Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts

Friday, October 18, 2019

The Memphis Zoo Review

A Zoo You Must See!

The Memphis Zoo Review - Red Panda Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
The Memphis Zoo is definitely worth the drive! No matter where we go on vacation, we always take a day to visit that city's zoo.

From Florida to Hawaii we have visited zoos across the U.S.  By far, my favorite zoo is in Memphis, TN.  

The city of Memphis may be home of the Blues, Beale Street, Elvis, Graceland, Sun Studios and the Mississippi River Bluffs, but I would add the Memphis Zoo to their list of places you must see when you visit. As a matter of fact, if you ask me, it should be at the top of the list!

If you find yourself traveling through Mississippi, Arkansas or Tennessee, I would highly recommend a side trip to Memphis for a day at the zoo. 


Entrance of the Memphis Zoo at Christmas - Photo by Sylvestermouse
Entrance of the Memphis Zoo at Christmas


Entrance to the Memphis Zoo


Before you even buy your ticket and enter the zoo, you are greeted by Egyptian style architecture which is in and of itself a vision.  There are large concrete animals in rows out front where we saw parents taking pictures of their children proudly "riding" the animals.

This is your first indication of the adventure that awaits you inside the gates of the Memphis Zoo.



Tigers in Cat Country at the Memphis Zoo

The Memphis Zoo Review - Tigers in Cat Country Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse



Cat Country at the Memphis Zoo


The Memphis Zoo Review - White Tiger Photo by Sylvestermouse
White Bengal Tiger Photo by Sylvestermouse
You Can Learn More about Bengal Tigers at Amazing Wild Animals
This is one of the areas that make the Memphis Zoo spectacular. These gorgeous cats are not behind bars! They are in open fields created to mimic their natural habitat. Believe me, these "cats" can definitely make you feel like you are the prey in an African savanna with just a look.

Cat Country is the home of some of the most beautiful specimen of big cats. In addition to tigers, lions, leopards, cheetahs, and jaguar, this is also the area for a red panda, a gorgeous lynx and a family of meerkats, which are my daughter's personal favorite.

If you want to go on an African Safari for a reasonable price, this is the place for you! 

The Memphis Zoo Review - Meerkat Photo by Sylvestermouse
Meerkat Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
Click Here for Meerkat Facts & Photos


Animals of the Night at the Memphis Zoo


The Memphis Zoo Review - Cacomistle photo by Sylvestermouse
Cacomistle Photo by Sylvestermouse
This is where I first fell in love with a vampire. Step aside "Twilight", the bat was here first!

There are so many wonderful creatures in this house. This exhibit is full of nocturnal animals. I doubt we even saw them all. In addition to the bats, they have an Aardvark, a Mole Rat, a few Porcupine, several different species of Loris, a Sloth, a Wombat, a Cuscus and a lot of other night time beauties. I have never seen a better nocturnal exhibit anywhere.


The Komodo Dragon at the Memphis Zoo

The Memphis Zoo Review - Komodo Dragon Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
Komodo Dragon Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse

This dude is huge!  He made me feel like I was on exhibit for him instead of the reverse.

While the Komodo Dragon is not normally dangerous to humans, it was obvious to me that he eats mammals. Ironically, I was not the least bit intimidated by any of the big cats or the bears, but this guy scared the dickens out of me.

But don't worry, he has a gigantic fan club. I'm just not a member. 


Tropical Bird House at the Memphis Zoo


Memphis Zoo Review - Bird House Photos by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
This is another house where we could spend hours. So many beautiful birds and so little time. 

The colors on these birds are so bright & vivid.

Seeing them up close truly is better than seeing them through binoculars. In spite of the fact that I thoroughly enjoyed seeing them up close, I honestly had the desire to set them all free, but logically I know that they are healthy and well cared for by their keepers at the Memphis Zoo.

While there are lots of gorgeous birds behind glass enclosures for one to view up close, the fabulous attraction in this house is the vast open room with trees and water literally filled with birds. The sounds and sights in this area are breathtaking.

This really is a birdwatchers fantasy come true! 

Nicobar Pigeon

(Do you see the little Yellow Headed Blackbird in the background left?)



