Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts

Friday, February 3, 2023

Women's Petite Flannel Pajamas Review

petite pajamas
I tend to stay cold, year round.  Therefore, I wear flannel pajamas year round.  I only have one problem with pajamas in general.  Often, the legs are simply too long and I trip over them, especially going up or down the stairs in our home.  I know from experience that it hurts to trip over pajama pant legs on the brick steps at our back door.  Both my body and the pajama pants sustain damage when that happens.

My mother has the same problem with flannel pajamas.  The pants are too long on standard sizes.  For her birthday a few months ago, I found the perfect solution:  Petite Flannel Pajamas!

Mom loves her new petite size flannel pajamas.  She liked them so much that I added them to my own Christmas wish list. 

My daughter pulled them off the wish list and gave them to me for Christmas this year.  Plus, my son gave my mother another set for Christmas.  He gave her the Christmas lama pajamas, which she thinks are "so cute".

These petite flannel pajamas are now our "go to" pajamas whenever they are clean.  Not only are the legs shorter than the standard size, but the flannel is soft and warm, yet lightweight to wear.  The perfect combination for pajamas.


Petite Flannel Pajamas

 AmeriMark Womens Flannel Pajama
Two Piece Set PJ Sleepwear with Button Front Top
Check Price

Not all flannel pajamas are available in the petite size and they are not easy to find in stores.  However, they are available on Amazon in a variety of fabric patterns. 

I chose the paisley for my mother's original gift and that pattern is also the one my daughter gave me. I love the blue background color. As I said earlier, our son chose the Christmas lama fabric to give to his grandmother.

There are several other designs that I like too and hope to get as gifts sometime in the future.  Several of the patterns, like the blue paisley, can be worn for a few hours after you wake up without looking like you have not dressed for the day.  They are clearly pajamas, but with the fabric pattern, the weight of the shirt, the shirt pocket, and the rolled edge piping detail, the shirt could pass for a pretty casual wear top.

One important thing before you order, I recommend going up a size in these flannel pajamas. If you are normally a medium size, go up to large.  You will find them more comfortable to wear, especially while sleeping.  They are 100% cotton and cotton tends to shrink when washed.  I have not noticed mine shrinking, but they could have shrunk a bit and I simply haven't noticed it because I did select a size larger than I normally wear.

I will also note that while this article is written for those of us who need petite sizes, these pajamas are available in standard sizes too.


 Check Price Check Price Check Price Check Price


Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

"Women's Petite Flannel Pajamas" Written by:



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 27, 2023

Disposable Powder-Free Nitrile Gloves - Uses & Review

Nitrile Gloves
Nitrile Gloves are an essential product in our home.  Long before the pandemic, my husband and I always used disposable powder-free nitrile gloves for a variety of jobs. 

Because Nitrile gloves are made of thick vinyl, they are more durable, puncture resistant, and more resistant to chemicals than plastic gloves.  They are almost like wearing a second skin since they stretch over your hands.

I wear nitrile gloves for any housework that requires the use of cleaners or chemicals.  I wear them when I clean bathrooms, cleaning the kitchen sink or spots on rugs & carpet, changing linens when someone has been sick, cleaning my stove top, cleaning inside my refrigerator, and many other daily tasks.

We love animals and our dogs have always lived indoors.  With pets, come accidents. While these are rare incidents, it is necessary to be prepared for the inevitable. Pets can't always get outside when they have upset stomachs. Thus, we keep a ready supply of Nature's Miracle and nitrile gloves for the cleanups.

We also use them for applying ointments or creams on humans or pets.  The nitrile gloves protect hands and help prevent the inadvertent spread of a rash.   

Plus, my husband wears Nitrile gloves when he is picking up after our pups in our backyard or on walks. That is a job he has primarily taken on, but I certainly perform the task as needed.  It is definitely unpleasant, but would be exponentially worse without the Nitrile gloves.

Once we use the gloves, we throw them away.  

