Showing posts with label Sports. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Sports. Show all posts

Saturday, August 4, 2018

Baseball and the Star-Spangled Banner

Baseball Sports Decor Wall Hanging
Reviewing how the Star-Spangled Banner became associated with sports. 

September 14, 2014, marked the 200th anniversary of the “Star-Spangled Banner”.  

It originally was a poem called "Defence of Fort M'Henry" written by Francis Scott Key 0n 9-14-1814 after witnessing the bombardment of Fort McHenry during the War of 1812. Key was inspired by the American victory and by seeing the American flag flying over the fort.  The poem was later set to music and published under the name “The Star- Spangled Banner”.

The song gained popularity throughout the 1800s and was played by bands during public events.  On July 27, 1889, Secretary of the Navy Benjamin Tracy made it the official tune to be played at the raising of the flag. 

In 1916, President Woodrow Wilson ordered that "The Star-Spangled Banner" be played at military and other appropriate occasions. 

And on March 3,1931 President Herbert Hoover signed a law officially adopting “The Star-Spangled Banner” as America's National Anthem.


How Did Our National Anthem Become Associated with Sports?



The National Anthem
So, how did the song become associated with baseball?  It happened during the 1918 World Series between the Chicago Cubs and the Boston Red Sox.  A band had been hired by the Red Sox owner for each game in the World Series and, as a tribute to enlisted players and other soldiers in Europe during WWI, they played “The Star-Spangled Banner” during the seventh inning stretch.  The song was many years away from becoming our national anthem, but players still stood at attention and saluted the flag during the performance.  Servicemen in the crowd found themselves cheering and everyone burst into applause at the end of the song.  

Near the end of that World Series, the tune was played before the first pitch at Fenway Park and it was the beginning of a tradition that became a baseball game standard during World War II.  Eventually the playing of the American National Anthem became a custom adopted by other American sports and continues to this day.

This reminds me of that oldest of baseball jokes: "What are the last two words of the national anthem? Play ball!" 

Baseball American Flag Toddler Shirt on Etsy




(c) Wednesday Elf, the Review This! Baseball Contributor





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, March 31, 2018

Baseball Facts & Favorite Moments Review

Image Source: Pixabay
Hello once again from the Baseball Contributor here on Review This!  It's Springtime, which means the thoughts of baseball fans everywhere turn to the start of the new MLB season.

Anyone who knows me knows that I LOVE baseball. It consumes my time from Opening Day to the last moment of the final game of the World Series every year.  During the season, the first thing I do every morning is check the baseball listings on TV ~ then plan my day around the times the game(s) are broadcast. I am a died-in-the-wool FANatic, and proud of it. 

In the winter I 'pine' for baseball season and spend my free time reading baseball books and watching baseball movies

My very favorite quote is by Bill Veeck:

There are only two seasons – winter and BASEBALL

Therefore, as we enjoy Opening Day and all the baseball games this year, I'll share some baseball moments and a few baseball facts to get you in the mood for the Major League Baseball season and any Minor League games you might be fortunate enough to be able to attend.


Baseball Honors Number 42 on Jackie Robinson Day


Jackie Robinson (Wikimedia)
April 15th is known as 'Jackie Robinson Day' throughout baseball, celebrating the life of Jackie Robinson and the retiring of his number 42. April 15, 1947 was the date of his MLB debut for the Brooklyn Dodgers.

In 1997, the 50 year anniversary of Robinson's debut, his No. 42 was retired across all of Major League Baseball. Only one player at the time was wearing that number (Mariano Rivera) and he was 'grandfathered' in and was the only active player allowed to wear No. 42 until his retirement in 2015.  Since then, no other active player will ever again be assigned number 42.  Instead, on April 15 each year, all players and teams throughout baseball wear number 42 on their uniform honoring Jackie's major contribution to baseball, which was that of breaking the color barrier.  In addition to the honor, celebrations are planned at many stadiums.

Jackie's 'legacy' lives on through 'Jackie Robinson Day' each April 15. Number 42 was special. 


The Shift – in Baseball


Normal baseball positioning
I've been watching baseball games all my life, yet there are still terms I haven't heard and/or don't know what they mean.  Most baseball terms have been coined over the years by sports writers and announcers as they reported the action on the field or the results of the game.

Baseball has its own ever-changing language, so its not surprising that even long-term baseball fans still have to look things up in order to understand what the broadcaster said.

The term 'shift' has been part of baseball terminology for many years, yet I can't recall it being used as often as it has in most recent years of baseball.  “The Shift is on”, the sportscaster tells us.  All of a sudden it seemed to me as if it was happening in every game I watch.  Finally I got out my trusty Baseball Dictionary and looked it up!


The 'Shift' means “to change fielding position;' to move defensive players from their traditional positions in the field to defend against a particular batters' way of hitting, or to be in a better position for a double play.”

All individual players move left or right to step into the path of the ball for fielding, But the shift in most recent years seems to involve half the players on the field moving to another position all at the same time before the batter even hits. I've begun paying closer attention to this move now that I know what they are talking about. My baseball education continues..... 


Doubled Off First Base


I watch a lot of baseball, following the games and players and listening to the announcer's descriptions of the action on a regular basis.


Derek Jeter at Bat  (Wikimedia)
On a Saturday afternoon in August 2014 I was watching the Red Sox-Yankees game being played at Fenway Park. Derek Jeter was on first base and took off for 2nd base when Jacoby Ellbury hit the ball into the outfield.  Unfortunately, the ball was caught and Derek was too far off base to get back safely.

The announcer stated that Jeter had been 'Doubled-Off'.  I basically knew what it meant, but even though I've heard the term often, I never really thought about the definition.  Suddenly quite curious, I got out my Baseball Dictionary to look up the exact meaning.  


To be 'doubled-off' means 'caught off base and put out before tagging up after the batter has flied out, resulting in a Double Play!'   


This 'doubled-off' double play was a most unusual happening for Derek Jeter.  Not to worry, his two-run double in the third inning sparked a 4-run inning, and the New York Yankees won the game 6-4.


Minor League Memories


Rochester Redwings Frontier Statium (c) Personal Photo

My family are fans of the Rochester Redwings, the top Triple A minor league baseball team for the Minnesota Twins located in Rochester, NY, and we go to their games often.  A long ball was hit one night directly toward where my family was sitting.  Everyone is jumping up & down hollering "I've got it, I've got it", except my mother who remained sitting down.  Like a 'heat-seeking' missile, that ball headed straight for my mom and hit her right over the heart. She wasn't badly injured, but had a huge bruise for weeks.  My brother really wanted to have the baseball, but mom wouldn't give it to him, saying she had the badge of honor proving she'd caught it.



Source: Pixabay

For more baseball facts and memories, check out my 





For more reviews of baseball-related items, check out:



(c) Wednesday Elf, The Review This Baseball Contributor








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Have you heard of the Newest Fitness Craze for all Ages?

Pickleballs
By Stephen James Hall (Own work) [CC0], via Wikimedia Commons
It is Fall and many people are wondering what they are going to do to keep fit during those months that are not conducive to Jogging or other outdoor sports. Today I will review a new craze that is sweeping the nation from one coast to the other. It's a relatively new game that combines tennis, badminton and table tennis all into one game and it's lots of fun for all ages.


Have I got your curiosity yet?


What if I told you that you can play this game indoors or out and that there are clubs all over just waiting for you to join them?


So now do you want to know more?


Okay, the game was started in 1965, by a family and friends who were bored at the cottage. They were given some table tennis paddles and a whiffle ball.  The instructions to the kids were, "get out of our hair and have some fun.  That was the beginning of Pickleball!  Everything after that was tweeking the game.   In 1972 it became a recognized sport, with rules and regulations.  Today this sport has over 2 million players world-wide and is one of the fastest growing sports of all time!

  Well it's called PICKLEBALL!


 I first heard about this on my latest trip to Myrtle Beach,  South Carolina.  We happened to be staying at a resort where there was all kinds of people, young, old and in between.  They were all interacting with each other and having a great time!  We found out that this was one of the places where the East Coast Pickleball Tournament had just been held.  The winner was a young lad of 17 and the runner up was and older gent ( I think he was in his 70's).   So when I say it can be played by anyone, I really mean anyone. Where a tennis racquet and balls can already set you back quite a few dollars, Pickleball is inexpensive and until you really become hooked, you can play with a minimal investment.

 


But just a word of caution as always, if you have been sedentary for a long time, have a check up just to make sure you are alright to play this game.


What I really like about this game is that it combines several games that I no longer can play.  I'm just not as fast as I once was.  It is a combination of tennis, badminton and table tennis too!  Because of the type of ball that is used, the speed part of the game has become much less of an issue.  Pickleballs are similar to whiffle balls and because of the holes in the balls, they don't move as fast as a tennis ball.  That for me is a great bonus. But the game still gives you a great workout, without tiring you in 5 minutes.

There are Pickleball Associations and Clubs all over the world.  So I'm sure you can find one in your area too.  But, if there are no clubs near you, start your own.  The game is easy to play without a myriad of rules and regulations (until you become a pro). Even then the rules are easy to follow.  I bet once you start to play, you won't be able to stop!

If you have a flat area 20 feet by 44 feet long, you can map out your own Pickleball court.  Get a set of paddles, balls and a net and you are ready to join the 2 million others who are enjoying this game.  I just saw a great info graphic on the number of people and the demographics of age who are currently playing Pickleball.  The largest number of people playing Pickleball are 60+ at a whopping 70%.  Participants 40-59 make up 24% and 6% of players are under 39.  How's that for a wrap up?  70% of the players are over 60!  There is hope for us who are older and still want to play.

As the saying goes, "You don't grow up until you stop playing!"




learning to play pickleball, Olivia post, new game for everyone regardless of age


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, July 7, 2017

Review of Women's Keen Targhee II Mid Hiking Boots

The author with her best hiking buddy, Toby.
When it comes to high adventure in the mountains I call home, there is nothing more important than gearing up my feet for action.  Having just purchased my fifth pair of women's Keen Targhee II Mid boots, I think it's pretty safe to say I am very keen on these hiking boots.

Four-Wheel Drive for Your Feet

When climbing Colorado's 14ers (peaks over 14,000 feet in elevation), it is easy to spot the rookies.  These are the hikers in flip-flops (no-wheel drive) who are heading back down the trail with painful blisters and major regrets.

The difference between an exhilarating day on the mountain and a day that will go down in infamy is, for me, the difference that is made in wearing what Keen refers to as "four-wheel drive for your feet."




Let's Get Real

First, let me confess that I have the world's most sensitive feet.  Before discovering Keen hiking boots, I experienced the most epic blisters and endured heel pain that can make a grown woman cry.  When you add weak ankles to the mix, I wasn't exactly extreme hiker material.

Why I Need Keen Boots in the Rocky Mountains


The Nitty-Gritty Details  

These Keen boots work for me in several critical ways:

  • They are comfortable from day one.  Unlike other hiking boots, there is no extended break-in period.
  • The mid height of the boots provides my ankles with much-needed support.
  • Waterproof leather uppers and breathable mesh lining make blisters a thing of the past.  Dry feet are happy feet.
  • Lug soles offer up confidence-inspiring traction in even the most challenging terrain.
  • Given that every ounce matters while hiking and backpacking, I find the weight of these boots to be just perfect (significant enough to protect my feet, while light enough to keep my legs fresh all day).
  • Have I mentioned that the price is right?  Many hiking boots will set you back a few hundred dollars.  With the Keen Targhee II Mid hikers, you are getting a quality boot for far less.

Not a Mountain Mama?

Crossing a slippery log bridge over rapids in my Keen boots.


Let me conclude this product review by saying you don't have to be a mountain mama or an extreme hiker to enjoy these boots.  I wear mine every day just because I find them to be my most comfortable footwear.  

And besides, it's pretty awesome to have four-wheel drive boots for extreme grocery shopping.  I have been known to summit the fresh produce aisle in record time.  There's no stopping me now!







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, August 11, 2016

Review of a Tour of a Major League Baseball Stadium

Busch Stadium View
If you are looking for an interesting place to take children on a tour, I would suggest a major league baseball stadium.  In July my granddaughters, age 10 and 12, were visiting us and it was a hot and sticky July summer in St. Louis.  I was looking for an interesting place to spend some time with them when someone suggested a tour of the baseball stadium.

Busch Stadium in St. Louis opened in April of 2006.  This huge stadium has seats for 43,975 people and offers a beautiful panoramic view of the downtown skyline.  Fellow Review This author, Pat, wrote about her visit to the stadium in this article

I went online and found information about the tour of Busch stadium and was delighted to find out that tickets  included a tour of the stadium and a visit to the Cardinal Hall of Fame and Museum.

Tour of Busch Stadium

Our tour of Busch Stadium started just outside Gate 3 of the stadium.  This gate has a statue of baseball great Stan Musial just outside the gate and the entrance to the gate is a tribute to the Eads Bridge with a large bridge-like structure arching over the entrance.  The Musial statue is often a meeting place for fans coming to the ballpark.  Here is a photo of my granddaughters and myself by the statue.  You will also note part of the bridge entrance in the background.

The tour of the stadium took about an hour and we visited The Redbird Club, the Champions Club, the broadcast booth and the Cardinal dugout.  Here are some photographs from each of those areas.


 In this photo my granddaughters are sitting in the Cardinal dugout.  It was fun to sit where the Cardinals sit during the games.  It was also fun next time we watched a game on TV to say we had sat there too!









The Redbird Club is an area where fans can buy tickets and enjoy food in an indoor glassed area.  Their tickets also include seats in front of the area to view the game from outside.  It is a nice way to enjoy the game, but also be able to get in from the heat.  One of the walls in the club was very interesting.  It was covered with replicas of oldtime Cardinal baseball cards.
View from the Broadcast Booth

The girls enjoyed seeing the broadcast booth and they were able to sit in the same seats the announcers sit in when they announce the games.



The Champions club is another indoor seating area.  In this club are several of the world series trophies that the Cardinals have won over the years. 














Ballpark Village

Across from Busch Stadium is the newest dining and entertainment district in St. Louis.  This area houses several restaurants along with the Cardinal Hall of Fame and Museum.  The area is being built in stages and in the future there will be more retail along with a hotel and residential opportunities.  There will also be more parking.  Ballpark Village is a "happening" place to be, both during home and away games.  Many fans gather to watch the games on the big screen TV's and enjoy food and drinks in the area restaurants.  We stopped at Cardinal Nation and had lunch before we went to the museum.  We found the food excellent and very reasonably priced.  The photo below shows the girls in Ballpark Village.

Cardinal Hall of Fame and Museum

The Hall of Fame and Museum has something for everyone.  This 8000 square foot museum is packed with over 16000 items of baseball memorabilia and thousands of archived photographs.  My husband really enjoyed looking over all of the memorabilia and the girls enjoyed some of the interactive displays.
Display from Museum

Two of the displays that the girls really enjoyed were the mock broadcasting booth and the display where they could hold actual bats from former and present Cardinal players.

In this photo the girls are trying enjoying trying out their broadcasting skills. They would first watch and listen to a broadcast of an exciting play at a past game, then they would be able to see the play and they would record themselves giving the play by play. When they were finished it would be replayed for them to see how they did. Both girls enjoyed this display.

In this photo, Ella is trying her hand at batting. The display held several bats from Cardinal greats both past and present and a docent was there to hand you one bat out of the case that you chose. You first had to put on plastic gloves before handling the bat. Ella decided to try out a bat from Ozzie Smith.

Postcard from my Photograph

This postcard shows the St. Louis skyline from inside Busch Stadium.
St. Louis Skyline
St. Louis Skyline by mbgphoto
Look at St louis arch Postcards online at Zazzle.com



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, April 2, 2016

Opening Day of the 2018 Baseball Season

A Quick Review of the 2018 Major League Baseball Season Openers


The Opening Day of baseball for the 2018 MLB season will be on Thursday, March 29, the earliest beginning date ever at any traditional Major League ballpark.  This season, all 30 clubs will open on the same day

It's time for the 2018 baseball season!


World Series Champion 2017

 
Photo Collage of the 2017 World Series Winners


The Houston Astros defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers four games to three in the first seven game World Series since 2002. This was the first ever World Series for the Houston Astros and they also became the first team from Texas to do so.



2018 Baseball Preview of all 30 Teams


Highlights of 2018 in the World of Baseball 



Some of the highlights of the 2018 Major League Baseball season will include:

  • March 29, 2018 – Official Opening Day
  • April 15, 2017 – Jackie Robinson Day
  • July 17, 2018 - 89th All-Star Game, Nationals Park, home of the Washington Nationals, in Washington, DC.
  • October 23, 2018 – Scheduled first game of the World Series. 


Baseball is Back!



The Bill James Handbook 2018
This avid 'baseball fan' will be glued to the TV for each moment of these Opening Day games! (I LIVE for this!). 

If you are as 'Crazy about Baseball' as I am, the 2018 baseball season from Opening Day to the last game of the World Series will occupy your time and thoughts for the next 26 weeks.  The joy of baseball has returned!





*Quick Link:
https://baseballmomentsmemories.blogspot.com/

(c) Wednesday Elf




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, February 6, 2016

Reviewing the Significance of Super Bowl 50

There is no winner yet for Super Bowl 50. As of this writing, the game hasn't been played. But, there is a significance that will stand the test of time in the National Football League. The Old Guard versus the New Guard. And that's what is about to happen at Levi Stadium.

The Old Guard versus the New Guard

The old guard this year isn't being represented by Tom Brady and the New England Patriots. It's being represented by Peyton Manning and the Denver Broncos. Both teams have been participants and winners in past Super Bowls many times. They have faced upstart teams periodically. (Seattle Seahawks come to mind.) The Patriots and Broncos have been referred to as football dynasties.

Then up comes the new guard in the form of Cam Newton and the Carolina Panthers. We're certainly talking about a younger quarterback, and a newer behavior. Newton has been heavily criticized for his behavior on the field. Even criticized for his regular handing touchdown footballs to children in the stands.

But let me ask you, how different is that than the Lambeau Leap? That's a crazy activity that Green Bay Packer players are allowed to do after every home field touchdown. In my view, it's very different. Newton awards an official NFL football to some lucky child. And, frankly, all Newton is doing is showing his pleasure at his team getting a touchdown.

Isn't time for us all to show pleasure in the good things?

Don't get me wrong. It would be nice to see the future Hall of Fame Player, Manning, go out big in what could be his last game as a player. But when we are talking about the old guard versus the new guard, can an old (actually very old for this sport) player really compete?

Super Bowl 50 Brings Back the Offense


The Carolina Panthers with Cam Newton as their quarterback are bringing back the offense side of football. In my humble opinion, the sport had moved heavily toward a defensive game. The sacks, the tackles for losses and the turnovers all dominated the game. With Newton, great quarterbacking has brought back the excitement to football.

What is more exciting in the game than a touchdown?

The Cam Newtons of the NFL have many years to enjoy playing. The Peyton Mannings of the NFL are on their way to retirement. It's time for the new guard to bring in a new era of touchdowns and exciting play to the Super Bowl and the NFL in general.

A Little Disclaimer


Just to let you know, I may be a long time fan of pro football, but I'm not associated with either team. Frankly, I'm not formally associated with any team other than as a fan. I'm just one of those people who has an opinion. So feel free to agree or disagree with me.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, November 23, 2015

Wham-O Frisbee Review: If It's Not A Wham-O It's Not A Frisbee!

Wham-O Frisbee Review:  If It's Not A Wham-O It's Not A Frisbee!

Genuine Official Wham-O Frisbees 


If you're looking to buy a  Frisbee, you've come to the right place! This page features the genuine, official Wham-o Frisbee. You will discover what to look for when you are choosing a Frisbee and, as a bonus, learn a bit of trivia about Frisbees.

Wham-o Frisbees are available in various sizes and styles from mini ones to professional tournament ones. They are available for use recreationally and for use competitively in sports like Ultimate, Disc golf, Freestyle and Dog competitions.

Did You Know...

  • That the word Frisbee came from the Frisbee Pie Company in Connecticut?
  • That the game of Frisbee began with a pie plate?
  • That in 1957, Walter Frederick sold his idea for a toy flying saucer to the Wham-O Company in California? That they created a plastic disc that was almost impossible to break and they called it the Frisbee?

What To Look For When Buying A Frisbee


A good Frisbee should be comfortable. It should have a feeling of thickness and strength. You probably know that cheap Frisbees are readily available and can be purchased for as little as a dollar at the dollar store but they do not last and they do not fly very well. We personally have a bin in the garage full of cheap Frisbees but once you have used a real one you discover that the cheap ones really are bad.

If you are asking yourself what kind of Frisbee is the best for me and you are a recreational player, choose a basic Wham-O Frisbee.

If you are looking for a Frisbee for your child, it should be small enough for your child to grasp and hold comfortably.

If you haven't already read it, you might enjoy my page, A Beginner's Guide to How To Throw A Frisbee.


Wham-O's 50th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Series Frisbee Disc SetWham-O's 50th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Series Frisbee Disc 


2007 marked the 50th anniversary of the original Frisbee disc. Wham-O produced this collector's item in celebration. This set includes a 175 gram UPA approved competitive frisbee with graphics celebrating the 50 years. These discs are definitely softer. They fly better and are easier to catch than cheap Frisbees. No longer readily available at retail outlets, you can still find this set on eBay:


Frisbees Are Affordable Fun 


I am amazed at the low cost of Frisbees. Well, not I suppose if you consider that they are just pieces of plastic. Still, for less than $10 you can buy an activity for that is easy and fun and encourages physical activity. It is easy to grab a Frisbee and take it along wherever you are going and playing with a Frisbee does not require any other equipment. What better choice could we make for our families and our friends in this day and age? Frisbees are fun for everyone. You don't have to be tall, strong, young or old! Just grab a Frisbee and go!  You can find Amazon's complete collection of Wham-O Frisbees here.

Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

More Frisbee Reading:

Meet Walter Frederick Morrison: The Inventor Of The Frisbee
A Beginner's Guide to How To Throw A Frisbee

Author's Note: This post was originally written elsewhere in 2009.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, October 31, 2015

For Love of the Game – a Movie Review

As the baseball season winds down once again, I begin to make plans for my wintertime baseball replacements.  I am a died-in-the-wool, I LIVE for This baseball fan who is not happy without a daily dose of baseball in some form or other.  This means that during that WINTER season (as per my favorite Bill Veeck quote “There are only two seasons – winter and baseball”) I find books and movies about BASEBALL to fill the time until Spring Training returns once again!


For Love of the Game



For Love of the Game Movie

I have many favorite (baseball) movies I love to re-watch each winter.  One of the top ten on my list is For Love of the Game which stars the actor I consider the best and most believable at playing the part of a baseball player ~ Kevin Costner.

Costner's character in the movie is a Detroit Tigers pitcher named Billy Chapel.  Billy has an on-again, off-again girlfriend, Jane (Kelly Preston) who tells him she's leaving him just before what is most likely Billy's last professional game.  It's the last game of the season against rival team the New York Yankees.  Vin Scully (playing himself) announces the game.


This 1999 movie was filmed in the real Yankee Stadium where a 40-year-old pitcher (Billy Chapel) is pitching the final game of his 19-year career. Battling a sore arm and coping with the news that the team has been sold and he will be traded, on top of learning that his long-time girlfriend is leaving to take a job in London, Billy enters the game fighting both physical and emotional limits.


The movie opens with Billy taking the mound to pitch.  The loud sounds of the crowd slowly diminish as Billy enters his 'zone' where he blocks out everything to concentrate on pitching, leaving a total silence as he winds up for the pitch.  We hear his thoughts as he approaches each batter and each pitch, giving us a glimpse into what a real life professional baseball pitcher goes through. 


What makes the movie most interesting is that the entire movie takes place during this one baseball game and the story of everything that led up to this day is reflected in flashbacks.  Girlfriend Jane is shown in subsequent scenes as she watches the game on TV at the airport while waiting for her overseas flight.  The suspense of the game builds as one out after another is recorded, leading toward the crowning glory moment for a baseball pitcher, a Perfect Game


Movie Trailer

 

Kevin Costner as Billy Chapel giving us 'one more day of summer' in the movie For Love of the Game





To me, For Love of the Game is the perfect title for this baseball movie, as it is exactly how I feel about the game of baseball.  My wintertime will be filled with this and my many other baseball movies and my home library of books about baseball until my favorite time of year (Baseball's Opening Day) returns. 


Enjoy the off-season and join me again when my favorite phrase resounds in baseball parks around the country ~ “Play Ball”.


For Love of the Game is available on Amazon.


*Kevin Costner has starred in several movies with a baseball-theme, such as Chasing Dreams, Bull Durham, Field of Dreams, For Love of the Game and The Upside of Anger. I own most of them!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, April 5, 2015

Ready Made Figure Skating Dresses

Ready Made Figure Skating Dresses
Having spent over ten years training in this sport, the dresses played a large role  
Back In the 1970's I have to say I don't ever recall shopping for figure skating dresses; I was fortunate to have a Mom who could sew dresses for me. What I enjoyed most was being able to design my own dress styles, then mom would simply create a pattern based on that design. Thanks to Mom, I sure had some gorgeous dresses.
Nowadays, many moms are much too busy to sew their daughter's figure skating dresses so they'll either have them made by a seamstress or purchase them from a local figure skating store, other skaters, or online.
It's actually quite affordable to select a figure skating dress from Amazon. If you have to take it to a seamstress for adjustments, you can still do that. However, if the skater has a fairly typical body frame, the likelihood is the dress will fit just fine.
You'll notice the online selection is quite vast and most dresses come in alternate color choices as well as various size options.
HOW ABOUT THE FIGURE SKATING SKIRT?
Have you ever felt that you invented a new idea..lol -  I remember in the 1970's arriving at my Figure Skating Club wearing the first ever Figure Skating Skirt. I do mean 'the first'. Since I had always worn a different style top over my dresses during practice, just the skirt would be seen. So one day I asked mom, 'let's not sew a full dress, let's just do the skirt portion - we'll cut it off at the waist'. That way I can wear any top I want with it during practice, changing it daily as I always did.
Figure Skating Skirts
So there I was showing off what I believed was my invention in our skating club...after that, other club members started having them made! Of course, today they're quite common. I often wonder, did I invent this idea?
Of course you can easily find Figure Skating Skirts at Amazon as well. I've featured one here.
So go ahead and research those pre-made dresses before you decide to go to the expense of having them made! But for competition, we always love custom-made dresses don't we!
by Barbara Tremblay Cipak





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, April 4, 2015

Baseball Season is Back!

Wednesday Elf's Baseball Board Pin
(c) Elf's Souvenir Signed Baseball

Baseball Season begins here on the Review This! blog with a collection of  baseball stories, crafts and treats.

It's April and Springtime, which may bring those April Showers for the May Flowers, but baseball fans believe that the true first sign of Spring is the beginning of baseball season!  For all the baseball fans out there, let's check out some fun baseball stories, DIY crafts and tasty treats.









Craft a Fingerprint Baseball

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/246009198371890558/

Michelle of Crafty Morning has created an interesting baseball craft that would be perfect for an arts & crafts project to do with your children, or a fun seasonal craft to do with a Scout Troop. 

All you need is paper, paint and fingers!  

Check out the easy step-by-step directions here.

 

 

 

A Famous Baseball Sportscaster

 

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/246009198370897400/
Vin Scully

Major League Baseball Teams each have an announcer who regularly broadcasts games for their home radio or TV network.  There have been many well-known baseball sportscasters over the years, but none who have been with a team as long as Vin Scully.  Known as the Bard of Baseball, Vin Scully has been the Voice of the Dodgers through six decades. Last year, at age 88, Vin retired after 67 years as the broadcaster for the Dodgers, first in Brooklyn and then in Los Angeles. 


Here is his story written by HubPages author Ellen Brundige, which she calls the Vin Scully Fanpage.

 

Baseball Cupcakes


Baseball Cupcakes
Yummy Baseball Cupcakes

Randi of Duke & Duchesses created a fun dessert that would make a great 'treat time' for after a Little League game or for a baseball-themed birthday party.

Randi's Baseball Cupcakes were done by baking a pan of cupcakes, frosting them in white frosting, then using Skittles to form the laces, placing them side by side on the frosting.





Baseball Flip Flops Flower Tutorial

 

Baseball Flip Flops
Baseball Flower Flip Flops

For the baseball mom or any fan, create a cute pair of flip flops with a flower design made from baseballs.

All you need is a pair of flip flops (new or old), 2 baseballs (anyone with kids seems to have a bunch of old ones around, or you can buy some new ones), an X-Acto knife and glue.  The 'how-to' instructions are in a YouTube video on the crafty post by KidPep, a website for Crafts, DIY and More.


The technique used for the baseball flip flops can also be used for a Baseball Hair Bow with the video on the KidPep website.

 

 

 

I'm 'Crazy About Baseball'


Your writer, Wednesday Elf, has been a baseball fan since childhood and has shared many favorite baseball memories in  “Crazy About Baseball”.

 

Opening Day of Baseball


2018 Topps Opening Day Baseball Hobby Box


Opening Day of the 2018 Major League Baseball Season begins on March 29th.  Us baseball fans now get to enjoy 26 weeks of baseball with the 30 teams in the MLB. 

This set of Topps Opening Day Baseball Cards for 2018 will get you in the mood for baseball season and is perfect for veteran and rookie fans alike!


There are many more baseball stories to check out on Review This!  Good reading for days your favorite baseball team has a 'rain-out'.

Welcome to the 2018 Baseball Season.  Let's PLAY BALL.




Wednesday Elf on Blogger and on Etsy

 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.