Hippos at the Memphis Zoo


The Memphis Zoo Review - Hippopotamus Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
Hippos can be viewed daily at the Memphis Zoo. These awesome Hippos recently moved into their new home, "Zambezi River Hippo Camp" 

This section of the zoo also features other animals found near the Zambezi River such as the Nile Crocodile and Okapi.
Memphis Zoo guests are able to enjoy seeing hippos both on land and below water.

Did you know that Hippos are considered the deadliest animals in Africa?  You can find out why by visiting Amazing Wild Animals!


Aquarium at the Memphis Zoo


This is another building one could explore for hours. The Aquarium is home to 156 species of marine and freshwater organisms from around the world.  The Memphis Zoo currently breeds and exhibits two species of cichlid that are extinct in the wild.

If fish, turtles, or aquatic wildlife are your passion, this is the place to be!


The Memphis Zoo Review - Aquarium Photos by Cynthia Sylvestermouse


Herpetarium at the Memphis Zoo


The Memphis Zoo Review - Poison Dart Frog Photo by Sylvestermouse
If I ever lost my son at the zoo, the Herpetarium is where I could find him. This building is literally packed with frogs, spiders, snakes, lizards and small alligators.

While there are plenty of faces crowding around the snakes, I am glad to say that we crowd around the frogs. The colors on frogs are so bright and vivid. It is hard to choose, but I think our favorite would be the Poison Dart Frog.

However, the Memphis Zoo is reknowned for being the first zoo to successfully breed the endangerd Mississippi Gopher Frog.   The Memphis Zoo has produced 93 Mississippi gopher tadpoles, a number nearly matching the 100 frogs still living in the wild.


 

Penguin Rock, Round Barn & Once Upon a Farm


The Memphis Zoo Review - Penguin Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
These are a few areas that little children especially enjoy. My daughter would never allow us to visit a zoo without locating the penquin. She adores the little "tuxedo" babies and believe me, there are plenty of penguin on Penguin Rock.

Close by is the Round Barn, an exhibit of smaller exotic hoofstock and birds. It is the home of the gazelles and warthog.

"Once Upon a Farm" is an exhibit where visitors can learn about the basics of farm life. This area is built to resemble a farm in the 1900's. They even have a working well that pumps up fresh water and everyone can enjoy a ride an old-fashioned train around the exhibit. 


China Exhibit at the Memphis Zoo


The Memphis Zoo - Panda Photo by Cynnthia Sylvestermouse
The Memphis Zoo has built a big, beautiful home for the Giant Panda Bears. 

As you enter through the gates of the China exhibit, you follow a path that leads to Ya Ya and Le Le, but long before you get to them, there are huge ponds of fish, a variety of birds, ducks and several other species native to China. There is even a little Otter. 

No question the Panda's are fantastic, but the other animals in this "house" are fascinating as well. 

The Memphis Zoo Review - Asian Small-Clawed Otter
Learn All About the Asian Small-Clawed Otter on AmazingWildAnimals.com


Primate Canyon at the Memphis Zoo


Primate Canyon is another area that features naturalistic, outdoor exhibits. This large open area is home for a variety of monkeys and apes. Monkeys, Orangutans and Gorillas abound in this exhibit.
Primate Canyon is in the center of the zoo. As a result of its location, you call hear the monkeys howling throughout the park. It opened in 1995 and has been a top favorite of Zoo visitors ever since.


Butterfly Garden


The Memphis Zoo - Luna Moth photo by Sylvestermouse
This extraordinary Butterfly Garden is one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited. It is absolutely filled with gorgeous flowers graced by lovely butterflies. Some were so exquisite that they didn't even look real, but they were definitely alive.

Not only did we see hundreds of butterflies, but my son found a Luna Moth. Because a Luna Moth has such a short life, it is rare to sight one. Clearly, seeing the Luna Moth was the highlight of our visit to the Memphis Zoo.



African Veldt at the Memphis Zoo


The Memphis Zoo Review - Giraffes Photo By Cynthia Sylvestermouse
The African Veldt is an area dedicated to Giraffes, Rhinos, Zebras, & Elephants.

We were there at just the right time to see the whole Giraffe family. Mother, father & baby giraffe all came out to eat while we were standing in front of their enclosure. While the baby may not be little next to one of us, she was absolutely dwarfed by her parents.

