Showing posts with label Holidays. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Holidays. Show all posts

Saturday, December 25, 2021

Merry Christmas from Review This Reviews

 Merry Christmas to everyone from all of us here at Review This Reviews.

Merry Christmas Greetings


For me, Christmas is a time to be spent with the people you love and a wonderful time to create memories.  Everyone celebrates Christmas differently and has different Christmas traditions, one such tradition is the Christmas Tree.

Some people put the tree up as soon as Halloween is over and others on December 1st, when I was a child it was Christmas Eve in our household.   My brother and I tried to talk my parents into putting it up earlier and one year we thought victory was ours as mum relented and said okay we'll put it up on the Saturday before Christmas.

As it got closer to Christmas we realized that Christmas was on a Sunday which meant the Saturday before Christmas was, in fact, Christmas Eve!  When my daughter was younger we would put our tree up on the 1st Saturday of the school holidays.   This leads us to how you decorate your Christmas tree, there are lots of ideas that can be found on this Christmas Facebook page.   We used to have special ornaments that we put up every year, but some people like to create a new theme every year.

My brother and his family have a tradition of giving their children a present every Christmas Eve which is a pair of pajamas for them to wear that night.   They used to open the presents while still in PJs so it meant all the photos always looked good!

Growing up we would use pillowcases in lieu of stockings and when talking to some other ex-pats from the UK a few years ago we found that we had very similar things placed in our stockings each year!  There would always be an orange, a toffee dime from the Quality Street tin(how strange that this was the one that my parents didn't like from Quality Street - a must-have for any English household over the holiday season at that time!).   There would also be a book and/or a little game to entertain us and a nice outfit to wear.   

After waking our parents up at whatever time in the morning it was that we discovered Santa had been we had to go back to bed and weren't allowed up until 9am, hence the book/game.   Then we had to get dressed (hence the new clothes) and eat breakfast (which was usually porridge that took soooo long to cook!) before we were allowed into the front room to see the Christmas tree and all the gifts.   I can feel the excitement just recalling the moment when we could see the tree on Christmas morning. 

I have spent far more Christmases in the antipodes than I did in the UK so Christmas for me these days is in summer (I do still miss Christmas being in winter though I must admit).   Our family Christmases certainly look different to my childhood Christmases for one thing we usually watch Christmas movies (my daughter used to love Elf, whereas my husband and I are more Die Hard fans) in the lead up to the big day - when I was growing up we didn't watch much television.

Board games were a big part of our Christmases and I know they are for lots of other families as well.   I also come from a family of readers so there were occasions where after Christmas lunch was over we would all be stuck with our noses in books!  If you're after a book to read then be sure to check out our recommendations, and best of all most of these can be downloaded to your Kindle straight away (just in case no one gives you a book this year!)

Some people enjoy doing jigsaw puzzles, others build Legos whereas others take walks as a family or for people Downunder it often means being in the pool or playing backyard cricket.   The first Christmas we spent in New Zealand we went down to the beach and tried out fly fishing rods that mum and dad had got, then found a log and tried our version of tossing the caber, I seem to recall a jandal throw as well.   Our very own Christmas games on the beach!

Whatever you're doing and whoever you're spending Christmas with this year make sure you are making some fantastic memories.   Keep safe, have fun and goodwill to you all.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, December 18, 2021

Oatmeal Muffin Day – A Food Holiday Review


National Oatmeal Muffin Day is celebrated on December 19th each year. It's one of those minor holidays with no known origin, but since it involves a delicious and healthy muffin, we are happy to celebrate this fun foodie day. 


A Bit of Background


A Muffin, or Quick-Bread, is similar to cupcakes both in size and in cooking method.


Muffins are popular breakfast foods, especially served with coffee.


Muffins come in many varieties and can be savory (like cheese muffins) or sweet like blueberry or banana nut muffins.


Oatmeal muffins have oatmeal as the primary ingredient – which has many health benefits which far outweigh any worry you might have over calories. 


Oatmeal muffin recipes began appearing in American cookbooks as long ago as the mid-1800s. They are made with flour, butter, eggs, OATMEAL, and baking soda as the raising ingredient.


Quick Recipe for Easy Oatmeal Muffins


Ingredients for a quick & easy oatmeal muffin recipe I like that I found on Allrecipes include 1 cup of quick cooking oats, milk, an egg, vegetable oil, flour and salt. Baking powder is added as the raising ingredient. 


You can find the exact list of ingredients and also the directions for mixing this muffin recipe at the Allrecipes site for Easy Oatmeal Muffins


Prep time is about 15 minutes and baking in a preheated oven (at 425 degrees) is 20-25 minutes. Not long at all for a dozen tasty breakfast muffins. A warm, delicious treat on a cold morning. 




Summary



So whip up a batch of Oatmeal Muffins, or pick up a few at your local bakery, to celebrate this day with a delicious & healthy breakfast treat.


National Oatmeal Muffin Day

December 19


For more Muffin Reviews, check out ReviewThisReviews: Muffins

For more Holiday Reviews, check out the ReviewThisReviews Holiday Category


*National Oatmeal Muffin Day review written by 

         ~Wednesday Elf


**Images are from Pixabay; Intro image was created with GetStencil. 









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 8, 2021

Hooray, Today is National Brownie Day and Time to Celebrate!- A Recipe Review

Come celebrate with me!  

Today is National Brownie Day and I can't think of a better way to celebrate than to get out the mixer and fix my family up with some ooey, gooey, good BROWNIES!
https://www.reviewthisreviews.com/2021/12/hooray-today-is-national-brownie-day.html

I think the thing I like the most about BROWNIES, is that they can be a very plain (but still delicious) dessert, or you can dress them up in so many different ways to make them look picture perfect for any company you may have.

Did you know that the first brownies recipes were published around the turn of the century about 1904.  They were part of regional cookbooks and often found in newspapers.  That is a pretty long history if you ask me.  And they are still favorites all around the country.  Chocolate brownies are number one with "Blondie" Brownies coming a close second.  

What's a Blondie?   Let's set the record straight, it has nothing to do with Hair!  Blondies are cousins to Brownies, just made without the chocolate, hence the lighter color and name!  

Did you know that there are several myths about where Brownies first came into being?  One myth has a baker accidentally mixing liquid chocolate in a biscuit recipe.  Oh happy accident if that is the way it happened.  Another myth is that someone making a chocolate cake forgot to add the flour to the recipe and then there's the one of the housewife who ran out of baking powder and decided to serve her guests "flattened cake".   This last one is my personal favorite because I have been known to do without certain ingredients and adding others in their stead, when making a recipe.  Sometimes it works and sometimes it is a disaster.

But let's get back to the good stuff.  Brownies are a favorite in most families and I know from past experience that they are wonderful sellers at any "Bake Sale." Simple brownies are just made in the pan and cut up.  Dressing your brownies up with frosting and sprinkles or nuts can give the lowly brownie a very dressed up, decadent appearance suitable for any company!

You can also find many recipes for Brownies and some of the best are the ones that have been shared in regional cookbooks and simple cookbooks put together for School or Church fundraisers.  You know you are getting tried and true recipes from these sources.  It's a matter of pride for the bakers who attach their name to the recipe!

So no further stalling, here is a great recipe that I have used and loved!  
Originally found on Ricardocuisine,com:
 

INGREDIENTS

  • 6 oz dark chocolate, chopped 
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • optional ingredients can include chopped walnuts, chopped hazelnuts, broken pieces of candy canes, mini marshmallows (either the plain or fruit flavoured)  
 
DIRECTIONS 
  1. Oven rack should be in the middle part of the oven pre-heated to 350 F.
  2. Butter or spray with non-stick spray the bottom of an 8 inch square baking dish.  Use parchment paper and let the excess hang over the sides of your baking dish. 
  3. Using a bowl, over a pan of boiling water, or alternately in the microwave oven, melt chocolate and butter. Let cool. 
  4. In a separate bowl, combine eggs, brown sugar and salt with a whisk until the mixture is smooth. Add chocolate/butter mixture and flour and stir until smooth. Pour this all into the prepared pan. 
  5. Baking time about 23 to 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out just a little bit moist (If it is dry you will have very dry brownies and should use icing to get some moisture back into the mix)
  6. Let cool in the pan and place the pan on a rack.  It will take about 1.5 hours. Remove from pan and cut into squares.  Or if you want to get really artistic, you can cut them into any desired shape and eat the extra pieces from between!   Serve warm or cold.
These are plain brownies with great taste and nice presentation. But, and this is a big BUT, you can add other ingredients to this basic brownie recipe to make something even more special! Add chopped nuts, or marshmallows (the little mini ones), crushed peppermints are a great add too,  or leave the recipe as is and make an icing for them.  The combinations are endless and each will have a slightly different flavor when you are done.  
All I know is that your family will enjoy this treat and you just might find yourself making them more than once in a while.

These days I make these brownies for the family, but, I myself will not indulge.  I will make the recipe that our own Margaret Schindel has finessed to fit with my Keto Lifestyle!  So I still get to have some Brownie fun without all the carbs!  You can find her recipe right here: and a whole lot more.

Now I'm going to make another suggestion for all of you!  If you have children, grandchildren, nieces and/or nephews, invite them over to share all these wonderful Brownies you've made and then spend the afternoon writing letters to SANTA!  

Did you know that you could write to SANTA, send your letter in the mail and get a response from him and all it will cost you is the time to write the letters?

Canada Post and all their "ELVES" make sure that letters addressed to Santa, get to him!  His address is very simple:


SANTA CLAUS
NORTH POLE 
CANADA 
and don't forget the postal code:
HOHOHO

No Postage necessary, the elves will get the letters to Santa, but be sure to send a return address!

Now everyone's tummy is full of goodness and the letters have been written, so it's time to settle in and wait for that wonderful holiday that is just on the horizon!



https://www.reviewthisreviews.com/2021/12/hooray-today-is-national-brownie-day.html












Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, December 6, 2021

Reviewing Handmade Kirigami Greeting Cards by Paper Love Cards

I recently received a card with a note in the mail at my new address. I was touched by the personal letter included in the card and mesmerized by the card. I opened and closed the card repeatedly, looking at the details. Throughout the day I moved the card from one shelf to another looking for the best place to display my new miniature piece of art. This card lay flat in the envelope but when I opened it I was surprised by an exquisite butterfly on a bouquet of foliage expanding into a three-dimensional paper sculpture. I was so intrigued by the card that I immediately looked up the company information.



This card was created by Paper Love Cards. Paper Love cards are exquisite pop-up cards handcrafted by origami and kirigami artists. I am familiar with origami. Origami is the art of paperfolding and making shapes (often birds, with the crane being one of the most popular. Origami utilizes folding only, no cutting or gluing.

I first learned the term kirigami when researching these cards. Kirigami is a form of origami that includes the folding and the cutting of paper that results in three-dimensional forms. I am unclear as to whether Kirigami originated in Japan or China, but all sources report that it has a very long history. By the 17th century, it was recognized as a true art form in Asian culture and became popular in America in the 1960s and 1970s. 

Paper Love Cards

The Paper Love Cards design office is based in New York, United States while the cards are made in by origami and kirigami artists in Vietnam. They advertise "A pop of art for every occasion" and they aren't lying. The offer cards for holidays, birthdays, changes of seasons, 

These cards are suitable for recipients of all ages. The Dabbing Santa Christmas card would tickle many younger people.

Paper Love can be ordered online via their website or Amazon store and are currently sold at Walmart and Walgreens.

The card sent to me was of a butterfly design. As I opened the card, it eclosed and fully displayed itself to me. The colors are vibrant and the foliage is in many shapes. My photos do not do the dimensions and details of this card justice but perhaps they will help show some of the details better than I am able to describe. 




The Lost Art of Tangible Communication

In this day and age of a constant barrage of text messages, video chats and constant conversations in our ears via earbuds, handwritten messages are becoming a lost art. How wonderful to recieve a heartfelt message from someone who takes the time to put a card into the mail. While I am not at all good at doing this on a regular basis, I had already sent out a few handwritten messages. 

Digital communication is very important. It is instant and frequent. It helps us to remain in close and quick contact. However, tangible communication, that can be held and saved, is a special thing. Especially when that communication includes a bit of handmade art.

Special Cards for Christmas, Thank You, Birthday, and More

The wide variety of cards available is wonderful. There is literally probably something for everyone and there are so many designs to choose from. There is a brief video on the Paper Love Cards Amazon store that currently shows the opening of a Christmas card.  It also shows the small insert of paper were a brief message can be written. It is about the size of a business card. 

I would like to encourage you to take a peek in order to see how these 3D designs pop open. And to take a peek at the selection of cards so you are prepared when you shopping for an extra special card for a special someone. 








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 5, 2021

Gingerbread Man Aprons

If you love Christmas, you'll love these gingerbread men aprons.Do you love gingerbread, gingerbread men and Christmas? If you do, you are going to love the fun gingerbread aprons that I have gathered together for you here on this page. 

I remember taking my boys to the bakery when they were little and their eyes lighting up when they saw the gingerbread men in the display case. Why not bring a little of that joy home permanently with a gingerbread man-themed apron?

We loved the original children's story by Paul Galdone. The gingerbread man is not, despite what you might think, a one-season wonder. His story actually takes place in another season and it is quite appropriate to celebrate gingerbread men all year long. 

Disney Parks Baking Spirits Bright Mickey Mouse Christmas Gingerbread Apron

Gingerbread Man All-Over Print Apron

Gingerbread Boy Green Apron perfect for Christmas.

Gingerbread Apron with a Welcoming, Warm & Cheery Feeling for Christmas!

Numerous gingerbread men march across the bottom of this apron.

  1. Baking Spirits Bright is a retired, bright red apron from the Disney Parks that features Mickey and Minnie Mouse. You can find it on eBay by clicking right here.
  2. The all-over print, full length apron with the black strap (shown second) is from CSybel on Etsy. You can find it here in her shop.
  3. The green apron with a solid background and the image of a large gingerbread man (shown third) is from Amazon and can be found here.
  4. The red checkered apron with an embroidered gingerbread boy (shown fourth) offers a warm and cheery, old-fashioned feeling. It is also from Amazon and can be found here
  5. The final apron, the black one with the line up of gingerbread man, is available from Melanie Rose's Shop on Etsy. You can find it here in her shop.
Will you be wearing a gingerbread man-themed apron this year?

See you
in the kitchen!
Brenda 
Treasures By Brenda

MORE APRONS AND MORE CHRISTMAS 



If you spend a lot of time in the kitchen at Christmastime, you should definitely own a Christmas apron! Christmas Cookie Gift Ideas Love cookies and Christmas? You'll love these great Christmas cookie-themed gift ideas. 

The Best Sizzlin' Hot Barbecue Aprons 

Summertime and the living is easy. Great weather, good music and your trusty friend, the barbecue, will help you prepare some good food. Before you throw your meat on the grill though you might want to throw on a grilling apron. 


On this page, find the ingredients to create a cookie themed gift set, which include, unsurprisingly, a cookie-themed apron.


If you're looking for a sweet Christmas story that is a bit shorter than a novel, check out this novella. As I type this today, it is actually free in Kindle or audiobook formats.


If there's a The Grinch Who Stole Christmas fan in your life, there's a mug for him or her!


Love Hallmark movies? Check out this Christmas one.


Do you know when cookie day is? Discover that date and more about Christmas cookies.









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, December 4, 2021

Christmas Cookies History and Traditions – Food Review



December 4th is designated as National Cookie Day. It's a good time for bakers across the country to warm up the ovens for holiday baking.


History of the Christmas Cookie


Today's Christmas cookies come from recipes popular in Medieval Europe when many modern ingredients were introduced into the west.  Ingredients popular in these Christmas 'biscuits' included cinnamon, ginger, almonds and dried fruit.  


Image Source: Pixabay

The Dutch brought the earliest examples of Christmas Cookies to the United States in the 17th century. 

Then between 1871 and 1906 changes in import laws allowed for cookie cutters to be imported from Germany. These highly stylized images had subjects designed to hang on Christmas Trees. Soon, recipes began to appear in cookbooks designed to use these cookie cutters. 



Image Source: Pixabay

Using the standard sugar cookie recipe and rolling out the dough, these 'cookie cutters' allowed us to create Christmas designs as Christmas Cookies. The cookies are often cut into the shape of candy canes, reindeer, holly leaves, Christmas trees, stars or angels. 


Image Source: Pixabay
Beginning in the 1930s in Canada and in the United States the tradition of children leaving cookies and milk on a table for Santa Claus on Christmas Eve began.




Sugar Cookies Recipes


Image Source: Pixabay

Everyone seems to have their favorite sugar cookie recipe for creating cut-out cookies using their selection of cookie cutters. The one I like the best comes from Lindsay of Life, Love & Sugar. She says this recipe makes soft cookies with lightly crisp edges. The perfect sugar cookie for decorating!  


Sugar cookies are a classic holiday cookie tradition. Cutout cookies are also not just for Christmas. Using various shapes of cookie cutters, you can also make Hearts for Valentine's Day, Pumpkins for Halloween, and any shape for any holiday or event you desire. 



Summary



Holiday Cookie Tray - Wikimedia

There are numerous 'Cookie Days' throughout the year, including National Cookie Month in October and Bake Cookies Day on December 18th.  But it's never too early to begin your Christmas cookie baking, as most cookies can be frozen ahead to be ready for Christmas celebrations and Christmas gifts.  And, of course, Santa!


HAPPY COOKIE BAKING!


Image Source: Pixabay


Related Links:




Christmas  Cookies History & Traditions Review written by

Wednesday Elf







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 1, 2021

Luscious Low Carb Keto Triple Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies Recipe

Peppermint and chocolate are a flavor match made in heaven, especially around the holidays! These luscious, big, fudgy low carb peppermint cheesecake brownies feature a yummy a mint cheesecake swirl and are topped with a melted peppermint chocolate bar topping.

My new low carb peppermint cheesecake brownies recipe is so rich and decadent, no one will guess they are a keto friendly treat unless you tell them. You, your family and your holiday guests of all ages will love them! 

Here’s my review of this quick and easy low carb keto mint brownies recipe.

Triple Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies - Keto, Low Carb and Luscious

If you bake them in an 8-inch square pan and cut them into 16 squares, as I did for this first batch, they are 270 calories apiece and 18.4 net carbs. That can work on a low carb diet or a keto maintenance diet, but if you are on a keto weight loss diet, those net carbs are pretty high. I ended up cutting mine in half after I took the photos. Since these are so rich, that's still a very satisfying portion for only 135 calories and 9.2 net carbs, which would still be a bit of a splurge for an everyday dessert but is extremely reasonable for such a decadent holiday treat.

Next time (and I plan to make these often, at my husband's request!), I will bake them in a 9-inch square pan and cut them into 32 rectangular bars (four "columns" and eight "rows"), which is how I have written the recipe.

How to Make Keto Triple Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies

Makes 32 brownies.

Tools, Supplies and Equipment

9" square pan (I love my heavy-duty Chicago Metallic Commercial II Non-Stick 9" Square Cake Pan)

If You Care unbleached baking parchment

Electric mixer with mixing bowl

A second mixing bowl (I used the 3-quart bowl from my OXO Good Grips 3 Piece Stainless Steel Mixing Bowl Set with non-skid bottoms, which I love)

Silicone spatula

Table knife (for swirling the cheesecake and brownie batters)

Cooling rack

Aluminum foil

Ingredients

Butter or coconut oil (to grease the corners of the pan and the baking parchment)

For the peppermint cheesecake batter: 

8 oz full fat cream cheese, softened 

1 egg, room temperature 

3/4 teaspoon Watkins pure peppermint extract 

3 tablespoons BochaSweet sugar replacement granulated sweetener (my favorite, but often out of stock) or Swerve granular sugar replacement 

For the chocolate fudge brownie batter: 

2 bags HighKey Chocolate Chip Fudge Brownie Baking Mix 

1 cup (2 sticks) Kerrygold salted butter (or other grass-fed butter), melted and cooled 

4 large eggs, room temperature 

1 teaspoon Watkins pure peppermint extract 

56g (132 chips) Lily’s peppermint white chocolate baking chips (no sugar added)

For the mint chocolate topping layer:

2.5 oz (70 g) bar of The Good Chocolate zero sugar 65% dark chocolate peppermint

Directions

Preheat the Oven and Prepare the Baking Pan.

  • Preheat the oven to 350 °F.
  • Cut two lengths of unbleached baking parchment to fit the 8-inch square baking pan, leaving at least one piece long enough for the ends to hang over the edges of the pan. (I like to cut both pieces long.) The overhanging ends will serve as handles to help you lift out the baked and cooled brownies.
  • Grease the corners of the pan and the baking parchment (excluding the overhanging flaps) with butter or coconut oil. Set the prepared pan aside.

Make the Peppermint Cheesecake Batter.

  • Put the softened cream cheese into the bowl of the electric mixer and beat until soft and smooth, scraping the bottom and sides often with the silicone spatula.
  • Add the egg, peppermint extract and BochaSweet sweetener. Beat on medium speed until well blended. Set the peppermint cheesecake batter aside.

Make the Peppermint Chocolate Chip Brownie Batter.

  • Empty both bags of HighKey Chocolate Chip Fudge Brownie Baking Mix into the second mixing bowl. Stir in the melted and cooled butter with the silicone spatula until well combined. 
  • Stir in the 4 eggs and peppermint extract until well blended. (Do not beat, whip or overmix the brownie batter.)
  • Stir in the peppermint white chocolate baking chips.

Layer and Marble the Brownie and Cheesecake Batters.

  • Spread half the chocolate brownie batter in an even layer in the prepared pan. Top with half the peppermint cheesecake batter, dropping it onto the brownie batter layer in large, evenly spaced dollops.

First layers of peppermint brownie batter with dollops of peppermint cheesecake batter
  • Scrape the remaining chocolate brownie batter into the pan, covering the peppermint cheesecake batter without disturbing it too much. 

Remaining peppermint brownie batter dollops covering the peppermint cheesecake batter dollops

  • Then, drop dollops of the remaining peppermint cheesecake batter over the top. If possible, try to stagger the locations of these dollops to place them in between the previous cheesecake dollops. (If you can’t tell where the lower dollops are when they are covered by the brownie batter, no worries!)

Remaining peppermint cheesecake batter dollops added

  • Swirl a table knife through all four layers of batter so it’s loosely marbled, taking care not to mix the batters too much. You want the chocolate brownie batter to remain brown and the peppermint cheesecake batter to remain white as much as possible.

Peppermint brownie and peppermint cheesecake batters marbleized in the pan

Bake the Brownies and Add the Mint Chocolate Topping.

  • Place the pan in the preheated oven and bake at 350 °F for 30–40 minutes, just until the center tests almost done with a toothpick. The brownies will continue to bake in the hot pan as they cool.
  • As soon as the brownies test done, move the pan to a cooling rack.
  • Immediately unwrap The Good Chocolate dark chocolate peppermint bar and break it along the score lines into six squares. Place the chocolate squares on top of the piping hot brownies, spacing them evenly about 1.5 inches away from the edges of the pan.

Hot, baked peppermint cheesecake brownies topped with squares of The Good Chocolate dark chocolate peppermint bar

  • Carefully lay a sheet of aluminum foil over the top of the hot pan, tenting the foil loosely so it doesn’t touch the surface of the chocolate. Do not try to crimp/seal the edges of the foil to the edges of the pan.
  • Remove the foil after about 15 minutes and set it aside. Carefully spread the melted chocolate over the brownies in a thin, even layer.

Melted peppermint dark chocolate squares spread over top of brownies in pan

Finish Cooling, Chill Briefly and Cut Into Squares.

  • Allow the brownies to continue cooling in the pan on the cooling rack for at least an hour.
  • Cover the cooled pan of brownies with the reserved foil and place it in the refrigerator for 60-90 minutes, just until the surface of the mint chocolate topping layer firms up.
  • Use a spatula to loosen the parchment from the edges of the pan, if necessary. Run a sharp knife under hot water and immediately wipe it dry, then use the warmed knife to slice through just the hardened mint chocolate coating layer to score it into 16 squares, as shown. Then score a line down the center of each square to make 32 rectangles (not shown).
Note: The photo shows the dark chocolate peppermint candy bar coating scored into 16 squares, which is how I had cut them before I photographed them. Once we tasted them and realized just how rich these brownies are, we subsequently decided to cut each big square in half to make narrower brownie bars.

Scoring the chilled and hardened mint chocolate topping layer while still in the pan

  • Use the overhanging baking parchment paper handles to lift the uncut brownies out of the pan and onto a cutting board. 
  • Using the scored lines in the chocolate coating as a guide, cut the brownies into 32 pieces.
  • Place them in a covered food storage container, layered between waxed paper or parchment paper, if necessary, and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Finished keto triple peppermint cheesecake brownies on a decorative Christmas serving platter
These low carb keto triple peppermint cheesecake brownies are so rich and decadent, we decided to cut them in half after I photographed them and we tasted them.

Nutrition Facts

Calories and Macros (Estimated)*:

Serving: 1 brownie (1/32 recipe)

Calories: 135

Net Carbs: 9.2g

Total Carbs: 15.7g

Fiber: 4.7g

Sugar: 0.2g

Added Sugar: 0.0

Sugar Alcohols: 2.0

Protein: 2.5g

Fat: 12.5g

Saturated Fat: 7.1g

Cholesterol: 49.5

*This nutrition data was calculated by the Carb Manager Premium app after I entered the ingredients and amounts into the Create Custom Recipe function.

A Delicious and Festive Christmas Gift (Especially for Anyone Following a Low Carb or Keto Diet!)

I have always loved giving homemade Christmas cookies and other festive baked goods to family members and friends around the holidays. A beautifully wrapped holiday-themed decorative tin lined with a doily and filled with these fabulous low carb keto triple peppermint cheesecake brownies would make a festive and much appreciated gift for anyone. For someone who is watching their sugar and carbs, make sure to include the recipe. Better yet, make up a low carb keto holiday gift basket including these brownies, the recipe and the ingredients so your gift recipient can make more of them after the ones you gifted them have been eaten!

The Perfect Pairing of Low Carb Keto Holiday Dessert Recipes

For the ultimate holiday sweet treats indulgence, pair my Low Carb Keto Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies Recipe with my Ultimate Keto Hot Chocolate Recipe!


Luscious Low Carb Triple Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies Recipe by Margaret Schindel


Posts In This Series About My Keto Diet Journey

My First Year on The Keto Diet

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part One

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part Two

Low Carb Muffins & Cupcakes: Treats to Enjoy on a Keto Diet

Low Carb Keto Chocolate Yogurt Granola Chip Pudding Recipe

Good Dee’s Keto Cookie Low Carb Baking Mix Review

Hamama Microgreens Growing Kit Review & Success Tips

My Favorite Hamama Microgreens Seed Quilt Accessories

Keto Cheddar Cheese Biscuits With Chives Recipe

The Ultimate Keto Hot Chocolate Recipe

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffins

Wholesome Yum Keto Bread Mix and Yeast Bread Recipe

The Good Chocolate 100% Organic No Sugar Dark Chocolate Review

The Best Advice to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss

My New Irresistibly Delicious Keto Cheese Crackers Recipe

Luscious Low Carb Keto Triple Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies Recipe

Quick & Easy Livlo Blueberry Scones Keto Baking Mix Review

Snack Better With The Best Healthy Keto Cookie Dough Bites

Reviews of the Keto Diet by Barbara C. (aka Brite-Ideas)

My Personal Keto Testimonial

How I Stayed Committed to the Ketogenic Way of Eating

Read More Recipe Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Holiday Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Christmas Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Reviews About Health and Wellness by Our Review This Reviews Contributors







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, November 25, 2021

Happy Thanksgiving from Review This Reviews

 

Happy Thanksgiving
Today is Thanksgiving Day in the USA.  From the Staff of Review This Reviews we wish you a very Happy and Thankful Day.

Thanksgiving Day History

On this Thanksgiving Day, I thought I would share a few history facts for your enjoyment.  If you'd like you could use these to share or quiz family and friends as you gather for the holiday.  They could make great conversation starters too.   My reference for this information is history.com.  
  • It is commonly thought that 1621 was the year of the first Thanksgiving in America.  During the fall of this year the Colonists and the Wampanoag Indians shared a feast to celebrate the harvest.
  • The first Thanksgiving was not just one day but was a three-day festival.
  • The most likely menu for this feast was deer, Indian corn, fowl, barley and nuts, lobster and mussels.
  • This first feast did not become an annual tradition for centuries later.
  • In 1789 George Washington declared a national holiday for Thanksgiving and it was celebrated that year on Thursday, November 26th.  But still it did not become an annual holiday nationwide.
  • In 1827 Sarah Josephia Hale (she is an author best known for the writing the nursery rhyme "Mary Had a Little Lamb") started a 30-year campaign to make Thanksgiving an annual holiday.  She even published recipe cards for Turkey, Stuffing, and Pumpkin Pie.

  • Finally in 1863 during the Civil War, President Abraham Lincoln proclaimed a National Day of Thanksgiving to be held each year in November.

Thanksgiving Traditions Today

Menu

Today the most common Thanksgiving menus include:
  • Turkey
  • Dressing
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Cranberry Sauce
  • Pumpkin Pie
After these staples that are common to most American households each family adds their own touch to the Thanksgiving feast.  In our family we add green bean casserole, hot rolls, and a sweet potato dish with a sweet topping.

Parades

Another tradition in America is the Thanksgiving Parade.  For those that don't go to a parade they may watch the big Thanksgiving Day parade from New York City on television.

Volunteering

Volunteerism is big on Thanksgiving too.  Communities collect food for the needy and serve hot meals for those less fortunate.

Pardoning a Turkey

In 1989 President Bush came up with a new quirky tradition of pardoning a turkey.  This tradition has carried on with each President since that time.  This is a fun tradition that is seen on the "news" each year.  The turkey will then be able to live out its life on a farm.

Fall Harvest

As you and your family celebrate the holiday may you take time out to remember to be thankful.
Happy Thanksgiving 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 21, 2021

Christmas Aprons

If you're cooking for the holidays, you'll want to tie on one of these fun aprons!

Cooking for the holidays? Why not tie on a Christmas apron? Christmas aprons are a recipe for holiday fun! 

Don't ask me how something as simple as an apron can generate so much excitement but believe me when I say it can. Aprons are associated with warm memories. memories of moms, grandmas and great aunts. Memories of growing up and of home and yes, of course, of good food, too. So if you are cooking for Christmas, I suggest you strap on a holiday apron or maybe even present one as a beautiful gift to the cook in your family. On this page, we will review a few great Christmas aprons. 

NEW APRONS


New aprons abound but I liked the set shown above from Amazon that actually includes four aprons. I love the idea of being ready to put everyone to work in the kitchen this Christmas.

These four aprons start with the basic pattern of buffalo plaid in bright, Christmastime colors and are printed with assorted rustic Christmas and nostalgic themes like snowflakes, vintage trucks, bells, garlands, birds, mugs of hot chocolate and more. Find this set of four on Amazon by clicking right here.

The Grinch Who Stole Christmas
For fans of Dr. Seuss, a Christmas apron that reads, "In a world full of Grinches be a Cindy Lou Who."
Inspired by the Dr. Seuss story, here is a wonderful new apron featuring The Grinch Who Stole Christmas. It reads, "In a world full of Grinches, be a Cindy Lou Who!" Brilliant sentiment and of course, it features images of two of our favorite Christmas characters. Find it here on Amazon.

Santa Claus Believe


For those who embrace the spirit of Christmas, you'll love this handmade apron with its plaid, polka dot and Santa theme.

I love this handmade Santa Claus-themed apron from Etsy. It has so much spirit, featuring polka dots, plaids, Santa Claus and Christmas-themed words.  The presence of the simple word 'Believe' reminds me of the Chris Van Allsburg book and movie, The Polar Express. This apron would make a fabulous gift for any fan of that story or of the holidays in general.  Find it and a few similar aprons with other Christmas themes in the Etsy shop of Little Links Co. by clicking right here.  

Loved the Will Ferrell's Christmas movie Elf? You'll love this apron!
Elf the Movie

Can you find new Christmas aprons on eBay? Yes, you can! Often eBay has a much wider selection available than at our local shops because they have retired aprons, which are no longer available at retail. Anyway, to see the large selection of new aprons on eBay, just search on eBay for Christmas apron, click the condition box on the left and select new or simply follow this link to eBay. 

If you are interested specifically in this now-retired apron from the movie Elf, click here. It would suit fans of the movie and those who simply want to dress like an elf. eBay is the best place to find items like this that are out of production.

VINTAGE APRONS


For some old fashioned style, consider a vintage apron like this one with a cheery Santa Claus.

ETSY and EBAY both offer up a wide assortment of vintage holiday aprons that are practical and fun, too! Remember that vintage items are often one-of-a-kind pieces and once they are sold they are gone forever. If you see one you like don't hesitate. Don't let something you love get away.

The Santa Claus apron shown above is from the Etsy shop of Vintage Chic Dream. I love the cheery Santa. You can find it by clicking right here or, if it is sold, you can find more vintage Christmas aprons on Etsy here.

Rather shop on eBay? Follow this link to see eBay's collection of vintage Christmas aprons.

HOW TO MAKE A CHRISTMAS APRON


Christmas Aprons With Famous Stacie

If you are interested in making your own Christmas apron, you will appreciate this video with The Famous Stacie. It is a DIY video on how to make your own personalized Christmas aprons using a purchased apron. You will LOVE how simple Stacie's idea is with sayings like "Tidings of Comfort and GEORGE" and "Unto us a CHAD is born."

  

How To Make Holiday Aprons by Jo Pearson

This video is called How To Make Holiday Aprons and is by Jo Pearson, Michaels' Creative Expert. Jo demonstrates an easy way to make a holiday apron using paint and featuring a gingerbread man. She also shows numerous easy-to-do variations. "Run, run as fast as you can...you can't catch me, I'm the gingerbread man!"

 

How To Make An Apron Resource Page

Finally, if you are interested in making an apron, you might like to check out my resource page, How to Make an Apron, where you will find more interesting 'how to' videos, more aprons and more information about making your own aprons!

-------------------------------------------------------
 
I believe that an apron is the ultimate fashion accessory for the kitchen whatever the occasion. Will you be wearing a holiday-themed apron this Christmas?

See you
at Christmastime!
Brenda

MORE APRONS


Wear a Halloween Apron
Looking for a Halloween apron? You might find just what you are looking for here on this page.

Real Men Don't Wear Aprons, Do They?
There are so many amazing aprons for men available that the choice seems almost endless. On this page you will find a selection of humorous but tasteful aprons and a debate about whether or not men actually do wear aprons...I hope you will...

The Best Sizzlin' Hot Barbecue Aprons
Summertime and the living is easy. Great weather, good music and your trusty friend, the barbecue, will help you prepare some good food. Before you throw your meat on the grill though you might want to throw on a grilling apron.

On this page, find the ingredients to create a cookie themed gift set, which include, unsurprisingly, a cookie-themed apron.

Discover chef Julia Child's apron.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X