Showing posts with label Christmas. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Christmas. Show all posts

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Holiday Gift Wrap Bundle Set Reviewed

Coordinated Packages Under The Tree

holiday gift wrap
Holiday Wrap For pretty gifting (image courtesy of pixabay.com)
Before you know it, the time for making sure we have enough supplies for our holiday gift wrapping will be upon us. I don't know about you but I like to have a nice variety of papers on hand but I also like for the packages to have a coordinated look to them. 

I found a nice bundle set to get for my gifts this year and I thought that I would share my discovery with you today. The set comes with three rolls of wrapping paper which have a design on both sides, gift tags and ribbon. I love that they are all color coordinated. The set that I plan to get is in reds and golds but there is an option to choose different color sets if the red and gold does not appeal to you. Our tree is predominately red and gold so this set will look really nice under our tree this year. 

Did you know that red and gold are very traditional colors for the Christmas holiday? Red is often used to represent the blood of Christ when he died on the cross but also the bishops robes were often red and later St. Nicholas and Santa Claus wore red. Gold represents one of the gifts brought to the Christ child and is also used to show the star over Bethlehem. 

Often times in the past I have purchased gift wrap and then tried to find tags and ribbon that would work well but that can be a real pain in the backside. Finding a set that is already matched will make my job so much easier this year. I know that most likely no one will even notice that everything is wrapped in a coordinated color scheme but I will know. Maybe it won't register with the family at all and that is just fine. It might be one of those subtle things that they know they liked it but can't put their finger on why. 

How about you? Do you like for all of your gifts to coordinate or do you just try to use up the paper you have on hand before purchasing new paper, ribbon, and gift tags? 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, October 20, 2018

Christmas Candles - A Great Gift Idea or Not?

Christmas Candles - great gift idea or not
I wanted to review a few candle gift ideas for Christmas as I always thought that candles made great gifts at Christmas time.  In fact in my mind candles and Christmas are synonymous with each other, but I wasn't sure why.

I decided to google why we always think of a Christmas candle (just in case it was just me!) and found that there's a lot of debate over whether or not candles make a great gift idea or not.   Apparently a lot of people think you shouldn't give candles at Christmas time - what do you think?  I'd love to hear your thoughts below.

I have always enjoyed being given a candle and I have thought of giving a candle many times although until this year I haven't actually done so before.

Why Christmas Candles


>Apparently candles were used way before we even celebrated Christmas.   During the ancient winter solstice celebrations candles were lit as a way of remembering that spring would soon come.

The earliest records of candles being used at Christmas apparently dates back to the middle ages where a large candle was used to represent the star of Bethlehem.

I think the reason that I think of candles and Christmas together is because many cultures put a candle in the window at Christmas time combined with images of the first Christmas trees with candles on them.

The most well known origin of lighting a candle in the window for Christmas is the catholic Irish tradition - this dates back to the 17th century at a time when the catholic religion was being suppressed in Ireland under British rule. The family would put a candle in the window to signal any passing priests that they were welcome, the authorities were told that the candles were to welcome Mary and Joseph into their homes - this was believed to have been an Irish superstition and worked.

Since this time the custom has spread and is said to be a sign of welcome for anyone who may be passing so that they could share whatever the family had for Christmas as no one should go without at this time of the year.

I have also heard that the lighting of a candle in the window is to represent family or people who are close to the family that cannot be there for the celebrations either because they're serving their country overseas or even because they've passed away.

Fragrant Candles

There are so many lovely 'smelly candles' as my daughter calls them, available as a gift that it's hard to know what to give someone. My favorite one this year is the Spiced Vanilla Chai candle. This is a slow and clean burning, hand-poured coconut wax blend candle that smells divine.



Another popular fragrant candle to give is one from the Yankee candles range.

Unfortunately not everyone likes the same fragrances so this isn't a gift that you can give just anyone!

Decorative Candles

Decorative candles are totally different and are a great gift idea whether you choose to give the shorter, fatter candles or the taper candles, these can be gorgeous. A lot of decorative Christmas candles also come with their own holders which are really good.

I used to use candles a lot, but I must admit that since becoming a mum I have been more aware of the dangers of an open flame which is why I love the different LED lit decorative candles that are available. I think these are definitely the best holiday candles if you don't know whether someone likes fragrant candles or not.




This is my favorite LED candle design for Christmas - I love the Robin Redbreast, but there are lots more to choose from if you prefer other styles of candles from personalized photos to peppermint stripes, vintage designs or more - Christmas LED Candles.

Do You Use Christmas Candles & Which is Your Favorite?


Do you have a tradition of Christmas candles and do you like the idea of a candle with a flame (with fragrance of not) or one of the LED lit candles.  I would love to know.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

The Man Who Invented Christmas Review

Movie About Charles Dickens

Christmas Carol Illustration
One might think that a review of the movie The Man Who Invented Christmas would be about the Christmas holiday, but one would be incorrect in their assumption. Certainly Christmas plays a part in the story, but it really isn't the main gist of this wonderful movie that I am about to recommend that you watch. 

I hazard to guess that if you have not read the book A Christmas Carol; you have at least seen one of the many movie renditions of the the tale by Charles Dickens. The story became an instant success when it was first published on December 19, 1843. It remains after 175 years to be a favorite of many adults and children a like. 

The premise of this movie is about how Charles Dickens wrote the novella, his struggles and a snippet of his life in the early years of the Victorian era. Charles was trying to cope with dwindling finances after having written three flops in a row (at least they were flops then but are not looked at that way now). In 1843, he had already had success with The Pickwick Papers and Oliver Twist. He had toured the United States and Canada; he was an international success. He needed to write something new and one that would be well received. The trouble was he did not have a clue what that story might be. 

Dan Stevens, of Downton Abbey fame, plays the young Dickens superbly! Christopher Plummer haunts Dickens as the character of Ebenezer Scrooge and Jonathan Pryce portrays the father of Charles who can be most infuriating to his son. The set designs, costume designs and cast of characters are magnificent. All of these combined make this movie a treasure to watch.

What I loved the most about this movie was how the author is portrayed in the writing process of his much needed prose. I think that anyone who has tried to write a short story, novella, novel or play can identify with the inner battle a writer has while trying to form the story in his or her head and then to transfer those ideas to paper or the keyboard. The story shows how Dickens needed to name Scrooge before he could come to life in his head and the story could begin to form. Once Scrooge was alive in his mind; Ebenezer would haunt the author in his office and around London. There were times that Dickens small office was crowded with the characters (seen only by Dickens) arguing points of the story. It is a process that I think any writer of fiction can identify with. I know my characters follow me around as I write and sometimes even wake me up telling me that I need to add something before I forget it.

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and highly recommend it to you all. Actually, I think that I want to watch it again. Oh, who am I kidding? I don't think, I know I want to watch it again. I enjoyed it that much! Now, if you will excuse me one of my characters is insisting that I re-write a scene because she says that I have made her say something that she wouldn't say. I think I just heard Scrooge shout, "Bah, Humbug!"





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, December 25, 2017

Christmas Wishes

To our readers,

We wish you peace during this holiday season.

We wish you safe travels. 

We wish you warm homes -

And hearts filled with warm experiences.

We wish you contentedness - 

And joyous times with belly laughs.

We wish you good health.

And we wish you the best gift of all - love.


Merry Christmas,


From Dawn Rae 
and the Contributors of Review This!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, December 24, 2017

T'WAS the Night Before Christmas

When all through the house, not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse

Relax and enjoy the Classic 'Twas the Night Before Christmas Cartoon' with the family tonight:



To your family from ReviewThis, ... Merry Christmas to all, and to all a goodnight. <3 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Reese's Peanut Butter Christmas Trees Review

Source: Wikipedia
We're all familiar with the popular candy Reese's Peanut Butter Cups.  It was one of the confections created by Harry Reese who began his H.B. Reese Candy Company in 1928.  

Reese originally worked at a Hershey dairy farm in Hershey, Pennsylvania. From the very beginning of his candy company he used Hershey's chocolate in his confections. Harry's Peanut Butter Cups became so popular that Reese eventually discontinued his other lines.

Reese died in 1956 and passed the company on to his six sons.  In 1963, the Reese Brothers merged the H.B. Reese Candy Company with the Hershey Chocolate Corporation and by 1969 Reese's Peanut Butter Cups became The Hershey Company's top seller.


Over the years, many variations of these Reese's Peanut Butter Cups have been produced, including different sizes and various chocolates (white, milk chocolate and dark chocolate, etc.).

Holiday editions


I work as a cashier at a retail store and candy is displayed near the cash registers. It wasn't until I noticed the manager opening the latest orders of candy boxes that I discovered that there are holiday-themed candies now on display.  


The one that caught my attention was the Reese's Peanut Butter Christmas Trees ~ Milk Chocolate and peanut butter in evergreen tree shapes.  These are available mainly in November and December for the Christmas season.

Reese's also offers miniature Reese's cups in a Christmas bell shape and a milk chocolate-covered Reese's Snowman, wrapped in a snowman foil. The peanut butter snowman is three times larger than the peanut butter tree.

After doing a bit of research, I've learned that Christmas isn't the only holiday for which Reese's makes the peanut butter cup treats in holiday shapes. Each holiday shape is available for about two months around each holiday. A partial list is shown below: 



  • Reese's Peanut Butter Hearts for Valentine's Day
  • Reese's Peanut Butter Eggs for Easter
  • Reese's Peanut Butter Pumpkins and Ghosts for Halloween
  • Reese's Peanut Butter Trees, Bells and Snowman for Christmas
Available on Amazon
The Reese's Peanut Butter Trees are perfect for stocking stuffers, and any of the Reese's shapes, including the well-known 'cups', are great for holiday snacking.

So indulge your sweet tooth with a Reese's Peanut Butter Christmas Tree treat for the holidays.




(c) Wednesday Elf


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, December 9, 2017

Fun December Review of a Few Christmas and Santa Memories

A collection of personal Christmas stories....
 

Coal in the Christmas Stocking … and Baseball Cole

Handmade Lump of Coal soap by SEAandCLEAN on Etsy
The old-fashioned custom of children who misbehave finding a lump of coal from 'Santa' in their Christmas Stocking instead of presents has many origins, mostly cultural.

In Italy gifts at Christmas began with the birth of Jesus and is where La Befana (a witch who delivers presents) instead of Santa Claus leaves toys for good children, and coal for bad ones. Today, Italians use a candy, called Carbone Dolce, (dark, rock-like candy that looks just like lumps of coal), as a joke.

In Holland, the coal legend began around the 16th century. Dutch children would put their clogs by the fireplace before stockings were used and got a lump of coal if they were bad and a small toy, cookies or candy if they were good.

Other countries have their own legends or stories to tell.

Interesting to note that in Scotland and Northern England it is considered lucky to receive a lump of coal as a gift on New Year's Day. It's part of their 'First-Footer' celebration and represents warmth for the year to come.

Being a baseball fan (and the baseball fan contributor here on Review This!), I tend to relate 'everything' to baseball.  A December 2014 headline in MLB news is what brought this whole story about.  It stated “Which Club will get Cole in its Stocking?”  The story goes on to state that there are a number of 'Cole diggers' (baseball teams) vying for  the acquisition of the Philadelphia Phillies pitcher Cole Hamels.  We didn't  know for awhile which team ended up with Cole as their new pitcher, but the Boston Red Sox seemed the most interested at that moment. (Red Sox ~ Stockings ~ Hmmm!)

*Editor's Note: Cole Hamels actually ended up with the Texas Rangers where he is today.

 
Christmas stocking Coal or Baseball pitcher Cole.  The stocking lump-of-coal seems appropriate for this time of year. Baseball is appropriate ANY time of year (to me, the baseball nut). :-)



Santa, I Can Explain...

eBay Cross Stitch Pattern
I sell craft supplies and patterns on eBay and it is always delightful to receive a note from a customer about a particular item.

I sold this cross stitch pattern shown in the photo of a cat sitting next to a tree ornament lying on the floor and the words “Santa, I can explain!” 

The buyer sent a note saying she couldn't wait to cross stitch this design as her cat takes all the stuff off the tree and hides it.  Then takes the branches and gets rid of them.  So this picture is for her cat. :-).

Personalized stories like this make my eBay selling most enjoyable and gives me such a nice feeling that something I've listed is exactly what someone wanted or fits a situation perfectly.



Handmade by Santa?

Handmade Christmas Coasters Available on Etsy

Since early childhood, we've known that Santa, with the help of his elves, makes all the Christmas toys for good little girls and boys. As we grow up, we begin to doubt that Santa Claus actually made everything by hand.

I confess I had some doubts myself, until last month when someone bought a batch of yarn I had for sale in my eBay store.  You see, the shipping address for the yarn purchase was – wait for it – NORTH POLE, AK.

I'm now totally convinced that 'Santa's Workshop' actually exists.  




Santa Humpty Dumpty

Merry Christmas, Everyone!

 


(c) A collection of stories originally written by me (Wednesday Elf) on a former online site.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, December 3, 2017

Unconventional Christmas Decor to Serve Your Inner Wackiness

You're not conventional. Everybody knows that about you. So don't disappoint them, go ahead and add these three odd-ball Christmas décor items this holiday season.

Elf Leg Covers for Your Chairs or End Tables

If your goal is hearing your guests let out a belly laugh when they see what crazy décor idea you've come up with, then Elf Leg Covers should do the trick.

The set comes with four leg covers - enough to do one chair. However, they're not expensive so budget permitting, get enough to do several chairs.

If the budget allows for only one set, then you could plan to use them on a hallway end-table or an end-table that's clearly visible in a room.

When a Full Blown Santa Suit isn't in the Cards, Greet Your
A Santa Sweatshirt for the Hostess
Guests Wearing a Santa Sweatshirt


If two of you are hosting a Christmas gathering or party, greet your guests wearing these festive borderline ugly sweaters. They don't qualify as full blown ugly because, after all, they do honor the big guy.

You won't have a problem finding your size, as they range from Small to Triple X.

This sweater is a standard pullover with a round neck and cotton liner. Also, there are two convenient pockets on the side. Double check the size chart because sometimes it's better to order a size up.

A Santa Sweatshirt also makes an excellent hostess gift. It's original, funny and best of all, useful for the season.

Decorate the Toilet - Show Off Your Goofy Side
Turn the Toilet into a Snowman

Why not? Go ahead. When else do you get to decorate the toilet? Go full-on-tacky with your washroom décor. Forget classy, go for the laugh.

This funny snowman toilet accessory is just what's needed when your guests open the washroom door to do their business - snowman eyes looking right at them. A relaxed bathroom-goer is a happy bathroom-goer.

Less tension, more smiles helps to ensure everything comes out ok.

The set comes as seen in the photo: With the mat, the toilet seat cover and the tank cover. It doesn't list washing instructions, but if it were me, after the party's over, I would wash on delicate and hang to dry.

Have fun, get silly for the season!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, December 1, 2017

Bead & Sequin Christmas Ornament Kits Review

Bead & Sequin Ornament Kits Review

Make Your Own Treasured Keepsake with Beaded Christmas Ornament Kits

Handmade beaded Christmas ornaments are a fabulous gift to give to just about anyone.  My own Christmas tree is loaded with Christmas tree ornaments that have been given to me over the years.  I have a whole collection of ornaments from my grandmother.  Since she is no longer with me, I cherish them more now than I did the day I received them.

I have keepsake ornaments that my parents gave to me and beautiful handmade beaded ornaments that my mother made for me when I was still a child.  I also have handmade ornaments from my children.  Now that they are grown, it is a walk in the past to touch the ornaments those precious little hands made.

Giving Christmas ornaments as Christmas gifts has become a family tradition in our home.  Why not make your own beaded Christmas ornaments and start a new family tradition today?


Beaded Ornament Handmade by My Mother


This is one of the ornaments that my mother made for me when I was a little girl. It is approximately 45 years old. It is one of my greatest treasures.

In my minds eye, I can still see my mom sitting at the kitchen table, placing each bead, each sequin in just the right place to make this lovely keepsake.  Year after year, this ornament finds it's special place on our tree.

Beaded Christmas Ornament Kits

 

An Ornament I Made for Our Son

I made this spider ornament for my son 22 years ago.  Each year, regardless of when I decorate our Christmas tree, I hold the little spider aside for my son to add to the tree.  To this day, our tree is not completely finished until he comes home and hangs the spider on the tree. 


Beaded Christmas Ornament Kits


I made the spider long before the internet and computers became a household "utility".  I have never gone back to write my own instructions online.

 

This Was A Gift I Made for Our Daughter

I chose to make this ornament for my daughter because her favorite color is purple.  However, there is another meaning behind the color choice.  Purple is a combination of red and blue, the warmest and coolest colors, therefore purple is considered to be the ideal color.  Thus, an ideal beaded ornament for an ideal daughter!


 Beaded Christmas Ornament Kits

 

I Made This Ornament for Each of Our Children

In addition to the ornaments I made with the individual child in mind, I have also made matching ornaments over the years for both of our children. The green carousel ornament is one that I made for both children. 

Beaded Christmas Ornament Kits

Ornament Kits or Instruction Books

I personally prefer the ornament kits because they come prepackaged with everything needed to complete a beaded ornament, except the craft glue.   However, sometimes a kit is not available in a specific color or design.  Then I pull out my trusty books and buy the supplies required separately. 

Either way, the gift of a handmade ornament is special to the recipient and will be a cherished treasure, just as the ones I have shared above, for decades to come.


Beaded Ornament Kits

Because of my on love for making beaded ornaments, I have several beaded ornament kits available in my own Ebay store.  My inventory changes often simply because they sell out and additional kits are not always available from the suppliers.

Here are a few that I currently have in stock:


RSS feeds don't always load properly. If the feed is not showing above, you can see the ornament kits available in my Ebay store by clicking here!




See More Craft Reviews at
ReviewThisCrafts.com

Where you will find some awesome Craft Reviews & Tutorials like these, and more!






Bead & Sequin Christmas Ornament Kits Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, November 27, 2017

How to Make Easy Christmas Tree Ornaments

Today I am reviewing an easy way to make beautiful Christmas tree ornaments using tri-beads. This is a great project to make with children. 

The best ornaments I've ever placed on my Christmas tree over the years were these ornaments made by my children made in school and given to me as gifts. The ornaments were special because they were made by my children. They were beautiful then because they were made by children's hands. They are beautiful still today because of the sparkling colors.

Yes, I wrote that they are beautiful still today. These ornaments are durable. I still have those ornaments from years ago. I loved these ornaments so much that I have replicated the project with the students at work. Over the years, I've sent many children home with these ornaments as gifts for their caregivers.

Now I'm sharing the step-by-step instructions how to make these incredibly simple ornaments with the children in your life. Or perhaps you want to make your own ornaments. I have to admit that sometimes I make these ornaments when I'm alone and have used them for decorations when wrapping gifts. There are many ways to enjoy these easy-to-make decorations. 

Finally, remember that the best gift you can give this season is the gift of your time and attention. Especially when you are spending time with a children. 

Materials:
plastic tri-beads 
pipe cleaners (either tinsel or chenille)
1/8" wide ribbons (optional)

Tools:
heavy-duty scissors
pliers 




Instructions:
Gather your beads and pipe cleaners. Ribbon is options (but preferred by the children).

Gather your tools. Heavy-duty scissors or wire cutters are needed to cut the pipe cleaners. And pliers to bend the wire tips are optional but highly recommended.

Be aware: Take care when cutting pipe cleaners. This project is extremely easy, with the exception of trimming the pipe cleaners. The wire is sometimes difficult to cut and the tips of the pipe cleaners are "pokey". Younger children may need to be supervised closely to ensure they don't poke or scratch themselves.


Candy Cane Ornament Instructions:


1. To make the candy cane bead ornament, knot the end of the pipe cleaner and pull the knot tight.

2. Carefully cut the end off; just below the knot. If a sharp end remains, bend it with the pliers or your fingers toward the knot, tucking it into the bulk of the knot (in order to be safe for little fingers)

3. Allow the child to slide beads onto the pipe cleaner; snugging the beads up against the knot. The tri-beads fit together beautifully and create a "round" shape. Some children like the traditional red and white candy cane stripes. Some children prefer psychedelic colors. Have fun with it.



4. Fill the pipe cleaner to the desired length; making sure to leave enough material to make a knot.( make the knot shape loosely then work to snug the knot up toward the last bead in order to hold the design together snugly).


5. Note the knot is snugged up to the last bead. Check the end for any sharp points and bend it up, out of the way, if needed (a point is visible in the photos. It is probably not unsafe to leave it, but I prefer to  bend it out of the way - just to be safe.

Finish the candy cane with a bow if desired. The ornament can be hung in the tree by the hook of the cane. Or traditional ornament hooks can be purchased and added. Occasionally, the children choose to use the ribbon for a loop at the top of the candy cane for hanging. 



Wreath Ornament Instructions:


1. Making a wreath is similar to making the candy cane except, Do Not knot either end. Thread the beads onto the pipe cleaner and gather them in the middle of the pipe cleaner.

2. Leave approximately 2" or more of empty pipe cleaner at each end. Bend the ornament into a round shape and begin to tie a know at the top (as though you are tying the first portion of a shoelace knot).

3. Pull the ends together, twisting lightly to form a single pipe cleaner from the two ends.

4. Bend the end down to form a loop; wrapping the very end around the portion of the pipe cleaner that is holding the bead. If there is a point piece remaining (as shown) use the pliers, or your fingers, to carefully wrap it more tightly around in order to hide the end.

5. Add ribbons as desired.




And with that, you have the finished products. Happy Holidays to you and yours. And remember to give the gift of your time and attention.

Note: This article was previously published elsewhere. The instructions and photographs are by the author.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Christmas Wrapping Paper Reviewed

Gift Wrap For The Holidays

Christmas image courtesy of Pixabay.com
As I write this review this morning we only have two days until it is Thanksgiving here in the United States. After the turkey and stuffing have been devoured on Thursday, my thoughts and deeds will turn to decorating for Christmas and wrapping gifts to put under the tree. 

My wrapping paper supply has dwindled down to almost nothing so I have been looking for some Christmas Wrapping paper to use this year. I often go with a theme for the paper that I use so that it looks nice under our tree. For some reason this year I am drawn to plaids. In the past I have used whimsical Santa paper or vintage patterns and even Victorian themed papers. The plaid will be something different for me and our tree.

I think that something like the image shown above will look nice under the tree this year. I particularly like that each roll is reversible which will give me the option of adding even more variety. The rolls are 30 inches wide giving plenty of area to wrap gifts. The paper set is a Hallmark product so I won't have to worry about flimsy paper that tears easily. Don't you just hate that? You are wrapping a gift and the paper rips from just brushing a corner of a box.

Another thing that I like about going with plaid gift wrapping paper this year is that it shouldn't be too difficult to find ribbon and bows to coordinate on the packages. I can see that a few of the plaid patterns have some blue in them. I can't tell you how many bows that I have stored away that are pretty shades of blue but don't normally work with Christmas wrap. Looks like this year I can use up some of those neglected little blue bows. Hooray!

So, how about you? Do you theme your gift wrapped packages under the tree or do you just use what is on hand for an eclectic look? There is no right or wrong way, it is a matter of preference I think. As much as I love giving gifts to my loved ones, the real gift that can't be wrapped is the joy of being with your family for the holidays. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, November 18, 2017

Perfect Mugs for Your Christmas Hot Chocolate

 Christmas Elements Mug
I love drinking hot chocolate while we decorate the Christmas tree and it has become a bit of a tradition in our house. I do think that if we had Christmas mugs it would make it even better though so I'm on the hunt for some cool Christmas mugs!

So let's review some festive mugs that will help make our holidays jolly and bright!

I fell in love with the featured mug a few years ago when I first saw it on the site Zazzle. I have designed a few of my own Christmas mugs on Zazzle as well and I love recommending them because I have had a Zazzle mug since 2014.

My Zazzle mug has been used constantly and still looks like new, the print hasn't faded and the inside has been easy to keep clean despite the amount of tannin that it's held!

I personally love the weight of the mug and it's a perfect feel for a festive hot chocolate.


Everyone Needs a Christmas Mug!

Even if you don't drink hot chocolate you need a Christmas mug - you can add coffee, egg nog, tea, just about anything you enjoy over the festive season.

If you don't like the Christmas Elements mug above then you might like to check out one of the Christmas mugs from my Zazzle store that features Santa himself...




I do think that this mug is pretty cute as well and you know even if you already have a Christmas mug for yourself they also make great gift ideas for people. You can add lots of things to a mug to make it a perfect gift.

Now I've already told you my favorite mug is the elements one and that's because it combines lots of things about the holidays on one mug.  I think Santa mugs are probably the most popular of the Chrismtas mugs, but if you don't like the one I've added then feel free to check out a great selection of some of the best Christmas mugs available which includes snowmen, Christmas trees, reindeer and more.

Find the perfect mug for your Christmas hot chocolate!


Let me know if you have your own Christmas mug or not and if you do is it from Zazzle or somewhere else?

Now hot to make your hot chocolate?  You can use a coffee machine - my moms coffee machine makes a great hot chocolate - or you can use this delicious homemade hot chocolate recipe.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, November 13, 2017

Reviewing Christmas Card Address Labels

Christmas card address labels by Colorful Images
Do you send Christmas cards? Do you like to add a personal touch to the cards you send? Once upon a time, I sent many Christmas cards each year. I sent them to family and friends. A stack of cards with a short hand-written message and a personalized address labels to match the cards. Over the past few years I have planned on returning to that tradition. While shopping for my own cards and labels, I decided to review the variety of Christmas and holiday address labels that can be found at Colorful Images

I have reviewed address labels by Colorful Images previously. Most recently, I shared my homestead theme labels. I have ordered address labels and other items from Colorful Images through the years and I have never been disappointed. 


Christmas and Holiday Address Labels by Colorful Images


There are 18 different categories of Christmas address labels listed. The following are just a few:

  • Angels
  • Animals and Birds
  • Christmas Trees
  • Christmas at the Beach
  • Faith and Religious
  • Poinsettia
  • Santa Claus
  • Snowflakes
  • Snowmen

There are also a variety of shapes and sizes of available address labels. I really like the new wraparound style. The 7" long address label shows the address on the front of the envelope and the remainder of the label wraps around to the back of the envelope with an extra bit of design.

Winter Wonderland Connect Wrap Diecut address labels

Some of the address labels are foil labels. There are single-color foil labels and labels with a design that includes some foil accents. Christmas is a great time to add some foil for that shine and sparkle. 

Whether you prefer the original-sized small address labels, the over-sized large labels, square, or round labels I am confident that you will find something in the Colorful Images collection that suits you and shows your style. If you are like me, you'll have difficulty narrowing down your selections to just one or two!

address labels by Colorful Images




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, October 29, 2017

Three Affordable Holiday Accessories to Deck Out Your Christmas Dinner Table

Get Set of 8 Santa Hat Chair Covers Here
Get a jump on the Christmas Holiday season by having all the little things addressed early.

Too often we leave those small decorative items we've always wanted until the last minute then think, 'nah', maybe next year.

Don't do that this year. Life is short.

Christmas Chair Covers

Chair covers make a lovely addition to a Christmas table setting; when you're aiming for a red-green table setting, they complete the festive look and feel.

They're not a one trick pony: Chair covers can also be used for home Christmas parties or even holiday birthdays.

Featured in the photo are a set of 8 Santa Claus Hat Chair Covers. You'll be surprised by how affordable they are. Get a jump on your holiday plans. Generally you'll want to allow 3 to 7 days for order processing and 2 to 8 days for shipping. Start today and you'll have plenty of time.

Christmas Silverware Stockings
Stocking Stuffed for Dinner Display - Get them Here


Imagine each place setting graced with a funky Christmas stocking stuffed with silverware.

When you visit the link on the featured photo you'll see that two stocking sets are included. They indicate that a knife and fork and stocking come with each one. Although the photo does show a spoon, the description doesn't mention one.

Also, you can easily DIY this idea. Simply use a small stocking from other décor items you've collected, or make them. Place your silverware inside and you're done.

Use this idea to hold dinner cutlery for buffets. Place your silverware inside and tie a Christmas ribbon around it if the stocking is too loose to keep it held in place. Display them on your buffet to enhance your holiday presentation.

Wine Bottle Sleeves Here
Holiday Wine Bottle Cover Decorations

Accessorize the table with these funky Santa and Snowman wine bottle sleeves. Place them anywhere the wine is on display. Use them and re-use them as need be during the holiday season; they'll add whimsy to your holiday party.

Give them out as a Hostess or holiday gifts. When bagging or wrapping a bottle of wine isn't your thing, these decorations do the job.

If you're hosting a non-alcoholic dinner, place these around other bottles on the table, and when dinner is done, hand them out to the kids.

Theses type of accessories serve multiple purposes. Collect a variety of whimsical decorations so they're handy for additional table décor, or to have available as occasional gifts to hand out during the holidays.

Note that when you visit the link under the photo, additional information will be provided, including the price. These wine bottle sleeves don't come as a pair, you'll have to order each separately.

Get planning, the Holidays are around the corner - beat the rush this year!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.