Showing posts with label Weddings. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Weddings. Show all posts

Sunday, October 23, 2016

The Ideal Upbeat Wedding Song - You'll Love This One!

Find Autograph by Dallas Smith Here
 Plus More Dallas Smith Songs!

Review of a Wedding or Engagement Song

If you're looking for an Upbeat Wedding Song that conveys just the right message in words from him to her, then you'll want to check this one out...

This very catchy tune is by popular Canadian Country Music Artist, Dallas Smith.

I'm a Dallas Smith fan, so introducing you to his latest hit song is my pleasure!

This wedding song is about his wanting to 'change your autograph'. Women's Lib aside for a minute, how sweet is that! 

Of course some of us don't change our autograph when we marry and that's perfectly fine.

This song simply celebrates his attraction and love for her to the point that he wants to 'change her autograph so everybody knows that he's the lucky one'. 

Autograph is the prelude of emotion before he puts a ring on it: He sees her, and like the true passion that love can be, the song expresses how he wants to share his name with her.
Autograph by Dallas Smith
"I'd change your autograph
I'd put my name on you
And I'd put a big old ring on your left hand
so everybody knew
that I'm the lucky one
With heaven on my arm,
sun's going down
Edge of town
one knee on the ground
I'd change your autograph" 



Listen to More Wedding Song Choices Here

Enjoy!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, July 31, 2016

We'll Build This Love From the Ground Up - The Perfect Wedding Song by Dan + Shay

Find 'From The Ground Up' Plus Over 40 Additional
First Dance Wedding Songs Here
You're Getting Married Congratulations!

Your love is long standing, almost nostalgic, and trying to find a song that fits the two of you isn't easy. I'll bet you've long since figured this out.

Have you spent hours on end listening to every single word of too many wedding love songs already? Don't worry, we've all done it. Every relationship is unique, and the words we dance to represent part of the promise we're making to each other ___ which is why we're all so picky.

From the Ground Up by Dan + Shay - Is This You?

The song is sung from a man's point of view, and all that he'll be and do for his bride.

Grandma and Grandpa set the example of a life that held strong through decades of change, chance and choice. They've set the stage, and showed you what happens when love is built from the ground up.

It's not just a memory, it's not just 'I Do'. It's a commitment, a promise that the wedding day is one piece of the foundation you're building together. You're making this promise for a lifetime.

You'll build your own family and you'll stand beside each other through all of life's trials and smiles.

When you look at grandma and grandpa, you both understand that life goes by in a blink and today's wedding is the celebration of what you know will last til death do you part.

You'll be each others shelter during hard times, and as two old souls you know first hand that love is about being there for better or worse.  Your very clear about one thing; the path of grace is found on the road of love.

When your own decades have passed and it's your turn to sit in grandma and grandpa's chairs, you'll hold each others hands, watching your grandchildren make that same promise you're making today - a love built from the ground up.
"Just take my hand and I'll be the man your dad hoped I'd be" (lyrics)


The only way through life is to live it with love, compassion, promise and kindness. You both know this already, that's why you're perfect for each other. The depth of this song says it well.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, March 12, 2016

Review of 5 Beautiful Country Songs for a Father Daughter Wedding Dance

Father Daughter Key Chain Necklace
Find the Song that Tells the Best Story about You and Dad
To help you discern which story in song best suits you and dad, below you'll find an array of diverse country tunes that come from a variety of father daughter story telling angles. Look for a description of each song, and should you feel a particular song says it best, you can then watch a video to be sure.
Our dance with our father on our wedding day ranks as one of the most powerful moments in our life. 
The song we choose will forever represent this major marker....from Daddy's little girl to beautiful bride. It doesn't matter how focused we are on the glorious celebration of the day..once dad takes our hand for that dance, we remember almost every moment growing up under his protective wing.
Straight up..this one will make you cry!
The song let's everyone know that Dad loves his little girl; he loved her first, he held her first. From the first breath she took, he understood the depth of the love of a father.
I don't think it's possible for dad to hold it together while dancing to this tune. The lyrics talk about how he was enough for his little girl not that long ago, and time changes everything...life goes on..but always remember 'I Loved Her First'. Although he's prayed that she'd find a man like you some day, it's still hard to give her away.
Dad wonders how it's possible that this beautiful grown woman who was once his freckled face girl, grew up so fast. The love of father runs deep, and he explains to her husband that someday, when a miracle smiles up at you, you might know what he's going through.
Bring tissues.

The Story of Dad's Thoughts When Her Boyfriend Came to Ask for His Daughter's Hand in Marriage
This song is ideal for a close father daughter relationship where daddy's always looked upon his little girl, as a little girl...and watching her grow from his angel to a wife is like someone 'stealing his little Cinderella'.
In this song story, hubby-to-be comes to see her dad to ask for his daughter's hand in marriage, and while dad leaves the room for a minute, he gets up to look at all the displayed pictures of daddy's little girl; riding her first bike, bouncing on the bed during a pillow fight, running through the sprinkler, playing Cinderella.
When dad comes back and sees her future husband looking at all the pictures of his little girl, he remarks 'Ain't she something son?' and when his response is 'yah she's quite a woman', dad just stares at him - To dad she'll always be playing Cinderella, and to dad, giving her hand in marriage is like someone stealing Cinderella.

I Don't Dance by Lee Brice - Perfect for the Dad Who is Known to Never Dance..Except with You on Your Wedding Day

You've got Dad in the palm of your hands

This is an unconventional choice, however it works perfectly for a father daughter relationship where his little girl has him in the palm of his hands to the point that he's willing to Dance just for her...something he rarely does.

If you're looking for simple lyrics that are not overly descriptive in terms of story telling, and if dad is not known to be much of a dancer, then this song could easily work for your wedding dance with him.

The lyrics explain how although he normally never dances, and wasn't the type to settle down, here he is now spinning you around in circles...he'd do anything for you...you've got him in the palm of your hands.




A Mid Tempo Song with a Fun Country Music Beat offering a lot of Opportunity for Dancing Between Father and Daughter

If you're looking for a song that fits a less than ordinary dad...maybe a dad who, in his day, got himself into a bit of trouble, tells it like it is, and is known for his direct honesty...but has one weakness where he can't seem to follow his own rules... 'you' ...his daughter - then be sure to listen to this one!

When It Comes to You is not a mushy song and is ideally suited for a father daughter relationship where both know that dad's biggest fault is giving in to his daughter. So if you've been a little spoiled by daddy, this is your song.

Also, if you want to show off some of your dancing skills, near the end it's music only, then back to the lyrics to close the song. If what you prefer in a song is something more upbeat and fun, this could easily work.



This song is incredibly moving.

It's sung by Krystal Keith, the talented and beautiful daughter of Toby Keith. The words will certainly make you cry, as they speak of the day she became a wife, but she'll forever be his baby girl. 

She thanks him deeply for everything he's done for her. 

Honestly...this one is the perfect father daughter wedding dance song. Be sure to check it out.

More Song Choices for Your Wedding:
Country Songs for the Bride & Groom's first Dance




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Reviewing Bridal Shower Scratch Off Tickets

Easy Game For Bridal Showers

Since my youngest daughter is planning a wedding for 2016, I know I will be invited to a few of the bridal showers that will be thrown in her honor. I am looking forward to going to each one but then I also dread them, too. I love watching the gifts being opened and the visiting with people. The treats are usually yummy but the games are not usually my favorite thing. 

It is difficult to come up with decent games for any kind of shower, I know. So, I do appreciate when the hostess comes up with something fun and unique. My other daughter will most assuredly have one of the showers for her sister and I have a suggestion for one of the games. Most people love to do the lottery scratch off tickets and I have discovered that you can get them printed for a bridal shower. Who knew? 

Now, isn't that the most clever idea you have seen in a while? I love the idea! There are a variety of styles and colors to choose from. I noticed that some come in packages of 25 and others offer packages of 10. There will always be only 1 winner in the package which makes it easy. The winner ticket is always on the top, too. You can shuffle them up before handing them out so that it is a surprise as to who gets the prize. Another option would be to hand them out to people as they arrive, if you didn't shuffle them first you will know that the first guest gets the prize.

What I love about this option for a bridal shower game is that there is really no one attending that is at a disadvantage. There are no silly questions that involve the bride's past, no physical feats (other than the action of scratching off the film) and no embarrassing questions or answers to go through. Simple and fun, period.

How about a few ideas on when to give the ticket to each guest? I mentioned giving them when they arrive but there are other options, too. Perhaps place a ticket on each plate when the treats are served. When the bride to be opens a gift from each guest, the guest is given their ticket at that moment. You could place them on a table and tell the guests to be sure to take just one. Then there is the simple one of just having the hostess pass them out before or after one of the other games. There is a multitude of ways to do it, any of which are simple and easy to do.

If by chance the shower is a large one and there will be more than 25 guests in attendance, you will need to get more than one package. Then, you will have to decide if you want more than one winner. If not, just remove the top ticket of each pack so that there is only one winner. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, December 17, 2015

Hollywood Fashion Tape Review

Use Fashion Tape to Prevent Wardrobe Malfunction


Hollywood Fashion Tape, the absolute best fashion tape for fixing wardrobe emergencies before they turn into wardrobe malfunctions!
Fix wardrobe emergencies before they turn into
serous wardrobe malfunctions!
Had any wardrobe malfunction close calls lately? It happens! I've found the absolute best fashion tape for preventing gaping spaces between blouse buttons, fixing straps that slip, and even repairing hems. Hollywood Fashion Tape is the perfect solution for wardrobe emergencies!

I first found this wonderful product when I put off trying on an evening dress that I had bought for a cruise. I knew it didn't fit quite right, but I didn't realize how much help I was going to need with this dress until it was too late.

The straps were the culprit. One was wide and ruffly, the other narrow and just not placed exactly where it should have been. When I finally tried on the dress then adjusted the wide, ruffled strap to fit properly, the narrow strap on the other side simply would not stay up. And vice versa. No matter how I adjusted the dress, there was obviously a strap problem - and a danger of a serious, embarrassing wardrobe malfunction.

The solution? I googled it, of course. In doing so, I found THE one best solution for all types of potential wardrobe problems and malfunctions, Hollywood Fashion Secrets Double Stick Fashion Tape Strips. Fortunately I'm an Amazon Prime customer, so I had it in my hot little hands in two days, which left me with one day to give it a try and make it work. So try I did and wow, was I impressed! Why hadn't I discovered this great tape years ago? (The answer to that is that my normal wardrobe of t-shirts in the summer and sweatshirts in the winter rarely pose those particular threats.)

Bottom line? The fashion tape worked like magic. I used it on both straps and I was able to breathe easily the entire evening of our event without even the threat of a slip. Since then I've found lots of additional uses for the tape. How did I ever manage before without it?

Better than sliced bread? I'm serious, it is! Hollywood Fashion Tape gets the Sassy Susan Seal of Approval and a spot in my closet, my dresser drawer, and my purse.

Remember the Super Bowl wardrobe malfunction? If only Janet Jackson had had Hollywood Fashion Tape!
Remember the Super Bowl wardrobe malfunction?
If only Janet Jackson had used Hollywood Fashion Tape!

How to use Hollywood Fashion Tape


Peel the backing from one side of the tape strip. Press the tape firmly onto your skin or the fabric. Remove the other backing section and press onto the surface to be secured. Amazingly, the backing is easy to separate from the tape and the tape sticks very firmly. When you're ready to remove it, the tape pulls off easily without damaging the fabric. And it doesn't irritate skin. Truly, this tape is amazing!

Use it to:

  • Tame slippery straps
  • Close gaping gaps in necklines or between blouse buttons
  • Repair hanging hems or snagged leggings or pantyhose
  • Flatten flappy belt ends
  • Secure scarves
  • Keep wrap dresses or skirts from unwrapping

Order the tape in a multi-pack. Carry one in your purse, keep one in your desk, store one with your wardrobe accessories, and keep one in your suitcase if you travel a lot. Put them everywhere. Trust me, you will use them.

Hollywood Fashion Tape is a wardrobe accessory that I had no idea I needed - until I did. Bet you'll think of plenty more uses for yours.

How would you use Hollywood Fashion Tape? Bet you have a wardrobe problem to solve, too. Leave a comment below to let me know how you'd use your fashion tape.

P.S. Fashion Tape is essential to have on hand for proms, weddings, and other special occasions. Makes a great stocking stuffer for a teenage girl, too!

QUICK LINKS: 
Try Hollywood Fashion Tape from Walmart
Order a multi-pack from Amazon.com
Find more fabulous products from Hollywood Fashion Secrets

~ Susan
Meet the Reviewer





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

Reviewing Bridal Bargains A Wedding Planner

Planning A Wedding On A Budget

My youngest daughter is planning a wedding for this coming fall and so we have been looking at what all needs to be done before she and her happy fella actually walk down the aisle. My goodness the costs can add up very quickly if you are not careful. I read somewhere that the average wedding costs around $25,000 in the US. Well, her wedding has to fall way below the median number! Golly, my first husband and I didn't spend much more than that to buy our first home! 

I am pleased to say that my daughter is quite the little bargain hunter. She has always been that way; so, I know she will want to find ways to cut corners for the wedding, too. Her and her fiance have already said that they want a small ceremony but would like to have a huge reception. Even with a small ceremony the costs can add up rapidly with the gown and flowers for the church. 

I found this book and purchased it for my lovely little bride to be. She laughed and said, "Mom, you know me well!" She couldn't wait to get it home and start going through it from cover to cover. 


Bridal Bargains: Secrets To Planning A Fantastic Wedding on a Realistic Budget
is proving to be areal help as she starts to look seriously at planning her special day. Not only are there lists of all things to consider for the wedding but there are some really great questions to ask each of the different vendors that you might have for the different parts of the ceremony. Things like what to ask the photographer and the florist which are ideas you might not think of asking but could make a huge difference in the product you receive.  There are recommendations on how to save up to 40% on nationally advertised wedding gowns and also suggestions for websites where you can find bargains for gowns, flowers and even invitations. There are ideas for bargains for the honeymoon, too. 
Needless to say, my daughter is very happy with this book and is finding all sorts of ways that she can keep the costs at a minimum. I looked at other books for planning a wedding but for goodness sakes even some of those were outrageous in the pricing for just the book. When my eyes fell on this title, I immediately took it from the shelf and thumbed through it. I knew there was no need to look any further, as it was perfect for my daughter. 

I also felt good in knowing that this book is in it's 11th revision so it must be pretty popular with a lot of brides. I noticed in one of the reviews that a gal said she used the book to plan her wedding and now gifts it to her friends when they become engaged. Sounds like she found it just as helpful and my daughter is finding it. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Reviewing Totes For The Bride

A Bridal Tote (When you know she will need it)

We were thrilled last month when our daughter's special guy popped the question and she said, "Yes!". So, now there is a wedding to be planned and I am already thinking ahead. Obviously, my daughter and her fiance will do most of the planning so that their day will be perfect for the two of them, but there are things that I can prepare for that they may not think of. For instance, I know that a tote for the bride will be something that she will need but won't think of.

I love my daughter dearly but she did not inherit my organizational gene. Then again, she might have but has suppressed it because I drove her crazy as a child with my lists for everything! Let's be honest, on her best day she forgets stuff like what she needs from the grocery or a shopping trip. She makes more trips than necessary because she didn't write down what she really needed to get which results in not having the very thing she needed to cook or perform a task with. I can't tell you how many times I have seen "that look" come over her face and I will say, "What did you forget, Sweet Pea?"

