Showing posts with label Decor. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Decor. Show all posts

Tuesday, November 23, 2021

Express Yourself With Wooden Words

 



Wooden Words as Wall Art, Home Decor Accents, and for Crafts – a Review


Wooden words are decorative for home décor.  They are also handy for DIY craft projects. Their uses are limited only by your imagination.


Wooden words look great displayed on a wall, a fireplace mantle, or on a table, shelf or door. Or, you can attach them to your craft and home decor projects. Choose to leave them in their wood color for a rustic look, or decorate them with stain, paint or acrylic markers for your own personal touch.


Let's review a few examples in various rooms around the house.


Kitchen Decor 



When considering a wooden word sign as a décor accent in your kitchen, this one 'speaks' to me as the perfect one. The word 'Gather' evokes many happy memories of the gathering of friends & family around the kitchen table sharing coffee and hours of talk. I consider the kitchen the central gathering place in my home. Hang this sign on the wall or display it on a countertop or as a centerpiece on the kitchen table.  It will add to the creation of the heart-warming, welcoming atmosphere you always have when enjoying the kitchen company of your coffee companions. 


Bathroom Decorative Touches



After a long or stressful day, nothing is more  relaxing than a nice long soak in the tub. Personalize your bathroom wall with these four words ~ relax, soak, unwind, and breathe ~ and enjoy your 'down-time'. 


These rustic wooden word signs will add to the peace and contentment of your relaxing moment. 


Monograms in Wood




Decorate a baby's nursery or a child's room with their name in wood.  Hang it over a crib in the nursery or on any wall in a child's room.


You can order it on amazon unpainted, which comes sanded ready for paint to DIY with your favorite colors.  Or order your monogram painted. The paint is applied with two premium coats of paint to ensure a high quality smooth finish with sanding between coats.


Home Decor That Says it All



The  heart of any HOME is FAMILY. These decorative wooden block letters come as separate free-standing letters making the two words  HOME and FAMILY. Thus, they can easily be placed anywhere to meet your decorating needs. 


Crafting with Wooden Letters 



There are a wide variety of crafts which can be decorated with an initial, a name or a favorite phrase. Create a unique gift or a piece of home décor using these wooden letters. This is just one example of the many sets of wooden letters available on Amazon for your creative crafting. Click here for a range of wooden letter sets in different sizes and fonts.


Christmas Tree Wooden Word Ornaments



Wooden words make unique Christmas Tree Ornaments.  Create a festive atmosphere on your tree, your fireplace mantle, hanging in a window, or even tied to a bow on a Christmas present under the tree. These wooden Christmas words (such as Joy, Peace, Love, Let it Snow) have many uses and decorating ideas for your Christmas décor. 


Summary


So, think wood when you choose a name or a phrase for your wall art, table décor, fireplace mantle decoration or any décor arrangement you can imagine. Expressing yourself with wooden words can create a warm and pleasing mood in any room in your home.


*Express Yourself With Wooden Words written & compiled by Wednesday Elf

**Image source information. All product images are from Amazon. The intro image is a collage created from a Pixabay free-to-use image using Fotojet.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, November 20, 2021

A Review of Fall Farmhouse Decor


The Farmhouse style of décor is cozy, casual and welcoming. Originally found in farmhouses, which of necessity were largely functional in the modest rural houses built by American pioneers in the 1700s and 1800s to suit the agricultural lifestyle, the style of decor has evolved into many different variations. 

 Homeowners today appreciate the farmhouse style regardless of whether they live in a rural area or a small town.


While there are many variations to the Farmhouse style, including rustic, modern, country and primitive, the style itself is appreciated for its warmth and simplicity. This style is characterized by natural textures and materials such as wood or galvanized steel.


Today we will concentrate on decorating your Farmhouse style for the Fall.  If you already have pieces that form your farmhouse interior, you can always just add temporary ones to update them for the season. 


Fall Farmhouse Décor


When you decorate your home for the Fall, you can add small touches throughout the house or simply focus only on one nook or create a small corner filled with an Autumn theme. A few examples of this Fall magic are shown here.


Wreaths




A favorite Fall Decor is a wreath for the front door, in a window, or as part of an inside Autumn decoration, perhaps as a centerpiece surrounding a candle.


Maple leaves in red & yellow, berries and vine add to this Fall atmosphere in this lovely wreath found on Amazon.  Perfect for the Autumn season and the Thanksgiving festivities.


Fall Décor Candles



Candles are always perfect for any décor.  Since wood is one of the materials inherent to a Farmhouse theme, these wood candle holders made from logs fit in perfectly. 


Available in brown, harvest and orange and adorned with natural Raffia bows, these candle holders made from reclaimed wood fit the Tea-light or votive candles.  A lovely set for a table centerpiece or a fireplace mantle decoration.


Log candle holders are handmade by Sarah & Eddie of GFTWoodcraft on Etsy, where you can find a wonderful collection of rustic wood home décor. 


Tiered Trays Decorating



Tiered trays are very popular in this day and age.  They are the perfect décor item in any room in the house and come in all sorts of designs. This Farmhouse Decor Fall Tiered Tray was created by Crystal and is available in her Etsy Shop CKDesigns.  


This collection of hand-painted, laser-cut signs will make a really cute Fall Farmhouse themed décor.


Farmhouse Porch Décor



Continue your Fall Farmhouse Decor outside on your porch or patio with this Fall Planter Bucket.  It is created by Jackie for her home décor Etsy Store called Oak Knoll Creations.


This planter bucket is made from authentic galvanized sap buckets once used to gather sap from maple trees. The lettering and designs are made from vinyl and your bucket can include a rope around the top.


A cute Fall porch décor in a Farmhouse theme which would look lovely paired with pumpkins, mums, lanterns, and cornstalks to look festive and welcoming. 


*In addition, Sylvestermouse tells us how festive fall leaves place mats and table runners can be for your Fall and Thanksgiving table décor. 


Summary


The calming colors of the autumn will give any space the warmth and coziness that you would like to feel every day.


For more Decor Reviews, check out
ReviewThisDecor.com


Fall Farmhouse Décor Review written by

Wednesday Elf 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, August 8, 2021

Don't be Afraid of Color and Patterns When Designing a Vintage Room


Using color in home decor can terrify some people.

There's a difference between 'not liking pattern and color' and being afraid to try it. 

If your decorating nature leans toward neutral colors and very few patterns, then this article isn't for you. 

I prefer color, patterns, texture, interest, and depth when I decorate a space. I'm not one to walk into a furniture showroom and head towards the modern pieces. However, I have several people in my family who absolutely prefer a neutral decor that focuses on clean lines, fewer pieces, and basic shapes and patterns.

A Step Back Into the 1800s 

Our family room isn't exactly the epitome of the 1800s. However, I added pieces to that space over the years to further enhance its vintage feel. The only two parts that are modern are the TV and the gas fireplace. 

The recent addition of my mother's personal, high-quality needlepoint work, with their ornate frames, became the finishing touch this space needed. I'm blessed to have six pieces of my mother's personal creations in my home. They fit our decor perfectly.

An Old Meets New Family Room Decor Theme

Choose a Rug with a Pattern

In this article, I explain how to select a patterned rug to go with a patterned sofa. Essentially, it states that if you plan a lot of color and pattern in your room, keep the pattern on the rug fairly minimal and keep it to the edge of the carpet. Let the center part of the rug have larger neutral sections, with bits of patterned items spread sporadically throughout.

Don't choose a geometric, contemporary, or modern rug to go into a space where you want the feel to be old-world. Although you may like to mix and match modern with vintage, you need to approach that particular design with intention. Intention involves thinking about each piece you have, the balance of each piece, and how they contribute to the final look.

In our case, we wanted the family room to have a rich, deep, hotel-lobby feel that crossed into the realm of vintage and old world.

Ultimately for us, the room's emotion was about coziness, warmth, and depth; vintage decor ticks many of those boxes.

Art Work With a Vintage Feel - Not Just the Art Work, But Also the Frames

Admittedly we just added my mother's personal artwork to the room. The three places we added her personally crafted needlework was above two lamps and above a chair. The vintage look to the frames, along with her incredible needlepoint, completes the space.

My mom created these pieces nearly 50 years ago, in the 1970s. The three pieces are now part of our family room; Blue Boy, Red Boy, and Pink Lady. The photos below don't do it justice! They look outstanding in our color-rich family room.

Here are Mom's Handcrafted Pieces

Blue Boy - Handcrafted by Georgette Tremblay

Pink Lady - Handcrafted by Georgette Tremblay

Red Boy - Handcrafted by Georgette Tremblay

Ultimately color choices for a room are a personal choice. However, don't let fear of decorating with color, 'color' your decorating bravery. 

