Showing posts with label Etsy. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Etsy. Show all posts

Monday, July 9, 2018

Reviewing Handmade Rag Rugs

Handmade denim rag rugs by StudioAtRedTopRanch
I love rag rugs and have always loved rag rugs. Occasionally, I have made my own using strips of recycled cloth (bed sheets) and a super large crochet hook. Recently, I have learned about the hand-woven rag rugs made by StudioAtRedTopRanch. They are such beautiful rugs that I wanted to share with you.


StudioAtRedTopRanch on Etsy


This Etsy shop offers hand-woven placements, table runners, and rugs. The rugs are my personal favorite. 

Tracy is the owner/artist at StudioAtRedTopRanch.  About the rugs, she writes:


"I began making handmade rag rugs as a way to use up leftover and unloved fabric. As I studied rugmaking, it became a way to learn and preserve an art developed by women who made-do by repurposing clothes and curtains because they had no other materials available..."

One of the reasons I love her rugs is because they look a little more "finished" than my crocheted rag rugs do. I guess because hers are woven they lay flatter and looked more finished than my lumpy, thick rugs.

Another reason I really like these rugs is because they are handmade - but didn't take me weeks to make!  I enjoy making my own crafts but I just don't make much time for crafts and I have the attention span of a flea. 

One more reason I like these handmade items is because I like to support women who have small, home businesses. Besides, when someone is making something they love, and something that is meaningful to them, the quality is so much better. 

These rugs, runners, and placements are perfect gifts for people who have a country farmhouse or rustic cabin living style. Or a perfect gift for yourself - adding a touch of "home" in your favorite room. My favorite "color" (and style) is the denim rug but she offers many colors to choose from.


some of the color options at StudioAtRedTopRanch




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, January 8, 2018

Birthstone Charm Necklace for Grandmother Review

Birthstone charm necklace
This custom grandmother necklace with a charm for each grandbaby is a sweet and thoughtful gift. It symbolizes and celebrates each grandchild through their Swarovski crystal birthstone.


Handmade Birthstone Charm Necklace for Grandmother



I received a handmade birthstone grandmother necklace offered on Etsy and made by powderandjade. I have three grandchildren (well...two and one on the way). They were born in May, August, and expected in February. My necklace has three individual charms.

The charms are strung on a dainty chain. Perfect for those grandmoms who don't tend to wear large pieces of jewelry. The card inside the box read: The love between a Grandma and her Grandchildren is forever.

Powderandjade's Etsy shop offers a large variety of necklaces celebrating the love of family members and friends: 
Birthstone charm necklace by powderandjade

  • mother
  • daughter
  • sisters
  • sister-in-law
  • grandmother and grandchildren
  • significant other
  • friends
  • and many more

These necklaces are thoughtful gifts for someone you love or for yourself. I know that I am happy to wear little reminders of my grands each day. And I am appreciative of my daughter-in-law who chose it for me.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, November 6, 2017

Reviewing Meaningful Gifts by SimplyYoursByDesign

Personalized ornaments and bracelets by SimplyYoursByDesign
As the season of serious gift shopping fast approaches, I want to bring attention to these personalized and meaningful gifts. In this review I will show you gifts that are not mass produced, are handmade, and are personalized to your specifications. These are gifts that are meant to last through the years.

Earlier this year I ordered custom metal garden tags from SimplyYoursByDesign and was extremely pleased with both that shopping experience and  the quality of garden tags I received. I expect that the experience with their gift items would be the same.


Engraved Double-Sided Cuff Bracelet


This lovely double-sided cuff bracelet is stamped with one word on the top side and is personalized on the inside.  This example shows the top side word as "blessed". That word can be exchanged for a word of your choice. The inside is a list of names separated by hearts. Perhaps the names of someone's children? Or a proud grandparent's grandchildren?

The top side could be engraved with the word "remember" with an important quote on the inside. Or perhaps "never forget" on the top side with a date or memorial on the inside. 

These bracelets can be as personal and unique as you can imagine - within the character limits of course. And they are available in several different metals.


engraved cuff bracelets by SimplyYoursByDesign

Engraved Metal Ornaments - Personalized for Your Family or Theirs


Many families have ornaments that they use year after year. And eventually pass down through the generations. A wonderful tradition that is even better when the ornaments don't just say "Baby's First Christmas" but also includes baby's name! 

