf Ginger Peach Green Tea and the company's naturally caffeine-free Ginger Peach Red Rooibos Tea that, until recently, was the only red rooibos beverage I enjoyed.

Republic of Tea Strawberry Chocolate Tea and tall insulated stainless steel travel cup

Since I consume not just a cup or mug but a large, 16-ounce Thermos insulated travel tumbler (and sometimes two) of leafy brew that I sip on over the course of several hours each day, I like having a nice selection to choose from. This year, I was in the mood to find a few new favorites and take a break from some of my old standbys. Since The Republic of Tea offers the largest variety I've seen and frequently adds to its line, I focused my search on their herbal and low caffeine offerings.

I found several delightful, new-to-me flavors, including naturally caffeine-free Queen's Cake Vanilla Fruit Tea and refreshing Whistledown Punch hibiscus iced tea with hints of citrus and pineapple from the company's Bridgerton collection, as well as SuperAdapt Restore and Reset, an organic herbal blend with reishi mushrooms and cocoa that's earthy and calming, and my newest obsession, Strawberry Chocolate Tea.

Chocolate covered strawberries
Image by Brook from Pixabay

Smooth, Satisfying and Slightly Sweet

I adore chocolate and cocoa, but I had never heard of a tea flavored with either one before encountering the company's Cuppa Chocolate Tea collection. I was skeptical but also intrigued by this idea. I also love chocolate-covered strawberries. So, after reading the overwhelmingly positive customer reviews of The Republic of Tea Strawberry Chocolate Tea on the company's website, I decided to give that one a try and ordered a 36-bag tin on Amazon (along with the SuperAdapt Restore and Reset and the two Bridgerton collection flavors I mentioned).

According to the label on the back of the tin, the strawberry chocolate flavor is an "Herb Tea for Sweethearts" with an equally fanciful description: "Chocolate mingles with a hint of ripe strawberry atop the rich flavor of rooibos in this delicious, aromatic and romantic cup." After highlighting rooibos's high antioxidant content, it invites us to "Enjoy a lovely cup of dessert with your sweetheart." The copywriters' creativity failed to persuade me, but it did amuse me. My husband doesn't much care for tea and, if I were to offer him a cup of this magical romantic potion, no doubt he would look at me quizically before politely declining! 

Imaginary romantic associations aside, I hoped I would find this brew pleasurable to sip, whether alone or in my husband's company. What I never expected was that it would become my new current, go-to hot beverage!

Rooibos, with its gentle, smooth, nutty and slightly sweet (as well as somewhat earthy) flavor makes a perfect base for the chocolate and strawberry in this blend. To me, those two are more like "topnotes" or supporting players for the rooibos, but even though I'm usually not as fond of earthy teas, the rooibos flavor plays nicely with others and doesn't dominate. There is also a hint of vanilla that adds to this delightful cuppa.

Many customers find the natural sweetness sufficient for their tastes. I like mine a bit sweeter, especially since I often enjoy it in place of a dessert, so I stir in a spoonful of BochaSweet. You may prefer it with a little sugar.

What's In It?

Here are the ingredients in this delicious Strawberry Chocolate Tea:

Rooibos, carob, cocoa kernels, sweet blackberry leaves, natural chocolate and strawberry flavor, and bourbon vanilla beans. 

Using all-natural flavors with nothing artificial helps to give this delightful tea its smoothness.

Naturally Low in Caffeine

Since I enjoy sipping tea in the evening as well as during the day, I always include some decaf, caffeine-free or low caffeine options. Fortunately, The Republic of Tea's Strawberry Chocolate Tea contains very little caffeine. Since both rooibos and carob are caffeine-free, I'm guessing the small amount of caffeine comes from the cocoa kernels.

A Sweet Treat That's Also Good For Your Health

Although it is marketed to appeal to romantics, anyone watching their calories, carbs or gluten will be happy to know that the lovely tea, with its natural sweetness, contains 0 calories and 0 carbs and, like all the company's products, is gluten-free. 

As this 2020 WebMD article about the health benefits of drinking rooibos tea explains, rooibos is rich in polyphenols, antioxidants that have important potential health benefits such as fighting inflammation, lowering blood sugar and reducing blood pressure.

So, while you're sipping your delicious cuppa, you're also doing something good for your body and your health.

Refill pouch of 250 strawberry chocolate tea bags

Save Money With Tea Bag Refills

I love The Republic of Tea's products and commitment to environmental sustainability and responsible use of natural resources, such as its signature round, unbleached tea bags that don't use unnecessary envelopes, strings, tags or staples and the air-tight, light resistant tins that can be refilled over and over or repurposed.

I always buy one of the 36-teabag tins when I want try a new flavor. If I don't love it, I always find an alternative use for the empty tin. For example, I have a couple next to our kitchen sink that hold dish/bottle brushes, and plan to cover a few others with decorative paper to hold some of my small jewelry making hand tools, pens, brushes, etc.

If I like the contents but am still on the fence, I can order a 36-teabag refill for the tin. When I fall in love with a flavor, as I did with the Strawberry Chocolate Tea, I buy the larger, more economical 250 teabags refill to replenish the original tin over and over.

Steeping Tips

The Republic of Tea recommends using one teabag per 6-ounce cup, and for herbal varieties like this one, to use boiling water (200–212 ℉) and steep for 5–7 minutes. I steep mine in my tall, insulated stainless steel travel tumbler, using two bags and 12 ounces of boiling water.

When I followed the recommended steeping time, the flavor a bit too weak for my liking. Fortunately, I remembered that herbal teas, unlike the black variety, don't become bitter when "over-steeped." So, after experimenting a bit, I found that I much prefer the taste of my strawberry chocolate cuppa after letting it steep for 10 minutes (or even a bit longer).


An Unusual, Delicious Strawberry Chocolate Tea With 0 Calories by Margaret Schindel

Posts About My Keto Diet Journey

My First Year on The Keto Diet

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part One

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part Two

Low Carb Muffins & Cupcakes: Treats to Enjoy on a Keto Diet

Low Carb Keto Chocolate Yogurt Granola Chip Pudding Recipe

Good Dee’s Keto Cookie Low Carb Baking Mix Review

Hamama Microgreens Growing Kit Review & Success Tips

My Favorite Hamama Microgreens Seed Quilt Accessories

Keto Cheddar Cheese Biscuits With Chives Recipe

The Ultimate Keto Hot Chocolate Recipe

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffins

Wholesome Yum Keto Bread Mix and Yeast Bread Recipe

The Good Chocolate 100% Organic No Sugar Dark Chocolate Review

The Best Advice to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss

My New Irresistibly Delicious Keto Cheese Crackers Recipe

Luscious Low Carb Keto Triple Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies Recipe

Quick & Easy Livlo Blueberry Scones Keto Baking Mix Review

Snack Better With The Best Healthy Keto Cookie Dough Bites

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Pizza Recipe

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Shortcake Cupcakes Recipe

Comparing the Best Keto-Friendly Chocolate Hazelnut Spreads - No Added Sugars

The Best Low Carb Keto Sandwich and Burger Buns Mix

Blueberry Biscuit Scones — New, Easy, Low Carb Keto Recipe

The Best Keto Pizza Crust Mix With 0 Net Carbs

An Unusual, Delicious Strawberry Chocolate Tea With 0 Calories

Reviews of the Keto Diet by Barbara C. (aka Brite-Ideas)

My Personal Keto Testimonial

How I Stayed Committed to the Ketogenic Way of Eating

Read More Food Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Reviews About Health and Wellness by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 17, 2022

The Best Keto Pizza Crust Mix With 0 Net Carbs

A good keto pizza crust is one of the things people who follow a very low carb lifestyle dream about. Until recently, making your own fathead dough keto pizza crusts from scratch by blending melted shredded mozzarella, cream cheese, eggs and almond flour or coconut flour was the best option. But, while many people love it and it does make a pretty good "holder" for tasty low carb pizza toppings, neither my husband nor I found it a satisfying substitute for conventional pizza crusts made with wheat flour and semolina flour.

Fortunately, more and more keto pizza crust alternatives have been coming on the market and I have started working my way through the most promising looking ones, as I explained in my recent review of The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Pizza Recipe featuring vegetable-based frozen Kbosh keto crusts

I have made two pies so far using Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix and my husband and I liked them so much that we have added this mix to our Amazon Subscribe & Save auto-deliveries.

When you taste it, you will be shocked that this excellend keto pizza crust mix has 0 net carbs per serving!

