Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts

Friday, July 30, 2021

Niagara Falls Maid of the Mist Boat Ride Reviewed

Maid of the Mist photo by Sylvestermouse
Have you ever wanted to step under a waterfall and feel the fresh running water splash over you?  If so, you will love the "Maid of the Mist" boat ride!  

This fantastic boat takes your right up next to the falls, and under the "mist" of Niagara Falls.  It is totally awesome! 

Don't just stand and look at the falls.  Hop on the Maid of the Mist boat and ride right up to them to feel, smell and even taste (if desired) Niagara Falls.  It is an experience you will never forget and something I recommend to everyone who can stand on a rocking tour boat.

Riding out to the falls is an experience in itself.  Reaching the falls, where the boat stops and lingers under the Niagara Falls spray for a few minutes, is magnificent. 

I loved every moment of it and would gladly do it again in a "New York minute".

Niagara Falls photo by Sylvestermouse
View of Niagara Falls from the Maid of the Mist boat just before we entered the mist

 

Maid of the Mist Boat Ride - Niagara Falls

The Maid of the Mist boat ride takes approximately 20 minutes.  On the July summer day we visited Niagara Falls, it was fairly crowded in the Niagara Falls State Park, but the line for the Maid of the Mist was reasonable.  We only had to wait for the length of one boat ride before we were boarding the boat. Therefore, our wait time was approximately 20 minutes and part of that time was spent receiving and donning the head to toe rain poncho provided with the price of the ticket. The poncho makes the perfect souvenir too!

I took my small travel camera so I could take pictures from the boat.  However, I did tuck it inside my cape right before we entered the mist.  Unfortunately, there is no way to photograph from within the mist without a waterproof camera.  Next time, I will take an underwater camera!

Niagara Falls photo by Sylvestermouse
If you look closely, you can see the boat in the (back) falls mist
You can also see the walking trail on lower left side

The cost of the boat ride ticket includes admission to the observation deck.  The elevator down to the boat docking area is the center section, that looks like a support beam, under the center of the observation deck.

Niagara Falls Observation Deck photo by Sylvestermouse

Parking at Niagara Falls State Park

Niagara Falls Rapids photo by Sylvestermouse
Bridge to Goat Island over the rapids that feed Niagara Falls
There are several parking lots for cars.  As you enter the park, there were at least two areas for parking for a picnic or just for viewing the rapids.

In our case, we went to Niagara Falls State Park while moving our daughter to New York.  Therefore, we were in a fully loaded U-Haul truck.  At first, we were concerned for where we would be allowed to park, and for good reason.  Most of the lots accommodate standard car, SUV or van size vehicles.  Fortunately for us, and our camper vehicle friends, there is a parking lot on Goat Island just for the longer, wider vehicles.  Plus, there is a reasonably priced trolley to the heart of the park from the #3 parking area for those who would prefer to ride instead of walk.

Simply pay attention to signs as you enter the park.  It is easy to miss parking directions because it is exciting to see all that is there, plus the need to watch out for pedestrians.


More to See at Niagara Falls State Park

Believe it or not, there is more to see at Niagara Falls State Park than the falls.  While Niagara Falls is clearly the main attraction, there is an aquarium, hiking trails and the "Cave of the Winds" (a man made walk along the bottom of the falls), as well as food vendors and souvenirs. There is also a Top of the Falls Restaurant that overlooks Niagara Falls.

You can view Niagara Falls at Night too thanks to the colored lights which Mary Beth photographed and previously published on Review This Reviews.







 See More Travel Reviews & Recommendations On
Review This Travel!

 

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 16, 2021

The Hallmark Aurora Teagarden Mystery Series Reviewed

Aurora Teagarden Review
Several years ago, our contributor, Bev Owens, reviewed the Aurora Teagarden book series by Charlaine Harris. I was immediately interested in the great cozy mystery books. I love a series that allows us to follow the main character through multiple intriguing mysteries.  Since this series has 11 books, and because Bev highly recommended them, I knew I was in for a real treat that would last for perhaps a few weeks of great reading.

I recently discovered the Hallmark Aurora Teagarden mystery movie series based on the books and immediately started watching them.  I enjoyed the first movie so much, that I watched the second movie as soon as the first one ended.  By the time I turned off the videos, I had watched the first 4 movies back to back.  I only stopped there because I had to get some sleep!  Honestly, I can hardly wait to have another evening to dedicate to more of the movie series.

I decided it would be more economical for me to buy the complete series instead of paying for each movie individually.  I want to see all 15 of them that are currently available on dvd!  I expect to watch them more than once, plus I plan to share them with my mother, who also loves Hallmark movies.  Therefore, the seasonal box sets were my best option.  You can see the box sets I selected at the bottom of this article.  I tried to get the most movies for the least investment, but I did have to purchase 2 sets to get all 15 movies.

While the books do give a lot more background and details, I found the movies felt "complete" and I love the actors!

 

Meet Aurora Teagarden!  

In many mystery movies, we follow detectives as they investigate murders, but Aurora is not a police officer or detective.  She is simply a librarian with an penchant for solving murder mysteries.  She is a member of the local Real Murders club that consists of armchair sleuths who enjoy studying real murder cases and known murderers. Give them a real murder mystery to solve, and they are all in!

In each of the episodes, Aurora discovers evidence of a murder, or finds the actual victim. She calls on her amateur detective fellow club members to help her solve the case, much to the distress and disapproval of the local police.  But, the detectives tolerate her because she does seem to have a natural aptitude for ferreting out information from people and evidence that the police would never be allowed to find.

 Aurora Teagarden: 6-Movie CollectionCheck PriceIn the first movie episode, A Bone to Pick, Aurora finds a hidden skull in the window seat of a home she inherits. Instead of contacting the police, she starts her own investigation based on what else she can find around the house and on her knowledge of the deceased homeowner.  It is interesting, and sometimes comical to watch Aurora "work".  If she were my neighbor, I would consider her way too nosy, but that is how she solves cases.  She asks a lot of questions and does a lot of snooping.

The second movie, Real Murders, focuses on her Real Murder club when one of their own members is murdered and the club members are the main suspects. Aurora is joined by one of her favorite fictional crime book authors in this investigation, but there are times when it is hard to know if he is an ally, a romantic interest, a suspect or all of the above.  

In Three Bedrooms, One Corpse, which is the third movie, Aurora is helping her mother by showing one of her real estate properties to a new client.  Sadly, they discover the body of one of the real estate agents working for her mother's agency.  While in the home, Aurora notices that something doesn't look right.  She can't quite figure out what detail is off until she compares current pictures to old pictures. Her keen observation and attention to detail points the detectives in the right direction, but also puts her in great danger.   

The Julius House is the fourth movie in the series and happened to be my favorite thus far.  In addition to being an excellent cozy mystery with a surprising end, there is a touch of romance developing between Aurora and Martin, her mother's client from the previous episode.  The mystery revolves around the disappearance of the entire Julius family.  It was believed that the family was probably victims of a car accident that simply hasn't been discovered. Or, perhaps, they decided to leave for unknown reasons. Aurora's "detective" sense is aroused when she buys the family home and meets the heir, Melba Totino (the wife's mother), who sold her the home.  Conversations with Mrs. Totino, coupled with Aurora's natural inquisitive mind, set off a chain of events that finally lead to discovering what really happened to the Julius family. 

 

Each of these movies would be enjoyable alone, but as a series, the characters become more developed as they move along, and as I said in the introduction, I really like the actors who were selected to play the parts.  Candace Cameron Bure is a very believable Aurora Teagarden.

 


These are the two box sets that I purchased!

 The Aurora Teagarden Mysteries: Collections 1-3Check Price Aurora Teagarden Mysteries - Collection FourCheck Price

  


More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



The Hallmark Aurora Teagarden Mystery Series Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 9, 2021

A Better Country Book Series by Kristina Hall Reviewed

A Better Country Book Series
When I received a request to review "To the Uttermost", which is book 2 of A Better Country series by Kristina Hall, I quickly agreed to read it.  However, I wanted to start with book 1, "Strangers and Pilgrims" and I'm really glad I did.  