Quick Summary of What to Consider When Decorating with Color

  1. Keep the room balanced - especially if you're fearful of decorating with color. 
  2. Choose a few areas with patterns (such as the drapes, pillows, and rugs) and go with solid tones for the rest (the walls, the furniture, and lamps/lighting) - This is the easy way to take that leap into color.
  3. For the Batman-Brave, put a bit of pattern in everything BUT keep certain accessories solid in color, such as the lamps, the drapes, and the tables. Take your color and pattern bravery out on the sofa, the rug, the pillows, and the art.
  4. Keep the family of colors complimentary. Here's an excellent article explaining complementary colors.
  5. Decide upon the mood you want for your room; comfortable, airy, lush, cheerful, cool, warm - whatever you want. Check out this article for more on that topic.
If you like funky, creative decor, be sure to check out Funkthishouse.com.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, June 19, 2021

A Review of Summertime Beach Décor



The Summer Soltice ~ the longest day of the year ~ occurs when the Sun reaches its northernmost point from the celestial equator. So it won't always occur on the same calendar day. This 'first day of summer' happens somewhere between June 20, 21 and 22.  This year, 2021, finds summer officially beginning on June 20. 


As Summer begins, it brings thoughts of Summertime décor. Time to think of bright, summery items that radiate positive energy & warmth. Summer décor can bring a splash of sunshine, a bit of beach or the suggestion of a favorite water spot into your home. 


Beach Decor


Source: Pixabay

Summertime often brings back memories of beach trips or plans to visit a favorite one.  Putting touches of favorite beach items into your home décor will remind you of fun beach days all summer long.


Since seashells are a natural part of a beach, and a favorite for any beach décor, it's appropriate that the start of Summer is also National Seashell Day (observed every year on the date of the Summer Solstice). If you want to collect your own seashells for your beach décor, remember that the best time to search for sea shells is from an hour before to an hour after low tide.  Most seashells can be found along the high tide mark. 


If you don't have access to a beach to search for seashells, numerous places are available to purchase your favorites, be it a conch, a clam, a sand dollar or a seahorse. A couple ideas are listed below:


Mixed Beach Seashells

A mixture of beach seashells by Famoby can be used as a beach theme decor in many ways. 


Fill a vase with shells and place on a table, a bookcase or wall shelf. 

Use as table scatter for a beach party. Use in a fish tank as a tropical theme. The ideas are endless.




Shell Letters by BriThornDecor

Personalize a wall with a shell letter as your Monogram or get a collection of letters for your name in shells.  Adds whimsy and color to your beach and shell themed decor. Created by BriThornDecor on Etsy. 


Beach Theme Coasters on Etsy



Beach designs for your home décor can also be useful, such as this set of Beach Beverage Coasters available at Coastal Crochet Crafts on Etsy.


Sunshine Yellow Decor


Yellow is such a summery color. It reminds us of bright warm days spent sunbathing on the beach or at a pool or lake.  Long, hot days filled with time to relax and enjoy the best that Summer has to offer.


Lemon Summer Décor


This fun lemon kitchen decor sign is the perfect way to welcome Summer into your home. Display the lemon sign with your tiered tray decor, on your counter or shelves. You will love this in addition to your Summer decor.


Nautical Decor


Anything that reminds us of time spent at the seashore or lakeside is a welcome part of summer.  Nautical items bring the joy of the seaside to our homes. 


Check out these ship anchor coasters for your summery drinks on the patio or deck while enjoying the warm summer breezes and waiting for the barbecue grill to be ready to cook.


Ship Anchor Beverage Coasters


When we lived near the beach on Tybee Island, Georgia, hubby bought me a Tide clock so we would know when high tide was for our daily walks on the beach. We walked the beach other times, as well, but high tide was our favorite.  Our tide clock made a very attractive décor item in our island home. 


Bamboo Tide Clock


Handmade by Northcore for their Etsy Shop. This is just one of a variety of surf and outdoor accessories featured in their shop.


Summary 


There are endless ideas for summertime décor, depending upon your favorite themes.  Be it beach, nautical, summer colors such as yellow, or anything that is summer-related, summertime décor will bring the season into any room in your home. 


Happy Summer!


Related Articles:


Summertime Beach Décor written by 

Wednesday Elf.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, June 7, 2021

Reviewing Farmhouse Decor Ideas: Character Wood and Metal

I have a small home that is currently under construction. The exterior is purposefully barn-like. The siding is sheet metal and the side facing the road is windowless. I plan for the interior to also suggest (suggest or scream - I'm not quite sure yet) barn interior. While shopping and planning I have found that the look I am imagining is not always easy to find examples of but my plans are slowly coming together.

on ReviewThisReviews


One problem I have had while shopping and researching decor ideas is that search words such as "rustic", "country" and "cabin" brings results of bears, moose, mountains, bentwood, and plaids. All very lovely, and very appropriate for the mountain ridge where my home is being built, but not quite the look I am going for. Many "farmhouse decor" searches yield lovely photos that include monotone white decor and flower bouquets. Again, quite gorgeous but not exactly what I'm going for. 

I am looking for barn doors, concrete floors, metals and wood combinations. While there are entire books written on other home styles; contemporary, coastal, southwestern, industrial, and more, the books on the "rustic" style comes closest to my goal. But aren't quite what I'm after.

One of our contributors is an incredibly talented DIYer. Lucky for me, Renaissance Woman shares projects that are exactly what I'd like to make for my future home. She shared how she made a DIY Pallet Book Nook. In that project she utilized character wood (from pallets) and corrugated metal to turn a small, odd space in her home into a uniquely wonderful spot to read, hangout, and relax. She shares the definition of character wood; "weathered wood that captures your imagination." This style is very much what I'm imagining.


Renaissance Woman's DIY Pallet Book Nook

If you enjoy her DIY Pallet Book Nook article, you can find more of her reviews under her tab here. She is quite talented.

This wine rack is a much smaller example of barnhouse decor. In this example, it can be purchased fully assembled. But people with DIY talent could easily make their own.


Rustic Barn Door Wine Rack


Not everyone needs or wants a wine rack. But most everyone likes to have a wall clock in plain view for convenience. And how much better if that wall clock compliments the decor.  This wood and metal clock is a wonderful example of my definition of barnhouse decor.


Vintage Farmhouse Clock

Sliding barn doors are one of the most notable farmhouse (barnhouse) features. They are so popular that not only are they functional doors but they are also a part of furniture, wall-hangings, featured in paintings, and more. I have even seen printed shower curtains that mimic wooden barn doors.

I want a barn door. I have watched video tutorials and hope to make my own sliding barn door to cover at least one window. There are versions that do not required angled cuts and I think I can manage simple straight cuts and assembly. I am hoping for both functionality (blocking sun on hot days in that south-facing window) and visual appeal (a barn door hung in my barn). 

If I decide I am unable to build my own sliding barn door there are many options for purchase. This is just one example:

sliding barn door kit; assembly required

While I've never shopped at Pottery Barn, I have noticed that some of their wood furniture fits my idea of the farmhouse style. If you don't already shop there, you may want to take a peek.

If you are looking for some barnhouse inspiration, I hope these ideas spark your imagination. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, May 31, 2021

How to Install a New Faucet

 

How to install a new faucet
How to install a new faucet - Reviewed

It was time to replace that old bathroom faucet. It was an old single lever push, pull-type, and was difficult to turn on and off, especially for our youngest grandson.

Replacing a faucet whether it is a bathroom faucet or a kitchen faucet is not that difficult. But sometimes Murphy’s Law takes over, and what can go wrong, will go wrong. The problem I had was my shut-off valves were frozen so I could not turn off the water under the sink. This was not a problem, I just had to turn off the main water supply and replace the shut-off valves and supply lines under the sink. But this review will only instruct you on how to install a new faucet.

 I am by no means an expert and I am not a plumber by trade. I can tell you how to do this because I have done it many times before.

Installing a new Faucet Step-by-Step:

Step 1

The first thing you need to do is to turn off the water supply. Most bathroom and kitchen sinks have shut-off valves under the sink, if not you will have to turn off the main water supply.

Step 2

Once you are sure the water is off, turn the faucet on to let the water out. Then, remove the hot and cold supply lines using an adjustable wrench. You will also have to unlatch the sink stopper lever from to ball lever on the drain. Leave the ball lever in the drain, as you will need to attach the new sink stopper lever to it later.

