Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts

Friday, January 15, 2021

Did You Hear About the Morgans? - Comedy Movie Review

Did You Hear About The Morgans?
I discovered this movie when seeking an easy movie to watch that would make me laugh. This movie definitely fit that bill! 

I've read mixed reviews on "Did You Hear About the Morgans?" which I really don't understand.  This is not meant to be an epic movie, rather it is light entertainment.  While neither of the main actors are on my list of favorites, I must say, this movie made me like both of them better.  Together, they really made me laugh.  

Admittedly, having a cameo appearance of a stunning grizzly bear, did help.  Hugh Grant's reaction and facial expressions during his bear encounter truly made me laugh out loud.

This is a movie to watch when you simply want to sit back and enjoy a show that doesn't require a great deal of emotional involvement, other than humor.  


Did You Hear About the Morgans? Movie Synopsis

"Did You Hear About the Morgans?" is a just for fun movie starring Sarah Jessica Parker (Meryl Morgan) and Hugh Grant (Paul Morgan). 

 Did You Hear About the Morgans? DVDCheck PriceThe Morgan's live in New York and are both successful in business.  Meryl owns a real estate company and Paul is an attorney.  In spite of their professional success, there are problems in their marriage.  Due to Paul's infidelity, the Morgans are separated.  Of course, adultery is not funny, but in this movie their separation does provide the set-up for some rather humorous situations.

Meryl agrees to have dinner with Paul and afterwards they decide to walk to her next appointment together.  Upon arrival, they witness the murder of her client.  They see the murderer and he sees them!

When it is clear, the murderer plans to eliminate the witnesses, Meryl & Paul are placed in the witness protection program "together" as a married couple and sent to a very remote area in Ray, Wyoming.  They are placed under the protection of two federal agents who happen to be married.  

Clay (Sam Elliott)  and Emma Wheeler (Mary Steenburgen) have provided shelter and protection for many witnesses in the past. They have a bedroom set up just for their "guests" and have restricted access to phones and computers, which keeps their guests from contacting friends or family.  Meryl still manages to make a phone call back home, which brings the killer right to their temporary door step.

I highly recommend "Did You Hear About the Morgans?" for a anyone seeking to relax, laugh and enjoy the show!







Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Did You Hear About the Morgans? - Comedy Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 8, 2021

Chocolate Hot Cocoa Bombs Recipe & Review

Hot Cocoa Bombs Recipe


When Wednesday Elf introduced me to Hot Cocoa Bombs in her Cocoa Day review, I knew I would be making them soon! 

I enjoy trying new recipes, especially when they are decorative and fun to make.  I have always referred to that as Fun Food created while crafting in the kitchen.  It combines my two favorite things to do:  cooking & crafting.

I decided to make the Hot Cocoa Bombs as a special treat for my family on Christmas Eve. They were fantasic! Truly the best hot cocoa or hot chocolate I have ever tasted and we all enjoyed watching them "explode" inside the mug.

This delicious hot drink would be a wonderful treat for any holiday party, gathering, or just for fun!

 

Hot Cocoa Bomb Recipe

I looked at several existing recipes before I decided to combine ideas instead of using just one. 

To start, I liked the idea to create a round ball by "gluing" two pieces together.  I promptly ordered 2 sets of large sphere shaped silicone molds which would make 12 round hot cocoa bombs.  I have worked with silicone molds many times and love them!   

An alternative to gluing two pieces together would be to simply cover each filled 1/2 sphere with a layer of melted chocolate chips. I will try this at some point in the future.  Decorating a flat surface would be fun and would still provide the same tasty treat. 


