Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts

Friday, June 7, 2024

Zevo Flying Insect Trap to Catch Flies & Gnats Reviewed

zevo flying insect trap
I always welcome spring with open arms, but I don't always welcome the house flies, gnats and fruit flies that come with it.  I especially do not want to welcome these flying insects into my home.  Unfortunately, they come anyway.  

Last year, I purchased a Zevo Flying Insect Trap.  The design appealed to me because the blue light attracts flying insects, but I don't have to see their little dead bodies constantly on display.  It actually looks like a plugged-in nightlight.  All you see is the white backside of the unit and the reflection of the blue light on the wall.  I  prefer this design in my kitchen, which is the area all of those pesky flying insects frequent most often. 

I recently purchased a second Zevo Flying Insect Trap which I placed at the other end of my kitchen as an invitation to those flying "guests" that zip past the first trap that is plugged in closer to our back door. I may not keep it plugged in all of the time, but simply use it when we are going in and out of the back door often.

Further down in this article, I will share pictures, which are unpleasant to view, but necessary for me to show you the efficacy of the unit. 


The Zevo Flying Insect Trap 

The trap draws flying insects with a blue light.  The insects are then trapped on the sticky removable/replaceable insert.

These traps do require a plug-in outlet to power the blue light.  I used an outlet close to our backdoor that is otherwise rarely used.  I leave the unit plugged-in at all times.

Be sure to check the box you are purchasing.  The "starter kit" comes with one device and one cartridge, but you can select different options that come with more than one cartridge to have refills on hand. 

  • White 
  • Plastic
  • Odorless
  • 7.56"L x 7"W x 9.37"H


Images - All by Sylvestermouse -- Please keep in mind, one of these images is unpleasant to see

Zevo trap
This is the Zevo Trap Plugged In & Showing the blue light

 

zevo flying insect trap




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, May 31, 2024

Door Security Bar - Door Jammer Reviewed

door security bar
We have two back doors in our home and both have door security bars on them at night.  I love having multiple doors in our home for my own use, but I hate that they could be a security problem and potential intruder access.  Let me tell you how I ever found out about door security bars.  Frankly, I would never live in any home without them.

When our daughter moved out into her first apartment, I openly expressed my concern for the placement of the front door.  The apartment manager recommended a door security bar that our daughter could easily put in place when she was home.  The manager said it was better than a deadbolt lock because it couldn't be kicked in like a door frame.  I was intrigued by this suggestion since I had never seen a door security bar.  For a very small amount of money, we purchased one and immediately tried it out.  It was so effective for our daughter, that I purchased two for our home.

That was years ago and several moves due to her career.  Her next apartment required two security bars.  She told me that she loved being able to enter through her kitchen door and easily see the front door security bar was still in place.  I understood the peace of mind it provided her.  Since then, she has had door security bars in every home, in every city, in every country she has lived in.  

If we are driving when we travel, we have taken a door security bar to hotels with us.  They won't travel well on airplanes, but we can easily slip one in our car.

When the door security bars are properly in place, no one has ever been able to push through one in our experience and we have tried.  They need to be firmly wedged at an angle under the door handle.  I give the base of ours a little kick with the side of my foot to make sure it is tight and secure.  Think of the movies when you have seen damsels in distress put a leaning chair under the door handle.  It works exactly the same way, just doesn't take up as much space.


Master Lock Door Security Bar

These security bars work well in my home.  They easily fit under our door handles and grip the tile or hardwood floors. They may not be very pretty, but security is worth more than beauty.

We remove our door security bar each morning and put it back up at night.  Since we never adjust the length of the bars we have on the back doors, they are easy to pull out from under the door handle and set them behind/beside the door for the day.  Then, we shove them back in place at night.

 
  • 20 Gauge Steel Construction
  • Easy to Remove & Put Back in Place
  • Adjustable Length
  • Pivoting Ball Joint on Foot Assures Full Contact with the Floor
  • Fits Most Standard Doors
  • Works in Sliding Doors too
  • Remove Y-connector for Door Handle to Use with Sliding Doors
  • Won't Damage Floors
  • No Tools Required
 Master Lock door security Bar, Adjustable from 27-1/2 in. to 42 in., for Sliding and Front doorsCheck Price

There are a few things you need to remember when using the door security bars.

  • Place them at an angle, like you see in the picture. Not straight up and down under the door knob
  • Wedge them firmly between the door knob and the floor
  • Do not place them on moveable mats - they need to be able to grip the floor


As I was preparing to write this review, I noticed there are knock-offs that are so thin that they bend.  I have purchased the door security bar shown below 5 times.  Unless Master changes the way they are manufacturing their security bar, this is the brand I would recommend.  Otherwise, search for one that is made with 20 gauge steel.  Keep in mind, steel is stronger than iron.

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, May 24, 2024

Cascade Platinum Dishwasher Cleaner Reviewed

cascade platinum dishwasher cleaner
In my last review, I explained why we run a washing machine cleaning packet through a new home's washing machine on move-in day.  We also run a dishwasher cleaner through the family members new home's dishwasher.

Like clothes washing machines, the dishwasher has been used by previous tenants or owners.  They may not have worried about the cleanliness of the dishwasher's interior or grease build-up on the bottom, sides or door interior.  It could also have an unpleasant odor and need cleaning.

In my own home, I keep the dishwasher cleaner tabs on-hand and use then as needed.  In the image on the right, you can see the residual grease on the inside of the dishwasher door still there after I washed the dishes.  The grease stain wouldn't just easily wipe off, so I ran the empty dishwasher with the Cascade cleaner.  

Viola!  A clean dishwasher, ready for the next load of dirty dishes.

 

Cascade Platinum Dishwasher Cleaner

 Cascade Platinum Dishwasher Cleaner, 3 countCheck PriceCleaning a dishwasher is easy when you use the convenient Cascade Platinum Dishwasher cleaner.

  • Use in an empty dishwasher
  • Eliminates odor
  • Remove grease buildup
  • Remove limescale buildup
  • Recommended use - once a month

To Use:  Simply place the Cascade Platinum Dishwasher tab in the dishwasher dispenser, close the dispenser door, and run the empty dishwasher to clean. 

 

 


 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, May 17, 2024

Tide Washing Machine Cleaner Reviewed

tide washing machine cleaner
Throughout our children's college and establishing careers years, there were many moves.  For 10+ years we were annually moving our children in and out of dorms, apartments or rented houses with used appliance.  Even now, as they buy homes, they still have used appliances.  Only once, in all of those moves, have either of them purchased a new washing machine.  Therefore, one of the first things we have done on moving day, was to start the empty washing machine with a Tide washing machine cleaner packet.

Often, the washing machines have set dormant for a week or longer.  Plus, we have no way of knowing what might have been washed in them previously.  Prior tenants clothes could have been muddy or heavily soiled.  Some of the washing machines even had a damp, nasty smell inside.  I've always felt like the washing machine tub needed to be cleaned.  We frequently opted to run them twice with the cleaning packets before regular use.

I associate the washing machine cleaning packets with moving.  However, I have recently started using them in my own washing machine.  Merlin, our Labrador Retriever, will be 16 years old this month.  He sleeps in his doggy bed at the foot of our bed.  As the years have crept up on him, he doesn't move as fast and his bed occasionally gets soiled and must be washed.  After I wash his bed cover and pillow, I use the Tide cleaning packet in our washing machine.  It might not be necessary since I set the machine for 2 rinse cycles, but I feel better knowing the machine has been washed and cleaned before I put our clothes in it.

 

Tide Washing Machine Packets

 Washing Machine Cleaner by TideCheck Price Because of the scented smell, I don't use Tide detergent on our clothes or towels, but I do love the Tide packets for cleaning the empty washing machine. 

As you can see in the photo above, I have a top loading machine but the packets are safe to use in the front loading machines too. 

I can tell you from experience that the Tide packets do leave the washing machine smelling good and clean.  

According to Tide, the cleaning packets activate faster than the regular washing tabs.  Plus, they have added Oxi to the washing machine cleaner to "boost the cleaning action".

To use:  Simply add one packet into the empty washing machine tub and run a normal wash cycle using hot water.

You will be amazed by the difference it makes!

  

For more moving tips, be sure to visit Sam Monaco's review, "How to Plan for a Move"

 


 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, May 10, 2024

Lego Creator 3 in 1 Forest Animals Set: Red Fox, Owl & Squirrel #31154 Reviewed

lego fox
Lego has been a part of our lives and home decor for decades.  While I have played my part by sorting and organizing pieces, I have never built a Lego set.  I love the Botanical Collection introduced in 2021, but haven't started building a set myself.  However, that is all about to change.

For years, I have perused the Lego catalog seeking out new sets to give my son, hoping I could find one he would like, but had not seen before.  Recently, I discovered the #31154 "Lego Creator Forest Animals: Red Fox" that was released on March 1, 2024 and is now available on Amazon.  I am so excited!  

I love that fox!!!  

This is one of the sets that you can choose from a few options which animal you wish to build.  It comes with instructions for the fox, an owl or a squirrel.  They all use the same pieces simply put together in a different way to create a specific animal.  I happen to love owls and squirrels too, but I will be building the fox.  It is highly unlikely I will ever take him apart so if I want an owl or a squirrel, I will need to buy another set.  

Now, I just need to enlist my son to sort the piece the pieces for me so I can start building immediately. 

 

Lego Forest Animals Set:  Red Fox, Owl & Squirrel

This Lego set has 667 pieces and is recommended for 9+ ages.  Once built, the animals are posable thanks to the special moveable pieces included.  For instance, the fox can sit or stand, open his mouth, or even turn his tail & head. The owl can turn her head.  

As with a real life squirrel, the squirrel is ready to scour the ground for food and has his very own acorn to have and hold.  Plus, he can stand on 2 or 4 feet which is also very lifelike.   

  • Build a fox, owl or squirrel
  • Owl on perch stands 7 inches  (tallest statue form)
  • Posable animals with movable features
  • 667 pieces
  • Recommended for ages 9+ 
lego creator 3 in 1

 


More Lego Sets & Shelves Reviewed 

Lego The Office SetLego Bouquet Roses Set #10328 Reviewed
Give or build a Lego Bouquet of Roses. Lego roses make a lovely decoration of flowers that won't die. They are the perfect gift for someone you love.

Lego The Office SetLego The Office Set #21336 Reviewed
If you love the tv series, The Office, you will definitely love The Office Lego Set. Lots of The Office specific fun pieces included, plus minifigures

Lego Disney CastleLego Carousel Creator Expert Set #10257 Reviewed
The Lego Carousel Creator Expert Set #10257 is a fabulous & beautiful design. Somewhat challenging to build but worth it. Animal rides & carousel move

Lego Disney CastleLEGO Creator Winter Toy Shop Reviewed
The Lego Creator Winter Toy Shop is fun to build AND fun decor, even as a centerpiece, during the holidays. Toy shop in the winter scene is fabulous!

Lego Disney CastleLEGO Disney Castle Set - Cinderella's Castle Lego Set #71040 Reviewed
With its impressive details, arched doorway, stunning spires & turrets, the Lego Disney Castle Set is a fabulous replica of the real Cinderella Castle.

Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion LegoScooby-Doo Mystery Mansion Lego Kit Reviewed
Lego & Scooby Doo fans will love this awesome Lego set. The Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion is the perfect treat for Halloween or anytime for kids & adults.

Winnie the Pooh LegoDisney Winnie the Pooh #21326 Lego Set Reviewed
Those who love Winnie-the-Pooh & Legos are thrilled with the Winnie Lego set! It includes Pooh, Piglet, Tigger, Eeyore, Rabbit & Poohs treehouse home.

Lego Display ShelvesThe Perfect Lego Display Shelves Reviewed
Completed Lego sets need a safe place for display. I recently purchased the perfect bookcase shelves for Lego display!








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, May 3, 2024

Gilded Newport Mysteries: Murder at the Breakers (2024) Movie Review

murder at the breakers

MbgPhoto recently published her review of the Cozy Mystery Genre and that made me yearn to watch a new cozy mystery movie.  

I suspect I have always enjoyed cozy mysteries but didn't really know the proper category to search until I started reading reviews on ReviewThisReviews and learned the name of the genre.  

I've never liked gory thrillers or horror films, although I have watched many of them in my lifetime, even reviewed a few over the last decade, but I have always loved a good mystery.  Thus the reason I love Sherlock Holmes and Poirot.  While I have not found anything comparable to Poirot or Sherlock, I have enjoyed some great cozy mystery movies. 

was drawn to this movie because of the time period setting.  I love the Gilded Age era fashion.  However, I would be the first to admit, I do not admire the "classes" of that era or the way workers were trampled on so the elitist class could get richer, faster.  I do have to suspend reality to enjoy some fiction and I did enjoy watching the Gilded Newport Mysteries.

 

Gilded Newport Mysteries: Murder at the Breakers Synopsis  

Emma Vanderbilt-Cross is the niece of Cornelius Vanderbilt and the daughter of a Vanderbilt who married below her station.  Emma is not an heiress to any of the Vanderbilt money, but is still included in society as a Vanderbilt.  She prefers to remain unmarried, at least for a while, as she considers her options.  She enjoys writing articles for the "Fashions and Fancies" women's section in the Newport Observer newspaper, which pays the bills.  She would love to write a novel, but she realizes that would bring scandal upon the Vanderbilt family.

She has been invited to a ball being given for her cousin at the Vanderbilt's summer home, The Breakers.  Emma is determined to include her half-brother (her father's son before he married her mother) and takes Brady to the ball as her guest.

Unfortunately, when her uncle's business advisor is murdered at the ball, Brady appears to be the murderer.  Of course, it would not be a great mystery if everything was so obvious and I will admit, I was surprised to find out the identity of the real murderer.

A very entertaining mystery indeed!  And, a touch of romance just for fun.

 


 

A Note About The Breakers Mansion - Current Day

"The Breakers" is in fact the name of the Vanderbilt mansion in Newport, Rhode Island.  It was the real Cornelius Vanderbilt II's summer home.  It is now a museum that is owned and maintained by the Preservation Society.

____________

 

I watched The Gilded Newport Mysteries series on Frndly TV, a subscription streaming service, but it may also be available on other subscription services that include Hallmark Murders & Mysteries.


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Gilded Newport Mysteries: Murder at the Breakers by:
House of Sylvestermouse
-




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, April 26, 2024

Lego Bouquet Roses Set #10328 Reviewed

lego roses
Mother's Day is just a few weeks away.  The first gift idea that always comes to mind is a bouquet of roses.  Both my mother and I love roses, but we do hate throwing them away when they die. However, there is a fantastic alternative to live roses.  LEGO Roses!

For less than the cost of sending a dozen roses, you can purchase the Lego complete set of a dozen roses that includes Lego baby's breath.  Either make the bouquet set in advance to give your mother or give her the set and make them together.  Spending a few hours creating the lovely bouquet with her would be a wonderful memory she will treasure forever in addition to having the bouquet of Lego roses to remind her of you with each glance.  I know from experience, this will be one of her fondest gifts and memories.

My son has always been a Lego enthusiast.  I have priceless memories of watching him assemble dozens of intricate Lego masterpieces.  As a child, he often used our dining room table as his workspace and I had the privilege of sitting with him and sorting the pieces for him while he built something remarkable.  Not only did he build an awe inspiring Lego creation, but it allowed us to build a stronger bond with one another.  

Lego sets are not just for kids!  Even my adult daughter, who is not a Lego enthusiast, built a Lego flower bouquet for her own dining room table that her brother sent to her from Christmas last year.  Neither of them were able to take off to travel last year, but they were able to exchange thoughtful gifts.  It didn't surprise me one bit to hear that my son sent her a Lego bouquet set, but I admit, it did surprise me that she promptly set down to put it together.  She loves it!

Whether you are able to be with your mom on Mother's Day to build the bouquet together or give her the finished bouquet, she is sure to love it!  


Bouquet of Roses Lego Set #10328

lego roses
Click to Check Price or Purchase

This Lego set comes with everything you need, except a vase.  This set is recommended by Lego for ages 18+ and is designed for adults.  I would personally rate this set at 10+. I have no doubt younger creators can master it as well, especially if they have built Legos in the past.  

There are Lego roses in the set that are built in all 3 stages of a flower from bud, blooming to full bloom.  Together, they make a realistic and lovely bouquet of a dozen roses interlaced with Lego baby's breath.

Experienced Lego builders will have this set finished in about 2 or 3 hours.

  • 822 pieces
 

This bouquet of roses would be the perfect gift for Mother's Day, Valentines Day, a birthday or just to say I love you!



If you prefer a mixed bouquet or a single stem, there is a Lego set for you too!

Lego Flowers
Lego Flowers & Lego Bouquet Sets Reviewed

Lego flowers & bouquets offer Lego lovers a great gift to give someone they love. Lego flowers never die & will always be a decorative reminder of you!



More Lego Sets & Shelves Reviewed 

Lego The Office SetLego The Office Set #21336 Reviewed
If you love the tv series, The Office, you will definitely love The Office Lego Set. Lots of The Office specific fun pieces included, plus minifigures

Lego Disney CastleLego Carousel Creator Expert Set #10257 Reviewed
The Lego Carousel Creator Expert Set #10257 is a fabulous & beautiful design. Somewhat challenging to build but worth it. Animal rides & carousel move

Lego Disney CastleLEGO Creator Winter Toy Shop Reviewed
The Lego Creator Winter Toy Shop is fun to build AND fun decor, even as a centerpiece, during the holidays. Toy shop in the winter scene is fabulous!

Lego Disney CastleLEGO Disney Castle Set - Cinderella's Castle Lego Set #71040 Reviewed
With its impressive details, arched doorway, stunning spires & turrets, the Lego Disney Castle Set is a fabulous replica of the real Cinderella Castle.

Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion LegoScooby-Doo Mystery Mansion Lego Kit Reviewed
Lego & Scooby Doo fans will love this awesome Lego set. The Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion is the perfect treat for Halloween or anytime for kids & adults.

Winnie the Pooh LegoDisney Winnie the Pooh #21326 Lego Set Reviewed
Those who love Winnie-the-Pooh & Legos are thrilled with the Winnie Lego set! It includes Pooh, Piglet, Tigger, Eeyore, Rabbit & Poohs treehouse home.

Lego Gingerbread House SetLego Gingerbread House Set #10267 Reviewed
The Lego Gingerbread House is the perfect set for Christmas time! Many of us enjoy decorating gingerbread houses for Christmas, but ...

Spider Man LegoSpider-Man Far From Home Lego Set #76130 Reviewed
The Spiderman Far From Home Lego set has lots of awesome features including an opening hatch in the jet for Spidermans quick exit. Specs & review here.

Lego Display ShelvesThe Perfect Lego Display Shelves Reviewed
Completed Lego sets need a safe place for display. I recently purchased the perfect bookcase shelves for Lego display!





Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X