Showing posts with label Father's Day. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Father's Day. Show all posts

Sunday, June 16, 2024

Honoring Dad: A Father's Day Tribute to Dads in Heaven

Honoring Dad: A Father's Day Tribute to Dads in Heaven

For Father's Day, many of us are preparing to celebrate the influential men in our lives who have shaped us into who we are today. 

But for some, Father's Day carries a bittersweet undertone as we remember and honor dads who are no longer with us physically. Whether our dad passed away recently or many years ago, the memories and lessons he imparted remain etched in our hearts forever.

Reflecting on Memories

One of the most beautiful aspects of Father's Day is the opportunity to reflect on cherished memories with our dads. Whether teaching us or offering wise advice during challenging times, dads play a significant role in our lives. 

Even though they may no longer be here, their presence is felt in every laugh shared, every lesson learned, and every bit of guidance followed (or not followed, lol).

Carrying on Traditions

Dads have a way of creating lasting traditions that define our family identities. Whether it's a special meal he loved to cook, a favorite activity you enjoyed together, or a heartfelt phrase he used to say, these traditions connect us to our past and help keep his spirit alive. Embracing and continuing these traditions can be a comforting way to honor his memory on Father's Day and beyond. 

If there are no apparent traditions, that doesn't matter! A tradition can be as simple as watching a TV show and laughing together.

Finding Comfort in Shared Stories

Sharing stories about our dads is a powerful way to celebrate their lives. Whether with family members and friends or even quietly reminiscing on your own, recounting funny anecdotes, meaningful conversations, and poignant moments can bring a sense of warmth and closeness. These stories create a tapestry of his life that ensures his legacy endures.

Personally, I find myself loving it when we talk about Dad. When my family and I get together and remember him out loud, that's when I find my greatest peace with this difficult loss.

Embracing Gratitude

While it's natural to feel sad on Father's Day when our dads are no longer here, it's also a time to embrace gratitude for our time together. Every laugh, hug, and piece of advice is a gift that continues to shape us. By focusing on gratitude, we can celebrate the love and wisdom our Dads imparted, acknowledging their profound impact on our lives.

Honoring Their Legacy

As we celebrate Father's Day, let us also reflect on the legacy our dads left behind. Their influence extends beyond their physical presence, living on in the values they instilled and the love they shared. 

Honoring their legacy is a meaningful way to commemorate their life and continue their impact, whether through charitable acts, mentoring others, or simply being there for loved ones and friends.

A Time for Reflection and Connection

This Father's Day, for those of us who have lost our dads, let's take a moment to reflect on the love, guidance, and memories they left us. 

Let's cherish the traditions they started and the stories they left behind. And let's find comfort in knowing that their spirit lives on in us and those whose lives they touched.

To all the dads in heaven, this Father's Day is for you. Your presence is felt in every corner of our lives, and we always carry your love with us. 

Cheers to the memories, the lessons, and the enduring legacy you've given us. Happy Father's Day.

A Tribute to My Dad in Heaven - A Video Created Eight Years Ago, Dedicated to All Fathers


Happy Father's Day to All Father's - to Dads of All Kinds, Living and Passed On 💗💗




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, June 12, 2024

Keeping Things Belted Up is Easy ~ A Product Review

There is one thing I really dislike and that is a belt that looks like it has seen better days,.  Belts are a necessity for many men, but they seem to get ratty looking before too long and that drives me to distraction.  

Well with Father's Day coming up just around the corner, I thought I would share a great new belt that my husband loves and it looks so good all the time.

This belt has a buckle, but the extra part of the belt that  goes through the loops, doesn't have anyholes in it.  It is a nice flat piece of leather. What holds it together is the ratchet like buckle.

Let me show you a picture to make you understand this better.

Normally a belt is a long piece of leather that may be tooled or smooth depending on the look you are trying to achieve.  There is a buckle with a tongue that goes into a hole on the other side and the belt is tightened to fit comfortably around the waist.

ratchet belt




This new  "Ratchet" belt that we found has a buckle, but no tongue.  The extra portion of belt goes through the buckle and sits like a regular belt around the waist.  There are no holes in the belt.  There is no tongue on the buckle.  So the wear and tear on the belt is minimal.

It also allows you to tighten the belt in smaller increments than the 1 or 1.5 inches between the holes in a regular belt.

It looks neat and tidy all the time.  If you go out for dinner and eat just a little too much a quick flick of the wrist will loosen the ratchet belt enough so that you are comfortable at all times.  I am impressed with this fashion find for my main squeeze and he really likes it too.  Not only is it a great look, but it also comes in so many colors that one may just not be enough.  At this price point having more than one is easy.

Talk about a win -win situation.  It's affordable, neat, tidy and really looks good.  Holding up the pants with ease and style is a great thing. 