Main image: Quick, Easy & Delicious Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix 0 Net Carbs Per Serving!

A Tasty Keto Pizza Crust With Just 50 Calories, 3.5g of Fat and 0 Net Carbs!

Fathead dough pizza crust recipes usually have several net carbs per slice as well as a lot of fat from the mozzeralla cheese, cream cheese, eggs and almond flour! When I first saw that Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix has just 50 calories, 3.5g of fat and an amazing 0 net carbs per serving, I was pretty skeptical. With macros that low, how could it not taste like cardboard (like so many disappointing low carb and keto baking mixes and baked goods on the market)? 

On the other hand, I liked the first mix I tried from the company, Scotty's Everyday Keto Cupcake & Cake Mix, which is remarkably good for something with 0 net carbs. You may remember it as the cupcake mix I used for The Best Quick & Easy Low Carb Keto Shortcake Cupcakes Recipe. So, I decided to give Scotty's Everyday keto pizza crust mix a try as well.

Nutrition Facts

Here are the full nutrition facts for Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix, prepared according to the package directions with 3/4 cup water and 3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil.

Amount Per Serving (serving size 1/12 prepared keto pizza crust mix):

Calories

50

Total Fat

3.5g

  Sat. Fat

  0.5g

  Trans Fat

  0g

Cholesterol

0mg

Sodium

320mg

Total Carbohydrate

15g

  Dietary Fiber

  15g

  Total Sugars

    0g

    Added Sugars

    0g

Protein

2g

Net Carbs Calculation
15g total carbs –15g dietary fiber = 0 net carbs

Enjoy a Slice (Or Three) Guilt-Free!

With so few calories and 0 net carbs, there's no need to limit myself to just one small slice when I make a yummy keto pizza with Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix. Even though the stated serving size is 1/12 of the prepared dough, I usually cut my baked pies into quarters and then eights and serve two of these generous slices each (i.e., 1/4 of the pie) to my husband and me, along with a fresh, colorful side salad.

Reheated pizza slices made with Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix
I reheated some leftover keto pizza tonight for a quick, delicious dinner that was ready in minutes!

We refigerate the remaining four slices (1/2 pie) and reheat it for a super quick and easy dinner or lunch on another day. We have found that pies made with this keto pizza crust mix reheat beautifully! And who doesn't love leftover pizza?

Non-GMO, Vegan, Gluten-Free, Nut-Free Pizza Crust

I really like the use of clean, non-GMO ingredients in this mix. More importantly, people with certain food allergies or other dietary restrictions will appreciate being able to eat a delicious pizza crust that is vegan, gluten-free and nut free.

Scotty's Everyday Pizza Crust Mix dough in pizza pan
Prepared Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix in a lightly oiled 12" stainless steel pizza pan

Quick and Easy to Prepare

Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix is quick and easy to make. Just mix it with water and olive oil until combined and then knead the dough for 3 minutes, either by hand or in a stand mixer with a lightly oiled dough hook (which is what I use). Unlike conventional pizza dough made with yeast, there's no need to wait for the dough to rise. Just stir in the water and oil, knead the mixture, and it's ready to roll!

Place the dough on a large, lightly oiled surface and roll it out to a 10"–12" circle, depending on your preferred size of pizza crust. Then just transfer it to a lightly oiled pizza pan, brush the top of the crust with a little more olive oil, top with your favorite low carb pizza toppings, and bake in a preheated 425 ℉ oven for 15–18 minutes and cool for 5 minutes before slicing.

Keto pizza with mushrooms, tomatoes, ham and fresh basil before baking
My first pie made with Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix and topped with mozzarella, fresh mushrooms, tomatoes, ham, fresh basil leaves and freshly grated Parmigiana-Romano cheese, ready for the oven...

Baked keto pizza with mushrooms, tomatoes, ham and fresh basil
...and after baking. You can see how the thin edges of the crust were so crisp that they cracked a bit when I tried using a spatula to lift the baked pie out of the pan and onto a cutting board for slicing.

Surprisingly Good Taste and Texture

Low carb, keto-friendly macros and ease of preparation are all well and good. But, of course, the big question is, how does it taste?

Realistically, no low carb dough is going to be as good as a Bertucci's pizza crust! That said, I find that Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix produces one that is much more similar to a wheat-based pizza crust (and also much sturdier) than fathead dough or vegetable-based Kbosh keto crusts (which my husband and I also enjoy in my quick and easy low carb keto pizza recipe, especially on busy weeknights).

My pies tend to be loaded with lots of toppings including wet ones like pizza sauce and ricotta cheese, which can make even a conventional crust a bit soggy. However, we were pleasantly surprised at how firm our crusts made with the Scotty's Everyday mix and baked on the lower rack of the oven came out. The exposed edges had a delightfully crunchy exterior and slightly chewy interior.

Next time I plan to try rolling the dough thinner and building up a slightly thicker rim.

If you have tried other low carb pizza crusts and been disappointed, I think you'll be very pleasantly surprised by this high-quality mix!

Baked keto pizza on cutting board
My second pie made with Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix, topped with pizza sauce, ricotta cheese, portobello mushroom slices, diced ham, shredded mozzarella and freshly grated Parmigiana Romano cheese

Try This (Or Any) Scotty's Everyday Mix Risk-Free

I love buying from companies that stand behind their products. Scotty's Everyday mixes are backed by a 365-day guarantee: If you're unhappy for any reason, contact them and "we'll make it right."

High quality keto baking ingredients cost more than conventional, less nutritious ones like wheat flour. Naturally, high quality, low carb baking mixes also cost more than mixes from big-name brands made by big, multinational corporations.

You may want to start by ordering just one package of this keto pizza crust mix to see how you like it. However, the price is significantly less expensive per package if you order a 3-pack of Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust Mix, and you'll save even more if you choose Amazon's Subscribe & Save option.

Either way, you can feel confident placing your order, knowing that you can contact the company for a refund if you aren't happy with the product(s) you purchased.

Baked keto pizza sliced with rocker-style stainless steel cutter
It was quick and effortless to slice this 12" pie with my razor-sharp KitchenStar 14" stainless steel rocker-style pizza cutter. If you look closely, you can see part of the black blade cover at the far left.

Helpful Kitchen Tools for Making Homemade Pizza

I make pizza for dinner frequently find that having the right tools for the job makes things a lot easier. Here are some of the kitchen tools I use most often for this purpose, whether I'm making a traditiona-crust or keto pizza.

Large, Nonstick Pastry Mat With Printed Measurements

I love using my HIC Harold Import Co 18 x 24-Inch Pastry Mat to roll out all types of dough. It's extra large, nonstick, easy to clean, extra large and rolls up neatly into a lidded plastic storage tube when not in use. Best of all, it is printed with helpful measurements for rolling out doughs for pies, tarts, and up to a 16-inch pizza crust. I also appreciate that the printing of the measurements is durable. I've owned my mat since 2012 and it still looks almost new. 

Although I didn't expect to when I purchased it, I've found that I much prefer it to my old, traditional cloth pastry mats, not only for low carb baking but also for conventional doughs, since the nonstick surface doesn't need to be coated in flour to keep pie crust or other doughs from sticking (which can make them tough if they absorb too much extra flour during rolling). 

Cordeirite Pizza Stone

Baking your traditional or low carb crust on a preheated pizza stone makes a world of difference in terms of crispness and even baking! The best results come from baking directly on the preheated stone or on parchment paper placed on top of the stone, but that requires a pie peel, which I finally ordered but have not yet received. Even if I build my pie on an oiled or parchment lined stainless steel pizza pan, I still place the filled pan on the preheated stone for baking. 

Since we now have a large countertop oven but no wall oven, the pan sizes I can use are limited. I love my durable cordeirite 12” Round Pizza Stone that can withstand temperatures up to 1400 ℉ without cracking and can even be used on a grill.

Stainless Steel Pizza Pan

A stainless steel pizza pan may not result in as crisp a crust as baking directly on a pizza stone, but it makes building and transferring your pie into and out of the hot oven a lot easier. It can also help protect your stone from drips and stains (as can baking parchment). This set of two stainless steel pizza pans costs less than $15 (at the time of this post's publication) and my pans have been in use nearly every week since I got them.

Precut Baking Parchment Sheets

If you have read some of my other recipe posts, you'll know that I am a huge fan of precut, flat baking parchment sheets. I have them in several sizes and shapes and use them all the time.

I have been cutting down 16" x 12" sheets, but I just found these 12" round flat unbleached baking parchment sheets that are the perfect size for my low carb pizza crusts and immediately ordered a package.

Sharp, Rocker-Style Stainless Steel Pizza Cutter With Protective Blade Cover

Rotary pizza wheels are small and convenient to store and do a fine job of cutting pies. However, I have always found them a pain to clean, especially since I like to made "loaded" pizzas with lots of layers of toppings and lots of gooey melted cheese, which tends to cling and leave a greasy residue that can get stuck between the round cutting wheel and the riveted arms that attach it to the handle. Even though many claim to be dishwasher safe, I prefer to wash knives and other kitchen tools with sharp blades by hand to avoid dulling the cutting edge.

Earlier this year, I finally decided to try a different style of pizza cutter, one that made it extremely quick and easy to cut an entire pie into neat slices with straight, clean edges in just seconds with minimal effort. The first time I tried it, I was so thrilled with it that I immediately retired my old rotary-style cutting wheel.

I chose the KitchenStar 14" Sharp Stainless Steel Rocker-Style Pizza Cutter With Blade Cover, which is the perfect length for cutting my 12" pies. (It is also available in a 10" length for smaller pies and 16" and 18" lengths for larger pies.) It's a beautifully made, sturdy, heavy-duty cutter made from 18/0 food grade stainless steel and has thick, perforated plastic blade cover to protect the razor-sharp edge (and your family's fingers!) when not in use. The extremely sharp cutting edge cuts through even vegetables and meat toppings cleanly and easily, and the very comfortable, ergonomic, integrated rolled handle provides excellent leverage and control.

I'm planning to use this fabulous rocher-style slicer for many other kitchen uses as well, such as cutting sheet cakes, brownies and bar cookies into even strips and rectangles.

Tip: To protect your pizza pan, pizza stone and slicer blade, I highly recommend transferring the baked pie to a large cutting board before cutting it into slices.

Help Make a Low Carb or Keto Pizza Lover's Dream Come True
Order 3-packs on Amazon and save!

A tasty keto pizza crust that's quick and easy to prepare, has a firm yet chewy texture and just 50 calories, 3.5g of fat and 0 net carbs per slice really is a low carb pizza lover's dream come true! 

If someone you know is trying to follow a keto diet or low carb lifestyle or a vegan, gluten-free or nut-free diet, they might love to receive a bag of Scotty's Everyday Keto Pizza Crust as a gift. To make it even more special, consider putting together a gift basket or box with a few packages of this mix and one or more of the pizza making tools and supplies I've recommended in this review.

The Best Keto Pizza Crust Mix With 0 Net Carbs by Margaret Schindel

Posts About My Keto Diet Journey

My First Year on The Keto Diet

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part One

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part Two

Low Carb Muffins & Cupcakes: Treats to Enjoy on a Keto Diet

Low Carb Keto Chocolate Yogurt Granola Chip Pudding Recipe

Good Dee’s Keto Cookie Low Carb Baking Mix Review

Hamama Microgreens Growing Kit Review & Success Tips

My Favorite Hamama Microgreens Seed Quilt Accessories

Keto Cheddar Cheese Biscuits With Chives Recipe

The Ultimate Keto Hot Chocolate Recipe

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffins

Wholesome Yum Keto Bread Mix and Yeast Bread Recipe

The Good Chocolate 100% Organic No Sugar Dark Chocolate Review

The Best Advice to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss

My New Irresistibly Delicious Keto Cheese Crackers Recipe

Luscious Low Carb Keto Triple Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies Recipe

Quick & Easy Livlo Blueberry Scones Keto Baking Mix Review

Snack Better With The Best Healthy Keto Cookie Dough Bites

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Pizza Recipe

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Shortcake Cupcakes Recipe

Comparing the Best Keto-Friendly Chocolate Hazelnut Spreads - No Added Sugars

The Best Low Carb Keto Sandwich and Burger Buns Mix

Blueberry Biscuit Scones — New, Easy, Low Carb Keto Recipe

The Best Keto Pizza Crust Mix With 0 Net Carbs

Reviews of the Keto Diet by Barbara C. (aka Brite-Ideas)

My Personal Keto Testimonial

How I Stayed Committed to the Ketogenic Way of Eating

Read More Food Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Reviews About Health and Wellness by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X