Showing posts with label music. Show all posts
Showing posts with label music. Show all posts

Sunday, February 17, 2019

A Country Song About Homelessness - A Moving Reflection in Words

A moving empathic country song about homeless
Somebody's Daughter by Tenille Townes - A Song Review

I love the rasp and uplifting ache in Tenille Townes voice as she sings this song. The story and lyrics paint a clear picture of a person whose life wasn't easy. It reminds us that, except for our circumstances, we're all the same.

This country song is about homelessness. It's about those moments we pass by someone at an intersection holding up a cardboard sign asking for money, for help.
"Oh I don't know the reasons why I'm the one whose driving by and she's the one on the corner of 18th street...bet she was somebody's best friend, back when she was somebody's sister counting change at the lemonade stand"
This mid tempo song will touch your soul.


I remember first hearing it on the radio in my kitchen, and because I wasn't listening very closely to the lyrics, the song passed me by without a notice. For me, ninety-nine percent of the time, it's the story first the music second.

The next time I heard the song I happened to be driving. It's then I took the time to listen to the story behind the words.

The Inspiration Behind Tenille Townes Writing This Song

The tune was inspired during a drive Tenille Townes took with her mom while in Nashville, Tennessee. They saw a homeless person standing with a sign and began wondering out loud about this person's life story. Personally I've wondered the same myself. I suspect that's the reason this song touched me so deeply.
The song reminds us that "she was somebody's best friend, somebody's first kiss, somebody's daughter".
What do We Do When We See Someone Standing With a Cardboard Sign Asking for Help?

Many times I've handed out a bit of money. People have said to me, "oh that's a con, they're lazy, they're not deserving". Well I'm sorry, but the onus is not on me to prove their truth. The recipient has to deal with the truth of the situation. I'm not prepared to conclude that every single soul who does this isn't being honest. I believe most are truly suffering. I would rather be kind than be judgemental about that situation, but that's me. I just give, you never know who you've helped.

Who is Tenille Townes

Tenille Townes is a rising Canadian Country Music Artist from Grand Prairie, Alberta, Canada. In 2011 she was nominated at 17 years old for Canadian Country Music Female Artist of the Year. Her career is off and running. In 2018 she opened for Miranda Lambert and Little Big Town on The Bandwagon Tour. 

Her Grand Ole Opry Debut

She's also recently enjoyed the honor of performing at the Grand Ole Opry. That was a big deal for her family and friends! Watch and listen to Tenille Townes in her own words describe her amazing experience. She's a class act.



Big Hearts for Big Kids - Her Cause
In over nine years, she's raised $1.5+ million dollars for Sunrise House, a shelter for homeless youth in Alberta Canada. A cause she generously dedicates her time and name to.

Here's a brief video on her 2018 Fundraiser, Big Hearts for Big Kids:



Homelessness - The Stats and Where to Learn More 

It's roughly estimated that between 150,000 and 300,000 people in Canada are homeless at some given time. In 2017 approximately 5 million people in Canada lived in poverty. Canadians can learn more about homelessness and what can be done here at The Homeless Hub.

According to the Voa.org, in the United States in 2017 approximately 553,000 Americans were homeless on a given night, 40 million struggled with hunger and 40.6 million officially lived in poverty. The US population is approximately 325 million. To learn more about poverty in the USA and how you can help, visit the Voa.org/homeless-people.

"I believe those who suffer the most teach us the most" - by me
The Heart of Country Music








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Hobby Time from the Review This! Contributors




hob·by - an activity done regularly in one's leisure time for pleasure. 

January is known as National Hobby Month.   The contributing writers here on Review This! each have their favorite ways to enjoy a relaxing pursuit and have written many reviews of various how-to books, crafting supplies and DIY tutorials, gardening tips, recipes & kitchen aids for the cook, photography lessons, reading or listening to music, sports, and a host of other hobbies. 

These are but a few of the hobbies enjoyed by the Review This crew. The list of hobbies is almost endless.  If you are interested in looking for what we writers here have reviewed, type in the name of your 'hobby' either in the box in the top left-hand corner of any Review This page, or in the search box down the right-hand side. By looking at the author's name, you won't have any problem figuring out which HOBBY is each writers' favorite! For instance, mine  (Wednesday Elf) is crochet and my hobby is shared by several other contributors here, so we learn and share with each other. A more comprehensive list is shown below.


National Hobby Month




Begun by the Hobby Guild of America in 1955,  National Hobby Month was celebrated in April until 1976, then in October until 1986.  Since then, it has been celebrated during the month of January. 

January was most likely chosen for National Hobby Month as it is the beginning of a new year and a good time to start a new hobby.  Many people have never had hobbies during their working years or while raising a family and begin one in their retirement or after the children are grown.  Others try many hobbies throughout their life before finding one or two that gives them the most enjoyment. 


Hobby Examples on Review This!



Hobbies can be passive (such as crafting, reading, writing, listening to music or watching a movie) or an activity such as gardening, cooking or participating in sports. Many people have more than one hobby and often combine them, such as listening to music while crafting. 

In addition to writing reviews here on Review This!, most of the contributing writers here write for their own blogs and websites.  Writers consider writing to be more work than hobby, so time away from writing is important. That's where the activities done in our leisure time become such a pleasure. It is also interesting to note that the passion we feel for our hobbies is shown in many of the subjects we write about.


  • Barbara Tremblay Cipak (Brite-Ideas) is crazy about country music and frequently writes about the artists and their music she is so passionate about.  She is also loves to experiment with color in home décor. 
  • Dawn Rae does crochet and participates in a group of fellow jeep owners.  She also enjoys gardening and lately 'learning about homesteading'.
  • Cynthia Sylvestermouse is a freelance writer and photographer who loves all different kinds of crafts, including crafting in the kitchen, creating fancy cakes and cupcakes. 
  • Barbara (BarbRad) is an expert on books and loves to read.  She is also a nature photographer who most enjoys photographing her central California area. 
  • Mary Beth Granger (MBGphoto) is a fabulous photographer who continually takes photography classes to learn more.  Photography has become her passion in her retirement, along with traveling.  Lighthouses and beaches are her favorite subjects. 
  • Wednesday Elf loves crochet and needlework, watching baseball and reading. 
  • Beverly Owens is busy researching her Native American Indian heritage and loves to write about spirit animals and the wisdom of her ancestors. She also enjoys crocheting. 
  • Olivia Morris loves gardening and following the fashion world.
  • Brenda Little (Treasures By Brenda) collects coffee mugs and researches the history of vintage cups and other vintage items which she shares in her eBay store.  She also loves reading, great movies, cooking, and pop culture. 
  • Diana Wenzel (Renaissance Woman2010) enjoys an off-the-grid lifestyle where she pursues her interests in animal rescue, wonderful nature photography, and DIY projects. She also loves to read. 
  • Louanne Cox (Lou16) loves reading, 80s music, zombies and dolls, among a host of other interests. 
  • Heather Burns (Heather426) is an artist, illustrator and graphic designer. Her hobby is her artistic accomplishments, including the colored pencils she has created for coloring pages and coloring books. 
  • Coletta Teske is a published book author and loves to sew. 

These are just the highlights of hobbies and interests I have observed from the articles they publish and the interaction we have as a team here on the staff of Review This!.  I am sure there are other interests each of them have.  


Quick View Home Page



By clicking on the Quick View Home Page button at the top of any Review This! page, you will have weekly examples of many of the articles your hobbyists here enjoy (plus many non-hobby reviews).  

Stop by the comments section and tell us your favorite hobby or activity. The Review This! staff would love to hear about what gives you pleasure in your leisure time.

(c) Written by Wednesday Elf on 1/20/2018







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 3, 2017

Thanksgiving Canon, A Hymn for the Ages

Thanksgiving Canon~Wondrous Thanksgiving Music!

