Showing posts with label gifts for men. Show all posts
Showing posts with label gifts for men. Show all posts

Wednesday, June 5, 2024

The Ultimate Compact, Lightweight, Wearable Toolkit With Useful Tools

My husband is a serious tool aficionado. The Christmas and birthday gifts on his wishlist often include specific tools to add to his extensive collection. He is extremely picky about his tools but doesn't like to overpay. So, whether he buys them for himself or asks for them as gifts, he always chooses high-quality tools that are also well-priced, delivering good value.

After considerable research, he designed a small but well-appointed, versatile, lightweight tool kit that he could wear on his belt on weekends, when he typically works on DIY, home, and auto repair projects. This past Christmas, his gifts wishlist included the components he would need to bring that design to life.

In this review, I will share his ingenious compact, lightweight, wearable toolkit configuration, including everything you need to replicate it. With Father's Day coming up, this would make a terrific Father's Day gift!

The Ultimate Compact, Lightweight, Wearable Toolkit

How to Assemble the Ultimate Compact, Lightweight, Wearable Toolkit

Here is everything you need to know to replicate my husband's clever design. Of course, you can customize this wearable toolkit to suit your needs and preferences, using this design to spark your imagination.

What You Will Need

Front of OneTigris phone pouch
The front flap of the OneTigris phone pouch has a strap with a stitched loop and a latch to secure the contents. There is also a wide strip of hook-and-loop (like Velcro) material (the loop side) for attaching items to the front flap.

Interior of OneTigris phone pouch
The body of the pouch features two pockets: a smaller one in front that zips closed (for money or small accessories or, in our case, tools and attachments) and a larger, padded one behind it that holds your mobile phone and is lined with a soft, velvety material to protect against scratches. There are also two elastic side loops, one on either side.

Back of OneTigris phone pouch
The back has a sleeve that slides onto your belt, with two MOLLE straps with loops and snap closures.

Rocktol 29-in-1 Multitool
The Rocktol 29-in-1 Multitool has a wide array of functions. Most notable are the needle nose pliers, replaceable wire cutters, saw, and (most important for John's compact, wearable toolkit configuration) a ¼-inch bit driver. It also comes with a small pouch and collection of double-ended bits that my husband rarely uses, which he stores in this pouch separate from his wearable tool kit.

VIM Tools small Flex Socket Ratchet to T Handle Wrench Set with Socket Extension and Adapter and DEWALT 7-piece bit driver set
The VIM Tools 1/4-inch Small Flex Socket Ratchet to T Handle Wrench Set with Socket Extension and Adapter and the DEWALT 7-Piece Bit Set with 6-in-1 Flip and Switch Driver System are key additions to the Rocktol multitool in this compact wearable toolkit. The 1/4-inch drive ratchet has a locking swivel head and an extension that can fit into either the ratchet or the Rocktol multitool 1/4-inch driver. The DEWALT 1/4-inch bit driver set also can fit into either the ratchet or the multitool 1/4-inch driver, or even into the ratchet extension for extra reach. It comes with four double-ended bits (8 bits total) that fit into two carriers and can also fit directly into the ratchet or the Rocktol multitool 1/4-inch driver.

Stanley PowerLock 3-foot tape measure and EGUKU LED Bright Mini Portable Clip-on or Keychain EDC Flashlight
The Stanley 3-foot x 1/4-inch PowerLock Key Tape Measure is designed to fit on a keychain, although for our purposes it will clip onto the pouch's carabiner. It features a locking mechanism to hold the tape extended when needed. The EGUKU LED + COB Bright Mini Portable Clip-on or Keychain EDC Flashlight is extremely small and compact, but very bright for its size. It has five settings: LED high, LED low, COB high, COB low, and COB strobe. The clip on the back can be attached to a pocket, the neck of a shirt, etc.

Flashlight on wearable tool kit
It's surprising how brightly this very small flashlight can light up a dark area! My husband clips his to one of the side loops so that when he slides the wearable tool kit pouch to the side of his belt, the light faces forward. The spotlight also swivels 180° so you can aim the light at whatever you are working on.


Configuring and Assembling Your Wearable Toolkit

While the pouch is not a perfect fit for all the tools, it works remarkably well. My husband loves his and uses it all the time. On weekends, it is his constant sidekick. Here is how it is put together.

The assembled toolkit

  1. Cut two short lengths of self-adhesive hook-and-loop tape and discard the loop side. Attach one of the hook sides to the yellow main body of the DEWALT extension bit set. Attach the other hook side to the back of the Stanley PowerLock tape measure.
  2. Remove the extension rod from the ratchet set and replace it with the body of the DEWALT bit driver set and one of the bit sets. Slide this assembly into the loop on the phone pouch's flap, making sure the hook tape strip you adhered to the yellow DEWALT bit driver body is secured to the pouch flap's loop tape strip.
  3. Place the Rocktol multitool and replacement saw blades, the remaining DEWALT bit set, and the ratchet extension rod into the zippered front pocket of the pouch. (You won't be able to zip the pocket when filled with these items, but the latched strap will secure them in the pocket.)
  4. Place your phone in the lined larger pocket.
  5. Clip the flashlight to one of the side loops (left or right, depending on which side of your belt you plan to wear the toolkit, so that the light will face forward).
  6. Clip the Stanley tape measure's keychain loop to the pouch's carabiner, then close the front flap, latch the top strap, and attach the hook tape strip on the back of the tape measure to the loop tape strip on the front of the pouch (so it stays out of the way until needed).
Interior view of assembled wearable tool kit
Here's a view inside the assembled wearable toolkit.

Small But Mighty

wearable toolkit

As you can see, this entire wearable toolkit is small and compact. Despite its diminutive size, however, it can handle the majority of routine DIY projects and repairs without having to lug around heavier, full-size tools. Here are just a few of the things my husband uses it for:

  • DIY projects
  • Household repairs
  • Automotive projects and car repairs
  • Bicycle repairs
  • Model railroad projects and repairs
  • Trimming and pruning plants and small branches
  • Miscellaneous uses, such as cutting wires, tightening or loosening screws or nuts and bolts (especially in hard-to-reach or tight spaces), bending and filing wire and lightweight metal, opening shipping boxes and product packaging, task lighting for work areas, lighting dark hallways/passages

A Terrific Gift (and Not Just for Men)

While this compact, lightweight, wearable toolkit makes a great Father's Day gift, it's also a gift that both men and women who use hand tools for DIY projects, repairs, hobbies, etc., would appreciate.

Although it doesn't eliminate the need for full-size tools completely, you might be surprised at how rarely you need to haul them out once you have this well-equipped, compact, wearable tool kit on your belt.


The Ultimate Compact, Lightweight, Wearable Toolkit With Useful Tools by Margaret Schindel


Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More DIY Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Gift Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, June 2, 2024

Compression Swim Trunks for Men - A Five Star Gift Recommendation

Compression Swim Trunks for Men - A Five Star Gift Recommendation

My son needed new swim trunks, so for his birthday, we purchased the APTRO Men's Swim Trunks, which feature a compression lining and multiple pockets.

Note: If you're not in the USA, the Amazon links for this product may show trunks without the compression shorts inside of them - simply scroll or search within the product selection and be sure they are "compresssion swim trunks." As an example, I'm in Canada, and these are the APTRO Compression Shorts I purchased.

He loves them, and I can now safely give this product a hearty five-star recommendation. These swim trunks are as advertised.

Superior Comfort and Performance Swim Trunks for Men

These 2-in-1 swim trunks are designed with a built-in compression lining, ensuring a friction-free experience and helping to prevent painful skin irritations. This means more fun and less discomfort, whether swimming, diving or just playing at the beach.

Enhanced Mobility and Stability

One of the standout features of these trunks is their ability to stay in place. The compression lining keeps the swim trunks from shifting around, providing comfort and freedom of movement. 

A Lovely Fabric - Comfortable

The swim trunks are made from a high-quality fabric that boasts several impressive features:

  • 4-Way Stretch: Offers flexibility and ensures a snug fit without restricting movement.
  • Quick Dry: The material dries rapidly, making transitions from water to land smooth and comfortable.
  • Lightweight: Perfect for active wear without feeling weighed down.
  • UPF50+ Protection: Shields skin from harmful UV rays, adding an extra layer of safety during sunny days. But don't skip the sunscreen!
  • Silky Touch: The soft texture feels great against the skin, enhancing overall comfort.

Practical and Thoughtful Design

These swim trunks are equipped with multiple pockets for convenience:

  • Two Slanted Pockets: Easy access for small essentials.
  • One Liner Pocket: Secure storage within the lining.
  • One Back Flap Pocket with Velcro Closure: Includes a drain hole to help water flow out quickly, aiding the quick-dry feature.

Versatile Outer Layer

The outer layer of the swim trunks is crafted from a soft, stretchable fabric that is both lightweight and quick-drying. The relaxed fit adds to the overall comfort, making these trunks suitable for various activities.

Ideal for Any Summer Occasion

These swim trunks with a compression liner are perfect for:

  • Swimming and beach sports
  • Summer parties and cruises
  • Any summer vacation
  • Fitness activities and more
  • Go ahead, wear them as shorts

In conclusion, if you're looking for swim trunks for men that combine comfort, performance, and style, these 2-in-1 compression-lined trunks are the perfect choice.

They've certainly made a splash in our household.

Sizes & Styles

They come in sizes ranging from Small to 3X and in multiple design choices. You can check out these swim trunks for men here on Amazon.

Note: If you're not in the USA, the Amazon links for this product may show trunks without the compression shorts inside of them - simply scroll or search within the product selection and be sure they are "compresssion swim trunks." 

 As an example, I'm in Canada, and these are the APTRO Compression Shorts I purchased.


Review Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, May 24, 2023

OontZ Ultra — A Fantastic, Affordable, Waterproof Bluetooth Speaker

Whether you're looking for graduation gifts, Father's Day gifts, or presents for any occasion and anyone (including yourself), the OontZ Ultra waterproof Bluetooth speaker is a terrific choice.

Here's my product review of this terrific, surprisingly affordable portable Bluetooth speaker.

Indoor/outdoor waterproof portable Bluetooth speaker - clear, rich sound quality
This compact, waterproof portable Bluetooth speaker is perfect for listening to music, podcasts, audiobooks and more, at home or on the road

Our Constant Companion at Home or On the Go

My husband and I love listening to music and audiobooks. Thanks to its compact size, impressive audio quality and IPX7 waterproof rating, the OontZ Ultra Bluetooth speaker is our constant companion whether we're in the house, on the deck, in the car, at the beach, by the lake or pool, or on vacation.

Note: The OontZ Ultra is also called the OontZ Angle 3 Ultra. To avoid confusion, I will refer to it from this point forward as the OontZ Ultra, to distinguish it from the slightly smaller, less expensive OontZ Angle 3 model.

Here's why we love it.

OontZ Ultra Waterproof Bluetooth Speaker —Key Features and Benefits

My husband and I love listening to music and audiobooks. Thanks to its compact size, impressive audio quality and IPX7 waterproof rating, the OontZ Ultra Bluetooth speaker is our constant companion whether we're in the house, on the deck, in the car, at the beach, by the lake or pool, or on vacation.

OontZ Ultra Bluetooth speaker controlsHere are some of the reasons we love ours and use it all the time.

Compact Size & Lightweight

The OontZ Ultra is just 6.5" long x 3" wide and weighs 1.03 lbs., so it's easy and convenient to take with you, whether from room to room or from your house to your deck, patio, backyard or car.

Don't let its small size and light weight fool you, though. This portable speaker packs a punch when it comes to audio quality!

Full, Rich Sound at All Volume Levels

Despite its compact size, the OontZ Ultra delivers the exceptional sound quality you would expect from a speaker designed and engineered in the USA by Cambridge SoundWorks. 

Its 14+ watts of power and volume booster produce crystal-clear mid- and high-tones, while its two precision neodymium drivers and proprietary, downward-facing passive bass radiator deliver high-quality, full-range bass that's surprisingly rich for its size.

The sound reproduction is high fidelity, balanced and even from lows to highs. It never sounds muddy (too much bass) or tinny (too much treble).

  • Crisp Highs and Full, Rich Bass, Even at Low-to-Mid Volume. We prefer to listen to our music at moderate volume most of the time. Fortunately, this speaker doesn’t have to be cranked up high to sound good! You don’t sacrifice either clarity or bass when listening at low-to-moderate volumes. 
  • No Tinniness or Distortion, Even When Cranked to the Maximum Volume. When we're listening to music or audiobooks in the car, we always use the OontZ Ultra for superior audio quality, rather than the car's built-in speaker. When we're on the highway or there's a lot of traffic, we often need to crank the volume on our songs, podcasts or audiobooks, and we love that the sound quality remains excellent even at full volume, with clear, crisp audiobook narrations and good bass with no distortion.

    IPX7 Waterproof Rating for Indoor-Outdoor Use

    This Bluetooth speaker is perfect for taking to the beach or the pool. No more worries about listening in the rain! The IPX7 rating means this speaker is fully waterproof and can be immersed in water up to 3 feet.

    Long Battery Life

    The OontZ Ultra Bluetooth speaker delivers a full day of listening pleasure on a single charge. The manufacturer claims that its rechargeable battery "provides up to 20 hours of playtime at 2/3 volume." So whether you're spending the day outdoors hiking, camping or at the pool or listening to music while you work, you never have to worry about running out of juice.

    Simple, Intuitive Controls With Large Buttons

    I love that I don't have to put my glasses on to read the controls of this portable Bluetooth speaker! The buttons are also large enough and easy to push without accidentally pressing the wrong one. 

    Side view of OontZ Ultra with control buttons
    I love how large the buttons and how intuitive the labels are on this portable speaker!

    Choice of Horizontal or Vertical Orientation

    This speaker can be placed either horizontally or vertically. While we usually use ours in a horizontal orientation, if you are using it on a desk or end table where space is at a premium, it's nice to be able to stand it on its end. 

    Built-in Microphone

    You can take calls from any mobile phone without having to disconnect from the speaker, thanks to the built-in microphone that acts as a personal hands-free speakerphone.

    Excellent Bluetooth Connectivity and Superior Wireless Range

    The OontZ Ultra Bluetooth 5.0 speaker is a cinch to pair with our mobile phones, laptops, tablets and other devices, and the connection has been uniformly reliable. The manufacturer claims that with its "advanced antenna design and Bluetooth 5.0 technology, this speaker provides faster connection speeds," which my husband and I have found to be true. 

    It also has an impressive wireless range up to 100 feet!

    Thanks to the built-in AUX-IN jack, you can also easily connect to non-Bluetooth devices with a 3.5mm Line-In cable (not included).

    Connect Two or More OontZ Ultra Bluetooth Speakers for Your Next Party

    While the OontZ Ultra has plenty of power and volume for my husband's and my needs, its maximum volume isn't loud enough for a party. Fortunately, you can connect between two and four OontZ Ultra speakers using the OontZ app and play your party music as loud as you wish in left and right stereo.

    This is also a great option if you want to play music in multiple rooms, given the speakers' 100-foot wireless range.

    Fantastic Sound Quality at an Affordable Price

    Although the list price of the OontZ Ultra Waterproof Bluetooth 5.0 Speaker is $49.99, at the time of this product review post's publication the price on Amazon was just $39.99. That's a terrific price for such a high-quality waterproof Bluetooth speaker.

    Even Smaller and Less Expensive OontZ Bluetooth Speaker Recommendations

    If you plan to bring your OontZ Ultra to the beach or on vacation, you might want to pay a bit more for the OontZ Ultra with Carry Case, which comes with a carrying case made of waterproof neoprene material with reinforced zippers and a built-in aluminum carabiner clip. The neoprene OontZ Ultra Carry Case can also be purchased separately. 

    If you are looking for a great, versatile Bluetooth speaker with an even smaller footprint, you might want to consider one of the following options (there are also several other models):

    • The slightly smaller and less expensive OontZ Angle 3, which measures 5.5" long x 3" wide and has an IPX5 waterproof rating. The list price is $34.99, but at the time of this post's publication it was just $24.99 on Amazon.
    • The even smaller and less expensive OontZ Angle Solo, which we bought for my husband's parents. The adorable Solo also has an IPX5 waterproof rating but measures only 3.9" long x 2.8 inches wide and weighs less than 8 ounces! My in-laws love using it in their car during their 3-hour commutes to and from their lake house in Maine. The list price is $29.99, but at the time of this product review's publication, the price on Amazon was just $19.99!

    These Make Excellent, Affordable Gifts for Any Occasion

    The OontZ Ultra, OontZ Angle 3 and OontZ Angle Solo make terrific, affordable gifts for anyone on your list, for any gift-giving occasion. They're easy enough for a child to use, with sound quality that your favorite audiophile will appreciate. Think Father's Day gifts, graduation gifts, birthday gifts, or just-because gifts!

    OontZ Ultra — An Affordable, Waterproof Bluetooth Speaker That Sounds Fantastic! by Margaret Schindel

    Get More Gift Ideas From My Product Reviews

    Your Back Will Love This Practical Laundry Bag Backpack

    You’ll Love These Insanely Comfortable Memory Foam Slippers

    Solaire Mattress and Adjustable Base Plus Product Reviews

    Saatva Organic Cotton Bedding Product Review

    Holiday Gift Guide: Thoughtful, Affordable Gift Ideas They Will Love

    Long, Lined Leather Gloves - A Luxurious, Affordable Gift She'll Love

    How To Get Bright, Younger-Looking Eyes In 60 Seconds

    The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush

    The Best Affordable, Super Sharp Kitchen and Steak Knives Set

    The Best Powerful, Lightweight Stick Blender With Versatile Attachments

    The Best Bone-Conduction Bluetooth Headphones Review: Shokz OpenRun Pro

    The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush

    The Best Tool Roll Organizer To Store & Protect Your Tools

    The Best Affordable Programmable Large- and Small-Batch Coffee Maker

    The Best Manicure Tools for Strong, Healthy Nails

    The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

    Flippy Tablet, Kindle, Phone, and Book Stand Lap Pillow Review

    Hamama Microgreens Starter Kit and Seed Quilts Review

    Read More Product Reviews From Our Contributors

    Read More Electronics Reviews From Our Contributors

    Read More Gift Reviews From Our Contributors




    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    Sunday, May 21, 2023

    25 Little Surprises for Men: Gift Ideas that Effortlessly Slip into a Card

    Gifts for a Man that Fit Inside of a Card

    Sometimes large elaborate gifts are not an option. 

    When you're looking for a gift to fit inside a card, you're more than likely seeking a personal, unique, oddly helpful gift that can be mailed and, in some cases, is affordable.

    To save you some mind work and extra thinking, I've compiled a list of ideas for the man in your life that you can consider mailing or handing him as a gift inside a card.

    Take note that you may have to purchase slightly larger cards for a few of these suggestions.

    25 Gift Items for a Man: Gifts that Can Fit Inside of a Card:

    1. A gift card to his favorite restaurant or store
    2. Handwritten letter expressing your love and appreciation
    3. Movie tickets for a special night out
    4. A small printed photo of a cherished memory
    5. Inspirational quote or affirmation card
    6. Custom-designed bookmark
    7. Lottery scratch-off tickets
    8. Guitar picks for the music enthusiast
    9. Write a few riddle brain teasers inside the card
    10. Personalized stickers or decals
    11. Thoughtful coupons for acts of service or quality time
    12. Magnetic bookmark with a funny or meaningful quote
    13. Assorted tea bags or single-serve coffee packets
    14. A handwritten recipe for his favorite dish
    15. A collectible trading card of his favorite sports team or player
    16. A necklace, cufflinks, or other jewelry
    17. A personalized keychain
    18. A personalized business card holder
    19. A small pack of Post-it notes with witty or loving messages
    20. Key locators, password savers
    21. A USB flash drive with important files or photos
    22. A personalized luggage tag for his next adventure
    23. When money is no object, tickets for a weekend trip together
    24. Tickets to his favorite type of music band, theatre, or concert
    25. Personalized return address labels or decorative stickers
    Remember to account for the weight of the envelope if you plan to put the card in the mail; you'll want to ensure you have the correct amount of postage.

    Don't send anything restricted or prohibited by mail, usually food products, medicines, etc.; check with your local mail service online or in person.

    If you're more of a visual person, I've put together a list of gift ideas for a man that can fit inside a card or envelope. You'll notice that the gift ideas are from various stores.






    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    Wednesday, April 12, 2023

    You’ll Love These Insanely Comfortable Memory Foam Slippers

    Now that I am semi-retired and work from home, I wear slippers a lot. Especially since we have a large ivory antique Turkish rug in our living room, I prefer not to tramp around the house in shoes that have been worn outside. However, finding comfortable, machine-washable slippers with a memory foam foot bed and a sturdy but flexible sole has been a longstanding quest, especially since most slippers are too narrow for my feet.

    For decades, I made do with the Acorn Spa Wrap slippers that are very popular for people with foot problems. Then, I finally found my “holy grail” slippers last year.

    Here is my product review of my wonderful Landeer memory foam slippers, which I wear every day and love, and which Amazon buyers with both narrow and wide feet also rave about.

    Ultra Comfortable Memory Foam Slippers With Flexible Rubber Outsole

    I first discovered these slippers about a year and a half ago while putting together a Christmas wish list, which my husband's parents request from both us every year during the holiday shopping season. Since my old Acorn Spa Wrap quilted terrycloth slippers with a memory foam foot bed (a popular model that I had worn and periodically repurchased for decades) had gotten quite "long in the tooth" and the memory foam had eventually lost its resilience, I decided that new slippers would be a good, affordable wish list item and a gift I would appreciate and use daily.

    Since I have wide feet, the selection is pretty limited. Even though the Acorn slippers came in a wide width option, were machine washable and had a Velcro closure that accommodated my high instep, I didn't love them. They also had a very thin rubber outsole that wasn't ideal for, say, walking outside to the mailbox (especially given our New England weather).

    After researching memory foam slippers with a sturdy, non-slip rubber sole that would fit my wide feet comfortably, I decided to put these Landeer indoor-outdoor slippers on my Christmas wish list. Since they were from Amazon, I knew they would be easy to return if they didn't work out. Fortunately, they turned out to be great!

    What I Love About These Landeer Memory Foam Slippers

    I much prefer these Landeer Memory Foam Slippers to my old, tried-and-true Acorn Spa Wrap ones. Here are some of the reasons:

    • Extremely comfortable, well cushioned and lightweight. These are by far the most comfortable slippers I've ever worn! The memory foam foot bed is substantial and has held up extremely well over time, much better than that of my old Acorn Spa Wrap slippers. And, unlike many indoor-outdoor slippers with a sturdy rubber outsole, these are also very lightweight.
    • Breathable fabric uppers. These slippers have uppers made of a breathable knitted fabric. My feet stay comfortably warm while wearing these but don't become hot and perspired.
    • Plush fleece lining. The soft, plush fleece lining feels so good against my tender feet!
    • Flexible, sturdy, waterproof rubber outsoles for good traction. The much thicker rubber outsoles have deeper treads for better traction and absorb the impact when I'm walking on a hard surface, like our kitchen laminate flooring, bathroom floor tiles and uncarpeted areas of our wood floors. Despite their thickness (just over an inch at the heel and tapering down slightly at the toe), these waterproof rubber outsoles are also flexible enough to bend in half. And although they are not marketed as indoor-outdoor slippers, I and many other Amazon customers who have reviewed them find these slippers suitable to wear on a cement patio, walkway or pavement, if desired.
    • Machine washable and durable. Being able to toss these into the washing machine is especially important for the (admittedly infrequent) occasions when I wear them outdoors. (I wish we could do that with our regular shoes, lol!) I'm pleased to say that these have held up well after repeated machine washing.
    • Fits both regular and wide width feet (not recommended for narrow feet). If you have been unhappy with the limited options for wide slippers, I recommend giving these a try. Even though I wear a size 7 or 7.5 extra wide shoe, these slippers fit me perfectly. Based on the many Amazon customer reviews I've read, buyers with regular width feet love them, too!

      Note: I found that they run a bit long and, after wearing the Women's size 7/8 slippers that my in-laws bought me two Christmases ago for a while, I eventually bought myself a pair in size 5/6, which fits me perfectly. However, the majority of customer reviews indicate that they fit true to size, so I would recommend ordering your usual size and then exchanging them if you find them too long for your feet.
    • A wide choice of colors. As of this writing, there are 14 color choices for these Landeer mule slippers: Moonlight (a pretty aqua, and the color I chose), Navy, Olive Green, Purple, Red, Wine Red, Apple Green (a lighter olive green), Dark Gray, Light Gray, Pink Orange (a light peach shade), Rose Red (actually a bright medium pink), Pink (pale pink), Black and Yellow. Something to suit everyone, both men and women.
    • Very affordable price. The list price for these slippers on Amazon is $29.99 as of this post's publication date. As I write this, there's currently a 33%-off deal, so you can snag a pair (or two) for just $19.99. (I don't know how long it will last, though, so if you want to try a pair at this great price, don't wait to order!)
    Feet wearing Landeer memory foam slippers
    Sitting with my legs stretched out looking at my feet in my ultra comfy Landeer memory foam slippers

    Backless "Mule" Slippers Are a Mixed Blessing

    I appreciate that backless mule slippers are quicker and easier to slip on and off than styles that enclose the heels. Fortunately, thanks to the long uppers that cover the entire instep, these Landeer slippers stay on my feet without my having to grip the insole with my toes (like other backless styles I have tried on in the past).

    On the other hand, they can also come off more easily in situations when I'd rather they didn't, such as when I'm going up and down our treacherous old basement steps, which are very steep and have narrow treads that were built long before the current codes were established.

    Designed for Both Women and Men

    I was delighted to see that these Landeer memory foam slippers are sized to fit both women and men. Because of the width of the size selection boxes, the size decriptions are truncated until you click on a box to display the full description, so at first glance it might appear that there are only women's sizes. However, when you click one one of the size selection boxes, you will see that each size includes corresponding men's sizes for each of the women's sizes, e.g., "9-10 Women/7-8 Men."

    The Amazon product listing also includes helpful size charts that convert U.S. women's and men's sizes to European sizes and foot lengths in both inches and centimeters, as well as instructions for how to measure your foot length correctly.

    Makes a Thoughtful Gift

    After having put them on my Christmas wish list and worn them since Christmas 2021 (including ordering a pair one size smaller after a few months), I can't say enough good things about what a terrific gift these Landeer memory foam slippers have been.

    I think they would make great gifts for men as well as for women, and especially for people who work from home or are retired or bedridden. I'll bet someone who requires an extended hospital stay would also appreciate these soft, easy-on and easy-off slippers with a sturdy rubber outsole that provides good traction.

    The price is right, especially if you can snag a pair during the 33% off deal on Amazon. Why not pick up a few pairs and get a jump on your birthday and Christmas shopping?

    Finally, don't forget yourself! If you don't love your current slippers, I highly recommend giving these a try.

    Landeer Memory Foam Slippers - Selected Colors


    You’ll Love These Insanely Comfortable Memory Foam Slippers by Margaret Schindel

    Get More Gift Ideas From My Product Reviews

    Solaire Mattress and Adjustable Base Plus Product Reviews

    Saatva Organic Cotton Bedding Product Review

    Holiday Gift Guide: Thoughtful, Affordable Gift Ideas They Will Love

    Long, Lined Leather Gloves - A Luxurious, Affordable Gift She'll Love

    How To Get Bright, Younger-Looking Eyes In 60 Seconds

    The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush

    The Best Affordable, Super Sharp Kitchen and Steak Knives Set

    The Best Powerful, Lightweight Stick Blender With Versatile Attachments

    The Best Bone-Conduction Bluetooth Headphones Review: Shokz OpenRun Pro

    The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush

    The Best Tool Roll Organizer To Store & Protect Your Tools

    The Best Affordable Programmable Large- and Small-Batch Coffee Maker

    The Best Manicure Tools for Strong, Healthy Nails

    The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

    Flippy Tablet, Kindle, Phone, and Book Stand Lap Pillow Review

    Hamama Microgreens Starter Kit and Seed Quilts Review

    Read More Product Reviews From Our Contributors

    Read More Gift Reviews From Our Contributors

    Read More Fashion Reviews From Our Contributors




    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    Tuesday, January 15, 2019

    Valentines Rock For Him Reviewed

    A Gift For Him

    valentine hearts
    Hearts For Him image from pixabay.com
    Valentine's Day is rapidly approaching and I have been on the look-out for something to give that special man in my life. I would like to review a gift that I think is pretty neat for my man and might be for yours, also. 

    When it comes to that special "him" in our lives it is sometimes difficult to come up with something clever and yet a little on the romantic side. At least it is for me. 

    Some of you may not be old enough to remember the "pet rock" fad that swept across the U. S. back in the 1970s but I think a lot of you probably will remember. Just in case you don't recall this phenomenon, I'll give you a little history. Back in 1975 an advertising executive named Gary Dahl came up with the idea of pet rocks. For about six months these rocks were all the rage. Dipping into your wallet for around $4 you could get your own pet or one for someone else that came in a box with breathing holes and straw to keep the little guy or gal comfortable. Apparently, this Mr. Dahl was a bit of a genius because it is estimated that he sold 1.5 million of these quiet little pets that needed no extra care making him a millionaire six times over. Now do you remember? 

    I've seemed to digress a little but I felt you should understand why I have picked this particular gift for my honey for Valentine's Day this year. There is some sentiment involved and some nostalgia. That was part of my quest in looking for a gift for him...a bit of nostalgia. I found this particular item that just seemed catch my eye.

    Valentines Rock

    I love the sentiment about my heart beating for him and that he is my rock. He truly is, you know. Always there standing firm and strong. Unlike the pet rocks of old, he does need to be fed and looked after but I don't mind doing those things for him at all.

    So, what do you think? Would a Valentines Rock for him work this year? 





    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    Thursday, August 30, 2018

    Gifts Reviewed on Review This Reviews!

    Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews!


     Gifts Reviewed on Review This!
    We all buy gifts for many different occasions.  The Contributors of Review This Reviews frequently review the gifts they have purchased and given, as well as gifts they have received and loved.  Therefore, you will find a wide range of recommendations by exploring our gift reviews, for a wide variety of recipients.

    Whether you are searching for gift ideas for women, men, children, friends, co-workers or even pets, you are sure to find some excellent suggestions on Review This Reviews!  

    From birthdays to Christmas gifts, Father's Day, Mother's Day, anniversaries, and even gifts for communions, these gift reviews and more, are all included.  There are reviews for specific personal preferences like "Gifts for Tea Lovers" or "Gifts for a Vegan Teen" that make it easier to identify what someone will like.  

    Most often, you will find the gifts we have reviewed are unique.  They are not the items you normally see listed in the gift category of many shopping sites.  Yet, they are the items we have given or received that have made a bit hit with the recipients.  We hope our reviews make your gift shopping easier and fun.  Don't be surprised if you find a few things you want yourself.



    Welcome to Our Gift Library of Reviews!



    A Preview of the Pinterest Board - Gift Reviews 

    There are dozens of gifts reviewed on Review This Reviews!  This small board features the most recent 50 reviews. 




    Links to Additional Pinterest Gift Boards from Review This Reviews! 


    Birthday Gifts Ideas & Suggestions

    Christmas Gifts

    Gifts for Mothers

    Gifts for Fathers

    Valentine's Day Gifts

    Easter Gifts



    Gifts Reviewed on Review This Reviews!

    For a written list of the gifts reviewed on Review This Reviews, please visit our Site Directory and select "Gifts" from the "Fast Click" category tabs on that page.




    Read More Product Reviews at
    ReviewThisGifts.com  





    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    Tuesday, June 7, 2016

    Reviewing A Fathers Day Gift Idea

    Hammer It Home For Dad


    I have a Father's Day gift idea to share with you today and I think you might just say it nails it. Well, if your Dad, Husband or Grandfather happens to be a bit handy around the house it will work perfectly as this year's gift. Shoot, even if he isn't handy, I think he will like it. 

    An engraved hammer with sentiments for Dad is unique and something that will be fun to give and I think Dad would say it is fun to receive, too.

    The engraved hammer above was my most favorite pick from the options that are available. There are several options for the sentiment to be placed on this fully functional tool for his tool chest or to hang on the wall. A few options are:

    • Thank you for helping me build my life
    • We love building memories with you
    • Let's build more memories together (I plan to get this one for my husband from me for our anniversary)
    • Thank you for giving me the tools to build my life
    • My Dad can fix anything
    See, there are some perfect sentiments for you to choose from and I'm telling you Dad is going to love the idea! If he chooses to use the hammer, he will think of you every time he picks it up. It will warm his heart and put a smile on his face. At least in our house, Dad will!

    Last year for Christmas, my oldest daughter was struggling with an idea for my husband (her step-dad). She asked our little grand-daughter what she thought would be a good idea and she came up with the perfect gift. She said, "Well, Grandpa likes to fix things so I think a new toolbox would be nice. We could put our names on it so that when he opens it, he will always think of us." Well, we just thought that was the sweetest thing ....EVER! So, little McKenna was my inspiration when looking for a good Father's Day gift this year. I was looking for a tool that could be engraved and when I saw these hammers, my search was over. 

    So, what say you, dear readers? Is an engraved hammer for Father's Day a gift that will work for you this year?





    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    Friday, August 28, 2015

    Remote Control Helicopters are Great Gifts for Men

    Reviewing My Husband's Remote Controlled Helicopter 

    Remote Controlled Helicopter photo by Sylvestermouse

    Over the years, I have given my husband several remote controlled airplanes, a remote control sailboat, a remote control tug boat, and I vaguely remember a remote controlled car.  Four years ago, I gave him a remote controlled helicopter and he is still flying it today.  I do believe it is his all time favorite.  He even flies it in the house.

    It is true.  I wake up in the morning to the hum of the helicopter and I hear it late into the night.

    I can be working online and all of the sudden a helicopter hovers over me.  It blows my papers every which way, but what can I say?  After all, I gave him the toy and he does love it!

    It will never be said that I gave him a gift he did not want, appreciate or would never use.



    Flying the Esky E500 Helicopter Indoors


    I'll start here because the first thing the gift recipient wants to do the minute they open a remote control helicopter is to start flying it immediately, which would likely mean right there inside the home.

    Flying any remote control aircraft inside the home requires a great deal of experience and real control of the rc aircraft.  It would be very easy to break a few things, so I highly recommend becoming familiar with the actual helicopter outside before bringing it inside to play.

    flying a remote control helicopter indoors photo by Sylvestermouse



     

    A Few Things to Remember When Purchasing a RC Aircraft


    Let me tell you in advance, when learning to fly a remote controlled helicopter or plane, there will be crashes, repairs and perhaps even a few tears.   (Yes, men do cry over their toys being damaged!)

    I will never forget the first radio controlled airplane I gave my husband.  We were so excited!  We loaded up the kids, the dogs, and the plane to go in search of a big, flat area suitable for flying a remote control aircraft.  We settled on our church parking lot.  After all, no other cars were in the parking lot and it was the perfect flat area.

    The family jumped out of the car and my husband promptly set up his plane several feet away from us and the car.  Anticipation was great!  We all looked forward to a fabulous air show. 

    The remote control airplane took off beautifully and then promptly flew right toward us.   Anything with feet moved out of the way, but our car was left unprotected.  The plane gracefully flew right into the side of our parked car and crashed with a heart-wrenching thud on the asphalt. 

    I am not sure if the tears were over the plane or the car, but I do know it was sad.   It is a good thing that replacement parts are usually readily available online.


    Recommendations for the Beginner RC Helicopter Pilot


    Because you will most likely experience that heart-wrenching first crash, it would be wise to start off small and inexpensive. 

     Blade mCX2 RTF There are definitely skill levels in flying any remote control plane or helicopter.  I purchased my husband the Esky E500 after he had already owned and successfully flown several other remote control aircraft.  I would not recommend the Esky E500 radio control helicopter for the beginner, regardless of what the hobby store owner says.

    After consulting with my "professional" pilot husband for his recommendations, I have featured a  helicopter on the right that would be perfect for learning. You can always make your man's day with the more advanced helicopter next year.


    The Blade MCX2 RTF Helicopter

    • Factory Assembled and Ready to Fly 
    • Rechargeable Battery
    • Everything Included! 
    • Moderately Priced Comparatively Speaking

     

    For Someone with Enough Experience to Fly Indoors

     


    flying a remote control helicopter
    Still Flying Inside the House! 
    In this photo, you can actually see his RC Sailboat in the background. 
    It has become part of our home decor when not sailing
     

     

    The Esky Big Lama E500


    The Esky E500 remote control helicopter is his favorite because he can fly it inside. Therefore, regardless of the weather, my husband can play with his toys. I am sorry to say, I could not find the older, yellow Esky E500 like the one shown in the photos to feature.  Perhaps, with the name and model number, you will be able to find one for yourself.
    I have yet to meet a male, young or old, who sees someone flying a remote control helicopter and doesn't want to grab the controls himself.  Therefore, I highly recommend purchasing a rc helicopter for the man on your gift list for that next gift giving occasion.

    Helpful hint here though: If it is his first ever remote control aircraft, buy two.  The first one won't last long.

    Oh!  And, stand out of the way!!!  You don't want to be whacked upside the head by a renegade rc helicopter.   If you must observe the first flight, perhaps a crash helmet would be the right "ounce of protection."


     




    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






    Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

    The Review This Reviews Contributors



    SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

     


    Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

    Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

    We may be apart, but
    You Are Not Forgotten





    “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

    X