Reading Strangers and Pilgrims first allowed me the opportunity to get to know the main characters in the series.  Understanding their background and the struggles this created family survived, helped me appreciate and understand them.  I doubt I would have grasped the depth and reason for their close relationships without the revelations of book one.

Both books caused me to really stop and think about several things. When reading books, hearing stories, or visiting battleground sites of the American Civil War, I often consider how families were forever changed.  Reading a book, even a fiction book, about a soldier who returned home to find his parents dead and his home town overrun by the enemy, is not a scenario I previously considered. However, I have no doubt it is a plausible plot and was, most likely, a reality for far too many at that time in history.

As long as the reader keeps in mind that there are evil people in every region of every country and doesn't get locked up on Civil War sides, I believe "Strangers and Pilgrims" offers an excellent message for all.

It is unlikely anyone would struggle with the content in "To the Uttermost", but you will want the background provided in "Strangers and Pilgrims". 

 

Strangers and Pilgrims Synopsis

In book 1 of A Better Country series, Harry Reiner has just returned to his home town in Texas and to a very unwelcome reception.  He is easily identifiable as a Confederate soldier in this town overrun by Yankees, and they are intolerant of his presence.  He is shot and left for dead in the middle of the street. Only one woman has the courage to come to his aid.  

Rose Kendrick previously stood up against the self-appointed leader of the town, Edwin Burton, and is almost an outcast herself. She survives by taking in laundry, but once she takes in Harry, her business completely dries up. She finds herself, her home, and her loved ones under physical attack. 

Sally Guilford is an orphan who was previously taken in by Rose.  She is Rose's helper, adopted daughter, and biggest defender. Sally is also Rose's greatest area of weakness and evil people are not beyond threatening or even harming a child.

Doyle is an adult man who is Rose's only friend in town. Every time Rose is under attack, Doyle comes to her defense, which puts him in great danger.  Because he has previously taken a bullet while defending Rose, his physical strength is limited.

These four individuals don't stand much of a chance against a lawless town full of enemies lead by a vengeful and spiteful leader.

------

Throughout this book, Christians are reminded that they are "strangers and pilgrims on the earth".  (Hebrews 11:13)

 

To The Uttermost Synopsis

Book 2 of the series picks up a few years later where Harry Reiner and his family are living on his parents horse farm, but the book begins in the wilderness of Colorado with Owen Lockart and his 3 brothers escorting a captured outlaw to jail. 

The outlaw is a member of Vic Guilford's gang. When the 4 brothers are ambushed by the gang, only Owen survives.  He vows revenge for his brother's murders. 

Owen heads to a farm in Texas (Harry Reiner's farm) where Guilford's sister lives. He believes the brother will visit his sister there and give him opportunity to exact revenge.  Since Harry is familiar with the Lockart farm and their excellent horses, he doesn't hesitate to hire Owen.  Of course, Harry has no knowledge of Owen's true intentions.

When the area farms are hit by rustlers, Harry and his workers establish around the clock watches. When the rustlers attack his farm, they kill one of his men and shoot Harry.  All of the remaining workers, except Owen, quit. They don't believe defending Reiner and his farm are worth their lives. 

Once again, Harry finds himself wounded and fighting a battle with little help.  Unfortunately, his one remaining healthy worker has ulterior motives and Vic Guilford is back in town.  Owen will go to great extremes to take down Guilford, but when another's life is threatened, will he go to the uttermost?

------

The message of this book is clear as we watch how a desire for revenge will eat away at someone's character and overshadow all else.  

 

My Recommendation

Both of these books deal with the insidious nature of anger, hate, & revenge.  Conversely, they also include kindness, love, & forgiveness.  

Too often, books can make forgiveness look easy and don't really explore the depths of emotions.  I don't believe that is the case with either of these books.  I think the author did an excellent job of walking us through the events, as well as the hearts and thoughts of those involved.  She didn't try to make it all look simple or effortless, and everything isn't tied up neatly with the bow of Christianity.  

We all struggle with being humans.  I highly recommend this series to believers who recognize we are strangers on this earth seeking Him to the uttermost.





Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 2, 2021

Wilton Perfect Results Large Non-stick Baking Pan, Size 18" x 12" Reviewed

I have been baking with Wilton pans pretty much all of my adult life. Once I discovered the non-stick Wilton pans, I never looked back! They are fabulous pans that are available in a lot of different shapes and sizes.

I confess that as a newlywed (over 30 years ago), baking in my own first kitchen and having very limited funds, I was enticed by the lower price of the basic aluminum cake pans.  It didn't take very long for me to realize they weren't worth the cost of an ugly cake.  I don't remember burning any cakes in those old aluminum pans, but they did stick, even when coated with shortening, and tear chunks out of my cakes when trying to remove the cake from the pan. Then I had to force the chucks in place & "glue" them with icing. That simply didn't make a very pretty cake, even if the cake did taste good. I kid you not, once I tried the Wilton non-stick baking pans, I tossed those aluminum pans and never shed a tear. 

Of course, there are a few downsides to the non-stick coating.  For one, you don't want to use a sharp knife to cut a sheet cake still in the pan.  Plus, it is best to wash the pans by hand and not in the dishwasher.  Yes, they are dishwasher safe, but the coating will last a lot longer if you hand-wash them.  Is it worth it?  You bet!  I would much rather hand wash a non-stick pan than to try to "glue" a cake back together.

You now know why I love Wilton baking pans, but I have found another use for a specific size Wilton pan that I must share!  The 18" x 12" Perfect Results pan is my favorite to date.  


The 18" x 12" Wilton Perfect Results Cake Pan

Of course the 18" x 12" size is perfect for baking a huge crowd pleasing cake.  It is simply doubling or tripling a cake recipe (16 cups of cake batter) to fill and will serve 54 people depending on the serving size.  The number 54 is based on cutting 2" square cake pieces.  If you need to serve more, you could cut smaller piece.  If you use boxed cake mix, according to Wilton, it will take 4 boxes.  

But, this huge cake pan is NOT JUST for cakes!

I use mine for dinners like my manicotti (holds 14 stuffed manicotti shells - 1 box) & enchiladas (holds 18 stuffed enchiladas).  Using this one pan is so much easier than splitting the meal and cleaning two standard casserole dishes. Plus, I love how lightweight it is when filled!  I can easily put it in the oven and lift it out myself.  Because of the 12" width, I can easily place the enchiladas end to end without mashing the ends together to force a fit like was required in a 10" wide casserole dish.

In addition to the manicotti & the enchiladas, I recently baked 6 pork chops on a bed of wild rice & soup. The meat was perfect and tender, and so was the rice.  Therefore, it can be used for meat as well as pasta meals. 

The size fits in my 27" wall oven without touching the oven sides.

It is so nice to be able to cook an entire recipe of manicotti or enchiladas all at one time in one oven.  Previously, I either had to use both of my ovens for just the main course, or cook one dish, set aside and cook the second dish.  

When cooking for a large family, or cooking a recipe that will provide enough leftovers for a second meal, having this 18" x 12" baking pan is essential.

One word of caution: I found out the hard way that reheating leftovers is this pan is not advisable.  Sadly, I ruined my first pan that way.  When reheating, the residue on the sides from the eaten half burned on the pan and took the non-stitch coating off with it when cleaning.  So, do move leftovers into a different pan for reheating.

Wilton is a name we all associate with baking cakes, cupcakes & desserts.  However, their non-stitch pans should not be limited to just baking cakes in our homes. They can do so much more!

 



Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com





House of Sylvestermouse






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, June 25, 2021

Mini Increment Measuring Spoons for Tad, Dash, Pinch, Smidgen & Drop Reviewed

Small Increments Measuring Spoons
When I first started cooking and saw the words pinch or a dash in a recipe, or had verbal instructions to add a pinch of salt to something, I was confused by those words.  Exactly, what is a "pinch" of salt or a "dash" of cinnamon?  

Because I tend to take things literally, I would pinch the salt and drop it into the bowl or grab a shaker and dash the ingredient into the mix.  But, it still bothered me that I didn't know exactly how much to add.

This past Christmas, my sister-in-law gave me a set of mini increment measuring spoons.  I love them!  Now I know how much a pinch of salt is (1/16 tsp) and I have a measuring spoon in that tiny increment. How awesome is that!!!

I prefer to take the mystery out of a recipe so I can duplicate a cooking creation that is perfected.

Also, I love having measuring spoons that are in such tiny increments.  After all, it is pretty hard to measure out 1/16 of a teaspoon!  


Tiny Increment Measuring Spoons

These measuring spoons take the guesswork out of those not so well defined measurements in recipes.  

  • Drop - 1/64 teaspoon
  • Smidgen - 1/32 teaspoon
  • Pinch - 1/16 teaspoon
  • Dash - 1/8 teaspoon
  • Tad - 1/4 teaspoon

I never would have guessed that a drop is only 1/64 teaspoon!  Plus, I never would have been able to accurately measure it.  I would have previously thought a smidgen and a pinch were the same thing.  Clearly, I would have been wrong.

These measuring spoons have the words and the measurement engraved in the stainless steel, which means they won't have the measurement plate knocked off. 

My mini increment measuring spoons are dishwasher safe and come with a ring to keep them together in my kitchen drawer.  I also like the brushed stainless steel appearance. It just looks clean and rugged by design. No need to worry that they could be melted when cooking or cleaning. Plus, I don't have to worry about them picking up smells with years of use.

For those of you who enjoy cooking, I highly recommend these must-have kitchen utensils. Why guess when you can know for sure!

Oh, and they make a great gift!








Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, June 18, 2021

Webcam Covers that Slide Open or Closed Reviewed

Webcam Covers
I am a huge fan of webcam covers!  

For years, we have been hearing about hackers who can use your webcam to spy on you or your home & office.  Webcam covers allow us to take control of when our webcams can actually see anything.  There is no reason to leave an unwanted "eye" watching everything you do or spying on the activity, or lack thereof, in your home.  

I have webcam covers an all of my devices including my Kindle Fire & Ipad.  When I give electronic devices as gifts, I always include a webcam cover.  

Those little cameras in all of the devices are awesome when I want to take a picture with my device, or see friends & family when I talk to them. But, I don't always want them looking into my life.  

I frequently check my emails, work online, or play my video games without wearing makeup or making sure my hair is photo perfect.  I have no desire to have my "just out of the shower" image captured either.  

With a webcam cover, I decide when I am ready to be viewed.  I simply slide open the little cover to be seen, or otherwise leave it closed.  Just because webcams are built into electronic devices, doesn't mean we have to let them have constant viewing access. We are in control!


Using Webcam Covers

Webcam covers are extremely thin and do not impede your ability to open, close, or cover your laptop or electronic device. 

Upon receipt, you simply pull off the backing and adhere the open webcam cover over the lens of your webcam. You can see the webcam lens if the webcam cover is open, therefore proper placement is easier with the slider open. 

To use the slider, open the webcam "window" into your life when you desire and keep it closed when preferred. 


 

Webcam covers may well be one of the best security investments you will ever make!  Plus, they are a very inexpensive accessory that offers tremendous peace of mind.



Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com





House of Sylvestermouse






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, June 11, 2021

Lasko Portable Electric 42" Oscillating Tower Fan Review

Lasko Fan Review
Several years ago, my husband brought home a Lasko portable electric fan. I didn't think much about it at the time since he purchased it for the garage so he could use it when working on our cars.  However, when I got my recumbent exercise bike, I found that I needed a fan during my workout time.  I saw no reason to chill down the whole house just so I could stay cool while exercising. I stealthily ventured to the garage and "borrowed" his tower fan.  Man, that fan is awesome!

Since then, we have purchased 2 more Lasko tower fans so he has one back in his garage, I have one sitting next to my recumbent exercise bike, and our son has one in his bedroom.

Because it is a 42" tower fan, I don't have to get off the exercise bike to turn it on halfway through my workout when I start to get hot. It sits right next to my bike so I simply reach over and hit the button. Since it oscillates, there isn't a constant flow of cold air on one spot either.  However, oscillation is optional if you don't want it to move.

It is also tall enough to really make a difference beside a bed.  The fan is cooling you, not under the bed or the bed sheets.  The same is true if you are sitting in a recliner.

The Lasko tower fans come with a remote control that the guys use when working in the garage, in bed, or sitting in their recliners. The remote control makes it very convenient to turn on without getting up.

If you know you only want it on for a limited amount of time, like until you go to sleep, there is a built in timer that can be used to shut it off in 30 minutes, or up to 7½ hours.

It is lightweight enough that it is easy to move using the built-in grip handle on the back, which is how I was able to sneak it from the garage without being heard.

My favorite feature of this fan is how quiet it is. Of course, I can hear it, but it is nowhere near as loud as the old round small fan in our attic.


Features of the Lasko Portable Electric 42" Oscillating Tower Fan

I already mentioned the height and how quiet the fan is, but I have yet to mention how slender it is.  The base of the unit is only 13"!  That allows the fan to easily fit in narrow space, even a hallway without taking up much room.  That is very important, especially in a small room, or if you don't want it to detract too much from your lovely decor.

 Lasko Portable Electric 42 inch Tower FanCheck PriceHere is a recap of all of the features:

  • Tall - 42 inches
  • Narrow - Base (the largest section) is only 13"
  • Multiple Speeds
  • Optional Oscillation
  • Timer Option
  • Quiet Fan
  • Lightweight - Easy to move
  • Inexpensive


A fan is a necessity in most homes from time to time.  I've even needed one in my kitchen when I am cooking for extended periods of time, especially if both ovens are on.  As I said earlier, I see no reason to chill down the whole house when only one room, or area, needs to be cooler.

If you need a fan, I highly recommend the Lasko tower fan!





Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com





House of Sylvestermouse






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, June 4, 2021

Durable Insulated Lunch Box Tote - Reusable Cooler Bag Reviewed

Several year ago, I purchased this insulated lunch tote for our son. Even after much use, it still looks new and keeps his water cold!

As we approach the hot days of summer, I am reminded of why I selected this particular lunch tote for our son.  He needed an insulated bag for his bottled water which sustains him throughout his work day.  

Because several bottles of water can be heavy, I wanted a durable tote with a sturdy zipper.  This lunch box tote certainly meets, and exceeds, those basic standards. 

Since it easy holds 3 large (24 oz) bottles of Propel water, I am certain it would hold almost any regular lunch someone wished to carry.  Most importantly, with the thin reusable ice packs I purchased separately, his water stays cold all day.

I selected the black lunch bag for him, but the lunch tote comes in several colors. I especially like the midnight blue, which looks a lot like denim.

 

Features of The Upper Order Durable Insulated Lunch Box 

As I mentioned above, the zipper is very sturdy and the tote is insulated, but there are several other features to love about this lunch tote bag.  

 Upper Order Durable Insulated Lunch Box Tote
Reusable Cooler Bag
Check Price
  • Insulated
  • Strong, Durable Fabric
  • Strong, Durable Zipper
  • Sturdy, but Fabric is Flexible to Accommodate Bulky Containers
  • Inside Wipes Clean 
  • Outside Wipes Clean of Dust & light dirt/debris
  • Inside Pocket
  • Outside Pocket
  • Carry Handle
  • Detachable Shoulder Strap 
  • Slim Design - 11" x 10" x 3.6"
  • Professional Appearance
  • Inexpensive  

This lunch box tote can easily slip behind his drivers seat (which is pushed back for longer legs) to sit on the floor board for easy access getting in or out of the car.   

 

Would I buy this insulated lunch box tote again? Absolutely!


Recommended Ice Packs

I purchased a pack of thin ice packs.  Only one is required at a time, therefore 3 are left in the freezer for future use.  We simply alternate them each day.




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com





House of Sylvestermouse






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 28, 2021

Kandio Non Contact Infrared Sensor Thermometer Reviewed

No Touch Thermometer
At the beginning of the pandemic, I realized I didn't have a very good thermometer in my home.  All of our existing thermometers were decades old and took temperature in the ear or mouth.  Because we were warned about how easy it was for the virus to spread, I decided we needed a no touch thermometer.

I promptly went to Amazon and bought a no contact infrared thermometer.  After waiting weeks for it to be delivered, it didn't work at all upon arrival.  I returned that one and ordered another one that was available.  

Again, I had to wait weeks.  Upon arrival, the second thermometer would turn on, but it definitely did not show correct temperatures.  Not only were the readings way too low, but they were inconsistent.  I returned that thermometer too.  What seemed apparent to me was that there was a lot of trash being sold on the market and the sellers were price gouging.  

Both of those thermometers exceeded $100 price tag, but I really wanted, actually felt we needed, a no touch thermometer.  I was quite frustrated and had no idea how I could get a working non contact sensor thermometer.  Frankly, I was wary of ordering another one so I ordered from a different site.  Same results!

After 3 unsatisfactory orders, I gave up on buying the thermometer online.  I had expressed my frustration to my husband and clearly he was listening because one day he came home with the Kandio No Contact Infrared Sensor Thermometer and it works!!!  

He purchased ours at our local independent pharmacy.  It was in the window when he drove by.  He spotted it and promptly bought one for our household.  Pretty awesome and greatly appreciated!

Before writing this review, I checked the major online sites and couldn't find anyone carrying the Kandio thermometer, but I do see there are sellers on Ebay carrying them.

My recommendation, don't waste your money and time on others!  Seek out the Kandio Non Contact Infrared Sensor Thermometer.


The Kandio Non Contact Infrared Sensor Thermometer

Below is the information on the thermometer that my husband bought for us. Along with the model number, I am sharing what we paid for ours so you know if you are getting a fair price or not.

No Touch Thermometer
Model: GDTWQ36 

Our Kandio thermometer cost: $59.99

Temperature is taken by aiming the thermometer at the forehead (1 - 2 inches away) and squeezing the trigger button on the handle.  Therefore, the thermometer never touches the "patient" and you can easily stand an arms length away.

  • Fast, accurate reading in 1 second
  • Large, easy to read display screen
  • Back-lit display (you don't have to disturb patients rest)
  • Beeps when temperate is taken
  • Auto Shut-off after 1 minute
  • 2 AAA batteries required
 
This has been the only reliable no contact thermometer that I have found available.  How about you?  Have you found a reliable no touch/non contact thermometer?  If so, please share the thermometer product information in the comments below.  We want everyone to be able to check and monitor their own temperature accurately.

Stay Safe & Healthy!
 

No Contact Thermometer on Ebay


 




Read More Health Related Reviews
Here On Review This Reviews!

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 21, 2021

The Widow and the Highlander Book Review

Widow and the Highlander
The Widow and the Highlander by Martha Keyes is the first book in the Tales from the Highlands series.  After I finished the first book, I immediately wished to move to the second book in the series. It isn't that Keyes didn't wrap up the first novel.  She did. It was simply that I wasn't ready to move on from the story. 

You know you have found a wonderful series of books when you hate the idea of starting a different book by another author. Unfortunately for me, the second book in Tales from the Highlands has not yet been released. 

It is doubtful the I will forget the MacKinnon clan and I have added the The Enemy and Miss Innes (Tales from the Highlands Book 2) to my wishlist so I will know as soon as it is released. I am certain, no matter what else I have started reading, I will move back to this series to continue reading about Catherine and her sister, Elizabeth.

I highly recommend this historical fiction and I am certain I will enjoy the entire series once it is published. 


The Widow and the Highlander Synopsis
Historical Fiction - Scotland 1762

 The Widow and the Highlander
(Tales from the Highlands Book 1)
Check Price
Christina isn't certain what to do next!  She is actually relieved, perhaps even happy, to be a new widow.  After her abusive husband, Gordon, dies due to illness, she finds she can breathe again. That is, until his cousin, Angus MacKinnon, "suggests" she marry him.  Angus and several of his family members had taken up residence at Dunverlockie after the funeral, and don't plan to leave.

Because Christina's father invested deeply in Dunverlockie, he made MacKinnon sign a will that would legally transfer ownership of the estate to Christina if Gordon died before a child was born, Christina now solely owns Dunverlockie.  That does not bode well with the MacKinnon clan and they are determined to regain control of the estate one way or another.

The MacKinnons had originally established ownership of Dunverlockie after Gordons' father betrayed a friend, then set back and watched him executed for treason.  MacKinnon's reward for turning him in as a traitor to the crown, was Dunverlockie.

Christina was not married to Gordon at the time of the execution.  In fact, she would have been a child.  Therefore, she did not know the family that had been removed from the home.  What she did know, was that the MacKinnons were a vicious clan and she didn't wish to remain a part of their family.  However, she had her own siblings to consider and she needed the income Dunverlocke provided.  When she suspected she was being poisoned, she knew she had to do something whether she wanted to or not. After all, aside from her own sister, she didn't know who was an ally and who was an enemy inside or outside of the castle.




Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 14, 2021

Timeless Treasure by MaryLu Tyndall Reviewed

The book, Timeless Treasure by MaryLu Tyndall, took me by surprise! 

I have read several books by Tyndall and always loved them.  She is one of my favorite authors because I know I can depend on her for a great story with clean content. However, Timeless Treasure is more than a great story.  It is an exceptional historical fiction that I would highly recommend.

When I read historical fiction, I want historical accuracy.  Tyndall certainly did her "homework" for Timeless Treasure.  The story is based on a real pirate, Stede Bonnet, who was executed in 1718.  The author built a romantic story around Bonnet's real life with a fictitious tale of why he turned to pirating even though he was a well educated, wealthy landowner, married and with children. 

So many things in Bonnet's real life story seem unexpected, contradictory, perhaps even unbelievable, but they were true.  He was factually known as "The Gentleman Pirate" because of his own behavior, yet his association with Blackbeard, who was certainly no gentleman, is well documented. It should also be noted that he knew nothing about sailing prior to becoming a pirate.

The fictional suggestion that he was in love with someone other than his wife and wished to secure a separate fortune to support their life together, would be a plausible explanation for why a wealthy gentleman would turn pirate. Thus the reason this book is exceptional! 

 

Timeless Treasure Synopsis

 Chapter One takes place present day and introduces us to a decedent of Stede Bonnet.  Lexie Cain has just returned from her mother's funeral to a home where she is no longer welcome since it belongs to her step-father.  She is there only to retrieve an ancestral chest containing photos, school papers, a scrapbook, and some old letters. Flipping through the letters she discovers they were written by Bonnet. Those letters change the course of her life.

The opening paragraphs of chapter two introduce us to Stede Bonnet and the woman he loves, Melody, at the burial site of his firstborn son. We discover just how bereaved, miserable and unhappy Stede is with his life.  When Melody informs him that her father is moving her family away from Barbados to Charles Town, a city in the colony of Carolina, Stede's desperation intensifies. He must do something to change the course of his life.

Current day Lexie Cain moves to Charleston in the hopes of finding buried pirate treasure.  She gets a job in the local museum, takes the first "Bonnet" letter to a college history professor for authentication, and then finds herself the target of criminals.

As Lexie reads through the letters with the professor, Barret Johnson, we are all hearing Bonnet's tales of piracy, his longing for a life with Melody, and his plans for a happy future together.  In spite of the fact that we know from the beginning that Bonnet is hung, we hold on to the hope that it was somehow not him that was executed. That he somehow managed to find the happiness he so desperately sought.

_______________________

 

There is no way I will tell you more of the story, yet there is so much more than this brief introduction of the book, including the romance that develops between Lexie & Barrett.  

I would never wish to ruin this marvelous book for anyone else.  You deserve to be able to "walk" through this adventure for yourself.  It would be dastardly indeed for me to rob you of this experience and I refuse to do that.  After all, I am no pirate!


Books by MaryLu Tyndall Previously Reviewed

The Liberty Bride


Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G




Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten


Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner




“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X