Showing posts with label music. Show all posts
Showing posts with label music. Show all posts

Tuesday, February 14, 2023

A Valentine's Day Music Collection

Looking for some romance music for Valentine's Day or another romantic occasion like a wedding? Take inspiration from this review.

If you are looking for romantic Valentine's Day music, look no further. Take inspiration from this review of a few Valentine's Day music ideas. It includes a couple of my favorite soundtracks that are available on compact disc and a a couple of others that sound fantastic. I have arranged my picks by release date. Enjoy.

FRENCH KISS SOUNDTRACK (1995)

An excellent soundtrack from the romantic comedy, French Kiss.

French Kiss is a great movie that also has a beautiful soundtrack with light pop music. The movie a very popular romantic comedy starring Meg Ryan and Kevin Kline. It features a variety of artists that you will recognize, including Van Morrison, Ella Fitzgerald and Zucchero. Find your copy of the French Kiss soundtrack here on Amazon.

CHOCOLATE SOUNDTRACK (2000)    


Discover the Chocolat movie soundtrack. A lovely, instrumental recording perfect for Valentine's Day or any romantic dinner.

I will admit, I am biased because I thoroughly enjoyed the movie Chocolat but, regardless of whether or not you have seen the movie, if you appreciate instrumental music, you will find this soundtrack beautiful. The movie starred Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp and the CD transports you to the setting of the movie, small town France. It is a perfect backdrop for your Valentine's Day dinner.  Released in 2001, it contains about 40 minutes of perfectly romantic music. Find your copy of the Chocolat soundtrack here on Amazon.

DISNEY'S FAIRY TALE WEDDINGS (2005)


For young and old, this instrumental CD offers up some familiar Disney songs for Valentine's Day.

Another instrumental collection, people who love Disney's love stories will enjoy this compilation. It includes songs from Beauty and the Beast, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Lady and the Tramp and numerous other Disney shows. Whether you listen to this on a CD or through Amazon's streaming service, would be great background music for Valentine's Day. Find Disney's Fairy Tale Weddings here on Amazon.

MARTINA MCBRIDE'S MY HEART (2005)


Martina McBride's My Heart (2005) is perfect for Valentine's Day or romantic music.

Martina McBride’s CD My Heart was released by Hallmark for Valentine’s Day in 2005. It features eight romantic songs that were picked by McBride herself. Some are her own songs; others, covers. This CD is shorter than some but it was quite successful upon its release. McBride sounds lovely in this compilation, which is good for Valentine’s Day and any other romantic occasion even a wedding. If you want to add it to your collection note that I found a better selection of this CD from sellers on eBay. Look for Martina McBride's My Heart here on eBay.

VALENTINE'S DAY SOUNDTRACK (2010)


The Valentine’s Day movie soundtrack includes 18 songs from the 2010 movie of the same name.

Released slightly more recently in 2010, the soundtrack to the Valentine's Day movie is another great choice. The movie included a wide variety of popular actors including Julia Roberts, Jamie Foxx and Anne Hathaway. The CD includes recordings from a wide variety of artists who you will recognize including the likes of Taylor Swift, Willie Nelson, Jewel, Amy Winehouse, Nat King Cole and Maroon 5. Find your copy of the Valentine's Day soundtrack here on Amazon.

NOW THAT'S WHAT I CALL A LOVE SONG (2023)


Perfect for Valentine's Day, Here's the new Now Music compilation called Now That's What I Call A Love Song!

Definitely the newest in this series, this set was released in February of 2023 from the people who have presented more than 110 CDs in the NOW Music series. This compilation is packed with new and old love songs by artists you know including but not limited to the likes of Ed Sheeran, Fugees, Sam Smith, Celine Dion, Whitney Houston, Elton John, Sting, Billy Joel, Norah Jones, Seal, Lana Del Ray, Kacey Musgraves, Nelly Furtado, Miley Cyrus, Dua Lipa, Ariana Grande, Kylie Minogue, Little Mix, Justin Bieber, John Mayer, Cold Play, Pretenders, Robbie Williams and Christina Aguilera. I think this one would make great listening for anyone but would be especially fun for a mixed generation gathering since it presents something for everyone. Find your copy of Now That's What I Call A Love Song here on Amazon. If you want a mix of music that includes today's artists, this is the compilation for you.

Do you have any favorite Valentine's Day music?

Happy Valentine's Day!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

QUICK LINKS:

Love chocolate and France? You will enjoy the movie Chocolat!

Yes, I love French Kiss. Learn more here.









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, March 28, 2021

3 Inspirational Songs to Sing When Your Spirit Needs A Boost


Today's review is about finding peace in a busy and often chaotic world.

When my soul needs a boost, I sing. At night, I'll play various lyric videos and blast out every word as loud as I choose.

I've long since stopped being self-conscious about it. My boys hear me singing all the time. I actually love that they hear their mother singing; I like to think I'm teaching them to be brave. It's also a way for them to see me making time to feed the soul.

For two years now, I've actively taken steps to balance in my mind, body, and spirit

For the body, I've lost over 60 pounds on Keto

For the mind, I've written nine books in a year, and for my spirit, I sing and listen to this spiritual channel on YouTube

No, I'm not superwoman. I turned 60 in 2020 and made a decision that, before that monumental milestone birthday, I was going to tick off some boxes on my 'get-er-done beyatch' list. 

So I stopped the talk, and walked the walk.

Today I'd like to pass along some of my personal choice lyric videos. Sing along, or just enjoy the words and message.

1. Don't Give Up on Me by Andy Grammer

This is a bounce-in-your-chair song. There's a section of lyric I use as inspiration to continue writing my riddle books. At 60, I'm just getting started, so yah, don't give on me. If you're viewing via mobile, the lyric video is here.
"Cause I'm not givin' up,
I'm not givin' up, givin up, no, not yet,
Even when I'm down to my last breath
Even when they say there's nothing' left,
So don't give up on me"

 

2. You Say by Lauren Daigle

This is one of the most famous Christian songs to reach number one on the Hot Christian Songs chart. It stayed there for 113 weeks, and that alone was a record. It also charted on the Billboard Top 100, Contemporary Chart, and the Mainstream and Adult Top 40 charts.

This song is my anthem for handing over my issues to a higher power. It reminds me what's possible when I let go and simply believe in a greater purpose. Mostly, it humbles me. I'm sure you've heard it. If not, be sure to listen; it's a gorgeous song. If you're reading this via mobile, the video is here.
"You say I am loved when I can't feel a thing,
you say I am strong when I think I am weak,
And you say I am held, when I am falling short,
and when I don't belong, oh you say I am Yours,
And I believe, oh I believe
What you say to me, oh I believe,
Taking all I have and now I'm laying it at your feet,
you have every failure God, You have every victory" 

3. The Most Beautiful Things, by Tenille Townes

When you need a song that reminds you of how small yet significant we all are, this is the go-to spiritual fix. This song is my universal remote for traveling away from earthly problems. If you're reading this via mobile, the video is here.
" So why do we close our eyes,
when we pray, cry, kiss, dream,
Maybe the most beautiful things in this life
are felt, and never seen"


Spiritual Medicine

We're all struggling in one way or another. I fight darkness with light. 

In 2013, the year my father died, I decided to find my way through darkness, fear, and especially over-thinking by learning more about what lives on when we physically don't. As mentioned above, it's this YouTube channel that guided me out, and I believe, through.

One particular video struck me with how dark energy (whatever you want to call it) tries to feed on us around the clock. We need tools in our toolbox to fight back. Repeating Psalm23 was one suggestion. You can select anything spiritual to repeat.

As soon as my thoughts tailspin into a whirlpool of 'what-ifs", I repeat Psalm23 in my mind. In fact, I've written it on a card and placed it near my computer. When darkness creeps in, I read the card. Sometimes I'll simply repeat the first few lines over and over until the dark path my thoughts were heading to disappears.

There's a saying that "95% of what we worry about never happens". With that in mind, I work to turn that 95% into positive thought.

Here's a video written and created by me in January 2020 to celebrate light and love. If you're viewing via mobile, here's the video link.



Blessings to you and your family for this coming Easter weekend.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Mamma Mia Movie Review

I was a teenager in the '70s and of course, loved the music. In 1972 the Swedish group ABBA became popular. Their music topped the charts worldwide from 1974 to 1982. ABBA's music is so uplifting and is such feel-good music.

In 1999 a successful broadway musical hit the stage "Mamma Mia" the name of ABBA's 1975 top hit. The Broadway Musical became a hit that has since played in 40 countries and all 6 continents and has incorporated so many of ABBA's hit songs.

Mamma Mia came to theaters in Toronto in 2000. We live in Western New York so it was easy for us to get there in 2003. Watching this Broadway Musical live was just amazing. The music of ABBA was so fantastic and uplifting. Their music just gives me that all over good feeling.

Mamma Mia Movie Review


mamma mia movie cd cover

In 2008 the Broadway Musical was adapted into a movie. After seeing the Broadway Musical there was no way that I was going to miss this movie. 

Movie Plot:

The story is about Donna played by (Meryl Streep), and her daughter Sophie played by (Amanda Seyfried).

Donna and Sophie live on a small Greek Island. Donna owns a villa and tries to run it as a hotel, unsuccessfully. Sophie is about to be married and would love that her father is able to walk her down the aisle. The only problem is that Sophie has no idea who her father is.

Sophie sneaks a peek at Donna's old diary. She finds the names of three men that her mother was intimate with from her mother's younger days. Sophie is convinced that of these three men is her father. 

Sophie sends wedding invitations to all three men and signs her mother's name, in hopes that she will know her father once she gets to spend some time with him.

The three men arrive on the island, Sam Carmichael the architect played by (Pierce Brosnan), Harry Bright the British banker played by (Colin Firth), and Bill Anderson the Swedish sailor, traveler, and writer played by (Stellan Skarsgard).

Sophie explains to the three that she is the one who sent the invitations in hopes of finding out who her father is. I'll stop here just in case you haven't seen Mamma Mia. Trust me, this movie is full of laughs and the amazing music of ABBA.

Ten years later in 2018, a sequel was released. "Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again" Featuring most of the original cast and some surprise superstars. The sequel starts out in present-day but reflects back on Donna's life and how she ended up on the island and how she met her three lovers.

Both of these movies are worth the time. They are filled with laughter and ABBA's upbeat and feel-good music.

Just in case you don't remember, here is the original 1975 hit Mamma Mia by ABBA



I'm sure these two movies are streaming on Netflix or Amazon Prime. If not you can buy the DVD's

 C



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, July 5, 2020

My Three Favorite Songs About America - Music for Your July 4th Weekend

Celebrating July 4th - My three favorite songs about America

As your Canadian neighbor, I've grown up on all things Canadian and American. It's always been the music that had me at hello - from both of our countries.

I was a young child in the 1960s, and a teenager in the 1970s and honestly feel for people who didn't get to live in those decades, lol: The clothes, the hair, the music, the tv shows! Before there was internet, bank cards, and cell phones - it was the best!

My Three Favorite Songs About America - Spanning Mulitple Decades

1. America The Beautiful

The first time I heard America The Beautiful was in the late 1960s featured in the movie Pollyanna. The song was sung by Haley Mills, and as an 8-year-old, I was utterly mesmerized. I actually had the album from the film and could be heard continually singing America The Beautiful. Pollyanna was originally a 1913 novel written by Eleanor H. Porter and was made into multiple movie versions. The 1960 Disney version of the movie was the one that got me hooked as a little girl.

Here's a Gorgeous Rendition of America The Beautiful by The United States Navy Band - Enjoy!



2. America by Neil Diamond

This song still gives me chills! Of course, the first time I heard it was in the 1980 remake of the film classic The Jazz Singer featuring Neil Diamond. If you've never seen this movie, treat yourself! The film stars Neil Diamond, Laurence Olivier, and Luci Arnaz. The video below features the final scene of the movie when Neil Diamond belts out the moving song about the American dream ... America.



3. American Heart by Faith Hill

The song is fantastic, but it's the combination of the video with the song that takes it to the next level. The song was written by Jim Beavers and Jonathan Singleton, and the video features Faith Hill along with 10-year-old T.J. Jones performing a Fred Astaire/Ginger Rogers inspired dance number. The lyrics primarily focus on the resilience of the American heart. It's my favorite country song about America. If you need more songs about America, I've put together a playlist featuring additional country tunes here.




Happy 4th to my American neighbors xxoo




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, December 25, 2019

Merry Christmas and Blessings for a Happy New Year!


Merry Christmas and Blessings for a Happy New Year
Christmas morning has arrived and before all the hustle and bustle begins, I would love for you to take just a moment for you!

Close your eyes, and remember the first time you held your baby.  If you don't have children, the first time you felt that spark of love.

Hold that feeling in your heart for the day and really, really enjoy those around you!

May your Christmas be Blessed, by the Child Jesus in whose name we celebrate Family, Friends and the love we should have for all of our human family.

God Bless you all!

May music fill your heart and soul with the love and peace of the Season!


 Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, November 11, 2019

Freegal Review: Free Music Downloads

The journey through cutting the cable cord continues! It has been a indeed a journey and  cutting the cord is easy. What is not as easy is finding affordable content that is easy to access and user friendly to replace cable content! I happened upon Freegal when researching the free digital content available from my local library.

freegal free music downloads banner


What Is Freegal?

Freegal is a music library offered through your local library. Music can be downloaded for free with a weekly limit of downloads. The music library includes Sony's music catalog and a reported catalog of over 15 million songs. 

How User Friendly Is Freegal?


As you can see below, I am limited to five downloads per week. The number of downloads per user per week is determined by the package purchased by your library.

freegal free music downloads search bar


It is easy to access Freegal. Simply navigate to the Freegal website and log in with your library membership information. Or enter Freegal through your library digital menu with your library membership number.

The Freegal menu for desktop is self explanatory. The songs can be previewed prior to downloading. I did not find the search feature overly helpful for browsing. However, if you are searching for a particular artist versus general browsing the search engine is adequate.

The library can also be accessed with Apps from Google Play and Apple App Store.

freegal free music downloads dashboards
As with any new service or app there is a small learning curve to use the service. Freegal is easy to use and the music can be downloaded easily with the click of the mouse. Check with your local library to see if Freegal is included with your library membership.

Cutting the cable has been an interesting experience. Freegal is the third service reviewed which offers free content. The search for additional user friendly and robust sources of free content continues!

Where To Find Free Content For Cord Cutters

hoopla dashboard


Hoopla - Hoopla offers free books, movies and television shows through your local library.


kanopy banner


Kanopy- Kanopy offers free movies with an emphasis on Indie films and documentaries.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, February 17, 2019

A Country Song About Homelessness - A Moving Reflection in Words

A moving, empathic country song about homeless
Somebody's Daughter by Tenille Townes - A Song Review

I love the rasp and uplifting ache in Tenille Townes's voice as she sings this song. The story and lyrics clearly depict a person whose life wasn't easy. It reminds us that, except for our circumstances, we're all the same.

This country song is about homelessness. It's about those moments we pass by someone at an intersection holding up a cardboard sign asking for money for help.
"Oh I don't know the reasons why I'm the one whose driving by and she's the one on the corner of 18th street...bet she was somebody's best friend, back when she was somebody's sister counting change at the lemonade stand"
This mid-tempo song will touch your soul.


I remember first hearing it on the radio in my kitchen, and because I wasn't listening very closely to the lyrics, the song passed me by without notice. For me, ninety-nine percent of the time, it's the story first, the music second.

The next time I heard the song, I happened to be driving. Then I took the time to listen to the story behind the words.

The Inspiration Behind Tenille Townes Writing This Song

The tune was inspired during a drive Tenille Townes took with her mom in Nashville, Tennessee. They saw a homeless person standing with a sign and began wondering about this person's life story. Personally, I've wondered the same myself. I suspect that's the reason this song touched me so deeply.
The song reminds us that "she was somebody's best friend, somebody's first kiss, somebody's daughter".
What do We Do When We See Someone Standing With a Cardboard Sign Asking for Help?

Many times I've handed out a bit of money. People have told me, "oh, that's a con, they're lazy, they're not deserving." I'm sorry, but the onus is not on me to prove their truth. The recipient has to deal with the validity of the situation. I'm not prepared to conclude that everyone who does this isn't being honest. I believe most are genuinely suffering. I would rather be kind than be judgemental about that situation, but that's me. I just give; you never know who you've helped.

Who is Tenille Townes

Tenille Townes is a rising Canadian Country Music Artist from Grand Prairie, Alberta, Canada. In 2011 she was nominated at 17 years old for Canadian Country Music Female Artist of the Year. Her career is off and running. In 2018 she opened for Miranda Lambert and Little Big Town on The Bandwagon Tour. 

Her Grand Ole Opry Debut

She's also recently enjoyed the honor of performing at the Grand Ole Opry. That was a big deal for her family and friends! Watch and listen to Tenille Townes in her own words, describe her amazing experience. She's a class act.




Big Hearts for Big Kids - Her Cause
In over nine years, she's raised $1.5+ million dollars for Sunrise House, a shelter for homeless youth in Alberta Canada. A cause she generously dedicates her time and name to.

Here's a brief video on her 2018 Fundraiser, Big Hearts for Big Kids:



Homelessness - The Stats and Where to Learn More 

It's roughly estimated that between 150,000 and 300,000 people in Canada are homeless at some given time. In 2017 approximately 5 million people in Canada lived in poverty. Canadians can learn more about homelessness and what can be done here at The Homeless Hub.

According to Voa.org, in the United States in 2017, approximately 553,000 Americans were homeless on a given night, 40 million struggled with hunger, and 40.6 million officially lived in poverty. The US population is about 325 million. To learn more about poverty in the USA and how you can help, visit Voa.org/homeless-people.

"I believe those who suffer the most teach us the most" - by me
.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, January 18, 2018

Hobby Time from the Review This! Contributors


A collage of Hobby articles from ReviewThisReviews


hob·by - an activity done regularly in one's leisure time for pleasure. 

January is known as National Hobby Month.   The contributing writers here on Review This! each have their favorite ways to enjoy a relaxing pursuit and have written many reviews of various how-to books, crafting supplies and DIY tutorials, gardening tips, recipes & kitchen aids for the cook, photography lessons, reading or listening to music, sports, and a host of other hobbies. 

These are but a few of the hobbies enjoyed by the Review This crew. The list of hobbies is almost endless.  If you are interested in looking for what we writers here have reviewed, type in the name of your 'hobby' either in the box in the top left-hand corner of any Review This page, or in the search box down the right-hand side. By looking at the author's name, you won't have any problem figuring out which HOBBY is each writers' favorite! For instance, mine  (Wednesday Elf) is crochet and my hobby is shared by several other contributors here, so we learn and share with each other. A more comprehensive list is shown below.


National Hobby Month


A collage of hobbies


Begun by the Hobby Guild of America in 1955,  National Hobby Month was celebrated in April until 1976, then in October until 1986.  Since then, it has been celebrated during the month of January. 

January was most likely chosen for National Hobby Month as it is the beginning of a new year and a good time to start a new hobby.  Many people have never had hobbies during their working years or while raising a family and begin one in their retirement or after the children are grown.  Others try many hobbies throughout their life before finding one or two that gives them the most enjoyment. 


Hobby Examples on Review This!


A collection of Hobby words

Hobbies can be passive (such as crafting, reading, writing, listening to music or watching a movie) or an activity such as gardening, cooking or participating in sports. Many people have more than one hobby and often combine them, such as listening to music while crafting. 

In addition to writing reviews here on Review This!, most of the contributing writers here write for their own blogs and websites.  Writers consider writing to be more work than hobby, so time away from writing is important. That's where the activities done in our leisure time become such a pleasure. It is also interesting to note that the passion we feel for our hobbies is shown in many of the subjects we write about.


  • Barbara Tremblay Cipak (Brite-Ideas) is crazy about country music and frequently writes about the artists and their music she is so passionate about.  She is also loves to experiment with color in home d├ęcor. 
  • Dawn Rae does crochet and participates in a group of fellow jeep owners.  She also enjoys gardening and lately 'learning about homesteading'.
  • Cynthia Sylvestermouse is a freelance writer and photographer who loves all different kinds of crafts, including crafting in the kitchen, creating fancy cakes and cupcakes. 
  • Barbara (BarbRad) is an expert on books and loves to read.  She is also a nature photographer who most enjoys photographing her central California area. 
  • Mary Beth Granger (MBGphoto) is a fabulous photographer who continually takes photography classes to learn more.  Photography has become her passion in her retirement, along with traveling.  Lighthouses and beaches are her favorite subjects. 
  • Wednesday Elf loves crochet and needlework, watching baseball and reading. 
  • Beverly Owens is busy researching her Native American Indian heritage and loves to write about spirit animals and the wisdom of her ancestors. She also enjoys crocheting. 
  • Olivia Morris loves gardening and following the fashion world.
  • Brenda Little (Treasures By Brenda) collects coffee mugs and researches the history of vintage cups and other vintage items which she shares in her eBay store.  She also loves reading, great movies, cooking, and pop culture. 
  • Diana Wenzel (Renaissance Woman2010) enjoys an off-the-grid lifestyle where she pursues her interests in animal rescue, wonderful nature photography, and DIY projects. She also loves to read. 
  • Louanne Cox (Lou16) loves reading, 80s music, zombies and dolls, among a host of other interests. 
  • Heather Burns (Heather426) is an artist, illustrator and graphic designer. Her hobby is her artistic accomplishments, including the colored pencils she has created for coloring pages and coloring books. 
  • Coletta Teske is a published book author and loves to sew. 
  • Sam Monaco enjoys cooking and he has a passion for preserving old family recipes. These can be found on his blog Sam's Place. He also loves history.
  • Jasmine Ann Marie Annie (Raintree Annie) loves gardening and nature. Her favorite hobby is photography and photographing the wildlife, animals and birds in nature.

These are just the highlights of hobbies and interests I have observed from the articles they publish and the interaction we have as a team here on the staff of Review This!.  I am sure there are other interests each of them have.  


Quick View Home Page


Review This Reviews website Quick View Home Page

By clicking on the Quick View Home Page button at the top of any Review This! page, you will have weekly examples of many of the articles your hobbyists here enjoy (plus many non-hobby reviews).  

Stop by the comments section and tell us your favorite hobby or activity. The Review This! staff would love to hear about what gives you pleasure in your leisure time.

(c) Written by Wednesday Elf on 1/20/2018







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, November 3, 2017

Thanksgiving Canon, A Hymn for the Ages

Thanksgiving Canon~Wondrous Thanksgiving Music!

Thanksgiving Canon worship hymn
Why I am reviewing Thanksgiving Canon: It's my favorite Thanksgiving Hymn and I love to play it this time of year

It's great to play any day you feel like singing a praise song! The notes of Thanksgiving Canon are on the  pentatonic musical scale that is very pleasing to the spirit at the cellular level. Science has now actually  proven this. (with brain scans) So if you listen, you will feel better.

Photo is Autumn Leaves by Pixel Anarchy on Pixabay and can be found here

The Thanksgiving Canon is an old standby and we sang it as a round, ending in a sustained Amen when I was in choir growing up . When I went looking for a video of it for you, the best ones were from the Girl Scouts.

How funny, but understandable, as we sang lots of wonderful uplifting songs in my Girl Scout troop. But I did not know that the Girl Scouts have their own CD's now! So had to spend an afternoon listening to some of their renditions of some old Camping favorites! 

Below is the original sheet music that I saved from an old Choir book. I think it was from 6th grade. 


Thanksgiving Canon sheet music

Enjoy the Thanksgiving Canon and Happy Thanksgiving!


For thy gracious blessings,
For thy wondrous words,
For thy loving kindness,
We give thanks, O Lord.
~Thanksgiving Canon



About Thanksgiving Day

Thanksgiving Day is a holiday celebrated mostly in the United States and Canada. It is celebrated each year on the second Monday of October in Canada and on the fourth Thursday of November in the United States. Thanksgiving in Canada falls on the same day as Columbus Day in the United States. In ancient times, This was the Autumn Equinox festival. Man has always thanked the Creator for the harvest.

And man has always sung to celebrate everything. The Thanksgiving Canon is not only beautiful, but the sound tones are very soothing to your ear and soul. I always play it on Thanksgiving day. 

The Thanksgiving Canon Performed
Listen to This Stunning Worship Song


Thanksgiving Canon is On This Album
Thanksgiving Canon

I was a lifelong Girl Scout, who camped out every month for years, singing campfire songs into the late evening under the moon and stars. Those are some of my favorite memories. Lots of faves on this CD.




Thy mercies have been numberless;
Thy love, Thy grace, Thy care,
Were wider than our utmost need,
and higher than our prayer.
~O King of Kings



Here is the Thanksgiving Canon by Itself to Download
Thanksgiving Canon






With grateful heart
My thanks I bring,
Before the Great
Thy praise I sing;
I worship in Thy Holy place
And praise Thee
For Thy truth and grace;
For truth and grace
Together shine
In Thy most Holy Word Divine,
In Thy most Holy Word Divine.
~ Psalms 138


Thanksgiving is a wonderful holiday and I wish it would be adopted worldwide. How wonderful to be thankful, if only for a day!

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, November 6, 2016

When You Have An American Heart - A World of Good

Find American Heart by Faith Hill Here
And More Inspirational Songs About America Here

Stand Beside Her and Guide Her

"From the small town Friday night lights, to the Broadway neon burning up bright, We're all the same and it's in our veins, A spirit that you can't keep down, A fire inside that'll never burn out if you are the owner of an American Heart" (Lyrics from American Heart by Faith Hill)

America The Good Representing a World of Good

The inspirational song by Faith Hill, American Heart, reminds us about not only the good in America, but also in people who proudly call themselves members of the free world.

Free speech, compassion, human rights and the collective good remain a constant work in progress and as a Canadian, like my brother and sister Americans, I'm blessed to be a part of it.

As people of earth, our diversity along with our sameness are the weights that create the balance. It's cliche, but it really is our differences that teach us and our common ground that unites us.

As an example, even with a physical border between Canada and the USA, the earth doesn't shift when you place a foot on one side or the other: Stand on one side, or stand on the other, I'll venture a guess our aspirations are fundamentally the same; those being prosperity, peace and the pursuit of happiness.

We all know Canadians and Americans share the longest peaceful border on planet earth. This speaks loudly about the people who inhabit both sides of this man-made invisible line.

The most successful friends on the planet have earned a few bragging rights and the Oscar should go to the people of both countries, not our governments. For it's the people who set the pace in a free country; it's people who push governments one way or another, and in a free world governments reflect who we are.

Belting out the lyrics of American Heart, Faith Hill sings these inspirational words 'We're all the Same'. The song is speaking to the soul that makes up America. Today I'll push these worthy sentiments forward to encompass my own country, and even further out to wrap these words of hope around the planet.

When times get tough, play Faith Hill's song American Heart full blast:

Cause it beats like a drum down in New Orleans
Sings like a Motown Melody,
It dreams like California,
Bigger than a Texas sky,
it Bleeds,
it Scars,
it Shines when Times get Hard,
and you can't break an American Heart..

(Lyrics from American Heart)



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, October 23, 2016

The Ideal Upbeat Wedding Song - You'll Love This One!

Find Autograph by Dallas Smith Here
 Plus More Dallas Smith Songs!

Review of a Wedding or Engagement Song

If you're looking for an Upbeat Wedding Song that conveys just the right message in words from him to her, then you'll want to check this one out...

This very catchy tune is by popular Canadian Country Music Artist Dallas Smith.

I'm a Dallas Smith fan, so introducing you to his latest hit song is my pleasure!

This wedding song is about his wanting to 'change your autograph.' Women's Lib aside for a minute, how sweet is that! 

Of course, some of us don't change our autograph when we marry, and that's perfectly fine.

This song simply celebrates his attraction and love for her to the point that he wants to 'change her autograph, so everybody knows that he's the lucky one.' 

Autograph is the prelude of emotion before he puts a ring on it: He sees her, and like the true passion that love can be, the song expresses how he wants to share his name with her.
Autograph by Dallas Smith
"I'd change your autograph
I'd put my name on you
And I'd put a big old ring on your left hand
so everybody knew
that I'm the lucky one
With heaven on my arm,
sun's going down
Edge of town
one knee on the ground
I'd change your autograph" 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, July 24, 2016

5 Personal Choice Country Songs that are Easy to Sing

Read about More Songs at The Heart of Country Music
Review Your Own Talent...Did you sing any Songs?
How did you do, were they easy?
This list is purely based on personal choice, so you may not find these songs the ones you would choose!

Just wanted to give you a heads up in case you're gasping in shock at what I've deemed 'easier'.
Let's face it, if in your own opinion you can't sing, there isn't a country song that can fix that. But, if you like to hum a country tune for fun, give these a try :)

I've selected the song videos with lyrics so you can have your own private karaoke session right here while you're reading.

Don't be shy either; If you haven't heard the song before, listen to it once, then on the second run through, sing along and judge for yourself.

Stay by Sugarland - A Beautiful, Heartbreaking Song - Jennifer Nettles Singing, with Kristian Bush on Guitar

A Song About Infidelity - In the Key of A & uses the Chords D,A,Em,G,F#m, and Bm


There's just Jennifer and the guitar in this song, and it's spectacular. 

If the song is in your key, with only a guitar, you may find it an easier song to sing. Apparently, Kristian Bush' brother is playing the Organ as well, but I have to be honest, I hadn't noticed that. If an acoustic song is your thing, be sure to try this one out.

Jennifer Nettles wrote Stay completely on her own. She tells the full story of how the song came to be on CMT (Country Music Television). She explains how she wanted to write a song from the perspective of the mistress versus the traditional position of the wife being cheated on.
In 2009 Stay Won the Grammy for Best Country Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal, and Best Country Song

Stay was released as the fourth single on Sugarland's album 'Enjoy the Ride' - The album came out in November 2006, and Stay, was released in September of 2007. The song sold nearly 2,000,000 copies as of April 2013 and was certified Platinum.

The Video for the Song is a very simple presentation of Jennifer singing, however it still earned a number ten spot on CMT's Hundred Greatest Videos.

This Kiss, by Faith Hill - Sing a Happy, Bouncy Country Song!

The Key of E Major - Notes in E Major: A, B, C#/Db, D#/Eb, E, F#/Gb, G#/Ab , and the Chords in E Major: E, F#m, G#m, A, B, C#m, D#dim


What makes this song so much fun to sing is the way the lyrics flow together, especially the chorus where the main words have several syllables: 'it's centrifugal motion, it's perpetual bliss, it's that pivotal moment, it's subliminal'. If you like a bouncy sound with phrasing that alternates quite a bit within a song, then you'll probably enjoy singing this one. The slight changes in pace and the way the words tell a story, makes 'This Kiss' a terrific good mood song to sing!

This Kiss by Faith Hill Became a Very Popular Cross Over Country Hit

It was number one on the US and Canadian Country Charts as well as receiving numerous other accolades from many other countries. It reached number 13 in the UK Singles Chart, 52 on the German Chart, and 4th in Australia.

Crazy, by Patsy Cline is Crazy Good and I'll Venture a Guess that Almost Everyone Who Knows the Song has Tried to Sing It !

Chords in the Key C - With 12 Key Variation


Just adding this song to the page has caused me to start singing it endlessly! For those of us who categorize this song as 'easy to sing' I'll say it's because of it's crisp, clean easy flowing music and lyrics. There aren't too many surprising changes of direction. Although, to really sing the crap out of this, some god given talent comes in handy!

The Story Behind How 'Crazy' Was First Introduced to Patsy Cline, is Fascinating!

Patsy Cline's song, Crazy, was composed by Willie Nelson. She chose the song as the follow up to 'I Fall to Pieces' and the song helped to further propel her cross over fan base.

Apparently Willie Nelson, who was a struggling artist at the time, convinced Patsy's husband, Charlie Dick, to have Patsy listen to the song. Because the demo featured the song by Willie as mostly speaking the lyrics off the beat, Patsy hated the song! However, the song was rearranged as a ballad to become the hit we know today.

The House that Built Me, by Miranda Lambert

The Key of F Major


What I find nice about this song is the slightly lower tones in the verses and the way song peaks higher in the chorus. Sounds typical of most songs but the way this song makes the key changes makes me personally feel comfortable singing it.

The emotion and story attached to it also makes it an easy song to connect to as well. Of course, any song where you have a connection to the lyrics, you're automatically going to sing better. 

This song is about a girl all grown who goes back to her family home, now owned by another family, and asks if she could have one more look around...she says, I won't take nothin' but a memory. If these words reflect your life story, then you'll enjoy putting your heart into this song.

'The House that Built Me' was Planned for Blake Shelton to Record, Until Miranda Lambert Heard it

The song was released in March of 2010 on her third album, Revolution. It turned out to be the fastest rising single to date of her career. By the 12th week of it's release it was Miranda's first number 1 hit on the U.S. Billboard Country Charts. It stayed there for four weeks as well. The song went Platinum.
Miranda Lambert received a Grammy for this song at the 53rd Annual Grammy Awards in 2011 for Best Female Country Vocal Performance for the song.

Temporary Home by Carrie Underwood - A Song with a With a Spiritual Message

In the Key of C Major


What's most beautiful to sing about this song is the message.

It's a passionate song telling a story of difficult plights using showing that each journey is our Temporary Home - A little boy's temporary home in foster care, a mother and child in a temporary home seeking shelter, and the last most powerful verse, a dad on his dying bed in the hospital saying goodbye to his daughter explaining that this was simply his temporary home. 

If you're looking for a song, and feel comfortable singing in the key of C major, then you'll find this one a beautiful song to try.

Carrie Underwood was Inspired by the Book 'The Purpose Driven Life' by Pastor Rick Warren - In the book he states, our human existence is simply 'our temporary home'

The song was released in December of 2009 and was the Second Single from her Third Album, 'Play On'.
Carrie Underwood is a spiritual person and her heart is poured into this song with tremendous emotion.The song manages to avoid being preachy by showing people's tough life circumstances in a way that ultimately leads to hope, no matter the struggle.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Reviews Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWomanThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoTracey BoyerLou16BarbRadBev OwensBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsHeather426Coletta TeskeMissMerFaeryMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X