 

Uses for Powder-Free Nitrile Gloves 

There are so many uses for Nitrile Gloves around the house that I doubt I will be able to list them all, simply because I might not recall them all as I am writing this article.

Starting with the uses above, here are some of times we reach for our disposable Nitrile gloves. 

  •  MedPride Powder-Free Nitrile Exam GlovesCheck PriceCleaning Bathrooms
  • Cleaning Kitchens
  • Cleaning Appliances (not to be used when appliances are hot)
  • Cleaning Floors, Carpets & Rugs
  • Changing Linens (especially after illness)
  • Picking Up After Pets
  • Applying Ointments or Creams 
  • Attending to Cuts or Wounds
  • When Pumping Gas into the Cars
  • Changing Oil in Cars
  • Cleaning Glass, Windshields in Cars & Home 
  • Cleaning Outdoor Furniture
  • Painting
  • Picking Up Litter, especially from unknown sources

Whatever has a potential for germs or exposure to chemicals, we use the disposable Nitrile gloves.  Because skin is absorbent, we choose to protect it from anything we would not willingly ingest. 

Can you think of other ways you would use disposable Nitrile gloves?


One more note:  They do come in sizes.  My husband wears the X-large and I wear the small or medium, depending on which is available. I am wearing a medium size glove in the introduction picture. You can see it doesn't fit my hands quite as well as the small, but it works!

 




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 20, 2023

Huge 14" Dash Electric Skillet Reviewed

Electric Skillet Review
I have cooked with electric skillets my entire adult life, and that's a long time.  My parents gave me a new electric skillet for my last birthday. It is very large, but I was thrilled with the gift.  I knew immediately that it would reduce the length of time it took me to fry chicken simply because I could fry double the amount at one time in one electric skillet.

In the past, when I fried chicken, it took almost 2 hours in one electric skillet.  Years ago, my brother gave me a second electric skillet so I could use two at a time. That has been a fabulous time saver, but it still required clean up of two electric skillets.

My first experience with my new large Dash electric skillet was, of course, frying chicken.  This skillet will fry 6 - 8 chicken breasts or thighs (depending on size), 10 - 12 legs, or a combination of pieces all at one time in approximately 45 minutes.  I deep fry my chicken so it does take a lot of vegetable oil to fill the skillet, but it took a lot for 2 electric skillets too.  

The clean up is much easier than with my original electric skillets.  After I dispose of the oil, I wipe out the Dash skillet, set it in my sink and wash the inside of the skillet. Thus far, after several uses, the skillet doesn't even look like it needs to be washed after I wipe it out, but I still wash it!

When my siblings were home for the holidays, I took my Dash skillet over to my mom's house to cook.  My oldest brother joined me in the kitchen to make our family spaghetti.  There is no real set recipe for the family spaghetti.  We have a basic beginning of ingredients, but then we season with "whatever" to taste.  

I must say, cooking the spaghetti with my brother was one of my all-time favorite cooking experiences.  He brings a whole new attitude to preparing a meal.  Think the French Chef!  He adds a dash of this and a dash of that to create a delicious dinner.  I will never be able to duplicate that spaghetti, but it truly was the best I have ever eaten. Would you believe we added worcestershire sauce to it?  As Emeril would say, that certainly "kicked it up a notch"!

Most recently, I fried pork chops in my Dash electric skillet.  Wow! How awesome it was to be able to fry 10 boneless breakfast chops at once. For another dinner night, I fried 6 bone-in 3/4" pork chops all at one time.  They were all tender and outstanding!  As a matter of fact, my husband said the bone-in chops were the best he had ever had including what he had eaten in restaurants.  

I can hardly wait to try something new in my Dash electric skillet!


The 14" Dash Family Size Electric Skillet

 DASH Family Size Electric Skillet with 14 inch Nonstick Surface + Recipe Book for Pizza, Burgers, Cookies, Fajitas, Breakfast & More, 20 Cup Capacity, 1400-WattCheck PriceAfter I received the Dash Electric Skillet, I was anxious to try it out.  I've been pleasantly surprised by this skillet.  It cooks evenly and cleans up quickly.  

The tempered glass lid has a seal around it that locks in the heat, almost creating a steam effect to cooking.  I credit that for why the pork chops I cooked were so tender.

Features of the Dash Skillet

  • 20 cup capacity
  • 2.5" Depth
  • Tempered Glass Lid with seal
  • Non-stick Surface
  • PFOA-Free  (the chemicals used on nonstick surfaces)
  • Cool Touch Handles
  • Removable Cord
  • Non-Slip Feet
  • 4.5-qt. capacity
  • 6.7"H x 18.9"W x 16.5"D

I came across this interesting video on Youtube.  I thought you might enjoy watching it too. I never would have thought to make a pizza in the skillet.

 


 



 

Read More Kitchen Product Reviews On
Kitchen Products





House of Sylvestermouse






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 13, 2023

Lord Blackwell’s Promise: A Regency Romance - Larkhall Letters Book 5 Reviewed

Ashtyn Newbold has written & published a delightfully unique and entertaining series with the Larkhall Letters.

I had previously read the first 4 books in the series, but had to wait for the 5th book to be released.  As soon as Lord Blackwell's Promise was published, I downloaded it to my Kindle and immediately started reading. 

One of the things I like best about Ashtyn Newbold's writing, is that she develops her characters so well that readers feel like they know them personally. In Lord Blackwells' Promise, both Lord Blackwell and Margaret Lovell have strong personalities, devotion to their families and conflicting emotions, much like a lot of real people.

As expected, it was another excellent book that I can highly recommend to Regency Romance novel lovers of any age. Not only is it a unique story, it is interlaced with witty conversations and funny interactions. 

It is another book by Newbold that I hated to see end, even though I was pleased with the ending!   

 

Lord Blackwell's Promise Book Synopsis 

 Lord Blackwell’s Promise: A Regency Romance (Larkhall Letters Book 5)Check PriceLord Blackwell is dying.  He is surrounded by his family, his mother and sisters.  They are the people he has spent his life trying to provide for and protect.  His mother is currently the most influential individual in his life.  When she speaks, he considers what she says, not only because he loves her, but because he truly respects her opinions.  When she recommends that he make amends to the people he has harmed, he contemplates her suggestion.  How could he possibly make things right with the family he has so grievously harmed by swindling them and ruining the father's reputation.  When his mother suggests that he marry the daughter and move the family into their home, Peter (Lord Blackwell) thinks why not? After all, he is dying.  Who he marries, doesn't matter.  Plus, by marrying the daughter and financially providing for the Lovell family, he will be restoring their wealth and social standing.

Margaret Lovell is deeply devoted to her family and greatly concerned for her father's health.  When her brother is hurt and needs surgery, she has to seriously consider the proposal from someone she despises: Lord Blackwell.  Her family can't afford doctors.  They barely have enough food.  As she ponders her options, she realizes with the Earl dying, she wouldn't really need to be a wife.  She would simply be married to him.  As his widow, her family would be wealthy again. 

After the ceremony at the dying man's bedside, Margaret's family is moved into Lord Blackwell's castle.  All seems to be going as planned, that is, until Lord Blackwell recovers!




To find out what happens to Lord Blackwell, his new wife and both families, you will need to read the book for yourself.  It is well worth reading!

 

 

Read My Other Reviews of Books in the Larkhall Letters Series

 The Ace of Hearts Review The Captain's Confidant Review With Love, Louisa Review




Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 6, 2023

Easy Cheesecake Recipe Reviewed

Cheesecake
A Cheesecake Recipe for Success!

My family loves cheesecake, therefore, it is probably the most frequently baked dessert in my kitchen.  I bake several each month and most recently baked a cheesecake instead of a birthday cake for my mother's birthday. 

This easy cheesecake is most often what I make for dessert when we are entertaining.  I can either make it the day before, or the morning of an event.  It seems everyone loves cheesecake!

The only drawback is that it does take about 2 hours to make, bake & cool.  Plus, it needs to set in the refrigerator for at least 4 hours. 

While it is very easy, it does take time.  However, it is worth the wait!



Easy Cheesecake Recipe by Sylvestermouse
ReviewThisReviews.com


Prep Time Cook Time Cool Time Total Prep Time Fridge Set Ready In Yields
15 min. 50 min. 60 min. 2 hrs. 5 min. Time 4 hrs. 6 hrs. 8 - 10 servings


Cheesecake Ingredients 

     • 2 cups graham crumbs (15 graham cracker sheets) 

     • 2 tablespoons sugar 

      • ⅔ cup butter melted (11 Tablespoons) 


   For Cheesecake: 

      • 24 ounces cream cheese softened 

     • 1 cup sugar 

     • 1 teaspoon vanilla 

     • 3 eggs 


Instructions 

1. Wrap the springform pan with 2 layers of 18” heavy duty aluminum foil 

2. Preheat oven to 350°F. (Convection Oven 325°F) 

3. By hand, Mix crust ingredients until well combined.  

4. Press into a 9" springform pan. 

5. Beat cream cheese, sugar and vanilla until fluffy. 

6. Add eggs one at a time, beating until incorporated (do not overbeat). 

7. Pour cheesecake mixture into crust. 

8. Place in waterbath
   (Pour enough HOT water in the pan to reach half way up the foil covered springform pan.)
   Water Bath Pan is really heavy when filled with water. It is easier to set it in the oven and
   then add the water.  

9.   Bake 50 minutes. 

10. Turn off oven, open oven door slightly and allow the cheesecake to cool in the oven for 1 hour. 

11. Remove from oven and from waterbath 

12. Remove springform pan and cool completely in the fridge at least 4 hours or overnight. 

 

 

Related Articles 



 

 

Check Out More Recipe Reviews at
ReviewThisRecipes.com






Easy Cheesecake Recipe Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





© 2023 Cynthia Sylvestermouse
 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 30, 2022

How to Make a Water Bath for Cheesecake Baking Review

Cheesecake Water Bath
There are benefits to preparing and using a water bath when baking cheesecakes or custards.  For one thing, it will keep your cheesecake from cracking and will prevent the filling from drying out.  Plus, it will prevent the cheesecake springform pan from leaking in your oven. 

A water bath is simply a pan of hot water, which will low boil when baking your cheesecake.  It will be very hot!  Be sure to leave your cheesecake cooling in the oven, in the water bath, for an hour after the baking is complete.  Just turn your oven off, leave the oven door slightly open and walk away for an hour.

Since you will be setting your filled cheesecake springform pan in the water bath, it is important to select a pan that your springform pan can easily sit in without tilting it or forcing it.  I have an oversized cake pan that I use.  The size of your springform pan will determine what size you need for the water bath.

For instance, I use a 9" springform pan and an old 18" x 12" sheet cake pan.  (that is all I use that cake pan for now because the coating is ruined)

Water Bath


How to Make a Water Bath for Cheesecake

When you have used a water bath for the first time, you will realize how very easy it is to set up.  

Since I have been asked the "what" question several times, I realize that just saying "bake your cheesecake in a water bath" is lacking in information.  Therefore, I'll share exactly what to do to make a cheesecake water bath here.

Cheesecake Water Bath
Step 1:  Wrap your springform pan in aluminum foil to prevent the water leaking into the cheesecake pan. I use heavy duty 18" wide aluminum foil, but you can use two pieces of standard, everyday 12" aluminum foil by folding them together with a seam that will not leak to create one large piece of foil.     

Step 2:  Set your filled cheesecake springform pan in the wider cake pan.

Step 3:  Add hot water in the wide cake pan, halfway up the outside of the springform pan.

Step 4:  Place in the oven & bake according to recipe.

Step 5:  Turn off the oven and leave the cheesecake in the water bath in the oven for one hour to cool.

 

Note:  The cheesecake and hot water together can be very heavy.  You may prefer to set your cheesecake in an empty cake pan in the oven, then add the hot water using a oven proof measuring cup.

 

Click Here to See My Cheesecake Recipe Published on Review This Reviews!

 Wilton W6516 Perfect Results Sheet Cake PanCheck Price Calphalon Nonstick Bakeware, Spring Form Pan, 9-inchCheck Price Reynolds Wrap Heavy Duty Aluminum Foil, 18 inch, 37.5 Square-Foot Roll (Pack of 1)Check Price

 

Check Out More Recipe Reviews at
ReviewThisRecipes.com






How to Make a Water Bath for Cheesecake Baking Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





© 2022 Cynthia Sylvestermouse
 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 23, 2022

A December Bride Hallmark Movie Review

A December Bride

Daniel Lissing, once again, charms his way into our hearts in the movie, A December Bride.  This Hallmark movie is sure to be a favorite on the list of many Hallmark romance fans. 

Jessica Lowndes, another beloved Hallmark actor, joins Lissing to create a love story just in time for a December wedding.  The movie takes a difficult situation and turns it into a fun, romantic and even humorous story.

This movie was released in 2016, but I only recently discovered it. Turns out, it is one of my own favorite Christmas movies for this year.


A December Bride (2016) Hallmark Movie

Layla O'Reilly is right on track, following in her mother's footsteps, to be a December bride.  It has been her life-long plan to have her own wedding in the month of December, just like her parents.  However, her plans are shattered when a casual friend, Seth Murphy, introduces Layla's fiance, Jack, to Layla's cousin, Jessica.  

 A December Bride
Available on Prime Video or DVD
Check Price
It is pretty obvious that it is love at first sight for Jack and Jessica.  Not only does Layla lose her fiance, but she loses her opportunity for an upcoming December wedding.  Now, she must decide if she is going to attend her ex-fiance's and her cousin's wedding.  Of course, this wedding is important to her family, just as her wedding would have been.  She is hesitant to accept the invitation, but decides she really should make peace and go, but she does not want to go alone.

When she sees her neighbor, Cooper in the hall, she decides to ask him to attend the wedding with her.  He initially agrees, but when he ends up with the flu, he is unable to attend.  Desperate to find a "date" for the wedding, she asks Seth to go with her.  After all, they are both attending the wedding.

Things are made even more "interesting" when Seth tells everyone at the wedding that he and Layla are engaged.  He meant to make Layla feel more at ease around Jack and Jessica, but that created more uncomfortable situations, and humor for the those of us watching.

Seth also gets roped into adding his home to the Holiday of Homes charity project by his bosses wife.  Since Layla is an interior decorator, it seems logical to ask her to decorate his home for the tour. Plus, Layla would love to land a job staging homes for a big realty company and Seth is friends with the owner of Malcolm Realty.  That means spending a lot of time together over the next 3 weeks.

One thing all Hallmark fans know, it doesn't take long for romance to develop. Much less than 3 weeks! In fact, in less than 2 hours, these two actors can create the perfect love story.  

 

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



A December Bride Hallmark Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 9, 2022

Movie Review of Gaslight (1944) Starring Charles Boyer, Ingrid Bergman & Joseph Cotten

Gaslight Movie Review

The term "Gaslight" has become commonly used to describe a form of deceptive and cruel mental manipulation. A vunerable victim won't recognize what the other person is doing to them as they challenge their memory. It is not as simple as having a different perception of an event, or even a different opinion. It is a much more sinister, intentional manipulation of someone's memory or perception causing them to question their own sanity.

I'm not sure if I ever actually watched the movie "Gaslight" in the past, or if I am simply familiar with the movie plot from trailers.  Some of my favorite movies are classics (pre-1950).  When I was much younger, I often stayed up late watching old movies on the original AMC movie channel. I may well have seen the movie back then.

My husband & I recently decided to watch the 1944 version of the movie Gaslight, starring Charles Boyer, Ingrid Bergman & Joseph Cotten.  I was reminded of how much I loved the old classics where actors really had to carry the entire movie.  There were no special effects or colorful scenes to help captivate an audience.  It was all up to the writers and actors to entertain us.

I had not realized how much I missed the classics, or that fabulous Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer logo lion, until we watched "Gaslight".  We cut the cable cord nearly a decade ago and I no longer pull out our old vhs tapes to watch movies.  

Wow!  It has been so long that it is like rediscovering cinematic brilliance.  I plan to go in search of a new way to watch those old classics again.  If there is no channel available, I'll dust off my old vhs tapes and hope my player still works, but for now, I want to tell you about the movie "Gaslight".


Gaslight (1944)

 Gaslight
Available on Prime Video, DVD, Blu-ray, or VHS
Check Price
When the renowned singer, Alice Alquist is murdered, her niece and ward, Paula (Ingrid Bergman) is sent to live in Italy with her aunt's best friend, Maestro Guardi who spends years training her to sing professionally.  When Paula confides in Signore Guardi that she has fallen in love, he encourages her to embrace happiness, even take a break from her singing for a while.  He has no way of knowing that he is throwing her into the arms of an insidious predator with ulterior motives.

Gregory Anton (Charles Boyer) is lying in wait for her to come to him after she speaks to the maestro. He is thrilled to find that everything is going as he wishes and he pressures Paula to marry him even though she hasn't known him for very long.

After Gregory & Paula are married, he masterfully manipulates her into moving back to London, and back into her aunt's home.  That is when he fully commits himself to "gaslighting" her and she is very nearly convinced that she is insane until Joseph Cotten appears on the scene.

Now, you must watch the movie yourself to see what happens!


Interesting Facts About Gaslight

  • Ingrid Bergman was actually singing in this movie
  • Ingrid Bergman won the Academy Award Best Actress for this film
  • Charles Boyer did not play the piano, but he did study psychology before he became an actor. 
  • It is also worth mentioning that 17 year old, Angela Lansbury, was also in this movie.

To "gaslight" someone was not a psychological term prior to 2010.  The title of the movie actually refers to the gas lights in a home that would dim when additional lights were lit and demanded a share of the gas supply.  One of the things that made Paula think she was going insane was that the gas lights would dim even when no one else was home lighting more lights.   

The movie "Gaslight" provides an excellent example of the act of gaslighting someone.  After all, the movie/play is the origin of the term.




Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Movie Review of Gaslight (1944) Starring Charles Boyer, Ingrid Bergman & Joseph Cotten by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 2, 2022

A Fall from Grace (Clavering Chronicles Book 1) Book Review

Before we ever read the first word in the book, the title tells us what to expect.  What the title doesn't reveal is how and why Selena loses her position in society.

This historical fiction is set in Hertfordshire, England in 1817 and paints a vivid picture of how easy it was for a young woman, or even a whole family, to have the ton (high society) shun them.  

Imagine having everything you have ever known or expected your life to be, stripped from you because someone else made a mistake. By no fault of your own, you have to learn how to make a living for yourself while watching the world you once knew carry on without you. Becoming an employee in a house where you would previously have been received as a desired guest and ushered into the drawing room for tea with the countess.  Instead, you will now be expected to use the servants entrance and consider yourself fortunate that the countess has favored you enough to even allow you to be her companion.

That is what happened to Selena Lockhart in "A Fall from Grace" by Jennie Goutet.


"A Fall from Grace" Plot Synopsis

 A Fall from Grace
(Clavering Chronicles Book 1)
Check Price

The first few chapters of the book are somewhat humorous.  We are immediately introduced to Sir Lucius Clavering, sixth Baronet of Mardley.  As a wealthy landowner, he is accustomed to having "young maidens" devise reasons to be in his company alone in order to force a marriage.  A snowy night is the perfect opportunity for "accidents" to strand fair maidens who would require refuge in a nearby home.  On this particular night, two such woman separately appeared at his door.  One was intentionally planned, the other truly was in dire straits.  Both are greeted with suspicion.

___

As the lone female occupant of a broken down stagecoach, Selena needs shelter from the snow storm and other danger.  She believes her salvation must lie within the walls of a nearby home which is lit well enough for her to see in the distance. Dispute her lack of warm clothing, she sets out for the house and has plenty of time to recount the events that put her in this frightening situation.  Her father's extreme gambling problems followed by his subsequent death; her fiance's recindment of his offer of marriage;  insufficient funds to sustain her mother & sisters;  all combined to create this life she was so ill-prepared to live.  She was equally unprepared to be greeted by the cynical landowner who did not readily welcome her in out of the cold.

_____

Following Selena's story of becoming a companion to a bitter and unhappy widowed countess, caused me to consider what a truly difficult situation this would have been for a young lady who was raised in a wealthy home with the expectations of a prosperous marriage and continued position in high society.  It would require a strong and determined individual to make this unwanted transition in life status.

Since this is a Regency Romance novel, the reader can rest assured there will be a developing romantic relationship throughout the book. However, I was equally interested in watching the other relationships develop in this book.

I highly recommend this book, and series, to anyone who enjoys clean & wholesome romance novels.

 

 

At publishing time of this review, "A Fall from Grace" is available for free with a Kindle Unlimited Subscription. Or, you can purchase it with the link below.


More Books Reviewed on Review This Reviews




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 25, 2022

LEGO Creator Winter Toy Shop Reviewed

Lego Toy Shop
The Lego Creator Winter Toy Shop is part of our annual Christmas decor!

When Treasures By Brenda recently reviewed The Best Lego Gift Ideas, I realized that I had never reviewed the Lego Winter Toy Shop set and explained how we use it every year during the holidays.

The snowy scene is the perfect winter design and there is nothing better than a toy shop at Christmastime.  Our whole family loves this Lego set. 

Our son built the #10249 set in 2019 and that was the first year we used it as our dining room table centerpiece for the holidays. It was such a hit with everyone, that I continue to display it in the center of our table for the holidays.

Our children are adults, but when our daughter was recently in town, they were both "playing" with the Lego figures in the set, discussing the Lego toys around the tree, and laughing at the poor skier that just can't seem to keep his balance sitting on my green table runner.  

I personally love the carolers that are reminiscent of holiday Dickens Village Carolers. 

We also add the 2019 Winter Gingerbread House (#40337) to our centerpiece display. I have a wide family table that needs a wider centerpiece. Plus, I like having more of the gingerbread house motif included.  We selected the 2019 house to serve as a date "cornerstone" for the building year.

Lego Toy Shop
Our Dining Room Table Holiday Centerpiece

 

Lego Creator Winter Toy Shop Set #10199 or #10249

This toy shop Lego set is fabulous and makes an excellent holiday decoration.  As stated above, we use it as our dining room centerpiece, but it would be lovely on any table top in any room.

There are at least 2 Lego Winter Toy Shop kits to consider.  My son built the newer version (10249) for our dining room table.  The older version (10199) has less pieces, but different toys. Plus, the building details are slightly different, notably the wreaths.  

 LEGO Creator Winter Toy Shop 10199Check Price

The Lego Set 10199 Includes:
  • The Winter Top Shop Building with light-up tower window
  • Christmas Tree
  • Bench & Lamp Post
  • Decorative Landscape Trees
  • Minifigures included:  2 Carolers & 5 more town people, snowman, cat, toy train, jack-in-the-box, stuffed animal, robot and toy car
  • 815 pieces 

 

The Lego Set 10249 below (the set my son built) has 898 pieces with similar pieces as above, but also includes:

  • Updated Designs 
  • Minifigures are similar 2 Carolers & 6 more town people, snowman, & the cat
  • Toys are teddy bear, jack-in-the-box, train, truck, race car, plane, helicopter, tug boat, robot & rocket.

 LEGO Creator Winter Toy Shop 10249Check Price

 

 





Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X