Showing posts with label Recipes. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Recipes. Show all posts

Friday, June 21, 2024

Pork Chops & Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Review

pork chop casserole
Pork chops are among my favorite meats for dinner.  They are almost always what I order when we eat out, even when we go to a steak house.  

At home, I have several ways I prepare pork chops.  Of course, we grill them and I fry breakfast chops.  I also have a pork chop casserole that I have been preparing for my family for over 30 years.  I found it in a cookbook I borrowed from a friend.  I returned the cookbook long ago, but I copied down this recipe, tweaked it slightly, and now it is a much loved recipe in our home.  I prepare it at least once a month.  It is easy to assemble and is ready to serve in about 90 minutes.

The original recipe called for bone-in pork chops.  I don't like having bones hiding in a casserole, so I use boneless pork chops.  

 


Pork Chop & Wild Rice Casserole Recipe
By Sylvestermouse on Review This Reviews

Ingredients 

pork chop casserole

 

Instructions 

  1.  Grease 13 x 9 x 2 casserole dish with butter 
  2.  Combine rice, seasoning packet in rice, 2T melted butter, and hot water 
  3.  Pour the mixture into the casserole dish (make sure rice is evenly spread across bottom) 
  4.  Sprinkle pork chops with pepper. Lay the chops on rice mixture 
  5.  Place a pat of butter on each chop 
  6.  Cover and bake at 350° for 1 hour 
  7.  Uncover casserole – in a small bowl, combine milk and cream of celery soup together and pour over casserole 
  8.  Bake uncovered for 15 minutes 



Cooking Time Note:  The cooking time is based on thin or medium sized boneless pork chops.  Because oven temperatures can vary and because chop thickness affects cooking time, I recommend cutting into one of the chops to make sure it is fully cooked before you add the soup & milk mixture.



Check Out More Recipe Reviews at
ReviewThisRecipes.com





Pork Chops & Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





© 2024 Cynthia Sylvestermouse
 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, June 3, 2024

4 Ingredient Beefy Mushroom Roast - EASY Slow Cooker Meal

By the time I have worked an entire day outside of the home, cooking dinner is the last thing on my mind. I am always looking for easy, tasty, and economical meal ideas. This beefy mushroom roast couldn't be easier or more delicious. 

photo of soup, vegetables, beef and an onion


I am a household of one. So it is easy to make large and inexpensive meals. Rice and Pasta dishes are economical and fairly easy to make. If I make a large pot of either of those two meals, I also have an expensive lunch for the next day at work. I like avoiding the expensive (and often calorie-laden) fast food meals that I would resort to if I didn't make these meals for dinner and left-over lunches.

But sometimes I crave a different flavors from the pasta and rice routine. Unfortunately, I require easy meals and that often limits the variety flavors. This is why I was thrilled when I stumbled onto this four (or three if you don't like onions) ingredient recipe that is perfect for a slow cooker.

Beefy Mushroom Roast

One day at the grocery, I just happened to notice the cans of Campbell's Beefy Mushroom soup (condensed). I had been craving a beefy mushroom and rice menu item from a favorite Chinese restaurant in a neighborhood where I previously lived but I don't have access to that now that I'm living in a very rural area. I decided to try this soup with a beef roast to try to take care of the beef and mushroom craving. And I'm so glad I did!

Ingredients:

1 can of Beefy Mushroom soup (10.5 oz)

1 small onion (sliced or chopped)

1 small bag of frozen "soup" vegetables (16 oz)

1 beef roast  (2 - 3 lbs)

Preparation:

  • slice (or chop) the onions and place them in the bottom of the slow-cooker
  • place the beef roast on top of the onions.
  • pour the can of beefy mushroom soup on top of the roast
  • set the slow-cooker on "low" (I use this setting because I'll be at work during the day. You could use a high setting and have the meal in half the time)
  • approximately 30-60 minutes prior to serving, add the bag of frozen vegetables in the slow-cooker. Turn the setting to high and cook until they are heated. Stir.
  • serve
  • Freeze or refrigerate leftovers for additional meals

Leftover Beefy Mushroom Roast

I have discovered that I usually end up with a large amount of leftovers with this meal. I often separate it into single serving (freezer) containers, pop them into the freezer, and I can use them for furture meals whenever the mood hits. 

