Showing posts with label Home Decor. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Home Decor. Show all posts

Sunday, May 15, 2022

Bike Themed Home Decor - Something Different

Bike Home Decor Pieces and Ideas

I'm always on the lookout for something funky in home decor. During my investigative process (lol), I came across these creative artsy ideas related to bicycles. 

Why Bike Themed Home Decor?

Below, you'll notice that there are multiple pieces to add to a bike-themed room, including side tables, pillows, clocks, or furniture with bike-themed print. The answer to the question of why bike decor is why not? If you appreciate non-traditional pieces for your home, you'll find these items interesting. 

Here are Five Ways to Incorporate Bike Decor Into Your Home:

1. Bike Side Tables

A bike table makes an excellent conversation piece when positioned in a central location such as a foyer or front room. Bike tables are essentially bikes with an attached tabletop. They make an excellent addition to an Industrial Decor loft or apartment. 

2. Bike Flower Planters

Bike flower planters are a bit more familiar. They're essentially a creative planter designed in the shape of a bike, or in some cases, using an actual bicycle, with a creative place to add plants.

3. Bike Dishware

Set an attractive bike-themed table using plates, cups, and glasses with a bicycle design. Bike dishware isn't as common; however, while typing this, I was able to find some to feature below.

4. Bike Clocks

Bike clocks are relatively easy to find. Add a bike clock to an exercise room, man cave, the front hallway, and themed bedrooms. Bike clocks are a unique gift for the avid biker in the family! You'll notice a few featured below.

5. Bike Throw Blankets and Pillows

Combine a bike-decorated pillow and bike-themed blanket to give as an original gift. You can also add these pieces as the finishing touches to a room that features numerous bicycle decor items.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 17, 2022

A Chair You Can Sleep In - Chair Beds


There is no doubt that if you live in the city, apartments are smaller and, unfortunately, much more expensive than in previous decades.

Maximizing space is critical. Thus, thinking in terms of dual-purpose use for each piece you add to your small area is essential.

Did You Know That You Can Get Chairs That Turn Into Beds?

Most of us are accustomed to couches that turn into beds. Rarely do we consider a chair you can sleep in as a guest-sleepover solution.

Of course, a chair you can sleep in doesn't have to be restricted to small apartments. They can easily be used as a guest sleepover solution in multiple rooms of a standard-sized home.

Skip all the mumbo-jumbo and go directly to the product page here

Eight Locations in the Home to Consider Adding a Chair You Can Sleep In:

  • The baby's room! When mom needs to bunk in with the little one, placing a chair that converts to a bed is the perfect solution, especially with space issues.
  • Place a chair bed in your home office. When you're working long hours, you have a place to rest, or when you host company, they have a place to sleep.
  • A chair you can sleep in is ideal for the primary bedroom. Whether one half of a couple needs a place to sleep independently from time to time, or a child needs to bunk in with mom and dad, a chair bed solves those issues.
  • For those who enjoy the luxury of a gaming or media room, a chair that turns into a bed is a comfortable solution for avid gamers.
  • Plan for two of these chairs in your main room or family room, and you automatically get two extra beds when visitors come calling.
  • These chair beds are must-haves for studio or small apartments. You automatically have an extra place for sleepover visitors.
  • Do you have a she-shed? Does he have a man cave? If so, these adult metaphoric doghouses aren't complete without a proper place to sleep if needed!
  • Sunrooms or enclosed patios are a perfect place to add a sleeping chair! 
Unconventional furniture is all the rage. Be sure you consider your space carefully before adding or changing out pieces. When you consider furniture as having a dual purpose, you save money and time in the long run.

These chairs can be moved from room to room - so you'll always be sure to find a place to put them as your life changes. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, January 26, 2022

Electric Fireplace Television Stand

 

Electric Fireplace Television Stand
Electric Fireplace TV Stand Reviewed

Many homeowners dream of having a comfortable living space with the beauty of a fireplace. Although many homes do not have a wood-burning or gas insert fireplace.

 Some homeowners are turning to electric fireplaces to give them that cozy ambiance in their homes. 

The technology of electric fireplaces has come a long way over the years giving you the look and feel of a real fireplace. Along with the added benefit of generating real heat for your living space.

 We recently purchased a Walker Edison Electric fireplace television stand for our living room.


 Our television is located in a corner of our living room so we purchased a corner unit. There are so many options to choose from for electric fireplaces so, I'm sure there is one to fit your home's decor.

The Features of our Electric Fireplace:

  • First, it fits perfectly in the corner of our living room
  • Two tempered glass doors
  • Storage on both sides
  • Each side has two adjustable shelves
  • Fireplace insert with blower for heat
  • Will heat a 400 square foot area
  • The top is large enough for a 55-inch Television
  • The fireplace display can be operated without the heat on
  • Available in 10 different colors
  • Plug-in fireplace; no electrician required (Caution here: see below)
The unit was well packaged with easy-to-follow instructions and was not difficult to assemble. Although I do recommend having a second person to help with the assembly. My grandson Bobby helped me with the assembly and we had the unit assembled in about 3 hours.

Over time an electric fireplace may help you save on your heating bill. By heating the room you are in you could lower your home's thermostat. On the other hand, the average cost of using the heater on an electric fireplace is about .15 cents per hour.

The outlets in our living room are all wired to a 15 amp breaker. The heater unit draws 1400 watts so, with the other draw of the television and lights the heater tripped the breaker. I did have to call an electrician to wire one outlet in our living room to be on its own 20 amp breaker just for the heater unit.  This was not a huge problem and it's much safer to be on its own breaker.

Although, our daughter and son have the same 1400 watt fireplace insert and did not need an electrician.

We are very pleased with our electric fireplace television stand. On a cold winter night, it adds the perfect ambiance to our living room along with some additional heat to keep us warm.

This is the Walker Edison unit that we purchased. You can shop for many options and styles.

Walker Edison Alcott Classic Glass Door Fireplace Corner TV Stand for TVs up to 55 Inches, 48 Inch, EspressoWalker Edison Alcott Classic Glass Door Fireplace Corner TV Stand for TVs up to 55 Inches, 48 Inch, EspressoCheck the Price

 


Find more product reviews on ReviewThis here: ReviewThisProductReviews.com





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, January 11, 2022

Reviewing The Benefits Of Weighted Blankets

 


I recently purchased a weighted blanket. Ours is by Sleepeasy, but now many companies are producing them. 

I had read about them for a while and thought they may be helpful to me. Going through perimenopause has been quite stressful with many disrupted nights and I hoped it may help. There have always been other priorities but when I saw this one for a reduced price I could not resist!

They are essentially a heavy blanket filled with beads or similar in strongly stitched pockets or squares weighting between around 5 to 30 pounds and certainly heavier than a normal blanket or most quilts. They purport to produce a deep pressure stimulation that is said to relax the nervous system similar to a great big bear hug, except this comes from having the blanket wrapped around you.


What Are The Benefits Of A Weighted Blanket?

Weighted blankets are said to have several benefits. I have read that researchers are still studying the effects for physical and emotional benefits. 

Benefits so far are mainly listed as being helpful to reduce anxiety, relieve stress, aid restful sleep and essentially to give the body a big relaxing hug. Many people say that they have a fantastic sleep while using one. 

However, I cannot verify them so do your research and it is best to buy one based on whether you like it and feel you personally receive benefits from it. Any other benefits would be a bonus. 

If we choose to use them it should be because we find them comfortable and personally helpful.



What I Like About The Weighted Blanket

I like the colour of ours being a dark grey it goes with everything. I think I would always choose a dark neutral colour for these blankets as it is more versatile. They do come in many colours though so choose whichever suits you and your decor. 

I do like the way in mine that the beads are contained in individual pockets so they do not move about very much at all and the stitching is very strong and secure.

I have taken to draping the weighted blanket over me and hubby in the evenings while watching a film and draped over the sofa it looks great in our living room and not like just something for bedtime.

I do enjoy the feeling of a big hug and find it very relaxing. Hubby found it so relaxing the first time we tried the weighted blanket that within 15 minutes he fell asleep and did not see the film!!

It is warm, but surprisingly not too warm. When I use it I sleep really well without waking up several times as usual.

My personal experience is that I like to feel the weight of it over my body and find that feeling very calming and relaxing. I can never rest properly with only a light sheet for covering, so I was always going to be a good candidate for a heavier blanket. 

The first night I used it I did not struggle to drop off to sleep which for me usually takes about an hour. Now it is much less than that. I did not wake up all night and usually since starting perimenopause I have woken up two or three times every night. 

It is warm, but I bought it in late autumn and since then it has not been too warm. I am not sure if it will be too warm in the summer yet.

I do not feel that it is too heavy when using it as a blanket. Carrying it around I feel it is very heavy, but once on the bed, to me, it just feels comforting.




Can Everyone Use A Weighted Blanket?

Weighted blankets are generally safe for healthy adults, older children and teenagers. 

However, they are not suitable for everyone. If you are considering using a weighted blanket for an adult that has any underlying health conditions or for a child of any age please consult with a qualified healthcare practitioner first to ensure that it is safe for you to use.  

Our weighted blanket is for adults. It should not weigh more than about 10% of your body weight and so would be unsuitable for a child to use.

You can buy children's weighted blankets specifically for them although please check with a doctor first that it is suitable for your child.

Weighted blankets should never be used for a child under age 2 or older children with developmental difficulties or learning difficulties due to the risk of suffocation.

They are not recommended for people with epilepsy in case the person has a seizure under the blanket.

The heaviness of a weighted blanket may cause difficulties for people with certain pre-existing conditions, such as Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), Asthma and sleep apnea where any breathing issues may be exacerbated and diabetes where any circulation issues may be further affected by the heaviness of the blanket. In people with Claustrophobia, a weighted blanket can feel too heavy and restrictive. Please always check with a Dr first if you have any health conditions.

As it is heavy I would not recommend it for anyone who likes only a light covering. When I took it out of the box it was so heavy I thought I would not like it. However, in my experience, it does not feel anywhere near as heavy on the body as it does when carrying it or moving it.



Things To Bear In Mind About A Weighted Blanket

The way the beads are stitched into the covering is something to watch out for in any of these blankets. I have read that in some blankets the beads fall into uncomfortable clumps when the individual pockets are too large or too weak.

You do need to look for quality design so the beads are held in their separate individual pockets and remain comfortable. The stitching needs to be secure and strong. 

Check if there is a washable cover or if the whole blanket is washable. Or do you need to handwash and is this practical for you? Some are dry clean or spot clean. You need to choose whichever suits you best. 

If the whole blanket is washable check if it will fit into your washing machine.

Personally, I would use this blanket over a sheet so that it does not require washing so much, or use a cover. I wash our sheets and covers on at least a weekly basis and I would not want to be washing this blanket every week. However, used as a blanket over a sheet or with a washable cover it will need washing much less. 

Check the size you need. You want it big enough to cover your chest to toe and some drape at the sides but not enough so it is falling off you onto the floor as that will be uncomfortable. Remember the bigger it is the heavier it will be to move around and also to wash. In hindsight, I would probably have gone for a single size as it is mainly me using it. 

I would go for the smallest size you are comfortable with using. If you are using it for yourself only I think a single size may be better. Or if there are two of you then either a double or two single sizes to give more versatility.

Check if there is a trial period and returns policy if you do not get on with it as it is such a personal item. 




Washing Weighted Blankets

I think the only concern I personally have is that my double bed sized one is so heavy my washing machine will not accommodate it.  

However, being dark grey and using it over a sheet or quilt in bed hopefully, it will not need washing so often.

To improve it I feel a detachable cover I the same colour would have been most useful.

I have now found a quilt cover that will fit to sort this issue when using it for sleep purposes. So will treat the blanket as I do our quilts. When using it in the living room we use it without the cover. 




Final Thoughts On A Weighted Blanket

You do importantly need to check if you have any health conditions if you are fine to use a weighted blanket.

If healthwise you are ok to use a weighted blanket and you like the feeling of a heavier cover you may find this type of blanket very relaxing. If you enjoy a light covering in bed you may not like this but if you like the feel of a comforting hug and the feeling of a heavier cover on your body you may well take to it. 

I cannot recall the last time I slept so well and so soundly since we had this blanket. 

Do your research and make sure you can return and refund if you do not get on with it. Give it a week or so to get used to it. I took to it immediately but some people have said it takes them a while. 

A good night's sleep is extremely important to me I do not function well on a disturbed sleep so this has made a huge difference to me.

Before buying a weighted blanket do your own research and see if it will be right for you. This is a very personal choice and requires some thought.

Weighted blankets will not suit everyone. However, if they do suit you they can make a big difference to the way you relax and sleep. I am very glad I got mine and as I am getting a much sounder sleep I am feeling much better these days. 







Product Reviews On Review This Reviews 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 9, 2022

What is The Pantone Color of The Year for 2022 - Come See

Do you ever wander over to the Pantone website? If not, be sure to take a minute and check it out. It's filled with excellent advice about color combinations for almost every aspect of living.

Annually, Pantone selects  a color of the year that reflects "our global culture, expressing what people are looking for, that color can hope to answer."  - Quote by Pantone.com

 Congratulations to Very-Peri (17-3938)

According to Pantone, this combination of periwinkle blue with violet-red undertones reflects these transformative times. Color is an absolute in the creative digital space we find ourselves living in. Blue combined with violet-red is Pantone's choice for a year trending towards joyous, emotional, and creative expression.

Here's a brief video featured by Pantone with their chosen color, Very-Peri:


If You're Looking to Create This Color Via HTML Color Codes, Here is the Code

The HTML code for Very-Peri is #6667ab. If you create online graphics for any particular purpose and want to use Pantone's color choice for 2022, you'll need this code.

Don't confuse the Pantone color number 17-3938 for the HTML color code. As mentioned above, the HTML color code is #6667ab. I quickly created the main photo above using this code.

My Own Personal Opinion on Very-Peri

Violets and purples are some of my favorite colors, especially for bedroom decor. It seems to never go out of style. 

Very-Peri combines violet-red with blue to produce a soft color, yet one that evokes a courageous mood due to the hidden undertones of red.

Personally, I would combine Very-Peri with yellows or grays for a guest room or our primary bedroom. Another great space for this color is the home office, especially for those working in a field that demands some level of creative thinking - isn't that all fields? 

The thing to remember with color, any color, is "flow." Does the color flow with the overall decor theme of your home? For larger homes, changing colors from room to room is manageable; however, smaller spaces often present a challenge. If you're painting a small home or apartment, staying within the same shades is a safe way to approach your wall colors. Let the drapes, furniture, and accessories introduce the contrast and pattern.

Have fun with color because color IS fun.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, December 14, 2021

Himalayan Salt Lamps Reviewed

 



I love our Himalayan Salt Lamp. It is a beautiful and soothing addition to the lighting in our home. We have had it for several years now and find it very useful and lovely.


What Is A Himalayan Salt Lamp?

Salt Lamps are made out of pink Himalayan salt carved into different beautiful shapes with space for a bulb and a plug and lead is attached.

Some are simple unfussy natural shapes, others made into ovals, or in a firepit-like arrangement, some in beautiful metal cages with tree scenes for example, which look stunning especially when lit. They also come in different sizes depending on the look you would like to achieve. 

Salt lamps are available in many different shapes and sizes from small to very large and in different price ranges. 

It all depends on what look you want to create, how elaborate or simple you would like the look and light to be and where you intend to place your salt lamp in your home.


Beautiful Salt Lamp


Why We Love Our Salt Lamp

As a bright light, it certainly lightens up the dark autumn and winter evenings and produces a really lovely warm light. Ours is on a dimmer switch which makes it perfect for when we want a bright or very subtle light. 

When we are watching a film we turn it to the lower dimmer function and then it becomes a wonderful glowing ambient light, just right for curling up warm and cost on a winter's night and relaxing. 

For a romantic dinner at home, the salt lamp helps to create a beautiful magical mood with its amber glow and beautiful looks and texture. 

We have also used it as a night light on low dimmer especially if we have not been feeling well, or on a really wintery stormy night it is reassuring to have a low warm glowing light. 


Close Up Of Glowing Salt Lamp


I think Salt Lamps should be purchased and welcomed into our homes on the basis of that we like the way they look both off and on and the quality and mood of light they produce. 

There are many claims of health benefits from salt lamps.  Some of the claims are that they produce negative ions and purify the air thus being very good for us. It is also said that they help promote sleep and calm allergies along with promoting mood-enhancing properties. 

I cannot be certain if we receive any health benefits or not. The main benefits as I see it are that they help us relax and take time to "be". For me, they do have a calming influence and help me take time out from a hectic schedule.

I do love to watch the beautiful glowing light and it is lovely to have a warming look on a cold winter night. I am not a fan of long dark winter nights so the beauty of this light does help my mood, if even just that it is a lovely light to enjoy in the darkness. 

They are a beautiful and unusual light to have in the home and give it a warm homely, yet modern feeling. 

Salt lamps look good during the day when they are switched off and simply gorgeous in the evening.


Salt Lamp Switched On 


A Few Points To Bear In Mind About Salt Lamps.

They are so simple to use as you just plug in. The bulb will need replacing every so often depending on how much you use it but we got a long time out of ours for our usage and bulbs are easy to replace.

Salt lamps are fairly substantial and can be very heavy so you need to take care when carrying or moving them. If you think you will need to move it around a lot then go for a smaller less heavy one. However, do bear in mind this weight when placing it on any piece of furniture and place it somewhere where pets or children cannot easily knock it over as it can hurt if it drops on a foot. 

I would advise keeping this lamp only in living and bedroom areas. They are not suitable for use in bathrooms or kitchens due to the higher humidity there.

For safety do keep and use them only in dry areas of the home. We have ours in the living room mainly and sometimes take it into the bedroom, never the kitchen or bathroom. 

Salt can be corrosive so make sure the surface you place the lamp on is not metal, as that will rust, or likely to be affected by salt. Or to be safer put the lamp on a protective mat first. 


Salt Lamp Switched Off


Himalayan Salt Lamps As GIfts

Salt lamps make fantastic beautiful gifts for loved ones on many occasions. As they go with most decor you do not need to know colour schemes or design tastes too much, they tend to go in most environments and decor choices.

They are beautifully tactile. Everyone needs another table lamp and as they are so beautiful most people would be very happy to receive one as a gift. They are lovely housewarming gifts, and as presents for Christmas and Birthdays

We love ours and will definitely purchase more salt lamps for the different rooms in our home and as gifts, as we go on.  Here is a small selection. 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, November 23, 2021

Express Yourself With Wooden Words

 



Wooden Words as Wall Art, Home Decor Accents, and for Crafts – a Review


Wooden words are decorative for home décor.  They are also handy for DIY craft projects. Their uses are limited only by your imagination.


Wooden words look great displayed on a wall, a fireplace mantle, or on a table, shelf or door. Or, you can attach them to your craft and home decor projects. Choose to leave them in their wood color for a rustic look, or decorate them with stain, paint or acrylic markers for your own personal touch.


Let's review a few examples in various rooms around the house.


Kitchen Decor 



When considering a wooden word sign as a décor accent in your kitchen, this one 'speaks' to me as the perfect one. The word 'Gather' evokes many happy memories of the gathering of friends & family around the kitchen table sharing coffee and hours of talk. I consider the kitchen the central gathering place in my home. Hang this sign on the wall or display it on a countertop or as a centerpiece on the kitchen table.  It will add to the creation of the heart-warming, welcoming atmosphere you always have when enjoying the kitchen company of your coffee companions. 


Bathroom Decorative Touches



After a long or stressful day, nothing is more  relaxing than a nice long soak in the tub. Personalize your bathroom wall with these four words ~ relax, soak, unwind, and breathe ~ and enjoy your 'down-time'. 


These rustic wooden word signs will add to the peace and contentment of your relaxing moment. 


Monograms in Wood




Decorate a baby's nursery or a child's room with their name in wood.  Hang it over a crib in the nursery or on any wall in a child's room.


You can order it on amazon unpainted, which comes sanded ready for paint to DIY with your favorite colors.  Or order your monogram painted. The paint is applied with two premium coats of paint to ensure a high quality smooth finish with sanding between coats.


Home Decor That Says it All



The  heart of any HOME is FAMILY. These decorative wooden block letters come as separate free-standing letters making the two words  HOME and FAMILY. Thus, they can easily be placed anywhere to meet your decorating needs. 


Crafting with Wooden Letters 



There are a wide variety of crafts which can be decorated with an initial, a name or a favorite phrase. Create a unique gift or a piece of home décor using these wooden letters. This is just one example of the many sets of wooden letters available on Amazon for your creative crafting. Click here for a range of wooden letter sets in different sizes and fonts.


Christmas Tree Wooden Word Ornaments



Wooden words make unique Christmas Tree Ornaments.  Create a festive atmosphere on your tree, your fireplace mantle, hanging in a window, or even tied to a bow on a Christmas present under the tree. These wooden Christmas words (such as Joy, Peace, Love, Let it Snow) have many uses and decorating ideas for your Christmas décor. 


Summary


So, think wood when you choose a name or a phrase for your wall art, table décor, fireplace mantle decoration or any décor arrangement you can imagine. Expressing yourself with wooden words can create a warm and pleasing mood in any room in your home.


*Express Yourself With Wooden Words written & compiled by Wednesday Elf

**Image source information. All product images are from Amazon. The intro image is a collage created from a Pixabay free-to-use image using Fotojet.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, November 20, 2021

A Review of Fall Farmhouse Decor


The Farmhouse style of décor is cozy, casual and welcoming. Originally found in farmhouses, which of necessity were largely functional in the modest rural houses built by American pioneers in the 1700s and 1800s to suit the agricultural lifestyle, the style of decor has evolved into many different variations. 

 Homeowners today appreciate the farmhouse style regardless of whether they live in a rural area or a small town.


While there are many variations to the Farmhouse style, including rustic, modern, country and primitive, the style itself is appreciated for its warmth and simplicity. This style is characterized by natural textures and materials such as wood or galvanized steel.


Today we will concentrate on decorating your Farmhouse style for the Fall.  If you already have pieces that form your farmhouse interior, you can always just add temporary ones to update them for the season. 


Fall Farmhouse Décor


When you decorate your home for the Fall, you can add small touches throughout the house or simply focus only on one nook or create a small corner filled with an Autumn theme. A few examples of this Fall magic are shown here.


Wreaths




A favorite Fall Decor is a wreath for the front door, in a window, or as part of an inside Autumn decoration, perhaps as a centerpiece surrounding a candle.


Maple leaves in red & yellow, berries and vine add to this Fall atmosphere in this lovely wreath found on Amazon.  Perfect for the Autumn season and the Thanksgiving festivities.


Fall Décor Candles



Candles are always perfect for any décor.  Since wood is one of the materials inherent to a Farmhouse theme, these wood candle holders made from logs fit in perfectly. 


Available in brown, harvest and orange and adorned with natural Raffia bows, these candle holders made from reclaimed wood fit the Tea-light or votive candles.  A lovely set for a table centerpiece or a fireplace mantle decoration.


Log candle holders are handmade by Sarah & Eddie of GFTWoodcraft on Etsy, where you can find a wonderful collection of rustic wood home décor. 


Tiered Trays Decorating



Tiered trays are very popular in this day and age.  They are the perfect décor item in any room in the house and come in all sorts of designs. This Farmhouse Decor Fall Tiered Tray was created by Crystal and is available in her Etsy Shop CKDesigns.  


This collection of hand-painted, laser-cut signs will make a really cute Fall Farmhouse themed décor.


Farmhouse Porch Décor



Continue your Fall Farmhouse Decor outside on your porch or patio with this Fall Planter Bucket.  It is created by Jackie for her home décor Etsy Store called Oak Knoll Creations.


This planter bucket is made from authentic galvanized sap buckets once used to gather sap from maple trees. The lettering and designs are made from vinyl and your bucket can include a rope around the top.


A cute Fall porch décor in a Farmhouse theme which would look lovely paired with pumpkins, mums, lanterns, and cornstalks to look festive and welcoming. 


*In addition, Sylvestermouse tells us how festive fall leaves place mats and table runners can be for your Fall and Thanksgiving table décor. 


Summary


The calming colors of the autumn will give any space the warmth and coziness that you would like to feel every day.


For more Decor Reviews, check out
ReviewThisDecor.com


Fall Farmhouse Décor Review written by

Wednesday Elf 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, August 8, 2021

Don't be Afraid of Color and Patterns When Designing a Vintage Room


Using color in home decor can terrify some people.

There's a difference between 'not liking pattern and color' and being afraid to try it. 

If your decorating nature leans toward neutral colors and very few patterns, then this article isn't for you. 

I prefer color, patterns, texture, interest, and depth when I decorate a space. I'm not one to walk into a furniture showroom and head towards the modern pieces. However, I have several people in my family who absolutely prefer a neutral decor that focuses on clean lines, fewer pieces, and basic shapes and patterns.

A Step Back Into the 1800s 

Our family room isn't exactly the epitome of the 1800s. However, I added pieces to that space over the years to further enhance its vintage feel. The only two parts that are modern are the TV and the gas fireplace. 

The recent addition of my mother's personal, high-quality needlepoint work, with their ornate frames, became the finishing touch this space needed. I'm blessed to have six pieces of my mother's personal creations in my home. They fit our decor perfectly.

An Old Meets New Family Room Decor Theme

Choose a Rug with a Pattern

In this article, I explain how to select a patterned rug to go with a patterned sofa. Essentially, it states that if you plan a lot of color and pattern in your room, keep the pattern on the rug fairly minimal and keep it to the edge of the carpet. Let the center part of the rug have larger neutral sections, with bits of patterned items spread sporadically throughout.

Don't choose a geometric, contemporary, or modern rug to go into a space where you want the feel to be old-world. Although you may like to mix and match modern with vintage, you need to approach that particular design with intention. Intention involves thinking about each piece you have, the balance of each piece, and how they contribute to the final look.

In our case, we wanted the family room to have a rich, deep, hotel-lobby feel that crossed into the realm of vintage and old world.

Ultimately for us, the room's emotion was about coziness, warmth, and depth; vintage decor ticks many of those boxes.

Art Work With a Vintage Feel - Not Just the Art Work, But Also the Frames

Admittedly we just added my mother's personal artwork to the room. The three places we added her personally crafted needlework was above two lamps and above a chair. The vintage look to the frames, along with her incredible needlepoint, completes the space.

My mom created these pieces nearly 50 years ago, in the 1970s. The three pieces are now part of our family room; Blue Boy, Red Boy, and Pink Lady. The photos below don't do it justice! They look outstanding in our color-rich family room.

Here are Mom's Handcrafted Pieces

Blue Boy - Handcrafted by Georgette Tremblay

Pink Lady - Handcrafted by Georgette Tremblay

Red Boy - Handcrafted by Georgette Tremblay

Ultimately color choices for a room are a personal choice. However, don't let fear of decorating with color, 'color' your decorating bravery. 

Quick Summary of What to Consider When Decorating with Color

  1. Keep the room balanced - especially if you're fearful of decorating with color. 
  2. Choose a few areas with patterns (such as the drapes, pillows, and rugs) and go with solid tones for the rest (the walls, the furniture, and lamps/lighting) - This is the easy way to take that leap into color.
  3. For the Batman-Brave, put a bit of pattern in everything BUT keep certain accessories solid in color, such as the lamps, the drapes, and the tables. Take your color and pattern bravery out on the sofa, the rug, the pillows, and the art.
  4. Keep the family of colors complimentary. Here's an excellent article explaining complementary colors.
  5. Decide upon the mood you want for your room; comfortable, airy, lush, cheerful, cool, warm - whatever you want. Check out this article for more on that topic.
If you like funky, creative decor, be sure to check out Funkthishouse.com.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, July 21, 2021

Happiness at the Cottage, National Hammock Day July 22

Nothing says Summer better than lying in a Hammock during these lazy, hazy and long summer days and evenings.  A Product Review!


Image by Svetlana Chernyshkova from Pixabay

There is something that is so relaxing and wonderful about being able to plunk yourself down in a hammock!  July 22nd is National Hammock Day!  Sunnydaze Decor has hammocks that will make your eyes pop open and your family drool.  To make things even better Sunnydaze Decor is having a "One Day Sale" on National Hammock Day, July 22nd.  You can save 10% on Hammocks and accessories with the code RELAX10!

Your cottage or backyard is just waiting for a nice relaxing and inviting place!  Hammocks are wonderful in that they can be set up easily between two trees or on a hammock stand.  If you choose the Hammock Stand, you have more options! These stands are wonderful in that you can choose where you want the hammock to be.  Do you like the sun, then just move the stand into a clear area so that sunshine can be an added bonus.  If you are not a sunshine lover, then move the hammock into a shady area.  With the hammock stand, you are not limited to placement

Tethering them between two trees makes the hammock a fixed relaxation spot! And that is not necessarily a bad thing either.



.





Hammocks make a great place to rest on your own or with a friend. Your other half, one of the children (grandchildren) or the family pet will find a nice comfortable spot where they can be with you and relax at the same time. All you need is a favorite book and a little bit of time to read!  What could be better?   A little bit of a breeze will rock you gently and you might even find yourself in dreamland for a bit! Who doesn't like the idea of an afternoon nap?

 
Typically hammocks come in two styles.  Both styles have two point anchoring spots (one on either end).  The hammock that you hang from the anchoring spots,  comes in two styles as well.  There are hammocks that have spreader bars (spreader bars can be straight or curved) on either end, that makes the fabric of the hammock lie flatter.  This makes it easy to get into the hammock and get out of it too!  The other style without the spreader bars is more like a cocoon that wraps itself around you and whoever you are sharing the space with.  Each one is comfortable so there is no problem there.  It really is a personal choice!  

https://shareasale.com/r.cfm?b=1627782&u=577487&m=15199&urllink=&afftrack=
I like the colorfulness of the Mayan Rope Hammock for my own personal use, but I can also see using the fabric ones if you have pets and children.  The rope hammocks can let little fingers get between the cords or paws for that matter!  We don't want accidents, so these are just a few things to think about before you buy one of these amazing outdoor beds! 
 
https://shareasale.com/r.cfm?b=1627782&u=577487&m=15199&urllink=&afftrack=



Hammocks work both at the cottage or at home!  Where ever you decide to place this, I know from experience that there will be many friends and family just itching to let themselves be rocked by the breezes and relax while enjoying the great outdoors.

If you don't want a Hammock bed, they also make Hammock Chairs as well.  Check them out on the Sunnydaze Decor website!  

If you are in the market for a hammock, I hope you can take advantage of the Sunnydaze Decor sale tomorrow July 22nd!  





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, June 19, 2021

A Review of Summertime Beach Décor



The Summer Soltice ~ the longest day of the year ~ occurs when the Sun reaches its northernmost point from the celestial equator. So it won't always occur on the same calendar day. This 'first day of summer' happens somewhere between June 20, 21 and 22.  This year, 2021, finds summer officially beginning on June 20. 


As Summer begins, it brings thoughts of Summertime décor. Time to think of bright, summery items that radiate positive energy & warmth. Summer décor can bring a splash of sunshine, a bit of beach or the suggestion of a favorite water spot into your home. 


Beach Decor


Source: Pixabay

Summertime often brings back memories of beach trips or plans to visit a favorite one.  Putting touches of favorite beach items into your home décor will remind you of fun beach days all summer long.


Since seashells are a natural part of a beach, and a favorite for any beach décor, it's appropriate that the start of Summer is also National Seashell Day (observed every year on the date of the Summer Solstice). If you want to collect your own seashells for your beach décor, remember that the best time to search for sea shells is from an hour before to an hour after low tide.  Most seashells can be found along the high tide mark. 


If you don't have access to a beach to search for seashells, numerous places are available to purchase your favorites, be it a conch, a clam, a sand dollar or a seahorse. A couple ideas are listed below:


Mixed Beach Seashells

A mixture of beach seashells by Famoby can be used as a beach theme decor in many ways. 


Fill a vase with shells and place on a table, a bookcase or wall shelf. 

Use as table scatter for a beach party. Use in a fish tank as a tropical theme. The ideas are endless.




Shell Letters by BriThornDecor

Personalize a wall with a shell letter as your Monogram or get a collection of letters for your name in shells.  Adds whimsy and color to your beach and shell themed decor. Created by BriThornDecor on Etsy. 


Beach Theme Coasters on Etsy



Beach designs for your home décor can also be useful, such as this set of Beach Beverage Coasters available at Coastal Crochet Crafts on Etsy.


Sunshine Yellow Decor


Yellow is such a summery color. It reminds us of bright warm days spent sunbathing on the beach or at a pool or lake.  Long, hot days filled with time to relax and enjoy the best that Summer has to offer.


Lemon Summer Décor


This fun lemon kitchen decor sign is the perfect way to welcome Summer into your home. Display the lemon sign with your tiered tray decor, on your counter or shelves. You will love this in addition to your Summer decor.


Nautical Decor


Anything that reminds us of time spent at the seashore or lakeside is a welcome part of summer.  Nautical items bring the joy of the seaside to our homes. 


Check out these ship anchor coasters for your summery drinks on the patio or deck while enjoying the warm summer breezes and waiting for the barbecue grill to be ready to cook.


Ship Anchor Beverage Coasters


When we lived near the beach on Tybee Island, Georgia, hubby bought me a Tide clock so we would know when high tide was for our daily walks on the beach. We walked the beach other times, as well, but high tide was our favorite.  Our tide clock made a very attractive décor item in our island home. 


Bamboo Tide Clock


Handmade by Northcore for their Etsy Shop. This is just one of a variety of surf and outdoor accessories featured in their shop.


Summary 


There are endless ideas for summertime décor, depending upon your favorite themes.  Be it beach, nautical, summer colors such as yellow, or anything that is summer-related, summertime décor will bring the season into any room in your home. 


Happy Summer!


Related Articles:


Summertime Beach Décor written by 

Wednesday Elf.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X