Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts

Friday, May 20, 2022

SuperNail Nail Bandage Instant Nail Repair Reviewed

Nail Repair
I confess, I do not worry much over my fingernails. I stopped painting my fingernails decades ago because I hated how polish would turn the actual nail yellow over time. I keep my nails clean and file rough edges, but otherwise I leave them alone, unless they break. I recently discovered SuperNail Nail Bandages which are fabulous as a temporary fix for nail breaks.

The one thing that has always bothered me is when a nail breaks or tears on the side, below the top line of the nail bed (the hyponychium).  It hurts and can bleed if the break is allowed to continue across the finger.  I try hard to protect the fingernail until it has grown out past the skin line enough to cut off. In the past, I have used band-aids to try to keep the nail from tearing more. However, a band-aid doesn't last long, it doesn't stay clean, and it can be annoying when I am working. Plus, it is very noticeable to everyone. 

When moving boxes recently, my thumb nail broke below the skin line of my nail (onychodermal band of the hyponychium) and into the nail bed. I knew it would be a while, possibly weeks, before the nail would grow out enough to be cut. Any time I have a break or tear in my nail like that, it catches on fabric or in my hair and tears a little more into the nail bed. Knowing I would be living with this break for a while, I was desperate to find tape or something that would cover the break. My search lead me to SuperNail Nail Bandage Instant Nail Repair on Amazon. I ordered this very inexpensive solution immediately. When it arrived two days later, I removed my band-aid (the temporary fix) and immediately applied the nail repair bandage.  

Six days later, I am writing this review and the initial bandage is still adhering, covering the break and keeping it from tearing further into the nail bed.  Keep in mind, I wash my hands dozens of times a day!  I expected to need to replace the first bandage long before now. 

 

SuperNail Nail Bandage Instant Nail Repair

 supernail Nail Bandage Instant Nail RepairCheck PriceI never want to be without SuperNail Nail Bandage Instant Nail Repair again!  The clear thick bandages are perfect for covering a nail break until the nail grows out enough to cut. 

The package comes with 30 clear adhesive tabs in varying sizes. I used the largest size on my thumb nail, but the smaller size would be great for my other fingernails.

The package also contains a really nice buffer for smoothing the edge and area of the break before applying the bandage. The blue side of the buffer is a file that can be used for filing the nail and for filing away any access bandage material.  

Obviously, I can't guarantee future nail bandages will last for more than 6 days, but with 30 bandages in the package, I think I am safe for a while.  I expect I will require at least 2 more bandages before the thumb nail has grown out enough to cut the nail.

For me, the SuperNail Nail Bandages have been a fabulous find. Not only do I appreciate the long lasting protection, but I love the transparency. 


For Additional Nail Care Read

14 Secrets to Growing Strong, Healthy, Beautiful Nails by Margaret Schindel

and 

Nice Fingernails Don't Have To Be Difficult to Achieve! by Olivia Morris


Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

 


House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 13, 2022

Cerama Bryte Ceramic Cooktop Cleaner Reviewed

Cerama Bryte Cleaner
The Cerama Bryte Ceramic Cooktop Cleaner really does make your stovetop look new again!  

My smooth surface cooktop is 20+ years old, I cook on it almost every day, and it will still clean and shine up beautifully.  My secret to a beautiful smooth surface cooktop is really no secret, but I am often surprised by how many people do not know about Cerama Bryte.

It easily removed splatters, grease, fingerprints, etc. Even when potatoes or pasta water overflows and makes a burnt-on mess, the Cerama Bryte, along with a Scrunge sponge, will clean the burner.  Occasionally, I will need to clean an area twice to get it spotless, but it will come clean. 

When I first had my smoothtop cooktop installed, I was hesitant to use the Scrunge scrub sponge for fear that it would scratch the surface.  However, in over 20 years of cleaning, it has not scratched it or harmed the stovetop in any way.

To this day, I love my smooth cooktop.  Sadly, I have heard several people lament that they removed their smooth cooktop because they couldn't get it as clean as new. That is a shame!  If only they had known about Cerama Bryte and the Scrunge scrub sponge, they would still be enjoying their lovely smooth surface cooktop.

 

Cerama Bryte Cleaner

Cerama Bryte Ceramic Cooktop Cleaner

 Cerama Bryte Ceramic Cooktop Cleaner 28 OzCheck PriceWithout Cerama Bryte, I know I would be listed among the disappointed customers who gave up on their smooth-surface cooktop.  Being able to thoroughly clean the cooktop without damaging it, really does make all the difference in the world!

I think my smooth surface cooktop looks almost as good as it did the day it was installed 20 years ago and it certainly looks just as clean, maybe even better.

A bottle of Cerama Bryte lasts a long time. I purchased two bottles the last time I bought it a few years ago and my second bottle (shown in the pictures) is still half full.

I replace my sponge about every six months.  I rinse it and squeeze it out thoroughly after each use, then let it air dry.  After it is dry, I store it in a Ziploc sandwich bag.

To clean a smooth top cooktop:   

Squeeze Cerama Bryte Cooktop Cleaner on the cooktop. With the rough side of a damp Scrunge sponge, spread the cleaner across the entire surface, bearing down slightly on any burnt-on food.  Wipe the cleaner off with the smooth side of the sponge, then completely dry the cooktop surface with a soft cloth or kitchen towel.  

Rinse your sponge and allow it to air dry for multiple uses. 




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 6, 2022

Luscious Lemon Cake with Lemon Cream Frosting Recipe

For my birthday this past year, my husband decided he wanted to make me a birthday cake. He said that I bake cakes for everyone else for their birthdays and he thought I should have the gift of a specialty cake too.  When he asked me what kind of cake I wanted, I told him I wanted something I had never made or eaten before.  I wanted a lemon cake that actually had lemon in the cake, not just a white cake topped with lemon frosting.  

Did it deter him that I did not have a recipe for him to use?  No, it did not.  If anything, he got really excited about baking a cake that no one we know had ever made before.

He searched high and low, through my recipe books and I think even online for a lemon cake recipe. Truthfully, I didn't realize I had given him such a difficult task.  I am the only family member who loves everything lemon.  When it comes to cakes, most of the family prefers either German chocolate or chocolate cake.  For many years, my mother has made me a lemon meringue pie for my birthday, which is her specialty.

I went to visit my parents the day before my birthday.  When I returned home, my husband had made me a luscious lemon cake with lemon frosting.  He even sprinkled lemon zest on the top! It is one of the best gifts I have ever received and most definitely the best cake I have ever eaten.  I truly appreciate his thoughtfulness and determination.  What makes it even more special is that it is the first cake he had ever baked.  He has helped me prep for cakes before, but he had never been the cake chef before. 

He agreed to let me share his lemon cake recipe here, but I won't share my baker.  


Lemon Cake with Creamy Lemon Frosting Recipe

Prep Time Cook Time Ready In Yields
1 hr. 35 min. 3½ hrs.
1 Cake

     Note:  Before you begin, set out your butter. It needs to be a room temperature 

Lemon Cake Ingredients 

  • 2¼ cups Swans Down Cake Flour
  • 1 Tablespoon baking Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt 
  •  4 large egg whites
  • 1¼ cup buttermilk (we like the Bulgarian buttermilk)
  • 1½ cups sugar 
  • 8 Tablespoons unsalted butter - room temperature
  • 2 Tablespoons grated lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon pure lemon extract

 

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350° 
  2. Butter & flour two 8" cake pans
  3. Set 8" cake pan liners in pans and butter them   
  4. In a small mixing bowl, whisk together buttermilk & egg whites (set aside buttermilk mixture)
  5. In a large bowl, combine the cake flour, baking powder and salt.  (set aside flour mixture)
  6. In a separate large bowl, combine sugar & lemon zest by rubbing them together with your fingers until moist.  Add the butter and beat on medium speed for 3 minutes.  Beat in lemon extract.
  7. Gradually mix flour mixture and buttermilk mixture into your sugar-zest mixture, alternating the flour & buttermilk mixture & beating well after each addition until batter is smooth 
  8. Bake at 350° for 35 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean
  9. Let Cool for 5 minutes, remove from cake pans.  
  10. Remove cake pan liner by gently rolling it off the cake
  11. Let cool completely, approximately 1 hour
  12. In the meantime, set out cream cheese & butter for lemon frosting recipe so they can warm to room temperature

 

Lemon Frosting Recipe

  • 8 ounce cream cheese - softened
  • 8 Tablespoons unsalted butter - room temperature
  • 1/8 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 ¾ cups powdered sugar - sifted
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice - freshly squeezed
  • 1 Tablespoon grated lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Using a mixer, beat the cream cheese and butter together until smooth
  2. Slowly add powdered sugar, salt, lemon zest, 1 Tablespoon lemon juice, vanilla extract
  3. Beat on high speed for several minutes, then add the remaining 1 Tablespoon to lemon juice if desired for taste 
  4. Frost the cake, decorate with lemon zest if desired & serve
 
This cake should be refrigerated 
 

 

Cake Pan Liners

 
I started using cake pan liners several years ago with my German chocolate cakes.  I found that they allow me to remove the cake easily from the pan and they keep the cake from breaking apart during removal.  
 
To remove the liner, after I place the cake layer on a plate (bottom side up) I gently roll the liner off the cake.  In spite of what advertising claims, the liner will stick slightly, which is why I choose to roll it (like cowboys roll cigarettes) instead of pulling it off.


     


    Check Out More Recipe Reviews at
    ReviewThisRecipes.com






    Lemon Cake with Lemon Cream Frosting Recipe Written by:
    House of Sylvestermouse





    © 2021 Cynthia Sylvestermouse
     



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 29, 2022

As Luck Would Have It - Hallmark Movie Review

As Luck Would Have It

The Hallmark channel is always a reliable source for clean, romantic movies or fun mysteries without the gory scenes.  

For those of us who love Hallmark movies, we don't mind that they are often predictable.  After all, a lot of movies are predictable, especially if you search for a movie by category. 

On Hallmark, viewers don't have to worry about uncomfortable scenes in mixed company or with children in the house.  Personally, I don't like having inappropriate or disgusting images burned into my mind.  Therefore, Hallmark is my favorite movie channel, even if the movies are often described by some as cookie-cutter.

As luck would have it, I recently happened upon this sweet romantic movie starring Joanna Garcia Swisher.  I liked it so much that I watched it twice in one week. I kept trying to place why Swisher felt so familiar to me.  Then it dawned on me: she is one of the main characters in the TV series, Sweet Magnolias.  Her character in both this movie and the TV series are very similar and easily likable. 

Allen Leech is also a familiar face thanks to his role as Tom Branson in Downton Abbey.  Fans will also note similarities between his characters, Tom and Brennan.  Again, he is likable in spite of, or perhaps because of, his Irish temperament. 

Together, they make a lovely couple!

 

As Luck Would Have It  (2021)  Hallmark Movie

Lindsey Johnson is a young, single, vivacious go-getter that works for a real estate developing company that has its eye on purchasing a specific piece of land in Kilabbey, Ireland.  However, there is one big problem in the way.  Currently, an old castle is built on the property.  The Krispen Group, Lindsey's employer, wants to buy the land, tear down the castle, and build a new resort hotel in its place.

 As Luck Would Have ItCheck PriceThe Kilabbey town inherited the castle and the property from the last original family member.  The town council's desire is to refurbish the castle and maintain the history of this gorgeous landmark.

There is a clash when the protectors of history meet with the ambitious developers who want to change everything. The Krispen Group is not the first company to want to swoop in and grab the desired property. To date, the town council has held firm on not selling to anyone who wants to replace the castle, a cherished landmark in the heart of the town.

As the Krispen Group's most experienced and successful representative, Lindsey arrives in Kilabbey right before the annual Match Making festival.  This big event brings a lot of tourists to Kilabbey in the hopes of finding true love, as well as guests who have wonderful memories of past festivals.  The final festival celebration is always held in the Ballydonal castle, which was the original festival site.

Due to the city council's refusal of the Krispen Groups proposal, Lindsey decides to stay in Kilabbey in the hopes of finding a way to get them to accept their offer.  

The week long Match Making Festival in Kilabbey provides tremendous insight into the town, the people, their love for their history, and their beloved castle.  Plus, Lindsey makes new friends from other parts of the world who treasure Kilabbey, the castle, and their festival.

 

 



"As Luck Would Have It" is a must-see movie for those who love romantic movies, as well as those who love a touch of history. The setting is gorgeous and will make you want to visit the fictional town of Kilabbey, Ireland or better yet, travel to Dublin Ireland and tour Howth Castle where the movie was actally filmed.

 

2 Ways to Watch "As Luck Would Have It"

 

 

More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



As Luck Would Have It - Hallmark Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 22, 2022

Pampered Chef Boil-Over No More Pot Cover Splatter Guard Reviewed

Boil-Over No More
When I was invited to a Pampered Chef party recently, I attended only because a friend was hosting it.  I have a few Pampered Chef items in my kitchen and love them, but I wasn't shopping their catalog or seeking more of the products before I received the party invitation.  I ended up finding several new products that I really wanted in my kitchen. One of those products was the large Boil-Over No More. 

I was shocked by how much I love the Boil-Over No More pot cover. The first time I used it with my T-fal 5 quart dutch oven stockpot, I was dancing around the kitchen praising the cover.  I could not believe it actually kept the pot of boiling chicken from boiling over.  After that experience, I could hardly wait to try it while boiling potatoes, which makes a huge starch-water mess on my smooth top stove when they boil over. I was thrilled to see that the boiled potato water did not boil over.

Needless to say, this is my favorite new kitchen cooking accessory! Now I always use it instead of the pot lid and my smooth top stove stays clean. 

 

The Pampered Chef Boil-Over No More 

There are two sizes available.  I only purchased the large Boil-Over No More for my large dutch ovens or stockpot, which are the pots I use most often when when boiling anything.

The Boil-Over No More sinks slighting into the pot and has little flaps on the top for steam release.  It is almost 13" wide and will fit most standard size skillets too.  The small handles on each side allow you to easily lift the cover off.  To check the water level, I simply lift one of the flaps to peak inside the pot without removing the Boil-Over No More.  I do remove the entire cover if I need to add water.

The Boil-Over No More is dishwasher safe.  I store my cover by leaning it against the wall inside my cabinet, next to my stacked pans. That makes it very easy to locate and pull out when needed. 

 

You can purchase your own Boil-Over No More by clicking the E-bay link below.


Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 15, 2022

Emma (2020) Movie Review

Emma
I recently watched the 2020 version of "Emma" starring Anya Taylor-Joy and I was pleasantly surprised.  As a matter of fact, this "Emma" is my favorite version of the movie based on the book by Jane Austen. I have seen a few others in the past, but none quite hit the mark for me.

Anya Taylor-Joy is the perfect choice!  She is exactly how I envision Emma and she did an outstanding job of bringing the character to life. I also liked the actor (Johnny Flynn) that played the part of George Knightley.  As an added bonus, Emma's father was played by Bill Nighy who was superb.  He made me laugh out loud several times with his obsession with drafts and his ability to seem almost clueless, yet very caring, at times.

All three of these actors deserve awards for excellence.  Together, they made this movie exceptional and one I would highly recommend, especially if you are a Austen fan who has been previously disappointed by "Emma" film adaptations. 

The costumes and scenery are additional elements that made this movie great.  Alexandra Byrne also deserves an award for perhaps being the best Regency-era costume designer ever.  Emma's wardrobe was totally fabulous.


Emma (2020)

 Emma (2020) [DVD]Check PriceEmma Woodhouse is not immediately interested in romance and marriage for herself, but she does believe she is the perfect matchmaker due to her recent "success" of introducing her former governess to a local widower, which resulted in marriage.  This self-appointed "occupation" puts her in some rather delicate situations since others misunderstand her actions and intentions. 

The movie begins on her former governess's wedding day and we quickly meet most of the main characters.  Her neighbor and friend, Mr. Knightley, did not attend the wedding, but he does come by their home afterwards to ascertain if all went well.

Emma befriends Harriet Smith, an orphan at the local boarding school.  She is determined to help Harriet by instructing her in proper manners so she can attract a husband of a higher station.  Harriet is already infatuated with one of Mr. Knightley's tenet farmers, Mr. Martin, but he is not suitable for Harriet in Emma's opinion. 

Due to her meddling, several relationships are strained, feelings are hurt, and decisions with consequences are made, but you can't help liking Emma.  Thanks to the comic relief throughout the movie, what might normally cause stress has little effect on the viewers overall mood.

While her heart to help might be admirable, Emma's actual actions show how young, arrogant, and naive she really is.  Fortunately for her, she is surrounded by people who love her and are willing to forgive.





See More Movie Reviews on
ReviewThisMovies.com



Emma (2020) Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 8, 2022

Cobbler Aprons with Pockets & Snap Front Closure Reviewed

cobbler apron
Anyone who cooks knows the value of a great apron, but you may not be familiar with the snap front cobbler apron.

For as long as I can remember, my mother has preferred the cobbler apron style which resembles a lightweight vest with pockets. Because she has several, all of my siblings and relatives (men included) have been seen sporting one of her fabulous aprons. 

I must confess, I like to wear them to cover my clothing when I am eating spaghetti or soup. Certain meals tend to "find" their way to my blouses regardless of how careful I am.  My mom's cobbler aprons have saved a lot of beautiful blouses and shirts over the years.

Cobbler aprons are easy to slip on and snap closed, plus they have pockets for cell phones, jewelry you may need to slip off while cooking, or recipe cards.  Because they are lightweight, they don't make you hot while cooking and there are no ties that come untied or hinder you when moving around the kitchen.

In the past, the lightweight cobbler aprons my mom prefers, were very hard to find. However, thanks to online shopping, they have become much easier to acquire.

Even though my mom is small, we buy the aprons in the large size which truly allows anyone in our family to wear them when needed. Mom and I have found them to be fabulous when crafting too!


Cobbler Aprons with Pockets & Snap Front Closure

AmeriMark Easy-Care Snap Front Cobbler Aprons Vest with Two Patch PocketsAmeriMark Easy-Care Snap Front Cobbler Aprons Vest with Two Patch PocketsCheck PriceCobbler aprons are available in a variety of fabric patterns that include flowers, animals, birds, butterflies, nautical, holiday, and even abstract art designs are options.

If you have trouble tying apron ties, or keeping them tied, you will love the cobbler apron which simply snaps in the front.

Because they are made of a cotton-blend material, they can be machine washed and dried often.  

Like my mom, the cobbler apron could easily become your favorite apron to grab when working in the kitchen, for light gardening, or crafting. The pockets really do make them more universal in appeal and practical use.




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 1, 2022

12" Baking Pans & Casserole Dish that Fit Calphalon Countertop Ovens

Countertop Oven Cookware
Last year I purchased a new Calphalon Performance Cool Touch Countertop Oven, which I still love and use often.  The biggest challenge I had when I purchased my countertop oven was finding baking dishes that were large enough for meals, but small enough to fit inside the oven.  

The interior rack is approximately 13" x 11" which is misleading because it sounds like most standard baking pans would fit, however most do not fit due to handles or depth size.  Therefore, I needed new cake pans, pizza pans and a casserole dish that didn't slant at the top or have handles.  Surprisingly, the casserole dish was not easy to find.

Most cookware is measured at the bottom.  A standard cake pan bottom will be 12" x 8½", but the top measurement is closer to 15" x 10" and will not fit in a 13" (interior measurement) countertop oven.

In addition to handles, casserole dishes often have rolled edges or "lips", which means the lovely top of the casserole dish ends up making that dish to big for a countertop oven.  Needless to say, when I found a plain, flat sided 12½" casserole dish, I was thrilled. 


My 12½" White Casserole Dish that Fits My Countertop Oven

 HIC Oblong Rectangular Baking Dish Roasting Lasagna Pan,
Fine White Porcelain
Check Price
During my search, I found I had to rely on customer reviews by individuals who actually measured the cookware.  Ironically, in most cases, they were complaining that the dish was slightly smaller than advertised.  For me, that half-inch made all the difference.  I assume the seller measured the outside of the box instead of the actual dish, which is actually a pretty common mistake when writing a listing online. 

Not only does this awesome casserole dish fit my countertop oven, it is also dishwasher safe

I have used this casserole dish for lasagna, lemon chicken, pork chop casserole and more.  All of these dinners easily fit inside the dish and cook splendidly. I have not cooked a cake yet, but other reviews indicate that it is also great for a cake or brownies. 

This is a must-have casserole dish for 13" (interior) countertop ovens!


12" Pizza Pans & Other Bakeware

 Pizza Baking Pan Pizza Tray - Deedro 12 inch Stainless Steel Pizza Pan Round Pizza Baking Sheet Oven Tray Pizza Crisper Pan, Healthy Pizza Cooking Pan for Oven, 2 PackCheck PricePizza pans were another challenge.  I had never considered the size of a pizza pan before.  It simply isn't an issue in a regular oven.  However, all of my pizza pans have handle grips and are over 14" wide, which is too large for the countertop oven.  Therefore, the pizza pan search began and it was just as hard as the casserole dish.

My Calphalon Countertop Oven included one pizza pan.  Since my husband and I do not like the same toppings, I always prepare two pizzas for dinner.  Therefore, I needed a second pizza pan.

I was very excited to find the pizza pans featured on the right.  They come in a set of two, which is actually great.  That means I now have 3 pizza pans that will fit in my countertop oven.  That is pretty awesome when our son is here for dinner too.

I have also used these pizza pans as baking trays under pies.

In addition to the casserole dish and pizza pans above, I bought a set of small baking trays & pans for cookies, toast, cobblers, etc. A separate bread pan is not necessary since loaf pans already fit the countertop oven.





Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com



House of Sylvestermouse






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 25, 2022

Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Brownie Mix with Chocolate Chips in the Mix Reviewed

Brown Mix
I recently tried Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Brownie Mix made with a special ingredient and loved it!  

My sister, sister-in-law and I went shopping together before Christmas.  When I spotted the Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Brownie Mix, I commented that I would like to try it because it included the chocolate chips.  While I rarely use baking mixes, I thought using the mix might make the Christmas baking a little easier.

The sales associate of the kitchen shoppe offered to make a batch of her brownies so we could taste them.  She had a special ingredient she added that she thought we would want to try.  I am so glad we accepted her offer.  They were the best brownies I have ever eaten.  

Needless to say, we left the shoppe with several gift bags that included the brownie mix and the shoppe's special ingredient, blood orange olive oil.

 

Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Brownie Mix

 Ghirardelli Brownie Mix, Dark Chocolate, 20 ozCheck PriceThe #1 reason I wanted to try the Ghirardelli mix is because it included chocolate chips and required only 1 egg, water and olive oil to make.  Those are ingredients that are always in my kitchen.

Using the newly discovered blood orange olive oil gives these delicious brownies an extra punch with a slight taste of orange. Everyone in my family loves them!  I definitely look forward to using the blood orange olive oil in additional recipes.

We don't all agree on whether brownies should be iced or not, so I make a small recipe of icing.  Those who want the icing don't agree on whether it should have nuts or not, so I divide the icing in half and mix walnuts or pecans in half of the icing.  Therefore, one batch of brownies makes 3 different treats.  Add a scoop of ice cream and you have the perfect dessert.

 

Easy Brownie Frosting Recipe

Brownies
*Baking Products are Linked in recipe so you can see recommended product packaging. 
However, prices are based on shipped products. 
Most likely, the items will be much less expensive in your local grocery store.
  1. In a medium mixing bowl, stir powdered sugar and cocoa together.  
  2. Heat butter & milk together in a small saucepan to melt the butter.  
  3. Gradually beat (with a hand mixer) the butter & milk into the cocoa/sugar mixture until smooth.  
  4. Stir in pecans or walnuts, if desired.


Brownies
Pampered Chef Brownie Pan for Perfectly Shaped Brownies

 

A Note about the Specialty Shoppe We Visited

As far as I know, the Bazaar Orange Olive Oil that we purchased is only sold at the Bazaar store in Collierville, Tn, located in the historic Collierville Town Square.  Sadly, I couldn't find an online resource. 

If you love to cook and are ever in Collierville, Tn, you should definitely plan to spend a few hours in this store.  It isn't a big store, but it is packed with fabulous unique kitchen items, including their specialty oils and vinegars.  I love this kitchen specialty store and their extremely helpful sales associates! 



Check Out More Recipe Reviews at
ReviewThisRecipes.com






Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Brownie Mix with Chocolate Chips in the Mix Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





© 2021 Cynthia Sylvestermouse
 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 18, 2022

Adorable 15 Piece Kids Toy Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case Reviewed

Tin Tea Set
My parents have a new family that just moved in next door. There are two little girls in the family and my mother wanted to give them a special gift for Christmas this year. Plus, it was the perfect way to welcome them to the neighborhood. 

She selected a tin tea set and asked my opinion. I loved the idea!  After all, I still have pieces of a small tin tea set that I had as a child.  The little plates and cups certainly evoke wonderful memories and I wish I still had the full set. 

The tea set my mom chose came with a carrying case. How awesome is that! I couldn't help but think how I wish my set had come with a carrying case.  Perhaps, I would still have the full set if the case was included.  I carried my set around in a brown paper lunch bag, which is most likely why some of the pieces are missing.  

I also loved the design on the set my mom gave the girls. It has kitties on it.  My set has a sweet floral design, but the kitties are adorable.

This leaves me wondering, am I too old to start a collection of delightfully decorated children's tin tea sets?  Nope! I am not.  My husband better prepare to participate in my upcoming tea parties.  I think we will ask our dog, Merlin, to attend too if he promises not eat all of the teacakes.


15 Piece Kids Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case
Several Designs Available

 Jewelkeeper 15 Piece Kids Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case - Cat DesignCheck PriceThe tea sets include a lidded teapot, tray, 4 plates, 4 tea cups, 4 saucers, and the fabulous matching carrying case.  The tea set can be washed by hand and used for many delightful tea parties.  

The tea pot and the cups will hold a small amount of liquid, which is perfect for young children who wish to entertain.

The real benefit to using a tin tea set is that they will not break. 

I am featuring a few of my favorite designs below, but there are others also available.  You can choose the kitties, dogs, unicorns, llamas, horses, or even a ballerina.  There are also jungle and safari sets.  The designs and colors are all awesome!  Now you understand why I said I would like to start my own collection of tin tea sets.  It is hard to choose just one.



Check Out More Toy Reviews
ReviewThisToyReviews.com


Adorable 15 Piece Kids Toy Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 11, 2022

The Innkeeper and the Fugitive (Tales from the Highlands Book 3) Book Review

the innkeeper and the fugitive
Every once in a while I come across a series where each book is worthy of a separate review.  That is the case with the "Tales from the Highlands" by Martha Keyes.  All of the books have been captivating and have characters we wish to see succeed and others we wish could be brought to justice.

Angus MacKinnon has been the antagonist throughout the series. He is the self-centered laird of Benleith who stops at nothing to get what he wants, including kidnapping women and shipping them to the colonies for lives of servitude. 

Glenna, who is a maid at Glengour Inn, is another character in all of the books.  She is one of the women that Angus kidnapped previously, but she was rescued before the ship sailed. Needless to say, she abhors Angus. 

Christina and Lachlan Kincade own Glengour Inn, as well as the Dunverlockie castle and surrounding estate.  Because Christina was originally married to Angus' cousin, he believes Dunverlockie rightfully belongs to his clan.

Knowing these characters and the previous interactions with one another allows the reader to fully follow the story-line established in book one and continuing with each subsequent book.  Therefore, I highly recommend starting with The Widow and the Highlander, but this is a great story with or without the previous books.

 

The Innkeeper and the Fugitive
Tales from the Highlands Series - Scotland 1763

 The Innkeeper and the Fugitive
(Tales from the Highlands Book 3)
Check Price
In a desperate attempt to escape an unwanted marriage, Ana MacMorran must flee her home.  Her father is determined to see her wed Angus MacKinnon, which would unite their material & monetary holdings.  But, Ana knows Angus is a cruel man and she harbors no illusion that he would be kind to a wife.  She pleads with her father, but he will not relent.  As far as her father is concerned, she is underage, he has pledged her to Angus, and she will marry him.  

Having heard that the tinker and his wife are traveling through town, stopping at the Glengour Inn, Ana runs in the hopes that they will allow her to leave the area with them.  If they will simply take her as far as Fort William, she could get a ride to Glasgow where she can seek refuge with a childhood friend who previously planned to marry her.  Unfortunately, Ana arrives too late and the tinker has already left.  She decides to hide in the inn's stable for the night.

When Hamish, the innkeeper, discovers a woman in the stable, he assumes she is the new cook, Dorcas, they have been expecting.  Ana seizes the opportunity to hide in plain sight under another woman's identity. She hopes that will give her time to send word to her friend to come and get her.  Plus, as a cook, she can hide from the town's people by staying in the kitchen. It is not a perfect plan, but it is the best she has for now. However, Glenna recognizes her and Ana fears it is over for her even before she had any real chance of escape. But, Glenna has great sympathy for her and agrees to help her hide, covering for her when she might be expected to show her face in the inn.

As the days go by, everything seems to slip into a routine.  That is, until the real Dorcas MacGurk arrives.     





You may also be interested in reading my reviews of the first 2 books in the series

the Widow and the HighlanderBook 1 - The Widow and the Highlander Book Review The Widow and the Highlander - excellent book. When Christina's husband dies, she is sole heir. His family is not willing to let her have the estate and are determined to regain control of the estate one way or another.

The Enemy and Miss InnesBook 2 - The Enemy and Miss Innes
The Enemy and Miss Innes is a wonderful romantic historical fiction about enemies who unite against common foe. This is the 2nd book in fabulous Tales from the Highlands series by Martha Keyes



Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X