I have made mashed potatoes the next day and spooned some of the Beefy Mushroom Roast leftover mix onto the mashed potatoes. 

I recently discovered the Bisquick "Impossible" Pie recipes. I most often make a chicken-pot-pie meal using the Bisquick recipe. It just requires some filling, pouring a Biquick/milk mix over the top, and baking until heated through and brown on top. It didn't take long for me to realize that the Beefy Mushoom Roast is a perfect filling for the Bisquick Impossible Pie recipes. And so quick and easy to make when using the leftover roast for the filling.

Additional Seasonings?

I am not good in the kitchen. And when I try to venture from exact recipes or be creative with additional herbs, I often end up with flavors that clash. So I haven't added any additional seasonings to my Beefy Mushroom Roast meal.  I occasionally wonder about adding Herbes de Provence, since I am fairly new to that herb mix and have discovered how much I like it in venison stews. But frankly, the onion and condensed beef mushroom soup seem to add sufficient salt and flavors to this easy slow cooker meal. 

There are a variety of frozen mixed vegetables to try. Mixes that include okra, spinach, or potatoes.  All of those have been good but I have preferred the mix with green beans. 

There is a creamy beef mushroom soup option that I have thought about trying but this roast is so good as it is that I haven't attempted to make that particular substitution yet.

Related Links: 

This Beefy Mushroom Roast is a delicious filling for the Bisquick Impossible Pies. I usually use a chicken-pot-pie type of filling but the beef roast is an amazing way to use leftovers with an additional flavor. 

My blog post after learning about Herbes de Provence for stews and  how wonderful those herbs are in a venison stew. 

Do you have a craving for less beef and more veggies? The 4 Ingredient Baby Lima Bean Soup recipe is another of my favorites




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, May 22, 2024

The Best Low Carb, High Protein, Gluten-Free Pasta

Kaizen Low Carb Pasta made with lupin flour is a health-conscious alternative to traditional pasta made with wheat flour and semolina. It is the best pasta I have found for those of us who follow a low-carb diet, such as keto enthusiasts, diabetics, or anyone looking to reduce their carbohydrate intake. It is also a great option for people who follow a gluten-free diet.

This product review will cover Kaizen pasta’s taste, texture, nutritional value, preparation, and overall value. As a bonus, I will also share a simple recipe I developed that uses Kaizen fusilli.

Kaizen low carb, high protein, gluten-free pasta

Taste and Texture

One of the most critical aspects of any pasta product is its taste and texture. Kaizen low carb pasta aims to mimic the familiar experience of traditional pasta, and it does a commendable job.

Taste

The pasta has a mild, slightly nutty flavor that pairs well with a variety of sauces. It reminds me of chickpea pasta. 

While it doesn't have the same taste as pasta made from wheat flour and semolina, it is quite enjoyable when combined with robust sauces like marinara or Alfredo. 

Texture

The texture is pleasantly firm, though slightly different from traditional pasta. It is a bit chewier, which can take some getting used to, but it holds up well in both hot and cold dishes. 

Nutritional Value

Kaizen low carb pasta shines in its nutritional profile, making it an attractive option for health-conscious consumers.

Low in Carbohydrates

This pasta is significantly lower in carbs compared to regular pasta, making it suitable for low-carb and keto diets. Each serving contains only 6 grams of net carbs, depending on the specific variety. 

The company has also come out with an even lower-carb pasta line, which I have ordered and will review after I have tried it.

High in Protein

With 20 grams of protein per serving, this pasta helps in meeting daily protein requirements, which is beneficial for muscle maintenance and overall health. 

High in Fiber

The pasta has 15 grams of dietary fiber per serving, contributing to better digestive health and helping to keep you full for longer.

Gluten-Free

Kaizen pasta has been reformulated with a gluten-free recipe, so more people can enjoy it.

No Artificial Ingredients

Kaizen prides itself on using natural ingredients, which is a big plus for those avoiding artificial additives and preservatives. 

Preparation

Preparing Kaizen Low Carb Pasta is straightforward and similar to traditional pasta. Just bring a large pot of salted water to a boil, cook the pasta for about 5–6 minutes (to the desired texture), drain, and use as desired, with a sauce or in recipes. 

Although the texture is different than traditional pasta made from wheat and semolina flours and cannot be cooked al dente, it's crucial to monitor the pasta closely to avoid overcooking so it does not become mushy.

Versatility

Kaizen Low Carb Pasta is versatile and, at the time of this post's publication, is available in four shapes: Fusilli, ziti, radiatore, and cavatappi. This makes it suitable for a variety of dishes.

It works well in classic hot pasta dishes like spaghetti Bolognese, carbonara, lasagna, and baked casseroles.

I used it to make a low-carb, high-protein, high-fiber version of a traditional Jewish sweet noodle kugel (a sweet egg, cottage cheese, and noodle casserole) and it was absolutely delicious!

It also holds up well in cold pasta salads, providing a hearty base for a variety of fresh ingredients. 

Overall Value

Considering its health benefits, Kaizen low carb pasta offers good value for money. Although it is more expensive than conventional pasta made with wheat flour and semolina, the added nutritional benefits will justify the higher price point for many consumers.

It's particularly valuable for those who need to manage their carbohydrate intake, follow a gluten-free diet, or want a higher protein alternative to standard pasta.

Kaizen low carb pasta is an excellent product for anyone seeking a healthier alternative to traditional pasta without compromising on taste and texture. Its high protein and fiber content, combined with its low carbohydrate profile, make it a standout option for low-carb dieters and health-conscious individuals. While it may require a slight adjustment in cooking and texture expectations, its versatility and nutritional benefits make it a worthwhile addition to your pantry.


Low Carb Fusilli With Pork and Mushroom Ragu

I whip up this delicious, low carb pasta dish often because it's quick and easy to make and my husband and I both enjoy it.

I usually serve it with a side salad and, sometimes, with garlic bread made with Hero bread (expensive but 0 net carbs and exceptional taste and texture for a keto-friendly bread).

I hope you and your family enjoy it.

Buon appetito!

Servings: 4

Ingredients

Boiling water

Salt

1 pound ground pork

8 oz. portabello mushrooms

1/4 cup wine (red is traditional but white is good, too)

Chopped fresh or dried Italian herbs (optional)

15.5 oz. jar Rao's Homemade Marinara sauce

8 oz. box Kaizen Fusilli low carb pasta

Freshly grated Parmigiano-Romano cheese

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil while you make the pork and mushroom ragu (meat sauce).
  2. In a large nonstick skillet, crumble and lightly brown the ground pork over medium-high heat.
  3. Slice the mushrooms and add them to the browned pork. Stir occasionally until the mushrooms are soft.
  4. Stir in the wine and the optional seasonings and cook until the wine is reduced by about half.
  5. Stir in the marinara sauce and turn the heat to a low simmer.
  6. Stir the fusilli into the boiling salted water (some foaming is normal) and boil for 5 minutes.
  7. Drain and stir the cooked pasta into the pork and mushroom ragu. Turn the heat down to low and let the pasta "marry" with the sauce for 3 to 5 minutes.
  8. Divide into four portions and grate some Parmigiano-Romano cheese over the top just before serving.


The Best Low Carb, High Protein, Gluten-Free Pasta by Margaret Schindel


Read More Low Carb & Keto Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Recipes by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Health Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, May 16, 2024

Garlic Butter Noodles with Mushrooms

 This is one of my absolute favorite pasta dishes. Garlic butter noodles with mushrooms are so easy to make and you can have them on the table in 30 minutes or less.

Garlic Butter Noodles with Mushrooms
Garlic Butter Noodles with Mushrooms - Recipe Reviewed

When looking for something quick, tasty, and easy to make this is one of our go-to meals. The butter garlic flavor really stands out. If you like mushrooms as I do, and pasta this is a perfect combination. The recipe below is enough for two people. If you're serving a crowd just add to it accordingly.

Ingredients: 

  • 12 oz. sliced mushrooms (washed and pat dry)
  • 4 tablespoons butter (2 for the mushrooms and 2 for the noodles)
  • 3 cloves of garlic finely chopped
  • 1/2 bag of noodles (or your favorite pasts)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon chopped parsley or basil for garnish (optional)

Directions:

  1. Begin cooking the mushrooms in a skillet over medium to high heat.
  2. Stir and turn the mushrooms until you see moisture in the pan.
  3. Add 2 tablespoons of butter and chopped garlic and continue to stir and turn until the mushrooms are golden brown.
  4. Lower the heat to simmer and cook your noodles.
  5. Drain the cooked noodles and return them to the pot or a bowl, add the other 2 tablespoons of butter and stir.
  6. Pour the cooked mushrooms over the noodles and stir. Add the garnish and serve.

Mushrooms and noodles

I always begin cooking my mushrooms in a dry pan first over medium to high heat. Mushrooms contain a lot of water, and this method allows the liquids to slowly evaporate and the mushrooms to caramelize. 

You will also want a skillet large enough so the mushrooms are not piled high on top of each other. After they burn off some of their liquids and turn golden brown it is time to add the butter and any seasoning you're using.

This is such a versatile meal, you can use whatever pasta you like instead of noodles. You can also season the mushrooms with your favorite seasonings or add a little lemon juice to the mushrooms as they are cooking.

Find more recipes on ReviewThis here:

Find more of my recipes here:

Lodge BOLD 12 Inch Seasoned Cast Iron Skillet, Design-Forward Cookware,BlackLodge BOLD 12 Inch Seasoned Cast Iron Skillet, Design-Forward Cookware, BlackCheck the Price

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, April 23, 2024

A Review of Low Calorie Cheesy Vegetable Chowder

 


cheesy vegetable chowder

I have always been a huge fan of chowder.  I don't really care what kind, it can be clam chowder, potato chowder, or vegetable chowder, they are all delicious to me.  My nephew, who went to the Culinary Institute of New York, can dish up some of the finest clam chowder I have ever had, it is really to die for!  However, the calorie count on this wonderful chowder was enough to give me a heart attack.  I would estimate probably between 350 to 400 per cup!

I often thought to myself that their had to be a lower calorie way to make good chowder.  So I did some research on the internet.  There are literally thousands of recipes on the internet for all kinds of chowder.  Low cal chowder, not so much.  There are some, so I did some comparisons.  I found that vegetable chowder is usually less calories that those containing meat or fish.  I don't mind skipping the meat, so I decided to try a compilation of my own making for vegetable chowder.

I had to make it a few times to adjust the ingredients.  At first the base was just too thin, more like soup than an actual chowder.  I was at a loss as to how to correct this problem without causing the calorie count to skyrocket by adding heavy cream. I was stumped for a while.  Then one day I was grocery shopping, looking for some cheese when I saw a bag of finely shredded reduced calorie cheese.  I think a visible light bulb went off over my head, right there in the store.  I could melt some of this cheese in my veggie chowder and thicken it and also add some more flavor!  I made some the very next day and put about half the 8 ounce bag in the pot and stirred it slowly.


cheesy vegetable chowder

Ingredients:

2 cups reduced fat chicken broth

1 cup sliced carrots

1/2 cup chopped celery

1/2 cup chopped bell peppers

1/2 cup chopped onions

2 cups skim milk

3 Tablespoons flour

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon dried parsley flakes 

pinch of black pepper

4 ounces reduced fat cheddar cheese


Vegetables for Chowder



Directions:

In a medium saucepan, combine chicken broth, carrots, celery, pepper and onions.

Bring to a boil and then reduce heat and simmer until vegetables are tender.

in a covered jar combine skim milk and flour and shake well.

Pour into broth and veggies and stir gently to mix.

Add parsley flakes garlic powder and black pepper and then slowly add the shredded cheese.

Stir slowly and let thicken.

Remove from heat and spoon into bowls with a sprinkle of cheese on top. 


Only 160 calories and 4 grams of fat.


The result of the addition of cheese was a creamy, delicious chowder with medium thick consistency and mouth watering vegetables.  Toss in a few croutons and you don't even need crackers, and all for fewer calories than most protein bars. If you need to add meat, try ham cubes, bacon, or pulled chicken. All of them would be a yummy addition!  






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, April 20, 2024

Reviewing Bob's Top-of-the-Stove Baked Beans Recipe

Image of a serving of baked beans on a plate
The original oven baked beans of our childhoods were always SO good; cooked with lots of bacon and sweet molasses. Only problem is, they take a long time to prepare and cook. 


As our children were growing up, we did a lot of camping, and cooked on a Coleman Stove and the camp's grill. We always enjoyed having baked beans with our grilled hamburgers and hot dogs. But, without an oven, and having a time constraint out in the campgrounds, oven baked beans was not an option. Therefore, my hubby, Bob, came up with his own version of camper baked beans, which he named Bob's Top-of-the-Stove baked beans.


After our children grew up, they began to make this recipe both in camp and at home. Quite quick to prepare and always tasty, it has become a standard favorite in our family. 


Bob's Top-of-the-Stove Baked Beans Recipe


Ingredients

A selection of ingredients for a baked bean recipe

Serves 4


1 can pork & beans (we usually use Van Camp's). 

Several slices of bacon*

½ to 1 diced onion*

Mustard to taste

Ketchup to taste

1 tablespoon dill pickle juice

Brown Sugar to taste

Salt & Pepper


Instructions:


Slicing and chopping bacon and onion

  • Cut up bacon slices into one or two inch squares. Chop the onion.


Sauteing bacon and onion

  • Begin by sauteing the bacon and onion together. When done to your preference, pour off excess bacon grease (leaving a small bit for flavor).


Baked Beans recipe cooking


  • Add the can of Pork & Beans. 


  • Add all the other ingredients.


  • Simmer for 15-20 minutes to heat through and blend all the ingredients. 


  • As the beans simmer, add more ketchup and/or brown sugar to your tasting preference. This is an extremely variable recipe, so exact amounts are not given in the ingredients. Personally, I prefer lots of ketchup and enough brown sugar for that 'sweet' taste. Taste and adjust amounts to your own satisfaction as the beans simmer.


NOTE: We always used a Corning Ware pan (as shown in the accompanying pictures), so everything can be cooked in one pan. Otherwise, you might wish to saute the bacon and onion in a frying pan, then add them and the other ingredients together in a sauce pan. 


*Explanation for the *starred items in the recipe: the number of bacon strips and the amount of onion used are negotiable! Personally, we like LOTS of bacon and plenty of onion. Adjust each to your own personal preference. 


Summary


Baked Beans

Bob's Top-of-the-Stove Baked Beans Recipe is easy & quick, and definitely delicious. And it's one of those recipes that works equally as well cooked on the stove-top in your kitchen or on a camp stove at a campsite. 


It is most definitely a favorite in our family.


*All images are the personal photos of (c) Wednesday Elf


*Bob's Top-of-the-Stove Baked Beans Recipe is brought to you by Wednesday Elf




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, April 5, 2024

Lemon Mini Muffin Cakes Recipe Reviewed

lemon mini muffins
A few weeks ago, my mom came to our home with a special treat for my family.  Lemon flavored anything is always my favorite.  These little mini muffin lemon cakes were fabulous!  

They were so good, I seriously could not make myself stop eating them.  I finally stuck them in the microwave so they would be "out of sight, out of mind".  However, the little mouse in me kept sneaking back for crumbs and tiny bites.

I don't have pictures of the making process because I was not with my mother when she baked them, but she did agree to let me share and review her recipe. Based on what she told me, this recipe is so easy, more pictures are not really needed.

They would be perfect for a party snack, dessert, breakfast, or perhaps all three if they can last all day in your home. Here, they only survived for one day before they were all gone. We had to guess at how many mini muffins this recipe made and decided it was approximately 48 mini muffins (2 batches when using the featured mini muffin pan below). If you should make them, please count them BEFORE you start eating or sharing them and return here to tell us how many muffins this recipe makes.


Delicious Lemon Mini Muffin Cakes & Glaze Recipe

    Mini Cakes Ingredients

  • 1 Box of Yellow Cake Mix
  • 3.4 oz box of Instant Lemon Pudding 
  • 4 Eggs
  • 3/4 Cup Vegetable Oil

     

    Glaze Ingredients 

  • 4 Cups sifted Powdered Sugar 
  • 1/3 Cup Lemon Juice   (Real Lemon can be used)
  • 3 Tablespoons Vegetable Oil
  • 3 Tablespoons Water
  • Grated Lemon Zest from 1 lemon, if desired

 

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350
  2.  Spray mini muffin pan with non-stick spray
  3.  In a large bowl, combine all mini cake ingredients and mix (with mixer) for 2 minutes  
  4.  Spoon 1 Tablespoon of mix into each mini muffin cup
  5.  Bake for 12 minutes
  6.  In a medium bowl, mix together all of the glaze ingredients
  7.  Prepare a drip tray by lining a cookie tray with wax paper and place a wire rack on the tray
  8.  Turn the muffins out of the muffin pan
  9.  Dip each muffin in the glaze, covering mini muffin as much as possible
  10.  Place the dipped muffin on the prepared "drip" tray




Check Out More Recipe Reviews at
ReviewThisRecipes.com





Lemon Mini Muffin Cakes Recipe Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





© 2024 Cynthia Sylvestermouse
 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, March 8, 2024

How to Bake a Delicious Turkey Breast Reviewed

Baked Turkey Breast
I've been baking whole turkeys for many years, but I don't remember ever baking just a turkey breast until recently. 

My husband loves turkey.  I bake them a few times each year during the holidays, but even with our large family gathered for the holidays, there is still turkey meat left over.  This thrills my husband because he makes turkey sandwiches with the leftovers for a few days after I bake a whole turkey for a family dinner. 

The problem has always been that once New Year's has passed, it would normally be 11 months before a turkey would grace our dinner table again.  When our local grocery store had frozen turkey breasts on sale, I decided to bake just the breast for my husband to make our beloved sandwiches.  

What a great decision!


How to Bake a Turkey Breast

Baking a delicious turkey breast is easy!  I decided to bake the turkey breast exactly the same way I bake a whole turkey.  My mother taught me decades ago how to bake a tender turkey in a Reynold's oven bag.  

Year after year, diners praise my turkey for being tender, moist and delicious.  I have never minded sharing my secret for baking a delicious turkey and now I will share how I used the same method to bake a fabulous turkey breast.

Be sure to thaw the turkey breast in the refrigerator for 2 or 3 days before you want to cook it. Because turkey packaging tends to leak, you will want to put a tray under it and/or put it in a disposable grocery bag to keep from making a mess in the refrigerator.


supplies to bake a turkey breast

Supplies 

  • Thawed Turkey Breast 
  • Reynolds Oven Bag (Turkey Size) 
  • 1 Tbsp Flour 
  • 1/4 Cup of Butter (softened) 
  • Pepper 
  • Deep Roasting Pan

  Instructions 

Step 1:  Preheat the Oven to 350° 

Step 2:  Toss 1 Tbsp flour inside the Reynolds Oven Bag

Step 3:  Hold the mouth of the bag closed and shake the bag to cover sides & top with flour

Step 4:  Put the floured bag in a 2″ deep, heavy duty roasting pan with it opened wide to make it easy to insert the turkey breast later

Step 5:  Wash the turkey completely, inside and out and remove any ice packets inside the turkey

Step 6:  Pat dry the outside of the turkey with paper towels 

Step 7:  Carefully place the turkey inside the floured bag, leaving the bag open wide

Step 8:  Rub the entire outside of the turkey with *softened butter

Step 9:  Cut the remaining butter into pieces and place the pats on top and inside of the turkey breast.

Step 10:  Pepper the outside of the turkey

Step 11:  Close and secure the bag with a nylon tie that is included with the Reynolds Oven Bags

Step 12:  Cut six 1/2″ slits in the top of the bag to allow steam to escape while cooking

Step 13:  Tuck the ends of the bag inside the roasting pan

Step 14:  Place the pan in the oven. Be sure to allow plenty of room for the bag to expand during cooking without touching the sides, racks, heating elements, etc. of the oven. 

Step 15:  Bake according to chart in the Reynolds Oven bag. An 8 lb. turkey breast will take 2 1/2 - 3 hrs 

 

*Softened butter - You can leave the butter on the counter for an hour before you need it or you can microwave it on defrost for 15 - 20 seconds to soften it  


Process in Pictures

turkey breast preparationWashed, Dried, Buttered, Peppered, Prepared & Ready to Close Bag

turkey breast in the bagIn the Bag, Bag Tie Secure,  & All Bag Sides Tucked Inside Pan

turkey breast in the ovenIn the Oven - Back, Sides & Top Clear


Baked Turkey Breast
Baked & Out of the Oven

At this point, you will need to let the turkey breast cool for 15 - 30 minutes.  Then, remove it from the bag, carve & serve.

According to my husband, there has never been a more delicious baked turkey breast!

 

 

My Preferred Supplies Are Available on Amazon



Check Out More Recipe Reviews at
ReviewThisRecipes.com





How to Bake a Delicious Turkey Breast Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





© 2024 Cynthia Sylvestermouse
 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X