Sunday, May 26, 2024

The Use of Peppermint Oil to Deter Squirrels and Certain Insects

The Use of Peppermint Oil to Deter Squirrels and Certain Insects
I've been on the hunt for a natural, safe remedy to deter squirrels from digging in my hanging pots and garden and something that would naturally deter wasps and spiders

After researching various options, I discovered that peppermint oil is highly recommended for these purposes. Its strong, minty aroma effectively repels these pests while being safe for the environment, pets, and humans when used properly.

Peppermint oil is a popular natural remedy for deterring various indoor and outdoor pests. This essential oil, derived from the peppermint plant, has a strong scent that many pests find overwhelming and unpleasant. 

Here, I explore how to use peppermint oil to deter spiders indoors, wasps outdoors, and squirrels digging in your flower pots. I also discuss what pests peppermint oil won't deter and whether it might attract any pests.

Note: I've made the suggested diluted mixture, but I also use the pure oil outside (not diluted).

How to Use Peppermint Oil as a Pest Deterrent

General Preparation:

  • Mix peppermint oil with water to create a spray.
  • Use 10-15 drops of peppermint oil per cup of water.
  • For stronger solutions, use 20-30 drops per cup of water.
  • Shake the mixture well before each use.
  • I've also put some pure oil on the bricks of my house near my hanging pots as a potential climbing deterrent for squirrels.

Indoors (Spiders):

  • Spray the mixture around windows, doors, and baseboards.
  • Apply to corners, cracks, and other entry points where spiders may enter.
  • Reapply every 2-3 weeks or after cleaning.
  • I've sprayed the entire perimeter of my basement using this mixture. It seems to help!

Outdoors (Wasps):

  • Spray around areas where wasps are likely to build nests, such as under eaves, around porch roofs, and in sheds.
  • Apply to outdoor furniture and around picnic areas. I spray it under my outdoor table.
  • Reapply every few days or after rain.
  • I apply it to my decorative stones near my flowers and the open brick slots outside the house where I see the little "&#$%(" going in!
  • I have a little container on the patio table with pure peppermint oil.

Flower Pots (Squirrels):

  • They say you can spray the mixture directly onto the soil of flower pots, but I need to be brave enough to do that! I have sprayed it on my pots and around the edges of the flower pots.
  • I have yet to try dousing cotton balls with peppermint oil and placing them in the pots.
  • Reapply every 2-3 days or after watering.

What Peppermint Oil Won't Do

  • Rodents: Peppermint oil might be effective against mice and rats, but it is not a guaranteed deterrent. I couldn't speak to its effectiveness for this use. I encourage you to research more about rodents.
  • Significant Pests: It won't deter larger pests such as raccoons.
  • Persistent Insects: Peppermint oil alone may not significantly deter certain insects, such as ants and cockroaches.

Potential Insects That Peppermint Oil Might Attract

  • Pollinators: Bees and butterflies, which are generally drawn to floral and sweet scents, might be attracted to the sweet scent of peppermint oil.

Best Practices for Using Peppermint Oil

  • Consistency: Regular application is key to maintaining the effectiveness of peppermint oil as a deterrent.
  • Targeted Application: Focus on areas where pests are commonly found or seen entering.
  • Alternative Solutions: Consider integrating other pest control methods for persistent or large infestations.

Additional Tips

  • Safety: Ensure the peppermint oil mixture does not contact pets or children. While natural, it can still cause irritation.
  • Storage: Store peppermint oil in a cool, dark place to maintain potency.
  • Testing: Before widespread use, test the mixture in a small area to ensure it does not damage surfaces or plants.

Conclusion

Peppermint oil is an effective natural remedy for deterring spiders indoors, wasps outdoors, and squirrels from digging in your flower pots. 

Peppermint oil can be part of your pest control strategy by following proper application methods and understanding its limitations. 

It does seem to work for our home and the outdoor patio; I have had fewer wasps harassing me in the backyard so far this year. Since it's an easy, natural solution, I use peppermint oil inside and outside.

ADDED BONUS TIP:

Every month, I change our furnace filter and add about 20 drops of peppermint oil directly on the filter to give the house a pleasant, fresh peppermint scent throughout. It does wear off quickly (within a day or so).

************

Where I Buy My Peppermint Oil:

I buy my peppermint oil from Amazon. There are many to choose from. Here's the latest one I purchased.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, May 25, 2024

National Towel Day Holiday Review

Towel Day is held each year on May 25. It was created by fans in 2001 to honor Douglas Adams (d. 5/11/2001). 


A stack of towels

According to the author’s book “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”, a towel is the most important item a hitchhiker can carry.


“... any man who can hitch the length and breadth of the Galaxy, rough it, slum it, struggle against terrible odds, win through and still know where his towel is, is clearly a man to be reckoned with."


Celebrating Towel Day


Fans of Douglas Adams’ book and its philosophy about towels, will enjoy Towel Day. Otherwise, towels are important in daily life and come in many forms.


There are bath towels and beach towels, dish towels, hand towels and tea towels.


To properly celebrate National Towel Day, let's look at a few examples of towels, that absorbent cloth used for drying.  


Kinds of Towels


Bath Towels


Used to dry the entire body after a bath or shower. The best bath towel is one that is 100% cotton. Super luxury towels are those made of Egyptian Cotton. Pima Cotton and organic cotton are also superior types of cotton used in luxury towels. 


Interesting note about those lovely soft towels hotels and resorts use ~ they are always 100% cotton (which makes them wonderfully absorbent) and always in the color white. White has an associated luxurious charm.  White color also co-ordinates well with the decor of hotels.


Beach Towels


Used for going to the beach. Usually very colorful and they come in many designs.


Staying with our Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy theme, this galaxy beach towel is a fun choice for Hitchhiker fans. Other fans will know immediately what the number 42 / Don't Panic means!






Kitchen Towels


Used to dry dishes and wipe up spills in the kitchen. Kitchen towels are also known as dish towels (and are called tea towels in the U.K. 


Hand Towels


Used to dry your hands. Hand towels are the perfect accessory for the kitchen and the bathroom. They are extremely handy hanging near the sink.


Summary


Towels, in addition to being the most important item a galaxy ‘hitchhiker’ can carry, are absolutely essential to every household. One can never have too many towels, as they have so many different uses. 



National Towel Day
May 25


For More Holiday Reviews, check out 
ReviewThisReviews: Holidays


*National Towel Day Holiday Review is brought to you by Wednesday Elf




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, May 24, 2024

Cascade Platinum Dishwasher Cleaner Reviewed

cascade platinum dishwasher cleaner
In my last review, I explained why we run a washing machine cleaning packet through a new home's washing machine on move-in day.  We also run a dishwasher cleaner through the family members new home's dishwasher.

Like clothes washing machines, the dishwasher has been used by previous tenants or owners.  They may not have worried about the cleanliness of the dishwasher's interior or grease build-up on the bottom, sides or door interior.  It could also have an unpleasant odor and need cleaning.

In my own home, I keep the dishwasher cleaner tabs on-hand and use then as needed.  In the image on the right, you can see the residual grease on the inside of the dishwasher door still there after I washed the dishes.  The grease stain wouldn't just easily wipe off, so I ran the empty dishwasher with the Cascade cleaner.  

Viola!  A clean dishwasher, ready for the next load of dirty dishes.

 

Cascade Platinum Dishwasher Cleaner

 Cascade Platinum Dishwasher Cleaner, 3 countCheck PriceCleaning a dishwasher is easy when you use the convenient Cascade Platinum Dishwasher cleaner.

  • Use in an empty dishwasher
  • Eliminates odor
  • Remove grease buildup
  • Remove limescale buildup
  • Recommended use - once a month

To Use:  Simply place the Cascade Platinum Dishwasher tab in the dishwasher dispenser, close the dispenser door, and run the empty dishwasher to clean. 

 

 


 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, May 23, 2024

Using Lightrooms AI and Preset Features

Forest Park Bandstand
Forest Park Bandstand

 I thought I was pretty good at keeping up with the changes in Adobe's Photoshop and Lightroom, but it seems like there is always something I missed.  At our last photo club meeting the speaker introduced me to some features that have been there for months, and I was unaware of all the advantages they had.  

Presets

The subject was on making your own presets in lightroom and while that was a great topic, while I was listening to the speaker, he mentioned a few features that I had overlooked.  Lightroom, through the powers of AI, now gives you the ability to edit one section of a photo at a time with a single click.  In the masking feature you can select sky, background or subject and then edit just that portion of the photo.  In addition to this when you find a look that you like you can turn it into a preset and use the same editing for future photos.

One of the things that I had overlooked was the Lightroom in their latest update had added three groups of presets for you to use.  They are for portraits, sky, and subject. This is a real time saver when one of the presets works for the photo you are editing.

Adaptive Presets-Sky

Here are the presets that are available for your use in Lightroom.
  • Blue Drama
  • Dark Drama
  • Neon Tropics 
  • Storm Clouds
  • Sunrise
  • Sunset
The photo at the beginning of the review is one that I took while on a visit to Forest Park in St. Louis.  It is of a historic bandstand, that has been a favorite of people visiting the park since the 1920's.  In this photo I used the 'Blue Drama' preset to add a bit of drama to a rather dreary sky.

Another tip I learned from the speaker at photo club, is that there is a slider above all the presets and when you use this slider you can alter the amount of the preset that can be used on the photo, anywhere from 0 percent to 200 percent.  Here are two examples using the same photo and using the 'Neon Tropics' preset.  This first example uses the preset at 200 %.
Bandstand with tropic sky

This version is interesting, but I think it is a bit too dramatic, so here it is using only 50% 'Neon Tropics' preset.


I do think I like the 50% use a bit better.

Adaptive Presets-Subject

For subjects Lightroom has six different presets added in and in addition you can always make and safe your own presets.  
  • Pop
  • Warm Pop
  • Soft
  • Cool Soft
  • Vibrant
  • Glow
To demonstrate the subject presets built into Lightroom I will give you a few examples below.  You will first need to select your subject in the photo using the masking feature and then select your preset and add the percentage of preset that work for your photo.  In my examples I will again use the Forest Park Bandstand photo.

The first one is using the Glow setting.  It is very subtle, but I like the look it portrays.

Bandstand


The preset used int the photo below is the Pop setting at 200%
Bandstand

Like I learned at my last photo club session, there is always something new to be learned in Lightroom, even for those of us who are seasoned users.  Here is a book that is sure to teach you a few tricks.    Lightroom for Beginners and Seniors  It can be purchased on Amazon.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, May 22, 2024

The Best Low Carb, High Protein, Gluten-Free Pasta

Kaizen Low Carb Pasta made with lupin flour is a health-conscious alternative to traditional pasta made with wheat flour and semolina. It is the best pasta I have found for those of us who follow a low-carb diet, such as keto enthusiasts, diabetics, or anyone looking to reduce their carbohydrate intake. It is also a great option for people who follow a gluten-free diet.

This product review will cover Kaizen pasta’s taste, texture, nutritional value, preparation, and overall value. As a bonus, I will also share a simple recipe I developed that uses Kaizen fusilli.

Kaizen low carb, high protein, gluten-free pasta

Taste and Texture

One of the most critical aspects of any pasta product is its taste and texture. Kaizen low carb pasta aims to mimic the familiar experience of traditional pasta, and it does a commendable job.

Taste

The pasta has a mild, slightly nutty flavor that pairs well with a variety of sauces. It reminds me of chickpea pasta. 

While it doesn't have the same taste as pasta made from wheat flour and semolina, it is quite enjoyable when combined with robust sauces like marinara or Alfredo. 

Texture

The texture is pleasantly firm, though slightly different from traditional pasta. It is a bit chewier, which can take some getting used to, but it holds up well in both hot and cold dishes. 

Nutritional Value

Kaizen low carb pasta shines in its nutritional profile, making it an attractive option for health-conscious consumers.

Low in Carbohydrates

This pasta is significantly lower in carbs compared to regular pasta, making it suitable for low-carb and keto diets. Each serving contains only 6 grams of net carbs, depending on the specific variety. 

The company has also come out with an even lower-carb pasta line, which I have ordered and will review after I have tried it.

High in Protein

With 20 grams of protein per serving, this pasta helps in meeting daily protein requirements, which is beneficial for muscle maintenance and overall health. 

High in Fiber

The pasta has 15 grams of dietary fiber per serving, contributing to better digestive health and helping to keep you full for longer.

Gluten-Free

Kaizen pasta has been reformulated with a gluten-free recipe, so more people can enjoy it.

No Artificial Ingredients

Kaizen prides itself on using natural ingredients, which is a big plus for those avoiding artificial additives and preservatives. 

Preparation

Preparing Kaizen Low Carb Pasta is straightforward and similar to traditional pasta. Just bring a large pot of salted water to a boil, cook the pasta for about 5–6 minutes (to the desired texture), drain, and use as desired, with a sauce or in recipes. 

Although the texture is different than traditional pasta made from wheat and semolina flours and cannot be cooked al dente, it's crucial to monitor the pasta closely to avoid overcooking so it does not become mushy.

Versatility

Kaizen Low Carb Pasta is versatile and, at the time of this post's publication, is available in four shapes: Fusilli, ziti, radiatore, and cavatappi. This makes it suitable for a variety of dishes.

It works well in classic hot pasta dishes like spaghetti Bolognese, carbonara, lasagna, and baked casseroles.

I used it to make a low-carb, high-protein, high-fiber version of a traditional Jewish sweet noodle kugel (a sweet egg, cottage cheese, and noodle casserole) and it was absolutely delicious!

It also holds up well in cold pasta salads, providing a hearty base for a variety of fresh ingredients. 

Overall Value

Considering its health benefits, Kaizen low carb pasta offers good value for money. Although it is more expensive than conventional pasta made with wheat flour and semolina, the added nutritional benefits will justify the higher price point for many consumers.

It's particularly valuable for those who need to manage their carbohydrate intake, follow a gluten-free diet, or want a higher protein alternative to standard pasta.

Kaizen low carb pasta is an excellent product for anyone seeking a healthier alternative to traditional pasta without compromising on taste and texture. Its high protein and fiber content, combined with its low carbohydrate profile, make it a standout option for low-carb dieters and health-conscious individuals. While it may require a slight adjustment in cooking and texture expectations, its versatility and nutritional benefits make it a worthwhile addition to your pantry.


Low Carb Fusilli With Pork and Mushroom Ragu

I whip up this delicious, low carb pasta dish often because it's quick and easy to make and my husband and I both enjoy it.

I usually serve it with a side salad and, sometimes, with garlic bread made with Hero bread (expensive but 0 net carbs and exceptional taste and texture for a keto-friendly bread).

I hope you and your family enjoy it.

Buon appetito!

Servings: 4

Ingredients

Boiling water

Salt

1 pound ground pork

8 oz. portabello mushrooms

1/4 cup wine (red is traditional but white is good, too)

Chopped fresh or dried Italian herbs (optional)

15.5 oz. jar Rao's Homemade Marinara sauce

8 oz. box Kaizen Fusilli low carb pasta

Freshly grated Parmigiano-Romano cheese

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil while you make the pork and mushroom ragu (meat sauce).
  2. In a large nonstick skillet, crumble and lightly brown the ground pork over medium-high heat.
  3. Slice the mushrooms and add them to the browned pork. Stir occasionally until the mushrooms are soft.
  4. Stir in the wine and the optional seasonings and cook until the wine is reduced by about half.
  5. Stir in the marinara sauce and turn the heat to a low simmer.
  6. Stir the fusilli into the boiling salted water (some foaming is normal) and boil for 5 minutes.
  7. Drain and stir the cooked pasta into the pork and mushroom ragu. Turn the heat down to low and let the pasta "marry" with the sauce for 3 to 5 minutes.
  8. Divide into four portions and grate some Parmigiano-Romano cheese over the top just before serving.


The Best Low Carb, High Protein, Gluten-Free Pasta by Margaret Schindel


Read More Low Carb & Keto Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Recipes by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Health Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, May 21, 2024

The Classic Record Player Stand - Reviewed

 In this age of digital streaming, there is something undeniably charming about spinning vinyl records on a classic turntable. Our daughter bought Fran a classic turntable for her birthday this year. Since we didn't have a place for it we had to find a record player stand. 

The classic record player stand - reviewed

Fran began a search for what she wanted to buy for our new turntable. Yes, now we have another piece of furniture in the house. She found this Amil Series stand from Mazefur with more of a contemporary style. It's perfect for the new turntable and fits nicely in our living room.

The stand was very easy to assemble with excellent easy-to-follow instructions. The top surface offers a stable platform for our turntable, with enough space to accommodate even a larger model. 

The stand has a sleek pull-out drawer at the top, a shelf right below the drawer, and plenty of storage space for our extensive collection of vinyl records to be stored safely.

Many turntables on the market today have built-in CD players, ours does not. The shelf below the drawer will be perfect for a CD player, as we also have an extensive collection of CDs. The shelf has wire management access on the back panel for easy installation of the wires.

There are many styles of record player stands to choose from. We like the style of the one we purchased, but you can find many stands that offer a retro look to bring you back in time.

Find more Product Reviews on ReviewThis here:

ReviewThisProductReviews.com

Below are just a couple of styles you will find on Amazon.

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, May 20, 2024

Book Review: The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

Alicia Berenson, artist, lives in a gorgeous home in a desirable part of London with her husband who is a well-known fashion photographer. She has an upcoming art show, she is clearly very in love with her husband, and she appears to have everything. So why does she kill her husband? The Silent Patient is full of twists and turns. I suspected first one person then the next. 

Book cover of The Silent Patient


The Silent Patient is a psychological murder mystery that jumps from one point of view to another and includes Alicia's diary. The story isn't told in a linear timeline. The prologue is an excerpt from Alicia's Diary on July 14th soon before the murder in August. Chapter One begins with recap as though written by a report with the murder having happened six years prior. We learn about their careers, their art, their ages, and the last day of Gabriel's life. We learn the gory details of the murder scene, Alicia's attempt to take her own life and how she fought those trying to save her. We find that Alicia turned mute and remained silent. 

Alicia was discharged from the hospital and was initially under house arrest while waiting for the trial. She painted a self-portrait that she named Alcestis. 

Huge Cast of Characters:

Alcestis. A heroine of Greek mythology. Also, Alicia's self-portrait just after allegedly murdering her husband.

Alicia. A complicated, artistic woman, whose husband worried about her mood and well-being. He convinced her to start a diary. After all, maybe writing would help.

Jean-Felix Martin. The manager of a small SoHo Gallery who exhibited her art; including the Alcestis. Long lines formed outside of this small gallery to see what the murderer had painted. 

Lazarus Diomedes. The clinical director of the Grove, the secure forensic psychiatric unit in North London. Alicia was placed here due to clearly suffering from profound psychological distress as determined by the murder and the continuing refusal or inability to speak.  Diomedes oversaw her treatment at the Grove. Including the high level of sedating medications that both kept her safe for others and barely able to function.

Yuri. Head psychiatric nurse. Appears to do very well with managing the patients.

Christian. The head of Alicia's care team and the current prescriber of her medications. He clearly dislikes Theo from the moment we meet him. 

Theo Faber. Psychotherapist. Theo followed the trial closely and chose to interview at the Grove as a way to get close to Alicia. His goal is to treat her and to get her to talk. But Christian is the head of her care team.

The list of characters goes on and on. Max Berenson. Gabriel's brother and Alicia's attorney. What might he and other members of the Berenson family know? The patients in the unit, what might they know? Who has something to gain from her lengthy stay at the Grove and her silence? Why is the victim's brother also the attorney for the murderer? How do the gallery still show her art?  There are so very many questions.

Alicia has been violent on the unit. Which is why her medications are so high and sedating. It's not a far leap to assume that she committed the murder. But still... there are so many things that aren't right. 

My Thoughts

During each twist and turn, I kept thinking "that's not right". Both in the unit where Alicia is house and out of the unit. With every twist and turn I began to think someone else did it. I never did guess correctly. Did I miss the clues? 

Or... is it a matter of me missing the clues in this mystery? Or, to quote Annie Wilkes in Misery, "He never got out of the cockadoodie car" and the plot doesn't fully line up? It reminds me a bit of how I felt when I watched The Sixth Sense many, many years ago. Malcolm Crowe is a child psychologist and the child he's working with says, "I see dead people." I was stunned and thought, Whoa!  How'd we get here?!!!! I feel the same about The Silent Patient.

I can tell you that I've already started reading this a 2nd time to try to find what I missed and why I blamed the wrong people. How I missed seeing how we got to where we ended up. Or... was it a matter of plot problems. I don't know, but I'm reading it again.

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides can be found here on Amazon.

Currently, over 300,000 readers have reviewed this book on Amazon with a 4.4. out of 5 star rating. The negative reviews discuss the mental health issues, plot, and timeline issues. The vast majority of reviewers enjoyed this book. I found that the portrayal of the flawed mental health system and what can happen in those settings to be accurate. And the flawed mental health workers... same. I'm still not completely sure what I think of the plot/timeline. I can say that it was intriguing enough that I'm re-reading it already. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, May 19, 2024

Enjoy the Mysterious and Supernatural Series, "Outer Range" - 5 Star Review

Enjoy the Mysterious and Supernatural Series, "Outer Range" - 5 Star Review

In the ever-expanding universe of streaming content, Amazon Prime's "Outer Range" series stands out as a unique blend of Western drama and supernatural mystery. 

Season 2 was recently released, and as one of my favorite series, I have already binge-watched it!

Created by Brian Watkins, this series dives into the heart of Wyoming's rugged landscapes, presenting viewers with a narrative as intriguing as it is enigmatic. Here's an in-depth look at the storyline, plot, and main characters of "Outer Range."

Introduction to "Outer Range"

"Outer Range" is a genre-bending series that combines the grit of a classic Western with elements of the supernatural and psychological thriller. Premiering on Amazon Prime in 2022, it quickly garnered attention for its unique premise and compelling performances. The series explores family, faith, and time travel themes, making it a must-watch for fans of complex, character-driven stories.

The Storyline: A Western with a Supernatural Twist

Set against the backdrop of Wyoming's vast and unforgiving landscape, "Outer Range" follows the life of Royal Abbott, a rancher fighting to keep his family together while dealing with the mysterious appearance of a black void on his land. This void, which defies the laws of nature, becomes the focal point of a series of strange and unsettling events that challenge the characters' understanding of reality and time.

The Mysterious Void

The discovery of the void sets off a chain reaction of events that intertwine the lives of the Abbott family with other town residents. The void's presence brings long-buried secrets and unresolved conflicts to the surface, making it both a literal and metaphorical abyss that the characters must navigate. As they delve deeper into its mysteries, they are forced to confront their beliefs and fears, leading to profound personal transformations.

Preview of the Trailer For Season 1:

Main Characters: A Deep Dive

"Outer Range" features a rich ensemble of characters, each bringing their own complexities to the narrative.

Royal Abbott (Josh Brolin)

Royal Abbott is the patriarch of the Abbott family and the central figure in "Outer Range." Played by Josh Brolin, Royal is a stoic and resilient rancher whose life is turned upside down by discovering the void. His struggle to protect his family and land from external threats and supernatural phenomena forms the core of the series. Royal's journey is one of survival and introspection as he grapples with the unknown and his own past.

Cecilia Abbott (Lili Taylor)

Lili Taylor portrays Cecilia Abbott, Royal's devoted wife. She is the emotional anchor of the family, providing support and stability amidst the chaos. Cecilia's character is marked by her unwavering faith and strength, qualities that are tested as the mysteries of the void unfold. Her relationship with Royal and her efforts to maintain the family's unity are central to the narrative.

Perry Abbott (Tom Pelphrey)

Perry Abbott, the eldest son of Royal and Cecilia, is played by Tom Pelphrey. He is a man burdened by personal tragedy and unresolved grief. Perry's quest for answers and redemption drives much of the series' emotional tension. His character's arc is deeply intertwined with the mysteries of the void, leading to revelations that impact the entire Abbott family.

Autumn (Imogen Poots)

Autumn, portrayed by Imogen Poots, is a mysterious traveler who arrives at the Abbott ranch with a keen interest in the void. Her enigmatic presence and cryptic motives add layers of intrigue to the story. As she becomes more involved with the Abbotts, her true intentions and connection to the void are gradually revealed, making her a pivotal figure in the unfolding drama.

Plot: Unraveling the Mystery

The plot of "Outer Range" is a carefully woven tapestry of suspense, drama, and supernatural elements. It begins with the Abbott family's discovery of the void, which sets off a series of strange occurrences that defy explanation. As Royal and his family try to understand the nature of the void, they encounter various obstacles and adversaries, including rival ranchers and enigmatic figures like Autumn.

Conflict and Resolution

The series balances its supernatural elements with grounded, human conflicts. The Abbott family faces external threats from those who seek to exploit the void for their own gain, as well as internal struggles as they deal with personal loss and trauma. Each episode peels back layers of the mystery, offering new clues and raising more questions, keeping viewers on the edge of their seats.

Themes of Faith and Fate

At its core, "Outer Range" explores themes of faith, fate, and the unknown - with that unknown being time and space. The inexplicable phenomena surrounding the void constantly challenge the characters' beliefs. The series delves into existential questions about the nature of reality and human existence, making it a thought-provoking watch.

Conclusion

"Outer Range" is a compelling series that pushes the boundaries of traditional genre storytelling. 

Its unique blend of Western elements and supernatural intrigue offers a fresh and engaging narrative that keeps viewers hooked from start to finish. The strong performances by the cast, particularly Josh Brolin and Lili Taylor, add depth to the characters and elevate the storytelling. 

Whether you're a fan of mystery, drama, or the supernatural (time travel), "Outer Range" is a series that promises to captivate and leave you pondering long after the credits roll.

As the mysteries of the void continue to unravel, one thing is sure: "Outer Range" is a journey worth taking.

After completing Season 2 (released this year, 2024), I eagerly await and hope for a Season 3!

AVAILABLE ON AMAZON PRIME

5 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X