Showing posts with label Mother's Day. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Mother's Day. Show all posts

Sunday, May 13, 2018

I Am Your Child - Happy Mothers Day, We Love You

Photo: Via Pixabay

Happy Mother's Day from the Writers of ReviewThis

To all the moms of the world, thank you.

Whether you're a dad occupying a dual role, a fur baby mom, a step-mom, a guardian, two dads, two moms, or a family member who has had to step in and be that soft place to land for others, a working mom or a stay-at-home mom, know that your contributions and sacrifices are never forgotten.

We've noticed it all:
  • When you handed us the full plate of food, and kept the smaller portion for yourself
  • That time you reached in your pocket to hand us your last few dollars, and said, 'oh that's ok', I don't need it
  • Your picking us up late at night when you were exhausted
  • The trips back and forth as you taxi us to our events for years
  • Planning our birthdays on a shoestring and making it memorable
  • We heard you cry from time to time and watched you pick yourself up every time
  • You laughed at our jokes that weren't funny just so we could smile a little more
  • You held your pain inside so as not to worry our young minds
  • You let us have our childhood and didn't demand we grow up too soon
  • You held us when we were sad or upset, and it always worked
  • We hurt your feelings sometimes, we know we did, and you held yourself with grace, just for us. When we look back, especially as parents, we see where we erred, and how it hurt you.
  • You made us face our weaknesses and when we had to grow a pair, you showed us how
  • You put our needs ahead of your own more often than we can possibly count
  • When we accomplish something we are aiming for, you are proud of us
  • We watch you continue to worry about us as grown-ups, and in that we learn from you how to balance that never ending scale of worry-don't worry
  • Remember when you held our child for the first time, and that tear rolled down your cheek, we felt that too
  • That soft shoulder you have .... we're still trying to figure out how a rock can be so soft
"Whatever I am, you taught me to be, I am your hope, I am your chance, I am your child" (Lyrics)

This Song is for You: "I Am Your Child, by Barry Manilow"






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

How To Tip Toe Through the Tulips: A Review of the Ukulele

There was a blank space in our Music Room, so my Sweetie decided that it was time for a Ukulele!  Let's Review this wonderful little instrument!


His music room has space for a Keyboard, a Digital set of Drums, a Guitar, a Bodhran, an Old Chord Accordian, several Tin Whistles and Recorders and our latest aquistion, the Ukulele!  For less than $100.00 he has a Ukulele, online lessons, carrying case, picks and tuner(he opted for the one in the link below).




 Important features for the Ukulele is the ability to tune the instrument.  If it doesn't have proper tuning pegs, like a guitar, you are buying a toy!  We don't want a toy, we want an instrument that will give us pleasure while we learn how to play.  This particular one is a bargain for a musical instrument!  Size is important too, this one doesn't take up much space at all.  It's easy to handle and very portable!  A bonus for him, especially when he's going out to the schools to see the kids!  Music and the Deacon, go hand in hand!  The children seem to love the music too!

                                                                  


It just so happens that today May 2nd is "Play your Ukulele" day!


Let me fill you in on a little bit about this lovely instrument.  Most people associate it with Hawaii! Hawaii's own  Israel Kamakawiwo'ole( (Oahu, 20 May 1959 - Honolulu, 26 June 1997)who played the Ukulele with style and presence. Here he is playing Somewhere Over the Rainbow and this song is still  listened to by millions of people all over the world, today!



His gentle spirit, voice, the melody and the sounds of this little instrument just seem to match perfectly.  It's hard to remain in a bad mood listening to this music.  It's partly his own sound and partly the Ukulele!  In his hands the Ukulele while a small instrument, commands a big presence, as did he!

The Ukulele actually came from Portugal, but because it has been adopted by the Hawaiian Islands, it seems to have become the instrument of these Paradise Islands. A few musicians(who aren't Hawaiin) have made it's sound their own like, Tiny Tim, with his "Tip Toe Through the Tulips".  While to my ears it wasn't a great song, it seems that it was popular enough at the time to garner lots of play time on several Radio Stations. It seems to have helped the Ukulele to become a popular musical instrument at the time too!



Ukuleles are not expensive to own!  As I have mentioned before,  good one will cost less than $100.00 and for someone who is on a budget, this is much more affordable than a good guitar.  You can learn the chords and the strumming techniques and use them on either instrument.  So while learning one, you will ultimately learn more than one instrument, without a big cash outlay at the start.  This is great for parents or grandparents who would love to see their offspring develop some musical talent.  Ukuleles are also small in size, so portability is not an issue.  Even the youngest child can handle carrying a Ukulele around without any kind of difficulty.  They would love the song Lava that features a strumming of the Ukulele with lyrics that will mean so much to every audience.  Check it out right here!


                                                   I think I Lava this song!


In writing this review I found myself looking into people who are fully into the sounds of the Ukulele and guess what?  I found several people that take the Ukulele very seriously and the sounds that come out of this instrument make me stop in my tracks to admire and enjoy the sound.  I would never have thought that this instrument was truly able to be played in such a commanding way.  If you want, you can check out this amazing and lovely lovely sound right here!  With this kind of talent and ability, who would not want to learn how to play this lovely little instrument?  I think I'll be moving into the music room now and practicing some Ukulele music!



Maybe I can figure out how to play The Mother's Day Song for Mother's day!  Just to make my mother laugh and cry at the same time!  Music is a perfect gift at anytime, but today I will use it for my Mother's Day present!  Surprise MOM!  Hope you enjoy the lyrics.....I love you!


The Ukulele



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, April 15, 2018

Supermarket Flowers by Ed Sheeran - A Review of An Incredibily Moving Song that Will Bring You to Tears

More Songs for Mom Here - Photo via Pixabay
Have You Heard Supermarket Flowers by Ed Sheeran?

If you haven't heard this song, and you've lost your mom or a mother figure, you're going to cry.

During my research for a unique list of songs to honor moms, I tripped on 'Supermarket Flowers' by Ed Sheeran, and was shocked by it's incredibly touching mood music and personal story telling lyrics that most of us can relate to.

At least thirty times; that's how much I've listened to this song since yesterday. Being one of the fortunate ones who still has her mother living, it caused me to pick up the phone to call her again today!

The song gets right to the story with painful lyrics that describe clearing out the room of someone loved and recently passed:
  • I took the supermarket flowers from the windowsill
    I threw the day old tea from the cup
    Packed up the photo album Matthew had made
    Memories of a life that's been loved
    Took the get well soon cards and stuffed animals
    Poured the old ginger beer down the sink
    Dad always told me, "don't you cry when you're down"
    But mum, there's a tear every time that I blink
By the second line, "I threw the day old tea from the cup", you know exactly what the song is about, and it hurts in a beautiful way.

If you've ever had to pack up the belongings of someone recently passed on, you know just how incredibly emotional it is. Everything holds a memory, there's a time marker on each of item, and as your hand touches each piece, you remember, and you cry.

Hidden amongst the pain is a hopeful message, "Oh I'm in pieces, it's tearing me up, but I know, a heart that's broke, is a heart that's been loved".

About Supermarket Flowers:

You'll find Supermarket Flowers on Ed Sheeran's 2017 Album, 'Divide'.

In an interview with MTV, Sheeran revealed that the song is about his grandmother.

He said she was in hospital close to the studio and had passed away during it's production. He wrote the song as a personal tribute from the point of view of his mother, and it wasn't initially intended to be included on the album.

However, when he sang the song at this grandmother's funeral, his grandfather encouraged him to include the song; and so it was, as the final track.

Get the Tissues Ready, As Ed Sheeran himself Said, "It Was Written to Make You Cry"






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Country Songs that Celebrate Mom - Don't Miss These Beautiful Songs

The Garden Lesson - A Reminder of Life's Simple Joys
It Doesn't Have to Be Mother's Day to Let Mom Know She's Special

If you're looking for a nice tidy list of songs that tell stories about how wonderful mom really is, you'll want to scan this growing list.

To make it easier, listen to the playlist featured below. It includes songs from being thankful for mom, reflecting on life as a mom, to honoring mom's incredible strength.

Each mom is different, each life story it's own, and thus finding the right words makes song hunting a unique and personal search. In fact, choosing a song for mom can be a time consuming proposition, so be sure to scan the Playlist to save yourself some of that precious time.

This list was put together to shorten the song hunting process. Songs are always being added, so be sure to check back.


Mom may appreciate the simple thoughtful gift of a song posted on Facebook in her honor. If mom has a sense of humor, add a funny comment in the post to lighten things up.

A Song For Mom from Dad

If you're looking for a song to honor the woman in your life, here's the winner: "In Case You Didn't Know" by Brett Young.

Today, Mother's Day, my husband heard "In Case You Didn't Know" on the radio in our kitchen for the first time. He was cleaning up dishes when out blasted the words to this gorgeous song. I was sitting in the backyard when he unexpectedly popped his head out to tell me this is his song to me, then added, "the words say exactly how I feel about you".

He's generally not one to listen intently to the words of a song (quite the opposite of me), and I can't put in to words how surprised I was to hear him say this. You see, we've been together for 36 years, married for 32 of those next week, and in that one split second, I loved him all over again, in a new way if that's possible. So guys, don't underestimate the power of the little things, because it's those little things that hold the greatest value.

It was a lovely Mother's Day for me - dinner with our sons, and a quiet waltz to this song with my husband in the kitchen.



Our kitchen has heard a lot of songs, and it's floor felt the feet of a great deal of dancing over these passed 30 years - I hope yours has as well.

Happy Mother's Day




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Mugs For Mom Reviewed

Perfect Gifts For Mom...Mugs

A Mug For Mom image from Pixabay.com
With Mother's Day right around the corner, I thought reviewing some mugs for Mom might be a helpful post for today. Personally, I think these are fun little gifts to give to Mom on just about any occasion. I would venture a guess and say that most Moms would be happy with a new mug to drink her coffee, tea or other hot beverages in. It is useful and every time she uses it she will think of the person who gave it to her. 

I am partial to the quirky and whimsical mugs, myself. Not that I don't appreciate ones that are pretty or have a nice sentiment on them; but the ones that make me start my day with a chuckle are my favorites. 

The mug above makes me giggle! I do love a doughnut once in a while, especially if it is a fresh one and I will admit that there are plenty of mornings in my memories when I just wanted to look at the kids and say, "I do not care; at least not until my caffeine kicks in!" Of course I never said those words out loud but they were in my mind a time or two. With a mug like this one, I could have just shown it to them and smiled.

This next mug is a favorite of mine this year and I will probably get one for my oldest daughter this year for a Mother's Day gift. She is like her Momma and needs that caffeine boost in the morning. This one has ample room for a larger portion of coffee as it is a 14 ounce cup. When she is home for a visit she always chooses one of my larger mugs to give her the larger amount of coffee in, so this one is perfect for her. Although, I wouldn't mind having it for myself.

I am only showing you just a couple of ideas to get you inspired to find the perfect mug for Mom. I am sure you will find one that fits your Mom's taste and possibly sense of humor. Mugs are great ideas for small children to get for their Mom for just about any occasion; although, my grown children still get me mugs for holiday and birthday gifts. Probably because they know I love them so much.

A fun idea after choosing a mug for Mom is to fill the mug with something before you give it to her. It doesn't have to be anything expensive or fancy, just something that adds to the moment. Small little candies are fun and you can still put the mug in the box that it came in. If Mom drinks tea, a few tea bags of her favorite blend is a nice idea. If she loves cocoa, find a fun recipe that you can put together in a plastic bag and add the dry ingredients to the mug. Mom can then just add hot water when she is ready to drink it.

One year, my daughter carefully lined a mug with plastic wrap, added dirt and then planted a small plant. She wrapped the entire thing in a pretty cellophane, tied a ribbon around it and gave it to me. It was so pretty! All I had to do was replant into a small pot and I had the mug, too. A fun and clever idea that I absolutely cherished.

How about you? Would you enjoy a Mom mug for Mother's Day or any gifting time? Would you give your Mom one? Would it be pretty, sentimental or whimsical?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 8, 2016

4 Country Songs to Celebrate Mom

Mom Loves You No Matter What, but She May Love You A Little Extra If You Dedicate Just the Right Country Song to Her...

Whether you want to thank Mom, honor Mom or just express how she inspires you, there's a country song for that. Below are four popular songs with descriptions about the story regarding Mom.
Where we're unable to express just how we feel about mom, a song can step in and describe, in just the right way, what's in our heart.


Don't Forget to Remember Me, by Carrie Underwood

This is such a pretty song; it really does bring you back to a time in your life. It was written by Morgane Hayes, Kelley Lovelace and Ashley Gorley and made it's release in March of 2006. It reached number 2 on the Billboard Country Charts and number 49 on the Hot 100. Carrie Underwood's mother is in the video as well.


This song is gut wrenching. For all of us who recall the anticipation and heartache we felt the day we moved out of our parent's home, the lyrics in this song tell the story of this marker in our life. 
Personally I've never forgotten my own moving day, way back in 1979....heading into my first apartment in the city; just mom and I cleaning the place together and setting up what would become my new home for several years.
I'll never forget the feelings I had the day she had to leave to go back home...I was a bit afraid, a little bit anxious to begin my new life, but mostly it just hurt for a while - The song says it well :
'Eighteen years had come and goneFor Momma they flew by, But for me they drug on and on, We were loadin' up that Chevy, Both tryin' not to cry, Momma kept on talkin', puttin' off goodbye, Then she took my hand and said, Baby don't forget to remember me'
As a daughter I can say this particular lyric in the song hits home the most; "I called Mama up last night, And even when it's not, I tell her everything's all right". Doesn't matter how old we get, we always want to spare mom unnecessary worry.

Somebody's Hero, by Jamie O'Neal

This song is so moving that I dedicated a full page review about it.

If your a grown woman and Mom is on in her years, then you'll appreciate this song and the incredible message of a lifetime of gratitude between mother and daughter.

The video is equally moving. It expresses the lyrics by telling the story of a young girl who grows with the love of her mother, and how that relationship goes full circle from a Mom caring for her daughter to a daughter caring for her mother.

When you hear and watch the last verse in the video, especially if your mom is a senior citizen, be ready to shed a tear:
'She's somebody's hero, A hero to her mother in a rockin' chair, She runs a brush through her silver hair, The envy of the nursing home, She drops by every afternoon, Feeds her mama with a spoon, And that smile lets her know, Her mother's smile lets her know, She's somebody's hero'
The song was written by Jamie O'Neal, Shaye Smith and Ed Hill. It was released as the second single from her Album 'Brave'. On the Hot Country Charts it reached number 3 and thus provided Ms. O'Neal with her sixth top 40 country hit and her third top ten.



The Baby, by Blake Shelton

Blake Shelton was quite young when he recorded this song.

Get ready to cry, you won't be able to hold back the tears on this song, especially if you're the youngest child or Mom.

I can personally relate to the theme of this song - I'm a mom of four sons, and my 4th boy arrived quite unexpectedly when I was 40 years old. So to hear Blake Shelton sing the lyrics about the youngest always being referred to as the baby touches me deeply.

In fact my youngest, who at the time of me writing this page, is soon to be 16 years old and yes, is still referred to as 'my baby'. Although he gets mad when I say it now, so I can only say it to his father when I'm talking about him - I love that! Now I call him 'my angel' in french until he grows back into me calling him his baby again...and he will.

This song, in perfect country style, tells the story of the youngest son growing up as 'the baby' all the way to the time when mom is on her deathbed where he's rushing to be by her side.

Honestly, it's hard to listen to; from the perspective of mom, just thinking about any of my sons hurting when it's my time to leave bothers me; just never want to see them hurt (no matter how unrealistic that is, us mommies feel that way).

Written by Michael White and Harley Allen, this song was included on Blake Shelton's album 'The Dreamer' and was released as the first single for it in 2002. It reached and stayed at number for three weeks.




Angels, By Randy Travis

Narrated as a Story to Remind Men Who've Forgotten Where They Can Find an Angel

The beauty of this song, along with the lyrics, is the way the story of where to find an angel is narrated by Randy Travis. The video shows a group of men gathered for a night of relaxation and conversation talking about many subjects in life when the talk of 'Angels' comes up. Most of them say they've never seen a real angel, or wouldn't know one if they did. That's when Randy Travis points out that to see an angel they only need to look in their mother's eyes.
"Are you telling me you've never seen an angel,  never felt the presence of one standing by, No robe of white, no halo in site, Well you missed the most obvious thing, Man, are you blind? Just look in your mothers eyes" 
The song goes on to ask the men... who has been there for them from birth and through life, who stands by their side no matter what, and who came running every time they cried out, taught you wrong from right, waited up at night and prayed that you'd be alright.

If you'de like to add one of the above songs to your playlist, you can find them here, along with several other country songs for Mom.

Note: 'OMG Mom Was Right Pillow Can be Found Here, along with several other Pillows and Throw Blankets to Honor Mom.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 10, 2015

Meanwhile Back at Mama's - Perfect Mother's Day Music

Download 'Meanwhile Back at Mama's
Mother's Day, the perfect day to spend back at Mama's. If you're one of the fortunate who still get to spend this special day with mom, then you know only too well what it means to walk through mom's front door, give her a hug, and share the simple joys that matter.

Tim McGraw's beautiful song brings the listener back to the sounds and smells of being home with Mama:
(Lyrics) Meanwhile back at Mama's
The porch light's on, come on in if you wanna
Supper's on the stove and beer's in the fridge
Red sun sinkin' out low on the ridge
Games on the tube and Daddy smokes cigarettes
Whiskey keeps his whistle wet
Funny the things you thought you'd never miss
In a world gone crazy as this
'Funny the things you thought you'd never miss' 

Isn't that the truth. Change takes a toll on us, but we know it's a guaranteed part of life. Save and except those who possess a time machine, there's no return trip to our youth ... you know, those simpler days 'back at mama's'.

Reflecting on our yesterday is a precious gift, but so is living in the moment and appreciating the now. Whether dad has passed, or mama is frail, if we're still lucky enough to get to go home, we're fortunate.

It's what I'm doing this mother's day weekend

I'm back at Mama's. Dad passed a few years ago, and it's forever strange to be living while he isn't, but because we have no choice, we're learning to accept life's new face with grace and gratitude that we still have mom.

In a recent interview Melissa Rivers gave to Dr. Oz about the passing of her famous mom Joan Rivers, Melissa explained her terrible loss this way; 'when you lose one parent, it's a comma, but when you lose both it's a period.

This mother's day I pray that you are neither dealing with a comma, or a period, but if your life sentence includes one or both, then perhaps the hidden gift is knowing that your Mom gets to watch over you from the best seat in the house.

Happy Mother's Day - find the time to smile.

by Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Drageda.com - The Heart of Country Music

Here's a small gift of music for your day - Tim McGraw, featuring Faith Hill


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, May 1, 2015

Gifts for Mother's Day Reviewed

Mother's Day Card
Mother's Day Card
Mother's Day is just around the corner.  Have you already purchased your gift for your mom for Mother's Day?  I will let you in on a little secret.  I have not made my gift selection for my own mother yet.  Perhaps, we can do this together.

I am very close to my mother.  I often know what she wants before she knows what she wants.  You all know how that happens.  I give her a gift and all of the sudden it is what she has always wanted, even though she previously had no idea the item was even in existence.   What is even more amazing is that somehow there is just the spot in her home that it seems has been waiting for that very elusive item to materialize. 

Truthfully, that is part of the magic of mothers.  They know how to make you feel loved and appreciated with a few words, a look, a gentle touch, and certainly the "over the top" exclamations of joy when opening a gift from you.  I think I could wrap up week old bananas and Mom would respond enthusiastically by questioning how in the world I knew she needed those to make the banana bread she had been craving.  I must truly be a mind reader!  Only my mother thinks I have such super powers, I assure you.  Truth be told, I only have them because she bestowed them upon me at that very moment.

Since I don't plan to wrap up week old bananas for Mom this year, I do need to get on with making a nice gift selection for her Mother's Day gift.  I thought we could explore my ideas together today and you could help me choose a gift.  Who knows, Mom may well praise you for your divining powers as well this year!


Mother's Day Gift One

Rescue Road: One Man, Thirty Thousand Dogs, and a Million Miles on the Last Hope Highway - Book Review

My mother loves to read!  That is probably exactly why I love to read so much.

Mom has always been a tremendous influence in my life and books were always in our home when I was growing up.  I remember well have our own set of encyclopedias at home.  I didn't know another soul who had their own reference library at home.  It was pretty cool too since it wasn't always easy or convenient to go to the public library.  Of course, we didn't have the internet when I was in school, so having books at home was like having a pot of gold.

I know Mom would love this particular book because she is a rescuer herself.  She will take in any stray "whatever".  Be it dogs, cats, bunnies, raccoons, people, etc.  If you are hungry, she will feed you.  Even as I am writing this article, she currently has a kitty that she gave a home because her original owner lost his job and could no longer afford to feed Miss. Kitty.   I assure you, that is one pampered kitty cat. 

But, back to the book, it isn't always easy to judge a book by it's cover, so having reliable reviews is essential to selecting a book that I know my mother will read and enjoy.


Mother's Day Gift Two

Article written by Mbgphoto

Mom loves throw blankets, especially one that has special significance.  She has throws in various places throughout her home.

There is a throw blanket featured in Mary Beth's article, "Customized Blankets and Throws Make Great Gifts", that I know my mother would love. A few years back, we went to Rome and toured Vatican City.  The Resurrection throw blanket shown in mbgphoto's article is a photo of one of the tapestries displayed in the Vatican Museum.  That photo has special meaning to my mother and me because of it's religious significance, as well as the memory of our vacation in Rome.

There are several throws and blankets featured in "Customized Blankets and Throws Make Great Gifts" including flowers, animals and even the lighthouses that Mary Beth, aka mbgphoto, is renowned for capturing with her camera. 



Mother's Day Gift Three


by Dawn Rae
For all those many miles in life that Mom walks by my side, she really does need a comfortable pair of Tennis Shoes.  Some that she can slip on and off quickly, because she never knows when I am going to show up on her doorstep to drag her into a new project or take her to see something she absolutely must see now.

Mom is like my own personal #1 scout.  She is always prepared to jump right into whatever I can dream up for us.  Of course, she is quite capable of "dreaming" up things for us to do together too.  Regardless of who is responsible for the idea, comfort is always paramount, so Mom needs this pair of tennis shoes for all of our romping through the muck and mire of not only our own city, but those cities in far away places too.

I was introduced to these wonderful tennis shoes, which I promptly purchased for myself, by Dawn Rae right here on Review This!  I am now headed back over to her article, "The Most Comfortable Women's Shoes" right now to consider these tennis shoes for Mom for Mother's Day.  You are more than welcome to join me there too!



Mother's Day Gift Four


Mom loves her flowers and flower beds!  I assure you, her backyard could give any contestant in the "Most Beautiful Garden" contest a real run for 1st place.

Not only does she love the bushes and flowers, but she enjoys adding special decorations or interesting elements in her beds.   She even has solar lights in her garden so she can enjoy it at night.

Bev featured a gorgeous birdbath on her article, "Mother's Day Gifts for the Gardening Mom".   It is a smaller birdbath than what I normally see in our area, but look how pretty it is!  It resembles a big blue flower!!!

Mom has more birds than an aviary at the a zoo.   She has the prettiest little yellow finches and I can just imagine them sitting on that birdbath. 

Ok, I confess, I actually love that birdbath myself.


Note to my children:  I wouldn't mind receiving that pretty little birdbath for my Mother's Day gift. 



Mother's Day Gift Five


I have known for many years now, that Wednesday Elf is exceptionally talented in creating beautiful handmade crochet items.  However, I only discovered her  Handmade Potholders & Crocheted Dishcloths right before Christmas last year.

I personally had to have the Acorn Dishcloth in the photo, and I did give several of her potholders for Christmas last year, but I neglected to purchase one for my mother.

The Elf also has coasters and adorable crocheted animals offered in her Etsy store, Coastal Island Crochet and Crafts.  She even has a crocheted Lighthouse afghan!  Now that would be a real treasure to own.

So, I am also considering one or two crocheted items from Wednesday Elf's Etsy Store, starting with another Acorn Dishcloth.


Mother's Day Gift Six


by Brite-Ideas
Mom loves her morning cup of coffee!  She doesn't drink coffee throughout the day like I do, but she does want that one cup of coffee in the morning.  Between the two of them, Mom and Dad don't drink a full pot of coffee each day, which means they end up having to discard delicious coffee that has simply set too long on the coffee maker burner.

It is for that reason that I would consider giving Mom the One Cup Coffee Maker that Barbara, Brite-Ideas, reviewed.  It seems like the perfect solution, plus each cup of coffee would be made at the exact moment that it is desired to ensure every cup would truly be delicious to the last drop.

That also means that when we visit, we can bring our own favorite blend of k-cup and make our own coffee.  No one need worry if the selected coffee will be too strong, too weak, or simply not to our personal liking.  We are all guaranteed an excellent cup of coffee made to our own specifications.


Mother's Day Gift Seven


I mentioned earlier how much my mother loves to garden and how she loves anything for her garden. 

Not only does Mom enjoy working in her garden, but if you are around her for very long, she just might put you to work in her flower beds too.  At the very least, you will find yourself helping my father refill her bird feeders.  But don't think for one second that the bird feeders are my father's only responsibility, because they definitely are not.  I have hundreds of memories of watching my mother supervise and instruct my dad on exactly where and how to plant a rose or azalea bush.

Because Mom loves to work in her flower beds, I am considering giving her new Gardening Tools. While some might think that is a work tool, I assure you, Mom thinks garden tools are work savers.  I am seriously considering the Nejiri Kama Japanese Sickle that Olivia Morris recommended in her article.

Mother's Day Gift Eight


How to Remove Blemishes From Photos Using Photoshop
Considering the purchase of anything technical for my mom for Mother's Day might cause my siblings to question my suggestions.  However, when I read Lou's review of the Photoshop, I immediately thought of my mother.

Mom doesn't like anything technical normally.  She even makes my dad change the TV channels for her because she hates trying to figure out their cable service.  However, when it comes to photos, I don't think there is anything that would hold my mom back from playing.  I can easily imagine her sitting at her computer tweeking photos.  I envision her being perfectly content with her one morning cup of coffee, removing blemishes from photos, and enjoying watching her old photos come back to life before her very eyes.

Because she enjoys scrap-booking, I know she will enjoy enhancing her photos!



Mother's Day Gift Nine


There are a few other things for the kitchen that I would love to give my mom.  One that is pretty, and one that will be quite useful.

Clocks are really cool gifts, especially when they are personalized for the recipient.   BarbRad gives us excellent  instructions on how to design and customize a clock or we could simply choose one of the clocks already designed.

I was immediately drawn to the clock with the page of music.  Mom plays the piano.  As a matter of fact, she is easily the best accompany pianist I have ever known, but I also enjoy listening to her play solos.  She is an outstanding pianist and this clock would be a perfect choice for her. 

BarbRad also introduced me to another nifty little gadget that I know my mother would love to have.  It is JarKey to help open those tight fitting lids on jars.  Actually, couldn't we all use one of those!


Mother's Day Gift Ten


Everyone loves beautiful pictures decorating their homes!  They are often one of the first things we put up when we first move into a new home.

I was recently discussing the contributors here on Review This with my mother and we were talking about how I first met each of the writers.  I shared that one of my first memories of Heather426 was when she wrote about her husbands paintings.  I think that was nearly 6 years ago now, and I still enjoy seeing his artwork featured.

I was thrilled when Heather published her article "You Can Own a Rare Richard Burns Print, Signed by the Artist" right her on Review This!  Not only did her article introduce our readers to Richard Burns, but it gave me a permanent reference point to his work.   I promptly pulled up the article for my mother and she definitely remembered the prints and Heather.  We discussed at length the beauty of his paintings and his fabulous attention to detail.  His work is so lifelike, it almost looks like a photograph instead of a painting.

I know Mom would love one of Richard Burn's signed printed for Mother's Day!



Mother's Day Gift Eleven

Lark Rise To Candleford Review
by The Savvy Age
Like most of us, Mom enjoys a great movie.  A series that she can watch for weeks is even better.  

It isn't always easy to find a movie that Mom can enjoy these days, and even harder to find a wholesome series that will not batter my mom's ears with profanity.   Not to mention the over-the-top bedroom scenes that seem to get worse with each passing day.  Seems like movie makers are not happy unless they can guarantee their movies will be R or X rated.  Mom still has a preference for G rated shows.  If you ask her, she would tell you that truly "mature" audiences prefer a great movie that doesn't need the shocking illicit sex scenes and profanity.

Lark Rise to Candleford, which was reviewed and recommended by The Savvy Age, is the perfect series to give as a gift for Mother's Day.  I, myself, have already watched this series so I know it will be acceptable and enjoyed by Mom.




Mother's Day Gift Twelve

Hallmark's A Century of Caring Book Review
I've already told you how much Mom loves to read and how she enjoys a good family movie.  What I haven't told you yet is that Hallmark is her favorite movie channel.  When it became necessary for my parents to switch cable companies Mom was quite distressed when she realized the Hallmark channel was not included in their new service.

I am sure she would enjoy reading Hallmark's A Century of Caring which was reviewed and recommended by Brenda.  The book comes with a DVD, "The Magic of Ordinary Days" which Brenda has also assured us is a wonderful movie.  

It won't be long before the hot days of summer of upon us and Mom won't need to be out working in her garden.  This book and movie would be a fabulous way to spend a day or two indoors in the cool air conditioning relaxing and being entertained by the very best. 





with Spicing Pecans by Mickie_G

Mother's Day Gift Thirteen


Regardless of which of the other gifts I choose from above, I definitely think my mom will want to try these Spicing Pecans.

Mickie_G sold me on adding these Spicing Pecans to my recipes when she published her article "Elevate Your Tired Recipe to New Heights with Spicing Pecans".

My mother loves pecans and I have no doubt Mom will enjoy adding these pecans to her recipes.  I'm just hoping she will share that Iced Texas Sheet Cake with me as soon as she makes it.


More Mother's Day Gift Ideas


Just in case you are shopping for your mom for Mother's Day and didn't see exactly what you wanted above, we have created a board just for you and easy shopping by looking at the catalog of images.



MOTHER'S DAY GIFT SELECTIONS

GIFT SUGGESTIONS FROM MULTIPLE CONTRIBUTORS


You may also want to check out the entire Review This Holiday Gift Guide for a collection of safe and reliable websites for online shopping.



My Mother's Day Gift for My Mother


So you see, finding a great Mother's Day gift for my mother is not my dilemma.   Choosing which fabulous featured gift to give to my mom is my problem.  Can you help me decide?  Please give you opinions in the guestbook below.

Note to My Mother 


Mom, I know you are reading this.   I know, because I know you read everything I write.  Since you are here, if you have a request or preference in gifts, please feel free to send me an email or call me with your list.  Since I know you will see more than one thing you desire, fear not!  I will gladly share your list of wishes with my siblings.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.