Showing posts with label Treasures By Brenda. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Treasures By Brenda. Show all posts

Tuesday, January 31, 2023

What Sold on eBay? The Best eBay Sales of 2022

Check out my best eBay sales of 2022 in this the fifth installment of my What Sells on eBay series.

Next up in my What Sold on eBay series, is a review of the five best sales that I had last year, 2022. The word best has many definitions so I will make it clear that these are my five largest dollar value sales. If you are curious about what is valuable on eBay and what you might sell or even if you are just curious as to what people are selling, you will enjoy my review of 2022.

GEBRUDER BING GERMAN TEDDY BEAR


A sweet little previously loved Gerbruder Bing German teddy bear from the 1920s.

My largest and definitely most interesting sale of the year was of an antique teddy bear that I listed in April and, after generating quite a lot of interest, sold in June. It was a German bear manufactured in the 1920s by Gebruder Bing. Even though she was much-beloved and showing it the fact that she is antique made her sought after and valuable despite her condition. click here to see the Bing bears available on eBay now.  

If you are interested in reading more about my bear, click here.

BOUCHER PEACOCK BROOCH AND EARRINGS SET

This beautiful Boucher set was my next highest priced sale and was worth more because it was a set rather than individual pieces and, of course, because it was in perfect condition. I sold it for a friend who thinks that her mother would have been quite surprised at the value of her vintage costume jewelry set.  Sought after, it is available from time to time from sellers on eBay. Click here for a Boucher Peacock set for yourself on eBay.

MONTREAL OLYMPICS POSTER


There was a series of Montreal Olympics posters released in 1976. This Canadian beaver is cool with his rainbow stripes.

I sold quite a few Montreal Olympic-themed posters over the course of 2022. The most valuable one showed the Canadian beaver with rainbow stripes across the middle of his body. It was worth the most because it is one of the rarer posters from the series and because it was large in size. If you are in the market for such a poster, do beware that there are two sizes. The 33-inch poster is much harder to find and, as a matter of fact, when I looked on eBay today, there were no large ones available with the beaver on it. If it matters to you, be aware also of reproductions and of new posters.

Click here to see the Montreal Olympics posters available today on eBay. 

LEGO NINJAGO MOVIE SET 70632


Now retired, Lego Ninjago Movie Set 70632 is a large set with 1,202 pieces. Perfect for collectors aged 9 and up.

Next up was the Ninjago Lego movie set number 70632 called Quake Mech. With 1,202 pieces, it is a large set that is now retired and harder but not impossible to find. Fans do have to pay more for new, sealed sets, that are no longer in production. 

Click here to see what Lego's Ninjago Set 70632 is selling for on eBay. 

If you are really curious about Lego value, check out this page of Rare and Hard to Find Lego sets.

BERG CAT TILE


Love this Berg, Danmark (Denmark) mid-century modern art tile! So pretty.

This final sale was the most eye opening one for me. This pretty cat-themed wall tile was manufactured by Berg in Danmark or Denmark in a lovely glossy blue color. The cat versions of Berg tiles seem to fetch a higher price and I think that this tile was especially popular because of the current craze for all things Mid-Century Modern (MCM) and, of course, because of the popularity of cats. 

Click here to check out the Berg Danmark tiles on eBay but note that today, I can see none!

------------------------------------------------------------

I hope you enjoyed this peek into the best of 2022 in my corner of eBay.  If you would like to see more, visit my store, Treasures By Brenda, by clicking right here

You never know
what I might have
in store for you!
Brenda 

QUICK LINKS

This edition included Steiff, movies, bugs, pewter, Play-doh and the royal family.

This edition included quilts, bowls, chimney sweeps and cheese boards.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, December 20, 2022

WestJet Christmas Miracles

Discover a few of the miracles airline WestJet has performed over the years.

For today’s post, I thought I would rework an old post and offer up a bit of Christmas cheer in the form of a review of an event that a Canadian airline sponsored in 2013. Here's my story. 

We were at a Christmas party when someone said, "You have to see this." They turned on the television and pulled up a video on YouTube. We all watched with amazement as the passengers from two planes scanned their boarding passes and visited with Santa Claus. What happened next, was truly unexpected. 

TWAS THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS REAL TIME GIVING (2013)


See for yourself what happened in this video called WestJet Christmas Miracle: Real Time Giving or Twas the Night Before Christmas.


Quite a video, isn't it? It must have been totally unbelievable at first. The passengers on that plane will never forget that flight with WestJet and nor will I. Not that I was there, of course. I was a participant via the video, just like you will be if you watch now.

SANTA'S BLOOPERS (2013)


And don't miss the Santa's Bloopers video. I love a good blooper reel!


FLASH MOB (2012)


But it turns out that the Christmas 2013 was not the first time Westjet 'performed' for Christmas for in 2012, the employees performed as a flash mob at the Calgary airport:


With over 50 million views of that 2013 video, Westjet definitely scored a public relations coup with their Santa Claus project 'Twas A Night Before Christmas and they made a pretty memorable day for all of the passengers involved. According to one newsreel that I read at the time, Westjet was planning for the next year right away.

MIRACLE MILES (2022)


Fast forward now with me to 2022 when I discover that WestJet has another Christmas Miracle video, this one called Christmas: Miracle Miles.


A quick peek on YouTube shows that WestJet may have done a similar video throughout the intervening years. I won't share them all here with you but I will smile at the kindness displayed in these videos.
 
Merry Christmas!
Brenda

MORE CHRISTMAS READING:











Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, November 22, 2022

The Best Lego Gift Ideas That Aren't Necessarily Lego Building Sets

A gift guide with Lego ideas that are not necessarily Lego sets.
My children clamored for Lego sets when they were growing up and, somewhere along the line, they turned me into a Lego enthusiast. Each year at Christmas my sons picked a special set that they dreamed of owning and, of course, hoped that Santa Claus would leave under the Christmas tree. They generally picked reasonable sets and discovered them under the Christmas tree in the morning.

Now that my children are grown up, Lego still appeals to them and Santa still likes to leave them a small Lego set at Christmastime. However, Lego gifts can even make an appearance on Valentine's Day, at Easter time or on a birthday and sometimes those gifts are Lego themed but not necessarily Lego sets. The popularity of Lego has ensured that there is plenty of merchandise to choose from so that gift giving is not limited to building sets though of course no Lego fan would ever say no to another Lego kit.

I have gathered on this page some of the best Lego-themed gift ideas that I could find in 2022. It was while looking for just such a gift that I decided to create this page. The "best" is used very loosely and is based solely on what appealed to me, partly by my sense of what my Lego lovers would love to own and partly by what appeals the most to me. I hope you find this list useful.

A BOOK - FANTASTIC: A LEGO ADVENTURE IN THE REAL WORLD


Factastic A LEGO Adventure in the Real World by Penelope Arlon.

Within the pages of Penelope Arlon's Factastic: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World the reader will find real photographs with Lego figures and interesting facts and statistics about an eclectic variety of subjects including flying to Pluto, the invention of my favorite snack (the humble potato chip), the playing of the first video game and more. It is a fun, non-fiction Lego-themed book by Scholastic recommended for ages seven to eleven but, of course, of interest to anyone who loves the Lego brick. 

Find your copy of Factastic here on Amazon.

A CALENDAR - LEGO BRICK CALENDAR SET 40172


LEGO's Brick Calendar set 40172. Perfect for any adult or older child who loves building with Lego bricks.
I am not in the least surprised that there is such a thing as a Lego calendar. This Lego Brick Calendar seems like a natural choice for someone who loves to play with Lego or who remembers fondly playing with Lego in his or her youth. The calendar is set 40172 and comes with everything you need to build the four blocks as well as a mini-figure and the display rack. It is a perfect gift for the year 2022 that will be equally useful for years to come. Personally, I would trade out the mini-figure for one that suits my interests more but that is no problem if your gift recipient owns a collection of Lego.




A STORAGE UNIT - LEGO ICONIC RACK SYSTEM SET 5005875

Transparent Blue LEGO Rack System


This Transparent Blue LEGO Iconic Rack System (5005875) is not particularly big but it is perfectly designed for young builders having three drawers for him or her to sort and organize Lego bricks. The drawers are semi-transparent drawers and have baseplates to build on. The unit measures 14 inches tall by 12 inches wide by 13 inches deep.

I am not sure if this storage unit will save you from the pain of stepping on the Lego bricks of younger Lego fans but it will help them sort and organize their bricks and even the youngest will now have a home to put all of their Lego bricks away when they care to or when they are instructed to. Available in red as shown, in blue or in gray.

Click here to find this Transparent Lego Rack System on Amazon. 



The Lego Movie set includes both the first and the second movie.

A gift for any Lego fan, whether they travel or not. Affix them to your luggage, your backpack, your purse. Any bag will do!

Love Lego? Don't miss these wonderful head block t-shirts. Pick your color, face style and size!

A MOVIE - LEGO'S EXTRA AWESOME 2-FILM COLLECTION 


The Lego Movies were a huge hit with fans and the critics. This Extra Awesome set is one that your gift recipient should own. Whether or not he or she has already seen the movies, they'll likely watch them over and over again.  Click here to find The Lego Movie 2-Film Collection on Amazon. It is an extremely affordable gift idea.

A LUGGAGE TAG - BANANAS, HOT DOGS AND MORE, OH MY!