The African Veldt is where the ostrich and the antelope play. Okay, I admit it, this is usually the point where I start singing "home, home on the range."  Seriously, you know those little antelope look like deer.

Oh, well, at least Memphians are accustomed to various styles of musical talent and my family learned decades ago to either laugh with me or to ignore me.

The Memphis Zoo Review
Grant's Gazelles & Bongo Antelopes (laying down)



White-Naped Crane Photo by Sylvestermouse
White-Naped Crane

World of Waterfowl


This area is a more peaceful area than the rest of the zoo. It is aptly named because there are indeed a world of waterfowl!

There are two bridges to walk across and watch beautiful Swans,
Pink Flamingos or a variety of geese and ducks swimming or view a Crane just standing around.

The area around the waterfowl lake is lovely too. It would make a great background spot for photos. I have often imagined a wedding party enjoying this wonderful opportunity for outstanding and original pictures. Or, perhaps, an anniversary party.

Like all of the photos in this article, the picture of the White-Naped Crane is from my own personal photo album. I was thrilled to be able to snap this shot! 


Northwest Passage at the Memphis Zoo


Memphis Zoo Review - Polar Bear Swimming Photo by Sylvestermouse
He is Almost Close Enough to Touch!
Another one of my favorite exhibits at the Memphis Zoo is the Northwest Passage. In this exhibit there is an air conditioned, indoor viewing area where you can watch the Polar Bears swim. There are even a few stadium benches for you to sit and rest a while.

The Polar Bears are beautiful. Who would ever imagine such a large bear could be so graceful when it swims? These giant animals seem so playful and cuddly when you have a thick piece of Plexiglas between you and them. What a magnificent way to enjoy the company of bears.

Northwest Passage is also the home for the sea lion observation bubble and a 500-seat amphitheater for daily sea lion shows.
Outside the viewing area, are the Bald Eagles and the Ravens. Both of my children "talked" to the Ravens and they answered. They are beautiful, majestic birds with attitude.

This is also the area of the Black Bear. I loved this beautiful, big pawed, pacing baby! I would swear he was waving to me every time he lifted his big paw to turn around. 

I've been back to the Memphis Zoo several times since this photo was taken.  I always go by to visit this guy.  I think he is probably my favorite animal in the zoo.

The Memphis Zoo Review - Black Bear Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse


Teton Trek at the Memphis Zoo


The Memphis Zoo - Teton Trek Building Photo by Sylvestermouse
Home of the real Memphis Grizzly! 

In February, 2008, the Memphis Zoo began construction of the zoo's gorgeous Teton Trek exhibit. The four-acre Teton Trek exhibit is now home for animals native to the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem such as Grizzly Bears, Elk, Gray Wolves, Trumpeter Swans and Sandhill Crane.

I was among the guests at the Teton Trek in the Memphis Zoo the very first week it opened. Let me tell you, it is the most beautiful zoo exhibit I have ever seen, arguably the most beautiful in the world!

The entrance to the Teton Trek lodge is not only inviting, it is charming with a rustic appeal befitting it's occupants. A lovely 25 foot geyser greets visitors and even allows children, or adults, to cool off in it's spray and surrounding pool.

The Great Lodge, itself, is a two-story, 5000 sq. foot multi-purpose building suited for a gathering or dinner party and features a fabulous large fireplace. A spacious upper mezzanine provides a photo and artifact area that leads to a outside deck for animal viewing at a safe distance.

The Memphis Zoo Review - Teton Trek Lodge Photo by Sylvestermouse


For the truly adventurous, you are free to walk around the actual grounds via the boardwalk. It is extremely safe, so fear not! Don't miss the opportunity to walk through the entire park.

The Memphis Zoo Review - Grizzly Bear Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse


Read More about the Teton Trek at the Memphis Zoo

  • Teton Trek at the Memphis Zoo
    I absolutely love zoos! My all time favorite zoo is in Memphis, TN. They have been improving and adding new addtiions to the Memphis Zoo for years. Every time I go, it is like a new adventure. Their most recent addition, called Teton Trek,...



The Photos in this article are the Exclusive Property of ©Sylvestermouse.
Please Do Not Copy, Reproduce or Use the Photos without the written permission of Sylvestermouse Cynthia.

Many of the photos are available for purchase at Zazzle.com if you would like to own a legal copy.

The Photos by Sylvestermouse Available for Purchase at Zazzle.com



 
Thank you for stopping by!
Do Come Back and See Me Again!

© 2009 Cynthia Sylvestermouse - This Article was originally published on a website that has closed.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 11, 2019

Anti Fatigue Comfort Floor Mat By Sky Mats Reviewed

Anti Fatigue Comfort Floor Mat by Sky Mats Reviewed
I would be the first to say, I am extremely surprised that these anti-fatigue mats actually work! 

When we visited our daughter a few weeks ago, she had several anti-fatigue floor mats in her kitchen.  One in front of her sink and one in front of the counter they use when preparing food. Honestly, I thought they were the latest gimmick to separate us from our money.  I stood on one of her mats and thought, "wow, this really is comfortable".

Back home, I promptly ordered two anti-fatigue mats for my own kitchen.  As soon as they arrived, they were immediately placed on the hardwood floor.  Since then, I have prepared two recipes that require a lot of standing time.  Shockingly, I did not hurt after standing for over an hour either time.


Anti-Fatigue Floor Mats By Sky Mats 


Make sure you buy the right brand!  I tried several in the local store and most of them slid to easily.  The Sky mats have a backing that holds them in place.  Plus, they have sloped edges.  Therefore, I won't slip and fall.  That non-slip backing is a huge difference when comparing anti-fatigue floor mats.

The Sky Mats are not available in a lot of different colors or patterns.  Getting hung up on "looks" is what caused me to consider a different brand.  I am so glad I tried them in the store first!  I knew I would prefer comfort over appearance. After all, the reason I need the mats is because of the extreme back pain I experience after standing on my hardwood floors for long periods of time.


Anti Fatigue Comfort Floor Mats by Sky Mats Reviewed

I purchased two different Sky Mats.  They are the same matching color, but they are different lengths.  As you can see in the photos, I have the standard size (20x32x3/4-inch) in front of my kitchen sink.  However, I opted for a longer (24x70x3/4-inch) that covers the area in front of my counter and stove top.  This is totally awesome!  I never have to leave my "cloud of comfort" when preparing, cooking, or cleaning.  Plus, the smaller mat is easy to lift and move if needed.

I enjoy cooking and always hated the subsequent aches and pains.  I no longer have to worry about hurting simply because I need to stand at the counter or stove-top for several hours. That makes the meal so much more enjoyable for me! 










Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 4, 2019

Rubbermaid Mini Cooler (5 quart) Reviewed

Rubbermaid Mini Cooler ReviewThe Rubbermaid Mini Cooler is perfect for the car!

We keep our Rubbermaid mini cooler on the floorboard in our car anytime we are going to be driving for more than a few hours.  

Sometimes, I just like to get out and go for a drive, but I don't wish to go without water.  And, I am no particularly fond of warm bottled water.  I prefer it to be cold, especially during the hot summer months.

Both my husband and I keep a bottled water in the cup holders.  However, if we are driving for a while, we end up drinking all of that one bottle and need another.  That is where the mini cooler becomes a necessity.

Yes, we could stop at a gas station or convenience store for additional water, but there isn't always one around when we need it.  Plus, bottled water or sodas are more expensive when sold individually.

This little cooler has become our regular travel companion in all of our vehicles. 



The Rubbermaid Mini Cooler Features


Rubbermaid Mini Cooler Reviewed
We have had our mini cooler for decades and it has served us well!  We have never felt a need to replace it.  I love things that can be bought once (especially at a reasonably low price) and used forever.  This little cooler has seen more places than I can remember.  Great for picnics, outings, or even pool side for those of us who don't want to track back into the house for a cool drink or snack.

It is perfect for cars, boats, motorcycles (with saddle bags), private airplanes, hot air balloons, or any recreational vehicle that has a small storage area.

It will hold 4 bottled waters (standard size - 16.9 oz) or 6 canned drinks, depending on the size of your blue ice packet.  For the cans, you would need a thin ice pack that can lay on top.  Of course, you could always fit regular ice cubes around the cans.  I started using the blue ice packets because they are less mess than melted ice (water).  Another alternative, there is a threaded hole in the lid for a Rubbermaid screw-in ice pack, but we have never used it.

You could also use it as a lunch box since it would easily hold a drink, sandwich and a few side containers.  In the hot car, I have been known to harbor a candy bar in the mini cooler along with our water or sodas.  

Rubbermaid Mini Cooler Reviewed


The Rubbermaid mini cooler is made of  hard plastic type material, therefore it doesn't get smashed or crashed when packed with luggage.  It has an easy carry rotating handle.  Because it is small, it is extremely easy to wash in the kitchen sink, when needed.  Most of the time though, ours only requires a quick wipe with a damp cloth and we are all set to go for our next long drive. 

We recently made an 11 hr. drive.  When we arrived at our destination hotel, the remaining water was still cool. We carried our little cooler to our hotel room with us. It makes an awesome hotel companion if the room doesn't have a mini-fridge!

I would like to note, my mini cooler in the photos is an older version of the featured cooler below.  I sure would love to have that blue one.  Isn't it pretty?!!


If you prefer, you can buy one like mine on eBay

 








Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 27, 2019

Darrow & Darrow Hallmark Movie Series Reviewed

Darrow & Darrow Hallmark Movie Series Reviewed
I recently discovered the awesome Hallmark movie series, Darrow & Darrow!  

It is a fabulous Hallmark series based on the legal cases handled by the law firm of Darrow & Darrow.  The investigations and clues in each of the cases are fun to watch while trying to guess the outcomes.  Add to that, the personal lives of each character, and you have a wonderfully captivating series. 

Adorable actors, a bit of romance, a touch of mystery surrounding the cases, a spattering of family conflicts, all combine to make a thoroughly enjoyable series of movies.

My tolerance for television is normally limited to a few hours a week. I don't like constant noise, although I do know a lot of people who enjoy the "company".  I'm not bashing watching TV.  Just explaining that it has to be something really good for me to leave it on long enough to see an entire movie.

When I find a series that is binge worthy, then it is definitely something to talk about, and review.


Darrow & Darrow Hallmark Movie Series Synopsis


When you see the couple on the first DVD cover, you assume the title "Darrow & Darrow", is referring to a husband and wife team.  Or, perhaps, a brother and sister.  However, only one member of the couple shown on the first DVD cover, is a Darrow.  The man is Miles Strasberg, and the woman is Claire Darrow.  They are actually opposing attorneys.

 Darrow & DarrowCheck PriceDarrow  & Darrow is a law firm that was originally started by Claire's parents.  After her father died, Claire's mother, Joanna, took off to New York to make a name for herself with an influential and powerful law firm. Even though her mother was successful, Claire resents that decision. When her mother returns, requesting she be taken back into the family law firm, Claire is more than reluctant to embrace her again as a partner. They don't see eye to eye on most things, including the types of cases the law firm should be representing.

During the pilot movie, we get to know the main characters fairly well. Miles Strasberg is a mild-mannered widower and district attorney, who happens to be opposing council in the first case of the series.  Claire is an adorable widow that is raising her daughter alone.  As an attorney, she spends her days defending falsely accused individuals in court.  Well, at least people she believes are falsely accused. Claire's clear calling is to be a defense attorney for those who are less fortunate and can not afford a good lawyer, but deserve one.

In the first movie, Claire defends a doughnut maker who has been accused of robbing a jewelry store.  The masked intruder uses David Kellerin's bakery truck to smash the front window. Then jumps out to grab the jewelry in the display case.  When David is arrested, one of the stolen watches is found in his possession.  It seems like an open and shut case.  In spite of the evidence, David pleads innocent and Claire believes him. It requires a great deal of trust and detective work to defend Mr. Kellerin.

Her opposing counsel, Miles Strasberg, is attracted to Claire.  He respects her idealism and her ethics, as well as her desire to find the truth, not just represent someone wealthy who may be guilty.  Every month he asks her out to dinner.  Every month, he gets the same answer, until one day, to his great surprise, she says yes.  They do make a really cute couple!

Darrow & Darrow Hallmark Movie

My Conclusion


It is always exciting to find a new, enjoyable series to watch. When it is Hallmark movies, I know I am in for hours of excellent TV time. 

I really like Claire Darrow.  I enjoy watching her interactions with Miles, her co-workers, her daughter, and even her mother. The court cases, plots, and investigations are quite interesting too. It is fun to try to figure them out before they are revealed in the movies.  Therefore, I highly recommend this movie series to anyone who loves good, clean entertainment with a touch of mystery and romance!

 


Currently, "Darrow & Darrow" is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  


More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Darrow & Darrow Hallmark Movie Series Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 20, 2019

Hausse Retractable 2 Story Home Fire Escape Ladder Review

House Fire Escape Ladder
A fire escape ladder is essential for any 2 story home, especially if the bedrooms are upstairs! 

Many homes have bedrooms upstairs. It isn't something I am particularly fond of myself. I would rather have all bedrooms on the ground level. However, I have been told that it is a simple matter of economics. It is cheaper to build up than to build a single story home with a lot of rooms. 

For some, having the bedrooms upstairs, away from the entry doors to a home, is comforting.  For others, like myself, it is a way to end up trapped in a house with no easy way out. Regardless of your home construction preference, being able to escape in a fire is always preferred.


My Own Fear of Fire


When I was a young child, our family owned a really nice single story home that had 3 bedrooms downstairs. The girls shared a bedroom, the boys shared a bedroom, and our parents had their bedroom.  An awesome arrangement!  

When there was a fire in our home one night, we were all able to get out of the house as soon as smoke was detected, even before the fireman showed up.  I can't say that I actually remember much about that night since I was around 4 years old.  Of course, my older siblings and parents remember it well.  I've been told that our father did have to go back in through a window to carry my sister outside.  Fortunately, with all the bedroom windows being at ground level, that was easily possible.

But what if all of the bedrooms had been upstairs? 

When we moved to a new home, it was a 2 story home with all of the bedrooms upstairs.  I always feared a fire in that home and envisioned myself leaping out of the second story window to safety. As a child, I was okay with that idea.  As a adult, I can see how that was not a good escape plan.  Thankfully, I have never had to test my super leaping powers.


Be Prepared for Home Fire


 Hausse Retractable 2 Story Fire Escape Ladder, 13 FeetIt is entirely possible that my current day requirement to have a home fire ladder in every bedroom upstairs is tied to my childhood experience and subsequent plans.  Again, we have never had to use the fire ladders, but we do have them.

Being trapped upstairs during a fire would be scary, and possibly deathly.  The cost of a fire ladder is minimal when compared to the cost of a life.  For me, it is a no-brainer.  We all buy home insurance for our possessions.  Why in the world wouldn't we buy this practical use "insurance"?

Yes, I know. We ask ourselves, would we really climb down a ladder hanging from the window? I believe if we are awake and recognize we are trapped in a fire, we would grab that ladder, hang it from the window ledge, and start climbing without a second thought.  After all, it beats leaping!

 







Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 13, 2019

Glass by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie Reviewed

Glass is the final movie in this M. Night Shyamalan movie series!

Glass by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie Reviewed
I'll tell you in advance, I have seen an interview with Shyamalan and he does not plan to have any additional movies in this series.  I think that is a mistake.  This movie left me wanting more.  Of course, wanting more is the sign of an excellent movie.

I have previously reviewed the first two movies in this M. Night Shyamalan series:  Unbreakable and Split.  If you haven't already read those reviews and seen those movies, I recommend them before you watch Glass.

Glass could be a stand alone movie, but I believe seeing the other two movies is best.  They introduce the characters and set everything up for this movie. It is hard for me to say for certain since I have seen the previous movies several times, but I'm not sure everything in this movie would be completely clear if you don't have the basis of information and background from Split.

Once you have viewed all three movies, I would love to have you return to this review and tell me which movie in the series was your favorite.  I definitely have a favorite and I suspect everyone will have a clear preference.

I'm going to do my best to give you a review of Glass that won't spoil either of the movies for you in case you haven't seen the previous two.


Glass Movie Synopsis

 
There are three main characters in Glass. Each possesses at least one superhuman characteristic. All find themselves in a battle of good vs. evil and they are not on the same side.

 GlassCheck PriceBy now, you may already know Samuel L. Jackson is Glass, or Mr. Glass.  His real name is Elijah Price.  Elijah was born with a rare disease (osteogenesis imperfecta) that makes his bones break easily. In this movie, Elijah requires a wheelchair for mobility.  However, Elijah is a brilliant man and though he is physically limited, he is mentally superior. 

David Dunn (Bruce Willis) seems like a mild-mannered, average man with a grown son.  Together, they run a surveillance company, but they also have a side venture. David Dunn is an extremely strong vigilante with a sixth sense. His son is his point of contact for research and quick information. When David is on a mission, he and his son, Joseph, stay in constant communication.

Then there is Kevin Wendell Crumb (James McAvoy) who suffers with DID (Dissociative Identity Disorder), more commonly referred to as a split personality.  Crumb fights the battle between good vs evil within himself, as well as in the outside world.  As I stated in my review of Split, James McAvoy is an exceptional actor.  His performance alone makes this movie worth watching.

The movie opens with 4 teens being held as food for the imminent beast. David Dunn is determined to find the kidnapped girls. However, before he can free the girls, he comes face to face with their kidnapper who is surprised to find a worthy opponent.  But, neither David nor the kidnapper realize they are both prey for a totally different adversary.  


My Conclusion and Recommendation of Glass


Like all Shyamalan movies, Glass is full of unexpected events with a shocking ending. Even as a Shyamalan fan, I didn't expect the ending.  It took me over a week before I could write this review without expressing too much emotion in my choice of words.

If you prefer a realistic ending, you will love this movie.  If you watch movies as an escape from reality, you are likely to be disappointed.

I watched this movie with my son and my husband. While we were all taken aback by the ending, we each had a different opinion or rating of the movie overall.  This is one movie where every individual will have to judge for themselves.  

Regardless, how can you resist a movie that includes Bruce Willis, Samuel L. Jackson, James McAvoy, and M. Night Shyamalan!







Previously Reviewed on Review This!
 
Unbreakable by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie ReviewUnbreakable by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie Review
Unbreakable is an exceptional thriller movie & the beginning of a great series. M. Night Shyamalan is a master of suspense and unexpected twists.



Split by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie ReviewSplit by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie Review
Split is the best psychological thriller that I have ever watched. Almost every emotion a person could feel is toyed with in this movie as we helplessly watch.






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 6, 2019

Split by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie Reviewed

Split by M. Night Shyamalan Movie Reviewed
I want to start by saying that reviewing Split was not an easy task.  This movie is so physiologically deep that I worried I would not be able to capture the intensity with mere words. I was also concerned that I might unintentionally dissuade readers from watching the film by telling too much.  It really does need to be watched in order of events, instead of reading any brief synopsis that delves into the plot.

James McAvoy does such an excellent job of playing the part of Kevin Wendell Crumb, I know, without a doubt, I would be frightened to be in his real life presence.  I liken his acting job in this movie to that of Anthony Hopkins as Hannibal Lecter.  For years after I first saw that movie, Anthony Hopkins was the face of evil in my mind.  Therefore, for me to compare the two, is truly the greatest compliment I could give to James McAvoy.

The title and DVD cover warn you in advance that the movie will be a terrorizing tale of a man with a split personality.  But, the film is so much more than just a story.  It gives you a close-up look at how the individual with DID (dissociative identity disorder) is tortured by his own mind.  So many times throughout this film, I felt sorry for Kevin, but I felt more than sorry for his victims.  


An Introduction to Split starring James McAvoy


SPLITSPLITCheck PriceThis is the best psychological thriller that I have ever watched.  Almost every emotion a person could feel is toyed with in this movie as we helplessly watch the spellbinding, terrifying events. 

Kevin Crumb has worked hard to lead a normal life and to control the disorder that plagues his life.  He doesn't try to deny his mental difficulties that are the result of the torture he survived as a child.  It is clear when "Kevin" or "Barry" is in control, that he is desperate to be good, loved, and accepted.

Dr. Fletcher has been Kevin Crumb's therapist for years. She has been able to help him with his DID by identifying 23 distinct personalities.  Up until recently, he has been leading a productive life, holding down a good job for years, and coming in for his weekly therapy sessions. She is very proud of him, but becomes greatly concerned when he starts sending her emails at night.  She schedules emergency appointments with him, but one of his dominant personalities shows up for the appointment and assures her all is well. 

Something had triggered the dominant personalities and Kevin's protective personality is about to appear.  Several of his dominant personalities have teamed up to suppress "Kevin" and to take control of his actions.  What happens is characteristic of the ultimate villain.


My Recommendation


If you know you can handle a tough psychological thriller, you will definitely want to see this movie.  If you have a strong interest in psychology and enjoy delving into the inner depths of DID, then this movie is for you.  However, if you are prone to nightmares after watching an intense movie, I wouldn't recommend it.  

As for me, I had no trouble sleeping after watching the movie, but I can understand how it might frighten some.   






Previously Reviewed on Review This!
 
Unbreakable by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie ReviewUnbreakable by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie Review
Unbreakable is an exceptional thriller movie & the beginning of a great series. M. Night Shyamalan is a master of suspense and unexpected twists.






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 30, 2019

Unbreakable by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie Review

Unbreakable by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie Reviewed
It is hard to believe that Unbreakable, starring Bruce Willis, was released almost 20 years ago.  Sixteen years later, Split was released which caused a resurgence of interest in Unbreakable.  

At first, it isn't obvious what the two movies have in common other than the fabulous M. Night Shyamalan.  However, hang on until the last minutes of Split and you will understand what they have in common.  And, prepare yourself, there is a third movie, Glass, that ties them all together.

In this post, I'm only going to review Unbreakable and recommend that you plan to watch Split & Glass also.  However, I will tell you in advance, Split is a much harder to watch due to content.  Keep in mind though, these are categorized as "thrillers" for a reason.  


Unbreakable Starring Bruce Willis Reviewed


 UNBREAKABLECheck PriceWhat do you get when you combine M. Night Shyamalan, Bruce Willis, and Samuel L. Jackson?  A magnificent movie!

Samuel L. Jackson is Elijah Price, aka Mr. Glass.  The opening scene of the movie is the birth of Elijah.  The baby has both arms and legs broken.  Sadly, he has a rare bone disease (Type I osteogenesis imperfecta) that makes his bones break as easily as glass, thus his nickname.

As a child, Elijah resists playing with other kids.  Partly because of his disease and the fear of more subsequent broken bones, but also because he doesn't like being mocked.  In order to encourage his outdoor play, his mother starts giving him comic books as gifts for going outside.  It is no wonder Elijah becomes a comic book story and art expert.

Bruce Willis is David Dunn, a security guard that seems to have a sixth sense about people he touches, intentionally or inadvertently.  He also has another unusual trait.  One that even he does not acknowledge or recognize until Elijah Price points it out to him.  Elijah Price becomes suspicious of what makes David Dunn different when David is the only survivor of a train crash that killed all of the other 131 passengers.  Not only did David survive, he walked away from the crash with no injuries.  

David's son, Joseph, adores his father.  He would rather spend time with him when he works out than to play football with friends.  Joseph is amazed, perhaps even mesmerized, by his father's physical strength.  When Joseph accompanies his dad on his initial visit with Elijah, he is intrigued by what Elijah has to say.  He can certainly see the possibility that Elijah may well be right.

Elijah has a theory that for every extreme, like his fragile bones, there must be someone of the opposite extreme that is unbreakable.  Elijah believes that person is David Dunn, and he befriends David for the purpose of proving his theory.  He likens their physical traits and limitations (or lack thereof) to comic book characters.  He encourages and challenges David to test his theory.  



My Conclusion & Personal Opinion of Unbreakable


I don't ever wish to give so much information in a review, or synopsis, that I ruin the movie for others.  It is my desire to give you just enough information that you want to watch the movie yourself.

If you enjoy thrillers, I highly recommend Unbreakable.  As a  M. Night Shyamalan fan, I generally like all of his movies.  Unbreakable is one of my favorites.  However, I will warn you in advance, you will also wish to watch the subsequent movies, Split and Glass.  I will repeat my earlier caution about Split, it is much harder to watch, but clearly an excellent thriller movie.

M. Night Shyamalan is a master of suspense and unexpected twists.  I can easily state that he is one of the most exceptional writers, producers & directors of our time.  He doesn't simply remake an old movie or produce mindless drivel.  He actually writes a gripping story with psychological aspects, and produces excellence for the screen for those of us who enjoy intriguing thrillers without extreme gore.





Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com





Unbreakable by M. Night Shyamalan - Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner