Showing posts with label vintage. Show all posts
Showing posts with label vintage. Show all posts

Tuesday, November 2, 2021

WHAT SOLD ON EBAY? SECOND EDITION

This is the second edition of WHAT SOLD ON EBAY. If you've ever been curious, discover some of my new, used and vintage sales!

Curious? People often are, whether purely out of simple curiosity or because they have considered or actually do sell on eBay. Let’s review What Sold on eBay since my last post. Once again, these are five items that sold from my eBay store, Treasures By Brenda. This time, they’re from a weekend in October.
Yes! This Hudson's Bay waist pouch (or fanny pack as you may call it) sold from my eBay store. Discover more interesting SOLD items here!

On this particular weekend, with one exception, the sales were used and vintage items. And once again, that demonstrates what I believe, that eBay is one of the best places to turn to for items that are out of production.

So here are the five items that sold from my store starting with the only item that was new:


WAIST POUCH / FANNY PACK


Did you ever use a fanny pack? Or maybe you wear a waist pouch today? Whatever you call them, there has been a resurgence in interest in fanny packs. Fanny pack, by the way, is what we called them when they were first popular in late 1980s and early 1990s when, according to The Globe and Mail, Adweek Magazine declared them “the hottest product of the year.” Well, they’re back. We have so many types of bags available today that I don’t imagine that fanny packs will ever be the hottest product of the year again but they are popular. This one had the advantage of also bearing the iconic stripes from Canada’s Hudson Bay Company and it is SOLD. I do have one HBC fanny pack left and you can find it here with my collection of  Hudson’s Bay Company merchandise

WHAT SOLD ON EBAY? One cute-as-can-be wind-up pecking chick toy!
VINTAGE WIND-UP TOY


Are you intrigued by wind-up toys, vintage or not? The smallest item I sold was surely this fun little metal toy. In this case it was a tiny chick with the original box. Wind-up toys are tricky, they have certainly been reproduced and this one was vintage though not extremely old or very valuable. Still, it was a fun item, an addition to someone’s collection or maybe a fun stocking stuffer. It is SOLD but if you want one, you will find more of this vintage wind-up pecking chick here on eBay

KNIFE BLOCK


Do you use a knife block to store your knives? Whether you do or not, you might be surprised that some knife blocks have considerable monetary value. In this case, mine was a small Cutco brand block that was not particularly valuable but that definitely did have value to the person who purchased it and who wanted a smaller knife block. However, the large Cutco blocks, like the one shown in this picture that hold 32 pieces, can sell for over $300. Mine is SOLD but if you are interested, you will find more than 1,500 Cutco knife blocks on eBay here.
What sold on eBay? How about a handsome Cutco knife block?

BEER STEIN


Do you drink your beer in a stein? I don’t have a whole lot of luck selling beer steins and I had a vintage Lord Nelson HMS Victory beer mug in my store for a long time. Let’s just say for years during which it was listed at various price points until eventually it was clearance priced. It had some crazing and so, when I found another one like it that was in better condition in my pile of items to list, I removed the crazed one and listed the second one, which sold in a week proving that condition is very important to buyers. A lesson to all would-be eBay sellers! Mine is SOLD but if you’re after a Lord Nelson stein, look here

WOOL WINTER SCARF

WHAT SOLD ON EBAY? How about a handsome pure virgin wool scarf. Discover more great sales here!

Do you wear a wool scarf in the winter? I have read that wool scarves are good sellers and I have sold a few but I would caution that they, too, need to be in very good condition and they have to be listed at the right price. In this case, my sale was of a handsome pure virgin wool men’s scarf in a tartan pattern. I have other scarves in my eBay store but none like this traditional one. Mine is SOLD but if you are looking for a pure virgin wool scarf, click here

BOWLING PINS


What would you do with an incomplete vintage set of 3.5 inch table top bowling pins? Whether or not they appeal to you, you might agree with me that they were the most unusual item I sold this weekend.  They have been used and loved whether as part of a game, as a toy or as a decoration, I do not know. In any case, these go against the idea of condition being very important to buyers and I believe that in this case the much beloved condition may have actually added to their appeal for the buyer. Mine are SOLD and when I looked today, I could not find anything exactly like them but you can follow this link to see the assortment of miniature vintage bowling pins that I did find on eBay. 

