Showing posts with label country song. Show all posts
Showing posts with label country song. Show all posts

Sunday, September 23, 2018

Song Lists to Help Find the Best Songs for Family Dedications and Special Occasions

Song Lists for Families
Finding songs for special occasions, to fit a mood or to tell a story is a passion of mine.

Searching for the right song can soak up countless hours online, and unless you like listening to the lyrics of mountains of songs, it can cost you several days to find the right one.

Sure, there are a lot of topic based song lists online, however I've discovered that a lot of these lists repeat the same songs from one search to another.

I've taken it many steps forward and actually listened to every word of every song to determine if it works for a person, event or mood. You will find some of the songs I recommend mentioned on other lists online, but that's only because I've listened to it and determined it belongs there.

Many of the song lists provided by others online, in my opinion, include songs that either shouldn't be on the list and rarely include newly found gems.

That's where I come in.

I've spent countless hours listening to songs and categorizing them as per their message and what event they would be suitable for. Much of that work can be found on my country music website, Drageda.com.

However, I wanted to introduce you to another place where I compile song lists: On HubPages.

Below is summary of several of my additional song lists to help you find the right song for your needs. I'm always adding new songs, so be sure to check back there from time to time.

When you visit the page listed below, you'll see a list of suggested songs, a short review of it, and a video to watch it.


If you need a song for a mother-son wedding dance or to celebrate another mother son special occasion, be sure to check out these 14 recommended songs.

Father and Son Songs

Here you'll find 12 suggested songs. The twelve songs are selected based on a variety of different types of relationships that can be had between father and son. Not all relationships are good, and you'll even find a song for that.

Father and Daughter Songs

This list features 10 choice songs. Again, they'll fit multiple types of relationships and occasions. However there's one song you absolutely have to listen to regarding a broken relationship between father and daughter; it's gut wrenching.

Mother and Daughter Songs

We've all heard that a mother and daughter can have a complicated relationship, however in my experience most I know have been good. The songs featured here reflect the positive side, however there's one song about a mother, sung by a famous American Idol contestant, that will make you cry.

Grandparent Songs

These ten songs range from topics of aging, loss, and living life to the fullest. If you need a song to celebrate grandma or grandpa, be sure to check out this list. There's a beautiful song by Ed Sheeran wrote for his grandmother that you'll want to hear.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, April 2, 2017

Understanding What a Woman Really Wants


Watching the Academy of Country Music Awards Tonight, the Lyrics of One Song Jumped Out and Stole the Show

This year it was the lyrics from Faith Hill and Tim McGraw's latest hit song, Speak to a Girl.

Comfortably cuddled on one couch, with hubby relaxing on the other, my ears and eyes stood to attention as the beautiful Ms. Faith Hill began to sing the words to this song.

My first thought was writers Shy Carter, Dave Gibson and Joe Spargur, nailed the message, and of course the delivery by Faith and Tim sealed the power behind it.

These lyrics are especially powerful...
She don't give a damn 'bout your pride or the lies that you're hiding behind
She just wanna feel that you're real, that she's near to the man that's inside
She don't need to hear she's a queen on a throne, that she's more than amazing
She just wants you to say what you mean and to mean everything that you're saying
Being a mom of four sons, a wife, a sister to two brothers, and a daughter of an amazing father, the male psyche has been a part of my life from birth.

Surrounded by guys, I'm not going to sugar coat this, I have strong opinions about the plight of men. However, what struck me about the above words was how these four lines concisely sum up what matters most to women.

She don't give a damn 'bout your pride or the lies that you're hiding behind (Lyrics)
Yes. Thank you lyricists. Of course we don't want to be married to a book of secrets, but we understand that in your soul, like in our own, there's a place that belongs only to you and your God.

However...

She just wanna feel that you're real, that she's near to the man that's inside (Lyrics)
This is the message I've been trying, in my girl-way, to drive home to my sons, even my husband. Guys, if you're reading this, it's all about 'connection'. When we connect to you in mind, body and soul, we truly become your soulmate, your lady ... especially mind and soul.

From what I've seen, and what I've learned, unfortunately it is possible to go through life and never fully connect with your man. You can love, but never totally connect, you can admire but never totally connect, you can be friends but never totally connect. Sorta sad, but it happens often.

There's only one way to fully connect...

She just wants you to say what you mean and to mean everything that you're saying (Lyrics)
It's easy to create a block around ourselves, especially to those close to us. We may not mean to, but we all do it. We're holding back, we're not committing completely, we're failing at the one thing that appears to be the secret to our soul's freedom; the gift of oneness.

If you want to understand what your lady really wants, listen to this song and work towards connecting with her in mind and soul ... the body will follow in due time.



By the way, you'll also want to pay extra attention to these lyrics, "You better respect your Mama, respect the hell out of her" - because you've heard it before .... A girl will sum up the kind of man you'll be by how you treat your mother.

Give your lady the only gift she really wants - yourself, all of you.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 15, 2017

A Moving Country Song About Time Passing By - A Song Review

"Living Like that Year Book Picture Wouldn't Fade" (Lyrics)

Do you remember this time in your own life?

Just starting out .... the entire world in front of you and not a thought on your mind about the 'end' of anything.

All of it new, all of it ongoing, all of it always there. You never doubted that the ones you love were just a room away, a few hours away or a few days away.

To you, at this time, a kiss goodbye was merely, 'a kiss until later'.

Your journey was new and the anticipation of the trip you were about to take consumed your travels: "I want to be this", "I want to go there", "I want to accomplish that". Your path always in your thoughts, and those you loved, well they would always be there wouldn't they.

"Student hire and a fancy job, big old house and a two car garage" (Lyrics)

Chapter two of your life is in full gear. You're achieving, or trying to. You're moving forward, or planning to, and most of all you're enjoying the freedom!

You love your parents, but this time in your life feels like the reward it should be for the countless hours of work you put in to get here.

You still see your family of course, and hug them and enjoy your visits, but if you're being honest with yourself, you're having too much fun building your own life.

On lonely days you pick up the phone to call mom; she makes you feel better and you're grateful knowing that if you want, you can call her again tomorrow.

"Teenage girl and her granddad, he takes her fishing he feels bad, cause she can't take her eyes off that 'ole Facebook page, someday soon, who knows how long, she'll look up from that phone and he'll be gone" (Lyrics)

Chapter three is here and you've been fortunate to have your grandchildren in your life.

However, you're now in that special club of people who understand what it's like to view life from the road looking back. You reflect back to your own grandpa, and with a knowing grin, you get what he felt.

The view from your chair in life can't be seen by young people starting out. You recognize your younger self in them, and part of you wishes they could see it all from where you sit to spare them life's costly lessons. But they can't, and you can't.

"The Trouble is You Think You Have Time" (Lyrics)

You want to explain time to your grandchildren, but how can you. They have to travel their path and with God's good grace get to be where you're sitting now so they too can pass along treasured words of wisdom that were spoken to you yesterday .... after-all, wasn't it just yesterday?

When you look back at the choices you've made, you forgive yourself for not harnessing those unrepeatable moments with those you love; for not hugging your brother one more time; for shrugging mom off when all she wanted was another kiss from her baby; for moving far away and for any other selfish act that robbed a little love from someone you cared about.

But you're grateful to have learned so much about this trip through life. If nothing else, you see clearly now.

You realize, the trouble was you thought you had time.

Enjoy 'Time' by Award Winning Canadian Country Music Artist, Dean Brody: - More on the song here




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, July 31, 2016

We'll Build This Love From the Ground Up - The Perfect Wedding Song by Dan + Shay

Find 'From The Ground Up' Plus Over 40 Additional
First Dance Wedding Songs Here
You're Getting Married Congratulations!

Your love is long standing, almost nostalgic, and trying to find a song that fits the two of you isn't easy. I'll bet you've long since figured this out.

Have you spent hours on end listening to every single word of too many wedding love songs already? Don't worry, we've all done it. Every relationship is unique, and the words we dance to represent part of the promise we're making to each other ___ which is why we're all so picky.

From the Ground Up by Dan + Shay - Is This You?

The song is sung from a man's point of view, and all that he'll be and do for his bride.

Grandma and Grandpa set the example of a life that held strong through decades of change, chance and choice. They've set the stage, and showed you what happens when love is built from the ground up.

It's not just a memory, it's not just 'I Do'. It's a commitment, a promise that the wedding day is one piece of the foundation you're building together. You're making this promise for a lifetime.

You'll build your own family and you'll stand beside each other through all of life's trials and smiles.

When you look at grandma and grandpa, you both understand that life goes by in a blink and today's wedding is the celebration of what you know will last til death do you part.

You'll be each others shelter during hard times, and as two old souls you know first hand that love is about being there for better or worse.  Your very clear about one thing; the path of grace is found on the road of love.

When your own decades have passed and it's your turn to sit in grandma and grandpa's chairs, you'll hold each others hands, watching your grandchildren make that same promise you're making today - a love built from the ground up.
"Just take my hand and I'll be the man your dad hoped I'd be" (lyrics)


The only way through life is to live it with love, compassion, promise and kindness. You both know this already, that's why you're perfect for each other. The depth of this song says it well.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 31, 2015

A Encouraging Country Song About Finding Strength - You've Had Enough, Today is the Day You Stand

Stand by Rascal Flatts

Have You Been Through Difficult Times, but Still Find Yourself Willing to 'Stand'?

Without realizing it, you've made it through another day of turmoil. Your exhaustion has unwittingly become the driving force necessary to get over what seems like an unclimbable mountain ... so without anything but sheer will, YOU STAND.
Review of Stand, by Rascal Flatts: 'Stand' is a country song that expresses your newly discovered tenacity with lyrics that inspire a 'take action' mentality; 'on your knees you look up, decide you've had enough, you get mad, you get strong' (lyrics).
As this inspiring song articulates, it's the getting up, not the falling down that matters. When we choose to stand against great odds, it's as though we're giving ourselves permission to learn from our struggle, and better yet, permission to move forward in pursuit of the happy life we deserve.

Listen to Stand, by Rascal Flatts:

If there were a way to get to the rainbow without having to experience the rain, would we grow, would we learn? As 'Stand' by Rascal Flatts articulates, our struggles are only as big as we allow them to be. Once we decide that enough is enough, that's when we find out what we're truly made of....Sugar and Spice, sure why not...mixed with a little Hot Pepper Sauce for bravery.

Have You Learned to Be a Stronger Person? 

Have you mastered inner strength over the years? It's difficult to understand why things have to be so incredibly challenging, but not so much when we understand that we are ultimately responsible for our own choices.

Wrapping our mind around the concept of taking responsibility for our choices (as adults), especially when those life choices haven't been the wisest ones, takes guts. Our pride can take a a hit when we self-admit our own failings: From choosing the wrong life partner, the wrong job, the wrong friends, addiction, being nasty and more!

Our choices are giving us the results we currently see. Changing our choices will change our results. When we 'Stand' we're accepting the change that has to happen - whether someone else initiated that change, or whether we were the ones who elected to change - it doesn't matter, it's the acceptance that moves us forward into a new and exiting chapter.

Standing Up and Surviving Change Is the Biggest Gift You Can Give
Quote Coasters
Yourself

It's cliche, but it's true, everything happens for a reason. Even if that reason isn't what we want to face or deal with, the fact that we're in a situation requiring change is a sole indicator in itself that we either made mistakes, ignored clues, had a hunch what was right and didn't listen to that inner voice, are victims or our own bad choices or simply remained inactive on a matter for years that ultimately ended up escalating.
Whatever scenario we face, one thing is for sure, we deserve a happy life. Happiness comes first and foremost with belief. It's suppose to be a place we live in most of the time, not an elusive emotion that only shows up for a split second, or never shows!
It's when we believe we are worthy of happiness, that happiness has a chance to find us. It takes a massive amount of bravery to initiate change in our lives. As the song says, 'you get mad you get strong, wipe your hands off and stand'.
Rascal Flatts reminds us that 'when push comes to shove you find out what you're made of'. The first step is brutally difficult. It's the reason we get stuck...we can't take that one first step.
Well, sometimes life chooses for us and we're forced into taking that first step. Either way, we 'Stand'.
By Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Drageda.com - The Heart of Country Music!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 10, 2015

Meanwhile Back at Mama's - Perfect Mother's Day Music

Download 'Meanwhile Back at Mama's
Mother's Day, the perfect day to spend back at Mama's. If you're one of the fortunate who still get to spend this special day with mom, then you know only too well what it means to walk through mom's front door, give her a hug, and share the simple joys that matter.

Tim McGraw's beautiful song brings the listener back to the sounds and smells of being home with Mama:
(Lyrics) Meanwhile back at Mama's
The porch light's on, come on in if you wanna
Supper's on the stove and beer's in the fridge
Red sun sinkin' out low on the ridge
Games on the tube and Daddy smokes cigarettes
Whiskey keeps his whistle wet
Funny the things you thought you'd never miss
In a world gone crazy as this
'Funny the things you thought you'd never miss' 

Isn't that the truth. Change takes a toll on us, but we know it's a guaranteed part of life. Save and except those who possess a time machine, there's no return trip to our youth ... you know, those simpler days 'back at mama's'.

Reflecting on our yesterday is a precious gift, but so is living in the moment and appreciating the now. Whether dad has passed, or mama is frail, if we're still lucky enough to get to go home, we're fortunate.

It's what I'm doing this mother's day weekend

I'm back at Mama's. Dad passed a few years ago, and it's forever strange to be living while he isn't, but because we have no choice, we're learning to accept life's new face with grace and gratitude that we still have mom.

In a recent interview Melissa Rivers gave to Dr. Oz about the passing of her famous mom Joan Rivers, Melissa explained her terrible loss this way; 'when you lose one parent, it's a comma, but when you lose both it's a period.

This mother's day I pray that you are neither dealing with a comma, or a period, but if your life sentence includes one or both, then perhaps the hidden gift is knowing that your Mom gets to watch over you from the best seat in the house.

Happy Mother's Day - find the time to smile.

by Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Drageda.com - The Heart of Country Music

Here's a small gift of music for your day - Tim McGraw, featuring Faith Hill


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, March 15, 2015

A Gorgeous Gritty Song about Being Made for Each Other


A Song Review - The Story by Brandi Carlile is a perfect choice for the couple, who from the moment they laid eyes on each other, and throughout their entire life have understood the other in a way that no other soul on earth understands them. They're almost one, and yes this is the ideal song about being made for other.
(Lyrics) All of these lines across my face
Tell you the story of where I've been
And how I got to where I am
But these stories don't mean anything
When you've got no one to tell them to
It's true...I was made for you
Does this Sound Like the Love You Have?
The Story by Brandi Carlile


Saying 'I love you' is putting it mildly; you know each other to the core of your being and where others have failed you in life, this love never has. You feel as though very few people around you share the kind of love you both share. It's not explainable, and you're often surprised that you've been this blessed. You gasp at knowing you're one of the lucky ones to have found your soul mate. You know this because, as you look around, you see many relationships falling apart. You wish you could give those who have lost in love the blessings you've been most fortunate to find. If only everyone could love and be loved the way you do and have?

A Special Song for A Wedding or Anniversary

If you're looking for a gritty love song that lyrically describes the support you've given to each other then you're first choice may very well be The Story by Brandi Carlile ... read this lyric as proof:
You see the smile that's on my mouth
It's hiding the words that don't come out
And all of my friends who think that I'm blessed
They don't know my head is a mess
No they don't know who I really am
And they don't know what I've been through like you do
And I was made for you
Quote Throw Pillow
You've stayed together, laughed together, and even suffered together; the rainbow that is your relationship appears after every storm ... and that pot of gold isn't valuable to anyone else; it's as exclusive to each of you, as you are to each other. When you hold each other you welcome that floating feeling of fading into the abyss with the only true love you've ever known. How do you explain this love to others? Will others, do others, know what this is? This is why you live, this is why you were born ... to meet this person's soul and you are so grateful to have lived when they live.

You Are One of The Lucky Few

For the lucky few who have loved to this degree, I say congratulations, as you have experienced one of the rarest and truest blessings ever known, something I like to call Won-Love.

by Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Drageda.com - Country Music for all Your Emotions


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, November 22, 2014

I Was Here, I Made a Difference, I Mattered

History of Money Fridge Magnet Here
There's an Unexplainable Feeling in Your Soul; You're being Called to Contribute Something well Beyond Serving Self

It's an ache, a light, but mostly something you're driven to achieve for the contribution it will make to the greater good.

Money isn't the driver.

Money almost annoys you. You've come to terms with the fact that money isn't even the measuring stick you were told it was.

Money turns out to be something the human condition glorified as necessary paper in a desperate world saturated with mixed up priorities.

This driver goes well beyond money.

This driver is the Art.

It's the grand vision to bring a smile to someone's face, to aid a suffering heart, to tell someone they matter, to bring unexpected laughter to a troubled soul ... you know the truth about this driver. This driver is timeless. It's the immortal spark that endlessly ignites creativity and genius through multiple generations.

You have been gifted a universal secret, and you comprehend the ultimate meaning of purpose:
"When this body has sung it's last glorious song, written it's last sonnet, or penned it's final poem, you know without a doubt that just like love, the artist leaves the body and lives on"
The art is what's remembered.

The art is what matters.

The art, like the artist lives on.

I Was Here by Lady Antebellum



(Lyrics) "I wanna do something that matters
 Say something different
 Something that sets the whole world on its ear
 I wanna do something better
 With the time I've been given
 And I wanna try To touch a few hearts in this life
 Leave nothing less Than something that says "I was here"
You can find the song I Was Here by Lady Antebellum on the Album 'Act of Valor' - A Compilation Album for 2008 Team USA. 

Learn more about and follow country music sensation 'Lady Antebellum' on Facebook and Twitter.


Article dedication: To George William (Billy) Tremblay, My Uncle - Forever remembered and respected. His art lives on his family; his art will forever be his family.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, November 16, 2014

How to Create a Positive Environment for Your Thanksgiving Dinner

Thanksgiving Wall Decal
It's the Time of Year we Gather to Give Thanks

In a cynical and often condescending world, it's easier to descend into typical family battles that tend to swallow up the purpose of our assembly; to give thanks and to acknowledge and remember those who have been there for us through it all. It's cliche, but 'when push came to shove', who did we turn to, and who loved us unconditionally?

We live in divided times and many families who reunite for dinner rest at polar opposites in their beliefs, likes, dislikes, levels of tolerance and education. These differences are fast becoming the virus that devours up the most important reason we take the hand of the person next to us at that dinner table, love. Again, call it cliche, call it corny, call 'love' overly simplistic, but John Lennon got it right, 'all you need is love'.

So how do you survive a Thanksgiving Dinner with people who sit at the polar opposite of your own beliefs? Like any assembly, the best place to start is by setting ground rules. Here are 10 ways to create a positive environment for your Thanksgiving Dinner:
  1. Let everyone know (ahead of time if possible) that there will be no discussions about Politics, Religion, or Current News Affairs.
  2. As the host of a dinner, have the evening planned in advance: Plan to play games before dinner and after dinner. If it's a larger gathering, then perhaps have teams set up to play against each other for a grand championship.
  3. Do not turn on a TV set. If a sporting event is on that the entire family wants to watch, then go ahead and gather around the 'game' in front of the TV if need be. But don't allow any News shows, or channel flipping to take away the fun of the game.
  4. If someone in the family breaks the rule about conversation and starts into a diatribe of their opinions and beliefs about an issue, as the host, politely remind them about the rules and do not engage them in a discussion about whatever their point may be. Remember that no minds or opinions will change in one night anyway, so keep the evening and dinner on a strict track of fun.
  5. Have music playing in the background in as many rooms as possible. Best of all, if you know the favorite songs of the people attending, plan ahead  and have a CD compilation of everyone's fave song! When the song for that special someone in the house begins to play, turn it up, walk over to them, kiss them on the cheek and let them know, 'we did this for you'.
  6. If you're hosting a large gathering and certain people are best not sitting beside each other, use name/place tags on each plate to direct people where to sit. 
  7. Toast the Senior members of the family. Often times seniors feel excluded, unwanted, and unappreciated, and no matter how ornery they are or aren't, give them a few minutes of special thanks. You'll make their day.
  8. Go out of your way to be nice and  especially to be kind. Set the tone. Set the pace, and you may be surprised how everyone follows.
  9. Find reasons to smile and laugh. Laughter and smiles are much more infectious than anger and fear.
  10. Lastly, remember a famous quote, 'When given the choice to be right or to be kind, always choose Kind'.
Let the Music Do the Talking, Include 'Every Day' by Rascal Flatts In Your Song Selection:

The lyrics are simply beautiful and a perfect choice for that special someone who has stepped up in your life or the life of others. Acknowledge them, then turn up the volume and let them know how Thankful you are through song.


Have a joyous Thanksgiving.

To Your Happiness, 
Barbara Tremblay Cipak, Country Music Reviewer
Drageda.com - Heart of Country


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, November 9, 2014

Brad Paisley Takes the Cake on this One!

Brad Paisley on iTunes
If you're a fan of Brad Paisley, you already know that it's his sense of humor that gives him the extra edge over everyone else in Country Music!

Much Needed  Laughter from the Master of Light, Fun Country Songs!

So, there I was, driving in my car with country music blasting as usual, when Mr. Brad comes out blazing a tune from his 2007 Album '5th Gear', called 'Ticks'.

Having not heard the song in a while, I had forgotten how the main lyric causes a hemorrhage of laughter!

If you're not familiar with that lyric, get ready, because no other love song expresses love quite like this one does!  He goes on to sing how, 'the only thing allowed to crawl on you is him' lol!

Country music can be emotional and laughter scores as the big emotion in this comical lyric:
(Lyrics)
'Cause I'd like to see you
Out in the moonlight
I'd like to kiss you
Way back in the sticks
I'd like to walk you
Through a field of wildflowers
And I'd like to check you for ticks

The song was released as the first single for 5th Gear in 2007 and to no surprise, reached the top of the country charts. The song was also a downloadable tune on Guitar Hero World Tour.

When asked about the song, Brad said that 'when you're raised on a farm, 'Ticks' are something you need to think about'. The song is about a funny pick up line a guy uses on a girl he meets in a bar .... 'hey there babe, I wanna check you for ticks' lol. Yep, I'd probably bust a gut if that was said to me.

Anyone who's lived in the country (even the city!) knows that Ticks are a real problem! Thank gawd I've never had to be checked for them personally, but I know some who have! Yikes. In fact, when we planted our Birch Tree in the front yard, we spent sometime reading about 'Ticks' and Birch Trees! Then of course there's the over 50 cedar trees we planted in the backyard that had me thinking as well! So far so good. Fingers crossed.

Enjoy the song!


By Barbara Tremblay Cipak Country Music Reviewer Drageda.com


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, November 2, 2014

Your Best Days Are Ahead of You

My Best Days, Album
In a world of constant change, sometimes it takes a dose of musical medicine to help us move forward with the times

Well, take 2 teaspoons of My Best Days are Ahead of Me by Danny Gokey every four hours as needed! The lyrics remind us that 'age ain't nothing but a number'...'I can be whatever I wanna be'. So you think that's cliche do ya!...well you'll enjoy this list of people who didn't 'make it' in life until after 50!
  1. Ray Kroc founded the McDonald's Corporation when he was 52 
  2. Laura Ingalls Wilder published her Little House on the Prairie Books in her 60s 
  3. Raymond Chandler didn't publish his first novel 'The Big Sleep' until he was 51 years old
  4. Charles Darwin published his Theory of Evolution at 50
  5. The Inventor of the Thesaurus, Peter Roget, was 73!
  6. KFC's Secret Recipe didn't happen until Colonel Sanders was 50
  7. Grandma Moses (Anna Mary Robinson born in 1860), gave up embroidery at 76 years old because of painful arthritis and thus began her painting career - She lived and painted for 25 years (you do the math) and in 2006 her 1943 painting called 'Sugaring Off' sold for a record $1.2 Million.
So if you're thinking, you're on your way out in terms of dreams, think again! These seven examples clearly
Sugaring Off by Grandma Moses
show us that the only cliche in life is this one true quote 'it ain't over til it's over'.

When we're tempted to close the door and call it quits, we should put away those debbie-downer thoughts, and open a window instead. Or we could just listen to what Morgan Freeman said in the movie Shawshank Redemption, 'Get busy living or get busy dying'. Grandma Moses sure the heck decided to get busy living...at 76! 'You went girl!'.

The Lyrics say it well:

"Age ain't nothing but a number
Sometimes I have to wonder what does it really mean
Hey, I'm still putting it together
I keep getting better, if I keep getting better
I can be whatever I wanna be
My best days are ahead of me"

Here's Danny Gokey's song, enjoy!


By Barbara Tremblay Cipak, Country Music Reviewer
Drageda.com - The Heart of Country


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, October 26, 2014

Ghost in this House, One of the Most Haunting Country Songs

Forget About It, by Alison Krausss



Country music isn't always about inspiration and beer drinking fun!


The eerie music and lyrics to
Ghost in This House by Alison Krauss breaks your heart while still sending shivers down your spine.

Listening to this song I can't help but think of my mom in our family home alone now, without my father. However, the lyrics can apply to both a loss from a break-up, or death. 

Alison Krauss possesses a voice that pierces through you as she sings this heartbreak with haunted suffering. The story of loss and loneliness infects you and you're left feeling the anguish that this woman lives with.

(Lyrics) I'm just a ghost in this house
I'm just a shadow upon these walls
As quietly as a mouse I haunt these halls
I'm just a whisper of smoke
I'm all that's left of two hearts on fire
That once burned out of control
You took my body and soul
I'm just a ghost in this house
Since the song has personal meaning for me, I find it hard to listen to. However on the brighter side, if you like to sing, which I spend too much time doing, the key Alison Krauss sings this in works perfectly for me, so it gets played often ... just so I can belt it out and annoy the boys.  The song successfully combines something wonderful with something painful and tragic, making it irresistible.

Ghost in This House goes quite a way back. It was originally recorded and released by Country Group Shenandoah in September of 1990. It was also covered by the Dixie Chicks. Alison Krauss released her cover on her 1999 album Forget About It.

Take a minute to listen below. You won't be disappointed. Free of a grand crescendo, the even keeled musical approach to this spooky tale manages to keep you listening mainly for the story it tells ... that, and the fact that if you like to sing in this key, you're hooked!




The lyrics featured below haunt me the most; they speak about the ghost that sits in 'your chair' and 'lays his head on your pillow at night'. Mom just recently donated my father's lift chair to someone in need, but that chair has been positioned beside mom's chair for multiple decades (replaced a few times of course) but none-the-less, after dad passed, that chair haunted me, but I still loved it.

We were very torn about letting it go; mom and I both had trouble sleeping the night before the couple came to pick it up. For over a year, when sitting in mom's chair, I would glance at dad's chair and imagine him in it again; it's a feeling that combines pain with beauty. In fact, the feeling is best described in the Dr. Seuss quote, 'Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened'.
 (Lyrics) I don't mind staying in
There's another ghost here
He sits down in your chair
And he shines with your light
And he lays down his head
On your pillow at night
I hope you get to listen to this song without all the associations I've personally attached to it! If you haven't suffered a deep loss and get to listen to it for the pure joy of music, then I'll end this with an appropriate Halloween sentiment, BOO! 

By Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Drageda.com - Country Music Reviewer

Bonus: 3 More Creepy Haunting Country Music Songs!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, October 19, 2014

The Incredible Power of Love

Where We Are by Westlife
Another Sunday Post Another week gone by, and as the Country Music Contributor for Review-It, it's my privilege to introduce you to yet another beautiful song.

However, this week I hope you don't mind if I take you outside the country music genre to introduce you to one of the most powerful songs about losing someone you love you may ever hear.

It's such an emotional song, that I want to warn you that if you're feeling a little too emotional over the passing of someone you love, you may not be able to watch and listen to it right now. Having recently lost my dad, both my husband and I have weeped during this song. The music, the message and the story behind the song will deeply touch your soul. I'm sure of it.

The song was written and dedicated to two of the band member's fathers who passed away much too soon.
Memorial Wall Quote
You'll notice when you watch it, the two members in the middle only do the back-up singing during this song: Without knowing for sure, I suspect the song is in honor of their dads. I know for a fact I wouldn't be able to do any singing after the loss of my own dad. As with most families, none of us could barely speak, much less sing. This pain you can cut with a knife.

My dad passed away on March 5th, 2013, and there isn't a second that goes by that I don't have him in my thoughts. I've written so much about dad; some may think I've written too much, but when you've loved someone so deeply, and they've loved you unconditionally in return for your entire life, there's a part of you that will belong to them beyond a human existence, and 'til the end of time. Missing someone this much is almost like bleeding tears. Trying to find a way to explain it to others is hard, actually impossible. Only those who feel this, know this.

It's also the strangest pain. Although it's gut wrenching to miss a person this much, it's a feeling I would never trade. Without it, I would have never known and been loved so perfectly by the most wonderful dad a girl could ask for. So to have had this Father in my life for 78 years, I'll gladly take this pain now. I'm grateful and thankful to have been so loved. Because of his love, I work to spread a little more goodness wherever and whenever I can. When I'm feeling sad or wronged (which isn't often) I remember all the blessings in my life; my dad, my mom, my brothers, my children, my husband, my friends online and offline, and mostly the love I carry inside of me through all of life's challenges, no matter how big.

That is, for me, the incredible power, and gift of love.

Go hug someone you love today, I'll be sure to do it as well, many times.

In memory of my dad; wish I could hear your voice again. Thank you for always being there for me, for all of  us - You are my reason Dad.



By Barbara Tremblay Cipak Country Music Reviewer
Drageda.com - Don't Ride Alone, Get Emotional Daily Assistance


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, October 11, 2014

There Must Be Something in the Water - Another Incredible Message from a Country Song

Download - Something in the Water
How did another Sunday get here so quickly!

Assigned this glorious day to write about country music, it's my pleasure to give you a heads up on another magnificent tune headed straight to  number one, about love, life, change and mostly hope.
  
 If you haven't heard Carrie Underwood's latest single released September 29th, 2014, 'Something in the Water', well get those speakers ready and crank this one up!

Although the song has a religious reference to Baptism, the lyrics easily apply to anybody going through a major metamorphosis in life.

If you've journeyed down endless rocky roads, and without realizing it, found yourself wasting too much of
I Once Was Lost, but Now I'm Found
your life, then Carrie's gorgeous song of hope and choice was written for you.
(Lyrics) He said, "I've been where you've been before.
Down every hallway's a slamming door."
No way out, no one to come and save me
Wasting a life that the Good Lord gave me"
 

As we get older, and with a little bit of luck, many of us are invited to sit at the table of reflection

This coveted seat allows us to see the genuine value of living the life we are meant to live. We remember our own  idealistic spirit, the one we now see in younger souls coming up behind us, the ones now headed to the same table of reflection we've currently reached.

Looking in the eyes of youthful energy, the table of reflection calls you to pray that these young up-and-comers see their value and tap into their life purpose with as little pain as possible. All of us currently gathered around this table have come to understand one key point about life; in everything we do there is a choice, and ultimately, we are responsible for our own choices.
(Lyrics) "Couldn't fight back the tears so I fell on my knees
Saying, "God, if you're there come and rescue me."
Felt love pouring down from above
Got washed in the water, washed in the blood and now I'm changed
And now I'm stronger"

Take the Wishes Challenge!

If you were granted one wish, what would that wish be? If you're a 20 year old soul reading this page, I challenge you to write down that wish, then every five years ask the question again, write down that answer and do that every half decade you live. Keep those wishes safely tucked in a box, and when you're invited to the table of reflection later in life, look back to see how your wishes have changed. As Carrie's song expresses, 'I am changed, I am Stronger, I was blind and now I see'

May your Sunday be blessed with the joy of love, friends, and family and if you find yourself void of any of these then please accept my virtual hug of hope given in the lyrics of 'Something in the Water':



Have a wonderful day!

by Barbara Tremblay Cipak, Country Music Reviewer
Drageda - Don't Ride Alone Get Emotional Daily Assistance




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, October 5, 2014

Here's to the Sun Shining on the Inside

Hope in Front of Me -  on Amazon
Another Sunday; the day you'll find me here writing about one of life's experiences found in a country song.

With a tired but always light-filled heart, today's theme in song takes the challenges of another week and packages them in a pretty box called Hope. 

Hope in Front of Me, by Danny Gokey

 (Lyrics) I've been running through rain
That I thought would never end
Trying to make it on faith
In a struggle against the wind
I've seen the dark and the broken places
But I know in my soul
No matter how bad it gets
I'll be alright

It doesn't matter if we're blessed with a cosmic understanding of life or even if God personally whispered the secret to life in our ear, the fact remains, we still have to 'live this life'. Yep... no escaping that part. We're not alone in our tribulations.
We're all joined by one common goal; to get to the finish line as unscathed as possible, with lessons learned. No one gets out alive. As the insightful story-telling lyrics in another Carrie Underwood song beautifully express, this is our Temporary Home.

If you're thinking, 'I'm probably writing this because I must be sitting perched safely at a distance from life's trials or, that things must be easy for me since I'm able to write about hope', well let's just say you wouldn't pass go or collect $200 on that thought :) 

Without getting into a long list of my own troubles I'll just say that I've had more than a few people admit they couldn't have survived my path. But, knowing them, I'm sure they could have. Reading other people's stories of hardship, I'm guilty of thinking the same thing...'I couldn't have survived that!' 

So what's our common denominator?

When we have friends who help us, we have hope
 
When we pray, we have hope
 
When we laugh at our difficult circumstances, we have hope
 
When we've worked on something for years to have it fall apart in a day, and still find the strength to move on and continue, we have hope

When we reach out to hold someone who hurt us, we have hope
 
When a part of ourselves dies as our loved one passes away, and still wake up the next day to put one foot in front of the other, we have hope
 
When someone we love with all of our being goes through and then breaks free from addiction, we have hope
 
When we lose a home, and move on from that, we have hope
 
When our baby is born still, and we find a way to understand this immeasurable, seemingly pointless pain, we have hope
When our trust has been violated, but have the courage to let it go, we have hope

There isn't anything else that comes before Hope. Healing begins with Hope



If you're struggling, and wondering how in the world you're going to get through this storm, may the lyrics of this song remind you, as it does me, that 'this too shall pass' and 'we'll be alright'.

Here's to the sun shining on the inside.

by Barbara Tremblay Cipak - Country Music Reviewer
Drageda.com - 'Don't Ride Alone, Get Emotional Daily Assistance'

If you enjoy Danny Gokey's Music, you can find more about this 3rd place American Idol Finalist from Season 8, on his Website DannyGokey.com


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, September 28, 2014

A Country Song About Angels Quietly Lifting Us During Troubled Times

Amazon: Angel Spirit Guide
It's Sunday today. The day I post here on the 'Review It' blog. Since times aren't easy for many who are struggling right now, a country song about the guiding hand of angels seemed like an ideal selection for today. We can't erase all the problems out there, but maybe the healing message of a song can help us find a small spark to light our candle with.
"Oh I believe there are, angels among us, Sent down to us, from somewhere up above, They come to you and me, in our darkest hours, To show us how to live, To teach us how to give, To guide us with the light of love" Angels Among Us, by Alabama

Do you believe in Angels? Have you ever had what you believed to be an encounter with an Angel? Perhaps you were saved from a situation that you shouldn't have survived? 

I've had my own odd happenings for sure. One such time was a lady who gently bumped into me in a mall, like I knew her...I had been going through a rough patch and while picking something up for my son, I had been quietly praying to myself for guidance and had asked for a sign that my prayers were heard...that's when she brushed by me ever so gently, the next thing you know, I turn to see her and she's walking away from me and just fades away into the distance. I have no idea where this mall visiting angel disappeared to, but it was enough for me to call my best friend and tell her the story. The gift, either known or unknown, was delivered; I felt calmer afterwards.

Another encounter I had was during a prayer in Church, I asked for a sign to help me know the answer to the question I had. Then all of a sudden, out of the blue, and at that moment right in the middle of the service, this lady comes over and kneels right beside me. I glanced at her and smiled, she smiled back. She stayed for a moment, prayed beside me, then got up and left. Again, I have no idea where she went, and I've never seen her again. Whatever that moment was, I've never forgotten it. It lives inside me as a gift, a small gift that no matter what, there's always hope.

In a complex, sometimes unfair world, faith keeps us going; faith in ourselves, faith in each other. As cliche as it sounds, we are one, all part of the same light. Whether your belief is in science or a higher power, it's still energy, it's light. If you're struggling, I hope you find the light today and are gifted with an inner knowingness that you'll get through it. I'll be sure to look for it today as well.

I hope you enjoy Angels Among Us by Alabama - A beautiful song.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Dirt, by Florida Georgia Line - The Best Song in Country Music!

I may be the biggest fan of this riveting country song by Florida Georgia Line called 'Dirt'. Well,  maybe not the biggest, because as I predicted, the song hit number 1 in both Canada and the US on the Hot Country Billboard Charts. No surprise; right now I'm calling it the best overall country song in the history of country music. Now how's that for being a big fan!

What makes this song unbeatable is the artistic amalgamation of every contributing aspect needed to achieve a winning country song; the video, music, lyrics, and most of all the story. However it's the video that will take you into the depth of it's meaning to show you the message.

I'm such a huge fan of the story and lyrics, that I also penned another personal review here about it, as well as featured it numerous times on the Country Music Fan Review Facebook Page: Can you tell I'm a fan yet?

Country Music Fan Reviews on Facebook
I'm sure my neighbors hear me blast it on my TV when it's on CMT's Top 20!

The Story of 'Dirt' by Florida Georgia Line

The song begins with an elderly man and his  family about to say their goodbyes to their wife/mother/grandmother at her grave on their property, the same property they all built a beautiful life on. The video floats between their youth and the gut wrenching  goodbye.

The Impact of the Song on Those Who are Older

Both my husband and I have shed tears watching this video. The younger generation may not feel the impact of this song as much as we do, but at our stage in life, the song is very real. The first time I played it for my husband, I turned around to look at him, and he had a tear rolling down his face. Having recently lost my father, the lyric '..you know you came from it, and one day you'll return it...' hits hard.

Originally the band didn't want to include the above line in the song as they felt it was cliche, but in my opinion it's the line that ties together the entire story of 'Dirt'

Another head turning lyric is 'Makes you wanna a build a 10 percent down, white picket fence house on this Dirt' - The first time I heard the song I was walking into my bedroom; the TV was tuned to the country music channel, and while sitting at my desk I hear this lyric, turn my head and am completely drawn into the story from beginning to end.

The story of the life of this couple is symbolically delivered through the well written lyrics and music by Rodney Clawson and Chris Tompkins:
"It’s that elm shade, red rust clay you grew up on
That plowed-up ground that your dad damned his luck on
That post-game party field you circle up on
And when it rains you get stuck on
Drift a cloud back behind county roads that you run up
The mud on her jeans that she peeled off and hung up
Her blue-eyed summertime smile looks so good that it hurts
Makes you wanna build a ten percent down white picket fence house on this dirt"
Another reason I find myself drawn to the song is watching the young duo from Florida Georgia Line, Brian Kelley and Tyler Hubbard play their guitars in the video. They remind me of my second son, especially with the Tattoos on the arm, who's also in a band and plays guitar. Watching these young men sing a song that represents the story of an elderly man and his lifetime with his family moves me tremendously; I remember being 21 years old, and just starting out with my husband like it was yesterday, and in a blink our boys are grown young men.

Life colors itself very differently when you're older. Our greatest joy is hugging our boys, no matter how tall they get. And like this elderly man, reflecting upon what's been built, the love of each other and family, is what, in the end, matters most.

Take a Few Minutes and Don't Miss This Song! It's Worth Your Time - Give Special Attention to the  Lyrics and Video; Magnificent:

 

By Barbara Tremblay Cipak - Country Music Reviewer
Drageda.com - Don't Ride Alone, Get Emotional Daily Assistance
Brite-ideas.Hubpages.com




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Stop for Me, by Carolyn Dawn Johnson - 'I Always Thought This Train Would Stop For Me'

Stop for Me, by Carolyn Dawn Johnson
Upstairs just finishing up some of those much 'loved' household chores with the country music channel playing in the background, I hear these heartbreaking lyrics:
"I had big plans
More powerful than a locomotive
Innocent as a flower growing
In the middle of a barley field
I didn't understand
That you could have pockets overflowing with determination
Give it all you got with no congratulations
And still be at the bottom of the hill
Waiting at the station
With the rails laid out before me
Trying to be patient
Hoping it didn't leave"
I stopped for this song:

Quietly I perched myself on the edge of my bed, and stared at my TV. The
Country Music Fan Reviews on Facebook
melancholy words cried their way off the screen and I found myself shedding tears for anyone, myself included, who had moments of  doubt that their work, their dreams, their songs ... all of it..would land in that giant void of 'so what'.

Life is flying by and we have such a short time to leave our mark, no matter what that mark is, our time is limited.

The lyrics continued, and the message of this song, which I further expand upon here, brought about conflicted feelings of  'in the end, we all get to where we're going' to 'it hasn't been easy getting there'
"I had a ticket
That was paid for with my hard earned money
I thought that maybe that would count for something
Wasn't looking for a free ride
But nobody mentioned
ohhh sometimes all the passenger seats are taken
The cars are full and it's a rude awakening
When you're left behind
So disappointed... yeah
I never even got to try
Instead of living in the moment... ohhh

I've been wasting all this time
I always thought this train would stop for me..."
The journey is where we find the joy, but we all know the journey isn't always easy. It isn't about adulation, accolades, fame, or even money (although let's face it, money is a necessary part of life) - It's about 'our contribution while we're here'. If we can do something to improve the human condition, we're making a contribution: A smile, a blessing, seeking hope, laughter, a hand-up to someone who needs it ... anything where we're impacting something or someone for the positive.

During a recent conversation with my 22 year old son, in typical mom fashion, there I was emphasizing the importance to encourage good in this world; he's in a local band 'ColdFront' ...and he's in a position to affect people with words. Being 'Mom', I never hesitate to point that out!

When I talk to my sons, I'm reminded just how young they are, and all they have to learn and go through. My biggest hope is that when they're sitting on the edge of their bed 30 years from now, and lyrics like this song begin to play, they can smile knowing the words don't apply to them.

In the end, I do believe we all get to where we need to be, and that no matter how difficult our path becomes, we'll be O.K.  Everyday we wake up, is another chance at life, another shot at getting it right to fulfill our purpose.

So, although this song is a little bit sad, it's a reminder that nothing is permanent, even sadness. As the famous quote says, 'Without the Rain, there Would be no Rainbow'

Here it is: 'Stop for Me'



To Your Success,
By Barbara Tremblay Cipak, Country Music Reviewer
Drageda.com - 'Don't Drive Alone Get Emotional Daily Assistance'


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, September 7, 2014

Brad Paisley Does it Again with Another Great Love Song

Don't miss 'Perfect Storm' by Brad Paisley  

Brad Paisley hits another home-run with the descriptive emotion he paints as he sings about how much he loves her. It's hard not to think that he was inspired by his relationship with his beautiful wife during the writing!

In true Brad Paisley style, the song is mixed with charm, captivating cuteness and passion. There's something different about the approach on this one. As a woman listening to the song, it really makes you think about what it's like to be appreciated and accepted for both your good and bad qualities by the one you love.
Moonshine in the Trunk by Brad Paisley
'Moonshine in the Trunk,
Brad's Latest Album where
 you'll find 'Perfect Storm'


(Lyrics) She Destroys Me in that T-Shirt! 


The lyrics talk about how he loves her so much it hurts! Everything about her is what he adores; her highs are high and her lows are low, and he's o.k. with that. He can make her laugh or make her mad, and he loves her no matter her mood, even if she's angry.

(Lyrics) She's Sunshine Mixed with a Little Hurricane!


As I talk about in a more in-depth song review of 'Perfect Storm', I had to laugh when I first heard this lyric because my husband pretty much describes me this way. Sometimes he's too smart when I get angry with him, he knows how to diffuse the situation pretty quickly (when he wants to)! He'll look at me and announce 'that's why I love you!' <---gheesh, gets me smiling even when I wasn't planning on it!

Personally speaking, I find the song incredibly soothing. For some crazy reason, it cheers me up; but Brad Paisley has the affect on the listener in just about everything he writes and sings!

Hope you enjoy the song as well! This video features the lyrics, which of course, make the song!


by Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Country Music Reviewer 

Support your favorite Country Music Artists - 'Write, Read, or Post a Fan Review on The Country Music Fan Review Page!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, August 30, 2014

A Song for the One You Love

Country Music Fan Reviews

Country Music Fan Reviews

In your relationship, does your significant other make you a better person? 

Do they bring out the best in you and inspire you to tap into your better self? Country Music Artist Chris Young sings about the power of love and it's ability to bring out his better self in his moving hit song 'Who I Am With You'.

Every time this song comes on the Country Music TV Channel or the radio, I'll jokingly yell to my husband..."HUN! there's your song to me!' Of course, he yells back, 'Yep, I can hear it!'. That may not seem funny on the surface, but it was me who informed him of the fact that 'Who I Am With You' was now officially his song to me ...he busted a gut, lol .... I said, yah, seriously listen to the words!

(Lyrics) Who I am with you is who I really want to be, You're so good for me, And when I'm holdin' you, it feels like I've got the world in my hands, Yeah, a better man is who I am with you




One of the nicest things he'll say to me is that 'yes, it's true, you do make me a better man'. After decades of  marriage there may be some truth to that! When I think back to when we first met, dating, marriage, children, business and now with grown kids, I think of all we've been through and how, although  parts of our life haven't been easy, we've remained good friends. We can still make each other laugh, and I have to say,  that's my favorite thing to do..make him laugh.

I'm grateful for the little things I still get to do with him; stretch my feet across the bed at night and have our toes touch, put my arms around him whenever I want to, snuggle up on the couch ... all the crazy insignificant things that mean the most and are completely priceless in this life.

With dad recently passed away, I think of my mom sitting in her chair, with dad's empty chair beside her, and how she no longer gets the joy of those little things and it breaks my heart. One of the many things I've learned with my dad passing away is to treasure my husband a little more.  I'll never ever get over the death of my father; it has left the largest void in my soul and because of this deep understanding that nothing lasts forever, both my husband and I are appreciating each other a little bit more these days.

How about you? Is there a song that you and your significant other (past or present) share? Do you still make each other laugh and consider each other friends? If you have a story to tell about you and your loved one as it relates to a country song feel free to share a link to your story on the 'Country Music Review Facebook Fan Page'.

By Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Country Music Reviewer

Added Bonus Country Song: Don't miss the amazing song, 'Dirt' by Florida Georgia Line! The song speaks to the value of Love and Life, and it's true meaning - You can read about it and listen to it here. The song is rising up the country charts, and it's currently my favorite song. The video is extremely moving.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.