These Lego tags are fun, declaring, as they will, your recipient's love of Lego to one and all and I don't think you have to be a traveler to appreciate them. They could also be affixed to a backpack, purse or other bag, not just your suitcase. I have shared a couple of mini-figure food-themed tags but Lego has also produced tags in themes that include Star Wars, Batman, Ninjago and Batman. Find them all on Amazon by clicking right here

A T-SHIRT - CUSTOMIZABLE LEGO BRICK HEAD BY TEEZ 2 GO


I cannot think of a more practical or affordable gift idea for a Lego lover than a t-shirt like the ones shown above from Teez 2 Go on Etsy.  They are available in a host of colors, designs and sizes for men, women and children so that you can pick the one that you think is perfect for your Lego enthusiast.  You will find these t-shirts on Etsy by clicking right here. If the whole family loves Lego, why not dress them all in one of these? That would create a fabulous photo opportunity.

A LIMITED EDITION POSTER - TOM WHALEN'S THE LEGO MOVIE POSTER 


Tom Whalen's The Lego Movie art poster makes a unique gift idea for a Lego fan.

Tom Whalen's Lego Movie art poster makes a unique gift for your Lego fan that can take pride of place on his or her bedroom wall. Heck, don't limit it to the bedroom. It would be fabulous on a family room or play room wall or absolutely any wall at all. 

Whale is a deviant artist who has produced many movie-themed prints, including this limited edition The Lego Movie one, which was issued in a limited numbered run of 475. You can source it now on eBay from the original buyers who are now wanting to sell their copy of the fun print.  Find it on eBay by clicking right here.

A MINI-FIGURE - PERSONALIZED & BUILT IN YOUR LIKENESS


Personalized Lego mini-figures created by Brick Creative. Customizable with your choice of colors, figures, text, etc.

Finally, here is a truly unique Lego-themed gift idea. Brick Creative on Etsy creates personalized minifigures of you and/or your loved ones. They do them in many themes including but not limited to Christmas, Halloween, birthday, anniversary and thank you. You can select the number of figures, theme, etc. that suit you. See for yourself all of the choices in Brick Creative's store on Etsy by clicking right here

So there you have it, a page full of interesting and less usual Lego-themed gift ideas. Which items were your favorites?

See you 
at the Lego store!
Lego fans will enjoy checking out the retired sets in my eBay store.

True enthusiasts, young and old, will love perusing the pages of these great books.

Lego's Beatles' Yellow Submarine Set.
Know someone who loves Lego and the Beatles? This will be the set for them!

Another adult set, perfect for those who are expert builders and love a beautiful carousel.

A throw-back to another time, adult fans who remember typewriters will enjoy this set.

Perfect for fans of the iconic television program, the Big Bang.

An adult-level set for those appreciate grocery stores or markets of the old-fashioned style.


Lego Gift Ideas a page full of 'em!







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, October 25, 2022

Ken Follett's Never, A Book Review

If you love a political thriller, you should check out Ken Follett's Never, a book in which we find the world on the brink of nuclear war / disaster.

In the past, I have read and thoroughly enjoyed a few historical Ken Follett novels. Never, however, as a modern war or political thriller about the possibility of nuclear disaster, was a definite departure for me.

Never is a saga about a crisis that could lead to a third world war. Follett himself says that the story was in part a result of his discovery that no one wanted the first world war. This book spans the globe from Africa’s Sahara Desert to China and the United States. It is 800 pages of story filled with a large cast and numerous story lines.

The Washington Post calls Never “a cautionary tale of global catastrophe.” Exactly. They also say that it is “credibly detailed and alarmingly plausible.” Disturbing? Yes, but I agree.

VIDEOS


The first video shown below is a short trailer for the book, illustrating the Defcon system and alluding to the suspenseful nature of this novel. The second video, called Behind the Scenes with Ken Follett, is more interesting, detailing how he came up with the idea for this book.





RATING


Readers on Goodreads gave Never four stars; readers on Amazon gave it four stars as well.

Many reader comments show that people enjoyed the book, as I did. The story was extremely well researched and detailed and the storylines were interesting.

Many also found the book a bit longer than they thought it might have been and a bit slow or hard to be absorbed by at first and I agree on both of those points. I was also disappointed with how the individual story lines were sorted out and with the ending.

The premise of this book is disturbing. That is, seeing how a nuclear war might be played out. Let us hope that we never know the truth.

Like other readers, I give the book four stars and recommend it for those who enjoy political thrillers and for those who have enjoyed Follett’s previous contemporary thrillers. You can find Never here on Amazon in whatever format you prefer be that Kindle, audiobook, hardcover, paperback or audio CD.

See you
at the book store!

MORE KEN FOLLETT:




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, September 13, 2022

WHAT SOLD ON EBAY? FOURTH EDITION

Discover the fourth installment of my series, What Sold on eBay. This one from the first two weeks of September. Maybe you are just curious or maybe you are looking for ideas of what to sell on eBay.

Wondering what sold lately on eBay? Well, as always, the sales from my store have included an eclectic mix of new, used and vintage items. Welcome to the the fourth issue of my What Sold on eBay series. What follows are six items that sold from my store during the first two weeks of September, 2022. 

MY FAVORITE ITEM - A STEIFF SOCCER BALL


What sells on eBay? German manufacturer Steiff's pieces like this mohair soccer ball!

Favorites are always hard for me to pick but I liked this mohair Steiff soccer ball. It was manufactured by the famous German teddy bear company of the same name and was only one of a number of interesting Steiff pieces in my eBay store.  

See the rest of my Steiff collection on eBay by clicking here. There are no more balls but there are, as you might expect, a selection of teddy bears as well as a circus clown, an elephant, a camel, two egg cozies (yes, egg cozies) and even an adorable snowman. If you are looking for a small Steiff gift item perhaps to use as a stocking stuffer, I also have a number of felt Steiff elephant keychains. 

HIGHEST VALUE ITEM - A TORCHWOOD MINI-SERIES SET


Torchwood: The Complete Original UK Series was the highest priced item that sold in my store during this time period. This series was a popular British science fiction show that aired from 2006 to 2011. This boxed set was in excellent condition and complete. I never watched this program but now that I have handled and sold it, I will admit that I am curious about it. Have you seen it?

Torchwood The Complete Original UK Mini-Series

INTERNATIONAL SALE - A MINIATURE METAL BUG


SOLD. Little metal bug crawled off to a new home in France! Miniature bugs. They sell!

The cost of international shipping from Canada means that I do not sell many items beyond Canada and the United States. It makes sense then that my one international sale during this time frame was for this small metal bug. I have sold small metal bugs before and as it turns out, people collect bugs. Would you entertain the idea of collecting bugs?

LOWEST VALUE ITEM - A SEAGULL PEWTER BOOKMARK


This bookmark, though a handsome piece, had been waiting for quite awhile for the right person to come along and buy it and so, the price was greatly reduced and it was very affordable. I do sell Seagull Pewter items fairly often, though most of them do not sell at this low price point. 

Seagull Pewter pieces are designed and handmade in Nova Scotia. The company started with just three employees in 1978 and now employs over 360 people. It makes a wide variety of products and is a popular tourist destination. Find all of my Seagull Pewter items on eBay right now by clicking right here

NEW ITEM - A DISNEY CARS PLAY-DOH SET


Toys, lots of toys, even new ones are selling on eBay!


I sold a number of new items including this Disney Cars Lightning McQueen Play-Doh set. Someone, likely a little boy who loves the Disney movie Cars, will have hours of fun playing with this set. My boys would have loved it. Still might, actually. See all of my Play-Doh, including more of this fun set, on eBay by clicking right here.


OLDEST ITEM - A QUEEN ALEXANDRA 1902 MUG


Antique royalty items, like this 1902 Queen Alexandra mug, sell on eBay!

Queen Alexandra was the daughter of Christian IX of Denmark. In 1863, she married Edward VII and throughout her life, she called Marlborough House in London, Sandringham House in Norfolk, Buckingham Palace in Westminster and Windsor Castle in Windsor home. 

This item was a small, antique mug with a fairly simple outside design and a portrait of Queen Alexandra on the inside.  It was not in perfect condition but it was 120 years old. Interesting that people collected royalty memorabilia even as early as the 1900s. 

While this mug has been sold, you can find more royal family items here in my store.

---------------------------------------------------------

I hope you enjoyed this peek into my world on eBay. Want to see more? Visit my store, Treasures By Brenda, by clicking right here.

Brenda

QUICK LINKS:


What Sold on eBay? First Edition
From baby quilt to dipping bowls and chimney sweep, discover what sold from my store one weekend in October.

What Sold on eBay? Second Edition
From fanny pack to wind-up toy to knife block, discover what sold from my store one weekend in November.

What Sold on eBay? Christmas Edition
From Christmas ornaments to mugs and toys, discover the items that sold as Christmas was approaching.

Looking for more eBay related reading? Visit this link. 






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, May 10, 2022

What is a Coastal Grandmother?

Discover the vibe that is being called Coastal Grandmother and determine whether or not you fit in.

I have just discovered the vibe, ‘Coastal Grandmother’. Let’s take a minute and review exactly what that vibe is all about. It’s not just a reference to a woman but it is also a feeling and a lifestyle that is currently enjoying favor and being celebrated on sites like Instagram and TikTok.

According to Tik Tok user Nicoleta (@lexnicoleta), the movement includes women young and old who “love Nancy Meyers' movies, coastal vibes, recipes and cooking, Ina Garten, cozy interiors and more.” She also says the movement is about taking time to enjoy life. About slowing down.

I had to look up Nancy Meyers' movies and it turns out that the list includes Private Benjamin (Goldie Hawn), Father of the Bride (Steve Martin, Diane Keaton), The Parent Trap (Dennis Quaid, Natasha Richardson), What Women Want (Mel Gibson, Helen Hunt), Something's Gotta Give (Jack Nicholson, Diane Keaton), The Holiday (Kate Winslet, Cameron Diaz), It's Complicated (Meryl Streep, Mel Gibson) and most recently, The Intern (Robert De Niro, Anne Hathaway). They are all very popular, fun movies geared toward women. I now know who Nancy Meyers is and can say that I love her movies even if I did not recognize the name of the American filmmaker. You can check out Nancy Meyers' movies here on Amazon. 

USA Today calls the style “classic and timeless”. You might be a Coastal Grandmother if you like Grace and Frankie’s (2015-2022) home style in the program of the same name, Diane Keaton’s style in Annie Hall (1977) and Meryl Streep’s home in Complicated (2009). I definitely love those styles though I cannot say that my home style is classic or timeless. My home is simply casual and comfortable but those are Coastal Grandmother feelings, too!

Glamour says the term applies to the “perennially summertime lifestyle of a beautiful older woman.” They say that she likes natural products and looking after herself. That she enjoys simple, quality things. That she loves wine and book clubs and life. I definitely love the ideas of an easy summertime lifestyle, of relaxing with a glass of wine and of going to my book club meetings!

Most interesting, I thought, was Glamour’s statement that the Coastal Grandmother prefers real life to life online and I will take that as a reminder to walk away from my computer and celebrate life everyday.

Anne Hathaway at 39 is much younger than you would think of as a grandmother but says that she loves the style and even shared a photo of herself online sporting comfortable khaki pants, shirt and a bucket hat. All were comfortable and all were in neutral colors. Two more great Coastal Grandmother characteristics.

On TikTok, Nicoleta expanded on the comments mentioned previously by saying that Coastal Grandmother “is the feeling that you get when you’re visiting your friend at the beach. A cozy, safe feeling.” I can’t imagine not loving that feeling.

In case you are wondering, no, you don’t have to be a grandmother nor do you have to live on the coast to be characterized as a Coastal Grandmother and yes, there is a Coastal Grandfather equivalent. Glamour cites Stanley Tucci as an example.

I like TheStyleEquation’s definition of the movement as shown here in this short video from TikTok:

@thestyleequation The latest trend, not just for grandmothers! #coastalgrandmother @Lex Nicoleta #lifestyle ♬ original sound - Jennifer Ebelhar
I illustrated the top of this page with a fun, printable graphic from Echowood Printables on Etsy. I love the elements that creator Logan has woven together to create her interpretation of this trend. Click here to see Logan's visual representation on Etsy.  Her print is an inexpensive way to add this trend to your home's decor.

You will also find some interesting, on trend Coastal Grandmother clothing and decor pieces here on Amazon.

Which elements of this lifestyle do you like? Are you a Coastal Grandmother in any or all ways? If you would like to learn and see more, just search for Coastal Grandmother on TikTok and Instagram.

Brenda
Treasures By Brenda





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, April 2, 2022

Rick Mercer Talking to Canadians Book Review

Rick Mercer Talking to Canadians A Memoir is a fun read for anyone who appreciates Mercer's comedic genius.

Rick Mercer's autobiographical book appeared under many a Christmas tree in 2021. I myself gifted it to a number of family members after watching a program on which the 
Ottawa International Writers Festival featured Canadian journalist Linden MacIntyre interviewing Mercer and reviewing Mercer's life so far as depicted between the covers of this book. 

For those who might not know, Rick Mercer is a Canadian celebrity. He is a comedian who had great success on television on shows that included This Hour Has 22 MinutesMade in Canada, Talking to Americans and his biggest success and the program with which my family was most familiar, the Rick Mercer Report. When he eventually ended the Rick Mercer Report after 15 seasons, a question arose. What was Rick Mercer going to do now? 

The answer? He went back to stand up comedy, performing to packed shows wherever he went. That is, until the pandemic arrived. 

CELEBRITY REVIEWS


Mercer had to pivot again and this time his pivot found him writing this book, Rick Mercer Talking to Canadians: A Memoir. For once, Mercer was talking about his own life instead of about the lives of others.  It is an interesting tale, telling the story of his development from that of an unsuccessful student to that of a very successful comedian. 

On Twitter, Canadian author Margaret Atwood, said that the book is a "funny, pitfall-strewn, no-holds-barred memoir from the ranting TV uproarist, edge-walker, envelope-pusher and pot-stirrer who once talked me (Atwood) into impersonating a goalie!" On the Rick Mercer Report, Mercer talked many people into doing things out of their comfort zone.

Policy Magazine called the book "alternately funny, moving and always heartfelt." Touché!

Jann Arden, another Canadian comedian and songwriter, endorsed the book when she said "I laughed so much reading this, I kept waking up my dog in bed. Rick is a determined writer - he never stops pulling you into his stories and he never stops looking for the punchlines in everyday life. He made me realize how funny ordinary things are, how funny and how incredibly interesting. It's heartfelt and honest and generous and edgy - just like Mercer himself. Read it! It's fabulous!" I agree.

My only quibble with the book is that it isn't finished but then again, Mercer isn't finished. Who knows what the next book will have to share.

WHO SHOULD READ RICK MERCER'S MEMOIR? 


For one, anyone who is familiar with Mercer's television programs and comedic abilities will love this book. If you know his work, you will particularly enjoy learning about his background. If you enjoy true stories and autobiographies you will likely enjoy this book. If you have a Canadian connection in particular with Newfoundland and Labrador, you will enjoy it. It is an easy to read, funny book and I do find funny books hard to come by.  They say that writing humor is difficult. Obviously, Rick Mercer does not have that problem. Apparently, the audiobook is particularly enjoyable because Mercer himself reads it. With the audiobook, you will not only 'hear' his way of speaking in the words on the written page but you will literally hear them. Find your copy Rick Mercer's Talking to Canadians of the book on Amazon here

See you
at the book store!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

MORE READING:






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, March 8, 2022

Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers Book Review

Written with humor, Mary Roach's Stiff is an interesting look at the uses of human cadavers past, present and future.

Mary Roach's Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers is not for everyone. This book, a non-fiction look into the uses of human cadavers past, present and future, was different than my typical read and will likely be for yours, too. Our book club reviewed it and for some, the subject matter was simply too uncomfortable during a difficult time or even at any time. For others, like myself, it was an interesting endeavor.

The official book description says that the book touches on morality, ethics and spirituality and it does but it is really a look at the science of the uses of the cadaver. With chapter titles like A Head is a Terrible Thing to Waste, Crimes of Anatomy and Life After Death you will learn about surgery performed on the dead, body snatching, human dissection and human decay. You will learn about how the human body has been used to test France's guillotines, how it has been a guest on NASA space shuttles, how it has helped uncover causes of airplane crashes, how it has improved automobile safety and, of course, much more.

Mary Roach's Stiff shares the science of how the human cadaver has been used in the past, present and future. Sometimes gross, sometimes funny, always very interesting.

On the back of the book, Entertainment Weekly calls Stiff  "gross, educational and unexpectedly sidesplitting." I agree. Mostly. This book is at times unnerving, always teaching and told with a great deal of humor though the subject matter keeps it from being exactly what I would call "unexpectedly sidesplitting. I guess it delivers the science in a slightly dark but humorous way.

Morbid Monday calls it a "one-stop book for everything you ever wanted to know - or never wanted to know - about dead bodies." Touché!  There is a lot to think about here. I did find the book tough going at times but I also found it very interesting. I knew nothing about the actual scientific process that allows doctors to transfer organs from a dead body to that of an organ recipient. Do you? If not, you should read this book. The introduction is quite funny, the first chapter is tough but tough it out and see if you find the overall subject interesting if perhaps also "gross."

I recommend this book if you are looking for something outside of your usual fare, if you want to expand your reading subject matter and if you are willing to push you way through some unpleasantness though of course, you could skip any chapters that really disturb you. Each chapter stands alone.

Will you donate your body to science? Should you? Definitely something to think about and Stiff will definitely leave you thinking. Not everyone in my book club read it or cared for it but some like myself did find it quite interesting. If you think you might be one of them, you can find your copy of Stiff here on Amazon.

See you
at the bookstore! 
Brenda 

More Book Reviews:

A list of award winning movie-themed books for your Kindle.

Visit 1970s Walt Disney World via this book of information, pictures and illustrations from the park.

The story of retiree who went looking for something active to do. Eventually she found track and field and went on to became a 90-something year old super star.

Visit St. Petersburg, Russia, via this action-packed Steve Berry book.

How you can sustain wildlife with native plants.

A mother and son's journey from a world gone gray.


Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers, A Book Review







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 11, 2022

Crazy About Cupcakes? Tie On A Cupcake Apron!

Crazy About Cupcakes? Tie On A Cupcake Apron!

If you live in North America, you know that a cupcake is a single-serving sized cake with frosting and decorations. If you live in other parts of the world, like the United Kingdom, you may know these little cakes as fairy cakes or by some other name.

Whatever you call them, they are sure to hold a fond place in your memories. You may have enjoyed them at home, at school or at Grandma's house when you were a child. They have been trendy for at least the last decade, when specialty shops started popping up in New York City and Los Angeles and eventually throughout North America.

Cupcakes are popular because they are so cute and because every one can have their own. The choice is up to you and you can pick your favorite flavor combination. My local shop has a rotating variety that includes basic flavors like vanilla and chocolate but more unusual combinations like maple cinnamon, pina colada, oreo and peanut butter. I would confess to a fondness for any choice that includes coconut but I digress. 

If you are a big cupcake fan and baker, you need a cupcake apron. On this page, I will review two of the best cupcake aprons that I could find. I am sure there is one here for you or for the cupcake baker in your life whether you (or they) prefer an apron that is pretty, practical or personalized. 

Cupcake bakers should all have a fun cupcake apron! 

A BEAUTIFUL, RETRO STYLED APRON


If you love cupcakes, you will love this pretty-in-pink vintage-style cupcake apron!

Definitely, pretty in pink, I love this beautiful cupcake-themed apron. Carefully handsewn with quality cotton fabric, it is totally cheerful and I love the retro-inspired design.  It is available on Etsy from Cevizelisleri's shop. You will find it and other similarly made aprons in a wide variety of themes by clicking right here

A PERSONALIZED, PRACTICAL APRON


If you love cupcakes and you want a pretty, practical and personalized apron or apron gift, you will love this one!

This second apron is fun and is from the shop of Ellen Merrill Home, which is also on Etsy. It is available in four sizes ranging from a small child's apron to an adult-sized apron as well as in twelve colors though for cupcakes, I love this pink color. I love the pretty embroidered cupcake and that it can be personalized with a name or an expression like, "Cupcakes By Brenda." Of course, you would be inserting your own name in that short sentence. You will find this apron on Etsy by clicking here. I think it would make a lovely mother and daughter or even grandmother and granddaughter gift idea.

Cupcakes are good for the soul and so are these aprons! Do you love a good cupcake? How about a cupcake apron?

Brenda

MORE APRONS


There's an apron for every occasion, for every reason, for every season. Just as cupcakes can be formal or casual, so can aprons. Just as cupcakes can be decorated for Christmas, Halloween and Valentine's Day, so can aprons. The following pages will help you find the apron you are looking for. 

How To Make An Apron
If you are looking for resources to make an apron, you'll enjoy looking through the ideas and links on this page.

Wear a Halloween Apron!
Looking for a Halloween apron? You might find just what you are looking for here on this page.

Love grilling? You'll love these aprons.

Discover what people think about men and aprons.

Know a grandfather who loves to cook? Check out the fun aprons for granddad here.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, January 8, 2022

WHAT SOLD ON EBAY? CHRISTMAS & THIRD EDITION

What Sold on eBay Christmas Edition!

Wondering what sold lately on eBay? Well, in December I definitely sold some Christmas items. While they accounted for only 15 percent of the items I sold, I have chosen to review them here because I think a lot of them were interesting items. I hope you enjoy them, too.

THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS (1949) WHITMAN EDITION


The Night Before Christmas by Clement Clarke Moore and Whitman Publishing (1949).

First up and definitely an interesting vintage item in my mind, was a fragile 1949 copy of the classic children's story The Night Before Christmas by Clement Clarke Moore and Whitman Publishing. It was an oversize, thin book with a soft, textured finish that had seen lots of love from previous owners. That did not, however, deter the person who purchased it from doing so and I wonder if they purchased it because they owned it as a child. I also wondered if it was going to be a display piece or if it was going to be shared and treasured by a new generation of  children though I suppose the answer could include all of those possibilities.   

KURT S. ADLER BIG BEN LONDON ORNAMENT

Next was a handsome Kurt S. Adler ornament featuring Westminster Palace's Big Ben. Surely purchased from me as a reminder for someone of a remembered trip to or time spent in London, England. 

Adler first learned about merchandising in the U.S. army. After World War II, he turned that learning toward selling goods to countries in need of them and apparently, there was a big need after the war. When those needs changed or really I guess those countries recovered from the war, he pivoted in the 1950s and presented his first Christmas ornaments. Starting with East and West German angels, he went on to include décor from other European countries. Today, the company is run by his children and grandchildren from a base in New York City and continues to turn out both classic and trendy products that are hotly sought after. 

Take a peek for yourself at some of the truly beautiful Kurt S. Adler Christmas ornaments available by clicking here, which today reveals more than 2,300 new, used and vintage pieces on eBay.

What sold on eBay? Why Christmas did! Discover a number of the new, used and vintage items that sold in December!

DOUBLE DECKER GLASS CHRISTMAS ORNAMENT

This piece had no well-known name associated with it and represented London's double decker bus though it was not actually identified as such but it was another item that sold that I believe was probably destined for someone's Christmas as a reminder of a holiday or of a time spent in London, England.

HALLMARK KEEPSAKE ORNAMENT PEANUTS: A SPOOKY STORY 


Hallmark's Peanuts: A Spooky Story Keepsake Ornament features Scouts Leader Snoopy reading a Scary Story at the Campground in his Ten to his Troops!

I like how this Hallmark Keepsake ornament combines a few favorites like Christmas, Halloween, Scouting, Peanuts and Snoopy and camping. Released in 2009, it is now retired from Hallmark so in order to add it to your collection you will have to find it on a secondary market. Click here to find your Hallmark Peanuts A Spooky Story Keepsake Ornament on eBay today.

VINTAGE CLIP-ON SANTA CLAUS


What Sold on eBay in December? A lovely vintage clip-on Santa Claus and more!?!

Do you remember clip-ons? I am not actually sure if they have another proper name or what they were called when they were sold. (If you do, be sure to let us know in the comment section below.) Anyway, I definitely remember them from when I was young though I do not necessarily remember the Santa Claus. One of my aunts gifted us with a clip-on bride and groom at our wedding shower and, more recently, I was given a koala bear clip-on from Australia. If you would like to add a vintage clip-on Santa Claus to your collection, visit eBay by clicking right here where you can buy a single Santa or a whole 'herd' of them!

STARBUCKS CANDY CANE COFFEE MUG


What sold on eBay? This Starbucks candy cane-themed coffee mug and more!

So fun though personally I feel that the candy cane mug is not the most practical mug to drink from it sure is pretty. I have a collection of Starbucks Christmas mugs that come out at Christmas time. We love using them. Find all of the Christmas-themed Starbucks mugs available on eBay here. Personally, we have pivoted to choosing and using the smaller mugs. The larger ones seem like you are serving an awful lot of coffee, which I suppose suits some. 

RUSS BERRIE'S BANDY NUTCRACKER PLUSH TEDDY BEAR

As shown in the first picture on this page, Russ Berrie's plush nutcracker teddy bear is a handsome dude and he was purchased from me at the last minute. Close enough to Christmastime that the buyer reached out to me to see what I thought of the odds of it making it in time. With the Christmas rush of online shopping and parcels and ongoing concerns with the virus, I told the buyer that estimates should be taken as just that and to expect anything in terms of delivery time. I am glad to be able to report that Bandy travelled through the system lickety split thanks to Canada Post's efforts and my buyer was pleased to have him in time for Christmas and even ahead of the estimated arrival date.

SANTA CLAWS BOXER SHORTS

One buyer outfitted all of the men in her life by buying four pairs of Hatley boxer shorts in various fun themes like the Christmas one shown in the first picture on this page. Other themes included beavers, alligators and dachshund dogs. I picture her doing what I used to do. That is, putting a pair of fun boxers in the Christmas stockings of all three of my 'boys.' I still have a selection of new Hatley boxer shorts in my eBay store here, if you are interested. 

INUIT GREETING CARDS

I thought the Inuit Christmas cards (again shown in the picture at the top of this page), which featured the 2009 artwork of Ningeokuluk Teevee called Ptarmigan's Arrival was an unusual find and I am sure the person who purchased them from me agreed. While I have no more Inuit cards left in my store, I do have some other interesting Inuit and First Nations items here.

MOLLY HATCH COFFEE MUG


In the December edition of my What sells on eBay series, you will find Molly Hatch Christmas mugs and more great new, used and vintage finds.

Finally, at least for this page, was the Ice Skates coffee mug shown here by Molly Hatch. Hutch is an American artist and potter. In 2010, she created her first collection and she now has a large body of work that includes a variety of items for your home like the coffee mug that I sold. Her images in this Christmas series are simple and vintage in style, depicting everyday items like ice skates, animal friends, mistletoe, holly, gingerbread and stockings. She calls her items 'modern heirlooms with everyday charm.' I enjoy them and like the idea of a serviceable, new item that has a vintage feel. I have a couple of Molly Hatch's pieces from this Christmas series as well as one other series available here.

While the items I have shared here are no longer available in my store, I do have Christmas items in my eBay store all year so do drop in! Find my store, Treasures By Brenda by clicking here

You never know
what I might have
in store for you! 
Brenda 

Quick Links

From baby quilt to dipping bowls and chimney sweep, discover what sold from my store one weekend in October.

From fanny pack to wind-up toy to knife block, discover what sold from my store one weekend in November.

There's something for every Starbucks and coffee fan on this list of  Starbucks' gift ideas!

See a few more Molly Hatch Christmas mugs here.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X