Thanksgiving Canon worship hymn
Why I am reviewing Thanksgiving Canon: It's my favorite Thanksgiving Hymn and I love to play it this time of year

It's great to play any day you feel like singing a praise song! The notes of Thanksgiving Canon are on the  pentatonic musical scale that is very pleasing to the spirit at the cellular level. Science has now actually  proven this. (with brain scans) So if you listen, you will feel better.

Photo is Autumn Leaves by Pixel Anarchy on Pixabay and can be found here

The Thanksgiving Canon is an old standby and we sang it as a round, ending in a sustained Amen when I was in choir growing up . When I went looking for a video of it for you, the best ones were from the Girl Scouts.

How funny, but understandable, as we sang lots of wonderful uplifting songs in my Girl Scout troop. But I did not know that the Girl Scouts have their own CD's now! So had to spend an afternoon listening to some of their renditions of some old Camping favorites! 

Below is the original sheet music that I saved from an old Choir book. I think it was from 6th grade. 


Thanksgiving Canon sheet music

Enjoy the Thanksgiving Canon and Happy Thanksgiving!


For thy gracious blessings,
For thy wondrous words,
For thy loving kindness,
We give thanks, O Lord.
~Thanksgiving Canon



About Thanksgiving Day

Thanksgiving Day is a holiday celebrated mostly in the United States and Canada. It is celebrated each year on the second Monday of October in Canada and on the fourth Thursday of November in the United States. Thanksgiving in Canada falls on the same day as Columbus Day in the United States. In ancient times, This was the Autumn Equinox festival. Man has always thanked the Creator for the harvest.

And man has always sung to celebrate everything. The Thanksgiving Canon is not only beautiful, but the sound tones are very soothing to your ear and soul. I always play it on Thanksgiving day. 

The Thanksgiving Canon Performed
Listen to This Stunning Worship Song


Thanksgiving Canon is On This Album
Thanksgiving Canon

I was a lifelong Girl Scout, who camped out every month for years, singing campfire songs into the late evening under the moon and stars. Those are some of my favorite memories. Lots of faves on this CD.




Thy mercies have been numberless;
Thy love, Thy grace, Thy care,
Were wider than our utmost need,
and higher than our prayer.
~O King of Kings



Here is the Thanksgiving Canon by Itself to Download
Thanksgiving Canon






With grateful heart
My thanks I bring,
Before the Great
Thy praise I sing;
I worship in Thy Holy place
And praise Thee
For Thy truth and grace;
For truth and grace
Together shine
In Thy most Holy Word Divine,
In Thy most Holy Word Divine.
~ Psalms 138


Thanksgiving is a wonderful holiday and I wish it would be adopted worldwide. How wonderful to be thankful, if only for a day!

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 6, 2016

When You Have An American Heart - A World of Good

Find American Heart by Faith Hill Here
And More Inspirational Songs About America Here

Stand Beside Her and Guide Her

"From the small town Friday night lights, to the Broadway neon burning up bright, We're all the same and it's in our veins, A spirit that you can't keep down, A fire inside that'll never burn out if you are the owner of an American Heart" (Lyrics from American Heart by Faith Hill)

America The Good Representing a World of Good

The inspirational song by Faith Hill, American Heart, reminds us about not only the good in America, but also in people who proudly call themselves members of the free world.

Free speech, compassion, human rights and the collective good remain a constant work in progress and as a Canadian, like my brother and sister Americans, I'm blessed to be a part of it.

As people of earth, our diversity along with our sameness are the weights that create the balance. It's cliche, but it really is our differences that teach us and our common ground that unites us.

As an example, even with a physical border between Canada and the USA, the earth doesn't shift when you place a foot on one side or the other: Stand on one side, or stand on the other, I'll venture a guess our aspirations are fundamentally the same; those being prosperity, peace and the pursuit of happiness.

We all know Canadians and Americans share the longest peaceful border on planet earth. This speaks loudly about the people who inhabit both sides of this man-made invisible line.

The most successful friends on the planet have earned a few bragging rights and the Oscar should go to the people of both countries, not our governments. For it's the people who set the pace in a free country; it's people who push governments one way or another, and in a free world governments reflect who we are.

Belting out the lyrics of American Heart, Faith Hill sings these inspirational words 'We're all the Same'. The song is speaking to the soul that makes up America. Today I'll push these worthy sentiments forward to encompass my own country, and even further out to wrap these words of hope around the planet.

When times get tough, play Faith Hill's song American Heart full blast:

Cause it beats like a drum down in New Orleans
Sings like a Motown Melody,
It dreams like California,
Bigger than a Texas sky,
it Bleeds,
it Scars,
it Shines when Times get Hard,
and you can't break an American Heart..

(Lyrics from American Heart)



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 23, 2016

The Ideal Upbeat Wedding Song - You'll Love This One!

Find Autograph by Dallas Smith Here
 Plus More Dallas Smith Songs!

Review of a Wedding or Engagement Song

If you're looking for an Upbeat Wedding Song that conveys just the right message in words from him to her, then you'll want to check this one out...

This very catchy tune is by popular Canadian Country Music Artist, Dallas Smith.

I'm a Dallas Smith fan, so introducing you to his latest hit song is my pleasure!

This wedding song is about his wanting to 'change your autograph'. Women's Lib aside for a minute, how sweet is that! 

Of course some of us don't change our autograph when we marry and that's perfectly fine.

This song simply celebrates his attraction and love for her to the point that he wants to 'change her autograph so everybody knows that he's the lucky one'. 

Autograph is the prelude of emotion before he puts a ring on it: He sees her, and like the true passion that love can be, the song expresses how he wants to share his name with her.
Autograph by Dallas Smith
"I'd change your autograph
I'd put my name on you
And I'd put a big old ring on your left hand
so everybody knew
that I'm the lucky one
With heaven on my arm,
sun's going down
Edge of town
one knee on the ground
I'd change your autograph" 



Listen to More Wedding Song Choices Here

Enjoy!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, July 24, 2016

5 Personal Choice Country Songs that are Easy to Sing

Read about More Songs at The Heart of Country Music
Review Your Own Talent...Did you sing any Songs?
How did you do, were they easy?
This list is purely based on personal choice, so you may not find these songs the ones you would choose!

Just wanted to give you a heads up in case you're gasping in shock at what I've deemed 'easier'.
Let's face it, if in your own opinion you can't sing, there isn't a country song that can fix that. But, if you like to hum a country tune for fun, give these a try :)

I've selected the song videos with lyrics so you can have your own private karaoke session right here while you're reading.

Don't be shy either; If you haven't heard the song before, listen to it once, then on the second run through, sing along and judge for yourself.

Stay by Sugarland - A Beautiful, Heartbreaking Song - Jennifer Nettles Singing, with Kristian Bush on Guitar

A Song About Infidelity - In the Key of A & uses the Chords D,A,Em,G,F#m, and Bm


There's just Jennifer and the guitar in this song, and it's spectacular. 

If the song is in your key, with only a guitar, you may find it an easier song to sing. Apparently, Kristian Bush' brother is playing the Organ as well, but I have to be honest, I hadn't noticed that. If an acoustic song is your thing, be sure to try this one out.

Jennifer Nettles wrote Stay completely on her own. She tells the full story of how the song came to be on CMT (Country Music Television). She explains how she wanted to write a song from the perspective of the mistress versus the traditional position of the wife being cheated on.
In 2009 Stay Won the Grammy for Best Country Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal, and Best Country Song

Stay was released as the fourth single on Sugarland's album 'Enjoy the Ride' - The album came out in November 2006, and Stay, was released in September of 2007. The song sold nearly 2,000,000 copies as of April 2013 and was certified Platinum.

The Video for the Song is a very simple presentation of Jennifer singing, however it still earned a number ten spot on CMT's Hundred Greatest Videos.

This Kiss, by Faith Hill - Sing a Happy, Bouncy Country Song!

The Key of E Major - Notes in E Major: A, B, C#/Db, D#/Eb, E, F#/Gb, G#/Ab , and the Chords in E Major: E, F#m, G#m, A, B, C#m, D#dim


What makes this song so much fun to sing is the way the lyrics flow together, especially the chorus where the main words have several syllables: 'it's centrifugal motion, it's perpetual bliss, it's that pivotal moment, it's subliminal'. If you like a bouncy sound with phrasing that alternates quite a bit within a song, then you'll probably enjoy singing this one. The slight changes in pace and the way the words tell a story, makes 'This Kiss' a terrific good mood song to sing!

This Kiss by Faith Hill Became a Very Popular Cross Over Country Hit

It was number one on the US and Canadian Country Charts as well as receiving numerous other accolades from many other countries. It reached number 13 in the UK Singles Chart, 52 on the German Chart, and 4th in Australia.

Crazy, by Patsy Cline is Crazy Good and I'll Venture a Guess that Almost Everyone Who Knows the Song has Tried to Sing It !

Chords in the Key C - With 12 Key Variation


Just adding this song to the page has caused me to start singing it endlessly! For those of us who categorize this song as 'easy to sing' I'll say it's because of it's crisp, clean easy flowing music and lyrics. There aren't too many surprising changes of direction. Although, to really sing the crap out of this, some god given talent comes in handy!

The Story Behind How 'Crazy' Was First Introduced to Patsy Cline, is Fascinating!

Patsy Cline's song, Crazy, was composed by Willie Nelson. She chose the song as the follow up to 'I Fall to Pieces' and the song helped to further propel her cross over fan base.

Apparently Willie Nelson, who was a struggling artist at the time, convinced Patsy's husband, Charlie Dick, to have Patsy listen to the song. Because the demo featured the song by Willie as mostly speaking the lyrics off the beat, Patsy hated the song! However, the song was rearranged as a ballad to become the hit we know today.

The House that Built Me, by Miranda Lambert

The Key of F Major


What I find nice about this song is the slightly lower tones in the verses and the way song peaks higher in the chorus. Sounds typical of most songs but the way this song makes the key changes makes me personally feel comfortable singing it.

The emotion and story attached to it also makes it an easy song to connect to as well. Of course, any song where you have a connection to the lyrics, you're automatically going to sing better. 

This song is about a girl all grown who goes back to her family home, now owned by another family, and asks if she could have one more look around...she says, I won't take nothin' but a memory. If these words reflect your life story, then you'll enjoy putting your heart into this song.

'The House that Built Me' was Planned for Blake Shelton to Record, Until Miranda Lambert Heard it

The song was released in March of 2010 on her third album, Revolution. It turned out to be the fastest rising single to date of her career. By the 12th week of it's release it was Miranda's first number 1 hit on the U.S. Billboard Country Charts. It stayed there for four weeks as well. The song went Platinum.
Miranda Lambert received a Grammy for this song at the 53rd Annual Grammy Awards in 2011 for Best Female Country Vocal Performance for the song.

Temporary Home by Carrie Underwood - A Song with a With a Spiritual Message

In the Key of C Major


What's most beautiful to sing about this song is the message.

It's a passionate song telling a story of difficult plights using showing that each journey is our Temporary Home - A little boy's temporary home in foster care, a mother and child in a temporary home seeking shelter, and the last most powerful verse, a dad on his dying bed in the hospital saying goodbye to his daughter explaining that this was simply his temporary home. 

If you're looking for a song, and feel comfortable singing in the key of C major, then you'll find this one a beautiful song to try.

Carrie Underwood was Inspired by the Book 'The Purpose Driven Life' by Pastor Rick Warren - In the book he states, our human existence is simply 'our temporary home'

The song was released in December of 2009 and was the Second Single from her Third Album, 'Play On'.
Carrie Underwood is a spiritual person and her heart is poured into this song with tremendous emotion.The song manages to avoid being preachy by showing people's tough life circumstances in a way that ultimately leads to hope, no matter the struggle.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, February 22, 2016

Whale Music Book Review

Whale Music Book Review
Sex, drugs and rock and roll. After reading the innocent sounding title, Whale Music, you might be surprised to find that this book has all of those things and more.  In the end, however, it turns out to be an interesting story of betrayal, of breaking away and of redemption.

