Showing posts with label lou16. Show all posts
Showing posts with label lou16. Show all posts

Saturday, September 19, 2020

Reviewing the Joie Yogurt on the Go

I love my little yogurt on the go container, although sometimes it's got something different in it!

My yogurt on the go container complete with today's lunch!
Photo by Lou16

I first say the Joie Yogurt on the go in a shop at a time when I was doing the 30 days to healthy living and I thought it might be a really handy container.   Now I have only ever seen the red and white container, but having a look on Amazon you have a choice, check them out -

Purchase from Amazon

Now obviously this is designed to have a yogurt in the main part and some toppings in the dome part of the container which is kept completely separate.   The first time I used it I left the dome empty and filled the container with some overnight oats - having a spoon attached meant I had everything I needed to eat wherever and whenever I wanted and it was great.

The next time I added some toppings in the dome and I have to be honest - I could screw the dome container off to eat my yogurt, but I couldn't open the dome.   Finally I had found the downside of this product.   I took it home and went to demonstrate to my husband how the top couldn't be opened and what do you know - it worked!

I have no idea what my issue was the first time because I have not had a problem since!

It is very easy to clean and the spoon really does stay easily attached which makes it so easy for me to take a snack or even a meal out with me for the day.   

Sometimes when I'm working and on the plan I really don't feel like a shake for lunch and I don't have the facilities to make pancakes or waffles at work so I'll make up either a thick smoothie that I can eat in a smoothie bowl with toppings or I make some overnight oats.   I put the overnight oats in this container and also add a few nuts and seeds in the dome part to add a little crunch to my lunch.

If we're travelling and I know I'm going to feel like a snack I will sometimes put coconut yogurt in the container along with some fresh berries and I may or may not add something to the dome - this can then be safely put in our cooler and I don't have to worry about remembering to add a spoon.

I have also added coconut yogurt in the container and put some protein powder in the dome container so that when travelling if we don't find anything that I feel like eating which is on plan I can simply have something little like sweet potato fries or a salad and then add the protein powder to the yogurt for 'dessert' and to make sure I get some quality protein to keep me from feeling hungry.

I do recommend this container, if I'd come across it when my daughter was younger I would've sent her to school with yogurt and toppings (she always wanted those yogurts in the supermarket with yogurt on one side and toppings on the other that you open and mix together.   This would've been right up her alley!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, September 5, 2020

Reviewing Arbonne Intelligence Lip Treatment

Do you suffer from cracked dry lips during winter? I usually do, something about the dry winter air so when I heard of a lip treatment that Arbonne had I was keen to try it. 

Arbonne's Intelligence Lip Treatment with Raspberry seed oil



Now I use a shea butter lip balm every day (Arbonne of course, those who know me know how loyal I am to this brand) and my lips haven't felt as bad the last couple of years. I also used another Arbonne product that was a lip scrub and salve, but lip scrubs should only be used once a week (some people say 2-3 times a week, but for cracked lips my research comes down firmly on no more than once a week). 

When someone mentioned the Arbonne Intelligence Lip Treatment I was intrigued, but I didn't actually get it until a few months ago - just before our Australian winter began. It's suitable for all skin types and is designed to help promote younger looking lips, but I was interested in the claim "Deeply hydrates, moisturizes and protects the natural moisture barrier ..." and winter seemed the perfect time to trial it for myself. 

The tube seemed quite small when I received it, but having used a lot (according to my husband too
Arbonne's Lip Care Range

many!) of Arbonne products I knew that a little would probably go a long way. I squeezed out an amount that would fit on a pinhead and rubbed it on my lips - it felt really nice like a moisturiser combined with a lipstick but one with no stickiness or tackiness about it. 

I certainly didn't need my lip balm, although I kept it in my bag and applied some after lunch. 

I used the lip treatment every day for a week and my lips definitely felt softer, I decided to continue using it for another week and then I switched to using it every couple of days. 

If you get dry lips in winter I really recommend trying this and you'll know if it's working after a week which is great because Arbonne gives all of it's products a 45 day money back guarantee so if you don't like it you can send it back! 

It also says that it can reduce the look of fine lines and wrinkles and plumps the lips' appearance so that they look younger - I'm really not sure about that. I feel like they look a little plumper, but that could be because they are smoother as they aren't as dry so the jury on that is out as far as I'm concerned. 

I know that some people use this in place of lipstick when they are going for a natural day time look and other people use it as a primer before adding their lipstick. 

The key ingredients in this lip treatment are the following botanicals: 

  • Alfalfa extract 
  • Chicory root extract 
  • Ginger 
  • Cocoa butter 
  • Raspberry seed oil 
  • Cloudberry extract 

It is now spring here in Australia and I still have the small tube so it really does go a long way.   What do you do for dry lips (if you suffer from them)?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, August 22, 2020

Reviewing PUMA Pacer Next Cage Sneakers for Men

Now before I start my review I should say that I am unashamedly a New Balance girl, so why am I reviewing some PUMA sneakers?   Let me tell you my story .....

My black PUMA sneakers - perfect for wearing to the office!


For the past 10 years I have been wearing New Balance shoes for walking (well I do also have walking sandals, but ..), running, the gym and basically any activity I do.   They were recommended to me by my physio, the people at the athletic shoe store who measured me and did various tests and one of our friends who's a podiatrist.  Even with those three recommendations I wasn't convinced until I tried them on, I decided I was never even going to look at other athletic shoes as they were so comfortable.

Hello 2020 and I find myself the owner of a pair of PUMA Pacer Next sneakers, so what happened?   Surprisingly, given the year we are in, it had nothing to do with Covid!   I work as an Office Manager for an accounting firm and we moved from our long-standing one story office building to a two story office building a few months ago.

For the first couple of weeks I decided I was wearing my New Balance shoes as I was running up and down the stairs so many times while we were getting everything organized (including carrying boxes as we were still unpacking!).   Seriously though, anyone who knows New Balance will know that each year they have different coloured shoes released and I have never owned a black or grey pair.   My current bright pink shoes are very comfy and are great for sport, but they don't really look very corporate.

Now it's winter so I thought I would wear my smart (and very comfy), flat black boots to the office.   I should mention that we now have wooden floors throughout and my boots were very loud - what was the solution?

My husband and I happened to visit a shopping centre not long after and he steered me towards the PUMA store (I was trying to go into the bookstore opposite!).   Let's look for some black pumps were the words that convinced me to leave the bookstore until later (by the way this was the bookstore where I got The Alice Network and then returned to find they also had The Huntress - can't wait for my next trip!).

The first pair I tried on were the Pacer Next and I loved them, but my husband wanted me to continue to look so I tried two other pairs on and returned to the PUMA Pacer Next pair.  Now these were actually the men's shoes and they seem to go by the name of PUMA Men's Pacer Next Cage Sneaker in the US.   I originally tried the men's on because they were all black and the woman's ones had a white stripe on them, when I put them on they were basically the most comfortable for me.

I do have wider feet than I used to and this could be why the men's style suited me best.

What I found a little strange was that the tongue was sewn in so instead of pushing the tongue up and pulling the sides out to manhandle your foot into it you had to push your foot in and then I hooked the tag on the back with my finger and effectively used it to 'shoehorn' my foot in.  It felt weird the first couple of times, but now I do it without thinking.

A very big plus with these shoes is I haven't had a single blister, not even a little rubbing.   That's after wearing them for over 8 hours a day four days in a row.   They are extremely comfortable and I thoroughly recommend them, in fact I'm not going to even look for a more 'corporate' shoe for work as these blend in nicely with my black trousers and I stay comfortable!

I will still stay loyal to New Balance for my workout shoes, but PUMA is going to be my go to work shoe for quite some time I believe.

Have you tried any of PUMA's sneakers?




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, August 8, 2020

How to Make a Healthy Version of Starbuck's Pink Drink

I'm going to review how I make a really delicious (and healthier) version of Starbuck's Pink Drink.

Make Starbucks, The Pink Drink at home - how to
Photo's by Louanne, template from Canva


Now I must confess I've never tried the Pink Drink, but I kept seeing posts about it all over social media.   I don't live close to a Starbucks, but when I saw a recipe doing the rounds that everyone swore was just like it I had to give it a try.

I fell in love with this drink and now I can understand the appeal of this drink.   My version has less sugar than the original Starbucks one and it also contains antioxidants, ginseng, B vitamins and chromium which means it will help you to reduce fatigue.

It also contains a blend of amino acids and adaptogenic botanicals that help to reduce stress and improve your mind balance.    Sounds perfect doesn't it?   And did I forget to say it tastes amazing!

Ingredients for a Healthy Pink Drink


12 oz coconut milk
1 cup frozen strawberries
1 scoop Arbonne's Inner Calm Powder
1 Arbonne Strawberry Fizz Stick

Directions for the Pink Drink (healthy version)


  1. Place the coconut milk, inner calm powder and strawberries in a blender and blend well.
  2. Pour into a drinks bottle (I use a sports drink bottle to drink this out of, but you could use a cup or glass if you like, but in that case make sure there is plenty of room for the drink to fizz up)
  3. Next add the fizz stick, if in a bottle give it a little shake before letting out some of the air and enjoy.   If you are using a cup or glass give the drink a stir before enjoying.
I've used fizz sticks on their own and also as part of my morning greens drink, you can check out my article about them here.

I am an Independent Consultant with Arbonne, you are welcome to contact me directly with any questions you may have about these products or to find out how to qualify for a discount.   Message me via Facebook or Instagram.

Have you tried the Pink Drink?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, July 25, 2020

Reviewing The Alice Network by Kate Quinn

This riveting historical fiction novel is one that is hard to put down once you start reading and takes you on a journey through both the first World War as well as post World War II.

review of the alice network by kate quinn
The Alice Network by Kate Quinn, photo by Lou16


A little while ago I read a review on this very site for a book called The Huntress by Kate Quinn which peeked my interest so when I was in a bookstore and saw The Alice Network by Kate Quinn author of The Huntress I just had to buy it.   The Alice Network was actually penned first and after reading it I am even more keen to read The Huntress!

The Alice Network was actually real as was the leader and Kate Quinn has done a marvelous job of interweaving actual historic events into a story that is hard to put down.

A WWI female spy - Louise de Bettignies - featured in the historical novel The Alice Network
The Queen of Spies herself, courtesy of Wikipedia
The novel features two strong heroines - Eve Gardiner and Charlie St Clair.   Eve's story takes us through the world of women espionage during the first World War and introduces us to the real life Queen of Spies, Louise de Bettignies.   What I found great after finishing this story was the author notes at the end which mention which of the characters were actually based on historical figures and which weren't.   Something I thought very interesting was where Kate Quinn got the idea for Eve's story, along with her spy name.

Eve's chapters take us through the perils of life as a female spy during World War I in France.   The other heroine is Charlie St Clair who finds herself (an American college girl) pregnant and unwed at 19 during the aftermath of World War II.

When her mother takes Charlie to Europe to dispose of her 'little problem' they make a stop in England where Charlie leaves the hotel to search for Eve Gardiner who was a name on the bottom of a missing persons report for her French cousin who went missing during the war.

Together they head to Europe, along with Eve's Scottish helper and driver and start on their individual quests - Charlie to find her cousin Rose and Eve to hunt down her enemy who handed her over to the Germans during WWI.

As the book interweaves through the two story lines we learn more about both heroines along the way and find where they both have to make major decisions which could totally change the outcomes of their lives.   The book also exposes the double standards women faced during WWI and showed how little these double standards had changed by the 1940s. 

Obviously as with any historical fiction some liberties were taken, but I'd love to think that Louise de Bettignies did buy ridiculous hats when travelling and was able to inject some fun into her life of intrigue.   I like the idea of her having the personality that was displayed in the book as the life of a spy in France at that time was very bleak - as it was for most every day people in Europe at that time.

I would love to see this book turned into a movie as I'm sure my husband would enjoy it.  What can you expect from this book?   If you pick up this book expect suspense, intrigue, a little romance and so many twists and turns.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, July 11, 2020

Reviewing Twinings Chamomile, Honey & Vanilla Tea

I absolutely love my tea which is why I thought I would review another tea staple in my life - Twinings Chamomile, Honey & Vanilla.

Reviewing Twining's Chamomile, Honey & Vanilla tea - a relaxing blend
Photo from Pixabay
I am a big fan of Twining's teas and have actually written about their peppermint tea previously.   As much as I enjoy a good coffee, tea is the staple drink of my life.

Every day starts with a mug (I don't really do tea cups unless I have a pot to top it up from!) of Arbonne tea and when I get home from a busy day at work nine times out of ten I'll have a mug of Twinings Chamomile, Honey & Vanilla tea.   I usually also drink this tea before going to bed, except for the odd nights I made myself a Milo.

Chamomile as a herb is known for it's relaxation properties and I do remember the first time I tried it, it was made from actual dried chamomile flower (like the photo above) and it had a back taste that I really didn't like at all.   I have tried various brands several times over the years both as a loose tea and in a tea bag form and I haven't been able to stomach the after taste of the Chamomile.

A couple of years ago I tried a Spiced Apple and Chamomile blend from Twinings which I didn't mind so when the Twinings teas were on special again I thought I would try the Chamomile, Honey and Vanilla - I haven't looked back!

I don't know if my taste buds have changed as I've gotten older or if it's the addition of the honey and vanilla flavours, but I thoroughly enjoyed this blend and, as I've said, it is now a staple in my life - in fact I think I have four boxes in my cupboard as I write this!

If you want a caffeine free tea (complete with relaxing properties) to drink before going to bed I can really recommend this one.

There are quite a few tea drinkers that write for Review This Reviews and you can check out their reviews right here - Tea Related Reviews.

Have you tried this tea blend before?






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, June 27, 2020

The Stranger, a TV Series

I would like to review a British television series called The Stranger and I can easily do it in one sentence.   Go and watch it right now!

Harlan Coben's The Stranger a Netflix series
The Stranger (British TV Series) - image adapted by Lou16
from a photo on Pixabay.com
Want more than my bossy sentence?   Well I must admit the trailer for this series looked good and certainly peaked mine and my husband's interest, but the series itself totally outshone our expectations.  It is based on a book by American author Harlan Coben and after watching it I am definitely going to start reading some of his books.

The series has a British cast that if you watch many British shows you'll probably be very familiar with.   There were lots of actors that I recognise from different shows that they've popped up on.   The main star of the show is Richard Armitage who as an actor first came to my attention in the British spy series Spooks, although he has a number of other credits to his name.

Another star is actress Siobhan Finneran who has appeared in several British television shows over the years, but I particularly liked her portayal of  a police detective in The Moorside (available through Amazon Prime).   In this show she, again, plays a detective.

I would also like to mention two other stars of the show - Shaun Dooley and Jennifer Saunders.   I will be honest and say that I felt both of these actors were not (in my opinion) on their best game, but the story was strong enough that they didn't need to be better.   As a fan of Shaun Dooley since I watched Married, Single, Other years ago (a great British drama series) I was a little disappointed in his acting.   I've also loved Jennifer Saunders since her French and Saunders days, but I didn't feel that her acting was to the standard of the rest of the cast.

An actor that was amazing was Paul Kaye, I absolutely hated his character, he played it perfectly

This series is what I call bingeworthy.   We started watching it on a Sunday night and were only going to watch one episode - 3 episodes later we had to turn it off as we had work the next day.   The following night we had things on and decided to just watch one episode before bed...we watched two and it was very hard to get up the following morning.

Luckily the third night we had nothing on and the series only has 8 episodes so we managed to finish it!   I recommend watching it when you have 8 hours to spare because you may not want to stop.

The main story line is very interesting as it's about a stranger approaching someone with details of a secret.   What keeps it enthralling is not just wondering about the stranger, but all the intricate little threads that the writers have kept running through it.   The book was adapted by screenwritter Danny Brocklehurst and he has done an amazing job.

The suspense was kept up with all these surprising things happening - as an example at the end of one of the episodes someone walks into their workplace and is greeted by their workmates.   That doesn't sound very cliffhangerish now does it?   However it made my husband and I both sit up as we hadn't anticipated that happening!

The ending of every episode has you wanting more and that is exactly why I loved it.

I did see that Danny Brocklehurst and Harlan Coben co- wrote another Netflix series called Safe so I am definitely going to put that one on the must watch list!

One of the great things about winter is definitely cold nights watching some great shows/movies with my hubby.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, June 13, 2020

Why You Need a Fun Beauty Headband

I'm going to review for you today why you actually need a fun beauty headband such as this one pictured -


Peace signs and a fun black and white headband makes waiting for your facemask to dry go faster
Peace signs, laughter and a fun headband may not make your clay face mask
harden any quicker, but it passes the time nicely!

Now I don't wear make up very often so I don't need a beauty headband to keep my hair off my face while doing that, but I do love a good face mask.

I have actually written about my favorite face masks on here already from my fun clay face mask to my 'face never felt so smooth' cellular renewal face mask.   I would also like to tell you a little bit about double masking, but that can wait.

You need to have a beauty headband to keep your hair off of your face as your hair doesn't want to get covered in your face mask!   It's also handy to use one when you're cleansing, toning, treating and moisturising your skin.

Why would you grab a boring headband? - you deserve so much more, now maybe you want something glitzy and glam, but I recommend something fun because laughter is good for you and if you can't enjoy a little fun while having a beauty treatment in your own home - when can you?

It should come as no surprise to anyone who's read my cow onesie review that I love injecting fun into my life where I can.   At the moment I have two different fun beauty headbands that I use - the one featured above and the one below.   However I have just discovered a unicorn one on Amazon!   Oh my goodness, that is going on my Christmas list!


Face mask and pout all with a fun ears headband
This photo was for a face mask and pout friendly competition on instagram, as I've said
you only live once so why not have fun!  Don't you love the ears on this headband?

So where do you get these fun fashion headbands?   Well you can check out the selection online at Amazon - there are some great ones or keep an eye out when you're at the mall.   I got my two at a local cosmetics store.   If you're self conscious then I recommend online, the girl seemed to think I'd grown an extra head when I told her they were for me - she'd asked if I was buying them for my daughter!

Don't forget to have fun in your life, even while doing mundane things like treating your skin (a few pouts or peace signs don't go amiss either LOL!)   I'm sure I've read many times that if you're happy and enjoy life then you'll live longer and I challenge you not to have fun (or at least crack a little smile) while wearing a unicorn headband, pink furry fox ears headband or some other fun headband!

Do you have a fun beauty headband?   I'd love to know what ones you have.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, May 30, 2020

Why I Love My Cow Onesie

Today I'm going to review a polar fleece cow onesie for adults and tell you why it was my best birthday gift.   I also love the presentation (kudos to the shop assistant for folding it this way).

My Cow Onesie folded up
My cow onesie all folded up!

So I recently celebrated another trip around the sun and this year my husband surprised me with a few gifts in the morning.  One of them was my absolute favorite for a number of reasons the main one being I had never asked for one and yet it's perfect!   That gift was the cow onesie pictured above.

When I unwrapped it I was like a kid again, I thought he'd got me a fun, novelty cushion to start with and then I realized what it was and I was so excited!   I love that it was a cow because I have a soft spot for cows and because it's just fun!

More Reasons to Love My Cow Onesie


If you're not into cow onesies there are lots of others ones to choose from (to be honest I would've been just as excited to get a unicorn onesie too!).

Polar fleece onesies mean they are lovely and warm which is just perfect for winter.   Here in Australia we are predicted to be heading into a very cold winter this year, so warmth is very important.  

If you have young children you can all wear onesies for a family movie night and have a lot of fun as your favorite animal.   Just in case you didn't realize I do think these are a lot of fun!

If you have a pet they will love snuggling up to you, my dog loves snuggling up all the time, but the cow onesie really won over my fur grandbaby - my daughter's kitten was not straying from her nanny once she felt the polar fleece!

All pets seem to love polar fleece so a polar fleece onesie means extra cuddles
Pets love polar fleece so a polar fleece onesie is just asking for lots of
cuddles - meet my grandfurbaby, Simba!

Back to my onesie, it has a hidden  zip in the back so that you can sit on the toilet without having to get undressed!   

It also has a tail which I thought was a lot of fun (that might just be me though!).

Onesie's with hoods just seem to me to be even warmer and I love putting the hood up as I'm curling up on the couch watching something on television such as House on Haunted Hill or Jack Ryan.

I do recommend going one size up than you'd normally wear as the idea is to be comfy which is easier if you keep the onesie more roomy.

Cow Onesies are Fun!
PIN ME!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, May 23, 2020

The Haunting of Hill House Reviewed

I have just finished the Netflix television series The Haunting of Hill House that Esquire coined as a spookier version of This is Us.   Not exactly how I would describe it!

The Haunting of Hill House, Television Series, Reviewed


I should also note that it is available to watch on Amazon Prime in the US (not sure about other markets), so if you don't have Netflix you can still watch it.

The series is based on the 1959 Gothic horror novel of the same name by Shirley Jackson.   I had actually watched the 1999 movie The Haunting that was also based on this book and although the critics panned it, I enjoyed it as I love psychological horror movies.   By the way, the series is very different to the film so it doesn't matter whether you've seen it or not.

It has been very hard to get my husband to watch any suspenseful or psychological horror films with me over the past couple of decades so when I saw this series I knew I would have to watch it by myself.   I stayed up late at night watching it and I loved it.

The series runs through two timelines (which is where the connection to This is Us comes from), the first is of the Craine family's childhood as they live in Hill House as children before their mother commits suicide in the house.

The second timeline is of them as adults and they are brought together when their youngest sister goes back to Hill House to commit suicide.

Each episode reveals to us how the different family members were impacted by their childhood in the haunted mansion.   I found I was eager to keep watching the next episode.   The youngest twin Nell was haunted during her childhood by the bent neck lady and in the episode aptly named the Bent-Neck Lady there is a surprising twist that I wasn't expecting as to the identity of this lady.

I was a little disappointed by how the season ended, but if I'm honest I'm not sure that I would've been happy with any ending.

I think the actors were perfectly picked for their characters and acted their roles really well, I found myself completely drawn into the series.  I recommended it to my daughter and my husband told her that he didn't need to watch it as he'd listened to my commentary, ' don't go, oh you had to go there didn't you?', I do not recall having that conversation with the television, but it is very plausable!

If you can sleep after watching supernatural dramas that are full of suspense then I thoroughly recommend this one.   Apparently they are bringing out a second season based on another family and another house.   I'll be honest I probably won't watch that one as I feel like this was a one season show. 

Definitely worth a quiet night in and a big bag of popcorn.

More Television Series | Mini Series to Enjoy


If you don't fancy this television series I can also recommend the following shows (although please note I've only watched one season of Shetland):

Thirteen (2016 TV Mini-Series)Thirteen (2016 TV Mini-Series)
This mini-series starts with a young 26 year old woman running out of a house for a payphone and claiming to be a girl called Ivy who was last seen 13 years ago. Is it really her and what has happened over the last 13 years?


Good Omens 2019 TV MiniseriesGood Omens 2019 TV Miniseries
David Tennant and Martin Sheen are absolutely outstanding in this adaptation of Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman's book Good Omens. Even if you've never read the book you will love the writing and the chemistry between these two characters representing good and evil.


Upload, an Amazon Prime TV SeriesReviewing the Amazon Prime TV Series Upload
This dark comedy is based in the year 2033 where death doesn't always mean it's all over. If you have the money you can choose to upload your consciousness and memories into a virtual 'afterlife' where you can stay forever


Shetland Series ReviewedShetland Series Reviewed
Shetland is a crime drama set in the picturesque Scottish Shetland Islands, the main character is DI Jimmy Perez who's also a single father. The scenery is beautiful and the plots are full of twists which make them very watchable.


Reviewing Agatha Christie's the ABC MurdersReviewing Agatha Christie's the ABC Murders
The ABC Murders is definitely one of Agatha Christie's best novels, this adaptation does take some liberties that a purist may not like, but it is still an enjoyable mini series to watch.


The Widow Series ReviewedThe Widow Series Reviewed
This series starts with English widow seeing a news article where she believes she spots her late husband alive and well in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Of course this leads to her flying out to DRC in search of him, the series has twists and turns, suspense and action and is thoroughly recommended.


Reviewing Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan - The TV SeriesReviewing Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan - The TV Series
Jack Ryan is a character who was born in a novel by Tom Clancy, the son of a Baltimore cop and a nurse who serves as a marine before becoming a history teacher and finally joining the CIA. A few of the books were made into blockbuster movies and now we have a television series.


And Then There Were None - The Mini SeriesAnd Then There Were None - The Mini-Series
Based on an Agatha Christie novel this is one of her darker novels and is based in the 1930s around a nursery rhyme called 10 Little Indians/10 Little Soldiers. It will keep you guessing right up to the end.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, May 2, 2020

Reviewing Mother's Day Gift Ideas

Every Mother's Day people are looking to get something special for their mother.   While flowers and chocolates are a common standby, there are other ideas so let's have a look at a few.

Flowers aren't the only gift you can give your mum on mothers day


Gifts for the Mum's Who Love to Read


Obviously if their favorite author has released a book then grab them a copy, or if you've heard of a new author that you think they'd like this is an ideal time to make that introduction!

There are other things that would be good for book lovers though one of our contributors has reviewed an amazing range of gift ideas for people who love big books.

I Like Big Books and I Cannot Lie Gift Ideas

Your mother might be a regular at her local library in which case a library book would definitely not go astray.

Gifts for Tea or Coffee Drinking Mothers


Don't all mothers drink at least one of these?   You could buy them some specialty coffees or teas or even a coffee machine.   Another idea which always seems to be a winner is a mug.

Mugs for Mum Ideas

There are lots of different gift ideas for coffee lovers such as these coffee slippers.

Mothers Day gift ideas include these coffee slippers
Women's Coffee Slippers - Perfect for the Coffee Loving Mom

When it comes to the tea drinking mother then we have some great gift ideas right here -

Gifts for Moms That Enjoy Wine


You can get some beautiful wine glasses including the fun Lolita collection that I'm sure any mom would love.   If they already have wine glasses covered then maybe they need some wine pearls ...

Wine Pearls - Chilling Wine in Style

Of course some nice wine to go with it is bound to be appreciated!

Spa Gift Ideas for Your Mother


Maybe you want your mother to feel special and a spa day with you just isn't on the cards.   Why not give her some of Arbonne's beautiful spa range so that she can have a spa experience in her own home.

Arbonne's Rescue and Renew products, beautiful for creating a spa experience in your own home
Arbonne's Rescue & Renew Product, perfect for a day spa at home


One of the products in their spa range is the French pink clay face mask which feels absolutely divine, you can read about it here:

Have Fun with this Pink Clay Face Mask

Essential Oils for Your Mum


Following on from the spa idea is essential oils, if your mum loves essential oils then she may have her own selection, but I'm sure she would be happy to get some aromatherapy jewelry or a diffuser.   If she's interested (or you think she would be) in aromatherapy then you could get her a few essential oils.

Some great essential oils for a beginner includes lavender, lemon and peppermint (I use ones from Arbonne, but just make sure that any you purchase are 100% pure essential oils).

Why I Love My Aromatherapy NecklaceWhy I Love My Aromatherapy Necklace
I love my aromatherapy necklace, it's something I had been thinking of getting for a while, but it was actually my daughter who finally brought me one as a gift. Let me share my review with you and let you know how I wouldn't be without this now.

An Essential Oil Diffuser Lives Up to All the HypeAn Essential Oil Diffuser Lives Up to All the Hype
I received a HoMedics brand of essential oil diffuser as a gift and I love it. It's easy to use. The rotating colored lights gives the room a lovely ambience as well. Read my review to see what my hesitation on getting one was and why I think it lives up to the hype.

Lava Stone Bracelet ReviewLava Stone Bracelet Review
These bracelets are fully adjustable due to the sliding knot and are surprisingly affordable. Lava stones can be used as a wearable oil diffuser. They also make a very attractive fashion accessory.


Gift Ideas for Mothers Who Love a Puzzle


If your mother enjoys jigsaw puzzles or Sudoku then I have a few gift ideas she may enjoy right here:

Wooden Puzzle Compartment BoxesWooden Puzzle Compartment Boxes
The boxes are offered individually with different designs to choose from. The workmanship is beyond outstanding. You would never know just looking at the box that it is also a fabulous puzzle with secret compartments inside.

A Novel Gift for a Sudoku FanA Novel Gift for a Sudoku Fan
I think this novel gift idea for Sudoku fans is even more apt in 2020! It is ideal for a mom that has a sense of humour as well as a love of this numerical puzzle, I know my mum would get a laugh out of it.

Reviewing Ravensburger Puzzles Over 2000 PiecesReviewing Ravensburger Puzzles Over 2000 Pieces
Ravensburger is a brand of puzzle that I can count on for quality. With over 2000 pieces in these puzzles they are ideal for a mother who is serious about her jigsaw puzzles (although you may want to measure her table beforehand to make sure it will fit!


More Gift Ideas that Moms Will Love


Of course I love a comfy pair of PJs, a dressing gown or a warm pair of slippers when it comes to comfy and practical gift ideas.

Scarves are also a great gift idea and I know I've got a few for my own mother over the last few years.   During the 2020 pandemic a group of people that I work online with have started to show off their scarf selections by way of big hair bows.   I couldn't resist joining in!

Me trying out a big hair bow for the first time!

Beautiful Affordable Scarves Make Great Gift Ideas

If you can't be there with your mother this Mother's Day then why not look at getting her a lipstick to brighten up her day so that she can smile anyway!

I absolutely love the feel (and look) of Arbonne's Lip Duos which I've reviewed here:

Reviewing Arbonne's Lip Duos

What Will You Be Getting Your Mum This Year?


I've actually gotten my mum something from Arbonne this year (I can't say what in case she reads this) for a couple of reasons.   The first is that I think she'll love it (the most important thing after all).  The second is that I could log into my online account, order something for her and get it shipped straight to her door even though we live in different countries.   That is what I call convenience.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, April 18, 2020

Reviewing Arbonne's Lip Duos - The Best of Both Worlds for Lipstick Lovers

Now I should start off by saying that I generally don't wear much make up.  When I do get the urge to 'doll myself up' I tend to just stick to a CC cream, lipstick and sometimes a lick of mascara so it does seem strange that I'm reviewing Lip Duos!

Arbonne Lip Duos - Matte and Gloss lipstick in one


When it comes to lipstick though I must admit as soon as I tried Arbonne's Lip Duos I was hooked.   This weekend Arbonne have launched 17 new products including 2 new Lip Duos.   This has made the colour selection a lot more rounded in my opinion as it was lacking in the pinks before.

Arbonne's Lip Duos - Pink Matte Lipstick & Pink Lip Gloss in the one stick
The two new colours

Why are Lip Duos Better Than Lipsticks?


I think Lip Duos are way better than lipsticks because they are (as the name suggests) doubled ended.   One end is a matte lipstick while the other end is a gloss, in my mind as someone who doesn't wear cosmetics very often this gives a lot more choice.

I usually prefer a matte look which these provide, my daughter however prefers a gloss look which these also provide.   You can also use the gloss end over the top of the matte for a really finished, deep look. 

I always had quite full lips when I was younger, but as I age I have noticed that they have become thinner and these lip duos are ideal if you have thin lips.

Lip Duo's Minimize the Look of Thin Lips


Choose from the selection of colours available in the Lip Duos (or get all of them so you have variety).   Apply the matte lipstick to your lips and then take the gloss and simply apply it on the Cupid's bow of your lips and down into a point in the middle of your lower lip, similar to the shape of a love heart.

How to add gloss over matte lipstick to make the lips seem fuller
Image from Pixabay adapted by Lou's Designs


As this is adding gloss to what is the fullest part of your lips it 'fools the brain' of anyone looking at your lips into thinking they are fuller.   It's a tip I was taught as a teenager when I didn't need to use it, but I'm grateful that I remembered it and that the lip duos make it easy to apply.

Lip Duos are So Easy To Apply


Using a lipstick when you're not used to it sometimes doesn't give an even line (in my case anyway), back in the day I always used a lip liner, but that was when I wore make up all the time.   I have never mastered applying lipstick with a brush so that idea was out.

When I got my first lip duos (2 years ago) I discovered that they come with these cool applicators that are simply a breeze to apply - I really don't think you can mess these up!

The new addition to the collection look like a lot of fun, but if you're not a pink girl then that's okay there are plenty of others to choose from.   My favourite (at the moment, I'm waiting to try the two new ones) is Jasmine.   Which colour do you like best?



Oh and I forgot to mention these are vegan, cruelty-free, paraben free, mineral oil free and feel absolutely gorgeous on.

BTW, Yes, I am an Arbonne Consultant!


If you are interested in any of the Arbonne products I've reviewed please reach out to me either via Messenger or DM me on Instagram, I'd love to talk about any products that you want more information on as well as make sure you get the best deal possible.

Here's a few reviews you may have missed:


Reviewing Arbonnes pink clay face maskMake #selfcare FUN with this Pink Clay Face Mask
Arbonne's Rescue & Renew range is basically like having a day spa set in your home and my favorite 'member' of that set is the face mask. Formulated from French pink clay I have one word for this face mask - heavenly!

Reviewing Arbonne Essentails Herbal Tea one of the products from the 30 days to healthy living programReviewing Arbonne Essentials Herbal Tea
Known in some countries as herbal tea and others as a detox tea this is a drink I have every day as it's formulated with herbs that help to support my body. It also happens to taste really nice, I even know a few people who do not call themselves tea drinkers who now enjoy this beverage.

Reviewing Arbonne's Prepare & Endure by Phytosport - a vegan sports supplementReviewing Prepare & Endure by Phytosport
Arbonne's Phytosport Prepare & Endure is a vegan, non-caffeinated pre-workout. The formula provides your body the energy it needs for optimum performance from amino acids, B12 and a botanical formulation of cayenne, ginseng and tumeric.

Keeping soreness at bay with Phytosport's After Workout Supplement - a reviewHow to Keep Post-Workout Soreness at Bay - the Easy Way
Arbonne's Phytosport range includes a post workout supplement called After Workout. This supplement includes BCAAs which are taken to help your muscles knit together quicker and so reduce muscle soreness post-workout.

Reviewing Arbonne's RE9 Advanced Cellular Renewal MaskReviewing Arbonne's RE9 Advanced Cellular Renewal Mask
The active botanical ingredients in this face mask are pineapple and papaya and these fruits are used because they are a natural source of AHAs. This review will tell you what AHAs are and how they work, but from a lay person's perspective they just mean silky smooth skin with a WOW factor!

Tea Tree Oil and it's usesReviewing Uses for Tea Tree Oil
I have been using Tea Tree oil for over 20 years now and absolutely love it. In this article I share different ways you can use the 100% pure essential oil around your home as well as for your skin and other ailments.

Reviewing Arbonne's Multi Vitamin & Mineral powder supplementReviewing a Multi Vitamin & Mineral in Powder Form
Now I don't know about you, but I am convinced that tablets are just getting bigger and bigger in fact my last multi vitamin tablets looked like horse tablets (as my mum would say!), when I heard that Arbonne had released a multi vitamin & mineral in powder form I just had to try it and then review it for you!

Reviewing the Green Ogre drink - a healthy drinkReviewing the Green Ogre Drink
The Green Ogre Drink is a health drink that I have every single morning. It is basically made up of four different Arbonne nutritional products and water and I enjoy it instead of a morning coffee. In this review I talk about what I believe it does for me as well as going through the ingredients for you.

Reviewing how to reboot your body with Arbonnes 30 days to healthy living and beyondReviewing How to Reboot Your Body
This review talks about my experience with Arbonne's 30 days to healthy living and beyond plan. I think this nutritional plan is amazing and it is the reason that I have become such a keen ambassador for Arbonne products. My body was certainly 'rebooted' on this program and I am far from alone in my findings.

Reviewing Arbonne's Focus Blend - essential oils for concentrationReviewing Arbonne's Focus Blend
I absolutely love essential oils and have been using them for years (way before I had heard of Arbonne). I was really keen to try their blends and this one is one that has been formulated to help provide clarity and focus. I review the different oils that have been used in the blend and what properties they each bring.

Reviewing Greens Balance by ArbonneReviewing Greens Balance by Arbonne
I am sure that your mom told you to eat your greens, I know mine did. Greens Balance by Arbonne provides a serve of fruit and veg from a rainbow of different coloured fruit and vegetables. It is great to add into your food, take as a shot or in a shake as I know many people struggle to get enough serves of fruit and veg in their day.

Why Fizz Sticks Should be Part of Your Emergency KitWhy Fizz Sticks Should be Part of Your Emergency Kit
If you're wondering what fizz sticks are they are basically a natural energy drink. Now you may think well I don't need them in my emergency kit, but what if you have no electricity or any way to make yourself a coffee, then add the stress of whatever emergency situation you're in (perhaps throw in a young family), you need a quick and simple way of getting caffeinated (and staying hydrated) enter fizz sticks.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X