Showing posts with label Holidays. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Holidays. Show all posts

Saturday, November 10, 2018

Reviewing National Vanilla Cupcake Day


November 10th is known as National Vanilla Cupcake Day ~ an unofficial, but tasty, holiday.

Cupcakes, Fairy Cakes, Patty Cakes


Image Source: Pixabay

Cupcakes are single serving cakes which are thought to have gotten their name from being baked in cup-shaped molds.  In the United Kingdom they are known as fairy cakes and in Australia they are called patty cakes

Vanilla cupcakes are made by adding vanilla extract to the cake batter and sometimes to the icing.


Did You Know…


...that vanilla is the only fruit-bearing and edible orchid in the world?

Vanilla is  extracted from the seed pods of the Vanilla orchid. It is one of the most expensive spices in the world (second only to saffron).  


Plain Vanilla


Even though Vanilla is expensive, it is one of the most popular flavors in the world. Today, it is used in a wide variety of food items and even in products, such as perfumes, soaps, and candles.  Vanilla is considered to be one of the plainest flavors available; thus, the term plain vanilla has come to be used to describe things that are very basic and ordinary.


Vanilla Cupcake Recipes


*For a quick way to bake vanilla cupcakes, one can always use a store-bought mix.

**For those who enjoy creative baking from scratch, I found two fabulous vanilla cupcake recipes for you to try.


The Most Amazing Vanilla Cupcakes
The first one is called The Most Amazing Vanilla Cupcakes recipe and is from Rachel Farnsworth of The Stay At Home Chef .

It is an easy to make one-bowl recipe. You'll never need another boxed mix again!

Rachel also includes some very helpful cupcake baking tips in her blog post for her Most Amazing Vanilla Cupcakes recipe.










Vanilla Cupcakes from Live Well Bake Often
The second Vanilla Cupcake recipe is from Danielle of Live Well Bake Often

Danielle's secret ingredient to her delicious cupcakes is sour cream! 

*Check out both Rachel's and Danielle's recipes before you begin baking your own vanilla-cupcake-recipe. 






Vanilla versus Chocolate


If you prefer chocolate instead of vanilla, you only have to wait for 11 months to celebrate Chocolate Cupcake Day on October 18.



Happy National Vanilla Cupcake Day
November 10 


Be sure and share your baked goodies with your family and friends. 


For more Cupcake Reviews & Recipes
Check out ReviewThisReviews: Cupcakes



Written by Wednesday Elf 11/10/2018







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, October 20, 2018

Christmas Candles - A Great Gift Idea or Not?

Christmas Candles - great gift idea or not
I wanted to review a few candle gift ideas for Christmas as I always thought that candles made great gifts at Christmas time.  In fact in my mind candles and Christmas are synonymous with each other, but I wasn't sure why.

I decided to google why we always think of a Christmas candle (just in case it was just me!) and found that there's a lot of debate over whether or not candles make a great gift idea or not.   Apparently a lot of people think you shouldn't give candles at Christmas time - what do you think?  I'd love to hear your thoughts below.

I have always enjoyed being given a candle and I have thought of giving a candle many times although until this year I haven't actually done so before.

Why Christmas Candles


>Apparently candles were used way before we even celebrated Christmas.   During the ancient winter solstice celebrations candles were lit as a way of remembering that spring would soon come.

The earliest records of candles being used at Christmas apparently dates back to the middle ages where a large candle was used to represent the star of Bethlehem.

I think the reason that I think of candles and Christmas together is because many cultures put a candle in the window at Christmas time combined with images of the first Christmas trees with candles on them.

The most well known origin of lighting a candle in the window for Christmas is the catholic Irish tradition - this dates back to the 17th century at a time when the catholic religion was being suppressed in Ireland under British rule. The family would put a candle in the window to signal any passing priests that they were welcome, the authorities were told that the candles were to welcome Mary and Joseph into their homes - this was believed to have been an Irish superstition and worked.

Since this time the custom has spread and is said to be a sign of welcome for anyone who may be passing so that they could share whatever the family had for Christmas as no one should go without at this time of the year.

I have also heard that the lighting of a candle in the window is to represent family or people who are close to the family that cannot be there for the celebrations either because they're serving their country overseas or even because they've passed away.

Fragrant Candles

There are so many lovely 'smelly candles' as my daughter calls them, available as a gift that it's hard to know what to give someone. My favorite one this year is the Spiced Vanilla Chai candle. This is a slow and clean burning, hand-poured coconut wax blend candle that smells divine.



Another popular fragrant candle to give is one from the Yankee candles range.

Unfortunately not everyone likes the same fragrances so this isn't a gift that you can give just anyone!

Decorative Candles

Decorative candles are totally different and are a great gift idea whether you choose to give the shorter, fatter candles or the taper candles, these can be gorgeous. A lot of decorative Christmas candles also come with their own holders which are really good.

I used to use candles a lot, but I must admit that since becoming a mum I have been more aware of the dangers of an open flame which is why I love the different LED lit decorative candles that are available. I think these are definitely the best holiday candles if you don't know whether someone likes fragrant candles or not.




This is my favorite LED candle design for Christmas - I love the Robin Redbreast, but there are lots more to choose from if you prefer other styles of candles from personalized photos to peppermint stripes, vintage designs or more - Christmas LED Candles.

Do You Use Christmas Candles & Which is Your Favorite?


Do you have a tradition of Christmas candles and do you like the idea of a candle with a flame (with fragrance of not) or one of the LED lit candles.  I would love to know.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, October 19, 2018

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review

Cat in the Hat Halloween Movie for Kids

The Cat in the Hat takes Sally and Nick on an adventure to the Oooky-ma-kooky closet to find their perfect Halloween costumes.  According to the Cat, the Oooky-ma-kooky closet has costumes "to fit one and all!"   The three friends board the Thingamajigger to find the Oooky-ma-kooky closet and costumes that aren't too spooky.

Of course, the adventure includes singing and lots of awesome animated characters.  Fish goes along for the ride and decides he wants to find ways to frighten the Cat.

There are several awesome lessons intertwined in this video that parents are sure to appreciate and the children will love.  They won't even realize they are learning anything.  They will simply think it is fun to watch. 


The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween


In addition to the Cat in the Hat, the video includes Fish (Karlos K. Krinklebein), Thing One and Thing Two from the original Cat in the Hat books.  

On their adventure to the Oookey-ma-kooky closet, the group gets lost in a corn maze, encounters a thunder storm, and the spookiest house around.  In the midst of the thunderstorm, Cat tells the children a few very interesting things about thunder.  When the Cat and the kids "take charge" in the house, they fix several of the creepy things making it less scary.  

On the way home, we find out the one thing the Cat in the Hat is afraid of and the children help him overcome his fear.




The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That Series


 The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That is a delightful series starring the fabulous Cat in the Hat originally created by Dr. Seuss.

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween is one of the video specials in The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That animated television series.  The entire series is dedicated to teaching pre-school children about science and math in a fun way.  However, younger school age children will also enjoy the shows. Actually, adults will enjoy this video too.   I know I love it!   I found myself smiling, even laughing several times during the show.

There is no reason to wait for the Halloween special to air again on television.  It is available on DVD and also through Amazon video.

DVD Prime Video The Series




More Halloween Videos for Children 



Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, October 15, 2018

Halloween Reviews on Review This!

 Halloween Reviews for Review This!

Treasures from the Archives of Review This!


Halloween is fun and sometimes a bit scary.  The contributors of Review This enjoy reviewing the fun parts of Halloween.  Plus, we review some of the scary parts of Halloween, but even that is meant for fun and entertainment.

Our contributors have reviewed Halloween recipes, some are adorably cute for children.  Others are more macabre and are intended for adult Halloween parties.  You will even find a few Halloween cookbooks reviewed.  If they are featured here, it is because we believe they are exceptional cookbooks full of fabulous Halloween treats.


We also review Halloween decor for decorating inside and out for Halloween.  Our reviews often include extra tips to make parties more fun.


Plus, what would Halloween be without movies and books?  As you would expect. the contributors of Review This review Halloween movies and books, both for children and/or adults.  


Costume reviews are also included on Review This!  You can find some truly awesome costume ideas here for both adults and kids.


Several of our contributors write for Halloween websites.  Links to some of those articles are included on the Pinterest board below.  We want to make sure all of your Halloween needs are covered here.

Welcome to Our Special Halloween Library of Reviews!


A Preview of the Pinterest Board - Halloween Reviews 







Halloween Reviewed on Review This!


For a written list of all Halloween related articles reviewed on Review This, please visit our Site Directory and select "Holidays" from the "Fast Click" category tabs at the top of the page.   As you would expect by the category title, there are many additional holidays articles under that category along with the Halloween reviews.

To see all of our Halloween articles on Review This!, simply click the Halloween tab in the sidebar menu in the right sidebar.
 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, October 14, 2018

Easy No-Sew Halloween Chair Covers

Add Halloween Chair Covers for Parties or Just Because You're the Mommy with Magical Detail Decorating Powers

Small details create a finished décor scheme. Expert party planners think of the most mundane items to include when they decorate. 

The walls, the lawn, the windows, the doorways and table settings are the first choice areas most of us tend to decorate. Rarely do you see chair covers.

You Can DIY Your Own Chair Covers Simply By Decorating the Chair Backs

If you love to dip your paws into artsy festive projects, start with chair covers. 

The easiest way to DIY chair covers is to focus strictly on the backs of the chairs. The seats of chairs are little more work, so avoid those unless you're into more work.

Simple No-Sew Halloween Chair Backs:
  1. Use Pillowcases to put on the backs of each chair. 
  2. First check the size of your chair backs to see if a pillowcase will fit over it. Most likely it will. You may need king size pillowcases if your chair backs are quite high.
  3. Decorate the pillowcases.
  4. If you're not into decorating the pillowcases then purchase plain orange or black pillowcases and simply slip them over the chair backs as is.
  5. Or, get the kids involved with decorating each one.
  6. Decorate them anyway you want. Draw on them, tape or glue cut-out designs on them, use felt, or markers. Let your inner artist lose.
  7. Or buy pre-made Halloween themed pillowcases.
When Halloween is over, pack them away for next year.

Not a DIY Guru? No Biggy, Get them Ready-Made

We're not all the crafty type. Not to worry, you can find some creative pre-done Halloween chair covers online. Most are quite affordable. Here's a super cute cover for a little girl's Halloween Party:


You can find additional ready-made Halloween chair cover styles here.

Have fun, and Happy Halloween :)


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, October 12, 2018

Halloween Pocket Size Candy Tins Filled with Jelly Beans

Halloween Pocket Size Candy Tins Filled with Jelly Beans

Halloween Candy Tins Available on Zazzle

Each year I look for a special treat to give to the trick-or-treaters that I personally know.  I'm sure you know what I mean.  Out of dozens of children who trick-or-treat in our neighborhood, I only personally know my friend's children or grandchildren who come to my door.  I like to have a really special gift to give to them, not just the candy I give to everyone trick-or-treating. 

It is also true that I like to have a special treat to give my own grown children for Halloween.  These Candy Tins filled with Jelly Beans are the perfect special treat for each of them.  Plus, the candy tins are refillable and not very expensive.  Therefore, they could actually keep and use their "special Halloween treat" year round.

By the way, there is a volume discount when you order 10 or more of these candy tins on Zazzle.  Plus, if you subscribe to "Zazzle Black" (standard subscription - currently $9.95/year), you will get free shipping on your orders on Zazzle.  I have personally saved over $300 by subscribing to Zazzle Black. 

Also, anytime you buy on Zazzle, be sure you check their current coupons for savings!

 

Halloween Candy Tins with Jelly Beans or Mints

Halloween Grim Reaper Candy Tin
There are a few reasons why I enjoy giving these pocket candy tins as special Halloween treats.  

First, Jelly Beans are a very popular candy.  It seems like everyone loves them.  

Second, as I mentioned earlier, they are refillable, which means the gift will last well beyond Halloween.

The candy tins come with a variety of images on the front.  You simply choose the picture you think is appropriate for the recipients.  Obviously, the grim reaper on the right would be for adults, but I have also featured some of my own favorites for children below.

Plus, the candy tins are small enough to slip into jeans pockets or the interior pocket of a purse, which makes them very convenient to carry.  The tins are approximately 2½" wide.

You choose the flavor of Jelly Belly jelly beans in the tin.  Select assorted or one specific flavor from the options available.  The tin holds 20 jelly beans.   

Mints are also available as a choice instead of jelly beans.  Or, you can choose to have the tin shipped to you empty and fill it with whatever you wish.

Oh, and lest I forget, they make great Halloween party favors!

 

Halloween on Zazzle

 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, October 6, 2018

Reviewing Top Selling Christmas Cards

Top Selling Christmas Cards
Visit the Christmas Holidays Zazzle Store
It may only be October, but it's already time to start thinking about Christmas cards.  Why so early?  Well if you have friends and family overseas then you have to think about the shipping dates and then there's the Christmas letter to write.

Do you write Christmas letters?   I used to love to receive these letters every year and catch up with what friends and family around the world had gotten up to over the year.  I don't receive any of them these days and instead, like many others, keep up to date via Facebook.

It's quite sad really, but I'll put my hand up and admit I don't write my Christmas letters any more either.  It used to be quite nice sitting down and thinking about what had happened through the year, but I ran out of time one year and then .. well I don't really know.

Anyway, it's still nice to organize your Christmas cards early so let's have a look at the top selling Christmas cards I have across my Zazzle stores and see what you think of them.

Owl Christmas Card


This Christmas card was created in my owl store that I opened because my mother loves owls which makes this top selling Christmas card very special.



I had a lot of fun creating this card and it brings a smile to my face every time I see it.


Pug Christmas Card


A hot second in the popularity stakes was one of my pug Christmas cards (hardly a surprise as pugs are just so popular) which I think is a really cute card.



I actually did a post on one of my blogs about how this card came about which you can read about here - A Popular Pug Christmas Card.Design.

Gothic Christmas Card


This next Christmas card sells steadily every year as it's a little different to most designs.  I had fun creating it, but really wasn't expecting it to do very well ...  a very pleasant surprise!



Why choose Zazzle for your Christmas Cards?  Well for one you're helping designers who are often trying to earn extra money alongside their regular jobs rather than big corporations.

Another reason is that you can customize most of the products available, this means that even if you don't write a Christmas letter you can at least personalize the message inside of the card if you want to.

Yet another reason is that the cards available on Zazzle are not likely to be double ups of other cards your friends or family may receive.

Reason number 4 is the quality of these cards, in all of the reviews comments are made about how good the printing is and how it makes the images 'pop' and I have to agree.  Zazzle's patented printing technology does a fantastic job and the images really do look just like they do on the website.

Finally, all Zazzle products come with a 100% satisfaction promise so if you don't absolutely love it, they'll take it back.  In other words you have nothing to lose by purchasing through Zazzle and lots to gain!

Which of these Christmas cards is your favorite?  I'd love to know.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Skeleton Cat Halloween Decor Reviewed

Fun Cat Decor For Halloween

black cat
Black Cat image from Pixabay.com
A slightly different Halloween decoration for this year would be a skeleton cat. Let me review one for you this year and you can decide if it is something you would want to add to your decorating this year. 

Black cats are often associated with Halloween. That is a bad rap for those beautiful creatures, I know. Unfortunately, most tales of the spooky persuasion involve a cat (often black) in them. Witches and magicians often have a familiar in the form of a cat. One can sort of see why because a cat when angered can be pretty darned frightening whether it is Halloween or not. I digress.

A few years back a very popular decoration for the night of trick or treats was the flamingos that were skeletons or devils. I thought those were hysterically funny! Actually, I think that if one looks they can still find those available. Perhaps you aren't into those majestic birds as a part of your yard decor but you do want a skeleton theme or at least a few skeletons in the overall plan. Of course, we can find human skeletons but gosh everyone has at least one of those. How about something different? Hmmm? 

I have found a fun and different option for this year's night of fright! A skeleton cat and rat can be placed in my yard or beside the door. Now, before you go getting all bent out of shape thinking that a cat skeleton is kind of cruel, hear me out. First of all, I absolutely love cats. I have one that adopted me years ago and I love her dearly. Still, I think having a skeleton cat at the door greeting my little trick or treaters is a funny idea. It is not something that they would expect to see. I think after the first shock of seeing one they will probably laugh. I know I will when I see them jump! A little wicked of me, I suppose. 

Since I know that my own cat will not even consider sitting by the door to hiss and arch her back (she is one big scaredy cat with strangers); this option appeals to me. It might even be funny to dress as a witch and hold the skeleton in my arms, petting it like it is still alive. 

What do you think? Is it over the top or just the right amount of whimsy for decorating this year?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, September 30, 2018

An Alternative to a Double Oven when Cooking for a Crowd

Counter-Top Roaster Ovens - "Very handy to have on hand"
Counter-Top Oven Roasters are a Practical and Affordable Solution

If you don't own a double oven it can be tricky to cook for a large crowd. 

For most of our life our homes have had one oven. Our family is quite large and cooking for family events, particularly Thanksgiving and Christmas, takes creative planning.

It's certainly possible to plan a large dinner with one oven, but having an extra oven makes the job so much easier. 

For 20 years or more we've owned a counter-top roaster oven. It's stored away for most of the year, but come the Fall the oven gets hauled out and used.

I Didn't Want One!

Not being one for a lot of kitchen appliance clutter, I was against getting another kitchen gadget. Clutter is not my thing.

However, I was absolutely wrong.

Our counter-top oven roaster has been one of the best choices in kitchenware we've ever made. Big family meals would be impossible for me without it now! Don't take my oven-roaster away.

The Brand We Use is 'Nesco'

I've featured a few 18 quart Nesco oven roasters below.

An 18 quart oven roaster typically fits a turkey up to 22 pounds. The non-stick cookwell is also removable which makes it easy to clean. If you use it to cook a large chilli for a party, put the entire oven on the table and keep the temperature on low. You can also remove the cookwell and bring it to the table.

In terms of the temperature gage, it operates like a standard oven. As an example, for our Turkeys, I start cooking the Turkey at 400 and then after about an hour turn it down to 350 to 375.

I'll also put oil and butter on the top of the Turkey and it does brown enough for our taste. However, if the top isn't brown enough for you, just lift the cookwell out and place it in the oven to broil the top to the color you like. The roaster also comes with a rack with handles allowing you to safely remove your Turkey.


It's over 20 years later, and I'm still using our Nesco Oven Roaster. Come to think of it, we've never had one single problem with it. That's rare. Hopefully the newer models last as long as my older model has. As far as my own experience, 'reviewed and recommended'.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, September 29, 2018

Review of the Holiday National Name Your Car Day

Source: Pixabay
October 2nd is 'National Name Your Car Day'.  There is no real origin or reason why October 2nd was chosen, but it's the perfect day to give your favorite car a name if it doesn't already have one.  We spend a lot of time in our cars, and caring for them, so they deserve a name.    Just remember, cars have feelings – so don't give your 'ride' an embarrassing name!

Guys with 'muscle cars' or sports cars should go with strong names that reflect the car and the owner.  “Chick” cars need sweet names.  Luxury cars probably need a formal or regal-sounding name. 


Some Famous Movie Car Names



  • Herbie, the Love Bug
  • Lightning McQueen from Cars
  • Kit from Knight Rider
  • General Lee from The Dukes of Hazzard
  • Bandit from Smokey and the Bandit





Our Cars 



(c) Personal Photo
We have had a lot of different cars over the years, but our favorite were the Volkswagen Beetles.  We had a succession of Bugs, one after another, ranging from Bugs to Campers to Vans.  The last ones we had included a Super-Beetle (the blue one in the picture) and our son had the Orange one.  The Orange VW was the only car with a real name.  We called it ~ appropriately ~ 'The Pumpkin'.

Do you have a name for your car(s)?  Come tell me what kind of car and what you call it. 


Happy 'National Name-Your-Car Day'





For More Holiday Articles, check out

(c) Wednesday Elf.  Article originally written on 10/01/2013 for another site and updated for Review This!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, September 22, 2018

Reviewing an Essential Oil Holiday Set

Purchase here!
Arbonne have just brought out their holiday range for 2018 and this year it includes a gorgeous essential oil set.   If you're interested in using essential oils then this is a great way to start your selection.

The set comes in a gorgeous holiday themed gift box which makes it a perfect gift for someone who is interested in aromatherapy.

Let's have a look at what's included in the set...

What's in Arbonne's 2018 Essential Oil Gift Set?


The set features all of Arbonne's single essential oils which are lavender, lemon, peppermint & tree tea as well as two of Arbonne's combination blends - Harmony & Focus.

I believe that if you're starting your aromatherapy journey then the first three oils you should get are lavender, lemon and tea tree so this is a perfect set.

Arbonne's Essential Oil Holiday Set
Arbonne's Essential Oil Holiday Set


Lavender Oil


Lavender oil is the absolute Queen of essential oils, it's referred to as 'a first aid kit inside a bottle' because of how many things it's really good for.   Now essential oils should always be diluted before being used on your skin EXCEPT lavender oil - it is powerful enough to do a whole heap of things while being gentle enough to be able to use neat.   I should note that I do still dilute it personally.

Some of the common ailments that can be relieved with lavender oil include headaches (find out how in my article on naturally relieving headaches), stress relief, insomnia, insect bites and burns.

It can also be used for making bath bombs, you can add a drop to your hand cream for a beautiful fragrance and it also combines with lemon oil to make a cuticle oil - find out more here.

Around the house you can make your own carpet deodorizing powder simply add a few drops of lavender oil to baking soda as well as using it in these ways -



Lemon Oil


Lemon oil has lots of great things going for it, the citrus scent is very uplifting and it also has both anti-bacterial and anti-viral properties which means that as soon as any viruses start doing the rounds I pop a few drops of lemon oil into my diffuser to ward them off!

It's also a great essential oil to help you stay alert, perfect for long trips in the car, when working overtime or studying.

More ways to use lemon oil ...


Peppermint Oil

Peppermint oil is so soothing and refreshing I absolutely love it!  When one of my late friends was going through chemotherapy he was suffering from really bad night sweats and asked if there was any natural products I could recommend.  I told him to try adding a few drops of peppermint oil to a cool bath and see how that worked - I did caution him that as well as cooling properties peppermint was also invigorating so he may find he couldn't sleep afterwards.   It worked really well to cool down his body so he was able to sleep.

Peppermint is more commonly used to help muscle aches and pains (diluted in a carrier oil or ointment base) or to help with a sinus headache.   Now I have seen a lot of places online suggest putting a drop of oil on your fingers and massaging your sinus points - please do NOT do this.  The only oil that can be used neat in this way is lavender oil, always dilute peppermint oil.

If you do suffer from sinus problems including headaches I would get a small roller bottle and add a carrier oil with a few drops of peppermint oil in it and keep that with you so that you can apply it throughout the day.

Peppermint oil is also regularly used in a foot bath as it's cooling on swollen feet and also helps with foot aches.  When I worked in a health food shop we had concrete floors which meant at the end of the day (especially on late nights) my feet were often sore so I would add a few drops of peppermint oil into my foot spa and rest my feet while enjoying a cuppa and a few chapters of a good book when I got home.

Tea Tree Oil


Now I love using tea tree oil, and have actually written and article extolling it's uses ...

Tea Tree Oil UsesReviewing Uses for Tea Tree Oil
After being introduced to tea tree oil over twenty years ago I have embraced a few different ways of using it, let's review just a few uses for this potent essential oil.


Harmony Blend

The Harmony Blend smells divine, it's been blended together to help give you a sense of harmony and I think it does that very well.  It includes uplifting citrus oils like orange, tangerine & grapefruit which I always call the happy oils as they really do raise the spirits.  Also included is lavender for it's relaxing properties along with essential oils like rosemary, eucalyptus to really help you feel grounded.

This is a great blend to add to a bath or a diffuser to really create a spa like atmosphere in your home.  It's also good to use in a massage oil or even to pop into your favorite body lotion.

Personally I think it's lovely to pop into an aromatherapy necklace if you have one as it would be a lovely aroma to inhale throughout the day and keep you feeling centered.

Focus Blend


If you're having problems with focusing on the task at hand, then perhaps you need some focus blend!  I have written a post all about how and when to use this blend -

Focus Oil Aromatherapy BlendReviewing Arbonne's Focus Blend
Arbonne's Focus blend is a combination of pure essential oils that aid with focus and concentration, excellent for students, people who have problems focusing and for long car journeys.



If you're not as keen on aromatherapy or you already have these oils then why not check out some of the other holiday gift ideas that Arbonne have to offer as there are some lovely things available and of course we've reviewed lots of other gift ideas for you too.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, August 25, 2018

Top Ten Halloween Costumes for Women in 2018

Halloween Costumes for Women
It's not long until Halloween so I thought it would be a great time to start reviewing what the most popular women's costumes were for 2018.  I checked a number of different costume websites to find out what the trending costumes are for this year.

I was surprised by a few of the costumes that kept popping up on the lists, but after collating numerous sites I believe these ten costumes will be the most popular for women this year, let's take a look at them shall we?

We have the likes of Wonder Woman, Eleven, Rey, Winifred Sanderson, Harley Quinn & Daenerys Targaryen to name just a few, I wonder which one will be your favorite.

Wonder Woman Halloween Costume

Joint Number One Women's Costume for 2018


Wonder Woman Costume
Wonder Woman tied with Eleven as the top rated women's Halloween costume for 2018.

It's not surprising to me as Wonder Woman is an iconic superhero from my childhood and has also become immortalized on the big screen now which means a new generation of girls can embrace this female superhero.

Now it's hard to know which Wonder Woman costume will be the most popular - the classic costume or the movie Wonder Woman costume.  I suggest you just choose the one you prefer.

Eleven Costume from Stranger Things

Joint Number One Women's Costume for 2018


Eleven Costume
I keep telling myself that I must watch Stranger Things as I keep hearing how amazing it is.  I don't know who the character Eleven is, but she tied with Wonder Woman as the most popular, trending costume for women this year.

As far as I can tell there is only one costume which is a pink dress with green and yellow banded sports socks.

Having had a look at Google Images for Eleven there does seem to be a couple of other options for a costume that fans of the show may want to create for themselves.

Rey Halloween Costume

Third Most Popular Women's Costume for Halloween 2018


Rey Costume
I have put Rey as the third Halloween costume and yet it got the same number of mentions as the rest of the list.  Why I'm elevating it above the others however is because on a couple of sites they mentioned any Star Wars costume (as opposed to picking one particular one such as Rey or Princess Leia).

Let's face it Star Wars is a classic Halloween themed costume, I don't see that ever changing!

There are a few different Rey costumes available, including what I think of as the classic Rey costume that is pictured here.

More Women's Costumes for Halloween 2018

Let's Round Out the Top 10 Costume Ideas


The next seven costumes for women all seemed to be just as popular as each other, trending slightly differently on different sites, but being mentioned the same amount of time.

So in no particular order let's check out the next costume ideas ...

Flapper Costumes for Women


Check out the Flapper Costumes
I was so surprised that flapper costumes look like trending strong this year.

These costumes have been extremely popular for a number of years now, not that I'm surprised as I really love them

I'm linking out to a site that has a number of absolutely fabulous 1920 flapper dresses available for you to enjoy.

The article also talks about different accessories to add to your beautiful flapper dress to help pull it all together as the perfect 1920s flapper girl look.

Ghostbuster Costumes for Women


Check Out the Ghostbusters Costumes
It's been two years since the remake of Ghostbusters with a female cast and yet it appears that these costumes are still trending this year!

I do love both the 2016 Ghostbusters as well as the original Ghostbusters overalls and they are also a great costume to wear if you're going out with a couple of friends and want a group costume idea.

In this article on Ghostbusters costumes, it also features a couple of other costume ideas that aren't the Ghostbusters themselves which is perfect if you're looking for a group costume idea.

Winifred Sanderson Costume

A Hocus Pocus Costume Idea


If you're trying to think, who is Winifred Sanderson and why does the same seem familiar, she's one of the witches from the 1993 movie Hocus Pocus.  To celebrate the 25th anniversary of this popular movie there have been a number of membrabillia released including a range of Hocus Pocus Halloween costumes

I believe that this is why Winifred's costumes have been trending for women, I'm not sure why the Sarah Sanderson and Mary Sanderson costumes haven't received as much attention, although I guess everyone thinks of Bette Midler's character before the other two.

Finding these official costumes has proved a little tricky however which is why I've included this diy no-sew tutorial for your very own Winifred costume -




Baywatch Costume


Baywatch Costume
I imagine that this costume is trending because of the 2017 movie of Baywatch which I have yet to see. 

Looking at the costumes available they don't seem to have changed since the popular television series which I'm sure you all must have seen at least a couple of episodes of.

In my opinion this is definitely best to go with if you're in a warm climate for Halloween!   Also don't forget to practice the 'slow mo running' to really bring the costume to life!

Harley Quinn Halloween Costume


There are lots of different Harley Quinn costumes available and I actually wrote about them here.   It surprises me that the Suicide Squad Harley Quinn costume is still trending as a must have Halloween costume for 2018, although I guess I shouldn't be surprised as Harley Quinn is quite a character.

Check out the range of Harley Quinn Costumes


Daenerys Targaryen Costume


Despite the fact that the Game of Thrones did not have a season this year their costumes were still popular including for men Jon Snow and the White Walkers.  When it comes to costumes for women though there seems to be a clear winner with the Mother of Dragons, Daenerys Targaryen.

There are a number of costumes available for Daenerys to choose from and I must admit as a fan of hers I really can't decide which costume I would want to choose!

Check out the Daenerys Targaryen Costumes

The Handmaid's Halloween Costume


The Handmaid's Tale is yet another show that I am yet to watch even though the reviews were amazing.  With a successful second season airing this year it's hardly surprising to find this simple costume is popular.

The thing I love about this costume is that I can see the costume being easy to adapt into other costumes in future years which is something I love.



Which Costume Will You Choose


Would you like to wear one of these ten top trending Halloween costumes this year, or will you be looking to make you own mark with something different or a classic that you love?

We have a number of costume pages on this site that you might find inspiration from -

Top Three Group Costume Ideas for HalloweenTop Three Group Costume Ideas for Halloween
There are some wonderful ideas for group costumes, but sometimes when you're trying to think of just one you go completely blank! This article gives you three of the top group costume ideas for Halloween which you will love.

The Best Animal Costumes for HalloweenThe Best Animal Costumes for Halloween
Animal costumes are always a fun idea for Halloween. Heather reviews some of the animal costumes that are proving to be popular, even though she's loving her peacock costume she gives a nod to the other costumes available. I've always found dog themed costumes to be popular near where I live, but Heather reveals the most popular animal costume in her part of the world - guess what it is!

Reviewing Hobo Costume Ideas, Head to ToeReviewing Hobo Costume Ideas, Head to Toe
I must admit I had never thought about dressing up as a hobo for Halloween until I read Susan's article and I must say it's an ingenious idea. I do love an easy diy costume idea and this is certainly one of those, perfect for a last minute costume idea if you were thinking of missing Halloween this year and changed your mind on the day!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.