Showing posts with label Cards: Greeting & Post. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Cards: Greeting & Post. Show all posts

Saturday, February 8, 2020

Reviewing the Perfect Valentine's Day Card

What is it that makes the perfect Valentine's Day Card?   Do you know?  I do!


the perfect valentines day card


What makes the perfect Valentine's Day card is YOU!   Knowing and caring for your special person means that whatever card you choose will be the perfect Valentine's Day card.

There can be so much pressure on new couples around February 14th as they try and find the perfect card, the perfect gift or the perfect date.   I've even known someone who always broke off his relationships (if he happened to be in one when February began) just so he didn't have to deal with Valentine's Day!   Luckily he has now settled down with the love of his life and they don't celebrate Valentines Day at all.

My husband and I don't usually celebrate Valentine's Day as it's only a week after our wedding anniversary, but when we first started dating we did and I couldn't tell you what gifts I received, but the cards were the important thing.  My husband always says he's useless at choosing cards (and I must admit I do wonder where he goes sometimes until I open them up!), but he always finds one that says the perfect thing (for me that is) or a blank one when he's feeling like writing me a few paragraphs about what I mean to him.

So what is the perfect Valentine's Day card?   It's the one that shows the person you care for how much you care by either knowing what they love or by expressing your feelings for them or both.

If the person you love enjoys poetry by the likes of Poe then they may appreciate a Gothic Valentine's Day card, if you first bonded over the Walking Dead or on a Zombie walk then check out some of the Zombie Valentine's Day cards available.

Maybe your partner is a math geek or loves the Doctor in which case one of these Geeky Valentine's Day cards might be up their street.

If I was purchasing a card for my husband this year then any dog Valentine's Day card would be a winner, but this one would probably get him misty eyed -




If my daughter was getting her partner a Valentine's Day card (and I suspect they will be) then she'd probably get either a car one or one like this -




Would you guess they both love boxers?   Whereas my hubby is a total sucker for any Staffy type of dog.

The perfect Valentine's Day card is one that says I know you, or I'm listening to you.   So what type of Valentine's Day card would be perfect for the special person in your life?


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 1, 2019

5 Inspirational Quotes to Carry With You Through 2020

5 Motivational Quotes to Carry with You Through 2020

Get ready for 2020 with a positive and productive mindset. We can't change the world, but we can control, change and work on ourselves. 

We can all agree that there will always be problems, heartache, and struggles. However, the cosmic duality of yin and yang dictates that the opposite is also true; life is filled with beauty, promise, joy, and love. 

Here are five inspiring quotes to put on the wall, fridge, or store in the notes section of your mobile phone, and carry with you through 2020.

1. "You never change things by fighting the existing reality. To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete." - by Buckminster Fuller, 1895-1983, American Architect, Inventor, Author, Designer, Futurist

This is currently my favorite quote. In fact, in my poetry book, "We Will Have Morning Smiles", I reference this quote on the closing page as a message to my own children. These days especially, this quote offers essential advice. When we're having an issue, no matter the nature of it, the best approach is to not focus on solving the issue but to think in terms of building a new path that makes the problem itself obsolete. 

2. "There are two wolves fighting inside all of us; one is evil, the second one is good. Which wolf will win? Answer: The one you feed. - Old Cherokee Saying

This comes from an old Cherokee story of a grandfather teaching his grandson that there is a battle going on within each of us. There's another analysis by the Cherokee grandfather offered and that is feeding them both keeps life balanced and one from overtaking the other. This interpretation says that if you feed them both, you avoid an internal struggle of one or the other working for your attention. You're balanced. I'm not sure how I feel about the second analysis but I do understand the point.  For 2020, feed the wolf seeking the good.

3. "You cannot swim for new horizons until you have the courage to lose sight of the shore" - by William Faulkner, 1897-1962, American Writer and Nobel Prize Laureate.

This is the ideal 'take-action' quote. If you've been holding back and feel a sense that it's time to get things accomplished, carry these words with you. Simply choose to break those chains, and in 2020 go for it. Personally speaking, this is my primary go-to quote for 2020.

4. "It's amazing how a little tomorrow can make up for a whole lot of yesterday." by John Guare, Born 1938, American Playright

When our day or life hasn't proceeded as we thought it could or should have, let's remember what this wise quote says; tomorrow is a new day, and anything is possible. Every day we wake up, is another chance. Let's take advantage of all 365 chances in 2020.

5. "Knowing yourself is the beginning of all wisdom" - by Aristotle

Being honest with ourselves about who we are isn't always easy. Only we know the depths of who we are. One of the messages I've delivered to my kids over the years is that lying to yourself is the biggest lie. When we're not honest with ourselves, we only hurt ourselves.  When we've made mistakes, and we all have, we need to forgive ourselves, seek atonement, never repeat them, and move on. So simple, but many of us spin our wheels over this one. Let's make 2020 the year we stop spinning our wheels. You can read more about this approach in a poem I've written called Times Gift.

Let 2020 be your year.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, April 6, 2019

Do You Send Easter Cards?

cute vintage easter cards, fun easter cards and easter cards for dog lovers
There are some absolutely gorgeous Easter cards available and living away from our family it is nice to exchange cards at this time of the year.   There are lots of different cards to choose from including bunny cards (which I love) and bilby cards - the Easter bilby delivers our Easter eggs as bunnies aren't allowed in my state!  There are also a myriad of vintage cards, chick cards and religious cards.

Do people still send these cards though?  It seems more and more that people are just sending greetings through social media and e-cards which is such a shame as it really is nice to receive a card through the mail.

Let's have a look at some of the beautiful cards that are available to send Easter greetings to your friends and family around the world.

Cute Vintage Easter Cards

I do love cute Easter cards and some of the vintage designs really lend themselves to cuteness


I do love this one as it looks like the rabbits are begging the little girl for Easter eggs!  At least that's what I see when I look at this fun and cute card.   There are lots of other cute vintage cards that are based solely on bunnies, but I do like seeing a little girl in this one.

Custom Easter Cards That are Gorgeous

I know as a mum that when our children are little they really like personalized things and the idea that the Easter bunny would leave them a personalized card, well .....


My parents lived in a different country to us so my daughter was always sent an Easter card and a gift - I remember one year she was sent a gorgeous bunny soft toy that actually smelled of chocolate.   For years that chocolate aroma lingered, she loved that bunny!

I think a custom Easter card like this one would put a smile on any child's face.


Fun Easter Cards for Dog Lovers

There are lots of different Easter cards featuring dogs to choose from including gorgeous Golden Retrievers, Pugs, Dachshund and even this cheeky looking Boston Terrier -


I'll admit I'm a dog lover from way back and as far as I'm concerned I am and always will be a dog mum!   I would absolutely love an Easter card that gives a nod to one of my 'babies' and I'm sure I'm not alone in that.

I could not believe the variety of different dog breeds that are represented in Easter cards, definitely pop on over to Zazzle and have a look you will not be sorry!

Which Style of Easter Cards Do You Like?


So which type of Easter card is your favorite.   I could be here for hours looking at cards which is why I have only added a few, but I have to say I love cute Easter cards whether they are modern or vintage. 

Before I go let me ask you two questions - do you send Easter cards?   What type of Easter cards do you like to receive?

Happy Easter!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, October 6, 2018

Reviewing Top Selling Christmas Cards

Top Selling Christmas Cards
Visit the Christmas Holidays Zazzle Store
It may only be October, but it's already time to start thinking about Christmas cards.  Why so early?  Well if you have friends and family overseas then you have to think about the shipping dates and then there's the Christmas letter to write.

Do you write Christmas letters?   I used to love to receive these letters every year and catch up with what friends and family around the world had gotten up to over the year.  I don't receive any of them these days and instead, like many others, keep up to date via Facebook.

It's quite sad really, but I'll put my hand up and admit I don't write my Christmas letters any more either.  It used to be quite nice sitting down and thinking about what had happened through the year, but I ran out of time one year and then .. well I don't really know.

Anyway, it's still nice to organize your Christmas cards early so let's have a look at the top selling Christmas cards I have across my Zazzle stores and see what you think of them.

Owl Christmas Card


This Christmas card was created in my owl store that I opened because my mother loves owls which makes this top selling Christmas card very special.



I had a lot of fun creating this card and it brings a smile to my face every time I see it.


Pug Christmas Card


A hot second in the popularity stakes was one of my pug Christmas cards (hardly a surprise as pugs are just so popular) which I think is a really cute card.



I actually did a post on one of my blogs about how this card came about which you can read about here - A Popular Pug Christmas Card.Design.

Gothic Christmas Card


This next Christmas card sells steadily every year as it's a little different to most designs.  I had fun creating it, but really wasn't expecting it to do very well ...  a very pleasant surprise!



Why choose Zazzle for your Christmas Cards?  Well for one you're helping designers who are often trying to earn extra money alongside their regular jobs rather than big corporations.

Another reason is that you can customize most of the products available, this means that even if you don't write a Christmas letter you can at least personalize the message inside of the card if you want to.

Yet another reason is that the cards available on Zazzle are not likely to be double ups of other cards your friends or family may receive.

Reason number 4 is the quality of these cards, in all of the reviews comments are made about how good the printing is and how it makes the images 'pop' and I have to agree.  Zazzle's patented printing technology does a fantastic job and the images really do look just like they do on the website.

Finally, all Zazzle products come with a 100% satisfaction promise so if you don't absolutely love it, they'll take it back.  In other words you have nothing to lose by purchasing through Zazzle and lots to gain!

Which of these Christmas cards is your favorite?  I'd love to know.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, August 26, 2018

10 Small Gifts that Fit in an Envelope

Gift Ideas that Will fit Inside of an Envelope by Funkthishouse.com
Photos: Via Pixabay
The recipient of your card might say, cash, insert cash! But when cash isn't an option, the next best thing is something personal and thoughtful.

This list of small gifts that fit in an envelope include physical products versus those typical insertions; gift cards, money or tickets.

Below are a list of items you can insert inside of a card, and then into an envelope for mailing or personal delivery:

1. Personalized Magnets

At Zazzle make your own magnets with your own message or photo. Or if you'd rather, you can choose a pre-made design. Depending on who the card is for, at Zazzle you'll find magnets in various sizes with a multitude of messages or designs to choose from.

If the card is for mom from daughter, this magnet says it well. "I Am My Mother's Daughter". It was designed based on the title and lyrics to a song I wrote decades ago. 

You could also a send a magnet that delivers a message of reassurance. The fridge magnet 'Angels on Duty' with it's blue sky background was designed to give comfort that angels are watching over. It too was based on a poem I wrote decades ago.


2. Key Chains

Key chains can also be personalized. You can find them pre-made with a thoughtful message or photo, or as in point number one, customize them yourself. Key chains make a practical and long lasting keepsake.

3. Pocket Tokens

Pocket Tokens come in various shapes and sizes and carry messages of love, remembrance, memorial and even good luck. They'll easily fit inside an envelope. Include several if you can't decide on one.

4. A Necklace

Don't send an expensive necklace in the mail via an envelope without checking whether your local post office offers an insurance option. If you're hand delivering the envelope go for it. If you've been given strict instructions to not bring a gift, then this is one way to get around it! After-all, it's just a card that happens to have a gift inside.

5. Flower Seeds

A package or two of flower seeds makes a lovely insert into a card. However, mailing seeds internationally could be an issue, so double check before you make this choice. Of course, you can order them online to be delivered directly to your recipient.

6. Guitar Picks

For the guitarist, guitar picks are the perfect token gift to add to a card. You can even get them personalized. Have your own words engraved on the pick(s) and you've gifted a lovely keepsake.

7.  A Small RFID Wallet (Keeps Credit Cards Safe from Electronic Thieves)

These make a unique gift idea when you want to send something more substantial than a token gift. They come in choices for men and women, are thin and are small enough to fit into a card. You may need a larger card depending on the one you choose, but they're thin enough to fit in an envelope. Because there's more substance to this gift, add extra tape on the envelope to ensure it stays sealed in the mail.

8. For Kids, Temporary Tattoos

Temporary tattoos are a gift givers gift. In other words, mom and dad may roll their eyes at the body art on their little one, but the little one will love you. You can also get candy or gum that includes temporary tattoos.

9. Old Time or Current Day Candy

There are so many vintage and current candy items to choose from! But you'll need the flat ones that fit inside an envelope; Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip, Airheads, Bottle Caps, Chicklets, Laffy Taffy, Razzles, and Skittles. Essentially if it fits in the envelope, go for it.

10. Personalized Stamps

Send a sheet of personalized stamps that say what you'd like to say, or have a personal photo of the person, couple, or event put on the stamp. The process for creating these stamps are thorough and professional, so your friends or family members are sure to be surprised and impressed with your thoughtful gift. It makes a lovely added gift for wedding showers. The couple can use their postage for thank you cards, invitations or as a way to advertise their just married status.

Additional Reminders:
  • Remember to weigh your card to ensure you've put enough postage on it for mailing.
  • Add extra tape on the envelope if you think the envelope could accidentally open in the mail
  • Don't mail food or garden products internationally without checking, otherwise they could get stuck at a border!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, June 24, 2018

When You Need Ideas on What to Write Inside a Greeting Card, Check Out These Words of Inspiration

Find a Collection of Sayings for Cards Here
When Words Fail You

One of the quirkiest things I've enjoyed doing as a hobby for decades is coming up with sayings to write on the inside of cards.

Since my friend and I were young twenty-somethings, we've been drawn to card shops. You could usually find us in a local card shop pulling the funny cards, laughing as we blurted the creative sentiments to each other.

In those early years, I remember thinking, if I had to do it all over again, I'd go into the advertising business so I could write funny lines for cards and create commercials.

Then came the internet, where I discovered I could put all those useless one liners rolling around in my head to good use.

Thus Was Born My Hobby - Writing Sayings for Cards

You'll find sayings for many types of cards: For a new home, a new driver,
Review These Sayings You Can Write in a Card
engagements, bridal showers, weddings, birthdays, sympathy, friends, to say thank you and much more.

It's a crazy knack to be able to write card sentiments in no time flat.

On a good day I'm able to sit down and pump out 50 to 100 ideas in an hour or less. Sometimes those crazy one-liners just keep coming. Of all the skills, THIS is the one I got??

When You're Stuck, Use These Sayings

For those who struggle with what to write inside a card, don't sit there racking your brain trying to find the best words.

Simply go to one of my card saying pages and choose something to put on the card, or just use a blurb as inspiration to write your own personal note.

Writing funny card sayings is my favorite thing to do, however, I've written just as many that are serious and even somber.

If I had to select, I'd say the sayings I've written for Sympathy Cards are the most useful. When dad passed away we received cards from all over the country with personally written notes and they meant so much to us.

I was completely shocked at how reading those notes eased my pain for a few moments. The thoughtfulness put into a few kind words meant more than I can express. That moment was my inspiration to put together a list of written sayings for sympathy cards.

Personally I always write a note when I give someone a card. You don't have to write long paragraphs either, just one or two lines of thoughtfulness can make all the difference.

Have fun finding the best sayings that fit your special someone. Here's a card already completed with the saying on it. It's oozing sarcasm for that friend who loves sarcasm :)



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 13, 2017

Reviewing Christmas Card Address Labels

Christmas card address labels by Colorful Images
Do you send Christmas cards? Do you like to add a personal touch to the cards you send? Once upon a time, I sent many Christmas cards each year. I sent them to family and friends. A stack of cards with a short hand-written message and a personalized address labels to match the cards. Over the past few years I have planned on returning to that tradition. While shopping for my own cards and labels, I decided to review the variety of Christmas and holiday address labels that can be found at Colorful Images

I have reviewed address labels by Colorful Images previously. Most recently, I shared my homestead theme labels. I have ordered address labels and other items from Colorful Images through the years and I have never been disappointed. 


Christmas and Holiday Address Labels by Colorful Images


There are 18 different categories of Christmas address labels listed. The following are just a few:

  • Angels
  • Animals and Birds
  • Christmas Trees
  • Christmas at the Beach
  • Faith and Religious
  • Poinsettia
  • Santa Claus
  • Snowflakes
  • Snowmen

There are also a variety of shapes and sizes of available address labels. I really like the new wraparound style. The 7" long address label shows the address on the front of the envelope and the remainder of the label wraps around to the back of the envelope with an extra bit of design.

Winter Wonderland Connect Wrap Diecut address labels

Some of the address labels are foil labels. There are single-color foil labels and labels with a design that includes some foil accents. Christmas is a great time to add some foil for that shine and sparkle. 

Whether you prefer the original-sized small address labels, the over-sized large labels, square, or round labels I am confident that you will find something in the Colorful Images collection that suits you and shows your style. If you are like me, you'll have difficulty narrowing down your selections to just one or two!

address labels by Colorful Images




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, February 18, 2017

A Review of Greeting Cards for Pet Lovers


Unique Greeting Cards for People Who Love Their Pets


Baron, our Golden Retriever (c)
Express your love, happiness, good wishes and special thoughts through greeting cards with friends and family. Send or give them a card to wish them a Happy Birthday, acknowledge an Anniversary, send 'Get Well' wishes, or in recognition of a special event or holiday.

Christmas cards have been a traditional way of expressing the sentiments of the holiday season for many years. In fact, the first Christmas Card can be traced back to 1843. But greeting cards for Valentine's Day, Easter, Mother's Day and more continue to be very popular. It's estimated that the average person sends 55 cards per year.  I send cards throughout the year to my smallest grandsons just because they love to get mail.

This page is filled with card designs that have a unique appeal for pet lovers. From humorous cats to sweet photos of darling puppies, all animal lovers and pet owners will enjoy receiving one of these. Browse through these selections that I found to be particularly special and see which is your favorite.



The Golden Retriever


Golden Retriever Dog Birthday Cards

Because I once owned a Golden Retriever (Baron, shown in the introduction photo), I am naturally drawn to images of Goldens. This one of Murphy owned by professional pet photographer Karen Hoglund especially appealed to me.  And knowing how much most dogs love to chase squirrels, this scene of Murphy 'reading' a book about squirrels is most adorable. 

This photograph of Murphy is featured on a set of 4 birthday cards created by Karen.  The inside of the card says: 

"Squirrel! May all your birthday dreams and wishes come true."  

The set is available in her Etsy Shop known as Karen Hoglund Photography.



Karen says that "Being a pet photographer has brought together my interests and talents in a way I never imagined. As a fine art major in college, I learned about color and composition. I mastered design as an art director for advertising agencies. It was a happy day when I realized it was possible to combine my artistic side with my love of dogs!"  

In addition to featuring her pet photographs on greeting cards in her Etsy Shop, Karen also works as a pet photographer in the metro Denver area. Check out more pictures of "Murphy" and other dogs she has photographed at her Karen Hoglund Photography blog


The Boston Terrier

 

Chocolate Boston Greeting Card


This image of a beautiful Boston Terrier created by Whitney of Tulsa, OK  is on a precious greeting card perfect for any occasion! The card features a black-and-white Boston Terrier pup holding a heart-shaped chocolate in her paws. Cute phrase "I love you more than chocolate!" floats above. It's on a pretty mocha background.

Whitney on Etsy has a shop called African Grey Designs.  She carries a line of paper goods which feature beautiful colors and whimsical designs. Her illustrations are not Photo-shopped or filtered photographs - each one is hand-drawn by her with 100% love. Whitney's favorite subjects are dogs, cats, otters...basically anything cute and cuddly!


Boston Terrier Puppy
Abbi, a Boston Terrier Rescue Pup

This is the perfect greeting card for me to use for my brother & sister-in-law who are the owners of Abbi, the Boston Terrier shown here. My sister-in-law has a birthday on the 4th of July and now I know what card she would absolutely love. Her Abbi-girl is a joy to her.




Send a Card for Holidays, Special Events, Birthdays...


Greeting cards with pictures of dogs are perfect for friends and family who love their pets. Whether you are sending Christmas cards that reflect your favorite dog or finding a birthday card or other holiday card for that special someone, cards with darling puppies and dogs will be a big hit.  Check out boxed sets and single cards of your favorite breed of dog on Amazon. 



From Dogs to Cats...


Mama Cat & her Kitten (c) Kimberly Austin Daly*

*Cat drawing by my artist daughter Kimberly Austin Daly made as a personal greeting card for me.

Cards for Cat Owners...

 


3 cats and a dog
A collection of cats (Bennie, Bacchus and Jack) enjoying a bit of catnip. 
Abbi, the household's Boston Terrier, is trying to figure out what the cats already know! :-)


Cats AND Dogs


Cat/Dog Note Cards - Set of 8 on Amazon

Cute puppies or kittens in a set of 8 with two different designs in each set of eight (8) cards.  Blank inside for your own message, these cards are perfect for thank you notes, birthdays or for just  keeping in touch. Perfect cards to send to your friends who have both a cat and a dog. 

I like these for notes to my brother who has a Boston Terrier puppy and three cats (as shown in the picture above).






Black Cat All Occasion Card on Zazzle




This image of a black cat is a particular favorite of mine because it reminds me of my favorite black cat Spooky!


Funny Cat Cards

 


The Swinger Birthday Cards


Cat images make the funniest birthday cards ever as there is nothing more appealing to a cat lover than a cat in a funny pose. This 'swinger' cat will definitely bring a smile to your favorite cat fancier on their birthday!
 

A sweet and amusing 2-card set with matching envelopes for cat lovers, available on Amazon.

We Love Our Pets!



Yukari on Flickr (CC BY-SA 2.0)

Whether you own a dog, or have a cat that owns you, these pet related greeting cards are fun to give and receive.  

Perhaps you don't have a cat or a dog, but instead have a bird, a horse, a gerbil or some other kind of pet animal. Or you are not a pet owner at all, but are a pet lover.  No one can resist such cute images of animals.

   

 

*PS: February 20 is "Love Your Pet Day"

April 11 is National Pet Day!


 

More Greeting Card Suggestions


Susan Deppner has written a review about a wonderful source for printable greeting cards. These cards are available on Etsy. Quick downloadable files that you can print at home, ready to be delivered or mailed.

Reviewing the Best Birthday Cards for Online FriendsReviewing the Best Birthday Cards for Online Friends
Selecting birthday cards for friends you've never met in person is a challenge. Find the perfect greeting in this review of birthday cards for online friends.  Coletta Teske tells us how in this review.


Thanksgiving Cards Show You CareThanksgiving Cards Show You Care
Thanksgiving is a wonderful time of the year to show your appreciation and thankfulness to people who are special to you. Reviewed by Mary Beth Granger.

Do Not Toss Your Greeting Cards--Reuse Them! Do Not Toss Your Greeting Cards--Reuse Them!
Recycle your pretty greeting cards from Christmas or other times of the year into another greeting card. Cut off the front and paste it onto card stock or blank greeting cards. Make gift tags the same way. Tips & hints by Mickie_G.

Beautiful Easter Greeting CardsBeautiful Easter Greeting Cards
Remember your far-away friends and family at Easter with a beautiful Easter card. Choose from cute or whimsical, or vintage cards that take us back in time. Or a special religious greeting card meant to remind us of the real meaning of Easter. Shared by Sylvestermouse.





© 2012 Wednesday-Elf. Updated 1/31/2020




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 10, 2017

Postcards from Rome Reviewed

Postcards from Rome to Buy

Rome, Italy Postcards 


When we travel, we love to send postcards to loved ones.  These Rome postcards are an excellent example of what we would choose.  Postcards are also really awesome and easy to carry souvenirs. 

I have always enjoyed taking my own pictures, but sometimes it is overcast, rainy or some goober decides to step right in the way as I snap the shot.  Wow, I really wanted that picture of that dude's head or that "oops" expression on that woman's face.  Postcards allow me not to fret.  I can still take home perfect pictures of my favorite tourists spot, without the unexpected interlopers in the photo.

Join Me on a Walk Through My Rome Scrapbook of Postcards!


The Colosseum Postcard 


The Colosseum is one of the major points of interest in Rome!  It isn't always easy to get a great photo due to the sheer size of the structure.  I took this original photo from the top deck of an open bus.  I was thrilled with the outcome when we got back home and I uploaded my photos.  

My personal experiences when visiting the Colosseum have left me preferring this view, from the outside, of the structure.  It is emotionally overwhelming when a Christian tours the inside and knows the history and purpose of the arena. 


Entrance to the Roman Ruins Postcard 


The Roman Ruins are fascinating.  It is easy to get so involved in really looking that you totally forget you have a camera to take pictures.  These postcards make that a lot easier.  You can purchase the postcards for your own scrapbook and focus on enjoying the visit to the Roman ruins in Rome.

I admit, I never expected to laugh at the statues in Rome, but that surviving big toe was simply hilarious at first glance.  However, after I got over my giggles, I considered how difficult it would be to chisel out that digit in such fabulous detail.  

 Postcards from Rome

 Roof of St. Peter's Basilica in Rome, Italy Postcard Buy Now  

The Vatican and St. Peter's Basilica Postcards


There is so much to see inside and outside of the Vatican Museum and St. Peter's Basilica.  So many beautiful tapestries and renowned statues.  Even the ceilings are beyond gorgeous. 
The museum is often very crowded which makes it extremely difficult to get great photos without people in them.  Plus, it takes several hours, sometimes even days, to see everything.  You don't want to waste your time in Rome waiting for the perfect photo op.  Buy the postcards and forget the stress of trying to take pictures yourself.


 

Here are Some of the Ceilings in the Vatican Museum



 Postcards from Rome

The Resurrection Tapestry Postcard and Statue Postcards


One of the most impressive tapestries in the Vatican museum is the Resurrection tapestry shown below. The statues of Apollo, Bacchus, & Diana, along with many more, can also be seen at the Vatican. It really is a magnificent museum of priceless art and artifacts.
Postcards from Rome

The Capitoline Museum


The Capitoline Museum is a magnificent museum that you will not want to miss when visiting Rome, Italy.  The Capitoline Museum is one of the few museums in Rome that allows you to take pictures, which makes it a photographer's paradise.  

The statue of the girl with the snake at her feet was one of my personal favorite statues in all of Rome.  The details of that statue are truly amazing and she is in almost perfect condition.  The other figure shown actually hangs over one of the interior doorways.


The Trevi Fountain Postcards


Long before you even plan a trip to Rome, you know about the Trevi Fountain.  What you may not realize is how extremely difficult it is to snap a shot of this stunning fountain.  There are always people around the fountain and no one wants their Trevi Fountain pictures photo-bombed. 

 

Visiting Rome, Italy


I have had the privilege to visit Rome several times. I use the same itinerary each time because it has proven to be successful. I published an article several years ago sharing my itinerary, my tips, and my personal recommendations. When I journey back to this historical city, I update that article with new discoveries and changes. If you plan to Vacation in Rome, be sure you read my article. You may be very surprised by some of the information. Being informed and prepared will not only save you a lot of money, but it will also save you a lot of valuable time. Most of us only have the opportunity to go to Rome once in a lifetime. 


See: Vacation in Rome, Italy written by Sylvestermouse Cynthia



Postcards from Rome Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, January 16, 2017

Reviewing Valentine's Day Address Labels

http://www.reviewthisreviews.com/2017/01/reviewing-valentines-day-address-labels.html
Valentine address labels help you send love across the miles this Valentine's Day and every day thereafter. While we have become a digital society there are many  wonderful reasons to send those heartfelt messages through the mail. In this review I will explain why I think Colorful Images is the best place to order your personalized address labels.

Colorful Images Review


Colorful Images has been my go-to for address labels for over a decade. I ordered address labels to denote the change of seasons and to individualize my mail.  I also enjoy their choices of holiday designs and love that I can choose Valentine's designs that send a bit of love no matter what time of year I use them.

After a few changes of address and becoming accustomed to paying bills and keeping in touch with loved ones via the internet, I stopped buying address labels. But I recently placed an order again and was reminded of why Colorful Images is where I will always order my address labels. Just a few of those reasons are:
  • huge selection of address label designs - I can find something that is "me"
  • variety of address label sizes
  • choice of two different fonts
  • when ordering, you type in your address and have an immediate visual sample
  • fast delivery - 6 business days for address labels and other personalized items via standard delivery
  • faster delivery options - you can choose even faster delivery methods (adding 2 days for the printing of the labels)
  • choice of flat pages of address labels or rolls
  • reliability - I have never had a problem with an order


Why Sending Cards Through the Mail is Still Important


We have moved into the instant and digital world eliminating much of our use of sending correspondence via the mail.  However, there are many reasons to continue to send things the old-fashioned way. These are only a few:
  • recipients of handwritten mail are aware that extra time and thought was put into contacting them
  • children love to receive mail
  • elderly folks who are separated from family enjoying knowing someone is thinking of them - often displaying their cards for all to see
  • people who are hospitalized often enjoy receiving cards
  • military folks who are far from home are able to feel more connected when friends and family keep in touch via the mail


Address Labels for Valentine's Day


Colorful Images offers several Valentine's designs.  Designs range from the large round label with the Cupid design to smaller, more traditional labels with hearts.  These LOVE labels are my favorite heart design. The design is visually pleasing and these labels and their message can be used for every day.


LOVE labels fromColorful Images


Related Article - In the review of The Gift of a Letter, Wednesday Elf explains beautifully why handwritten letters are not something to be forgotten and are, in fact, a gift. 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Printable Greeting Cards

These printable greeting cards are on high-resolution downloadable files that you can print at home. Easy DIY last-minute gift idea.
Look what I found. It's a fabulous source for printable greeting cards. These are cards on high-resolution downloadable files that you can print at home. Simply choose a design, place your order, grab the downloadable file, print, and the card is ready to be delivered or mailed. It's easy! Here's my review of this sanity-saving method of buying greeting cards at the last minute.

The procrastinator in me loves these cards. Why? Because I can choose, buy, print, and mail or hand deliver any of them quickly, within a matter of minutes. If you tend to put off shopping for special occasions until it's almost too late to be on time, bet you'll love the convenience, too!

Even if you're organized and always on time, there's much more to love about these cards. Since they're designed by artists from all over the world, it's easy to find something absolutely unique and the selection is huge. You're sure to find a style that you like for any occasion you can think of.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. 

Downloadable, Printable Inspirational Card ©JWGiftsandDecor on Etsy
Printable Inspirational Card ©JWGiftsandDecor on Etsy


Printable Father's Day Cards

Print it instantly! Father's Day printable greeting card from DecorartDesign
Father's Day Printable Card ©DecorartDesign on Etsy

Father's Day is always the third Sunday in June, but it has a way of sneaking up on me at the last minute. You, too? If you wait until the last minute to choose a card for dear ol' dad, it won't be too late. Take a look at this Father's Day card collection, find one you like, order, then print. Use the search box to narrow down the subject matter to something that perfectly suits your dad. Here's a favorite (at the link), a printable card I found for dad from the cat.

Cards for All Occasions & Every Holiday


It's always good to have a greeting card or two on hand for emergencies, but if you're like me your card box never seems to contain exactly what you're looking for when you need it. That's another reason I like the idea of being able to choose the perfect card and print it from the comfort of my computer.

For instance, look at this selection of printable get well cards. You'll also find some really unique printable birthday cards. I found a beautiful selection of scripture cards for all occasions, too. Recently I've been exploring printable Halloween cards. You may be surprised at the selection. I was!

Choose a couple of designs that you especially like, order the downloads, and you'll have them on the computer when you need them. Pay once then print as many copies (for personal use) as you like!

Cute printable all-occasion greeting card from MerryMailman on Etsy, includes envelope template
©MerryMailman on Etsy
Here's an idea for an all occasion card to keep on hand. This "What's up, buttercup" printable card download includes two designs, an envelope template, and you can color the card yourself if you choose. Or let the recipient color it. In fact, make a gift of it by including a set of colored pencils. How perfect for either an adult or a child! (I got this one for my mom, who really enjoys her adult coloring books.)

Next time you're at Walmart, Target, or your favorite office supply store, pick up an inexpensive package of card stock paper along with some pretty envelopes (or make your own envelope from a grocery bag!). Choose a few favorite printable card designs to have handy on your computer, and you'll be ready whenever the next card-giving occasion arises. You'll save both time and money and the recipient is sure to be pleased.


So, who will your first printable card recipient be?

~ Susan
See more of my reviews.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X