Showing posts with label Gift Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Gift Review. Show all posts

Wednesday, May 3, 2023

Mother's Day ~The One Gift She Really Wants

 Many of you may know that in the last two months my life has changed drastically.  Not in a bad way, but in a drastic way none the less.  What happened?  Well my almost 92 year old mother fell, was hospitalized for a month and then it was decided that she could no longer live on her own.

So, our family has shrunk over the years and now it is growing again.  My mother has come to live with us!  There will be some challenges ahead.   Mother's Day is coming up quickly and it will be the first one she is spending in her new "home"!  As always we are looking to make it special.

After 70 some years of Mother's Days under her belt, you would think there is nothing in the world she could truly want.  Right?  

Wrong!  It seems that during her fall, her watch broke!  We have had it to several watch repair places and they all say the same thing - "It's not worth fixing!"  This was a watch that my father had purchased for her on one of their many trips home to Switzerland.  So she really did not want to give it up!  

So this Mother's Day we are on the hunt for a watch!  This may seem like a no-brainer, but, when you have a lady who is used to having a "nice" watch, it's not so easy anymore.  We are hoping that one of our choices will be close enough to her old watch, that she will enjoy the new one as much as the old.




There are so many new-fangled watches that keep track of steps taken, pulse rates, oxygen levels and so much more and she's not interested in any of that "nonsense"!  Personally I think she could use the extras to make sure she gets some walking in, but that's me and not her!


She wants a replacement for her watch that told her the time and the date!  She wants nothing more and nothing less.  And none of this Plastic or Silicone bands for her!  It has to be a metal bracelet type watch that is big enough for her to read but still looks nice.  Nothing that is heavy and /or bulky!

As you can see there are lots of options available for someone who is looking for a "simple" but elegant watch. Sometimes all the new electronic watches with their multi purpose uses are just not fitting the bill.  In her 92 years she has seen a lot of time pieces go by and the new ones just don't do anything for her at all.  

Simple, straight-forward and useful are her main needs and nothing more.  Truth be known, I think she'd be overwhelmed with the new digital watches/fitness trackers.  She would have to learn how to use that kind of watch!  I could see her jumping out of her skin if it started to vibrate or flash or sound an alarm.  She just doesn't want to do that!  

I get it and I'm so happy to report that while watches have been taken to a whole new level of usefulness, the old trusty analog watches are still there!

Now it's just a matter of choice!  I don't think we will surprise her, rather, we will give her the option of choosing the one she thinks she'd like best!

For all those Mother's out there, may I take the time to wish you all a Happy Mother's Day, may it be a timely one!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 21, 2022

Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris: A Wonderful, Delightful, Inspiring Movie

Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris is an absolute gem of a movie. I discovered it while perusing American Airlines' in-flight entertainment selections during a recent flight home from California. This comedy/drama was released earlier this year and received enthusiastic positive reviews from film critics and audiences alike. However, likely because it wasn't promoted heavily or well, it had only a short run in theaters and I hadn't heard about it before. (Such a shame to stint on the marketing for such a terrific picture!) It deserves a much wider audience.

I am delighted to share my review of this wonderful, delightful, inspiring movie, which is available to purchase or rent via DVD or streaming media.

Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris Movie Review

Based on the First of Paul Gallico's Bestselling 1958 Novel Mrs. 'Arris Goes to Paris

Paul Gallico started his career in the 1920s as a sportswriter, sports columnist, and sports editor of the New York Daily News. After switching to writing fiction in the late 1930s, the prolific author wrote 41 books, numerous short stories, 20 theatrical movies and 12 TV movies and had a TV series based on his Hiram Holliday short stories. Two of Gallico's most famous works were the short story The Snow Goose (1941) and the novel The Poseidon Adventure (1969), which was also adapted for the big screen.(Source)

Mrs. 'Arris Goes to Paris (1958) was the first of Gallico's four novels about the adventures of Mrs. Ada Harris, a war widow and hard-working charwoman for London aristocrats. Mrs. Harris's adventures continue in the subsequent books in the series, Mrs. 'Arris Goes to New York (1960), Mrs. 'Arris Goes to Parliament (1965), and Mrs. 'Arris Goes to Moscow (1974).

Mrs. 'Arris Goes to Paris has been adapted multiple times for stage and screen:

  • A 1958 American TV episode for the television series Studio One starring British comedian Gracie Fields.
  • A 1982 West German TV film, Ein Kleid von Dior (A Dress by Dior) starring Inge Meysel.
  • A 1992 television movie starring Angela Lansbury, Diana Rigg and Omar Sharif (produced by Lansbury's production company and directed by her son, Anthony Shaw).
  • A 2016 musical-theatre adaptation, Flowers for Mrs Harris (the Gallico novel's UK title) produced by Sheffield Theatres in May 2016, with a new production mounted in 2018 at Chichester Festival Theatre, which was streamed online in April 2020.
  • The 2022 feature film adaptation I am reviewing, Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris (note the tweak to the title).

A Fabulous Cast of Characters

Here are the main characters of this charming movie set in the mid-1950s:

  • Ada Harris (Lesley Manville), a charwoman in London who cleans up the messes of her well-heeled, arrogant clients. She learns that her beloved husband, Eddie, a soldier who had been missing for seven years, was killed in action. 
  • Violet Butterfield (Ellen Thomas), Ada's best friend, who also works "in service." Vi encourages the grieving war widow to try to enjoy herself and get on with her life now that she finally knows Eddie's fate, taking her out to a dance club in the evening and to greyhound races on their day off.
  • Archie (Jason Isaacs), another friend and bookie who takes their bets at the races. Although he fancies Ada, she thinks it's too late for her to love again and makes it clear their relationship is strictly platonic.
  • Giles Newcombe (Christian McKay), a womanizing bachelor and house cleaning client.
  • Pamela Penrose (Rose Williams), another of Ada's clients, is a beautiful but spoiled, scatterbrained, pouty and self-centered actress who is also a slob, tossing and leaving her clothes and accessories all over the floor for Ada to pick up and put away.
  • Lady Dant (Anna Chancellor), another client who spends lavishly on parties and clothes (including a one-of-a-kind, beaded and sequined Christian Dior dress that Ada falls in love with at first sight), yet repeatedly deflects Ada's requests to be paid her long-overdue wages.
  • Christian Dior (Philippe Bertin), the world-famous haute couture fashion designer whose first collection under his own label in 1947 was dubbed "The New Look" by the editor-in-chief of Harper's Bazaar.
  • Claudine Colbert (Isabelle Huppert) is the directrice of the house of Dior and guardian of its refined, elegant, exclusive image. She is offended and supercilious when an English charwoman invades the hallowed halls of Dior, mistakes Madame Colbert for a shopgirl and naïvely assumes she can purchase one of the master's iconic, one-of-a-kind haute couture creations just because she has brought enough money to Paris with her to pay with cash.
  • Marquis de Chassagne (Lambert Wilson), a wealthy, aristocratic widower whose late wife used to enjoy attending the exclusive Dior couture shows. He continues to attend in her honor and, when Ada is rebuffed by Madame Colbert, the marquis invites her to attend as his guest. He subsequently buys her roses and invites her over for tea.  
  • Natasha (Alba Baptista), Dior's top model with an Audrey Hepburn-eque, waif-like beauty. She would rather be at home curled up on a couch, wearing a plain black sweater and reading Sartre than parading around as a fashion model. 
  • André Fauvel (Lucas Bravo), an accountant at Dior who has ideas about how to save the fashion house from its (fictitious) financial woes that Madame Colbert refuses to discuss with Monsieur Dior. André falls in love with Natasha, with whom he shares a superior intellect and love of Sartre, but doesn't pursue a relationship with her, feeling she is "above his touch."
  • Monsieur Carré (Bertrand Poncet), the head of Dior's atelier and a fussy "artiste" who shares Madame Colbert's snobbery and lack of respect for the pedestrian Mrs. Harris.

A Feel-Good Movie

Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris is a story about how kindness, courage, honesty, hard work, a willigness to dream big and a single-minded commitment to achieving your goals can, indeed, make your dreams come true.

It's a modern fairy tale grounded in some historical fact. Director Anthony Fabian takes some liberties with Gallico's story. In an interview for a July 22, 2022 article in Town & Country magazine, Fabian said, "The key to this story is that it is magic realism, so it has to have an equal dose of magic and reality. If you go too far into magic, you won’t believe it; if you go too far into the realism, it wouldn’t have that uplifting fairy tale quality." 

Check Out the Official Movie Trailer

If you are reading this on a mobile device and the video player doesn't display, you can click on this line to watch the MRS. HARRIS GOES TO PARIS Trailer (2022) on YouTube.

Stream, Rent or Buy This Heartwarming and Inspiring Film

There are multiple options for watching this movie, including:

Read or Listen to the First Two Books in Paul Gallico's The Adventures of Mrs. Harris Series

Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris and Mrs. Harris Goes to New York Kindle edition.

Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris & Mrs. Harris Goes to New York Paperback

Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris and Mrs. Harris Goes to New York Audible audiobook (Unabridged) — narrated by one of my favorite narrators, Juliet Stevenson.

Makes a Great Gift for Yourself or Someone Else

This wonderful story encourages us to dream big but also keep our priorities straight. I definitely plan to rent or buy the movie so I can watch it again and plan to get the audiobook as well. Both the movie and the book would make a lovely gift for any occasion, as well as a great stocking stuffer.


Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris: A Wonderful, Delightful, Inspiring Movie — Reviewed by Margaret Schindel


Read More Movie Reviews From Our Contributors

Get More Gift Ideas From My Product Reviews

Holiday Gift Guide: Thoughtful, Affordable Gift Ideas They Will Love

Long, Lined Leather Gloves — A Luxurious, Affordable Gift She'll Love

The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush

The Best Affordable, Super Sharp Kitchen and Steak Knives Set

The Best Powerful, Lightweight Stick Blender With Versatile Attachments

The Best Bone-Conduction Bluetooth Headphones Review: Shokz OpenRun Pro

The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush

The Best Tool Roll Organizer To Store & Protect Your Tools

The Best Affordable Programmable Large- and Small-Batch Coffee Maker

The Best Manicure Tools for Strong, Healthy Nails

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

Flippy Tablet, Kindle, Phone, and Book Stand Lap Pillow Review

Hamama Microgreens Starter Kit and Seed Quilts Review

Read More Gift Reviews From Our Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, December 3, 2022

Gifts for Festive Affairs - Gift Review

If your holiday plans include an invitation to a holiday dinner or as a house guest at a relative's home, than a gift specific to the home and the host is perfect. 




Cutting Board Gifts 


Since almost all invitations to a holiday gathering involves food, a special cutting board makes a thoughtful and useful gift.


There is a wide range of cutting board sizes and styles, many even in animal shapes, or personalized, to choose from. My favorites are the handmade boards I found on Etsy. 



Handmade in Walnut, Cherry or Maple wood, in a variety of sizes, the personalized cutting boards at WallThingsCo on Etsy have just the one you want to match the person you are gifting. 

If you are going to 'grandma's house' for the holidays, this Nana's Kitchen board is a popular choice. But this Etsy Shop offers a wide variety of choices, or you can choose your own name, saying or design. A  lovely choice for your favorite cook.


Coffee Mugs


In town for an overnight or several days visit over the holidays? Then you will be having coffee in the morning with your hostess. Therefore a coffee (or Tea) mug makes the perfect hostess gift. With so many designs and 'sayings' available, it is easy to match one to the person it is for.




To get into, or stay, in the Christmas spirit, consider a coffee mug from this group of vintage Waechtersbach cups made in West Germany.

Six such pretty designs to choose from ~ a Christmas tree, white terrier dogs, a white cat, a 2000 Christmas tree, white snowman, and a shorter Christmas tree mug. They can be found in the Etsy Shop of TheRustyJewels



Or choose the cutest hostess mug I have ever seen. The ever-popular Yoda on an adorable coffee mug.

Found in the Etsy Shop of Expression Prints, a shop filled with a large variety of mugs with sayings which help you express your thoughts to those you love.


Special Glassware  


Glassware makes a lovely gift for your host or hostess. With so many choices, such as a beer steins for HIM or pretty glassware for HER, the choices are endless. 



These hand-painted vintage songbird glasses would be a lovely hostess gift to someone who enjoys birdwatching or who enjoys the bird feeders in their back yard.

Available in the Etsy Shop of 'Shop the Leo Collective'




And as a dandy gift for HIM, choose this handmade frosted glass Christmas beer mug from the North Pole Brewing Company. 

It's available in the Etsy Shop of Hippie Radio Boutique.


Summary


Hopefully, this gift guide will allow you to be prepared for that host/hostess gift for those holiday invitations.


Happy Holidays


For more Gift Reviews, check out ReviewThisGifts.com



*Festive Gifts review by Wednesday Elf








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, August 20, 2022

Craftiness is Happiness (Handmade Gift Review)

Handmade gifts are more than an artistic rendition of what a crafter can create. When given as a gift, it becomes - a gift of oneself. 


The reviewers here on Review This Reviews! are a talented group. They can crochet and knit, draw and paint, cook, bake and sew, and create fantastic DIY projects. 



This is a review of several of the many artistic crafts created by our reviewers who can do more than write – a craft in itself that they all do well. 


DIY Home Décor


Photographs by Diana Wenzel

Diana Wenzel (Renaissance Woman) shows us how she took a battered old traveling case and, using her creative abilities and some TLC, turned it into a vintage suitcase coffee table.


She states that these chests are iconic and incredibly versatile. Not only will someone gain a unique conversational piece, but this suitcase is a great place to store things like remote controls, or dreams of future travel. 


Handmade Yarn Crafts


With a simple crochet hook or a pair of knitting needles, our in-house crafters create a cute collection of fun and useful gifts. They have reviewed here a collection of crafts, including pattern books whose patterns are the basic beginning of a wonderful gift to give.


Photo by Wednesday Elf

Wednesday Elf reviewed a pattern book of Amigurumi animals to create plush animals for the kids in her family.


From the pattern designs of two cute cats, two birds and a rooster, Petunia the Pig a darling dog, and an adorable Fairy House, Elf has already made the two colorful birds and one of the cats. 


Photo by Wednesday Elf

Wednesday Elf has also crocheted many of the cute animals in this Crochet Critters pattern book. My 8-year-old grandson loves the lion the best! Plush animals make a great gift for everyone from babies to children to college students to take for their dorm room. You're never too old for a 'stuffie'. :) 


Photograph by Sylvestermouse

You can even make a very easy and beautiful Loop Afghan without using any hooks or needles. You only use your fingers to weave the yarn. Sylvestermouse shows us how in this review. 


Handmade Jewelry


Photograph by Margaret Schindel

Jewelry is always a welcome gift and it is especially appreciated when it is handmade. Margaret Schindel reviews how she made a lovely and stylish beaded coil wrap bracelet. This one-of-a-kind bracelet was created as a birthday gift for a dear friend. 


Summary


The above are just a few examples of the crafts you can create for yourself or to give as gifts.  Check out all the craftiness on Review This Reviews here in this compilation of DIY and Craft Tutorials.


Craft Reviews Compiled by Sylvestermouse


*This handmade gift review was written by Wednesday Elf





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, June 18, 2022

Reviewing Wordy Gifts for your Favorite Bookworms

Bookends are the perfect Wordy gift for all the bookworms in your life.

*Intro photo is of Luxe Crystal Acrylic Bookends A-Z by Vandue on Etsy.

Bookend Gifts


What would be a more appropriate gift for the libraries of readers and writers than word-related bookends? 



READ is the perfect word for bookworms ~ lovers of books of any age.


Paul of Oregon creates beautiful bookend sets that he hand cuts with a scroll saw from 1/2” thick, furniture grade Birch plywood.  His bookends are then sanded and finished with satin interior non-toxic paint.


This heavy duty two-piece set of bookends has a bottom surface protector which will extend under a few books for enhanced book support. This set, and many more designs in words and in intricate shapes of animals and sports activities are available in Paul's Etsy Shop he calls ScrollMaster Designs



An appropriate gift for your writer friends would be this set of WRITER bookends. Handmade and designed by Knob Creek Metal Arts of Louisville, KY, the bookends are solid steel and heavy enough to hold up your reading collection. Sold in a set of two pieces, they are finished in a black powder coat.  Dimensions are approx. 6 1/2" t x 6 1/2" w x 4" d. 



A darling set of bookends for a child's book collection is one that is personalized with your child's name. For a little girl's room, this Butterfly Bookends set is so adorable. Or choose from many sets, all with cute designs, from the Etsy Shop of Nelsons Gifts.  Jon and Roseann Nelson specialize in personalized nursery and home décor.


Cooks are bookworms too, with cookbooks being their favorite genre. So a set of bookends with the word COOK is an ideal gift idea for your favorite cook. 



This set from Amazon is made with quality steel and is very durable and able to hold many large and heavy books such as you often find in favorite cookbooks.  These bookends have a powder-coated surface, so it is smooth and anti-rust, with a non-slip base. 


Summary


So, choose a Wordy bookend set as a gift for your bookworm friends and family. 


Related Links:




*Wordy Gifts for Your Favorite Bookworm was written and compiled by Wednesday Elf










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, February 15, 2022

Sleepy Time Gifts for Kids - Review


Everyone is familiar with the Aesop Fable about a 'Wolf in Sheep's Clothing'. Well, how about a grandson in wolf's clothing. 



Grandson David loves everything to do with the theme of wolves. His bedroom is decorated with wolf pattern sheets and bedspread. He requested a handmade plush wolf from his grandma who crochets, along with his birthday wolf toy to put on his headboard. And he is quite the budding artist and created his own website for his wolf-related pencil art work he calls Art Wolf.



Therefore, when his mom told me that suggestions for Christmas gifts included new pajamas, naturally I sought out Wolf-themed PJs


Animal Related Sleepwear


In addition to wolves, children love animal themed pajamas. Probably the most popular animal among the youngest children is dinosaurs. I know David's little brother Tyler LOVES dinosaurs! 


Sleepytime Gifts for Kids
Dinosaur Pajamas


Disney animals are also favorites. Little girls love Marie, a favorite cat from the Aristocats movie.


Disney Girls Aristocats Pajamas


Dogs and Cats are beloved by children. This puppy pajama set would delight any little girl.


Puppy Pajamas


And, of course, you can never go wrong with bears – the most popular animal of all.  Any bear from teddy bears, cartoon bears, panda bears and that favorite Winnie-the-Pooh bear would please any kid to wear to bed. 


Winnie-the-Pooh Pajamas


Summary


David in his Wolf Pajamas


So, any time you need a gift for a child, just remember that pajamas are always appreciated by mom, and favorite animal designs please the children.  David was delighted with his (grandma-sent) wolf pajamas this past Christmas.


Related Link:


Sleepytime Gifts for Kids Review written by Wednesday Elf





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, February 12, 2022

Made With Love – From the Heart

 Reviewing heart-shaped gifts for Valentine's Day




This is a gift review of handmade gifts that are definitely 'made with love'; thus, are perfect for Valentine's Day or any occasion where you wish to express your love for the recipient.  


There have long been certain gifts associated with Valentine's Day. Flowers are the most popular, especially roses.  Chocolates and jewelry run a close second.


Today we are going to talk about handmade gifts made with love.


Couple in Love


Made with Love
Couple in Love Giraffe Wood Puzzle

For a sweet way to express the love of a couple, this set of giraffes with a heart in the form of a wood puzzle would be perfect.


Handmade from hardwood birch, sanded and coated with linseed oil, this 3-piece puzzle of two giraffes hugging, with a heart in the middle, is a lovely depiction of a 'couple in love'. Created by Ecopuzzle on Etsy.


Cuddly in Crochet


Made with Love
Crochet Pig with Heart


Cute for a little girl for Valentine's Day – a cuddly crocheted plush pig holding a heart.  Handmade by Amanda and found in her Etsy Shop Created by Manders.



Hearts Bibs for Baby 


Bib with Heart Designs

An easy and very practical way to remember baby for Valentine's Day is with a bib with a hearts design.  Cute photo-op too. 


These bibs are handmade in cotton with red hearts on a striped background. The back of the bibs is soft, absorbent terry cloth. Bib closes with a snap and comes in infant and toddler sizes.


Handmade by a Kentucky crafter for the Etsy Shop Nana's Notions Crafts



Grogu with Heart


Grogu with Heart (Baby Yoda)


A fun Valentine's gift for any Star Wars fan is this Grogu with Heart.  Grogu, also known as Baby Yoda, has become very popular. Finding him with a heart fits right in with this made with love from the heart themed gift guide.

Grogu with Heart and many other Baby Yodas can be found in the Etsy shop of Mad Mac Crochet created by Michelle of Calgory, Canada. 


Hearts for the Home


Valentine Beverage Coasters

For a heart-warming home décor gift, check out this set of Valentine Coasters handmade by Wednesday Elf and found in her Etsy Shop Coastal Crochet Crafts


Summary


So, if you are  looking for a gift that is perfect for Valentine's Day, or for any occasion where you want to give a gift that is 'from the heart', check out the Made with Love items here or anywhere on Etsy.


Source: Pixabay


This Made with Love article was written by Wednesday Elf







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Reviews Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWomanThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoTracey BoyerLou16BarbRadBev OwensBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsHeather426Coletta TeskeMissMerFaeryMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X