Showing posts with label games. Show all posts
Showing posts with label games. Show all posts

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Jenga Classic Game Reviewed

Family Fun For All Ages


Playing Jenga Image Courtesy of Pixabay.com
It is that time of year again, we are all looking for gift ideas. Today I would like to review the classic game of Jenga for you to consider as a gift for a child or the entire family.

We love to play games in our house. Board games are fun but when the entire family gets together some of those are too difficult for the little ones to play. Not all of the adults like playing the simpler games like Chutes and Ladders or Candy Land so the the youngest can play along. 

That is why I love the Jenga game. Even the littlest family member can play. We have one who still delights in losing by pulling out a block and causing the tower to fall. She used to clap and say, "Do it again, do it again" or "I did it! I made it fall!" She has reached an age now where she understands that the object is to remove a block without making the tower crash and has become more skilled at playing. She is a little like her Grandma in not being too awfully competitive; losing doesn't bother her like a few of the adults who get perturbed when they lose. I think that is one of the reasons that I have always loved to play games with the children. It is fun to show them what it feels like to win but it is just as important (in my humble opinion) to show them how to lose gracefully. Depending on who is playing at the time, sometimes the kids see an example of what it looks like to be a "sore loser" and that is important for them to see, too. 



It is a fun and inexpensive game that is easy to play although it does provide some chances for skill and strategy as the tower grows and it becomes less and less stable. Because the blocks are made of wood; it isn't going to break and it is extremely easy to store away when the game is over. We've even played with the blocks like building blocks from time to time instead of playing the actual game.

If you are looking for a gift idea for a child, I recommend that you consider the game of Jenga. Both children and adults can enjoy playing it and it never goes out of style.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, August 6, 2016

Reviewing Monopoly Deal - The Playing Card Version of the Classic Monopoly Board Game

Available on Amazon

We are all familiar with the board game, Monopoly, which has been around in its current version since 1935.  Over the years, the classic version has grown to include nearly 1300 variations, many of them theme-based. For a list of these, check this link

Monopoly has become one of the most popular games of all time. I remember spending hours playing it as a child, and now my grandsons enjoy it just as much.














A Favorite Version of the Monopoly Board Game




While visiting my 14-year-old grandson, Ryan, in Iowa in June, we played his Star Wars Monopoly game in board game form, which he absolutely loves to play. 



At the end of my visit, it was decided that Ryan would come back home with me for a visit to Coastal Georgia and the beach. He wanted to bring his Star Wars Monopoly Board Game, but there wasn't room in the car.  Instead, he discovered that there is a card game version of Monopoly, which he purchased before we left. 



 
Grandson Ryan (c) Wednesday Elf
 Let me tell you, Ryan and I have become very expert at this Monopoly card game, playing 3 and 4 games per day most days! This Monopoly Deal card game takes only about 15 minutes to play, as opposed to 3 and 4 hours to play the board game version of Monopoly.  And since it doesn't take up any more room to pack in your suitcase than a deck of cards, it is the perfect game to take on a vacation or trip.  



Monopoly Deal Card Game

 

(c) Wednesday Elf

Monopoly Deal comes with 110 cards consisting of the familiar Property Cards (like Boardwalk and Park Place), plus hotel and motel cards, money cards, and action cards which include rent cards and cards that let you steal property from the other players.  



Monopoly Deal Money

  • The Money Cards are a tad different than what you are used to in the Monopoly board game.  The denominations begin at One Million and go up to 10 Million dollars. At first it seems strange dealing with what appears to be such a large amount of money, but one quickly adapts to playing a Rent Action Card and saying things such as "Pay me $7 Million Dollars for my property"



    • Instead of 'Passing Go" and collecting $200, as in the board game, there are Pass Go cards which allow you to draw two more cards.



       

      • The "Just Say No" cards have become a favorite, as they prevent another player from stealing your property or having to pay a large amount of 'rent' on a property set with a house and a hotel! 





      Monopoly Deal Rules


      Each turn you draw two cards and can play up to 3 cards. Fortunes can change in a minute, depending upon what cards you draw and play.  To win you need three complete sets of Property Cards. 

      The game can be played with 2-5 players, which made it perfect for Ryan and Grandma to play a quick game or two between trips to the beach or my apartment pool those hot summer days here in southern Georgia.  It's also a quick game to play between dinner and bedtime. The more we played it, the more we enjoyed it. It's truly an addictive card game. If your looking for a fun family/friend game, Monopoly Deal is it.




      November 19

      is

      National Play Monopoly Day





      (c) Article written on 8/3/2016.  Updated on 11/19/2017
       



      Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


      FOLLOW US ON:

      Wednesday, May 18, 2016

      Lady Bugs are So Cool

      Now you must admit, this little red and black bug really is quite cute to look at!  When I review the benefits of having these Lady Bugs in the garden, I can't help myself, I am happy, and smiling.

      These little bugs are the kind that you want to see in your garden! They are wanted for their ability to eat immense numbers of "bad bugs" that gardeners and farmers all over the world seem to have. Surprisingly, they are fairly long lived as bugs go! They have a life span of 2 to 3 years. Did you know that? According to the National Geographic that's what a lifetime for a lady bug is!

      Others tend to think that lady bugs live a few months to a couple of years, I've never been able to follow just one to find out for myself which estimate is correct!

      From the time I was a young girl (not so many years ago) I have always loved these little critters. I did not know then, that these were some of the best bugs to have around. That was long before I became a gardener or had any inkling of getting my hands dirty!  I just know that I liked them even when I was younger.   If one would happen to land on me, my day just seemed to be great!


      Lady Bugs are Beneficial to Gardens


      While most bugs in the garden tend to hide, these little guys just seem to scream, "Here I am!"

      I can remember my sister and I going out to the garden to hunt these lady bugs and see who could get more of them........It was a game that we would play for hours. When we had enough of them gathered in a jar, my mother would immediately take us out to the tomato garden and watch us release our beauties right there. She would be pleased as punch that she now had her own "army" to do some of the gardening work!

      My sister and I wouldn't mind either, because we could go out and watch them all day long. Now that I am all grown up, I think back to those Lady Bug hunting days with a smile on my lips, because I still go out to my garden to look for my little lovelies! But, I also look for ways to encourage them to stay in my garden! That means planting things that will in effect also draw aphids. That is not hard to do, because aphids have got to be one of the biggest garden pests going and they are attracted to many different kinds of flowers, including roses. So if you are a lover of roses, you just might want to also become a lover of Lady Bugs!


      Lady Bugs are a favorite for many people.  There are many different items available with lady bugs as their motif.  From jewelry to coffee mugs. games and books, all use the lovely red/black and white coloring of the lady bugs to enchant and captivate their audience. I think that's one of the reasons you will find them in so many places.

      I can remember when we first had our children. My sweetling ( one of hubbie's pet names)  was a budding carpenter (woodworker) and decided that he would build our baby's crib! He did a great job and while it was painted a very plain white, we wanted something to brighten up the new baby's bedroom. Well,  of course I went out looking for lady bugs! Truth be known, at the time they were hard to find, and I didn't trust my artistic ability. We searched and searched and searched (this was pre-internet days) and could not find what we wanted.

      The baby's grandparents were on the way to Switzerland and there they found some beautiful ladybug decals. So, when they were back home, the decals were the first things to find a special place, and that was on the headboard and foot-board of the new crib........ Today I would have found some pictures and painted them on the crib myself, but like I said earlier, I didn't trust my artistic abilities at that time. How things have changed. Since that time (almost 45 years ago) lady bugs and insects in general have been given a whole new spotlight on the decorator's radar. You can find all kinds of bugs, beetles, insects and more to decorate your child's room. Not to mention flowers, and trees and a host of other "earth friendly" decorating ideas.


      The Charm of Lady Bugs 


      Lady Bugs are considered to be good luck, so if you get one to visit you, you are lucky too! There is something charming about Lady Bugs, and I don't really know why they stand out. It could be their color as those cute little red, black and bits of white, just make me smile. Maybe it's the whole idea that they are beneficial bugs that makes them desired, all I know is that,every time I wear my  Lady Bug pin, someone comments on it. There are rhymes that are told about Lady Bugs, stories that are written about Lady Bugs and a whole lot more. The bottom line is that lady bugs with their primary colors are wonderful ways to get children involved with their surroundings and get them thinking in earth friendly terms. I think the earth would appreciate having some youngsters interested in keeping the world green and healthy!
      >
      Start small and work your way up to some real Earth Friendly activities! Budding entomologists, scientists, gardeners, are being formed just by awareness, and you can't start too early for that.

      Get your little ones started on the road to learning about the earth and it's bugs with - a host of stories and books about the critters around them!

      A deep love for all things of the earth are possible if you take the time to encourage that activity. Children are a natural place to start, because their curiosity is boundless.

      Feed that curiosity with books, games and puzzles and who knows, you just might be encouraging the next generation of "earth sciences" scientists.


      Even grown ups love lady bugs, so let your inner child out and enjoy what you did as a child.  Lady bugs are not just for kids to enjoy! If you loved them as a child, there is nothing stopping you from loving them now too!


      Grammie Olivia loves to write on Review This, and offer a few suggestions for you to enjoy with your youngsters.  She is an Amazon Affiliate and if you click on her links, she will be paid a small commission. And because she loves LadyBugs so much you just know she will have them on her website`s banner!http://grammieknowshow.com/






      Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


      FOLLOW US ON:

      Tuesday, March 1, 2016

      Reviewing Marbles A Traditional Game of Lent

      March And Marbles

      It doesn't matter whether Easter falls in March or April, typically at least most of the month of March falls in to the time of Lent. Did you know that a traditional game played during the Lenten Season is marbles? I honestly did not know this myself but I think it is really kind of cool. 

      I know I have fond memories of shooting marbles when I was a young girl! I don't know that children play marbles much anymore but what a fun tradition to start in young families. Of course they don't have to just play marbles during Lent but it is a nice time to start teaching them how to play. 

      First, a little history of the game. Marbles has been played for hundreds, perhaps thousands, of years. It is believed that in the beginning eggs, round stones and even cherry pits were used before the marbles of glass came along. During Lent, children and grown-ups alike played this fun game up until the clock stroked 12 noon on Good Friday. Did you know that another name for Good Friday is Marble Day? I didn't know that, either. 

      Marbles is not a complicated game and most kids pick up the rules with one explanation. The fun thing is that it can be played inside or outside and all year long. We usually played outside and we made our ring in the dirt. How about you? Did you play marbles as a child?

      In case you have forgotten the rules, here is a fun video to remind you of how easy it is to play.


      Did that bring it all back to you? It did me! Oh the hours we spent trying to get each other's marbles. We kind of rotated in our rules. Sometimes, we played "keepsies" and sometimes we gave back the marbles when the game was over. The disagreements usually started if we were doing give-backs because someone invariably tried to claim a marble as having been his or hers. We came up with a clever way to decide...we had a "shoot-off" for the marble or marbles in question.

      You know not all marbles look alike and many times we had marbles that were different from the others. Maybe it was a special color of "cat's eye" or an unusual color of swirl. I remember one boy in the neighborhood had a couple of neat corkscrews and one kid was lucky enough to have some "aggies" which were made from agate. Those marbles never came into dispute as to who the original owner was but the more common ones sometimes did. When we played "keepsies", sometimes I would win an exceptionally pretty marble and I would keep those aside and not enter them into the next game because I didn't want to lose them. Maybe that was the beginning of me collecting things! I know I had quite a stash of marbles by the time I stopped playing. Funny, I don't remember what happened to those marbles. I probably gave them to some little kid at some point.

      Perhaps this month, during Lent, you could introduce the game of marbles to your children or grandchildren! A fun, inexpensive game that can offer hours of fun and enjoyment.


      Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


      FOLLOW US ON:

      Monday, January 18, 2016

      Perplexus the Epic Gift

      Perplexus Epic
      Do you need to purchase a gift for someone and haven't a clue what to get? Maybe you are hosting a social gathering and would like to provide a fun activity.  Perhaps you are like me, someone who likes solving puzzles.  If you are perplexed about what to get, let the Perplexus Epic solve your dilemma.  This is a toy review but I have a hard time referring to the Perplexus as a toy since it is a great gift for almost all age ranges,

      The Gift of the Day


      Have you ever experienced people gathering around one activity because it is so much fun. Everyone taking turns with the fun, new gadget.  I recently had that experience.

      We were at a small Christmas gathering. One of the gifts that day turned out to be a huge hit. The group of us were occupied with it for the remainder of the day. Even as we sat at the table eating our dessert, we passed this toy around the table.

      "We" consisted of five adults - aged youngish adult to senior adult. We passed this ball around, taking turns for hours. And had a great time doing it. We helped each other, competed against each other, and some of us pulled out flashlights in order to try to get a leg up. I found myself wishing that my adult children had been there to play along.  This toy could easily have gotten 3 to 4 generations playing together.

      Serious Epic Competition

      The Perplexus Epic Review  


      The Perplexus is a clear plastic ball containing a small metal ball and a maze of ramps, steps, teeter-totters, bridges, and other obstacles.  There are a variety of Perplexus puzzles, including; Original, Twist, Epic, and most recently the Perplexus Star Wars.

      We fell in love with the Perplexus Epic that day. It is advertised as "Easy to Play...Hard to Master".  They weren't exaggerating.  It was not easy to master.  In fact, none of us have completed it successfully yet.  But that did not stop us from having a blast.


      • The Perplexus Epic is a slightly larger ball  (9" diameter at the largest section) - approximately the size of a volleyball. 
      •  It is made of visually pleasing colors; grey, white, and blues.  
      • The inside ramps and obstacles are stamped with numbers - so everyone can brag about how far they've gotten
      • 125 Barriers
      • Epic - the most challenging Perplexus maze
      • It is "unplugged" gaming fun. No batteries or electricity needed
      • Self-Contained - no pieces to lose


      Everyone Wanted One


      By the days' end, we had already announced that we were all buying one for ourselves. Had the stores not been closed for the holiday, we would have stopped on the way home.  By the end of the week, we each owned one.  And now, almost a month later, we still play with ours in our home. When we tire of the Epic version, we will most likely buy the Star Wars version.  If I still had school-aged children in my home, I would choose the Perplexus Original.  I'm fairly certain that before too long, I will own one of each. Yes, I like Perplexus just that much. And I think you will too.







      Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


      FOLLOW US ON:

      Wednesday, December 23, 2015

      Reviewing Bridal Shower Scratch Off Tickets

      Easy Game For Bridal Showers

      Since my youngest daughter is planning a wedding for 2016, I know I will be invited to a few of the bridal showers that will be thrown in her honor. I am looking forward to going to each one but then I also dread them, too. I love watching the gifts being opened and the visiting with people. The treats are usually yummy but the games are not usually my favorite thing. 

      It is difficult to come up with decent games for any kind of shower, I know. So, I do appreciate when the hostess comes up with something fun and unique. My other daughter will most assuredly have one of the showers for her sister and I have a suggestion for one of the games. Most people love to do the lottery scratch off tickets and I have discovered that you can get them printed for a bridal shower. Who knew? 

      Now, isn't that the most clever idea you have seen in a while? I love the idea! There are a variety of styles and colors to choose from. I noticed that some come in packages of 25 and others offer packages of 10. There will always be only 1 winner in the package which makes it easy. The winner ticket is always on the top, too. You can shuffle them up before handing them out so that it is a surprise as to who gets the prize. Another option would be to hand them out to people as they arrive, if you didn't shuffle them first you will know that the first guest gets the prize.

      What I love about this option for a bridal shower game is that there is really no one attending that is at a disadvantage. There are no silly questions that involve the bride's past, no physical feats (other than the action of scratching off the film) and no embarrassing questions or answers to go through. Simple and fun, period.

      How about a few ideas on when to give the ticket to each guest? I mentioned giving them when they arrive but there are other options, too. Perhaps place a ticket on each plate when the treats are served. When the bride to be opens a gift from each guest, the guest is given their ticket at that moment. You could place them on a table and tell the guests to be sure to take just one. Then there is the simple one of just having the hostess pass them out before or after one of the other games. There is a multitude of ways to do it, any of which are simple and easy to do.

      If by chance the shower is a large one and there will be more than 25 guests in attendance, you will need to get more than one package. Then, you will have to decide if you want more than one winner. If not, just remove the top ticket of each pack so that there is only one winner. 



      Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


      FOLLOW US ON:

      Wednesday, November 25, 2015

      A Board Game to Encourage Your Better Self

      A Board Game that Encourages Positive Action & Thought

      Are you looking for a family game or party game to help inspire and encourage the better side of people?


      There isn't anything that says we have to continue to feed into the overwhelming negativity that seems to be infecting our lives and our playtime

      Many are consumed with violent video games and even board games that promote the not-so-nice side of people. Although game lovers will never stop playing violent and vulgar games (and yes, they can be fun too!), it's nice to know that, once in a while, we can actively switch things up to something that leans positive.

      With Thanksgiving approaching, 'Better Me' is a game the whole family can play. It encourages us to expose the better side of ourselves to others.
      "Better Me is a new approach to relationships and personal development. The game encourages it's players to take real action after the game has ended to better themselves in this life. It uses the basic principles of positive psychology to help strengthen relationships and to help tap into the better side of the human condition"
      Better Me helps you to quickly get to know people as well. If you're hosting a party and need a game to encourage conversation, this game does it in a positive, constructive and forward thinking way. You'll get to see the inside of people very quickly just by their responses to a variety of life questions and scenarios. 

      The fundamental play of the game involves Players completing their five areas of life; Heart, Mind, Body, Tangibles and People. You earn points by passing along a true compliment, sharing a story where you learned a positive lesson, and even committing to taking a positive step in your life when the game ends.

      Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Holidays - Have Fun, Be Happy

      by Barbara Tremblay Cipak
      Owner - Funkthishouse.com






      Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


      FOLLOW US ON: