Showing posts with label Fashion. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Fashion. Show all posts

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Ryka Devo Plus 2 Walking Shoes - Review

Ryka Devo Plus 2 Walking Shoes Review
As a lifelong athlete and former coach, I have learned there is one thing we should never skimp on: our footwear.  This is true for anyone with an active lifestyle.  If your feet aren't happy, it's almost impossible to enjoy such simple pleasures as a revitalizing walk in a beautiful park.  Recently, when I began preparing with my dog, Finn, for a charity walking event, I could tell it was time to replace my worn-out running shoes.  My knees and hips were sore after every three-mile workout.  Fortunately, I was able to quickly alleviate my joint pain and discomfort by switching to a new pair of Ryka Devo Plus 2 walking shoes.  I'd like to share with you why this is my fifth purchase of Ryka shoes.

If you haven't discovered the Ryka brand yet, you are in for a treat.  First and foremost, Ryka is a company specializing in footwear for women.  It makes all the difference in the world when such an important product is customized for the female anatomy.  Until I found Ryka, my super sensitive feet suffered when forced into shoes that were essentially men's footwear sized down for women.  For a long time, that was really the only option we had.

Imagine my delight, then, when I tried on my first pair of Ryka training shoes.  My feet were ecstatic.  For the first time in, well, forever, blisters, sore heels, and aching arches were a thing of the past.  Fast forward to today — nearly 15 years and thousands of miles since buying my first Ryka fitness shoes.  Having previously owned four pairs of their running and cross-training shoes, it was time to purchase a pair specifically geared towards walking.  In case you are wondering, yes, it does make a difference when you wear shoes made for a particular activity.

It was easy to choose the Ryka Devo (Devotion) Plus 2 walking shoes.  They are wildly popular and are a best-seller on Amazon.  As I skimmed through a sampling of hundreds of five-star rated reviews, it was apparent why so many women are totally devoted to this particular Ryka shoe.  As soon as my new shoes arrived, I joined the legion of fans.

Right out of the box I experienced something quite rare: no break-in period with the Devo Plus 2 shoes.  Amazingly, I was able to immediately walk for miles without my usual knee pain.  What a relief!  Here are a few additional things I love about my new Ryka walking shoes:

  1. Luxurious cushioning.
  2. So lightweight I barely know I am wearing shoes.
  3. Breathable mesh that keeps my feet perfectly cool.
  4. My feet feel refreshed even after a 12-hour day on the go.
And did I mention all the great color options?  I went with the navy/teal combo, which goes so well with my typical casual wardrobe.  I have a feeling you will be drawn to one of these pleasing color choices: black/purple, blue/pink, white/blue, grey/coral, plum/turquoise, grey/teal, black/pink, or navy/teal.  I like several of these combinations.

As you can probably tell,  I highly recommend the Ryka Women's Devo Plus 2 walking shoes.  I am completely satisfied with their value, excellent quality, and the great deal I got on Amazon (25% off retail and free two-day shipping).  When you check out additional buyer comments, by following any of the links in this review, you will learn that many women have made this shoe their preferred everyday work shoe (like nurses and other professionals who spend a lot of time on their feet every day).  Having worn these shoes daily now for about a month, I am not surprised.  Have you tried the Ryka brand?  If so, I hope you will share your experience.  Thanks for stopping by!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

July 4th Ladies Tank Top Reviewed

Apparel For July 4th Celebration

usa flag
To Celebrate Our Nation's Birthday
Ladies are you looking for a new tank top to wear for your July 4th celebration this year? I would like to review an option for you today.

Chances are whether you plan to attend a local parade, a picnic, cookout or the fireworks display the temperature will be warm. A tank top offers a perfect option for the weather and the celebration you plan to attend.

Actually, the option that I am going to show you will work beyond the July 4th holiday. It can be worn any time during the warm months of the year to show your patriotism or just as a really cool top.



4th of July Tank Top

The great thing about this tank top for ladies is that it is quite casual and can be worn with your favorite shorts, pair of jeans or even slacks. I particularly like that it is extra long and could even be worn as a cover-up for the pool or beach. So, there is a lot of versatility for this particular choice for your celebration of our nation's birthday.

I also noticed that if you do not like this particular design you have the option to choose a different pattern. One has mostly stars on a blue background while the other is sort of a reverse of the design above. There is also a great selection of sizes available for this tank top.

So, how about it? Have you thought about what you will be wearing for the July 4th celebration that is just around the corner?


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

The Collection (A Series) Reviewed

An Intriguing Drama Series To Stream 

sewing machine for fashion
Sewing Machine image courtesy of Pixabay.com
The Collection is a series of episodes that can be streamed through an Amazon Prime membership. My husband and I started viewing it this weekend and we are really caught up in the drama of the show. 

The story takes place in the late 1940s after WWII in Paris. It revolves around the fashion industry focusing on a small house of couture called Paul Sabine. 

In case you are not much of a history buff, during the war France was occupied by the Germans. As one can imagine the fashion industry of Paris suffered during this occupation. In fact, Hitler wanted to move the fashion houses and designers to Germany. 

The series hints at some collaboration with the Germans during the occupation and also shows how the industry is trying to make a comeback and restore its recognition of being the best place in the world for couture and new styles.



I am not one who really gets too caught up in fashion but I do love the premise of this series. The set designs are remarkable! I love seeing how the staff worked at making a design on paper come to life in the sewing room. The attention to detail in how that room would have looked is amazing. In one scene a girl is working on a dress on a mannequin and my husband said, "What does she have on her wrist?" It was a wonderful old fashioned pin cushion that a seamstress would have worn on her wrist for convenience.

One might think that most men would not enjoy this series much since it deals with Paris fashion houses. My husband is really enjoying it because there is more than just creating unique dresses involved. I mentioned the hints of collaboration with the Nazis. There is an American reporter who is trying to dig up some dirt on that front. There is also a conflict between the two Sabine brothers that is quite interesting. Paul, who is known as the owner and top designer of the House of Sabine doesn't really design the dresses. His brother Claude is the real talent behind their designs but the public doesn't know that. I don't think most of the staff realizes who the real genius is. The mother of the brothers is pretty interesting too! There is something from her past that makes her mysterious. Paul is holding something over her and she does not want Claude to find out. She is a real piece of work!

We are finding that there is enough going on that both genders, male and female, can enjoy this series found on Amazon. The story holds your attention and keeps you wondering what will happen next. It is currently rated 4.6 stars out of 5 so it would appear that most viewers are rating it highly.

 Currently the only way to view it is through your Prime membership. That might change in the future but for now only Prime members can watch it for free. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, January 2, 2017

Reviewing Free Country Women's Jackets

My Free Country soft shell jacket
I dread buying jackets and I am often disappointed after purchasing one. Winter jackets are too bulky or they aren't bulky but then they are not warm enough. Water-resistant jackets often feel too stiff and too much like plastic and are overly noisy when I walk. Or my favorite jackets do not remain dry in wet snow conditions. Last week, I found the solution to my jacket problems when I purchased a women's jacket by Free Country. I immediately put it to the test in severe weather. This review will explain why I have a new favorite brand of women's outerwear.


Free Country Soft Shell Women's Hooded Jacket


A week ago, I went shopping for a jacket. I needed a warm, wind-resistant, rain-resistant but light-weight jacket. I dread cold and wet weather. Not so much because of the weather. In fact, I enjoy being outside in inclement weather at many times. What I dread is finding outerwear that fits, is comfortable, and does what it claims to do. I chose a Free Country Soft Shell Hooded Jacket and immediately put it to the test.

This soft shell jacket was advertised as water resistant, wind resistant, and breathable.  It was so thin that I expected it to be not warm enough. But the "soft butterpile lining" and the wind resistant material kept me plenty warm as I went camping during severe weather that included 20F degree nights, severe wind gusts, and horizontally blowing snow crystals. I was camping in a cabin but had to walk the dogs, gathered wood, and I also planted my little Christmas tree in the inclement weather. I remained warm and dry during all of these activities.

The things I especially liked about this jacket:
  • this little jacket kept me warm and kept the wind off me. 
  • my movement was not constricted 
  • I bought slightly large so I could layer underneath as needed but the fit was still very good
  • the hood fit well (not so snug as to be binding and not so loose as to blow off) 
  • shorter cut (no sitting on the tail of my jacket)
  • multiple pockets (the pockets were large and roomy enough for a large pair of gloves)
  • the velco-adjustable cuffs of the jacket are perfect for wind-proofing your wrists - no matter how thick or thin your gloves (or wrists) are

I was surprised at how well this jacket performed. I should have purchased two of them - one for my "roughing it" activities and one for work. The soft shell jacket I purchased can be seen here.


Free Country Women's Anorak Rain Jacket


After I purchased the jacket I described above, I thought something seemed familiar about it.  So I checked the rain jacket that I purchased last year that I like. Briefly, this women's rain jacket is advertised as being made with a "unique coating" that is soft, durable, and lightweight. The "radiant" coating feels slightly "nylon-ish" to me and does make some of that distracting rain coat noise that I despise. But only slightly.  The interior mesh keeps me cool (which is a huge plus) and none of the material gives my hair static (an even bigger plus).

If you are looking for a lightweight rain jacket, I recommend the Free Country jackets. The rain jacket I'm referring to can be seen here.


About Free Country


On the Free Country site you will find that there are many different styles of jackets for a variety of weather conditions.  You'll also find a long list of stores that carry this brand. Some of these retail partners include:

  • Amazon
  • Bass Pro Shops
  • JC Penney
  • Kohls

I purchased this jacket via Kohls because I had some generous gift cards to spend. I have several wish list items that I will purchase in the near future. Whether you purchase through one of the retail partners or through Free Country's site, I think you will find what you need.



I would like to mention that if purchasing from Amazon, please comparison shop. Amazon is my favorite shopping experience and I've never had difficulty with an order. All of the coats fulfilled by Free Country were competitively priced. However, I noticed that my specific jacket advertised on Amazon, fulfilled by another merchant, was marked up considerably. Be careful to watch those prices.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Elephant Necklace Reviewed

Gift Idea For The Elephant Lover

elephant necklace
Elephant Necklace In Gift Box
In the last few weeks I have talked about my little granddaughter who has a passion for elephants and wants to protect them from poaching. I decided to review an elephant necklace that she will also be getting as a Christmas present this year for today's post. Grandma has made this an elephant themed holiday for this precious little girl.

While searching for an elephant necklace I had a few things that I wanted to find in that necklace. I wanted it to be no longer than 18 inches because it will be worn by a 5 year old little girl. I figured that at that length she will be able to wear it for years to come.

I also wanted for it to be sterling silver so that it would last for years to come and not tarnish with wear. Little girls can be rough on jewelry; so I wanted something of value.

The last item on my list of "it must haves" was that the trunk had to be up on the elephant. We will talk more about  the reason for that choice in a minute.

I found there was quite a nice selection to choose from and it took me a while to find what I think was the perfect one for her. So, here is the necklace that I decided would work well for my little grandchild.

The image above looks large but that is so that you can see the detail of the elephant. The actual size is small and very delicate looking. It will not be too large for her small frame and as she grows it will remain quite feminine looking as she wears it.

Why did I want the trunk up on the elephant? Many say that an elephant with its trunk up will bring good fortune or good luck to people. Some might even say that if the trunk is down it will bring bad luck. That being said, I did find that some people believe the opposite and that an elephant with its trunk down allows good fortune to flow through easily. I am going with the trunk up theory because it makes more sense to me and besides the elephant looks happier and less menacing in my humble opinion.

dainty elephant necklace
Dainty Elephant Necklace
As you can see from my images the elephant necklace comes in a pretty little gift box. I also felt that sharing my own images with you might give a better perspective of how dainty the little pendant is on the chain. The chain, itself, has a nice delicate look to it but appears to be good and sturdy which is also a necessity for a child.

One of the features that sold me on this particular choice was the added little bling. It looks like the pachyderm is wearing a necklace of diamonds. Of course they are not real diamonds but it does give the illusion of them. She is very much a little girl who loves fancy and shiny things! I think she will be delighted when she opens the gift on Christmas morning. I can already hear her saying, "Grandma will you help me put it on?"

Although, I picked this gift for a child; it is a nice gift idea for a girl of any age who happens to love elephants. It is very nicely made and would look great with casual wear or dressy attire. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Reviewing 4 Beautiful, Affordable Scarves for The Women in Your Life!

There isn't a woman around who doesn't love the look and feel of a beautiful scarf around her neck.  


There is something wonderful and enticing about the colorful scarves that just seem to make an outfit go from okay to a Knock Out!

Scarves can take your everyday little black dress and make that dress just "Pop". One black dress can look so different depending on the addition and color of a simple scarf.

Beautiful Scarves for Women





What I love about this accessory is that there are literally hundreds of different styles and colors to choose from. Large squares are great for accessorizing your wardrobe. There are also long rectangular scarves that lend themselves to be knotted in many different ways.

Ways to Wear or Tie a Scarf


They are an inexpensive addition to your wardrobe that can lift your outfit from plain to outstanding. Long scarves can be knotted, draped or just left sitting on your shoulders. Each way you choose to wear it gives it a different look.

You don't need to be a rocket scientist to figure it all out. But, let me help you with this video and you can try these methods at home. See which way you like to knot your scarf and then try something different on another occasion.




Scarves can be dressy or very casual. I suggest the silk scarves for work or evenings out. Silk scarves just say "special occasion or dressy occasion" to me.

https://pixabay.com/en/clothing-scarves-winter-668701/
As you can see from this picture, scarves can be made out of many different fabrics. Each one has its place in your wardrobe. Colors are also so varied that you will have no problem finding the ones that you like the best. Wherever you travel you will find that scarves are one of the hottest items to buy for your friends back home or for yourself.

 https://pixabay.com/en/neck-scarves-market-selection-287657/

A few years ago, Oprah made the Pashminas (light wool and silk scarves) so fashionable that the prices of them became prohibitive for most people. Today you can buy them at much more reasonable prices, but the fiber contents may vary. Let's just say, they were beautiful and extravagant! Scarves can be affordable and still beautiful. One will never ever be enough.

Long cotton scarves can be used for hiking and horseback riding adventures. Going out to the country fair and wanting to look just a little dressy will be so easy with some heavier scarves. Depending on the time of year, even woolen scarves would be appropriate and even very classy. If ever you need a gift that will make a lady happy and smile, I would suggest a beautiful scarf. They are a gift that will be used and enjoyed for many years to come.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, October 21, 2016

Fabulous Faux Fur Coats, Jackets, Throws and More Reviewed

Faux Furs Really are Fabulous Alternatives


Since I own several Fabulous Fur coats by Donna Salyers, I can personally attest to the high quality and beauty of these faux furs.
Because I think animals have the loveliest fur,  I was thrilled when I discovered Fabulous Furs, a company that manufactures exquisite faux fur coats.  The soft feel coupled with the warmth of fur makes a beautiful, warm and luxurious coat, jacket or throw. 

Even though I think animal fur is gorgeous, I have always refused to wear real mink coats or any other real fur coat.  In spite of being surrounded by women in society who consider animal fur the ultimate fashion statement, I remained "unfashionable". 

When my husband gave me my first Fabulous Fur coat, I was absolutely amazed at how beautiful and warm it was to wear.  I now have several faux fur coats and I thoroughly enjoy wearing them.   I adore my collection of Fabulous Fur coats that imitate the natural beauty of animals and I am extremely proud that they are not real animal fur.  Anyone who knows me well, knows how much I love animals!  I would never consider harming or killing an animal for the sake of my own vanity. 


The Coats and Jackets are Available directly from Donna Salyers Fabulous Furs website


Dress up your Home too!


 60X86 SIGNATURE THROW WHITE MINKIn addition to stunningly gorgeous coats, jackets, vests, ponchos and wraps, Fabulous Furs also offers a variety of beautiful faux fur throws.

Our daughter owns the faux fur white mink throw and matching pillow.  It was a rather extravagant purchase at the time we purchased them, but she really wanted that throw and pillow set.  As it turns out, it was a great investment.   That throw and pillow set have been the one constant through several paint colors and decor changes in her bedroom.

White is not everyone's first choice, but there are several fur color options available.  The puma, lynx, red fox and sable are a few of my own favorites.


Fabulous Furs Offer Superior Service


Bunny Fur Coat
I have had the opportunity to deal with Donna Salyers' customer service department via the phone too.  A few years ago, we purchased a little pink rabbit faux fur for our niece for Christmas. 

When I ordered it, the coat was out of stock and due before Dec. 28th.  However, I'll have you know, I received it Dec. 24th.  I know they went the extra mile to get that coat to us by Christmas when many companies would have simply figured the sale was made, what difference did it make.  Well, it made a difference!  They now have several loyal customers in our family.

Most Excellent Customer Service!   

That evening, our niece had no more ripped into the package, before she was wearing her new coat and muff.  The house was full of people and was quite warm, but we couldn't talk her out of that coat.  She loved the gift and she looked like an adorable pink bunny in it. 

As a side note, in that shipment they accidentally included a luxurious Sable vest.  I suspect that was due to rushing the order out for me and probably several other customers too.  It was such a soft and beautiful vest!  However, since I had not ordered or paid for the vest, I had to force myself to call customer service and tell them about the error.  That sable was so soft!  I confess, I petted it for a while before I taped up the box for return. 




My Personal Recommendation


Leopard Faux Fur coat
Since I own several of these coats, I can personally attest to the high quality and beauty of these faux furs.  My leopard coat is actually prettier than the real leopard fur coats that I have seen in department stores. 

The very best thing is that those gorgeous big cats were not killed so I could have a coat that duplicates their natural beauty.  

As a seamstress, I can also tell you that these coats and jackets are well made.  The lining is exceptional and the buttons or snaps are secure.  The pockets are also well hidden in the seams and lay flat.   

I always appreciate extraordinary workmanship! 


Inspiration for Fabulous Furs


Donna Salyers, President and founder of Fabulous-Furs, explains how the company began . . .

"Inspiration for Fabulous-Furs came nearly two decades ago when I was on my way to purchase a mink coat.  On my car radio, Paul Harvey described kittens being skinned to become "mink" teddy bears.  Instead of buying a coat that day, I was inspired to create a luxurious alternative."

You can read Donna's full statement and timeline by clicking here.



After discovering Fabulous Furs
I decided you can never have too many fur coats!  

(Faux, of course!)


Read More Product Reviews On ReviewThisProducts.com


"Fabulous Faux Fur Coats, Jackets, Throws and More Reviewed" Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Reviewing Ponchos For Women

Ponchos: A Practical Choice In Fashion

man in poncho
Public Domain Image
The Poncho, it is an article of clothing that ebbs and wanes in the fashion industry from season to season. It will be really hot and found in every shopping outlet you can imagine or it may be hard to find depending on where it sits in the popularity of the designers for the year.

There are many styles of ponchos for women. Some follow the traditional style of being a garment which almost looks like a blanket with a hole for the head. Historically the poncho was made of a wool fabric and was meant to keep the body warm. It is still meant to keep the body warm but is not necessarily made from wool anymore.

Many ponchos of today are found in a less than traditional style with an open front which wraps around the shoulders more like a cape or shawl. It just boils down to a matter of preference as to whether you want your poncho to go over your head or just wrap around your shoulders.

Ponchos are a really practical choice for the fall season when the temperatures have started to dip but it isn't cold enough for a winter coat. They are comfortable and fun to wear. They team up well with jeans but also look nice with slacks and skirts.

This very practical garment has been in use since before the Spanish came to the Americas. Originally found predominately in the Andes region of South America now known as Peru the poncho is considered a South American garment. No matter its origin, it has proven to be quite the versatile piece of clothing for our wardrobes.

You can also opt for a poncho for your rain gear. Of course a rain poncho will be made of a water-proof fabric. I have a rain poncho in my closet that is older than my grandchildren but I still pull it out on those rainy days when I have to venture outdoors.

Currently, I am in the process of crocheting a fun little poncho for this fall season. At a later date, I'll show you the finished piece with a link to the pattern.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, May 6, 2016

Review of the Clever Travel Companion Women's Leggings with Secret Pockets

http://reviewthispersonalreviews.blogspot.com/2016/05/review-of-clever-travel-companion.html
Example Contents Shown but
Pocket Zippers do Zip Closed
to Conceal Content
Security is my #1 concern when I shop, travel, hike, bike, or just walk around the block.  When we walk our dogs, I don't want my attention on anything other than taking care of our pups.  When we hike, I want to watch my footpath and the surrounding area.  I don't want to be distracted or to be encumbered with anything.  When I am taking photographs, the last thing I want to do is worry about fighting a purse or if my wallet is secure.  I stopped carrying a purse decades ago and started wearing clothes with pockets.  Even though I hated the bulge my wallet or cell phone made, I still refused to go back to dragging around a purse.

Over the years, the clothes styles have changed and I have made a few changes too, but I have not gone back to toting a purse.  I recently discovered the Clever Travel Companion Leggings with Secret Pockets and I think they are the best solution yet!




The Clever Travel Companion Leggings with Secret Pockets


 Clever Travel Companion Women's Leggings with Secret Pockets, Black, MediumI don't really have the body shape that looks fabulous in leggings.  I am short and rounded.  Hardly the long, lanky figure of a model, but I love these leggings.  Paired with a oversized shirt or tunic top, I am quite comfortable wearing them out in public.

During the winter months, or colder days, I wear them under my dress or  slacks.  I still have my hidden pockets, plus the added warmth usually associated with thermal underclothes.  

Benefits of the Clever Travel Leggings 

  • Two Hidden Pockets with Zippers
  • Extremely Comfortable to Wear 
  • Extremely Comfortable when Walking
  • Extremely Comfortable when Sitting
  • Extremely Comfortable on Planes, in Cars, or even climbing around in jeeps
  • Cool and breathable fabric, yet added warmth under other slacks 
  • Easy Care - Machine Washable (I hang mine dry)

Security Pockets and Comfort


Clearly the security pockets with zippers were the main draw for me when I decided to test these pants.  After wearing the pants during a variety of activities, I can tell you, they are the most comfortable, best pocket pants I have ever worn.

The pockets will easily hold my drivers license, credit card, and cell phone.  I can zip the pocket over them to keep them secure from falling out or from thieves.  

Pickpockets and thieves are always a concern when traveling, but so is comfort.   These leggings have proven to be the perfect combination for travel!  

I frequently sit Indian style, with my legs criss-crossed.   That is not always a comfortable style when wearing jeans or dress slacks, but it is effortless with these leggings due to the stretchy fabric.  This is truly an added plus for me since my feet often won't touch the ground if I sit completely back in most chairs or seats. 

I love the waistband on these leggings!  The waistband is wide enough to prevent rolling, but soft and stretchy enough to be extremely comfortable on the waist when sitting, standing, walking or bending.  You never notice the waistband is there except that it is holding up your leggings.


Keys


 MOX Fashion Leather Key CaseKeys do require a bit more consideration.  You aren't going to want to stick a single key in the pocket of these leggings.  The key could easily injure you and would most certainly poke through the fabric.  

Clearly, this is not an issue if your car uses a key fob, but most of us still carry a house key with us when we go out.  

I use, and would recommend, a key case.  One like the one on right works nicely.



Review of the Clever Travel Companion Women's Leggings with Secret Pockets Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Review of the World's Softest Socks, Classic Collection

It's the Season for the World's Softest Socks

Even though I live on the California Central  Coast, it's cold this winter. That's why I've been stocking up on products to keep myself warm. One of my recent purchases I'm very happy with is an order of The World's Softest Socks from the Classic Collection of socks. I'm wearing one in this photo. I wish I'd gotten a better picture, but it's hard to take a picture of the side of a sock when you  have it on your foot. Neither the top of the sock or my calf is as fat as it looks. I love these socks. That's why I just went back to Footsmart's sock selection and bought more along with some other sock types since they were on sale.  There usually is a promotion or sale going on. You can see a link to it at the top of the page when you get to the site. 


Review of  the World's Softest Classic Collection Socks
World's Softest Gray Sock on my Foot
© B. Radisavljevic

Why I Love the World's Softest Socks


My feet have been giving me problems for years. In 2014 I had a partial toe joint replacement. Finding shoes to fit properly was a problem. Finding socks that don't have rough seams that hurt my feet was also a problem. I spent a lot of time looking for socks online that were warm and that would not rub against my feet in a way that hurt. My search led me to Footsmart.com where I  discovered the World's Softest Socks  Classic Collection.  I  also discovered some other items, such as the Angora sport knee warmers I reviewed earlier and some IMAK Arthritis gloves which I will review another time.


Review of  the World's Softest Classic Collection Socks


The World's Softest Socks are wonderfully soft and warm. They do not have bulky seams that cut into my toes. The tops stay up all day without slipping or binding. They are thick enough to wear with my slippers and boots. Did I mention they were really, really soft? Since I got them I haven't wanted to wear any others. I bought two pair -- the gray pair I'm wearing now and the navy blue pair you see above. I have already washed those. Since I bought these and my knee warmers, the two almost meet on my legs and I haven't needed to wear my silk long underwear over them to keep my legs warm except on the very coldest days.

I machine-washed these socks on a gentle cycle inside out in cold water. The manufacturer recommends fabric softener, but I didn't use it. I made the mistake of using Ivory Snow powder that was on hand instead of a liquid detergent like Woolite, and it never dissolved. That meant I rewashed everything in that load in plain water to try to rinse all the powder out. I air-dried my socks inside, but they can be tumble dried on low heat. The photo above was taken after I had washed and dried the socks.

I wear a shoe size of 8.5 and 9, depending on the brand. I ordered size Medium socks for women's shoe size 5.5 - 9.5 or men's size 5-8. My socks fit perfectly. They run pretty true to size. You don't need to order a larger size than you normally wear. The World's Softest Crew Socks in the Classic Collection come in a variety of colors, so I chose what would go best with my clothes. My socks do have the cloud symbols on the toes. Many reviewers on Amazon said the clouds were not on the socks they ordered there, though they are supposed to be the same socks. The reviewers felt the socks without the clouds were not as good quality as previous socks they had ordered that had the clouds. Maybe Amazon is substituting socks from a different manufacturer. I've had my socks less than a month, so they have been ordered recently, since people bought the inferior quality socks on Amazon thinking they would get what I got.

Where to Get These Socks


Amazon carries these socks, but they are not necessarily a better deal there and I didn't see that they were eligible for the free prime shipping. Here is Amazon's page for these socks and the Amazon reviews, if you prefer ordering from Amazon. I ordered mine from  Footsmart because they offered free shipping if my order totaled $75. It was very easy to find $75 worth of things I wanted. I was satisfied with all I bought there except for one item -- the Chooze Canvas slippers. They  just never felt right on my feet. It's possible I ordered the wrong size, but I don't recommend them. The soles felt bumpy. I've had better luck   with Daniel Green and Acorn slippers, both of which Footsmart also carries. Footsmart has everything that can make your feet feel better, including orthotics and remedies for bunions, hammertoes, and other common foot ailments. 

Although there is overlap between what Amazon and Footsmart carry for feet, Footsmart has many exclusive products. Although some people complained they had trouble making returns at Footsmart, my receipt came with a prepaid return label on the back for exchanges. If returns are made within 60 days with receipt, Footsmart will refund your purchase price if you made your purchase with a credit card or PayPal (but not PayPal credit.) If you are not exchanging, they will deduct the price of return shipping from your refund. I was happy with my purchases and did not want to return anything.

Even knowing that Amazon carries the World's Softest Socks, I'd still order them at Footsmart again, especially after reading that Amazon may be sending a product with the same name but lower quality. As far as I can see, the price is the same and it's easy to buy enough to get free shipping at Footsmart. I highly recommend Footsmart for products to keep your feet healthy and comfortable.  


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, December 17, 2015

Hollywood Fashion Tape Review

Use Fashion Tape to Prevent Wardrobe Malfunction


Hollywood Fashion Tape, the absolute best fashion tape for fixing wardrobe emergencies before they turn into wardrobe malfunctions!
Fix wardrobe emergencies before they turn into
serous wardrobe malfunctions!
Had any wardrobe malfunction close calls lately? It happens! I've found the absolute best fashion tape for preventing gaping spaces between blouse buttons, fixing straps that slip, and even repairing hems. Hollywood Fashion Tape is the perfect solution for wardrobe emergencies!

I first found this wonderful product when I put off trying on an evening dress that I had bought for a cruise. I knew it didn't fit quite right, but I didn't realize how much help I was going to need with this dress until it was too late.

The straps were the culprit. One was wide and ruffly, the other narrow and just not placed exactly where it should have been. When I finally tried on the dress then adjusted the wide, ruffled strap to fit properly, the narrow strap on the other side simply would not stay up. And vice versa. No matter how I adjusted the dress, there was obviously a strap problem - and a danger of a serious, embarrassing wardrobe malfunction.

The solution? I googled it, of course. In doing so, I found THE one best solution for all types of potential wardrobe problems and malfunctions, Hollywood Fashion Secrets Double Stick Fashion Tape Strips. Fortunately I'm an Amazon Prime customer, so I had it in my hot little hands in two days, which left me with one day to give it a try and make it work. So try I did and wow, was I impressed! Why hadn't I discovered this great tape years ago? (The answer to that is that my normal wardrobe of t-shirts in the summer and sweatshirts in the winter rarely pose those particular threats.)

Bottom line? The fashion tape worked like magic. I used it on both straps and I was able to breathe easily the entire evening of our event without even the threat of a slip. Since then I've found lots of additional uses for the tape. How did I ever manage before without it?

Better than sliced bread? I'm serious, it is! Hollywood Fashion Tape gets the Sassy Susan Seal of Approval and a spot in my closet, my dresser drawer, and my purse.

Remember the Super Bowl wardrobe malfunction? If only Janet Jackson had had Hollywood Fashion Tape!
Remember the Super Bowl wardrobe malfunction?
If only Janet Jackson had used Hollywood Fashion Tape!

How to use Hollywood Fashion Tape


Peel the backing from one side of the tape strip. Press the tape firmly onto your skin or the fabric. Remove the other backing section and press onto the surface to be secured. Amazingly, the backing is easy to separate from the tape and the tape sticks very firmly. When you're ready to remove it, the tape pulls off easily without damaging the fabric. And it doesn't irritate skin. Truly, this tape is amazing!

Use it to:

  • Tame slippery straps
  • Close gaping gaps in necklines or between blouse buttons
  • Repair hanging hems or snagged leggings or pantyhose
  • Flatten flappy belt ends
  • Secure scarves
  • Keep wrap dresses or skirts from unwrapping

Order the tape in a multi-pack. Carry one in your purse, keep one in your desk, store one with your wardrobe accessories, and keep one in your suitcase if you travel a lot. Put them everywhere. Trust me, you will use them.

Hollywood Fashion Tape is a wardrobe accessory that I had no idea I needed - until I did. Bet you'll think of plenty more uses for yours.

How would you use Hollywood Fashion Tape? Bet you have a wardrobe problem to solve, too. Leave a comment below to let me know how you'd use your fashion tape.

P.S. Fashion Tape is essential to have on hand for proms, weddings, and other special occasions. Makes a great stocking stuffer for a teenage girl, too!

QUICK LINKS: 
Try Hollywood Fashion Tape from Walmart
Order a multi-pack from Amazon.com
Find more fabulous products from Hollywood Fashion Secrets

~ Susan
Meet the Reviewer





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, May 23, 2015

Holiday Gift Guide: Online Shopping Directory

Shopping for just the right gift doesn't have to be difficult or chaotic. This holiday gift guide will help you find the perfect gift for every member of your family, for all of your friends as well as co-workers, truly everyone on your gift list.  
 
We know the sites listed in this guide are trustworthy and reliable sources.  So, sit back, relax and do all of your gift shopping right from the comfort of your own home.

These are not paid ads or solicitations. Placement in the Review This Holiday Gift Guide cannot be purchased.   

Each of these sites has been hand-selected by our own Review This contributors team to provide you with the very best shopping experience.



  CHRISTMAS SELECTIONS

SUGGESTIONS FROM MULTIPLE CONTRIBUTORS
 


SEE THE SITES BELOW FOR MORE GIFT IDEAS 



CHRISTMAS


CHRISTMAS TIME TREASURES:  Bring the magic and wonder of Christmas home!  Make Christmas memorable with our Christmas decorations, recipes, holiday party invitations, and Christmas apparel.  We also feature a selection of Christmas gifts that will be treasured for years to come.

CHRISTMAS TREE IDEAS:  Christmas Tree Ideas as the title suggests offers ideas for your Christmas tree from the tree itself to different themed ornaments, tree skirts and tree toppers. Purchase new ornaments from the comfort of your own home or just get some inspiration for your holiday décor. 

CHRISTMAS HOLIDAYS:  Christmas Holidays is a POD store spreading the joy of Christmas with ornaments, t-shirts, cards, throw pillows, gift wrap and more! 


You May Also Enjoy:

 

COOKING FOR THE HOLIDAYS   Discover recipes, tips and suggestions for Cooking for the Holidays, or any day of the year.


 

CHILDREN

GIFTS FROM GRANDMA:  Our site offers gift suggestions with a personal touch from our resident shopper, Grandma Bev. She looks for gifts appropriate for both boys and girls to fit the gift giving times of the year. Birthday gifts, holiday gifts and gifts for any time of the year are her specialty.


COASTAL CROCHET CRAFTS: Journey with me to my 'Land of Crochet' where little plush animals romp & play. 
Here you will find hand-crocheted 'critters' who are brightly colored soft 'stuffies' in many shapes and forms from penguins to puppies, barnyard buddies, zoo animals, seaside stuffies and more.
Coastal Crochet and Crafts Shop also has handmade household décor in the shape of beverage coasters and tissue covers in many themes.


TOY AND GAME WORLD:  Family fun is what Toy and Game World is all about. Toys for the kids of all ages, from building toys to special dolls. Games for the whole family to enjoy, from easy to complicated, including unique board games. Enter the world of toys and games to find the best gift ideas for the whole family.


TOY TIME TREASURES: The premier selection of toys available for our children today. We invite you into our world of wonderful toys that provide hours of fun and a touch of fantasy.   Dolls, Dragons, Castles, Tents, Plush Animals to Hold or Ride, Play Kitchens, Workshops and so much more. We have what you have been looking for and more!


TOY TREASURES:  "Toys that capture our attention and hold our hearts!"    At Toy Treasures, we are kindred spirits and avid collectors all.  We understand the desire to have our own menagerie of collectibles.  Today’s toys will become tomorrow's greatest keepsake in the hearts and minds of our children.  Discover today's plaything and tomorrows heirloom.


 

GIFT EMPORIUMS


TREASURES, TRAVEL, AND TALES:   A site as random and rambling as the author.  Dawn Rae firmly believes that the best gifts are those that create memories or relationships. Whether those relationships are with friends, family, and pets or with inanimate things such as the earth, books, and her beloved Jeep.  On the pages of this site you will find "treasures" which are Dawn Rae's gift recommendations, "travel" which will include great places for adventure in the mid-Atlantic region, and "tales" which will include book reviews as well as the author's journey in the writing world. To make a long story short, this sit should have been entitled, "Included, but not limited to." 

LOU 16:  Lou16 is a website with lots of gift ideas mixed in with zombies, dolls and a few ideas on how to earn money online. The author loves to discover new cool things that will make great gift ideas so no matter who you’re shopping for Lou could have the perfect gift waiting for you. 





FOOD & DRINK


GOURMET FOOD WORLD:  Specialty and gourmet items perfect for anyone on your gift list, including those-hard-to-shop-for friends. International treats, food gift baskets, specialty coffee and tea samplers, along with seasoning blends for the chef at heart. Gourmet Food World offers you suggestions and ideas for both unique and traditional food gifts.


ALL ABOUT WINE:  At All About Wine, it's more than just information. It's also those great gift ideas for wine lovers. Simple to fancy accessories for wine enjoying, functional to whimsical wine glasses and decanters, even delightfully fun home decor items just for wine lovers. All About Wine has you covered.


KOFFEE KINGDOM:  "Where Coffee Rules!"   Koffee Kingdom is truly the "kingdom" of coffee information & resources, coffee makers and equipment, coffee supplies, coffee recipes, coffee related gifts & decor.  For us, it is all about coffee. "I got a fever...and the only prescription is more coffee!"



JEWELRY


VICTORIA FREDERICK'S JEWELRY BOX:  Experience the real joy of jewelry!  I invite you to look inside my jewelry box where you will discover the most divine and beautiful jewelry available today.  From silver filigree to diamond laden pendants, I endeavor to offer the perfect gifts in jewelry and accessories with something for every budget.   


UNIQUE FASHION JEWELRY DESIGNS:  Not your typical jewelry! Bold, elegant and unusual jewelry. The kind of jewelry that shows off your own unique personality. From lizard bracelets to statement necklaces and many for showing your love of the holidays. Enjoy your funky side, your elegant and bold fashion, even your goth style with unique jewelry designs. If you have a passion for unique jewelry, your desires will be fulfilled here.




HOME DECOR


FUNK THIS HOUSE:  If you consider yourself an original who tends to plow their own path in life even when it comes to home decor, then you need to embrace your funky side by checking out the broad collection of colorful, unique, odd and somewhat off-the-wall ideas at Funkthishouse.com! Find ways to tap into your wacky side when you decorate! Why move from your home when you can just funk'n love it!


EASY HOME DECOR AND ACCESSORIES: Gifts for the home abound here. Choices for your favorite decor theme as well as holiday accessories. Decorative pillows, wall clocks, accent blankets, art posters and more. Styles to match every home decor from vintage to modern. Along with fun outdoor accents like garden flags. Choosing a gift for the home has never been easier.



BEAUTIFUL HOME & GARDEN DECOR:  Step into a dreamy world of beautiful home and garden decor where the selections are a combination of practicality and lovely appeal.   From the den to the bedroom, throughout the house and into the garden, we feature decor that enriches our everyday lives as we transform our home and gardens into our own private sanctuaries.  We can help you make your home a warm, comfortable and inviting reflection of yourself!


EASY KIDS BEDROOM DECOR: Find fun things to decorate your child's room in the colors and themes they love. Gifts for kids don't always need to be toys and clothes. Bedding sets in your child's favorite character make a great gift. Find colorful toy storage, fun night lights even wall decals to delight your child with the bedroom of their dreams.


HOUSE OF SYLVESTERMOUSE on Zazzle:  Many fabulous and exclusive photographs of nature scenes are featured, including mammals, flowers and insects, as well as prints of historical landmarks and art. These photos are offered on many different mediums including apparel, home & office decor, greeting cards, Christmas ornaments, and more. They are sure to add beauty and creativity to any wall or surface.



KITCHENS

HEART OF THE HOME KITCHENS:  Your kitchen is where you prepare meals, artistically create great food masterpieces, and share some of the greatest moments in life.  It is the heart of the home and should be filled with the tools that make cooking fun and easy, and dining a pleasure, not just a necessity. From specialty cookware to lovely serving pieces and holiday kitchen decor, we have what your "heart" desires.


KITCHEN BASICS SMALL APPLIANCES: Small appliances in the kitchen make creating great food easier. Give the gift of easier cooking with a small appliance. Everything from food graters to specialty cooking appliances, Kitchen Basics has them all. Find reviews for the best bread machines, how to work with a pasta maker, even the best chocolate melting pots. All at Kitchen Basics: Small Appliances.


WHIMSICAL TEAPOTS AND TEACUPS:  Share the fun of tea time with those on your gift list. Unique and delightful teapots and teacups, whimsical tea-for-one sets, flavored and tasty tea samplers and all the accessories. Whimsical Teapots and Teacups has charming gift ideas just to make tea time more fun for anyone.


GARDENING


EASY BACKYARD GARDENING: Your garden and backyard should be your own private sanctuary.  It is your place to rest, relax and simply enjoy the peace that only a garden can give. Easy Backyard Gardening offers plants, flowers and tree suggestions, gardening tool recommendations and easy care instructions to help you create your own backyard garden retreat.



GRAMMIE KNOWS HOW TO GARDEN: Gardening has been a passion for Grammie Olivia, forever.  Not only does she know lots about gardens, tips and tricks, flowers, vegetables and weeds, but she loves to share her knowledge with novice gardeners and experts alike.  You will find all kinds of interesting things here, from Garden Decor, Gifts for Gardeners, New and Improved ways to make gardening easier.  Even help for “Older Gardeners”  who can’t give up the idea of  getting their hands in the ground.

From the Balcony to the great Outdoors, Grammie Olivia, writes for all gardeners, bringing new tools, seeds, trends in the garden, and a love for Mother Nature and all her garden friends!  The ones with two legs, four and more legs, two wings or more.  The ones that hop, jump, scurry and fly!  They are all integral players in the Great Outdoors.  Some are Beneficial and some are not, Grammie Olivia helps you to keep the ones that are great and naturally deter the ones that are not!  

Grammie Olivia welcomes you and your friends to ask questions, share advice, join in a group of people who love to garden.  Looking forward to hearing from all of you!



SPECIALTY GIFTS


AT HOME SPA WORLD:  Give the gift of pampering with At Home Spa goodies. Gift ideas include scented sets and gift baskets, equipment for perfect body care, even aromatherapy sets. From rejuvenating skin care to relaxing foot baths, At Home Spa World offers great gift ideas for pampering time.


THE BUBBLE BATH:   We all deserve the luxury of a bubble bath. So relax and enjoy finding the best gift ideas just to create the ideal bubble bath. Soak away aches and pains, relax the mind and body, even rejuvenate the spirit with bubble bath gifts. More than just bubbling soaps, The Bubble Bath include those fun tub extras.


LEFT HANDED WORLD Left-handed gifts for every lefty on your list. Everything from sports equipment for kids to the perfect funny t-shirt for lefties. "I'm left-handed. What's your super power?" Kitchen knives, craft supplies, even watches just for those of us who are left-handed. Brought to you by a lefty for lefties.

LIGHT HOUSE ENTHUSIAST:  Are you looking for a gift for a lighthouse enthusiast. At this site you will find a wide variety of gifts from mugs, posters, magnets, dishes, ornaments and much more. There are over 100 different lighthouses depicted on the products in my shop. Stop by and browse the store to find the perfect gift for that lighthouse lover on your gift list.


CRAFTS

 
WEDNESDAY ELFS' EBAY STORECrafting visitors to my eBay site will find a wide variety of craft patterns for every season and occasion for crafters in crochet, knitting, cross stitch and sewing. Along with patterns, I have craft supplies (yarns, trimmings, accessories, etc.) available. As a crochet and needlework crafter myself, I also feature new ready-to-use-or-give handcrafted items for holiday, seasonal, birthday and 'just because' gifts.


CHRISTMAS CRAFT KITS: Your destination for fast and easy Christmas crafts, or handmade Christmas gifts to make and give to your family & friends, we offer a variety of beautiful Christmas crafts.   Visit us today and enter the home of Christmas Craft Kits where a world of crafting fun in felt, cross stitch, plastic canvas, crochet and more, are waiting for your hands to turn the pieces into cherished keepsakes.


HOUSE OF SYLVESTERMOUSE EBAY STORE:  Explore a crafter's paradise filled with the variety of crafts, craft kits, patterns, books and supplies.  As a fellow crafter, this is truly my own personal world of experience and creativity.  I also offer some great gift selections for just about anyone on your gift list, not just the crafters.


GREETING CARDS


 
THE GREEN-EYED CAT GIFT SHOP:  The Green-Eyed Cat Gift Shop's high-quality greeting cards feature our own photography and a selection of customizable birthday, Mother's Day and Father's Day, and all-occasion cards for dog lovers, people who like flowers, and even recipe cards.  Personalize a card with your own message if you like, choose a size, and rest assured that you'll love the 100% satisfaction-guaranteed results.

THE COOL CARD SHOP:  The Cool Card Shop has a lovely selection of greeting cards for you, from birthday cards to Christmas cards, Valentine’s Day Greetings to Mother’s Day Cards. 

HOUSE OF SYLVESTERMOUSE GREETING CARDS In the House of Sylvestermouse, I specialize in beautiful photography.  I offer greeting cards with lovely photos of animals, travel destinations, flowers, and more featured on the front.  Some of my cards have inspirational messages inside, but most are left blank for you to add your own personal greeting or note.  When you want a beautiful picture, come see me.  Also, if you see any photo in my store that you would like to have made available on a greeting card, simply let me know and I will gladly add it to the greeting card selections.

APPAREL 

CHERYLSART:  From designs for kids to adults, we’ve got you covered. Find outline designs to wear as they are or the kids can have fun painting them in! Find flower shirts for the ladies and some cool Tool Man designs for the men. Find tees for baby too, and animal shirts for the whole family.  Any design can be ordered on any shirt style and/or size.


MORE HOLIDAY WEBSITES


VALENTINES DAY

BE MY VALENTINE WORLD:   Explore a world of fun and romantic ideas for valentine's decorating, cards, parties, apparel and creating special memories on Valentine's Day.  We will help you plan a romantic dinner and find a gift your Valentine is sure to love and cherish.  Be My Valentine World also has a section just for children and Valentine's cards for classroom exchange.


EASTER

EGGSCITING EASTER:  An eggs-cellent place for all of your Easter fun!  Easter decor and decorating ideas, party planning and apparel, recipes, gifts, Easter candy and treats for an Egg-cellent and Egg-citing Easter!




HALLOWEEN

HALLOWEEN HAVEN:  Hauntingly memorable Halloweens start here!  Like a lot of great parties, Halloween Haven has multiple hallow-hostesses who have joined our knowledge and experiences together in order to create a frighteningly fantastic place for all of your Halloween fun.  We feature the best Halloween costumes and jewelry, Halloween indoor and outdoor decorations, Halloween party ideas and recipes, as well as Halloween collectibles. 

EVERYTHING HALLOWEEN:  Everything Halloween is your online destination for everything Halloween as the name suggests! We do have a heavy emphasis on costumes as we love fancy dress on any day of the year, but Halloween is definitely the best time! 

HALLOWEEN FUN SHOPPE:    Halloween decor and anything fun related to Halloween. We have food, drinks, and recipes, party ideas, indoor decor, outdoor decor, crafts, and activities for kids. We even have Halloween movie reviews. And we have Halloween costumes, lots and lots of Halloween costumes. Ready made, and "how to" pages so you can make your own.  We feature the best Halloween costumes and jewelry, Halloween indoor and outdoor decorations, Halloween party ideas and recipes, as well as Halloween collectibles.








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.