Showing posts with label Halloween. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Halloween. Show all posts

Thursday, October 20, 2022

Halloween Tree Review

I previously reviewed the Halloween felt ornaments that we made for our Halloween tree this year.  When several people said they had never heard of a Halloween tree, I knew I needed to show you our tree.

Last year, we decorated a 5 foot skinny tree for Halloween with a variety of store bought Halloween ornaments. However, this year I wanted a smaller tree for our handmade ornaments. My husband selected one that could sit on our kitchen table or counter. That allows us to enjoy it all day long since it is not relegated to a corner in the den. 

I love this little Halloween tree!  It is the perfect size to accommodate our new handmade ornaments, plus it has orange lights that are battery operated. It is the perfect Halloween centerpiece and a great touch of Halloween decor in the room where we spend the most time.



Pre-lite Spooky Birch Halloween Tree

FUNPENY Lighted Black Birch Spooky TreeFUNPENY Lighted Black Birch Spooky TreeCheck PriceThe spooky birch Halloween tree makes the perfect centerpiece for our kitchen table.  It is 2 feet tall, painted black and embellished with glitter that does not fall off or stick to your fingers.

Our tree has 18 battery operated orange lights. The switch is on the side and easy to turn on without having to move or lift the tree. 

The tree also comes with spiders and web material, but we opted to not use those decorations because we wanted the tree to display our handmade felt ornaments

There are a few options available on this little, inexpensive tree. You can choose orange lights, purple lights, or a combination of the two. 3 AA batteries are required to light the tree and they are not included with the purchase of the tree.

More Halloween Fun! 

The Halloween Contributors Love Halloween





House of Sylvestermouse


Halloween Tree





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, October 11, 2022

Halloween Pumpkin Carving Kits

 

Pumpkin Carving
Pumpkin Carving Kits Reviewed

The fall season is certainly upon us, the leaves are turning beautiful colors and beginning to fall from the trees. 

Halloween is right around the corner. I always considered Halloween the kickoff to the Holiday season. Driving around you can see all of the fun and scary outdoor decorations in many of the yards.

After the decorations are up and it gets closer to Halloween night it's time to carve the pumpkins. We always pick a night right before Halloween and have a pumpkin carving party. I call it a party because our daughter and grandsons come over to carve our pumpkins. And if we are lucky our son and daughter-in-law will make the two-hour trip to be here with our granddaughters to join in the fun.

Pumpkin Carving Kit
Our Pumpkin Carving Kit

For making pumpkin carving fun and easy I bought this kit a few years ago and the whole family loves the tools in this kit. 

Halloween Pumpkin Carving Kit Features:

  • High-quality stainless steel tools
  • Double-sided stainless steel detail tools
  • Sharp pumpkin shovel tools with scraper
  • Sturdy saws for accurate cutting
To be honest with you, I don't even know what all of these tools can do but my daughter and grandchildren sure do. This set certainly makes carving fun and easy. Well, I'm not sure that any of it is easy but it sure is fun. 

We always have a fun night carving our pumpkins and admiring everyone's hard work in the end. The pumpkins in the intro photo are last year's creations, and that is only half of them, they carved six pumpkins in total. Then, on Halloween night I line our walkway to the porch with their pumpkin creations.

For more Halloween fun my friend Olivia Morris reviews: Decorations for the Home

For Crafting decorations my friend Cynthia Sylvestermouse reviews: This easy Craft Kit

Don't forget about those delicious pumpkin seeds read my: Air Fryer Pumpkin Seed Recipes

15-Piece Pumpkin Carving Kits for Halloween, 5 Professional Stainless Steel Pumpkin Sculpting Tools, 10 Detail Sculpting Tools for Halloween Jack Pumpkin Lanterns15-Piece Pumpkin Carving Kits for Halloween, 5 Professional Stainless Steel Pumpkin Sculpting Tools, 10 Detail Sculpting Tools for Halloween Jack Pumpkin Lanterns15-Piece Pumpkin Carving Kits for Halloween, 5 Professional Stainless Steel Pumpkin Sculpting Tools, 10 Detail Sculpting Tools for Halloween Jack Pumpkin LanternsNESSTU Pumpkin Carving Kit, 28PCS Halloween Pumpkin Carving Tools Professional Pumpkin Carving Set Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Jack-O-Lanterns Pumpkin Carving KnifeNESSTU Pumpkin Carving Kit, 28PCS Halloween Pumpkin Carving Tools Professional Pumpkin Carving Set Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Jack-O-Lanterns Pumpkin Carving KnifeNESSTU Pumpkin Carving Kit, 28PCS Halloween Pumpkin Carving Tools Professional Pumpkin Carving Set Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Jack-O-Lanterns Pumpkin Carving KnifePumpkin Carving Kit Tools Halloween, CHRYZTAL 13PCS Professional Heavy Duty Carving Set, Stainless Steel Double-side Sculpting Tool Carving Knife for Halloween Decoration Jack-O-LanternsPumpkin Carving Kit Tools Halloween, CHRYZTAL 13PCS Professional Heavy Duty Carving Set, Stainless Steel Double-side Sculpting Tool Carving Knife for Halloween Decoration Jack-O-LanternsPumpkin Carving Kit Tools Halloween, CHRYZTAL 13PCS Professional Heavy Duty Carving Set, Stainless Steel Double-side Sculpting Tool Carving Knife for Halloween Decoration Jack-O-Lanterns

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, October 5, 2022

Halloween Decorations for the Home ~ A Holiday Product Review

 Just in case you were wondering, Halloween is coming up quickly!  In three short weeks it will be upon us full blast.  Are you ready?


If you enjoy Halloween as much as I do, you can go to great lengths to decorate your home for this frightful holiday.  Your decor can be as easy as a whole bunch of pumpkins and gourds artistically displayed, to a full out haunted house.  It is all up to you.

Decorating should be fun to do and easy to remove once the holiday is over,  in my humble opinion.  To that end, I went looking for decorations that would fit nicely into my "easy" lifestyle.  

Wouldn't you know it, good old Amazon.com has a great selection of really easy and not too expensive outdoor decorations that fit that bill perfectly.  

 Inflatable decorations are easy to put up and even easier to take down again.  In most cases all that is required is a long outdoor extension cord to plug these in.  

These inflatables can be cute or really scary.  Pumpkins and ghosts are good fun choices, but those witches and goblins, werewolves and skeletons are pretty popular too.  






Just around the corner from us, one home has several of these blow up decorations that are lit up for the evenings.  They are lovely, easy to place and easy to remove too! That's important because we all know that right after Halloween we will shift to Thanksgiving and Christmas decor instead! So that easy removal is a bonus for sure. 

Everyone has been waiting for a great reason to celebrate and I can't think of a holiday that is more fun than Halloween.  I love watching the little ones who are just so cute in their costumes and really don't understand the whole concept of knocking on doors and getting candy.  Their eyes tell the story and the awe which they are in is contagious.  Of all the holidays in the year, I think this one is the one that makes me feel young again.  After all I can get myself dressed up too and I will!  No one will know who is hiding under that disguise!





.  





  




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, September 21, 2022

Halloween Sweaters and Accessories ~ A Holiday Review

 I am in a Holiday kind of mind because for the last few years many of our holidays have been put on hold due to the world wide COVID precautions and restrictions.  Well, the good news is that those many restrictions have been lifted and we can all celebrate together again.  That for me, is a big deal and I'm not alone!  Everyone is ready to have some fun and just kick back and enjoy the season and the holidays that are contained in there! 


Full Moon photo



What I love the most about a website that I happen to promote, is that there are so many things available to make your Halloween complete.

It's not just about the costumes (although that's the part I enjoy the most).  It's about all the other little things that make this holiday so much fun.

I happen to love the accessories page of HalloweenCostumes.com,  You have everything there that you haven't found anywhere else!  Accessories can sometimes even be the inspiration for the rest of your costume.  Starting off with a set of horns may become the impetus for one heck of a spooky or devilishly wonderful costume.  Tridents and Wands or Swords and Spears could send your costume look in a totally different direction.  The best part is that if you start now, you can tweak your costume for the next month and come out with something really wonderful and unique to you!  TIME is of the utmost importance and NOW is a great time to get started.

If you are not really into dressing the part of a Halloween ghoul or character, you can get into the Halloween spirit with a great Halloween Sweater.   Here in the north, Halloween can be quite chilly, so a warmer Halloween Sweater is perfect, especially when you are standing at an open doorway or maybe just opening and closing the door constantly.  The last thing you want as a Halloween treat is the first cold of the season.  So keep yourself ready by having a nice (scary or ugly) Halloween Sweater to compliment the night!  Some of their styles are already "Sold Out" , you don't want to miss out, so getting this done early is the best thing you can do!

If you live in the south, you might check out some lighter Halloween shirts at this ReviewThisReviews page! 

My hope for you and for me, is that after such a long absence of fun, we will all go out of our way to make the first big Holiday a fun time for all!   Then we can follow Halloween up with the best for Thanksgiving and Christmas that follow so shortly afterward.

Have a great time checking out all the good things to make your Halloween a "Spooktacliarly Good Time"

You can find everything you need right here at HalloweenCostumes.com!










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, September 11, 2022

Halloween Cardigan Shirt Makes an Easy Costume

Halloween Shirt
If you are searching for an easy, inexpensive way to dress for Halloween, be sure to take a look at these adorable Halloween "cardigan" shirts featured in this review.

I use the term "cardigan" loosely here to describe this open front shirt. This is not a cardigan sweater and it is not knit. It is a lighter weight cotton & polyester blend shirt that is made to look like a cardigan by opening down the front. There are not buttons or zipper. It is designed to be worn open.

For my region, the lighter weight cotton blend material is much more desirable for Halloween. Our nights are cool, but not cold (normally in the high 40's) and the day temperatures in late October are usually in the low 70's.  Therefore, we are not in real sweater weather temperatures yet. 

When searching for a lightweight sweater that I could take on and off throughout the day on Halloween, I came across these lovely designs. I wanted something that I could wear to the door when handing out candy that would reflect the Halloween spirit. Plus, I wanted a festive shirt that I could wear to the grocery store or post office during the day. These lightweight open-front sweater shirts are perfect. They certainly make a very easy costume to throw on over jeans and a blouse.

The hardest part was choosing the image design I wanted. I finally decided on the black cat with the pumpkins because I can wear it through October & November and not just for Halloween.


Long Sleeve Open Front Top For Halloween

I really wanted two different designs. I ended up with the one that I felt I could wear throughout autumn, but I am still drawn to the pumpkins, bats & ghost design.  I just might treat myself to that one before Halloween!

Which is your favorite?

 Check Price Check Price Check Price Check Price

 

 

 

More Halloween Fun! 

The Halloween Contributors Love Halloween





House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, September 7, 2022

Halloween, Time to Have a Really Scary Night ~ A Holiday Product Review

 It's coming soon!  Are you ready to put your thinking cap on?  It doesn't have to be hard to come up with a costume that will thrill and chill or just make everyone laugh!

The time to think about Halloween costumes is now!  After several years of no Halloween fun, I think everyone is more than ready to enjoy this holiday to it's fullest!


 

Are you a crafty person?  If so, you might want to get started now. Get all those things together to make this years Halloween costume, one that won't be forgotten!

The biggest problem is coming up with the idea!  There are so many easy ways to make a costume and then there are those costumes that will take a bit of time and effort to put together.  The choice is entirely yours.

Pick your theme for starters and then run with it.  The whole idea of making your costume stand out is to take the theme and exaggerate it to the fullest!  That is what makes it fun and so extra special.  

But if you are like me, my mind starts to go in all kinds of different directions and I find myself unable to make the decisions that will complete my "look"!  

Thank goodness there is a great place to get a costume for you, your kids and your other half!  Without all the hassles of making a  costume from scratch and trying to find everything you need!  

HalloweenCostumes.com has got you covered.  I just spent a whole day and a half just getting a feel for what they offer and I'm impressed!  

These costumes are really fun and come in all sizes from the Babies right up to the Parents and Grands!  Who could ask for anything more!  

HalloweenCostumes.com has individual costumes as well as costumes for pairs or couples!  Batman and Robin, Peter Pan and Tinkerbell, Zombies, and lots of story book characters too!  You really need to go and take a look!  So many choices and they seem to me to be cost effective too!  

By the time you buy the fabric, thread and accessories to make a costume (plus the time to make it) you will spend as much or more than what the finished price for these costumes are!

Halloween should be a time to enjoy and have some real fun!  Stressing out over your costume should not be the highlight.  

Everything Halloween can be found at HalloweenCostumes.com!  Do you need props?  Lights? Party Decorations and more?  Check out all of the scary and fun accessories that will just finish off your Halloween display.  

Mr. Skeleton is just one of the many props available on the Accessories Page!  Pretty scary to me.




I think that this year will be the one where so many people will get out and enjoy what we've been missing for the past few years.  We need to laugh and have something to look forward to!  Seeing everyone out having a really good time, makes my spirits lift, no pun intended!  



I'm hoping that everyone is looking forward to a really good time this year!


  

HAPPY HALLOWEEN TO ALL!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 18, 2021

Wear a Halloween Apron This Year!

Love Halloween? Wear a Halloween apron this year!

WHY NOT WEAR A HALLOWEEN APRON THIS YEAR?


A Halloween apron is not necessarily meant to be a costume though it certainly can be one. It also is a rather practical accessory designed to help you get into the spirit of Halloween. Why not treat yourself to one this year? On this page we review five fun reasons to buy a Halloween apron and five great places to source one.  


FIVE REASONS TO WEAR A HALLOWEEN APRON

(Just in case you need a good reason!)

🎃 No time to prepare a costume for yourself.
🎃 No money to spend on an expensive costume that you'll wear once.
🎃 No time left after creating costumes for your children.
🎃 Not going to a party so wearing an apron at home seems more reasonable.
🎃 No costume appeals to you.

If you have any of these problems, I say, "Go ahead, buy yourself a fun Halloween apron!"

FIVE PLACES TO SOURCE A HALLOWEEN APRON


If you don't have much choice at home, you might consider sourcing your Halloween themed apron from one of the following online sources:

AMAZON - A simple search of Amazon, by clicking here, turns up more than 1,000 Halloween-themed aprons! They're abundant and affordable.

EBAY eBay has a much larger selection of Halloween-themed aprons, new and used, available than Amazon does and they have vintage ones, too. However, the number of vintage Halloween aprons is somewhat limited I expect because wearing a themed apron is a newer idea. For new aprons on eBay, click here and for vintage Halloween aprons on eBay, click here.

ETSY - The sellers on Etsy are a pretty creative bunch and Halloween aprons are found a plenty on that website. Check them out on Etsy by visiting this link.

MAKE YOUR OWN - You can make one on your own. If you are a seamstress, you might like to look through the resources shown on the page How To Make An Apron, from where you might find inspiration or assistance in crafting the exact Halloween apron that you have in mind.

Do you already have a Halloween apron or are you searching for the perfect one right now?

Happy Haunting!
Boo-renda

MORE HALLOWEEN AND APRON READING:

How about a Hocus Pocus T-Shirt?
Fans of the cult-favorite Halloween movie, Hocus Pocus will love this tee!

Have a youngster clamoring for scary movies? Here are a few safe choices.

Hey Monkeybrains! Real Men Don't Wear Aprons, Do They? 
Check out a fun debate and maybe even throw in your two cents worth.

Five Grandfather-Themed Aprons
Grandpa spends time in the kitchen? There's an apron for him!

If you love working puzzles and Halloween, you will enjoy these treats. They're calorie free!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, October 24, 2020

A Review of Handmade Halloween Home Decor


Halloween is a favorite time to decorate your house and yard, most especially if you are like my daughter-in-law who goes 'all out'. Their outside yard décor is so elaborate and fantastic that they have even won local 'Halloween Decoration' contests in the past.


But it is 'inside the home' that can lend itself to creating a Halloween atmosphere limited only by your imagination. You can go scary with ghosts and goblins, skeletons and spiders, or sweetly seasonal with pumpkins, or cute with black cats and bats.


The following are a few ideas to get you started. They are the creative results of fellow handmade artists on Etsy.


Pumpkins


A Pumpkin Table Runner


Halloween Pumpkins Table Runner


Decorate your table with a seasonal table runner for the Halloween season


This table runner is made with 2 different prewashed cotton fabrics so that it is reversible. One side has decorated orange, white and black pumpkins that are outlined in gold on a black background. It also has gold stars and the words "Boo" and "Trick or treat". The reverse side is orange with Halloween words and phrases, spiders and crows in black, gray and white. The words and phrases are "Trick or treat", "Spooky", "Happy Halloween" and "Boo".  


This table runner is 14" wide and 39 1/2" long and can be found in Kathie's Etsy Shop she calls CutePurseNalities.


Pumpkin Coasters


Pumpkin Beverage Coasters
Pumpkin design beverage coasters are perfect for home decor in the season of Harvest-time, Autumn, or Fall. They can also be fun all year round for anyone who likes pumpkin designs.


This is a set of 4 drink coasters with a pumpkin design measure 4 x 4 inches each. They are created using plastic canvas and acrylic yarn in two shades of orange, plus brown and green. The pumpkin design sits on an ecru/off-white background. Perfect colors for your Harvest time decor. 


They are available in the Etsy Store of Coastal Crochet Crafts.


Black Cats & Bats


Black Cat


Wooden 
Black Cat
This rustic wooden black cat figurine is handmade from whitewood or reclaimed pallet wood


Approximate measurement: about 6 inches tall x 4.3 inches wide.  


Handmade by Christina and found in her Etsy Shop Tinkerbinks.



Scary Bats


Halloween Bats Decor
Scary 3D bats all over the wall / window. Arrange them as you wish. You definitely want them in your Halloween Party. Comes with easy to apply style.

-Easy to apply to walls, doors, glass and other hard surfaces. For use on smooth walls -- can also go on glass

-Material: waterproof pvc. Color: black. Leave no residue or damage when peel off from wall / window. 


Find these bats at AJProducts on Etsy.




Halloween Kitchen Decor


Handy for Halloween are these decorative and useful dishcloths, potholders and refrigerator magnets for your kitchen.


Pumpkin Set


Pumpkin Kitchen Set

Pumpkin Kitchen Combo. Pumpkin shaped cotton dishcloth/washcloth with matching pumpkin potholder and pumpkin magnet

Washing dishes is a chore made easier with dishcloths made of 100% cotton yarn. This dishcloth in the shape of a pumpkin makes kitchen chores more fun.

This pumpkin-shaped handmade-in-crochet dishcloth can also be used as a washcloth in the bathroom - especially fun for kids in the bathtub. 

The matching pumpkin potholder is crocheted in washable orange acrylic yarn with a green top. It measures 9.5 x 11 inches and is made double-thick.

This pumpkin set makes a cute Halloween home décor item or can be used as a gift. (Makes a unique hostess gift when invited out to dinner, especially during the Harvest-Time season).

The kitchen set comes with a matching pumpkin refrigerator magnet.  Available at Coastal Crochet Crafts on Etsy.


Ghost Set


Ghost Washcloth & Magnet
This cute ghost kitchen set includes a fun novelty washcloth in the shape of a ghost. A cute way to entertain children at bathtime or to make choretime in the kitchen washing dishes more fun. Or just display it in your kitchen for a Halloween decoration. It comes with a cute ghost magnet for your refrigerator. Find it at Coastal Crochet Crafts on Etsy.








Related Links:


  • For more Halloween home decor ideas, check out Fun Halloween Home Decor by Sylvestermouse.
  • For Halloween recipes, costumes and more decorating ideas, check out this group of Halloween articles reviewed for you here on ReviewThisReviews. 


Happy Halloween


Halloween Yard Décor (c) Elf


*Handmade Halloween Home Décor written on 10/24/2020 by (c) Wednesday Elf






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 16, 2020

Halloween Videos for Kids

Halloween Videos
Not all Halloween videos are scary.  I have previously reviewed several Halloween videos for kids.  These movies are fun and entertaining without being horrifying.  After all, we don't want our children frightened or having nightmares.

When my own children were young, we enjoyed watching Halloween movies together.  Actually, I still enjoy watching movies with them and sometimes we even watch the animated cartoon videos they loved during their childhood years. 

When our daughter got married, we even had a special video night with her new husband just so she could introduce him to her most beloved childhood videos.  That was a fun night for all of us!  

 

Beloved Halloween Videos for Kids

Of course, everyone loves Charlie Brown in It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown.  That would be the first video I would recommend for a Halloween family video night.  No matter how old we get, or how old the video gets, it is still entertaining.  

Because I love Winnie the Pooh, one of my favorite Halloween videos is Pooh's Heffalump Halloween.  Until this video, I had never paid much attention to Heffalump.  Now, I love that purple elephant! This is a very fun and entertaining Halloween video that the whole family can enjoy.

The Cat in the Hat by Dr. Seuss has been popular for my entire life.  Children of all ages love that cat in the red and white top hat.   However, they may not realize he knows a lot about Halloween and a lot of other things.  Not only is this video fun and entertaining, it is also educational.  The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot about Halloween is only one of the many episodes in The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That delightful series.  This episode is available separately for Halloween viewing.

Lumpkin the Pumpkin is a lesser known Halloween video.  It's a cute video about a young witch who has no desire to be scary or cruel.  She teams up with Lumpkin, a pumpkin, to help teach safety tips on Halloween.  It is a cute and entertaining way to make children more aware of the possible dangers when trick or treating. 

 

You Can Read The Full Reviews Here:

 It's The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown Movie Review Pooh's Heffalump Halloween Movie Review for Children The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review Lumpkin the Pumpkin Video Movie Review

  

This year for Halloween, why not gather your whole family around to watch a fun and entertaining Halloween video, or perhaps several! 

Here are a few more Halloween videos for kids that have not been previously reviewed, but would no doubt be quite entertaining & fun.

 



Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Halloween Videos for Kids Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, October 3, 2020

Halloween Skeletons Make Great Decor

 How do you like to decorate for Halloween?  I think skeletons are a great choice.

Hear no evil, speak no evil, see no evil - image from Pixabay.com

There are a number of different ways to incorporate skeletons in your Halloween decor from basically a few bones in a graveyard style theme to using actual poseable skeletons.

You can even use animal skeletons like a dog or a cat for a little bit of intrigue.   I actually have a friend who's a yoga teacher so when I saw skeletons doing yoga I thought that would be fun for her Halloween display.

Photo by Lou16, purchase online here

The best image I saw to incorporate a skeleton inside was in a private Halloween group, unfortunately, I can't share that image with you, but it was basically a skeleton in a wedding dress sat in a chair.

I love the idea of getting a posable skeleton and putting an old wedding dress on it and sitting it in a rocking chair in the corner of the room.   It was a very good looking display (although they didn't use a rocking chair) and let's face it many of us keep our wedding dresses without ever using them again so a perfect way to give them a little airing as well.

Of course if you wanted an outside skeleton bride you could always pop her
on a garden bench with or without a groom - photo from Pixabay

How would you incorporate a skeleton into your Halloween decor?




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, August 23, 2020

Take a Break and Solve Some Riddles

Fun Combined with Distraction - 2020's Prescription

With so many challenges in 2020, finding distracting things to do has been priority number one for my family and me.

Simply enjoying each other's company and being grateful for what we do have has been a priority in our life these past several months. But truth be told, it's still a conscious effort to keep the mind clear and hope alive. Life has a way of sneaking up and challenging our sanity. Sometimes getting back to the basics is the best solution.

So that brings me to riddles. Lol. Truth.

I decided to write riddle books as a form of entertainment and distraction.  Strangely enough, I started writing them in late 2019. Premonition maybe? To date, I've self-published five riddle books. My latest book is Halloween Riddles, featured below.

Available on Amazon
Turn the World Off With a Smile

When I created the books, and the related website, "StumpedRiddles.com," my tag line for both became, 'turn the world off with a smile.'

My latest project, Halloween Riddles, was a time-consuming venture. It involved approximately three months from writing to publishing. It was published on Amazon in August 2020.

This book features eighty riddles divided into eight chapters. The chapters are Unseen Halloween, Dead Halloween, Costumes, Halloween Food, Halloween Decorating, A Famous Cartoon, Halloween Emotions, and Halloween Noises.

The book was written for the avid Halloween fans and for parties.

You Can Also Solve Riddles Online

I built StumpedRiddles.com to coincide with the published riddle books.

The site features a growing list of originally written riddles to solve. When you need a mindless activity, head over at your leisure to tackle a few.

Some of the riddles are unique to the website, while others are from the already published riddle books.

A Growing List of Original, Personally Written Online Riddles to Keep You Busy Here

Here's one of the riddles you'll find on the website:

On StumpedRiddles.com

Did you guess the answer?

Oh, what the heck, I'll give you one more to ponder:

On StumpedRiddles.com

Riddles might seem mundane, but these days, that's a feature, not a bug!

I created the books for multiple purposes: Parties, Games, Loot Bags, Stocking Stuffers, Mental Challenges, Family Gatherings, and of course, Distraction.

Have fun, and lose yourself in brain teasers :)





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, September 3, 2019

Halloween Advent Calendar Reviewed

Countdown to Halloween

House Ready for Halloween
image courtesy of pixabay.com

Until recently, I didn't realize there was such a thing as a Halloween Advent Calendar. Did you? I mean, I know about Advent Calendars for Christmas but counting down for All Hallow's Eve is a new one for me.

The one that I stumbled upon is different than the ones we use for Christmas in that there are no little gifts to be found during the countdown. This one just displays how many days until the ghouls, ghosts, goblins and zombies run around asking for treats. You turn the wheel each day to display the number. Now, the nice thing about that is you are not limited to starting the countdown on October 1st. It is possible to begin the counting as early as 99 days before Halloween. That is, if you want to.

Movable wheels

As the wheel to change the numbers is turned scenes on the haunted house change, too. Windows open to show different monsters lurking inside. The moon can be changed to show a variety of flying scenes. There are three movable wheels to play with and a pull strip in the center to move around. It is made on sturdy cardstock so it should last for many years. 

Where to display the Halloween Advent Calendar

It comes with two tombstone feet to allow displaying on a desk, table or shelf. You can get as creative as you want, though. Use some magnets and put it on the refrigerator. Hang it on a wall in any room. If you have a small easel, place it on that and display anywhere you like. It is quite versatile. Measuring only 8 inches by 10 inches, it isn't going to take up a whole lot of space no matter where you decide to display it. 

How about it? Does a decoration that also helps you count down the days to Halloween sound like fun to you?





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 15, 2018

Halloween Reviews on Review This Reviews!

 Halloween Reviews for Review This!

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews!


Halloween is fun and sometimes a bit scary.  The contributors of Review This Reviews enjoy reviewing the fun parts of Halloween.  Plus, we review some of the scary parts of Halloween, but even that is meant for fun and entertainment.

Our contributors have reviewed Halloween recipes, some are adorably cute for children.  Others are more macabre and are intended for adult Halloween parties.  You will even find a few Halloween cookbooks reviewed.  If they are featured here, it is because we believe they are exceptional cookbooks full of fabulous Halloween treats.


We also review Halloween decor for decorating inside and out for Halloween.  Our reviews often include extra tips to make parties more fun.


Plus, what would Halloween be without movies and books?  As you would expect. the contributors of Review This Reviews review Halloween movies and books, both for children and/or adults.  


Costume reviews are also included on Review This Reviews!  You can find some truly awesome costume ideas here for both adults and kids.


Several of our contributors write for Halloween websites.  Links to some of those articles are included on the Pinterest board below.  We want to make sure all of your Halloween needs are covered here.

Welcome to Our Special Halloween Library of Reviews!


A Preview of the Pinterest Board - Halloween Reviews 







Halloween Reviewed on Review This Reviews!


For a written list of all Halloween related articles reviewed on Review This Reviews, please visit our Site Directory and select "Holidays" from the "Fast Click" category tabs at the top of the page.   As you would expect by the category title, there are many additional holidays articles under that category along with the Halloween reviews.

To see all of our Halloween articles on Review This Reviews!, simply click the Halloween tab in the sidebar menu in the right sidebar.
 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X