Showing posts with label From the Heart. Show all posts
Showing posts with label From the Heart. Show all posts

Sunday, June 16, 2024

Honoring Dad: A Father's Day Tribute to Dads in Heaven

Honoring Dad: A Father's Day Tribute to Dads in Heaven

For Father's Day, many of us are preparing to celebrate the influential men in our lives who have shaped us into who we are today. 

But for some, Father's Day carries a bittersweet undertone as we remember and honor dads who are no longer with us physically. Whether our dad passed away recently or many years ago, the memories and lessons he imparted remain etched in our hearts forever.

Reflecting on Memories

One of the most beautiful aspects of Father's Day is the opportunity to reflect on cherished memories with our dads. Whether teaching us or offering wise advice during challenging times, dads play a significant role in our lives. 

Even though they may no longer be here, their presence is felt in every laugh shared, every lesson learned, and every bit of guidance followed (or not followed, lol).

Carrying on Traditions

Dads have a way of creating lasting traditions that define our family identities. Whether it's a special meal he loved to cook, a favorite activity you enjoyed together, or a heartfelt phrase he used to say, these traditions connect us to our past and help keep his spirit alive. Embracing and continuing these traditions can be a comforting way to honor his memory on Father's Day and beyond. 

If there are no apparent traditions, that doesn't matter! A tradition can be as simple as watching a TV show and laughing together.

Finding Comfort in Shared Stories

Sharing stories about our dads is a powerful way to celebrate their lives. Whether with family members and friends or even quietly reminiscing on your own, recounting funny anecdotes, meaningful conversations, and poignant moments can bring a sense of warmth and closeness. These stories create a tapestry of his life that ensures his legacy endures.

Personally, I find myself loving it when we talk about Dad. When my family and I get together and remember him out loud, that's when I find my greatest peace with this difficult loss.

Embracing Gratitude

While it's natural to feel sad on Father's Day when our dads are no longer here, it's also a time to embrace gratitude for our time together. Every laugh, hug, and piece of advice is a gift that continues to shape us. By focusing on gratitude, we can celebrate the love and wisdom our Dads imparted, acknowledging their profound impact on our lives.

Honoring Their Legacy

As we celebrate Father's Day, let us also reflect on the legacy our dads left behind. Their influence extends beyond their physical presence, living on in the values they instilled and the love they shared. 

Honoring their legacy is a meaningful way to commemorate their life and continue their impact, whether through charitable acts, mentoring others, or simply being there for loved ones and friends.

A Time for Reflection and Connection

This Father's Day, for those of us who have lost our dads, let's take a moment to reflect on the love, guidance, and memories they left us. 

Let's cherish the traditions they started and the stories they left behind. And let's find comfort in knowing that their spirit lives on in us and those whose lives they touched.

To all the dads in heaven, this Father's Day is for you. Your presence is felt in every corner of our lives, and we always carry your love with us. 

Cheers to the memories, the lessons, and the enduring legacy you've given us. Happy Father's Day.

A Tribute to My Dad in Heaven - A Video Created Eight Years Ago, Dedicated to All Fathers


Happy Father's Day to All Father's - to Dads of All Kinds, Living and Passed On πŸ’—πŸ’—




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, April 7, 2024

The Mystical Connections to a Solar Eclipse - History Meets the Unseen

The Mystical Connections to a Solar Eclipse - History Meets the Unseen

Solar eclipses have long captivated human imagination, evoking a sense of wonder and mystery. 

Across various cultures and civilizations, these celestial events have been interpreted in diverse and intriguing ways, often imbued with spiritual significance and mystical beliefs.

This blog post will explore the mystical connections to solar eclipses, delving into the fascinating beliefs and interpretations from different cultures worldwide.

Ancient Mesopotamia and Babylonian Beliefs: 

In ancient Mesopotamia and Babylon, solar eclipses were viewed as omens, often associated with the anger or displeasure of the gods. Priests and astrologers meticulously recorded these celestial phenomena, believing them to foretell significant events such as wars, the rise or fall of empires, and natural disasters. Eclipses were seen as powerful messages from the divine, prompting rituals and offerings to appease the gods and restore balance.

Ancient Chinese Traditions: 

In ancient Chinese culture, solar eclipses were interpreted as the result of a celestial dragon devouring the sun. To ward off the dragon and ensure the return of sunlight, people engaged in various rituals, including banging drums, making loud noises, and shooting arrows into the sky. The belief was that these actions would frighten the dragon away, allowing the sun to emerge again. Solar eclipses were also seen as harbingers of doom and were associated with the downfall of rulers or dynasties.

Indigenous Peoples' Spiritual Connections: 

Indigenous cultures worldwide have unique interpretations of solar eclipses, often rooted in spiritual traditions and connections to nature. For many indigenous peoples, eclipses are seen as moments of spiritual renewal and introspection, symbolizing the cyclical nature of existence and the interconnectedness of all living beings. Rituals and ceremonies honor the celestial event and harness its energy for healing, growth, and transformation.

Hindu Mythology and Symbolism: 

In Hindu mythology, the solar eclipse is depicted as the result of the demon Rahu swallowing the sun and later releasing it. This mythological narrative symbolizes the eternal struggle between light and darkness, good and evil. Solar eclipses are viewed as auspicious times for spiritual practices such as meditation, prayer, and charity, offering inner purification and enlightenment opportunities. Temples may also conduct special ceremonies to invoke divine blessings and protection during this celestial event.

Contemporary Perspectives and Approaches:

While ancient cultures viewed solar eclipses through a lens of mysticism and mythology, contemporary society approaches these phenomena with a blend of scientific understanding and awe-inspiring wonder. 

Advancements in astronomy and technology allow us to predict and observe eclipses with remarkable precision, unraveling the mechanics of these cosmic events. Yet, even in our modern age, solar eclipses continue to evoke a sense of awe and reverence, reminding us of the enduring mysteries of the universe and our place within it.

Solar eclipses bridge the tangible world we inhabit and the vast mysteries of the cosmos. Across cultures and civilizations, these celestial phenomena have inspired awe, wonder, and spiritual contemplation. 

Whether interpreted as omens, symbols of renewal, or manifestations of cosmic forces, solar eclipses remind us of the profound interconnectedness of all things and the enduring quest to comprehend the mysteries of existence. 

As we safely gaze up at the darkened sun during an eclipse, we are reminded of our place in the vast tapestry of the universe, where science and spirituality converge in a dance of exploration and wonder.

Safety Glasses For Viewing the Eclipse:

ISO 12312-2 Certification: Look for glasses that meet the ISO 12312-2 international safety standard for filters for direct observation of the sun. This certification ensures the glasses have been tested and meet the required safety standards for viewing the sun.

Eclipse Glasses Available on Amazon




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, April 4, 2024

Roots Canada: A True Life Baby Story

Roots Canada: A True Life Baby Story
On October 31, 2007, Evangelina Manu was off to work at a Montreal Roots Canada outlet. She noticed a van outside and two men anxiously standing by. Inside the van, a woman was delivering a baby and, very quickly, a newborn baby girl was born and exposed to the cool October air.

Evangelina sprung into action and headed for the Roots Baby section where she purchased a sleeper, a blanket and a hat to cover the baby.

Ms. Manu reported, "The whole event was really special to me because I had just had my own daughter 11 months prior, so it was very moving to watch someone do the same. It's such an amazing story for everyone involved and was such a great way to start the morning!

She certainly has that right and this baby was lucky to start out life in some wonderful Roots Baby wear! A customer for life? Perhaps. Hopefully, the baby born that day at least knows this heartwarming story.

Click here to see what Roots Canada baby items are available on eBay right now.

See you 
at Roots!
Brenda 

MORE READING:

Roots Canada Leather Products.
If you love quality leather products, you will love Roots' merchandise.
Curious about the company Roots? Learn a bit here.

Team Spirit tells the story of the Canadian-themed company, Roots Canada.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, April 2, 2024

Reviewing Wellbeing Benefits Of Nature Reserves


Wetland nature reserve view of lake and reeds through trees

 Life can be busy and stressful and I find it is necessary to take time out whenever I can to connect with nature. Being in a nature reserve like the one near us is really grounding and brings a sense of peace and serenity.

 Nature reserves, more than any other place for me are a beautiful experience. The scenery is stunning and peaceful, I love the changing seasons and wildlife and being both an observer and a part of nature. Often quiet and free from traffic noise with only the lovely sounds of bird calls and wind in the trees it is a chance to clear my mind, rejuvinate and relax.

 There are many significant benefits for our mental and physical health by spending time each week, or as often as we can in this environment

Wetlands nature reserves water and reeds and close up tree


 Emotional Wellbeing And Mindfulness 


 As soon as we enter the nature reserve I feel a sense of relaxation, of letting go. We generally do not take any tech with us except for a mobile phone which is for use only in an emergency. Otherwise we do not look at it. Spending this time in a natural setting reduces stress and raises our spirits. I think the combination of exercise, fresh air and relaxing, peaceful scenery all helps to calm and clear the mind and improve mood. 

 In addition the beauty and wonder of being connected to nature that is something greater than ourselves gives us a deep appreciation for life and there is always at least one unexpected surprise or amazement on each nature walk that make us us feel a sense of wonderment being alive and inspired. On our last walk we saw a gorgeous woodpecker, heard the bitterns booming and found a rare orchid which the wardens had fenced off to protect it for example.


Physical Health Benefits Of Walking In A Nature Reserve.


 When we visit the nature reserves we walk for miles, much farther than when we walk around our town for exercise. We try to walk for an hour a day but when we go to a nature reserve we easily walk two or three hours without even thinking about it. 

Walking can be done at a gentle pace or a good hike. You can in our reserve stay on the wide main flat paths which are good for people who like or need a steady safe walk or are using a mobility aid or vehicle. There are also more narrow sloping winding paths or more challenging routes through the reserve. It can easily be a steady low impact exercise to a good workout. 

This is beneficial for us on many levels such as heart health, muscular strength, and improving general fitness levels. The fresh air free from traffic is great for our lungs and bodies and all our senses are stimulated and relaxed at the same time.


 Conservation Of Nature Reserves


 The nature reserve we visit is a result of human intervention. The wetland area used to be where heavy chemical industry was with awful pollution and toxic waste. When the industry was closed down the authorities wanted to use the space for waste disposal.

Only due to the proactive local people and nature conservation groups having a vision of a beautiful natural rescource for nature and people was the area gradually converted over years into a gorgeous nature reserve. Even before it was finished birds and mammals started to move in!

It is now so rich in birds, mammals, trees, wetland and flowers and a wonderful resource for people to enjoy and learn about nature. 

 Many people go there for exercise, photography and to learn about wild flora and fauna. They run childrens outdoor classes so the next generation can learn and hopefully preserve our beautiful wetlands. to hopefully inspire a love of wildlife and the protection and maintenance of these amazing natural resources.

Pursuing Hobbies And Interests


Someone once asked me at the Nature reserve, are you here for the walking, wildlife, flowers or photography?

 It struck me then that people can gain so much in this environment. 

As I took notice some people were clearly serious walkers and took this environment to walk a certain distance or time, gain fitness and enjoy the scenery.

 Others were taking it more sedately, chatting with each other, pointing out beautiful scenes, showing children the wonders of nature. Sitting on the various benches and walking gently with each other taking in the lovely views and having a peaceful lovely time.

Then I noticed the photographers, some with serious pieces of kit, tripods and top of the range camera and zoom lenses to bridge cameras and mobile phones all taking notice of the world around them from the open scenes to a single flower, bird photography to the waves of the river.    

The artists were set up in quiet places sketching out scenery and birds, often to me seeming in deep concentration.

The nature lovers were watching, listening, often with binoculars very quiet, very still, occasionally consulting books or phones for information loving every minute.

Many people of course combine several or many of these interests and we all enjoyed a lovely mug of hot tea or coffee in the centre at some point during our visit there, where we chatted with each other or sat in quiet revery. 
 
I realised that one setting is enjoyed in so many respectful ways and nature gives to each of us in a way that we need it, in ways we individually appreciate it. How beautiful is that!


Fostering A Sense Of Community


 We can visit the nature reserve and be quiet and alone, yet even then be a apart of something special. However if anyone wishes there is also the opportunity to be involved in many levels from casual chatting in the observation centres, joining of walks to full on volunteering.

 Group walks and guided walks to learn about the wildlife are available where you can chat to others who are also interested in nature. More structured classes are held over several weeks or regular walks on certain days where a more regular set of people attend.

You can also do regular volunteering work in the centre or giving talks, raising awareness or helping in the gardens, whatever suits your time available and skillset. In all these ways a common aim of loving and preserving nature providing opportunity for social interaction either casual or committed, can lead to a sense of community and belonging that is sometimes lacking in this modern world and fosters a sense of wellbeing.

 Whether you are alone or in a family or friendship group, young or older we can all benefit from seeing and hearing beautiful wildlife, breathing fresh air, exercise, learning about nature, maybe pursing a hobby like painting or photography  and sharing each others company when we want to. 

The connection with people may be a brief chat about a bird sighting, the shared excitement of seeing a beautiful bird or a precious rare flower, a group of people you get to know on a deeper level via set walks or classes or a belonging as a volunteer, it all helps.

Nature Reserves For General Wellbeing

So in this way walking in a nature reserve can have a range of benefits and opportunities for our mental, emotional and physical health with a sense of belonging and community that can lead to a better quality of life overall. 

We are so appreciative of our wonderful special nature reserve resource and would not be with out it and will protect it as long as we live.











Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, March 20, 2024

What Happens When Life Isn't a Bowl of Cherries? From the Heart Review

Life with all of its wonders, hopes, dreams and desires is a wonderful thing.  But sometimes, life isn't that bowl of cherries that everyone would have you believe.

What do you do when that time in your life happens?  I promise it will happen to all of us at one time or another.  Are you prepared for those days when you just feel like you are at the end of your rope and the knot you tied in it is unravelling faster than you can hang on?

stress


For years, women especially, have known that there are times when you have to sit back, count to 10 or 1,000, and just do nothing!  It's like taking a little time to push the reset button or restart button on your computer.

You can let everything go and concentrate on nothing else but the numbers.  

Self care is the "big  phrase" these days!  While I'm not an expert in any such field, I do know that many of us need to recognize that Self Care is important, especially during stressful and anxiety filled days.

There are literally millions of ways to take back a little time for some much needed SELF-CARE!

Review This Reviews. com is a great place to start!  

You will find hundreds of book reviews on all kinds of topics.  Pick one and just sit for an hour and read!  It could be a novel, a autobiography of someone you admire, a book of riddles or a book of cartoons, like my favorite Calvin and Hobbs!

Another great way to reset is to watch a movie and again Review This Reviews has a whole lot of very worthwhile movies to watch and you can find a list right here.  Movie Reviews let you know right away whether it is a subject you would enjoy and you won't spend a lot of time flipping through all the channels.

Maybe just maybe you'd like to learn something about what others do when life is overwhelming for them.  I suggest taking a look at From The Heart.

Baking or cooking can sometimes be the way out of a dark little spot in life and we have you covered there too.  Sam Monaco, Sylvestermouse Cynthia, Wednesday Elf and a host of others share some of their most asked for favorites.  Why not whip up some goodness to help you feel better?

Self-Care is not just one way to help you through the trying times in life, because everyone is different and self-care is just that, it is something that resonates with you personally.

I know that I'm going to check out some of those recipes and make myself something delicious and magical that I can share.

Then I'm going to sit back and read another chapter in one of my favorite books!  Who knows, by this evening I just might curl up with a good movie and let life just happen.

Life right now is not the bowl of cherries that I love, but I know that tomorrow or the next day my bowl will be full again.  With Faith in Tomorrow, I will make it through this too!

at the lake





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, December 17, 2023

Embracing the True Spirit of Christmas through Acts of Kindness

Embracing the True Spirit of Christmas through Acts of Kindness

The holiday season is a time of joy, togetherness, and reflection. However, it's not always a joyous time for some, so anything we can do to help lessen someone's burden is ultimately the truest gift (in my humble opinion).

As we immerse ourselves in the festivities, it's essential to remember the true spirit of Christmas, which extends far beyond glittering decorations and festive feasts. 

At its core, Christmas embodies the values of compassion, generosity, and kindness. Amid the hustle and bustle, let us pause to rediscover the essence of this magical season.

The True Spirit of Christmas

Amidst the exchanging of gifts and the twinkling lights, the true spirit of Christmas is really about our acts of kindness, no matter how small.

It's about selflessness and a genuine desire to bring joy to others. Embracing this spirit can transform the holiday season into a meaningful and fulfilling experience. As we navigate the celebrations, let us prioritize the well-being and happiness of those around us.

Acts of Kindness

  • Random Acts of Kindness: Surprise someone with a small, unexpected act of kindness, whether paying for a stranger's coffee or leaving an uplifting note for a neighbor.
  • Volunteer Opportunities: Consider spending some time volunteering at local charities or shelters. Your presence and assistance can make a significant impact on those less fortunate.
  • Donate to a Cause: Donate to a charity or cause that aligns with your values instead of focusing solely on material gifts. This supports important initiatives and instills a sense of purpose in your celebrations. Donating that extra two dollars at the store is also a kind gesture.
  • Helping Hand: Offer assistance to friends or family members who may be struggling during the holiday season. Whether running errands or providing emotional support, your help can be a lifeline. Sometimes, listening to a friend and conversing with family while you spend time together is a helping hand.

Personal Reflection

As we engage in acts of kindness, we reflect on our blessings and privileges. 

Christmas is an opportune time to acknowledge and appreciate what we have while actively working towards making a positive difference in the lives of others. By fostering a culture of kindness, we contribute to a world that reflects the season's true spirit.

πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„

Let's maintain sight of the genuine warmth of acts of kindness. This Christmas, let's collectively embrace the season's true spirit by spreading joy, practicing compassion, and fostering a sense of community. 

In doing so, we not only enrich the lives of others but also create lasting memories that truly capture the essence of Christmas.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, September 9, 2023

9/11 Memorial – Overland Park, Kansas – Travel Review

 

We Will Never Forget


Granite Tile from the flooring of the World Trade Center
This granite tile is at the entrance to the Overland Park, Kansas 9/11 Memorial.

It says:

Enter the 9/11 Memorial by walking across the granite flooring from the World Trade Center.


On September 11, 2001, 2977 people lost their lives in the horrendous terrorist attacks on our nation, including 441 first responders.  Many cities around the country have built 9/11 Memorials, both large and small.  I recently discovered one near me located in Overland Park, Kansas ~ a southern suburb in Kansas City.  It tells the story of that fateful day, and specifically honors the 343 firefighters who died that day trying to save others. It is located next to the Overland Park Fire Department Training Center. These Kansas City firefighters are the caretakers of this memorial. 


Visiting there, even 22 years afterwards, brought fresh tears to my eyes as I read the educational panels telling the story of each downed flight on that tragic day. 


Overland Park’s 9/11 Memorial honors those who lost their lives on September 11, remembers their sacrifices, and teaches future generations about a day we will never forget.


At the Overland Park 9/11 Memorial you will experience:


*A 14-foot, 2.5 ton steel beam from ground zero.


A 14-foot, 2.5 ton steel beam from ground zero
Steel Beam from Ground Zero


This was acquired in 2009 by application from Overland Park firefighter Trevor Miller and Capt. Paul Bishoff.


See and touch a real part of the World Trade Center, and memorialize those who are no longer with us. 


*Four educational panels tell the stories of each downed flight.


Educational Panels depicting the 9/11 Attacks
Educational Panels Depicting the 9/11 Attacks

  • American Airlines Flight 11 out of Boston struck the North Tower of the World Trade Center at  846 A.M. 
  • United Airlines Flight 175 from Boston struck the South Tower of the World Trade Center at 9:03 A.M.
  • American Airlines Flight 77 left Dulles International Airport in D.C., bound for Los Angeles, and struck the Pentagon in Washington D.C. At 9:37 A.M.
  • United Flight 93 from Newark, New Jersey, which was later assumed to have been headed either to the Pentagon or the White House, was brought down in an empty field in Shanksfield, Pennslyvania by the brave passengers who refused to let the highjackers bring about any more destruction in the United States.


At 9:45 A.M., barely one hour after the first attack, US Airspace is shut down under Operation Yellow Ribbon. This operation ordered all civilian aircraft to land at the nearest airport. This Operation prevented any further attacks by aircraft from occurring. 


Medallions marking the time each flight crashed on Educational Panels at the Overland Park, KS 9/11 Memorial
Medallions mark the time each flight crashed

On September 11 each year, the shadow of the 14 foot artifact crosses these panels and sunlight passing through a hole in the girder which follows that diagonal line, passing over the four medallions at the time they went down.


For a complete timeline, as depicted on the stories of each of these flights, click here.


*A victim’s panel which alphabetically lists all the names of those who died on 9/11. The side of the panel states:


9/11 Memorial Victim's Panel with all the names of the victims
Victim's Panel

No Day Shall Erase You From the Memory of Time   ~Virgil


*A weeping wall fountain that represents those who survived.


9/11 Memorial (Overland Park, KS) weeping wall representing those who survived
Weeping Wall

*Granite tiles pulled from the World Trade Center after the attacks. 


"Honoring Footsteps Gone Silent"


Summary 


I encourage you to seek out  such 9/11 Memorials in your area and help keep the remembrance alive by helping those too young to remember to learn about the terrorist attacks that claimed thousands of lives on September 11, 2001. Because, we SHOULD Never Forget! 

Remember – Honor – Educate


YouTube Video of the 9/11 Memorial @ Overland Park 9/11 Memorial.




Location:


Overland Park 9/11 Memorial is located next to the Overland Park Fire Department Training Center

Address

12401 Hemlock

Overland Park, KS 66213

Phone

913-888-6066

Hours

8 a.m.-5 p.m.

Admission

Free


For more Travel Reviews, Click on


+All images are personal photos taken by Wednesday Elf


*Travel Review of the Overland Park, Kansas 9/11 Memorial was written by Wednesday Elf.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, September 6, 2023

Checklist for Travelling Abroad While Leaving a Senior at Home! FYI

Our lives seem to take turns and detours that we never expected.  That makes for an interesting time and a time to learn all kinds of things that we had never thought of before.  This is Coming from the Heart and I hope it might help you as well.

We are finding out that talking to friends in similar situations helps. Yet depending on where you are living and what kind of "help" is available for seniors, your plans may have to be adjusted accordingly.

Let me back up a little and explain:

We are currently looking after my 92 year young mother.  She has just moved into our home as she is no longer able to take care of herself properly.

We have help that comes into the home 3 times a week to bathe her  That is a chore that I really didn't want to do as I have mobility issues myself.
elderly woman


So now there is a new wrinkle in the mix.  Both my husband and I were planning a trip before Mom came to live with us and we are not getting any younger either,  So what do you do?

Mom is not able to live on her own and we are running out of time to go on this trip.  The options need to be looked at and plans made for her care before we commit to our own travel ideas.

So we need to make sure there is a place that will take her for a short-term stay.  One that is clean and nice.  One that cooks meals that she will enjoy,  One that has some activities to keep her mind active and off of the fact that we are not there.  One that will look after her medications and also her general health while we are gone.

hands


That's not too much to ask, is it?

So where do we start?  

  • Thank goodness there are places that have "RESPITE CARE".  These are rooms that are set up like a bedroom (sometimes private or semi-private) in Registered Nursing Homes. We are in the process of checking out 3 or 4 of these homes and choosing the one that seems to fit all our requirements.
  • Making sure that the place of temporary residence has all the required information regarding 1. prescriptions. 2. Family Doctor's phone number.  3.  Next of kin in case of a great emergency.  4. All necessary tools to make her stay comfortable (glasses, hearing aids, walkers etc.)
  • Labelling all of her clothing.
  • Packing her favorite toiletries, creams, lotions and potions.
  • Making sure she has shoes as well as her slippers.
There is a lot of things that need to be looked after  before we can leave and not need to worry.  Also the grandchildren (who are well into their 40's and beyond) will know where she is so that if they feel like going out for dinner with her, they will know what the ground rules are as well.

Preparedness is key in doing this,  Everything needs to be in order and then we can go on our holiday without the panic that might otherwise make a holiday into a nightmare instead.

I am preparing a Mom's Diary, a book with all of her most important information. Lists of Medications, Doctor's phone number, hospital where she has been before, grandchildren's phone numbers, Health Card information, Dentist info (just in case), and any other information that may benefit the caregivers at the home.  Allergies and food sensitivities will be noted as well.  Favorite foods and least favorites will also be listed.
diary blank pages



We are trying to make this a good experience, so that if we travel again, we know exactly what we need to prepare.

Clothing labels for her personal things. We are looking for labels that are easy to attach and yet are not irritating to the person wearing them.  As always, Amazon is a great place to find just about anything and they have a whole bunch of "label" possibilities!  This is the one that I happen to like:
 

clothing labels

But there are many other choices as well.

We are hopeful that by taking all these steps, we will make sure that my Mom has the best of care while we are away and that putting all of this into play, we may be able to travel again and have a much easier preparation because some of it has already been done!

I will come back here and let you all know how successful we were and if there were any other things we should have included or not!

Hope this helps anyone who is thinking or living the same journey as we are on!


 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, August 13, 2023

Can You Guess the Most Popular Color in the World?

Guess what the most popular color in the world is

Hey there, color enthusiasts and curious minds!

Today, we're diving into a topic that's as vibrant as a summer sunset and as intriguing as a mystery novel – what is the most popular color in the world?

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

Drumroll Please......Did You Guess What the Most Globally Popular Color Is?

Alright, first things first – let's talk stats (not really - you can google that anytime!)

 According to a bunch of surveys and color-loving folks around the globe, the heavyweight champion of colors is none other than Blue

Yep, that soothing, sky-like hue has captured the hearts of folks from all walks of life. Seriously, it's like the BeyoncΓ© of colors – universally loved and always in style.

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

Which Colors Are the Popular Runner-Ups?

Don't worry; I've got the scoop on that too. Coming in second place is the energetic and fiery Red. It's like the color equivalent of a shot of espresso – bold, attention-grabbing, and impossible to ignore.

But wait, there's more! Grab your shades because Green is also strutting its stuff in the popularity parade. It's the color of nature, money, and envy (but we're not here to judge, right?). Green's that cool friend who's always down for an adventure – the Kermit to our colorful Muppet show.

Oh, and let's not forget about enigmatic Black. It's like the James Bond of colors – sleek, mysterious, and effortlessly stylish. Whether you're rocking a little black dress or decking out your phone in a noir-inspired case, black always adds a touch of class.

But here's a side note about black - from a science perspective, it's void of light and thus not considered a color! Hey, but the artistic world differs on this, and yes, they include it in the bucket of colors.

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

Turns Out My Personal Favorites Are Not the Most Popular, But They Do Make the Cut

Some honorable mentions include the sunny optimism of Yellow, the royal and calming embrace of Purple, and the sunny-side-up vibes of Orange - these are my three favorite colors! And I love pink too :)

So, why is blue the undeniable champion of colors? 

Well, psychologists have a theory. Apparently, blue's got this magical way of making us feel all calm and zen. It's like a visual spa day for our minds, which is why you'll find it splashed across everything from hospital walls to social media apps. Plus, let's not forget about that whole "blue sky thinking" thing – who knew color could be so motivational?

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

In the end, whether you're a blue-loving beach bum, a red-hot firecracker, or a green machine ready to take on the world, the beauty of colors lies in their ability to evoke emotions, tell stories, and make life a little more exciting. 

So, the next time you're debating between a blue or a red shirt, just remember – you're not just picking a color; you're choosing a vibe!

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

And there you have it, my colorful comrades – a crash course in the world's most popular color and its vibrant contenders. Until next time, keep living life in full color, and never be afraid to paint outside the lines! 

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

Understanding the basics of color here.

So, what is your favorite color and why?




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, August 6, 2023

The Pink Revolution: What the Color Pink Often Represents

The Pink Revolution: What the Color Pink Often Represents

Pink has always been popular; however, like most colors, it goes through phases of acceptance in clothing and home decor.

With the popularity of the movie 'Barbie,' pink is at the forefront of people's minds.

Whether you love the color pink or not, it holds various meanings; let's check out a few of them.

The Meanings Behind the Color Pink

The Power of Positivity

πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’“

Pink is the embodiment of positivity and happiness. Its warm and playful nature can encourage feelings of optimism in our hearts.  Surrounding ourselves with a little bit of pink might just brighten our day. 

The Essence of Femininity (But That's Changing Too)

πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’“

Originally associated with all things feminine, pink generally symbolizes grace, gentleness, and compassion. In a world where gender norms are evolving, pink stands tall as a symbol of strength in femininity and challenges traditional perceptions of what it means to be a woman or man guided by these traits.

A Way to Embrace Your Inner Child 

πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’“

Pink takes us back to our carefree childhood days. It can remind us of cotton candy, strawberry milkshakes, and fairy tales. When we indulge in a bit of pink, we can trigger those positive memories of our youth.

Pink as a Symbol of Love

πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’“

While red often steals the spotlight as the color of love, pink's softer hue represents a gentler form of affection. It symbolizes innocent love, tenderness, and nurturing relationships. 

The Fight for Breast Cancer Awareness 

πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’“

Pink ribbons are a universal symbol of breast cancer awareness and support. This powerful use of the color has sparked the Pink Ribbon Movement, promoting awareness and raising funds for breast cancer research and treatment.

Breaking Stereotypes 

πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’“

Pink is now breaking free from gender stereotypes. It's no longer confined to just baby girls and frilly dresses. Men worldwide are embracing "millennial pink" as a symbol of modern masculinity, helping to prove that colors have no gender.

From Soft to Sassy: 

πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’“

Pink is incredibly versatile. It can be soft, pastel, and delicate or bold, vibrant, and energetic. Its various shades make it suitable for any occasion or mood.

Pink Flowers and Their Meaning

πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’“

In the world of flowers, pink blooms hold various meanings. Pink carnations signify gratitude, pink roses convey appreciation and admiration, and pink tulips represent care and affection. 

The Color of Acceptance

πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’“

Pink embraces individuality and promotes acceptance. It encourages us to celebrate our unique traits and quirks, fostering a more inclusive and diverse world.

πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’“

So, there you have it! Pink is not just a color but a vibrant expression of joy, femininity, diversity, love, and hope. 

Next time you see a splash of pink, take a moment to appreciate its deeper meanings. Embrace the power of pink and let it fill your life with positivity and happiness. 

Personally, I love pink: Life is just better in pink.

πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’“

And Wednesday Elf even reminds us that there's also a National Pink Day 

πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’“




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, January 8, 2023

A Review of 20 Ways to Improve Your Life in the New Year

A Review of 20 Ways to Improve Your Life in the New Year

The start of a new year is a time for reflection and resolution. It's a chance to take stock of your life and think about how you'd like to improve. Whether you're looking to get in shape, advance your career, or simply be a better person, there are many good reasons to focus on bettering yourself in the new year. 

In this article, we'll explore 20 ways you can self-improve. 

So if you're ready to make the most of the new year and take your personal development to the next level, read on!

20 Different Ways to Improve Your Life:

  1. Set specific, achievable goals for yourself. This will give you something concrete to work towards, and the sense of accomplishment you'll feel when you reach your goals can be very motivating.

  2. Make time for self-care. This could mean setting aside time for relaxation and hobbies, exercising regularly, or getting enough sleep. Taking care of yourself will help you feel better physically and mentally and give you more energy to tackle your goals.

  3. Seek out new experiences and opportunities. Trying new things can help you learn and grow and can be a lot of fun.

  4. Focus on developing healthy habits. This could include eating a balanced diet, exercising regularly, or practicing good hygiene.

  5. Work on building solid relationships. This could mean spending quality time with loved ones, volunteering, or simply being there for others when they need support.

  6. Find ways to reduce stress and manage your time more effectively. This could involve simplifying your schedule, setting boundaries, or learning stress management techniques like meditation or deep breathing.

  7. Reflect on your values and priorities, and make sure that your actions align with them. This can help you feel more fulfilled and purposeful.

  8. Consider seeking out opportunities for personal and professional growth. This could include taking classes, getting a certification, or seeking a new job or career path.

  9. Learn a new skill or hobby. This could be something practical, like cooking or coding, or something creative, like painting or writing.

  10. Practice gratitude. Take a few minutes each day to reflect on the things you are grateful for. This can help you focus on the positive aspects of your life and cultivate a more positive outlook.

  11. Take care of your physical health. This could involve getting regular check-ups, exercising regularly, and eating a healthy diet.

  12. Practice forgiveness. Let go of grudges and try to see things from the perspective of others. This can help you move on from negative experiences and build stronger relationships.

  13. Seek out opportunities for personal growth and self-discovery. This could involve therapy, journaling, or simply reflecting on your thoughts and feelings.

  14. Volunteer your time or resources to help others. This can be a rewarding way to give back and positively impact your community.

  15. Get organized. Take the time to declutter your space and create systems for managing your time and tasks. This can help you feel more in control and reduce stress.

  16. Practice mindfulness. This could involve meditation, yoga, or simply taking a few minutes each day to focus on your breath and the present moment.

  17. Find ways to reduce your environmental impact. This could involve reducing your energy consumption, using reusable bags and containers, or reducing your use of single-use plastics.

  18. Learn a new language or take a course to improve your language skills. This can be a fun and rewarding way to challenge yourself and expand your horizons.

  19. Make an effort to be more present and attentive in your relationships. This could involve putting away your phone when you're with others, actively listening when someone is speaking, and showing appreciation for the people in your life.

  20. Set aside time for relaxation and enjoyment. This could involve hobbies, reading, or simply taking a few minutes each day to do something you enjoy. Taking breaks and relaxing can help you recharge and be more productive in the long run.

In conclusion, focusing on self-improvement in the new year can bring many benefits. It can help you achieve your goals, feel more fulfilled and purposeful, and build stronger relationships. It can also help you reduce stress, improve your physical and mental health, and feel more confident and capable. 

Consider setting specific, achievable goals, seeking new experiences and opportunities, and developing healthy habits. 

With a little effort and commitment, you can make the new year a time of growth and progress.

Happy New Year!

P.S. I've decided to be saucy about this year's resolution. 

My resolution: "Learn how to fold a fitted sheet." That's it. That's all. It's brief and achievable. :)



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, January 1, 2023

Happy New Year from The Contributors of ReviewThisReviews

Happy New Year 2023
Happy New Year - 2023!

Happy New Year to You and Yours

On behalf of ReviewThisReviews, we send you positive energy and all the ingredients needed for a balanced life in 2023. Body, mind, and spirit!

The year 2022 is officially in the books. Historians have compiled their notes for future generations; some hearts have been fulfilled, while others have been broken.

Whatever your story, we're sending you a bright light of hope for a peace-filled 2023.

A Quote for the New Year:

"For last year's words belong to last year's language, and next year's words await another voice" - T.S. Eliot, Four Quartets

 May You Tackle Life with Hope and Bravery - Here's a little musical inspiration:

"Say what you wanna say, and let the words fall out, honestly, I wanna see you be brave with what you want to say and let the words fall out..." A Song by Sara Bareilles

 


With kindness, hope, and love as your guide, let this year be a year of bravery, strength, faith, and grace ... for all of us.

Happy 2023!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, December 25, 2022

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays From ReviewThisReviews


happy holidays from reviewthisreviews

Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays!

On behalf of the Contributors on ReviewThisReview, we send you good wishes for a peace-filled holiday season.

It's been a challenging 2022 for many. Thus, our Christmas wish for everyone is a kinder, gentler 2023. 

A quote to be guided by for the new year:

"You never change things by fighting the existing reality. To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete" - by Buckmister Fuller (1895-1983)

Here's to a wonderful year ahead for everyone...maybe with a helping hand...

"I believe there are angels among us, sent down to us from somewhere up above; they come to you and me, in our darkest hour, to show us how to live, to teach us how to give, to guide us with the light of love."






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, December 20, 2022

WestJet Christmas Miracles

Discover a few of the miracles airline WestJet has performed over the years.

For today’s post, I thought I would rework an old post and offer up a bit of Christmas cheer in the form of a review of an event that a Canadian airline sponsored in 2013. Here's my story. 

We were at a Christmas party when someone said, "You have to see this." They turned on the television and pulled up a video on YouTube. We all watched with amazement as the passengers from two planes scanned their boarding passes and visited with Santa Claus. What happened next, was truly unexpected. 

TWAS THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS REAL TIME GIVING (2013)


See for yourself what happened in this video called WestJet Christmas Miracle: Real Time Giving or Twas the Night Before Christmas.


Quite a video, isn't it? It must have been totally unbelievable at first. The passengers on that plane will never forget that flight with WestJet and nor will I. Not that I was there, of course. I was a participant via the video, just like you will be if you watch now.

SANTA'S BLOOPERS (2013)


And don't miss the Santa's Bloopers video. I love a good blooper reel!


FLASH MOB (2012)


But it turns out that the Christmas 2013 was not the first time Westjet 'performed' for Christmas for in 2012, the employees performed as a flash mob at the Calgary airport:


With over 50 million views of that 2013 video, Westjet definitely scored a public relations coup with their Santa Claus project 'Twas A Night Before Christmas and they made a pretty memorable day for all of the passengers involved. According to one newsreel that I read at the time, Westjet was planning for the next year right away.

MIRACLE MILES (2022)


Fast forward now with me to 2022 when I discover that WestJet has another Christmas Miracle video, this one called Christmas: Miracle Miles.


A quick peek on YouTube shows that WestJet may have done a similar video throughout the intervening years. I won't share them all here with you but I will smile at the kindness displayed in these videos.
 
Merry Christmas!
Brenda

MORE CHRISTMAS READING:











Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X