Showing posts with label Decor. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Decor. Show all posts

Saturday, June 19, 2021

A Review of Summertime Beach Décor



The Summer Soltice ~ the longest day of the year ~ occurs when the Sun reaches its northernmost point from the celestial equator. So it won't always occur on the same calendar day. This 'first day of summer' happens somewhere between June 20, 21 and 22.  This year, 2021, finds summer officially beginning on June 20. 


As Summer begins, it brings thoughts of Summertime décor. Time to think of bright, summery items that radiate positive energy & warmth. Summer décor can bring a splash of sunshine, a bit of beach or the suggestion of a favorite water spot into your home. 


Beach Decor


Source: Pixabay

Summertime often brings back memories of beach trips or plans to visit a favorite one.  Putting touches of favorite beach items into your home décor will remind you of fun beach days all summer long.


Since seashells are a natural part of a beach, and a favorite for any beach décor, it's appropriate that the start of Summer is also National Seashell Day (observed every year on the date of the Summer Solstice). If you want to collect your own seashells for your beach décor, remember that the best time to search for sea shells is from an hour before to an hour after low tide.  Most seashells can be found along the high tide mark. 


If you don't have access to a beach to search for seashells, numerous places are available to purchase your favorites, be it a conch, a clam, a sand dollar or a seahorse. A couple ideas are listed below:


Mixed Beach Seashells

A mixture of beach seashells by Famoby can be used as a beach theme decor in many ways. 


Fill a vase with shells and place on a table, a bookcase or wall shelf. 

Use as table scatter for a beach party. Use in a fish tank as a tropical theme. The ideas are endless.




Shell Letters by BriThornDecor

Personalize a wall with a shell letter as your Monogram or get a collection of letters for your name in shells.  Adds whimsy and color to your beach and shell themed decor. Created by BriThornDecor on Etsy. 


Beach Theme Coasters on Etsy



Beach designs for your home décor can also be useful, such as this set of Beach Beverage Coasters available at Coastal Crochet Crafts on Etsy.


Sunshine Yellow Decor


Yellow is such a summery color. It reminds us of bright warm days spent sunbathing on the beach or at a pool or lake.  Long, hot days filled with time to relax and enjoy the best that Summer has to offer.


Lemon Summer Décor


This fun lemon kitchen decor sign is the perfect way to welcome Summer into your home. Display the lemon sign with your tiered tray decor, on your counter or shelves. You will love this in addition to your Summer decor.


Nautical Decor


Anything that reminds us of time spent at the seashore or lakeside is a welcome part of summer.  Nautical items bring the joy of the seaside to our homes. 


Check out these ship anchor coasters for your summery drinks on the patio or deck while enjoying the warm summer breezes and waiting for the barbecue grill to be ready to cook.


Ship Anchor Beverage Coasters


When we lived near the beach on Tybee Island, Georgia, hubby bought me a Tide clock so we would know when high tide was for our daily walks on the beach. We walked the beach other times, as well, but high tide was our favorite.  Our tide clock made a very attractive décor item in our island home. 


Bamboo Tide Clock


Handmade by Northcore for their Etsy Shop. This is just one of a variety of surf and outdoor accessories featured in their shop.


Summary 


There are endless ideas for summertime décor, depending upon your favorite themes.  Be it beach, nautical, summer colors such as yellow, or anything that is summer-related, summertime décor will bring the season into any room in your home. 


Happy Summer!


Related Articles:


Summertime Beach Décor written by 

Wednesday Elf.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, June 7, 2021

Reviewing Farmhouse Decor Ideas: Character Wood and Metal

I have a small home that is currently under construction. The exterior is purposefully barn-like. The siding is sheet metal and the side facing the road is windowless. I plan for the interior to also suggest (suggest or scream - I'm not quite sure yet) barn interior. While shopping and planning I have found that the look I am imagining is not always easy to find examples of but my plans are slowly coming together.

on ReviewThisReviews


One problem I have had while shopping and researching decor ideas is that search words such as "rustic", "country" and "cabin" brings results of bears, moose, mountains, bentwood, and plaids. All very lovely, and very appropriate for the mountain ridge where my home is being built, but not quite the look I am going for. Many "farmhouse decor" searches yield lovely photos that include monotone white decor and flower bouquets. Again, quite gorgeous but not exactly what I'm going for. 

I am looking for barn doors, concrete floors, metals and wood combinations. While there are entire books written on other home styles; contemporary, coastal, southwestern, industrial, and more, the books on the "rustic" style comes closest to my goal. But aren't quite what I'm after.

One of our contributors is an incredibly talented DIYer. Lucky for me, Renaissance Woman shares projects that are exactly what I'd like to make for my future home. She shared how she made a DIY Pallet Book Nook. In that project she utilized character wood (from pallets) and corrugated metal to turn a small, odd space in her home into a uniquely wonderful spot to read, hangout, and relax. She shares the definition of character wood; "weathered wood that captures your imagination." This style is very much what I'm imagining.


Renaissance Woman's DIY Pallet Book Nook

If you enjoy her DIY Pallet Book Nook article, you can find more of her reviews under her tab here. She is quite talented.

This wine rack is a much smaller example of barnhouse decor. In this example, it can be purchased fully assembled. But people with DIY talent could easily make their own.


Rustic Barn Door Wine Rack


Not everyone needs or wants a wine rack. But most everyone likes to have a wall clock in plain view for convenience. And how much better if that wall clock compliments the decor.  This wood and metal clock is a wonderful example of my definition of barnhouse decor.


Vintage Farmhouse Clock

Sliding barn doors are one of the most notable farmhouse (barnhouse) features. They are so popular that not only are they functional doors but they are also a part of furniture, wall-hangings, featured in paintings, and more. I have even seen printed shower curtains that mimic wooden barn doors.

I want a barn door. I have watched video tutorials and hope to make my own sliding barn door to cover at least one window. There are versions that do not required angled cuts and I think I can manage simple straight cuts and assembly. I am hoping for both functionality (blocking sun on hot days in that south-facing window) and visual appeal (a barn door hung in my barn). 

If I decide I am unable to build my own sliding barn door there are many options for purchase. This is just one example:

sliding barn door kit; assembly required

While I've never shopped at Pottery Barn, I have noticed that some of their wood furniture fits my idea of the farmhouse style. If you don't already shop there, you may want to take a peek.

If you are looking for some barnhouse inspiration, I hope these ideas spark your imagination. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, May 31, 2021

How to Install a New Faucet

 

How to install a new faucet
How to install a new faucet - Reviewed

It was time to replace that old bathroom faucet. It was an old single lever push, pull-type, and was difficult to turn on and off, especially for our youngest grandson.

Replacing a faucet whether it is a bathroom faucet or a kitchen faucet is not that difficult. But sometimes Murphy’s Law takes over, and what can go wrong, will go wrong. The problem I had was my shut-off valves were frozen so I could not turn off the water under the sink. This was not a problem, I just had to turn off the main water supply and replace the shut-off valves and supply lines under the sink. But this review will only instruct you on how to install a new faucet.

 I am by no means an expert and I am not a plumber by trade. I can tell you how to do this because I have done it many times before.

Installing a new Faucet Step-by-Step:

Step 1

The first thing you need to do is to turn off the water supply. Most bathroom and kitchen sinks have shut-off valves under the sink, if not you will have to turn off the main water supply.

Step 2

Once you are sure the water is off, turn the faucet on to let the water out. Then, remove the hot and cold supply lines using an adjustable wrench. You will also have to unlatch the sink stopper lever from to ball lever on the drain. Leave the ball lever in the drain, as you will need to attach the new sink stopper lever to it later.

Step 3

Now remove the retaining nuts that are holding the old faucet, a basin wrench is the handiest tool for this task. After removing the old faucet measure the hole pattern on the sink. Make sure you purchase a new faucet that will fit the hole pattern in your sink.

Step 4

After removing the old faucet, clean any residue left behind with a tub and tile cleaner and paper towels. If you must use a putty knife, use a plastic one.

Step 5

Your new faucet will have a built-in gasket, but you will still need a bead of caulk or plumber’s putty around each hole. This is needed to make a good seal.

Step 6

Place the new faucet and fasten the retaining nuts to hold it in place. It’s always a good idea to have somebody hold the new faucet in place while you get the new basin nuts snug. Be careful not to over tighten, you can use the basin wrench, but I like to just hand tighten.

Step 7

Now fasten the hot and the cold-water supply line to the new faucet. You may need to wrap Teflon tape around the new faucet threads. Follow the manufacturer's instructions on the new faucet. Now, it is time to connect the sink stopper lever to the ball lever in the drain. You will find several adjustments on the sink stopper lever.

Step 8

Remove the aerator from the new faucet and turn on the water supply. Then, turn on the cold water. The aerator is the little screen inside the faucet spout. This is to make that it does not clog with any debris that may be in the water lines. Replace the aerator and check for leaks. That is all there is to it.

Find more  Crafts & DIY projects on Review This here: ReviewThisCrafts.com

This basin wrench will be your best friend when replacing a faucet.

Superior Tool 03811 Eleven Inch Basin Wrench-Infinitely Adjustable 11Superior Tool 03811 Eleven Inch Basin Wrench-Infinitely Adjustable 11Superior Tool 03811 Eleven Inch Basin Wrench-Infinitely Adjustable 11

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, May 4, 2021

How to Maximize Space in a Small Bedroom

 

How to maximize space in a small bedroom
Making the best of a small room - reviewed

We have a nice 3 bedroom home with plenty of room. Although, one of the bedrooms happens to be a small 8' x 10' room. This is the room that our granddaughters stay in when they come for a visit.

We had a bookcase full of books and toys, along with a tote full of toys and a full size bed in this small room. This did not leave much room for the girls to play.

Fran decided that it was time for a makeover in this room. First she emptied the bookcase and got rid of it. We needed to make the best of this space so the girls had room to play. For those of you who don't know who Fran is, she is my better half forever.

This small room makeover was all Fran, all I did was assemble all of the furniture and place it where she wanted it. 

Maximize Space in a small room:

Ellen Corner DeskEllen Corner DeskCheck the Price


First Fran wanted a space where the girls could do some projects such as crafts, drawing, coloring, or reading.

We moved the full-sized bed to one corner of the room and placed this corner desk in the opposite diagonal corner of the room.

The corner desk measures 42" across and has a drawer and shelves for storage. 


 

Vanity StoolVanity StoolCheck the Price


Since a desk chair would take up too much space, Fran decided on this vanity stool.

This stool fits perfectly under the desk when it is not in use. When it is pulled out for use there is still plenty of room to get by between the stool and the bed. Did I mention that the cushion top is very comfortable.


 

Storage CubeStorage CubeCheck the Price

Now, it was time to clean up all of that clutter and empty that tote full of small toys, crayons, and makers. Fran picked out this cube storage organizer.

This was a perfect fit next to the desk and along the wall to fill the space to the entrance door of the room.

These storage cubes are a great idea for craft rooms, bedrooms, playrooms, or a small office.

The cube has six storage spaces and each space will hold 60 pounds.


 

Sorbus Foldable Storage CubeSorbus Foldable Storage CubeCheck the Price


To store all of those little things Fran found these colorful foldable storage cubes.

They fit perfectly into the cubes of the storage organizer. These a perfect for games, crayons, makers, and small toys.





Fran hand picked every one of these items for a specific purpose in this small bedroom. She created a comfortable and useable space for our granddaughters. This was an easy project for me, as I said earlier all I had to do was assemble. All of these items were easy to assemble and all had excellent assembly instructions.


Here is a photo of our youngest granddaughter hard at play using their new corner desk. They are very happy with the new changes to their room away from home.

Find more reviews on this topic on Review This Here:





 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, April 20, 2021

Restoring Lawn Furniture

 

Restoring Lawn Furniture
Restoring Lawn Furniture - Reviewed

Here is how I restored some old wooden lawn furniture. My parents bought this furniture back in the 80s for their new patio and used it for many years.

Many years ago I was helping my mother clean out her basement where this furniture was stored. I told her that I would carry it up to the patio and she said no I'm just going to throw it away.

 I wouldn’t hear of it, so she said if you want it, to take it to your house. I had the two chairs and one lounge chair stored in my garage for a couple of years. Then, I decided it was time to take it out and use it on my deck.

At that time all this furniture really needed was cleaned up. After several years of use on my deck, the furniture was in need of some tender loving care. Pictured are the two chairs all restored and ready for the summer.

Materials I used to restore this lawn furniture:

·         Fine Sandpaper (120 Grit)

·         Tack Cloth

·         Exterior Deck and Patio PaintSpray Paint 

·         New Lawn Furniture Cushions

Tools I used for this DIY:

Wire Brush

Screwdriver

Socket Set

3-inch nylon paintbrush

Here is how I restored my lawn furniture:

1. Over the years some of the screws and bolts began to loosen. Using a screwdriver and socket set I tightened all of the screws and bolts.
2. I then wire brushed all of the springs under the cushions to remove the rust. Then, made sure they were all secured to the wooden sides of the furniture.
3. Using the wire brush again. I Wire brushed all of the wood surfaces to remove any of the loose paint.
4. The last step of preparation, I sanded all of the wooden surfaces with fine sandpaper. I used 120 Grit. Then take the tack cloth and wipe the surfaces to remove any dust or sanding residue.
5. I painted the furniture with a latex deck and patio paint that you can buy at any hardware store. I carefully painted the furniture with a 3-inch nylon paintbrush.

About every three or four years I follow the same process to keep this lawn furniture looking good. This lawn furniture is over 40 years old and we are still using it and it is so comfortable.

More ReviewThis DIY Projects Here: ReviewThisCrafts.com

Here are a few of the simple tools that I used for this project:




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, February 7, 2021

Review of Blackout Window Panel Drapes - Highly Recommended

A Review of Room Darkening Drapes - Yes. Recommended.

 Let me start this review by getting right to the point; I highly recommend these blackout drapes.

My son selected them for his recently re-vamped bedroom.  Actually, I suggested them (based on reviews and price), and he said "what-ev." Lol. Boys ... I've raised four of them, so I can safely say they are men of few words. However, few words or not, he loves these drapes.

The Nicetown Blackout Window Panels do exactly what they advertise they do - they blackout the light. 

These Drapes Completely Block the Morning Sun

My son's room faces east, so it gets the full morning sun. Certainly, that's a lovely feature when you're awake, not so much when you're trying to sleep.

In the morning, while he was still sleeping, I opened his door expecting to see some sunlight, and to my surprise, there was zero light in the room.

Honestly, I was shocked. I expected there to be some faded light peeking through, but nope, nothing. His room was night-time dark in the morning.

He said, and I quote, "it was so dark, I had to check my clock and was shocked that it was noon." He enjoyed his morning sleep-in. 

Closed Room Darkening Drapes in My Son's Room

How Many Panels Do You Need for a Window

I'm a bit fussy about having too little drape for a window.

My son's window, from outside frame to outside frame, both width, and height, measures 51 inches by 51 inches. However, from the top of the curtain rod to the bottom of the window, the measurement is 54 inches long. 

The choices in size widths are 29, 42, and 70. The length choices are 18, 36, 45, 54, 63, 72, 84, and 90 inches. 

To ensure proper window coverage, we purchased two sets of the 42 by 63-inch drapes. Thus we have four panels; two panels on each side.

We decided on the slightly longer measurement of 63 inches versus the 54-inch length for fear that the 54-inch drape would be slightly short, and allow the light to peek through.

To completely block the light, make sure the drape seams (where each drape meets) are pulled so that you can't see the window at all. Otherwise, the morning light might peek through.

The finished look of the drapes - open - two sets of drapes


Affordability? Absolutely

We were able to cover this window for under $75 (Canadian). The curtain rod was already installed; just the drapes had to be replaced.

How Many Colors Do These Drapes Come In?

Lots. Lots of colors. When I last checked, there were about 20 colors to choose from.

Would We Rebuy These Drapes?

Yes. In fact, my first granddaughter is due to arrive in August, and we're planning on choosing a set for her room. They're ideal for a nursery since they completely block the morning and day light. 


Check out the bedding we selected for his room here. The bedding is also good value for the money.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, February 2, 2021

Home Storage Cabinet

Home Storage Cabinet
Home Storage Cabinet - Reviewed

Sometimes finding more storage space in your home can be a real challenge. As a Christmas gift, our daughter got us three sets of large bath towels.

Now, the challenge for us was where to put them. We decided on a small storage cabinet for our bathroom. I measured the space we had available and we began to search.

We decided on this Bar Cabinet with wine storage from Bush Industries. Now I know this sounds crazy you are probably wondering why on earth would we buy a wine storage cabinet for bath towels.

Well, let me tell you why. This is the most versatile storage cabinet I have ever seen. It measures 32-inches wide which is a perfect fit for the space we had available. The 42-inches high was great because Fran did not want a tall cabinet, and 16-inches deep makes it a perfect fit for the large towels.

This cabinet is designed to be used for a variety of uses. You can use this cabinet as a Coffee Bar, or Wine Cabinet, or general storage in an office, kitchen, or bathroom. So, if you are looking for some added storage around the house this cabinet will fit the bill.

Wine and Storage Cabinet Features:

Two accented glass doors with tempered glass.

Three fixed shelves.

Four adjustable shelves.

The Stemware rack will hold a dozen 12-ounce wine glasses.

The shelves will hold nine bottles of your favorite wine.

Wine Storage Cabinet

Bush Industries is a leading manufacturer of ready-to-assemble furniture for your home, office, or business. Offering a variety of desks, workstations, bookcases, storage furniture and so much more.

The unit was very well packaged, I found no damaged parts. Every part was labeled and easy to read. Each piece of hardware was packaged separately and labeled with the part numbers so there was no guesswork as to what screw went to what part.

The instructions were quite easy to follow and they tell you what steps to skip if you’re just setting the cabinet up as a storage cabinet.

The above photo is from the instruction sheet. On the left, it shows just a storage cabinet, on the right, it shows the wine cabinet.

When I first saw this I was concerned, I thought how am I going to know how to set this up without the wine storage. 

But not to worry, as I stated above the instructions tell you what steps to skip to set the cabinet up for just storage.

After we set this up as our bathroom storage for the towels. I assembled the adjustable shelves with the wine racks and set them on shelves in my basement. Now I have a wine rack for nine bottles of wine.

Bush Furniture Bar Cabinet with Wine Storage, Pure WhiteBush Furniture Bar Cabinet with Wine Storage, Pure WhiteCheck the Price

 p


Find more product reviews here: ReviewThisProducts.com

For more Decor Ideas on ReviewThis: ReviewThisDecor.com



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 31, 2021

6 Handy Work From Home Office Gizmos and Gadgets

Review of Handy Home Office Accessories & Gadgets

Since many of us are working from home these days, acquiring just the right gadgets and gizmos for our desks can be fun! 

For me, it's fun. Maybe, you're like, "no clutter, please." These six items don't really clutter the office up; they're all useful.

My family tends to give me gifts that fit nicely into my home-office set-up. Since I spend so much time here, I appreciate every little thing I get from them.

Here are six handy items that I've either purchased or received as gifts you may also want to consider.

Handy Home Office Gizmos and Gadgets

1. A Calendar Mousepad

My 2021 calendar mouse pad is on order. Last year, I decided that I needed a handy calendar that didn't have to hang on the wall or be buried in a drawer. The perfect solution was a mouse pad that doubles as a calendar. Sure, you can't write on it, but who cares! If I need to quickly glance at a particular date while viewing the whole year at a glance .... bingo! Problem solved.

Here's My 2020 Mousepad Calendar - 2021 Just Ordered - Waiting for Arrival

I find the calendar mouse pad handy when I travel to my mother's house. I'll work from there, and since the year is displayed in one handy spot, boom, I have a calendar at my fingertips, literally. The best part is I don't have to look at my phone or google a calendar. The mousepad gives me immediate access when working.

I'll end up with a collection of calendar mousepads as the years go by, but how cool is that? After many years of collecting them, God willing, I was considering sticking them in a photo frame for the wall and pinning a small photo in the middle of each year to represent the major event for that year. I guess the covid virus will be the 2020 photo? Um, maybe not. We'll see. 

I would love 2021 to represent something positive about my riddle books, or better yet, my first grand-daughter due in August. There you have it, she gets the 2021 photo billing.

2. HomeMedics Hand-Held Massager

This thing is so darned convenient! This massager is very inexpensive and needs batteries - yah, that part sucks, but honestly, it's worth having on hand. Sitting at my desk can cause tightness and cramps in my thighs and knees. When I'm in the middle of a project and not willing to get up and walk around, I grab that little massager and use it in those painful spots. Works great. 

3. Motivational Words

These can come in many forms. For some, it's a quote on the wall or a plaque on the desk. For me, it's a gift from my grandsons. They gave me three rocks, each printed with a motivational word; "wish, hope, dream." I love these rocks! Here they are:

Wish, Hope, Dream Rocks on My Desk

4. Candles, Yes, Candles, Lots of Candles

Over the holidays, I received three new candles, and I've used two of them completely, and it's only the end of January, lol. These particular candles came in lovely pastel-colored, small glass containers. They fit perfectly on our kitchen window ledge, so I've cleaned them and plan on planting herbs inside in the spring. If fire freaks you out, go for the led battery operated version. The ambient light, no matter which you use, is lovely, and of course, the scent of a real candle can be calming. Lemon, my fave - #anythinglemon.

5. Plants - Plants Are a Must

Plants clean the air. For that reason alone, I include them in a room. Certain plants are ideal for rooms with a lot of electronics, such as Spider Plants. I have one of those plants by our family room TV.

 Fresh flowers are nice and are normally only on my desk when given as a gift. For that reason, I keep plants. I have two plants, one on my desk and one on my credenza: They're easy to keep, they can handle indirect light, and I only water them once a week. I insert a fertilizer stick once a month or so. They're self-sustaining, and the greenery is lovely. This year I plan on adding a floor plant to the room.

Here's the plant on my desk. It's approximately six years old. It was originally at my mom's house, and during her snowbirding days, she'd give her plants to me.

Plant on my Desk - About six years old now - Easy to care for

6. A Portable Heater or Cooler

There's an electric fireplace in my office; however, I prefer the stand-up portable heater. I live in Canada, it's winter, and we're having a cold spell right now. The heater is a gawd-send during the winter months. You can find ones that offer both heating and cooling. However, with central air, the cooling option isn't necessary for us. 

What I like most about the heater is the soothing effects of it at night. When I'm working late, and the room is cold, I pull the heater within one foot of where I'm sitting, and the heat pours over me. When I've had enough, I turn it off. I'm actually turning it on and off all night long. This was a gift that I said I didn't want (since I have a fireplace) - I was wrong. Best gift evah!

I hope your workspace is cozy and filled with encouraging and handy gizmos and gadgets; working from home is much better when it is. Turn your office or desk space into a reflection of yourself.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, January 19, 2021

How to Plan for a Move

 

How to Plan for a Move
How to Plan for a Move - Reviewed
Getty free images

Moving is a daunting and stressful task. I've read that moving is one of the most stressful things that you'll ever do. So, if you’re going to be moving here are some helpful tips and tricks that I’ve learned from doing this several times myself. I’m by no means a professional mover; these ideas are based on my own experiences.

 Moving from one end of town to the other is stressful enough. When you move away from your home to another town it’s really tough. There are many more things to consider.


There are so many things to consider, where do you start?

My best advice is to start by making a list of things that you'll need to do. In other words, begin to make a plan. These things don’t need to be in any specific order right now, just start to write things down. 

Following are some things that you’ll need to consider:

  • If you're hiring a moving company make sure to read and understand all of their policies. Look for online reviews and make sure they are reputable. 
  • A new school for your children, this was always number one on our list. Especially if you're moving to another city. When we moved from Pennsylvania to Western New York this was a high priority for us. You'll need to get all of their school records transferred to the new school.
  • New Doctor and Dentist for you and your children. You'll need to transfer all medical records.
  • Change your address and forward mail to the new address.
  • Finding a new neighborhood, everybody wants to live in a nice area. Find a local realtor in the new city to help with this.
  • New bank or credit union for checking and banking.

Moving companies will do everything including packing for you. packing is something we always did ourselves. Most people don't want strangers packing their belongings.

Things you'll need are boxes, packaging material, such as bubble wrap, or kraft paper and tape. My preferred packaging material is bubble wrap and it is expensive. 


Packaging Material Tip:

To save some money, check with small to mid-sized manufacturers in your area. Most times these places receive materials with packaging such as bubble wrap and often throw it away. Most times all you have to do is ask and you can get it for free.

Double Wall 18x18x28Double Wall 18x18x28" Heavy-Duty BoxesCheck the Price

For dishes and breakable items, you'll want to use these double-wall corrugated boxes. The double-wall gives you added protection for anything that's breakable.

Wrap dishes in paper or bubble wrap and place them on end, not flat and stacked. Cups and glasses should be standing up.

Make sure that you fill all empty spaces with paper or bubble wrap so dishes, cups, and glasses can't move.

These boxes are expensive so, you only want to use them for kitchen breakables and other breakables such as lamps, vases, and pictures.


 

Small Moving Boxes - 16x10x10 - Cardboard BoxSmall Moving Boxes - 16x10x10 - Cardboard BoxCheck the Price


These are the perfect size boxes for heavy items. Such as books, tools, CD's, silverware, canned goods.

The idea here is that the box is small so it will fill up fast and the box won't be too heavy to handle. The last thing you want to do is overload a box.

You can also use these boxes for pots and pans since they are not breakable items.





For blankets, sheets, pillows, and clothing look for wardrobe boxes 20 x 20 x 34 with a bar for hanging clothing. These are much larger but the items are light. These boxes are also expensive. You hang your clothing and then pack pillows and blankets on the bottom.

Moving within your current area is one thing but if you're moving to another city or state it takes a little more planning. If you're planning a move I hope you find these tips and tricks helpful.


Find more DIY tips on ReviewThis Here: ReviewThisCrafts.com

You'll need to decorate your new home see these decorating tips on Review This Here: ReviewThisDecor.com

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G




Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten


Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner




“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X