My readers are probably more imaginative than I am and can probably come up with some fantastic ideas for ornaments. These are the ideas I've had for meaningful ornaments:
  • gift for grandparent with the grandchildren's names
  • baby's first Christmas
  • special dates or events that have occurred 
  • family name ornament
  • parent ornament listing the children's names
  • memorial ornament - to always remember
  • ornament for pet
  • couple's first Christmas together (imagine the same ornament of a different metal each subsequent year!)

some of the MANY ornament possibilities offered by SimplyYoursByDesign

SimplyYoursByDesign on Etsy


customized garden tags
As I mentioned, I had ordered personalized garden tags earlier this year (see that review here) and as a result, I continue to recommend SimplyYoursByDesign

When you order your personalized item, remember that this is a small family business and the items are engraved by hand. If you are a last-minute shopper and desire instant gratification, these are probably not the gifts for you. The folks at SimplyYoursByDesign list the current production time on their policies page, so be aware of that when you are considering ordering.

If you are looking for a special and personal gift for someone (or maybe for yourself) these may be just the things you were looking for. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, June 26, 2017

Reviewing Garden Tags by SimplyYoursByDesign

I just received my custom garden tags by SimplyYoursByDesign and I have to write a review immediately. Whether you are an organized and skilled gardener or a hopeful and forgetful gardener like myself, you may be as excited about these garden tags as I am. I am thrilled about these customized, metal, durable, and beautiful garden tags.


Why are Garden Tags Important?



Perhaps you have a really good memory and can recall exactly what you planted where. Or perhaps, someone purchases land with existing plants and can identify every tree, bush, flower, and shrub. That's not me. No matter how hard I practice, I'm not very good at plant identification. And my memory is horrible.

I realized the importance of plant identification when I was looking for a certain type of rose bush that I had in a yard many years ago. That search has proved impossible without having more information than I have about that particular plant. As a result, I am determined to try to keep track of the plants I plant on my land.

I especially want to keep track of my PawPaw trees.

I have recently fallen in love with PawPaws. PawPaw is a tree that produces wonderful "tropical" fruit. I am planting PawPaw trees on my land at The Shack. Like apples (Red Delicious, Gala, Granny Smith, etc) there are different types of PawPaws. Some I like better than others. If I am successful at growing PawPaws, I want to be able to keep track - with certainty - which tree is bearing which fruit.

These wonderful tags by SimplyYoursByDesign will help me do that.


Recommended Custom Garden Tags by SimplyYoursByDesign



I need long-lasting tags to identify my PawPaw trees. Also, I need customized tags - after all, who mass produces tags for PawPaw (Sunflower) versus PawPaw (Mango) trees? No one. 

Luckily I found this shop on Etsy that makes customized tags.

With low expectations, I ordered two tags for the two PawPaw trees I just planted.  I expected poor quality. Or paper-thin "metal". Happily, these tags have far exceeded my expectations. They are perfect!


Why I recommend these garden tags


  • customized - I was able to request (and received) both the tree name (PawPaw) and type (Sunflower)
  • communication and customer service - the shop owners messaged me to confirm what I was requesting - avoiding possible confusion (i.e did I want one PawPaw tag and one Sunflower tag, or two tags with PawPaw Sunflower)
  • I requested that they not send the included plant stakes - as I would be hanging these on the trees - and that request was honored
  • several choices in metal types/colors 
  • good thickness - the tag is as thick as a dime 
  • the words are permanently stamped into the metal
  • packaged in a simple but attractive manner
  • a mother/daughter/grand-daughter family owned business (how cool is that?!)
  • located in the US
shipped in a simple but attractive manner

There are only two very minor things about these tags/this shop that might cause someone concern. Neither of these things concerned me, but I feel that they should be mentioned.
  • the corner designs on the tags are random (for example: the bee & tree and the frog & sun on my tags)
  • a bit of time passed before I received my order
Because the items are customized, I did not receive my items immediately. It looks like I ordered on June 4th and the postmark on the envelope was June 19th. In my opinion, that was an expected amount of time for a custom order. Unfortunately, in such an instant gratification culture, some folks may not want to wait. The good news is that the shop owners clearly list their current production time on their policies page so you can decide if you can stand the wait. 


my two customized PawPaw tags


Personally, I found it to be well worth the wait. It is refreshing to get exactly what you ask for. In fact, to get better than you asked for. Thank you, women at SimplyYoursByDesign, for these beautiful, durable, and custom PawPaw tree tags. 

Related reviews:

The Review This! contributors enjoy their gardens and reviewing items and gifts related to gardening. To see more of our gardening recommendations, check out the articles under the gardening tab.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, February 13, 2017

Slipper Socks Review


Crocheted slipper socks are amazing. I have crocheted many pairs of slipper socks over the years, customizing the colors for friends and family. This year I bought yarn with the intention of again making slipper socks as gifts. Sadly, I have not yet found the time to crochet those gifts. But fortunately, I have found my beloved slippers socks for sale on Etsy and will review the reasons these are a favorite item with people I know.

Crocheted Slipper Socks


I have made these slipper socks off and on for many years. And I have a few friends who hint at wanting a new pair in a new color every time we see a scrap of yarn anywhere. 

Today I was looking for the online pattern as I may have some time to do some crochet work.  It was during that search that I found the finished slippers for sale in Etsy shops!  

Why These Slipper Socks Are Recommended


I have made these slippers for a woman who often gives handmade things to her friends and family as gifts. It was intimidating to make a handmade gift for her, but I did. I gifted her with a pair of these slipper socks that I had made, and she loved them. She wore them daily and is the only person I know of that has worn a pair threadbare.  She told me that was only because she wore them daily - including the daily walk down her paved driveway and to her mailbox! That is a high review if I've ever heard one. 

Blue Green Slipper Socks
I am able to recommend the slippers in this Etsy shop because I am familiar with the pattern. It is an excellent pattern - one that fits well. WiseAcreBoutique also offers customized sizes with your foot measurements. I am aware that this pattern is easy to adjust to unusually long, narrow, or wide fit because of the ease of adjusting the pattern. 

A few reasons these slippers are socks are recommended and requested by friends: 


  • they are made with worsted weight acrylic yarn
  • made with two strands of yarn - increasing warmth and softness
  • I have always tossed mine into the washer and dryer with no problems
  • the pattern creates a "heel" that is not bulky, fits well, and keeps the slipper sock in place
  • it seems the ridges under the heel would be uncomfortable when in fact, they provide cushioning
  • easy to pack in a suitcase for travel
  • can be made in solid and variegated yarns 
  • the "cuff" can remain upright or be folded down - I like to fold mine down. My friends keep theirs up for added coverage
  • the fit is reliable - in similar size ranges as socks. 
  • the pattern can be adjusted to fit a variety of feet 

Slipper Socks at WiseAcreBoutique 

There is a good chance I will soon make the time to crochet the gifts I've been planning for my friends. Those same friends who have hinted and outright asked for a new pair. The yarn is already purchased and waiting in my closet. But it is still unlikely that I will make the time to crochet a pair for myself. Because of this, it is good to know where I can purchase a pair of these awesome slipper socks for myself. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Reviewing New Grandmother Gifts

The message on this new grandma necklace makes it the perfect gift for a new grandmother.
Every Time a Baby Is Born So Is a Grandma
by GutsyGoodness on Etsy
Our family is expecting a miracle. In fact, the blessed event is coming up fast. Yes, in just a few short months I'm going to be a grandma! It's taken time for the reality to sink in, but I was thinking about it today and suddenly decided to go online window shopping for something for myself, the future new grandmother. Here are some items that I've added to my wish list, each of which I think would make a fabulous new grandmother gift.

I absolutely love this vintage pendant necklace. The message reads, "Every time a baby is born, so is a Grandma." That sentiment is perfect for me since I'm new at this grandparenting thing. I adore the vintage look of the antique bronze pendant and, even though I'm not sure yet what my grandmother name will be, "Grandma" on the charm works fine for now.

The necklace also comes with a birthstone charm. I'll have to decide if I want to go with the probable, calculated birth month or if I want to choose a different birthstone to start with, either my own or that of my son, the dad to be (actually, I love that idea). There are more add-on charms and other options available with this piece, including the length and type of chain. The shop owner packages the necklace in a beautiful box that includes an encouraging note about new grandmothers that puts a fitting finishing touch on this absolutely perfect gift.

Sharing Activities With the New "Grand"


For grandmothers who enjoy gardening, a custom-made Grandma's Garden sign is a great gift idea.
Grandma's Garden Sign
by BobsWoodSignShop on Etsy
Recently, my daughter-in-law, the mom of this soon-to-be-here baby, asked me if I had been thinking of things I might want to do someday with my new grandchild. Funny she should ask, because actually I had given that some thought.

One of the pastimes I enjoy is working in my little garden and, when he or she is older, I'd love to plant the seed of loving growing things in that tiny tot's little head. That's why this new grandma would like to have a "Grandma's Garden"sign like this one. It's one of those items that, when I saw it, I really wanted it. I may wait until my future grandparent nickname is settled, though, since Bob of Bob's Wood Sign Shop on Etsy takes special orders!

These mother-daughter aprons are perfect for a grandmother and granddaughter, too!
Pink Mother-Daughter Aprons
by GrandmaJackies on Etsy


Another activity I'm looking forward to when spending time with my future grandchild is cooking. That's something I fondly remember doing with both of my grandmothers, with my mom, and then eventually with my sons. So whether this kiddo is a girl or a boy, I'm sure we'll spend lots of time together working in the kitchen.

If it's a girl, I'll choose these grandmother-granddaughter pink checked aprons for the two of us. I like the aprons, but I especially like this simple photo that shopkeeper GrandmaJackies included in her Etsy listing. Reminds me of when I was the little girl helping in the kitchen.


A Title To Live Up To


This pretty, floral Best Grandma Ever mug would make a perfect gift for any new grandmother.
Best Grandma Ever Mug
by Willow and Olive on Etsy

Becoming a new grandmother has been pretty easy on my part, so far. I mean, well, you know. My son and daughter-in-law are doing all the work and before long, voilà, we'll be grandparents. The job of being a good grandmother isn't something I plan on taking lightly, though. I want to be a good influence and do the best job I possibly can do to be the best grandmother I can be. This beautiful floral "Best Grandma Ever" mug is something I'd like to have so I can be reminded daily (though I'm not likely to forget) that I will have a truly important title to live up to.

So, these are the new grandmother gifts I've picked out for myself. How did I do? Do you have a favorite? Have any new grandparenting advice to share? I hope you'll let me know in a comment below.

Enjoy this review of several fabulous gift ideas for a new grandmother. | ReviewThisReviews.com
Thanks for sharing!
~Susan
Click here to read more of my reviews.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, September 19, 2014

Cooper-Young Festival Art in Memphis

Cooper-Young Festival
Memphis, TN ~ 9/13/14
For several years, my daughter has raved about the Cooper-Young Festival in Memphis, TN.  She loves attending and often buys pieces of unique art for her home.  She invited me to attend with her, my son-in-law and their group of friends last weekend and I was simply amazed.  

The Cooper Young Festival is a free, outdoor annual event that features a myriad of artists and musicians.  Over the years, word about the fabulous festival has spread like wildfire and it has become extremely popular.  

The festival is held in the historic district of Memphis and the attractions literally line Cooper Street and Young Avenue.  This year, by midday those streets were packed by thousands of attendees.  I found the key to success was to arrive early, make my purchases and then stand back and enjoy the show.  



My Favorite Artist at the Cooper-Young Festival

Cooper-Young Festival
Featured Artist
It didn't take long for me to discover my favorite artist at the Cooper-Young Festival.   When she told me she had just opened an Etsy store online, I knew I would be featuring her here on "Review This!"  

Her artwork is vibrant, beautiful and quite unique.  It is also very affordable.  I do love affordable art!

Morgan is currently an art student in her senior year.  She joined the Cooper-Young festival this year and offered her latest collection, the birthstone series, for sale.  

Each beautiful piece is now available in her Etsy store.  


********************

Conjoined Twins Design ~ April Birthstone

Morgan's artwork certainly reflects the multicultural environment of the Cooper-Young Festival.  

The April Diamond seems to have a story waiting to be told.  A beautiful young woman waiting with her suitcase in hand.  

Is she waiting to be discovered?  Is she about to embark upon a journey?

The wonderful thing about art, it tells whatever story that is spoken to the individual viewers heart.  Often those stories are meant for your eyes only.

I suspect we each see and hear a different story here. 



Conjoined Twins Design ~ July Birthstone

The colors in Morgan's artwork are powerful and vibrant, very much like the women represented in her paintings. 

I also love all of the details in her work.  Just look at this dress.  The intricate pattern of the material is remarkable.  Clearly, the artist gave attention to the smallest of details.  There is even a tassel on the throw pillow. Wow! 

The July Birthstone beauty seems to have a certain frailty in her appearance, but don't be fooled.  I believe the look in her eyes reviews the inward tiger.  

I almost feel like I have known this lady personally.


Conjoined Twins Designs ~ March Birthstone
I am captivated by the beauty of this painting and swept away by the grace emanating from the March Birthstone print.


There is elegance and serenity in her countenance, but a sense of freedom and self assurance.

After hours of considering these prints, I have found that it is truly impossible to choose a favorite.  

They each have a place, a story.  They each speak to me in very definite ways, but all with the same message:  I am content with who I am.  

I also think they reveal the artist's heart.





View Morgan's Complete Birthstone Series prints on Etsy:  Conjoined Twins Designs Store

 



Article and CYF Photos by ©Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.