Showing posts with label Decor. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Decor. Show all posts

Sunday, May 15, 2022

Bike Themed Home Decor - Something Different

Bike Home Decor Pieces and Ideas

I'm always on the lookout for something funky in home decor. During my investigative process (lol), I came across these creative artsy ideas related to bicycles. 

Why Bike Themed Home Decor?

Below, you'll notice that there are multiple pieces to add to a bike-themed room, including side tables, pillows, clocks, or furniture with bike-themed print. The answer to the question of why bike decor is why not? If you appreciate non-traditional pieces for your home, you'll find these items interesting. 

Here are Five Ways to Incorporate Bike Decor Into Your Home:

1. Bike Side Tables

A bike table makes an excellent conversation piece when positioned in a central location such as a foyer or front room. Bike tables are essentially bikes with an attached tabletop. They make an excellent addition to an Industrial Decor loft or apartment. 

2. Bike Flower Planters

Bike flower planters are a bit more familiar. They're essentially a creative planter designed in the shape of a bike, or in some cases, using an actual bicycle, with a creative place to add plants.

3. Bike Dishware

Set an attractive bike-themed table using plates, cups, and glasses with a bicycle design. Bike dishware isn't as common; however, while typing this, I was able to find some to feature below.

4. Bike Clocks

Bike clocks are relatively easy to find. Add a bike clock to an exercise room, man cave, the front hallway, and themed bedrooms. Bike clocks are a unique gift for the avid biker in the family! You'll notice a few featured below.

5. Bike Throw Blankets and Pillows

Combine a bike-decorated pillow and bike-themed blanket to give as an original gift. You can also add these pieces as the finishing touches to a room that features numerous bicycle decor items.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, May 10, 2022

What is a Coastal Grandmother?

Discover the vibe that is being called Coastal Grandmother and determine whether or not you fit in.

I have just discovered the vibe, ‘Coastal Grandmother’. Let’s take a minute and review exactly what that vibe is all about. It’s not just a reference to a woman but it is also a feeling and a lifestyle that is currently enjoying favor and being celebrated on sites like Instagram and TikTok.

According to Tik Tok user Nicoleta (@lexnicoleta), the movement includes women young and old who “love Nancy Meyers' movies, coastal vibes, recipes and cooking, Ina Garten, cozy interiors and more.” She also says the movement is about taking time to enjoy life. About slowing down.

I had to look up Nancy Meyers' movies and it turns out that the list includes Private Benjamin (Goldie Hawn), Father of the Bride (Steve Martin, Diane Keaton), The Parent Trap (Dennis Quaid, Natasha Richardson), What Women Want (Mel Gibson, Helen Hunt), Something's Gotta Give (Jack Nicholson, Diane Keaton), The Holiday (Kate Winslet, Cameron Diaz), It's Complicated (Meryl Streep, Mel Gibson) and most recently, The Intern (Robert De Niro, Anne Hathaway). They are all very popular, fun movies geared toward women. I now know who Nancy Meyers is and can say that I love her movies even if I did not recognize the name of the American filmmaker. You can check out Nancy Meyers' movies here on Amazon. 

USA Today calls the style “classic and timeless”. You might be a Coastal Grandmother if you like Grace and Frankie’s (2015-2022) home style in the program of the same name, Diane Keaton’s style in Annie Hall (1977) and Meryl Streep’s home in Complicated (2009). I definitely love those styles though I cannot say that my home style is classic or timeless. My home is simply casual and comfortable but those are Coastal Grandmother feelings, too!

Glamour says the term applies to the “perennially summertime lifestyle of a beautiful older woman.” They say that she likes natural products and looking after herself. That she enjoys simple, quality things. That she loves wine and book clubs and life. I definitely love the ideas of an easy summertime lifestyle, of relaxing with a glass of wine and of going to my book club meetings!

Most interesting, I thought, was Glamour’s statement that the Coastal Grandmother prefers real life to life online and I will take that as a reminder to walk away from my computer and celebrate life everyday.

Anne Hathaway at 39 is much younger than you would think of as a grandmother but says that she loves the style and even shared a photo of herself online sporting comfortable khaki pants, shirt and a bucket hat. All were comfortable and all were in neutral colors. Two more great Coastal Grandmother characteristics.

On TikTok, Nicoleta expanded on the comments mentioned previously by saying that Coastal Grandmother “is the feeling that you get when you’re visiting your friend at the beach. A cozy, safe feeling.” I can’t imagine not loving that feeling.

In case you are wondering, no, you don’t have to be a grandmother nor do you have to live on the coast to be characterized as a Coastal Grandmother and yes, there is a Coastal Grandfather equivalent. Glamour cites Stanley Tucci as an example.

I like TheStyleEquation’s definition of the movement as shown here in this short video from TikTok:

@thestyleequation The latest trend, not just for grandmothers! #coastalgrandmother @Lex Nicoleta #lifestyle ♬ original sound - Jennifer Ebelhar
I illustrated the top of this page with a fun, printable graphic from Echowood Printables on Etsy. I love the elements that creator Logan has woven together to create her interpretation of this trend. Click here to see Logan's visual representation on Etsy.  Her print is an inexpensive way to add this trend to your home's decor.

You will also find some interesting, on trend Coastal Grandmother clothing and decor pieces here on Amazon.

Which elements of this lifestyle do you like? Are you a Coastal Grandmother in any or all ways? If you would like to learn and see more, just search for Coastal Grandmother on TikTok and Instagram.

Brenda
Treasures By Brenda





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, April 26, 2022

Crafty Kitchen Critters Review

Animal décor for the kitchen




Animals are loved by almost everyone, so it is no surprise to see someone's favorite animal displayed as a design on many items.  Kitchens are an easy and fun place to show off your love for the animal of your choice, as there are so many areas that lend themselves to this type of décor.


Since I am a crafter, I love to show off the clever creations by my fellow crafters.  On many handmade sites, especially Etsy, one can find any animal that appeals to you. Whatever you need, from kitchen towels to potholders to signs and more, this 'kitchen critter' guide will give you a place to start.


Farm Animal Décor


Many kitchens are designed with a country décor and animal lovers can easily find items with images of any or all of their favorite farm animals.


Cow Farmhouse Kitchen Canisters

Cows are probably at the top of the list when it comes to animal décor in a country kitchen.  
I have noticed that sheep are also loved by many. 

Pictured above is a cute set of cow canisters for your kitchen. Created by Crystol of Missouri, these cow canisters consist of a soap jar, sugar jar, flour jar, utensil holders and S & P set. They can be found (individually or as a set) in her Etsy shop she calls CrystolsCountryKraft

Cats and Dogs


Flour Sack Kitchen Towel

If you want an animal décor in your kitchen that is not country-themed, cats and/or dogs are most likely the next big favorite.

For owners of Labrador Retrievers, this is the most adorable kitchen towel I ever saw. Handmade from Etsy and found in the shop of Boss Babe Productions.  Design printed on a flour sack kitchen towel.


Woodland Creatures


Woodland Animal Napkins

After farm animals and cats & dogs, comes any number of nature's woodland creatures.

Looking through the choices on Etsy, for instance, it is easy to see that the fox is very popular.  Depending on where you live, woodland animals in décor favorites range from large animals such as bears and moose, to the smaller squirrels, frogs, and especially owls. There is no end to the variety available. 

This featured set of cloth napkins is handmade by Linsey for her Etsy Shop Naughty Cat Apparel


Sea Animals


Manatee Potholders

In coastal communities, and especially in states such as Florida, sea life becomes a popular choice for animal décor in the kitchen.

Spruce up your kitchen 'sea' décor with this pair of handmade potholders with a design of manatees. These potholders are made by Carol for her Etsy Store 'Wilderness Ties'


Summary


Hand-Painted Wood Mini Signs

I have presented just a few of the many, many animal designs available to decorate your kitchen. Whichever animal is your favorite, you will find just what you are looking for to complete  your décor. I have focused on those items that are handmade because I love anything 'crafty', but there is no limit to animal décor anywhere you look. 


*Crafty Kitchen Critters review written by Wednesday Elf


**Intro Image of Floral Farm Animal Kitchen wood spatula - laser engraved. Product of  TreeSunCrafts on Etsy.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 24, 2022

Cat Houses that Double as Furniture - Space Saving Solutions


Having a big family like I do, managing the space in our home has been a number one priority when decorating. In fact, it's such a passion of mine (to maximize space) that I've created a Pinterest Board with several years of creative storage solution suggestions.

City apartments and homes can be pretty small these days. Depending upon which city you live in, it's not uncommon to have to settle for suites as small as 500 square feet. If you think the rent must be low for such an apartment in the city, think twice. The average rent for a small one-bedroom in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, is approximately $2145/month. 

Whether you're battling space or not, pet owners can manage square footage by implementing the use of a cat house that doubles as a useable piece of furniture.

Types of Furniture You'll Typically Find that Doubles as a Home for Kitty

  • End Tables
  • Ottomans
  • Benches
How You Can Include Cat House Furniture:

End Tables

The products featured offer various end-table designs. You can plan to use a cat end-table in bedrooms, playrooms, or even the house's main room. For those who live in tiny spaces, cat end tables are an ideal spot for a kitty's bed.

Ottomans

Try a kitty ottoman house if you're nervous about setting up a cat bed inside an end-table. They're so cute. They provide a place for kitty to sleep while also giving you a spot to raise your tired legs. These can be used anywhere; a bedroom, an enclosed porch, the main room, or the kid's playroom area.

Benches

A small seating bench can double as a place for a kitty to hide and sleep. The cat benches featured are not overly large, so they can easily be included in small entryways as a place that doubles as a kitty's house and a way to sit down to put on your shoes.

Of course, you can find a wide variety of cat houses; however, when square footage is an issue, check out furniture that doubles as a place for kitty to relax and sleep.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, February 21, 2022

Reviewing Open Shelving in the Kitchen with a Focus on Plate Racks

I love open shelving in the kitchen. And not because it seems to be a recent popular trend. I don't know how I developed this preference but I did. Now that I'm in my new home I made sure to stress to the builder that I did not want the typical kitchen wall cabinets with doors. I did not have a solid plan for the layout with the exception a plate rack. I HAD to have a wall-mounted, wooden plate rack. I repeated that so many times that I'm sure people around me grew tired of hearing me say it. My kitchen is still a work in progress but I've got my plate rack!

my beautiful and functional hanging plate rack


Wall Mounted Wooden Plate Racks

There probably isn't much that I dislike more than lifting plates in and out of a cupboard with a door. Stacking and unstacking them. My stoneware plates are heavy and the rub against each other as I move them. And how frustrating if the plate I want is one of the larger plates at the bottom of the stack! I have always had assorted plates so maybe typical families don't experience having to unstack half of the plates in order to get the desired one out of the cupboard. But it is my pet peeve and happened to me frequently.

My wonderful wooden plate rack solves that issues. The plates stand upright, separated from each other by wooden dowels. No stoneware clunking against stoneware. And no digging in a pile to get a big plate. 

While my plate rack is not designed to hold small saucers, my saucers do indeed fit into the rack. 

I purchased my wall mounted plate rack from a woodwork shop on Etsy. If you are looking for plate racks I highly recommend checking there first (unless you personally know a talented wood worker). 

The holliwalt shop made my custom plate rack. 

my handmade plate rack by holliwalt on Etsy


Because it was custom, it took almost a month to receive it. It arrived unstained, as advertised, and I put a coat of clear stain on it to protect it but also allowed the natural wood grain to show. 

If you are looking for a plate rack and the holliwalt shop doesn't have what you want they do take custom orders.  Or entering "plate rack wall mounted"  in the Etsy search bar gives many results and a large variety to choose from.

Such as this beauty from 1766Co.

made by 1766Co

I think it is clear that I prefer minimal or no crown molding. But if molding is your preference, there are several styles between these two Etsy shops that have crown molding. And if you notice in the holliwalt shop, there is one shelf that includes wine cubbies. I was very tempted to order that one instead of the one I chose.

Open Shelves in Kitchens 

We may or may not remember that periodically many kitchens throughout history have had open shelving. A quick search of the internet shows that the open kitchen shelves design is not a flash-in-the-pan fad. 

Here we have a photo depicting a kitchen in 18th century Sweden

photo courtesy of CC By-SA 3.0



Here is a photo of a historic farm house built in 1889 in Montana, US. This is reportedly the kitchen in the Tinsley Living Farm - Museum of the Rockies.

photo courtesy of SA-2.0 Generic


And an example of open shelving in a 1948 issue of Ladies' Home Journal. 

photo courtesy of Flickrs The Commons

In my opinion, open shelves are beautiful and functional. While the "clutter" of your items are visible, I always feel as though a kitchen with open shelves appears more spacious. There are fewer upper cabinets blocking light and views. Yes, the items on open shelves are not protected from gathering dust. That is perhaps the one and only down-side of open shelves in my opinion. But the ease of being able to see what you have at a glance makes up for that. I also feel as though open shelves in kitchens versus full upper cabinets save resources. There are no door, hinges, or handles that have to be made and someday refinished or replaced. 

When my kitchen is finished (or closer to finished) perhaps I'll share an update of my shelves. I love having large jars of my pasta, dried beans, tea, flour, sugar and similar items visible. I do not have to move from the counter while working to reach those items which is extremely convenient. And, more importantly, I think those items are pretty to look at. For example, seeing my mullein tea leaves in a jar on that shelf is pleasing. 

Open shelves in kitchens are not for everyone. For sure. But they make me very happy. Especially that wonderful wooden plate rack that hangs just above my sink and keeps my plates from clanking against each other as I put them away.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, January 26, 2022

Electric Fireplace Television Stand

 

Electric Fireplace Television Stand
Electric Fireplace TV Stand Reviewed

Many homeowners dream of having a comfortable living space with the beauty of a fireplace. Although many homes do not have a wood-burning or gas insert fireplace.

 Some homeowners are turning to electric fireplaces to give them that cozy ambiance in their homes. 

The technology of electric fireplaces has come a long way over the years giving you the look and feel of a real fireplace. Along with the added benefit of generating real heat for your living space.

 We recently purchased a Walker Edison Electric fireplace television stand for our living room.


 Our television is located in a corner of our living room so we purchased a corner unit. There are so many options to choose from for electric fireplaces so, I'm sure there is one to fit your home's decor.

The Features of our Electric Fireplace:

  • First, it fits perfectly in the corner of our living room
  • Two tempered glass doors
  • Storage on both sides
  • Each side has two adjustable shelves
  • Fireplace insert with blower for heat
  • Will heat a 400 square foot area
  • The top is large enough for a 55-inch Television
  • The fireplace display can be operated without the heat on
  • Available in 10 different colors
  • Plug-in fireplace; no electrician required (Caution here: see below)
The unit was well packaged with easy-to-follow instructions and was not difficult to assemble. Although I do recommend having a second person to help with the assembly. My grandson Bobby helped me with the assembly and we had the unit assembled in about 3 hours.

Over time an electric fireplace may help you save on your heating bill. By heating the room you are in you could lower your home's thermostat. On the other hand, the average cost of using the heater on an electric fireplace is about .15 cents per hour.

The outlets in our living room are all wired to a 15 amp breaker. The heater unit draws 1400 watts so, with the other draw of the television and lights the heater tripped the breaker. I did have to call an electrician to wire one outlet in our living room to be on its own 20 amp breaker just for the heater unit.  This was not a huge problem and it's much safer to be on its own breaker.

Although, our daughter and son have the same 1400 watt fireplace insert and did not need an electrician.

We are very pleased with our electric fireplace television stand. On a cold winter night, it adds the perfect ambiance to our living room along with some additional heat to keep us warm.

This is the Walker Edison unit that we purchased. You can shop for many options and styles.

Walker Edison Alcott Classic Glass Door Fireplace Corner TV Stand for TVs up to 55 Inches, 48 Inch, EspressoWalker Edison Alcott Classic Glass Door Fireplace Corner TV Stand for TVs up to 55 Inches, 48 Inch, EspressoCheck the Price

 


Find more product reviews on ReviewThis here: ReviewThisProductReviews.com





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 9, 2022

What is The Pantone Color of The Year for 2022 - Come See

Do you ever wander over to the Pantone website? If not, be sure to take a minute and check it out. It's filled with excellent advice about color combinations for almost every aspect of living.

Annually, Pantone selects  a color of the year that reflects "our global culture, expressing what people are looking for, that color can hope to answer."  - Quote by Pantone.com

 Congratulations to Very-Peri (17-3938)

According to Pantone, this combination of periwinkle blue with violet-red undertones reflects these transformative times. Color is an absolute in the creative digital space we find ourselves living in. Blue combined with violet-red is Pantone's choice for a year trending towards joyous, emotional, and creative expression.

Here's a brief video featured by Pantone with their chosen color, Very-Peri:


If You're Looking to Create This Color Via HTML Color Codes, Here is the Code

The HTML code for Very-Peri is #6667ab. If you create online graphics for any particular purpose and want to use Pantone's color choice for 2022, you'll need this code.

Don't confuse the Pantone color number 17-3938 for the HTML color code. As mentioned above, the HTML color code is #6667ab. I quickly created the main photo above using this code.

My Own Personal Opinion on Very-Peri

Violets and purples are some of my favorite colors, especially for bedroom decor. It seems to never go out of style. 

Very-Peri combines violet-red with blue to produce a soft color, yet one that evokes a courageous mood due to the hidden undertones of red.

Personally, I would combine Very-Peri with yellows or grays for a guest room or our primary bedroom. Another great space for this color is the home office, especially for those working in a field that demands some level of creative thinking - isn't that all fields? 

The thing to remember with color, any color, is "flow." Does the color flow with the overall decor theme of your home? For larger homes, changing colors from room to room is manageable; however, smaller spaces often present a challenge. If you're painting a small home or apartment, staying within the same shades is a safe way to approach your wall colors. Let the drapes, furniture, and accessories introduce the contrast and pattern.

Have fun with color because color IS fun.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, December 14, 2021

Himalayan Salt Lamps Reviewed

 



I love our Himalayan Salt Lamp. It is a beautiful and soothing addition to the lighting in our home. We have had it for several years now and find it very useful and lovely.


What Is A Himalayan Salt Lamp?

Salt Lamps are made out of pink Himalayan salt carved into different beautiful shapes with space for a bulb and a plug and lead is attached.

Some are simple unfussy natural shapes, others made into ovals, or in a firepit-like arrangement, some in beautiful metal cages with tree scenes for example, which look stunning especially when lit. They also come in different sizes depending on the look you would like to achieve. 

Salt lamps are available in many different shapes and sizes from small to very large and in different price ranges. 

It all depends on what look you want to create, how elaborate or simple you would like the look and light to be and where you intend to place your salt lamp in your home.


Beautiful Salt Lamp


Why We Love Our Salt Lamp

As a bright light, it certainly lightens up the dark autumn and winter evenings and produces a really lovely warm light. Ours is on a dimmer switch which makes it perfect for when we want a bright or very subtle light. 

When we are watching a film we turn it to the lower dimmer function and then it becomes a wonderful glowing ambient light, just right for curling up warm and cost on a winter's night and relaxing. 

For a romantic dinner at home, the salt lamp helps to create a beautiful magical mood with its amber glow and beautiful looks and texture. 

We have also used it as a night light on low dimmer especially if we have not been feeling well, or on a really wintery stormy night it is reassuring to have a low warm glowing light. 


Close Up Of Glowing Salt Lamp


I think Salt Lamps should be purchased and welcomed into our homes on the basis of that we like the way they look both off and on and the quality and mood of light they produce. 

There are many claims of health benefits from salt lamps.  Some of the claims are that they produce negative ions and purify the air thus being very good for us. It is also said that they help promote sleep and calm allergies along with promoting mood-enhancing properties. 

I cannot be certain if we receive any health benefits or not. The main benefits as I see it are that they help us relax and take time to "be". For me, they do have a calming influence and help me take time out from a hectic schedule.

I do love to watch the beautiful glowing light and it is lovely to have a warming look on a cold winter night. I am not a fan of long dark winter nights so the beauty of this light does help my mood, if even just that it is a lovely light to enjoy in the darkness. 

They are a beautiful and unusual light to have in the home and give it a warm homely, yet modern feeling. 

Salt lamps look good during the day when they are switched off and simply gorgeous in the evening.


Salt Lamp Switched On 


A Few Points To Bear In Mind About Salt Lamps.

They are so simple to use as you just plug in. The bulb will need replacing every so often depending on how much you use it but we got a long time out of ours for our usage and bulbs are easy to replace.

Salt lamps are fairly substantial and can be very heavy so you need to take care when carrying or moving them. If you think you will need to move it around a lot then go for a smaller less heavy one. However, do bear in mind this weight when placing it on any piece of furniture and place it somewhere where pets or children cannot easily knock it over as it can hurt if it drops on a foot. 

I would advise keeping this lamp only in living and bedroom areas. They are not suitable for use in bathrooms or kitchens due to the higher humidity there.

For safety do keep and use them only in dry areas of the home. We have ours in the living room mainly and sometimes take it into the bedroom, never the kitchen or bathroom. 

Salt can be corrosive so make sure the surface you place the lamp on is not metal, as that will rust, or likely to be affected by salt. Or to be safer put the lamp on a protective mat first. 


Salt Lamp Switched Off


Himalayan Salt Lamps As GIfts

Salt lamps make fantastic beautiful gifts for loved ones on many occasions. As they go with most decor you do not need to know colour schemes or design tastes too much, they tend to go in most environments and decor choices.

They are beautifully tactile. Everyone needs another table lamp and as they are so beautiful most people would be very happy to receive one as a gift. They are lovely housewarming gifts, and as presents for Christmas and Birthdays

We love ours and will definitely purchase more salt lamps for the different rooms in our home and as gifts, as we go on.  Here is a small selection. 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, November 23, 2021

Express Yourself With Wooden Words

 



Wooden Words as Wall Art, Home Decor Accents, and for Crafts – a Review


Wooden words are decorative for home décor.  They are also handy for DIY craft projects. Their uses are limited only by your imagination.


Wooden words look great displayed on a wall, a fireplace mantle, or on a table, shelf or door. Or, you can attach them to your craft and home decor projects. Choose to leave them in their wood color for a rustic look, or decorate them with stain, paint or acrylic markers for your own personal touch.


Let's review a few examples in various rooms around the house.


Kitchen Decor 



When considering a wooden word sign as a décor accent in your kitchen, this one 'speaks' to me as the perfect one. The word 'Gather' evokes many happy memories of the gathering of friends & family around the kitchen table sharing coffee and hours of talk. I consider the kitchen the central gathering place in my home. Hang this sign on the wall or display it on a countertop or as a centerpiece on the kitchen table.  It will add to the creation of the heart-warming, welcoming atmosphere you always have when enjoying the kitchen company of your coffee companions. 


Bathroom Decorative Touches



After a long or stressful day, nothing is more  relaxing than a nice long soak in the tub. Personalize your bathroom wall with these four words ~ relax, soak, unwind, and breathe ~ and enjoy your 'down-time'. 


These rustic wooden word signs will add to the peace and contentment of your relaxing moment. 


Monograms in Wood




Decorate a baby's nursery or a child's room with their name in wood.  Hang it over a crib in the nursery or on any wall in a child's room.


You can order it on amazon unpainted, which comes sanded ready for paint to DIY with your favorite colors.  Or order your monogram painted. The paint is applied with two premium coats of paint to ensure a high quality smooth finish with sanding between coats.


Home Decor That Says it All



The  heart of any HOME is FAMILY. These decorative wooden block letters come as separate free-standing letters making the two words  HOME and FAMILY. Thus, they can easily be placed anywhere to meet your decorating needs. 


Crafting with Wooden Letters 



There are a wide variety of crafts which can be decorated with an initial, a name or a favorite phrase. Create a unique gift or a piece of home décor using these wooden letters. This is just one example of the many sets of wooden letters available on Amazon for your creative crafting. Click here for a range of wooden letter sets in different sizes and fonts.


Christmas Tree Wooden Word Ornaments



Wooden words make unique Christmas Tree Ornaments.  Create a festive atmosphere on your tree, your fireplace mantle, hanging in a window, or even tied to a bow on a Christmas present under the tree. These wooden Christmas words (such as Joy, Peace, Love, Let it Snow) have many uses and decorating ideas for your Christmas décor. 


Summary


So, think wood when you choose a name or a phrase for your wall art, table décor, fireplace mantle decoration or any décor arrangement you can imagine. Expressing yourself with wooden words can create a warm and pleasing mood in any room in your home.


*Express Yourself With Wooden Words written & compiled by Wednesday Elf

**Image source information. All product images are from Amazon. The intro image is a collage created from a Pixabay free-to-use image using Fotojet.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, November 20, 2021

A Review of Fall Farmhouse Decor


The Farmhouse style of décor is cozy, casual and welcoming. Originally found in farmhouses, which of necessity were largely functional in the modest rural houses built by American pioneers in the 1700s and 1800s to suit the agricultural lifestyle, the style of decor has evolved into many different variations. 

 Homeowners today appreciate the farmhouse style regardless of whether they live in a rural area or a small town.


While there are many variations to the Farmhouse style, including rustic, modern, country and primitive, the style itself is appreciated for its warmth and simplicity. This style is characterized by natural textures and materials such as wood or galvanized steel.


Today we will concentrate on decorating your Farmhouse style for the Fall.  If you already have pieces that form your farmhouse interior, you can always just add temporary ones to update them for the season. 


Fall Farmhouse Décor


When you decorate your home for the Fall, you can add small touches throughout the house or simply focus only on one nook or create a small corner filled with an Autumn theme. A few examples of this Fall magic are shown here.


Wreaths




A favorite Fall Decor is a wreath for the front door, in a window, or as part of an inside Autumn decoration, perhaps as a centerpiece surrounding a candle.


Maple leaves in red & yellow, berries and vine add to this Fall atmosphere in this lovely wreath found on Amazon.  Perfect for the Autumn season and the Thanksgiving festivities.


Fall Décor Candles



Candles are always perfect for any décor.  Since wood is one of the materials inherent to a Farmhouse theme, these wood candle holders made from logs fit in perfectly. 


Available in brown, harvest and orange and adorned with natural Raffia bows, these candle holders made from reclaimed wood fit the Tea-light or votive candles.  A lovely set for a table centerpiece or a fireplace mantle decoration.


Log candle holders are handmade by Sarah & Eddie of GFTWoodcraft on Etsy, where you can find a wonderful collection of rustic wood home décor. 


Tiered Trays Decorating



Tiered trays are very popular in this day and age.  They are the perfect décor item in any room in the house and come in all sorts of designs. This Farmhouse Decor Fall Tiered Tray was created by Crystal and is available in her Etsy Shop CKDesigns.  


This collection of hand-painted, laser-cut signs will make a really cute Fall Farmhouse themed décor.


Farmhouse Porch Décor



Continue your Fall Farmhouse Decor outside on your porch or patio with this Fall Planter Bucket.  It is created by Jackie for her home décor Etsy Store called Oak Knoll Creations.


This planter bucket is made from authentic galvanized sap buckets once used to gather sap from maple trees. The lettering and designs are made from vinyl and your bucket can include a rope around the top.


A cute Fall porch décor in a Farmhouse theme which would look lovely paired with pumpkins, mums, lanterns, and cornstalks to look festive and welcoming. 


*In addition, Sylvestermouse tells us how festive fall leaves place mats and table runners can be for your Fall and Thanksgiving table décor. 


Summary


The calming colors of the autumn will give any space the warmth and coziness that you would like to feel every day.


For more Decor Reviews, check out
ReviewThisDecor.com


Fall Farmhouse Décor Review written by

Wednesday Elf 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, August 8, 2021

Don't be Afraid of Color and Patterns When Designing a Vintage Room


Using color in home decor can terrify some people.

There's a difference between 'not liking pattern and color' and being afraid to try it. 

If your decorating nature leans toward neutral colors and very few patterns, then this article isn't for you. 

I prefer color, patterns, texture, interest, and depth when I decorate a space. I'm not one to walk into a furniture showroom and head towards the modern pieces. However, I have several people in my family who absolutely prefer a neutral decor that focuses on clean lines, fewer pieces, and basic shapes and patterns.

A Step Back Into the 1800s 

Our family room isn't exactly the epitome of the 1800s. However, I added pieces to that space over the years to further enhance its vintage feel. The only two parts that are modern are the TV and the gas fireplace. 

The recent addition of my mother's personal, high-quality needlepoint work, with their ornate frames, became the finishing touch this space needed. I'm blessed to have six pieces of my mother's personal creations in my home. They fit our decor perfectly.

An Old Meets New Family Room Decor Theme

Choose a Rug with a Pattern

In this article, I explain how to select a patterned rug to go with a patterned sofa. Essentially, it states that if you plan a lot of color and pattern in your room, keep the pattern on the rug fairly minimal and keep it to the edge of the carpet. Let the center part of the rug have larger neutral sections, with bits of patterned items spread sporadically throughout.

Don't choose a geometric, contemporary, or modern rug to go into a space where you want the feel to be old-world. Although you may like to mix and match modern with vintage, you need to approach that particular design with intention. Intention involves thinking about each piece you have, the balance of each piece, and how they contribute to the final look.

In our case, we wanted the family room to have a rich, deep, hotel-lobby feel that crossed into the realm of vintage and old world.

Ultimately for us, the room's emotion was about coziness, warmth, and depth; vintage decor ticks many of those boxes.

Art Work With a Vintage Feel - Not Just the Art Work, But Also the Frames

Admittedly we just added my mother's personal artwork to the room. The three places we added her personally crafted needlework was above two lamps and above a chair. The vintage look to the frames, along with her incredible needlepoint, completes the space.

My mom created these pieces nearly 50 years ago, in the 1970s. The three pieces are now part of our family room; Blue Boy, Red Boy, and Pink Lady. The photos below don't do it justice! They look outstanding in our color-rich family room.

Here are Mom's Handcrafted Pieces

Blue Boy - Handcrafted by Georgette Tremblay

Pink Lady - Handcrafted by Georgette Tremblay

Red Boy - Handcrafted by Georgette Tremblay

Ultimately color choices for a room are a personal choice. However, don't let fear of decorating with color, 'color' your decorating bravery. 

Quick Summary of What to Consider When Decorating with Color

  1. Keep the room balanced - especially if you're fearful of decorating with color. 
  2. Choose a few areas with patterns (such as the drapes, pillows, and rugs) and go with solid tones for the rest (the walls, the furniture, and lamps/lighting) - This is the easy way to take that leap into color.
  3. For the Batman-Brave, put a bit of pattern in everything BUT keep certain accessories solid in color, such as the lamps, the drapes, and the tables. Take your color and pattern bravery out on the sofa, the rug, the pillows, and the art.
  4. Keep the family of colors complimentary. Here's an excellent article explaining complementary colors.
  5. Decide upon the mood you want for your room; comfortable, airy, lush, cheerful, cool, warm - whatever you want. Check out this article for more on that topic.
If you like funky, creative decor, be sure to check out Funkthishouse.com.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X