If you need another suggestion for a Father's Day gift, this just might be it!  I would say that every man should have at least one Ratchet Belt in his wardrobe.  





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, June 6, 2024

Five Inexpensive Father's Day Gifts

 Father's Day is approaching, and you might be wondering how to show your dad some love without breaking the bank. Since you didn't win the lottery to buy your dad a new car, here are five thoughtful budget-friendly gift ideas that will make your dad feel appreciated.

Father's Day Gift Ideas
Five Inexpensive Father's Day Gifts - Reviewed

Personalized Photo Frame

A personalized photo frame can be a heartwarming gift your dad will cherish for years. Consider choosing a special photo of you, your dad, or the entire family, and find a nice frame. You can even decorate the frame to add a personal touch. This gift is inexpensive and sentimental, reminding your dad of precious memories every time he looks at it.

DIY Coupon Book

Create a DIY coupon book filled with coupons for various activities or chores that you will do for your dad. Things like, washing the car, making him breakfast, spending the day doing his favorite activity, and completing that project around the house that he has been putting off. This thoughtful gift allows your dad to redeem the coupons whenever he likes.

Homemade Treats

If your dad has a sweet tooth, like me, or a favorite snack, consider making some homemade treats. Bake a batch of cookies, brownies, or even a special dish that he loves. Package them up in a decorative tin or box. This is a delicious and cost-effective way to show your dad you care.

A Good Book

If your dad enjoys reading, a good book can be a perfect gift. Choose a book from his favorite genre or an author he loves. If you're unsure what book to get, consider a best seller or classic that many people enjoy. You can often find great deals on books at a local bookstore, online retailers, or even second-hand shops.

Handwritten Letter

In today's digital age, a handwritten letter can be a very special and meaningful gift. Take the time to write a heartfelt letter to your dad, expressing your gratitude and love. Share your favorite memories and tell him how much he means to you. This simple gesture will likely be treasured for years to come.

Father's Day doesn't have to be about expensive gifts. It's the thought and effort that counts the most. These inexpensive gift ideas are sure to make your dad feel loved and appreciated without putting a strain on your wallet. Happy Father's Day to all the wonderful dads out there.

Find more Gift Ideas on Review This Here:

ReviewThisGifts.com








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, June 9, 2023

GIFT IDEAS FOR DAD

A page of interesting, unusual gift ideas for dad on Father's Day or any day of the year!
This card is perfect for the dad who is a home handyman!

Father's Day is celebrated every year on the third Sunday in June. Remember to do something for your father that shows you know and appreciate him because that is what Dad really wants for his day and/or even his birthday. If you want to add a small physical gift, here are some wonderful and affordable gift ideas for Dad.

On this page we'll review a few great gift ideas for dad including a picture frame, a couple of coffee mugs, a t-shirt, an apron, a keepsake journal and a Hallmark movie. I am sure that you will find something here that is within your budget and that is perfect for your Dad.



A PICTURE FRAME 


Malden Daddy and Me Expressions Picture Frame, an affordable gift idea for dad.

Featuring a contemporary, clean and modern design, this frame suits many household styles. It holds one 4 inch by 6 inch vertically oriented picture of daddy and me. In fact, there are a variety of designs by Malden that read differently. From this one to one that reads, The Boys, Dad, Godfather, Daddy's Girl and more.




A COFFEE MUG

Coolest Dad in the Galaxy space-themed, camping-style ceramic coffee mug by Our Name is Mud. Perfect gift idea for dad on Father's Day or on any occasion!
There's a modern theme on this blue space-themed, camping-style, stoneware mug from Our Name is Mud. The front side reads "Coolest Dad in the Galaxy" and the other, "You're Out of This World." It holds 16 ounces of your dad's favorite steamy hot beverage and is microwave and dishwasher safe.

He'll love this art pottery coffee mug, personalized with your choice of dad word.
If you think that the dad in your life is not into the space-themed mug shown above, you might consider something like this personalized, handmade art pottery coffee mug from Laura Lynn Pottery. It is a handsome piece that holds up to two cups of dad's favorite hot drink. It comes with your choice of dad-themed words including dad, daddy, papa or grandpa and you can request others terms of endearment by contacting the artist. Done in an attractive color combination of buff clay and satin black glaze.
Life is Good Dad You're One of My Favorite Parents T-Shirt

A t-shirt might not seem like a totally original gift idea. However, it surely is a practical one and Life is Good has and has had some fun designs like the one shown above, which reads, "Dad, You're One of My Favorite Parents." Guaranteed to make people smile and perfect for dad all year long.


CUSTOMIZED APRON


LOVE how this artisan on Etsy takes a photo and puts it on a customized apron. Perfect for the father who likes to cook!

I love this personalized apron. Etsy creator By Barva takes a photograph of the father or other individual in your life and transfers a likeness of the image and the name of the individual onto an apron. Perfect for any dad who likes to cook and/or grill.  Of course, aprons are not the only product they produce. You can also have a drinking glass customized in the same fashion or even a t-shirt.


A GUIDED KEEPSAKE JOURNAL


Dad Tell me your Story: A Guided Keepsake Journal for your Father to share his life and his memories

Dad Tell Me Your Story is a thoughtful gift idea. It is a glossy, hardcover book, journal-style that helps guide your father to put his memories and thoughts on paper. When finished, it becomes a treasured memento of dad's life. Features 100 numbered pages and a family tree. Subjects cover a wide variety from childhood to adulthood. It even includes blank pages for photos or illustrations or small paper mementos. It is available in hardcover or paperback though I would think if dad is going to invest time filling out the pages, you might prefer to preserve them in hardcover.


A FAMILY FRIENDLY HALLMARK MOVIE


Hallmark's Safe Harbour (2009) Movie, suitable as a Father's Day gift for families to watch together.

Hallmark's Safe Harbor movie (2009) is based on the true story of a married couple who are set to retire and spend their retirement on their sailboat. However, before they manage to leave, a friend asks them to look after two teenagers who have been sentenced to juvenile hall. The hall is at capacity and unable to take them and when it is suggested that the teen boys be put to work getting the boat ready for their trip, the couple agrees. Soon they find themselves with four boys.

The situation brings a set of challenges from attitude to fire but, in the end, there are positive changes in all four boys who decide they do not want to break up their newly created 'family.' The couple questions their own situation, their sailing trip, their choice not to have children and the future.

Starring Treat Williams, Nancy Travis, Reiley McClendon, Myra Turley and Cameron Monaghan, Safe Harbor is a good viewing opportunity for dad to share with the family. 


------------------------------------------------------------------------


What will you be giving your dad for Father’s Day this year?

Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

MORE GIFT IDEAS:


Mugs For Old Guys and Vintage Dudes
From a series, 31 Days of Coffee Mugs, comes a fabulous "old" guy mug.

The Best Lego Gift Ideas
If you're looking for a great Lego gift idea that is not a Lego set, you will find some of the best choices here on this page.

The Best Ghostbusters Ecto-1 Gift Ideas
Who could forget the car from the movie Ghostbusters? On this page, we celebrate the Ecto-1 with five of the best Ghostbusters car themed gift ideas.

The Best Sizzlin' Hot Barbecue Aprons
Summertime and the living is easy. Great weather, good music and your trusty friend, the barbecue, will help you prepare some good food. Before you throw your meat on the grill though you might want to throw on a fun, spirited and practical...






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, June 13, 2021

Ten Unique Fathers Day Gift Ideas from Baby


There's going to be a new father in our family this year. That had me thinking about gift ideas for newbie dads.

Ten Gift Ideas for Dad from Baby


1. A 3D Ultrasound of Unborn Baby

This is my son's father's day gift. With Covid restrictions, he hasn't been able to attend the regular ultra-sound visits. Once restrictions were loosened, mommy-to-be arranged for a 3D ultrasound that daddy-to-be could attend. 

2. Make Matching Baby & Daddy Clothes an Annual Tradition

Baby clothes with cute sayings about daddy are a standard choice. However, kick it up a notch by choosing matching baby-daddy items. Continue this tradition for every father's day. Choose a unique set of matching clothes for each year. Collect them over a twenty-year span. What a great memory to keep in the memory box.

3. Baby's Hand and Feet Prints Framed

Make it an annual tradition for the first ten years of baby's life. Then, each year, as baby grows, prepare a framed piece with a lovely saying that features the little one's traced and painted hands and feet.

4. A Key Chain with Baby's Hand Print

Make a key chain that features a clay cutout of baby's hand. If clay work isn't your thing, place an artistic tracing of baby's hands in a keychain frame. 

5. A Future Date or Fun Night Planned with Dad

Give dad a card from his baby that promises a daddy date night when baby turns five. It could be dinner, a movie or a day at the park. Frame the card with the promise, and put it on the wall of the nursery. Baby will grow up looking forward to that one special night promised when he or she was an infant.

6. Start a Daddy Memory Book

Create a book that assembles key photos between baby and dad for that year. Each year add to the book. Keep this memory book going until baby is all grown-up. 

7. Create an Annual Video Memory of Daddy and Baby

Once you've created this video, upload it to Youtube. Make the video public or private. Each year add a new video to the collection. After a lifetime, daddy will have a lot of easy-to-access video memories.

8. Frame a Large Photo of Daddy and Baby to be Featured in the Home

Create a family wall and add this large custom-framed photo of daddy and baby. If there isn't any room for a full family wall, centrally locate the photo for all to see; a foyer, the nursery, a hallway, the family room, or the home office.

9. Plant a Tree in the Yard for Dad

Choose a place in the yard that's perfect for featuring dad's tree. Plant a tree that will grow for years to come so daddy and baby will always know and enjoy the fact that it's their shared memory and special spot. 

10. Create a Garden for Daddy

Plant a garden for dad. Baby can partake in its care for years to come. Baby will grow to know that this garden was gifted to daddy when he or she was an infant. What a lovely gift to enjoy day after day and year after year. Plus, it's the gift that keeps on giving. Feature a sign in the garden that says, "Dad's Garden from Baby." Place baby's name on the sign, or word the sign in any way that you feel honors dad and baby.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, June 9, 2021

June 20th Father's Day! So Many Ways to Show Dad Some Love

Father's Day is coming up soon and it's a great time to show your Dad some extra love!

father with children

Image by designerlisahenry from Pixabay

Somehow finding something for Dad is a lot harder than finding something for Mom!  Why is that?

The best place to start with gifts ideas for dad's is to really check out what he is doing in his spare time.  When the work day is done, does Dad just like to sit with a cup of coffee quietly, or a beer out in the yard?  These are great places to see what kind of mug or glass he is using for his favorite beverage.   A new Coffee mug with a cute saying on it is always a good start!
  



Beer or wine glasses can also have a customized saying on them too!  Just last year our daughter got one for her father's 70th birthday and it was a real hit for a gift that he wasn't expecting!  Just imagine this for Father's Day instead!




One of my all time favorite things to get for the men in my life is anything made by Victorinox, The Swiss Army Knives makers!  Every man needs to have one of these in his pocket!  There will always be a loose screw, a cap to open, or a nail to clip.  These pocket knives are the handiest and most portable items ever made.  There are many imposters, but only one Swiss Army Knife!  Actually, there are many different styles and they can range in price according to how many different blades are within.  

Does Dad like to read?  There are many new books that have just been released, that I'm sure your Dad would love.

Horror, mysteries, historical novels, Books about different Sports!  Is Dad a traveller (even just an armchair traveler), then get him a beautiful book about one of his favorite places to go one day!  It could be Bali, California, The Congo, Australia or even somewhere closer to home!  There are places to go and things to see as the world seems to be opening up again.  It's also possible to stay in your own country and see what there is to see right here!  Make plans to see all 50 States, the best time to go and what there is in each state that shouldn't be missed!  Travelling virtually before setting out is a great way to share something different with Dad.

If none of these things float your boat, so to speak, there is always something that you can do that doesn't cost anything at all.  One of Review This Reviews writers, Barbara Tremblay Cipak, has come up with 10 ideas that don't cost a thing!  You can read all about it right here!

One thing is sure, in these days, it's nice to remember those people that are special to us!  So whether that is your Dad, Step-Dad, Stand-In Dad, your Grandpa or someone who you admire like a Father, Let Him KNOW!

We only have one chance every year to make a day special for all the dads in the world, so let's not waste time!  

June 20th is the Day, so mark it on your calendar!  

Happy Father's Day to all the Dads out there!  May your day be filled with lots of love from your family to you!

make today amazing banner






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, May 30, 2021

10 Free Personal Gift Ideas to Honor Dad


These days, the thought counts more and more.

If you're looking for ways to celebrate dad that involve a personal touch, check out these suggestions.

1. Framed Handprint Art

Have the kids, whether little or big, create a collage of their handprints. If the kids are all grown up, do it anyway, it still makes a beautiful, personal gift. In fact, for adult kids create a collage of everyone's feet - how funny would that be, lol - then frame it. 

2. Create a Collage of Personal Love Messages for Dad

Have the kids write out what they love about dad, glue the messages to a board, frame it, or have it laminated. Keep dad's personal messages from family, from every special occasion in a scrapbook or album. It doesn't matter if you haven't started this tradition in the early years; start it today.

3. Spend Time with Dad

Spend the day with dad, watch movies, go for walks, or play games. Show interest in the things he loves. Or just sit and talk to dad. When our parents are gone, we wish for one more day to be with them. Treat this special day as if it were a magic wish you've been granted.

Have you ever heard "One More Day" by Diamond Rio - Listen to the lyrics; they say it best; they're a moving reminder of why we should spend time with those we love while we can. Don't take dad for granted; he won't always be there. If you're reading this via mobile, here's the link to the song.

4. Cook Dad's Favorite Meal

This is a standard in our home for birthdays and other celebrations. The person of the day gets to pick the menu. We spend time together having dinner as a family.

5. Go on a Hike Together

Plan an all-day outing with dad. Take him on a hike. Spend the day outdoors and treat him to conversation and physical activity. 

6. Assemble His Family History in a Book

Research dad's family history and present dad with a book that highlights his ancestors and the entire family all the way up to the current time. Dad will love this gift; it's one he can hand back and pass along to grandchildren.

7. Plan a Family Soccer or Baseball Game

Organize a day at the local baseball or soccer field and spend the entire day playing sports, laughing, and eating. Pack a picnic and make it a full day of outdoor fun.

8. Clean Dads Car and Garage

If dad rarely has time to do those weekend cleaning tasks, do it for him. Have him sit outside with his favorite beverage, in a comfortable chair, with his favorite music blasting, watching you all work as you clean up the garage and wash his car.

9. Create a YouTube Video Music Playlist

Create a YouTube video playlist featuring all of Dad's favorite songs. Make the list public, and write a beautiful personal message in the video description area for all the world to see. You can also create a list of songs that honor dad from a daughter's point of view. You can find a list of ten suggested father/daughter songs here. Here's are songs to honor father/son relationships.

10. Write a Poem or Create a Video Poem

If creating video poems isn't your thing, simply write a poem from everyone or just from you and frame it. 

Here's a video poem I wrote long ago for my husband on the passing of his father: If you're viewing this via mobile, the video is here on YouTube.


Enjoy your day with dad. Time with dad is truly the best gift for you and for him.

For My Dad In Heaven: "Last night I had a crazy dream, a wish was granted just for me, it could be for anything, I didn't ask for money or a mansion in Malibu, I simply wished for one more day with you, but then again, I know what it would do, leave me wishing still, for one more day with you" (Lyrics - One More Day by Diamond Rio). 

Dad, I'll love you 'til the end of time, and time never ends.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, May 31, 2020

High Pressure Car Cleaning Tool Review

Reviewed, and Approved - Yes to a High Pressure
Car Detailing Tool
This item is a must for auto-detailing enthusiasts.

My husband loves to clean. You heard that right. Gifts for him normally include cleaning gadgets of some sort.

However, this particular gadget was entirely his idea. He's an avid cleaning-product-researcher and decided a high-pressure car cleaning tool would help to detail the car the way he likes it.

A High-Pressure Car Cleaning Tool Works With an Air Compressor

Take note that you'll need an air compressor to run this gadget. If you don't have an air compressor or access to one, this tool isn't for you.

This particular car cleaning tool lets you adjust the air pressure. You can clean an area using a level of pressure that's appropriate for the job.

He's pointed out it's the air pressure that pushes the cleaner into the fabric and on surfaces. That helps to provide deep, thorough cleanings.

The Car Cleaning Tool with the
air compressor hose attached

Easy to Use - Add Cleaning Product and Go

Just fill the container with any cleaning solution and water. Next, connect the air, set your ball valve to dispense the cleaner. Once you're ready to go, simply pull the cleaning trigger.

There's a water mode and air mode: To do the cleaning, use the water mode. Once the cleaning is complete clear away the excess water with the air mode. At that point, you can wipe the surface down with a microfiber cloth if needed.

Here's the High-Pressure Cleaning Tool in Action

Air Dried and Wiped with a Microfiber Cloth

Use The High-Pressure Cleaning Tool for the Car Seats and Rugs

My husband is quite detailed when he cleans. He also uses this handy gadget to clean the seats and rugs. After the winter months, it's very handy indeed for renewing those filthy rugs! They look like new when he's done. Check out the two photos below showing one of the seats and rugs.

By the way, this vehicle is fifteen years old. So it's not as though he's keeping up a new car that's in prime shape. This old SUV looks new because of his hard work and detailed mindset.

Oh, and something else he wanted me to mention: Cleaning the seats and rug below only took about ten or fifteen minutes. Of course, for extra dirty surfaces, the initial cleaning will take longer.

Here is the rug and seat after a quick cleaning

Here's a closeup of the seat after cleaning.
Remember, this vehicle is fifteen years old.


Yes, He Recommends This Product

It can also be used for other cleaning projects. You're not limited to just cars. Use it for bikes, motorcycles, outdoor furniture and rugs, and whatever else you can think of that needs a deep cleaning.

He didn't buy the high-end version of this product either. He selected an inexpensive model, similar to this one, and so far so good - it's still working.

Have fun, stay clean.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, May 26, 2019

Father's Day Gifts Reviewed on Review This Reviews

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews!


 Father's Day Gifts Reviewed on Review This
Warm weather beckons us to enjoy our favorite outdoor activities which makes June the perfect month to celebrate Father's Day.  When I think of  baseball, camping, swimming, boating, fishing, hunting, four-wheelin, motorcycles, bicycles, or even washing cars, I think of my dad.  As a child and young adult, all of those summer activities included my father.  In fact, as an adult with adult children of my own, my dad is still a part of all of those family activities and more.

The Review This Reviews contributors recognize that not all fathers are the same or enjoy the same activities listed above.  Some dads prefer video games, radio controlled devices, woodworking, or other hobbies.  Many play golf like my father-in-law.  One thing every man I know enjoys, is eating!  Some may enjoy cooking as well, but they all love food.

Because we have over a dozen contributors on Review This Reviews, we have dozens of hobbies, entertainment, and activities that our own fathers, husbands, brothers or sons enjoy to use as a reference for reviews of excellent gifts for men. 

So many wonderful memories in our lives include our fathers.  Let's be sure to remember our dads on Father's Day with a phone call, visit, a card, perhaps dinner, and even a specially selected gift.  Either of those things would be considered a "gift" to your dad because it will be you taking time to express your appreciation and love.    




A Review This Reviews Pinterest Board - Father's Day Gifts Reviewed 

 There are dozens of Father's Day Gifts Reviewed 
by our Contributors!
The board below features the 30 most recent reviews. 








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, June 17, 2018

The Best Gift You Can Give Your Dad that Doesn't Cost a Dime

It's Corny. It's Cliché. But if You Can Give it, It's the Best Gift.

The best gift you can give Dad, is your time.

If you're one of the fortunate with a living father, and a father you enjoy a good relationship with, then it's a certainty that your voice or your company ranks highest on his list of wants.

This suggestion is not meant to sound preachy, it merely comes from the heart of a person whose father has passed on.

My dad loved when we visited, he often said to me, "Barb, I love it when you're here". That's exactly how we feel when our children are home as well.

Dad gave us the greatest gift, the gift of love, and we're passing that down from generation to generation. It doesn't get any better than that: Love, compassion and family.

When He Hears Your Voice, I'll Bet Your Father Lights Up

There isn't anything your father wants more than to be with you or to at least talk with you on Father's Day.

When he thinks about you I'll bet dollars to donuts that he reflects upon every aspect of your growing up. I say that because, when I speak to my sons, I see every age and almost every moment of their life in that moment. 

With social media and personal devices, our habit of texting, emailing or posting our sentiment crosses over into expressing ourselves on special occasions. That's OK too. There's nothing wrong with posting a song for dad, or texting a personal note of love to him, but if you're able to, a phone call or a visit ranks at the top.

Although you can get dad a gift, and I'm sure he'll appreciate whatever you choose, when he looks around his kitchen table at his family sharing memories and laughing, that's the gift that beats them all. His heart is your heart.

Written for My Dad in Heaven - He Blessed Us With Love






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Reviewing A Fathers Day Gift Idea

Hammer It Home For Dad


I have a Father's Day gift idea to share with you today and I think you might just say it nails it. Well, if your Dad, Husband or Grandfather happens to be a bit handy around the house it will work perfectly as this year's gift. Shoot, even if he isn't handy, I think he will like it. 

An engraved hammer with sentiments for Dad is unique and something that will be fun to give and I think Dad would say it is fun to receive, too.

The engraved hammer above was my most favorite pick from the options that are available. There are several options for the sentiment to be placed on this fully functional tool for his tool chest or to hang on the wall. A few options are:

  • Thank you for helping me build my life
  • We love building memories with you
  • Let's build more memories together (I plan to get this one for my husband from me for our anniversary)
  • Thank you for giving me the tools to build my life
  • My Dad can fix anything
See, there are some perfect sentiments for you to choose from and I'm telling you Dad is going to love the idea! If he chooses to use the hammer, he will think of you every time he picks it up. It will warm his heart and put a smile on his face. At least in our house, Dad will!

Last year for Christmas, my oldest daughter was struggling with an idea for my husband (her step-dad). She asked our little grand-daughter what she thought would be a good idea and she came up with the perfect gift. She said, "Well, Grandpa likes to fix things so I think a new toolbox would be nice. We could put our names on it so that when he opens it, he will always think of us." Well, we just thought that was the sweetest thing ....EVER! So, little McKenna was my inspiration when looking for a good Father's Day gift this year. I was looking for a tool that could be engraved and when I saw these hammers, my search was over. 

So, what say you, dear readers? Is an engraved hammer for Father's Day a gift that will work for you this year?





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, June 2, 2016

Printable Greeting Cards

These printable greeting cards are on high-resolution downloadable files that you can print at home. Easy DIY last-minute gift idea.
Look what I found. It's a fabulous source for printable greeting cards. These are cards on high-resolution downloadable files that you can print at home. Simply choose a design, place your order, grab the downloadable file, print, and the card is ready to be delivered or mailed. It's easy! Here's my review of this sanity-saving method of buying greeting cards at the last minute.

The procrastinator in me loves these cards. Why? Because I can choose, buy, print, and mail or hand deliver any of them quickly, within a matter of minutes. If you tend to put off shopping for special occasions until it's almost too late to be on time, bet you'll love the convenience, too!

Even if you're organized and always on time, there's much more to love about these cards. Since they're designed by artists from all over the world, it's easy to find something absolutely unique and the selection is huge. You're sure to find a style that you like for any occasion you can think of.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. 

Downloadable, Printable Inspirational Card ©JWGiftsandDecor on Etsy
Printable Inspirational Card ©JWGiftsandDecor on Etsy


Printable Father's Day Cards

Print it instantly! Father's Day printable greeting card from DecorartDesign
Father's Day Printable Card ©DecorartDesign on Etsy

Father's Day is always the third Sunday in June, but it has a way of sneaking up on me at the last minute. You, too? If you wait until the last minute to choose a card for dear ol' dad, it won't be too late. Take a look at this Father's Day card collection, find one you like, order, then print. Use the search box to narrow down the subject matter to something that perfectly suits your dad.

Cards for All Occasions & Every Holiday


It's always good to have a greeting card or two on hand for emergencies, but if you're like me your card box never seems to contain exactly what you're looking for when you need it. That's another reason I like the idea of being able to choose the perfect card and print it from the comfort of my computer.

For instance, look at this selection of printable get well cards. You'll also find some really unique printable birthday cards. I found a beautiful selection of scripture cards for all occasions, too. Recently I've been exploring printable Halloween cards. You may be surprised at the selection. I was!

Choose a couple of designs that you especially like, order the downloads, and you'll have them on the computer when you need them. Pay once then print as many copies (for personal use) as you like!

Cute printable all-occasion greeting card from MerryMailman on Etsy, includes envelope template
©MerryMailman on Etsy
Here's an idea for an all occasion card to keep on hand. This "What's up, buttercup" printable card download includes two designs, an envelope template, and you can color the card yourself if you choose. Or let the recipient color it. In fact, make a gift of it by including a set of colored pencils. How perfect for either an adult or a child! (I got this one for my mom, who really enjoys her adult coloring books.)

Next time you're at Walmart, Target, or your favorite office supply store, pick up an inexpensive package of card stock paper along with some pretty envelopes (or make your own envelope from a grocery bag!). Choose a few favorite printable card designs to have handy on your computer, and you'll be ready whenever the next card-giving occasion arises. You'll save both time and money and the recipient is sure to be pleased.


So, who will your first printable card recipient be?

~ Susan
See more of my reviews.




Posted by Susan Deppner

Susan Deppner

About the Author

Susan Deppner is a baby boomer, a cancer survivor, and a Southerner who believes in the Golden Rule. She enjoys writing about food, faith, and fitness; health, home, and holidays; people, places, pets, and patriotism, and more. Follow Susan on Twitter, Facebook, and Pinterest.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, June 5, 2015

Gifts for Father's Day Reviewed


fathers day card
About this time each year, I start searching for a Father's Day gift for the most wonderful man in the world.   It needs to be something really special and something unique.  Something he will really enjoy.

I frequently seek recommendations from people who own a particular item before I buy it.  I depend on reviews to help me make my selection.

Dad is not really hard to please.  He is actually a pretty easy going fellow that has a wide variety of interests, and always appreciates whatever gift he is given.

Truthfully, it is not the man that is hard to please, it is me.  I think he deserves the best gift I can possibly find.  After all, his best is what he has always given our family.

Each article, review or recommendation below is linked to it's place of origin. Simply click the blue text link in the content of this article to visit the referenced review.



For His Car


I guess all men love their cars, and my father is certainly no exception.  Few things are more annoying than the first few scratches on a new car.  We all want our cars to stay as perfectly beautiful as they were the day we drove them off the dealers lot.  As the car ages, we may tolerate certain imperfections, but none of us wants to see obvious scratches on our cars.  For as long as I can remember, I have watched my father take excellent care of his cars and keep them as pristine as humanly possible.
scratch removal compound

A few weeks ago, Barbara, our own Brite-Ideas contributor here on Review This, recommended this Scratch Removal Compound for removing scratches from cars.

I think my father would love to receive a gift basket full of car care items starting with this awesome scratch removal compound. 




A Vacation

 
visit a lighthouse
Once he has his car all scratch free and shiny,  I would love to be able to give him a little vacation.  Something not too far away.  Somewhere he and Mom could drive just to get away for a few days.   A little trip to Savannah, Georgia would be perfect!

Dad has always loved any place with water.  As a youth, many of our family vacations were spent near oceans, rivers, or lakes where we enjoyed a variety of activities that included boating, fishing, water skiing, sailing, rafting, swimming and more.

Savannah would be an awesome vacation destination for Mom and Dad.   Dad would enjoy the day trips to Tybee Island, Hilton Head Island, and the beaches of St. Simon Island.  Mom would appreciate the romantic charm of Savannah described in Wednesday Elf's article.

Or, maybe I could set it up for them to go to Rhode Island where he could have an all new experience as described by Mary Beth in her article, "You Too Can Be a Lighthouse Keeper"!  I feel certain he would love staying overnight in an actual lighthouse.  I can easily imagine him standing at the top of the lighthouse, binoculars in hand and scanning the surface of the ocean, spotting things he would never be able to see with the naked eye.

Plus, I know the perfect gift box for either of these vacations!  In lieu of a basket, I could place his travel plans and reservations in new Luggage, which he could also use on his vacation.  The handle and spinning wheels on the luggage recommended by Heather426, would make this the perfect new suitcase for Dad as he tours from place to place.  Why lift luggage when you could simply pull it along behind you?



Books to Read

 
Arthur Hailey books
Whether he is on vacation or staying at home, Dad loves to read.  He is constantly in search of a good book or a recommendation for a book that he will enjoy reading.  BarbRad recently reviewed the book "Detective" by Arthur Hailey and I immediately thought of my father.  He seems to really like detective stories, especially one with twists, turns and surprising endings.  This sounds like a great choice to add to his library of books.

Books For His Kindle

Dad does own a Kindle and he does frequently use it when he is reading instead of grabbing the printed book.  Bev recently reviewed 11/22/63 about John F. Kennedy which also sounds like a book Dad would enjoy reading.  My father was an adult with children when JFK was assassinated and I am quite certain he has his own opinions about what actually happened that day, but I don't know if he has ever read a detailed accounting of the weeks before the assassination.  I think he would find that very intriguing indeed.


    

Movies and Goodies for Movie Night

A Good Marriage
A Good Marriage is also based on a Stephen King book.  Since I, myself, have seen and reviewed A Good Marriage, I know Dad will enjoy watching this movie.

It is an excellent suspense thriller that is written from the perspective of the wife of a serial killer.  I personally found it to be well considered and the characters realistically fleshed out with several unexpected reactions.

It is not just a run of the mill serial killer movie.

 

Chocolate & Coffee

With a movie, we also need a gift basket of chocolate.   Not only does Susan Kennedy recommend a great gift basket for Father's Day, she also explains how dark chocolate is actually good for us.  I definitely want my dad to stay happy and healthy.  Therefore, an excellent movie, a basket of chocolate and a cup of coffee sounds like the perfect gift for my father when he wants a relaxing evening at home.

 

 

For the Garden


backyard flowers
One of the Small Gardens in My Parents Backyard
I would tell you that my father gardens because my mother makes him, but in all honesty, I am not sure that is completely true.  He enjoys working outdoors, and playing in the garden gives him an excuse to be outside.  It also gives him an excuse to play with a few new gardening tools.  The tools that Olivia recommends definitely look like gardening tools my dad would love to own, especially the Hori, Hori.  Dad just might dream up the excuse of needing to divide the hosta lilies with that tool!  That would make both Dad and Mom happy.

I am equally certain he would enjoy having his own Composter.  We all get tired of paying for fertilizer.  That can get quite expensive when you have a large garden. Thankfully, Coletta recommended an excellent composting system that I think would be perfect for their yard and would not draw unwanted criticism from neighbors.

To beautify the lawn area in his yard, I think he would also like some Mosaic Stepping Stones for his backyard.  Dad has always liked brightly colored ornamentation and  Mickie_G's recommendations would certainly fit that bill.  I also think he would love the mosaic pots she features in her article.


An Insulated Mug


After Dad works in the yard, he is going to need a nice, cold drink.  As a matter of fact, I can well imagine he would take the Man Mug that Dawn Rae recommended,  fill it with ice and water, and carry it right out back with him.  Not only could he stay hydrated while working, he could sit back in a lounge chair with his Man Mug and admire his work when finished.
man mug




The Amazon Echo

amazon echo
I had not heard of the Amazon Echo until Susan Deppner reviewed it here on Review This Reviews!

Susan's description of it's various functions, as well as her suggestions for games, sold me on the Amazon Echo immediately.  Not only do I think my father would like it, I think it would be a great gift for our children to give to their dad.  I love the idea of getting the news and weather forecast by just verbally requesting it.  I also know we will all love being able to start playing music by simple verbal request.  That sounds like a pretty cool gadget indeed and one the whole family will enjoy.

Just don't tell Mom you are moving "Alexa" into their home to play with Dad without letting her see Alexa's picture first!

 

 

More Father's Day Gift Ideas


Just in case you are shopping for your dad for Father's Day and didn't see exactly what you wanted above, we have created a board just for you with this easy way of shopping by looking at the catalog of images.



FATHER'S DAY GIFT SELECTIONS

Pinterest Board is hosted by Sylvestermouse, 
but Includes  GIFT SUGGESTIONS FROM MULTIPLE CONTRIBUTORS
 


You may also want to check out the entire
Review This!   HOLIDAY GIFT GUIDE
for a collection of safe and reliable websites for online shopping.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X