Step 3

Now remove the retaining nuts that are holding the old faucet, a basin wrench is the handiest tool for this task. After removing the old faucet measure the hole pattern on the sink. Make sure you purchase a new faucet that will fit the hole pattern in your sink.

Step 4

After removing the old faucet, clean any residue left behind with a tub and tile cleaner and paper towels. If you must use a putty knife, use a plastic one.

Step 5

Your new faucet will have a built-in gasket, but you will still need a bead of caulk or plumber’s putty around each hole. This is needed to make a good seal.

Step 6

Place the new faucet and fasten the retaining nuts to hold it in place. It’s always a good idea to have somebody hold the new faucet in place while you get the new basin nuts snug. Be careful not to over tighten, you can use the basin wrench, but I like to just hand tighten.

Step 7

Now fasten the hot and the cold-water supply line to the new faucet. You may need to wrap Teflon tape around the new faucet threads. Follow the manufacturer's instructions on the new faucet. Now, it is time to connect the sink stopper lever to the ball lever in the drain. You will find several adjustments on the sink stopper lever.

Step 8

Remove the aerator from the new faucet and turn on the water supply. Then, turn on the cold water. The aerator is the little screen inside the faucet spout. This is to make that it does not clog with any debris that may be in the water lines. Replace the aerator and check for leaks. That is all there is to it.

Find more  Crafts & DIY projects on Review This here: ReviewThisCrafts.com

This basin wrench will be your best friend when replacing a faucet.

Superior Tool 03811 Eleven Inch Basin Wrench-Infinitely Adjustable 11Superior Tool 03811 Eleven Inch Basin Wrench-Infinitely Adjustable 11Superior Tool 03811 Eleven Inch Basin Wrench-Infinitely Adjustable 11

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, May 4, 2021

How to Maximize Space in a Small Bedroom

 

How to maximize space in a small bedroom
Making the best of a small room - reviewed

We have a nice 3 bedroom home with plenty of room. Although, one of the bedrooms happens to be a small 8' x 10' room. This is the room that our granddaughters stay in when they come for a visit.

We had a bookcase full of books and toys, along with a tote full of toys and a full size bed in this small room. This did not leave much room for the girls to play.

Fran decided that it was time for a makeover in this room. First she emptied the bookcase and got rid of it. We needed to make the best of this space so the girls had room to play. For those of you who don't know who Fran is, she is my better half forever.

This small room makeover was all Fran, all I did was assemble all of the furniture and place it where she wanted it. 

Maximize Space in a small room:

Ellen Corner DeskEllen Corner DeskCheck the Price


First Fran wanted a space where the girls could do some projects such as crafts, drawing, coloring, or reading.

We moved the full-sized bed to one corner of the room and placed this corner desk in the opposite diagonal corner of the room.

The corner desk measures 42" across and has a drawer and shelves for storage. 


 

Vanity StoolVanity StoolCheck the Price


Since a desk chair would take up too much space, Fran decided on this vanity stool.

This stool fits perfectly under the desk when it is not in use. When it is pulled out for use there is still plenty of room to get by between the stool and the bed. Did I mention that the cushion top is very comfortable.


 

Storage CubeStorage CubeCheck the Price

Now, it was time to clean up all of that clutter and empty that tote full of small toys, crayons, and makers. Fran picked out this cube storage organizer.

This was a perfect fit next to the desk and along the wall to fill the space to the entrance door of the room.

These storage cubes are a great idea for craft rooms, bedrooms, playrooms, or a small office.

The cube has six storage spaces and each space will hold 60 pounds.


 

Sorbus Foldable Storage CubeSorbus Foldable Storage CubeCheck the Price


To store all of those little things Fran found these colorful foldable storage cubes.

They fit perfectly into the cubes of the storage organizer. These a perfect for games, crayons, makers, and small toys.





Fran hand picked every one of these items for a specific purpose in this small bedroom. She created a comfortable and useable space for our granddaughters. This was an easy project for me, as I said earlier all I had to do was assemble. All of these items were easy to assemble and all had excellent assembly instructions.


Here is a photo of our youngest granddaughter hard at play using their new corner desk. They are very happy with the new changes to their room away from home.

Find more reviews on this topic on Review This Here:





 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, April 20, 2021

Restoring Lawn Furniture

 

Restoring Lawn Furniture
Restoring Lawn Furniture - Reviewed

Here is how I restored some old wooden lawn furniture. My parents bought this furniture back in the 80s for their new patio and used it for many years.

Many years ago I was helping my mother clean out her basement where this furniture was stored. I told her that I would carry it up to the patio and she said no I'm just going to throw it away.

 I wouldn’t hear of it, so she said if you want it, to take it to your house. I had the two chairs and one lounge chair stored in my garage for a couple of years. Then, I decided it was time to take it out and use it on my deck.

At that time all this furniture really needed was cleaned up. After several years of use on my deck, the furniture was in need of some tender loving care. Pictured are the two chairs all restored and ready for the summer.

Materials I used to restore this lawn furniture:

·         Fine Sandpaper (120 Grit)

·         Tack Cloth

·         Exterior Deck and Patio PaintSpray Paint 

·         New Lawn Furniture Cushions

Tools I used for this DIY:

Wire Brush

Screwdriver

Socket Set

3-inch nylon paintbrush

Here is how I restored my lawn furniture:

1. Over the years some of the screws and bolts began to loosen. Using a screwdriver and socket set I tightened all of the screws and bolts.
2. I then wire brushed all of the springs under the cushions to remove the rust. Then, made sure they were all secured to the wooden sides of the furniture.
3. Using the wire brush again. I Wire brushed all of the wood surfaces to remove any of the loose paint.
4. The last step of preparation, I sanded all of the wooden surfaces with fine sandpaper. I used 120 Grit. Then take the tack cloth and wipe the surfaces to remove any dust or sanding residue.
5. I painted the furniture with a latex deck and patio paint that you can buy at any hardware store. I carefully painted the furniture with a 3-inch nylon paintbrush.

About every three or four years I follow the same process to keep this lawn furniture looking good. This lawn furniture is over 40 years old and we are still using it and it is so comfortable.

More ReviewThis DIY Projects Here: ReviewThisCrafts.com

Here are a few of the simple tools that I used for this project:




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, February 7, 2021

Review of Blackout Window Panel Drapes - Highly Recommended

A Review of Room Darkening Drapes - Yes. Recommended.

 Let me start this review by getting right to the point; I highly recommend these blackout drapes.

My son selected them for his recently re-vamped bedroom.  Actually, I suggested them (based on reviews and price), and he said "what-ev." Lol. Boys ... I've raised four of them, so I can safely say they are men of few words. However, few words or not, he loves these drapes.

The Nicetown Blackout Window Panels do exactly what they advertise they do - they blackout the light. 

These Drapes Completely Block the Morning Sun

My son's room faces east, so it gets the full morning sun. Certainly, that's a lovely feature when you're awake, not so much when you're trying to sleep.

In the morning, while he was still sleeping, I opened his door expecting to see some sunlight, and to my surprise, there was zero light in the room.

Honestly, I was shocked. I expected there to be some faded light peeking through, but nope, nothing. His room was night-time dark in the morning.

He said, and I quote, "it was so dark, I had to check my clock and was shocked that it was noon." He enjoyed his morning sleep-in. 

Closed Room Darkening Drapes in My Son's Room

How Many Panels Do You Need for a Window

I'm a bit fussy about having too little drape for a window.

My son's window, from outside frame to outside frame, both width, and height, measures 51 inches by 51 inches. However, from the top of the curtain rod to the bottom of the window, the measurement is 54 inches long. 

The choices in size widths are 29, 42, and 70. The length choices are 18, 36, 45, 54, 63, 72, 84, and 90 inches. 

To ensure proper window coverage, we purchased two sets of the 42 by 63-inch drapes. Thus we have four panels; two panels on each side.

We decided on the slightly longer measurement of 63 inches versus the 54-inch length for fear that the 54-inch drape would be slightly short, and allow the light to peek through.

To completely block the light, make sure the drape seams (where each drape meets) are pulled so that you can't see the window at all. Otherwise, the morning light might peek through.

The finished look of the drapes - open - two sets of drapes


Affordability? Absolutely

We were able to cover this window for under $75 (Canadian). The curtain rod was already installed; just the drapes had to be replaced.

How Many Colors Do These Drapes Come In?

Lots. Lots of colors. When I last checked, there were about 20 colors to choose from.

Would We Rebuy These Drapes?

Yes. In fact, my first granddaughter is due to arrive in August, and we're planning on choosing a set for her room. They're ideal for a nursery since they completely block the morning and day light. 


Check out the bedding we selected for his room here. The bedding is also good value for the money.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X