Showing posts with label Olivia Morris. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Olivia Morris. Show all posts

Wednesday, September 21, 2022

Halloween Sweaters and Accessories ~ A Holiday Review

 I am in a Holiday kind of mind because for the last few years many of our holidays have been put on hold due to the world wide COVID precautions and restrictions.  Well, the good news is that those many restrictions have been lifted and we can all celebrate together again.  That for me, is a big deal and I'm not alone!  Everyone is ready to have some fun and just kick back and enjoy the season and the holidays that are contained in there! 


Full Moon photo



What I love the most about a website that I happen to promote, is that there are so many things available to make your Halloween complete.

It's not just about the costumes (although that's the part I enjoy the most).  It's about all the other little things that make this holiday so much fun.

I happen to love the accessories page of HalloweenCostumes.com,  You have everything there that you haven't found anywhere else!  Accessories can sometimes even be the inspiration for the rest of your costume.  Starting off with a set of horns may become the impetus for one heck of a spooky or devilishly wonderful costume.  Tridents and Wands or Swords and Spears could send your costume look in a totally different direction.  The best part is that if you start now, you can tweak your costume for the next month and come out with something really wonderful and unique to you!  TIME is of the utmost importance and NOW is a great time to get started.

If you are not really into dressing the part of a Halloween ghoul or character, you can get into the Halloween spirit with a great Halloween Sweater.   Here in the north, Halloween can be quite chilly, so a warmer Halloween Sweater is perfect, especially when you are standing at an open doorway or maybe just opening and closing the door constantly.  The last thing you want as a Halloween treat is the first cold of the season.  So keep yourself ready by having a nice (scary or ugly) Halloween Sweater to compliment the night!  Some of their styles are already "Sold Out" , you don't want to miss out, so getting this done early is the best thing you can do!

If you live in the south, you might check out some lighter Halloween shirts at this ReviewThisReviews page! 

My hope for you and for me, is that after such a long absence of fun, we will all go out of our way to make the first big Holiday a fun time for all!   Then we can follow Halloween up with the best for Thanksgiving and Christmas that follow so shortly afterward.

Have a great time checking out all the good things to make your Halloween a "Spooktacliarly Good Time"

You can find everything you need right here at HalloweenCostumes.com!










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, September 7, 2022

Halloween, Time to Have a Really Scary Night ~ A Holiday Product Review

 It's coming soon!  Are you ready to put your thinking cap on?  It doesn't have to be hard to come up with a costume that will thrill and chill or just make everyone laugh!

The time to think about Halloween costumes is now!  After several years of no Halloween fun, I think everyone is more than ready to enjoy this holiday to it's fullest!


 

Are you a crafty person?  If so, you might want to get started now. Get all those things together to make this years Halloween costume, one that won't be forgotten!

The biggest problem is coming up with the idea!  There are so many easy ways to make a costume and then there are those costumes that will take a bit of time and effort to put together.  The choice is entirely yours.

Pick your theme for starters and then run with it.  The whole idea of making your costume stand out is to take the theme and exaggerate it to the fullest!  That is what makes it fun and so extra special.  

But if you are like me, my mind starts to go in all kinds of different directions and I find myself unable to make the decisions that will complete my "look"!  

Thank goodness there is a great place to get a costume for you, your kids and your other half!  Without all the hassles of making a  costume from scratch and trying to find everything you need!  

HalloweenCostumes.com has got you covered.  I just spent a whole day and a half just getting a feel for what they offer and I'm impressed!  

These costumes are really fun and come in all sizes from the Babies right up to the Parents and Grands!  Who could ask for anything more!  

HalloweenCostumes.com has individual costumes as well as costumes for pairs or couples!  Batman and Robin, Peter Pan and Tinkerbell, Zombies, and lots of story book characters too!  You really need to go and take a look!  So many choices and they seem to me to be cost effective too!  

By the time you buy the fabric, thread and accessories to make a costume (plus the time to make it) you will spend as much or more than what the finished price for these costumes are!

Halloween should be a time to enjoy and have some real fun!  Stressing out over your costume should not be the highlight.  

Everything Halloween can be found at HalloweenCostumes.com!  Do you need props?  Lights? Party Decorations and more?  Check out all of the scary and fun accessories that will just finish off your Halloween display.  

Mr. Skeleton is just one of the many props available on the Accessories Page!  Pretty scary to me.




I think that this year will be the one where so many people will get out and enjoy what we've been missing for the past few years.  We need to laugh and have something to look forward to!  Seeing everyone out having a really good time, makes my spirits lift, no pun intended!  



I'm hoping that everyone is looking forward to a really good time this year!


  

HAPPY HALLOWEEN TO ALL!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 24, 2022

Two Replaced Knees and a Broken Elbow Equals.......A Product Review

No this is not one of Barbara's Riddles, although she has some great Riddle Books! (You can check them out on Review This Reviews if you like right here!


 But the answer to my riddle is dirty floors!  

I must admit that I like clean floors but I don't particularly like cleaning them!  Getting down and dirty in order to clean those tiles can be back breaking at the best of times.  But after having double knee replacements and a broken elbow, getting down on that floor is impossible.  Plus, since I started my Keto Lifestyle (with Margaret's help)  a couple of years ago, my Hubby decided that is was his turn to take over the cooking chores!

I'm not complaining because he is very careful and cooks for me with my Carbs ever on his mind.  But after my wonderful husband has been in the kitchen chopping and peeling and generally making a mess, the floor looks less than fantastic!

Now I must admit, I'm a little bit of a nut when it comes to having the kitchen floor clean.  There is nothing like getting down on the hands and knees and scrubbing  all those little nooks and crannies!  But since arthritis and recent the knee surgery, that is not happening anymore.  I had to find someway to get my floors as clean as I like them.

Yes, I have a mop and bucket, many different types of cleaning apparatus with micro cleaning attachments and several different kinds of cleaning cloths.  None of them were satisfactory for my personal tastes.  Plus, I needed something that I could use quickly and have it really do the job!

Well, after much searching and lots of different products, I think I found the one I like the best.  It's the Bissell Powerfresh DeLuxe 1806 Series!  


It is compact, lightweight, easy to use and it really does make the floors look great.  I was sceptical about how well it would work, because nothing up till now matches the cleanliness of getting down and scrubbing!  But surprise, surprise, after giving the kitchen a good sweep (to get the big stuff up), I plugged in my new little friend and within 10 minutes the floor was steam cleaned and dry!  Hubby walked by and took a quick look and then came back and looked again.  His comment was that the floor looked like it did when we first moved in to the apartment.  Now I have to agree with him.  This is the cleanest I have gotten the floor since my knees were replaced last year.  I am a happy camper!

If you are looking for something that will help you get your floors looking great, I would highly recommend this little but powerful Electric Steam Mop!  

My only regret is that I did not find this appliance sooner.  Shiny clean floors are something that makes me happy!  This mop is one that I will use on a weekly (or more often depending on how the cook is doing) basis!  It's easy to use and doesn't take forever to heat up.  I had my floor cleaned in less than 10 minutes yet they looked like I'd been scrubbing for hours!  Now that to me is a Big Win!

Now, Two replaced knees and the broken elbow equals nice clean floors for sure!  And healing joints as time goes forward!  The cook is no longer worried about the messes he makes either!  All around this was a great investment!  I have a happy cook and a happy housekeeper (me)!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 10, 2022

The Housekeeper by Joy Fielding ~ A Book Review

The Housekeeper by Joy Fielding is a book that will give you shivers up your spine and really make you stop and think!  While it is considered a "novel", it has threads of real life tied up in there too!

Anyone looking after ailing parents or relatives will be able to put themselves into this story!  

Joy Fielding manages to make you stop in your tracks and really think about the possibilities that happen when you put your trust into someone to look after your loved ones.  


                                                 Image by Tania Van den Berghen from Pixabay

Those of us who were born in the 1940's, 50's and beyond and are still blessed enough to have our parents here with us, are looking at the needs of the elderly through eyes that are living the reality of having aging parents and loved ones.  It is not easy! 

Right now I am the one responsible for both my mother and my uncle who are 91 and 92 respectively. I am lucky though because both of them are in fairly good health and still manage to live on their own.  I do a lot of running back and forth for them, but that is a minor job (so to speak). I can't imagine how much more difficult it would be should they be so ill as to not be able to live on their own.  I guess that is one reason that this book really hit a homerun with me!

Back to the "Book",  The Housekeeper is a rare find for Jodi!  She is busy with her real estate business which just happens to be booming.  Her father, Vic, whose personality is very controlling and his wife Audrey are her parents.  Audrey is diagnosed with Parkinson's disease and her health is quickly  deteriorating.     

Jodi's father decides to stop working (he was the founder of the real estate office) to look after his wife.  While this seems to be a great way to cope with their changing circumstances, it really isn't working out very well.  Audrey needs more help than her husband can provide.  They are well off financially, so it seems that outside help would be a good answer to the growing needs of Jodi's parents.  Her father (in whose eyes Jodi never seems to shine) is NOT happy with this change in his life.  He doesn't want another person in the house, yet, he agrees to give a housekeeper a chance.

Jodi sees the need to look for outside help, even though her father is still adamant that he can cope.  She herself,  is not able to do what needs to be done on a daily basis, so she starts her search for "The Housekeeper".  Her hope is that with someone to do the cooking and cleaning for her parents, her father and mother will be  free to spend their time together and still live a comfortable life in their own home.  Hopefully her dad will come to realize this is a good choice to make.

That's when Elyse shows up for the job!  She herself is a "younger senior", quite lively and willing to do the work that Vic cannot!  

This is where things start to go wrong and yet, Elyse is the answer to Jodi's prayers, or so it seems.  Her children love the "housekeeper" and her dad seems to have a little more bounce in his steps since she arrived. 

What could possibly go wrong?

I'm going to leave the story here only because I know you will want to know what happens next.  

The Housekeeper is a story that had me thinking for days after I finished closing the book.  I know you will find it interesting and I would even call it riveting.  I could not put this book down.

Maybe it's because this is where my life is at right now, or maybe it's because I never thought of the possibilities that could happen, but this book really opened my eyes.

While it's a novel and none of the story is true or real, this story could be a reality and that is the scary part.  This is a thriller, murder/mystery and is due for publication on the 16th of August this year.  It is a timely topic that I'm sure will have many people talking!

Put "The Housekeeper" by Joy Fielding on your Must Read List, I know you won't be disappointed.




Happy Reading!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, June 29, 2022

Summertime and Playtime Go Together For the Whole Family

For most of us Summertime is just what we need to get us moving a little bit more!  That being said, it's also a time when family's get together more often for BBQ's and some fun!

We spent the last weekend at my son's cottage and had some really good time with two of our three grandchildren.  The third one was busy at a Horse Show.  

So we made the most of the time we had with the two younger ones!  

Cottage life is so different from everyday life in the city.  It's time to relax, enjoy the outdoors and just reconnect with our loved ones.  

My son makes sure the kids have more outdoor time and less "electronic" time especially when at the cottage.  Plus sometimes the power goes out, so there is no electricity to run those hand held games.  That is exactly what happened when we were there.  No power, so we had to make our own brand of fun.  

Enter Granddad's great idea for a fun time without the need for power.  

We are always looking for things that the kids can do while at the cottage.  Things that make them think, explore, observe and best of all move out into the wilds!  Board games are great, but sometimes you just need to get some of that pent up energy released!  

We found a great way to do just that with a Badminton Set that is so easy to set up and take down again.  

No need to bang in posts or mark out where those posts should go.  Just set it up and you are ready to go! Of course I'm talking about recreational badminton and not professional status.  This is meant for fun only!  


Do you want to see how easy this set is?  Well I'll tell you I was impressed with how quickly this was done!  Granddad checked out the instructions just to see if there was a hidden surprise in there.  Like some difficulty that was NOT expected.  Well I'm happy to report that there were no hidden surprises of any kind and it was as advertised, easy to set up!



 

 The net is pressure fitted onto the frame and stands up on it's own in minutes. Just put the base together (everything slides together), attach the net and you are ready to go! Grab a racket and shuttlecock and you are ready to play.  Make up your own rules if you really want to have some fun!  (Like first one to get a rally of 10 or more hits, gets the first popsicle)  You get the idea....

The beauty is that all you need is a flat surface to set up on and when you are done, it goes back into the box as quickly as it was set up or you can make it into a self caddy.   Not only good at the cottage, but if you go camping or to the beach this Badminton set is a great take along.  It comes with 4 rackets and 2 shuttlecocks, the net and the frame.  It has instructions as well, but even a child could put this together in minutes.  

What has us so excited about this set, is that even in our apartment, we could take this set outdoors and play on the grounds around our building.  I bet that when our neighbors see us having some fun, they would be interested in joining us for some great outdoor fun and exercise time.  

Badminton when played at a recreational pace is not so tiresome that us "older" kids can't join in the fun.  It might even do our older bones some good to get them moving about!  Just think about all the stretching and bending to get our joints moving!  Of course after all this playing is done, you can relax with your favorite beverage (you deserve it now)!

Don't let this summer pass you by without making some time for some fun in the great outdoors.








Play on everyone and enjoy the summer months!  





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, June 15, 2022

Father's Day, A Gift That Will Become a Favorite!

 Everyone I know seems to scramble for something interesting for Father's Day.  They are searching for a gift that will keep on giving in some way that "The Dad" in the family will enjoy for a long time to come.  Well I think I have hit on a gift that fits that bill for the Father in our household and everyone can chip in to make it an affordable and lasting gift.

Are you curious?  What could it be?

Well, let me tell you a little more and then maybe you could guess.  We live in an area where we are close to the airport and our balcony faces in a way that we seem to have an arrival highway to the airport.  We enjoy sitting out on our balcony in the evenings and watching the planes.  Sometimes it's easy to see them and then there are other times when they are just too far away.  

We also enjoy watching the hawks that are always circling around our buildings.  These birds are amazing animals and up close and personal is the best way to appreciate their beauty.

Now the other thing we love doing is getting out to baseball games.  For our retired way of life, we usually get some nose-bleed seats and watch the overall game.  But, there are times when your favorite batter is up and you just need to get a closer look.  

What you may ask, could possibly cover all of these different activities?  Well if you guess Binoculars, you would be right on the money. 


                                                            Image by Siggy Nowak from Pixabay

What we love about the  binoculars featured here, is that they are waterproof, lightweight and yet still give you a really great close up of whatever you happen to focus on.  When your Dad is out and about they hang around his neck without being bulky and cumbersome. For the serious, but practical bird/plane/baseball player watcher (also known as Dad) these are a perfect pair of binoculars.  The best part is that they are so affordable and everyone in the family can still share in the cost and then take Dad out for dinner too!   You can get your Dad a great pair of Binoculars right here:  Bushnell Binoculars:


Of course you are not limited to what I have shown you here.  If your Dad requires a more sophisticated pair of binoculars, you can go all out and break the bank if you want to, but it really isn't necessary.  He will be able to do a lot of watching up close and personal with the ones I have chosen to feature here for you.  

Wishing all of the Dads, Granddads and Dad figures a wonderful and Happy Father's Day on Sunday June 19th!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Summertime is On the Way! Cool Off Easily ~ A Product Review

Summertime is almost here and with it comes the heat and humidity that most people love and hate at the same time!  We've all been waiting patiently (most of the time) for winter to end!  Well I think it's safe to say that it is now over!  At least here in the Southern parts of Ontario, winter has definitely left us and we have already moved through our short spring!  Most of the Magnolia trees have already blossomed and the Crab Apple trees are now in full bloom.  




Image by Ralphs_Fotos from Pixabay


Spring doesn't last too long here and summer is following quickly in the next few weeks.

At this time of year, being of a certain age, I find that my own body thermometer seems to get out of whack.  Call it hormones, if you like, but I know that the uncomfortable days are coming quickly and I want to be prepared. 

One of the things I love to do during the summer months is to enjoy the outdoors and still be comfortable.  Whether it's playing in my little garden area with my containers of veggies that are growing on my balcony or picking up my favorite book to read for a while, comfort to me is of utmost importance. 

There is nothing worse than trying to enjoy the great outdoors while dripping with perspiration due to the humidity.  Oh I could go indoors and sit in the comfort of the air conditioning, but what is the point in that? 

I waited for summer to come and now I want to be out there enjoying it. Now I can share with you my little lifesaver.  I was introduced to this gadget through a friend who is having hot flashes like crazy!  While visiting her for instructions on her dog's needs (I was going to doggie sit) she pulls out these neat little fans and puts them around her neck.   Not only does she cool right off, but, she can and does continue to take me through all the instructions with these little fans running.  They are quiet and cool her right off in a matter of minutes.  Now,  I'm older than she is and I thought I was all through those nasty hot flashes, then they came back with a vengeance.   That was a surprise to me and I needed help. 

 Thank God for girlfriends who share their great finds with each other. 


 


These small and inexpensive fans will cool you off and let you enjoy the outdoors while having a nice breeze blowing on you.  These are quiet enough that you can keep a conversation going without having to raise your voice.  These are a win-win for me and because they sit around your neck, without cords attached, you can move around with them on.  You can continue with your hobbies and crafts, reading or just sitting around with a certain level of comfort even on the hottest days.  If the outdoors becomes too overbearing I can always go indoors for a few minutes just to really cool down, but then I'm right back out again.  I love summer and these will make my summer even better!  


Image by Siggy Nowak from Pixabay


If this is something you think would work for you, just click on the  link and get a pair for yourself.  Happy Summer!  Be Cool and enjoy everyday!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, May 4, 2022

Our Pets are Wonderful and We Can Help Them Stay Healthy! ~ A Product Review

When we think of our pets, they are more than just a pet, they are part of the family.  Every dog and cat owner knows that they are not pet owners, rather they are owned by their pets.  There is a big difference!  We love them so much that we treat them like we treat those we love, by getting them "special treats".  Unfortunately, like human "treats", animal treats are similar in that they taste good and are usually full of calories that they don't need.  Just think of that big piece of Chocolate cake (that most of us don't really need)!  Because we love our pets so much,  many cats and dogs are now having the same problems that a lot of humans have and that is that they have become overweight!

These are my two Grand Dogs, Mabel in the upper picture and Dougal in the bottom one.  Mabel is a soft haired Wheaton Terrier and Dougal is a French Bulldog.  These are their puppy pictures and we love them both.



Now I must say that most of these overweight pets are more likely to be in the big cities where their exercise routines are not as robust as a dog in the country.  Country dogs can run around without too much of a hassle from cars and other dangers.  City dogs have to be kept on a leash for their own protection and the protection of others (both human and animal).  City folks can find parks that have designated areas for their dogs to run freely, but that usually means a trip, and it might not be close to home either.  If you can for your own health and the health of your dog, make that trip to the Dog Park often.  

The best time to start training your cats and dogs about their eating habits and exercise programs is when they are young.  Puppies and kittens need more good quality food because they are growing!  But just because they are growing doesn't mean they don't need their exercise either.  Strong bones and bodies are the result of both good food and plenty of exercise.  In that sense they are very much like humans!

Scheduled eating times helps keep both dogs and cats happy.  But what happens when your dog is just like a vacuum cleaner and he sticks his/her face into the bowl of food and literally just sucks it all in?  It's not a great way for them to eat and they will quickly be begging for more.  Mom and Dad or the kids will be tempted to give into their pets wants!  Here is where the problem begins.  Over feeding is easy to do, the results are not so easy to take care of.  No one likes to be on a diet!

But what if there is a way to keep your cats and dogs from being able to just gulp down their food?  Wouldn't that be a great way to slow them down, make their digestion easier and cause them to feel full once they are done?  It works for humans and it works for our pets too!

There are many different kinds of dog/cat dishes that can help your animal to slow down and still get their daily allotment of food.  Just have a look at these wonderful pet dishes that really do help make dinner time not only enjoyable for your pets, but it also makes it more interesting for them as well.

Overeating is thought to be partly due to boredom too!  So if there is a way to keep the dogs and cats interested and still slow them down, you have a win-win situation.


These bowls make eating out of them a little more challenging for your pets. They can't just stick their snouts into the bowl and inhale their food. They need to work around the ribs and get their kibbles out of the grooves. It just slows them down that much and makes it a little more interesting for them as well.  Pet owners are all over these dishes as a way to make their pet's dinner time a little more interesting.  Many different varieties of these dishes are available and have literally thousands of reviews from people who have purchased these dishes.  That in itself says a lot.

Now I'm going to add another part to the puzzle of overweight dogs and cats.  You should always consult with your own veterinarian regarding your pet's overall health.  If weight is something that your vet has commented on, then the next thing to do is get a good quality dog/cat food that has high nutritional value, but not a whole lot of fat.  I'm sure your Vet will make some recommendations.  I also know that you can get good quality dog foods that are not quite as expensive as the ones your Vet might recommend.  This is not to be confused with foods that pets need for health reasons other than weight!  Some pets have serious medical conditions and you should always follow what your Vet recommends in these cases.  



These dog and cat foods have high recommendations from pet owners. The Blue Buffalo for dogs is especially rated by over 30,000 pet owners. So you know that it has been tested and found to be a good value and liked by many pets too!  Cat owners don't seem to give as many reviews on the foods, but suffice to say that there are over 1,000 pet owners who have rated these foods for their cats.

If you are a pet owner, I hope this review helps you keep your pets healthy and also interested in their feeding routines.  Happy, healthy pets, make the whole family feel good and we want our pets to have the best life possible.  



Whenever I want to buy something new, I do look at the reviews that have been posted and it usually is a good indicator of how much people actually liked the particular product.  






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, April 20, 2022

Special Days in May ~ A Gift Review

 While all of us are desperately waiting for Spring to bring forth it's flowers and warmer weather, May is coming along fast and furious with many "special days" to look forward to.  

Of course everyone knows it's Mother's Day on the 8th of May, but did you also know that we celebrate Nurses Day and Teachers Appreciation Week in the same month?


Mother's Day can be a time to give her something that she can really use to pamper herself just a little bit!  Instead of the usual chocolates, flowers or cards, give her the gift of Color Street and let mom indulge herself with a little self-care.

Teachers can be undone with all the coffee mugs and chocolates as well.  Why not think outside the box and give them some fun for their fingertips.  I can just see the little eyes wanting to check out the fancy nails on their favorite teacher.  

Nurses who are run off their feet with caring for others, could also use a nice little pick me up.  Color Street Nail Strips are perfect!  While your favorite nurse is on a coffee break, she can do up her nails in less than ten minutes.  A little self care help for the ones who care for everyone else before themselves.  

Your hands are always visible to everyone and when your nails are nice and polished they make a statement without having to say anything out loud.  It says, " I care about myself too!"

If you are anything like me, I don't like to sit waiting for things to be ready.  Color Strips Nail Strips are ready and done in less than 10 minutes.  Once applied, you can continue on your day and accomplish all the things that need doing.  No waiting for nail polish to dry and once applied, they last for at least 2 weeks.  No cracking, peeling, smudging is going to happen, unlike liquid nail polish!

Until I found these Color Strips, I hated doing my nails.  I just could not seem to get a good application happening.  One coat would go on great and the second coat would get all smudged.  Frustration was the name of the game in my case.  NOT anymore! 

What I really like is that with these Nail Strips you can mix and match or mix and contrast as you like.  One set of strips are enough to do a full manicure if you have long nails, or two if your nails are kept on the shorter side.  Just make sure that you seal the package after you are finished with the Strips.  A curling iron will seal the package nicely until you need them again.  

https://www.colorstreet.com/Olivia72/nailbar/3523400


Color Street Nail Strips are only available through a Stylist and they are not hard to find. So if your Teacher, Nurse or Mom really likes this gift, she can order for herself after having used your gift!  They are affordable and a really nice gift that says so much.

If you are a little bit artistic, you can do so much with these Nail Strips by thinking outside the box (so to speak).  

When you have a great product, people begin to notice and the awards for excellence start to roll in.  So it is with Color Street!  They have been awarded the Best in Nail Care!  Check this out:
 



Needless to say, I'm pleased to have joined this company as a Stylist and also appreciate that this company gives back to their communities.  You will find that they support causes like Epilepsy, Birth Defects, March of Dimes, Breast Cancer Awareness and so much more.  

If you want to see for yourself just how easy Color Street Nail Strips are to apply you can watch this You Tube video!

I hope you get a chance to try these out for yourself and I would love to know what you think!  Don't hesitate to leave a message!   For those of you who look after "Elders" these Color Strips also make a wonderful way to spend some time spoiling them with a little bit of fun!  




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, April 6, 2022

2022 In the Garden ~ A Review

2022 In the Garden will be a time of renewal, rebirth and refreshment of the earth and you! If you ask any gardener they will certainly tell you that time spent in the garden is Time Well Spent.


Whether you choose to garden for beauty or for bounty, one thing is sure, you should start with the best seeds that are available.  I like ordering my seeds from West Coast Seeds.  They supply seeds that are NOT TREATED!  This means that there are no chemicals added to your seed supply,  making it a much healthier choice. They have a wonderful website (https://www.westcoastseeds.comthat is full of fantastic articles to help you become a great ambassador of your part of the earth.  

I have been gardening with my family since the early 1960's and that is a long time ago now.  What I learned from my parents was that the earth needs us to be responsible for what happens in the ground around us.  We were composting and tilling the earth with organic matter long before it became chic to do so.  

In the years since then, much has changed in the gardening industry.  Many companies are selling you products that have been Genetically Modified (GMO). These plants are just now coming under scrutiny and producers are being forced to let you know if what you are purchasing is chemically modifiedWith West Cost Seeds you don't have this problem at all.  Everything they sell is grown right and seeds are organic and Non-GMO!  This makes me very happy!  I don't want to grow anything that isn't natural or has been modified genetically.

West Coast Seeds is not only dedicated to helping people become better gardeners, they also want to educate them on what are best practices for sustainability and renewal of the ground.  Their website offers so many learning opportunities.  Articles on sunflowers, growing a garden that is bee and butterfly friendly, to squash pollination and more is all available to you.  You will even find recipes to use for all the produce you get from your gardening efforts.  This website and the company are tops in my books! 




I do hope that if you have some questions about gardening that you will take the time to check out West Coast Seeds website.  You will be amazed at the amount of information available to you!  West Coast Seeds will ship all across Canada and the USA!  

The season for gardening and growing has just begun, now is the time to order your seeds and get them started so that your bounty will be overflowing when it comes to harvest time.  

Happy Gardening to all of you!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, March 30, 2022

Lessons in Chemistry Written by Bonnie Garmus ~ A Book Review

Warning Warning Warning:

Lessons in Chemistry is a book that will make you smile, get hot under the collar, shed a tear or two and make you turn the pages and not put it down.

Bonnie Garmus has written this book and it's a winner in my opinion. Today is the day that you can get this book in hardcopy or  you can read it from Kindle Unlimited!



Lessons in Chemistry takes place in the late 1950's early 1960's.  For anyone who grew up during that time period, you know as many women today still know, there is a disconnect in society when it comes to intelligent, talented, women in sciences.  It is getting better these days,  but for Elizabeth Zott life was not easy at all.

Elizabeth was a scientist, a chemist to be exact.  Her intelligence and understanding of complicated chemical processes is far superior to many of her male counterparts.  She, herself,  is never taken seriously though!  

She does manage to get a job at a Research Facility and there meets Calvin Evans another scientist who has the same intense understanding of Chemistry as Elizabeth.  He takes her seriously and they work side by side making good progress on their existing projects.  

Falling in love wasn't quite in the books for either Calvin or Elizabeth, science was their first love.  But another type of chemistry starts to blossom.  

Calvin, because of his "elevated" position at Hasting Research, is able to pave the way for Elizabeth to continue working in the research labs.  She has him to thank for the position she currently has.

But, like all things, nothing is static and things are always changing.  When Elizabeth is no longer welcome in the labs(due to changes in her personal life), her natural good looks and a sense of desperation,  take her to afternoon TV and a cooking show.  

There are so many twists and turns coming that I would be giving away too much of the plot to tell you more here.  

Let me just say that I could not put this book down.  

Smart women, glass ceilings, misogenistic groups all play a part in Elizabeth Zott's life.  What she does about it, is what makes this book such a good read.  

Put this book on your "TO READ" list, you won't be disappointed!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, March 16, 2022

Bluebird by Genevieve Graham ~ A Book Review

Bluebird is a story that just fills a whole bunch of "MUST HAVES" for a book that I would recommend.  I was given an "Advanced Readers Copy" through Netgalley (https://www.netgalley.com)

Reading is one pleasure that I enjoy immensely and now that I am retired it is what I consider my "job".  So I'm happy to be a member of Netgalley and help authors by reading their books and commenting on them!  It helps the authors to know that they are on the right track and gives them feedback before that book is actually published.

Genevieve Graham is not new to writing and has many other books under her belt.  Bluebird is the latest and will be available  April 5th of this year 2022!  

 



Synopsis:  What happens when a home renovator finds a stash of ancient looking bottles that have been hidden in a wall!  The wall is coming down as part of the renos and the stash is uncovered in the process.  It looks like these bottles are full of something, but what?  Bailey Brother's Best is on the label and whiskey is the scent that follows.  Who has ever heard of Bailey Brother's Best?  

Guessing that the local museum might have some answers, Cassie, the Curator of the museum, is astounded  and eager to solve the mystery of the hidden bottles.  She is actually quite stunned by what Matthew Flaherty (the renovator) has brought to her attention.  She knows some of the history, but not all of it.  Given her own history, she is very eager indeed to find out more.  

As you read this book you will relive some of the horrors of World War 1, and the hardships that the men endured.  You will also learn about the "Bluebirds", the nursing staff that saw as much of the horrors of war as the men who fought.  The Bluebirds was a nickname given to them because of the uniforms they wore.  Many a man was thankful for the services that these strong women performed during their confinement. I'm sure that more than one of them fell in love with the caring nursing staff too! 

I don't want to give too much of the story away because I know that you will be totally enthralled and captivated by what is happening in and out of the trenches during the war and then the return to civilization when the war is over.

This book is a history lesson, a mystery, and a love story all rolled up into a great book!  Not only is it a great read, but, because of the times, so much was changing  all around.  Hemlines were going up, dancing was becoming wilder, booze was illegal and women were becoming independent,  It was a brave new world that these men were coming home to.  

 I know for a fact that you will enjoy this as much as I did.  I could not put it down.  Congratulations to Ms. Graham on this book, it's another one that needs to be read by many.


Also By Genevieve Graham:

Letters Across the Sea

The Forgotten Home Child

At the Mountain's Edge

Come From Away

Promises to keep

Tides of Honour

Somewhere to Dream

Sounds of the Heart

Under the Same Sky

Bluebird Available April 5, 2022!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, March 2, 2022

The Boy Between: A Mother and Son's Journey from a World Gone Grey ~ A Book Review

 The Boy Between is a title that leaves you wondering what will happen between the pages.  I think that's what got me wanting to read this book.  Being the mom of two "boys" I was curious to see  what this author had to say about all that time "Between"!



As it turns out this book had me right from the start.  One of my favorite "women's lit" authors co-wrote this with her son.  Amanda Prowse is better known for her lovely stories of women who find their strength through the ways they are tested.  She has written many (over 25) books and is probably one of the most prolific writers in the UK.  But I must say, she is loved around the world for her great stories.

The Boy Between, is not FICTION, it is real and downright heartbreaking and thought provoking.  Josiah (Josh) Hartley and Amanda Prowse are mom and son, co-authors of this book.  Chapter by chapter you read about what is happening in Josh's life from the perspective of  Mom (and dad) and then from Josh's perspective.  

THIS IS NOT AN EASY STORY TO READ!  But it is one that I wish every parent or caregiver SHOULD and Would READ!

If you have ever had someone in the family or close friend suffer from Depression, this book is an eye opener for you!  We all think we know what depression is and unless you have suffered from this debilitating mental state, you cannot begin to know! Josh writes honestly and very openly about his life and how this mental condition makes life not just difficult, but almost impossible to deal with.

Through many trials and tribulations during his life, his parents are forever hopeful that the fog of depression will lift and give Josh some peace and solace to face another day.  They are his support network even when they didn't realize that that was what Josh needed.  What Josh was living through, they were living through it as well.  This story has two very different sides to it and seeing both of them helps us to understand better!  It is the life of Josh and the life of his parents as well.  They are not two separate and distinct lives, they are forever intertwined and wrapped around each other.



If there is one thing that everyone should take away from reading this book, it's the notion that DEPRESSION is the elephant in many people's lives and that ignoring it will not make it disappear.  It needs to be talked about and understood  in each and every circumstance.  The biggest problem being that every circumstance will be different and one solution will not necessarily fit all!   

The world today is a very hard place for our young people to grow up in.  They are bombarded with ideals of perfection from social media and opinions from the world at large.  The pressure for these young minds to deal with is sometimes more than they can bear.  That is when their spirit and/or their minds can become broken.  Awareness must be the key!

As parents and caregivers, we need to understand that each child is different with many varied strengths and weaknesses.  That it is alright for them not to follow the majority and that forging their own path in life is not a sign that they are "less", rather they are different.  If there was ever a time when we should be celebrating everyone's individuality it is NOW!  Before there are more statistics of young people not being able to cope with today's world and it's expectations of our young people.



This book in my opinion is one that should be read by everyone and right now it is available for free with a KindleUnlimited membership or with an Audible trial.  

Put this book on your MUST READ list, you won't be sorry!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, February 2, 2022

The Orphans of Mersea House- A Book Review

I have a confession to make!  I love reading and have spent a lot of time looking for books that will thrill me, make me think, take me to places I have never seen before and more!  This confession comes with no regrets!  

For the past two years I have been totally taken up with reading novels about the Second World War.  Some were based on true stories and others are works of fiction based on historical accounts of what happened during that dark and distressing time in our history!  

War can make victims of everyone who lived during the distress of the times, but it can also make victims of those who did not make it to the front or fight in the battles personally.  It can take years to heal the scars.




So, now I have to tell you about The Orphans of Mersea House! Written by Marty Wingate.  When all the battles are over and peace has found it's place again, there are still the ravages of war to deal with.   Yes even years later, people are still healing from the trauma of the past!

People who fought and those who stayed behind to do other "war" work,  have scars that need healing.

It's 1957 in England  Southwold to be precise.  The two main characters Margery and Olive had been childhood friends forever.  During the war, Margery left Southwold for London to help with the war effort there, while Olive stayed behind and did her part as well.  

After her uncle's death, Margery comes back to Southwold to claim her inheritance and reclaim her life.  Olive who has looked after relatives is destitute when the last of her relations dies.  But as luck would have it, Margery comes to her aid by asking her to act as manager of the home she has inherited after alterations are made to turn it into a boarding house.

Everything is working out well until the first two boarders arrive.  Then a few more arrive and life takes a few twists and turns.  

I don't want to spoil this book for anyone, so I'm going to leave the story here and tell you that you really should get the book to find out what happens.  Trust me, there is LOTS that will happen and the characters in the book are so well described that I know everyone will be able to pick out friends and relatives of their own that will fit into this story.  

What you will learn is that family and secrets go hand in hand everywhere, but that a loving heart can bring all the good things and the bad things together to make a beautiful patchwork that is family!  

I finished this book and wished that there were more pages to read so I know you will enjoy it as well.


I was given this book by #NetGalley to read for an honest review when I was done.  This book will only be published on August 9th, 2022, so I do suggest that you mark your calendars for the release date.  This is one book that I'm sure you will enjoy.

If you are looking for books in this genre, I can personally recommend several that had me turning pages as quickly as I could:

The Forest of Vanishing Stars by Kristin Harmel  (5 stars)
The Rose Code by Kate Quinn (4.5 stars)
Love at War by Viola Russell (5 stars)
The Three Sisters by Heather Morris (4.5 stars)

There are many more on my Goodreads pages if you are interested let me know and I'll send you a link to my page.







  





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 22, 2021

10 Wonderful Ways to Relieve Holiday Stress! From the Heart

The Big Holiday many people have been waiting for is just around the corner. 

It's literally just days away and many people are feeling the stress building! Oh don't get me wrong, I'm sure everyone loves this holiday, but when the stress becomes so all encompassing, it's hard to enjoy it!


What can you do to make this time of year the joyful and wonderful time it's supposed to be?  Well in my experience, I know I had put a lot of the pressure on myself and got caught up in all the things that could go wrong.  I needed help to see that my focus was in the wrong place!  Instead of focusing on the negative, I needed to focus on something positive and different.


So here are some of the things I do to help relieve that pressure:

  1. Wrapping things up can make me crazy.  I have two left hands but  I still want my packages to look nice!  Now I still do that, but I use gift bags to make the packing that much easier.  Dollar Stores are great help for this!  Inside each package goes a personalized note to the recipient, letting them know how much they mean to me! (It doesn't have to be long, just meaningful)
  2. Take lots of breaks,  drop everything and go for a 10 minute walk around the neighborhood.  When you get back you'll get twice as much done because you are  more relaxed.
  3. Take your phone with you and grab some festive pictures while out in the "hood".  Focus on Christmas decor, Dogs in their Christmas sweaters, People willing to smile at you, etc.
  4. Get physical and do someone a favor while you are out!  Do you have a neighbor that could use a little help?   Offer to do something for them (go to the store, shovel their walk, walk their dog, or ask them to join you for a cup of tea or coffee)  The gift of your time is priceless!
  5. Head out to a local church and just take a few steps inside the doors.  Go to a church/temple that you may never have been to before. (Check the internet for times, most places of worship will have some kind of schedule and extended hours)
  6. Take an hour or two and head to your local library.  Browse the shelves for something you might enjoy reading over the holidays.
  7. Turn up the music (not necessarily Christmas music, but something that you enjoy!  ABBA, the Beatles, Rolling Stones (am I dating myself?))
  8. Browse You Tube to learn a new dance.  Moving and getting your blood flowing are great ways to relief some stress.  Plus you could learn a few new moves along the way and share those with your family and friends (Even if it's just to laugh at yourself).  
  9. Sit back and watch a movie!  Again it doesn't need to be a Christmas movie, but one that you enjoy!
  10. If all this fails, then you can always take a nap!  Sometimes just resting your eyes can do wonders for your nerves and your anxiety. Close those eyes and say a little prayer so your focus is on something supernatural and divine.
When your stress  drops to a manageable level, you can restart what you were doing and probably accomplish more than if you had stayed with it.  Taking a break is a game changer for many people. Believe me, the holidays will come one way or the other, but if you are relaxed, they will be more enjoyable!

Learn to laugh and smile, what you share out in the world will come right back to you!


My hope for you is that you truly enjoy this Holiday Season to it's fullest!  May you have a lovely Christmas with your family and friends and may your New Year be Blessed with lots of Joy!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X