WHAT SOLD ON EBAY? Vintage tabletop bowling pins. What would you do with them?

While none of these items are available anymore in my eBay shop, I do have many other unique and interesting items. Do drop in to my shop, Treasures By Brenda, by clicking here

You never know
what I might have
in store for you!
Brenda

MORE READING:

Learn more about this vintage item that is enjoying a current resurgence in popularity.  

What Sold on eBay? First Edition
Discover what items sold the first time I wrote a post like this one.
Disney's television series, Tale Spin, continues to be popular as do these vintage toys.















Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, October 5, 2021

WHAT SOLD ON EBAY? FIRST EDITION

Visit this post and discover a few of the interesting items that sold from my eBay store one fine fall weekend in September.
Frequently, friends and acquaintances often ask me what’s sold on eBay lately and I often receive interesting comments when I do share some of my latest sold items on social media. Therefore, I thought that I would do a review of exactly that – what has sold on eBay recently from my own eBay store. Please come along with me and we will check out a few of the interesting things that I sold one fall weekend in September of 2021.

The items that sold are as varied as the stock is in my eBay store, Treasures By Brenda. However, this weekend the sales included just a few gently used and vintage items and none of my new stock although I do have many new items in store. I have actually heard it said that about 80 percent of the items on eBay are new though I think the platform is best when it helps unite buyers with items that are no longer produced and therefore hard-to-find. I have had the pleasure of reuniting many buyers with beloved items that they had as children or even as adults.

I would like to start by sharing my favorite item but I find myself hard pressed to pick just one so here then are the four fun items that sold arranged in no particular order:

HANDMADE BABY OR LAP QUILT


The colors, the stitching lines and the wavy edges of this handmade lap quilt were absolutely darling and I think made it quite special. If I needed a throw blanket, I might have added it to my collection even though it really featured fabrics that are meant for babies. Someone somewhere put a lot of work into making this lovely piece and now it has gone to a new home where someone new will treasure it. You can see the other quilts that I have in my eBay store by clicking right here.

VINTAGE ORIENTAL DIPPING BOWLS


I am not actually sure what these tiny bowls are for. If you know, I’d love to hear. At two inches, they are too small, I think, to be used for dipping though I have called them dipping bowls. Have you any thoughts on what their original purpose might have been? If you are interested, you can discover some similar oriental dipping bowls on eBay by clicking right here.

MOUSETRAP CHEESE BOARD


This is a novelty gift idea, for sure and one that is sure to surprise guests at your next cocktail party. It is a very realistic Acme mouse trap that is oversized so that you can use it as a cheese or small charcuterie board and we know those boards are very trendy right now. I thought of gifting this item to a family member who once had quite a struggle at home with mice. I’m sure she would have responded with a roll of her eyes and exclaimed, “Oh, Brenda!” You can find your own Acme cheese board here on eBay.

TREMAR CORNISH CHIMNEY SWEEP FIGURINE


Finally, I sold was a little vintage Cornish art pottery chimney sweep or cleaner by Tremar. The company Tremar was located in and named after a village in eastern Cornwall that started producing pottery in the early 1960s. They made pieces that were popular with tourists and that included items like animals, people, vehicles and buildings. Some 'sets' were created to encourage buyers to collect multiple pieces, a technique we know today but was used less often in the middle of the century. The Tremar pottery company closed its doors in the 1980s. You can see all of the Tremar Pottery pieces on eBay by clicking here.

While these items are no longer available in my store, I do have a large stock of interesting and unusual items in my shop. Do drop in!  You can visit my store, Treasures By Brenda, on eBay by clicking here!  

You never know
what I might have
in store for you!
Brenda



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, July 4, 2021

The Apron Book: Making, Wearing and Sharing a Bit of Cloth and Comfort Book Review

The Apron Book: Making, Wearing, and Sharing a Bit of Cloth and Comfort by EllynAnne Geisel Book Review

When I was a child, I had the privilege of knowing and spending time with my great grandmother, who raised her family during the Great Depression. In those years, she was forced to be very frugal and learned some interesting tricks to stretch the family income that she later attempted to pass on to my sister and I. The time that I remember best is when she showed us how to turn an old dress into an apron. I could not do so today but I guess having participated in that activity with my great grandmother when I was a child created a fond spot in my heart for aprons.

