Showing posts with label decorating. Show all posts
Showing posts with label decorating. Show all posts

Sunday, January 10, 2021

Review of LED Rechargeable Strip Lights for Closets, Kitchens and More

LED Rechargeable Strip Lighting - No Batteries Required

I purchased LED rechargeable strip lights for my son's closet as a small Christmas gift, and wow, great product.

LED Strip Lighting for Closets and More

My son loves ambient lighting and has positioned stip-lighting behind his desk, his piano, and bed headboard, and they look amazing. However, those particular strip lights require electricity, and that's fine for furniture pieces near an outlet, but not for a closet.

In my search for a creative gift, I came across strip lights that are rechargeable. My first thought was, what-the-heck is rechargeable strip lights? First of all, I despise lights that require batteries. Batteries are simply an added cost. So the word "rechargeable" piqued my interest.

My son's closet is big enough to step into, and I wanted to get lighting for it without resorting to something that requires batteries.

In my search, I came across these Medulla Strip Lights and decided to give them a try. Good decision. They're fantastic. 

Here's how they look in his closet:


One set was enough to reach across the back of the closet. The closet is about 5.5 feet wide. He positioned the lights along the back wall of the closet. You can put them under the top shelf; however, he felt they would be better across the back. 

Here's Another Look at His Closet:


Settings on the Led Strip Lights

On his model, there are three settings; On, Off, and Auto. Also, the brightness can be adjusted up or down. Auto activates the motion sensor - which is fantastic. The lights stay off until it senses motion when you open your closet. That helps to preserve battery life.

Easy to Install With Built-In Adhesive

Simply peel the protective backing off of the strip lights and install them where you want. They secured perfectly for my son. His were placed on wood. The rechargeable unit also has adhesive on it and can easily be positioned where you want to put it.

How Long Does the Battery Last?

The instructions indicate that when you have the strip lighting set at Auto (Motion Sensor), assuming you open and close your closet 5 times a day, the charge should last approximately 30 days. My son hasn't had it that long yet and hasn't had to do a recharge.

How Do You Recharge LED Strip Lighting?

This unit has a USB port and a short USB cord. Simply plug it into a USB outlet. I imagine you could use your computer to recharge; however, we have a power cord with built-in USB slots, so we intend on using that.

Other Places You Can Put this Convenient Strip Lighting:

  • Staircases
  • Under bedframes for kids for added lighting when they step out of bed.
  • Sheds and Garages
  • Under kitchen cupboards
  • Dark corners that need lighting from time to time
  • The back of headboards for ambient lighting
  • Home entertainment systems
More Info On Recharging the Battery

Below Margaret asked some good questions that I thought would better be mentioned up here:

Does the Recharging Unit Detach for Charging?

Yes, it does. Simply pull it out from the end where the connection is made to the lights.

More Info on Recharging

My son plans on using a recharging brick (you know, the ones from cell phones). He'll simply plug the charging unit into the brick, and then plug the brick into the wall. The unit comes with a short cord to attach the closet charging unit to the brick. Of course, you can plug it into a laptop or PowerBar with USB connections as well. I think the brick connection is the easiest. 

How the Charging Unit Attaches to the Wall

The unit comes with a magnetic strip with an adhesive backing. Simply place the magnetic strip on the wall (stick it), then the rechargeable unit attaches to the magnetic strip for easy removal when it's time to recharge.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 3, 2021

What to Put Above a Bench Seat

 

Ideas on What to Place Above a Bench Seat - Complete the Look

If you've added a bench seat to a foyer or against a wall in a bedroom, it can be difficult to figure out what to put above it.

If the bench seat is against the wall in a bedroom, it can look rather lost when you consider the distance between the seat of the bench and the ceiling. 

Obviously, you'll have to position items higher than where a person's back and head would be when they're seated.

Below Is a List of Items to Consider When Decorating Above a Bench Seat

  • Wall racks with metal hooks are ideal above a bench seat. Whether in a bedroom or a foyer, a wall rack with hooks provides a place to hang coats, sweaters, hats, or just use it to feature a gorgeous array of decorative wreaths. If you're not a fan of clothing hanging out in the open (some prefer clothes hidden in closets), then use the hooks to feature decorative hanging pieces, such as dream catchers, tin signs on wire hooks, a collection of colorful cloth bags, decorative umbrellas, or narrow baskets filled with colorful dried flowers. Just remember to gauge the distance between where to place the hooks and how far down items should hang to not land where someone's head would be when seated.

  • Place a floor-to-ceiling strip of decorative vinyl or paste wallpaper behind the bench. The bench then becomes its own decorative area. If you're a fan of brick, there are many brick-look wallpaper designs to choose from. Add photos on the paper above it or hooks, or just let the wallpaper speak for itself.

  • A large decorative wall clock makes an excellent decorative piece when the bench seat is in a hallway. Again, place it high enough not to collide with people, but make it large enough to make an impression as a substantial decor item. The nice thing about a clock is it's fairly flush, and won't protrude very much from the wall.

  • Use metal art to add dimension and texture as a backdrop. You can check out some of the metal art featured on the product display below. Metal art comes in multiple designs, ranging from butterflies to birds, to sayings, to abstract collections. If the area you're decorating needs something other than simple photos, consider textured art.

  • A Collage of Photos and Various Textured Items. Don't be afraid to mix photos with wreaths, dream catchers, and word art. Mixed textures such as wood, cloth, greenery, and even lights can create a lovely rustic decoration piece, especially for an entryway. Consider a shelf positioned quite high up, then place the items that are flush to the wall below it.

Check out some of the above-suggested product ideas below:






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 20, 2020

Home Decor Color Inspiration with Pantone's Color Choices for 2021

Check Out & Review Pantone's Color Picks for 2021

Choosing our home decor colors based on Pantone's yearly pick isn't normally the way we select our hues. However, you may be inspired to include shades or versions of their choices based upon the inspirational messages behind why Pantone selected them.

Ultimate Gray & Illuminating Yellow - Welcome to 2021

Most of us know that gray and yellow are lovely for home decor. Including these two colors in your space will add a touch of modern with a touch of yesterday. I like to think of yellow as a bright beacon from years gone by and gray as a way to move forward.

I'm not sure whether Pantone sees it the way I do; however, color triggers something unique in each of us, and this color combination has always reminded me of the old with the new. But hey, I'm not saying yellow is "old"; just that it was a popular color choice in our home decor back in the 1960s and 1970s. 

Did You Know This About Yellow and Gray?

Yellow is the color of intelligence. Yes, that's right. You're not only honoring your family color memories, but you're also enhancing minds. 
"Did you know that yellow is said to be the color of the thinker versus the dreamer"

Gray is known to be the color of compromise as well as intellect. You'll find a great deal of gray in modern home decor pieces and paint. I've personally felt gray on its own was never enough - for me, there needs to be a bright color offset. Pantone's choice of vibrant yellow with gray ties two sides of a coin together. 

Why Pantone Selected Ultimate Gray & Illuminating Yellow for 2021

If you've ever visited the Pantone website, you already know that there is an inspirational purpose behind their annual color picks. They aim to capture the mood of us mere humans and build upon it with hope through color. 

Here's a brief summary by Pantone about their 2021 color picks:

"A message of happiness supported by fortitude, the combination of PANTONE 17-5104 Ultimate Gray + PANTONE 13-0647 Illuminating is aspirational and gives us hope. We need to feel that everything is going to get brighter – this is essential to the human spirit."

Take a minute to read the entire reason for Pantone's pick for 2021. It's always fun and inspirational. Again, their website is here.

Here's a handy tip; the Hex Codes for each color's website references are - Yellow #F8D948, and Gray is #959A9C.

Here Are Some Lovely Home Decor Pieces For You - Featured in Yellows and Grays




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 11, 2020

Your Not-So-Typical Home Decor Items that Glow in the Dark

Glow In The Dark Home Decor Products

Finding funky home decor items is a passion of mine. In the past couple of weeks, I've featured furniture with built-in speakers and furniture that comes with built-in USB charging stations. This week it's all about unsuspecting items for your home that can glow in the dark.

Product Page Here - You Can View All the Products Discussed Below Here

Bedsheets and Bedding that Glow in the Dark

From the sheets to the comforters, you can find children's bedding that glows in the dark. I haven't found a set for adults, lol. I suspect a glowing bed would be rather annoying for grown-ups. Kids love them, especially when they're not keen on bedtime or the dark.

Shower Curtains, Another Unsuspecting Place for Something that Glows

Aren't these handy! Forget nightlights, just put up a set of shower curtains that glow in the dark. There's a safety element to these as well. When the little ones need to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, they just follow the glow from the hallway.

Rugs that Glow - Follow Your Feet

These are popular choices for a baby nursery or child's bedroom. Glow rugs are funky, interesting, and also a safety solution. Some have artistic colorful designs making them a perfect addition for a playroom or anywhere kids gather or sleep.

Kids Storage Bins that Glow in the Dark

Now that's handy! When you're picking up the toys, and the lights are dim, their storage box glows so you can easily see it to toss the toys in. Use the bins for anything, including clothes and books. They come in multiple designs. You can check them out on the product page.

Glow in the Dark Wall Decals and Stickers

We're all familiar with glow stickers for kids that attach to the wall. They come in numerous designs and styles. However, if peel and sticking individual stickers aren't your thing, you can opt for a glow in the dark wall decal. A wall decal is one sheet, usually in a specific size. Get several and position them around your little one's room. 

The product page at the top of this article features a variety of the home decor items discussed above. However, there are additional interesting glow-in-the-dark home decor items added to the product page that may not appear here. Be sure to check back if you're looking for funky, glowing home decor items.

Happy Decorating and Happy Thanksgiving, Canada!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 4, 2020

Furniture With Built-In Bluetooth Speakers

Product Page Here

Last week I featured funky furniture that comes with built-in USB charging stations. As mentioned in that article, tracking down unique, slightly different home decor products is my passion.

For those who aren't familiar with the variety of home decor pieces that come with built-in Bluetooth, here are several home decor items that may surprise you.

"Product Page: You can view all the products discussed below here"

Mirrors with Bluetooth Speakers

What a great idea! Did you know you can get vanity mirrors or regular mirrors to feature above a dresser, a sink, or anywhere you want that have built-in speakers? What a great idea for a gift as well. The product page features several designs. 

End Tables with Bluetooth Speakers

As discussed in last Sunday's article, many end-tables come with the USB charging stations. However, did you know that some also come with built-in speakers? Isn't that convenient? What a terrific, unique gift idea as well. If you're not sure what to get a couple for a wedding gift, this is something they can always find a spot for.

Ottomans with Bluetooth Speakers

If you prefer your furniture with Bluetooth to be mobile, then an ottoman is the way to go. Carry your ottoman from room to room, or to the outdoor porch or patio! Again, it makes an excellent gift, and best of all, they're relatively affordable.

Couches with Bluetooth Speakers

Yes, you can find these as well. I featured a few on the product page. Again, this is a perfect solution for small apartments or those who consider themselves minimalists. Your sofa serves as an all-in-one media center.

Headboards with Bluetooth Speakers

Not only can you get headboards with built-in USB charging stations, but you can also get them with built-in Bluetooth speakers! How handy is that! When you want music in your bedroom, no more ugly speakers; just turn on the speakers in your headboard.

Consoles with Bluetooth Speakers

Consoles double as storage and provide a decorative piece for hallways or fill walls that need a little something. Look for consoles that come with Bluetooth, and you'll have a place to play your music. The nice part about a console is how they look more like a music cabinet.

Desk or Gaming Chairs with Bluetooth Speakers

Go ahead and choose a gaming chair as your home-office desk chair. They typically come with built-in speakers. When you're working at your desk, you'll be able to listen to your music via your chair's speakers.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, September 27, 2020

Furniture Pieces that Come with Built-in USB Charging Stations

Furniture with Built-In USB Charging Station
Furniture with Built-In USB Charging


Did you know there is a wide variety of furniture choices that come with built-in USB charging stations? It's not something we typically think of when we're shopping for recliners and end-tables; however, we should.

For Funkthishouse.com, I'm always on the hunt for creative finds for the home. Yah, I spend too much time scrolling through furniture, rugs, drapes, and bedding ... you name it. It's like hunting for little golden nuggets lol. I sure enjoy it.

Anyway, today's article features pieces of furniture, big and small, that come with built-in USB charging ports.

"Product Page is Here" - You can view all the furniture ideas discussed below on the product page - Be sure to check them out, some are pretty funky :)


Coffee Tables and End-Tables with Built-In USB Charging


Unless you want a full-blown Smart-Table, you can easily find coffee/end-tables that come with built-in USB charging stations. How convenient is that? When you need to charge your device, reach over and plug it into the outlet on your table. If you're wondering what a "Smart-Table" is, here's a brief article.

Couches and Chairs with Built-In USB Charging


Yes, that's right; if you're in the market for a new couch or chair, be sure to check if it comes with a built-in USB charging station. You'll notice you don't have to spend a fortune (you can if you want) for pieces with built-in charging stations. They come in a wide variety of designs and styles.

Lamps with Built-In USB Charging 


If end-tables, chairs, or couches are too much of an expense, the next time you need a lamp, choose one that has a built-in charging station. They're incredibly convenient for desks or work stations. I've included several styles for you to examine on the product page.

Desks with Built-In USB Charging 


This one is expected. Indeed, with working from home and home-schooling, desks that feature these built-ins add another level of convenience. Get a lamp with a charging station, and you're all set.

Headboards with Built-In USB Charging


Yes, you'll be able to find one of these as well. These headboards come in a broad range of prices, but you can get them in the lower price range as well ... and they're just as lovely. Check out the ones I've featured; they're pretty cool.

Again, here's the product page featuring the above furniture pieces. 

If you can think of any other furniture items with built-in USB ports, let me know. I'm always on the hunt for something different in home decor.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, September 6, 2020

Beds that Look Like a Cabinet - A Gorgeous Space Saving Solution

Beds that Look Like Cabinets
Beds that Look Like Cabinets

Funky, interesting home decor finds is a passion of mine. Different styles of furniture are of particular interest.

Furniture that looks like one thing but doubles as another is so much fun!
Beds that look like cabinets are a form of a Murphy Bed. As you probably know already, the standard Murphy Bed is one that folds down from the wall. These particular beds fold into a waist-high cabinet instead.

Cabinet Beds Fold Into a Wall Cabinet

If you've never seen one of these convenient beds, check out the selection I've featured below.

Typically you'll find these in queen size. You'll have to check if they come in other bed sizes; most of the ones I've seen are queen bed cabinets.

As described, when not being used as a bed, they fold up into a lovely waist height wall cabinet. They're not cheap looking either! Notice below the various colors and wood types available.

Who Needs a Bed that Looks Like a Cabinet?

Everybody? Ok, not everybody. Here are some ideas:
  1. Bed cabinets are ideal for one-room apartments! Fold it up into a cabinet during the day and pull it out at night. You get the benefit of both a living room and a bedroom in one tiny space. Best of all you don't have to look at a bed all day. 
  2. Place one in a home office as an extra place for guests to sleep.
  3. When you don't have an extra bedroom, these lovely pieces look like living room furniture can go anywhere; living rooms, hallways, dining rooms. Not that you'd place one in a dining room, but hey, if the dining room is huge and can be closed off, why not!
  4. When you need a subtle extra sleeping area in a baby's room, these are ideal. They'll grow with baby, and of course, can be moved and fit nicely into any other part of the home.
  5. When grandma and grandpa downsize but don't have enough bedrooms for guests, this piece of furniture is the perfect extra sleeping spot!
  6. How about in Sheila's She-Shed or his Man-Cave? Bed cabinets are perfect! They don't take up a lot of space and serve as an extra spot to sleep especially when you've been sent to the doghouse for the night.
  7. Budget permitting, this a perfect wedding or shower gift. Furnishings are a very personal thing, so you'll want to be sure to choose a piece that is something the recipient would like. Since they're quite expensive, you could purchase this as a group gift.
  8. Put one in a child's room as an extra place for their friends on sleepovers.
Here they are! If for some reason you can't view the products below, you can see them on their Product Page here as well.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, June 21, 2020

A Review of Practical Furniture Items for a Studio Apartment

Practical Furniture Choices for a Studio Apartment

When you're furnishing a studio apartment, every square inch matters.

Choosing items that solve multiple problems is the way to go!

On Funkthishouse, I've featured several space-saving items, and below are three of those suggestions that work for smaller spaces.

1. Chairs That Convert to a Bed

We're all familiar with couches that convert to a bed, however, when space is an absolute premium, you can add a chair that also doubles as a place to sleep.

The designs are interesting! They come in multiple colors and styles. They make a terrific addition to any small room where extra sleeping space is needed.

Use a pullout couch, but instead of a standard chair, add a chair-bed.

Check out the selection of original chair beds here

2. Space Saving Table and Chairs

A studio apartment may not have room for a table and chairs. However, if you're able to squeeze a portable table with chairs into the unit, you'll give yourself another area that can double as a place to work, play, and eat.

Space-saving tables and chairs can be quite compact. Compact sets are designed so the chairs or stools slide entirely under the table section.

Depending on the design, some can rest against the wall, and some are slightly higher in height - like a bar set would be. The taller designs add dimension to a square room. They're usually counter height as well, so they can line up with a kitchen counter so as to create a flush, continuous look.  Be sure to check those out.

Check out the various choices for a small room here

3. Lift Coffee Tables

Have you ever seen these? They're pretty cool! Lift Coffee Tables have tops or sides that lift up so that the top of the table can be used for working or eating. Under the top is storage.

A lift table makes it easier to work or have dinner from the couch. Of course, in a studio apartment, the sofa is a bed, so you'll have to ensure there's a spot for the coffee table when the couch becomes a bed.

By sliding the coffee table alongside the bed, your coffee table becomes a convenient bedside table.

Check out the full range of coffee tables to choose from

Go Vertical with Wall Storage - Floor to Ceiling When Possible

Find a wall that can house a floor-to-ceiling storage cabinet. A practical wall-unit can house the tv, books, photos, and other personal items. Choose one with drawers, then you'll have extra space for clothes.

Quick Summary of Five Basic Pieces for a Studio Apartment:
1. A sofa-bed
2. A chair bed
3. A lift coffee table
4. Compact table with chairs
5. A tall vertical wall unit with drawers
No matter what you include in your apartment, ALWAYS look for items that can double as storage. Storage space is the biggest problem in small rooms - be sure to get ahead of that problem with every piece of furniture you select.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 13, 2019

Hurricane Style Lamps - An Outstanding Vintage Heirloom Look

Hurricane Style Lamps - Vintage Heirloom Look
I've stayed a fan of unique lamp designs my entire life. Standard lamps, those we see just about everywhere, are lovely as well. However, there's something incredibly gorgeous about adding a lamp that's not like anything you typically see.

Unique lamps, especially those with a vintage feel, can fit with any decor, even contemporary. If your decor style is to bring amazing pieces into a room, vintage lamps, especially Hurricane Style Lamps, meet that criteria.

Back in the 1980s, when we purchased our second home, lamp selection was a meticulous process for us. I'll never forget the moment I noticed the outstanding, custom hand-blown glass Hurricane Lamp featured on this page. We purchased two, and they're still front and center in our home. No matter how often styles have changed, this design has stood the test of time.

What Are Hurricane Lamps
Hurricane Style Lamp
Custom Hand-Blown Glass

The oil lamp eventually became the Hurricane Oil Lamp invented by Francois-Pierre Aime Argand in 1780. The invention of the glass insert protected the flame from the wind and elements. Over the centuries, Hurricane Lamps progressed in design from oil to electric. 

However, a Hurricane Lamp describes the style of a lamp, and styles can vary. Glass designs and shapes can differ quite a bit. You'll notice when online shopping just how vast the choices are.

The lamps we purchased are similar to Quoizel Lamps. Their style, of course, is vintage Hurricane. They've worked in the main rooms of the home as well as the bedrooms. 

Over the decades they've traveled with us from home to home, and we plan to keep them in the family. They're quite substantial in size, approximately two and a half feet in height.

Where Can You Find Similar Hurricane Lamps

I haven't seen any that match ours. However, I have come across a Quoizel Lamp that is close in design. It's slightly smaller in size, but still lovely. You can view it here on Amazon.

Happy vintage ambient lighting!







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, September 22, 2019

How to Make Smaller Rooms Look Bigger


Whether you're selling your home or not, these essential design tips will help you make a smaller room seem bigger.

1. Put a Large Vertical Framed Mirror on the Wall

If you have the wall space, consider featuring an oversized mirror. With 8-foot ceilings, a mirror that's about 5 feet in height by 4 feet wide will make a powerful impact. Of course, the size will have to vary according to the space you have on the wall. The main point is that the mirror impacts the space by reflecting light, furnishings, and colors in the room. Wall mounting a heavy mirror may not be an option, especially for tenants; if that's the case, you can lean it up against a wall. Keep the area around it clear for maximum effect. Here's a free-standing mirror to give you an idea of the look.

2. Don't Block Windows and Doorways with Furniture

This can be a tricky task in a small room. However, put that thinking cap on and consider how to layout the furniture so that windows are left unobstructed. This is especially true for rooms with floor to ceiling windows, patio doors, and longer lower windows, as shown in the photo below.


Although the room featured in the photo below has high ceilings, it's still a small space. The design layout is ideal for the area as the couch, or other furniture doesn't block the window, helping to create an open feel.


3. Hang Your Drapes Floor to Ceiling

This technique is especially useful if your ceilings are standard height or a bit low. By bringing the drapes up to the ceiling, you help eyes to be drawn upwards, which in turn creates a feeling that the room is larger. Take another look at the above photo to see how the homeowners successfully accomplished this with their drapery position.

4. Don't Be Afraid to Add Larger Furniture Pieces

With a smaller room, the natural instinct is to shy away from larger furniture pieces. However, the opposite approach actually works better. Choose one, or maybe two at the most, large items rather than multiple smaller ones. Too many smaller pieces can make a room feel cluttered and disorganized.

5. Go Easy on Accessories

We all love pillows, throw blankets, decorated coffee tables and dresser tops, however, that's a recipe for creating a crowded feeling in a small room. Choose the items you prefer sparingly. Don't be afraid of putting one larger decorative piece on top of a cabinet or dresser. By limiting your decorative accessory choice to one impressive impact-piece, you keep the smaller items in that smaller room to a minimum.

So there you have five easy ways to help make your small room seem bigger. Let's review: 
  • Keep the windows open and clear
  • Use a large impressive vertical mirror
  • Install floor to ceiling drapes
  • Add one or two larger furniture pieces
  • Limit accessories
How to Make a Smaller Room Look Larger




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 21, 2019

Decorating Color Schemes for Spring and Summer 2019

Funk by Color
If you haven't had a chance to read about Pantone's color of the year for 2019, you can learn a little about it here.

Pantone not only designates a color choice for the year, it also establishes color groupings for the seasons during that year.

For 2019, Pantone has created suggested palettes that reflect uplifting energy:

1. Embracing Nature - Freshness with Blues, Greens and Zesty Limes
2. Joyful - Radiant with Pink, Purple, Blueberry and White
3. Color Play - Fruity and Bright Mango, Mystical Violet and Watery Pastels
4. Innocence - Light, Life and Hopefulness with Soft Pink, Blueberry and Soft Blues

You can take a peek at Pantone's color schemes for each of the above four moods here.

Innocence by Pantone

Here's a simple example of how to incorporate the colors of 'Innocence' into a decorating theme. You can feature any of the colors in pieces you find yourself drawn to. If a blueberry couch isn't your thing, then choose a soft pale blue or blush pink sofa then introduce blueberry via the rugs, drapes or accessories.


Embracing Nature by Pantone

Below are pieces you can include into a decor theme that focus on the freshness of nature. The color scheme outlined for this theme focuses on blues, greens and limes. Of course you don't have to stop there. Pops of wheat and soft ice can be used to further lighten the overall look.


Color Reflects You

Most of us tend toward neutral décor. More often we choose neutral because we're unsure how to mix and match colors. It takes a little extra knowledge to learn about color and how to mix them together. Below is a brief explanation of the color wheel to help you with your next decorating project.

Understanding the Basics of the Color Wheel



  1.  Complementary Colors: Two colors opposite each other on the wheel
  2.  Split Complementary Colors: Uses three colors. One color matched to two colors adjacent to it's complementary color (example, blue with yellow-orange and red-orange)
  3.  Analogous Colors: Three colors next to each other on the wheel
  4.  Triadic Colors: Three colors equally apart on the wheel
  5.  Tetradic Colors: Four colors in two sets of complementary colors (pink, green & blue, yellow)
Have fun with color this spring, even if you only add it with flowers!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, August 20, 2017

How to Decorate a Long Narrow Living Room

Photo via Pixabay
We see photos online of beautifully decorated long narrow living rooms and think, 'oh that's easy to do', until we're actually face to face with our own blank space to fill.

Long narrow living rooms provide a number of challenges.

Here's a list of the Do's and Don'ts when it comes to planning the furniture layout for your skinny space:

DON'T:  Don't jam all the furniture against the walls.

You're not alone in thinking that placing furniture up against a wall will make a room seem larger, however it's the opposite ... furniture jammed against the wall all around a long narrow space will merely add to the 'bowling ball feel'.

DO: Pull furniture away from the wall on at least one side. As an example, do you have a love seat or couch that can be pulled away from the wall?

If your room's shape permits it, pull the sofa away from the wall by about a foot (or whatever distance your room permits) and place a long narrow table behind it featuring tall lamps and a photo collage that goes to the ceiling. By pulling the furniture away from the wall and adding the decorative table, you're able to create a cozier, inviting sitting area.

If the room doesn't allow for any furniture to be pulled away from the wall, then place a rug in front of the couch and position the complimentary chairs perpendicular to the couch. That way you still get the effect of a cozy sitting area.
Convenience Concepts Northfield Hall Console Table, EspressoConvenience Concepts Northfield Hall Console Table, EspressoPut this behind a couch ******

DON'T: Don't fill the room without thinking about the walkway through the space.

How will people get from one area to another. If there isn't a clear flow, the room will appear unbalanced and confusing.

DO: No matter how you position the furniture in your space, keep a clear path for people to walk from one part of the space to the other.

If you're wondering what a clear path means, it means design your layout so people don't have to zig and zag around things to get through the space.
******

DON'T: Don't restrict yourself to using long regular sofas.

It's harder to create cozy seating arrangements when you do this. Not impossible, just harder as the sofa will take up more of the room.

DO: Perpendicular designs are a practical layout for long narrow living rooms, so try two love seats facing each other.

Again, use an area rug as their foundation and create a cozy seating area - if you can add a wall unit or cabinet to the wall that's perpendicular to the sofas, you'll achieve a tighter cozier feel.

Another tip, in very small spaces use smaller sized furniture with legs. The open bottoms help the room to feel that much more open.
******

DON'T: Don't use just square boxy furniture and tables. This makes the space too linear.

DO: Add some round or oval accessories.

A round ottoman coffee table, or round wooden table will help to break up that back alley look. Try using round and oval shapes in other accessories such as lamp shades and vases.
******

DON'T: Don't just think of space usage horizontally.

Keeping everything normal height on the walls can make a long narrow living room feel closed in.

DO: Go vertical with your design.

What does that mean? Position draperies where the wall meets the ceiling and have them drape down to the floor.

Or add a tall wall unit that reaches the ceiling, or gets close to it.

Or try a lovely wall photo collage that goes all the way up to the ceiling.

A narrow room always looks best when the person entering has their eyes drawn upward. So don't be afraid of patterned, vertically striped drapes.
******


Most Important Tip:
Jennifer Taylor Home Lewis Collection Modern Bolster Hand Tufted Upholstered Accent Entryway Bench With 2 Detachable Bolster Pillows, NavyJennifer Taylor Home Lewis Collection Modern Bolster Hand Tufted Upholstered Accent Entryway Bench With 2 Detachable Bolster Pillows, Navy

Divide the space up into two or three areas. Think about what your home needs and design your divided areas accordingly.

Do you need an office area? If so put the seating area at one end and the office area at the other. You can create the division between the space a number of ways; using area rugs or a small open-two-sided bookcase (that isn't imposing).

If an office or a dining area isn't in the cards, go ahead and create two sitting areas using area rugs to define them.

If there aren't a lot of windows or natural light in the room, it's best to keep the two rugs the same, or very close to the same ... or in the same color family, or complimentary.

One very cool trick when you're creating two sitting areas in an open space is to position a chaise or bench chaise so that it's accessible to both sides. Because the piece opens on both sides, it allows for people sitting on the bench to face either seating area.

A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words. Below You'll find a Growing Collection of Pins that Feature Long Narrow Living Room Designs, as well as Long Narrow Designs for Other Rooms in the Home:





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Area Rugs that Can Bring an Inspirational Message into a Room

Find Rugs with Words via Funkthishouse.com
Inspiration in the Most Unconventional Places

The area rugs of today aren't the area rugs you used to see at your grandma's house. Nope. Today the choices are wide ranging and absolutely unexpected.

When we think of motivational and educational messages, we normally add them to a space by using prints or wall decals. However, today you can find area rugs featuring inspiring words ranging from spiritual to comical.

An Original Gift Idea

Choose an inspirational rug with words for a gift. There's a solid chance the recipient won't already have one. In fact, they've probably never seen one.

Inspiration doesn't have to always be serious and tutorial in nature. It can also be light and fun and still deliver a profound message.

Best of all, you're giving a practical gift that will actually be used to enhance the décor in a room.

A Motivational Area Rug featuring Virtues to Live By

Find inspirational words featured on rugs that speak to the positive traits we should work towards.

Feature a motivational rug in an office, den, teenagers room or even a foyer. Greet those who enter with words that reflect what you believe in and who you are.

Best of all, you can teach without speaking. Those who enter your space won't be left guessing about what you believe in or what you're motivated by.

Whether we speak words of goodness or just display them, they make an impact.

So the next time you're looking for an original gift, think about giving an inspirational carpet .... they don't fly, but they can help spread words of love, which can help the spirit fly, so in that sense, they're magic.

Put love on the floor to complete your décor.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 9, 2017

A Unique and Easy Way to Add Art to a Room Without Painting, Art Prints or Wall Decals

Scenery Art Drapes Available on Amazon - Plus Additional Drapes Can Be Found Here
If you're looking for a quick and easy way to add art to a room without having to hire someone to paint wall murals or to go through the work of putting up vinyl wall decals, then try this; draperies that feature art on them.

When it comes to giving a room a facelift, we rarely think to use draperies ... Our minds normally gravitate to paint color and furnishings and the drapes are either omitted or an after thought; it's as though we're trying to do things the hard way.

If the window in your room is a fairly good size, you can use that full space to feature lovely scenic or artistic draperies. In fact, 3D Drapes are a stunning way to not only add art, but to add depth to a space. Because patio doors normally have to be kept clear, they're a good place to feature 3D scenery drapes.

Don't worry if the window is smaller either because you'll find artistic drapes in just about any size to fit: And hey, go ahead and use longer drapes on shorter windows, that way, when they're closed you get the benefit of a larger scenic display to look at.

The ease of interchanging draperies make them an excellent redecorating choice. With several artsy drape styles ready to go in your linen closet, you can change your room for any occasion or season. How about spring flowered drapes, then beached themed drapes, then autumn trees and leaves, and lastly, a gorgeous snow scene on drapes to end the season.

A major drapery change can absolutely alter the look and feel of the space. Since there are practically endless amounts of artistic styles to choose from, you can plan to use several season changes in just about any color combination to match your room.

Go ahead, give it a try ... When you're itching to redecorate but can't stomach the idea of all the work it entails, painlessly scratch that itch by putting up 3D scenery drapes.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, March 5, 2017

Add 'Greenery' to Your Decor This Year - Pantone's Color of the Year for 2017

Mug Here - Featuring Greenery
Each Year Pantone Assigns a Color for the Year - Happy Renewal to You, Because it's Greenery!

You may be wondering how Pantone selects the color and you're correct if you've concluded that it's a reflection of the current mood and expression of the time.

On Pantone's website you'll read words like 'rejuvinate' and 'revitalize' appropriately used to describe why Greenery was selected.

It's safe to say, the need for reconnection during these stressful times makes almost ridiculous sense! The calming rebirth of nature and our need to make our way back to it, is offered up through Greenery's yellow/green soothing reassuring combination.

Redecorating and Choosing Colors

If we're planning a redecorating project or are starting from scratch, choosing colors can be challenging. However, the color palette is the first best place to start, with the exception being when we're using colors from an existing piece of furniture or accessory as the base.

When we're decorating a room from the beginning and need guidance choosing a color palate to work with 2017's color Greenery, Pantone's 2017 page is a time saver; check out their suggested pairings. When there, scroll down and you'll see the ten palates by name with color suggestions for each.

Each palate shows colors along with color numbers, making them easy to find when shopping for matching paint, furniture and accessories.

For 2017 the named Pantones Palates Are:

Transitions
Ethereal Material
Grand Canyon
Forest Floor
Rev It Up
Fathomless
Analogous
Moody Blooms
Deep Rooted
Calm it Down

Be sure to check out these palates; why struggle trying to choose colors ... Pantone is a very helpful resource.

Greenery is nature's neutral, so take a deep breath and enjoy your spring decorating projects as you create a space that reflects vitality, beauty and renewal.












Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 29, 2017

Happy Birthday Aquarius! A Fun Way to Decorate Your Room - Using Your Astrology Sign

Aquarians - It's your Time to Shine - January 20th to February 18th

There are various places online that claim Aquarius begins on January 19th or January 21st, so it's up to you Aquarians to decide. It's a conundrum!

With two Aquarians in our family, January 20th is the accepted date - they rule here. Well, not really, as a Leo, I rule ... but that's another story.

So Let's Brag You Aquarians Up!

You're the humanitarians of the bunch. You battle for justice when you feel a voice needs to be heard, yet despite your stubbornness are gifted with the ability to listen to the position of others. However, to get to the place of truly hearing an opposing view, you may withdraw or block it out for a little until you've decided it's time to listen or more importantly - that you want to listen. This Leo mother to an Aquarian Son knows what she speaks about!

You know how to pick your battles, and you're careful not to hurt those you love. Any hurt you may cause is mostly unintentional and again, usually a misinterpretation of your mood. You wear your emotions on your sleeve and sometimes that causes people to misread your heart. But you can be counted on for hugs and understanding especially when you're showered with them as well.

You're philosophical nature often guides you without even knowing it. However, since you often seek out the good side of life primarily because you're a fun loving person, you're depth of character doesn't overwhelm your personality. Best of all, when you're happy you're especially magnetic!

It's Not Over Yet - There's More Greatness About You

Lively - Independent - Creative and a Great Communicator! Yes that's you. You're independent nature shines through in almost all you do. Even as a child you sought an independent and often creative way to approach life. Your outgoing character and poignant way of expressing yourself started at birth, or so it seems!

Your social nature adds to your creative energy. Ruling by consensus is your absolute approach to group think, and when others don't play by that rule, you're not a happy camper.

Nobody's perfect right? But there's no need to harp on the darker angels of your sign, because after-all, the other 11 signs have their own problems too, so I'll end it here by reminding you to brag yourself up with home décor that reflects your sign.

Happy birthday Aquarius and Happy Decorating!












Go ahead and Funk Up Your House!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 27, 2016

Furniture That Doubles for You and Your Pet

Aquarium Coffee Table
Two Solutions in One

Did You Know You Can Find Furniture that Doubles as Home Decor for You, and Provides a Space for Your Pet?

These days living space, particularly in urban centers, is at a premium.

As an example, at the time of writing, the average price of a 1 bedroom apartment with under 700 square feet of living space in New York City is generally over $3000 per month.

Certainly those living in apartments find themselves struggling to allocate space for their pets. Heck, we're in a good sized home and struggled to find practical room for our doggie without compromising our home's overall decor.

For those who are sticklers about flow and decorating coordination, there are furniture items that double as a space for pets as well as serve a purpose for our own use.

An Aquarium Coffee Table:

Well, aren't these cool! When you visit this product's link above, you'll notice they come in coffee table or end table designs.

You can use an end-table fish tank on either side of a bed or couch, or just use the coffee table design in a main room. Granted, these items can be pricey, however, they're meant to solve space issues as well as create interest and house our fishy pets.
A Coffee Table Pet House &
Additional Designs Featured Here

The lovely added benefit of a coffee table fish tank is the beautiful relaxing water and ambient lighting they provide. Essentially, they're a constant night light.

They not only work for residential properties, but are also an excellent idea for business foyers or as added interest and decor in an elaborate office.

End Tables that Double as Beds for Cats or Dogs:

This is a fantastic solution when finding a bed space for your fur baby is an issue.

When your home doesn't practically allow for your pet's bed, coffee table pet cubbies solve the problem.

Many of us who have or have had pets know they often sleep under the table, and most certainly YOU CAN create your own pet bed directly under any open table.

However, if you need an enclosed space for your pet that features a door, there are several lovely coffee table pet designs to choose from. You can see some of these additional choices when you visit the above linked photo featuring a coffee table pet house.

If you have dog cages in your home to house your pet for a few hours while you're out or at bedtime, you know only too well how these items can disrupt the overall look of a room.

That's where lovely coffee table cages provide the perfect solution: They'll blend with the design of your room and provide a lovely dog/cat house for your pet.

There are always solutions for creative space management - Check out these additional ways you can maximize space for just about anything in the home:





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, September 4, 2016

A Review of Color Choice in Home Decor - The Psychology of Color

My Own Family Room
You Guessed It, Warmth is the Theme
Have You Ever Thought About How the Paint Color You Choose in Your Home Affects Your Mood?

Understanding the psychology of color and knowing what to choose can be a difficult, even stressful process. Whether it's seasonal colors or simply our own taste, it's not easy to finally decide which colors to go with.

If you're doubting that, think about a time you decided to redecorate a space and how long it took you to choose the colors to use ... as well as the planning it took to incorporate those color choices with new or existing furnishings.

The biggest problem with color choice is that we often decide to choose a color before we understand the mood we want people to feel when they walk in.

Warm Tones & Cool Tones & Which Ones Fit the Mood We Want Our Room to Have

WARMTH: If you're looking to decorate a room using warm tones, then you'll want to focus on color tones in these families:
  • Red Tones - Evoke warmth and passion and are the hottest of all the warm tones
  • Yellow Tones - It's warmth is used to liven up a space, giving a room intellectual happiness (Yes, believe it or not, yellow is associated with intellect)
  • Orange Tones - It's a conversation piece that spurs creativity making it an ideal choice for encouragement. Kitchens are often painted in orange. Picture sitting around the kitchen table, interacting, laughing and sharing with friends and family.
Mix and match various tones in each, or simply focus on one of them. Just remember the basic three or four color rule - that is, choose your base color then add 3 or 4 accent colors to complete a cohesive look.

The Above Photo is my own family room, and you can easily see that 'warmth' was the theme of the day for this design. The space includes butterscotch, soft tan, dark tan and a splash of grounding black and white. The area rug has various subtle shades that also tie in, and although you can't see it in this photo, there are plants in the opposite corner adding a pop of green.

COOL: If you're seeking to decorate a space based on calmness, relaxation, serenity and meditation, begin by choosing color tones in these families:
  • Blue Tones - Blue, the color of water, is a wise choice when you're looking to create a spa-like atmosphere in your space.
  • Violet & Indigo Tones - Choose these tones to create a meditative, spiritual environment. Any room where the purity of calmness is your aim, you'll want to be in this color family.
  • Green Tones - The color of nature is a calming cool color and a common choice for bedrooms and baths.
What's the Best Color Tones for Destressing? The Answer COOL colors. However, stay in the pastel shades of these cool colors. In other words don't use navy blue, deep purple or dark green.

What about Blacks, Browns and Whites? 
  • White is used for purity and intellect, and when used proportionally with other colors in a room, white is great for offices, places of study or an environment where you need to do some thinking.
  • Blacks and Browns are normally used as grounding colors and you'll usually find them in various places in a home. As an example, the black TV and white window frames in my family room featured above acts as a grounding color for the space - as do the the lamp bases.
Remember the most important thing: These are general guidelines. Have fun choosing your colors and make choices based on color schemes you and your family prefer.

After all, it's your space, and first and foremost, you need to be happy and comfortable.
Funkthishouse.com




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, May 1, 2016

How to Create a Mood Themed Room

Fun Emoji Pillow Decorations
 - Set of 9 Party Favors Here

Creating a Mood or Feeling Should be the Number One Goal When Deciding Upon the Theme or Design of a Space

When we decorate we tend to think in terms of colors and furnishings, but the first real place to start is to ask this question:

What do I want myself and others to feel when walking into this space? 
Although starting with emotion can seem like an artsy-fartsy place to begin, it's far from it. 

A mood consists of many senses. For example, if you'd like people to feel relaxed, then warmer tones, deep comfy furnishings, and multiple lush textures would be the way to go. 

Use things like wall art to feature warmer scenes such as rich treed forests, winter coziness, a sunset over the ocean, or an evening photo featuring the warmth of a summer city skyline. 

With decorating, it's very easy to get off track. When we decide to start with the mood, we're telling our decorating mind to stay focused on pieces and colors that tie into our initial goal. 

Here's an example: You've decided that the mood you wish to create is the feeling you'de get from a happy sunny spring day, so what's next?
  • What do you want to feature that creates Happiness in Spring? Is it flowers? Ok, all flowers, or one? Let's say, Sunflowers.
  • Next, which colors do you want to feature in the room that reflect happiness and spring and sunflowers? That's easy, sky blue, various shades of yellow, leaf and grass greens, some white, beige or cream.
  • You want wall art to enhance the size of the space, so you choose spring featured 3D wall decal pieces that feature happy, light and peaceful scenes - The art serves two purposes, to enhance the room's size as well as aid in achieving your first goal, to create a mood of happiness in spring.
  • Your bedding, rugs, draperies and accessories are now easier to decide upon as you know you need to stay on track with your initial goal! Now when you go shopping, you're not distracted by the next new shiny thing; you're focused on choosing pieces that will work for your room and ultimately help you achieve your mood-goal.
As you read all of this it, you may think it sounds too simplistic. But the thing is, many of us rarely get it right. Even if we don't have the funds to go out and spend on new things to create a mood or emotion,  we can still use our existing pieces.

How to Use Existing Pieces in Your Room to Create a Focus Mood/Emotion:

Let's stay with a "Happiness in Spring" theme using Sunflowers as the focus

  • If you can't change your couch, you can buy slip covers, if you can't afford slip covers, then simply use throw pillows and a throw blanket featuring sunflowers. If your couch is already patterned, then use bright solid colored throw pillows and throw blankets.
  • Paint your room, choosing from the four colors of sunflower spring; sky blue, deep grass green, sunflower yellow, or beige/white/cream. Try a deep grass green on one wall with a pale yellow or beige on the others.
  • In regards to window coverings - This one is a little tougher. If you absolutely can't spend any money on new drapes, then try switching out drapes with another room, or, if privacy isn't an issue, removing them completely. The change will often be enough.
In summary, if you can't spend a lot of money to change a room, then you focus on colors, textures, wall art, pillows, small accessories with all of it tieing into your initial mood/emotion - 'happiness in spring'. 

When you're all done, give your room the name of the mood you created - 'Happiness in Spring'

Do it for every room in your home
  • The Kitchen (Fresh and Healthy) <---that would be fun to create
  • How about the Bedroom (Nautical Freedom) <--think what you could do to that room
  • A little girl's room (Confident and Brave) <---a switch from the usual 'be a princess' approach
Some Additional Emotions and Moods You Could Use as Room Themes:
  1. Grateful Contentment
  2. Enthusiastic Learning
  3. Wacky and Wild
  4. Utopian Earth
  5. Faith in People
  6. Lost in Space
  7. Euphoria Lives Here
  8. Barbie Goes Goth
  9. My Spiritual Abyss
  10. Being Down Died
  11. Flighty and Undecided
  12. Snowed In Forever
  13. Flower Fishing
  14. Paradise Sneezed
  15. Incoming!
Well, there you go! That's 15 ideas to get you started.

Remember the mood/emotion is just the first step. The best part is getting specific and deciding upon the pieces, colors, fabrics and textures that will bring your idea to life

Have a blast!

How to Create a Mood Themed Room - Funkthishouse.com





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X