Preparation Time Using 1 Set of Sphere Silicone Molds

Set your silicone molds on a cookie sheet for easy moving!  Use a microwavable glass bowl

   
Prep Time Microwave Time Ready In Yields
30 minutes 45 seconds,
then 15 sec intervals to melt
1 hour 30 min. 6 servings

 

Ingredients for My Hot Cocoa Bombs

 
  • 12 ounce bag Chocolate Chips
  • Hot Cocoa Mix  (I used 2 packets of Hershey,s
  • Mini Marshmallows, chopped peppermint, chopped toffee (for filling)
  • Sprinkles or Chocolate shaving for decorating

 

Directions for Making Hot Cocoa Bombs

  1. Melt 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips in the microwave in 15 second intervals, stirring in between cook times until fully melted
  2. Chocolate Hot Cocoa Bombs
  3. Using a spoon, smooth 2 teaspoons of melted chocolate (for each cavity) up the sides and around the bottom  (save any leftovers and don't wash your bowl yet)
  4. Set in the refrigerator for 30 minutes
  5. Lay the silicone mold face down on a cookie tray and carefully "roll" the silicone cups from the chocolate bomb pieces one at at time.  (take your time!  You don't want to break the chocolate bomb pieces)
  6. Fill 6 cavities with 1 Tablespoon hot cocoa mix, 6 or 7 mini marshmallows and/or other selected fillings
  7. Melt about a teaspoon chocolate chips and use this as the "glue" to attach the top sphere to the lower filled sphere
  8. Set in the refrigerator for 30 minutes
  9. Decorate your cocoa bombs with sprinkles, chocolate shavings, chocolate drizzle, etc.
 

To serve, pour hot milk over the chocolate bomb and watch for melting drama to unfold! Of course, you will need a spoon to stir the ingredients the bomb has "exploded".

 

I found that melted chocolate chips were not a great consistancy for drizzle and did not make beautiful thin drizzles, but since the hot cocoa bombs are so big, it didn't really matter. If you want a pretty thin drizzle, I recommend buying melting chocolate and using a drizzle spoon.






Check Out More Recipe Reviews at
ReviewThisRecipes.com






Chocolate Hot Cocoa Bombs Recipe & Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





© 2021 Cynthia Sylvestermouse
 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 1, 2021

It's 2021! Are You in The Twilight Zone?

Twilight Zone
For many years now, every New Year's Eve and New Year's Day is celebrated with the Twilight Zone marathon.  Even though we cut the cable a very long time ago, we didn't cut the Twilight Zone tradition in our home.

In reviewing how you can see the marathon, I'll tell you that CBS usually airs the Twilight Zone marathon starting on New Year's Eve and lasting until the early morning hours of Jan 2.  But, you can now set your own schedule thanks to Netflix & Hulu.

Hulu has all 5 seasons available and Netflix is currently offering seasons 1-3 & 5. 

What better way to start 2021 than with the voice of Rod Sterling!

 


January 1, 1960

 The Twilight Zone - Season 1
(The Definitive Edition)
Check Price
Do you know what happened on January 1, 1960? 

To be honest, I wasn't there, but I know what history tells us. On January 1, 1960, the 13th episode of the 1st season of the Twilight Zone aired.  That episode is entitled "The Four of Us Are Dying".

It is about a con man who can change his face to look like whomever he chooses by simply concentrating.  36 year old Arch Hammer doesn't always pick the best people to impersonate, but he always has an angle or reason for his selections.  Some schemes require a lot of money though and getting that can be very "expensive" as well as dangerous when you don't know the life story of the person you choose to impersonate.

You can watch that episode this New Year's by visiting Netflix or Hulu.  If you don't mind waiting and you would rather own the entire first season, you can do the same thing we have done in my household.  You can buy the full season, all 36 episodes, on DVD.


Favorite Twilight Zone Episode

The January 1, 1960 episode is a thought provoking episode for anyone who thinks they would rather be someone else.  However, that is not my personal favorite episode, or the one that reflects my greatest desire or fear. 

I admit, it is hard to choose a favorite episode out of all of the Twilight Zone shows.  There is one that haunts me though, so I think it must demonstrate some fear or concern in my own "twilight zone".  It is "Time Enough At Last".  If you know the title, it must haunt you too.  If not, you will find it in season 1, episode 8.

Now tell me.  What is your favorite or most memorable Twilight Zone episode? 

 





Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



It's 2021! Are You in The Twilight Zone? Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 25, 2020

Merry Christmas!

Christmas is such a beautiful day of the year regardless of the weather! For a brief moment in time, we cease normal daily activities and concentrate on love, family, and friends.  We focus on the meaning of Christmas.

Many of us are blessed to spend Christmas with the people we love the most.  When our loved ones can't be with us, we call them, Zoom or Skype with them so we can still share that day with them.  We stay connected with them while we open gifts, sing Christmas carols together, or even eat our separate meals together.  

We also reflect on memories of Christmas's past and the loved ones who are no longer with us.  The memory of them is a tremendous treasure even when our hearts are still breaking.  This reality, perhaps more than any other, prompts us to embrace the loved ones still here with us, hold on a little tighter, and remember to say "I love you!"  

Christmas is also a time for forgiveness and reconciliation.  After all, the real reason for Christmas is the celebration of the gift of redemption and salvation. 

"And the angel said to them, 'Do not be afraid; for behold, I bring you good news of the great joy which shall be for all the people: for today in the city of David there has been born for you a Savior, who is Christ the Lord'."  Luke 2:10-11  


On this Christmas day, may you and your family be blessed and your hearts touched by the Creator who loves you with a love that surpasses all understanding.

 

We Wish You All A 

Very Merry Christmas! 

 

 

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 18, 2020

Sennheiser HD280PRO Headphones Reviewed

Wired Headphones
I have had my Sennheiser headphones for over 9 years and they are still awesome.  No problems internally or externally.  Therefore, I can highly recommend this brand and the old model of HD280Pro headphones.

I originally purchased the headphones so I could listen to music without disturbing anyone else in our home.  We all have different sleeping hours and schedules.  All too often, someone is sleeping when I would like to listen to music.  

I have also discovered how wonderful the headphones are when I want to watch a movie on my laptop that other family members aren't interested in seeing, or hearing.  

It is not unusual for several of us to be working in the same room on different projects.  Sometimes noise, even music we all enjoy, can be disturbing when one is trying to concentrate.  The Sennheiser headphones are essential to a happy "work" environment for everyone.

 

The Sennheiser HD280Pro Headphones

I didn't expect excellence when I purchased my headphones.  The low price tag made me think they would be acceptable.  However, I have been thrilled with the quality & clarity of sound, as well as, the noise isolation they provide.  

 Sennheiser HD280PRO Headphones
(old model - best model)
Check Price
When I am using my headphones, I can't hear other things going on in the same room, unless I uncover one ear.  Therefore, if another family member is talking on the phone, I am not disturbing them and they are not disturbing me.  Previously, I had to mute my music or movie if someone was on the phone.  It was the polite thing to do, but it often left me having to listen to one side of a conversation I wasn't the lest bit interested in hearing.

Other family members can't hear what is being "piped" through my headphones either.  Therefore, their concentration is not being disturbed by whatever I am playing.  I can even listen to instructional videos without bothering anyone else.  

The Sennheiser headphones are also comfortable to wear.  The padded earpieces allow me to wear them for hours without feeling pressure or pain.  Even if I am wearing my glasses, the glasses arm is only slightly pressed against my face or ears.  Not enough to hurt.

I plug my headphones into my laptop, but they could also be used with iPads, Android tablets, stereos, recording equipment, or whatever device uses a 1/4" plug.

Sure, you could pay a lot more for headphones, but I highly doubt you would get noticeably better headphones for sound or comfort.

One note, I do have the "old model".  I have read there is a new model available, but I cannot personally comment on them.  Their reviews would lead me to believe you would probably want to buy the "old model" if you are interested in purchasing the Sennheiser HD280Pro Headphones while they are still available.








Read More Electronics Reviews On
ReviewThisReviews.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 11, 2020

A Fabulous Anti-Theft Designer Backpack Reviewed

Backpack Review

I stopped carrying a purse decades ago. For many years, I simply carried my wallet & keys in my jeans pockets. However, during the last year or so, I have enjoyed keeping my iPad with me so I would hear Ring camera notifications, could check maps, or simply read articles on the internet. It is really nice to have my iPad with me in the car or when I visit friends or family.  

I also like to keep my Propel water with me at all times.  Plus, my car now has a fob instead of a key.  A fob is more bulky in pockets than a key.  Sometimes I hook the fob on my jeans belt loop, but that is not very attractive and I don't always wear pants with loops. 

Unfortunately, now that I carry my iPad, my key fob & water everywhere I go, I need something to carry it all in instead of trying to carry them in my hands.  I tried a tote, but I really prefer having my hands free.  So, I went in search of a backpack.

I found exactly what I wanted and my parents gave it to me for my birthday!  Now that I have carried my backpack for a few months, I love it and can recommend it for many reasons.

 


My Westbronco Anti-Theft Backback - A Great Gift

It is hard to know where to start when reviewing this backpack.  Not only is it attractive, but it has a lot of wonderful features that recommend it over other backpacks.  Here is a list of the features that really matter to me.

 
  • Anti-Theft - the zipper opens in the back instead of the front
  • Attractive & Soft PU Leather
  • Water Resistant
  • 3 Pockets Inside (1 is a zipper pocket)
  • 2 Side Pockets (perfect for my water bottle)
  • 2 Exterior Zipper Pockets (on front side under the fold)
  • Top Attached Handle for Grab & Carry
  • Backpack Straps, plus a separate Detachable Shoulder Strap
  • Available in Several Colors 
  • Great Size for Women 

 WESTBRONCO Women Backpack PU Leather Anti-Theft Fashion Designer Backpack Ladies Shoulder BagCheck Price

 

The backpack came in a dust cover which is an awesome storage bag when I am not using it.  It truly does keep the dust off of the backpack while waiting for our next adventure.

I highly recommend this backpack for anyone who needs to carry several small items and doesn't like carrying a purse.  The problems I have had with backpacks in the past are eliminated by having the entry zipper against my back instead of accessible to anyone standing behind me.  I also prefer this smaller size that is big enough to hold an iPad, wallet (in the interior zippered pocket), key fobs, cellphone, water bottle and more.  I can even add my Kindle Fire so I can play my games when I am away from home.  

This backpack would also make a great overnight bag!







Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com
or
More Gift Reviews On
ReviewThisGifts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 4, 2020

Stocking Stuffers for Crafters & Sewing Enthusiasts Reviewed

As I was making my gift list for Christmas this year, I couldn't help but think how I wish "Santa" would fill my stocking with craft and sewing supplies. Yes, I have a craft room full of supplies, but when it comes to sewing or crafting fun, I can never have enough. 

As I mentally filled my stocking, I thought of several items I would wish to have added to my stocking.  The first thing that came to mind was small clipping scissors. 

The last time I was sewing, I looked in my machine drawer for my thread clipping scissors and could not find them.  I had to set my fabric aside, get up and get scissors from my sewing basket.  That was fine, but I hate breaking from any task.  It seems like it takes so long to get back to where I was, physically and mentally, after a break.

I also seem to easily misplace measuring tapes.  I would love to have a retractable measuring tape!  At one time in my life, I had one, but I have no idea what happened to it.  

As I continued to daydream about this fabulous stocking full of craft & sewing supplies, I added one item that I have always wanted to my list, an iron finger.  In case you are wondering, that is a tool that can be placed under or between fabric for smooth ironing.  It has one end that is shaped like a spatula with a pointed corner to push and hold fabric corners in place when ironing.  I really need an iron finger

I know I am not alone.  I personally know several crafters and sewing enthusiasts. Besides a love for all things sewing and crafting, we also share the insatiable desire for more.  Before my wondrous daydream ended, I had a jumbo stocking filled with awesome supplies that I am not sure how I have survived without.  

If you have a crafter or sewing enthusiast on your gift list, you may want to consider filling a stocking or gift basket with supplies.  I am certain it will be their favorite gift received.  Well, second to an enormous engagement ring. 

 

Recommended Craft & Sewing Supplies for Crafters & Sewing Enthusiasts
to Fill Stockings or Gift Baskets 

As an avid crafter, as well as a nonprofessional seamstress, I have a list of supplies I always need, as well as a list of things I would love to have.  Many of the items on my list are small enough to fit in a stocking.  Of course, a picture of a larger gift (like a new embroidery machine) would also be a fabulous surprise tucked inside a stocking.

If you don't sew or craft, some of these items may look or sound odd, but they will certainly be appreciated by the crafter or seamstress in your life.

  • Needles  (assorted sizes)
  • Sewing Machine Needles    
  • Straight Pins (with pretty heads for fun) 
  • Wristband Pin Cushion
  • Quilter's Thimble (even if they don't quilt, these thimbles are awesome) 
  • Needle Threader
  • Soft Measuring Tape
  • Retractable Measuring Tape
  • Seam Gauge
  • Wood Handle Seam Ripper
  • Small Clipping Scissors 
  • Thread (basic colors are always needed) 
  • Bobbins and/or Bobbin Case
  • Magnifiers 
  • Stitch Witchery
  • Iron Finger

 

     For The Crafter  (in addition to all of the above)

  • Assorted Bags of Beads
  • Assorted Ribbon 
  • Assorted Bags of Rhinestones
  • Assorted Bags of Pipe Cleaners, Wiggle Eyes, etc
  • Aleene's Crafter's Glue

You will be amazed by what wonderful crafts are inspired by the assorted bags of beads, rhinestones, pipe cleaners, ribbon, etc. listed above.


Additional Unexpected Craft & Sewing Gift Suggestions

Fingernail files (emery boards) are also something I keep in my craft room and sewing basket.  Some fabrics snag easily and they always seems to find that one nail that is starting to break.

Top off the stocking or gift basket with a sewing or crafting Christmas tree ornament.  Long after the supplies are used up, the recipient will have the ornament to remind them of your thoughtful gift that was clearly selected just for them.   

 Old World Christmas Ornaments: Spool Of Thread Glass Blown OrnamentsCheck Price Inspired Silver - Crafter Charm Ornament - Silver Pave HeartCheck Price Enesco Sew Happy It's Christmas Ornament, MulticolorCheck Price

 

 

For Shopping Convenience, I have created a Gift Idea Board on Amazon.  

Simply Click the Collection Of Your Choice Below

  

 






House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 27, 2020

Deluxe Spicy Shelf for Spice Organization in Kitchen Cabinets or Pantries Reviewed

Spice Organization
Two years ago, I added gripper clips to my cabinet pantry door for easy access to the spices I use most often. They are truly fabulous and convenient. However, I still had dozens of spices, seasonings, baking extracts, powders, etc. tucked away and often lost in the depths of my pantry.  

I've had a carousel tray on the top shelf of my pantry to at least keep the spices all together, but the small containers somehow managed to flip off the carousel and get lost.  Or worse, they would keep the carousel from turning and cause an avalanche of spice containers.  Of course, that always happened when I was cooking and trying to find something quickly.

My son often heard me complain about my pantry cabinet and spice organization.  This past Mother's Day, he surprised me with the Deluxe Spicy Shelf.  I was thrilled!  I had never seen one before, but the picture on the box looked totally awesome and perfect for my needs.  Then, I opened the box!  Yikes!!!  The number of pieces to assemble my new deluxe spicy shelf intimidated me immediately.  I set the gift aside to construct "later".  Even I didn't realize "later" meant 5 months later.


Assembling My Deluxe Spicy Shelf

Deluxe Spice Shelf
Knowing the holidays were fast approaching and I would soon be seeking out those least often used spices, I set aside an afternoon to assemble my much needed organizer shelf.  With no small amount of dread, I opened the box once again.

Imagine my utter shock that it took me less than 30 minutes to assemble the shelves, remove the content from my pantry, and set it all back in completely organized, easy to see and so much easier to find a specific item.  I was so giddy that is was all accomplished in so little time that I considered putting it all in alphabetical order.  I stayed my hand there though because I wanted the things I would need for Thanksgiving toward the front.  Extra, unopened spices went to the back, but I can easily see them!  

As you can see in the photo below, I even found a great use for my carousel.  It has been serving me for so long, I didn't have the heart to toss it.

Spice Shelf

Because my cabinet pantry is so deep, I set one shelf in front of the other, instead of stacking them.  As you can see, that is perfect for me.  My short spices now tower over the taller bottles.

Because I have a few economy size spice bottles, I set them just in front of my carousel.  They are very easy to lift out and grab what I need from behind them.  No more tearing the cabinet apart to find one small bottle.

Spicy Shelf Organizer




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com





House of Sylvestermouse






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 20, 2020

White Turkey Serving Platter for the Holidays Reviewed

turkey platter
One of the first gifts my husband's grandmother gave me, was a large white turkey platter.  At the time, I had no idea what a treasure this one serving tray would become to our family.  It is now a part of our holiday tradition.  

Thirty-five years ago, my mother hosted Thanksgiving in her home and we all gathered at my grandmother's home for Christmas.  Both women cooked a lot for the holidays, but my mother always cooked the turkey for both celebrations.  Clearly, I didn't have a need for the large turkey platter when I first received it, but I still loved having it.

Over the years, responsibilities have shifted as needed.  Mom & I prepare the holiday food together, but we moved the cooking to my home for convenience when my children were younger.  The hosting house of the day of the actual meal varies and is determined by the number in attendance or convenience.  I don't remember exactly when it happened, but baking the turkey became my primary responsibility when cooking for the holidays, and that large turkey platter became a necessity.  

Since my Christmas china platters are not large enough for a turkey, I use the large white turkey platter at Christmas too.  Because it is white, it is the perfect compliment for my Christmas china.


 HIC Turkey Oversized Serving PlatterCheck Price

White Turkey Platter


There are several beautifully colored turkey platters, but I prefer my white turkey platter.  It coordinates with almost any china and looks pretty in any room regardless of the table settings or wall colors.

The embossed (raised) fruit pattern around the edge adds a touch of elegance to Mr. Turkey and is perfect for the holiday season. 

The porcelain platter on the right, which is similar to my platter, is microwave, oven, freezer and dishwasher safe, which makes using it a lot more pleasurable.  

It is 17½" wide, large enough for a a whole turkey if desired. We usually slice our turkey before serving.


 







Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 13, 2020

The Lady and the Mountain Man (The Mountain Series Book 1) Reviewed

The Lady and the Mountain Man
This book took me by surprise! 

Because of the title, I was concerned that "The Lady and the Mountain Man" would be too juvenile to hold my attention.  However, since Misty M. Beller is a best selling author, and I liked the Montana setting, I thought I would at least start reading it.  After all, I could set the book aside if it didn't appeal to me.  As it turns out, the opening first few paragraphs caught my attention quickly and the story line kept me interested.

This book reminded me not to judge a book by it's title.  There have been times when a title grabbed my attention, only for the book to be a disappointment.  Even though I love the cover, this book's title didn't appeal to me, but I really enjoyed the story and would highly recommend it as a clean and wholesome romance for anyone.


The Lady and the Mountain Man
(The Mountain Series Book 1- 1874)

 The Lady and the Mountain Man
(The Mountain Series Book 1)
Before his death, Leah's father had entered into an arranged marriage contract with Simon Talbert on behalf of his only daughter.  The wedding was to take place in only 6 days.  As an only heir, Leah would become a very wealthy woman when she obtained the age of 23, in less than a year. 

When Leah Townsend overhears her fiance admit to killing his first wife and prepared to do the same to her to gain her inheritance, she knows she must flee Richmond, Virginia.  Unfortunately, she had no idea where she could go and be safe. 

Leah's friend, companion and former governess, Emily, hatched what seemed like the perfect plan for Leah.  She would go to St. Louis, Missouri, and stay with a family that Emily knew there.  It seemed like an ideal plan until Leah happened to discover that she was followed to St. Louis by Simon's brother.  She had to come up with a new plan, and fast!

Leah decided to answer a newspaper ad from a gentleman in Montana who was seeking a wife.  It was a long way away, and something no one in Richmond would expect.  Plus, she would not be easy to follow.  She immediately sent a telegram to the wife-seeking man in Montana, secured passage on a boat, and left St. Louis.  

Leah was not prepared for the wilds of Montana or the subsequent events that placed her in some very difficult circumstances causing her to depend solely on God's provision.  


My Conclusion

"The Lady and the Mountain Man" was an easy read and one that I really enjoyed.  I read it rather quickly and hated for it to end.  Fortunately for me, when I checked the following morning, I found the Mountain series has 12 books.  I immediately downloaded the 2nd book to my Kindle.

If you enjoy romantic historical Christian fiction too, I know you will enjoy this wonderful book.





Check Out More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 6, 2020

How to Lose Weight While Playing Video Games on the Kindle Fire

Video Game AppsI have been shocked by how much weight I have lost while playing video games when exercising.  Previously, I found exercising to be boring and I simply couldn't force myself to stick with it.  That was before I discovered video games on my Kindle Fire!

How It All Began for Me ........

Several years ago, one of our fellow contributors, Susan Deppner, helped me select a new Kindle Fire.  Susan had lots of experience with the various electronic readers and I trusted her to know exactly what I needed.

I loved my Kindle Paperwhite, but I wanted a Kindle with color pictures for cookbooks and children's books.  We all know images are the first impression of either of those kinds of books and are often the determining factor in which ones we purchase.  After all, I'm not likely to even try a recipe without seeing a photo that looks delicious.

I remember laughing when Susan said a Kindle Fire with 32 GB would be more than enough, unless I played a lot of video games.  I laughed because, at the time, I didn't play video games.  The only video games I had ever encountered required a specific console & controllers connected to the television.  

Fast forward 4 years and you will find me playing video games on my Kindle Fire every day.   


Video Game on Kindle Fire

How Video Games Helped Me Lose Weight

Video Game Apps on Kindle Fire
It has been said many times that video game players pack on the pounds while playing video games.  That is simply not true for me!  I play my video games on my Kindle Fire while I exercise. 

I've never liked exercising.  Frankly, in the past, I considered it boring and most often a waste of time since I couldn't force myself to stick with something so mind-numbing.  When my daughter shared how someone she knew had lost a lot of weight on an exercise bike, I thought that very impressive, but lamented that I could not exercise an hour per day.  

Time and experience has proven me wrong on that opinion too.

Fast forward 32 weeks and I am happy to say that I have worked up to exercising an hour per day, 5 days a week, on my recumbent exercise bike.  I don't find that exercise boring because I play my video games while pedaling.  I have lost 30 lbs. in 32 weeks without giving up my favorite food!

 

Favorite Video Games I Play on My Kindle Fire  

My first encounter with a video game on my Kindle Fire, was a hidden object game.  I quickly advanced to Candy Crush.  From there, I discovered lots of games I love to play!  Perhaps an hour a day is not enough.

These are some of my favorite free game apps that I have downloaded to my Kindle Fire.  If you are already an experienced gamer, I recommend starting at the bottom of the list to discover new games you might enjoy.



Simply talking to my husband or son, you would find out quickly that everyone has a different taste or preference in game choice.  That is totally okay!  There is something for everyone in the Amazon Game Apps that can be downloaded to the Kindle Fire. 

For me, I have always chosen the free game apps.  They all have options to purchase specialty items, tokens, gems or whatever the game requires to continue playing or advance faster.  That is not necessary.  Most of the time, I simply switch to a different game and play until my "lives" are restored on my current favored game.




Disclaimer: I am not a doctor. You should consult your physician before starting this or any exercise program to determine what is best for your needs.



Read More Related Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com &
Health Reviews

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 30, 2020

Fall Leaves Placemats & Tablerunners Reviewed

Fall Placemats
Like many of our Contributors, I love the fall and the beautiful colors of nature.  The yellow, gold, orange, and red leaves falling all around are simply stunning.

With the fall, we welcome cooler weather which tends to keep us indoors more and looking out the windows at the beautiful landscape.  That makes me want to bring some of the beautiful leaves inside, which I have certainly done in the past.

Several years ago, I was doing a bit of early Christmas shopping when I spotted the gorgeous fall leaves cutwork placemats.  There were only two left, but that was fine for my kitchen table, which only seats two.  

We removed our large kitchen table decades ago and replaced it with a couch & chair.  Not only does that provide comfortable seating in the kitchen, but it forces us to use the dining room, which was previously only used for holidays.

The fall leaves cutwork placemats are perfect for my husband and myself at our smaller kitchen table.  Plus, they provide really beautiful fall decor in the center of our kitchen.

fall placemats


Fall Leaves Placemats

Forest Blanket with Poly-Suede Cutwork Round Doily - 16 inch placmats (Set of 4)Forest Blanket with Poly-Suede Cutwork Round Doily - 16 inch placmats (Set of 4)Check PriceMy fall leaves placemats are made of a faux suede material.  The cutwork design gives them a nostalgic look that appeals to us.  Our table is wood, a gift from my grandmother's home.  The wood table provides the perfect background for the fall leaves placemats.

When our daughter visited last fall, she commented on how pretty these placemats are on the table.  Normally, we all have very different decor preferences.  Apparently, these fall leaves placemats appeal to a variety of decor tastes. 

The current fall leaves placemats that are available are slightly different from mine in colors.  That is common with fabric due to different runs or fabric selection.  It could also be due to a different manufacturer.  Photography lighting can also affect an image.  Regardless, they are still stunning!

If you stop by my article about my grandmother, you will see the table in it's original place in her home.  That photo was taken on Christmas over 30 years ago.


Fall Leaves Tablerunner

Owenie Fall Leaves Table Runners,Thanksgiving Centerpieces for Tables, 13Inch x 34Inch Embroidered Maple Leaf table decor for Harvest, Autumn Farmhouse Decorations for Home Settings, Machine Washable.Owenie Fall Leaves Table Runners,Thanksgiving Centerpieces for Tables, 13Inch x 34Inch Embroidered Maple Leaf table decor for Harvest, Autumn Farmhouse Decorations for Home Settings, Machine Washable.Check PriceOur kitchen opens up to our dining room where we have the large dining room table that seats 8-12 easily.  Recently, I came across a fall leaves tablerunner that compliments my placemats.  That ties the decor in the two rooms together nicely.  

The tablerunner is not an exact match, but that is not really noticeable unless you place them side by side.  That doesn't matter to us since they are used on different tables.  Plus, there is something naturally eclectic about them not matching, just as hundreds of leaves don't match when blanketing the yard.

If you were going to use the table runners and the placemats on the same table, I would recommend buying the exact same pattern all at the same time.  



More Articles on Fall Decor


Check Out More Home Decor Reviews at
ReviewThisDecor.com

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X