Showing posts with label Holidays. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Holidays. Show all posts

Wednesday, September 16, 2020

When is the Best Time to Learn Something New? September Sewing Month

September is Sewing Month and a Great Time to Learn Something New!

Fall Season has arrived and the evenings are getting so much cooler that spending lots of time outdoors isn't quite as appealing as it was in July.  So what are you going to do with all those evening hours?

If Television isn't your thing, then learning a new craft just might be.  I know I love to keep my hands busy and sewing is one of the ways I do just that.
                                                  
Image by Larisa Koshkina from Pixabay

Now, I must admit to you that sewing had been a big part of my life.  Before my retirement I was a designer/dressmaker for many, many years.

I was taught the craft by my mother, and by several courses taken from my early teens and beyond.  Each course building on what was taught previously.  

My grandfather used to say, "Learn something that you can do with your hands so that if need be, you would have a "job" using your talents. No one can take that away from you."    I think he was pretty wise with those thoughts.

Sewing is a talent that everyone can develop if they have the will to do so.  I know my very first attempts at learning how to sew, were used to make my room, mine.  I loved pillows and crazy colors.  So with my need to personalize, my mother wisely let me choose some fabrics that I loved and encouraged me to experiment with her sewing machine.  Of course I had her help (I was only seven or eight years old at the time). 

My point is that if a child shows a willingness to learn something, we as parents or grandparents can help them along by imparting our knowledge to them.  Arts of any kind require an inquisitive mind.  Children are always curious about all kinds of things.  It's a great time to teach and have fun without pressure!  At the same time, our kids learn that originality and creativity can go hand in hand in many different ways.  

While sewing and sewing skills are geared more for girls, I think that boys should have the ability to learn too, if they are so predisposed to do so.  Many of our esteemed fashion designers are men!

To help with this avenue for creativity, there are several kits available that girls and boys may find interesting.  I like these two for a starting point.  Pictures feature both girls and boys making and sewing their own creations.


The first book is geared to teaching some hand sewing techniques, while the second book includes the use of a sewing machine as well.  Depending on your children's motor skills and how well they can handle each task, you may like one better than the other.  **I will add a caution hereParents and/or Grandparents should be able to sit with the children while they are making these items.  There are sharp instruments involved and extra precautions should also be in place.**

If they are new to sewing, start with the first book and then when they have mastered or expressed that they really like this kind of craft, you can move to the second in the series.

Who knows if you will be the one to spark a new hobby, that could lead to much bigger and more beautiful creations.  

What started out as a pillow in my case ended up with me designing and executing some beautiful gowns, dresses, suits and so much more.  I made a nice living doing something that I enjoyed and also gave pleasure to my many customers over the years.

You never know the power you have to guide and form a new designer, they could end up on Making the Cut! (Our own Tracey, did a review on this show and it is quite a revelation in how many got started in the sewing and tailoring business)

Children love to learn new concepts and this is one that they can take with them into adulthood.  Mending and remaking clothes for the budget conscious may just become a "vogue" idea again.  Our days of "throw away everything" have got to stop.  Who knows where and when these skills will be put into practice as our children grow.  One thing is certain, there will always be a need for clothes and if you learn how, you can become quite a master!


I went from Pillows and Bedroom Decor to making beautiful gowns like this one!  Just one gown from my archives!  This was for a graduation and it's still one of my favorites.

Whatever you do, don't underestimate the joy that spending quality time with your children and grandchildren can have.  It will be memories for you and for them and teach them a really important life skill.  




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, June 20, 2020

Pineapple Day Holiday Review

Pineapple Day Review
Source: Pixabay

Pineapple Day (also International Pineapple Day) is celebrated each year on June 27.

Pineapples are a tropical fruit native to the America’s. It is a lush, prickly, green leafed ground fruit that is a delicious addition to just about any meal. Pineapples do not grow on trees, as many people assume. They are actually herbaceous perennials, meaning they are leafy, not woody, plants that grow for more than two years. 

How June 27th became Pineapple Day



Source: Pixabay

The way Pineapple Day holiday started is a funny story. It was begun as a tease by Andrew Lee, cofounder of Firebase, on June 27, 2011 when his partner walked into work and asked Andrew why he had a pineapple on his desk. Read here to learn how the First Pineapple Day Got Started!  


Crafty Pineapples


Pineapples are a sign of Hospitality

The pineapple, along with a house motif, are traditional symbols of hospitality. Welcome your guests with these symbols, perhaps in the form of a pillow or two. A darling Country Pillows pattern is presented below and can be found on eBay

Hospitality Pillows Pattern

A set of Country Pillows to crochet in an afghan stitch. The motifs are worked in cross stitch after the 12" pillows are crocheted.   A matching ribbon is woven through the crochet to frame the motifs.

These country pillows will make your guests feel right at home! The pineapple and house motifs, traditional symbols of hospitality, let them know they are welcome, while  the teddy bear motif greets them with a warm hug.   Fashion them in soft country colors.

Color charts for the three motifs are included.





Pineapple Home Decor with Handmade Coasters

Handmade Pineapple Coasters on Etsy
The pineapple is a symbol of hospitality and friendship, particularly throughout the South, so using coasters with this design in a social situation is perfect.

Pineapple coasters measure 4 x 4 inches. Created in acrylic yarn colors of yellow, gold and green for the pineapple design on an eggshell white background. Each coaster is trimmed in light green. The pineapple design is outlined in embroidery black outline stitch with crochet thread.

A pretty set of Pineapple coasters for your tabletops. They also make a lovely hostess gift for a holiday dinner invitation or a housewarming gift or birthday gift. Lovely home decor for any home. 



Pineapple Accessories



Pineapple Fabric Lanyards & Key Fob - Etsy

Useful accessories in a pineapple theme handmade by CutePurseNalities on Etsy.  Two styles of quilted fabric lanyards in different colors and a matching key fob, all in pretty pineapple prints.  



  • The fabric key fob that has pineapples on a blue background. It is made with 100% cotton fabric, cotton batting, interfacing and metal hardware. Length is 6" and the strap is 1" wide.


  • One lanyard is made with 100% cotton fabric that has cute pineapples on a blue background with a silver swivel clip. Perfect for holding and Id badge, name tag or keys. Length is 20" and the strap is 1" wide.

  • The other lanyard shown is made with 100% cotton fabric and a silver swivel clip. The fabric has pineapples and hibiscus flowers in lavender, yellow and orange on a purple background. Perfect for holding an Id badge, name tag or keys. Length is 21" and the strap is 1" wide.


Ways to Celebrate Pineapple Day

The very best way to celebrate this day is by eating this delicious fruit in any number of  ways. Freshly cut and eaten in slices, it is a refreshing treat. 


Image Source: Pixabay
Or bake it into an American favorite dessert, the Pineapple Upside Down Cake ~ rich and delicious made with slices of pineapple laid on the bottom of a pan along with a sugary mixture, then the cake batter poured on top. When baked and turned out of the pan, the bottom becomes a delicious topping. Check out the recipe here.

You can also enjoy a delicious drink with either plain pineapple juice, or in a rum drink called Piña colada.


Celebrate Pineapple Day on June 27.


Fresh Pineapples at the grocery store. (c) Elf



For more Holiday Reviews, 
Check out ReviewThisReviews: Holidays.


Related Articles: 





Pineapple Day Review written by (c) Wednesday Elf on 6/27/2020.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, June 19, 2020

4th of July Placemats Home Decor Review

Decorating with 4th of July Placemats is fast & easy. Selecting Independence Day placemats is fun, but here are a few things to keep in mind before you buy.
Placemats are such a fast and easy way to decorate your home for the 4th of July, or any holiday.

Holidays are normally celebrated with family & friends gathering around tables laden with delicious food.  Hamburgers, Barbecue sandwiches, or hot dogs are often the normal fare for the 4th of July celebrations, but they aren't really "pretty" food.  Colorful placemats provide a very pretty setting for our tables.  They can even make plain white disposal plates more attractive by giving them a lovely background.  Plus, they protect the table.

The featured placemats come with matching coasters and napkins to complete a beautiful table setting.  This set is waterproof and easy to wipe clean.

I chose this set because I have a dark wood dining room table & cobalt blue Fiesta plates. I needed the light or white background for the red, white & blue design to really pop.



 

Selecting 4th of July Placemats


There are a few things to keep in mind when selecting holiday placemats.  A lovely design is clearly the first thing that grabs your attention, but you will also want to consider the following details when making your final choice.
  • How will they Look with Your Dinnerware
  • Are the Placemats Waterproof 
  • Are they Heat Resistant 
  • Are they Non-Slip
  • Will they Protect Your Table
  • Are they Easy to Clean
  • Would they Need to be Ironed 
  • Do they have Matching Napkins
  • Do they have Matching Coasters
  • Do You Want a Matching Tablerunner for Serving Dishes
  • Price (if they are priced individually, consider the cost of 4 or more)

You may have laughed over the question of "do they need to be ironed", but these days, that is a huge issue for me.  Decades ago, I didn't mind washing and ironing placemats.  However, now I prefer avoiding the iron when possible.  Especially, if I am the chef & hostess for the celebration.

I washed all of my placemats, napkins & coasters in cold water with white vinegar in my washing machine immediately upon delivery (prior to taking the picture in the introduction).  The vinegar helps to set the colors so they won't fade.  I dried them in my dryer for 10 minutes in spite of the directions telling me to hang dry them.  As you can see in the introduction photo, they are perfect and required no ironing.

Because the placemats and coasters are backed with a second layer of plain fabric, they appear to be a little darker than the napkins in person and the napkins appear to have brighter print.  However, do not be alarmed.  That really is just an appearance different due to the multiple layers needed for protecting the table.
 




House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, June 16, 2020

When is National Umbrella Month?


When is National Umbrella Month?

WHEN IS NATIONAL UMBRELLA MONTH?


March is National Umbrella Month. In my part of the world, you could not pick a better month to celebrate this very important invention. Ontario is not necessarily the rainiest part of Canada but we do receive plenty of rain in the springtime, which is not a bad thing for, as you know, rain showers bring spring flowers.

Umbrellas have a number of job duties that are not limited to protecting us from the rain though that is what they are most commonly associated with. People also use umbrellas as fashion accessories, for photography and to block out the strong rays of the sun.

National Umbrella Month is the time to celebrate one of the most useful yet underrated inventions so before we plan our celebration, let's take this striking striking blue umbrella for a walk in the rain with us now. It is Amazon's top rated sky-themed umbrella and is available by clicking right here.



WAYS TO CELEBRATE NATIONAL UMBRELLA MONTH

  • Celebrate umbrella month with a new umbrella. Find one that will be sure to make you smile on a rainy day!
  • Celebrate by donating a new umbrella to a homeless shelter. It will help shelter someone else from the rain.
  • Celebrate umbrella month by promoting your business with one. Instead of using pens this year to promote your business, use umbrellas with your company business information and logo on them. You'll really stand out in a crowd!
  • Celebrate by hanging a decorative umbrella on your patio or by adding one to your patio table. Pick a colour or a pattern that you really love!
  • Celebrate umbrella month by donating all of your used ones to goodwill. If you are not using them and they are in good working condition, you can bet that someone else will.
  • Celebrate by donating ten new umbrellas to the Red Cross. Once again, you will help brighten someone's rainy days.
  • Celebrate umbrella month by reading an umbrella-themed storybook. Yes, there are beautiful children's books devoted to the wonderful umbrella.
Can you think of other ways to celebrate National Umbrella Month?

Don't let those raindrops
keep falling on your head!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

MORE UMBRELLAS:

Order the Sky Blue Umbrella shown on this page directly from Amazon.
Learn about Totes Clear Bubble Umbrellas.
More days to celebrate in March.
Discover the Rainbrella Golf Umbrella.
Looking For Rihanna's Pink Umbrellas?
Thank You For The Umbrella, Totes! 






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, June 6, 2020

Lady Bug Day Review

Ladybug Day
Ladybug Day
Ladybug Day is celebrated each year on the 2nd Saturday of June. It is a decades-long tradition at Washington Market Park, located in the Tribeca area of NYC. 

The Friends of Washington Market Park distribute 100,000 ladybugs to children ages 3-12 and adults, who then release them in the park. Ladybugs eat aphids, which are harmful to our trees and shrubs. Ladybugs help to keep our park green, healthy and strong! 

How Did Ladybugs Get Their Name?


Legend has it that during the middle ages Europe was plagued by swarms of aphids which were destroying the crops. Farmers prayed to the Virgin Mary for help and help came in the form of ladybugs that devoured the plant-destroying pests. The crops were saved and the grateful farmers named the insects “Our Lady's beetles”.  The name continues to this day.

Today's Gardeners Love Ladybugs

Our contributor Olivia Morris explains why gardeners think ladybugs are beneficial in her review called “Ladybugs are so Cool”.

Fun Facts about Ladybugs


Source: Pixabay

  • In North America, they are called ladybugs
  • In Britain they are called ladybirds
  • Entomologists prefer the names ladybird beetles or lady beetles as these insects are not classified as true bugs.
  • The Ladybird /Ladybug is the state insect of Delaware, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Ohio and Tennessee.
  • Many cultures consider ladybugs 'lucky'.
  • The color of the ladybug is most commonly seen as red, but they also come in both orange and yellow and, to a lesser degree, in black, gray, pink and blue. 

Crafty Ladybugs


Artists and crafters like to create Ladybugs. Their cheerful color and cute shape make them fun to craft. Here are a couple of my latest creations.

Ladybug Magnets and Ladybug Coasters



This is a set of ladybugs for your kitchen decor. This 6-piece combo includes two (2) ladybug magnets and four (4) ladybug beverage coasters.


A pair of Ladybug design refrigerator magnets handmade with care using plastic canvas and acrylic yarn. There is a magnet glued on the back of each Ladybug magnet. These ladybug magnets each measure 2" x 2-1/2".

A cute pair of little 'Lady Bugs' to brighten up your kitchen and hold your shopping lists and notes.

Ladybugs are considered 'Good Luck', so these Ladybug fridgies will be a happy addition to your kitchen. In England, Ladybugs are called Ladybirds.

Coasters are always handy to protect your table tops from wet rings. For fans of Ladybugs, these handmade beverage coasters really 'fit the bill'.


Ladybug coasters are handmade using plastic canvas and acrylic yarn. Each coaster in this set of 4 measures approximately 4 x 4 inches. The coasters were stitched with red and black acrylic yarn.

Ladybug coasters are the perfect compliment for your home, patio or porch.



Ladybug Plush Animals in Crochet

Ladybug Plushies

Ladybug, ladybug, fly away home!


Orange ladybug is a fun toy ladybug who measures about 6" long and 5" high and is 4" across. Hand-crocheted in washable acrylic yarn in orange and black and softly stuffed with new polyester fiberfill, orange ladybug has crocheted antennae and embroidered facial features in orange on a black face. Completely kid-friendly all over!


Ladybug Day
Red Ladybug loves warm weather and garden-time, flitting and frolicking among the plants. Since she's a plushie, she's also fun to cuddle.

This Red Lady Bug measures about 6" long and 5" high and is 4" across. She's hand-crocheted in durable acrylic yarn in red and black and softly stuffed with polyfil. Her antennae are crocheted and her facial features are embroidered in red on a black face.


Yellow ladybug is bright and cheerful and loves sunshine and flitting about the garden. She's cute and cuddly and hugable!

Yellow Ladybug measures about 7" long and 5" high and is 4" across. She's hand-crocheted in washable acrylic yarn in yellow and black and softly stuffed with polyfil. Her antennae are crocheted and her facial features are embroidered in yellow on a black face.



Handmade Quilted Ladybug Coin Purse



Handmade Quilted Ladybug coin purse
Ladybug Coin Purse

This coin purse has cute red ladybugs crawling on a yellow background. Inside is lined with dark red fabric and it has a dark red zipper for closure. Perfect for holding money, business cards, medications, keys, lipsticks and will help keep your purse organized. Coin purse size is approximately 5 1/2" x 4".

Handmade by Kathie for her Etsy Shop CutePurseNaties.

June Holiday


So, for gardeners and crafters and lovers of ladybugs, remember the second Saturday of June each year to enjoy celebrating Ladybug Day



For more Holiday Reviews, check out ReviewThisReviews: Holidays



Holiday Review written by (c) Wednesday Elf (6/6/2020)




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, May 9, 2020

A Review of Sock Days

Source: Pixabay
There are seven major holidays celebrated in the U.S. every year and many others celebrated around the world. Then there are innumerable just-about-daily holidays that are obscure, bizarre, weird, wacky, and downright funny. 

The majority of these are UN-official holidays, dreamed up by people to celebrate a favorite activity, craft or food. Many of these holidays have no known origin, but are fun to celebrate. Some are serious 'special days' to bring awareness to - and help for – animals facing extinction or medical conditions.

Today we are going to look at a group of funny sock holidays, including National Sock Day (December 4), Silly Sock Day (April 3), No Sock Day (May 8) and probably the funniest one ~ Lost Sock Memorial Day celebrated on May 9.


National Sock Day 


National Sock Day is an annual celebration observed every year on December 4th.  It began as a company promotion by Pair of Thieves, an American basics apparel company which makes socks, underwear, and shirts. Founder Cash Warren gave a simple explanation for the company name, which exemplifies the team's witty, mischievous spirit. “Who steals the sock that goes missing after doing laundry?” he said. “Pair of thieves.” 

The company had a celebration on December 4, 2016 where they walked through offices at Honest, Facebook, and Red Bull  with a band and Santa Claus, to spread cheer, and socks. Check it out here. 





Silly Sock Day


Source:  Pixabay

Despite it's funny name, Silly Sock Day is actually an annual awareness raising day held  on April 3rd  during Autism Awareness Week to help support autistic individuals by raising funds and awareness.  It was begun to bring awareness to autism in East Midlands, England. It is easy to celebrate – just don your most ridiculous socks and share them on Social Media with the tag #SillySockDays.


No Sock Day


We celebrate National No Sock Day on May 8th.  It's a day to free your toes from socks, and give your feet a breath of some fresh air.  The holiday was created by Ruth & Thomas Roy of Wellcat.com


Lost Sock Memorial Day


Lost Sock. Source: Pixabay
This is the day (May 9) we commemorate lost socks.  This unofficial holiday was invented to encourage people to finally let go of all those single socks they keep in a 'lost sock drawer' hoping to find their partners one day. Believe me, it's not going to happen. 

My mother kept a whole drawer just for those lost socks and over the years the drawer was stuffed full of single socks from a family of six. Us kids used to be given the job on laundry days of trying to match up the latest single socks with one in the sock drawer –  and we never once found a match. We used to kid that the washer or dryer 'ate' the socks.  True story!  

So, unless you like wearing unmatched socks, give it up and use May 9th Lost Sock Day as the time to get rid of those single socks without a partner. Or, alternatively, recycle those single socks as cleaning cloths. Or make sock monkeys or sock puppets out of them for the kids.


FAQs about Socks


Source: Pixabay

Q: How long should a pair of socks last?
A: If worn once a week, a pair of socks should last about a year. 

Q: What is the origin of the word SOCK?
A: The word sock comes from the Old English word “socc”, which means 'light slipper'. 

Q: What  is the Sock Capital of the World?
A: The Datang district in eastern China is the top producer of socks  in the world. It has become known as “Sock City” because about 40% of  the world's socks are produced there. It is estimated that in one year they make enough socks to supply two pairs for every person in the world.

Q: What are Baby Socks called?
A: Booties!


Baby Booties


That last Q&A above I just made up...  LOL. There actually ARE socks for babies, but booties are a nice alternative to baby socks and often come as a match to infant outfits. I mention booties here as a way to show off my handmade baby booties on Etsy.

Baby Booties in Crochet


A Review of Sock Days
Handmade Baby Booties on Etsy
A pretty pair of baby booties hand-crocheted in a pastel ombre yarn in white, pink green, yellow and blue acrylic yarn.

These pastel booties are sized for a 3-6 month old baby measuring 4 inches from heel to toe. They have a folded down top (roll over ankle) and white ribbon ties.

Darling handmade yarn booties to keep your baby's toes warm. Also perfect for a new baby gift or a baby shower gift.

These pastel baby booties are available in the Etsy Shop of Coastal Crochet Crafts.


Sock Reviews by ReviewThisReviews.com Contributors


Source: Pixabay

Sock Daddy Socks – Review by Wednesday Elf

Crocheted Slipper Socks - Review by Dawn Rae

World's Softest Socks – Review by BarbRad

Carhart Socks for Women – Review by Dawn Rae

Sherpa Theme Slipper Socks - Review by Wednesday Elf


Sock Days Review written by (c) Wednesday Elf – 5/9/2020





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, April 11, 2020

National Pecan Day Review

National Pecan Day Review
National Pecan Day - April 14
 National Pecan Day is a Food Holiday celebrated each year on April 14.  The pecan is a  member of the hickory family and is native to central and southern United States.  Pecans make great snacks eaten on their own, but they also make terrific garnishes to other foods such as desserts, salads or the main meal. 

"Pecan” is an Algonquian word, meaning a nut requiring a stone to crack. 

The pecan tree is the only nut tree native to North America.  These trees grow best in central and southern United States. Georgia, in particular, is known for it's Pecans. 

Here are two of my favorite recipes using pecans – Pecan Pie  and Sugar Coated Pecans. Either recipe ~ or both ~ would be a great way to celebrate National Pecan Day! 


Pecan Pie


National Pecan Day Review

Ingredients:

Pie Crust:


  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup vegetable shortening or lard
  • 3/4 cup salted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 tablespoon distilled white vinegar


Filling:


  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 cup corn syrup (light or dark)
  • 1/3 cup melted salted butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 whole eggs beaten
  • 1 cup (heaping) chopped pecans


Directions:


  1. First, whip up the pie crust: Mix the flour and salt in a bowl. Add the vegetable shortening and salted butter. Work the butter into the flour using a dough cutter until the mixture resembles tiny pebbles.
  2. Add the egg, 5 tablespoons cold water and the white vinegar. Stir until just combined. Divide the dough in half and chill until needed. (You will only need one half for this recipe, reserve the other half for another use.)
  3. Next make the filling: Mix the granulated sugar, brown sugar, salt, corn syrup, butter, vanilla and eggs together in a bowl.
  4. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Roll out one dough half on a lightly floured surface to fit your pie pan. Pour the pecans in the bottom of the unbaked pie shell. Pour the syrup mixture over the top. Cover the top and crust lightly/gently with foil.
  5. Bake the pie for 30 minutes. Remove the foil, and then continue baking for 20 minutes, being careful not to burn the crust or pecans. The pie should not be overly jiggly when you remove it from the oven (though it will jiggle a bit). If it shakes a lot, cover with foil and bake for an additional 20 minute or until set. Required baking time seems to vary widely with this recipe. Sometimes it takes 50 minutes, sometimes it takes 75!
  6. Allow to cool for several hours or overnight. Serve in thin slivers.


*This Pecan Pie Recipe is courtesy of The Food Network.com


Sugar Coated Pecans




"These sweet pecans are wonderful snacks for any occasion."

Ingredients:


  
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon


Directions:


  1. Preheat oven to 250 degrees F (120 degrees C). Grease one baking sheet.
  2. In a mixing bowl, whip together the egg white and water until frothy. In a separate bowl, mix together sugar, salt, and cinnamon.
  3. Add pecans to egg whites, stir to coat the nuts evenly. Remove the nuts, and toss them in the sugar mixture until coated. Spread the nuts out on the prepared baking sheet.
  4. Bake at 250 degrees F (120 degrees C) for 1 hour. Stir every 15 minutes.


*Sugar Coated Pecans Recipe is from allrecipes.com 


More Pecan Treats


In addition to sugar coated pecans, another absolutely delicious pecan sweet treat is pralines.  The best I've ever had are handmade at River Street Sweets candy shop in Savannah, Georgia. 



Other Pecan Day celebrations include:



  • Pecan Day – March 25
  • National Pecan Day – April 14
  • National Pecan Month – April


So, pick a day …. or a month … and enjoy this nutritious and tasty nut called the Pecan.

Related Articles:


Praline - Source: Pixabay








National Pecan Day written by (c) Wednesday Elf on 4/11/2020







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X