Penthouse magazine called Whale Music, "The best novel written about rock 'n' roll."

In his award-winning book, Whale Music, Paul Quarrington tells the story of a successful rock star turned recluse, of the path that took him there and of his current reality.

"Naked, rich and fabulously deranged, he subsists on a steady diet of whiskey, pharmaceuticals and jelly doughnuts and occasionally works on his masterpiece, Whale Music."

If the plot line sounds familiar at all, that could be because it is based on a real person. My book club read this book and wondered aloud during our discussion if it was based on someone in real life and, as it turns out and according to Quarrington's own words, it was.

Whale Music was loosely based on the life and times of Brian Wilson of Beach Boys fame. Quarrington said that the book came after he thought, "I bet I can construct a set of circumstances where scurrying under the blankies and hiding your head for a year is the most sane and the most rational response to what's going on." Wilson is rumoured to have said that it is the best book that he has read about the Beach Boys. You can hear the author discuss Whale Music on CBC by clicking here.

Being the winner of prestigious literary awards like the Stephen Leacock award and the Governor General's award does not necessarily make a book one that you would recommend though I will admit to eventually being taken in my Quarrington's main character, Des Howell. However, I also spent much of the booking waiting to see what was going to happen. In the end, I did want to know whether Howell survived or even emerged from his destructive lifestyle and what happened to his alien friend.

Would I recommend this book? Well, I am not sure. If you have a keen interest in the lives of the rich and famous, yes I would though remember that this book is fiction. Other caveats are the drugs and alcohol though if sad I did not find them very disturbing to read. Also, you will have to be able to overlook numerous references to sex though I no longer remember if any actually took place in the book. Certainly they were not described in great detail, which makes the sex in this book tame, if you can say that though certainly referenced a lot. If you want an easy-to-read though because of the subject matter not exactly fluffy book that is often times funny, yes and it was funny from the very first lines...

"There is a toe sticking out from underneath a green blanket on my living room sofa..."

You can read more about Whale Music on Amazon by clicking right here.

Happy Reading!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

Quick Links:

Read more about Paul Quarrington in this CTV article that appeared after he passed away in 2010.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 19, 2016

Reviewing Music by Don Francisco - Christian Singer, Songwriter & Musician

Do You Know this Man's Name?
https://reviewthispersonalreviews.blogspot.com/
Music has been a driving force in my life for as long as I can remember.  Over the years, many singers and their songs have touched my heart and they have left an indelible mark.  But, there are a few who have touched my soul.  Their lyrics have spoken to the very deepest part of my being.

One such writer who has the ability to write a song with such simplicity, but with great depth, is Don Francisco.  I first heard him sing in the 70's, but his music and songs still play in my head.  I raised my children singing his "Lullaby" to them at bedtime.  There have been times when my faith was bolstered by recalling the lessons his lyrics teach.  Then there were other times when I was able to remember a bible story because I remembered his song.

While he may not have received tremendous accolades on this earth, his voice or style may not appeal to everyone, and his name may not be a household word, there is no question he will receive rewards in heaven.  His voice is pleasing to God and the only One who matters in the end knows his name.

If you have never heard of him, let me introduce you.  If you already know who he is, enjoy the memories by listening to his music below.   

I have included 7 different music videos in this article.  You may not have time to listen to all of them right now, so be sure to bookmark this article and return to listen to them one at a time, when you have time.

Oh, I should tell you, he writes all of his own music. 


Lullaby by Don Francisco 


This is the lullaby I referred to earlier in the introduction.

Even as an adult, I appreciate the reminder that Christ is right here with me while I sleep.  I love the line "With the peace that Jesus brings."   It is only with these assurances that I find rest myself.




The Best Known Song by Don Francisco ~ "He's Alive" 


This is the song that first draw my attention to Don Francisco.  He opened a concert for the Gaithers once when I was in attendance and this song received a standing ovation.  Honestly, I think he stole the show. 

It is a song that describes the events that followed the crucifixion of Christ.  It is told from the stand point of the disciple, Peter.   So many of us can identify with Peter.




Why I Admire Don Francisco


There are several reasons, aside from writing wonderful lyrics, that I admire Don Francisco. 

He has a very unassuming presence when he sings.  Usually it is only Don and his guitar sitting on a stool center stage.  No major production, no fancy costumes, no theatrical presentation, just a jean clad regular guy praising God. 

His wife, Wendy, often accompanies him.  Not just in person, but also on the guitar.  He doesn't look to the crowd for reassurance or praise for himself.  As a matter of fact, I don't know if he even looks at the crowd but he still somehow connects with them. 



 

One of my Favorites ~ "I Don't Care Where You've Been Sleeping" 


This song is now one of my favorites.  I remember my first thoughts about this song vividly, I thought it was shocking

My favorite bible verses can be found in Psalms 139.  Frankly, I love the whole chapter, but there is one verse that says "If I make my bed in Sheol, behold, Thou art there."  

Once I made the association between the scripture and the song, I readily embraced the lyrics. 

Oh, so many people need to hear this message:  "There's no sin you could imagine that is stronger than My love"





Teaching with Lyrics ~ Balaam


This song lays out the story of Balaam's encounter with an angel in a way that is easy to follow and memorize.  Believe me when I say, if you don't know the story of Balaam before you hear the song, you will never forget it after you hear this song.

You catch a real glimpse of Don Francisco's wit in this song.  The deliverance of the song and story is lighthearted, fun and humorous, but scripturally accurate.   What I love most about this bible story is that God used an animal to deliver His message.





The Storyteller ~ Adam Where Are You? 


In this song Don Francisco shows his remarkable ability to "string a phrase" and tell a story. 

This is one of those songs that tell the story so well that in my mind I can just envision the scenes unfolding and my heart breaks for God and Adam.

I also know He continues to call out to all of us.  






Too Small A Price by Don Francisco 


If you don't have the time to listen to any or all of the others songs featured here now, at least Listen to this one!

This song is written from the perspective of the thief on the cross next to Christ.  

There are several messages in this song.  I suspect which one speaks to you will depend on where you are in life.  Over the last 40 years of listening to this song, I can tell you from experience, perspective matters.  The message I heard when I was a teenager was different than the one I hear today due to the verse and lyrics that capture my focus. 


 

 

Albums by Don Francisco

Don Francisco has a number of albums that he has recorded. These are the albums that include the songs featured in this article. 




Reviewing Music by Don Francisco was Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, December 26, 2015

Bose Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones Review

Available on Amazon


The best way to listen to the new music gifts you received this holiday – without interruption and interference by other noises – is with a pair of noise cancelling headphones


Why we like the Bose Headphones


A few years ago, a gift to ourselves was the Bose Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones. There are other brands out there, but after doing our research we were sold on these made by Bose.


Many people are interested in using noise cancelling headphones to reduce unwanted and distracting noise when listening to music and other audio performances. We wanted that too, but for a slightly different reason. Since reaching 'grandparent age' we discovered that the unwanted noise around us was more than just a distraction to the music we were listening to. We actually were having trouble "hearing" the music. Older 'ears' just couldn't hear as well!


For whatever reason you might choose a noise cancelling headphone set, we think you would be very pleased with the innovative combination of the best noise reduction technology and the best headphone audio performance of the QuietComfort Acoustic Noise Cancelling headphones by Bose


Bose Headphones come in various sizes and styles

Bose Headphone Sets


There is a headphone style to suit everyone!


We chose the Bose headphones that fully cover your ears as it eliminates almost all extraneous noise. But many styles are available to suit any activity. A smaller and lighter version is great for airline travel for working on a laptop computer or listening to music during flight. There are 'around-the-ear' headphones like ours, in-ear headphones and the on-ear style. 


Singing Along to the Music... While Listening to our Bose Headphones


My husband, Bob liked to lie down on the couch with his headphones on, while listening to his favorite music. Often he would 'sing along', and have his eyes closed. The Bose headphones shut out extraneous noises so well, he couldn't hear me call him. I'd have to touch him on the shoulder to get his attention.

I'm introducing hubby with this image of a Monkey DJ because he was a broadcaster during his working career, beginning with DJ work at radio stations.

The monkey image is from his long-time joke when asked what he wanted for our first expected child - a boy or a girl - and his answer was ~ 'a chimpanzee!' :-)



Our Bose Headphones work great with the Bose Portable CD Player

 

Bose PM-1 Portable CD Player

When we ordered our Bose headphones, we also ordered the Bose Model PM-1 Portable Compact Disc Player. Bose headphones will plug into a number of audio devices, but since we did not have a portable CD player at the time, we decided to get this one from Bose, along with the headphones. It is a nice set and has given us many hours of listening pleasure.


Listening to our Music...

Our Favorite Sounds - Folk Music - From the '60s!

 


Available on Amazon


Among the many vintage LPs, music tapes and CDs we own, a large percentage are of folk artists from the era of our college days ~ yep, the late 50s to mid 60s!  The music CD here "The Golden Age of American Popular Music - The Folk Hits" has selections covering our most favorite era, the top folk songs from 1958 to 1966.  On this CD are many of our favorite artists of that time, along with the songs that were highly popular, reaching Billboard's Hot 100 list.  The list contains songs such as If I Had A Hammer by Peter, Paul & Mary, Tom Dooley by The Kingston Trio (our all-time favorite folk group), Michael (Row the Boat Ashore) by the Highwaymen, and OUR SONG (Greenfields by The Brothers Four). We know every word to every song!

The Doobie Brothers - Listen to the Music

 

 


My favorite music is 1960s Folk Music.  What's your favorite music? Listen to it with ease and high quality sound with a Bose headphone. 

The Sound Quality of the Bose Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones is.... Out of this World!


 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 6, 2015

Begin Again - A Movie Worth Watching

Begin Again - DVD on Amazon
It's all about FEELING, You'll Feel from the beginning to the end, And When it Ends you'll Want More

Begin Again starring Keira Knightley and Mark Ruffalo and featuring Adam Levine, transports you to a place where the ugliness of personal mistakes takes a back seat while you become a participant in the artist's musical lives. The music is the focus; the characters follow, and it all works. 
If along with realism, music and art, you intimately understand the hidden mystique of a city, you'll feel even more from this movie
The story centers around the once Grammy Award winning success, but currently down-on-his-luck character Dan Mulligan, played by Ruffalo, meeting a recently heart broken yet fiercely independent singer-songwriter, Gretta James played by Knightley. They decide to make an outdoor album with each song performed in different locations of New York City, making this the energy that fuels the music. The city's heart automatically beats with the music and although the city isn't directly a dramatized focal point, it's pulsating imperfections connects every aspect to the characters.

If you're drawn to movies that depict the intimate flaws of people, but can still manage to ooze beauty via the complex backdrop of urban discommodity and the souls within, this one wins.

Some Movie Facts:
  • Begin Again premiered in September 2013 at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF)
  • Keira Knightley learned to sing and play guitar for the movie
  • The song 'Lost Stars' was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Original Song
  • Fans of The Voice will remember Adam Levine performing Lost Stars with Season 7 finale contestant Matt McAndrew
  • The soundtrack for the movie was released in June 2014 with most of the songs performed by Knightley and Levine.
Lost Stars, a magnificent song, is now part of my personal playlist. Here's the video of Adam Levine performing Lost Stars, from the scene in the movie:

Personally Speaking: Begin Again, is now ranked as one of my top ten all time favorite movies. Mark Ruffalo's character is powerful; also one of my favorite actors... as I also appreciate what he stands for off-screen.

by Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Drageda.com - Owner



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON: