Saturday, September 21, 2019

Make #selfcare FUN with this Pink Clay Face Mask!

Let me review this absolutely gorgeous face mask that you just have to try, but first ...

Arbonnes Rescue and Renew Face Mask featuring French Pink Clay
Louanne showing Arbonne's Rescue & Renew Face Mask in Action!
Yes you can smile while wearing a face mask, you know I'm going to go off on a tangent for a moment and tell you a true story.   For many years when I was young I thought that if I dare smiled (or talked) while I had a face mask on it would crack my face!   Now I can imagine you all laughing at young teenage me let me talk about this awesome face mask.

Now I have talked about Arbonne's Cellular Renewal Mask in the past so you are probably wondering why I'm talking about yet another one so let me explain.  The best way I can think of it is that the cellular renewal mask is more like a scrub for people who shouldn't be using an abrasive scrub anymore.   Yes I'm getting on in life and after the age of 30/35 you really shouldn't be using an abrasive scrub but should try something like the cellular renewal mask instead.

Now whatever age you are anyone can appreciate a creamy French pink clay mask and Arbonne's Rescue & Renew mask is a really dreamy one.   I love this mask because it's one just about anyone can enjoy using.   My 18 year old daughter loves using it, my 50 year old self loves using it and my (don't tell her I revealed her age!) 71 year old mum loves using it.   To me if you can get three generations loving the same mask you're doing something right!

Arbonne's Rescue & Renew products are known among their consultants as our spa range because with a few of these products you really can create a spa like experience in your own home.   I love nothing more than soaking my feet in the Detox soak while wearing a face mask and laughing and talking with my daughter.

My daughter loves putting on the face mask with friends as they talk and laugh and binge watch horror movies on sleepovers.

I think there's just something about having a luxurious feeling face mask that makes you feel good and getting close friends around for a bottle of wine, good conversation, lots of laughs and a face mask just sounds like heaven - don't you think?

So what makes this face mask so much better than other clay masks?   For starters it's made with a French pink clay formula which pulls out all the impurities in your skin making your skin look and feel better.   There are also added botanicals such as dandelion, tumeric and ginger root, these botanicals help to detox your skin, and promote radiant looking skin which is what we all want.

The face mask also contains rosemary oil which helps to hydrate the skin (very important to keep your skin looking younger and more radiant).  There are also some self-neutralizing acids to help brighten the appearance of your skin tone.

The best thing about this mask is that it comes with a 45 day money back guarantee which means you can buy it, use it a few times and if you decide it's not for you send it back - you can't do that with many face masks can you?

This Gorgeous Clay Mask is a Great Christmas Gift Idea


Now I talked about this mask as being a wonderful Christmas gift idea during my Christmas in July event in my Christmas Shopping List Facebook group.  At the time I was just talking about the regular face mask, but it is also featured twice in Arbonne's 2019 Festive Line.   Now if you like these two gift ideas please grab them quickly as the Christmas line ran out extremely fast last year.


These cool holiday ornaments are available to purchase separately and include mini versions of some of Arbonne's popular products including the face mask which I can imagine on quite a few people's Christmas tree this year.   I just love this idea and will be giving the face mask and mascara to a number of young ladies on my Christmas list.

Arbonne's Clarity Facial Christmas Set for the Holidays

This is another set that I think will be among the first to sell out as it features the awesome clay mask along with a headband and an exclusive Detox All Over Mist.   This set is the only way you can get the mist that sounds absolutely divine.

Will you be trying this luxury face mask?  



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 20, 2019

Hausse Retractable 2 Story Home Fire Escape Ladder Review

House Fire Escape Ladder
A fire escape ladder is essential for any 2 story home, especially if the bedrooms are upstairs! 

Many homes have bedrooms upstairs. It isn't something I am particularly fond of myself. I would rather have all bedrooms on the ground level. However, I have been told that it is a simple matter of economics. It is cheaper to build up than to build a single story home with a lot of rooms. 

For some, having the bedrooms upstairs, away from the entry doors to a home, is comforting.  For others, like myself, it is a way to end up trapped in a house with no easy way out. Regardless of your home construction preference, being able to escape in a fire is always preferred.


My Own Fear of Fire


When I was a young child, our family owned a really nice single story home that had 3 bedrooms downstairs. The girls shared a bedroom, the boys shared a bedroom, and our parents had their bedroom.  An awesome arrangement!  

When there was a fire in our home one night, we were all able to get out of the house as soon as smoke was detected, even before the fireman showed up.  I can't say that I actually remember much about that night since I was around 4 years old.  Of course, my older siblings and parents remember it well.  I've been told that our father did have to go back in through a window to carry my sister outside.  Fortunately, with all the bedroom windows being at ground level, that was easily possible.

But what if all of the bedrooms had been upstairs? 

When we moved to a new home, it was a 2 story home with all of the bedrooms upstairs.  I always feared a fire in that home and envisioned myself leaping out of the second story window to safety. As a child, I was okay with that idea.  As a adult, I can see how that was not a good escape plan.  Thankfully, I have never had to test my super leaping powers.


Be Prepared for Home Fire


 Hausse Retractable 2 Story Fire Escape Ladder, 13 FeetIt is entirely possible that my current day requirement to have a home fire ladder in every bedroom upstairs is tied to my childhood experience and subsequent plans.  Again, we have never had to use the fire ladders, but we do have them.

Being trapped upstairs during a fire would be scary, and possibly deathly.  The cost of a fire ladder is minimal when compared to the cost of a life.  For me, it is a no-brainer.  We all buy home insurance for our possessions.  Why in the world wouldn't we buy this practical use "insurance"?

Yes, I know. We ask ourselves, would we really climb down a ladder hanging from the window? I believe if we are awake and recognize we are trapped in a fire, we would grab that ladder, hang it from the window ledge, and start climbing without a second thought.  After all, it beats leaping!

 







Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, September 19, 2019

Final Journeys Book Review

Read More Reviews
As Finn and I take our therapy team training to the next level, our focus has been on preparing to bring comfort to those nearing the end of their lives.  Experiencing my mother's transition from this life while in hospice had a profound impact on me and inspired me to pursue this ministry of care.  In my current process of pursuing certification as an end-of-life doula, I am reading some deeply meaningful books that everyone could find beneficial.

We will all deal with dying and death.  Perhaps some of you reading this are caring for a loved one who is seriously ill, or maybe you have been given a terminal diagnosis.  The shock, heartbreak, and grief can be devastating, but amazingly, there are also elements of deep meaning, inspiration, and beauty in knowing how to live fully right up to our last hour on Earth.

In Final Journeys, Maggie Callanan, a compassionate hospice nurse who has guided families for over twenty-five years, provides us with the insights she has learned from those in her care.  The true teachers are those who are actually figuring out how to turn a dying experience into something peaceful and, in many cases, even celebratory.

Until recently, death hasn't been a topic of conversation that most people chose to address proactively.  I know that my own family was not very prepared to deal with the critical decisions needing to be made at the time that my mother and father were in end-of-life comas and unable to express their desires.  My siblings and I did what we had to do under the circumstances, but in many ways, the fabric of our family was torn irreparably in the process.  Things could have been handled so much better had we known then what Callanan shares in this practical guide.

As the author provides us with poignant personal stories, we gain wisdom about what to expect, how to best communicate, when to get specific types of support, and how to navigate the physical, emotional, and spiritual challenges of dying well (and helping others do the same).  Perhaps most importantly, in learning what we need to know about life's biggest transition, we are encouraged to reflect on what we most want in life and at our time of death.

I found Final Journeys to be much more than a useful guide to directing my future work in hospice service.  For me, it has been a highly reflective journey that has positively touched the parts of me still processing the losses in my own life.  It was an uplifting, and in many ways, healing read.

I only wish this book had existed when I first entered into nursing care as a young woman.  Perhaps, though, I was more ready to receive its teachings now that I have experienced significantly more love and loss over the years.  As a result of taking this journey with Maggie Callanan, I feel much better prepared to enter into new ways of bringing comfort to the living and the dying.  I also feel ready to orchestrate my own beautiful transition when the time comes.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Autumn Chores: Planting Trees Now It's the Right Time! A Garden Review

Autumn chores in the garden should include planting some trees! A Garden Review for you!

autumn tree planting, guide to trees, planting trees for success


Now don't get your knickers all in a knot!  Some people think that fall is the time to stop gardening, clean out the flower beds and put everything to sleep for the winter months that are fast approaching.  I'm here to tell you that you are wrong, so wrong!  Those are some of the jobs that will need doing, but right now think about trees!

Autumn is a great time to plant trees and shrubs.  There are several reasons that you should be doing some tree planting at this time.  Trees are the lungs of the earth and healthy air around your home is a must! 

In the fall the ground has been nicely warmed up.  Summer heat gets right down to the deeper parts of the ground.  The soil is warm and generally moist.  When you dig a hole for a new tree you will see for yourself that the soil is nice and warm .  When you plant a tree in that warm soil, the roots that have been bound up in a root ball, will nicely ease their way into that warmth.  You can wait till spring, but have to wait until the soil is frost free for best results.  Late April or early May are target times for spring planting.  In the fall you can plant right up till the first signs of snow.  The ground will keep it's warmth even with a snow cover.  The snow, believe it or not, is a great insulator.


In the fall, trees naturally go into a state of dormancy.  The saps run down into the roots and the leaves fall. The energy of the trees are already in the lower parts of the trees.  So placing them into warm soil will make them very happy.   Autumn rains will also help get those roots to stretch out and grab hold.  But proper planting techniques are still a good rule to follow.

Before you start to think about planting a tree, make sure you know what kind of tree you want in your space.  If you have a large area, then plant whatever you like, but, if you live in an urban area, you may have to think about this a little more.  Do you want a lot of shade in your yard?  Are you looking to mask the sounds of traffic, or are you wanting some fruit for your efforts.  All these questions should be asked and answered before you buy and plant anything.


Some trees have deep roots, some have shallow ones!  Planting a tree close to foundation walls is never a good idea.  Nor is planting a tree that gets very deep expansive roots.  Some research is necessary if you want to have a good result.
 

Trees have different shapes and natural heights that they will grow to.  Depending on what you want from the tree, you will have to make some educated choices.  I like this link from Arborday.org, for some really good information, so that once you decide to plant the trees, you will have made the right decisions.  

Trees are a wonderful addition to any landscape and will give you years of beauty.  The birds, bees, and small critters will thank you and grace you with their presence.  Mother Nature will appreciate your help in keeping the air fresh and clean as well.   

Put this book on your shelf, so that you will have easy access to some of the best information and suggestions for picking, planting and maintaining your trees as they mature.


It is wonderful to be able to reach the information you need in the garden when you are busy with the task at hand.

Happy tree planting and here's to your healthy!  I hope you enjoy your happy gardening space.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Cabin 9 Mysteries New Book Launch Review

Book Two Coming Soon


I'll be launching the second book in the Cabin 9 Mysteries series in the near future. Book two is titled Untimely Checkout. I thought it might be fun to talk a little about the series and the newest book today. 
cabin-nine-mysteries
Cabin 9 at Whispering Oaks Campground
image courtesy of pixabay.com
Back in August of this year, I released the first book in this new series, Campground Corpse. Readers met my main character Taylor Reigler who had inherited a campground in Indiana. She arrives at the old campground site in April to find the cabins filled with inches of dust and the ground waist high in grass and weeds. Her dream of spending about a month to get things up and running seemed destined to failure with all of the work that needed to be done. She meets Gavin Bishop and his sister Gwen on her first day at the grounds which begins a new friendship. That is where the mystery begins to unfold.


Cabin 9 Mysteries Book Two


In Untimely Checkout, the second book in the series, the story continues with a new mystery to solve. The story moves forward to early June with progress being made on the restoration work Taylor had hired done. Taylor and Gwen are testing out recipes in the main lodge on the crew of Webb Nailed It. Taylor hopes to get the campgrounds opened to overnight guests in the very near future and wants to decide what foods will be served as a part of the breakfasts. The crew is more than happy to come in every morning to eat for free and give their opinions as to what they liked or didn't like about the breakfast fare. 

As with most Cozy Mysteries, before the first chapter ends a body is found and a murder needs to be solved. I won't spoil the plot here and tell you who was found or who done it or why, obviously I hope you will want to read the book when it comes out. I hope that I have woven a story that you will enjoy as you visit the activity at Whispering Oaks Campgrounds.

If you read Campground Corpse, you will remember Gwen and Gavin and the contractor Glenn Webb. They join us in the second book along with Aunt Flossie, the great-great-aunt of Taylor who happens to reside in spirit form on the grounds. You will meet some new characters in book two that I hope you enjoy. I know that I certainly enjoyed bringing them into the story as I wrote it. 

As you read this new book, I hope there are times that you giggle, times that you say awww, and times that you think about something shared. As the plot unfolded in my head, I certainly had those moments.


Uncertain release date


I wish that I could tell you a specific day that the new book will be released. The story is finished with all of the i's dotted and t's crossed. It has gone through all of the edits and is waiting for a cover. That is the hold-up this time around. I waited a little late to ask my cover designer to make the new one. He is away on a holiday and when he returns he promises to get right on it. In the meantime, if you haven't read the first book in the series, you might want to read it before Untimely comes out. You don't have to, I feel that both can stand alone but reading the first one will help you know a little history of the returning characters. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, September 16, 2019

Book Review: Hello, Crochet Friends! by Jonah Larson

This little book packs a powerful punch! Hello, Crochet Friends: Making Art, Being Mindful, Giving Back: Do What Makes You Happy written by young Jonah Larson and his mother Jennifer Larson is the most uplifting and motivational book I've read in years.

Hello, Crochet Friends! written by Jonah Larson


Hello Crochet Friends!: Making Art, Being Mindful, Giving Back: Do What Makes You Happy is one part autobiography, one part inspirational, and one part crafts. It includes topics of international adoption, school behavioral problems, and the importance of finding one's passion. 

Jonah Larson is an 11 year old crocheting phenom. I came to know about him from looking for crochet patterns and tutorials on the internet. This young man has a gift with crochet. His talent is nearly unbelievable. Watching his little hands fly as he works on his current projects is mesmerizing to me.  And all the more impressive when I learned a bit more about him.

Jonah was adopted by the Larsons when he was a baby. He began crocheting at age 5 by accident - when a single crochet hook was found in a bag of items. It became clear very quickly that crochet was his thing.

I work with children in a school that is focused on addressing their behavioral and learning difficulties. I run a small crochet club, teaching them just the basics (sharing my limited skills), because I know that crochet is a wonderful coping skill for some children. I ordered Jonah's book so that our students could read about a child who loves crochet. 

I was moved to tears when I received the book and read how Jonah also struggled with significant disruptive behaviors in school and how crochet helped him. And not only has crochet helped him manage his behaviors in school, he is using his art to give back to those in need in the country he was born. An astounding story and life lesson for all of us.

What this book is:

  • an age-appropriate picture book about an 11 year old who was adopted from an Ethiopian orphanage
  • a book that is written in a gentle, uplifting, honest and encouraging voice
  • an inspirational book - encouraging everyone to find their passion and do it
  • a helpful book for teachers and school staff - showing the positive results of thinking outside the box and helping students identify what calms and encourages them
  • an encouraging book for children who struggle with behaviors - helping them to feel as though they are not alone and that something can change
What this book is not:
  • this is not a book of crochet patterns
  • this is not a crochet tutorial
I'd like to express my gratitude to Jonah and his mother for writing this book and sharing this story. It has touched me and has been well-received by the students in my little crochet club. You are inspiring to so many others.


From the Amazon listing: "Hello, Crochet Friends! is the first title in the KWiL Publishing's Rock Star Kids series of books about young people doing incredible things in the world". Personally, I am looking forward to future books in the series!

Related Links:

While I am not as talented as young Jonah, I do love crochet. I am able to do beginning and easy intermediate patterns. I have written about a few of the easier patterns. If you are thinking about beginning crochet, look for one of the many online tutorials, find someone that matches your style, and just begin.

My review of Dabbles & Babbles Done in a Day pattern. This pattern is pretty, more interesting than just straight crocheted rows, and is versatile. I've made several different sized blankets with several different types of  yarns with this pattern. I have also used this pattern to create a long, rectangular piece that was used as a type of shawl for an elderly gentleman. 

Although loom knitting is not the same as crochet, it is an easy way to make interesting and beautiful hats. If you can't quite enjoy crochet, you could create your own treasures with loom knitting. The flower applique is crocheted and from the only flower pattern I've ever been able to complete successfully. This pattern is Flowers by The Dozen by Yarnspirations and I review it here






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, September 15, 2019

4 Unconventional Ways to Create a Cozy Room for the Winter

Four Unconventional Ways to Make a Room Cozy

During the colder months, we begin to hibernate. With hibernation comes cozy blankets, hot cups of tea, movie nights and fireplaces.

If your home still has that open airy spring and summer feel but you'd like to create a cozy home environment for the winter, here are some easy ways to achieve that goal.

1. Add Drapes in Unexpected Places

Most of the time we think of windows when we think of drapes. However, drapes add depth, texture, and warmth to a room and do not have to be restricted to window dressing.

Do you have french doors or pocket doors that lead to another room? If so consider placing drapes over the doorway entrance. The draperies add another level of depth and coziness to both rooms or areas they cover. Instead of closing the doors, close the drapes, or leave them swagged open for a warming effect. Use a decorative curtain rod and install it close to the ceiling to keep the rooms feeling open and higher in height. Take a look at an elaborate example of this concept here.

Do you have a wall-to-wall bookcase or cabinet? If so, warm up the room by adding draperies in front of it. Swag them, pull them open, or close them. Either way, the effect will be lovely and warm and different. Again, keep the curtain rod at the ceiling level if possible.

One final tip, for the best effect, select heavier drapes with form and structure. Consider your decor. If your room needs more art and pattern, choose art drapes or patterned drapes. If your space is already filled with enough pattern, go with a contrasting or matching solid color.

2.  Layer the Lighting in a Room

Ambient lighting from multiple sources creates a relaxing, inviting, and warm feeling. If you have an overhead fixture or pot lights, put them on a dimmer switch so you can dim down the brightness. Also, don't forget that you can create mood lighting with your lamps by adding three-way bulbs.

Another lovely way to warm up a room is by using an essential oil diffuser that lights up. You'll not only get the benefit of aromatherapy you'll also get a lovely multi-colored low-level ambient light.

A Light-Box is another way to add ambient lighting warmth. This particular Light-Box is lovely and it's the kind of thing that keeps on giving. It features interchangeable quotes, sayings and celebration cards. It's not only soft lighting, but it also displays positive or festive messages.

3.  Add Faux Fur to a Room

There are a number of ways to add faux fur to a room:
  • The first is to strategically position a small faux fur rug on the floor or use a larger faux rug for spacious rooms. Here's a lovely bedroom featuring a sizeable faux fur white area rug.
  • Add one or two faux fur Ottomans. They come in several smaller stand-alone sizes and make a lovely soft warm accent to a room. Check out this contemporary room featuring two upholstered steel Ottomans. 
  • Place a small faux fur rug over the back of a chair, over an ottoman or on the back of a couch. It can also double as an item to use as an extra place to sit on the floor when needed. Check out what one looks like over the back of a chair
4. Create a Cozy Area for Family Game Night

Granted, most of us play board games at either the kitchen table, a coffee table or on the floor. If you're one of the lucky ones who can create a warm and cozy gaming area like this one, then you won't need to implement any of these suggestions:
  • Place multiple thick and lush floor cushions in a decorative spot so you can pull them up to the coffee table for family game night
  • For larger family rooms, add table and chairs to the room. Use chair cushions to soften the look then place your favorite family games in a basket under or near the table
  • If games will be played at the kitchen or dining room table, make it a warm and inviting experience by adding a standing popcorn machine, a basket with blankets in the corner to warm up with while playing, and a scoreboard to track the winners




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, September 14, 2019

Rainbrella Golf Umbrella and Grabber Hand Warmers Review

Source: Pixabay

It was a quite chilly and very rainy Saturday with the youth baseball tournament games in full swing. With no time for make-up games, the games had to be played. This resulted in wet & chilly ball players and even wetter parents in the stands and on the sidelines.

I was working at Ace Hardware in our small Iowa community that day. As the wet morning wore on, we were inundated with parents coming in to purchase umbrellas and hand warmers.  Before noon, we had completely sold out of the Rainbrella Golf umbrellas and the Grabber Hand Warmers. 


Rainbrella Golf Umbrella


Rainbrella Golf Umbrella

These large umbrellas by Rainbrella (available in 42 inch and 60 inch diameter) are perfect for golf outings and any other sporting event (such as our local youth baseball tournament). The umbrellas are multi-colored and collapsible. 

Large umbrellas can definitely save the day and these Rainbrella umbrellas were much appreciated by the kids and parents alike at the ball park on this particular day. 


Grabber Hand Warmers



Grabber Hand Warmers

An assistant coach to one baseball team came in to Ace and bought dozens of 2-pair packages of the Grabber Hand Warmers for the kids sitting in the dugouts waiting for their turn at bat and on the field.  He told me the boys' hands were freezing and he needed to keep them warm so they could play.

These portable heat in the palm of your hand Air-activated Grabber Hand Warmers keep hands and fingers toasty for over 7 hours. No shaking or kneading required; just open the package and put the Warmers in your glove or pocket for a few minutes to start the process. All Grabber Warmers are designed for one-time, disposable use. 


Summary


While the umbrellas and hand warmers worked out well for our youth baseball games, they are also very handy for other outdoor sporting events such as football games. Plus, they are perfect for hunters and fishermen on similar cold and wet days. So best to stock up ahead of time and not wait until bad weather forces a run on them.  Since we were the only store in our small town carrying these umbrellas and hand warmers, we sold out quickly. 

These products are available in a number of places, such as Ace Hardware, Walmart and online at Amazon.






Quick Links:





(c) Wednesday Elf Review 9/14/2019





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 13, 2019

Glass by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie Reviewed

Glass is the final movie in this M. Night Shyamalan movie series!

Glass by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie Reviewed
I'll tell you in advance, I have seen an interview with Shyamalan and he does not plan to have any additional movies in this series.  I think that is a mistake.  This movie left me wanting more.  Of course, wanting more is the sign of an excellent movie.

I have previously reviewed the first two movies in this M. Night Shyamalan series:  Unbreakable and Split.  If you haven't already read those reviews and seen those movies, I recommend them before you watch Glass.

Glass could be a stand alone movie, but I believe seeing the other two movies is best.  They introduce the characters and set everything up for this movie. It is hard for me to say for certain since I have seen the previous movies several times, but I'm not sure everything in this movie would be completely clear if you don't have the basis of information and background from Split.

Once you have viewed all three movies, I would love to have you return to this review and tell me which movie in the series was your favorite.  I definitely have a favorite and I suspect everyone will have a clear preference.

I'm going to do my best to give you a review of Glass that won't spoil either of the movies for you in case you haven't seen the previous two.


Glass Movie Synopsis

 
There are three main characters in Glass. Each possesses at least one superhuman characteristic. All find themselves in a battle of good vs. evil and they are not on the same side.

 GlassCheck PriceBy now, you may already know Samuel L. Jackson is Glass, or Mr. Glass.  His real name is Elijah Price.  Elijah was born with a rare disease (osteogenesis imperfecta) that makes his bones break easily. In this movie, Elijah requires a wheelchair for mobility.  However, Elijah is a brilliant man and though he is physically limited, he is mentally superior. 

David Dunn (Bruce Willis) seems like a mild-mannered, average man with a grown son.  Together, they run a surveillance company, but they also have a side venture. David Dunn is an extremely strong vigilante with a sixth sense. His son is his point of contact for research and quick information. When David is on a mission, he and his son, Joseph, stay in constant communication.

Then there is Kevin Wendell Crumb (James McAvoy) who suffers with DID (Dissociative Identity Disorder), more commonly referred to as a split personality.  Crumb fights the battle between good vs evil within himself, as well as in the outside world.  As I stated in my review of Split, James McAvoy is an exceptional actor.  His performance alone makes this movie worth watching.

The movie opens with 4 teens being held as food for the imminent beast. David Dunn is determined to find the kidnapped girls. However, before he can free the girls, he comes face to face with their kidnapper who is surprised to find a worthy opponent.  But, neither David nor the kidnapper realize they are both prey for a totally different adversary.  


My Conclusion and Recommendation of Glass


Like all Shyamalan movies, Glass is full of unexpected events with a shocking ending. Even as a Shyamalan fan, I didn't expect the ending.  It took me over a week before I could write this review without expressing too much emotion in my choice of words.

If you prefer a realistic ending, you will love this movie.  If you watch movies as an escape from reality, you are likely to be disappointed.

I watched this movie with my son and my husband. While we were all taken aback by the ending, we each had a different opinion or rating of the movie overall.  This is one movie where every individual will have to judge for themselves.  

Regardless, how can you resist a movie that includes Bruce Willis, Samuel L. Jackson, James McAvoy, and M. Night Shyamalan!







Previously Reviewed on Review This!
 
Unbreakable by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie ReviewUnbreakable by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie Review
Unbreakable is an exceptional thriller movie & the beginning of a great series. M. Night Shyamalan is a master of suspense and unexpected twists.



Split by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie ReviewSplit by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie Review
Split is the best psychological thriller that I have ever watched. Almost every emotion a person could feel is toyed with in this movie as we helplessly watch.






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, September 12, 2019

Review of Historic Stonington Lighthouse and Museum

Stonington Connecticut is a delightful small town built around Stonington harbor.  We visited there on a beautiful July afternoon and parked in the lot along the harbor.  I then walked back up the hill to photograph the historic stone lighthouse.


History of Stonington Lighthouse

Stonington lighthouse was built in 1840.  It is a wonderfully preserved example of a mid-19th century lighthouse. The tower sits on a hill just up from the harbor and is 35 feet tall.  It was used for navigation until 1889, when it was replaced by another navigational aid out in the harbor.  The lighthouse is now used as a museum that explores the life and history of Stonington's seafaring people.  


Visiting the Inside of the Lighthouse

The museum is open seasonally and when you tour the museum you may also climb the 29 steps up the tower.  I climbed the steps and enjoyed taking photos in the museum and around the lighthouse grounds.

The brochure I was given when touring the lighthouse states that the seaside village of Stonington has been the " home to farmers, and fishermen, sailors and sea captains, explorers and entrepreneurs for more than 360 years."


Walking the Lighthouse Grounds- Views from the Back


Zazzle Products from my Photos





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner