Showing posts with label Holidays. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Holidays. Show all posts

Sunday, November 17, 2019

Six Easy Christmas Tree Alternatives

Alternatives to Standard Christmas Trees


There are alternatives to putting up a fully decorated Christmas Tree. When time, health or motivation gets in the way of decorating the way you used to, check out these options:

1. Christmas Tree Art Drapes

You have to check these out; they're gorgeous. These drapes are full floor to ceiling curtains featuring 3D holiday scenes. The entire drapes are an art canvas, except instead of being on canvas, the art is on cloth. If you have a large window or sliding patio door, remove your existing drapes and put these up for the holidays. 

2. A Tabletop Christmas Tree

A tabletop tree is the easiest way to bring a little cheer into your home during the holidays. One of ReviewThisReviews writers, Dawn Rae, provides several creative suggestions here. Of course, tabletop trees can also be used to accessorize a fully decorated home. They also make an excellent hostess gift.

3. Freestanding Cardboard Christmas Trees
When you need a simpler
decorating plan

Of course, this particular choice is better utilized as party decor. However, there are several ways to incorporate cardboard trees into the home. For those who like to feature multiple trees but don't have the energy to go all out, these fun designs are an alternative. Also, you can use them as a way to add a safe festive feel to a child's room or playroom. 

4.  Christmas Tree Wall Decals

If you have a little more energy and enjoy decorating the walls, then you'll love this idea. Wall decal Christmas Trees are a fun way to add festive art to a room. When the holidays are over, simply remove them. Since they have more of an artsy animated look to them, they're ideal in a room where the kids tend to gather, even their bedroom. How nice would it be to read holiday bedtime stories with a fun Christmas Tree decal front and center in the little one's bedroom?

5. Pull Up Christmas Trees

These are an absolute must for people who don't have time for anything elaborate during the holidays! They fold completely flat into a storage bag. You may have to buy the storage bag separately. When the holiday season rolls around, unzip the bag and pull up the pre-lit, even pre-decorated Christmas Tree. That's right, most of them come fully decorated. A couple of these trees will eliminate a ton of work yet still give your home or office that lovely holiday feel.

6. Christmas Trees or Decor Featured on a Rug

If the wall, a tabletop, or draperies are out of the question, how about a bit of the holiday spirit on the floor? These holiday-themed area rugs feature various scenes that you can easily incorporate into your home. The nice thing about a carpet is the ease of taking it out and putting it away. Feature a festive rug in your foyer, one in the kitchen or living area, and add a small table-top tree or Christmas tree ornament, and your decorating is finished. You've decorated without a lot of effort. With a rug, there are no boxes to unpack or carry; store it in a closet or under a bed until the season is upon us.

As we get older, decorating the way we used to can become challenging. Our hearts may want to go all out, but our bodies won't let us. So don't hesitate to seek out something easier that works for you and your life. These days, there's something beautiful about going 'small.' It's like getting back to the basics and focusing on what Christmas is really about; love.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, August 3, 2019

Watermelon Day Review

Source: Pixabay
Watermelon Day is celebrated each year on August 3rd to enjoy that juicy summertime staple, the watermelon. It is an ancient berry feast dating back to Ancient Egypt. Others say it originated in tropical Africa.  Whichever is true, watermelon cultivation is at least 4,000 years old. 

It is so refreshing because it is 92% water. This makes the watermelon a good thirst quencher, something definitely needed in the hot days of August and throughout the summer. 

Some call it a fruit; others think it is a vegetable.  In fact, it is the official vegetable of the state of Oklahoma. 


Fun Watermelon Holiday Treats


Watermelon Pizza. Source: Feeding Big Blog

Watermelon can be a tasty food as seen in a recipe for Watermelon Pizza by Cynthia L. and posted on the Feeding Big Blog. Simply made with watermelon slices, other favorite fruits (like strawberries and blueberries) and yogurt, giving you a tasty dessert or a fun appetizer for a summertime picnic.


Crafty Watermelons


The watermelon is popular with crafters.  Here are a few fun ones.

Watermelon Baby Bib



Watermelon Bib
This cheery watermelon bib is perfect for summer picnics and barbecues. It will catch all that delicious watermelon juice and keep baby clean and dry. The front side features a cotton fabric with watermelon slices. The reverse is a coordinating pattern with watermelon seeds. Velcro makes it reversible.  

Handmade by Linda for her Etsy Shop Grandma Lindas House. 




Watermelon Table Runner


Watermelon Table Runner
This cute table runner is made with 2 different cotton fabrics so it is reversible. One side has watermelon wedges and slices on a black background and the other side has large black ants on a red and white checkered background. Perfect for your summer time decorating.



Table runners are an easy way to decorate your table for any holiday or home decor. 

This watermelon table runner and many other themes are available in Kathie's Etsy Shop she calls CutePurseNalities.


Watermelon Kitchen Decor



Watermelon Kitchen Decor
This is a set of three (3) watermelon theme items for your kitchen. This kitchen combo includes a watermelon slice potholder and two watermelon slice magnets.

Created in crochet (potholder) and plastic canvas (magnets), this is a fun kitchen decor in a summery fruit theme. The set can be found in the Etsy Shop Coastal Crochet Crafts


Summary

National Watermelon Day is an unofficial holiday with no known origin. It may have been begun by watermelon farmers, or by the National Watermelons Day. No matter who came up with the idea to celebrate the watermelon on August 3rd, it remains a refreshing summer snack that is naturally healthy.


National Watermelon Day


August 3



See more fun Holiday Reviews on 









(c) Wednesday Elf 8/3/2019





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, May 26, 2019

Father's Day Gifts Reviewed on Review This Reviews

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews!


 Father's Day Gifts Reviewed on Review This
Warm weather beckons us to enjoy our favorite outdoor activities which makes June the perfect month to celebrate Father's Day.  When I think of  baseball, camping, swimming, boating, fishing, hunting, four-wheelin, motorcycles, bicycles, or even washing cars, I think of my dad.  As a child and young adult, all of those summer activities included my father.  In fact, as an adult with adult children of my own, my dad is still a part of all of those family activities and more.

The Review This Reviews contributors recognize that not all fathers are the same or enjoy the same activities listed above.  Some dads prefer video games, radio controlled devices, woodworking, or other hobbies.  Many play golf like my father-in-law.  One thing every man I know enjoys, is eating!  Some may enjoy cooking as well, but they all love food.

Because we have over a dozen contributors on Review This Reviews, we have dozens of hobbies, entertainment, and activities that our own fathers, husbands, brothers or sons enjoy to use as a reference for reviews of excellent gifts for men. 

So many wonderful memories in our lives include our fathers.  Let's be sure to remember our dads on Father's Day with a phone call, visit, a card, perhaps dinner, and even a specially selected gift.  Either of those things would be considered a "gift" to your dad because it will be you taking time to express your appreciation and love.    




A Review This Reviews Pinterest Board - Father's Day Gifts Reviewed 

 There are dozens of Father's Day Gifts Reviewed 
by our Contributors!
The board below features the 30 most recent reviews. 








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, April 22, 2019

Mother's Day Gifts Reviewed on Review This Reviews

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews!


 Mothers Day Gifts Reviewed on Review This Reviews On Mother's Day, we celebrate our moms.  We take this one day each year to express our love to our mothers and to give them a gift of appreciation.

As a mother myself, I know the size or expense of the gift doesn't matter.  A card with an expression of love, signed by my precious child, touches my heart deeply.  I keep and cherish those cards more than just about any other gift.  It takes only a moment to write "I love you" and sign the card, but this is a treasured gift that I will keep all of my life.  

As a child, I enjoy finding a unique gift that my mom will keep and enjoy displaying or using.  Because Mother's Day is separate from other gift giving holidays, I embrace being able to focus just on one important person in my life.  

Many of us are blessed with wonderful mothers.  We need to always remember that our moms are truly a gift to us.  Remembering them on Mother's Day, is really very little to give back.

Select a gift that easily fits into your own budget.  I know for a fact, no loving mother wants their child struggling to pay for a gift.  If a $4 card is what your budget will allow, give the card.  If you don't have $4 to spare, write "I love you" on a piece of paper, sigh it and give it to her.  That card or slip of paper, regardless of price, will be among her most valued treasures.

If you wish to send a larger gift along with the card, the contributors of Review This Reviews offer suggestions based on their own experiences.  We write about gifts that we have received and loved, as well as gifts that we have given that have been greatly appreciated.  Please refer to the Pinterest board below to see the gifts reviewed and recommend by our Contributors.  

Every family situation is different.  Choose what works best for you and your mother.  Just remember her on Mother's Day!  That is what matters most.   




A Preview of our Pinterest Board - Mother's Day Gifts Reviewed 

 There are over 100 Mother's Day Gift Reviews 
from the Contributors of Review This Reviews! 
This small board features the 30 most recent reviews. 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Bats, the Good, the Great and Why You Want Them!

April 17, 2019 has been designated as "Bat Appreciation Day" by those wonderful folks at the Days of the Year!  So let's do a review on Bats and why you would encourage them to become part of your backyard and garden areas!

Bats have had a bad reputation for many years and much of it comes from not understanding this mammal and all of it's wonderful attributes.  Halloween, scary stories, murder mysteries and more have used scenarios with bats as a harbinger of bad things to come.  Stories of bats becoming entangled in people's hair and attacking at night have added to the fear many people have when it comes to this animal.  Vampires and other "horror" scenes have reinforced the idea that bats are "bad news". I'm here to set the record straight!


Let's start with what we know about bats!

Bats are found almost everywhere where people are.  If there is a food source around, there will be bats as well.  The only place where bats have not been found is in Antarctica!  

Bat are mammals that hibernate like bears in the winter months.  Once the weather starts to warm up and the bugs come out of the ground, you will if you are lucky, start to see bats as well.  

Bats feed on bugs, fruit, beetles, and insects and there are a few species that will drink blood too  (this is where their bad reputation comes from)!  None of these blood suckers make their home in North America, so don't worry.

Bats eat up to 50% of their body weight in bugs every evening.  Yes, you should re-read that statement.  Bats eat up to 50% of their body weight in bugs every evening.  





Bats are the only flying mammal with great eyesight and the ability to echolocate their food!  No bats don't fly into your hair accidentally.  They have food to locate and eat.  Bat's are evening creatures that do most of their living while we are sleeping.  As morning comes Bats just want to go into a dark place to sleep.


Bat's with their voracious appetite help our farmers cut down on the need to use pesticides!  That is a GOOD thing.  

Unfortunately, Bats are in trouble!  They need our help.  Many bats have been dying because of a disease that is called  "White Mold Disease" and it attacks the bats as they are hibernating.  When they come out of hibernation they are sick and quickly die.  There are many efforts being made to help the bats through this debilitating disease and providing them with clean and safe places to hibernate, is one of these initiatives.

Of all the animals that you can have in the garden (and all of them have a job to do), I would be encouraging bats to find me.  Having a bat box ready for them is step #1.  These are easy to build and can be fastened to a nice cozy dry spot.  Just under the eaves is a great place. 


Here are some books that you can share with your children and get them on board to helping Mother Nature take care of her bats!  You can also build your own Bat Box and see if they will come!  Sitting on the patio in the cool evenings will be a lot nicer for you and your family when there are bats around to take care of all those nasty mosquitos.  It's a win-win situation.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, April 13, 2019

Day of the Mushroom Review

Basket of Picked Mushrooms (Wikipedia)

Mushroom Day, or Day of the Mushroom, is celebrated each year on April 16.  No one appears to know who created Mushroom Day (or why), but it has become quite popular on cooking and recipe websites, 



What is a Mushroom?



Definition per Wikipedia: A mushroom, or toadstool, is the fleshy, spore-bearing fruiting body of a fungus, typically produced above ground on soil or on its food source. 

Many kinds of mushrooms are poisonous. The mushrooms most of us care about are the 'edible mushrooms'.  The most common of these are the white mushrooms or button mushrooms many of us use in cooking. A couple other popular edible mushrooms are the Portobello and the shiitake mushrooms. 


(c) Wednesday Elf

We have always been told that the mushroom is a fungi, but to further classify it, the Department of Agriculture considers mushrooms to be vegetables because they provide many of the same nutritional attributes of vegetables. For a complete history of the edible mushroom, click here.

Celebrating Mushroom Day


There are numerous ways to eat mushrooms and dozens of dishes which use mushrooms as an ingredient. To celebrate Day-of-the-Mushroom you probably should fix a favorite mushroom recipe.

I never ate mushrooms as a child, being a very fussy eater who wouldn't 'try' new things. So it wasn't until I was grown, married and a parent that I was introduced to a mushroom treat that changed the way I thought about mushrooms forever more! 


Crab Stuffed Mushrooms by Small Town Woman

We had moved to the Central Coast of California near San Luis Obispo and a new neighbor invited us over.  There were several appetizers prior to the meal, one of which was a plate of Atascadero Stuffed Mushrooms. Now, Atascadero Mushrooms are well known in the central coast area of California. This was our first introduction to these mushrooms. They look like button mushrooms, but are very large.

Our host had fixed them by cutting off the stems, chopping them and mixing them with crabmeat, bread crumbs & seasonings then stuffing them back into the base of the mushroom cap, sprinkling Parmesan cheese on top and popping them in the oven. The taste ~ unbelievably good. I became a mushroom fan immediately. 

If you want to try your own crab-stuffed mushrooms, this recipe on a blog by Small Town Woman for Quick and Creamy Crab Stuffed Mushrooms sounds fabulous and close to the stuffed mushrooms which won me over to being a mushroom lover.

Mushroom Decor and More…


The mushroom has become so popular over the years, that it is enjoyed in more ways than just as food.  Many home décor items are decorated with scenes of mushrooms and mushrooms appear on wearable items such as T-shirts. 



The mushroom has even become a fun toy item. 


Mushroom Garden Interactive Toy

I love this colorful Mushroom Garden educational interactive toddler toy.  It lights up, has music and fun sounds, and teaches colors and numbers. It also has a memory game. Tots have fun and learn at the same time. 



So enjoy the DAY-OF-THE-MUSHROOM on April 16. 



Related Mushroom Dates:


  • Stuffed Mushroom Day – February 4
  • National Mushroom Day – October 14



For more holiday reviews, check out:





Holiday Review written by Wednesday Elf







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, April 6, 2019

Do You Send Easter Cards?

cute vintage easter cards, fun easter cards and easter cards for dog lovers
There are some absolutely gorgeous Easter cards available and living away from our family it is nice to exchange cards at this time of the year.   There are lots of different cards to choose from including bunny cards (which I love) and bilby cards - the Easter bilby delivers our Easter eggs as bunnies aren't allowed in my state!  There are also a myriad of vintage cards, chick cards and religious cards.

Do people still send these cards though?  It seems more and more that people are just sending greetings through social media and e-cards which is such a shame as it really is nice to receive a card through the mail.

Let's have a look at some of the beautiful cards that are available to send Easter greetings to your friends and family around the world.

Cute Vintage Easter Cards

I do love cute Easter cards and some of the vintage designs really lend themselves to cuteness


I do love this one as it looks like the rabbits are begging the little girl for Easter eggs!  At least that's what I see when I look at this fun and cute card.   There are lots of other cute vintage cards that are based solely on bunnies, but I do like seeing a little girl in this one.

Custom Easter Cards That are Gorgeous

I know as a mum that when our children are little they really like personalized things and the idea that the Easter bunny would leave them a personalized card, well .....


My parents lived in a different country to us so my daughter was always sent an Easter card and a gift - I remember one year she was sent a gorgeous bunny soft toy that actually smelled of chocolate.   For years that chocolate aroma lingered, she loved that bunny!

I think a custom Easter card like this one would put a smile on any child's face.


Fun Easter Cards for Dog Lovers

There are lots of different Easter cards featuring dogs to choose from including gorgeous Golden Retrievers, Pugs, Dachshund and even this cheeky looking Boston Terrier -


I'll admit I'm a dog lover from way back and as far as I'm concerned I am and always will be a dog mum!   I would absolutely love an Easter card that gives a nod to one of my 'babies' and I'm sure I'm not alone in that.

I could not believe the variety of different dog breeds that are represented in Easter cards, definitely pop on over to Zazzle and have a look you will not be sorry!

Which Style of Easter Cards Do You Like?


So which type of Easter card is your favorite.   I could be here for hours looking at cards which is why I have only added a few, but I have to say I love cute Easter cards whether they are modern or vintage. 

Before I go let me ask you two questions - do you send Easter cards?   What type of Easter cards do you like to receive?

Happy Easter!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Easter and Church A Simple Way to Make It Easy for Children

Children and Faith, Our Duty as Christian Parents and Grandparents During this Holiday Season.

In the last 30 years Church attendance has dropped significantly.  Christians still want to attend services at special times of the year and one of them is coming up very shortly.  There are two major celebrations in the Christian community.  Christmas being the first.  Easter is the Second.  Both of these times in the year are  Holidays, and important in the life of a Christian community.  Christmas we celebrate the Birth of Jesus Christ and at Easter, we celebrate the Resurrection of Jesus from the Tomb.  Both of these "Holy Days" are usually marked by increased attendance at your local church's worship services.

Easter Church Services

Attending Church services with our family is one of the most wonderful times in a parents and grandparents lives.  It's a great time for us Parents and Grandparents to acknowledge our faith and share it with our families. 

The Question remains, how do we get our children (many of which haven't participated in regular Church Services) to sit quietly at the Services we are attending?  Every parent enters the church with trepidation and fear that their little ones will be disruptive during the Easter Service.

I'm here to tell you that with a little planning ahead, children can and will behave in a way that will not put you to shame.  But it does take some planning.

So let's get to it. Prepare, prepare, prepare!


First of all let's find out how long the church service will last.  Sometimes it will be 30 to 45 minutes and other services may last a few hours.  Knowing how long you need to keep your children engaged will help you plan better. 

Let's assume that services will be about an hour long.  That 60 minutes of quiet time that your children need to get a handle on.

Let's Pack a Church Bag* to take with us to services.  Inside will be all kinds of quiet activities that your children can do when they become restless.  So these are the things I would take along:

*Contents of a great Church Bag

  1. Books, depending on the age of your children, they can be picture books or story books.
  2. Stickers and some paper for them to make their own picture of the Bible story they  will hear.
  3. Coloring books with crayons. (if you have more than one child, make sure you have a book for each one of them!)
  4. Puzzle books, find the words, or crosswords are great!
  5. Small soft Easter type toys, stuffed bunnies, chicks or eggs. You can find some really cute ones here at Coastal Crochet Crafts! 
DO NOT PACK Candy of any Kind.  That would be setting you up for a sugar rush and you don't want to have that during this quiet time.   You should prepare your children ahead of time.  Make it a game to see how long they can be quiet at home, before the Church event happens.  Small rewards for being able to be quiet can help you to increase the time span.  Tell them that they are practicing for the quiet time that they will have to adhere to while Church services are happening.  Practice whispering to each other if conversations need to be had.   Bringing electronic toys to church is not a good idea.  They are very distracting to your child and to others around them.  Even adults are distracted by electronic toys.  Better to stick to bringing a book or two.  Picture books are great and children are always enchanted by stories that they can read.  I happen to like Easter Books that tell the Story of the Resurrection.




There are several available and they will help you to explain to your children what this Season of Easter is all about too!  Children learn from their parents and grandparents about their faith beliefs and it is up to us to encourage that faith.    After Church Services are concluded, I'm sure there will be time for the infamous Easter Egg hunt.  Children especially like this part of the Easter festivities.  Dinner on Easter Sunday will be a gathering of all the family at the table to share in the wonderful foods and desserts that have been lovingly prepared for us.  After all Easter is a whole season of REJOICING!  Everything is new including the seasons.  Everything is in bloom or will be soon.

Please know that most Christians are very happy to see the little ones at church services!  They are a delight to us older folks who remember all to well taking our own children to Services.


Happy Easter to all, The Lord is Risen, He is Risen indeed!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Lego Easter Egg Hunt Set Reviewed

Fun Idea For Easter Basket Stuffer

easter eggs
Add some Lego Fun to the Basket
(image courtesy of pixabay.com)
It is a good two months before those Easter Egg Hunts take place but I am already looking for some fun ideas to add to the baskets. Of course there will be eggs to be found. I always look for some different sorts of sweets to add but I like to hold that sugary stuff to a minimum. So, I start searching for non-edible ideas rather early. I have found something fun for this year. 

Those that know me might remember that I love to play with Legos. My brothers and I built things with those plastic bricks when we were little. Hours of fun were spent with my daughters with them. This grandma still plays with the colorful plastic pieces with her grandchildren. I even have a display of the Big Bang Theory done in Legos in our family room. 

Imagine my thrill when I found a set of Legos that creates a scene for an Easter Egg Hunt! It is a small little set with only 145 pieces so the box will fit nicely in the kid's baskets. The set allows you to build three separate locations (to hide the 3 eggs). There is a carrot garden, a flower garden and a hen house. Two figures come with the set; an adult and a child. There is a wheelbarrow, a cute little basket and a magnifying glass. Well, it is just down right adorable! 

As with most of the Lego sets once this one is assembled the different locations can be easily added to any other display you might already have on display. We rarely tear our finished sets down in this house. They are fun to pull out and play with when the kids come or Grandma goes to their house. 

If you are looking for something to add to an Easter Basket that won't throw your child or grandchild into a raging sugar high, consider a set of Lego fun with the Easter Egg Hunt.
  



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, February 16, 2019

National Gumdrop Day Review


Image Source: Wikipedia (and Fotojet) 
There are over 1500 'unofficial' National Holidays throughout the year that enjoy recognition for one reason or another.  This one for February 15 ~ National Gumdrop Day ~ was begun to recognize this colorful, chewy, fruity or spicy, gelatin candy coated with sugar we call the Gumdrop. 


Who Invented the Gumdrop?


The gumdrop was invented by a chemist and candy maker named Percy S. Truesdell.  In 1915 he changed the texture of this sugar concoction.  By adding starch in a formula he developed at Ohio State University, he changed a hard candy into a smooth, chewy delight.  He later became known as the “Gumdrop King”


Uses for Gumdrops



Image Source: Wikimedia Commons
Besides being a tasty candy, gumdrops are a popular addition to cookie recipes and as decoration for cakes and cupcakes.  No doubt the most well-known way gumdrops are used as decorations is on Gingerbread Houses. 





Crafty Gumdrops



Gumdrop Penguins
Gumdrops are also often used in crafts, such as these adorable gumdrop penguins by Linda on her fun and fascinating crafty blog called “Crafts a la mode”.  The blog is filled with her  sweet and simple delights in both crafts and recipes. 





DIY Gumdrops


Image Source: Mkreal on Flickr
You can also make gumdrops yourself. You'll need powdered fruit pectin and fruit juice, along with vegetable oil, sugar, corn syrup and food coloring.  Several recipes can be found at a selection of sites throughout the internet.  Click here.


Other Gumdrop Tidbits



Candy Land Game Available on Amazon


An interesting sidelight is the fact that the classic board game Candy Land features both a Gumdrop Pass and a Gumdrop Mountain.  





Then there is the song by Barney called "If All The Raindrops" (The Raindrop Song) with the line:


If all the raindrops were lemon drops and gumdrops, oh what a life I would lead. 


Gummie Bears Image Source: AMAZON

A more modern offshoot of the original gumdrop are today's popular 'gummies' in the form of gummy bears and gummy worms.   Kids seem to love these gelatin-based chewable sweets.






Summary


So, enjoy a gumdrop, or two or three, on National Gumdrop Day, February 15, or any day of the year this chewy treat appeals to you. 


Happy Gumdrop Day!










(c) Gumdrop Holiday Review by Wednesday Elf written on 2/15/2019





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, January 19, 2019

National Popcorn Day Review

Popcorn Image Source: Pixabay
National Popcorn Day is held each year on January 19, although there is some debate about the date.  Some say it is celebrated on the 'Big Game' day (Superbowl Sunday).  No one knows the origin of this fun holiday, but whoever began the tradition obviously had good taste.


Source: Pixabay
Having recently moved to Iowa where I can drive about 5 miles in any direction and be  surrounded by fields of corn, I became interested in learning more about Popcorn Day. 





What is Popcorn?



Source: Pixabay

Popcorn is a seed that does something nifty when heated.


Corny Facts



There are four kinds of corn. The sweet corn we all love in summertime, dent corn (field corn) that is grown mainly for livestock feed and some food products, Flint corn (best known as Indian corn) used mostly for decoration around harvest time, and popcorn, which is a type of flint corn but has it's own unique characteristics.  Popcorn is grown specifically for popping. You cannot pop sweet corn, for instance, and you wouldn't want to eat field corn. 


History of Popcorn



Popcorn dates back thousands of years.  An interesting bit of history can be found on the website Popcorn . org.

Today, Americans consume over 13 billion quarts of popcorn each year, which translates to about 42 quarts per person.  


Image Source: Pixabay
It is one of the most popular snack foods, and an absolute necessity at a movie theater.  Just wouldn't be the same going to a movie without having popcorn! 

Popcorn is also a favorite around holidays, especially Christmas, as a food, as gifts and as decorations.  Who hasn't strung popcorn as a kid to put on the Christmas tree? 


Cute and Clever Popcorn Gifts


Crocheted Popcorn Playfood


Popcorn Playfood on Etsy
This red and white striped popcorn bag with individual kernels of popcorn  hand sewn to the top is a  fun gift to add to your child's collection of playfood for 'pretend' movie time or snack times.  

Hand crocheted by Kyra of Cottage Grove, Minnesota, it can be found in her Etsy Shop called "The Bossy Princess"






Popcorn Socks



Popcorn Socks on Etsy

These popcorn socks make for the perfect gift for any Popcorn Lover!

Socks are 95% Polyester blend and are one size fits most. They are the creation of Carlee of California and are available in her Etsy Shop Palmzy



Popcorn Recipes



The Popcorn website has a large variety of popcorn recipes to suit any occasion.  Some delicious-looking recipes are available on the Popcorn website under Recipe Portal.


A Super Bowl Popcorn Snack  


Caramel Pretzel Nut Popcorn


Caramel Pretzel Nut Popcorn Image Source: AllRecipes


This tasty favorite from AllRecipes would be perfect for the upcoming Super Bowl Sunday or for a weekend of watching any favorite televised sport. 

Ingredients:

8 cups broken salted pretzels
20 cups popped popcorn
4 cups dry roasted peanuts
3 cups brown sugar
3/4 cup light corn syrup

1 1/2 cups butter
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:


  1. Place the pretzels, popcorn and peanuts into a large paper bag or, if you have one, a very large bowl. Set aside.
  2. In a saucepan over medium heat, combine the brown sugar, corn syrup, and butter. Cook, stirring to melt the butter and dissolve the sugar, until the mixture comes to a boil. Once the mixture is at a full boil, continue to cook for 5 minutes, stirring constantly.
  3. Remove from the heat, and stir in the salt, vanilla, and baking soda. The mixture will foam up when you add the soda, so use a long spoon to stir. Immediately pour the sugar mixture over the popcorn and pretzels in the bag. Shake until evenly coated. For a crispier treat, boil the sugar mixture longer, or bake the finished mix in the oven at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for about 10 minutes.

*Prep Time: 15 m, Cook Time: 20 m Servings: 32.  Calories per serving: 378


Preparing Perfect Popcorn


Stovetop Popcorn Tips:


  • Step 1: Pour enough vegetable oil to just cover the bottom of a pan, turn on medium high heat.  Allow pan to warm. The best popping temperature is between 400 and 460 degrees F. Oil burns at 500 degrees. If your oil starts to smoke, it's too hot.
  • Step 2: Add enough kernels to cover the bottom of the pan single layer, shake to coat the kernels with oil, and cover with lid (too many kernels will “blow” the lid).
  • Step 3: Corn will begin to pop within 3 minutes. When the popping slows, listen until you can count 2 seconds between pops. Turn off heat and remove pan from stove-top.  Lift the lid to allow steam to escape away from your face.  Steam may burn and remaining kernels may continue to pop.
  • Step 4: Add additional flavors, herbs, or spices and enjoy.


*If you prefer microwave popcorn for a quickie snack, simply follow the directions on the package.



More Times to Celebrate Popcorn


Plush Popcorn Plush Toys - Etsy


October is known as National Popcorn Month





(c) Written by Wednesday  Elf on 1/19/2019




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X