Knowing this about my lovely daughter, I think that a special Bride's Tote will be one of the gifts that I can give her for the wedding. The morning of the wedding, I can help her pack it with all of the things she will need to take to the church. You know like make-up, slippers to wear while getting dressed, hair supplies, tissues and all sorts of bridal necessities. (I'll make a list!) This will not be a day for her to realize that she forgot something that she will really need!


I like the sample shown above because it is a nice size and has some inside pockets for placing small items in. I also like the simplicity of it. The tote looks pretty sturdy and should hold everything she will need to take in order to get ready to walk down the aisle.

There are many options when it comes to a bridal tote and you can even get ones that are for the wedding party. I might suggest that to my daughter as a gift for her attendants but that will be up to her. She can get one that matches the one I give her or she can pick one that is totally different. There are so many sizes and styles to choose from. I do plan to look on Zazzle also because I know there will be some unique and different styles to choose from there.

I plan to give this tote for the bride to my daughter at one of the showers that will be held for her. I'll pack it with some fun things and use it as the "gift bag" so to speak. There might be a few things that I think she will need for the day of the wedding but I'll also put things like her favorite lotion, bath salts and spa type items that she can pamper herself with before the wedding.

As I have begun my search for the perfect Bride's Tote, I have noticed that it is important to read the descriptions and the reviews. Sometimes, pictures are deceiving as to size so make sure the tote will be a good size for your bride. Construction (sturdiness) is important. I noticed on a few that I thought were pretty nice that the people who purchased them were disappointed because the tote was not of good quality so pay attention to all of those things.

I already know that she will be a stunning bride on her special day and if I can help her not be stressed about little things, well, that is my job as the Mother of the Bride. Along with her super organized Matron of Honor, we will help her get through the preparations and be able to walk down the aisle knowing that she didn't forget one thing.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, March 29, 2015

A Ring with a Heart and Hands

Ring with Heart and Hands
In today's world a visually meaningful expression of love doesn't have to be the simple gift of a ring, it can also be a profound denotation. There's significant heartfelt meaning behind this ring style; in fact, it's known as a Claddagh Ring, a traditional Irish ring.
So What Does a Ring with Two Hands, A Heart and a Crown Mean:
Each part of this ring stands for a different dedication; the hands represent friendship, the heart is for love, and the crown expresses loyalty. Giving this ring signifies a deep commitment of love. In fact, this ring is part of a group called 'Fede' Rings. Fede comes from an Italian expression meaning hands joined together in faith. A Fede Ring is the promise of love and loyalty. In fact, in medieval times they were often used as a traditional Engagement and Wedding Ring.
Around 18th century England, the Claddagh Ring, a ring with heart and hands, became a variation of the Fede ring. From that time forward and especially in the 20th century, there was a burst of popularity for this unique symbol. It's not only a message expressing love and promise, it's also a part of Irish identity.
You'll see the symbol used in various places, from gravestones to engagement rings. It's the eternal depth of love, friendship and loyalty that makes this artistic emblem very real and very deep.
The Ring with Heart and Hands Comes in Designs for Both Men and Women
Whether it's an Anniversary gift, Engagement Ring or just a gift of deep loyalty to a friend, this ring comes in many designs styles that work for both men and women. 
How YOU WEAR this RING also MATTERS - Different Meaning for Different Hands and Different Directions
  1. When a person wears it on their right hand with the heart on the ring pointing toward their wrist it means they're in a relationship and they're not available - Great idea for a promise ring
  2. If it's on the left hand with the heart pointing towards the ends of the fingers it means the person wearing the ring is married or similarly committed. Of course it it's given as a wedding ring, it will go on the wedding finger.
  3. Normally on the left hand pointing towards the finger tips, on the ring finger, means you're engaged
  4. If the wearer puts this ring on their right hand with the heart pointing towards the ends of the fingers, it can symbolize that the person is looking for love.
  5. If you were going to wear this is a friendship ring, you would normally wear it on the right hand with the heart either pointing towards your fingertips if you're unmarried, and towards your wrist if you're married.
By Barbara Tremblay Cipak



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, March 15, 2015

A Gorgeous Gritty Song about Being Made for Each Other


A Song Review - The Story by Brandi Carlile is a perfect choice for the couple, who from the moment they laid eyes on each other, and throughout their entire life have understood the other in a way that no other soul on earth understands them. They're almost one, and yes this is the ideal song about being made for other.
(Lyrics) All of these lines across my face
Tell you the story of where I've been
And how I got to where I am
But these stories don't mean anything
When you've got no one to tell them to
It's true...I was made for you
Does this Sound Like the Love You Have?
The Story by Brandi Carlile


Saying 'I love you' is putting it mildly; you know each other to the core of your being and where others have failed you in life, this love never has. You feel as though very few people around you share the kind of love you both share. It's not explainable, and you're often surprised that you've been this blessed. You gasp at knowing you're one of the lucky ones to have found your soul mate. You know this because, as you look around, you see many relationships falling apart. You wish you could give those who have lost in love the blessings you've been most fortunate to find. If only everyone could love and be loved the way you do and have?

A Special Song for A Wedding or Anniversary

If you're looking for a gritty love song that lyrically describes the support you've given to each other then you're first choice may very well be The Story by Brandi Carlile ... read this lyric as proof:
You see the smile that's on my mouth
It's hiding the words that don't come out
And all of my friends who think that I'm blessed
They don't know my head is a mess
No they don't know who I really am
And they don't know what I've been through like you do
And I was made for you
Quote Throw Pillow
You've stayed together, laughed together, and even suffered together; the rainbow that is your relationship appears after every storm ... and that pot of gold isn't valuable to anyone else; it's as exclusive to each of you, as you are to each other. When you hold each other you welcome that floating feeling of fading into the abyss with the only true love you've ever known. How do you explain this love to others? Will others, do others, know what this is? This is why you live, this is why you were born ... to meet this person's soul and you are so grateful to have lived when they live.

You Are One of The Lucky Few

For the lucky few who have loved to this degree, I say congratulations, as you have experienced one of the rarest and truest blessings ever known, something I like to call Won-Love.

by Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Drageda.com - Country Music for all Your Emotions


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, June 8, 2014

June is Wedding Month!

I love weddings anytime of year but June holds a special place in a bride's heart. I thought I would look around at what helpful information and ideas Squidoo has to offer a bride, groom, mother-of-the-bride, mother-of-the-groom or other host of a wedding celebration.

Squidoo and Weddings

Let me just say, Squidoo does weddings up right and even has a category just for weddings. The main category is broken down again to 17 different sub-categories. This makes it so much easier for a bride (or whomever) to find just the right information for anything to do with weddings.

Planning a wedding is a lot of work but can be a lot of fun as well. Gathering ideas and suggestions and then sifting through them can inspire your own unique ideas.

Maybe you are stuck for music ideas for the ceremony? At Squidoo, you can find suggestions from a church organist for ceremony music.  Or, perhaps you need some inspiration for your personal wedding vows. Reading what others did can unleash a person's creativity.

You can find help with wedding flowers, traditions, general planning and more. Themed weddings are very popular. Seeing what others did may spark something new and different for yourself.

On a budget? Got you covered there too! Budget Weddings is filled with ideas you can incorporate to keep costs under control.

Everything from music to vows to food and reception decor -- you name it and Squidoo has it covered! It is a wonderful resource brides and other make use of everyday!

If you are planning a wedding, or have a friend or relative planning a wedding that could use some inspiration, point them to Squidoo. The wealth of information makes it invaluable. Best of all: It's FREE!

If you want to share your experiences about weddings or any events to help others, join me on Squidoo as a writer. I am the Party Planning Contributor and I will help in any way I can as well as promote your finished lenses (articles).

It's almost summer -- jump right in, the water's great!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.