Showing posts with label Olivia Morris. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Olivia Morris. Show all posts

Wednesday, January 25, 2023

Did You Miss it? Jan. 22nd, Chinese Lunar New Year ~ A Holiday Review

 Don't fret if you missed the first day of the New Year in the Chinese Calendar.  You still have a few more days where you can celebrate it!  Truth be known, you can celebrate the New Year of the Rabbit right now until the 1st of February 2023!  It is the longest holiday in China with a whopping 16 days to celebrate!  Most of the country celebrates only the first 7 days (no one could afford to be off work for that long!)  


Chinese New Year is always celebrated somewhere between January 20 till February 21st on our Gregorian Calendars.  So it's always nice to look forward and have something to celebrate during those winter months.  

The Chinese have adopted the Gregorian Calendar as their norm from day to day, but still rely on the Chinese Calendar for special events like the Lunar New Year and Lantern Festivals.  Many of our Chinese immigrants love the idea of holding onto some of their traditions and honor their past with celebrations during these special days.

 

If you were born in 1927, 1939, 1951, 1963, 1975, 1987, 1999 and 2011 and now in 2023, you are under the sign of the Rabbit.  The only exception would be those born before Jan. 21st.  They are part of the group with the Tiger as their animal sign.

Chinese calendars have a 12 year cycle similar to Horoscopes, but they last a year where Horoscopes change every month.  People born in the year of the Rabbit have certain characteristics attributed to them.  Do you know what your "animal" is?

If not, just check out this chart:



But the Chinese zodiac is a little bit harder to understand than our regular monthly horoscopes, because not only are there different signs for the years, but there are also 5 different elements (water, fire, earth, metal and wood)  that each animal passes through too.  So 2023 officially is the year of the Water Rabbit!  

You can read more about this at https://chinesenewyear.net/zodiac/rabbit/

There are many does and don'ts for Chinese New Year Celebrations!  You can never go wrong with the color RED for this celebration!  You will find it everywhere, in home decorations, clothing, and those great little envelopes given to children (with money inside)!  

So what do you do for a child born under the sign of the Rabbit?  Well if you know someone who is having a baby this year, then a lovely gift instead of the requisite Bear, would be a lovely Bunny!  Pat Austin (one of our writers) has a lovely shop on ETSY!  And there is a lovely bunny  that is handmade and special of it's own accord, but would make that special gift for any newborn in 2023!  


I don't know about you, but I love bunnies as much as I love bears and I'm sure that any child would be happy to receive this little critter as a gift!

In the meantime, you can learn more about Chinese New Year and Chinese Celebrations, do some reading and some games with this lovely book! So much to learn and some fun while understanding a different culture!

Gong Hei Fa Choi  

(Happy New Year in Cantonese)





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, January 11, 2023

Aging Gracefully is My Goal for 2023 and Beyond! ~ A Product Review

 Aging is a topic that many people don't want to talk about, but, it's happening to each one of us as each day passes by!  

Today we are going to look at a product review that will help keep you safe as you journey through the days and your years increase.



Both my husband and I are well into our retirement years and we are thankful and happy to have made it to this milestone in life!  We are brave souls that don't take too much for granted and try to make the best out of every day we have.  I guess it helps that we have "Older" people around us that we care for!  They unwittingly give us hope that we will make it further as well. 

Aging is not for sissies, you have to be ready for changes!  Lots and lots of changes!  So when the inevitable decline in mobility started, we knew that it was time to do something about it!  No we aren't ostriches with our head in the sand, we know that in order to keep our days moving forward, we had to make some changes.

Aging gracefully is an attitude we have both decided to adopt.  Being old and miserable just doesn't suit us at all and it makes life more difficult in the long run.  No one wants to be around someone who is cranky all the time because life has brought about some changes.  They will happen whether you like them or not.

We accept the changes and work to make it easier to live with those changes.  

One of the most important aspects of this new philosophy of life is to be "SAFE"! 

With my double knee replacement and my husbands neuropathy in his hands and feet, mobility has become one of our major changes.  Standing for us is sometimes difficult, so we needed help in that area.  Not to worry, there are lots of "tools" available to make that easier.

The one room I will focus on today is in the bathroom!  Most accidents in the home happen in this room!  Why?  Well let's just take a quick look and see what the problems can be! 

  • Lots of very hard surfaces.
  • Water and non-permeable surfaces and floors
  • Lots of  very hard edges and corners
  • Tubs with glossy surfaces and water just waiting to be used like an ice skating rink
  • Hard protruding handles and water spouts
  • Confined spaces (once you fall, there is no where else to land)

My husband had a close call in the shower one morning and that was my wake up call.  Thank goodness for Amazon Prime, the problem was fixed in a day!  

While taking his shower, he felt a little lightheaded and dizzy.  We didn't have anything to hold onto in the tub area, so he was grasping the walls as well as he could.  That day we searched out a way to make showering safer for us.

This is what we came up with and it works well, is not too costly!  



We have had this chair now for a few months and can't believe we did without one for as long as we had. It has been a great purchase for us and I can honestly say that I don't worry about him in the shower anymore.  I know he is safe!  The other modifications we made to our bathroom is a grab bar and a hand held shower head!  Both of these were additions that made showering so much easier, safer and better! I must add that there was always a non-slip floor mat in the bathtub.  If you don't have one of these, they are the first and maybe the most important thing to add to your bathroom safety list.  Anyone, not just seniors can slip in the tub.  So a non-slip bath mat is good for any family, no matter how old or young they are!

Stay tuned for more products that should help you be Super Seniors that take their safety seriously!  Be Fabulous, be Great and above all be Safe as we all move through our days!



The cartoons on this page are borrowed from "weloveourgranny.com"







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 28, 2022

Year End Traditions and Goal Setting for 2023: A Product Review

Hopefully you have all had a wonderful Christmas with your family and friends!  Now, we are in the last few days of 2022 and it's time to reflect on the year past and make some plans for the New Year to come!

If you don't make plans, then maybe it's time that you started a new tradition in your own life.

You are never too old to change paths if the path you are on no longer fits your views of the future.,  But you must take some time to reflect on the changes that you might need to make.



I know from experience that my diet and activity levels were not where they should have been.  So a few years ago I decided to make a few changes.  I had to plan my strategy just like I would have planned a big business idea.  

It started with getting more active. My mobility was suffering and something needed to change.  I started small, but made sure that I could do what I set out to do.  I started walking around the block!  It doesn't sound like much but when you have been fairly sedentary for a long time, around the block may be all that you can do!  Make sure your goal is attainable and sustainable!  



After a little while you will find that your stamina will let you walk a little further.  When it feels right, increase your distance, again making sure it is an attainable goal.

There are many ways to help yourself with those goals and one that I have found very useful and helpful are my Nordic Walking Poles.   Sometimes my balance isn't all that it should be and these walking poles really help me feel much more confident when walking outdoors. They just give me that little bit of stability and they make my walk much more effective in distance covered and calories burned.  After 2 years of walking I am now working my way to 10kms a day.  If I can do it, you can too!

The other part of walking that I love is the quiet!  Sometimes you just need to get away from everything that keeps your mind jumping all over the place.  Getting out in nature is a wonderful way to let go of the "stuff" that keeps your mind going around and around.  As Raintree Annie wrote yesterday, getting out in nature and really observing all the changes in our world can be very cathartic and wonderful.  Check out her Review right here!

Now if you need some help with making your plans, maybe you could use a workbook to help you center yourself and help you create a way forward for 2023.  Barbara Tremblay Cipak, another writer here at Review This Reviews has taken a path to writing about our emotional and mental well-being.  Her book, "I Need Help Thinking Positive" would be a great help in marking out a new path for you to follow in 2023!


 

  

A Gratitude Journal might be another way for you to hone in on the changes you'd like to make or give you some direction in where your interests lie.  

One thing is certain, there are unlimited ways in which to make changes in your day to day lifestyle if that is what you are interested in doing. 

The World Wide Web is a resource for learning all kinds of new things.  Broaden your horizons by learning a new language, visit another country virtually, take a course on hobby that you have been thinking about or check out a university and see what kind of on-line courses are available.  Many of them are free to join and you could learn about something that twigs your interests.  2023 is unmapped territory and you can make some plans to make the New Year a whole lot more interesting, just by preparing a path.  

Might I suggest that you take a walk, think about some things that would interest you and then when you are back home, check out what the internet has available.  You just might find something that really adds a whole new dimension to your life.  

Happy New Year to All and may all your plans be accomplished as you take a new step forward!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 14, 2022

All I Want for Christmas is ... - A Product Review

Santa, I've been good, honestly and all I want for Christmas is a little help for my coffee!

Anyone who knows me will agree that they most often will see me with a cup of coffee in my hand!  It doesn't matter what time of day or night, that coffee mug is in my hand!  If I'm smiling then you know the cup is full, if not, then you better: 1) Put a pot of coffee on or 2) Refill my empty one!
 

 It's just lately that I stop drinking coffee after 8 in the evening.  But until that time, I'm a coffee-holic! And I'm not ashamed to admit it!

I have not yet met a cup of coffee that I didn't like!  Even a bad cup of coffee is better than none at all.  

On the weekend though, my coffee experience just lifted up a notch or two.  We were at my son's home for a lovely dinner (Thank You, Jon & Amy),  After dinner my lovely daughter in law offered coffee to finish off the meal!  (She knows me too well.) 

What she didn't tell me is that she was making a special coffee that she was sure I would enjoy!  I sat back and just told her to bring it on!

Well let's just say that I was treated to a lovely cappuccino coffee made with a beautifully frothed bed of egg nog on top!  The foam was firm and so pretty and tasty too!

We save our cappuccinos for Sunday afternoons as a treat, so this was indeed a nice treat!  What I didn't realize is that it was egg nog that was frothed on top until my little taste buds got involved
" Oh my this is so good"  I exclaimed and my daughter in law was just beaming!

Needless to say, I needed to know how she got that beautiful froth on top!  It looked like a cappuccino that comes from some little Italian Cafe!  My froths are never so perfect!  

Into the kitchen I go, to find out the secret!  And there on the counter was this neat little jug filled with frothy and sweet perfectly frothed egg nog, just waiting to be refilled in my cup!

Santa, I need one of those frothers!  I've been a good girl and this would just make my coffee Sundays so much better than they are now!  Please, please, please!



This is the one I want! Made by the same people that bring you the Instant Pot, this little milk frother/steamer makes enough foam for several cups of coffee and it's ready in minutes!  That's not all this little kitchen helper does either!  If you are not a coffee lover like I am, you can also make hot chocolate, cold frothed milk and just warm milk if that's something you like. You don't even need to use milk if you are lactose intolerant, you can use soy milks, oat milk and more. 

If you are a coffee lover like me, then one of these neat little Instant Frother/Steamers would be perfect for you too!  We will be one of the best Barrista's going!  

Now I have to wait patiently and see if I did indeed make it to Sants's "nice" list or not!  I hope his list is not this one! 



 










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, November 30, 2022

What is Jolabokaflod? Christmas Eve Traditions to Try! Holiday Gift Ideas

 So you might be wondering what a Jolabokaflod is and why it's important!  Well in the interests of learning something new every day, this is one word and idea that really resonates with me and my family.

Jolabokaflod is an Icelandic Christmas Eve tradition.  Every one in the family gets a "book" gift on Christmas Eve and the rest of the evening is spent reading and drinking  hot chocolate and eating some of those wonderful Christmas cookies that seem to magically appear at this time of year.




Our family is blessed in so many ways!   All our children are grown and have children of their own. Our children and grandchildren don't really need more "stuff".   Each family member has a roof over their heads and food on the table.  Clothes in the closets and shoes/boots for whatever weather conditions may be outside.  So what more do we need?

The simple answer is NOTHING!  

The most important things to us (my husband and myself) is BEING with each other and sharing time together.  Yet at Christmastime, we also like to do something special for our family.

So this year we have made the decision to do what they do in Iceland.  Instead of gifts for the adults we will focus on purchasing a book that we have loved and share it with another member of  the family.  

The grandchildren will still receive traditional Christmas gifts, but a book might find it's way into that idea too! We love reading and love promoting reading skills to our grandchildren as well. 

If you are looking for a great list of books to peruse, you don't have to go too far!  Review This Reviews has an amazing list of books that have been reviewed by the writers of this site!  There is everything from Puzzle Books and Riddles, to Murder/Mysteries, Biographies, Cozy Romances and so much more!  

Some books are from new authors and some are from well known authors who have been writing for years.

There is something for everyone at ReviewThisReviews.com!  Click on the link and then follow the tabs across the top!  The first one you come to is BOOK REVIEWS.  How much easier can gift finding get?


We (my other half and I) will be using this link to find the gifts for our own first of a kind, Jolabokaflod that we will celebrate this year!  

Now I have to add an addendum:  This idea is not for every one and if you are interested there are a host of "OTHER" reviews that might help you find that perfect gift if you are celebrating in a more traditional way.

May Your Christmas be everything that you hold dear to your hearts and may you enjoy each other's company making great memories as you go along!  Blessings to all!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, November 16, 2022

Christmas is Coming ~ A Lovely Gift Idea for All the Ladies in Your Life!

The Holiday Season is on it's way already.  Thanksgiving is just around the corner and you know that after that Christmas shopping will be on everyone's mind.

I would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to a lovely gift for all the women on your shopping list.  This gift is one that will fit all sizes and even all ages!  

It is a great gift for those office gift exchanges or makes a great teacher's gift that won't break the bank.  

It will fit into an envelope or stocking and is sure not to be duplicated!  

What could it possibly be?

If you have never heard of Color Street Nail Strips, then you are in for a great surprise.  I am a Color Street Lover and Stylist.  What does that mean?  Well Color Street Nail Strips are only sold through home parties or on-line parties that are hosted by a Stylist.  

These nail strips are like nail polish, without the mess and fuss that nail polish application requires.  It is also so much easier and less time consuming than sitting and waiting for nail polish to dry!  

I love nice looking hands, it's one thing I notice right away when meeting new people.  When you take the time to care for your hands it shows.  


Color Street Nail Strips are easy to apply.  Each package comes with `16 different sized nail strips.  JJust clean you nails with the alcohol wipes to make sure no greasy residue is on your nails before application.  Then one at a time peel the preformed nail strip and place it on your fingernail.  Press it down firmly and trim off the excess with a quick rub with the emery board.  Start at the baby fingers and work your way to your thumbs.  


https://www.colorstreet.com/Olivia72/beautysocial/3783173



With a little practice you can get this done in less than 10 minutes!  That's all it takes to have nails that look well groomed and cared for.  These polish strips once applied, can last 2 weeks or more depending on how quickly your nails grow out!

When I do my nails they last and last with no chipping or peeling!  Two weeks and my hands always look nice.  I even do my dishes, laundry and cleaning without using rubber gloves and my nails still hold up!  I find this product to be amazing.

If you'd like to get something "different" and really inexpensive for a special lady in your life feel free to use the link to my Beauty Social that is currently running till the 23rd of December!  

https://www.colorstreet.com/Olivia72/beautysocial/3783173


Color Street has nail applications for every season, holiday and even special commemorative times like Breast Cancer Awareness.  They also give back to many different organizations with percentages of sales from these special nail sets.  So you get beautiful nails and do a good turn at the same time!  It's a "Twofer" and a winner at the same time!

If you have family and friends that live far away, this is a nice way to send a greeting for the holidays and a gift in the same envelope!  That is a win-win for everyone and I'm sure the recipient will be pleased as punch to get such colorful mail.  

Happy Holidays to all and may your hands look beautiful this year as you are enjoying the holidays!  

Look for the Link here:  Holidays, Holidays, Holidays!

Just in time for Thanksgiving and the start of your Christmas shopping, you can buy one and get one free on all nail sets.  Plus if you want to try their Lip Sticks they are 25% off on Wednesday, Thrusday and Friday this week.  Have some fun and get yours now! 

Here is a link just for you: Holidays, Holidays, Holidays






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, November 2, 2022

Mad Honey by Jodi Picoult and Jennifer Finn Boylan ~ A Book Review

 Every now and then it's a good thing to jump out of your comfort zone and try something new.  So, to that end, I asked for and received a copy of Mad Honey from Netgalley.com.  The only thing that they request is after reading the book that I leave a review!  It is my pleasure to do just that! 

Mad Honey, the title of this book, got me right from the start, because my Son-In-Law is a beekeeper and honey extractor extraordinaire!  Every time we are together he tries to "teach" me something else about bees that the average person would not know.  He is a wealth of information in that regard and takes his beekeeping very seriously.

But let me tell you, this book has so much more going for it than learning about bees and honey!  It is a story about family, family dynamics, coming of age and our acceptance of who is in our lives.  It's a love story on so many different levels too!



Mad Honey

The story surrounds the lives of Olivia McAfee and her son Asher!  She is the wife of a renown Cardiac Surgeon and when Asher is born, life as Olivia knew it would be a joy and blessing for sure.  Like most things in life, nothing is "for sure" and Olivia's husband starts to show a distinct dark side to his personality.  When Asher is in the midst of a violent outburst, Olivia knows that she can no longer stay in this marriage.  

Lily Campanella is also starting new life in the tiny town of Adams in New Hampshire.  The last year of high school and it's a new beginning for Lily, who knows what it's like to have to start all over again.  She and her mom are paving a new road for both of them and hopefully this time the road will be smooth and without complications.

We all know that life is always full of complications and while we are rooting for these two moms and their children to have a great life, trouble seems to find them.

Asher and Lily are boyfriend/girlfriend, inseparable!  It's young love with all the hormones and angst that tends to rage during those years.  We can all remember going through some of those tough times, but in the case of Lily and Asher things are just a little more complicated.

I don't want to give too much of the book away in this review, but suffice it to say you will learn a lot after reading this book. It's not all about the honey bees either!  

This book is a must read for anyone who enjoys a good love story with a dark twist in it.  It will make you re-evaluate how you might handle different situations too.

Unconditional love is great when life is easy, but when things become difficult, sometimes that unconditional love has some conditions attached.  You will have to read in order to find out why.


                                         Image by Sheryl Maiorano from Pixabay 


This book from start to finish is 432 pages long and it could have been longer and still held me captive.  

After the story there is a lovely addition that I'm sure everyone will enjoy and that is about 10 pages of recipes where the key ingredient is, you guessed it, HONEY!

After learning all you did about bees and honey, you will be doubly delighted at the recipes included with this book.

Things like Beekeeper's Granola, Queen Bee Cocktail or a Bee's Knees cocktail!  How about Pork with a Honey-Lime Marinade?

The two that really have me wanting to bake are the Honey Loaf and Hope Cakes.  Both of these recipes are found in the book too!  

So with Mad Honey, you get a great story and a wonderful adventure into the world of bees, but you also get some sobering thoughts about relationships and surviving the ups and downs of real life too!  

This book gets 5 Stars (*****) from me and I would recommend it to everyone!  I'm sure you will learn more than you bargained for once you crack open the cover.  You will have a hard time putting it down again.

Oh an added bonus is that if you have an Audible subscription you can get this book for free!  What can be better than that?







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, October 19, 2022

An Old Idea Gets New Life ~ A Fitness Product Review


Are you interested in knowing how to increase your bone density, increase your circulation and generally feel better than you do right now?  How about something that will help with weight loss, muscle toning and increased metabolism or help with balance!  Keep on reading.....

Maybe I'm dating myself, but I want to know: How many of you remember the old vibrating belt massagers/exercisers that almost every woman swore by in the 1950's and 60's?

They would stand with a belt that went around the hips and turn on the machine that would then shake them up for 10 to 20 minutes or more.  They were touted as the perfect way to get in shape/stay in shape/and get rid of cellulite for that perfect figure.

Well for years that seemed to be something that women did to keep themselves feeling better about their own looks (or to keep their husbands happy).  Today we are not so inclined to do this for anyone other than ourselves.

Vibration Plates or Full Body Vibration (FBV) are one of the newest fitness trends and this one seems to have many health benefits as well.  Vibration Plates or Platforms are easy to use, don't take a lot of time and the benefits seem to be almost instant.  Even these little ones seem to be benefitting from a ride on the vibration plates.


  

Now in all seriousness, Vibration Plates are a wonderful way to exercise without having to stress your body beyond what is your normal. Even age is not a barrier to using this platform.  What is important is that we do things to make our bodies work and feel better for ourselves and in turn our families will benefit when we are at our best.

Many doctors are on board with the benefits that these Plates will have on the body.  They consider that with the vibrations our bodies are being toned as the muscles react to being activated by the movements.  Doctors claim that Blood circulation is increased, lymphatic systems drain better and bone density is increased too.  Fitness instructors also seem to love these machines as well.  

We purchased one after reading about increased circulation benefits especially for someone with Peripheral Neuropathy!  This is a condition that my other half has and his abilities to walk are becoming much more difficult.  This condition makes it hard for him to feel his feet as there is very little nerve sensations in both his hands and feet.  We were looking for something that would help him keep his sensations in his feet or even increase his nerve reaction.  Circulation is a big part of this condition.  So we are happy that this Vibrating Platform/Plate, is recommended as part of that process.

It seems that many Doctors, Physiotherapists, Fitness Trainers and Athletes  are all using this new tool to recover, recuperate, exercise and strengthen their bodies.  As you can see in the You Tube below this Doctor explains how these Vibration Platforms work.  Now I'm not a medical doctor and before you buy something like this, you should talk to your own health care professional or do your own research.  



There are many different types and manufacturers of these Vibration Plates and the prices range from $100.00 to many hundreds.  I would highly recommend that you speak to your health care professional or a fitness trainer and get some recommendations for your own specific needs.  You can even go to some gyms and try them out before you decide to buy one for yourself.

We purchased this one as it came recommended by friends and other family members.  It suits our needs and was not too expensive.  Both my husband and I use it for the health benefits and so far it is working well for both of us.  


While we are making the most of this new fitness/health trend, you should check it out and see if it fits into your own lifestyle and see if you would benefit from using this type of physical activity.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, September 21, 2022

Halloween Sweaters and Accessories ~ A Holiday Review

 I am in a Holiday kind of mind because for the last few years many of our holidays have been put on hold due to the world wide COVID precautions and restrictions.  Well, the good news is that those many restrictions have been lifted and we can all celebrate together again.  That for me, is a big deal and I'm not alone!  Everyone is ready to have some fun and just kick back and enjoy the season and the holidays that are contained in there! 


Full Moon photo



What I love the most about a website that I happen to promote, is that there are so many things available to make your Halloween complete.

It's not just about the costumes (although that's the part I enjoy the most).  It's about all the other little things that make this holiday so much fun.

I happen to love the accessories page of HalloweenCostumes.com,  You have everything there that you haven't found anywhere else!  Accessories can sometimes even be the inspiration for the rest of your costume.  Starting off with a set of horns may become the impetus for one heck of a spooky or devilishly wonderful costume.  Tridents and Wands or Swords and Spears could send your costume look in a totally different direction.  The best part is that if you start now, you can tweak your costume for the next month and come out with something really wonderful and unique to you!  TIME is of the utmost importance and NOW is a great time to get started.

If you are not really into dressing the part of a Halloween ghoul or character, you can get into the Halloween spirit with a great Halloween Sweater.   Here in the north, Halloween can be quite chilly, so a warmer Halloween Sweater is perfect, especially when you are standing at an open doorway or maybe just opening and closing the door constantly.  The last thing you want as a Halloween treat is the first cold of the season.  So keep yourself ready by having a nice (scary or ugly) Halloween Sweater to compliment the night!  Some of their styles are already "Sold Out" , you don't want to miss out, so getting this done early is the best thing you can do!

If you live in the south, you might check out some lighter Halloween shirts at this ReviewThisReviews page! 

My hope for you and for me, is that after such a long absence of fun, we will all go out of our way to make the first big Holiday a fun time for all!   Then we can follow Halloween up with the best for Thanksgiving and Christmas that follow so shortly afterward.

Have a great time checking out all the good things to make your Halloween a "Spooktacliarly Good Time"

You can find everything you need right here at HalloweenCostumes.com!










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, September 7, 2022

Halloween, Time to Have a Really Scary Night ~ A Holiday Product Review

 It's coming soon!  Are you ready to put your thinking cap on?  It doesn't have to be hard to come up with a costume that will thrill and chill or just make everyone laugh!

The time to think about Halloween costumes is now!  After several years of no Halloween fun, I think everyone is more than ready to enjoy this holiday to it's fullest!


 

Are you a crafty person?  If so, you might want to get started now. Get all those things together to make this years Halloween costume, one that won't be forgotten!

The biggest problem is coming up with the idea!  There are so many easy ways to make a costume and then there are those costumes that will take a bit of time and effort to put together.  The choice is entirely yours.

Pick your theme for starters and then run with it.  The whole idea of making your costume stand out is to take the theme and exaggerate it to the fullest!  That is what makes it fun and so extra special.  

But if you are like me, my mind starts to go in all kinds of different directions and I find myself unable to make the decisions that will complete my "look"!  

Thank goodness there is a great place to get a costume for you, your kids and your other half!  Without all the hassles of making a  costume from scratch and trying to find everything you need!  

HalloweenCostumes.com has got you covered.  I just spent a whole day and a half just getting a feel for what they offer and I'm impressed!  

These costumes are really fun and come in all sizes from the Babies right up to the Parents and Grands!  Who could ask for anything more!  

HalloweenCostumes.com has individual costumes as well as costumes for pairs or couples!  Batman and Robin, Peter Pan and Tinkerbell, Zombies, and lots of story book characters too!  You really need to go and take a look!  So many choices and they seem to me to be cost effective too!  

By the time you buy the fabric, thread and accessories to make a costume (plus the time to make it) you will spend as much or more than what the finished price for these costumes are!

Halloween should be a time to enjoy and have some real fun!  Stressing out over your costume should not be the highlight.  

Everything Halloween can be found at HalloweenCostumes.com!  Do you need props?  Lights? Party Decorations and more?  Check out all of the scary and fun accessories that will just finish off your Halloween display.  

Mr. Skeleton is just one of the many props available on the Accessories Page!  Pretty scary to me.




I think that this year will be the one where so many people will get out and enjoy what we've been missing for the past few years.  We need to laugh and have something to look forward to!  Seeing everyone out having a really good time, makes my spirits lift, no pun intended!  



I'm hoping that everyone is looking forward to a really good time this year!


  

HAPPY HALLOWEEN TO ALL!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 24, 2022

Two Replaced Knees and a Broken Elbow Equals.......A Product Review

No this is not one of Barbara's Riddles, although she has some great Riddle Books! (You can check them out on Review This Reviews if you like right here!


 But the answer to my riddle is dirty floors!  

I must admit that I like clean floors but I don't particularly like cleaning them!  Getting down and dirty in order to clean those tiles can be back breaking at the best of times.  But after having double knee replacements and a broken elbow, getting down on that floor is impossible.  Plus, since I started my Keto Lifestyle (with Margaret's help)  a couple of years ago, my Hubby decided that is was his turn to take over the cooking chores!

I'm not complaining because he is very careful and cooks for me with my Carbs ever on his mind.  But after my wonderful husband has been in the kitchen chopping and peeling and generally making a mess, the floor looks less than fantastic!

Now I must admit, I'm a little bit of a nut when it comes to having the kitchen floor clean.  There is nothing like getting down on the hands and knees and scrubbing  all those little nooks and crannies!  But since arthritis and recent the knee surgery, that is not happening anymore.  I had to find someway to get my floors as clean as I like them.

Yes, I have a mop and bucket, many different types of cleaning apparatus with micro cleaning attachments and several different kinds of cleaning cloths.  None of them were satisfactory for my personal tastes.  Plus, I needed something that I could use quickly and have it really do the job!

Well, after much searching and lots of different products, I think I found the one I like the best.  It's the Bissell Powerfresh DeLuxe 1806 Series!  


It is compact, lightweight, easy to use and it really does make the floors look great.  I was sceptical about how well it would work, because nothing up till now matches the cleanliness of getting down and scrubbing!  But surprise, surprise, after giving the kitchen a good sweep (to get the big stuff up), I plugged in my new little friend and within 10 minutes the floor was steam cleaned and dry!  Hubby walked by and took a quick look and then came back and looked again.  His comment was that the floor looked like it did when we first moved in to the apartment.  Now I have to agree with him.  This is the cleanest I have gotten the floor since my knees were replaced last year.  I am a happy camper!

If you are looking for something that will help you get your floors looking great, I would highly recommend this little but powerful Electric Steam Mop!  

My only regret is that I did not find this appliance sooner.  Shiny clean floors are something that makes me happy!  This mop is one that I will use on a weekly (or more often depending on how the cook is doing) basis!  It's easy to use and doesn't take forever to heat up.  I had my floor cleaned in less than 10 minutes yet they looked like I'd been scrubbing for hours!  Now that to me is a Big Win!

Now, Two replaced knees and the broken elbow equals nice clean floors for sure!  And healing joints as time goes forward!  The cook is no longer worried about the messes he makes either!  All around this was a great investment!  I have a happy cook and a happy housekeeper (me)!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 10, 2022

The Housekeeper by Joy Fielding ~ A Book Review

The Housekeeper by Joy Fielding is a book that will give you shivers up your spine and really make you stop and think!  While it is considered a "novel", it has threads of real life tied up in there too!

Anyone looking after ailing parents or relatives will be able to put themselves into this story!  

Joy Fielding manages to make you stop in your tracks and really think about the possibilities that happen when you put your trust into someone to look after your loved ones.  


                                                 Image by Tania Van den Berghen from Pixabay

Those of us who were born in the 1940's, 50's and beyond and are still blessed enough to have our parents here with us, are looking at the needs of the elderly through eyes that are living the reality of having aging parents and loved ones.  It is not easy! 

Right now I am the one responsible for both my mother and my uncle who are 91 and 92 respectively. I am lucky though because both of them are in fairly good health and still manage to live on their own.  I do a lot of running back and forth for them, but that is a minor job (so to speak). I can't imagine how much more difficult it would be should they be so ill as to not be able to live on their own.  I guess that is one reason that this book really hit a homerun with me!

Back to the "Book",  The Housekeeper is a rare find for Jodi!  She is busy with her real estate business which just happens to be booming.  Her father, Vic, whose personality is very controlling and his wife Audrey are her parents.  Audrey is diagnosed with Parkinson's disease and her health is quickly  deteriorating.     

Jodi's father decides to stop working (he was the founder of the real estate office) to look after his wife.  While this seems to be a great way to cope with their changing circumstances, it really isn't working out very well.  Audrey needs more help than her husband can provide.  They are well off financially, so it seems that outside help would be a good answer to the growing needs of Jodi's parents.  Her father (in whose eyes Jodi never seems to shine) is NOT happy with this change in his life.  He doesn't want another person in the house, yet, he agrees to give a housekeeper a chance.

Jodi sees the need to look for outside help, even though her father is still adamant that he can cope.  She herself,  is not able to do what needs to be done on a daily basis, so she starts her search for "The Housekeeper".  Her hope is that with someone to do the cooking and cleaning for her parents, her father and mother will be  free to spend their time together and still live a comfortable life in their own home.  Hopefully her dad will come to realize this is a good choice to make.

That's when Elyse shows up for the job!  She herself is a "younger senior", quite lively and willing to do the work that Vic cannot!  

This is where things start to go wrong and yet, Elyse is the answer to Jodi's prayers, or so it seems.  Her children love the "housekeeper" and her dad seems to have a little more bounce in his steps since she arrived. 

What could possibly go wrong?

I'm going to leave the story here only because I know you will want to know what happens next.  

The Housekeeper is a story that had me thinking for days after I finished closing the book.  I know you will find it interesting and I would even call it riveting.  I could not put this book down.

Maybe it's because this is where my life is at right now, or maybe it's because I never thought of the possibilities that could happen, but this book really opened my eyes.

While it's a novel and none of the story is true or real, this story could be a reality and that is the scary part.  This is a thriller, murder/mystery and is due for publication on the 16th of August this year.  It is a timely topic that I'm sure will have many people talking!

Put "The Housekeeper" by Joy Fielding on your Must Read List, I know you won't be disappointed.




Happy Reading!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, June 29, 2022

Summertime and Playtime Go Together For the Whole Family

For most of us Summertime is just what we need to get us moving a little bit more!  That being said, it's also a time when family's get together more often for BBQ's and some fun!

We spent the last weekend at my son's cottage and had some really good time with two of our three grandchildren.  The third one was busy at a Horse Show.  

So we made the most of the time we had with the two younger ones!  

Cottage life is so different from everyday life in the city.  It's time to relax, enjoy the outdoors and just reconnect with our loved ones.  

My son makes sure the kids have more outdoor time and less "electronic" time especially when at the cottage.  Plus sometimes the power goes out, so there is no electricity to run those hand held games.  That is exactly what happened when we were there.  No power, so we had to make our own brand of fun.  

Enter Granddad's great idea for a fun time without the need for power.  

We are always looking for things that the kids can do while at the cottage.  Things that make them think, explore, observe and best of all move out into the wilds!  Board games are great, but sometimes you just need to get some of that pent up energy released!  

We found a great way to do just that with a Badminton Set that is so easy to set up and take down again.  

No need to bang in posts or mark out where those posts should go.  Just set it up and you are ready to go! Of course I'm talking about recreational badminton and not professional status.  This is meant for fun only!  


Do you want to see how easy this set is?  Well I'll tell you I was impressed with how quickly this was done!  Granddad checked out the instructions just to see if there was a hidden surprise in there.  Like some difficulty that was NOT expected.  Well I'm happy to report that there were no hidden surprises of any kind and it was as advertised, easy to set up!



 

 The net is pressure fitted onto the frame and stands up on it's own in minutes. Just put the base together (everything slides together), attach the net and you are ready to go! Grab a racket and shuttlecock and you are ready to play.  Make up your own rules if you really want to have some fun!  (Like first one to get a rally of 10 or more hits, gets the first popsicle)  You get the idea....

The beauty is that all you need is a flat surface to set up on and when you are done, it goes back into the box as quickly as it was set up or you can make it into a self caddy.   Not only good at the cottage, but if you go camping or to the beach this Badminton set is a great take along.  It comes with 4 rackets and 2 shuttlecocks, the net and the frame.  It has instructions as well, but even a child could put this together in minutes.  

What has us so excited about this set, is that even in our apartment, we could take this set outdoors and play on the grounds around our building.  I bet that when our neighbors see us having some fun, they would be interested in joining us for some great outdoor fun and exercise time.  

Badminton when played at a recreational pace is not so tiresome that us "older" kids can't join in the fun.  It might even do our older bones some good to get them moving about!  Just think about all the stretching and bending to get our joints moving!  Of course after all this playing is done, you can relax with your favorite beverage (you deserve it now)!

Don't let this summer pass you by without making some time for some fun in the great outdoors.








Play on everyone and enjoy the summer months!  





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, June 15, 2022

Father's Day, A Gift That Will Become a Favorite!

 Everyone I know seems to scramble for something interesting for Father's Day.  They are searching for a gift that will keep on giving in some way that "The Dad" in the family will enjoy for a long time to come.  Well I think I have hit on a gift that fits that bill for the Father in our household and everyone can chip in to make it an affordable and lasting gift.

Are you curious?  What could it be?

Well, let me tell you a little more and then maybe you could guess.  We live in an area where we are close to the airport and our balcony faces in a way that we seem to have an arrival highway to the airport.  We enjoy sitting out on our balcony in the evenings and watching the planes.  Sometimes it's easy to see them and then there are other times when they are just too far away.  

We also enjoy watching the hawks that are always circling around our buildings.  These birds are amazing animals and up close and personal is the best way to appreciate their beauty.

Now the other thing we love doing is getting out to baseball games.  For our retired way of life, we usually get some nose-bleed seats and watch the overall game.  But, there are times when your favorite batter is up and you just need to get a closer look.  

What you may ask, could possibly cover all of these different activities?  Well if you guess Binoculars, you would be right on the money. 


                                                            Image by Siggy Nowak from Pixabay

What we love about the  binoculars featured here, is that they are waterproof, lightweight and yet still give you a really great close up of whatever you happen to focus on.  When your Dad is out and about they hang around his neck without being bulky and cumbersome. For the serious, but practical bird/plane/baseball player watcher (also known as Dad) these are a perfect pair of binoculars.  The best part is that they are so affordable and everyone in the family can still share in the cost and then take Dad out for dinner too!   You can get your Dad a great pair of Binoculars right here:  Bushnell Binoculars:


Of course you are not limited to what I have shown you here.  If your Dad requires a more sophisticated pair of binoculars, you can go all out and break the bank if you want to, but it really isn't necessary.  He will be able to do a lot of watching up close and personal with the ones I have chosen to feature here for you.  

Wishing all of the Dads, Granddads and Dad figures a wonderful and Happy Father's Day on Sunday June 19th!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Summertime is On the Way! Cool Off Easily ~ A Product Review

Summertime is almost here and with it comes the heat and humidity that most people love and hate at the same time!  We've all been waiting patiently (most of the time) for winter to end!  Well I think it's safe to say that it is now over!  At least here in the Southern parts of Ontario, winter has definitely left us and we have already moved through our short spring!  Most of the Magnolia trees have already blossomed and the Crab Apple trees are now in full bloom.  




Image by Ralphs_Fotos from Pixabay


Spring doesn't last too long here and summer is following quickly in the next few weeks.

At this time of year, being of a certain age, I find that my own body thermometer seems to get out of whack.  Call it hormones, if you like, but I know that the uncomfortable days are coming quickly and I want to be prepared. 

One of the things I love to do during the summer months is to enjoy the outdoors and still be comfortable.  Whether it's playing in my little garden area with my containers of veggies that are growing on my balcony or picking up my favorite book to read for a while, comfort to me is of utmost importance. 

There is nothing worse than trying to enjoy the great outdoors while dripping with perspiration due to the humidity.  Oh I could go indoors and sit in the comfort of the air conditioning, but what is the point in that? 

I waited for summer to come and now I want to be out there enjoying it. Now I can share with you my little lifesaver.  I was introduced to this gadget through a friend who is having hot flashes like crazy!  While visiting her for instructions on her dog's needs (I was going to doggie sit) she pulls out these neat little fans and puts them around her neck.   Not only does she cool right off, but, she can and does continue to take me through all the instructions with these little fans running.  They are quiet and cool her right off in a matter of minutes.  Now,  I'm older than she is and I thought I was all through those nasty hot flashes, then they came back with a vengeance.   That was a surprise to me and I needed help. 

 Thank God for girlfriends who share their great finds with each other. 


 


These small and inexpensive fans will cool you off and let you enjoy the outdoors while having a nice breeze blowing on you.  These are quiet enough that you can keep a conversation going without having to raise your voice.  These are a win-win for me and because they sit around your neck, without cords attached, you can move around with them on.  You can continue with your hobbies and crafts, reading or just sitting around with a certain level of comfort even on the hottest days.  If the outdoors becomes too overbearing I can always go indoors for a few minutes just to really cool down, but then I'm right back out again.  I love summer and these will make my summer even better!  


Image by Siggy Nowak from Pixabay


If this is something you think would work for you, just click on the  link and get a pair for yourself.  Happy Summer!  Be Cool and enjoy everyday!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X