It is very interesting to me then that aprons, both vintage and modern, are turning up everywhere from movies and television shows to magazines and shops the later of which cannot keep trendy aprons on the shelves. Many people collect them including celebrities like Julia Roberts and ordinary folk like you and I though my collection is small and well used. 

This book, The Apron Book: Making, Wearing, and Sharing a Bit of Cloth and Comfort by EllynAnne Geisel, is a guide to old and new aprons. It features photographs of both new and vintage aprons, patterns for four basic styles and still more information including tips for collectors, instructions for preservation and even some apron stories.

Amazon calls this book a celebration of the apron and says that it reminds us of why we love this humble item. Homemaker's Magazine says, "this book provides easy-to-follow instructions, interesting facts and vintage illustrations which make it charming" and the Denver Post says "this book restores dignity to a domestic symbol and is part how-to and part history, which is comforting."  Finally, NPR says, "it unfolds like a bolt of fabric, the pattern of a life remembered through a homey object."

The Apron Book: Making, Wearing, and Sharing a Bit of Cloth and Comfort is a top ranking apron book. Originally published in 2006, it is still widely available in your choice of format be that hardback, paperback or Kindle. 

 If you are interested in making or even just reading about aprons, you can buy your new or pre-owned copy on Amazon by clicking right here though I was delighted to see that it is available for less than five dollars including shipping on eBay. See for yourself what is available on eBay today by clicking right here.

Are you an apron collector?

See you in the kitchen!
Hopefully, with an apron on.
Brenda

MORE READING:








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, April 27, 2021

The Story of Walt Disney World Book Review

The Story of Walt Disney World: A book review of the 1971 souvenir book, which features pictures, information and illustrations of the park when it first opened.

Walt Disney World enthusiasts are always wanting to learn more about one of the world's most famous destinations.  This book, The Story of Walt Disney World, is a big square paperback book with 50 pages of information, lots of photographs and even a few colorful illustrations from the park. The first page has the date of October 25, 1971. I believe it was probably released as a souvenir to celebrate the opening of the theme park, which occurred on October 1, 1971.

The first page includes a dedication taken from the plaque in Town Square on Main Street at Walt Disney World by Roy Disney O. Disney that reads, "Walt Disney World is a tribute to the philosophy and life of Walter Elias Disney...and to the talents, the dedication and the loyalty of the entire Disney organization that made Walt Disney's dream come true. May Walt Disney World bring Joy and Inspiration and New Knowledge to all who come to this happy place...a Magic Kingdom where the young at heart of all ages can laugh and play and learn together."  If you have experienced the park, you know that Disney delivered on those promises. Millions and millions of people have visited, enjoyed and created many fond memories of time spent at the park. 

This vintage book offers a look at what the park offered and looked like when it first opened and even includes a map from the year 1971. A lot has changed since then! 

The Story of Walt Disney World would make a wonderful gift idea for those who have fond memories of visiting the park in the past or for those who are interested in the history of the park. You will find The Story of Walt Disney World on eBay by clicking right here.

See you
on eBay!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

More Disney:

Grab a sketch-themed 20th Anniversary Toy Story coffee mug.

The Story of Walt Disney World: Discover things about the park when it was first opened!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, May 6, 2020

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs Movie Poster

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs Movie Poster

MOVIE HISTORY


Disney's Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs is a movie that never gets old. It was Walt Disney's first full length animated feature film. It was released in 1937 and featured the voices of Roy Atwell, Adriana Caselotti, Lucille Laverne and Pinto Colvig. It was one of the first Disney movies that I remember seeing as a little girl though I did not see it when it was new. If I had to guess, I would guess that I saw it a number of decades later at the movie theater when I was just old enough to go to a movie, perhaps in the late 1960s.

Most of us know the story line of this now classic movie that was based on a tale by the Brothers Grimm. It follows the adventures and misadventures of young woman named Snow White who is mistreated by her stepmother. She escapes and winds up living with the seven wonderful dwarfs that we know and love, namely Sleepy, Dopey, Sneezy, Happy, Bashful, Grumpy and Doc. Of course, in true Disney form, we all know that Snow White is eventually rescued by a handsome prince.

SPECIAL HONORARY ACADEMY AWARD


Even initially, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs was considered a critical and a commercial success for Walt Disney Productions and the movie at one point held the record for highest grossing movie with sound when it earned eight million dollars at the box office. Quite fittingly, I think, child actor Shirley Temple presented Walt Disney with an honorary Oscar for the movie in 1938. I should perhaps say with a series of Oscars since the design of this particular Oscar was truly unique consisting of one normal-sized Oscar and seven smaller ones mounted on an attractive platform.

REPRODUCTION MOVIE POSTER


If you simply want a representation of the movie, I do like the idea of a reproduction movie poster. The poster shown on this page is a reproduction available on Amazon and measures approximately 11 inches by 17 inches or 28 cms by 44 cms. Because it is new, it has naturally never been hung so it has no tape marks and no pin marks. You can find it affordably prized on Amazon by following this link.

VINTAGE MOVIE POSTERS


You can occasionally find an interesting vintage Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs movie poster on eBay by following this link. If it is a true vintage poster you are after, you will have to shop carefully to avoid reproductions. However, the hunt might well be worth it. I think that some of those old pieces are very attractive.

I believe that a Snow White poster would be a great addition to any movie- or Disney-themed room and, of course, it would really suit any little girl’s bedroom or even a baby girl’s nursery.

Would it be a new or vintage movie poster for you and where would you display it?

See you
at the movies!
Brenda
Movie Treasures By Brenda

Quick Links:

Buy your Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs movie poster on Amazon.
Read about Snow White Live at Radio City Music Hall in New York City.
Read my Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs Blu-ray Movie Review.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 13, 2019

Hurricane Style Lamps - An Outstanding Vintage Heirloom Look

Hurricane Style Lamps - Vintage Heirloom Look
I've stayed a fan of unique lamp designs my entire life. Standard lamps, those we see just about everywhere, are lovely as well. However, there's something incredibly gorgeous about adding a lamp that's not like anything you typically see.

Unique lamps, especially those with a vintage feel, can fit with any decor, even contemporary. If your decor style is to bring amazing pieces into a room, vintage lamps, especially Hurricane Style Lamps, meet that criteria.

Back in the 1980s, when we purchased our second home, lamp selection was a meticulous process for us. I'll never forget the moment I noticed the outstanding, custom hand-blown glass Hurricane Lamp featured on this page. We purchased two, and they're still front and center in our home. No matter how often styles have changed, this design has stood the test of time.

What Are Hurricane Lamps
Hurricane Style Lamp
Custom Hand-Blown Glass

The oil lamp eventually became the Hurricane Oil Lamp invented by Francois-Pierre Aime Argand in 1780. The invention of the glass insert protected the flame from the wind and elements. Over the centuries, Hurricane Lamps progressed in design from oil to electric. 

However, a Hurricane Lamp describes the style of a lamp, and styles can vary. Glass designs and shapes can differ quite a bit. You'll notice when online shopping just how vast the choices are.

The lamps we purchased are similar to Quoizel Lamps. Their style, of course, is vintage Hurricane. They've worked in the main rooms of the home as well as the bedrooms. 

Over the decades they've traveled with us from home to home, and we plan to keep them in the family. They're quite substantial in size, approximately two and a half feet in height.

Where Can You Find Similar Hurricane Lamps

I haven't seen any that match ours. However, I have come across a Quoizel Lamp that is close in design. It's slightly smaller in size, but still lovely. You can view it here on Amazon.

Happy vintage ambient lighting!







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, May 31, 2018

Vintage Lamp Bird Bath - DIY Tutorial and Review


I was visiting my muse the other day, Pinterest, when I came upon the most delightful inspiration.  Have you seen the creative bird baths that are being made from vintage lamps?  I'm pretty sure I would never have thought of this fun, and ingenious, idea on my own.  As one who loves to give cast off items new life, this was the perfect project for me.  In case you also enjoy whimsical garden features, I am sharing my DIY process to prime your pump.


First, I needed an old lamp and bird bath basin, so I took a little field trip to a couple of thrift stores.  Goodwill had exactly what I needed.  On my first shopping expedition, I found a glass serving dish that reminded me of a sunflower.  Amazingly, that is the exact vision I had for the theme of my creation.  Who knew an egg platter could be so lovely?


Next, I went on the hunt for the right lamp to complement my new bird bath dish, and to serve as its base.  Because thrift stores are always receiving new donations, I found the perfect lamp on my very next trip to the store.  The crystal, marble, and brass features, along with the size of the lamp, were just right in every way.  I couldn't wait to get home and put the finishing touches on my vintage bird bath.


Step One: Unscrew the light socket and remove it from the top of the lamp.


Step Two:  Clip the electrical cord and pull it out through the lamp base.  


Step Three:  I removed each individual section of the lamp and reassembled the pieces to better support the basin section of my bird bath.  I moved the brass leaf section to the top of the column and reversed it (turned it upside down) to serve as the support arms for my glass dish.  


Step Four:  Though I had intended to glue the platter directly to the brass arms, I found that they weren't totally level, so I riveted a circular metal candle holder to the brass piece.  I spray painted the metal silver since it would show through the bottom of the water basin.  I wanted a natural looking reflection.




Step Five:  I used E6000 glue to affix the glass dish to the candle holder.  I ran a bead of glue all along the circular rim on the bottom of the egg platter and carefully applied pressure for a minute or two after centering the dish on the metal plate.  Then, I let the glue cure for a couple of days.


Step Six:  Since I don't want my glass bird bath to tip over and shatter, I ran a metal post up into the center column where the cord used to be housed.  I purchased an inexpensive plant hanger at the dollar store.  It has stakes to anchor the base of the lamp into the ground.  I measured the height of the lamp and then cut off the hook top of the planter stake.  For extra insurance, since the winds are often incredibly strong where I live, I drilled a hole through the center of a cement patio paver and inserted the metal rod through it before installing the rod inside the lamp.  Now my bird bath is very stable and far less likely to get knocked over by the wind or wild critters.  As a bonus, it now has a level platform on which to stand.  I'll be planting flowers around the paver to make it more attractive.









Your steps may not be identical to mine, because every lamp is slightly different, but there are enough similarities to give you a sense of how to go about assembling your bird bath.  You may be able to find a lamp that already has a glass shade.  In that case, you won't need a separate glass dish.  I preferred knowing that my glass dish would not be toxic to birds and I didn't have to seal any holes that had been drilled through a lamp shade.  

I am very pleased with my unique bird bath.  It is so satisfying to take an unwanted item or two and turn them into a conversation piece.  More than that, I feel like I am showing a little love to the beautiful creatures who share my garden habitat.  It has been an especially dry season.  With the mountain creek dried up at the moment, it feels wonderful to provide a source of sustenance for the precious birds that fill my life with their sweet presence and songs.

Let me know if you decide to make your own bird bath or garden art with a vintage lamp.  I would love to see how you use your creative gifts.









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 18, 2016

Anne Alexander's The Pink Dress Has Been Reprinted (Book Review)

Anne Alexander's The Pink Dress Has Been Reprinted
All I can say is it is about time. Or maybe woo hoo. Whoopee! Yay! Three cheers. Hip hip hooray!

Words cannot express the excitement I and many other women felt when they discovered that Anne Alexander's coming-of-age novel has finally, FINALLY, finally been reprinted!

If I had a bigger picture, I would share it in an attempt to convey the excitement I felt when I discovered this novel had been reprinted.

If you are just discovering that fact, believe me, it is true. I purchased my copy recently and finally was able to read this book, which I first heard of in around 2009 when I sold my only vintage copy to a very excited buyer on eBay. Unfortunately, my copy was sold and gone to the buyer before I thought to read it and once I discovered how popular it was with some of you I really did want to read it.

Anne Alexander's The Pink Dress Vintage BookThe original book was written and released in 1959 and I now know some of you read it and read it and read it again.  It was a hugely popular success in school libraries and you thoroughly enjoyed the story.

I know that many of you have been waiting for this day since you first read the story a long time ago. The scarcity of copies of the original volume and the price at which those original volumes were selling put the book out of reach. Spending $500 to $1,000 on a children's chapter book was and is out of the realm of reason for most of us.

THE STORY?

It follows a grade nine girl's adventures in high school as she gives up on her good friends in an attempt to be in the "in" crowd. Growing up is always a difficult process and I believe this book to be a realistic version of how some teens would have thought and behaved in the 1950s.  I am also sure that pre-teens and teens have these same concerns today though they likely transpire in a slightly different manner.

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK?

Yes, I would. Some of you who have waited will need no recommendation from me. This book is exactly as you remember it and I know that you are thrilled that it has been reprinted. It is a lovely story, a sweet and innocent romance with some very nice surprises.

It was written for middle-school readers so it is an easy but lovely read for an adult. As the author's daughter says in the foreword, "The original middle-school readers and I are grandmothers now...We are pleased that our daughters and granddaughters love the book as much as we did. I bet you'll love it, too." I am not sure if she was talking to me or not but I did love it and I am planning to reread it soon, something I almost never do. Will you be reading The Pink Dress?

You can find the reprinted edition of The Pink Dress in paperback and Kindle as well as the original hardcover version of the book on Amazon by clicking right here. You can read more about the original printing and about the women who loved this book on my page about the vintage book here.

I like the artwork, too. I think the publisher or artist did a good job of making the book look fresh and modern but still referencing the 1950s. What do you think? Do you like the new cover?  I suppose the other alternative would have been to recreate the original cover. That would have been a pleasing choice, too.

Happy Reading!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

Quick Links:

Buy your copy of The Pink Dress on Amazon.
Read more about the book.









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, January 11, 2016

A Treasury of the World's Greatest Fairy Tales Vintage Book Review

A Treasury of the World's Greatest Fairy Tales Vintage Book Review
Adapted by Helen Hyman, A Treasury of the World's Greatest Fairy Tales and A Second Treasury of the World's Greatest Fairy Tales are both beautiful hardcover books filled with some of the best fairy tales. Both the text and the pictures were created by three brothers and their publishing company in Italy under the name of Fratelli Fabbri Editori.

The stories are closer to the original story lines than they are the Disney versions. If you want to expose your children to fairy tales that are not defined by Disney, these books are worth considering.

Possibly more important to some individuals than the actual stories in this case are the detailed pictures. The images were so important to people who grew up with them that these books defined the way those fairy tales look in their minds. One reviewer says that for her they defined exactly what fairy tale princes, princesses, dwarves, ogres, and even some animals looked like.  Another says that the pictures in the book are more like paintings than they are pen-and-ink cartoons. 

Both of these treasuries are suitable for both girls and boys. They are not just princess stories but also include stories where the young male character is the hero.

Published in the 1970s and held dear by many adults who owned them when they were young, these treasuries are now out of print and in demand as people search for copies to share with their own families and with which to replace worn out volumes that they own. Unfortunately, the fact that they are vintage and out-of-print makes them slightly more expensive than the average new, modern fairy tale book.

A Second Treasury of the World's Greatest Fairy Tales Vintage Book ReviewThe following fairy tales are included in the first volume of the World's Greatest Fairy Tales treasury:
  • The Ugly Duckling
  • Puss-in-Boots
  • Hansel and Gretel
  • The Wild Swans
  • Seven in One Blow
  • Snow White and Rose Red
  • The Frog Prince
  • The Three Little Pigs
  • Rapunzel
  • Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves
  • The Three Dwarfs in the Wood
  • Prince Kamar and Princess Budur
  • Hans in Luck
  • The Three Musicians
The stories included in the second book, A Second Treasury of the World's Greatest Fairy Tales, are:
  • Cinderella
  • Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs
  • Aladdin and the Magic Lamp
  • Sleeping Beauty
  • Little Red Riding hood
  • The Lion and the Carpenter
  • Beauty and the Beast
  • The Seven Ravens
  • The Little Goldfish
  • The Little Tin Soldier
  • The Emperor's Nightingale
  • Thumbelina
  • The Three Hairs of the Ogre
  • The Pied Piper

A Few Closing Thoughts from Readers


One fond reader says that the stories in these books are full of food for you and your child's imagination and that the words will stretch it farther. Another reader says that this was one of two things that he really loved when he was growing up. 

The Poisoned Martini says these books "have got to be the best illustrated collection of fairy tales." 

If you are searching for a copy of one or both of these books, you will find both of them on eBay by clicking right here.

Do you have a children's book that you remember fondly? Perhaps one that defined forever how a character looks in your mind?

Happy Reading!
Brenda


Quick Links:

New, used and vintage children's books in my eBay store.
The Pink Dress by Anne Alexander.
Controversial Anne of Green Gables book cover.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X