Showing posts with label Decor. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Decor. Show all posts

Friday, October 30, 2020

Fall Leaves Placemats & Tablerunners Reviewed

Fall Placemats
Like many of our Contributors, I love the fall and the beautiful colors of nature.  The yellow, gold, orange, and red leaves falling all around are simply stunning.

With the fall, we welcome cooler weather which tends to keep us indoors more and looking out the windows at the beautiful landscape.  That makes me want to bring some of the beautiful leaves inside, which I have certainly done in the past.

Several years ago, I was doing a bit of early Christmas shopping when I spotted the gorgeous fall leaves cutwork placemats.  There were only two left, but that was fine for my kitchen table, which only seats two.  

We removed our large kitchen table decades ago and replaced it with a couch & chair.  Not only does that provide comfortable seating in the kitchen, but it forces us to use the dining room, which was previously only used for holidays.

The fall leaves cutwork placemats are perfect for my husband and myself at our smaller kitchen table.  Plus, they provide really beautiful fall decor in the center of our kitchen.

fall placemats


Fall Leaves Placemats

Forest Blanket with Poly-Suede Cutwork Round Doily - 16 inch placmats (Set of 4)Forest Blanket with Poly-Suede Cutwork Round Doily - 16 inch placmats (Set of 4)Check PriceMy fall leaves placemats are made of a faux suede material.  The cutwork design gives them a nostalgic look that appeals to us.  Our table is wood, a gift from my grandmother's home.  The wood table provides the perfect background for the fall leaves placemats.

When our daughter visited last fall, she commented on how pretty these placemats are on the table.  Normally, we all have very different decor preferences.  Apparently, these fall leaves placemats appeal to a variety of decor tastes. 

The current fall leaves placemats that are available are slightly different from mine in colors.  That is common with fabric due to different runs or fabric selection.  It could also be due to a different manufacturer.  Photography lighting can also affect an image.  Regardless, they are still stunning!

If you stop by my article about my grandmother, you will see the table in it's original place in her home.  That photo was taken on Christmas over 30 years ago.


Fall Leaves Tablerunner

Owenie Fall Leaves Table Runners,Thanksgiving Centerpieces for Tables, 13Inch x 34Inch Embroidered Maple Leaf table decor for Harvest, Autumn Farmhouse Decorations for Home Settings, Machine Washable.Owenie Fall Leaves Table Runners,Thanksgiving Centerpieces for Tables, 13Inch x 34Inch Embroidered Maple Leaf table decor for Harvest, Autumn Farmhouse Decorations for Home Settings, Machine Washable.Check PriceOur kitchen opens up to our dining room where we have the large dining room table that seats 8-12 easily.  Recently, I came across a fall leaves tablerunner that compliments my placemats.  That ties the decor in the two rooms together nicely.  

The tablerunner is not an exact match, but that is not really noticeable unless you place them side by side.  That doesn't matter to us since they are used on different tables.  Plus, there is something naturally eclectic about them not matching, just as hundreds of leaves don't match when blanketing the yard.

If you were going to use the table runners and the placemats on the same table, I would recommend buying the exact same pattern all at the same time.  



More Articles on Fall Decor


Check Out More Home Decor Reviews at
ReviewThisDecor.com

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, October 24, 2020

A Review of Handmade Halloween Home Decor


Halloween is a favorite time to decorate your house and yard, most especially if you are like my daughter-in-law who goes 'all out'. Their outside yard décor is so elaborate and fantastic that they have even won local 'Halloween Decoration' contests in the past.


But it is 'inside the home' that can lend itself to creating a Halloween atmosphere limited only by your imagination. You can go scary with ghosts and goblins, skeletons and spiders, or sweetly seasonal with pumpkins, or cute with black cats and bats.


The following are a few ideas to get you started. They are the creative results of fellow handmade artists on Etsy.


Pumpkins


A Pumpkin Table Runner


Halloween Pumpkins Table Runner


Decorate your table with a seasonal table runner for the Halloween season


This table runner is made with 2 different prewashed cotton fabrics so that it is reversible. One side has decorated orange, white and black pumpkins that are outlined in gold on a black background. It also has gold stars and the words "Boo" and "Trick or treat". The reverse side is orange with Halloween words and phrases, spiders and crows in black, gray and white. The words and phrases are "Trick or treat", "Spooky", "Happy Halloween" and "Boo".  


This table runner is 14" wide and 39 1/2" long and can be found in Kathie's Etsy Shop she calls CutePurseNalities.


Pumpkin Coasters


Pumpkin Beverage Coasters
Pumpkin design beverage coasters are perfect for home decor in the season of Harvest-time, Autumn, or Fall. They can also be fun all year round for anyone who likes pumpkin designs.


This is a set of 4 drink coasters with a pumpkin design measure 4 x 4 inches each. They are created using plastic canvas and acrylic yarn in two shades of orange, plus brown and green. The pumpkin design sits on an ecru/off-white background. Perfect colors for your Harvest time decor. 


They are available in the Etsy Store of Coastal Crochet Crafts.


Black Cats & Bats


Black Cat


Wooden 
Black Cat
This rustic wooden black cat figurine is handmade from whitewood or reclaimed pallet wood


Approximate measurement: about 6 inches tall x 4.3 inches wide.  


Handmade by Christina and found in her Etsy Shop Tinkerbinks.



Scary Bats


Halloween Bats Decor
Scary 3D bats all over the wall / window. Arrange them as you wish. You definitely want them in your Halloween Party. Comes with easy to apply style.

-Easy to apply to walls, doors, glass and other hard surfaces. For use on smooth walls -- can also go on glass

-Material: waterproof pvc. Color: black. Leave no residue or damage when peel off from wall / window. 


Find these bats at AJProducts on Etsy.




Halloween Kitchen Decor


Handy for Halloween are these decorative and useful dishcloths, potholders and refrigerator magnets for your kitchen.


Pumpkin Set


Pumpkin Kitchen Set

Pumpkin Kitchen Combo. Pumpkin shaped cotton dishcloth/washcloth with matching pumpkin potholder and pumpkin magnet

Washing dishes is a chore made easier with dishcloths made of 100% cotton yarn. This dishcloth in the shape of a pumpkin makes kitchen chores more fun.

This pumpkin-shaped handmade-in-crochet dishcloth can also be used as a washcloth in the bathroom - especially fun for kids in the bathtub. 

The matching pumpkin potholder is crocheted in washable orange acrylic yarn with a green top. It measures 9.5 x 11 inches and is made double-thick.

This pumpkin set makes a cute Halloween home décor item or can be used as a gift. (Makes a unique hostess gift when invited out to dinner, especially during the Harvest-Time season).

The kitchen set comes with a matching pumpkin refrigerator magnet.  Available at Coastal Crochet Crafts on Etsy.


Ghost Set


Ghost Washcloth & Magnet
This cute ghost kitchen set includes a fun novelty washcloth in the shape of a ghost. A cute way to entertain children at bathtime or to make choretime in the kitchen washing dishes more fun. Or just display it in your kitchen for a Halloween decoration. It comes with a cute ghost magnet for your refrigerator. Find it at Coastal Crochet Crafts on Etsy.








Related Links:


  • For more Halloween home decor ideas, check out Fun Halloween Home Decor by Sylvestermouse.
  • For Halloween recipes, costumes and more decorating ideas, check out this group of Halloween articles reviewed for you here on ReviewThisReviews. 


Happy Halloween


Halloween Yard Décor (c) Elf


*Handmade Halloween Home Décor written on 10/24/2020 by (c) Wednesday Elf






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 18, 2020

Book Related Home Decor - A Review of Various Product Ideas


With the holidays creeping up, gift ideas start rolling around in our heads.

For the avid reader, book-related home decor is an excellent choice. Generally speaking, home decor can be quite expensive, so you may want to pool your resources. 

You Can View a List of Suggested Book Related Home Decor Products Here

Book Themed End-Tables

You have to check these out. They vary in design and style, and some feature the base or tabletop in the shape and/or look of stacked books. They're quite pricy, so as mentioned above, you may need to pool resources to give one of these as a gift.

Area Rugs Featuring Book Art

These particular rugs come in multiple styles. The most common designs are the book-themed area rugs for children. You've probably seen many of those online. They're bright and colorful and ideal for a nursery, playroom, or even the classroom. Nowadays, they're a practical addition to the homeschooling work area.

There are other styles of book rugs suitable for an adult space. They feature original artwork of books or book pages on the rug. An adult-themed book area rug is ideal for a home office, home library, a reading room, or a bedroom designed with a book theme. 

Lamps Designed With Books

If an area rug or book-themed end table is too large an investment, take a look at these book-themed lamps. Some are sculpted with a prominent figure standing on top of a stack of books. Check out the prices; I think you'll be surprised at their affordability for a wedding shower or birthday gift. The likelihood that someone else shows up with one of these lamps is probably slim to nil, so you're sure to be gifting something unique.

Book Wallpaper, Murals, Art and Decals

When we consider book-themed decor, we generally think in terms of art pieces. You can find wallpaper that mocks the look of a library wall or go with smaller vinyl graphics. Wallpaper that looks like a bookshelf filled with books makes a stunning addition to a room decorated in a warm, deep, comfortable theme. You can view a larger variety of book artwork on the product page link above; however, here are a few examples to give you an idea of just how rich-looking these can be.




So, for that book lover in the family, you don't have to resort to just giving books as a gift - go for something different. The above product page also features several additional book-themed items not discussed here - be sure to take a look.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 11, 2020

Your Not-So-Typical Home Decor Items that Glow in the Dark

Glow In The Dark Home Decor Products

Finding funky home decor items is a passion of mine. In the past couple of weeks, I've featured furniture with built-in speakers and furniture that comes with built-in USB charging stations. This week it's all about unsuspecting items for your home that can glow in the dark.

Product Page Here - You Can View All the Products Discussed Below Here

Bedsheets and Bedding that Glow in the Dark

From the sheets to the comforters, you can find children's bedding that glows in the dark. I haven't found a set for adults, lol. I suspect a glowing bed would be rather annoying for grown-ups. Kids love them, especially when they're not keen on bedtime or the dark.

Shower Curtains, Another Unsuspecting Place for Something that Glows

Aren't these handy! Forget nightlights, just put up a set of shower curtains that glow in the dark. There's a safety element to these as well. When the little ones need to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, they just follow the glow from the hallway.

Rugs that Glow - Follow Your Feet

These are popular choices for a baby nursery or child's bedroom. Glow rugs are funky, interesting, and also a safety solution. Some have artistic colorful designs making them a perfect addition for a playroom or anywhere kids gather or sleep.

Kids Storage Bins that Glow in the Dark

Now that's handy! When you're picking up the toys, and the lights are dim, their storage box glows so you can easily see it to toss the toys in. Use the bins for anything, including clothes and books. They come in multiple designs. You can check them out on the product page.

Glow in the Dark Wall Decals and Stickers

We're all familiar with glow stickers for kids that attach to the wall. They come in numerous designs and styles. However, if peel and sticking individual stickers aren't your thing, you can opt for a glow in the dark wall decal. A wall decal is one sheet, usually in a specific size. Get several and position them around your little one's room. 

The product page at the top of this article features a variety of the home decor items discussed above. However, there are additional interesting glow-in-the-dark home decor items added to the product page that may not appear here. Be sure to check back if you're looking for funky, glowing home decor items.

Happy Decorating and Happy Thanksgiving, Canada!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 4, 2020

Furniture With Built-In Bluetooth Speakers

Product Page Here

Last week I featured funky furniture that comes with built-in USB charging stations. As mentioned in that article, tracking down unique, slightly different home decor products is my passion.

For those who aren't familiar with the variety of home decor pieces that come with built-in Bluetooth, here are several home decor items that may surprise you.

"Product Page: You can view all the products discussed below here"

Mirrors with Bluetooth Speakers

What a great idea! Did you know you can get vanity mirrors or regular mirrors to feature above a dresser, a sink, or anywhere you want that have built-in speakers? What a great idea for a gift as well. The product page features several designs. 

End Tables with Bluetooth Speakers

As discussed in last Sunday's article, many end-tables come with the USB charging stations. However, did you know that some also come with built-in speakers? Isn't that convenient? What a terrific, unique gift idea as well. If you're not sure what to get a couple for a wedding gift, this is something they can always find a spot for.

Ottomans with Bluetooth Speakers

If you prefer your furniture with Bluetooth to be mobile, then an ottoman is the way to go. Carry your ottoman from room to room, or to the outdoor porch or patio! Again, it makes an excellent gift, and best of all, they're relatively affordable.

Couches with Bluetooth Speakers

Yes, you can find these as well. I featured a few on the product page. Again, this is a perfect solution for small apartments or those who consider themselves minimalists. Your sofa serves as an all-in-one media center.

Headboards with Bluetooth Speakers

Not only can you get headboards with built-in USB charging stations, but you can also get them with built-in Bluetooth speakers! How handy is that! When you want music in your bedroom, no more ugly speakers; just turn on the speakers in your headboard.

Consoles with Bluetooth Speakers

Consoles double as storage and provide a decorative piece for hallways or fill walls that need a little something. Look for consoles that come with Bluetooth, and you'll have a place to play your music. The nice part about a console is how they look more like a music cabinet.

Desk or Gaming Chairs with Bluetooth Speakers

Go ahead and choose a gaming chair as your home-office desk chair. They typically come with built-in speakers. When you're working at your desk, you'll be able to listen to your music via your chair's speakers.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, September 27, 2020

Furniture Pieces that Come with Built-in USB Charging Stations

Furniture with Built-In USB Charging Station
Furniture with Built-In USB Charging


Did you know there is a wide variety of furniture choices that come with built-in USB charging stations? It's not something we typically think of when we're shopping for recliners and end-tables; however, we should.

For Funkthishouse.com, I'm always on the hunt for creative finds for the home. Yah, I spend too much time scrolling through furniture, rugs, drapes, and bedding ... you name it. It's like hunting for little golden nuggets lol. I sure enjoy it.

Anyway, today's article features pieces of furniture, big and small, that come with built-in USB charging ports.

"Product Page is Here" - You can view all the furniture ideas discussed below on the product page - Be sure to check them out, some are pretty funky :)


Coffee Tables and End-Tables with Built-In USB Charging


Unless you want a full-blown Smart-Table, you can easily find coffee/end-tables that come with built-in USB charging stations. How convenient is that? When you need to charge your device, reach over and plug it into the outlet on your table. If you're wondering what a "Smart-Table" is, here's a brief article.

Couches and Chairs with Built-In USB Charging


Yes, that's right; if you're in the market for a new couch or chair, be sure to check if it comes with a built-in USB charging station. You'll notice you don't have to spend a fortune (you can if you want) for pieces with built-in charging stations. They come in a wide variety of designs and styles.

Lamps with Built-In USB Charging 


If end-tables, chairs, or couches are too much of an expense, the next time you need a lamp, choose one that has a built-in charging station. They're incredibly convenient for desks or work stations. I've included several styles for you to examine on the product page.

Desks with Built-In USB Charging 


This one is expected. Indeed, with working from home and home-schooling, desks that feature these built-ins add another level of convenience. Get a lamp with a charging station, and you're all set.

Headboards with Built-In USB Charging


Yes, you'll be able to find one of these as well. These headboards come in a broad range of prices, but you can get them in the lower price range as well ... and they're just as lovely. Check out the ones I've featured; they're pretty cool.

Again, here's the product page featuring the above furniture pieces. 

If you can think of any other furniture items with built-in USB ports, let me know. I'm always on the hunt for something different in home decor.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, September 20, 2020

2 Popular Rustic Furniture Styles that Fit into Both Modern and Country Designs

Popular Rustic Furniture

Live Edge Wood Coffee and End Table Slices

These rustic designs are choice pieces by young adults to seniors alike.

The furniture is designed from a slab of unused wood. They're a coffee table DIY gurus can handily tackle. My skilled son constructed his own. Although he's a full-time Realtor, his ironworking skills came in handy for this project.

The table below is the result of his discovery of a gorgeous piece of live-edge natural wood at a flea-market. He then custom-designed the legs to complete his table.

Photo Credit J. Cipak - His Personal DIY Table

You can view a collection of wood slice coffee tables from a variety of retailers here. Or check them out below.

Wood Stumps that are Both Extra Seating and End-Tables

My son also has a couple of these cute pieces. They're relatively basic in shape and size and available in other more elaborate designs as well. Here they are:

Photo Credit J. Cipak - Wood Stools

You may have heard the term, 'Twisted Stool?' Some designs are precisely that - twisted wood stools that can double as an end-table.

You can view a collection of Twisted Stools from a variety of retailers here. Or you can check them out below.

Modern and Contemporary Decor Can Host Both of These Unique Designs

Wood furniture, especially with a rustic look, is generally preferred for a cottage or country designs. Typically we look for furniture pieces to match our decor theme. As an example, for modern decor, we'll select contemporary pieces, and for country decor, we choose rustic elements. 

However, with newer apartments and condominiums being deniably modern, especially in urban settings, we rarely think of adding a contrary rustic piece.

In fact, adding natural rustic pieces to contemporary or modern design is a superb way to add depth, interest, and texture to an otherwise linear design. When you find a room is cold in appearance, utilize the decorating principle of Texture. Texture can include anything from patterns, colors, materials, or in this case, opposing furniture with character.

Twisted Tables and Wood Table Slices Featured Below - Or You Can View Them on Their Product Page Here





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, September 6, 2020

Beds that Look Like a Cabinet - A Gorgeous Space Saving Solution

Beds that Look Like Cabinets
Beds that Look Like Cabinets

Funky, interesting home decor finds is a passion of mine. Different styles of furniture are of particular interest.

Furniture that looks like one thing but doubles as another is so much fun!
Beds that look like cabinets are a form of a Murphy Bed. As you probably know already, the standard Murphy Bed is one that folds down from the wall. These particular beds fold into a waist-high cabinet instead.

Cabinet Beds Fold Into a Wall Cabinet

If you've never seen one of these convenient beds, check out the selection I've featured below.

Typically you'll find these in queen size. You'll have to check if they come in other bed sizes; most of the ones I've seen are queen bed cabinets.

As described, when not being used as a bed, they fold up into a lovely waist height wall cabinet. They're not cheap looking either! Notice below the various colors and wood types available.

Who Needs a Bed that Looks Like a Cabinet?

Everybody? Ok, not everybody. Here are some ideas:
  1. Bed cabinets are ideal for one-room apartments! Fold it up into a cabinet during the day and pull it out at night. You get the benefit of both a living room and a bedroom in one tiny space. Best of all you don't have to look at a bed all day. 
  2. Place one in a home office as an extra place for guests to sleep.
  3. When you don't have an extra bedroom, these lovely pieces look like living room furniture can go anywhere; living rooms, hallways, dining rooms. Not that you'd place one in a dining room, but hey, if the dining room is huge and can be closed off, why not!
  4. When you need a subtle extra sleeping area in a baby's room, these are ideal. They'll grow with baby, and of course, can be moved and fit nicely into any other part of the home.
  5. When grandma and grandpa downsize but don't have enough bedrooms for guests, this piece of furniture is the perfect extra sleeping spot!
  6. How about in Sheila's She-Shed or his Man-Cave? Bed cabinets are perfect! They don't take up a lot of space and serve as an extra spot to sleep especially when you've been sent to the doghouse for the night.
  7. Budget permitting, this a perfect wedding or shower gift. Furnishings are a very personal thing, so you'll want to be sure to choose a piece that is something the recipient would like. Since they're quite expensive, you could purchase this as a group gift.
  8. Put one in a child's room as an extra place for their friends on sleepovers.
Here they are! If for some reason you can't view the products below, you can see them on their Product Page here as well.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 24, 2020

Bird Decor for the Home Reviewed

Bird Decor
I like all wildlife decor, but I recently realized how often I choose bird decor for my home.  

I love birds, but I'm not sure if my decorating choices are because of my love for birds, or if it is because of availability.  I do see a lot of decorative accessories that feature birds.  

I also take a ton of pictures of birds.  Again, they are what "decorate" my backyard daily and are easily available to photograph. I enjoy seeing the flashes of color zipping across the sky, as well as, sitting in my trees. 

We also enjoy walking wooded trails, driving along jeep trails, and exploring nature.  I get really excited when I capture on bird's photo in a unique setting.  That was the case with the gorgeous owl photo (shown below) now available in my Zazzle store.

Birds always remind me of scripture.  So many verses come to mind when I see a dove, a sparrow or an eagle.  Perhaps, that is the main reason I love birds so much.  They always remind me of God and His promises to mankind. My relationship to God is the core of my very being and I delight at every reminder of Him. 


Bird Pillows Make Home Decor Impact

Barred Owl - Here's Looking at You! Throw Pillow - Available on Zazzle - Photo by Cynthia SylvestermouseBarred Owl - Here's Looking at You! Throw Pillow - Available on Zazzle - Photo by Cynthia SylvestermouseCheck Price
I have multiple throw pillows on my couches, chairs and even beds that feature birds.  Several are only birds, but others have birds as part of the wildlife & nature scenes with flowers, rabbits, or foxes.  All are welcoming additions to my home decor.  

Using pillows that feature birds are such a great way to add a touch of color  or contrast to a room, just like they add to nature.  

Most of my furniture is tan or brown with dark wood.  My home needs those sparks of beauty interspersed among those otherwise bland decor choices.  I consider the brown to be the background for the beauty.

These are a few of the bird throw pillows that liven up a room by adding contract or color in home decor. 




Bird Magnets Hold Reminders


Click Magnet Image to Purchase
I have at least a dozen bird magnets on my refrigerator.

We use them to hold notes, newspaper clippings, recipes, or even photos in place.  My favorites are the ones that also feature quotes from the Bible.  I like those little reminders around. 

I work in the kitchen almost all day long.  Whatever happens, conversations, accidents, or actual work, it is usually in my kitchen or I hear about it in my kitchen.  

I find myself glancing at those scriptures as I catch my breath.  They help calm me and remind me that God is always in control and is here with me.

I find it rather ironic that something so inexpensive can make such a huge impact on my daily life. 


Bird Coasters in Every Room

Click the Coaster Image to Purchase these Bird Coasters

We have coasters in every room of our home to protect our wood and marble table tops.  

Most drinking glasses or mugs will leave a ring on whatever surface it is resting on.  Therefore, I always want my coasters to protect my tables.  

I have several sets of the bird coasters featured on the right.  They are my favorite coasters in my home.  Not only do I adore the bird images, but I also like how easy they are to clean.  These coasters are made for ceramic tile and have a protective backing to prevent scratching the wood table tops.  

It is really hard for me to choose which of these birds I like the best because they are all so beautiful.  Even the female cardinal, which is not known for her color, holds a special place in my heart.  After all, without her, there would be no vibrant red male cardinals.


Bird Trinket Boxes


Bird Trinket Box
My Photo is Linked to a Similar Trinket Box Available on Amazon
I also collect trinket boxes. Among my favorites, are of course, my birds. 

My husband has sought out and given me some of the most beautiful bird trinket boxes. He even gave me a display tree for my bird boxes for Christmas one year. It certainly makes displaying my jeweled boxes a lot easier. Now I can adore them all at once and they take up a lot less space. 

I know some people consider these knick knacks to be useless clutter, but I consider them trinkets of love. After all, it took decades to build my collection of bird trinket boxes. Each one reminds me of a special occasion, a thoughtful gift and a very considerate giver. 



Additional Ideas in Bird Home Decor include Kitchen Towels, Bed Linens, Decorative Lamps, Bird Teapots, Bird Platters/Trays, Sugar Bowls & Creamer sets, Salt & Peppers Shaker Sets, Figurines & more.  The ideas really are extensive.




 Bird Decor for the Home Reviewed by:

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Easy Wall Decor Ideas


Easy Wall Decor Ideas
Easy Wall Decor Ideas Reviewed

We decided to downsize a few years back. With the kids all grown up, we didn't need a large two-story house just for the two of us. So, we found a nice one-story house with two and a half baths, and as luck would have it a full finished basement.

We furnished our new finished basement with the living room furniture from our old house, So, now we had to go out and buy new furniture for the living room or live in our new basement. By the way, our finished basement is a perfect place for our grandchildren to play when they visit.

Our previous home had two built-in wall shelves between a window in the living room. This allowed us to display pictures, knick-knacks, and books.

We don't have any built-in shelves in the new house. We had to look for some inexpensive ideas to add some accents to the walls other than just picture frames.

Easy Wall Decor Ideas: 

The above picture is a simple wall shelf and candleholder we had in storage. We added this to our dining area. I looked on-line and found 48-inches as a recommended height from the floor. That seemed way too low, so, I set it at 65-inches from the top of the shelf to the floor. It is perfect to display our tea set. So far zero dollars spent.

Easy Wall Decor


This shelf is another one we had in storage. this one we added to the living room, But Fran didn't like the color of this one so I painted it to match walls. This is a perfect shelf for some candle holders and a small picture. Once again zero dollars spent.

Easy Wall Decorations


Now the wall at the end of the hallway that leads to the bedrooms was blank. This photo memory quilt filled that space quite nicely. With pockets for small photos, this is a great way to display some fun memories.

Simple wall shelves are a great and inexpensive way to add some accents to your walls and display your collectibles and photos. Some other ideas for wall decor are Pictures, wall clocks, and so many choices of Peel and Stick vinyl wall decor.


Here are some inexpensive ideas for wall shelves

Amada Floating Shelves Wall Mounted, Rustic Paulownia Wood Wall Shelves Set of 3 for Bedroom, Bathroom, Living Room, Farmhouse Kitchen, GrayAmada Floating Shelves Wall Mounted, Rustic Paulownia Wood Wall Shelves Set of 3 for Bedroom, Bathroom, Living Room, Farmhouse Kitchen, GrayCheck the PriceBAMFOX Floating Shelves,Wall Shelf Set of 3,Wall Mounted Floating Shelf with Large Storage for Bedroom Bathroom Living Room Kitchen OfficeBAMFOX Floating Shelves, Wall Shelf Set of 3, Wall Mounted Floating Shelf with Large Storage for Bedroom Bathroom Living Room Kitchen OfficeCheck the Price

 

SEe






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, July 6, 2020

Home Decor Reviewed on Review This Reviews!

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews! 


Home is our safe place, our hideout, and our own area to decorate.

We all need a place that we can call our own.  Whether it is a house, an apartment, a dorm room, or just our own bedroom, we need to fill it with the decor that we prefer.  

Furniture and accessories should reflect our personalities, our hopes, our beliefs, and even our memories. 

Selecting furniture is only the beginning of a home decor adventure!  How we paint our walls and even ceilings will often reflect our favorite colors, or at least the colors that make us feel comfortable.

Floors can be changed completely, or simply by adding beautiful area rugs.

Bed linens, table linens, lighting, and even organization pieces can make a room more pleasing and inviting.  Isn't that what we really want to do?  Invite ourselves into a room of comfort, enjoyment, and beauty.  


Home Decor:  For Ourselves & Others


We decorate our personal living areas in styles and colors that speak to us.  However, a family has to find decor that suits everyone in the home.  Height, weight, personal needs of each individual, all must be considered in the main rooms of our homes.  Even our pets have special considerations.  

As you decorate each room in your home, consider who will be using that room and for what purpose.  Then, have fun making a wonderful environment for everyone to enjoy together.  

You will find over a hundred home decor articles on Review This Reviews to help you create the home you desire.  


A Review This Reviews Pinterest Board - Decor Reviewed 


The board below features 30 of our most recent reviews.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, June 21, 2020

A Review of Practical Furniture Items for a Studio Apartment

Practical Furniture Choices for a Studio Apartment

When you're furnishing a studio apartment, every square inch matters.

Choosing items that solve multiple problems is the way to go!

On Funkthishouse, I've featured several space-saving items, and below are three of those suggestions that work for smaller spaces.

1. Chairs That Convert to a Bed

We're all familiar with couches that convert to a bed, however, when space is an absolute premium, you can add a chair that also doubles as a place to sleep.

The designs are interesting! They come in multiple colors and styles. They make a terrific addition to any small room where extra sleeping space is needed.

Use a pullout couch, but instead of a standard chair, add a chair-bed.

Check out the selection of original chair beds here

2. Space Saving Table and Chairs

A studio apartment may not have room for a table and chairs. However, if you're able to squeeze a portable table with chairs into the unit, you'll give yourself another area that can double as a place to work, play, and eat.

Space-saving tables and chairs can be quite compact. Compact sets are designed so the chairs or stools slide entirely under the table section.

Depending on the design, some can rest against the wall, and some are slightly higher in height - like a bar set would be. The taller designs add dimension to a square room. They're usually counter height as well, so they can line up with a kitchen counter so as to create a flush, continuous look.  Be sure to check those out.

Check out the various choices for a small room here

3. Lift Coffee Tables

Have you ever seen these? They're pretty cool! Lift Coffee Tables have tops or sides that lift up so that the top of the table can be used for working or eating. Under the top is storage.

A lift table makes it easier to work or have dinner from the couch. Of course, in a studio apartment, the sofa is a bed, so you'll have to ensure there's a spot for the coffee table when the couch becomes a bed.

By sliding the coffee table alongside the bed, your coffee table becomes a convenient bedside table.

Check out the full range of coffee tables to choose from

Go Vertical with Wall Storage - Floor to Ceiling When Possible

Find a wall that can house a floor-to-ceiling storage cabinet. A practical wall-unit can house the tv, books, photos, and other personal items. Choose one with drawers, then you'll have extra space for clothes.

Quick Summary of Five Basic Pieces for a Studio Apartment:
1. A sofa-bed
2. A chair bed
3. A lift coffee table
4. Compact table with chairs
5. A tall vertical wall unit with drawers
No matter what you include in your apartment, ALWAYS look for items that can double as storage. Storage space is the biggest problem in small rooms - be sure to get ahead of that problem with every piece of furniture you select.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X